Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About ZZest Cafe & Bar

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.

1190 16 St SW
#600
Rochester, MN 55902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)

Cross Street:
Apache Dr. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(507) 424-0080

Website:
http://www.zzest.com/

Catering:
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free front door parking.

Executive Chef:
Justin Schoville

Private Party Facilities:
Rent ZZest for your private party on Sunday or Monday nights. We can seat 50 people, or, have a casual cocktail party for 75.

Private Party Contact:
LeeAnn: (507) 424-0080

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

ZZest Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the outdoor seating with its view of the river. Drinks are interesting and good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely love it every time we visit! Creative and tasty menu that changes often, great staff, wonderful vibe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food. Unique creations love the outdoor seats

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very good as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our favorite places in Rochester - great outside dining area and creative cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love the food, the crew, and the cocktails at ZZest!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

ZZest was spectacular as usual. We enjoyed our dinner and everything was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for birthday dinner with group of 4. Interesting choices as always. The ambiance is very nice now the store portion is closed. The patio is also special but not quite open yet for summer. Food options tend towards the adventuresome, and this made choosing hard for one in our party. So would say this is not for the non foodie, at least until the patio and pizza oven are back in season.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Everything was great, and the food was fantastic. They offer many meat and cheese appetizer options. The wine menu was decent. There are few gluten free options on their regular menu though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I took a good friend here to celebrate her birthday. We had a great time. The food was really incredible! The staff was very friendly and informed but not intrusive. The cocktail I had was balanced and delicious. The whole experience was welcoming and cozy, but very impressive all at once. Zzest could be a great date night, or a friendly happy hour get together. I'm excited to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We enjoyed our meal in a modern yet relaxed attom Goulash and beets salad were outstanding. Burger was huge, favorable and juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always love coming here - their food is AMAZING! My husband and I frequent here, together and with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I have been here many times and enjoy the food which is interesting and tasty. I always recommend ZZest to others.

This time we felt very rushed. The salads and appetizer all came together and then the main course came before we were ready. I felt like the waiter was just shoving food at us. He also brought the dessert menus before we finished our meal.

There was no one waiting and it should not have been rushed like this. Please slow down the pace. Otherwise there are other nice places to go for a more enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always love to come to Zzest. Plates a bit pricey, but you definitely get a higher quality of food! The ambiance is warm and inviting on these cold Minnesota nights. I wish they made more soups (to go with a bread and cheese plate). And since I have given up alcohol, I really appreciated the excellent Ginger Ale! Just delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food is incredible, a very talented chef. Server was very inattentive, impacted the evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

ALWAYS LOVE coming here for dinner! The staff is great. The food is great. I've never had anything on the menu that I didn't love.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great fresh ingredients, the fish was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

3rd time we've been at ZZest and will continue to go. As it is now February, can't wait for warmer weather and the great outdoor seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took wife out for a meal. Friendly staff with excellent communication skills explained each course and paired wine with enthusiasm (but not uncomfortably so as some do), and made you feel knowledgeable about the meal, which was excellent. 10/10 would dine again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had very good reviews from friends, and that proved to be the case when we went. Our food was prepared well, the flavor of each item was terrific, the service was attentive without being obtrusive. The portions sizes were perfect. And try to leave for dessert, especially the creme brulee. The menu varies so another visit is definitely in the future. It was a special occasion, my wife's birthday, and instead of the usual badly sung "happy birthday" song, they presented a nice gift to use on our next visit .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

phenomenal food with great service. definitely one of the best places in town.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Very cool ambiance. The mushroom pasta was phenomenal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm always impressed with Zzest and this dinner was no exception. My favorite restaurant in Rochester. Thanks for another delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was amazing! Service was top notch. We will definitely be back. The bloody Mary was also finominal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was quiet when we arrived but yet no one got our drink order til much later. Even after we ordered our drink order was not delivered til after the appetizers. We were there on a Tuesday night so it was so quiet, there was no excuse for the poor service. The server didn't check in with us or asked if we wanted dessert, just left it on the table. I still tipped the 20% out of habit but when I left I realized I probably shouldn't have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Once again ZZEST exceeded our expectations. The avocado toast was special, and the short ribs were perfect. This is by far the best restaurant in Rochester.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent again!! Love to eat at ZZEST! Hope to come back again soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Best restaurant in Rochester. The tasting menu was creative and fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always love this place. The food is very chef driven. Flavors and textures are very balanced. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant! The food is always delicious and we love that the menu rotates. They usually have 6-8 dinner options that change depending on seasonal and local sourcing. We love their cheese selection and the servers are always very helpful with tasty pairings. It is definitely our favorite place in Rochester!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was excellent except the server was not able to answer multiple questions about the menu. More training before being on their own please.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We entertain family, friends and clients frequently and ZZest has consistently been our main go to restaurant in Rochester. The menu changes frequently and always offers excellent and flavorful choices. Jerry and LeeAnn are gracious hosts and Jason is an amazing mixologists and sommelier. The wine and drink offerings are sure to please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Zzest is one of our favorite spots. The food is always excellent. The portions are always perfectly sized. The wait staff is well-informed. The bar is inventive. The ambience is casual and welcoming. Make a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Rochester. We visit a couple times a year and this is on our Must Eat list. We love the charcuterie board and fresh pastas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We did the chef's tasting and were very impressed! This place is a Rochester gem and I highly recommend it. The best meal I've had in quite awhile!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fun place to go for sharing food, great drinks and a nice atmosphere. As vegetarians, we shared several appetizers, including the tasty scordalia and white bean dip, 2 types of salads, and the pasta entree, which was plenty of food. The drinks were creative including my wife's favorite, the smoking fox, which includes smoky Lagavulin scotch! Luckily we had a corner table so noise wasn't much of an issue there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been hitting this place, heavily, since our first date! the staff are outstanding - they are attentive but not intrusive, know the food and are capable of recommending wine or pulling in the sommelier to do so. Jason, the sommelier, is the epitome of humble teacher and generous guide. He knows his stuff and hasn't steered us wrong a single time! He's treated us to some very special wines and we deeply appreciate it! We go back to Zzest sometimes just to watch and interact with the line cooks! those guys are also very interactive and know their stuff, and cook like demons! I can't say enough about ZZest - tasty, creative food, great plate presentations, fantastic, dedicated staff! We especially like the outdoor patio - open in warmer times - overlooking the Zumbro River. A lovely combination of ambiance, great food and great staff! No - I'm not a shill for ZZest - we just keep getting pulled back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Lovely evening with a great friend recovering from surgery.
Great food and wine. Comfortable, quiet surroundings.
Friendly wait staff. Will visit again :)

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

You run out of duck confit and beef by 12:30 last Sunday Brunch. Overall ok
Thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First visit and will return. Loved the menu and the vibe!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.