HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - ZZest Cafe & Bar

4.6
216 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (324)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (244)
  • Neighborhood Gem (232)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(507) 424-0080
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Schoville
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Apache Dr. SW
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free front door parking.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 216 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6  based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Supperclub (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined on September 14, 2017

Doesn't matter what I think - they close today 9.16.17! Planning a rebirth in 6 weeks to a high class burger joint.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on September 7, 2017

Best restaurant in Rochester hands down and not because I am biased

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on September 2, 2017

We LOVE Zzest. We are trying to take advantage of the remaining time it is still open. Our Favorite restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
PeaSeeker (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the one vegetarian entree on the menu was a little boring, we did very well sharing a bunch of appetizers and salads as tapas. The craft cocktails are lovely, service was swell, and our choices definitely fell into the category "too fussy to make at home," so the meal and experience was much appreciated.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on August 4, 2017

Had a lovely evening with friends. The food and service were exceptional.

Report
Helpful
EllenEH (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on August 3, 2017

I love Zzest and will greatly miss it come September when it closes.

Report
Helpful
Marius (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on July 21, 2017

Friendly and helpful staff that go beyond the typical description of the menu. Excellent meals. Nice location and modern design of interiors.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on July 13, 2017

So sad they are closing in September. Hands down the best food we've found in Rochester. This has been a must stop for us for the past four years when we visit. Looking forward to seeing what they do next.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on July 7, 2017

This is consistently a wonderful place. The food is excellent, foodie quality for sure. We will miss them. The burrata was creamy and delicious. Cauliflower with raisins and pickle also great.

Report
Helpful
Rubbish (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on July 7, 2017

It was really nice to take our time and enjoy one item at a time. Great to know ingredients are local.

Report
Helpful
etenliefde (Houston)
4.0  Dined on June 28, 2017

Good experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on June 10, 2017

Great menu, wonderful experience. Had a lovely evening!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on June 9, 2017

I can only hope that Leanne, Justin and crew recreate a Zzesty atmosphere in The Cellar when it fully opens this Fall - losing this unique restaurant is a huge hit to Rochester's attempt to climb above Appleby's.

Report
Helpful
Marg (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food; patio is a treasure; service was sketchy - no ice in water glasses and when asked for ice, it was about 15 minutes before he arrived with a glass with cubes in it - then found a container and brought us more ice. Wait staff seemed to be a little thin on a perfectly lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on June 3, 2017

A very enjoyable Saturday evening dinner - the food was delicious (I recommend the lamb burger) and our server was very attentive and personable.

Report
Helpful
DAH71 (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined on June 2, 2017

We ate on veranda atmosphere was nice had to somewhat dodge the bugs but that would be expected had the special with wine pairing love the food the wine pairing was ok not great. Overall a nice experience would definitely recommend. However choose you own wine

Report
Helpful
CAL66 (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit to Zzest. The food was delicious. The interior was quirky and fun. The evening was marred by two things: terrible music and mediocre service. Our server brought our salad before we finished our appetizer and brought our entrees while both appetizer and salad were on our (very tiny) table. The service was so rushed that there wasn't even an opportunity to order a second drink -- and the place was half-empty. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our go-to place.
Always excellent food.
Avocado toast is great.
home made pasta always good too.
Patio is super.

Report
Helpful
vippxcpxc (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the outdoor seating with its view of the river. Drinks are interesting and good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely love it every time we visit! Creative and tasty menu that changes often, great staff, wonderful vibe.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11