About ZZest Cafe & Bar

1190 16 St SW
#600
Rochester, MN 55902
View Larger Map

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)

Cross Street:
Apache Dr. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(507) 424-0080

Website:
http://www.zzest.com/

Catering:
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free front door parking.

Executive Chef:
Justin Schoville

Private Party Facilities:
Rent ZZest for your private party on Sunday or Monday nights. We can seat 50 people, or, have a casual cocktail party for 75.

Private Party Contact:
LeeAnn: 5074240080

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

Restaurant Photos

Burger - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Pizza - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Fish - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Bahn Mi - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
mozzarella salad - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Mac & Cheese - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Risotto Cake - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Three Cheeses Panini - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Pan-seared Scallops - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Steak - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN
Salmon - ZZest Cafe & Bar, Rochester, MN

ZZest Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
3 More
Best Value
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Rochester
Best Restaurants in Rochester ›

Fit for Foodies (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Casual (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Waterfront (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Zzest is one of our favorite spots. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Zzest is one of our favorite spots. The food is always excellent. The portions are always perfectly sized. The wait staff is well-informed. The bar is inventive. The ambience is casual and welcoming. Make a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We did the chef's tasting and were very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We did the chef's tasting and were very impressed! This place is a Rochester gem and I highly recommend it. The best meal I've had in quite awhile!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to go for sharing food, great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fun place to go for sharing food, great drinks and a nice atmosphere. As vegetarians, we shared several appetizers, including the tasty scordalia and white bean dip, 2 types of salads, and the pasta entree, which was plenty of food. The drinks were creative including my wife's favorite, the smoking fox, which includes smoky Lagavulin scotch! Luckily we had a corner table so noise wasn't much of an issue there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been hitting this place, heavily, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been hitting this place, heavily, since our first date! the staff are outstanding - they are attentive but not intrusive, know the food and are capable of recommending wine or pulling in the sommelier to do so. Jason, the sommelier, is the epitome of humble teacher and generous guide. He knows his stuff and hasn't steered us wrong a single time! He's treated us to some very special wines and we deeply appreciate it! We go back to Zzest sometimes just to watch and interact with the line cooks! those guys are also very interactive and know their stuff, and cook like demons! I can't say enough about ZZest - tasty, creative food, great plate presentations, fantastic, dedicated staff! We especially like the outdoor patio - open in warmer times - overlooking the Zumbro River. A lovely combination of ambiance, great food and great staff! No - I'm not a shill for ZZest - we just keep getting pulled back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely evening with a great friend recov ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Lovely evening with a great friend recovering from surgery.

Great food and wine. Comfortable, quiet surroundings.

Friendly wait staff. Will visit again :)

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You run out of duck confit and beef by 1 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

You run out of duck confit and beef by 12:30 last Sunday Brunch. Overall ok

Thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit and will return. Loved the m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First visit and will return. Loved the menu and the vibe!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great ambience paired with delicious foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great ambience paired with delicious food and locally sourced food makes this a gem of a find. Great for a date night or drinks with a friend. The chef's tasting is an absolute must if you are going for dinner. When you compare the cost to the other entrees, for just a few dollars more you can try something unique, special, and fun! The Pinot Noir list is really great. I haven't been disappointed with a wine from this venue. Thanks for a great evening! We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a nice dining experience.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always a nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Zest was fantastic as usual. The avocado ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Zest was fantastic as usual. The avocado toast is awsome. We always always have a great time there. Best restaurant in Rochester.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as usual. We had the pork bel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Delicious as usual. We had the pork belly over parsnip purée with kale salad and the beef short robs over sweet potato purée. Both were spot on.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, service was attentiv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was delicious, service was attentive but not intrusive. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant and staff never cease to ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The restaurant and staff never cease to impress! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chefs tasting menu was amazing. Excellen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Chefs tasting menu was amazing. Excellent wine pairings as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ZZEST is our favorite place. They never ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

ZZEST is our favorite place. They never disappoint. I can not say enough about the avocado toast, very special.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the remodeling that you did to th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I like the remodeling that you did to the inside of the restaurant! We, however, sat outside as it was a great day and the patio was so nice! Wish you had more vegetarian options. Overall, it was a good experience, and I would return.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The new sommelier, Jason, is excellent a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The new sommelier, Jason, is excellent and definitely raises the level of sophistication and dining pleasure! Our friend loved the chefs tasting menu. Scallops were perfect and marlin dish robust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fish should never taste fishy. The marl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Fish should never taste fishy. The marlin they served had a fishy taste. Never should be served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised by a cozy atmospher ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by a cozy atmosphere, along with different and delicious food, and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Rochester. I was extre ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My first visit to Rochester. I was extremely pleased with the dining experience at Zzest Quality food/drinks and the staff was very personable and knowledgeable. I already told friends that this would be a place you wouldn't wanna miss when in Rochester.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Where do I start...cozy atmosphere, FABU ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Where do I start...cozy atmosphere, FABULOUS staff, and wonderful tasting food. We had the "chef surprise" and we were not disappointed. It was easy to visit with our friends and we did not feel rushed to leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Sunday Brunch a ZZEST, and it was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had Sunday Brunch a ZZEST, and it was GREAT. The avocado toast is the best. The staff is super friendly and very attentive. My only complaint is that the Sunday Brunch is only once a month.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Z ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Zzest and thought the food was some of the best we've had in Rochester. The service throughout dinner was fine - nothing great, but not terrible. We then ordered the trio of ice cream scoops for dessert and had to ask twice before it was brought out at least 30 minutes later. We weren't in a rush and it wouldn't have been a big deal, but our server was rude and but a damper on what was otherwise a good experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always interesting. The starters/small p ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always interesting. The starters/small plates are always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service superior. Small table ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food and service superior. Small table near window...arm pit to armpit with adjacent table ruined the night😕. If you get this table ask to be reseated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Amazing food. Excellent services. Drinks ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing food.

Excellent services.

Drinks were outstanding.

Best restaurant in the rochester area IMHO.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wood fire pizza, which was the b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had a wood fire pizza, which was the best, I had so far in the Midwest.

The chocolate pudding dessert I had, was just amazing.

My friends, also enjoyed the meals they choose.

The staff was extremely friendly. We sat outside, and it was just beautiful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to spend some time with a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

A great place to spend some time with a loved one or folks from out of town. The menu is always changing, but the quality remains the same. Great cocktails and an excellent selection for plates and meals. You can't beat a tall PBR to cap the meal off, either!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zzest was outstanding as usual. They ar ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Zzest was outstanding as usual. They are the best restaurant in Rochester. Our favorite place to dine. The Avocado Toast is fantastic. The service was great. Highly recomend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and they man ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was outstanding and they managed to create a beautiful outdoor setting at a strip mall. They are known for their meal of the day as well as cheese and charcuterie. We just had an appetizer and pizza. The pizza was average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife's salmon was perfect. My lamb w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

My wife's salmon was perfect. My lamb was good, but didn't need the whole "stew" complement; please think of your "meat-and-potatoes" guys.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

BBQ carrot salad and braised lamb pasta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 26, 2016

BBQ carrot salad and braised lamb pasta were excellent - well done chef! Our server was friendly & helpful - his wine and food recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Came alone being in area on business. S ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Came alone being in area on business. Sat outside on the patio. The ambiance of the prairie and the various seating options made the evening. Hard to believe you are in a strip center. The salmon was very good as were the cocktails and service. I am sure to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great gorgeous drinks. Something for ev ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great gorgeous drinks. Something for everyone, from 4 star takes on the classics (Manhattan, gin and T) to wine and these gorgeous tall frosty fairy-colored beverages. Interesting cheese and charcuterie board selected by the frommelier (Just made that up I think - like a sommelier for cheese). Went light so I had the gem lettuce salad - excellent, hubs had some meat thing, mom had a home-made pasta, daughter had a frosted tinkerbell aqua drink in a tall glass that required an ID- drink had funky spike-shaped leaf in it that made it edgy - and nibbled on the cheeses and Marconi almonds. Bar seems to have picked up speed, which is a good thing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ordered bacon cheeseburger rare, it came ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ordered bacon cheeseburger rare, it came well done. Sent it back, came with no bacon and barely pink. Not enough bread served with appetizer spreads.

Expensive $$$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

1. We sat in a booth. We were facing nor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016
  1. We sat in a booth. We were facing north and we could not see our friends at all facing south on the other side of the table due to the sun in our eyes. We asked for another table and were told no other spaces available, the tables were saved for a group later on. The potatoes that came with our meal / over cooked, burnt, and hard. I should have complained, but I thought they were there just for presentation, they were a joke. The salad was great and the hamburger was okay. The noise was terrible, could not visit!
Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our best restaurant we've ever been to. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our best restaurant we've ever been to.

Went back 2 days later, awesome awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was nice and we enjoyed the per ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was nice and we enjoyed the perfect weather while relaxing and dining outside by the river, shaded by tall rushes and cat-tails and graced by elegant metal bird sculptures.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our drinks were outstanding! We ordered ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our drinks were outstanding! We ordered the Sangria and the Now you see me.

Food was amazing but not a lot of gluten free options for my wife.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I ordered the chef's choi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I ordered the chef's choice dinner and wine flight. It was fabulous! Such an excellent dinner and experience that I went back and brought the kids three days later. If I lived in Rochester, this restaurant would be my #1 pick for every occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.