Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Prescott's GrillPrescott's Grill
(54)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 2 times today
TerzaTerza
(391)
$$$$
Italian | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 14 times today
Chester's Kitchen & BarChester's Kitchen & Bar
(82)
$$$$
American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 18 times today
PescaraPescara
(1009)
$$$$
Seafood | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 1 time today
The Loop - RochesterThe Loop - Rochester
(58)
$$$$
American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 2 times today
Bleu Duck KitchenBleu Duck Kitchen
(12)
$$$$
American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 1 time today
Hefe RojoHefe Rojo
(44)
$$$$
Mexican | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 4 times today
Lord EssexLord Essex
(82)
$$$$
American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 2 times today
300 First300 First
(39)
$$$$
American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 4 times today
Five West Kitchen + BarFive West Kitchen + Bar
(137)
$$$$
American | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 8 times today
Casablanca Creative Cuisine & WineCasablanca Creative Cuisine & Wine
(51)
$$$$
French | Rochester, Rochester
Salute Wine Bar & MoreSalute Wine Bar & More
(19)
$$$$
Italian | Rochester, Rochester
Booked 2 times today
Ootori sushiOotori sushi
(15)
$$$$
Sushi | Rochester, Rochester
StagheadStaghead
(76)
$$$$
American | Red Wing, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 1 time today
The Port - St. James HotelThe Port - St. James Hotel
(148)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Red Wing, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 2 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Permanently Closed - ZZest Cafe & Bar

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.

1190 16 St SW
#600
Rochester, MN 55902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)

Cross Street:
Apache Dr. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(507) 424-0080

Website:
http://www.zzest.com/

Catering:
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free front door parking.

Executive Chef:
Justin Schoville

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

ZZest Cafe & Bar - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Doesn't matter what I think - they close today 9.16.17! Planning a rebirth in 6 weeks to a high class burger joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best restaurant in Rochester hands down and not because I am biased

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We LOVE Zzest. We are trying to take advantage of the remaining time it is still open. Our Favorite restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the one vegetarian entree on the menu was a little boring, we did very well sharing a bunch of appetizers and salads as tapas. The craft cocktails are lovely, service was swell, and our choices definitely fell into the category "too fussy to make at home," so the meal and experience was much appreciated.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a lovely evening with friends. The food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I love Zzest and will greatly miss it come September when it closes.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Friendly and helpful staff that go beyond the typical description of the menu. Excellent meals. Nice location and modern design of interiors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 13, 2017

So sad they are closing in September. Hands down the best food we've found in Rochester. This has been a must stop for us for the past four years when we visit. Looking forward to seeing what they do next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is consistently a wonderful place. The food is excellent, foodie quality for sure. We will miss them. The burrata was creamy and delicious. Cauliflower with raisins and pickle also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was really nice to take our time and enjoy one item at a time. Great to know ingredients are local.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great menu, wonderful experience. Had a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I can only hope that Leanne, Justin and crew recreate a Zzesty atmosphere in The Cellar when it fully opens this Fall - losing this unique restaurant is a huge hit to Rochester's attempt to climb above Appleby's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Organic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food; patio is a treasure; service was sketchy - no ice in water glasses and when asked for ice, it was about 15 minutes before he arrived with a glass with cubes in it - then found a container and brought us more ice. Wait staff seemed to be a little thin on a perfectly lovely evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A very enjoyable Saturday evening dinner - the food was delicious (I recommend the lamb burger) and our server was very attentive and personable.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We ate on veranda atmosphere was nice had to somewhat dodge the bugs but that would be expected had the special with wine pairing love the food the wine pairing was ok not great. Overall a nice experience would definitely recommend. However choose you own wine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit to Zzest. The food was delicious. The interior was quirky and fun. The evening was marred by two things: terrible music and mediocre service. Our server brought our salad before we finished our appetizer and brought our entrees while both appetizer and salad were on our (very tiny) table. The service was so rushed that there wasn't even an opportunity to order a second drink -- and the place was half-empty. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our go-to place.
Always excellent food.
Avocado toast is great.
home made pasta always good too.
Patio is super.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the outdoor seating with its view of the river. Drinks are interesting and good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely love it every time we visit! Creative and tasty menu that changes often, great staff, wonderful vibe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food. Unique creations love the outdoor seats

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very good as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our favorite places in Rochester - great outside dining area and creative cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love the food, the crew, and the cocktails at ZZest!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

ZZest was spectacular as usual. We enjoyed our dinner and everything was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for birthday dinner with group of 4. Interesting choices as always. The ambiance is very nice now the store portion is closed. The patio is also special but not quite open yet for summer. Food options tend towards the adventuresome, and this made choosing hard for one in our party. So would say this is not for the non foodie, at least until the patio and pizza oven are back in season.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Everything was great, and the food was fantastic. They offer many meat and cheese appetizer options. The wine menu was decent. There are few gluten free options on their regular menu though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I took a good friend here to celebrate her birthday. We had a great time. The food was really incredible! The staff was very friendly and informed but not intrusive. The cocktail I had was balanced and delicious. The whole experience was welcoming and cozy, but very impressive all at once. Zzest could be a great date night, or a friendly happy hour get together. I'm excited to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We enjoyed our meal in a modern yet relaxed attom Goulash and beets salad were outstanding. Burger was huge, favorable and juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always love coming here - their food is AMAZING! My husband and I frequent here, together and with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I have been here many times and enjoy the food which is interesting and tasty. I always recommend ZZest to others.

This time we felt very rushed. The salads and appetizer all came together and then the main course came before we were ready. I felt like the waiter was just shoving food at us. He also brought the dessert menus before we finished our meal.

There was no one waiting and it should not have been rushed like this. Please slow down the pace. Otherwise there are other nice places to go for a more enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always love to come to Zzest. Plates a bit pricey, but you definitely get a higher quality of food! The ambiance is warm and inviting on these cold Minnesota nights. I wish they made more soups (to go with a bread and cheese plate). And since I have given up alcohol, I really appreciated the excellent Ginger Ale! Just delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food is incredible, a very talented chef. Server was very inattentive, impacted the evening.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

ALWAYS LOVE coming here for dinner! The staff is great. The food is great. I've never had anything on the menu that I didn't love.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great fresh ingredients, the fish was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

3rd time we've been at ZZest and will continue to go. As it is now February, can't wait for warmer weather and the great outdoor seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took wife out for a meal. Friendly staff with excellent communication skills explained each course and paired wine with enthusiasm (but not uncomfortably so as some do), and made you feel knowledgeable about the meal, which was excellent. 10/10 would dine again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had very good reviews from friends, and that proved to be the case when we went. Our food was prepared well, the flavor of each item was terrific, the service was attentive without being obtrusive. The portions sizes were perfect. And try to leave for dessert, especially the creme brulee. The menu varies so another visit is definitely in the future. It was a special occasion, my wife's birthday, and instead of the usual badly sung "happy birthday" song, they presented a nice gift to use on our next visit .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

phenomenal food with great service. definitely one of the best places in town.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Very cool ambiance. The mushroom pasta was phenomenal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.