About ZZest Cafe & Bar

1190 16 St SW
#600
Rochester, MN 55902
View Larger Map

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)

Cross Street:
Apache Dr. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(507) 424-0080

Website:
http://www.zzest.com/

Catering:
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free front door parking.

Executive Chef:
Justin Schoville

Private Party Facilities:
Rent ZZest for your private party on Sunday or Monday nights. We can seat 50 people, or, have a casual cocktail party for 75.

Private Party Contact:
LeeAnn: 5074240080

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

Restaurant Photos

Burger
Pizza
Fish
Bahn Mi
mozzarella salad
Mac & Cheese
Risotto Cake
Three Cheeses Panini
Pan-seared Scallops
Steak
Salmon

ZZest Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Value
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
2 More
Contemporary American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked
Rochester
Best Restaurants in Rochester ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Scenic View (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great place to spend some time with a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A great place to spend some time with a loved one or folks from out of town. The menu is always changing, but the quality remains the same. Great cocktails and an excellent selection for plates and meals. You can't beat a tall PBR to cap the meal off, either!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zzest was outstanding as usual. They ar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Zzest was outstanding as usual. They are the best restaurant in Rochester. Our favorite place to dine. The Avocado Toast is fantastic. The service was great. Highly recomend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and they man ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The service was outstanding and they managed to create a beautiful outdoor setting at a strip mall. They are known for their meal of the day as well as cheese and charcuterie. We just had an appetizer and pizza. The pizza was average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife's salmon was perfect. My lamb w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My wife's salmon was perfect. My lamb was good, but didn't need the whole "stew" complement; please think of your "meat-and-potatoes" guys.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

BBQ carrot salad and braised lamb pasta ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

BBQ carrot salad and braised lamb pasta were excellent - well done chef! Our server was friendly & helpful - his wine and food recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Came alone being in area on business. S ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Came alone being in area on business. Sat outside on the patio. The ambiance of the prairie and the various seating options made the evening. Hard to believe you are in a strip center. The salmon was very good as were the cocktails and service. I am sure to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great gorgeous drinks. Something for ev ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great gorgeous drinks. Something for everyone, from 4 star takes on the classics (Manhattan, gin and T) to wine and these gorgeous tall frosty fairy-colored beverages. Interesting cheese and charcuterie board selected by the frommelier (Just made that up I think - like a sommelier for cheese). Went light so I had the gem lettuce salad - excellent, hubs had some meat thing, mom had a home-made pasta, daughter had a frosted tinkerbell aqua drink in a tall glass that required an ID- drink had funky spike-shaped leaf in it that made it edgy - and nibbled on the cheeses and Marconi almonds. Bar seems to have picked up speed, which is a good thing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ordered bacon cheeseburger rare, it came ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ordered bacon cheeseburger rare, it came well done. Sent it back, came with no bacon and barely pink. Not enough bread served with appetizer spreads.

Expensive $$$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

1. We sat in a booth. We were facing nor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

1. We sat in a booth. We were facing north and we could not see our friends at all facing south on the other side of the table due to the sun in our eyes. We asked for another table and were told no other spaces available, the tables were saved for a group later on. The potatoes that came with our meal / over cooked, burnt, and hard. I should have complained, but I thought they were there just for presentation, they were a joke. The salad was great and the hamburger was okay. The noise was terrible, could not visit!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our best restaurant we've ever been to. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our best restaurant we've ever been to.

Went back 2 days later, awesome awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was nice and we enjoyed the per ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was nice and we enjoyed the perfect weather while relaxing and dining outside by the river, shaded by tall rushes and cat-tails and graced by elegant metal bird sculptures.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our drinks were outstanding! We ordered ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our drinks were outstanding! We ordered the Sangria and the Now you see me.

Food was amazing but not a lot of gluten free options for my wife.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I ordered the chef's choi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I ordered the chef's choice dinner and wine flight. It was fabulous! Such an excellent dinner and experience that I went back and brought the kids three days later. If I lived in Rochester, this restaurant would be my #1 pick for every occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fabulous meal. A great environme ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

What a fabulous meal. A great environment for our group to relax and enjoy some good food. We had the foie gras meatballs, ravioli, burger and shrimp. Everything was artfully prepared - best ravioli ever.

What a great find !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is excellent. We all ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, the food is excellent. We all went with our fav summer fare at zzest, the wood fired pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Six of us on a Friday evening arrived to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Six of us on a Friday evening arrived to find outstanding and friendly device and truly amazing food! Everyone agreed that we'd return anytime! I cannot stress the quality of both the food and the staff enough! If recommend the chef's tasting menu with wine pairing for your first visit. Then try a cheese sampler. Tell your server you general preference (creamy, mild, tangy, sharp, etc.) then trust them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my ultimate favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of my ultimate favorite restaurants! Cannot say enough good things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! I was hesitant with my c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was great! I was hesitant with my choice because I did not recognize some ingredients but the food was really good!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As before this is a gem. Delicious and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As before this is a gem. Delicious and beautiful food. I would have liked a cake on the dessert menu - everything was pudding consistency. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful evening on the City's best p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A beautiful evening on the City's best patio! Jerry and LeeAnn have put together a true gem, overlooking the Zumbro River. We're looking forward to many more evenings outdoors at ZZest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is never boring and the food i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The menu is never boring and the food is always great!

This is the place to go for unique preparation of fabulously fresh ingredients serve up in a fun, casual atmosphere.

Picture upscale foodie fare at a reasonable price point- ....and you are wearing your fav jeans and Flip-flops.

Oh, and box the other half of your entree so you have room for dessert......

Ps- has edged out all of the downtown venues to become our favorite restaurant. Really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual. Fabulous night to sit on ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great as usual. Fabulous night to sit on the patio. Food was good and wine was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went to ZZest for my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We went to ZZest for my wife's birthday. The service was excellent. The food spectacular. We had a great time and would highly recommend ZZest to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here often and love it! And this ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We dine here often and love it! And this last time we came and took the waitresses suggestion with the Wagyu beef so we ordered it and there was no favor in the beef or the things surrounding it. Just was disappointing this time is all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Very warm day in Rochester Minnesota, ho ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very warm day in Rochester Minnesota, however the shaded patio table we sat at, overlooking the river had a wonderful breeze. Delightful meal, as always. Always an excellent adventure for lunch or dinner in Rochester!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here for my birthday and was not ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I came here for my birthday and was not disappointed. We had the chef's tasting menu. Every course was memorable, but for me, the sous vide duck was divine. I can't wait to come back and try out the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best! We did the chef tasting ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always the best! We did the chef tasting! We would highly recommend it and will do it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a GREAT Time.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Once again our experience at Zzest was the best. We had pizzas on the patio. Their avocado toast is to die for and the mozzarella cheese is fantastic. Best restaurant in Rochester.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside at one of the bar tabled ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We ate outside at one of the bar tabled overlooking the river and that was beautiful. We didn't like our starter, the avocado toast but the tacos and the shrimp and grits were amazing. Server was very helpful, and overall enjoyed our lunch. Not a good place for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love our Zzest!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We come here often and never get tired of the food, friendly staff, great music and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is the best food in Rochester. AND ha ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

It is the best food in Rochester. AND has the best outdoor seating, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

terrific oasis!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved getting here for lunch outside as an escape from Mayo Clinic days of medical testing. Wonderful, inventive food. Terrific place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent for any occasion!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

All I can say is that the experience here surpassed my expectations. The staff were helpful, knowledgeable, and pleasant. The tasting menu was fit for a 4-star restaurant in just about any major city, and was certainly the star of the night. The wine list is quite nice, and compliments the menu very effectively. If the weather cooperates, try the patio, as it was just lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends get together

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We sat in the outdoor patio that has been greatly enhanced. Greeted by friendly staff. Service was excellent. The appetizers were particularly good. I had the pork tacos and they were ok. The others on the table had hamburger and lamb burger and were very happy with their choices. Definitely will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The expanded menu

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The new, expanded menu, is excellent. The shredded pork tacos were delicious. We're looking forward to the opening of that beautiful patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always so fun and delicious!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Always so fun and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Feels like home

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

ZZest is one of those restaurants that makes Rochester fit to stay my "home." The ever-changing menu, knowledgeable staff, friendly (and present) owners, and out-of-this-world flavor are what keep me coming back! I tell everyone I know, whether they live here or are just visiting, that they MUST eat at ZZest!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST decision ever and excited to come b ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

BEST decision ever and excited to come back. Amazing parings and ambiance in a strip mall.

Sit at chefs bar and sample the specials. These kids are foodies and know their stuff. 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zzest the BBest

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

What a great chef tasting, never let down. Always feel special

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night delight

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

People think you have to go downtown for great food and fun. Not true especially if you live in SW Rochester. ZZEST offers fabulous food and a great atmosphere. The menu changes but always creative and definitely makes you want to return just try the next new thing. But I have to say my favorite desert is the milk chocolate steamed pudding with vanilla ice cream! They welcome reservations but if you want the patio come early!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.