Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - ZZest Cafe & Bar

4.6
216 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(507) 424-0080
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Justin Schoville
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Apache Dr. SW
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of free front door parking.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 216 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on September 14, 2017

Doesn't matter what I think - they close today 9.16.17! Planning a rebirth in 6 weeks to a high class burger joint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Best restaurant in Rochester hands down and not because I am biased

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

We LOVE Zzest. We are trying to take advantage of the remaining time it is still open. Our Favorite restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the one vegetarian entree on the menu was a little boring, we did very well sharing a bunch of appetizers and salads as tapas. The craft cocktails are lovely, service was swell, and our choices definitely fell into the category "too fussy to make at home," so the meal and experience was much appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Had a lovely evening with friends. The food and service were exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2017

I love Zzest and will greatly miss it come September when it closes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Friendly and helpful staff that go beyond the typical description of the menu. Excellent meals. Nice location and modern design of interiors.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2017

So sad they are closing in September. Hands down the best food we've found in Rochester. This has been a must stop for us for the past four years when we visit. Looking forward to seeing what they do next.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2017

This is consistently a wonderful place. The food is excellent, foodie quality for sure. We will miss them. The burrata was creamy and delicious. Cauliflower with raisins and pickle also great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2017

It was really nice to take our time and enjoy one item at a time. Great to know ingredients are local.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Great menu, wonderful experience. Had a lovely evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

I can only hope that Leanne, Justin and crew recreate a Zzesty atmosphere in The Cellar when it fully opens this Fall - losing this unique restaurant is a huge hit to Rochester's attempt to climb above Appleby's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food; patio is a treasure; service was sketchy - no ice in water glasses and when asked for ice, it was about 15 minutes before he arrived with a glass with cubes in it - then found a container and brought us more ice. Wait staff seemed to be a little thin on a perfectly lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

A very enjoyable Saturday evening dinner - the food was delicious (I recommend the lamb burger) and our server was very attentive and personable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2017

We ate on veranda atmosphere was nice had to somewhat dodge the bugs but that would be expected had the special with wine pairing love the food the wine pairing was ok not great. Overall a nice experience would definitely recommend. However choose you own wine

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit to Zzest. The food was delicious. The interior was quirky and fun. The evening was marred by two things: terrible music and mediocre service. Our server brought our salad before we finished our appetizer and brought our entrees while both appetizer and salad were on our (very tiny) table. The service was so rushed that there wasn't even an opportunity to order a second drink -- and the place was half-empty. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our go-to place.
Always excellent food.
Avocado toast is great.
home made pasta always good too.
Patio is super.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the outdoor seating with its view of the river. Drinks are interesting and good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely love it every time we visit! Creative and tasty menu that changes often, great staff, wonderful vibe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food. Unique creations love the outdoor seats

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2017

Very good as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our favorite places in Rochester - great outside dining area and creative cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love the food, the crew, and the cocktails at ZZest!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2017

ZZest was spectacular as usual. We enjoyed our dinner and everything was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for birthday dinner with group of 4. Interesting choices as always. The ambiance is very nice now the store portion is closed. The patio is also special but not quite open yet for summer. Food options tend towards the adventuresome, and this made choosing hard for one in our party. So would say this is not for the non foodie, at least until the patio and pizza oven are back in season.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2017

Everything was great, and the food was fantastic. They offer many meat and cheese appetizer options. The wine menu was decent. There are few gluten free options on their regular menu though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2017

I took a good friend here to celebrate her birthday. We had a great time. The food was really incredible! The staff was very friendly and informed but not intrusive. The cocktail I had was balanced and delicious. The whole experience was welcoming and cozy, but very impressive all at once. Zzest could be a great date night, or a friendly happy hour get together. I'm excited to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2017

We enjoyed our meal in a modern yet relaxed attom Goulash and beets salad were outstanding. Burger was huge, favorable and juicy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2017

Always love coming here - their food is AMAZING! My husband and I frequent here, together and with friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2017

I have been here many times and enjoy the food which is interesting and tasty. I always recommend ZZest to others.

This time we felt very rushed. The salads and appetizer all came together and then the main course came before we were ready. I felt like the waiter was just shoving food at us. He also brought the dessert menus before we finished our meal.

There was no one waiting and it should not have been rushed like this. Please slow down the pace. Otherwise there are other nice places to go for a more enjoyable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Always love to come to Zzest. Plates a bit pricey, but you definitely get a higher quality of food! The ambiance is warm and inviting on these cold Minnesota nights. I wish they made more soups (to go with a bread and cheese plate). And since I have given up alcohol, I really appreciated the excellent Ginger Ale! Just delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2017

Food is incredible, a very talented chef. Server was very inattentive, impacted the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

ALWAYS LOVE coming here for dinner! The staff is great. The food is great. I've never had anything on the menu that I didn't love.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2017

Great fresh ingredients, the fish was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2017

3rd time we've been at ZZest and will continue to go. As it is now February, can't wait for warmer weather and the great outdoor seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2017

Took wife out for a meal. Friendly staff with excellent communication skills explained each course and paired wine with enthusiasm (but not uncomfortably so as some do), and made you feel knowledgeable about the meal, which was excellent. 10/10 would dine again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

We had very good reviews from friends, and that proved to be the case when we went. Our food was prepared well, the flavor of each item was terrific, the service was attentive without being obtrusive. The portions sizes were perfect. And try to leave for dessert, especially the creme brulee. The menu varies so another visit is definitely in the future. It was a special occasion, my wife's birthday, and instead of the usual badly sung "happy birthday" song, they presented a nice gift to use on our next visit .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

phenomenal food with great service. definitely one of the best places in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Very cool ambiance. The mushroom pasta was phenomenal. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by Permanently Closed - ZZest Cafe & Bar