Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About ZZest Cafe & Bar

Modern Plates . Craft Cocktails . Local . ZZest.com.



At ZZest we feature products that are small batch, artisan created, and handmade following traditional family methods. We source local farm raised ingredients as often as possible, fly in fresh seafood from the coasts, and fully utilize the ingredients that are at their seasonal best.

Our Cafe is small, and, it is very, very casual -- the focus is on the food. We do take a few dinner reservations but we save most of the tables for walk in, just to keep it relaxed. So put on your favorite jeans and a comfortable sweatshirt and enjoy an elegant meal without having to count the silverware.

1190 16 St SW
#600
Rochester, MN 55902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm



Brunch:
Sunday Brunch and Sunday Supper: (occasional)

Cross Street:
Apache Dr. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(507) 424-0080

Website:
http://www.zzest.com/

Catering:
You can pick up, or we can deliver, platters ready to serve and to be enjoyed by friends and family. From artfully presented cheese boards to savory charcuterie plates that can just be set out in advance, how easy is that?! Pasta salads, fresh mozzarella, smoked salmon, pork sliders will keep your guests happy all evening.

Contact LeeAnn@ZZestmarket for details

Check out party platters.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free front door parking.

Executive Chef:
Justin Schoville

Private Party Facilities:
Rent ZZest for your private party on Sunday or Monday nights. We can seat 50 people, or, have a casual cocktail party for 75.

Private Party Contact:
LeeAnn: (507) 424-0080

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Here's the calendar: event calendar.

ZZest Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2017

So sad they are closing in September. Hands down the best food we've found in Rochester. This has been a must stop for us for the past four years when we visit. Looking forward to seeing what they do next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is consistently a wonderful place. The food is excellent, foodie quality for sure. We will miss them. The burrata was creamy and delicious. Cauliflower with raisins and pickle also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was really nice to take our time and enjoy one item at a time. Great to know ingredients are local.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great menu, wonderful experience. Had a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I can only hope that Leanne, Justin and crew recreate a Zzesty atmosphere in The Cellar when it fully opens this Fall - losing this unique restaurant is a huge hit to Rochester's attempt to climb above Appleby's.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Organic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food; patio is a treasure; service was sketchy - no ice in water glasses and when asked for ice, it was about 15 minutes before he arrived with a glass with cubes in it - then found a container and brought us more ice. Wait staff seemed to be a little thin on a perfectly lovely evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A very enjoyable Saturday evening dinner - the food was delicious (I recommend the lamb burger) and our server was very attentive and personable.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We ate on veranda atmosphere was nice had to somewhat dodge the bugs but that would be expected had the special with wine pairing love the food the wine pairing was ok not great. Overall a nice experience would definitely recommend. However choose you own wine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our first visit to Zzest. The food was delicious. The interior was quirky and fun. The evening was marred by two things: terrible music and mediocre service. Our server brought our salad before we finished our appetizer and brought our entrees while both appetizer and salad were on our (very tiny) table. The service was so rushed that there wasn't even an opportunity to order a second drink -- and the place was half-empty. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our go-to place.
Always excellent food.
Avocado toast is great.
home made pasta always good too.
Patio is super.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the outdoor seating with its view of the river. Drinks are interesting and good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Absolutely love it every time we visit! Creative and tasty menu that changes often, great staff, wonderful vibe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food. Unique creations love the outdoor seats

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very good as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our favorite places in Rochester - great outside dining area and creative cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love the food, the crew, and the cocktails at ZZest!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

ZZest was spectacular as usual. We enjoyed our dinner and everything was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for birthday dinner with group of 4. Interesting choices as always. The ambiance is very nice now the store portion is closed. The patio is also special but not quite open yet for summer. Food options tend towards the adventuresome, and this made choosing hard for one in our party. So would say this is not for the non foodie, at least until the patio and pizza oven are back in season.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Everything was great, and the food was fantastic. They offer many meat and cheese appetizer options. The wine menu was decent. There are few gluten free options on their regular menu though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I took a good friend here to celebrate her birthday. We had a great time. The food was really incredible! The staff was very friendly and informed but not intrusive. The cocktail I had was balanced and delicious. The whole experience was welcoming and cozy, but very impressive all at once. Zzest could be a great date night, or a friendly happy hour get together. I'm excited to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We enjoyed our meal in a modern yet relaxed attom Goulash and beets salad were outstanding. Burger was huge, favorable and juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always love coming here - their food is AMAZING! My husband and I frequent here, together and with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I have been here many times and enjoy the food which is interesting and tasty. I always recommend ZZest to others.

This time we felt very rushed. The salads and appetizer all came together and then the main course came before we were ready. I felt like the waiter was just shoving food at us. He also brought the dessert menus before we finished our meal.

There was no one waiting and it should not have been rushed like this. Please slow down the pace. Otherwise there are other nice places to go for a more enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always love to come to Zzest. Plates a bit pricey, but you definitely get a higher quality of food! The ambiance is warm and inviting on these cold Minnesota nights. I wish they made more soups (to go with a bread and cheese plate). And since I have given up alcohol, I really appreciated the excellent Ginger Ale! Just delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food is incredible, a very talented chef. Server was very inattentive, impacted the evening.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

ALWAYS LOVE coming here for dinner! The staff is great. The food is great. I've never had anything on the menu that I didn't love.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great fresh ingredients, the fish was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

3rd time we've been at ZZest and will continue to go. As it is now February, can't wait for warmer weather and the great outdoor seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took wife out for a meal. Friendly staff with excellent communication skills explained each course and paired wine with enthusiasm (but not uncomfortably so as some do), and made you feel knowledgeable about the meal, which was excellent. 10/10 would dine again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had very good reviews from friends, and that proved to be the case when we went. Our food was prepared well, the flavor of each item was terrific, the service was attentive without being obtrusive. The portions sizes were perfect. And try to leave for dessert, especially the creme brulee. The menu varies so another visit is definitely in the future. It was a special occasion, my wife's birthday, and instead of the usual badly sung "happy birthday" song, they presented a nice gift to use on our next visit .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

phenomenal food with great service. definitely one of the best places in town.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Very cool ambiance. The mushroom pasta was phenomenal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I'm always impressed with Zzest and this dinner was no exception. My favorite restaurant in Rochester. Thanks for another delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was amazing! Service was top notch. We will definitely be back. The bloody Mary was also finominal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It was quiet when we arrived but yet no one got our drink order til much later. Even after we ordered our drink order was not delivered til after the appetizers. We were there on a Tuesday night so it was so quiet, there was no excuse for the poor service. The server didn't check in with us or asked if we wanted dessert, just left it on the table. I still tipped the 20% out of habit but when I left I realized I probably shouldn't have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Once again ZZEST exceeded our expectations. The avocado toast was special, and the short ribs were perfect. This is by far the best restaurant in Rochester.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent again!! Love to eat at ZZEST! Hope to come back again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best restaurant in Rochester. The tasting menu was creative and fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always love this place. The food is very chef driven. Flavors and textures are very balanced. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.