Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

True Food Kitchen - AustinTrue Food Kitchen - Austin
(345)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown, Austin
Booked 68 times today
EberlyEberly
(206)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 48 times today
UchiUchi
(1976)
$$$$
Sushi | Downtown, Austin
Booked 64 times today
Clark's Oyster BarClark's Oyster Bar
(424)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 32 times today
Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Austin DowntownTruluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Austin Downtown
(1573)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 48 times today
Eddie V's - 5th StreetEddie V's - 5th Street
(3011)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 62 times today
La CondesaLa Condesa
(1171)
$$$$
Mexican | Central Austin, Austin
Booked 56 times today
Red Ash ItaliaRed Ash Italia
(192)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Austin
Booked 65 times today
Ranch 616Ranch 616
(535)
$$$$
Southwest | Downtown, Austin
Booked 40 times today
Lambert's Downtown BBQLambert's Downtown BBQ
(961)
$$$$
Barbecue | Downtown, Austin
Booked 32 times today
Boiler Nine Bar + GrillBoiler Nine Bar + Grill
(101)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 19 times today
FixeFixe
(630)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown, Austin
Booked 29 times today
Sophia'sSophia's
(115)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Austin
Booked 23 times today
Roaring Fork - Downtown, CongressRoaring Fork - Downtown, Congress
(1276)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 72 times today
Emmer & RyeEmmer & Rye
(358)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Downtown, Austin
Booked 63 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Z'Tejas Austin 6th St

Z�Tejas Austin 6th St is a restaurant that offers a unique fusion of Mexican and Arizonian flavors. Diners can enjoy brunch, lunch, happy hour or dinner at Z�Tejas Austin 6th St, which also offers off-site catering services and a menu filled with creative cocktails.

Start your day with a southwestern breakfast bake featuring hickory bacon, roasted red peppers and goat meat. Lunch at Z�Tejas Austin 6th St may include blackened catfish tacos with Southwestern slaw or green chile pork nachos with borracho beans and salsa fresca. Try the Texas fried snapper or the chorizo-stuffed pork tenderloin at dinner and don�t leave without a taste of the home-made ancho fudge pie.

1110 W. 6th Street
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Lamar Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 478-5355

Website:
http://ztejas.com/locations/#!/texas/austin-6th-street/

Entertainment:
We provide live music Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm.

Catering:
Off Site catering is available by contacting Trina Pruitt, our Event Coordinator.

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet parking from 3:00 pm to close seven days a week.

Public Transit:
We are located on the north side W. 6th Street just west of N. Lamar Blvd. between Baylor Street and Blnaco Street.

Executive Chef:
Santos Garcia-Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Z’ Tejas can help you plan your rehearsal dinner, birthday party, anniversary celebration, shower, happy hour, or business meeting for 20 to 120 people.

Private Party Contact:
Trina Pruitt: (888) 721-2171

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went early to celebrate a family event, and had a great table in a quiet area. The waiter was excellent, and made sure everything was perfect. The food was delicious. It was a great evening for our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Visitors from out of town and I had great meal and drinks. Only missed the corn bread offering. Will go there again as I have been for the past 20 years!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Come here a couple times a year, for several years, during my annual Austin visit. This used to be my favorite restaurant ANYWHERE because of two dinner menu items; blackened catfish tacos and their chips w 3 salsas appetizer. Both are gone as is now my reason for living 😐 . There is an appetizer version of tacos, but not the same and a bit disappointing. The waiter brought cornbread to our table. It used to be complimentary like dinner rolls on a table. BUT, to my surprise, it wasn't complimentary; I didn't find out until the bill came. The waiter never mentioned this to us. I didn't make a fuss and just paid the bill. I am starting to wonder if this location is under new management.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our server just seemed indifferent, drinks took forever, server spoke back our order than came back about 5min later confirmed the order again...order came out over 38min later and it was WRONG even after repeating back the order. The Manager then came by some minutes later to apologize and offer to correct the mistake which is great but that in itself took an additional 25min for a Med Rare Filet. Keep in mind this was also a Tuesday not a Friday or Saturday. This was our first date and surely did not leave a good impression on either of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was mediocre at best. Had reservations and still had to wait 20 minutes. Then sat at a small wobbly table in the middle of the room. It was our first experience at Z'Tejas and neither of us were too impressed. The salsa was the best tasting thing. The beer and food were overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 22, 2016

I've never been disappointed at Z'Tejas. In fact, I think I have come to expect the wonderful food and service as the norm.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Z Tejas on 6th Street was our choice of Austin favorites to bring out-of-town guests for weekday dinner. Valet parking makes it easy to get in. Reservations ensure a table on time. The wait staff is the right balance of being attentive without hovering, and the food always is delicious. The menu is varied enough for everyone, and the atmosphere provides the essential Austin vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Food /service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our ribeyes had good flavor but were tough and gristly. When I commented to the server, his comment was, "I guess steaks are like that sometimes." What?! For the price, I've had MUCH better. On the positive, the bartender made great drink recommendations. I would go back to try other dishes. Or for happy hour. It's hard to mess up good drinks and chips and salsa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything was great! Food and service excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Always great. When you drive all the way from DFW to go there it must be good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went to celebrate a birthday at this long time favorite, and, as usual, they didn't disappoint! Had a great time, service and food were spot on. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's an institution, but no longer competitive with the best of the Austin Tex-Mex places.

Chewy fajitas. Meh margaritas. Slow service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Service was great but food was pretty much average for Austin. Way too expensive. I guess you're paying for
location (6th St.). Trying to park in the back was difficult in a full-size 4-door truck. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Z Tejas and had s nice brunch. It was raining so we were inside but the noise wasn't too bad. It was our first time there since the latest ownership change, so we noticed differences on the menu but several old favorites were still there. Having our picture taken was a nice touch to remember Mother's Day,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great time at Z'Tejas. I was with a group of girls for a bachelorette weekend and we went for brunch on Mother's Day. The service was on point and staff was very friendly. They were taking Mother's Day photos and when we asked if we could get one they happily took our photo and printed 5 copies even though we clearly weren't there celebrating Mother's day. Also, the food was delicious, and Bloody Mary bar was a pleasant surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall it was a very good experience. Waitstaff seemed rushed every time they stopped at our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We recently made reservations to Z'Tejas because family was coming in and they love anything outdoors. When we arrived, they didn't have any outdoor seating available even though we requested it on our reservation. We opted to wait until one became available and they were very accommodating to that. The food and mixed drinks were delicious. We were so torn between different menu items but overall happy with our selections which were the Shrimp & Guacamole Tostaditas, Fish Tacos, Street Tacos, and the Baked Seafood Enchiladas. The draft and bottle Miller Lite were very warm and not very appetizing. Our server was really friendly and funny, we liked him a lot. However, one of his other tables took up a lot of his time, which isn't so much his fault, but we had to wait a lot longer than we hoped to submit our order and that's because we had to flag down another server to do so. We asked her to let our server know once he was done that we needed to place our order and she decided to take our order right there and then but didn't seem very happy about it. But hey we got our food! Our server did come by a little later and apologized for the wait. Overall, our experience was good and our experiences won't prohibit us from visiting again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu was varied and creative. The food was delicious and the service attentive. We will definitely return on our next visit to Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The dining experience at Z'Tejas on 6th Street is always pleasurable. The menu choices are extensive and excellent, the wait staff is attentive and the ambiance is inviting. Valet parking is included, which is usually necessary due to very limited street parking. We enjoyed a special meal, including shrimp guacamole tostada bites, artichoke chicken, a delicious Chambord margarita and a delectable chocolate fudge pie a la mode for dessert. We were only sorry that we missed the happy hour drink specials by a few minutes due to the high volume of traffic causing delays during a downtown weekend festival. We wish there had been a short grace period considering this was unavoidable and we were less than 5 minutes from the cut off time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were put out on a side patio with birds all over the place and kids running around. The waiters kept walking back and forth. I felt like I was in a kitchen hallway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Always fresh and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food is amazing - the atmosphere is fun - try the Bloody Mary bar at brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

After years of being away, we came back to Z'Tejas only to be disappointed. We were seated 20 minutes before having our drink order taken. Our favorite dishes are now sub par. It will no longer be on our must-have-while-in- Austin list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were seated right away with our large party in a private outside breezeway. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went to brunch for Easter. No wait, service was slow to get started but then picked up. overall it was very nice experience, food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We frequent the Z Tejas 6th Street location every time we are in Austin. While everything on the weekend menu is terrific, the Smoked Chicken Chile Relleno is the best -- the perfect blend of salty and sweet in a grilled Poblano. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Brunch menu had a nice variety. The entre came with fruit and delicious choice of fresh muffins. Simply amazing. If you enjoy a cocktail with your weekend brunch, you must try the Weekend Bar. Make your own bloody Mary's or Mimosa or both!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for my Daughters College graduation and for Easter brunch. Nice atmosphere and friendly service! Lots of menu choices! No pressure dining. Paring can be tricky but we got there early and found street parking.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 7, 2016

I often take out of town visitors to UT-Austin here. It's relaxed, comfortable, food is very good (but not "foodie") tex-mex and other stuff. Service is good and they don't nag. There is always something anyone can eat and enjoy. I recently brought a Caltech professor there and he scarfed down a Chicken-Fried Steak in minutes. I was glad he didn't have a coronary on the spot, but he obviously relished something he couldn't get at home. I'll keep going back. One disappointment was that they now charge for the corn bread (not much though), but worse is that it no longer has embedded jalapeños. It's still good corn bread but not special any more. Valet parking is free (tip of course) so parking beats down town, but you are still very close to down town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Order the cornbread! So delicious! Sitting outside on the deck was so nice as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was its usual outstanding quality, and the wine list is varied and not overpriced. However, for the first time in perhaps 50 visits over the last 20+ years, we had, uh, decidedly unenthusiastic service. Our waiter never smiled, and we had to flag him down anytime we needed something.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was about my fourth time to this restaurant and the food has always been delicious. I love the atmosphere and the uniqueness of the restaurant. The servers and host staff are always friendly as well. I would recommend this place for nights out with friends!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I dont have anything bad to say about Z-Tejas as for some unknown reason it is my favorite place to dine while in Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great setting. Smoked fish enchiladas were strangely seasoned & impossible to enjoy. Fish tacos were tasty. Server friendly but not attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2016

My twin sister and I drove to Austin from Houston to take our older sister out to lunch for her birthday. After a warm greeting we were escorted to our table which was ready for us. We had a delicious lunch and the service was great - our server was so friendly and helpful. My sister was given a complimentary dessert which was a very nice touch and so yummy. It was a perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2016

Only disappointment. No complimentary cornbread anymore? What gives?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 24, 2016

We had a party of 7 for a surprise birthday brunch. Hostess was very friendly and had our table ready by reservation time. Our server did a fantastic job with our rowdy group- nailed all the split checks with no errors -- huge bonus. Food was great as well. A brunch that takes reservations and offers an a la carte menu...we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Their Z Pepe margaritas are to die for- no mix, just good tequila, orange, agave, and lime! My mother loved the Grilled Shrimp Tostada bites, I loved the cornbread and Chili Pork Verde. We also got the chicken fajitas and the chicken and mushroom stack; incredible! $5 margaritas and $3 off appetizers is a great deal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.