About Z'Tejas Austin 6th St

1110 W. 6th Street
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Our fresh, flavorful and innovative menus showcase the bold and robust flavors of Arizona, California, Louisiana, New Mexico and Texas. We take traditional ingredients, spices and cooking techniques from around the South to create a taste without borders.

To make a reservation for parties of eight or more, please call the restaurant directly

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
N. Lamar Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 478-5355

Website:
http://ztejas.com/locations/#!/texas/austin-6th-street/

Entertainment:
We provide live music Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm.

Catering:
Off Site catering is available by contacting Trina Pruitt, our Event Coordinator.

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet parking from 3:00 pm to close seven days a week.

Public Transit:
We are located on the north side W. 6th Street just west of N. Lamar Blvd. between Baylor Street and Blnaco Street.

Executive Chef:
Santos Garcia-Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Salmon  Salad
Layered Enchiladas
Appetizers
Catered Menu
Diablo Chicken Pasta
Chile Pork Verde
Santa Fe Smoked Chicken Enchiladas
Tejas Trio
Jerk Chicken Potato Hash
House Salad
Mexican martini
Jerk Chicken Salad
Z'tejas Eggs Benedict
Jalepeno Bacon Relleno
Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwich
Cast-Iron Skillet Dumplings
Wild Mushroom Enchiladas
Pecan Crusted Chicken Spinach Salad
Peanut Butter Pie
Lime And Apricot Cake A La Mode
Chambord Margarita
Coconut Cream Pie
Chorizo Pork Scramble Skillet
5 Cheese Macaroni
Miso Glazed Salmon
Baked Seafood Enchilada
Beer'rita
Santa fe chicken enchilada
Strawberry Mojitos
Chips and Guacamole
Tequila Berry Trifle
Cornbread
Muffins
tres leches
Texas Butter Cake
Meatloaf.
Drinks!
Peach Cobbler
Pineapple Honey Faux-Jito
Huevos rancheros
Leo' Street Tacos
Santa Fe Chicken Enchalada
Veggie Chopped Salad
Frozen Margarita
Corn Bread
Green Chile Carne Adasda
Juevos Rancheros
Grilled Chipotle Beef Tenderloin
Seafood Enchiladas (GF w/ Corn Tortillas & Pico Salsa)
Pulled Pork Nachos
Grilled Shrimp & Guacamole Tostada Bites
Cast-Iron Skillet Fresh Fruit Cobbler
Ruby Trout
Ahi Ceviche Tacos
Sesame Ahi Seared Tuna
Southwestern Paella
Leo's Street Tacos
Complimentary Cornbread
Blackened Catfish Tacos
Pesto Chicken And Avocado Sandiwch
Tableside Guacamole
Vegetarian Cobb Salad
Chile Onion Rings
Smores Cake And Root Beer Float
Voodoo Tuna
Red Rita
Chile Verde Pork
Breakfast Enchiladas
Adobe Steak Rellenos With Hatch Chilies
Ahi Chipotle Citrus Bites
Hamburget, Salad, And Margarita
Green Chile Barbacoa Enchiladas
Smoked Chicken Chile Relleno

Private Dining

Z’ Tejas can help you plan your rehearsal dinner, birthday party, anniversary celebration, shower, happy hour, or business meeting for 20 to 120 people.

Z'Tejas Austin 6th St Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (20)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (16)
See All
great for brunch (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (10)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (4)
romantic (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went early to celebrate a family even ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went early to celebrate a family event, and had a great table in a quiet area. The waiter was excellent, and made sure everything was perfect. The food was delicious. It was a great evening for our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visitors from out of town and I had grea ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Visitors from out of town and I had great meal and drinks. Only missed the corn bread offering. Will go there again as I have been for the past 20 years!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Come here a couple times a year, for sev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Come here a couple times a year, for several years, during my annual Austin visit. This used to be my favorite restaurant ANYWHERE because of two dinner menu items; blackened catfish tacos and their chips w 3 salsas appetizer. Both are gone as is now my reason for living 😐 . There is an appetizer version of tacos, but not the same and a bit disappointing. The waiter brought cornbread to our table. It used to be complimentary like dinner rolls on a table. BUT, to my surprise, it wasn't complimentary; I didn't find out until the bill came. The waiter never mentioned this to us. I didn't make a fuss and just paid the bill. I am starting to wonder if this location is under new management.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server just seemed indifferent, drin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our server just seemed indifferent, drinks took forever, server spoke back our order than came back about 5min later confirmed the order again...order came out over 38min later and it was WRONG even after repeating back the order. The Manager then came by some minutes later to apologize and offer to correct the mistake which is great but that in itself took an additional 25min for a Med Rare Filet. Keep in mind this was also a Tuesday not a Friday or Saturday. This was our first date and surely did not leave a good impression on either of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

It was mediocre at best. Had reservation ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was mediocre at best. Had reservations and still had to wait 20 minutes. Then sat at a small wobbly table in the middle of the room. It was our first experience at Z'Tejas and neither of us were too impressed. The salsa was the best tasting thing. The beer and food were overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I've never been disappointed at Z'Tejas. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I've never been disappointed at Z'Tejas. In fact, I think I have come to expect the wonderful food and service as the norm.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious as always.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Z Tejas on 6th Street was our choice of ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Z Tejas on 6th Street was our choice of Austin favorites to bring out-of-town guests for weekday dinner. Valet parking makes it easy to get in. Reservations ensure a table on time. The wait staff is the right balance of being attentive without hovering, and the food always is delicious. The menu is varied enough for everyone, and the atmosphere provides the essential Austin vibe.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food /service

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Food /service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've had better

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our ribeyes had good flavor but were tough and gristly. When I commented to the server, his comment was, "I guess steaks are like that sometimes." What?! For the price, I've had MUCH better. On the positive, the bartender made great drink recommendations. I would go back to try other dishes. Or for happy hour. It's hard to mess up good drinks and chips and salsa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Everything was great! Food and servic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything was great! Food and service excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. When you drive all the way ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Always great. When you drive all the way from DFW to go there it must be good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to celebrate a birthday at this lon ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Went to celebrate a birthday at this long time favorite, and, as usual, they didn't disappoint! Had a great time, service and food were spot on. We'll be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Declining quality

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It's an institution, but no longer competitive with the best of the Austin Tex-Mex places.

Chewy fajitas. Meh margaritas. Slow service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food not so hot

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Service was great but food was pretty much average for Austin. Way too expensive. I guess you're paying for

location (6th St.). Trying to park in the back was difficult in a full-size 4-door truck. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated Mother's Day at Z Tejas an ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day at Z Tejas and had s nice brunch. It was raining so we were inside but the noise wasn't too bad. It was our first time there since the latest ownership change, so we noticed differences on the menu but several old favorites were still there. Having our picture taken was a nice touch to remember Mother's Day,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a great time at Z'Tejas. I was w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great time at Z'Tejas. I was with a group of girls for a bachelorette weekend and we went for brunch on Mother's Day. The service was on point and staff was very friendly. They were taking Mother's Day photos and when we asked if we could get one they happily took our photo and printed 5 copies even though we clearly weren't there celebrating Mother's day. Also, the food was delicious, and Bloody Mary bar was a pleasant surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

consistent

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall it was a very good experience. Waitstaff seemed rushed every time they stopped at our table.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Recent Visit

 
 (Cancún)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We recently made reservations to Z'Tejas because family was coming in and they love anything outdoors. When we arrived, they didn't have any outdoor seating available even though we requested it on our reservation. We opted to wait until one became available and they were very accommodating to that. The food and mixed drinks were delicious. We were so torn between different menu items but overall happy with our selections which were the Shrimp & Guacamole Tostaditas, Fish Tacos, Street Tacos, and the Baked Seafood Enchiladas. The draft and bottle Miller Lite were very warm and not very appetizing. Our server was really friendly and funny, we liked him a lot. However, one of his other tables took up a lot of his time, which isn't so much his fault, but we had to wait a lot longer than we hoped to submit our order and that's because we had to flag down another server to do so. We asked her to let our server know once he was done that we needed to place our order and she decided to take our order right there and then but didn't seem very happy about it. But hey we got our food! Our server did come by a little later and apologized for the wait. Overall, our experience was good and our experiences won't prohibit us from visiting again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Creative and very tasty!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu was varied and creative. The food was delicious and the service attentive. We will definitely return on our next visit to Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Choice

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The dining experience at Z'Tejas on 6th Street is always pleasurable. The menu choices are extensive and excellent, the wait staff is attentive and the ambiance is inviting. Valet parking is included, which is usually necessary due to very limited street parking. We enjoyed a special meal, including shrimp guacamole tostada bites, artichoke chicken, a delicious Chambord margarita and a delectable chocolate fudge pie a la mode for dessert. We were only sorry that we missed the happy hour drink specials by a few minutes due to the high volume of traffic causing delays during a downtown weekend festival. We wish there had been a short grace period considering this was unavoidable and we were less than 5 minutes from the cut off time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were put out on a side patio with bir ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were put out on a side patio with birds all over the place and kids running around. The waiters kept walking back and forth. I felt like I was in a kitchen hallway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Always fresh and good.

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Always fresh and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing - the atmosphere is fun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food is amazing - the atmosphere is fun - try the Bloody Mary bar at brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After years of being away, we came back ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

After years of being away, we came back to Z'Tejas only to be disappointed. We were seated 20 minutes before having our drink order taken. Our favorite dishes are now sub par. It will no longer be on our must-have-while-in- Austin list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Good Brunch

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went to brunch for Easter. No wait, service was slow to get started but then picked up. overall it was very nice experience, food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated right away with our large ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were seated right away with our large party in a private outside breezeway. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Z Tejas a time and again favorite

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We frequent the Z Tejas 6th Street location every time we are in Austin. While everything on the weekend menu is terrific, the Smoked Chicken Chile Relleno is the best -- the perfect blend of salty and sweet in a grilled Poblano. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Weekend Bar

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Brunch menu had a nice variety. The entre came with fruit and delicious choice of fresh muffins. Simply amazing. If you enjoy a cocktail with your weekend brunch, you must try the Weekend Bar. Make your own bloody Mary's or Mimosa or both!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice for special Occasion

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for my Daughters College graduation and for Easter brunch. Nice atmosphere and friendly service! Lots of menu choices! No pressure dining. Paring can be tricky but we got there early and found street parking.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great to bring short term visitors.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

I often take out of town visitors to UT-Austin here. It's relaxed, comfortable, food is very good (but not "foodie") tex-mex and other stuff. Service is good and they don't nag. There is always something anyone can eat and enjoy. I recently brought a Caltech professor there and he scarfed down a Chicken-Fried Steak in minutes. I was glad he didn't have a coronary on the spot, but he obviously relished something he couldn't get at home. I'll keep going back. One disappointment was that they now charge for the corn bread (not much though), but worse is that it no longer has embedded jalapeños. It's still good corn bread but not special any more. Valet parking is free (tip of course) so parking beats down town, but you are still very close to down town.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Order the cornbread! So delicious! Sitting outside on the deck was so nice as well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, unenthusiastic service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was its usual outstanding quality, and the wine list is varied and not overpriced. However, for the first time in perhaps 50 visits over the last 20+ years, we had, uh, decidedly unenthusiastic service. Our waiter never smiled, and we had to flag him down anytime we needed something.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Always great food!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was about my fourth time to this restaurant and the food has always been delicious. I love the atmosphere and the uniqueness of the restaurant. The servers and host staff are always friendly as well. I would recommend this place for nights out with friends!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I dont have anything bad to say about Z-Tejas !!!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I dont have anything bad to say about Z-Tejas as for some unknown reason it is my favorite place to dine while in Austin.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mixed Dining Experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great setting. Smoked fish enchiladas were strangely seasoned & impossible to enjoy. Fish tacos were tasty. Server friendly but not attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Birthday celebration

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My twin sister and I drove to Austin from Houston to take our older sister out to lunch for her birthday. After a warm greeting we were escorted to our table which was ready for us. We had a delicious lunch and the service was great - our server was so friendly and helpful. My sister was given a complimentary dessert which was a very nice touch and so yummy. It was a perfect experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Only disappointment. No complimentary cornbread anymore? What gives?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a party of 7 for a surprise birth ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We had a party of 7 for a surprise birthday brunch. Hostess was very friendly and had our table ready by reservation time. Our server did a fantastic job with our rowdy group- nailed all the split checks with no errors -- huge bonus. Food was great as well. A brunch that takes reservations and offers an a la carte menu...we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great happy hour!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Their Z Pepe margaritas are to die for- no mix, just good tequila, orange, agave, and lime! My mother loved the Grilled Shrimp Tostada bites, I loved the cornbread and Chili Pork Verde. We also got the chicken fajitas and the chicken and mushroom stack; incredible! $5 margaritas and $3 off appetizers is a great deal.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.