Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Z's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse - DowntownZ's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse - Downtown
(51)
Steakhouse | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Reserve Now
Brasserie ProvenceBrasserie Provence
(641)
French | Middletown, Louisville
Reserve Now
Village AnchorVillage Anchor
(992)
Comfort Food | Anchorage, Louisville
Reserve Now
hiko-A-mon Modern Japanese Sushi Bar & Fish Markethiko-A-mon Modern Japanese Sushi Bar & Fish Market
(240)
Japanese | Westport Rd - Lyndon, Louisville
Reserve Now
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - LouisvilleBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Louisville
(161)
Italian | St Matthews, Louisville
Reserve Now
Napa River GrillNapa River Grill
(370)
Californian | Westport Rd - Lyndon, Louisville
Reserve Now
Charr'd Bourbon Kitchen & LoungeCharr'd Bourbon Kitchen & Lounge
(37)
American | Jeffersontown, Louisville
Reserve Now
Shalimar Indian RestaurantShalimar Indian Restaurant
(61)
Indian | Jeffersontown, Louisville
Reserve Now
Buca di Beppo - LouisvilleBuca di Beppo - Louisville
(592)
Italian | Jeffersontown, Louisville
Reserve Now
Simply Thai - MiddletownSimply Thai - Middletown
(40)
Thai | Middletown, Louisville
Reserve Now
J. Alexander's - Redlands Grill - LouisvilleJ. Alexander's - Redlands Grill - Louisville
(4)
Contemporary American | St Matthews, Louisville
Reserve Now
The Melting Pot - LouisvilleThe Melting Pot - Louisville
(15)
Fondue | Jeffersontown, Louisville
Reserve Now
Anoosh BistroAnoosh Bistro
(288)
Contemporary American | St Matthews, Louisville
Reserve Now
Ruth's Chris Steak House - LouisvilleRuth's Chris Steak House - Louisville
(572)
Steakhouse | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Reserve Now
Equus and Jack's LoungeEquus and Jack's Lounge
(321)
American | St Matthews, Louisville
Reserve Now

About Z's Oyster Bar Louisville

101 Whittington Pkwy
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Our steaks are selected from Prime mid-western aged beef, hand cut and cooked to order. Our seafood is purchased directly from "Day boat fishermen", prepared simply and cooked to perfection. Oyster lovers can select the best oysters available, from the North West. Don't call for seafood specials for the evening prior to 4:00 p.m....Chef is still at the airport...we just don't know, yet!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Shelbyville Rd & Hurstbourne Ln.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 429-8000

Website:
http://www.zsoyster.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for All Occasions.
We are honored that you are considering us to host your next function. From business meetings, to rehearsal dinners, our beautiful private dining rooms are sure to provide the perfect background.

We will work with you to ensure this event reflects your own taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you, as well as your guests, can thoroughly enjoy this special event.

Private Party Contact:
Jackie Tronzo: 5028558000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • loaded baked potato - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
  • Jumbo Lump Crabcake  - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
  • Best Filet In Town - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
  • Shrimp Tacos - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
loaded baked potato - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
Jumbo Lump Crabcake  - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
Best Filet In Town - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville
Shrimp Tacos - Z's Oyster Bar Louisville

Z's Oyster Bar Louisville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
See All
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of my all time favorite spot ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Reviewed on July 16, 2016

This is one of my all time favorite spots.... The food quality and attentive staff leave you wanting to keep coming back. Although the Steakhouse Oyster Bar might have you thinking this place is just for dinner its actually one of the best lunch spots in Louisville... I have entertained business clients hosted employee dinner functions and just stop in for dinner with my wife at the bar and always leave saying that was delicious.... The owner of this establishment is one of Louisville's premier restaurateur's with a true passion for food and customer service. Put this one on your "A LIST".......

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

I had really high hopes for this place- ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

I had really high hopes for this place- some friends said it was great. We had a "so-so" time. The food was good, the service was subpar, and the atmosphere was odd. I don't know how to really explain it, other than we will probably not be back. From the hostess, to the bartender, to our server, the staff seemed very distracted like they could care less about anything. At one point, our server brought the wrong drink, and when we told her about it she took it away and still charged us for it. Overall, just disappointing considering what we paid for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Fine dining at its best!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Very quiet atmosphere for romantic date night. Service is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Special Occasion Dining

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

We had a birthday gift card to use at Z's. Not having been here previously, we did not know quite what to expect, even though we read reviews. Well, the fact that it was very pricey is true but we read some reviews about service and "attitude" that were very untrue. The service was above and beyond wonderful. We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady (did not get her name), Our waiter--Beverly-- was so personable, pleasant, and attentive. We were impressed with her and all the servers. We never once had to look for anyone to refill our drinks. Now, onto the food. It was so--oo good, like delicious. I had a spinach mango salad with citrus dressing. This could almost be a meal in itself. I did say--almost--because I followed with a crab cake and scallops which were excellent. Kudos to their chef. My husband (whose birthday we were celebrating) had a steak which he described as succulent. It was a great evening with wonderful food which we would only feel justified doing for a special occasion (or being blessed with a gift card) due to prices. However, the service and food are definitely to be commended. If prices are not an issue, go any time. You will love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Excellent food and service. Entrees are a bit pricey but food was excellent and you are treated very well from beginning to end. Try the souffle!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a special place for fresh seafood ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Always a special place for fresh seafood. My wife had oysters from Washington state on the half shell, and I had the chowder and pan-fried oysters. Delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent upscale restaurant

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Z's does it right. The staff, ambiance(soft crooner music playing), menu selection with seafood freshly flown in, and wonderful flavoring of each dish is incredible. I had the Washington salad, Nosh oysters, Marlin(probably one of the best fish I've eaten), Jacks Sweet potatoes, and Coppola Pinot. This all was simply delicious.

To top it off, I have an affinity for Cheescake. All of their desserts are made in house, so I had to try their NY style Cheescake, and see where it stacked up compared to my top 10 list. It makes the list at #7. With a thick texture, soft crust, semi sweet flavor, and drizzled with strawberry sauce, it was a great way to finish the meal.

In case you're interested, here's my top 10 list:

1. Gambas - Merrilleville, IN. Original

2. Pittsburgh Blue - Minneapolis, MN. Original

3. Saul Good - Lexington, KY. White Chocolate

4. Corleone's - Independence, OH. Lemon

5. Capital Grille - Chain, Original

6. St. Elmos - Indianapolis, IN. Original

7. Z's Oyster Bar - Louisville, KY. NY style w/ Strawberry

8. Vic & Anthony's - Las Vegas, NY style w/ Strawberry

9. Brazeiros - Louisville, KY. Original

10. Cheesecake Factory - Chain, Banana

Whether you're looking for a special date night, or need to impress clients, I would highly recommend Z's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal great service one of the best ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

Great meal great service one of the best prime burgers

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Love a good restaurant close to home

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

Z's has been around a long time and we forgot about it. So we decided to celebrate 2 birthdays here the other night. Low key, very nice food and quiet environment where you can actually talk to friends. The calamari was some of the best we've had in the city. Still has great Caesar salad made table side. Everyone loved their food and service was quietly professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on December 9, 2014

Everything was wonderful our food was well prepared and the presentation was exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

We had not been to Zs in a couple of years and thought we'd give a go- we had good experiences in the past. Had dinner on a Saturday night with another couple and was a bit surprised the restaurant was not close to being full. While the servers were personable, they were much less attentive that I recall in the past and what I've come to expect from a restaurant of this stature. It was a bit of a distraction. The oysters we had for appetizers were excellent as usual, the lobster bisque seemed to lack flavor.

For our main entree three of us had the filet while the other had that mahi mahi. The fish was quite fresh and had moist with just the right texture. However, each of filets were over cooked one notch and did not have the flavor I remembered. We did not send the steaks back because of the length of time it took just to get the meal to us. The side dishes, au gratin potatoes, sautéed spinach, and asparagus, while good were unremarkable.

Bottom line, the very high price of meal did not come close to matching the level of service or food quality. Think Zs needs to rethink its operations, we will not be back until it does.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always a good choice, consistent food and service.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

The drinks are the right size, as many other restaurants are downsizing their cocktails. Those restaurants go to the bottom of my list, although they stay on my active list. The food is always excellent, especially for carnivores. But they have something for everyone. The convenience of the location and parking is also important. And, one can dress up or dress down and feel absolutely appropriate in either case. It really is one of my favorite restaurants in Louisville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Superior!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 6, 2014

Dining at Z's is ALWAYS a superior experience! The meals are well prepared with fresh ingredients, and seasoned perfectly. Because the city is home to the UPS Worldport Hub, Z's can obtain very fresh seafood that they prepare beautifully. Cocktails are excellent as well. We had out of town guests with us Monday night. One is a Manhattan connoisseur. She found her drink to be one of the best she has ever tasted.

You can always count on a great meal, attentive and friendly service, and a warm ambiance at Z's. I have never been disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

dudleygirl

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

The fried oysters melted in your mouth, and the breading was light...perr..rrfect. I also highly recommend the scallops. The sides are huge and designed for sharing. Portions are generous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Steak and Seafood Place

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

This is one my "go to" places when I have business guests in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Place Great food my new go to plac ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2014

Great Place Great food my new go to place in Louisville

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always Great & Getting Better !

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 25, 2014

Had great food and drink as usual, but now they have added a dry aged steak that is fantastic !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great First Time for my wife and I!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

We had a wonderful experience. We both decided on seafood specials, my wife the Ahi Tuna, which was cooked perfectly and was a very generous portion. I had a hard time selecting , but based on the recommendation by our outstandig Captain Joe(y) decided on the Butterfish which was also prepared perfectly. We accompanied our meal with the outstanding Calamari appetizer and then split a Steakhouse salad, we could not decide on which salad dressing so Joe and his team brought out all three that we were interested in, each was terrific but my favorite was the Avocado Ranch, simple, light and delicious. For dessert we enjoyed the Rasberry Souffle which was the perfect ending to a great experience. we look forward to returning!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining in Louisville

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

This was a great find. A little more pricey than we had anticipated but the food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Consistently excellent cuisine

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 26, 2014

When in Louisville, we plan ahead to dine at Z's. We especially like the seafood, my husband adores the Dover Sole. On this trip I had the whole fish w/ a spicy/sweet chile sauce & it was quite good. Salads were fresh, & well-dressed. The wine list is carefully chosen & our waiter was pleasant, helpful, & most of all, professional. After a long day of driving I44 & I 64, Z's makes us feel human again. Thanks for food done well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always go to Z's

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 18, 2014

Z's is a must for us when in Louisville. It is a welcome spot when traveling 64 & is a wonderful respite. My husband eagerly anticipates the Dover Sole which is usually expertly prepared. Wines are well selected

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.