Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Z's Oyster Bar Louisville

4.5
21 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Notable Wine List
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Our steaks are selected from Prime mid-western aged beef, hand cut and cooked to order. Our seafood is purchased directly from "Day boat fishermen", prepared simply and cooked to perfection. Oyster lovers can select the best oysters available, from the North West. Don't call for seafood specials for the evening prior to 4:00 p.m....Chef is still at the airport...we just don't know, yet!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(502) 429-8000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private Dining for All Occasions.
We are honored that you are considering us to host your next function. From business meetings, to rehearsal dinners, our beautiful private dining rooms are sure to provide the perfect background.

We will work with you to ensure this event reflects your own taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you, as well as your guests, can thoroughly enjoy this special event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jackie Tronzo: (502) 855-8000
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Shelbyville Rd & Hurstbourne Ln.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 21 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
5.0
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on July 16, 2016

This is one of my all time favorite spots.... The food quality and attentive staff leave you wanting to keep coming back. Although the Steakhouse Oyster Bar might have you thinking this place is just for dinner its actually one of the best lunch spots in Louisville... I have entertained business clients hosted employee dinner functions and just stop in for dinner with my wife at the bar and always leave saying that was delicious.... The owner of this establishment is one of Louisville's premier restaurateur's with a true passion for food and customer service. Put this one on your "A LIST".......

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 6, 2015

I had really high hopes for this place- some friends said it was great. We had a "so-so" time. The food was good, the service was subpar, and the atmosphere was odd. I don't know how to really explain it, other than we will probably not be back. From the hostess, to the bartender, to our server, the staff seemed very distracted like they could care less about anything. At one point, our server brought the wrong drink, and when we told her about it she took it away and still charged us for it. Overall, just disappointing considering what we paid for everything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2015

Very quiet atmosphere for romantic date night. Service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2015

We had a birthday gift card to use at Z's. Not having been here previously, we did not know quite what to expect, even though we read reviews. Well, the fact that it was very pricey is true but we read some reviews about service and "attitude" that were very untrue. The service was above and beyond wonderful. We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady (did not get her name), Our waiter--Beverly-- was so personable, pleasant, and attentive. We were impressed with her and all the servers. We never once had to look for anyone to refill our drinks. Now, onto the food. It was so--oo good, like delicious. I had a spinach mango salad with citrus dressing. This could almost be a meal in itself. I did say--almost--because I followed with a crab cake and scallops which were excellent. Kudos to their chef. My husband (whose birthday we were celebrating) had a steak which he described as succulent. It was a great evening with wonderful food which we would only feel justified doing for a special occasion (or being blessed with a gift card) due to prices. However, the service and food are definitely to be commended. If prices are not an issue, go any time. You will love it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2015

Excellent food and service. Entrees are a bit pricey but food was excellent and you are treated very well from beginning to end. Try the souffle!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2015

Always a special place for fresh seafood. My wife had oysters from Washington state on the half shell, and I had the chowder and pan-fried oysters. Delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2015

Z's does it right. The staff, ambiance(soft crooner music playing), menu selection with seafood freshly flown in, and wonderful flavoring of each dish is incredible. I had the Washington salad, Nosh oysters, Marlin(probably one of the best fish I've eaten), Jacks Sweet potatoes, and Coppola Pinot. This all was simply delicious.

To top it off, I have an affinity for Cheescake. All of their desserts are made in house, so I had to try their NY style Cheescake, and see where it stacked up compared to my top 10 list. It makes the list at #7. With a thick texture, soft crust, semi sweet flavor, and drizzled with strawberry sauce, it was a great way to finish the meal.

In case you're interested, here's my top 10 list:

1. Gambas - Merrilleville, IN. Original
2. Pittsburgh Blue - Minneapolis, MN. Original
3. Saul Good - Lexington, KY. White Chocolate
4. Corleone's - Independence, OH. Lemon
5. Capital Grille - Chain, Original
6. St. Elmos - Indianapolis, IN. Original
7. Z's Oyster Bar - Louisville, KY. NY style w/ Strawberry
8. Vic & Anthony's - Las Vegas, NY style w/ Strawberry
9. Brazeiros - Louisville, KY. Original
10. Cheesecake Factory - Chain, Banana

Whether you're looking for a special date night, or need to impress clients, I would highly recommend Z's.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2015

Great meal great service one of the best prime burgers

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2015

Z's has been around a long time and we forgot about it. So we decided to celebrate 2 birthdays here the other night. Low key, very nice food and quiet environment where you can actually talk to friends. The calamari was some of the best we've had in the city. Still has great Caesar salad made table side. Everyone loved their food and service was quietly professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2014

Everything was wonderful our food was well prepared and the presentation was exceptional

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2014

We had not been to Zs in a couple of years and thought we'd give a go- we had good experiences in the past. Had dinner on a Saturday night with another couple and was a bit surprised the restaurant was not close to being full. While the servers were personable, they were much less attentive that I recall in the past and what I've come to expect from a restaurant of this stature. It was a bit of a distraction. The oysters we had for appetizers were excellent as usual, the lobster bisque seemed to lack flavor.

For our main entree three of us had the filet while the other had that mahi mahi. The fish was quite fresh and had moist with just the right texture. However, each of filets were over cooked one notch and did not have the flavor I remembered. We did not send the steaks back because of the length of time it took just to get the meal to us. The side dishes, au gratin potatoes, sautéed spinach, and asparagus, while good were unremarkable.

Bottom line, the very high price of meal did not come close to matching the level of service or food quality. Think Zs needs to rethink its operations, we will not be back until it does.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2014

The drinks are the right size, as many other restaurants are downsizing their cocktails. Those restaurants go to the bottom of my list, although they stay on my active list. The food is always excellent, especially for carnivores. But they have something for everyone. The convenience of the location and parking is also important. And, one can dress up or dress down and feel absolutely appropriate in either case. It really is one of my favorite restaurants in Louisville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2014

Dining at Z's is ALWAYS a superior experience! The meals are well prepared with fresh ingredients, and seasoned perfectly. Because the city is home to the UPS Worldport Hub, Z's can obtain very fresh seafood that they prepare beautifully. Cocktails are excellent as well. We had out of town guests with us Monday night. One is a Manhattan connoisseur. She found her drink to be one of the best she has ever tasted.
You can always count on a great meal, attentive and friendly service, and a warm ambiance at Z's. I have never been disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2014

The fried oysters melted in your mouth, and the breading was light...perr..rrfect. I also highly recommend the scallops. The sides are huge and designed for sharing. Portions are generous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 21, 2014

This is one my "go to" places when I have business guests in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2014

Great Place Great food my new go to place in Louisville

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2014

Had great food and drink as usual, but now they have added a dry aged steak that is fantastic !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2014

We had a wonderful experience. We both decided on seafood specials, my wife the Ahi Tuna, which was cooked perfectly and was a very generous portion. I had a hard time selecting , but based on the recommendation by our outstandig Captain Joe(y) decided on the Butterfish which was also prepared perfectly. We accompanied our meal with the outstanding Calamari appetizer and then split a Steakhouse salad, we could not decide on which salad dressing so Joe and his team brought out all three that we were interested in, each was terrific but my favorite was the Avocado Ranch, simple, light and delicious. For dessert we enjoyed the Rasberry Souffle which was the perfect ending to a great experience. we look forward to returning!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 24, 2014

This was a great find. A little more pricey than we had anticipated but the food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2014

When in Louisville, we plan ahead to dine at Z's. We especially like the seafood, my husband adores the Dover Sole. On this trip I had the whole fish w/ a spicy/sweet chile sauce & it was quite good. Salads were fresh, & well-dressed. The wine list is carefully chosen & our waiter was pleasant, helpful, & most of all, professional. After a long day of driving I44 & I 64, Z's makes us feel human again. Thanks for food done well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2014

Z's is a must for us when in Louisville. It is a welcome spot when traveling 64 & is a wonderful respite. My husband eagerly anticipates the Dover Sole which is usually expertly prepared. Wines are well selected

Report
Helpful