Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Jeff Ruby's - LouisvilleJeff Ruby's - Louisville
(1637)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 34 times today
Proof on MainProof on Main
(2164)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 34 times today
Eddie Merlot's - LouisvilleEddie Merlot's - Louisville
(1500)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 13 times today
Vincenzo's Italian RestaurantVincenzo's Italian Restaurant
(1351)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 16 times today
RIVUE Restaurant and LoungeRIVUE Restaurant and Lounge
(1707)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 15 times today
Brendon's Catch 23Brendon's Catch 23
(403)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 12 times today
Butchertown GroceryButchertown Grocery
(409)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Butchertown, Louisville
Booked 29 times today
Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw BarDoc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar
(544)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 19 times today
Morton's The Steakhouse - LouisvilleMorton's The Steakhouse - Louisville
(1048)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 4 times today
Bristol Bar & Grille - DowntownBristol Bar & Grille - Downtown
(50)
$$$$
American | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 11 times today
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila BarWild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar
(422)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | East Market St - NuLu, Louisville
Booked 4 times today
8 Up8 Up
(259)
$$$$
American | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 11 times today
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - LouisvilleGordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - Louisville
(100)
$$$$
American | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Dish on MarketDish on Market
(454)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 6 times today
The Troll Pub Under the BridgeThe Troll Pub Under the Bridge
(222)
$$$$
American | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 8 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Permanently Closed - Z's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse - Downtown

This restaurant is permanently closed. Our steaks are selected from Prime mid-western aged beef, hand cut and cooked to order.
Our seafood is purchased directly from "Day boat fishermen", prepared simply and cooked to perfection. Oyster lovers can select the best oysters available, from the North West. Don’t call for seafood specials for the evening prior to 4:00 p.m....Chef is still at the airport...we just don't know, yet! Z's Oyster Bar and Steakhouse also features a Wine Spectator award winning wine list with over 600 different selections. Relax, and enjoy our award winning food, wine, and service. We look forward to seeing you soon.

115 So. 4th Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & Market

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 855-8000

Website:
http://www.zsoyster.com/

Parking Details:
Cowger Garage - Attached Parking Garage located at the corner of 4th and Market. Bring your Parking Ticket to be validated for $1 Parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for All Occasions.
We are honored that you are considering us to host your next function. From business meetings, to rehearsal dinners, our beautiful private dining rooms are sure to provide the perfect background.

We will work with you to ensure this event reflects your own taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you, as well as your guests, can thoroughly enjoy this special event.

Private Party Contact:
Jackie Tronzo: (502) 855-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Z's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
See All
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Steak was average. Everything else was good. Waitress tried to upsell all the items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful downtown location, accessible and ultra-modern décor.
Wait staff is always informative and attentive. Never a long wait.
Food is consistently good. Perhaps not outstanding but, has never
disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Or visit was extremely unusual. It started upon arrival. The restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night. We had to wait a few minutes while they got our table ready. There were only about 7 other tables in the restaurant, but they needed to do something to our table. It wasn't the wait, that was short enough. The manager didn't seem to know what was happening.
When we arrived at the table, the server and her assistant stopped by. She appeared a little frantic, with only one or two other tables. Her assistant was very good, but very robotic. Then the manager stopped by the table and introduced herself again, as if we hadn't just talked to her 2 minutes ago. Service was a little slow, which was not that big a deal.
It was the single most unusual upscale dining experience that we have ever had. The food was good, but there are plenty of good restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Used to love this place. We went to celebrate my wife's birthday. Was a bit of a let down from past experiences. There was not a large selection of seafood. My wife ordered the Sea bass and it arrived cold. Very unusual. I had the scallops Oscar, they were awesome. We are not sure we will return. Too many other places in town to try and not sure it is worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food and service was outstanding! The dry aged steak was the best I've had in awhile. Great place to have a quit romantic meal before going to the theatre or a show!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Menu with lots of options, delicious food, exemplary service, lovely atmosphere and decor. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful service, food was delicious! Loved the atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was decent but not worth the price. Service was very slow and not due to over crowded. There were only four seated tables in a Friday night at 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I've eaten at this particular restaurant on several occasions and have always been very happy. This was a disappointment. Our table had Scallops, Steak, Lobster & Fish. Each of us was disappointed with the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent choice for celebrating the hubby's birthday. Food and service was excellent. We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always enjoy the food at Z's. Specials are great and they do sea food very well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Place was empty. Should have walked away. The food was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very quiet and not busy. Our Captain explained that was due to the construction outside on the Convention Center and that was also why the window blinds were closed. We have eaten before at the Hurstborn location and find the ambiance there a little better. I thought it just a bit dark. It was expensive but there was never any illusion that it wasn't. We started out with the fried oysters and Oysters Rockefeller. The fried oysters were good but the Oysters Rockefeller were outstanding. I could have made a meal on them with some nice bread. For entrees I had the Tuna and the wife had the Steak "Au Poivre". The tuna was as it should be for the price and the steak was as well. The sauce for the steak was prepared tableside which was a nice touch. Small item that limited my "Value" rating is the fact it's ala carte and you have to order sides extra (and they are not free). Look I know it's a high end restaurant but for a $48 steak and similarly priced tuna don't you think they could throw in some fries? All in all not bad. Probably won't be back will go to Revue next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service great steaks were a little under cooked . Loved the atmosphere of the place, and the bar made good drinks :)

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Our server was wonderful. The food and drinks were great.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have dined there on several occasions and are always happy with the atmosphere, food and service. It is nice to be able to relax and enjoy conversation while also enjoying a delicious meal. I want my meals to be healthy and they do a good job of accommodating requests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Absolutely terrific. May have been the best steak I have ever had. It was cooked as perfectly as a filet can be cooked. Sides were delicious. Service was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Fish tacos on lunch menu are the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

How do you f' up lobster???!!! Taste was off!! Dining room was virtually empty buy cleaning staff at 7:30 pm standing around like they wanted to push you out door!!! Server not very knowledgeable about main menu items :(. Severely over priced! Poor quality. It truly is no wonder it was empty on Friday night!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service and Food!

Had dinner with friends on a Friday evening and we we one of only two tables in the entire restaurant. So, service was great. Food was good as well. We had a great time.

Concerned for the owners and while there was a food event just down the street, I hope that they are able to keep a dinner crowd and maintain staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our second trip to Z's. We had a super early reservation therefor we were the only people there. The shrimp cocktail and tuna steak were great. The pork chop phenomenal. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for high end dining. I would not bring kids.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have dined at this facility on many occassions and found it to be well managed, friendly, with great food and atmosphere. The wait staff is friendly, knowledgeable of the menu and well informed. We were greeted by Carla who remembered my wife's favorite wine and made our dining experience worth the while. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion where you want to experience a romantic evening and good food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in town for a date night out.The food was amazing. My husband had oysters as an appetizer and the ribeye for the entrée- I had the filet. We both agreed this was the best steak we had in a while. We split two sides- the scalloped potatoes, which were super creamy and cheesy, and the asparagus- we really enjoyed the pecan butter. We would have loved to order a soufflé but had no room to eat it and were going out after.
The only negative I saw is the ambiance was a little too stuffy- more along the lines of Ruth Chris or Mortons. The place was almost empty, which was a shame because the food was amazing. I would suggest the management consider updating the atmosphere and vibe in keeping with the current trends to stay relevant. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great restaurant for fine dining. We had a 1/2 dozen very delicious oysters, followed by Walu (Butterfish) from Hawaii. Can't wait to do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely ambiance. Our service wasn't up to the caliber of this venue. The crab cakes had too much filler. We were charged $1 for extra remoulade sauce - seriously?! Our "captain" criticized "assistant" when we had to request extra flatware" or more water. The bottle of wine we ordered wasn't available, and the manager suggested a more expensive option. There's just too much competition to go back here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great room. Had the look of a classic 40's swing club, complete with contempo furnishings and colored accent lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Save your money on the steak and put it towards the oysters. Steak was cooked properly but was tough. Oysters were very good, along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Overpriced for what we received, they had Big City Steakhouse prices for an average steakhouse whose Bone -in rib Eye cut of meat was very chinsy.

Was not impressed and will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was outstanding! Food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had spectacular service from Elaine. But the food was just OK. A very pricey average meal. We will not likely return on our next visit to Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The service and time from order to food delivery was a little slower than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was over priced and not well prepared. The filet was poorly seasoned, the burger was dry, and the spinach florentine had too many onions. The salads and drinks were good. Also even though we had reservations for 5 pm and were the 3rd group in the door we were asked to sit in the lounge as they were seating by servers and they seated 4 other groups before us. Will never dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was really good it was cooked perfect however the price I thought was very overpriced. We both felt we could've went somewhere else for half the money and still had great food not saying this food wasn't any good however when two people are splitting a meal because the price was outrageous and the bill still come to $120 we just both felt it was overpriced. I wish we would have been told about the price before going.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2016

The proximity to the convention center makess this a good option for dining. Otherwise, if you have time and feel like walking a couple of extra blocks, I am afraid there are many far more superior dining options around. Food is ok--not outstanding. Service is slow. Asked the waitperson for assistance on wine choices and she said she will bring the "not yet certified sommallier" to disccuss. Perhaps because I ws dining alone, he did not feel it was worth his time to do so, so he simply told the waitress what to tell me. Too bad. I know for a fact that my bill was much more than the 3-some of the duce next to me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The service is great with several waiters/busboys working as a team. I really liked the Fried Oysters, Oysters Rockfeller and the Grand Mariner Soufle. There seem to be a lot of turnover in staff as there were 2 waiter trainees working. Our waiter was not good at explaining the specials but was a great service waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2016

A very enjoyable dining experience, but not up to the same 5 star level as Z's Hurstbourne location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The weather was probably somewhat of a factor, but two waiters were assigned to our table - yet, they were standing around and talking with other staff while we were waiting for long periods for a cocktail or food. The manager was very nice after our meal had been served, but the service other than him was slow and inattentive with only 1/3 of the restaurant full. I do not reccommend the strip steak, very over-priced for a mediocre meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Was disappointed! First off, we ask for the cocktail menu and we are told that there is a bartender situation so they are not offering the menu tonight. That should have been our first red flag. I started with the lobster bisque and have had better and worse...it was adequate. But then our biggest disappointment was the Filet Oscar. We ordered it because it's one of our faves and it's not available at all places. When it arrives, it is cold, congealed, and very scant of crabmeat and asparagus. For an extra $12pp, very disappointing!! I must say that the filet was prepared well but if they can't make the Oscar sauce well, don't offer it. It ruined the entire meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Too loud, poor service, extremely expensive, weird people in other tables. Wouldn't come back, but if you go, I recommend Godiva Creme Brûlée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.