About Z's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse - Downtown

115 So. 4th Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Our steaks are selected from Prime mid-western aged beef, hand cut and cooked to order.
Our seafood is purchased directly from "Day boat fishermen", prepared simply and cooked to perfection. Oyster lovers can select the best oysters available, from the North West. Don’t call for seafood specials for the evening prior to 4:00 p.m....Chef is still at the airport...we just don't know, yet! Z's Oyster Bar and Steakhouse also features a Wine Spectator award winning wine list with over 600 different selections. Relax, and enjoy our award winning food, wine, and service. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & Market

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 855-8000

Website:
http://www.zsoyster.com/

Parking Details:
Cowger Garage - Attached Parking Garage located at the corner of 4th and Market. Bring your Parking Ticket to be validated for $1 Parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining for All Occasions.
We are honored that you are considering us to host your next function. From business meetings, to rehearsal dinners, our beautiful private dining rooms are sure to provide the perfect background.

We will work with you to ensure this event reflects your own taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you, as well as your guests, can thoroughly enjoy this special event.

Private Party Contact:
Jackie Tronzo: 5028558000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Z's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Quiet

82% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
50 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and Food! Had dinner with frien ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service and Food!

Had dinner with friends on a Friday evening and we we one of only two tables in the entire restaurant. So, service was great. Food was good as well. We had a great time.

Concerned for the owners and while there was a food event just down the street, I hope that they are able to keep a dinner crowd and maintain staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is our second trip to Z's. We had ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our second trip to Z's. We had a super early reservation therefor we were the only people there. The shrimp cocktail and tuna steak were great. The pork chop phenomenal. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for high end dining. I would not bring kids.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have dined at this facility on many oc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have dined at this facility on many occassions and found it to be well managed, friendly, with great food and atmosphere. The wait staff is friendly, knowledgeable of the menu and well informed. We were greeted by Carla who remembered my wife's favorite wine and made our dining experience worth the while. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion where you want to experience a romantic evening and good food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a date night out.The ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in town for a date night out.The food was amazing. My husband had oysters as an appetizer and the ribeye for the entrée- I had the filet. We both agreed this was the best steak we had in a while. We split two sides- the scalloped potatoes, which were super creamy and cheesy, and the asparagus- we really enjoyed the pecan butter. We would have loved to order a soufflé but had no room to eat it and were going out after.

The only negative I saw is the ambiance was a little too stuffy- more along the lines of Ruth Chris or Mortons. The place was almost empty, which was a shame because the food was amazing. I would suggest the management consider updating the atmosphere and vibe in keeping with the current trends to stay relevant. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant for fine dining. We ha ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great restaurant for fine dining. We had a 1/2 dozen very delicious oysters, followed by Walu (Butterfish) from Hawaii. Can't wait to do it again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely ambiance. Our service wasn't up ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely ambiance. Our service wasn't up to the caliber of this venue. The crab cakes had too much filler. We were charged $1 for extra remoulade sauce - seriously?! Our "captain" criticized "assistant" when we had to request extra flatware" or more water. The bottle of wine we ordered wasn't available, and the manager suggested a more expensive option. There's just too much competition to go back here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great room. Had the look of a classic 4 ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great room. Had the look of a classic 40's swing club, complete with contempo furnishings and colored accent lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Save your money on the steak and put it ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Save your money on the steak and put it towards the oysters. Steak was cooked properly but was tough. Oysters were very good, along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Overpriced

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Overpriced for what we received, they had Big City Steakhouse prices for an average steakhouse whose Bone -in rib Eye cut of meat was very chinsy.

Was not impressed and will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great service and food.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was outstanding! Food was fresh ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was outstanding! Food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had spectacular service from Elaine. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had spectacular service from Elaine. But the food was just OK. A very pricey average meal. We will not likely return on our next visit to Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service and time from order to food ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The service and time from order to food delivery was a little slower than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was over priced and not well pr ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was over priced and not well prepared. The filet was poorly seasoned, the burger was dry, and the spinach florentine had too many onions. The salads and drinks were good. Also even though we had reservations for 5 pm and were the 3rd group in the door we were asked to sit in the lounge as they were seating by servers and they seated 4 other groups before us. Will never dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was great just way over priced.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was really good it was cooked perfect however the price I thought was very overpriced. We both felt we could've went somewhere else for half the money and still had great food not saying this food wasn't any good however when two people are splitting a meal because the price was outrageous and the bill still come to $120 we just both felt it was overpriced. I wish we would have been told about the price before going.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Conveniently location.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The proximity to the convention center makess this a good option for dining. Otherwise, if you have time and feel like walking a couple of extra blocks, I am afraid there are many far more superior dining options around. Food is ok--not outstanding. Service is slow. Asked the waitperson for assistance on wine choices and she said she will bring the "not yet certified sommallier" to disccuss. Perhaps because I ws dining alone, he did not feel it was worth his time to do so, so he simply told the waitress what to tell me. Too bad. I know for a fact that my bill was much more than the 3-some of the duce next to me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great seafood! ! Prompt service. Attentive staff.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The service is great with several waiters/busboys working as a team. I really liked the Fried Oysters, Oysters Rockfeller and the Grand Mariner Soufle. There seem to be a lot of turnover in staff as there were 2 waiter trainees working. Our waiter was not good at explaining the specials but was a great service waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A very enjoyable dining experience, but ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

A very enjoyable dining experience, but not up to the same 5 star level as Z's Hurstbourne location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was terrible

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The weather was probably somewhat of a factor, but two waiters were assigned to our table - yet, they were standing around and talking with other staff while we were waiting for long periods for a cocktail or food. The manager was very nice after our meal had been served, but the service other than him was slow and inattentive with only 1/3 of the restaurant full. I do not reccommend the strip steak, very over-priced for a mediocre meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Wouldn't return

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Was disappointed! First off, we ask for the cocktail menu and we are told that there is a bartender situation so they are not offering the menu tonight. That should have been our first red flag. I started with the lobster bisque and have had better and worse...it was adequate. But then our biggest disappointment was the Filet Oscar. We ordered it because it's one of our faves and it's not available at all places. When it arrives, it is cold, congealed, and very scant of crabmeat and asparagus. For an extra $12pp, very disappointing!! I must say that the filet was prepared well but if they can't make the Oscar sauce well, don't offer it. It ruined the entire meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not worthy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Too loud, poor service, extremely expensive, weird people in other tables. Wouldn't come back, but if you go, I recommend Godiva Creme Brûlée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

So good we went twice!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I have been to! Great drinks, fantastic Caesar salad and the fish is amazing! Try the chocolate dipped Bing Cherries for dessert! You must try this place if you are in Louisville!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet corner

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

We sat in a nice quiet corner near a window as the rain poured down & enjoyed a bowl of clam chowder. Our main course was salmon, mashed potatoes & asparagus with a glass of wine. Very nice that we didn't have to go out in the rain since the garage was attached! Very enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner before the theater

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

We had a wonderful meal before going to the theater. I ordered off the special pre-theater menu and my husband ordered from the full menu. We were both delighted. Delicious food and outstanding service. We don't live in Louisville but will definitely return. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ahi tuna steak was amazing

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The ahi tuna steak was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall we had a nice dinner and enjoyed ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Overall we had a nice dinner and enjoyed ourselves. There were a few things that needed improving. It was a saturday night and not too terribly busy, so they seated everyone that came in, to the section to the right. It felt crammed, and you could hear other's conversations. It would have been nice to have people spread a little, not 12 tables all lined up on the same side of the restaurant. When you are spending that much money on dinner, it's nice to have an intimate and somewhat private meal. The server was attentive, and very courteous throughout the meal. The manager walked through the restaurant and checked on tables, which was nice. The food was good, but the scallops may have been better had they been seared and, and the spinach was just okay. Lobster Bisque had minced lobster on top, and was nothing special. Not a big fan of the family sharing sides, I think most people would rather have a regular portion of their side come along with their meal, and pay half the price. Seems very steep to pay for sides, when they should be factored into the cost of the meal, or sold as individual sides at $3/$4.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

What happened to Z's???

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Well, it started with 4 very thin slices of bread lying in the bottom of this large basket. The shrimp was supposed to be fresh but it was hard(frozen?) in the middle and transparent on the end. Asked several for refill on the sad bread. Then, what I was waiting for all week was a rack of lamb. The rack could have been cooked a couple of times because the bones were very charred...then, there was this "log" of salty meat lying at the end of rack. The waiter said they cut the meat from the bone to make it easier to eat...that meat was NEVER on those bones. Had rack of lamb many times...never like that. Did remove it from our bill. The potatoes should have been cooked longer, cheese wouldn't adhere, should have been browned on top. And then, the other item that I was excited about was a soufflé...was in a ramekin that was the size that cream brulee is served. Was going to comp that but was not removed from the bill. My husband's filet was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Not worth the money

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The restaurant is very nice, the food is not that great especially for the money and the service was decent. I just didn't have a good feeling about the restaurant when I left. I would go there for drinks with friends but that's about it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Celebrating anniversary. Started off re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Celebrating anniversary. Started off really well. All apps came out correctly and were very good. Caption was very attentive until we got our entrees. My filet came out underdone. Was just apologize to. Our water glasses never got refilled, only once after apps. We decided not to get dessert because we knew it would take some time as our caption was busy with all his other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was great as was the ambiance.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

Service was great as was the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great food! Loved the wine flights!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Great food! Loved the wine flights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Steak

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Quite possibly the best steak I have ever had. And that's saying something being from a large city with numerous steak houses. The dry-aged ribeye was absolutely awesome. And the side were fantastic as well. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Gourmet Food

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

28 day dry agged bone in ribeye was FANTASTIC. This is a great seafood spot too. Seafood is flown in fresh each day which is made cost effective due to the UPS national hub located in Louisville. Quiet, romantic with excellent food and wine choices. Can't wait to go back to Z's again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 24, 2015

Having been to an exceptional Z's at another location, we were rather disappointed at the quality of the main courses. While the wait staff was excellent and professional, the quality of the main entree's failed to meet expectations. Trout was overcooked and dry and crab cakes were underwhelming. At these prices, one can expect much more.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Almost a slam dunk

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 19, 2015

I had out of town clients that we were hosting for March madness, so we used z's for a dinner break between games. Excellent food, and good service through drinks, and appetizers, and then we had a very long wait for our main courses. We were seated fairly early, and before there was much of a crowd, so I'm really not sure what happened. Food overall was really good, two at our table felt that their steaks were a bit over cooked, but weren't willing to risk further delays to send them back.. The rest of the group was very happy with their meals. The staff made sure to tell us about the skywalk though the galt house to yum center which was nice as it was cold and drizzling when we left. The menu had a good variety for a group, and everyone found something they liked. Other than the delay it was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place for lunch with clients. Was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

Great place for lunch with clients. Was there with five of us and the the food and service were impeccable. Thanks to all who made our lunch a success.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 18, 2015

The service was very slow. Took forever to get our drinks. When we did get them the Martin was wrong. Ordered a bottle of wine and they brought the wrong one. Salads, sides and oysters took forever to come out. My steak was too well done twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

maria

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 15, 2015

I have reviewed Z's downtown before. I feel like i am repeating myself. Great food and service. An easy walk from my office. what more can I ask for!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Trying to be high-end but coming up short

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

Walked in and the restaurant was empty at 7:00 PM on a Saturday. That made me think immediately that I had not chosen a good restaurant. Staff seemed like they weren't prepared for people showing up because a stream of them came out of some back room and started asking us if they could help. My wife pointed out how stained and torn the carpet was in the eating area. It was in very poor shape. Once we finally got seated, one waiter asked us the usual what are you celebrating?, been here before?, etc. He then asked why as locals would we come to the restaurant when there are 10,000 people in town for a convention. Next waiter shows up and proceeds to recite the entire menu from his head. It took 10 minutes and was not the usual "here are the specials or specialties", but here are all the things on the menu. Left us confused as to why he named things we would be able to read. Overall, the service was best described as trying to act like a high-end steak place, but failing on all accounts.

Food was good, but the entire experience left me thinking I screwed up by not going to Eddie Merlot's or Jeff Ruby's. Tried to give Z's another shot and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

glad we have a Z's downtown

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on December 18, 2014

It is nice to know that the food, service and atmosphere are always good. There is never a doubt or worry when selecting a Z's for a lunch that you will be disappointed lot let down, just doesn't happen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.