Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Zola Bistro

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm,
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-5:00pm


Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (24)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Casual (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Healthy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Fun (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Romantic (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. The crepes were delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Went to the Bistro for the 2nd time and for the 2nd time, the food was terrible. I love Zola Café downtown, but this 'extension' leaves a lot to be desired. I ordered the BLT and the bacon came out burned to a frazzle. There were fries that had to be sent back once, but came out of the kitchen as though they just microwaved them to make them warmer. Terrible Terrible Terrible. I cannot recommend this to anyone who wants a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Although I have eaten at their sister restaurant Zola, I had never considered the Bistro. Picking up our very tired daughter and five year old grandson from a long travel day, this was a convenient spot. At 6 pm it was fairly quiet. The menu was very interesting, and we each found something unusual. We shared a roasted vegetable salad (very tasty) and tried each other's main courses. They included mussels for our grandson, a Kobe beef burger for me, a salad for our daughter and a perfectly seasoned a cooked pork chop. Bread, supplied by Zingerman's, was great, as were the olives that accompanied it. Our server, Megan, was very accommodating and patient and made good suggestions.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I loved the food the last time I visited this place - Sunday brunch with pancakes. The next time, I visited for Dinner, and was slightly disappointed with the menu. I ended up ordering one app- Shrimp Taco and a salad.

The salad was basic and nothing worthy of discussion (mesclun, other leaves) but the dressing they'd provided paired fantastically with the bread! However, the shrimp taco, while d-e-licious, was just that - a taco (ONE taco), which I think is unfair if you're charging me $8 for the dish. It had slices of mango and a few shrimp pieces in it, but just seemed too pricey - or they should have given a pair of tacos.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined on Father's Day, but were there to celebrate my mom's birthday. The place was packed and we waited 15 minutes past our reservation time for a table, but the staff was on top of things, efficient and friendly. Once seated, we received stellar service and the food was fantastic. Notable dishes were the watermelon gazpacho, which was spicy and complex and the apricot French toast.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Even with reservation, we had to wait around 15 min. It's really uncomfortable to wait inside. The waiting area is very reduced and if it's raining you have to wait inside no matter what. Food was great, kids menu no offered at the entrance, no available in the main menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our reservation was for 11:00 but we weren't seated until close to noon. They kept saying they were getting our table ready, but really they were just stringing us along. The music was too loud to hear the person next to me and they didn't turn it down when I requested. The food was mediocre--definitely not worth the wait. They never offered an explanation or any sort of compensation for the poor service. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time at Zola Bistro and it is was great. Excellent menu and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went after HS graduation for an early dinner. This has been a favorite brunch spot of mine, but dinner did not have as many options for our vegetarian graduate. I asked the server for recommendations for her or what could be adapted and all she did was direct me to a couple appetizers. We instead figured out on our own and asked for a panini sandwich without the chicken, and add a tomato instead. Also disappointed when I asked the server to describe the taste or type of liquor a couple ingredients that were in a cocktail that I didn't recognize, she told me she didn't know, hadn't had the drink, but that no one had ever complained about the drink. Well it turned out to have a very licorice flavor to it, which I don't love, but I drank anyway since it was a $15 cocktail. Food was excellent, great decor in this restaurant, but service a bit disappointing on this occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We are regulars at Zola Bistro. On the whole the food was good, but the new menu is quite lacking in vegetarian options. Having eaten good vegetarian food at Zola Bistro before, this was surprising.
Even though the restaurant was not full, service today was quite slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I really enjoy the food and they consistently have good service, but the noise level still makes it hard to catch up with friends or for a date, especially if anyone in the group is hard of hearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite spots and the food is always delicious and of course the service is excellent. Or server was great I can't recall her name either Claudia or something with a c it was great

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We ordered the Branzino fish and Chicken off of the menu last Thursday. Chicken tasted stale or was it the oil ? Branzino was just average. Overly priced for the quality of food.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The menu was unusual, as its' specials were for Ramadan.
Excellent flavors and wonderful service.
We stopped as we were traveling thru Ann Arbor. but
received a very special menu!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A bit pretentious for the meh food. Restaurant was nearly empty on a Sunday evening yet the servers claimed the kitchen was backed up.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Zola is a solid place to eat. The food is presented nicely and is very fresh. The servings are generous. The energy is great, the waitstaff is friendly and the ambiance is contemporary without being pretentious. I have only visited twice, but I do suspect that I would frequent it quite regularly if I lived in the area. No complaints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always a full plate of food and a wonderful menu. Can never decide. Always consider to be a treat as the items are a tad pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Zola Bistro was the perfect setting for a Mothers' day meal! The new menu is creative, especially the appetizers. You can make a meal out of the appetizers alone! Great mocktails, which was a plus for the kids! A true neighborhood gem. One of our favorite places to dine in Ann Arbor! I just wish the Moroccan salmon was still on the menu...,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food as usual. We particularly like the Kobe Beef (the only place where we have hamburgers!) and the spaghetti and meatballs are much appreciated by our 10-year-old granddaughter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was pretty had considering it wasn't that busy. Food was inconsistent even among us getting. The same dish. Charging my 4 year old daughter $15 for spaghetti and meatballs seemed ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Messed up the order. Options were limited. Usually I love it but this time was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent place for Mother's Day brunch. The food and service were superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. The service was disappointing at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It is very very loud in this restaurant. I found myself having to shout a bit and repeat myself to my companion. Maybe they could install some noise absorbent. The food is delicious albeit the belgian waffles were a bit soggy this time instead of crispy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Small portions with a large price tag. Food was not tasty. Service was lacking. Not worth it. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was very unimpressed with Zola Bistro's dinner option. They were way overpriced for the actual food we were served, we ordered salads and one was literally a chunk of mozzarella in a pool of olive oil and was not cheap. Would definitely not eat here again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food as always. Eat here every time we visit A2

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is great. They seated us in a better place than I had asked for!! What is better than that?

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food but a little overpriced and terribly, terribly noisy. The servers did bend over backwards to try to make our group as comfortable as possible, but literally were bumping into our chairs as they had to squeeze their way around all the tables crammed in. Not great ambience - just tables in a cavernous room.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I really enjoyed my meal at Zola. The waiter was very nice and attentive and the food was very tasty. The atmosphere was bright and festive and everything was extremely fresh. I cannot wait to go there again with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Drinks were terrible - food was OK. The drinks we ordered were not complicated - they were just made very poorly and served in water glasses not cocktail glasses. The martini was made badly and the manhattan was so sweet it was almost undrinkable. The dinners were OK - scallops were good, the other dishes were not memorable - that says it all. We loved Zola downtown and were very disappointed with the new bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We reserved this restaurant for our Guest Speaker and colleagues. They enjoyed their meal and enjoyed the environment of Zola Bistro.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful discovery for me! Will come again and recommend to friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Zola is my favorite brunch place. Only downside is it is very noisy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had booked a reservation on Open Table several weeks in advance, but when I checked with them in person the day before, they told me they didn't have a record of it. So, thankfully I was able to make a new reservation for Easter Sunday for 12:15. We were finally seated at 12:45, so although I certainly understand that it was an especially busy time, I was not convinced that prior reservations was a priority. Our server was awesome and the food was quite good. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My reservation for 14 people for Easter Brunch was promptly honored when we arrived even though not everybody showed up at the exact time. Service was excellent and food arrived fairly quickly after we all ordered. We even asked for separate checks and we were accommodated no questions asked.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited Zola Bistro for Easter brunch, and the service and food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch! Had a hard time deciding, everything sounded so good. Our party of 5 ordered different things to and everyone's dish was amazing! 4 star coffee too! A little in the pricey side, but worth it I think. I will definitely come back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had the crepe Zola which was extremely dry and empty on the inside, very little mozzarella, tomatoes and basil! The filling was all in the center and probably had three small slices of mozzarella. My boyfriend had the open-face fried egg which was basically child size. We're big foodies and very much okay with small plates but his meal was beyond not worth it.
2 stars cuz the Nutella banana crepe is worth going back for. But this is my second time here and the dessert crepe was the only good thing I've had here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.