HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Zola Bistro

4.4
309 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch (24)
  • Great for Lunch (17)
  • Casual (16)
Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, International, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Daily 8:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
Happy Hour
Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–6:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(734) 477-8088
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Platt Rd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 309 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Ksvich (Detroit)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Great menu — someone for everyone. They don’t rush you out which is nice. Love their specials

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Excellent menu and food!

Report
Helpful
MaryV (Detroit)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Their signature salmon dish was very good. I was able to swap out the brocolini for the brussel sprouts. Road house bread and mixed green salad a was a great meal starter with the red blend wine. Emily our server was super accommodating, friendly, and helpful! It was a great meal and experience.

Report
Helpful
vipNona (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

I love the food here. I enjoyed my shakshuka immensely; the eggs were perfect and the flavors blended beautifully. My friend reported her omelette was equally delicious. This is a terrific spot with easy on-site parking. Don’t miss it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
3.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

Noisy even when almost empty. Definitely needs to be made quieter.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodieMary1 (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

This is a great place. We had excellent food. I had orange juice, which was nine dollars. Then I had the salmon hash and a side of fruit. My husband had the Huevos rancheros special.He had coffee, I had mocha. Their mocha is delicious. The negative, is that it was almost $60. That is way too much money.

Report
Helpful
vipPortPreferred (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

It is a hidden gem in the mornings. The food selection is creative and the service is great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

We were seated on time for our reservation. Service was polite and efficient. Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
vipKeepingUp (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

We often choose Zola Bistro for a casual dinner out; parking is easy, menu choices are appealing and a little out of the ordinary (there is a strong Turkish influence in the seasonings.). On this occasion we enjoyed the lentil soup, roasted Brussels sprouts, Kobe beef burger and butternut squash ravioli. Our waitress was attentive and pleasant, and the food, every dish, was delicious. Towards the end of our meal the noise level grew enough to be annoying - there is little to baffle the noise - but we generally eat early enough to limit that distraction. Seated at 6, out before 7:30.

Report
Helpful
vipCzechgirl (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

We enjoy having brunch on Saturday mornings at Zola Bistro. It’s a little pricey, but we love the food and personal attention we receive when we go.

Report
Helpful
William (Detroit)
1.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Overcrowded, average food, slow service, noisy and over priced.

Report
Helpful
vipSeekqualityoriginal (Detroit)
4.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

The restaurant week frittata was bland, not too appealing. Otherwise food was good.

Report
Helpful
vipJackie63 (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

I Have eaten at Zola Bistro six times in the last two weeks—what more do I need to say? Once a week is more normal for me, but In addition to a regular weekend brunch, I had lunch with friends a couple of times, and my husband and I splurged for dinner twice. Nice room, good service, great food.

Report
Helpful
vipElenaT (Cincinnati)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

The food is fantastic, great flavor

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Detroit)
3.0  Dined on January 17, 2018

I come here frequently because i enjoy a few of the menu items very much and the atmosphere is bright and modern. Go with the expectation that the service will be poor. They must hire inexperienced people and avoid training them. I’ve never had a good experience when I arrive. Hosts generally behave as if customers are inconveniencing them and have to wander around the restaurant to see what is open. Waitstaff is overworked, slow and neglects basics like silverware and offering sugar for coffee.

Report
Helpful
vipJackie63 (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

I am a regular because the food is very good, and I am treated well.

Report
Helpful
vipchirag (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Ann Arbor Restaurant!! The choices were excellent. The party got different dishes to try the food of Zola Bistro. Great service.

Report
Helpful
vipJudithPujara (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

The service is very slow and some of the servers appear to not want to be there. Our server was relatively rude and all three times I’ve been there the food has taken an abnormally long time to come out.

Report
Helpful
Yummy (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

I am glad I made a reservation as it was a very busy Sunday lunch time but we were seated promptly with our reservation ahead of the walk-in patrons. The food was excellent and the moderate noise subsided as the lunch crowds faded. A very pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
Camron (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

I really enjoyed Zola Bistro. There are a wide variety of drink and food options, and all seemed to be really good. I got the Kobe beef burger that was incredible.

Report
Helpful
vipA2foodie (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Zola’s is a favorite of mine. Parking is easy and the space is beautiful. Food and drink — delicious and artfully presented. Service is always great. It’s a great place for lunch
with a wide variety of dishes Their shakshusha is the best I’ve ever had and their roast vegetable salad is a winner. Their sandwiches are great and lunchtime is very lively.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
4.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Food is very yummy, but be aware that wait staff will encourage very expensive add-ons (beware the $9 orange juice). Hip restaurant with interesting interior. Best sweet potato fries in town.

Report
Helpful
vipKMG58 (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

Zola is a beautiful space with a fun ambience and good food. I like it for breakfast, brunch and lunch. My only criticism, and this applies to the downtown Cafe Zola as well (menus are the same) is that table service is poor. It was busy this Sunday, but certainly there were empty tables, and it was well over 5 minutes before our waitress showed up with water and took orders for coffee. She also seemed a million miles away in the way she communicated. I’ve eaten at both locations countless times and maybe I’m unlucky, but I worry the best you will get is adequate service. They do not seem to be trained to be focused and welcoming - sometimes appear “above it all”, sometimes abrupt, sometimes foggy, but never particularly glad to see you. Maybe they are not well- treated as staff and it comes through. Hope your experience is better.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Best brunch in town.
Great menu, great service and great food.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined on November 26, 2017

We had a reservation at 11:30 and had to wait nearly 30 minutes to get seated. We were told by the hostess that was "a normal wait time" with a reservation. What's the point of the reservation then?

Report
Helpful
vipJackie63 (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

Zola Bistro is one of my favorites, so when my brother and his family came to town, I booked a reservation. We all enjoyed our food, and they were impressed by the decor. I had a filet mignonette with a red wine sauce and subbed agree. Salad for potatoes and was extremely happy. Other meals ranged across all the salad specials to the spicy tofu dish. Everybody was very satisfied.

Report
Helpful
vipLuv2dine (Detroit)
2.0  Dined on November 24, 2017

We used to come here because we loved their food and the downtown location had gotten so pretentious with awful service. We loved coming to the bistro because they had better service. More recently we've noticed the downtown location has improved their service and processes and the bistro location has taken a nose dive in all categories. We have started avoiding this place as it is so disappointing every time we come in. They need to step it up in the service, food and overall systems categories. It's such a mess every time we go in there now we won't be back. I understand it's a big restaurant but there's just no excuse for how slow they are.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on November 20, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, attentive, knowledgeable but not overbearing staff. Many choices for differing food preferences and diets. Perfect for conversation and meeting with friends.

Report
Helpful
vipRobi (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on November 20, 2017

Wonderful service and great menu. Lots of options for all palates and tastes. I’ll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
Molly (Detroit)
4.0  Dined on November 19, 2017

The thing that I found odd about the service was that we ordered a menu item for an exact price (listed on the menu) but were charged significantly more for this item. When I asked my waitstaff person to adjust the bill to conform to the amount listed on the menu, I was told that this business charges for items whatever they see fit, without listing the item as subject to price changes. I have never run into this before.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11