About Zola Bistro

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-6:00pm in the bar

Bar Menu: Daily: 4:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Great for Lunch
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Romantic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Zola Bistro was perfect for my birthday. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Zola Bistro was perfect for my birthday. I had a large group and they accommodated us so graciously. My server, Nadia, was really sweet and I'm really thankful that she allowed me to have such a great time. Thank you, Zola Bistro!! I'll be back for sure!!

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great so I will return. Ho ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great so I will return. However, the hostess seated us right next to a large table that was celebrating a birthday. The room itself is very noisy (hard surfaces), and our neighbors were understandably boisterous and loud. As a result, it was almost impossible for us to talk, which was the primary reason for our dinner. There were many empty tables in the room. She should have been thoughtful enough to seat us farther away from the party table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

For some reason I was given a very small ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

For some reason I was given a very small two top table directly next to other diners. The restaurant was 75% empty, and every other group of 2 diners was given a 4 top table with space between them and the next table. This was annoying- I felt disregarded and slighted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We made our reservations at 11 for 3, we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We made our reservations at 11 for 3, we didn't get seated until 11:50. The hostess, who was also behind the bar at some point had a terrible attitude. The manager did take care of the bill but why are they taking reservations if they can't fulfill

them? Time is precious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This was our second dinner at Zola Bistr ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our second dinner at Zola Bistro, and we had also visited once for lunch. We sat outside, which is probably why it was so quiet. My meal - a vegetarian meal - was filling and delightful. Two of us, however, ordered flat iron steaks. Both were delivered lukewarm and one was too tough to eat. One was returned to be reheated while the other was replaced. It was still very tough. We thought it hadn't been adequately marinated. We will certainly try Zola Bistro again, even though it didn't compare well with our previous visits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

The evening at Zola's Bistro was a gift. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The evening at Zola's Bistro was a gift. The food was unique, outstanding and generous portions. There were options to suit all eating preferences, ours being vegetarian. There was a short wait to get drinks, but food came quite promptly. We are definitely returning soon. The fried brussel sprouts were incredible!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and accommodating service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delicious food and accommodating service make this a great place for dinner meetings as well as dinner with family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday brunch took 45!minutes to get our ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Sunday brunch took 45!minutes to get our meals. Yikes-need some more staff. Those who served us were very nice but they had too many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

When the restaurant is full it's very no ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

When the restaurant is full it's very noisy and not especially pleasant to be in. When it's mostly empty, as in mid-afternoon, it's a great place to have a conversation over a leisurely meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Obviously an off night for them. Hostess ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Obviously an off night for them. Hostess and wait staff overworked. They were bussing and cleaning table.s. Shouts from the kitchen. My grilled asparagus salad arrived ungrillrd without salad dressing MYcocktsil was flat. Was supposed to be made with Prosecco. The sweet Potato fries excellent. Menus dirty and dotted with food smears and drips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Seemed like the staff was not prepared f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Seemed like the staff was not prepared for the evening. The restaurant was busy and the food was inconsistent. The flatbread was overlooked, with the egg completely cooked when it was suppose to be runny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

All good Try the Bennett cab

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

All good

Try the Bennett cab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute space, but the food is only decent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Cute space, but the food is only decent. The Turkish coffee wasn't worth $5 and the Bloody Mary was very bland. I ordered the Zola frittata, which was tasty/filling, but I could have done without the mountain of blah potatoes + bread that came with it. My boyfriend ordered the patty melt and said it was decent, aside from the soggy bottom bun. Overall, this place wasn't terrible but I would never go out of my way to revisit it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice healthy choices! I like the atmosph ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Nice healthy choices! I like the atmosphere as well. It is a little expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought overall the service and food w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thought overall the service and food was excellent. However, our server told us inaccurately that the pot of tea only serves 2 people, so we bought 2 pots. When we got the tea, it was clear that one pot would have been enough for all 4 of us. This was mildly annoying. Other than that, the servers did a wonderful job and I loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

very VERY noisy. Had difficulty hearing ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

very VERY noisy. Had difficulty hearing the person across the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent, service was very poo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent, service was very poor. I've been there many times and never had a bad experience with service like this. Server was very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Very good meal. It was a perfect afterno ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very good meal. It was a perfect afternoon away from art fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zola's is simply fantastic for breakfast ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Zola's is simply fantastic for breakfast / lunch business meetings. Easy to get to, terrific food, and friendly staff. Also a great spot for dinner...make reservations to ensure a seat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice brunch menu, seated immediatel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very nice brunch menu, seated immediately, attentive service, nice atmosphere. Easy parking and access. Will definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for brunch with a friend. The servi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for brunch with a friend. The service was quick enough, but the food was terrible. Overcooked eggs, undercooked potatoes, and all for $22? Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love the food. Service was great. Just c ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Love the food. Service was great. Just can be noisy .

So glad it is in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place is the definition of 'ok'. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The place is the definition of 'ok'. The food was a little over priced, but good, as were the drinks.

The server was polite, but definitely not experienced. Once she brought us our food, she didn't make another appearance until she bought the bill.

They made me a special order drink, Bloody Mary 1/2 spicy, 1/2 not with top shelf liquor, but wouldn't special order my food - eggs poached instead of sunny side up.

We were probably the loudest group in there - and we weren't that loud. Just 3 friends laughing and having a good time, but we unfortunately kept getting the evil eye from other diners..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been to Zola Bistro many times a ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to Zola Bistro many times and have always had a wonderful meal! The service has been great and the food delicious. This time was a big disappointment. We were bringing one of our friends for the first time. We had a server who was training someone and you could tell from the beginning they were not getting along. The tension between them was extremely visible and made the meal uncomfortable. You could hear them arguing as they walked away from the table. It was very unprofessional. Two of the individuals in our group ordered the lamb chops and there was little meat on them. This is not what I expected from this restaurant. They both left hungry, we stopped somewhere else for dessert and so they could eat dinner. I had the chicken wings on the seasonal menu and they had very little flavoring. It was an ok dish. Not one I would order again. The watermelon salad was amazing to start! Before this meal I would have have highly recommended people go to Zola Bistro. This meal left me extremely unhappy and I am unsure if I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Went there for restaurant week, so our g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went there for restaurant week, so our group got to try several different apps and entrees for a reasonable price. Seriously good eats and good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites. I am also happy tha ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

One of my favorites. I am also happy that they extended their wine list and they now have some reasonably priced bottles.

In the long run, I think it would be a good idea to update the menu once in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our meal was great but our server was ho ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our meal was great but our server was horrible. We tried to make allowances for the fact that the restaurant was very busy but after waiting 20 minutes for him to come back and take our order we hunted him down and then he said he would be right there and we had to hunt him down again 5 minutes later. My side salad never arrived despite me mentioning it multiple times. The server finally brought my salad as I was finishing my main course. We had to wait 40 minutes for water and asked for it multiple times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Their brunch is awesome! Great cocktail ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Their brunch is awesome! Great cocktails and unique ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you love Cafe Zola downtown, this is ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

If you love Cafe Zola downtown, this is a great option on the other side of the city. Delicious fries and cocktails make for a great summer spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Loved our waiter Kelly. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved our waiter Kelly. Food was excellent ! I would come back and bring friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The design of the restaurant was great, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The design of the restaurant was great, the food poor. We ordered 2 steaks at $32 each (part of a group of 6) and they were cold and tough, we sent back the fries as they were cold.

They were very kind and gave us a free banana desert , the waitress was lovely(two birthdays)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

simply delicious

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The chef prepares very imaginative dishes which may, sometimes, seem strange but everything I had was outstanding. I especially liked the lamb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere! We e ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! We even brought a newborn and everything went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second visit. We were staying in town for Easter and decided to eat at Cafe Zola even though there wasn't a specific Eater Menu. We were not disappointed. Our only comment was there did not appear to be enough help as the service was slow at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Yum! But service speed inconsistent

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I've always loved this place! My friend and I had a delicious meal there the other night, and chose from their creative list of cocktails. My hanger steak sandwich was delicious, cooked and seasoned perfectly. The staff is very friendly and helpful. However, I've noticed that they can be slow sometimes. The other night they were doing fine. I had finished my first drink early in my meal and ordered a second one. It never came over the next 20-30 minutes, and I finally just assumed they forgot it. Then just as we were requesting the check, they brought it. I mentioned that it was dicey as if I had time to drink it, and they were apologetic, but didn't mention anything about taking it back. I had a few minutes until the concert I was leaving for, so I indeed finished it, but it was surprising, as the rest of the meal the speed had been quite reasonable. The restaurant had a reasonable crowd but wasn't full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Average

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I was excited to dine at Zola bistro first time to celebrate my birthday. Overall, it was ok experience except that the restaurant served entrees first then served appetizers later. I would rather go elsewhere at the price point and quality. Service was disorganized and you better expect long wait time. Other tables seated before us were waiting for foods to be served longer than us. We might be luck one but still i don't like salad and other appetizers are served later than entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is delicious – service excellent – ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is delicious – service excellent – ambience very fun vibe. Highly recommend this restaurant. So many choices – something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great drinks, a very good dinner ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

We had great drinks, a very good dinner and a wonderful waitress. The whole staff was attentive and professional. Glad that we took our out of town guests there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre basketball dining

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

We love having Zola bistro in our neighbor. Love happy hour, breakfast, lunch and dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.