About Zola Bistro

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-6:00pm in the bar

Bar Menu: Daily: 4:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cute space, but the food is only decent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Cute space, but the food is only decent. The Turkish coffee wasn't worth $5 and the Bloody Mary was very bland. I ordered the Zola frittata, which was tasty/filling, but I could have done without the mountain of blah potatoes + bread that came with it. My boyfriend ordered the patty melt and said it was decent, aside from the soggy bottom bun. Overall, this place wasn't terrible but I would never go out of my way to revisit it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice healthy choices! I like the atmosph ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Nice healthy choices! I like the atmosphere as well. It is a little expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought overall the service and food w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thought overall the service and food was excellent. However, our server told us inaccurately that the pot of tea only serves 2 people, so we bought 2 pots. When we got the tea, it was clear that one pot would have been enough for all 4 of us. This was mildly annoying. Other than that, the servers did a wonderful job and I loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

very VERY noisy. Had difficulty hearing ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

very VERY noisy. Had difficulty hearing the person across the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent, service was very poo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent, service was very poor. I've been there many times and never had a bad experience with service like this. Server was very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Very good meal. It was a perfect afterno ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very good meal. It was a perfect afternoon away from art fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zola's is simply fantastic for breakfast ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Zola's is simply fantastic for breakfast / lunch business meetings. Easy to get to, terrific food, and friendly staff. Also a great spot for dinner...make reservations to ensure a seat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice brunch menu, seated immediatel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very nice brunch menu, seated immediately, attentive service, nice atmosphere. Easy parking and access. Will definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for brunch with a friend. The servi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for brunch with a friend. The service was quick enough, but the food was terrible. Overcooked eggs, undercooked potatoes, and all for $22? Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love the food. Service was great. Just c ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Love the food. Service was great. Just can be noisy .

So glad it is in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place is the definition of 'ok'. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The place is the definition of 'ok'. The food was a little over priced, but good, as were the drinks.

The server was polite, but definitely not experienced. Once she brought us our food, she didn't make another appearance until she bought the bill.

They made me a special order drink, Bloody Mary 1/2 spicy, 1/2 not with top shelf liquor, but wouldn't special order my food - eggs poached instead of sunny side up.

We were probably the loudest group in there - and we weren't that loud. Just 3 friends laughing and having a good time, but we unfortunately kept getting the evil eye from other diners..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been to Zola Bistro many times a ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to Zola Bistro many times and have always had a wonderful meal! The service has been great and the food delicious. This time was a big disappointment. We were bringing one of our friends for the first time. We had a server who was training someone and you could tell from the beginning they were not getting along. The tension between them was extremely visible and made the meal uncomfortable. You could hear them arguing as they walked away from the table. It was very unprofessional. Two of the individuals in our group ordered the lamb chops and there was little meat on them. This is not what I expected from this restaurant. They both left hungry, we stopped somewhere else for dessert and so they could eat dinner. I had the chicken wings on the seasonal menu and they had very little flavoring. It was an ok dish. Not one I would order again. The watermelon salad was amazing to start! Before this meal I would have have highly recommended people go to Zola Bistro. This meal left me extremely unhappy and I am unsure if I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Went there for restaurant week, so our g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went there for restaurant week, so our group got to try several different apps and entrees for a reasonable price. Seriously good eats and good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites. I am also happy tha ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

One of my favorites. I am also happy that they extended their wine list and they now have some reasonably priced bottles.

In the long run, I think it would be a good idea to update the menu once in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our meal was great but our server was ho ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our meal was great but our server was horrible. We tried to make allowances for the fact that the restaurant was very busy but after waiting 20 minutes for him to come back and take our order we hunted him down and then he said he would be right there and we had to hunt him down again 5 minutes later. My side salad never arrived despite me mentioning it multiple times. The server finally brought my salad as I was finishing my main course. We had to wait 40 minutes for water and asked for it multiple times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Their brunch is awesome! Great cocktail ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Their brunch is awesome! Great cocktails and unique ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you love Cafe Zola downtown, this is ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

If you love Cafe Zola downtown, this is a great option on the other side of the city. Delicious fries and cocktails make for a great summer spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Loved our waiter Kelly. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved our waiter Kelly. Food was excellent ! I would come back and bring friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The design of the restaurant was great, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The design of the restaurant was great, the food poor. We ordered 2 steaks at $32 each (part of a group of 6) and they were cold and tough, we sent back the fries as they were cold.

They were very kind and gave us a free banana desert , the waitress was lovely(two birthdays)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

simply delicious

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The chef prepares very imaginative dishes which may, sometimes, seem strange but everything I had was outstanding. I especially liked the lamb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere! We e ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! We even brought a newborn and everything went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second visit. We were staying in town for Easter and decided to eat at Cafe Zola even though there wasn't a specific Eater Menu. We were not disappointed. Our only comment was there did not appear to be enough help as the service was slow at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Yum! But service speed inconsistent

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I've always loved this place! My friend and I had a delicious meal there the other night, and chose from their creative list of cocktails. My hanger steak sandwich was delicious, cooked and seasoned perfectly. The staff is very friendly and helpful. However, I've noticed that they can be slow sometimes. The other night they were doing fine. I had finished my first drink early in my meal and ordered a second one. It never came over the next 20-30 minutes, and I finally just assumed they forgot it. Then just as we were requesting the check, they brought it. I mentioned that it was dicey as if I had time to drink it, and they were apologetic, but didn't mention anything about taking it back. I had a few minutes until the concert I was leaving for, so I indeed finished it, but it was surprising, as the rest of the meal the speed had been quite reasonable. The restaurant had a reasonable crowd but wasn't full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Average

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I was excited to dine at Zola bistro first time to celebrate my birthday. Overall, it was ok experience except that the restaurant served entrees first then served appetizers later. I would rather go elsewhere at the price point and quality. Service was disorganized and you better expect long wait time. Other tables seated before us were waiting for foods to be served longer than us. We might be luck one but still i don't like salad and other appetizers are served later than entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is delicious – service excellent – ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is delicious – service excellent – ambience very fun vibe. Highly recommend this restaurant. So many choices – something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had great drinks, a very good dinner ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

We had great drinks, a very good dinner and a wonderful waitress. The whole staff was attentive and professional. Glad that we took our out of town guests there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre basketball dining

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

We love having Zola bistro in our neighbor. Love happy hour, breakfast, lunch and dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointment

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Poor service and cold hot food were the weak points in our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Delicious

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Our party of four had a terrific meal during restaurant week -- steak, moroccan salmon, and a pasta dish. A relaxing evening with food that lived up to the original Zola reputation (and perhaps even exceeded it).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overrated

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I went there for dinner with my friend. I ordered a salad with grilled salmon. The server brought out a salad with chicken. When I said I ordered salmon, it took her five seconds to change plate. Downside is I know they simply removed chicken and put the slab of salmon there. The salmon was a huge piece but too cold and tasteless. Plus I do not eat chicken at all so simply the knowledge that chicken was on that plate ruined the whole experience for me. This was not my first time at Zola but definitely my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

nice selection

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great appetizer: roasted cauliflower. Great Italian sausage side plate, excellent salads!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Bistro Zola is a pleasant place to eat

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

The four of us each enjoyed our meal. We appreciated the good service by the waitstaff and good food from the kitchen. It was not, hwever, a "destination restaurant". If we lived nearby, we would likely return often, bur we live 45 minutes away.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Pleasantly Surprised!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We had eaten at Zola Bistro before while in A2 and honestly it was just OK. We went back primarily because it was the only place we could get in with a party of 20 on a football weekend. Well I have to say the food was absolutely delicious and the service was amazing. Granted the restaurant was half empty, most likely from poor reviews and that it's not in downtown A2. It may wreck my chances to get a large table again, but go here and go back if you had a bad experience. I know ZB had received less than stellar reviews but I think they took things to heart and changed. Hats off!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Group of eight - Nice!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

We had a very nice meal with a group of eight people. Service was fine and everyone enjoyed their food. It's the only place where I like the hamburgers (Kobe Beef!). At 6:30 on Wednesday; lots of space that evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location....amazing food!!the wait ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

Great location....amazing food!!the waitstaff was also very friendly. I came at an odd time - late afternoon. It was great to have a just place to work and enjoy my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and service!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Great food and service. We love to go here for brunch, but I had a group going to the airport and we had just over an hour to grab a quick bite before a long evening flight. The staff was helpful and prompt. We had gourmet food and a quick turnaround - just what we needed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dinner find!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

A friend gave us a gift certificate for Zola Bistro so we decided to use it one night last week. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Everything we had was excellent, the swordfish, the salmon, the salads, the calamari appetizer. The other really great thing about the restaurant is that it is not downtown so the parking is just great, pull in, park, go inside.

I had heard that it was extremely loud, but it was not crowded that evening and so we could have a normal conversation. A little pricey, but a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Great service. Hot cider w bourbon was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Great service. Hot cider w bourbon was awesome. Dates appetizer great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food, perhaps a bit overpriced

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

I've had brunch here twice, and dinner once. All three times we left satisfied by the food and drinks (the martinis are good and the wine list strong). It seems to be noisier at dinner, but not too bad. Service is generally top notch. A party of three for dinner cost us about $115.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.