Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Zola Bistro

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm,
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-5:00pm


Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (14)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Romantic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

We accidentally booked the Bistro when we meant to book the Café Zola, but it was definitely worth visiting. Like the availability, food & ease of parking/ location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Server was great despite kitchen being backed up 1.5 HOURS! Completely inappropriate for caliber of restaurant. Food cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was excellent but took an hour to receive our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Too too too noisy. Beyond acceptable level, even for employees (OSHA violation).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Tasty, unique dishes and passable service. But extremely noisy and tables are close together.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I like the food at Zola Bistro everything taste good but it is a little pricey

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was great; a lot of variety so there was something for everyone. Our server, Rachel, was terrific. She got the order right, even with modifications, didn't rush us, and timed everything perfectly. We enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The person who seated us and handled the reservation and our server both had great customer service. When we added one to our reservation 1.5 hours in advance, they were kind and showed gratitude for our communication.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This restaurant makes for a great second office! Try the lavender honey drink.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Sandwiches with bread sliced an inch thick were impossible to eat. "Turkish tuna salad" was almost tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Booked for daughter birthday which was not even acknowledged
Food okay but very overpriced
Was charged $12 for a piece of smoked salmon
Would not go back

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This restaurant was advertised as Mediterranean. However, I saw few if any Med food options. I ordered a $15 Mediterranean Chicken salad. The greens were bitter and there was nothing more on them than chicken that had no special flavor. I did not take the Turkish vinegarette. I asked for anything else. The waitress said she gave me blue cheese but it tasted like chip dip. The menu looked more French with expensive crepes and waffles. I'm glad we tried it but won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and service. We enjoyed our afternoon! Salmon salad was great!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We made a second visit to Zola's Bistro during a two week visit from our daughter and 5 year old grandson because we'd had such a good experience the first time. The menu is not extensive but changes sufficiently that we all found delicious choices the second time also. We've now had mussels verde twice (grandson recommended them to his aunt), Kobe burger twice (I recommended them to my husband), and one time each for the porkchop and the pulled pork sandwich. Portions are generous and reasonably priced, seasonings are well done, and the waitstaff are very accommodating. This place must treat them well, because they really seem to enjoy their work.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My history at Zola Bistro has been mixed. Been there several times for brunch as Zola's downtown omelets are fabulous. At Zola Bistro, they have been mediocre at best--over cooked even when asked for softly cooked.
This week we went for a birthday dinner. My husband is on crutches; the host was great as was our server. She handled many requests with cheer and good humor as well as competence. Dinner which varied from crab cakes (good) the special trout (mediocre and somewhat flavorless) to salmon (also mediocre) and an angus burger (the same which is extraordinary given how easy it is to make angus burgers very good). I was very disappointed as our usual dining experiences have been positive at the Bistro. I hope it was a bad night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is one of my fav restaurants in AnnArbor for breakfast/brunch. Not only do they take reservations but they also have a varied menu and excellent coffee. The wait staff is always personable, friendly and accommodating. All four of us were happy with our entrees - Mediterranean chicken salad, artichoke omelette, waffles with ice cream and the Kobe burger. Zola keep doing what you're doing!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The menu selection is good. The portions can be a little on the small size for some dishes and way too big for other dishes. The lack of consistency is a little confusing since it can be hard to order the correct food for your hunger level. Also, for a place with this good of food, I wish the crepes were a little more of the Parisian style. The coffee and teas are amazing. They have the best Chai Lattes around.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great way to celebrate my daughter's 17th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great food and service. The crepes were delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went to the Bistro for the 2nd time and for the 2nd time, the food was terrible. I love Zola Café downtown, but this 'extension' leaves a lot to be desired. I ordered the BLT and the bacon came out burned to a frazzle. There were fries that had to be sent back once, but came out of the kitchen as though they just microwaved them to make them warmer. Terrible Terrible Terrible. I cannot recommend this to anyone who wants a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Although I have eaten at their sister restaurant Zola, I had never considered the Bistro. Picking up our very tired daughter and five year old grandson from a long travel day, this was a convenient spot. At 6 pm it was fairly quiet. The menu was very interesting, and we each found something unusual. We shared a roasted vegetable salad (very tasty) and tried each other's main courses. They included mussels for our grandson, a Kobe beef burger for me, a salad for our daughter and a perfectly seasoned a cooked pork chop. Bread, supplied by Zingerman's, was great, as were the olives that accompanied it. Our server, Megan, was very accommodating and patient and made good suggestions.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I loved the food the last time I visited this place - Sunday brunch with pancakes. The next time, I visited for Dinner, and was slightly disappointed with the menu. I ended up ordering one app- Shrimp Taco and a salad.

The salad was basic and nothing worthy of discussion (mesclun, other leaves) but the dressing they'd provided paired fantastically with the bread! However, the shrimp taco, while d-e-licious, was just that - a taco (ONE taco), which I think is unfair if you're charging me $8 for the dish. It had slices of mango and a few shrimp pieces in it, but just seemed too pricey - or they should have given a pair of tacos.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined on Father's Day, but were there to celebrate my mom's birthday. The place was packed and we waited 15 minutes past our reservation time for a table, but the staff was on top of things, efficient and friendly. Once seated, we received stellar service and the food was fantastic. Notable dishes were the watermelon gazpacho, which was spicy and complex and the apricot French toast.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Even with reservation, we had to wait around 15 min. It's really uncomfortable to wait inside. The waiting area is very reduced and if it's raining you have to wait inside no matter what. Food was great, kids menu no offered at the entrance, no available in the main menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our reservation was for 11:00 but we weren't seated until close to noon. They kept saying they were getting our table ready, but really they were just stringing us along. The music was too loud to hear the person next to me and they didn't turn it down when I requested. The food was mediocre--definitely not worth the wait. They never offered an explanation or any sort of compensation for the poor service. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time at Zola Bistro and it is was great. Excellent menu and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went after HS graduation for an early dinner. This has been a favorite brunch spot of mine, but dinner did not have as many options for our vegetarian graduate. I asked the server for recommendations for her or what could be adapted and all she did was direct me to a couple appetizers. We instead figured out on our own and asked for a panini sandwich without the chicken, and add a tomato instead. Also disappointed when I asked the server to describe the taste or type of liquor a couple ingredients that were in a cocktail that I didn't recognize, she told me she didn't know, hadn't had the drink, but that no one had ever complained about the drink. Well it turned out to have a very licorice flavor to it, which I don't love, but I drank anyway since it was a $15 cocktail. Food was excellent, great decor in this restaurant, but service a bit disappointing on this occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We are regulars at Zola Bistro. On the whole the food was good, but the new menu is quite lacking in vegetarian options. Having eaten good vegetarian food at Zola Bistro before, this was surprising.
Even though the restaurant was not full, service today was quite slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I really enjoy the food and they consistently have good service, but the noise level still makes it hard to catch up with friends or for a date, especially if anyone in the group is hard of hearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite spots and the food is always delicious and of course the service is excellent. Or server was great I can't recall her name either Claudia or something with a c it was great

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We ordered the Branzino fish and Chicken off of the menu last Thursday. Chicken tasted stale or was it the oil ? Branzino was just average. Overly priced for the quality of food.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The menu was unusual, as its' specials were for Ramadan.
Excellent flavors and wonderful service.
We stopped as we were traveling thru Ann Arbor. but
received a very special menu!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A bit pretentious for the meh food. Restaurant was nearly empty on a Sunday evening yet the servers claimed the kitchen was backed up.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Zola is a solid place to eat. The food is presented nicely and is very fresh. The servings are generous. The energy is great, the waitstaff is friendly and the ambiance is contemporary without being pretentious. I have only visited twice, but I do suspect that I would frequent it quite regularly if I lived in the area. No complaints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always a full plate of food and a wonderful menu. Can never decide. Always consider to be a treat as the items are a tad pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Zola Bistro was the perfect setting for a Mothers' day meal! The new menu is creative, especially the appetizers. You can make a meal out of the appetizers alone! Great mocktails, which was a plus for the kids! A true neighborhood gem. One of our favorite places to dine in Ann Arbor! I just wish the Moroccan salmon was still on the menu...,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food as usual. We particularly like the Kobe Beef (the only place where we have hamburgers!) and the spaghetti and meatballs are much appreciated by our 10-year-old granddaughter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was pretty had considering it wasn't that busy. Food was inconsistent even among us getting. The same dish. Charging my 4 year old daughter $15 for spaghetti and meatballs seemed ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Messed up the order. Options were limited. Usually I love it but this time was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent place for Mother's Day brunch. The food and service were superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.