Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Zola Bistro

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm,
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-5:00pm


Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (24)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Healthy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Zola is a solid place to eat. The food is presented nicely and is very fresh. The servings are generous. The energy is great, the waitstaff is friendly and the ambiance is contemporary without being pretentious. I have only visited twice, but I do suspect that I would frequent it quite regularly if I lived in the area. No complaints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always a full plate of food and a wonderful menu. Can never decide. Always consider to be a treat as the items are a tad pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Business Meals, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Zola Bistro was the perfect setting for a Mothers' day meal! The new menu is creative, especially the appetizers. You can make a meal out of the appetizers alone! Great mocktails, which was a plus for the kids! A true neighborhood gem. One of our favorite places to dine in Ann Arbor! I just wish the Moroccan salmon was still on the menu...,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food as usual. We particularly like the Kobe Beef (the only place where we have hamburgers!) and the spaghetti and meatballs are much appreciated by our 10-year-old granddaughter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was pretty had considering it wasn't that busy. Food was inconsistent even among us getting. The same dish. Charging my 4 year old daughter $15 for spaghetti and meatballs seemed ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Messed up the order. Options were limited. Usually I love it but this time was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent place for Mother's Day brunch. The food and service were superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. The service was disappointing at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It is very very loud in this restaurant. I found myself having to shout a bit and repeat myself to my companion. Maybe they could install some noise absorbent. The food is delicious albeit the belgian waffles were a bit soggy this time instead of crispy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Small portions with a large price tag. Food was not tasty. Service was lacking. Not worth it. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was very unimpressed with Zola Bistro's dinner option. They were way overpriced for the actual food we were served, we ordered salads and one was literally a chunk of mozzarella in a pool of olive oil and was not cheap. Would definitely not eat here again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food as always. Eat here every time we visit A2

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is great. They seated us in a better place than I had asked for!! What is better than that?

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food but a little overpriced and terribly, terribly noisy. The servers did bend over backwards to try to make our group as comfortable as possible, but literally were bumping into our chairs as they had to squeeze their way around all the tables crammed in. Not great ambience - just tables in a cavernous room.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I really enjoyed my meal at Zola. The waiter was very nice and attentive and the food was very tasty. The atmosphere was bright and festive and everything was extremely fresh. I cannot wait to go there again with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Drinks were terrible - food was OK. The drinks we ordered were not complicated - they were just made very poorly and served in water glasses not cocktail glasses. The martini was made badly and the manhattan was so sweet it was almost undrinkable. The dinners were OK - scallops were good, the other dishes were not memorable - that says it all. We loved Zola downtown and were very disappointed with the new bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We reserved this restaurant for our Guest Speaker and colleagues. They enjoyed their meal and enjoyed the environment of Zola Bistro.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful discovery for me! Will come again and recommend to friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Zola is my favorite brunch place. Only downside is it is very noisy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had booked a reservation on Open Table several weeks in advance, but when I checked with them in person the day before, they told me they didn't have a record of it. So, thankfully I was able to make a new reservation for Easter Sunday for 12:15. We were finally seated at 12:45, so although I certainly understand that it was an especially busy time, I was not convinced that prior reservations was a priority. Our server was awesome and the food was quite good. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My reservation for 14 people for Easter Brunch was promptly honored when we arrived even though not everybody showed up at the exact time. Service was excellent and food arrived fairly quickly after we all ordered. We even asked for separate checks and we were accommodated no questions asked.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited Zola Bistro for Easter brunch, and the service and food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch! Had a hard time deciding, everything sounded so good. Our party of 5 ordered different things to and everyone's dish was amazing! 4 star coffee too! A little in the pricey side, but worth it I think. I will definitely come back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had the crepe Zola which was extremely dry and empty on the inside, very little mozzarella, tomatoes and basil! The filling was all in the center and probably had three small slices of mozzarella. My boyfriend had the open-face fried egg which was basically child size. We're big foodies and very much okay with small plates but his meal was beyond not worth it.
2 stars cuz the Nutella banana crepe is worth going back for. But this is my second time here and the dessert crepe was the only good thing I've had here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I expected a little more I guess. The service was lack luster. The calamari app not enough for even two people...at least not for the price. The kobe burger was the highlight and it was truly very good, but nothing else stood out. The olives tasted like they were soaked in alcohol...for someone who doesn't drink it was an unwanted surprise. The 2x4 "piece"wall was super cool, but overall 3-stars because I don't know that I would make it a point to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Too loud to enjoy the conversation on a Saturday lunch time

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ok if a restaurant cannot reserve seats for people, then don't list yourself on OpenTable, please. I reserved for 8 people on a 10:30am occasion 4/8/2017 (Sat.) Two of us arrived at ~10:20am and was told it will be 5-10 min to have our table. The rest of the group arrived at 10:30am sharp. But at 10:43 there were still no table for us and when we asked, they said "I am afraid there will not be anything very soon." Come on, really? Can't you just give the reserved people a call to ensure they are coming, put a sign on the reserved table, or anything that can actually make it work? At the same time we saw a group saying they reserved 11:00am seats and got a table. This is insane. They don't take reservation seriously at all. I highly recommend OpenTable to remove the reservation system for Zola Bistro since it is no use to reserve beforehand. We end up going cross the street to Bigalora. At least that way we could sit down instead of making reservation days ago and then had to stand in the narrow entrance at Zola Bistro for 23 mins for nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Consistent menu and consistently good food. Coffee refills were never behind!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered the Turkish eggs. It was great. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The drinks and coffee were excellent. I wish I liked the food more. My friend's breakfast was soupy and my omelette was tough and tasteless. Too bad! The menu makes everything sound so delicious but the reality at least as far as the food goes is something different.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was bad and food was average. There is no ambiance, it feels like you are sitting in a cafeteria. Also the cook doesn't know how to cook a steak; additionally, the meat was hard to chew.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Despite having reservations for 11am, we weren't seated until almost 11:45. The hostess was very gracious and we could tell it was busy, but was still a bit frustrating.

Other than that had a lovely experience.

Delicious Bloody Mary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice brunch menu, reasonable price. Too crowded, we ordered table and waited 30min to be seated.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Brunch- great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food but very crowded and noisy for Sunday brunch

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very attentive service and a delicious brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 6, 2017

So delicious!!!! Fantastic. (Patient!!) server and delicious meal. Strong coffee that let on coming. Will return.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Our international group of 16 women met for lunch on March 1st. Everyone was very pleased with their food and the service. The restaurant gave us separate checks, which we very much appreciated, although it was a lot of work for them. There is ample free parking near the restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This was our third or fourth time at Zola's. We live out of town - 70 miles from Ann Arbor, but visit every month or so. Have always been pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. Have not explored the drinks, but have enjoyed the good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.