About Zola Bistro

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm,
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-5:00pm


Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We decided to give the Zola Bistro a 2nd chance after writing a scathing review about a year ago, when the restaurant was crowded and service was the worst we've experienced in years.
Last night the large restaurant was quite empty. Our waitress was friendly and checked in on us during the meal. We ordered simple, but the red lentil soup was unique and good, the lamb "cigars" in phyllo dough were excellent and both our salads were fresh and crispy.
What will probably make us think twice about returning is the price. Really quite expensive for each item and I didn't see a glass of wine on the menu for less than$12/glass.
So, for us, they are now batting .500, but I'm concerned about value in a town with lots of competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The salmon hash was incredible, the horseradish dill sauce was phenomenal and the hot mocha was fantastic! BUT, here are a few negatives about the visit:

-Reservations - we made a reservation on opentable for noon (as recommended for Sunday brunch) but we still had to wait a half hour for a table to be ready. The waiting area is TINY and so your awkwardly standing around the hostess area staring at people while they eat or standing at the end of someone's table. The bar was packed so we had no where else to go.

-Service - Service was literally atrocious. Took 15 minutes to get our coffee and over an hour for mostly cold food! Refills for pop took forever. Also, it seemed like they brought things when they were ready or had time, our waitress brought coffee, then 10 minutes later the mocha, then a few minutes later came the pop. Same for the food. Would've been nice to get everything at once......

-Price - the menu is definitely pricey for the portions. BUT - the 15$ for the Salmon Hash is well worth it! Thank god that was warm when it was brought to the table, since the other two orders came cold. The Mocha was exceptional (but exceptionally overpriced) since it was almost 5$ for a large mug.

-Cold Food - Yes, two out of three plates were cold. Thank god the Salmon Hash was warm, but the Quince Pancakes were pretty cold when set on the table, and the BLT was ice cold. And it sucks when you order a nice drink to go with your meal but by the time the meal comes, you've either drank it or its ice cold. And there was no way we were going to let our food get cold(er) while we waited another 20 minutes for another drink!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

I loved the food but it was very crowded. I had to move my chair a lot to make room for people walking by. I think you need less tables. I was also too close to the table next to me and could hear their conversation. Someone next to me even interrupted my conversation with my date because they could hear us!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

A very innovative menu. My meal however was a bit overly garlic for Sunday brunch. The crepe & monte Cristo entrees were delicious

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Very nice meal with excellent service. Very busy for Sunday Brunch and I was disappointed that with my open table reservation I still had to wait 30 minutes. It seemed that they seated people in the order they arrived, regardless of reservation. Food was worth the wait, however.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

As always our meal was great, our service was fast, friendly and efficient! The menu is eclectic and we’ve never had a bad meal!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Brought a 2015 bottle instead of 2013 on the wine list. Brought two well done steaks that were supposed to be medium. Parmesan fries had no Parmesan. Not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Our experience was lovely, as always. Margo, our server, was both kind and competent and never missed a beat. The food was delicious and Margo was perfect -- who could ask for more?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Arrived over 5 min early for Sunday Brunch and waited 30 mins to get to a table. Then waited for order to be taken, and when food arrived, eggs were warm, not hot. We sat at table waiting for credit card pick up over 10 mins. Waitress said they had over 100 late/ same day reservations. Staff were working hard, just too many customers for kitchen and wait staff, and too many jamming in front of restaurant for those eating right there.
Not the first time this happened, but will be the last...food really good, they just need to fix how many they can handle!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2017

The restaurant was empty as we went in the middle of the day on a Tuesday and the service was so fast. We had salads and they were brought to us within two minutes. No kidding! The waitress was attentive and accommodating and we sat for quite awhile and talked. No one bothered us. I prefer this location rather than downtown because it is more open and I feel it is lighter and cleaner.

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Lots of fun and Zingerman’s bread, what could be better?

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The menu and food was excellent. Took a look at the brunch menu, we differently will be coming back. We just arrived from California and Zola Bistro is like being home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was pretty terrible across the board. Someone got a chicken panini that was incredibly burnt, basically inedible. My mushroom omelette looked so unappealing and was filled with brown goop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Incredibly slow, and the huevos rancheros were a joke... canned beans a drop of salsa chips and two eggs for $16?? Come on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We accidentally booked the Bistro when we meant to book the Café Zola, but it was definitely worth visiting. Like the availability, food & ease of parking/ location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Server was great despite kitchen being backed up 1.5 HOURS! Completely inappropriate for caliber of restaurant. Food cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was excellent but took an hour to receive our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Too too too noisy. Beyond acceptable level, even for employees (OSHA violation).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Tasty, unique dishes and passable service. But extremely noisy and tables are close together.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I like the food at Zola Bistro everything taste good but it is a little pricey

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was great; a lot of variety so there was something for everyone. Our server, Rachel, was terrific. She got the order right, even with modifications, didn't rush us, and timed everything perfectly. We enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The person who seated us and handled the reservation and our server both had great customer service. When we added one to our reservation 1.5 hours in advance, they were kind and showed gratitude for our communication.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This restaurant makes for a great second office! Try the lavender honey drink.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Sandwiches with bread sliced an inch thick were impossible to eat. "Turkish tuna salad" was almost tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Booked for daughter birthday which was not even acknowledged
Food okay but very overpriced
Was charged $12 for a piece of smoked salmon
Would not go back

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This restaurant was advertised as Mediterranean. However, I saw few if any Med food options. I ordered a $15 Mediterranean Chicken salad. The greens were bitter and there was nothing more on them than chicken that had no special flavor. I did not take the Turkish vinegarette. I asked for anything else. The waitress said she gave me blue cheese but it tasted like chip dip. The menu looked more French with expensive crepes and waffles. I'm glad we tried it but won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and service. We enjoyed our afternoon! Salmon salad was great!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We made a second visit to Zola's Bistro during a two week visit from our daughter and 5 year old grandson because we'd had such a good experience the first time. The menu is not extensive but changes sufficiently that we all found delicious choices the second time also. We've now had mussels verde twice (grandson recommended them to his aunt), Kobe burger twice (I recommended them to my husband), and one time each for the porkchop and the pulled pork sandwich. Portions are generous and reasonably priced, seasonings are well done, and the waitstaff are very accommodating. This place must treat them well, because they really seem to enjoy their work.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My history at Zola Bistro has been mixed. Been there several times for brunch as Zola's downtown omelets are fabulous. At Zola Bistro, they have been mediocre at best--over cooked even when asked for softly cooked.
This week we went for a birthday dinner. My husband is on crutches; the host was great as was our server. She handled many requests with cheer and good humor as well as competence. Dinner which varied from crab cakes (good) the special trout (mediocre and somewhat flavorless) to salmon (also mediocre) and an angus burger (the same which is extraordinary given how easy it is to make angus burgers very good). I was very disappointed as our usual dining experiences have been positive at the Bistro. I hope it was a bad night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is one of my fav restaurants in AnnArbor for breakfast/brunch. Not only do they take reservations but they also have a varied menu and excellent coffee. The wait staff is always personable, friendly and accommodating. All four of us were happy with our entrees - Mediterranean chicken salad, artichoke omelette, waffles with ice cream and the Kobe burger. Zola keep doing what you're doing!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The menu selection is good. The portions can be a little on the small size for some dishes and way too big for other dishes. The lack of consistency is a little confusing since it can be hard to order the correct food for your hunger level. Also, for a place with this good of food, I wish the crepes were a little more of the Parisian style. The coffee and teas are amazing. They have the best Chai Lattes around.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great way to celebrate my daughter's 17th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great food and service. The crepes were delicious!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went to the Bistro for the 2nd time and for the 2nd time, the food was terrible. I love Zola Café downtown, but this 'extension' leaves a lot to be desired. I ordered the BLT and the bacon came out burned to a frazzle. There were fries that had to be sent back once, but came out of the kitchen as though they just microwaved them to make them warmer. Terrible Terrible Terrible. I cannot recommend this to anyone who wants a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Although I have eaten at their sister restaurant Zola, I had never considered the Bistro. Picking up our very tired daughter and five year old grandson from a long travel day, this was a convenient spot. At 6 pm it was fairly quiet. The menu was very interesting, and we each found something unusual. We shared a roasted vegetable salad (very tasty) and tried each other's main courses. They included mussels for our grandson, a Kobe beef burger for me, a salad for our daughter and a perfectly seasoned a cooked pork chop. Bread, supplied by Zingerman's, was great, as were the olives that accompanied it. Our server, Megan, was very accommodating and patient and made good suggestions.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I loved the food the last time I visited this place - Sunday brunch with pancakes. The next time, I visited for Dinner, and was slightly disappointed with the menu. I ended up ordering one app- Shrimp Taco and a salad.

The salad was basic and nothing worthy of discussion (mesclun, other leaves) but the dressing they'd provided paired fantastically with the bread! However, the shrimp taco, while d-e-licious, was just that - a taco (ONE taco), which I think is unfair if you're charging me $8 for the dish. It had slices of mango and a few shrimp pieces in it, but just seemed too pricey - or they should have given a pair of tacos.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined on Father's Day, but were there to celebrate my mom's birthday. The place was packed and we waited 15 minutes past our reservation time for a table, but the staff was on top of things, efficient and friendly. Once seated, we received stellar service and the food was fantastic. Notable dishes were the watermelon gazpacho, which was spicy and complex and the apricot French toast.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Even with reservation, we had to wait around 15 min. It's really uncomfortable to wait inside. The waiting area is very reduced and if it's raining you have to wait inside no matter what. Food was great, kids menu no offered at the entrance, no available in the main menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our reservation was for 11:00 but we weren't seated until close to noon. They kept saying they were getting our table ready, but really they were just stringing us along. The music was too loud to hear the person next to me and they didn't turn it down when I requested. The food was mediocre--definitely not worth the wait. They never offered an explanation or any sort of compensation for the poor service. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First time at Zola Bistro and it is was great. Excellent menu and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.