About Zola Bistro

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm, egg service ends at 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-6:00pm in the bar

Bar Menu: Daily: 4:00pm-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

great for brunch (19)
fit for foodies (18)
great for lunch (15)
See All
special occasion (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (5)
notable wine list (3)
romantic (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

We have been to Zola Bistro many times a ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Zola Bistro many times and have always had a wonderful meal! The service has been great and the food delicious. This time was a big disappointment. We were bringing one of our friends for the first time. We had a server who was training someone and you could tell from the beginning they were not getting along. The tension between them was extremely visible and made the meal uncomfortable. You could hear them arguing as they walked away from the table. It was very unprofessional. Two of the individuals in our group ordered the lamb chops and there was little meat on them. This is not what I expected from this restaurant. They both left hungry, we stopped somewhere else for dessert and so they could eat dinner. I had the chicken wings on the seasonal menu and they had very little flavoring. It was an ok dish. Not one I would order again. The watermelon salad was amazing to start! Before this meal I would have have highly recommended people go to Zola Bistro. This meal left me extremely unhappy and I am unsure if I will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for restaurant week, so our g ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Went there for restaurant week, so our group got to try several different apps and entrees for a reasonable price. Seriously good eats and good service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

One of my favorites. I am also happy tha ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

One of my favorites. I am also happy that they extended their wine list and they now have some reasonably priced bottles. In the long run, I think it would be a good idea to update the menu once in a while.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Our meal was great but our server was ho ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our meal was great but our server was horrible. We tried to make allowances for the fact that the restaurant was very busy but after waiting 20 minutes for him to come back and take our order we hunted him down and then he said he would be right there and we had to hunt him down again 5 minutes later. My side salad never arrived despite me mentioning it multiple times. The server finally brought my salad as I was finishing my main course. We had to wait 40 minutes for water and asked for it multiple times.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Their brunch is awesome! Great cocktail ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Their brunch is awesome! Great cocktails and unique ambience

food3
ambience4
service3

If you love Cafe Zola downtown, this is ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

If you love Cafe Zola downtown, this is a great option on the other side of the city. Delicious fries and cocktails make for a great summer spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our waiter Kelly. Food was excelle ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved our waiter Kelly. Food was excellent ! I would come back and bring friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The design of the restaurant was great, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The design of the restaurant was great, the food poor. We ordered 2 steaks at $32 each (part of a group of 6) and they were cold and tough, we sent back the fries as they were cold. They were very kind and gave us a free banana desert , the waitress was lovely(two birthdays)

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was prompt.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

simply delicious

Dined on May 7, 2016

The chef prepares very imaginative dishes which may, sometimes, seem strange but everything I had was outstanding. I especially liked the lamb.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere! We e ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! We even brought a newborn and everything went well.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second visit. We were staying in town for Easter and decided to eat at Cafe Zola even though there wasn't a specific Eater Menu. We were not disappointed. Our only comment was there did not appear to be enough help as the service was slow at times.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum! But service speed inconsistent

Dined on March 15, 2016

I've always loved this place! My friend and I had a delicious meal there the other night, and chose from their creative list of cocktails. My hanger steak sandwich was delicious, cooked and seasoned perfectly. The staff is very friendly and helpful. However, I've noticed that they can be slow sometimes. The other night they were doing fine. I had finished my first drink early in my meal and ordered a second one. It never came over the next 20-30 minutes, and I finally just assumed they forgot it. Then just as we were requesting the check, they brought it. I mentioned that it was dicey as if I had time to drink it, and they were apologetic, but didn't mention anything about taking it back. I had a few minutes until the concert I was leaving for, so I indeed finished it, but it was surprising, as the rest of the meal the speed had been quite reasonable. The restaurant had a reasonable crowd but wasn't full.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Average

Dined on March 6, 2016

I was excited to dine at Zola bistro first time to celebrate my birthday. Overall, it was ok experience except that the restaurant served entrees first then served appetizers later. I would rather go elsewhere at the price point and quality. Service was disorganized and you better expect long wait time. Other tables seated before us were waiting for foods to be served longer than us. We might be luck one but still i don't like salad and other appetizers are served later than entrees.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is delicious – service excellent – ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is delicious – service excellent – ambience very fun vibe. Highly recommend this restaurant. So many choices – something for everyone.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had great drinks, a very good dinner ...

Dined on February 8, 2016

We had great drinks, a very good dinner and a wonderful waitress. The whole staff was attentive and professional. Glad that we took our out of town guests there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre basketball dining

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

We love having Zola bistro in our neighbor. Love happy hour, breakfast, lunch and dinner

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Disappointment

Dined on January 20, 2016

Poor service and cold hot food were the weak points in our visit.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious

Dined on January 19, 2016

Our party of four had a terrific meal during restaurant week -- steak, moroccan salmon, and a pasta dish. A relaxing evening with food that lived up to the original Zola reputation (and perhaps even exceeded it).

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Overrated

Dined on January 16, 2016

I went there for dinner with my friend. I ordered a salad with grilled salmon. The server brought out a salad with chicken. When I said I ordered salmon, it took her five seconds to change plate. Downside is I know they simply removed chicken and put the slab of salmon there. The salmon was a huge piece but too cold and tasteless. Plus I do not eat chicken at all so simply the knowledge that chicken was on that plate ruined the whole experience for me. This was not my first time at Zola but definitely my last.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

nice selection

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great appetizer: roasted cauliflower. Great Italian sausage side plate, excellent salads!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Bistro Zola is a pleasant place to eat

Dined on December 20, 2015

The four of us each enjoyed our meal. We appreciated the good service by the waitstaff and good food from the kitchen. It was not, hwever, a "destination restaurant". If we lived nearby, we would likely return often, bur we live 45 minutes away.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly Surprised!

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

We had eaten at Zola Bistro before while in A2 and honestly it was just OK. We went back primarily because it was the only place we could get in with a party of 20 on a football weekend. Well I have to say the food was absolutely delicious and the service was amazing. Granted the restaurant was half empty, most likely from poor reviews and that it's not in downtown A2. It may wreck my chances to get a large table again, but go here and go back if you had a bad experience. I know ZB had received less than stellar reviews but I think they took things to heart and changed. Hats off!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of eight - Nice!

Dined on November 18, 2015

We had a very nice meal with a group of eight people. Service was fine and everyone enjoyed their food. It's the only place where I like the hamburgers (Kobe Beef!). At 6:30 on Wednesday; lots of space that evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location....amazing food!!the wait ...

Dined on November 16, 2015

Great location....amazing food!!the waitstaff was also very friendly. I came at an odd time - late afternoon. It was great to have a just place to work and enjoy my meal.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food and service!

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

Great food and service. We love to go here for brunch, but I had a group going to the airport and we had just over an hour to grab a quick bite before a long evening flight. The staff was helpful and prompt. We had gourmet food and a quick turnaround - just what we needed!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

Great dinner find!

Dined on November 10, 2015

A friend gave us a gift certificate for Zola Bistro so we decided to use it one night last week. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Everything we had was excellent, the swordfish, the salmon, the salads, the calamari appetizer. The other really great thing about the restaurant is that it is not downtown so the parking is just great, pull in, park, go inside. I had heard that it was extremely loud, but it was not crowded that evening and so we could have a normal conversation. A little pricey, but a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service. Hot cider w bourbon was ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Great service. Hot cider w bourbon was awesome. Dates appetizer great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Very good food, perhaps a bit overpriced

Dined on October 24, 2015

I've had brunch here twice, and dinner once. All three times we left satisfied by the food and drinks (the martinis are good and the wine list strong). It seems to be noisier at dinner, but not too bad. Service is generally top notch. A party of three for dinner cost us about $115.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Fun menu great food

Dined on October 24, 2015

We particulsrly enjoy ordering lots of the small plates and sharing. Desserts are incredible too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

Average

Dined on October 17, 2015

A long wait for average food led to disappointment. especially considering that Zola's downtown is so much better.

food3
ambience1
service1

Hour and a half wait

Dined on October 17, 2015

We had made a reservation for 8pm however did not receive our food until 930pm. Our waitress was hardly apologetic and offered no form of compensation. This must have been due to slowness in the kitchen but it was extremely frustrating. The people at the table next to us even left after their appetizers because the wait was so long. This ruined the experience entirely and it was obvious that the plating of our food was rushed.

food3
ambience3
service1

Poor service

Dined on October 9, 2015

Our experience at Zola bistro was far from enjoyable. We arrived at 7:15 and were sat immediately, however our order was not taken h too steady 7:45, and our cold appetizers, who her our server forgot about, didn't come until 8:45, and our entrees finally arrived at 9:10, ridiculous! To top it off, one person in our party found a button in her salad, though they comped the entree, the didn't insist on giving her a replacement or any other food to apologize. Lastly, we were celebrating two birthdays, however neither wanted to stay for cake and singing, knowing it would take another hour!

food5
ambience4
service5

I love both Zola restaurants and not onl ...

Dined on August 21, 2015

I love both Zola restaurants and not only because the martini shaker is left on the table, which means you can fill your glass at least twice. The menu is very interesting with lots of choices, and the service is friendly and helpful. The decor is not what you'd call cozy or intimate and the noise level can be high when the restaurant is crowded, but on this night there were few diners and it was quiet. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner with girlfriends

vip
Dined on August 7, 2015

Our group of five dined on a Friday night. There was a great deal of table talk before we settled down to order. Our waitress was wonderful - very patient and understanding. We asked for separate checks and the restaurant was very accommodating. We started with the chickpea appetizer. I didn't think much of it when we ordered but wow it was good. I will definitely order it again. Everyone tried a different entree and no one was disappointed. I loved the small plates that they have introduced to the menu. Two of us had the fish tacos, one ordered the salmon burger, one blackened chicken panni and one order of the mussels. A roasted cauliflower dished was shared and delicious. Everyone was pleased and talking about a return visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

A good fit for the younger crowd

Dined on July 24, 2015

The food overall was good. The fried chick peas looked yummy and I liked the crunchiness but lacked flavor and could've been more salty and spicy. The salmon, mixed green salad, Parmesan frites and blue crab cakes with the sauces were all tasty. My companion loved her hibiscus inspired cocktail. Being an older person I did not like the background techno music as it's assaulting on my nerves and not a good choice for dining. The acoustics of the space really carried the screeching noises of two babies sitting away from us. Some good, some bad but overall this would be a good fit for gen-x'ers and millennials.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service1

Table was not ready until 30 minutes aft ...

vip
Dined on July 17, 2015

Table was not ready until 30 minutes after our reservation. We ordered small nibble starters which were received one hour and five minutes later. Noise level was deafening: we couldn't carry on conversation during our very long wait. Some of the food was quite good but most rather ordinary. Not worth the wait.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great gatherine with old friends

Dined on July 11, 2015

We reconnected with a group of old friends and Zola Bistro -- they were all driving to the AA area from the east side. This is a great location out of the hustle & bustle of downtown AA. Though it was a comfortable summer evening, we opted to sit inside as we loved the open airy vibe and décor. We had a couple of very picky eaters in our party but the menu offered something for everyone. Entire group was raving about their individual choices -- amazing meld of flavors, solid presentation, ideal portion sizes (be them entrees or small plates). Our server was fun and attentive to our whole group -- we lingered for a long time after our meal and never felt rushed out the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Always worth a visit

Dined on July 7, 2015

Meals are well prepared and ample. The wait staff is both personable and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

1st timers

Dined on June 30, 2015

My wife found Zola's when searching for an all Organic restaurant. All items on the menu are either all organic, GMO free and hormone free. We have found our new spot for date night. Great service, great food, a little tough to find the first time going there but well worth the search.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.