About Zola Bistro

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm,
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-5:00pm


Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect Late Lunch in ending our 3 day V ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect Late Lunch in ending our 3 day Valentine's Mini Vacay! Everything on the menu from their French press coffee to their Steak Burger is top notch! local ingredients and a true gem in Ann Arbor. I highly recommend you try anything that includes their Steak, BLT paired with their tasty French fries with their to die for Flourless Choc Desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We small-plated our Valentine's day even ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We small-plated our Valentine's day evening meal. The choices covered a good range, and all the dishes were excellent. Enjoyed the people watching - bumped into six friends: Ann Arbor is a small town.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is hit or miss. No consistency over ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is hit or miss. No consistency overall. This location on Washtenaw is way below standards than their restaurant located downtown Ann Arbor. Very disappointed and will take off of list of places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great appetizers including fish tacos an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great appetizers including fish tacos and crab cakes. Ravioli was outstanding! Fun place to gather with friends or family.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoy the food here. It was quiet ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really enjoy the food here. It was quiet for a Friday night perhaps because it's not in town. Noise wasn't a factor this night but can be if it's busy. Love the sweet potato fries !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great quality food, prepared perfectly, ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great quality food, prepared perfectly, every time. I've dined here several times and the food never disappoints. From the sweet and savory crepes, the market salad with Chicken, sandwiches and omelettes, can make it hard to decide what to order. Ambience is light, airy and I always look forward to dine here. Great to meet up with friends and enjoy a wonderfully, tasty meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Turkish eggs & vegetable latkes were ama ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Turkish eggs & vegetable latkes were amazing. Wish we lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Zola Bistro.... for a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We are regulars at Zola Bistro.... for a reason. I love the modern and open decor, the laid back and easy feel, and of course the great food. Easy parking is a huge plus.

Overall, yesterday the food did not disappoint. The Turkish eggs did not live up to our expectations, but the Moroccan salmon is one of the BEST dishes I have eaten! We will back to visit this neighborhood gem soon

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I came here with a big group of friends ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I came here with a big group of friends and the food and service was very good, really fun night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zola Bistros attention to quality of foo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Zola Bistros attention to quality of food and how it's prepared in the kitchen is clearly a lower quality than Zola Cafe. We frequent both restaurants enough to definitely say there is a difference. Additionally the seating that backs right up to the servers stand is not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our waitress Emily gave us excellent ser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our waitress Emily gave us excellent service and was very attentive. We loved the varied flavor combinations. The flat iron steak with chimichurri was bursting with flavor. We also had the Moroccan Salmon. The spice was perfect. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Pricy,but good food and fresh! Waitress ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Pricy,but good food and fresh! Waitress was very slow and needed to be reminded to bring things . Otherwise great!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were disappointed that the short ribs ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were disappointed that the short ribs on was no longer on the menu (it was still showing it online). Our waiter was a not as attentive as we would have liked (ie., I think we are out of knives. We said, can you go look for some?) I thought the blood orange martini lacked flavor (not enough of the blood orange flavor came thru). We ordered mostly small plates and shared. I would say that they were pretty good. We all ordered the desserts. One of the crepe desserts wasn't stellar - the crepe tasted and looked like it wasn't cooked enough. The creme brûlée didn't have enough sweetness to it. Also, the restaurant is quite expensive so I would only recommend this place as a special occasion place for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was fine, but our server was EX ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was fine, but our server was EXCEPTIONAL! He was so attentive but not intrusive, kind, funny, friendly and awesome. I wish I could have stayed all day to hang! Thank you!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Restaurant Week when values are ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week when values are better, although wine bottle prices remained toward the high side relative to other restaurants (3-4 times store prices). Surprised that no plates seemed "miniaturized", including 2 appetizer choices per person (chose awesome kaafta patties with 2 sauces, plus a good size salad) and a full-sized flat iron steak with plenty of delicious chimichurri (and another side salad on the plate!). Very attentive and helpful service despite having 3 teens in tow. Only complaint is the 5 of us were crammed into a rectangular table meant for 4, but I suppose that's what happens during the Restaurant Week rush. I did notice that they don't have tables for 5--all deuce tables that can be combined or split up as needed, so beware if you're going with an odd numbered party.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitperson was knowledeable and frie ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our waitperson was knowledeable and friendly. She recommended the Blood Orange Martini to the get the evening started. The menu had all kinds of interesting options. I tried the Salmon burger. My meal was excellent and so was the martini!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family brunch at Zola Bistro was fantast ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Family brunch at Zola Bistro was fantastic! The lattes and mochas never disappoint. Turkish Brunch is the best (and only) way to order in my book!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very nice and service was excel ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was very nice and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Many vegetarian options; delicious food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Many vegetarian options; delicious food (everything!); good service. Too loud for quiet conversation or those hard of hearing.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Vegan, , Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

N/A......,,......,,,,,,,,.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 15, 2016

N/A......,,......,,,,,,,,.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delicious choice. Try the smoke ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always a delicious choice. Try the smoked salmon omelette with goat cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place and great tasty food!! I like ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Nice place and great tasty food!! I liked the furniture and decoration

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Flexible dining options and an array of ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Flexible dining options and an array of food choices make this place great for larger groups and parties when you don't know everyone's food preferences. Always great service and a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good and unique. They have a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food is good and unique. They have a lot of Turkish options - which is fun and delicious.

Expect to pay at least $15 for a drink and food/person - if not more during brunch.

I've been here twice now with very high expectations because of the ambiance, closeness to my home, and unique food options. However, each time I've been disappointed. I'm not sure if both were just a coincidence or not, but I don't plan on going back there.

The first time, we waited almost 50 minutes for our breakfast. It was crowded so I tried to understand. Once our food arrived, I was so hungry I was about to shovel into my mouth when I saw that there was a black curly hair in my eggs (which can happen any where and I understand). I pointed it out to my husband and was almost just going to put it aside and eat it anyway, but I was reminded that we were paying a lot of money for this breakfast and should get what we pay for. When we pointed it out to our waitress, she seemed annoyed at me for pointing it out and not apologetic at all. She took my plate and I waited another 20 minutes for my new plate of food - by this time my family had all finished eating and were ready for the check. They should have at least taken my meal off of the bill for the huge inconvenience. It was a very frustrating experience.

The most recent time I went there I met up with a friend for lunch and I brought my 9 month old with me. As a new mom, getting out of the house is a huge deal and I don't need any judgement. From the moment I stepped through the door with a baby, I got glaring stares by the staff. My baby was extremely well behaved and hardly made a noise the entire time we were there. Our waitress seemed so annoyed with the baby. She never smiled or checked to see how we were doing. Our waters were never refilled. She came once to drop the food off and that's it. I had to wave her down for a check and box for the food. She was just so rude with her interactions with us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had high hopes for this cute and well ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had high hopes for this cute and well appointed restaurant. It is quite pricey, but we wouldn't have had a problem if the food was above average. Sadly it was not. I was hoping to give a better review.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was good, but nothing exception ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good, but nothing exceptional. Prices were high. Menu is limited, and if you want to add items, for example to an omelet, they upcharge for each item...made my omelet about $20.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Zola Bistro is our go-to place for takin ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Zola Bistro is our go-to place for taking out-of-town guests someplace special. It is not inexpensive - it's about $20/per person per meal - but the food is really exceptional and the offerings unique. You can taste the quality of the ingredients. The service is also very good and, this past weekend, we had some of the best service ever (attentive but not smothering, really responsive to needs, constantly filled coffee and water, personable, accommodated modifications to the order, etc.) If you go, try the waffles or the omelettes. You cannot go wrong. The teas, coffee and smoothies are also wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredibly noisy - lol - but I sooooo lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Incredibly noisy - lol - but I sooooo love the food here!

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night before potatoes for breakfast not ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Night before potatoes for breakfast not fulfilling at all.

Noise level poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5

Food is decent, but overpriced for what ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is decent, but overpriced for what it is. Noise level is high if you're there when it's busy. Nice furniture/fixtures - modern look. I wouldn't go back for the food, but the bar is pretty neat so I might visit again for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The noise is too loud but everything is ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The noise is too loud but everything is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Zola Bistro was perfect for my birthday. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Zola Bistro was perfect for my birthday. I had a large group and they accommodated us so graciously. My server, Nadia, was really sweet and I'm really thankful that she allowed me to have such a great time. Thank you, Zola Bistro!! I'll be back for sure!!

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great so I will return. Ho ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food was great so I will return. However, the hostess seated us right next to a large table that was celebrating a birthday. The room itself is very noisy (hard surfaces), and our neighbors were understandably boisterous and loud. As a result, it was almost impossible for us to talk, which was the primary reason for our dinner. There were many empty tables in the room. She should have been thoughtful enough to seat us farther away from the party table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

For some reason I was given a very small ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

For some reason I was given a very small two top table directly next to other diners. The restaurant was 75% empty, and every other group of 2 diners was given a 4 top table with space between them and the next table. This was annoying- I felt disregarded and slighted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We made our reservations at 11 for 3, we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We made our reservations at 11 for 3, we didn't get seated until 11:50. The hostess, who was also behind the bar at some point had a terrible attitude. The manager did take care of the bill but why are they taking reservations if they can't fulfill

them? Time is precious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This was our second dinner at Zola Bistr ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our second dinner at Zola Bistro, and we had also visited once for lunch. We sat outside, which is probably why it was so quiet. My meal - a vegetarian meal - was filling and delightful. Two of us, however, ordered flat iron steaks. Both were delivered lukewarm and one was too tough to eat. One was returned to be reheated while the other was replaced. It was still very tough. We thought it hadn't been adequately marinated. We will certainly try Zola Bistro again, even though it didn't compare well with our previous visits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

The evening at Zola's Bistro was a gift. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The evening at Zola's Bistro was a gift. The food was unique, outstanding and generous portions. There were options to suit all eating preferences, ours being vegetarian. There was a short wait to get drinks, but food came quite promptly. We are definitely returning soon. The fried brussel sprouts were incredible!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and accommodating service ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Delicious food and accommodating service make this a great place for dinner meetings as well as dinner with family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday brunch took 45!minutes to get our ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Sunday brunch took 45!minutes to get our meals. Yikes-need some more staff. Those who served us were very nice but they had too many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

When the restaurant is full it's very no ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2016

When the restaurant is full it's very noisy and not especially pleasant to be in. When it's mostly empty, as in mid-afternoon, it's a great place to have a conversation over a leisurely meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.