Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Zola Bistro

Zola Bistro is a modern independently owned and operated bistro serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Ann Arbor’s East Side. Our menus are inspired by flavors and recipes borrowed from European and Mediterranean cultures and cuisine, including some Turkish recipes. We are committed to sourcing the freshest and highest quality ingredients available and supporting local businesses, farms, and suppliers. Bistro’s seasonal menus emphasize organic and local produce, dairy, eggs, poultry, meat and seafood. Our full service bar features craft beers, artisanal cocktails, weekly happy hour specials, and a rotating wine selection that has been chosen from various small production vineyards throughout the world.
Reservations can also be made by phone during our normal business hours or by email. Not all of our large tables are displayed online, so feel free to contact us for more information on special events, reservations for large groups, or for any special requests.

3030 Washtenaw Ave.
Suite 301
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, European

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am-4:00pm,
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm-5:00pm


Cross Street:
Platt Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 477-8088

Website:
http://www.bistrozola.com/

Parking Details:
Ample free parking is available in the lots adjacent to the building.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zola Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Sunday Lunch (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Healthy (13)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Fun (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful discovery for me! Will come again and recommend to friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Zola is my favorite brunch place. Only downside is it is very noisy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had booked a reservation on Open Table several weeks in advance, but when I checked with them in person the day before, they told me they didn't have a record of it. So, thankfully I was able to make a new reservation for Easter Sunday for 12:15. We were finally seated at 12:45, so although I certainly understand that it was an especially busy time, I was not convinced that prior reservations was a priority. Our server was awesome and the food was quite good. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My reservation for 14 people for Easter Brunch was promptly honored when we arrived even though not everybody showed up at the exact time. Service was excellent and food arrived fairly quickly after we all ordered. We even asked for separate checks and we were accommodated no questions asked.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited Zola Bistro for Easter brunch, and the service and food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch! Had a hard time deciding, everything sounded so good. Our party of 5 ordered different things to and everyone's dish was amazing! 4 star coffee too! A little in the pricey side, but worth it I think. I will definitely come back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had the crepe Zola which was extremely dry and empty on the inside, very little mozzarella, tomatoes and basil! The filling was all in the center and probably had three small slices of mozzarella. My boyfriend had the open-face fried egg which was basically child size. We're big foodies and very much okay with small plates but his meal was beyond not worth it.
2 stars cuz the Nutella banana crepe is worth going back for. But this is my second time here and the dessert crepe was the only good thing I've had here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I expected a little more I guess. The service was lack luster. The calamari app not enough for even two people...at least not for the price. The kobe burger was the highlight and it was truly very good, but nothing else stood out. The olives tasted like they were soaked in alcohol...for someone who doesn't drink it was an unwanted surprise. The 2x4 "piece"wall was super cool, but overall 3-stars because I don't know that I would make it a point to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Too loud to enjoy the conversation on a Saturday lunch time

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ok if a restaurant cannot reserve seats for people, then don't list yourself on OpenTable, please. I reserved for 8 people on a 10:30am occasion 4/8/2017 (Sat.) Two of us arrived at ~10:20am and was told it will be 5-10 min to have our table. The rest of the group arrived at 10:30am sharp. But at 10:43 there were still no table for us and when we asked, they said "I am afraid there will not be anything very soon." Come on, really? Can't you just give the reserved people a call to ensure they are coming, put a sign on the reserved table, or anything that can actually make it work? At the same time we saw a group saying they reserved 11:00am seats and got a table. This is insane. They don't take reservation seriously at all. I highly recommend OpenTable to remove the reservation system for Zola Bistro since it is no use to reserve beforehand. We end up going cross the street to Bigalora. At least that way we could sit down instead of making reservation days ago and then had to stand in the narrow entrance at Zola Bistro for 23 mins for nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Consistent menu and consistently good food. Coffee refills were never behind!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered the Turkish eggs. It was great. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The drinks and coffee were excellent. I wish I liked the food more. My friend's breakfast was soupy and my omelette was tough and tasteless. Too bad! The menu makes everything sound so delicious but the reality at least as far as the food goes is something different.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was bad and food was average. There is no ambiance, it feels like you are sitting in a cafeteria. Also the cook doesn't know how to cook a steak; additionally, the meat was hard to chew.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Despite having reservations for 11am, we weren't seated until almost 11:45. The hostess was very gracious and we could tell it was busy, but was still a bit frustrating.

Other than that had a lovely experience.

Delicious Bloody Mary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice brunch menu, reasonable price. Too crowded, we ordered table and waited 30min to be seated.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Brunch- great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food but very crowded and noisy for Sunday brunch

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very attentive service and a delicious brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 6, 2017

So delicious!!!! Fantastic. (Patient!!) server and delicious meal. Strong coffee that let on coming. Will return.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Our international group of 16 women met for lunch on March 1st. Everyone was very pleased with their food and the service. The restaurant gave us separate checks, which we very much appreciated, although it was a lot of work for them. There is ample free parking near the restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This was our third or fourth time at Zola's. We live out of town - 70 miles from Ann Arbor, but visit every month or so. Have always been pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. Have not explored the drinks, but have enjoyed the good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I love the brunch men which is available every day, not just Sunday. I recommend the waffles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

service very good....wait staff acommadating.....food was hot when brought to table
will do it again with pleasure

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went for brunch and everything was delicious! Be warned the portions are very sizable. My wife was only barely finished half of her New Orleans style French Toast.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect Late Lunch in ending our 3 day Valentine's Mini Vacay! Everything on the menu from their French press coffee to their Steak Burger is top notch! local ingredients and a true gem in Ann Arbor. I highly recommend you try anything that includes their Steak, BLT paired with their tasty French fries with their to die for Flourless Choc Desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We small-plated our Valentine's day evening meal. The choices covered a good range, and all the dishes were excellent. Enjoyed the people watching - bumped into six friends: Ann Arbor is a small town.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is hit or miss. No consistency overall. This location on Washtenaw is way below standards than their restaurant located downtown Ann Arbor. Very disappointed and will take off of list of places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great appetizers including fish tacos and crab cakes. Ravioli was outstanding! Fun place to gather with friends or family.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really enjoy the food here. It was quiet for a Friday night perhaps because it's not in town. Noise wasn't a factor this night but can be if it's busy. Love the sweet potato fries !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great quality food, prepared perfectly, every time. I've dined here several times and the food never disappoints. From the sweet and savory crepes, the market salad with Chicken, sandwiches and omelettes, can make it hard to decide what to order. Ambience is light, airy and I always look forward to dine here. Great to meet up with friends and enjoy a wonderfully, tasty meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Turkish eggs & vegetable latkes were amazing. Wish we lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We are regulars at Zola Bistro.... for a reason. I love the modern and open decor, the laid back and easy feel, and of course the great food. Easy parking is a huge plus.
Overall, yesterday the food did not disappoint. The Turkish eggs did not live up to our expectations, but the Moroccan salmon is one of the BEST dishes I have eaten! We will back to visit this neighborhood gem soon

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I came here with a big group of friends and the food and service was very good, really fun night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Zola Bistros attention to quality of food and how it's prepared in the kitchen is clearly a lower quality than Zola Cafe. We frequent both restaurants enough to definitely say there is a difference. Additionally the seating that backs right up to the servers stand is not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our waitress Emily gave us excellent service and was very attentive. We loved the varied flavor combinations. The flat iron steak with chimichurri was bursting with flavor. We also had the Moroccan Salmon. The spice was perfect. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Pricy,but good food and fresh! Waitress was very slow and needed to be reminded to bring things . Otherwise great!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were disappointed that the short ribs on was no longer on the menu (it was still showing it online). Our waiter was a not as attentive as we would have liked (ie., I think we are out of knives. We said, can you go look for some?) I thought the blood orange martini lacked flavor (not enough of the blood orange flavor came thru). We ordered mostly small plates and shared. I would say that they were pretty good. We all ordered the desserts. One of the crepe desserts wasn't stellar - the crepe tasted and looked like it wasn't cooked enough. The creme brûlée didn't have enough sweetness to it. Also, the restaurant is quite expensive so I would only recommend this place as a special occasion place for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was fine, but our server was EXCEPTIONAL! He was so attentive but not intrusive, kind, funny, friendly and awesome. I wish I could have stayed all day to hang! Thank you!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.