About Zoes Steak & Seafood

AAA Four Diamond restaurant located at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Zoës originally opened in 2003, and re-opened under new ownership on March 16, 2009. Chef Jesse Wykle has teamed with long time friend and renowned sommelier, Marc Sauter, as well as devoted restaurant goers Bill and Joni Greene, to continue the Zoës legacy with the same great location, friendly staff, soothing ambience, and award-winning food and spirits.

Together, their hope is to offer their guests a wonderful dining experience that has a comfortable, familiar atmosphere, yet that special touch of class that makes Zoës “the place to go when you absolutely must impress your guests.”

Reservations are recommended but walk-ins are always welcome. Sundays are reserved for private parties and Zoës Special Events.

Zoës is a completely non-smoking establishment.

713 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday through Saturday
Monday (5:00 pm-9:00 pm)
Tuesday - Saturday (5:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 437-3636

Website:
http://www.zoesvb.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot. Complimentary valet parking on most nights.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Wykle

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for special events can be made by calling our reservation desk (757-437-3636).

Zoes Steak & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Private Room (9)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The place was expensive but totally worth it. The filet mignion was velvety smooth, perfectly cooked, and delicious- it is now very and quiet perfect for a date- of course till two different groups coincidentally find each other and start chit chatting right next to where you are trying to eat and then it makes things less enjoyable- the restaurant and their service where great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

The staff and the food were wonderful. We can't say enough about how exceptional our experience was.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentine's Day dinner. They had a special menu that evening but everything on it was very good. Wait staff were attentive and friendly. We had a good time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service, food, and wine was awesome. I will be back soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is great! Came here for both Valentine's Day and My Anniversary and the food and wine was remarkable! Not to mention the service was spot on!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food wasn't up to par with price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Zoe's was wonderful , as it always is. The food was scrumptious, and, perfectly cooked. My husband said that is his NY strip was the best he has ever had ( very high praise from him ). And, service ( which for me is just as important) was very attentive . Zoe's has never failed to deliver an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server was completely unbothered by the fact that our friend had just choked on his steak, to the point of needing our other friend, who is thankfully an ER doctor, to do the Heimlich maneuver twice on him. In fact, instead of asking if he was okay, he cracked a joke instead. Other patrons were more concerned that our server was.

Secondly, due to this, obviously his plate was no longer... appealing, yet it wasn't considered to maybe offer another plate. So yes, he ate off of it still, which to me was disturbing, considering the restaurant we came to.

As far as our food, my husband requested his stead be medium well, and it came nearly rarer than my steak, which I literally ordered "to be cooked as rare as legally possible." So that was not quite palatable for him.

We had a reservation, which basically did not seem to be honored, considering how long it took to get us to a table.

Lastly, other small details such as our drinks being wrong in the sense of small twists here and there on what fruit we wanted or how to be made were completely mixed up, but of course unlike choking on a steak, that wouldn't kill us so we just drank them but didn't order more than just one.

Zoe's is one of our favorites and always has been, but it seems either the staff is new or their staff is letting themselves get caught up in the hustle of a Saturday night. I can understand, I paid my way through college with jobs in the same industry, but it is hardly acceptable to make a joke about a potentially deadly situation. None of us could believe it, and to top it off, the "little" details of our food and orders just piled up. It was a nightmare of a restaurant experience this time, which is sad for me to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I took my girlfriend there for her birthday, but we certainly will not wait a year before we come back. We really enjoyed our experience there.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Zoe's is always a great choice. Our service was amazing and we were able to enjoy the restaurant week menu. Our waiter had wonderful wine recommendations, as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We have many friends who recommended Zoe's to us over the years and finally gave it a try! Boy we were not disappointed !! The service, ambiance and food was all top notch! I will be visiting again for sure. Thank you to or server Johnathan for the wonderful experience on our anniversary !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Sea Bass en Papillote was fantastic. The red curry, pineapple, and almonds were delicious with the tender fish. Crab lollipops and beef tartar run a close second. Great service from the entire staff. Well done as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing food & service, per usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great evening, looking forward to doing it again.

Upon arrival the Valet quickly parked our car and the Hostess seated us at the chef's table.

Our waiter, Matthew, greeted us quickly and took our drink and wine order. The Manhattan’s were spot on and the Venge Cab went great with our meal.

For appetizers, my wife had the Lynhaven oysters, she loved them, and I had the chef's tasting board. Matthew commented that he had never seen a chef’s board go back so clean, so yes, I ate everything on the board and wanted more.

We split an iceberg salad which was very good. It was a wedge of lettuce with some tomatoes and fried onion rings with dressing. It was worth the money.

For the main course my wife had the small Ribeye which she said was the best that she has had in the area. I had the Rack of Lamb, best rack of lamb I have ever had. No need for a doggie bag since there was nothing left to take home

For desert my wife had the Chocolate Alchemy and I had the baked Brie ice cream. Both were excellent and went well with our Cappuccino and amaretto. Then Jesse sent over a tasting of four ice creams. This was an unexpected touch to end the evening and I enjoyed it, watch out for the habanero because it has a delayed kick.

The menu is not extensive but it covers Steak and Seafood very well, you get good options and do not have to go through analysis paralyses. The wine list is extensive and per Marc they often have additional wines upon request. After our excellent dinner, we found out that they have a special area (for wine and cooking education) where a group of up to six can sit at a bar and watch Jesse as he is preparing a six to eight course meal, that the two of you have worked out in advance.

Marc and Jesse came by to check on us and we had a delightful conversation about food and wine.

From our point of view Zoes has the fine dining in the Tidewater area and we will be back. Marc and Jesse have a good thing going, try it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic! Zoe's offers elegant dining with outstanding cuisine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our family ventured out in the ice and snow to celebrate my wife's birthday! We were looking forward to the evening and were not about to let the bad weather stop us. It didn't slow down the Zoe's crew either. The food, which included a charcuterie board appetizer, filets for several and a deep water sea bass special, were all outstanding. Paired with a couple of nice bottles of wine and a chocolate soufflé, habanero ice cream, cupcake desert combo, it made for a great birthday celebration. On the way out we took a look at their new special event room for dinners, tastings and cooking classes. It accommodates about 20 and is absolutely beautiful. Zoe's is always a treat and definitely at the top of the list in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wine list limited for $50-100 but extensive for $200+++

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Zoe's is the top restaurant in VA Beach/Norfolk. Food and service is bar none thx to Matt, Grey, and the chef. Try the $50 hamburger..... Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve special dinner. Top notch fancy dinner. Chef was magnificent. Service was fabulous. Fixed menu, every drink, every plate was high end and the flavors were a festival for your palate. Over $200 per person with drinks. Must do this at least once in your life.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the special 5-course New Year's Eve dinner at Zoe's, including the recommended wine pairings. Everything was superb! Thank you to Zoe's kitchen and wait staff for a delicious meal and memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Zoe's is at Virginia Beach jewel. The food, the service, and the atmosphere are just terrific. It never fails to deliver. I would recommend it to anyone

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was excellent! The four of us had wine, appetizers, entrees, desserts, and port. It was all delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Valet was great, had our cars warmed up for us when we left. Host didn't have much personality. They were out of the wine we wanted. Said the sommelier would stop by - they never did. Servers kept reaching across two of us to serve the other two in our party. There was plenty of room for them to go around. They did this with appetizers, water pitcher, serving entrees, grinding pepper, etc. One of the sides was 'over done' according to the server - glad he didn't serve it. But the replacement did not come out until we were almost done with our entree. And it was still on the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Incredible wine list and amazing food! Highly recommend for business dinners or date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Zoe's. We haven't been in a while, but what we were so impressed with the menu and our meal that Zoe's will be back on our list of favorites.

The crab bisque was phenomenal...loads of crab and very tasty. The lobster dish was also excellent - lobster tempura is hard to do well, and it was absolutely perfect. My husband had a steak, and it was Zoe's standard excellent quality and cooked perfectly.

The wait staff was friendly, engaging and efficient.

So pleased that Zoe's continues to be one of the best dining establishments in Virginia Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service was amazing. The food was delicious. We could not have asked for a better evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

best restaurant in Virginia Beach. Steaks and lamb chops were awesome. Great wine list!!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent service and menu selection was very nice. Everyone at our table enjoyed the evening and finished off our dinner with desert that was to die for. Try the carrot cake...OMG!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Overall it was a good experience, but would definitely not make my top 10 in the VaBeach area. Not opposed to returning and giving it another try, and likely will. No "hard" complaints at all but did not live up to the hype I've heard over the past year since moving back into the area. My own opinion, a bit overpriced for the overall experience. The physical appearance of the venue looks quite "tired", the food was pretty good, appearance of plated food a bit better than actual taste, though soup and salad were actually best part of meal to be fair.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Wow, the wine pairing was over the top!!! Lobster Pops = Yummy!!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the Norfolk/VA Beach area! Hands down the best food around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Attentive staff, excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service. Filet was tender and cooked perfectly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went with another couple and everyone loved their meal. I had the short ribs and they were wonderful! Greens were amazing. Husband had ribeye and it was wonderful too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My business partner and I went out for dinner to discuss our plans for the next three years and wanted to meet in a quiet setting with great food. We were not disappointed. We were given a booth which was large enough and private enough for us to do our business. We ordered a nice bottle of wine from the extensive wine list and because they had emptied that bin the night before, the owner, Marc Sauter who is a wine sommelier as well, brought us a better year of the same wine and although the price was more expensive, he offered it at the lower price which was really nice. The service and food were fabulous. We both ordered steaks cooked medium rare and they were served perfectly. We shared a piece of carrot cake for dessert. The price was $16 which seems somewhat expensive until you see the slab of cake that they bring you. We couldn't finish it. The only negative is that they make you valet your car and the parking lot is so small that it is overkill; just a way to spend money on tips.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Zoes is our favorite restaurant. We go on special occasions and when we want to impress a special friend ore loved one. The service and ambiance are impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The most amazing food and they have great drinks too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I'll get to the food in a bit, but I cannot get over how wonderful the staff was. From the moment my wife and I walked in we felt as if we were being solely catered to. The place was busy however the staff did an outstanding job in making you feel like you were their most important customer. We don't go to fancy restaurants often (in this case, my wife's birthday) but when we have in the past, each place felt like the usual upscale stuffy atmosphere. Zoes felt more personable and like we could joke with the staff yet still get treated like we were their number one customer.

As for the food. Both of our steaks were phenomenal. I got the ribeye and my wife got the NY strip. Both were cooked perfectly and very tender. Our appetizer "spring roll" of shrimp and collards was to die for. It's a place you have to visit at least once to see what I mean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was great. Great customer service. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was prompt and excellent. Our first time at Zoe's. Food selection and variety was top notch. Upscale casual and vibrant atmosphere. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This was my first time at Zoe's and I was not disappointed! We came for restaurant week but were not offered that menu, which was fine. The staff was so friendly and made great suggestions such has how to cook the steak I ordered. There was always someone close by to fill our wine and water and to clean up our plates. The price was a bit steep so this wouldn't be an all the time place, but the food and the wine was outstanding and was a perfect date night spot for my fiancée and I. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wonderful anniversary dinner with such friendly staff and amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. We had an amazing ribeye steak and a great lobster dish.

Dessert was also incredible - honey goat cheese ice cream!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Booked a reservation at last minute. Food and service were outstanding. Matt, our waiter, was there when we needed him and anticipated needs without being intrusive. Food was best we've ever had in Virginia Beach. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The special was advertised as two lump crabcakes. It was backfin and filler. This restaurant is very over priced for the size of the portions and the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the dining room, we were in a small room with 4 tables. One table was loud but quieted down. The service was excellent. Our server, Matt, was attentive and made sure everything was done to our satisfaction. The lamb chops were delicious and I would highly recommend them. Was a nice evening out and looking forward to returning for another great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service. A bit pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I haven't been to Zoe's for a few years and I'm not sure why. I love the dark wood and relaxed ambiance of the place. Service is always excellent and the food is outstanding. The only negative is that it is a bit pricey but I'm willing to indulge myself occasionally, especially when the weather is bad and I need to relax. I would recommend this place to anyone who is vacationing in VA Beach.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Jesse Wykle is very creative and makes everything delicious. The wine list is amazing as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.