Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Zoes Steak & Seafood

AAA Four Diamond restaurant located at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Zoës originally opened in 2003, and re-opened under new ownership on March 16, 2009. Chef Jesse Wykle has teamed with long time friend and renowned sommelier, Marc Sauter, as well as devoted restaurant goers Bill and Joni Greene, to continue the Zoës legacy with the same great location, friendly staff, soothing ambience, and award-winning food and spirits.

Together, their hope is to offer their guests a wonderful dining experience that has a comfortable, familiar atmosphere, yet that special touch of class that makes Zoës “the place to go when you absolutely must impress your guests.”

Reservations are recommended but walk-ins are always welcome. Sundays are reserved for private parties and Zoës Special Events.

Zoës is a completely non-smoking establishment.

713 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday through Saturday
Monday (5:00 pm-9:00 pm)
Tuesday - Saturday (5:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 437-3636

Website:
http://www.zoesvb.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot. Complimentary valet parking on most nights.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Wykle

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for special events can be made by calling our reservation desk (757-437-3636).

Zoes Steak & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful tastes, excellent service. Steaks were prepared exactly as we ordered. Fried shrimp appetizer and goo goo cluster ice cream were hits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The steak is excellent. Service was very attentive. Also the restaurant provides valet service.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

My lady and I had not visited Zoë's in a long time. This occasion seemed even better than the last time. We asked for and got our favorite seating. Service was quick, attentive, and highly professional. Food was delicious, well presented, and abundant but not excessive. You pay for what you get. What could be better?

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I have had the privilege of dining here on a number of occasions and I'm positive there will be future dates. Chef has always accommodated our requests, He and rest of the staff knock it out of the park every time, I thank him for this. Zoes is a truly a wonderful dining experience, Food, Wine and Atmosphere all A+ great job keep it up. See you very soon. Joe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Made reservation 4 birthday. Beautiful cozy & private table. Good waitress & food selections. Excellent app. However, ordered 16 oz steak and asked if they knew how to do it Pittsburg style. The waitress said of course as it had a good rep as a steak house. Unfortunately it was not cooked correctly. When waitress came by and asked. I noted that it was not done as requested & she appologized saying they could not get the grill hot enough. And she left me with a steak I did not like. If she had told me they could not make it, would have changed my order. My good mood was shattered. Dont recommend ordering steak here, but the tuna was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner, as we have come to expect. Service was outstanding and our steaks were cooked properly.
Decided to start with with the corn dog while my wife had the oysters. She enjoyed the oysters , as always. The corn dog was not like any corn dog that I have ever had before and tasted great, probably will have it next visit.
We are looking forward to our next dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Top restaurant in Virginia Beach, thanks for a great meal every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Outstanding wine list, Sommelier very helpful in choosing the wine for dinner. My wife had the seared tuna and I had the filet, both were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had a great time and enjoyed the food. Our server was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had a great dinner. The server was very knowledgeable and the rest of the staff was attentive as well. The manager even came over to ensure everyone was having a great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lovely space. Our waiter was attentive and adorable. They were kindly attentive to my needs. We'd never been and will absolutely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was outstanding, everyone was great. Steaks cooked perfectly, but lamb and a shrimp and grits plate left a bit bland. Family meal on vacation - check it outt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

There really isn't any restaurant in Hampton Roads/Tidewater that comes close to how great this restaurant is. It measures up to and in a lot of instances surpasses restaurants in LA, NYC, and many other big cities. This is a must experience in the state of Virginia!

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was really good. Service was okay. More water refilling and napkin folding than our server being around. It is upscale and pricey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was our first time visiting Zoe's and it was phenomenal, the service was out of this world, the server was very knowledgeable and helpful, plus the food is simply incredible!!!! I can't say enough great things about this establishment. Thank you for a wonderful evening❤️

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We are blessed to have several top notch restaurants in Virginia Beach. This is the best for steaks and chops. Anniversary dinner was superb in every respect from the single rose on the table to the wonderful chocolate dessert. Sommelier Marc Sauter was spectacular at the table. Encyclopedic knowledge of wines, and actually down sold us from a very expensive bottle I was considering with the lamb to a spectacular but less expensive bottle with which I was not familiar. Perfect service, the rack of lamb was to die for. In all, a marvelous experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Zoe's never disappoints. From it's friendly and knowledgeable wait staff to it's eclectic menu Zoe's is a like a new dining experience every-time we go. The portions are generous and, though I don't drink wine, the wine list is extensive and exemplary. Not inexpensive, whatever one has is worth every penny.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Everything was great, but it was a little but noisy compared to other intimate restaurants we've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

One of Virginia Beach's best! Wonderful food and great service. Kennedy was our server. Terrific attitude, great service, and very knowledgeable about their extensive wine selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Three words: "They try, but..." So, don't get your hopes up unless you and your dining partner are the types to spend $350+ for dinner, 2 drinks and a bottle of wine and claim it was the "best ever" on Facebook, even though it wasn't, by far...

For a place that seems (?) to pride itself on its wine savvy, our $110 bottle of Sonoma, Ca. pinot noir was served just shy of "hot". Maybe it just came off of the delivery truck that afternoon, I don't know. Or else, their storage area's A/C was kaput. Either way, what should have been a nice accompaniment to our steak dinners was... disappointing, to be kind.

Further, my requested "medium rare" NY strip steak was less rare than my wife's requested "medium" filet mignon. Both steaks were too charred on the surface, making them tough and difficult to saw through even with the supplied, serrated steak knives.

For dessert, the server recommended the "Goliath" carrot cake, describing it as "life altering". So we gave it a try- One word: "Tasteless". (Okay, two words: Add "dry".)

Same for the "Iceberg" salad (Which most restaurants we go to title as a "Wedge" salad; including a *wedge* of lettuce, bacon and bleu cheese. Again: Tasteless and boring. How can bleu cheese and bacon be tasteless, one may ask? Make the hunk of lettuce dripping wet with water.

We've been to Zoe's once before, in August 2016, and we had a meal nice enough to want to return the next time we were in the area. However, this trip was a 180° turnaround for the worse. We will not, ever, return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service here was excellent, as was the wine. However, the dining floor was noisy and the food was not up to the price. On the whole, the restaurant seemed pretentious. When we went the seafood selection was only marginal. This is a place where one can have a "nice upscale" meal, but the money would be better spent elsewhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a delightful time - the food was incredible - the service was exceptional - we will definitely go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Every course was delicious and well-prepared - we enjoyed the meal and the interaction with the servers as well as meeting the chef.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome Food and seriously great service, it's a favorite of ours.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My wife and I dined her for our anniversary. The staff when we entered the restaurant were so welcoming as well as the staff when we were seated to our table. Our waitress was very knowlegable on the food which made it easy to pick our meals. We also loved how they added a special touch with a sweet note that said happy anniversary when we approached our table. The food and serviced reminded of us being on our honeymoon which was perfect since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We will definitely be back as well as tell family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything that we ordered was of top quality. Presentation was on point

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great local restaurant with excellent food and intimate ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

All food well prepared and delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and bright and made the dinner memorable.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great food and service...steak was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was delicious, creative and well prepared, as usual. Service was friendly and professional until the entrees were served. At that point, our waiter disappeared got busy elsewhere and it became a challenge to gain anyone's attention. Ultimately the hostess had to clear the table and take our dessert orders. Maybe an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Zoes is our go-to spot for something special and never dissappoints! Bravo Chef Wykle and staff for keeping Zoe's great! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Keep the wine list current! A few too many "I am sorry we don't have that wine".

But they nicely accommodated me, so all was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Virginia Beach if not Hampton Roads! Food is fantastic and the wine list is extensive. The service was attentive and our server was very knowledgeable of the menu items and chef specialties. Great for Anniversaries and Date nights. They also have a happy hour menu which we will try. We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was my wife and mine anniversary. It was the perfect meal and special memory to have. Our only mistake was not to have dinner their the whole time while we were in Virginia Beach. It was delicious and can't wait to come back. The service was excellent. Very friendly staff. My wife being given a rose made her feel good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had the blue fin tuna and the rack of lamb, both of which were very good. When it came to dessert, however, they were not only out of our favorite dessert, tres leches, but talked us into the millionaire's eclair only to come back later and tell us that they were out of that, too...on an early Wednesday evening with very few people in the restaurant. So, we settled for the baked brie ice cream which was good, but nothing special. Just not as customer-oriented as they could be.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

OMG, Great place to have a outstanding meal. We are very picky about steak and this place is top notch. Cooked perfect and very very tender. You want to go out for steak, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Service was below average. Waiter was not attentive. For just one example I asked twice for a second bottle of wine without results. Finally had to request same from wait staff attendant. In fact I asked our waiter if his other tables were taking up too much of his time and he said no....... So what's the problem???

Except for the lobster (texture was as though it might have been undercooked) the food was excellent. However, dining there is really getting pricy.

We have been to Zoe's on numerous occasions and this is the first such disappointing service. The waiter knows we were not pleased as a different server finished up with our dessert and bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were there for the Showdown dinner. Several years ago we had this and thoroughly enjoyed the dinner. However, this time was different. The salad was mini Caesar and was pitifully small.
The steak was good, but seemed to be less than 7 oz. and served on mashed potatoes with no vegetables. The wine was quite good.

We would not recommend your restaurant for the showdown dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Stopped in for cocktails and dinner after a cheer competition nearby. Surprised how creative the appetizers were. Very creative and full of flavor. Not your average steakhouse apps. Bar had spheres of ice for drinks on the rocks. Quite a find.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. We had a birthday and a graduation to celebrate so we picked a very special place to do that! The food was excellent, and good variety for whatever anyone was craving. Service was as exceptional as the food. Our server explained the menu thoroughly so we could make our choices with little concern for a disappointing meal. Just a delightful evening from opening drinks to desserts. I'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.