About Zoes Steak & Seafood

713 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4114
View Larger Map

AAA Four Diamond restaurant located at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Zoës originally opened in 2003, and re-opened under new ownership on March 16, 2009. Chef Jesse Wykle has teamed with long time friend and renowned sommelier, Marc Sauter, as well as devoted restaurant goers Bill and Joni Greene, to continue the Zoës legacy with the same great location, friendly staff, soothing ambience, and award-winning food and spirits.

Together, their hope is to offer their guests a wonderful dining experience that has a comfortable, familiar atmosphere, yet that special touch of class that makes Zoës “the place to go when you absolutely must impress your guests.”

Reservations are recommended but walk-ins are always welcome. Sundays are reserved for private parties and Zoës Special Events.

Zoës is a completely non-smoking establishment.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday through Saturday
Monday (5:00 pm-9:00 pm)
Tuesday - Saturday (5:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 437-3636

Website:
http://www.zoesvb.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot. Complimentary valet parking on most nights.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Wykle

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for special events can be made by calling our reservation desk (757-437-3636).

Restaurant Photos

  • Apple Crumb Yum
  • Brown Butter Seared Scallops
Apple Crumb Yum
Brown Butter Seared Scallops

Zoes Steak & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
4 More
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Fit for Foodies
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Notable Wine List (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service and food!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food served by a highly traine ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food served by a highly trained staff in a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked it because its title includes " ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I picked it because its title includes "seafood," but found this to be misleading. Wish I had looked at the menu. Service was very good, as was the food: just limited seafood choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice small quiet place with good food an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice small quiet place with good food and extensive wine selections. A little pricey but nice for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is always a wonderful dining experi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is always a wonderful dining experience , great food and great service. Our server , Kate , was very attentive , and, responsive. Love , love Zoe's !

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations. The chefs cre ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Exceeded our expectations. The chefs creations were a culinary masterpiece. Service was beyond amazing. Matt was our server his anticipation of our needs were extraordinary. His knowledge of the menu and recommendation were exemplary. The support staff worked in tandem to create one of the most pleasurable dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zoe's was fantastic! We went here the f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Zoe's was fantastic! We went here the first night we were down in Virginia for our honeymoon. The wine list was great--they ended up having perhaps the best ice wine we've ever tried and we were lucky enough to get the last glass--and the staff was very knowledgeable and very helpful. Note that if there's a wine you're looking for and don't see on the wine list, you should ask the sommelier as our waiter mentioned that they have quite a few bottles that aren't on the list as their collection is being continuously updated.

For dinner, I had the filet and my husband had the prime rib. My husband is more of a foodie than I am, and, although we've had numerous expensive meals and our fair share of excellent steaks, this was the best prime rib he's ever had, hands down. The filet I had was the perfect portion and perfectly cooked.

The desserts were pretty good as well (we ordered two and ultimately preferred the souffle to the chocolate cupcake bomb). Despite a slight mishap with our first souffle, the second one came out quickly and was a perfect note to end our meal.

The food was expensive, but the quality of the food and the truly excellent service overall meant that neither of us felt that it was overpriced for what we received (which has certainly happened at other similarly priced restaurants that we've been to in the past). I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food, excellent service, everyt ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fabulous Food, excellent service, everything was above and beyond and the Best!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with creative choices. G ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food with creative choices. Great cocktails and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic dinner at Zoe's this ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at Zoe's this weekend. The food, wine and service were all excellent. We also really loved the atmosphere in this place. It's a hidden gem and a great spot for a romantic evening. We could not have been happier with our first experience there and will definitely be back next time we're in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place. Great food and service. E ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A great place. Great food and service. Entire experience was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our waitress & the meal!! Deliciou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Loved our waitress & the meal!! Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New wine bar / tasting room is outstandi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

New wine bar / tasting room is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining at its best. Food and servic ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fine dining at its best. Food and service was excellent. It is an expensive meal but is worth every penny. Better for special occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent in all regards . . . food, win ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent in all regards . . . food, wine, ambiance, service. Extremely friendly and helpful staff including the valet attendant, the receptionist, the waiter and his support staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great find! Service was amazing. Food ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A great find! Service was amazing. Food was incredible. The chef had very interesting creations, and they were great. I can't believe I got chicken over seafood when near the ocean, but I'm so glad I did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was at best average. They forgot to ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was at best average. They forgot to place our desert and kept saying that it was coming. After literally 45 min, they admit that they had forgotten.

Over rated over priced. The chef understanding of a medium rare is a well done steak. $45 times 2 of waste of meat.

The shrimp and grit was far too spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The service was outstanding. The food wa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food was amazing and the ambiance was perfect. High recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had dined at Zoe's several years ago a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had dined at Zoe's several years ago and enjoyed the cheese board, barramundi and a delightful crème brulee. It had all been delicious. So, for a very special birthday this past week, I thought Zoe's would be the perfect "upscale" spot. Wrong! The service was terribly slow at the onset - with us often sitting with NOTHING other than water in front of us. Bread was not promptly replenished (while the water was beginning to dwindle) prompting us to have to request seconds. As we filled up on the bread, the sommelier approached to confirm our wine selection which had been relayed (clearly) to the server a good 15 minutes prior. Off he went to retrieve the wine (thankfully, given that the bread & water were beginning to dwindle - not to mention, to fill us up).

The cheese board arrived and was delicious. The highlight of the dining experience. Yay ...

Our soups were then presented - the crab bisque was quite tasty - another win. At this point - our service picked up - to the point of becoming "too much". It appeared to be an attempt to recover from the earlier lack of attentiveness. Entrees were delivered - a 16 oz New York Strip and a Cauliflower "Steak". The New York Strip was deemed to be only "okay". The cauliflower steak, however, was simply put: horrible. Imagine, if you will, a head of cauliflower that had been sliced in half (not into a steak cut) and rolled around on a grill. The creme brulee we opted for as our dessert - was fine. Oh, and let me add - since it was noted that a birthday occasion was at hand, we were brought a complimentary plate containing a candle and two (stale) chocolate truffles. An absolute waste of money. Two hundred dollars later - we left - disappointed. We won't be back. There are far too many competitors in the area that will rise to the occasion. Sorry, Zoe's - but you lost us on this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Was excited to celebrate my husband's bi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Was excited to celebrate my husband's birthday at Zoe's. However, when we were running 10 minutes late for our reservation, I called and the receptionist was very rude about the recommended 2-hour dining experience at Zoe's and that a party would be coming in at 8:45 and we would have to be gone! Then we discovered that the menu and kitchen isn't very amenable to gluten-free or vegetarians. I would have though a 4-diamond restaurant in 2016 would be much more accommodating. The restaurant came highly recommended from friends, but I don't think we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great. Matt was excellent! Thanks

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great. Matt was excellent! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and overall dining experience a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food and overall dining experience at Zoes was truly AMAZING! Every item ordered was cooked to perfection and our servers were very pleasant, attentive and knowledgeable of the menu options and chef speciality items. Top notch service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very disappointed with our exper ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were very disappointed with our experience after hearing great things from friends. My husbands steak was cooked incorrectly three times, leaving him with a $40 steak that was burnt instead of medium as he had asked. For such a nice and exclusive restaurant, we expected better quality of the meals. We were frustrated to walk out paying what we had paid for the food we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

I enjoy visiting Zoe's every time I trav ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I enjoy visiting Zoe's every time I travel to Virginia Beach. I make it a point to dine there at least once. It may not be frequent, but each and every time has been phenomenal. From the atmosphere, the service, the staff, the extensive wine list, and of course the food. Spot on!!! I would recommend Zoe's to anyone who appreciates a fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very few selections of fresh fish if any ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Very few selections of fresh fish if any. I do not consider fish and chips as a qualification for a fish house. I would return for the steaks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just bad all around. Have been before se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Just bad all around. Have been before several times and enjoyed it but will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Zoe's was great. DH and I shared the fre ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Zoe's was great. DH and I shared the fresh rolls for an appetizer - sort of like a Vietnamese spring roll with an incredible hot/sweet peanut dipping sauce, which was delish. I had the rack of lamb with Zoe's signature pickled potatoes, while DH had the filet mignon with onion crisps. The meats were cooked perfectly to our liking. The accompaniments were excellent as well. For dessert we shared the sinful chocolate volcano soufflé - totally wonderful. Our server Kate was friendly and attentive without being cloying. Our only complaint was that there was an A/C vent above our booth that was super cold. The staff turned it down, but it was still cold. I will avoid that booth next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The very best dining experience in Virgi ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The very best dining experience in Virginia Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to go for a special event. F ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place to go for a special event. Food was great , service was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and we spent with great f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was great and we spent with great friends. What we weren't expecting was to sit in the back room near loud children. After one table left we got another round. I realize this time of year we get tourists that come. But this was not an exceptional night dining with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I took the dearest love of my life to dinner for her birthday and Zoes was off the charts for our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Matt, our server provided a first class ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Matt, our server provided a first class dining experience and the food was delicious. The wine selection made it all worth the while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here while visiting ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I dined here while visiting VB for a family wedding. We both enjoyed appetizers, salads, entrees and desert. All courses were exceptional. We will definitely return on our next visit to VB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous. Mark, the sommel ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was fabulous. Mark, the sommelier, was THE most knowledgeable we have ever experienced. We were made to feel like one of the family on our first visit. We have already returned to a special Ramey wine tasting dinner and it was also amazing. One of our all time favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined at Zoe's for her Bir ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I dined at Zoe's for her Birthday. Jennifer was spot on with her recommendations starting with the Pleasure Creek Oysters, soft shells and Kobe Beef special. They were all outstanding. The service was attentive and not obtrusive which made for an enjoyable dining experience. It's hard to believe that Zoe's is at the beach and not some metropolitan city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

wonderful

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 10yr anniversary. The food was AMAZING for a good price and the service was lovely. We will definitely return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic dining establishmen ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dining establishment. The waitstaff was attentive, friendly, and humorous, making us feel welcome during our somewhat awkward first visit. The complimentary breadsticks, sourdough slices, and honey truffle butter were delicious. The taste of the fried potstickers was somewhat strong, but that's honestly to be expected, and not at all a flaw of the restaurant. My date got the 8 oz New York tenderloin medium rare, and it was melt-in-your-mouth mouth delectable. I had my very first experience consuming lobster, and I couldn't be happier to have had it at Zoe's. We also got both the molten chocolate soufflé and the crème brûlée, both of which were decadent and perfect (I'm a chocolate lover and was practically fighting him for the soufflé!). Overall, the experience was highly enjoyable, and I've already recommended Zoe's to my family and coworkers. Will definitely be visiting again as soon as possible!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zoe's was fantastic. Great food with in ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Zoe's was fantastic. Great food with interesting twists on some familiar items. Their cornbread croutons are out of this world good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome place!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a great meal, great service and great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, food and cocktails/ ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding service, food and cocktails/wine list. Best fine dining we have had for years. The chef came and spoke with us for a while at the end of the meal. Fantastic.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.