About Zoes Steak & Seafood

713 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4114
View Larger Map

AAA Four Diamond restaurant located at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Zoës originally opened in 2003, and re-opened under new ownership on March 16, 2009. Chef Jesse Wykle has teamed with long time friend and renowned sommelier, Marc Sauter, as well as devoted restaurant goers Bill and Joni Greene, to continue the Zoës legacy with the same great location, friendly staff, soothing ambience, and award-winning food and spirits.

Together, their hope is to offer their guests a wonderful dining experience that has a comfortable, familiar atmosphere, yet that special touch of class that makes Zoës “the place to go when you absolutely must impress your guests.”

Reservations are recommended but walk-ins are always welcome. Sundays are reserved for private parties and Zoës Special Events.

Zoës is a completely non-smoking establishment.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday through Saturday
Monday (5:00 pm-9:00 pm)
Tuesday - Saturday (5:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 437-3636

Website:
http://www.zoesvb.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot. Complimentary valet parking on most nights.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Wykle

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for special events can be made by calling our reservation desk (757-437-3636).

Restaurant Photos

  • Apple Crumb Yum - Zoes Steak & Seafood, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Brown Butter Seared Scallops  - Zoes Steak & Seafood, Virginia Beach, VA
Apple Crumb Yum - Zoes Steak & Seafood, Virginia Beach, VA
Brown Butter Seared Scallops  - Zoes Steak & Seafood, Virginia Beach, VA

Zoes Steak & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Best Service
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
6 More
Contemporary American
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wow, the wine pairing was over the top!! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow, the wine pairing was over the top!!! Lobster Pops = Yummy!!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive staff, excellent food!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Attentive staff, excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Filet was tender and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service. Filet was tender and cooked perfectly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with another couple and everyone lo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went with another couple and everyone loved their meal. I had the short ribs and they were wonderful! Greens were amazing. Husband had ribeye and it was wonderful too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My business partner and I went out for d ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My business partner and I went out for dinner to discuss our plans for the next three years and wanted to meet in a quiet setting with great food. We were not disappointed. We were given a booth which was large enough and private enough for us to do our business. We ordered a nice bottle of wine from the extensive wine list and because they had emptied that bin the night before, the owner, Marc Sauter who is a wine sommelier as well, brought us a better year of the same wine and although the price was more expensive, he offered it at the lower price which was really nice. The service and food were fabulous. We both ordered steaks cooked medium rare and they were served perfectly. We shared a piece of carrot cake for dessert. The price was $16 which seems somewhat expensive until you see the slab of cake that they bring you. We couldn't finish it. The only negative is that they make you valet your car and the parking lot is so small that it is overkill; just a way to spend money on tips.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zoes is our favorite restaurant. We go ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Zoes is our favorite restaurant. We go on special occasions and when we want to impress a special friend ore loved one. The service and ambiance are impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing food and they have grea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The most amazing food and they have great drinks too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll get to the food in a bit, but I can ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I'll get to the food in a bit, but I cannot get over how wonderful the staff was. From the moment my wife and I walked in we felt as if we were being solely catered to. The place was busy however the staff did an outstanding job in making you feel like you were their most important customer. We don't go to fancy restaurants often (in this case, my wife's birthday) but when we have in the past, each place felt like the usual upscale stuffy atmosphere. Zoes felt more personable and like we could joke with the staff yet still get treated like we were their number one customer.

As for the food. Both of our steaks were phenomenal. I got the ribeye and my wife got the NY strip. Both were cooked perfectly and very tender. Our appetizer "spring roll" of shrimp and collards was to die for. It's a place you have to visit at least once to see what I mean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Excellent service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Great customer service. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was great. Great customer service. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was prompt and excellent. Our fi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was prompt and excellent. Our first time at Zoe's. Food selection and variety was top notch. Upscale casual and vibrant atmosphere. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time at Zoe's and I wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This was my first time at Zoe's and I was not disappointed! We came for restaurant week but were not offered that menu, which was fine. The staff was so friendly and made great suggestions such has how to cook the steak I ordered. There was always someone close by to fill our wine and water and to clean up our plates. The price was a bit steep so this wouldn't be an all the time place, but the food and the wine was outstanding and was a perfect date night spot for my fiancée and I. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful anniversary dinner with such f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wonderful anniversary dinner with such friendly staff and amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding restaurant. We ha ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. We had an amazing ribeye steak and a great lobster dish.

Dessert was also incredible - honey goat cheese ice cream!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a reservation at last minute. Fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Booked a reservation at last minute. Food and service were outstanding. Matt, our waiter, was there when we needed him and anticipated needs without being intrusive. Food was best we've ever had in Virginia Beach. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The special was advertised as two lump c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The special was advertised as two lump crabcakes. It was backfin and filler. This restaurant is very over priced for the size of the portions and the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Love the dining room, we were in a small ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the dining room, we were in a small room with 4 tables. One table was loud but quieted down. The service was excellent. Our server, Matt, was attentive and made sure everything was done to our satisfaction. The lamb chops were delicious and I would highly recommend them. Was a nice evening out and looking forward to returning for another great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. A bit pric ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service. A bit pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I haven't been to Zoe's for a few years ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I haven't been to Zoe's for a few years and I'm not sure why. I love the dark wood and relaxed ambiance of the place. Service is always excellent and the food is outstanding. The only negative is that it is a bit pricey but I'm willing to indulge myself occasionally, especially when the weather is bad and I need to relax. I would recommend this place to anyone who is vacationing in VA Beach.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Jesse Wykle is very creative and ma ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Jesse Wykle is very creative and makes everything delicious. The wine list is amazing as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The cheese ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. The cheese board is outstanding. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for date nigh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I came here for date night for our four year wedding anniversary and the staff was amazing to us. The food was to die for as well!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was great, especially Jennife ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wait staff was great, especially Jennifer...food was amazing! Only complaint was took WAY to long to get check. Have already recommended to several friends and posted on social media. Will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I travel a lot and this place cracks my ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I travel a lot and this place cracks my top 5 of great places in the USA. The starter menu is just fun. Go ahead and explore a little we loved the “Southern Roots” Smoked Pork Butt as well as the Charred Dry Aged Beef Tartare You really need to read the menu for the awesome combo of ingredients. The Tomahawk Rib Eye was outstanding we shared it with the Jidori Chicken & Dumplings and then there is desert try the Frozen “B aked B rie” Ice Cream or the Millionaire Cake Bomb The combination of ingredients used creates amazing flavor. Everything about this place is nothing short of amazing great food and outstanding service. We will gladly return here again and again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had expected a booth but one was not ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We had expected a booth but one was not available; however the entire staff including the chef made us feel special through out this superb dinning experience. Our server Matt was very attentive and knowledgable. We will be back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding experience. Food was all im ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding experience. Food was all imaginative, beautifully prepared and served, and best of all, it was delicious. Drinks were excellent, too! A perfect choice in Virginia Beach!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

WE HAD OUR BEST FRIEND'S BIRTHDAY DINNER ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

WE HAD OUR BEST FRIEND'S BIRTHDAY DINNER THERE AND IT WAS A PURE DELIGHT. WE ARRIVED EARLY AND WERE QUICKLY SEATED IN A SEMI-PRIVATE AREA NEXT TO A BEAUTIFUL WINE BAR WHERE HAD OUR PRE-MEAL COCKTAILS. THEY WERE QUITE TASTY AND MIXED PERFECTLY. I HAD REQUESTED A SPECIAL TABLE AND WE WERE GIVEN THE CHEF'S TABLE. IT GAVE US AN UNRESTRICTED VIEW INTO THE KITCHEN AND ALSO PROVIDED US WITH A SPECIAL TREAT FROM CHEF JESSE WYKLE. (I AM SURE NOT EVERY RESTAURANT KITCHEN RUNS AS SMOOTH AS WHAT WE SAW IN THAT KITCHEN. THEY LOOKED LIKE THEY WERE HAVING FUN WHILE DELIVERING REMARKABLE PLATES OF FOOD) THE "CHEF'S CHOICE" WAS A PIMENTO CHEESE WITH SMOKED TROUT EGGS SERVED ON A SPOON. UNBELIEVABLE. HE WAS THE FRIENDLINESS AND MOST PERSONABLE CHEF I HAVE EVER MET. HE VISITED US SEVERAL TIMES AND WE FOUND OUT THAT HE IS RELATED TO MY WIFE AND WE SHARED SOME FAMILY HISTORIES. NOW, THE FOOD. FROM THE FIRST TASTE OF THE CHEESE ASSORTMENT TO THE SURPRISE CHOCOLATE MINT TRUFFLE FINAL OFFERING THE SELECTIONS WERE SIMPLY DELICIOUS AND PRESENTATION WAS ARTFUL. THE BEST LAMB CHOPS/LOLLIPOP CUT I HAVE EVER EATEN. ALL THE DINNER DISHES WERE MOUTH WATERING GOOD. WE HAVE EATEN AT THE BEST RESTAURANTS IN TIDEWATER BUT THIS TOTAL EXPERIENCE WAS PROBABLY THE BEST AND MOST ENJOYABLE. THE INTERACTION WITH CHEF JESSE CERTAINLY GAVE THIS BIRTHDAY DINNER THAT SPECIAL TOUCH THAT A BIRTHDAY OCCASION SHOULD BE. WE WILL RETURN AND HOPE THAT ANYBODY WHO READS THIS REVIEW WILL PUT THIS ON THEIR "MUST EAT THERE" LIST. IT WAS FINE DINING AT IT'S BEST.

NOT TO FORGET THE WAITERS AND WAITRESSES, THEY WERE PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL AND REPRESENTED THE RESTAURANT VERY WELL AND CERTAINLY ADDED TO THE DINING EXPERIENCE.

FROM JESSE TO JESSE, THANKS SO MUCH.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and food!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food served by a highly traine ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent food served by a highly trained staff in a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked it because its title includes " ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I picked it because its title includes "seafood," but found this to be misleading. Wish I had looked at the menu. Service was very good, as was the food: just limited seafood choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice small quiet place with good food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice small quiet place with good food and extensive wine selections. A little pricey but nice for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is always a wonderful dining experi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is always a wonderful dining experience , great food and great service. Our server , Kate , was very attentive , and, responsive. Love , love Zoe's !

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations. The chefs cre ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Exceeded our expectations. The chefs creations were a culinary masterpiece. Service was beyond amazing. Matt was our server his anticipation of our needs were extraordinary. His knowledge of the menu and recommendation were exemplary. The support staff worked in tandem to create one of the most pleasurable dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zoe's was fantastic! We went here the f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Zoe's was fantastic! We went here the first night we were down in Virginia for our honeymoon. The wine list was great--they ended up having perhaps the best ice wine we've ever tried and we were lucky enough to get the last glass--and the staff was very knowledgeable and very helpful. Note that if there's a wine you're looking for and don't see on the wine list, you should ask the sommelier as our waiter mentioned that they have quite a few bottles that aren't on the list as their collection is being continuously updated.

For dinner, I had the filet and my husband had the prime rib. My husband is more of a foodie than I am, and, although we've had numerous expensive meals and our fair share of excellent steaks, this was the best prime rib he's ever had, hands down. The filet I had was the perfect portion and perfectly cooked.

The desserts were pretty good as well (we ordered two and ultimately preferred the souffle to the chocolate cupcake bomb). Despite a slight mishap with our first souffle, the second one came out quickly and was a perfect note to end our meal.

The food was expensive, but the quality of the food and the truly excellent service overall meant that neither of us felt that it was overpriced for what we received (which has certainly happened at other similarly priced restaurants that we've been to in the past). I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food, excellent service, everyt ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fabulous Food, excellent service, everything was above and beyond and the Best!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with creative choices. G ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food with creative choices. Great cocktails and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic dinner at Zoe's this ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at Zoe's this weekend. The food, wine and service were all excellent. We also really loved the atmosphere in this place. It's a hidden gem and a great spot for a romantic evening. We could not have been happier with our first experience there and will definitely be back next time we're in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place. Great food and service. E ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2016

A great place. Great food and service. Entire experience was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our waitress & the meal!! Deliciou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Loved our waitress & the meal!! Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New wine bar / tasting room is outstandi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2016

New wine bar / tasting room is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.