Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Zoes Steak & Seafood

AAA Four Diamond restaurant located at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Zoës originally opened in 2003, and re-opened under new ownership on March 16, 2009. Chef Jesse Wykle has teamed with long time friend and renowned sommelier, Marc Sauter, as well as devoted restaurant goers Bill and Joni Greene, to continue the Zoës legacy with the same great location, friendly staff, soothing ambience, and award-winning food and spirits.

Together, their hope is to offer their guests a wonderful dining experience that has a comfortable, familiar atmosphere, yet that special touch of class that makes Zoës “the place to go when you absolutely must impress your guests.”

Reservations are recommended but walk-ins are always welcome. Sundays are reserved for private parties and Zoës Special Events.

Zoës is a completely non-smoking establishment.

713 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday through Saturday
Monday (5:00 pm-9:00 pm)
Tuesday - Saturday (5:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 437-3636

Website:
http://www.zoesvb.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot. Complimentary valet parking on most nights.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Wykle

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for special events can be made by calling our reservation desk (757-437-3636).

Zoes Steak & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great, but it was a little but noisy compared to other intimate restaurants we've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

One of Virginia Beach's best! Wonderful food and great service. Kennedy was our server. Terrific attitude, great service, and very knowledgeable about their extensive wine selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Three words: "They try, but..." So, don't get your hopes up unless you and your dining partner are the types to spend $350+ for dinner, 2 drinks and a bottle of wine and claim it was the "best ever" on Facebook, even though it wasn't, by far...

For a place that seems (?) to pride itself on its wine savvy, our $110 bottle of Sonoma, Ca. pinot noir was served just shy of "hot". Maybe it just came off of the delivery truck that afternoon, I don't know. Or else, their storage area's A/C was kaput. Either way, what should have been a nice accompaniment to our steak dinners was... disappointing, to be kind.

Further, my requested "medium rare" NY strip steak was less rare than my wife's requested "medium" filet mignon. Both steaks were too charred on the surface, making them tough and difficult to saw through even with the supplied, serrated steak knives.

For dessert, the server recommended the "Goliath" carrot cake, describing it as "life altering". So we gave it a try- One word: "Tasteless". (Okay, two words: Add "dry".)

Same for the "Iceberg" salad (Which most restaurants we go to title as a "Wedge" salad; including a *wedge* of lettuce, bacon and bleu cheese. Again: Tasteless and boring. How can bleu cheese and bacon be tasteless, one may ask? Make the hunk of lettuce dripping wet with water.

We've been to Zoe's once before, in August 2016, and we had a meal nice enough to want to return the next time we were in the area. However, this trip was a 180° turnaround for the worse. We will not, ever, return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service here was excellent, as was the wine. However, the dining floor was noisy and the food was not up to the price. On the whole, the restaurant seemed pretentious. When we went the seafood selection was only marginal. This is a place where one can have a "nice upscale" meal, but the money would be better spent elsewhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a delightful time - the food was incredible - the service was exceptional - we will definitely go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Every course was delicious and well-prepared - we enjoyed the meal and the interaction with the servers as well as meeting the chef.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome Food and seriously great service, it's a favorite of ours.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My wife and I dined her for our anniversary. The staff when we entered the restaurant were so welcoming as well as the staff when we were seated to our table. Our waitress was very knowlegable on the food which made it easy to pick our meals. We also loved how they added a special touch with a sweet note that said happy anniversary when we approached our table. The food and serviced reminded of us being on our honeymoon which was perfect since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We will definitely be back as well as tell family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything that we ordered was of top quality. Presentation was on point

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great local restaurant with excellent food and intimate ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

All food well prepared and delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and bright and made the dinner memorable.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great food and service...steak was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was delicious, creative and well prepared, as usual. Service was friendly and professional until the entrees were served. At that point, our waiter disappeared got busy elsewhere and it became a challenge to gain anyone's attention. Ultimately the hostess had to clear the table and take our dessert orders. Maybe an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Zoes is our go-to spot for something special and never dissappoints! Bravo Chef Wykle and staff for keeping Zoe's great! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Keep the wine list current! A few too many "I am sorry we don't have that wine".

But they nicely accommodated me, so all was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Virginia Beach if not Hampton Roads! Food is fantastic and the wine list is extensive. The service was attentive and our server was very knowledgeable of the menu items and chef specialties. Great for Anniversaries and Date nights. They also have a happy hour menu which we will try. We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was my wife and mine anniversary. It was the perfect meal and special memory to have. Our only mistake was not to have dinner their the whole time while we were in Virginia Beach. It was delicious and can't wait to come back. The service was excellent. Very friendly staff. My wife being given a rose made her feel good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had the blue fin tuna and the rack of lamb, both of which were very good. When it came to dessert, however, they were not only out of our favorite dessert, tres leches, but talked us into the millionaire's eclair only to come back later and tell us that they were out of that, too...on an early Wednesday evening with very few people in the restaurant. So, we settled for the baked brie ice cream which was good, but nothing special. Just not as customer-oriented as they could be.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

OMG, Great place to have a outstanding meal. We are very picky about steak and this place is top notch. Cooked perfect and very very tender. You want to go out for steak, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Service was below average. Waiter was not attentive. For just one example I asked twice for a second bottle of wine without results. Finally had to request same from wait staff attendant. In fact I asked our waiter if his other tables were taking up too much of his time and he said no....... So what's the problem???

Except for the lobster (texture was as though it might have been undercooked) the food was excellent. However, dining there is really getting pricy.

We have been to Zoe's on numerous occasions and this is the first such disappointing service. The waiter knows we were not pleased as a different server finished up with our dessert and bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were there for the Showdown dinner. Several years ago we had this and thoroughly enjoyed the dinner. However, this time was different. The salad was mini Caesar and was pitifully small.
The steak was good, but seemed to be less than 7 oz. and served on mashed potatoes with no vegetables. The wine was quite good.

We would not recommend your restaurant for the showdown dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Stopped in for cocktails and dinner after a cheer competition nearby. Surprised how creative the appetizers were. Very creative and full of flavor. Not your average steakhouse apps. Bar had spheres of ice for drinks on the rocks. Quite a find.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. We had a birthday and a graduation to celebrate so we picked a very special place to do that! The food was excellent, and good variety for whatever anyone was craving. Service was as exceptional as the food. Our server explained the menu thoroughly so we could make our choices with little concern for a disappointing meal. Just a delightful evening from opening drinks to desserts. I'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Zoës is THE place to go for wine. Marc's recommendations are always spot on and he makes a point of conversing with each and every guest. The 5:00 value meal selection is outstanding. Great place. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service. Steaks are the best. Wine list was impressive and knowledable staff. Even had Pappy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Held Board of Directors dinner in their private room. Wait staff were on point, friendly and engaging. Recommendations around the specials were vividly presented. My BOD members are well to do, well traveled and have gourmet tastes. Food was spectacular. They volunteered that Zoes was one of the best restaurants they have dined in.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is our new favorite place in all of Virginia Beach. We had impeccable service from valet to the end of the meal. The food was so delicious. This Chef and his team are hidden gems for this area because the quality of the food was Gordon Ramsey quality but the prices were much lower than we expected. Excellent wine choices. We even took a bottle home which included one of their own created wine bags. We came hungry, left stuffed and excited to come back and try more. Side note: we watched the Chef and his team as they worked the kitchen. The team work was phenomenal and I enjoyed watching the chef train what appeared to be an intern. He was so clear and concise and was so patient in the way he spoke. Thanks everyone for what felt like a 5 star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lovely experience and magnificent meal enjoyed by all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My wife ordered the boneless ribeye steak cooked medium. It came out rare but the outside was burned to a point where the taste of the steak was overpowered by the charred outsides. With that being said my wife doesn't like to make a scene and send back food and that is on us. The mac n cheese was tasty. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The restaurant itself was clean but somewhat dated. I would like to give it another shot but at the price point, I doubt I would. The food just wasn't anything that seemed deserving of the high price tag.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Hands down, best restaurant in Virginia Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food, excellent service and nice atmosphere! What else could you want!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Va Beach - food is always excellent, and amazing wine list!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Epic first date - Great Food and the wine list was amazing !! Definitely a must return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

F'ing Amazing..................................Eat here

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Wow, just passing through Virginia Beach and found this gem on TA. Every menu item we tried was outstanding! We're from New York, so we're a bit spoiled with many good restaurants. Zoe's is a culinary treat, the creativity of the menu, the quality of the food and the service "Matt" we're as good as it gets. Check their website and make a reservation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Enjoyable evening for all in our group- will return

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Every bite of food was DIVINE! Very creative with the dishes. Presentation was awesome and the quality was top notch.
Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful place, I guess it is usually quieter, but there was a noisy patron. Don't know if much could be done about that. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went to Zoe's for our Anniversary. This was not our first visit as we had been several years ago. The service was impeccable from the time the valet greeted us when we arrived. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we had an extraordinary experience. The little details such as the intimate booth, the Anniversary card on the table, and Champagne flutes already set for us at our table made it truly a special evening. The food was delicious,beautifully presented, and complemented with a fantastic wine list. The service was right on cue even having our leftovers packaged and placed in the trunk of our waiting car when we were ready to leave. We will be back soon to enjoy another wonderful evening and exceptional culinary experience. It is definitely at the top of list in Hampton Roads.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The waiter was overwhelmed with his tables. drinks where hard to come by, place was packed and lucky me, I was placed directly beside the kitchen. 2-3 tables got there food before us ( we both had fish which takes very little time to cook) when the food came, it was cold and my $35.00 Salman was undercooked, the size of a fast food hamburger. I sent it back to be cooked a more, but by the time I got it back, I had no drink, and no appetite . She had Blue fin Tuna, not a very high grade and as she waited for my food, her tuna was uneatable as well. I/we eat at higher end restaurants 99% of the time, here and across the nation so I know what I'm talking about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.