About Zoes Steak & Seafood

713 19th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4114
View Larger Map

AAA Four Diamond restaurant located at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Zoës originally opened in 2003, and re-opened under new ownership on March 16, 2009. Chef Jesse Wykle has teamed with long time friend and renowned sommelier, Marc Sauter, as well as devoted restaurant goers Bill and Joni Greene, to continue the Zoës legacy with the same great location, friendly staff, soothing ambience, and award-winning food and spirits.

Together, their hope is to offer their guests a wonderful dining experience that has a comfortable, familiar atmosphere, yet that special touch of class that makes Zoës “the place to go when you absolutely must impress your guests.”

Reservations are recommended but walk-ins are always welcome. Sundays are reserved for private parties and Zoës Special Events.

Zoës is a completely non-smoking establishment.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is served Monday through Saturday
Monday (5:00 pm-9:00 pm)
Tuesday - Saturday (5:00 pm - 10:00 pm)

Cross Street:
Cypress

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 437-3636

Website:
http://www.zoesvb.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot. Complimentary valet parking on most nights.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Wykle

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for special events can be made by calling our reservation desk (757-437-3636).

Restaurant Photos

  • Apple Crumb Yum
  • Brown Butter Seared Scallops
Apple Crumb Yum
Brown Butter Seared Scallops

Zoes Steak & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Best Food
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
10 More
Contemporary American
Virginia
Best Overall
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Food
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Fit for Foodies
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

notable wine list (39)
special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
romantic (28)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very few selections of fresh fish if any ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very few selections of fresh fish if any. I do not consider fish and chips as a qualification for a fish house. I would return for the steaks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service3

Just bad all around. Have been before se ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Just bad all around. Have been before several times and enjoyed it but will never go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Zoe's was great. DH and I shared the fre ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Zoe's was great. DH and I shared the fresh rolls for an appetizer - sort of like a Vietnamese spring roll with an incredible hot/sweet peanut dipping sauce, which was delish. I had the rack of lamb with Zoe's signature pickled potatoes, while DH had the filet mignon with onion crisps. The meats were cooked perfectly to our liking. The accompaniments were excellent as well. For dessert we shared the sinful chocolate volcano soufflé - totally wonderful. Our server Kate was friendly and attentive without being cloying. Our only complaint was that there was an A/C vent above our booth that was super cold. The staff turned it down, but it was still cold. I will avoid that booth next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The very best dining experience in Virgi ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The very best dining experience in Virginia Beach

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for a special event. F ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place to go for a special event. Food was great , service was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding

Dined on June 10, 2016

I took the dearest love of my life to dinner for her birthday and Zoes was off the charts for our evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Matt, our server provided a first class ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Matt, our server provided a first class dining experience and the food was delicious. The wine selection made it all worth the while.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I dined here while visiting ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I dined here while visiting VB for a family wedding. We both enjoyed appetizers, salads, entrees and desert. All courses were exceptional. We will definitely return on our next visit to VB.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. Mark, the sommel ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was fabulous. Mark, the sommelier, was THE most knowledgeable we have ever experienced. We were made to feel like one of the family on our first visit. We have already returned to a special Ramey wine tasting dinner and it was also amazing. One of our all time favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I dined at Zoe's for her Bir ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I dined at Zoe's for her Birthday. Jennifer was spot on with her recommendations starting with the Pleasure Creek Oysters, soft shells and Kobe Beef special. They were all outstanding. The service was attentive and not obtrusive which made for an enjoyable dining experience. It's hard to believe that Zoe's is at the beach and not some metropolitan city.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful

Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 10yr anniversary. The food was AMAZING for a good price and the service was lovely. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic dining establishmen ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dining establishment. The waitstaff was attentive, friendly, and humorous, making us feel welcome during our somewhat awkward first visit. The complimentary breadsticks, sourdough slices, and honey truffle butter were delicious. The taste of the fried potstickers was somewhat strong, but that's honestly to be expected, and not at all a flaw of the restaurant. My date got the 8 oz New York tenderloin medium rare, and it was melt-in-your-mouth mouth delectable. I had my very first experience consuming lobster, and I couldn't be happier to have had it at Zoe's. We also got both the molten chocolate soufflé and the crème brûlée, both of which were decadent and perfect (I'm a chocolate lover and was practically fighting him for the soufflé!). Overall, the experience was highly enjoyable, and I've already recommended Zoe's to my family and coworkers. Will definitely be visiting again as soon as possible!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Zoe's was fantastic. Great food with in ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Zoe's was fantastic. Great food with interesting twists on some familiar items. Their cornbread croutons are out of this world good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome place!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a great meal, great service and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service, food and cocktails/ ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding service, food and cocktails/wine list. Best fine dining we have had for years. The chef came and spoke with us for a while at the end of the meal. Fantastic.!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice visit with a friend

Dined on May 11, 2016

As always you can count on Zoe's for great food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't get any better. You'll love it. ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Couldn't get any better. You'll love it. The steaks are perfectly cooked to your preference and everything is served beautifully. This is a fine dining experience, but if you go between 5pm and 6pm, the steak with mashed potato and asparagus is only $15 and wonderful wine can be had for $10 a bottle. What a bargain. Worth it at full price, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nothing better

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

service-outstanding food-outstanding no better anywhere in this area.... FANTASTIC EVERYTHING, FOOD, WINE, SERVICE, A MUST GO...............

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite in Virginia Beach

Dined on April 9, 2016

From the time the valet takes your car to the time your check comes, you feel special. One of the most creative menus in the area. Chef Jesse not only prepares winning dishes, but makes you feel he prepared them special for you! Don't know what wine to pair with dinner, Marc Sauter will show you the way. Overall the best dining experience in Virgjinia Beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zoes- It's an experience.

Dined on April 7, 2016

There are some restaurants you go to where you just eat and leave. Zoes is a place to go, sit, and to enjoy an experience. Its not most places where you go and you feel right at home with the wait staff, and where the chef comes out to greet you and shake your hand. Zoes was top notch, a part of our spring break in VA beach that will be forever remembered. The setting is pristine, the menu will make any palate water. The extensive wine list is very thought out. Did I mention the food... It was the best around!! So fresh, so thorough in what it's paired with, and what's in season. My husband and I love locally sourced foods and this was where it was at. Soft shell crab, Local VA pork from Autumn Olive Farm (the best Pork in the US) This is a must if you are in the Virginia Beach area...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Although the portions are small, the food is really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 31, 2016

From the moment you walk into Zoe's you feel pampered! The attention to detail shown by the staff is first class. The staff is friendly without being overbearing. What can I say about the food other than exceptional! I had the rack of lamb that was perfectly seasoned and cooked. My husband had a steak (which is unusual for him) that was done to his liking and delicious. He will definitely have another steak at Zoe's ! The creme brûlée was heavenly. The chef/owner came by and chatted with us about food and wine, it was quite informative and entertaining. Do not hesitate to celebrate a special meal with them, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food and an enjoyable time. A night to remember for our wedding anniversary

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Can't say enough.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is outstanding! Special beef from Harris Ranch that few restaurants get access to! Amazing from the bread to the very last bite of the dessert! Wow amazing was the way our server helped us with the wine. I love wine but I don't know a lot about it. She led us through the wine list and kept in in a reasonable range. She explained what to expect from the wine and followed up with us several times. I am definitely going to sign up for the wine pairing classes. I'd like to be able to understand what I buy instead of just going by the alcohol. ;0 Really, it's a fabulous restaurant all around-- something rare. Also, valet service is incredible. Just see for yourself!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

For a $$$$ restaurant it is less that what

Dined on March 11, 2016

The Valet parking is kind of classy, but a bit forcing! The welcome ladies are nice but can make use of more training!! We were put into a table near the exit, and without any effort from the staff to loo.... The waitress was good and the food came on time Presentation was the peak of sophistication !!! When the floor manager went around and " checking in" I tested her "table-manner", so I asked, how do you celebrate someone who come here for one's Bday? She answered casually:"we stick a candle to whatever one ordered " , then walked away Bottom line, Chef Wykle, your food is good!! Your presentation: unbeatable (for VB!!! ) However..... This is my take: 1. You need to put table cloth on your table 2. You need to train your staff to be at par with the taste of your food 3. You need to train your staff to be at par with the taste of your food 4. You need to train your staff to be at par with the taste of your food I hope I convey the message and as VB permanent resident, I do hope that your place lasts! Thus I wrote this comment!!! Keep on truckin'

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday meal -- we'll be back

Dined on March 11, 2016

Fantastic from start to finish. Be sure to ask for the "scratch and dent" wine list -- we got a great deal on a delicious Patz & Hall chardonnay, and the evening kept getting better. The spring roll appetizer was tremendous, as was the New Zealand rack of lamb -- and the chocolate souffle may be the best dessert in Virginia Beach. The small portion was perfect to share. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a terrific time

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

My husband Eriks and I just bought the Beach Spa Bed & Breakfast and are on a role to explore VAB restaurants for our guests -- Zoe's exceeded our expectations by far. We were thrilled by Katie's professional, still fun and relaxed service --- the fact that we were greeted personally by the chef, including a lot of insight into his passion cannot be underestimated. Eriks and I had a very memorable dinner, ... and our guests will be able to take advantage of that moving forward, for sure! Again, congratulations, Zoe's! Klaus & Eriks http://www.beachspabnb.com/

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place

Dined on March 10, 2016

Zoe's never disappoints, great service, food, and wine!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went in for the Five O'Clock Showdown me ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Went in for the Five O'Clock Showdown menu! As always the food, wine, and service was superb. A great place for special occasions. The best wine list in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, beautifully plat ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

The food was delicious, beautifully plated and flawlessly served. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner at Zoe's

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was excellent, the steaks were perfect, the dessert luscious and the wine a great complement to the meal. They let us share a steak at no additional charge which was the way to go considering the somewhat pricey entrees. Our waiter, who was also one of three sommeliers on the floor, suggested a wine that was available at nearly half-price which turned out to be a superb selection. On the downside, the ambiance doesn't fit the upscale nature of the restaurant; it's nothing special. Like so many other restaurants in a similar price range, Zoe's is too noisy and lacks intimacy. My husband and I could barely hear each other across a small table due to the crowd noise. I would recommend Zoe's but with appropriate cautions as to expectations.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

a truly wonderful evening!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent food, tastefully presented. Awesome wine list, and if you are confused Marc will help you out. A tad expensive but well worth it to experience this delicious restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Only good for special one off occasions !!

Dined on February 26, 2016

It's "foofoo" food. Fancy and only for an anniversary or birthday. Really really expensive for what it is.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rare Parents Night Out

Dined on February 20, 2016

Dinner was quite good, but wish there were a few more options to choose from on the menu, esp. side dishes. I loved the cheese board! I also loved the complimentary glass of Procescco at the beginning of the evening. While unexpected, it was quite delicious and set the night off on the right foot. Overall, a nice evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible experience!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Incredible experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always fantastic food!, hidden gem best steaks/food in VA Beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Zoes is my favorite restaurant by far! The food is incredible and the service is great and professional from the servers to the valet. Jesse, the Chef is an amazing chef who serves amazing food. He needs to be on Top Chef and hold down VA!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience as Usual

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I dined here on Valentine's Day after having great meals in the past. We were not disappointed! The 5 course dinner that we had was fantastic. This place is rather pricy, but well worth it to take your special someone there. Even the Valet service is top of the line.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

I guess we expected to be treated fairly...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I made reservations several months in advance for Valentine's Day. The week of Valentine's Day we were given a call to inform us of the "fixed menu". Being that any good restaurant was reserved well before this time, we said it was okay as we felt we did not have a choice. I mean seriously how bad could it be, right? We looked at the menu and found that "fixed menu" meant five choices: hamburger, mac and cheese, steak, and two seafood items. Plus there was a fixed charge of $100 pp. I'm sorry but there is nothing that can be done to a hamburger or mac and cheese to make it worth $100! My husband is allergic to seafood so his only choice was steak, which was a cut that he did not particularly care for. We made several calls to the restaurant and were continuously told that the manager was busy and would return our call. On the third time that we called, we told the staff of the problem that we were having with the menu. They said that we should not worry because the chef would work with us to make sure we were happy with our choice. We never received a return call (hence the reason for the low score in service). We went to our reservation and were seated immediately. The ambiance was nice and the staff was friendly. There was a five course meal and as soon as we finished one course, our plates were cleared, and the next one arrived. We were in and out in less than an hour. This would be great if we were there for lunch but being that we were wanting to enjoy a night out, we would have liked not to feel rushed through our experience. Overall the food was really good and we are actually sad that we had such a poor experience as it would be a place that we might like to return to. However, given the lack of notice for the "fixed menu" and the restaurant's inability to work with us (when I requested no mushrooms, they would not accommodate), we will never return to the restaurant again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

no reservation

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

All aspects of our dinner were great except that they did not have my open table reservation. Fortunately they had a table available for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.