About Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas

1618 Main Street
6th Floor
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

For over 50 years, the Zodiac at Neiman Marcus in the Downtown Dallas location has been the place to dine in Dallas. Housed on the 6th floor of the flagship store, Stanley Marcus first conceived this restaurant as a convenience for out of town customers who were spending a full day shopping in the store.

Today, the Zodiac enjoys the same popularity for shoppers and non-shoppers alike. Enjoy all of the classics from our early days or find some new favorites. We welcome you with chicken broth and our signature popover with strawberry butter. Try a cocktail from our full bar or sip a glass of wine from our extensive winelist. Our lunch selections range from soups and salads to sandwiches. Or choose a beautifully plated entrée. Finish your meal with a housemade pastry and a hot cappuccino.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch Price - $30 and under
Special Event Price - Contact Restaurant

Cross Street:
Commerce and Ervay

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 573-5800

Website:
http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/info/store.jhtml?storeId=01/DT&rest=100009&_requestid=20571

Entertainment:
At your service. Tell us what you are looking for and we will find it for you.

Catering:
Add a touch of luxury to a business or social luncheon at The Zodiac®. Or simply make your office lunch hour more efficient with upscale take-out. Whether planning for one or for 20, you will encounter the outstanding service and exceptional quality that are synonymous with Neiman Marcus.

Have cocktails with your crew or host the soirée of the season at The Zodiac. We pride ourselves on creating the perfect menu and ambience for your event in our chic and inviting atmosphere. Pamper the glowing bride- or mother-to-be in your life with the shower of her dreams or a lavish luncheon.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking on Commerce Street adjacent to Neiman Marcus. Also on Commerce Street there is a parking garage available.

Public Transit:
DART stop at Akard and Elm Streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef David Crow

Private Party Facilities:
Need the perfect spot for a Rehearsal Dinner? Looking to celebrate and reward your team for a job well done? Dine with exclusivity in the Downtown Dallas Neiman Marcus Zodiac. Located on the 6th Floor, we are ready to treat you and your guests to a spectacular evening.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Dains: 2145735800

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Cake - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
  • Grilled Shrimp Salad - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
  • shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
  • shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - close up - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
  • Sauvignon Blanc, The Fumé - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
  • Lobster Cobb Salad - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
Chocolate Cake - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - close up - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
Sauvignon Blanc, The Fumé - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX
Lobster Cobb Salad - Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX

Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Dallas - Fort Worth
Contemporary American
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Lunch (23)
Special Occasion (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for the holiday brunch. It was l ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We went for the holiday brunch. It was like stepping back into the elegance of a beautiful 1960s restaurant. Service was impeccable, decor was great and it was just so much fun. I felt like I was starring in a movie from the fifties.

A once in a lifetime experience.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Christmas lunch during the h ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went for Christmas lunch during the holidays and it was a great experience. Very special and festive!! Going to the Zodiac room is always a nice treat, and we took our 2 girls after seeing Santa there. We all got dressed up and it was a nice way to start the holidays. Food buffet was really good, great holiday drinks and a nice dessert tray to end the meal. The only complaint was that some patrons decided to come and eat wearing gym clothing. I feel like for these special reservation only times, that sneakers and sweat pants should not be allowed, it takes away from the special experience of getting dressed up.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A visit to Neiman's is always a delight ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A visit to Neiman's is always a delight to the senses. Lovely decor, friendly staff, and food that is simply delicious. Couple your visit with good friends and family, a glass of champagne and what's not to love. You can trust Neiman's to be charming and delightful and their desire is for your experience to be memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been dining at the Zodiac and a c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have been dining at the Zodiac and a customer of Neimans for over 30 years and I liked it better when the reservations were made directly through Neimans Zodiac Room. We used to get reminders when special events were coming up and the link to submit your reservation requests. Since the reservations are made through Open Table most of the seats are already taken by the time the reservations site is open to the public. What is the process for making reservations in advance? Thanks

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

we have been doing this Thanksgiving buf ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we have been doing this Thanksgiving buffet for about 20 years. This year was disappointing. The food was good....but not a good value. The service was just plain POOR. I doubt if we will do this again. Oh, yes, we got placed right in front door....next to a table with 2 babies. The whole thing was.....Good Grief!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a belated birthday celebration fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a belated birthday celebration for my boss and everything was simply perfect.... delicious food and great service from the greeter and our waitress. Because of this EXCELLENT service that is always received here, we will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fine but the waiter coul ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The service was fine but the waiter could have been more personable, he was simply not friendly. There were 18 of us which NM knew well ahead of time, we were not in a hurry, but only one waiter for our table and he wasn't a happy one. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect blend of old & new for native Da ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Perfect blend of old & new for native Dallasites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh those popovers- someday I hope they o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Oh those popovers- someday I hope they offer it as a full meal. I was pleasantly surprised to find both a tasty and low cal choice the chicken paillard with isreali couscous and a bit of a salad on top. Yum!

Ok I am counting the popover- after all it's mostly air! A wonderful tradition to lunch with friends or give your kids a real treat...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My birthday lunch at the Zodiac Room was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My birthday lunch at the Zodiac Room was decadence for all senses. The food was excellent - every bite of my salad was perfection itself. The pre meal broth and pop-overs were an impeccably perfect and satisfying throwback to the past ... in fact the entire experience was a gold-escalator time-machine blast to the high fashion 50's / 60's. As if our superior dining and setting weren't enough -- the icing on the cake was a drop-dead gorgeous (and the definition of REGAL) model who showed up beautiful clothes from a current trunk show as we ate. It was just a thrilling-to-bits lunch experience that I will never forget!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always!!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Fantastic as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch toward the end of the day and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Had lunch toward the end of the day and was very quiet. Food, as always, was very good. Service wasn't quite right - putting drinks at the wrong place, giving only one terrine of butter instead of one per person, very slow to collect the check. Felt a little disappointed as I was with someone who had never been and it wasn't the best they are capable of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding service and food, as always. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Outstanding service and food, as always. Everyone is so helpful. We admired the Carol Moretti glasses on the table, and almost immediately, a woman came to our table to tell us about the glasses, and where we might see more of them and perhaps purchase some. I have been dining at the Zodiac Room downtown since I was a teenager, and have ALWAYS loved the popovers, the flavored butters, fantastic desserts, and the mandarin orange souffle. So, of course, I had it again--for the first time in over 10 years. Thank you for such a special place to enjoy lunch and friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been taking employees and out of ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I have been taking employees and out of town guests to Zodiac for years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch. Everything was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch. Everything was excellent and the price was worth it. It may be time for a little refurbish in decor though. No matter. Best part about NM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Loved the salmon special with pomegranat ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved the salmon special with pomegranate and Brussels sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a quiet lunch - very ele ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great place for a quiet lunch - very elegant and impeccable service. High class.

Food was wonderful. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at Zodiac ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was my first time dining at Zodiac and it was a lovely experience. I loved the added touches from the glassware to the napkin ring holders..very elegant with a twist of modern chic. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food selection was large enough that it was difficult to make a decision. The pop-overs with strawberry butter were a nice bonus. It was a great place for a business meeting but I look forward to going back with some girlfriends for champagne and brunch. And what's not to love about shopping after a fabulous lunch.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed in our dining experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Was disappointed in our dining experience. The food was good, but not great, especially considering the price. The cocktails were extremely bitter, we should have sent them back. I ordered the vegetarian melt and they brought out the turkey sandwich. The food that was supposed to be hot was served warm. Will not return to this dining establishment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful! My mother's 98th birthday wa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful! My mother's 98th birthday was really special because of wonderful service and attention. Great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Martha, remembered me - ve ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our waitress, Martha, remembered me - very nice. Always a treat to be remembered!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with business colleagues to celebra ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went with business colleagues to celebrate a co-worker's 35 years with the company. The restaurant was lovely and the food was great. Though the menu is a bit pricey, for a special-occasion this was perfect. The service was excellent and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was delicious and our server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was delicious and our server was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I used to love the food at the Zodiac Ro ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I used to love the food at the Zodiac Room. The food seems to have changed a great deal. I ordered scallops and they we overcooked and there was only a couple on a huge huge bed of vegetables. I thought it was greatly overpriced. The food used to be so good at the Zodiac Room and not, it is not even average in my opinion. One of the other person with me was dissatisfied with their meal also. It was a steak salad and the proportion of the vegetables (hugged chunks of lettuce and large tomatoes) was just too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

A first time out of town friend and I en ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

A first time out of town friend and I enjoyed a delightful, quiet lunch on a Tuesday. It was perfect of a leisurely meal before shopping. Neiman's never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fabulous baby shower for my daughter! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

A fabulous baby shower for my daughter! This is the fourth time I'be had an afternoon tea for a group (spanning about 14 years) and every one is a special memory.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had a delightful ambiance ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The restaurant had a delightful ambiance, and the food was great, all three us in the group talked about how much fun it was to shop before and after lunch in the women and men department of the store.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were at Neimans for a special w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Since we were at Neimans for a special wedding dress shopping day, the ambiance was excellent but the service and food were a little less than desirable. I got there at 11 a.m. which was the time of my reservation and there was no maitre d' available. If the first reservation is at 11--the restaurant should be open and ready to serve before that time. The hamburger was excellent but the other food was just status quo. The sorbet tea was warm and had to be sent back for improvement. If the cost were cut in half, I can see the value being worth the quality but for the lunch menu prices, I would not recommend this restaurant for quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a treat! Had the Mandarin soufflé ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a treat! Had the Mandarin soufflé trio and it was lovely! Lucio is the best waiter in the world! Can't wait until next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a special day for me and my siste ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a special day for me and my sister and we felt special being at the Zodiak. The staff was very friendly. Someone was always available to answer any questions or to check on us even though there were two large parties being served.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow does not begin to describe the serv ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Slow does not begin to describe the service. We were seated for more than 20 minutes before our order was taken and we were served bread (popovers). The food was fine, but I felt like we were forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

I've enjoyed the Café at this Neiman Mar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've enjoyed the Café at this Neiman Marcus downtown Dallas location - since it closed, a friend and I decided to try the Zodiac restaurant for lunch and it was delicious. I could have used a few more pieces of pita bread to accompany the tuna salad! I've also very much enjoyed the café at Neiman Marcus at Willow Bend - great, easy but elegant luncheon dining... and the popovers are a real treat!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent lunch! Stole my daughter away ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent lunch! Stole my daughter away during her lunch hour for some mother-daughter fun. Everything was wonderful--told server we were pressed for time and she was very attentive. Even had time to share the dessert sampler trio, which was lovely. Food was great, served with classic consommé starter and accompanied by amazing popover. Would give food five stars, but my daughter asked for "no tomato jam" on her sandwich, but got it anyway--maybe because we (and they) were in a rush. Another mom and daughter sat near us--we heard them discuss wedding-dress shopping...that's a few years away for us, but it was another example of why mothers and daughters LOVE to lunch at the Zodiac. We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite place to lunch in do ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is my favorite place to lunch in downtown Dallas. Just walking through the store makes me happy, and my dining experience is always a good one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Zodiac is a classic, wonderful place ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Zodiac is a classic, wonderful place to dine. Marvelous variety with both a splendid light menu and fabulous vegetarian options. Cocktails are phenomenal and the iconic Neiman Marcus chocolate chip cookie box is always a winner. Old-school tradition of manners and superior customer service make this an obvious choice to dine. Our waiter was stupendous but I must admit that a few waiters there are out of their element and should not be working at such a classy place as The Zodiac. The milieu is lovely and the host remembers you time and again. Once you dine at The Zodiac, it will quickly become one of your regular haunts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've worked downtown for 28yrs and disco ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've worked downtown for 28yrs and discovered Zodiac oh about 15-20 years ago. I take a friend there every year for her birthday which happens to be 2/14 Valentine's Day and have been back for other work/friend related lunches over the years.

The food is ALWAYS fantastic and the staff is GREAT!

Thank you for a wonderful place to lunch.

Michelle Pak

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience as always! The popo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic experience as always! The popovers are a great start specially with the strawberry butter. I tried the vegetable melt along with their shrimp and corn chowder soup. Both items were delicious. Our server, Sylvia, was extremely attentive and very delightful. Would definitely be going back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always first class food, service and amb ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always first class food, service and ambience. A little taken aback by $12 Lunch Bloody Mary, although it was among the best I ever had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for lunch with a girlfriend. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went here for lunch with a girlfriend. Quiet spot and the food was really good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved this specific Zodiac ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have always loved this specific Zodiac Room (in the original NM) the best! The service, food, and ambiance cannot be beat! A must-see for all living in and visiting Dallas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.