Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas

For over 50 years, the Zodiac at Neiman Marcus in the Downtown Dallas location has been the place to dine in Dallas. Housed on the 6th floor of the flagship store, Stanley Marcus first conceived this restaurant as a convenience for out of town customers who were spending a full day shopping in the store.

Today, the Zodiac enjoys the same popularity for shoppers and non-shoppers alike. Enjoy all of the classics from our early days or find some new favorites. We welcome you with chicken broth and our signature popover with strawberry butter. Try a cocktail from our full bar or sip a glass of wine from our extensive winelist. Our lunch selections range from soups and salads to sandwiches. Or choose a beautifully plated entrée. Finish your meal with a housemade pastry and a hot cappuccino.

1618 Main Street
6th Floor
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch Price - $30 and under
Special Event Price - Contact Restaurant

Cross Street:
Commerce and Ervay

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 573-5800

Website:
http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/info/store.jhtml?storeId=01/DT&rest=100009&_requestid=20571

Entertainment:
At your service. Tell us what you are looking for and we will find it for you.

Catering:
Add a touch of luxury to a business or social luncheon at The Zodiac®. Or simply make your office lunch hour more efficient with upscale take-out. Whether planning for one or for 20, you will encounter the outstanding service and exceptional quality that are synonymous with Neiman Marcus.

Have cocktails with your crew or host the soirée of the season at The Zodiac. We pride ourselves on creating the perfect menu and ambience for your event in our chic and inviting atmosphere. Pamper the glowing bride- or mother-to-be in your life with the shower of her dreams or a lavish luncheon.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking on Commerce Street adjacent to Neiman Marcus. Also on Commerce Street there is a parking garage available.

Public Transit:
DART stop at Akard and Elm Streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef David Crow

Private Party Facilities:
Need the perfect spot for a Rehearsal Dinner? Looking to celebrate and reward your team for a job well done? Dine with exclusivity in the Downtown Dallas Neiman Marcus Zodiac. Located on the 6th Floor, we are ready to treat you and your guests to a spectacular evening.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Dains: (214) 573-5800

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Historic (8)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I was expecting this to be a great experience but when we arrived there was only one party in the restaurant. We had pulled up a menu online somewhere and picked out a salad that sounded perfect but it was an old menu. The server brought our what we thought was tea with a tiny scone but it was consume and overly salty...he should have warned us what it was. The décor is very outdated too. The mimosas were about all we enjoyed, we left without ordering lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our waitress was very friendly and explained the specials and took very good care of us. The food was wonderful and my guests absolutely loved it. This is a great downtown location to see the movers and shakers of Dallas. The environment is perfect to discuss business.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Lovely food, ambiance and service. We were visiting from CA and wanted to eat at the Flagship Neiman's, and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our service started out good but went downhill quickly and it wasn't really crowded. Other than that everything was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Brings me back to my childhood of special occasion lunches with my mom....the popovers and strawberry butter are amazing! Not to mention the precious demitasse of broth and cheese biscuit before the meal!
My lunch was very good, service impeccable and the experience overall was nice enough to encourage visiting this old standby again and again! Loved it!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It has been over 20 years since I moved from Dallas. I haven't been to Zodiac since the mid 1990's. I was not sure what to expect. Top notch service. Great for a business luncheon.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always the food and service were perfect. It's a once a year pilgrimage to this special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent ambiance and food. Overall it is a great experience and well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Lunch at the Zodiac is not just a meal; it's an experience. It should be savired and appreciated for the timeless wonder that it is.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We went for the holiday brunch. It was like stepping back into the elegance of a beautiful 1960s restaurant. Service was impeccable, decor was great and it was just so much fun. I felt like I was starring in a movie from the fifties.

A once in a lifetime experience.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went for Christmas lunch during the holidays and it was a great experience. Very special and festive!! Going to the Zodiac room is always a nice treat, and we took our 2 girls after seeing Santa there. We all got dressed up and it was a nice way to start the holidays. Food buffet was really good, great holiday drinks and a nice dessert tray to end the meal. The only complaint was that some patrons decided to come and eat wearing gym clothing. I feel like for these special reservation only times, that sneakers and sweat pants should not be allowed, it takes away from the special experience of getting dressed up.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A visit to Neiman's is always a delight to the senses. Lovely decor, friendly staff, and food that is simply delicious. Couple your visit with good friends and family, a glass of champagne and what's not to love. You can trust Neiman's to be charming and delightful and their desire is for your experience to be memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I have been dining at the Zodiac and a customer of Neimans for over 30 years and I liked it better when the reservations were made directly through Neimans Zodiac Room. We used to get reminders when special events were coming up and the link to submit your reservation requests. Since the reservations are made through Open Table most of the seats are already taken by the time the reservations site is open to the public. What is the process for making reservations in advance? Thanks

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we have been doing this Thanksgiving buffet for about 20 years. This year was disappointing. The food was good....but not a good value. The service was just plain POOR. I doubt if we will do this again. Oh, yes, we got placed right in front door....next to a table with 2 babies. The whole thing was.....Good Grief!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a belated birthday celebration for my boss and everything was simply perfect.... delicious food and great service from the greeter and our waitress. Because of this EXCELLENT service that is always received here, we will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The service was fine but the waiter could have been more personable, he was simply not friendly. There were 18 of us which NM knew well ahead of time, we were not in a hurry, but only one waiter for our table and he wasn't a happy one. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Perfect blend of old & new for native Dallasites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Oh those popovers- someday I hope they offer it as a full meal. I was pleasantly surprised to find both a tasty and low cal choice the chicken paillard with isreali couscous and a bit of a salad on top. Yum!
Ok I am counting the popover- after all it's mostly air! A wonderful tradition to lunch with friends or give your kids a real treat...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My birthday lunch at the Zodiac Room was decadence for all senses. The food was excellent - every bite of my salad was perfection itself. The pre meal broth and pop-overs were an impeccably perfect and satisfying throwback to the past ... in fact the entire experience was a gold-escalator time-machine blast to the high fashion 50's / 60's. As if our superior dining and setting weren't enough -- the icing on the cake was a drop-dead gorgeous (and the definition of REGAL) model who showed up beautiful clothes from a current trunk show as we ate. It was just a thrilling-to-bits lunch experience that I will never forget!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Fantastic as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Had lunch toward the end of the day and was very quiet. Food, as always, was very good. Service wasn't quite right - putting drinks at the wrong place, giving only one terrine of butter instead of one per person, very slow to collect the check. Felt a little disappointed as I was with someone who had never been and it wasn't the best they are capable of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Outstanding service and food, as always. Everyone is so helpful. We admired the Carol Moretti glasses on the table, and almost immediately, a woman came to our table to tell us about the glasses, and where we might see more of them and perhaps purchase some. I have been dining at the Zodiac Room downtown since I was a teenager, and have ALWAYS loved the popovers, the flavored butters, fantastic desserts, and the mandarin orange souffle. So, of course, I had it again--for the first time in over 10 years. Thank you for such a special place to enjoy lunch and friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I have been taking employees and out of town guests to Zodiac for years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch. Everything was excellent and the price was worth it. It may be time for a little refurbish in decor though. No matter. Best part about NM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved the salmon special with pomegranate and Brussels sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great place for a quiet lunch - very elegant and impeccable service. High class.
Food was wonderful. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was my first time dining at Zodiac and it was a lovely experience. I loved the added touches from the glassware to the napkin ring holders..very elegant with a twist of modern chic. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food selection was large enough that it was difficult to make a decision. The pop-overs with strawberry butter were a nice bonus. It was a great place for a business meeting but I look forward to going back with some girlfriends for champagne and brunch. And what's not to love about shopping after a fabulous lunch.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Was disappointed in our dining experience. The food was good, but not great, especially considering the price. The cocktails were extremely bitter, we should have sent them back. I ordered the vegetarian melt and they brought out the turkey sandwich. The food that was supposed to be hot was served warm. Will not return to this dining establishment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful! My mother's 98th birthday was really special because of wonderful service and attention. Great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our waitress, Martha, remembered me - very nice. Always a treat to be remembered!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went with business colleagues to celebrate a co-worker's 35 years with the company. The restaurant was lovely and the food was great. Though the menu is a bit pricey, for a special-occasion this was perfect. The service was excellent and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Everything was delicious and our server was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I used to love the food at the Zodiac Room. The food seems to have changed a great deal. I ordered scallops and they we overcooked and there was only a couple on a huge huge bed of vegetables. I thought it was greatly overpriced. The food used to be so good at the Zodiac Room and not, it is not even average in my opinion. One of the other person with me was dissatisfied with their meal also. It was a steak salad and the proportion of the vegetables (hugged chunks of lettuce and large tomatoes) was just too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

A first time out of town friend and I enjoyed a delightful, quiet lunch on a Tuesday. It was perfect of a leisurely meal before shopping. Neiman's never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

A fabulous baby shower for my daughter! This is the fourth time I'be had an afternoon tea for a group (spanning about 14 years) and every one is a special memory.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The restaurant had a delightful ambiance, and the food was great, all three us in the group talked about how much fun it was to shop before and after lunch in the women and men department of the store.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Since we were at Neimans for a special wedding dress shopping day, the ambiance was excellent but the service and food were a little less than desirable. I got there at 11 a.m. which was the time of my reservation and there was no maitre d' available. If the first reservation is at 11--the restaurant should be open and ready to serve before that time. The hamburger was excellent but the other food was just status quo. The sorbet tea was warm and had to be sent back for improvement. If the cost were cut in half, I can see the value being worth the quality but for the lunch menu prices, I would not recommend this restaurant for quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a treat! Had the Mandarin soufflé trio and it was lovely! Lucio is the best waiter in the world! Can't wait until next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a special day for me and my sister and we felt special being at the Zodiak. The staff was very friendly. Someone was always available to answer any questions or to check on us even though there were two large parties being served.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Slow does not begin to describe the service. We were seated for more than 20 minutes before our order was taken and we were served bread (popovers). The food was fine, but I felt like we were forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.