About Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas

1618 Main Street
6th Floor
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

For over 50 years, the Zodiac at Neiman Marcus in the Downtown Dallas location has been the place to dine in Dallas. Housed on the 6th floor of the flagship store, Stanley Marcus first conceived this restaurant as a convenience for out of town customers who were spending a full day shopping in the store.

Today, the Zodiac enjoys the same popularity for shoppers and non-shoppers alike. Enjoy all of the classics from our early days or find some new favorites. We welcome you with chicken broth and our signature popover with strawberry butter. Try a cocktail from our full bar or sip a glass of wine from our extensive winelist. Our lunch selections range from soups and salads to sandwiches. Or choose a beautifully plated entrée. Finish your meal with a housemade pastry and a hot cappuccino.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch Price - $30 and under
Special Event Price - Contact Restaurant

Cross Street:
Commerce and Ervay

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 573-5800

Website:
http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/info/store.jhtml?storeId=01/DT&rest=100009&_requestid=20571

Entertainment:
At your service. Tell us what you are looking for and we will find it for you.

Catering:
Add a touch of luxury to a business or social luncheon at The Zodiac®. Or simply make your office lunch hour more efficient with upscale take-out. Whether planning for one or for 20, you will encounter the outstanding service and exceptional quality that are synonymous with Neiman Marcus.

Have cocktails with your crew or host the soirée of the season at The Zodiac. We pride ourselves on creating the perfect menu and ambience for your event in our chic and inviting atmosphere. Pamper the glowing bride- or mother-to-be in your life with the shower of her dreams or a lavish luncheon.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking on Commerce Street adjacent to Neiman Marcus. Also on Commerce Street there is a parking garage available.

Public Transit:
DART stop at Akard and Elm Streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef David Crow

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Shrimp Salad
  • Chocolate Cake
  • shrimps and sweet pea ravioli
  • shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - close up
  • Sauvignon Blanc, The Fumé
  • Lobster Cobb Salad
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Chocolate Cake
shrimps and sweet pea ravioli
shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - close up
Sauvignon Blanc, The Fumé
Lobster Cobb Salad

Private Dining

Need the perfect spot for a Rehearsal Dinner? Looking to celebrate and reward your team for a job well done? Dine with exclusivity in the Downtown Dallas Neiman Marcus Zodiac. Located on the 6th Floor, we are ready to treat you and your guests to a spectacular evening.

Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Contemporary American
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Lunch (40)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went with business colleagues to celebra ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went with business colleagues to celebrate a co-worker's 35 years with the company. The restaurant was lovely and the food was great. Though the menu is a bit pricey, for a special-occasion this was perfect. The service was excellent and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was delicious and our server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was delicious and our server was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I used to love the food at the Zodiac Ro ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I used to love the food at the Zodiac Room. The food seems to have changed a great deal. I ordered scallops and they we overcooked and there was only a couple on a huge huge bed of vegetables. I thought it was greatly overpriced. The food used to be so good at the Zodiac Room and not, it is not even average in my opinion. One of the other person with me was dissatisfied with their meal also. It was a steak salad and the proportion of the vegetables (hugged chunks of lettuce and large tomatoes) was just too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

A first time out of town friend and I en ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

A first time out of town friend and I enjoyed a delightful, quiet lunch on a Tuesday. It was perfect of a leisurely meal before shopping. Neiman's never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fabulous baby shower for my daughter! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A fabulous baby shower for my daughter! This is the fourth time I'be had an afternoon tea for a group (spanning about 14 years) and every one is a special memory.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had a delightful ambiance ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The restaurant had a delightful ambiance, and the food was great, all three us in the group talked about how much fun it was to shop before and after lunch in the women and men department of the store.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were at Neimans for a special w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Since we were at Neimans for a special wedding dress shopping day, the ambiance was excellent but the service and food were a little less than desirable. I got there at 11 a.m. which was the time of my reservation and there was no maitre d' available. If the first reservation is at 11--the restaurant should be open and ready to serve before that time. The hamburger was excellent but the other food was just status quo. The sorbet tea was warm and had to be sent back for improvement. If the cost were cut in half, I can see the value being worth the quality but for the lunch menu prices, I would not recommend this restaurant for quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a treat! Had the Mandarin soufflé ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a treat! Had the Mandarin soufflé trio and it was lovely! Lucio is the best waiter in the world! Can't wait until next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a special day for me and my siste ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a special day for me and my sister and we felt special being at the Zodiak. The staff was very friendly. Someone was always available to answer any questions or to check on us even though there were two large parties being served.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow does not begin to describe the serv ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Slow does not begin to describe the service. We were seated for more than 20 minutes before our order was taken and we were served bread (popovers). The food was fine, but I felt like we were forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

I've enjoyed the Café at this Neiman Mar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've enjoyed the Café at this Neiman Marcus downtown Dallas location - since it closed, a friend and I decided to try the Zodiac restaurant for lunch and it was delicious. I could have used a few more pieces of pita bread to accompany the tuna salad! I've also very much enjoyed the café at Neiman Marcus at Willow Bend - great, easy but elegant luncheon dining... and the popovers are a real treat!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent lunch! Stole my daughter away ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent lunch! Stole my daughter away during her lunch hour for some mother-daughter fun. Everything was wonderful--told server we were pressed for time and she was very attentive. Even had time to share the dessert sampler trio, which was lovely. Food was great, served with classic consommé starter and accompanied by amazing popover. Would give food five stars, but my daughter asked for "no tomato jam" on her sandwich, but got it anyway--maybe because we (and they) were in a rush. Another mom and daughter sat near us--we heard them discuss wedding-dress shopping...that's a few years away for us, but it was another example of why mothers and daughters LOVE to lunch at the Zodiac. We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite place to lunch in do ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is my favorite place to lunch in downtown Dallas. Just walking through the store makes me happy, and my dining experience is always a good one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Zodiac is a classic, wonderful place ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The Zodiac is a classic, wonderful place to dine. Marvelous variety with both a splendid light menu and fabulous vegetarian options. Cocktails are phenomenal and the iconic Neiman Marcus chocolate chip cookie box is always a winner. Old-school tradition of manners and superior customer service make this an obvious choice to dine. Our waiter was stupendous but I must admit that a few waiters there are out of their element and should not be working at such a classy place as The Zodiac. The milieu is lovely and the host remembers you time and again. Once you dine at The Zodiac, it will quickly become one of your regular haunts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've worked downtown for 28yrs and disco ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've worked downtown for 28yrs and discovered Zodiac oh about 15-20 years ago. I take a friend there every year for her birthday which happens to be 2/14 Valentine's Day and have been back for other work/friend related lunches over the years.

The food is ALWAYS fantastic and the staff is GREAT!

Thank you for a wonderful place to lunch.

Michelle Pak

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience as always! The popo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic experience as always! The popovers are a great start specially with the strawberry butter. I tried the vegetable melt along with their shrimp and corn chowder soup. Both items were delicious. Our server, Sylvia, was extremely attentive and very delightful. Would definitely be going back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always first class food, service and amb ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always first class food, service and ambience. A little taken aback by $12 Lunch Bloody Mary, although it was among the best I ever had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for lunch with a girlfriend. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went here for lunch with a girlfriend. Quiet spot and the food was really good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved this specific Zodiac ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have always loved this specific Zodiac Room (in the original NM) the best! The service, food, and ambiance cannot be beat! A must-see for all living in and visiting Dallas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies who lunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

As always it is a wonderful place for a ladies lunch. The service was wonderful and the food delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as always.. Service was po ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good as always.. Service was poor for the Zodiac Room. Server said popovers would be right there.. 30 minutes later we recieved them but then no strawberry butter... had to ask for that! Service was very very slow. Our Reservations for 7 was at 12:15... we were finally leaving at 3!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

A first timers treat

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

This was my first time at the Zodiac Room and I hope it will not be my last. The room is very attractive and the noise level was perfect. The opening Demitasse of chicken broth and cheese biscuit paved the way for a fine lunch served beautifully. Our server, Victor helped us with suggestions and was most attentive without being obtrusive. Making the meal even more pleasant was a fashion display with a lovely young model wearing several attractive dresses and furs. The dessert was a fine finale to a truly enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very special!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

A special occasion requires a special restaurant, and the Zodiac Room definitely fits that description!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived in Dallas for thirty six ye ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I have lived in Dallas for thirty six years and never visited the Zodiac Room. I was so looking forward to a beautiful experience to celebrate Mother’s Day with my daughter. I have eaten at most of the higher end restaurants in Dallas and was very disappointed with my meal. Both my daughter and I ordered a salad and it was average at best. With two salads and one glass of champagne my bill was $80.00.I could have gone to many other restaurants in Dallas and had a much better means for a lot less. The service was also mediocre. I have to say I was very disappointed.

Mary B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Awesome place for a special occasion Lunch!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Second time here to celebrate a friend's 20th work Anniversary. Great grilled Salmon with Asparagus. The traditional Popover was delicious and outstanding service. They even created a special Happy Anniversary Dessert plate!

I just wish that they were open for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful location. Food and service ar ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful location. Food and service are consistently excellent

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lovely lunch

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Our waiter, Robert, did an outstanding job. He was kind, patient, and well-versed on the menu. Food was lovely. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing. Good place to conduct a ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food is amazing. Good place to conduct a business lunch if you can get a quiet corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time with my Mom! Good was excell ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great time with my Mom! Good was excellent, service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ladies Lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My college daughter and I met for a "ladies lunch" at The Zodiac

- just as I had with my Grandma many years ago. The Zodiac was a special place then as it still remains today.

Excellent food coupled with attentive service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and plating. I ordered ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Beautiful setting and plating. I ordered the soy glazed scallops, which where very tasty along with a glass of Rosé. My wine had lent floating on the inside and stuck to the outside of my glass. My waiter responded and promptly replaced it. The poppers were welcoming, yet seemed a bit cold as the butter never melted. I did not care for the cold chicken broth offered. The Maitre'D was well polished and brought a copy of Dallas Luxury Edition Magazine for me to view while I waited. Very classy. I will be giving the Zodiac another try, I see the potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

LUNCH AT ZODIAC

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Everyone should have the experience of The Zodiac. It has an understated elegance with soothing colors and the atmosphere makes me feel like I am stepping back to a time when people enjoyed true dining. This is where I like to take someone for a special occasion; especially when they have never been there. My friend had the Tuscan Grilled Chicken Melt, which she said was delicious. I had the Vegetable Wrap and mine was equally delicious. The service was just right; not annoying as many restaurants are.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Kids chicken was perfect, healthy and de ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Kids chicken was perfect, healthy and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great quality food and is always a lovel ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Great quality food and is always a lovely dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice dining experience!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Nice dining experience. Great food and good service. I love the chicken broth as a light appetizer. The salads are great and my guest loved the pot roast. I also liked the ease of scheduling reservations online and being sent a confirmation immediately.

I only wish you all had a choice for gluten free bread to go with the meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Like coming home

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Had not been there in sometime and it was wonderful to still have on the menu things I had enjoyed thru out my lifetime. Our server was fantastic and the food and mimosas were very good. Lunch was a really special event for my group. Thanks for keeping traditions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and attentive service and the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Wonderful and attentive service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

4 Ladies Who LOVE 2 Lunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My favorite Aunt, whose name is Flurdie, is getting married very soon, and I wanted to take her out to a very nice lunch, and just celebrate her happiness. I already knew the Zodiac would definitely be the place for that celebration! My mother, Martha, and cousin Renicka also dined with us. The service was nothing shy of excellent! Martha was the name of the awesome lady who waited on us! She made us feel so very welcome, and made sure we ordered something we would really enjoy. My cocktail, Honey Dragon Margarita, was simply smashing and quite delicious! We all had some very tasty gumbo. My mom ordered the tuna sandwich; my aunt ordered the juicy pot roast; my cousin ordered a chicken sandwich, and I had salmon over a bed of pasta! Dessert was the bomb!!! We had carrot cake, lemon cake, and warm apple crostada with gelato! We LOVED everything we ate!

Thanks, Martha, and the Zodiac for making it a day we shall never forget! We will see you again, next month for lunch!

Thank You,

Taffeta

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice - the wait staff was attentive ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Very nice - the wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the restaurant is darling and th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Overall the restaurant is darling and the food and was thoughtful, delicious and they had many healthy options to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.