About Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas

1618 Main Street
6th Floor
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

For over 50 years, the Zodiac at Neiman Marcus in the Downtown Dallas location has been the place to dine in Dallas. Housed on the 6th floor of the flagship store, Stanley Marcus first conceived this restaurant as a convenience for out of town customers who were spending a full day shopping in the store.

Today, the Zodiac enjoys the same popularity for shoppers and non-shoppers alike. Enjoy all of the classics from our early days or find some new favorites. We welcome you with chicken broth and our signature popover with strawberry butter. Try a cocktail from our full bar or sip a glass of wine from our extensive winelist. Our lunch selections range from soups and salads to sandwiches. Or choose a beautifully plated entrée. Finish your meal with a housemade pastry and a hot cappuccino.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch Price - $30 and under
Special Event Price - Contact Restaurant

Cross Street:
Commerce and Ervay

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 573-5800

Website:
http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/info/store.jhtml?storeId=01/DT&rest=100009&_requestid=20571

Entertainment:
At your service. Tell us what you are looking for and we will find it for you.

Catering:
Add a touch of luxury to a business or social luncheon at The Zodiac®. Or simply make your office lunch hour more efficient with upscale take-out. Whether planning for one or for 20, you will encounter the outstanding service and exceptional quality that are synonymous with Neiman Marcus.

Have cocktails with your crew or host the soirée of the season at The Zodiac. We pride ourselves on creating the perfect menu and ambience for your event in our chic and inviting atmosphere. Pamper the glowing bride- or mother-to-be in your life with the shower of her dreams or a lavish luncheon.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking on Commerce Street adjacent to Neiman Marcus. Also on Commerce Street there is a parking garage available.

Public Transit:
DART stop at Akard and Elm Streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef David Crow

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Shrimp Salad
  • Chocolate Cake
  • shrimps and sweet pea ravioli
  • shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - close up
  • Sauvignon Blanc, The Fumé
  • Lobster Cobb Salad
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Chocolate Cake
shrimps and sweet pea ravioli
shrimps and sweet pea ravioli - close up
Sauvignon Blanc, The Fumé
Lobster Cobb Salad

Private Dining

Need the perfect spot for a Rehearsal Dinner? Looking to celebrate and reward your team for a job well done? Dine with exclusivity in the Downtown Dallas Neiman Marcus Zodiac. Located on the 6th Floor, we are ready to treat you and your guests to a spectacular evening.

Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Dallas
Great for Lunch
Dallas
1 More
Contemporary American
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for lunch (43)
special occasion (30)
good for groups (20)
See All
great for brunch (17)
fit for foodies (13)
romantic (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've worked downtown for 28yrs and disco ...

Dined 2 days ago

I've worked downtown for 28yrs and discovered Zodiac oh about 15-20 years ago. I take a friend there every year for her birthday which happens to be 2/14 Valentine's Day and have been back for other work/friend related lunches over the years. The food is ALWAYS fantastic and the staff is GREAT! Thank you for a wonderful place to lunch. Michelle Pak

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience as always! The popo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience as always! The popovers are a great start specially with the strawberry butter. I tried the vegetable melt along with their shrimp and corn chowder soup. Both items were delicious. Our server, Sylvia, was extremely attentive and very delightful. Would definitely be going back :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always first class food, service and amb ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always first class food, service and ambience. A little taken aback by $12 Lunch Bloody Mary, although it was among the best I ever had.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for lunch with a girlfriend. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Went here for lunch with a girlfriend. Quiet spot and the food was really good.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved this specific Zodiac ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

I have always loved this specific Zodiac Room (in the original NM) the best! The service, food, and ambiance cannot be beat! A must-see for all living in and visiting Dallas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies who lunch

Dined on June 10, 2016

As always it is a wonderful place for a ladies lunch. The service was wonderful and the food delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was good as always.. Service was po ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good as always.. Service was poor for the Zodiac Room. Server said popovers would be right there.. 30 minutes later we recieved them but then no strawberry butter... had to ask for that! Service was very very slow. Our Reservations for 7 was at 12:15... we were finally leaving at 3!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A first timers treat

Dined on May 11, 2016

This was my first time at the Zodiac Room and I hope it will not be my last. The room is very attractive and the noise level was perfect. The opening Demitasse of chicken broth and cheese biscuit paved the way for a fine lunch served beautifully. Our server, Victor helped us with suggestions and was most attentive without being obtrusive. Making the meal even more pleasant was a fashion display with a lovely young model wearing several attractive dresses and furs. The dessert was a fine finale to a truly enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very special!

Dined on May 7, 2016

A special occasion requires a special restaurant, and the Zodiac Room definitely fits that description!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I have lived in Dallas for thirty six ye ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have lived in Dallas for thirty six years and never visited the Zodiac Room. I was so looking forward to a beautiful experience to celebrate Mother’s Day with my daughter. I have eaten at most of the higher end restaurants in Dallas and was very disappointed with my meal. Both my daughter and I ordered a salad and it was average at best. With two salads and one glass of champagne my bill was $80.00.I could have gone to many other restaurants in Dallas and had a much better means for a lot less. The service was also mediocre. I have to say I was very disappointed. Mary B

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place for a special occasion Lunch!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Second time here to celebrate a friend's 20th work Anniversary. Great grilled Salmon with Asparagus. The traditional Popover was delicious and outstanding service. They even created a special Happy Anniversary Dessert plate! I just wish that they were open for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful location. Food and service ar ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful location. Food and service are consistently excellent

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely lunch

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Our waiter, Robert, did an outstanding job. He was kind, patient, and well-versed on the menu. Food was lovely. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing. Good place to conduct a ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Food is amazing. Good place to conduct a business lunch if you can get a quiet corner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great time with my Mom! Good was excell ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great time with my Mom! Good was excellent, service was even better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies Lunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

My college daughter and I met for a "ladies lunch" at The Zodiac - just as I had with my Grandma many years ago. The Zodiac was a special place then as it still remains today. Excellent food coupled with attentive service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting and plating. I ordered ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Beautiful setting and plating. I ordered the soy glazed scallops, which where very tasty along with a glass of Rosé. My wine had lent floating on the inside and stuck to the outside of my glass. My waiter responded and promptly replaced it. The poppers were welcoming, yet seemed a bit cold as the butter never melted. I did not care for the cold chicken broth offered. The Maitre'D was well polished and brought a copy of Dallas Luxury Edition Magazine for me to view while I waited. Very classy. I will be giving the Zodiac another try, I see the potential.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LUNCH AT ZODIAC

Dined on April 1, 2016

Everyone should have the experience of The Zodiac. It has an understated elegance with soothing colors and the atmosphere makes me feel like I am stepping back to a time when people enjoyed true dining. This is where I like to take someone for a special occasion; especially when they have never been there. My friend had the Tuscan Grilled Chicken Melt, which she said was delicious. I had the Vegetable Wrap and mine was equally delicious. The service was just right; not annoying as many restaurants are.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Kids chicken was perfect, healthy and de ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Kids chicken was perfect, healthy and delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great quality food and is always a lovel ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Great quality food and is always a lovely dining experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dining experience!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Nice dining experience. Great food and good service. I love the chicken broth as a light appetizer. The salads are great and my guest loved the pot roast. I also liked the ease of scheduling reservations online and being sent a confirmation immediately. I only wish you all had a choice for gluten free bread to go with the meal.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like coming home

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Had not been there in sometime and it was wonderful to still have on the menu things I had enjoyed thru out my lifetime. Our server was fantastic and the food and mimosas were very good. Lunch was a really special event for my group. Thanks for keeping traditions.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and attentive service and the ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Wonderful and attentive service and the food was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 Ladies Who LOVE 2 Lunch!

Dined on February 27, 2016

My favorite Aunt, whose name is Flurdie, is getting married very soon, and I wanted to take her out to a very nice lunch, and just celebrate her happiness. I already knew the Zodiac would definitely be the place for that celebration! My mother, Martha, and cousin Renicka also dined with us. The service was nothing shy of excellent! Martha was the name of the awesome lady who waited on us! She made us feel so very welcome, and made sure we ordered something we would really enjoy. My cocktail, Honey Dragon Margarita, was simply smashing and quite delicious! We all had some very tasty gumbo. My mom ordered the tuna sandwich; my aunt ordered the juicy pot roast; my cousin ordered a chicken sandwich, and I had salmon over a bed of pasta! Dessert was the bomb!!! We had carrot cake, lemon cake, and warm apple crostada with gelato! We LOVED everything we ate! Thanks, Martha, and the Zodiac for making it a day we shall never forget! We will see you again, next month for lunch! Thank You, Taffeta

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice - the wait staff was attentive ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Very nice - the wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall the restaurant is darling and th ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Overall the restaurant is darling and the food and was thoughtful, delicious and they had many healthy options to choose from.

food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service, delicious food, supe ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

Impeccable service, delicious food, superb presentation. Always a treat to have lunch at The Zodiac Room.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding professional service without ...

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Outstanding professional service without hovering. Excellent menu choices and delicious flavors combined for a perfect business lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable lunch!

Dined on January 18, 2016

This is a spectacular place to enjoy a memorable lunch. The Zodiac has been delighting diners for 60+ years and it still does today. Both tradition and avant garde dining are celebrated (perhaps even lionized) here. The quiet elegance is rarely experienced today. Lunch here is absolutely delightful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch special

Dined on January 9, 2016

I love the Zodiac room and would have given my review 5 stars, but my red snapper special was overcooked. It was very flavorful, however, hence the 4 stars.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place, great food

Dined on January 2, 2016

While a little on the expensive side, food and service was great. We ordered the pot roast and filet (I think). Both real tasty. A little disappointed that the Christmas decorations were already taken down. That was one of the reasons we went but it's our own fault for waiting so long to reserve a table. Over all great spot

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Holiday Buffett

Dined on December 31, 2015

Was pleasantly surprised when I stumbled upon one of Dallas' best kept secrets. The Zodiac Room features an awesome buffet all day/every day between the day before Thanksgiving and December 31 every year. You will want to show up hungry and bring all your friends and family. I'm going to make this an annual holiday tradition.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was good service was great -needs renovation

Dined on December 31, 2015

Service was perfect. They were only serving a buffet lunch while we were there and most items were great but the lamb was horrible and should have been pulled off the table. Interior is very tired and desperately needs to be painted and deep cleaned. Certainly not what you expect at NM. Sad to see it was in such bad shape.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at Zodiac is always a wonderful e ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Dining at Zodiac is always a wonderful experience. The holiday buffet cannot be beat!

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great holiday buffet

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

A great choice for a post Christmas lunch and to see a wonderful institution in downtown Dallas!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Holiday Lunch

Dined on December 2, 2015

The holiday buffet is always generous and fun. The food is excellent, and then we walk it off looking at the decorations at the downtown store. It is a tradition for me. I look forward to it every year.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

It's not Christmas Eve yet!

Dined on November 30, 2015

On Wed, Dec 2 they only offered a "Holiday Buffet" at $42.00! We expected to order off the menu and did not want that much food, nor pay that price. The place was 75% empty as a result.

food5
ambience4
service5

A holiday must do!

vip
Dined on November 30, 2015

Each year a co-worker and I make it a point to partake in the wonderful Holiday buffet that the Zodiac room has in December. We have birthdays a day apart and this not only makes them special for us, but also starts off our holiday the right way! If you're worried about price, this may not be the place for you. But the selection is amazing and you can't beet the popovers, and the 3 cheese mac/cheese is killer good!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun lunch

Dined on November 30, 2015

Zodiac restaurant never disappoints. They always have great food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Holiday Brunch

Dined on November 28, 2015

The holiday brunch offers a buffet with a great selection of salads, meats, and vegetables. Everything was excellent. The entrees included prime rib, turkey and dressing, lamb, and roast beef. There were five or six salads, along with all the traditional holiday vegetables and side dishes. The service was great as well. I can definitely see why this is a holiday tradition for many families. The only disappointing thing about the meal was the dessert selection. They brought out a small plate that included a lemon square, a chocolate muffin, m & ms, caramel popcorn, jelly beans, and a couple of cookies. None of it was good and with the caliber of the food being served, it seems they could do a much better job with the desserts. The buffet is $42 for adults and $15 for kids under 10.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.