Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today
Hungry now? Let the restaurant know you’re coming in by adding your name to the waitlist. Download the app to give it a try.

Zodiac at Neiman Marcus – Downtown Dallas

4.8
401 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
  • Great for Brunch

For over 50 years, the Zodiac at Neiman Marcus in the Downtown Dallas location has been the place to dine in Dallas. Housed on the 6th floor of the flagship store, Stanley Marcus first conceived this restaurant as a convenience for out of town customers who were spending a full day shopping in the store.

Take lunching to the next level at The Zodiac®, our elegant restaurant in the original Neiman Marcus Downtown Dallas. This venerable dining destination, which has been serving fine cuisine for over 50 years, features an exquisite, classic menu selection. Taste one of our delicious seasonal entrée selections or experience the famous Mandarin Orange Soufflé again for the first time.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Special Event Price - Contact Restaurant
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(214) 573-5800
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef David Crow
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Need the perfect spot for a Rehearsal Dinner? Looking to celebrate and reward your team for a job well done? Dine with exclusivity in the Downtown Dallas Neiman Marcus Zodiac. Located on the 6th Floor, we are ready to treat you and your guests to a spectacular evening.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jeff Dains or Edgar Cardiel: (214) 573-5800
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Add a touch of luxury to a business or social luncheon at The Zodiac®. Or simply make your office lunch hour more efficient with upscale take-out. Whether planning for one or for 20, you will encounter the outstanding service and exceptional quality that are synonymous with Neiman Marcus.

Have cocktails with your crew or host the soirée of the season at The Zodiac. We pride ourselves on creating the perfect menu and ambience for your event in our chic and inviting atmosphere. Pamper the glowing bride- or mother-to-be in your life with the shower of her dreams or a lavish luncheon.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Commerce and Ervay
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary valet parking on Commerce Street adjacent to Neiman Marcus. Also on Commerce Street there is a parking garage available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
DART stop at Akard and Elm Streets.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
At your service. Tell us what you are looking for and we will find it for you.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 401 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

I brought my Mom for a belated mother's day lunch due to the fact that I work in the restaurant biz and getting that day off is near impossible. The food was top notch and the service was very attentive yet nit obtrusive. We had a ball and can't wait to return. This is as classic as it gets keep up the great work.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Classy place for lunch, nice atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent upscale dining experience. Waitstaff very attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Our lunch was outstanding! We were treated so well - excellent service! The food was divine. I had the crab salad, and it was outstanding. And the popovers and strawberry butter are always delicious. It's just a treat to go downtown to the Zodiac Room - thank you for a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

All of the staff was so gracious and professional. Very attentive. Never had to ask for water. We were celebrating birthdays and we decided we will do this again. Hope to do this quarterly just to get together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We were celebrating 2 birthdays. The Zodiac is special for a special occasion. We were even brought a piece of cake to share. Wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We have been to the Dallas Flagship's Zodiac restaurant numerous times over the course of over 30 years. The Zodiac has never disappointed in providing consistently high quality food & service with a quiet & relaxing white tablecloth environment. Sometimes, one is treated to a fashion show! We LOVE their traditional "starter" of delicious clear broth, popover & strawberry butter.

I highly recommend the Zodiac & will always make it a point to have a delightful lunch there while visiting Dallas. I am from Fort Worth & can no longer have a Zodiac experience - so we come to Dallas to have the overall quiet & elegant ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Popovers with strawberry butter. What more can I say?? The restaurant is very nice, upscale and was not busy for lunch on a Thursday.
I was visiting my customer Neiman Marcus as a vendor and took the team for lunch here. Excellent service, great lunch choices and general ambiance very upscale.
There were also models showing some of the designer 'featured styles' this day walking around and explaining the look. Nice touch, though I am not $ enough to buy any of the dresses :) Nice restaurant!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Fabulous as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Excellent service , excellent food. Exactly what you would expect from a place located inside NM!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

It was a wonderful experience for my friend's birthday. She had never been there before and really enjoyed it especially since we had a fashion show. Everything was outstanding. This service, the food and the special birthday cake. I used to work downtown across the street so it was always a special occasion to go to the Zodiac room but it has been a while and I had forgotten how special it really is. Definitely make it the place for my special occasions now. Many thanks to all the people who made this possible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Luncheon for 10. Great experience and always consistent with their high level of food and service. So nice when you can meet where you have the ability to have a conversation in a large group and in a place with good ambience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The Zodiac is a Dallas institution. However, like many institutions it is starting to show its age, but it still has a certain grace that makes it special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Restaurant has plenty of room between tables so you don’t have to hear other conversations. At our neighboring table, the man wouldn’t silence his phone-it rang constantly and he didn’t know how to mute it-rude.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The Zodiac in downtown Dallas never disappoints! We were greeted immediately and quickly seated. The entire staff was friendly and welcoming. And our lunch? Everything was wonderful! I was meeting up with a good friend of mine who is very picky, and she was very impressed. If you're in downtown Dallas, this is truly a great place to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great spot for a downtown lunch if you want to impress someone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Lovely girls lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

If you are looking for a place for a special occasion lunch, this is it. We had four generations for lunch, ranging from 5 years old to 98 years old. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal in every way. The drinks were very good. The scallops were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Great as usual. Loved the orange soufflé with chicken salad for lunch for a LONG time. But everything on the menu is always delicious so decisions are tough. Elegant surroundings. Zodiac is a Dallas landmark.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Good food, a little over priced. Not a quick lunch place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I have been going here for year's with family, friends and even hosted a Baby shower for my daughter at the zodiac in addition to a graduation luncheon there. You can't go wrong!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Upon arrival, my guest and I were promptly seated. The service throughout the meal was exemplary--attentive but not intrusive. Food was presented beautifully and prepared just as requested. I highly recommend the Zodiac Room for any occasion. Impress your out-of-town guests and your in-town friends and family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

We took a former colleague out to lunch, to celebrate that he just finished his master's degree, and got a new job. The service was excellent, as was the food. We had a lovely time, and were the last customers for lunch at 2:20p.m. But nobody tried to rush our meal, or our departure --it was just perfect!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

It was really nice and good service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

It's fun to go for a treat. It's a little pricey and portions are small (as you would expect at Neimans) and I personally miss some of the old favorites that are no longer there. Otherwise, it was good, the popovers are unique, and service is very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We always like dining at NM restaurants, the service was very good and the food was good, nothing out of the ordinary though. The restaurant was not busy at all and there were plenty of empty tables, but we were seated at a small table with the server station view. We would dine there again when in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Overall Neimans is a very great spot for lunch will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Beef barley soup was outstanding . One of my favorite slots for lunch any day of the week.

Service is very efficient. I prefer a table in the raised area to get a good view of the room.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 11, 2018

I took my boss for her birthday. The broth, spice tea and popovers were wonderful as always. My sandwich, on the other hand, was terrible. I had the turkey sandwich that was recommended. It was tasteless except for the spread that tasted a bit like old mayo. I was a huge fan of the old sandwich sampler, but that's gone and I hope the sandwich I had is not an example of the new standard. Had I not been with my new boss, I'd have sent it back. But she was in a hurry and I opted to take half of the sandwich (for later, but I actually threw it away).

I love the Zodiac and will give it another try. It's such a great respite for downtown workers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

NM downtown is a gem of a place. 150 years of fashion , tradition, elegance and fun memories.
Zodiac is a great restaurant for business meetings , girlfriend talk or birthdays.the complementary valet is a big plus!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

A post holiday treat for 3 granddaughters and myself; great quiet ambiance and very tasteful food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

20+ years in a row - Christmas luncheo with my daughter.

Stanley Marcus, Laura Bush et al sitings over the years pale compared to the pop-overs, strawberry butter, chicken salad, prime rib and other items. Good stuff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

It is our annual tradition to go to Neiman's for their Christmas Brunch. We enjoy the time, the food and the tradition!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. Out server was very friendly and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

The Zodiac Room is like stepping right back into the 1950 department store, complete with elevator that lists which department is on each floor. Its simple an classy. The restaurant is lovely with a simple classic decor and fresh food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Great service! Great salad choices

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

The late seating for the Holiday buffet did not come with a notice that the “bar” would close at 4 pm so it was a little disturbing to see the food swept away before we were finished. We rushed up to the gather main course & the wait staff let us stay until finished. Otherwise lovely, albeit pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Christmas season lunch - perfectly festive, good food, great selection, surprisingly good cocktails, and nice service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

It was fun to get together with friends for Christmas lunch. This has become our tradition over the last 5 years. The food and service was excellent. I did miss the small individual tasting deserts- they did not have those this year, but the deserts offered were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Wonderful experience looking forward to the holiday buffet next year. Food was perfect, service exceptional will recommend to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11