About Zins Restaurant

227 Second Ave, SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

Zins design is warm, welcoming, sophisticated. Stylishly located downtown in the historic Ely Building, we bring you quality and creative food, different yet familiar, via the small-plates concept. Select from our menus: Nibble, Begin, Reminisce, Experience and Indulge. Share if you wish, but you’ll have fun with the many tastes available (or consider the “Big Plate” item). Equally important is our commitment to beverages. Our state-of-the-art wine dispensing equipment allows us to offer twenty wines-by-the-glass. Our bottled-wine list is value-laden. Our beer list is compact but clever. Our mixologists enjoy crafting your drink, creative or classic, every bit as much as our culinary staff enjoys preparing your food. Through it all winds a culture of professional hospitality. Hired for attitude as well as aptitude, the Zins team takes pleasure from your pleasure. Training to crisp service standards enables us to focus on your individual needs. Have fun with us at Zins!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Third St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 363-9467

Website:
http://www.zinsrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Zins Catering brings the Zins experience to you! Although we specialize in small plates, we adapt our skills to your specific requirements. If you desire, we are fully licensed to serve a full array of alcoholic beverages in typical Zins fashion. Allow us to provide an event as dressed-up or dressed-down as you need. We can deliver whatever amount of service you wish, from full, formal service to drop-off/pick-up or anything in between. Our professional “Hospitalitarians” are ready to plan and deliver the perfect event!

Parking Details:
Zins proudly offers complimentary valet parking for all of our dinner guests. The four dollar charge made upon arrival is refunded entirely from your final tab. On-street parking is available during lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Nate Jiroutek

Private Party Facilities:
Zins has two distinctive private areas. Consider the Chef’s Table, with its private view into the kitchen for parties up to 14. The Ruffalo Room is perfect for groups up to 24 and is even designed to accommodate projection requirements. If you wish, we can even provide personalized menus of both food and beverage for you and your guests. We love helping make you look good!

Private Party Contact:
Mr. Chris Miller: 319-363-9467

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Zins Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Most Booked
Cedar Rapids
Best Restaurants in Cedar Rapids ›

special occasion (39)
romantic (31)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for brunch (13)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the tapas concept is fantastic. the abi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

the tapas concept is fantastic. the ability toy and share a variety of plates makes the dining experience an adventure. the mixologist was just simply great. my Manhattans were are work of art.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had high hopes for Mother's Day brunch after reading that Zin's was the best brunch spot in CR. Unfortunately it failed in every way possible, which was disappointing for our family members who drive an hour to get there. The service was insanely slow -- not so much our waitress, but rather the kitchen. The wait staff split our tapas in two courses. It took over an hour to get our first course, which was about 20% of our overall order. The second course arrived 30 minutes later -- all super small portions. We were there almost two hours and left hungry despite ordering 2-3 plates per person (and we were a table of mostly old women). The actual food was very average. Unfortunate...hope this place improves.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The only time I have been there was for ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The only time I have been there was for Mother's Day brunch. Maybe they don't typically do brunch. Small plates/brunch don't really go together. We waited at least 45 minutes for our first plate 1 egg plate, 2 salad plates. English muffin was the third plate, might have been better served with the eggs. Waitress was not around much, we asked several people about our food. Food was decent, décor was nice, (other than my ripped leather chair).

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

wont go back

Dined on May 8, 2016

service was poor and very slow. waited 30 min to get served our drinks. food was not good. the best thing we had was mac n cheese. drinks where over priced and overall just nothing good. save your money and go somewhere else

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Did Not Meet Expectations

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful room, good looking menu on paper. Tapas style american fare - with little to no flavor on any of the dishes. Steak was okay, lamb was okay, walleye was tiny and flavorless, 2 chicken dishes were ordered, both were cold, they were sent back - new ones were brought out - 20 minutes later - they too were cold. We received a 10% discount on the two chicken dishes (a whopping $2.60 off our bill...) gee thanks! Cucumber Gimlet was divine! Will not be going back or recommending.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Close Seating Quarters

Dined on April 29, 2016

For an upscale restaurant the chairs were worn and torn at the top. Our server Philip was pleasant and informative. The seating was too close to one another and I felt we couldn't speak above a whisper. It was difficult not to make continuous eye contact with them and I could clearly hear them. The food was okay, nothing exceptional that I would tell someone about. We don't regret going but will try somewhere else next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Helpful

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were very pleased with the help from the waitress in picking our drinks for the night.She was also helpful with understanding the menu. Other waiters that were around also seemed as helpful and were very polite.The food was also very delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

House specialty lamb lollipops were extr ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

House specialty lamb lollipops were extremely delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was incredible, the food was e ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The staff was incredible, the food was even better. We've been there a few times now and they never disappoint. I would recommend Zins to anyone looking for a fine dining experience, fantastic drinks, and a great ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience attentive service and e ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great experience attentive service and excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for Sunday Brunch! Grea ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful place for Sunday Brunch! Great small plate options. Lovely atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently impressive

Dined on March 26, 2016

Quality, not quantity is the standard for Zins. Taste and presentation are emphasized and rarely disappoint. The staff is professional, friendly, and helpful. Quiet atmosphere allows for nice dinner conversation. Leave the kids at home. A favorite Cedar Rapids restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Zins. Our service was very attentive and helpful. The food was fabulous and it was not that much more expensive than going to some of the chain restaurants. I would definitely recommend Zins and plan on going back very soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Love the ambiance. We ordered the scall ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the ambiance. We ordered the scallops to share. I had the corn & crab chowder and he had a salad. We each ordered an entree and shared with each other. Great way to go because everything is so tasty!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our evening dinner at Zins was amazing on all counts, service, food, atmosphere & quality. Cant wait to go back and try the brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Before the Paramount Show.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Good location for events downtown. We had an excellent dinner and good service from Shannon.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, first class service. Have tr ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food, first class service. Have travelled to Cedar many times and only find this gem on what is likely my last visit. Great wine selection to accompany a good variety of different sized plates topped off with friendly, good humoured and efficient staff. Thank you Shannon.

food4
ambience4
service3

I enjoy going to this restaurant every t ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

I enjoy going to this restaurant every time I'm in CR. Nice ambiance, friendly staff and generally very good. This time not so great. Restaurant week apparently and we all did the fixed menu. Food was cool and the strip steak was real chewy. Desert was great though. Service, good and waiter sooooooooooooo Attentive. Anyway, I do think this is a great restaurant choice for CR and I must have hit it on an unusual night. Would definitely still recommend

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

More to offer

Dined on March 2, 2016

I wish there were more allergy friendly options but overall very nice and will go back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

OK place,, service need to be better....

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was good..... the server was slow.. I would say this place location is great.. but they need to invest in improving the service...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Good dessert. Amazing service.

Dined on March 1, 2016

Though the food was bland (aside from the fries and the dessert, which were phenomenal) the service was stellar. I would go there again just for the great service.

food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Should the food be cold or hot?

Dined on February 27, 2016

Maybe my pork chop was supposed to be served cold. Or, maybe it got cold because it took too much time to cut it up into small pieces and position them on the plate just right and arrange the garnish on top. If that's the case, I'd rather have it hot and cut it myself. The meat was literally room temperature, like it had been sitting out for a half hour. Funny thing is there was hardly anyone in the restaurant at the time, so it's not like the kitchen was slammed. I was going to ask if they had a microwave to heat it back up, but I had eaten 80% by the time the waitress came back to the table to check on us, and I was getting used to eating cold pork chop by that point. I'd rather pay $10 for a hot "whole" pork chop somewhere else than $25 for a cold one already cut up and dressed pretty.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, the staff was attent ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great, the staff was attentive; couldn't have asked for a better place to spend the evening.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A splendid evening!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We enjoyed our valentines meal with Zin's! Bonnie treated us wonderfully, she is one of our favorites! The entire staff at Zin's is committed to making evenings special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adult Night Out

Dined on February 13, 2016

Zin's is our go to when we want a kid free special occasion dining experience. We love the atmosphere and the service. We love that we can get dressed up fancy if we want too, Or come casual. The drinks are always flowing and the food is ALWAYS to die for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are always happy with Zins

Dined on February 12, 2016

Couldn't ask for better service. They make you feel special and are very considerate about your exspierence. Will always recommend...we'll stop in even if we're not eating just for a drink and conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

They could have served more drinks if th ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

They could have served more drinks if they came around more. I also think it is pricey for what you get.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Zins needs some work

Dined on January 16, 2016

I really wanted to like Zins, but it disappointed for a bunch of reasons -- indifferent wait staff, mediocre food, slow service. Here we go ... 1. My wife and I had reservations. At first they wanted to put us at a table right by the door (VERY cold night so not really an option). So they put us at another table, and that was great. The waitress completely ignored us for 15 minutes (even taking orders and chatting up people seated AFTER us). Finally the very nice hostess pitched in by taking our order to the kitchen. Eventually the waitress came by, but I'm not really sure why. 2. I ordered 3 of their "small plates." The first (cucumber salad) was basically a lettuce salad (some rather wilted) with two small shavings of cucumber. The dressing wasn't even mixed in, rather it was just plopped underneath the salad. 3. My Mac and Cheese was good; my wife's basil fettuccine tasted oddly like the pesto came from a jar -- very disappointing. 4. We had to cancel our last dishes. The first two took 75 minutes and we had to get to the opera (La Traviata, which was very nice). All in all, I would likely not return to Zins until they hire more and better wait staff, pay greater attention to the food they're serving, and serve the food in a more timely manner. As it stands, the physical environment of the restaurant is nice, but the food is sorely lacking.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Zins

Dined on January 9, 2016

I loved the atmosphere in Zins. My food was good and the service was great. I will return for sure especially for those pommes frites!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Stars!!

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

Braxton was a gem - one of the most delightful and professional servers I've ever had. Loved sitting at the Chef's Table and watching the kitchen team too -amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience.

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Love the table with a view to the kitchen. The kids lovec at Hong the action between courses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Lovely Ambiance

Dined on January 1, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Felt very VIP when I arrived. Coat was taken and was mannerly seated. Nice table linens and decor. Quiet. Took a long time to have a server come to our table to take our drink order. Visited on New Years Eve and booked through Open Table. Was unaware of a New Years Eve Only menu and was not told of this upfront. Ended up getting our drinks and having to leave due to a showtime at the neighboring Paramount Theatre. Would love to come back and try their regular menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good resturant to start off the new year.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Good wine and small plates. Restyrant and bar are a pleasant environment to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our office holiday gathering at Z ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

We had our office holiday gathering at Zins. The private dining room easily accommodated us. It was quiet and conducive to conversation. The food was delicious and the wait staff prompt and courteous. Great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place

Dined on December 12, 2015

Loved the food and service! Our meals were excellent! The only thing I would say is that the seating is too close for comfort. I couldn't hold a conversation without the two tables next to me hearing. We also could hear everything the other tables a were talking about,weither you wanted to or not.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Eclectic space and open kitchen if sitti ...

Dined on November 18, 2015

Eclectic space and open kitchen if sitting in the right spot,staff warm and friendly. Interesting tapas style small plate offering. Some high's and low's, but would definitely come back for a second look.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was over the top and with a ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

The service was over the top and with a smile, even to our children. Food was wonderful. Beautiful wood décor. Table cloths, good silverware and fresh flowers on the table - an oasis in this day and age. The staff really gave it their all. Management in a suit provided supreme attention to detail. Zins is what greatness looks like. Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience

Dined on November 15, 2015

It is not our habit to end up in sophisticated restaurants like this, but boy it was a treat, and we'll definitely be back. We tried several dishes amongst our group, and everything was at least delicious if not amazing. We are not the largest wine connoisseurs, but we enjoyed the glasses we had. Overall wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great small plates

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

Hubby and I had drinks and appetizers (small plates) before a show at the Paramount. Very tasty and convenient location for pre-theater dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience, very good f ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

Excellent dining experience, very good food, intimate ambiance. The wait staff are very accommodating to theater patrons to see that we are able to be served and dine in a timely manner. The owner, frequently present when we been there for dinner, is friendly and welcoming. He seems to be interested in our dining experience. We live in a nearby community and look forward to dining at Zins when we are attending performances at the downtown theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.