Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Popoli Ristorante & Sullivan's BarPopoli Ristorante & Sullivan's Bar
(41)
$$$$
Italian | Cedar Rapids, Cedar Rapids
Booked 3 times today
350 First - Doubletree Hilton350 First - Doubletree Hilton
(183)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cedar Rapids, Cedar Rapids
Booked 4 times today
Bistro on the RiverBistro on the River
(42)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cedar Rapids, Cedar Rapids
The Class ActThe Class Act
(727)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cedar Rapids, Cedar Rapids
Booked 3 times today
Joseph's Steakhouse of Iowa CityJoseph's Steakhouse of Iowa City
(609)
$$$$
Steak | Iowa City, Iowa City
Booked 8 times today
One Twenty SixOne Twenty Six
(8)
$$$$
French | Iowa City, Iowa City
Booked 1 time today
GrazeGraze
(39)
$$$$
American | Iowa City, Iowa City
Booked 6 times today
MoonrakersMoonrakers
(8)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Iowa City, Iowa City
HEARTHHEARTH
(2)
$$$$
Italian | Iowa City, Iowa City
Share Wine Lounge & Small Plate BistroShare Wine Lounge & Small Plate Bistro
(5)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Iowa City, Iowa City
Booked 2 times today
Otis & Henry's - Isle Casino WaterlooOtis & Henry's - Isle Casino Waterloo
(12)
$$$$
American | Cedar Falls / Waterloo, Cedar Falls / Waterloo
Booked 1 time today

About Permanently Closed - Zins Restaurant

227 Second Ave, SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Zins design is warm, welcoming, sophisticated. Stylishly located downtown in the historic Ely Building, we bring you quality and creative food, different yet familiar, via the small-plates concept. Select from our menus: Nibble, Begin, Reminisce, Experience and Indulge. Share if you wish, but you’ll have fun with the many tastes available (or consider the “Big Plate” item). Equally important is our commitment to beverages. Our state-of-the-art wine dispensing equipment allows us to offer twenty wines-by-the-glass. Our bottled-wine list is value-laden. Our beer list is compact but clever. Our mixologists enjoy crafting your drink, creative or classic, every bit as much as our culinary staff enjoys preparing your food. Through it all winds a culture of professional hospitality. Hired for attitude as well as aptitude, the Zins team takes pleasure from your pleasure. Training to crisp service standards enables us to focus on your individual needs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Third St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 363-9467

Website:
http://www.zinsrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Zins Catering brings the Zins experience to you! Although we specialize in small plates, we adapt our skills to your specific requirements. If you desire, we are fully licensed to serve a full array of alcoholic beverages in typical Zins fashion. Allow us to provide an event as dressed-up or dressed-down as you need. We can deliver whatever amount of service you wish, from full, formal service to drop-off/pick-up or anything in between. Our professional “Hospitalitarians” are ready to plan and deliver the perfect event!

Parking Details:
Zins proudly offers complimentary valet parking for all of our dinner guests. The four dollar charge made upon arrival is refunded entirely from your final tab. On-street parking is available during lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Nate Jiroutek

Private Party Facilities:
Zins has two distinctive private areas. Consider the Chef’s Table, with its private view into the kitchen for parties up to 14. The Ruffalo Room is perfect for groups up to 24 and is even designed to accommodate projection requirements. If you wish, we can even provide personalized menus of both food and beverage for you and your guests. We love helping make you look good!

Private Party Contact:
Mr. Chris Miller: 319-363-9467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

St. Louis Butter Cake - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Pork Tenderloin - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Chile Verde Pork - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Creme Brulee - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Local & Organic Eggs - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Zins Burger - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Roast Beef Hash - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Honey Glazed Trout - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Chicken Kebab - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Lamb Mojito Pops - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Maple Bacon Cocktail - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Foccacia - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Pan Seared Scallops In Garlic Butter - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Spinach, Artichock, Sun-Dried Tomato Dip With Fried Wontons - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Bacon Pancakes - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA
Poutine - Zins Restaurant, Cedar Rapids, IA

Zins Restaurant - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

1.0

service

2.0

ambience

1.0

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were closed

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2016

They were closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

It was closed DOWN when we got there, no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was closed DOWN when we got there, not very happy that there is no communication between this restaurant and open table to let people from out of town know that the restaurant is in fact no longer in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

food was excellent! The waitress provide ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 30, 2016

food was excellent! The waitress provided amazing service. My wife and I enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was very fatty and very hard to ea ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Steak was very fatty and very hard to eat. Salmon was over cooked. Waitress was not sympathic to my complaint. Worst meal I ever had at a restaurant that is billed as high end. I can see why they are closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My sister & I were hoping to have a nice ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2016

My sister & I were hoping to have a nice meal prior to a concert. She got there before me & ordered a drink which took 15 min. Mine took at least 15 min. We planned our order but waiter said we should try the "fixed price theater " menu which

took him a few minutes to bring. We ordered that as he said it was ready to plate. We got our first course 30 min later. Many people around us were being served and came in after us. Finally cancelled the rest of our order as we now had 10 min to get to our show. The kitchen did send out one commentary dish while we paid our bill. Very very very poor service. Cannot count on Zins for decent service. Especially before a show which they r in walking distance to three venues. Will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good, reasonable dinner. Great service ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Good, reasonable dinner. Great service and good cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic brunch options and excellent p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic brunch options and excellent presentation and flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our Server was Charming - nice menu, loc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our Server was Charming - nice menu, location had easy parking.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My first visit to Zins and had a great m ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 14, 2016

My first visit to Zins and had a great meal and great experience. Excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Changes in Menu

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2016

I've been eating at Zin's for a long time at Zin's and was a little disappointed in the menu changes. I think it may be a momentary flick until it settles out. Look forward to eating their the next time I'm in town. Service was great as usual and love the option of valet parking.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the entrees had an issue. They fi ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2016

One of the entrees had an issue. They fixed it right away and gave us a credit for one of our sides. Great that they try to make things right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the tapas concept is fantastic. the abi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2016

the tapas concept is fantastic. the ability toy and share a variety of plates makes the dining experience an adventure. the mixologist was just simply great. my Manhattans were are work of art.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had high hopes for Mother's Day brunch after reading that Zin's was the best brunch spot in CR. Unfortunately it failed in every way possible, which was disappointing for our family members who drive an hour to get there. The service was insanely slow -- not so much our waitress, but rather the kitchen. The wait staff split our tapas in two courses. It took over an hour to get our first course, which was about 20% of our overall order. The second course arrived 30 minutes later -- all super small portions. We were there almost two hours and left hungry despite ordering 2-3 plates per person (and we were a table of mostly old women). The actual food was very average. Unfortunate...hope this place improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The only time I have been there was for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The only time I have been there was for Mother's Day brunch. Maybe they don't typically do brunch. Small plates/brunch don't really go together. We waited at least 45 minutes for our first plate 1 egg plate, 2 salad plates. English muffin was the third plate, might have been better served with the eggs. Waitress was not around much, we asked several people about our food. Food was decent, décor was nice, (other than my ripped leather chair).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

wont go back

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

service was poor and very slow. waited 30 min to get served our drinks. food was not good. the best thing we had was mac n cheese. drinks where over priced and overall just nothing good. save your money and go somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Did Not Meet Expectations

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful room, good looking menu on paper. Tapas style american fare - with little to no flavor on any of the dishes. Steak was okay, lamb was okay, walleye was tiny and flavorless, 2 chicken dishes were ordered, both were cold, they were sent back - new ones were brought out - 20 minutes later - they too were cold. We received a 10% discount on the two chicken dishes (a whopping $2.60 off our bill...) gee thanks!

Cucumber Gimlet was divine!

Will not be going back or recommending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Close Seating Quarters

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2016

For an upscale restaurant the chairs were worn and torn at the top. Our server Philip was pleasant and informative. The seating was too close to one another and I felt we couldn't speak above a whisper. It was difficult not to make continuous eye contact with them and I could clearly hear them. The food was okay, nothing exceptional that I would tell someone about. We don't regret going but will try somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Helpful

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were very pleased with the help from the waitress in picking our drinks for the night.She was also helpful with understanding the menu. Other waiters that were around also seemed as helpful and were very polite.The food was also very delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

House specialty lamb lollipops were extr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2016

House specialty lamb lollipops were extremely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was incredible, the food was e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The staff was incredible, the food was even better. We've been there a few times now and they never disappoint. I would recommend Zins to anyone looking for a fine dining experience, fantastic drinks, and a great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience attentive service and e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great experience attentive service and excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for Sunday Brunch! Grea ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful place for Sunday Brunch! Great small plate options. Lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently impressive

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Quality, not quantity is the standard for Zins. Taste and presentation are emphasized and rarely disappoint. The staff is professional, friendly, and helpful. Quiet atmosphere allows for nice dinner conversation. Leave the kids at home. A favorite Cedar Rapids restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Zins. Our service was very attentive and helpful. The food was fabulous and it was not that much more expensive than going to some of the chain restaurants. I would definitely recommend Zins and plan on going back very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the ambiance. We ordered the scall ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the ambiance. We ordered the scallops to share. I had the corn & crab chowder and he had a salad. We each ordered an entree and shared with each other. Great way to go because everything is so tasty!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Our evening dinner at Zins was amazing on all counts, service, food, atmosphere & quality.

Cant wait to go back and try the brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Before the Paramount Show.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Good location for events downtown. We had an excellent dinner and good service from Shannon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, first class service. Have tr ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food, first class service. Have travelled to Cedar many times and only find this gem on what is likely my last visit. Great wine selection to accompany a good variety of different sized plates topped off with friendly, good humoured and efficient staff. Thank you Shannon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I enjoy going to this restaurant every t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2016

I enjoy going to this restaurant every time I'm in CR. Nice ambiance, friendly staff and generally very good. This time not so great. Restaurant week apparently and we all did the fixed menu. Food was cool and the strip steak was real chewy. Desert was great though. Service, good and waiter sooooooooooooo Attentive. Anyway, I do think this is a great restaurant choice for CR and I must have hit it on an unusual night. Would definitely still recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

More to offer

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 2, 2016

I wish there were more allergy friendly options but overall very nice and will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

OK place,, service need to be better....

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was good..... the server was slow..

I would say this place location is great.. but they need to invest in improving the service...

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good dessert. Amazing service.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 1, 2016

Though the food was bland (aside from the fries and the dessert, which were phenomenal) the service was stellar. I would go there again just for the great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Should the food be cold or hot?

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Maybe my pork chop was supposed to be served cold. Or, maybe it got cold because it took too much time to cut it up into small pieces and position them on the plate just right and arrange the garnish on top. If that's the case, I'd rather have it hot and cut it myself. The meat was literally room temperature, like it had been sitting out for a half hour.

Funny thing is there was hardly anyone in the restaurant at the time, so it's not like the kitchen was slammed. I was going to ask if they had a microwave to heat it back up, but I had eaten 80% by the time the waitress came back to the table to check on us, and I was getting used to eating cold pork chop by that point.

I'd rather pay $10 for a hot "whole" pork chop somewhere else than $25 for a cold one already cut up and dressed pretty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was great, the staff was attent ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great, the staff was attentive; couldn't have asked for a better place to spend the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A splendid evening!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We enjoyed our valentines meal with Zin's! Bonnie treated us wonderfully, she is one of our favorites! The entire staff at Zin's is committed to making evenings special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Adult Night Out

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Zin's is our go to when we want a kid free special occasion dining experience.

We love the atmosphere and the service. We love that we can get dressed up fancy if we want too, Or come casual.

The drinks are always flowing and the food is ALWAYS to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always happy with Zins

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Couldn't ask for better service. They make you feel special and are very considerate about your exspierence. Will always recommend...we'll stop in even if we're not eating just for a drink and conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They could have served more drinks if th ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2016

They could have served more drinks if they came around more. I also think it is pricey for what you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Zins needs some work

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 16, 2016

I really wanted to like Zins, but it disappointed for a bunch of reasons -- indifferent wait staff, mediocre food, slow service. Here we go ...

  1. My wife and I had reservations. At first they wanted to put us at a table right by the door (VERY cold night so not really an option). So they put us at another table, and that was great. The waitress completely ignored us for 15 minutes (even taking orders and chatting up people seated AFTER us). Finally the very nice hostess pitched in by taking our order to the kitchen. Eventually the waitress came by, but I'm not really sure why.

  2. I ordered 3 of their "small plates." The first (cucumber salad) was basically a lettuce salad (some rather wilted) with two small shavings of cucumber. The dressing wasn't even mixed in, rather it was just plopped underneath the salad.

  3. My Mac and Cheese was good; my wife's basil fettuccine tasted oddly like the pesto came from a jar -- very disappointing.

  4. We had to cancel our last dishes. The first two took 75 minutes and we had to get to the opera (La Traviata, which was very nice).

All in all, I would likely not return to Zins until they hire more and better wait staff, pay greater attention to the food they're serving, and serve the food in a more timely manner. As it stands, the physical environment of the restaurant is nice, but the food is sorely lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Zins

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 9, 2016

I loved the atmosphere in Zins. My food was good and the service was great. I will return for sure especially for those pommes frites!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.