Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Zingerman's Roadhouse

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (94)
Local Ingredients (91)
Casual (90)
See All
Fit for Foodies (79)
Fun (60)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Worth the Drive (57)
Great for Brunch (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Great for Lunch (51)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Good Vegetarian Options (45)
Kid-friendly (44)
Authentic (44)
Cozy (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Great Beer (33)
Organic (31)
Gluten Free Options (31)
Family Style (28)
Healthy (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Business Meals (20)
Seasonal (18)
People Watching (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Vegan (7)
Private Room (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fireplace (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Zingermans continues its tradition of excellent food made with mostly locally sourced ingredients at a not unreasonable price. It's great family dining, with good seating both indoors and out. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall excellent experience. Zingerman's never seems to disappoint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent smoked meats. Friendly, professional service.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place - good for events and business meals. A gem in Ann Arbor!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a pleasant experience. Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food, fantastic and welcoming service

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Food in a casual setting. Very knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fried chicken and breaded tenderloin were overcooked and fries were greasy. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Eater brunch at the Roadhouse. Great food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was delicious but pricey. The portions were adequate.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food here is great, no argument. My only complaint is the pricing, which is awfully high. $19 for a BBQ beef sandwich with about 5 or 6 ounces of beef and some fries is just too high. A brownie sundae with a 2" X 2" brownie and a teeny tiny scoop of vanilla ice cream, maybe 6 teaspoons of ice cream, is $8.50. An average dinner without alcohol is going to run you $60 or more. For a place with "Roadhouse" in it's name it simply too much. Nothing wrong with the food and the service is ok, provided you're not in a real rush. I just don't see what a place can do to mac & cheese to make it $15, even adding a few bits of fried chicken to it doesn't really warrant the cost. Shave $10 off every menu item and the place is 5 star. I realize Ann Arbor is an expensive city, but this place probably couldn't make it at these prices virtually anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place for brunch! We sat on their patio and had bloody Mary's and mimosas. Everyone enjoyed their food! They accommodate larger groups really well, we were able to split our check across many of us (10 person group)! I would recommend making a reservation, especially on the weekends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent all around, as always. Swordfish was amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Don't sit in the 'patio'. My coat still smells like brisket...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Just never have had a bad visit here. always spot on. we come up from Toledo to eat here once a month. mac and cheese to die for. Fried chicken beyond belief. brunch menu very creative. smoked meats are killer. And holy hell. Gotta share a donut sundae before you leave!! 10 stars even if normally 5 is the max! Beyond love this place. be sure to secure a reservation on line thru Open Table. then u don't have to wait!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Casual, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Scheduled the reservation less than 24 hours before and had no issues. Service is always top notch, got to introduce some friends to the Roadhouse, also a favorite for non-local visitors and local Ann Arbor residents alike.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Awe come up to Ann Arbor once a month. we eat at the roadhouse almost every time. food is awesome. mac and cheese great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Can't beat Zingermans. Always the best ingredients, great number
If choices.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 4, 2017

SO DELICIOUS. The breakfast was On Point! Honestly - order the bacon skillet. Just do it! :) Thank you Zing!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Like many places in Ann Arbor, this place is skating by on name recognition and people's association with that name's supposed quality, despite it being mediocre at best. I was with a party of six, everyone was underwhelmed by their food. Our server had a strange tendency to take one person's order and then walk away, leaving the rest of the table to continue their order upon her eventual return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. We both had versions of the redfish and it was delicious, as were the sides. Great beer menu as well.

Cheerful and friendly servers.

The room (a side room) was noisy due to 2 large groups but it wasn't a problem. The server offered complimentary desserts to make up for the noise which was very nice.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Not sure why the Roadhouse is so popular, but it was packed. The service was mediocre. The food was disappointing - not served hot (hence the poor service rating), the food just wasn't special, and the portion sizes did not justify the prices. I will not be back - such a disappointment from the Zingerman's brand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great menu. We had 6 people and all can get what they want. Everyone had a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent place to get together for a nice occasion. The food is casual but the atmosphere and quality are next level. Great restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was a special occasion and I asked for a special gluten free item by calling a few days ahead. They were happy to accommodate, and did. We were treated really really well by all. The waitperson Sharon was outstanding. The only downer was that they no longer take Open Table Rewards.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I was hoping the French Fries would be hot and fresh. They were cold and not piping hot. My spinach was garlicky and disappointing. Grilled fish was delicious. The tomato soup was boring and expensive.
I was surprised they served reheated challah that tastes dried out like day old bread!
We will try it again and order more carefully.
Server was busy. She could have used help.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was a return visit to Zingerman's after a not-so-great experience. Our server, Erika, made this trip! She was super attentive and provided fantastic recommendations. Our dinner selections tasted good, but something was "off" about each course. Except the Boston Cream pie, this was perfect!

I think I like the idea of Zingerman's (local sourced, natural, good food) more than the actual execution. Overall, 4 out of 5 stars for me.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My friend and I had a great time - conversing with each other and eating wonderful food and enjoying the Roadhouse servers and clientele.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Organic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome....as always! Only ever experience breakfast. Waffle and sausage. The best!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We go to the roadhouse for brunch at least once a month - so I clearly enjoy it enough to return often. The food there is always superb, but the brunch is especially superior. The restaurant is very popular for brunch on the weekends, so making a reservation is key - and they will accept same day reservations. This time our waiter remembered us - the waitstaff are always very friendly and just the right amount of attentive (no hovering). The restaurant has seating in several different rooms so the noise level never gets out of hand. The entree's are often large enough that you can split them. My significant other and I split the biscuits and sorghum to start and then the eggs Benedict entree and we both ended up happily full. They have a unique and delicious take on eggs Benedict and we order it often! They even kindly split the entree onto two plates for us - we didn't even think to ask. When we mentioned that we've really enjoyed the hot sauce and could we purchase some - the waiter brought us a recipe card so we could make our own at home.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Terrific BBQ and other tasty comfort food. Zingerman's always delivers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In my mind, Zingerman's Roadhouse is gourmet comfort food. After living in the SE for decades, coming north to find country food in upscale restaurants was a surprise.

My wife got a deep-friend whole pompano, and for some odd reason I got spiced elk, just because. The pompano was fantastic, and I have to admit the spiced elk was quite good, too.

We also had what we were told was a bar food in Quebec: poudines. These were french fries and cheese curds covered with beef gravy. Sounds weird, but I'd get them again.

I recommend the place, though maybe not on a weekly basis.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a little to noisy for us but the food quality and service were superb as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good stuff! Zingerman's never fails to impress. Excellent service. Solid menu. So worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had a terrific meal on Friday, March 17 at Zingerman's Roadhouse! I wanted to go somewhere where I could eat traditional Irish food, but really didn't want to get in on all the drinking hoopla that goes on. I chose the Roadhouse because they offered the Irish food I was looking for. Their corn beef and cabbage was wonderful! I really enjoyed every bite. One of the best things that the Roadhouse offers are small bite desserts. Whenever I eat a large meal out, I usually do not have any room left for dessert even though I love it! Zingerman's has two small options and the one I had was fantastic. It had an unusual name so I don't remember it, but it was chocolate ganache on top of chocolate chiffon cake with a wonderful chocolate mousse infused with rum and a bottom layer of chocolate chiffon cake and ganache. What an incredible small bite! It was a perfect way to end a delicious meal! I have never been disappointed with any meal I've had at the Roadhouse. Thank you Zingerman's!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was amazing for me but my husband order turkey sandwich did not like it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Try the elk steaks!! They are AWESOME!! We love the Thursday special with pulled pork,greens, and mashed potatoes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A very nice place to go with family, kid friendly, great service, great food. Works also for date nights and lunch.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Was really great service and attempt to accomodate our food restrictions. It was very noisy though with screaming children.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.