About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: 7346633663x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Restaurant Photos

Prosciutto, Mozzarella And Red Pepper Sandwich
Zzang! Original Bar
Fried Chicken Mac and Cheese
Caesar Salad
Pit-Smoked Bbq Beef Sandwich
Zzang! Bar Shake
Carbonara Macaroni
The Roadhouse Reuben
Bacon, Egg & Cheese In A Bagel
New York Piperade Steak
Bleu Cheese And Bacon Salad
Catfish
fried chicken
Pork Entree
Bacon Steak
Pulled Beef Sandwich

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
3 More
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Fit for Foodies (156)
Good for Groups (116)
Kid-friendly (108)
See All
Great for Lunch (105)
Great for Brunch (102)
Special Occasion (96)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Hot Spot (47)
Notable Wine List (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overpriced and low quality and small ser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 2 days ago

Overpriced and low quality and small serving size. . $26.00 for fish & chips served with burnt fries. $32.00 for salmon that wasn't cooked completely along with dried up pea pods when it was suppose to be green beans.

Meals came out very quickly but waited 15minutes for our check and then another 15 for the check to be picked up. It was a Sunday at 5:30 and a third of the room was empty so it wasn't like they were extremely busy.

I opted for veggies instead mashed potato because of the calories. I was given a bag of pastries for my trouble of the undercooked salmon. Well thanks!!!

When seated I mentioned that the water glass was dirty because it had a white rim all the way around about a third of the way up from the bottom. The hostess thanked me for being so observant BUT it wasn't dirty just scaling. Well get new water glasses because it wasn't very appealing to be seated and the first thing you see were the disgusting glasses.

We won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Took about 1 hour to get our meal after ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Took about 1 hour to get our meal after ordering it on a Saturday night. Sliders way over cooked.

Restrooms are filthy and smelly. Implies dirty place overall.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

It did not live up to my expectations! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 3 days ago

It did not live up to my expectations! When you walk in the door and see the James Beard nominations you expect quality. All of the food was too salty, the mac and cheese was greasy and there were way too many flies for a restaurant in the US.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I've had good meals at the roadhouse, bu ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've had good meals at the roadhouse, but it's inconsistent. I took 3 guests for a birthday, the server was friendly.

Our mussels were very small creatures, sauce was good, bread delicious.

One guest ordered Salisbury steak medium, but it was rare. He ordered a garden salad with tomatoes but got a Ceasar salad which was exchanged for garden salad but still without tomatoes. Overall ok but not up to Roadhouse standards.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We LOVE Zingerman's and eat there every ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We LOVE Zingerman's and eat there every time we are in town visiting family. Our service has always been exceptional outside of this last visit. While the server was not very attentive until my sister pointed out to him that we felt the service was lacking, we have to assume that is a one off experience. My experience with the staff there the week before on a previous trip was amazing. So amazing that after a long day, I was blown away by how gracious the bartender was in giving me his time and conversation/suggestions.

We live in Georgia but have been in Michigan a LOT over the last month. We eat at one of the Zingerman's locations once a day when we are there. We also are Ari "disciples". His business philosophy and passion are unmatched in our eyes.

Don't miss the non-alc cocktails, the macaroni and cheeses, or the coffee rubbed fish. (The next morning we got breakfast burritos at the drive thru. Holy Cow. I didn't know someone could make a breakfast burrito that was sooooo delicious.)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Organic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Overall it was a great experience. It t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Overall it was a great experience. It took a little while to be seen once we were sat, such that my boyfriend was getting irritated. Once we saw our server she was friendly and answered all of our questions well. I ordered a cheeseburger medium rare. I'm not someone who sends food back but when I cut into it, it was most definitely barely rare. I sent it back and the staff was very apologetic, they brought me a new burger and it was delicious and cooked just right. I was offered more fries and and was given a complimentary pastry which was also delicious. What started out a little rocky was made up for and the food really was delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great choices for paleo eaters. Had a lo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great choices for paleo eaters. Had a lovely wine and beer with food. Wait staff is always great.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The bad - whitefish was dry. The good ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The bad - whitefish was dry.

The good - fried green tomatoes, poutine among the highlights. Service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken and ribs came highly recom ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fried chicken and ribs came highly recommended. Ribs were good. Fried chicken was really mediocre at best. Mac and cheese was good. Peach pie was also ok. Pudding was really great. Quality of ingredients is there, maybe we ordered wrong but nothing was a standout. We were really excited to go to Zingerman's and left underwhelmed. Also, it's expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I took my College-bound Grandson there f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I took my College-bound Grandson there for brunch. It is his favorite spot for breakfast items. In fact, he ordered 2 items: Eggs Benedict and the Corned Beef hash dish! The food is really good and I love the combinations that are available. Brian, our waiter, was exceptional....friendly, attentive and very professional. Having been a waitress during College, I was in a position to recognize "great" service! Thanks for a wonderful visit as I bid my Grandson "Adios" as he begins his college years. We enjoyed our "date" together!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server was great. He made sure we ar ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The server was great. He made sure we are happy with the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were excellent.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, James, didn't make the exper ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our server, James, didn't make the experience very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

I did not like sitting in the bar area, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I did not like sitting in the bar area, however it turned out nice. Had gluten free waffles.

Service was good in the beginning but our beverage glasses were empty for quite a while, she made up for it by offering us togo beverages knowing we were from out of town and getting back on the road. Busy and loud, but that's to be expected from a roadhouse!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food was amazing and never disappoints b ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

food was amazing and never disappoints but unfortunately this time our service was not as good as normal. didn't pick up our plates when done, had a long wait for drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We come to Ann Arbor for business every ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We come to Ann Arbor for business every year for a week. We hit Zingermans at least 3 times during that week!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the food. Not good ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Not good for heart healthy eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Come here if you've had a bad day and wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Come here if you've had a bad day and want to drown yourself in beer and comfort food; do not come here if you want to eat anything healthy. The sweet potato fries and pulled pork sandwich were insane - would recommend, A++. The bread that they bring at the beginning of the meal is also stupid delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Everyone said we had to go to Zingerman' ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everyone said we had to go to Zingerman's while in Ann Arbor for a family reunion. We chose the Roadhouse as opposed to the deli. Great oysters and real Maryland crab cakes ( I'm from Md so I know the real thing). Fabulous salt and pepper collection is the main decoration. Kitschy but fun. Great service from very personable wait staff. Everyone was right: Zingerman's is a must see and go place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent....but I expected nothing less ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent....but I expected nothing less from the group

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was nice atmosphere and loved that al ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was nice atmosphere and loved that all appears to be made from scratch and lots of gluten free options. It is over priced for portion size and my food was over cooked. Might have just been an off night for cook. Shouldn't charge so much extra for a slice of gluten free bread when bread comes with the meal. It smells amazing in the restaurant so maybe I just made a poor selection on food. Would possibly try again but not sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The noise level makes it difficult to ca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The noise level makes it difficult to carry on a conversation without shouting. We also moved over from a family of very noisy children but the acoustics are bad. Normally I try to meet with people in the morning before it gets crowded. The salad was okay but the tomatoes tasted and looked like they were from GFS and not local. Still don't like the Roadhouse rye.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My friend an I had only heard great thin ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My friend an I had only heard great things and were very underwhelmed. The bread basket was good... but our service was terrible. We waited much longer than at other restaurants and our apps came out at the same time as our main course. We definitely weren't a priority. The mac and cheese was not great, especially considering that a bowl of it was $15. The cheese was kind of grainy. I did like the pimento cheese. The crab cakes were very tiny and not all that good. The restaurant was only half full and it took 1.5 hours to get out of there, mostly because no one was coming by our table. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had heard a lot about this restaurant ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had heard a lot about this restaurant but were very disappointed. Very noisy and the food was very disappointing. Nothing special. We didn't get exactly what we ordered but didn't have time to send it back. Our waiter was o.k. but I think the menu is high priced for the quality of food that we had. Onions rings were very greasy!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We have never been disappointed with the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have never been disappointed with the Roadhouse fare or service. Remember to make a reservation any day of the week. It's just too good a place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the ribs, wish they had an option w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love the ribs, wish they had an option without BBQ sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Zingerman's roadhouse so w ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

First time at Zingerman's roadhouse so was not familiar with the setting and how it works. We did not know we might sit outside - the hostess never asked whether we wanted inside or outside seating. Had to get the manager involved and while it was not too hot outside, we did not want to sit there ( and decided not to wait for an inside table). The manager was apologetic, provided a complimentary appetizer, but the point is that they should ask you when you enter the door whether you want inside or outside seating - that is what restaurants normally do.

The food was good except for the pulled pork - too much fat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Overall, the entire experience was super ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall, the entire experience was superb as usual. My only regret was that the meal I and a couple of others ordered was not as good as in the past. My fried chicken breast was fried very dark and had a slight burnt taste and the Roadhouse Mac and cheese was runny and lacked the depth of flavor I've usually had there. I did not have the chance to mention it to the server as I got busy hosting the get together. It did not spoil the experience but was a bit disappointing as I had thought about it for a couple of days beforehand. Normally it is an exceptional combo.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was by far the worst visit! Don't g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was by far the worst visit! Don't get me wrong. We love this place! We had a reservation. Seated immediately! Our wait staff was overwhelmed. Because they were so busy we understood. Food was frigging great as it always is. Just seemed to take forever to get attention to refill drinks clear the table etc..

We love this place. We drive from Toledo once a month! Nothing will change. Be back next month. Hopefully we will be overwhelmed with all of it again. I know we will! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Like always, Zingerman's provides a mode ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Like always, Zingerman's provides a model of service not only for the restaurant industry, but for all business. They are the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations are recommended as it is ve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Reservations are recommended as it is very busy during prime dining hours. Staff is friendly and knowledgable. I have never had anything below superb from the menu therefore I am confident anything new or different I order will be good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good barbeque with a variety of differen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good barbeque with a variety of different sauces to choose from. Would highly recommend making reservations as wait can be over an hour without them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very disappointing- greasy, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was very disappointing- greasy, too salty. The sauce for the macaroni was runny. I ate here several years ago and loved it- the food then was delicious and fresh. What a change for the worse. I don't understand it. Would not recommend eating here at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time having brunch with a fr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a great time having brunch with a friend from LA. Had to bring them here as this is the place to be! Food was delish and can't wait to come back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Today, while everything was great, the f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Today, while everything was great, the fried green tomatoes appetizer was my favorite dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was OK, nothing spectacular, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was OK, nothing spectacular, nothing terrible.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

fabulous brunch!! excellent coffee, exce ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

fabulous brunch!! excellent coffee, excellent food, excellent service!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stop by the Roadhouse whenever we're ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We stop by the Roadhouse whenever we're passing through Ann Arbor. Zingermann's deli and associated businesses aren't cheap, but they're tasty and a great example of unpretentious, farm to table food. Our server, as usual, was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and specials, and had great suggestions. You can't go wrong with the seasonal items like the heirloom tomato salad and fried green tomatoes!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place. I was a first time visitor ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place. I was a first time visitor. Found this place on yelp. I have been to the deli but did not know the Roadhouse existed. Great find. I like the diverse menu. The menu had great variety that offered choices for smaller appetite to larger appetite. The desert menu was scrumptious. The serving sizes were great. The taste of the food was yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter really dropped the ball and t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waiter really dropped the ball and totally disappeared for more than 15 minutes after we finished eating the entre. Could not order desert or another round of drinks .. We were a table of 8 in the main dining area so it wasn't like we blended into the wall. Finally had to flag down one of the supervisors to get things moving. Then we had an 18% gratuity automatically tacked onto the bill even though the service sucked.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.