About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: 7346633663x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Restaurant Photos

Prosciutto, Mozzarella And Red Pepper Sandwich
Zzang! Original Bar
Fried Chicken Mac and Cheese
Caesar Salad
Pit-Smoked Bbq Beef Sandwich
Zzang! Bar Shake
Carbonara Macaroni
The Roadhouse Reuben
Bacon, Egg & Cheese In A Bagel
Bleu Cheese And Bacon Salad
Catfish
fried chicken
Pork Entree
New York Piperade Steak
Bacon Steak
Pulled Beef Sandwich

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Great for Lunch
Ann Arbor
Neighborhood Gem
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Fit for Foodies (141)
Good for Groups (108)
Kid-friendly (99)
See All
Great for Brunch (95)
Great for Lunch (93)
Special Occasion (88)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Hot Spot (44)
Comfort Food (23)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Family Style (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fun (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Organic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were sat outside without being asked ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were sat outside without being asked which was fine but I smelled like smoke the rest of the day after a 45 minute lunch. My Dexter Reuben was dry and my friends burger was tastelsss and almost like a big ball inside the bun. Server was good though and our Mac and cheese was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We had a nice brunch at Zingerman's Road ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a nice brunch at Zingerman's Roadhouse. They were out of the French Toast I ordered, so I had a Belgian Waffle instead - which, at $9, seemed expensive considering it was literally just one normal sized waffle and nothing else - and it wasn't really anything special. The service was outstanding, however.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food quality is very good, but the b ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food quality is very good, but the breakfast preparation is uneven. Toast is never toasted, always just warmed. Sometimes the scrambled eggs are perfect, sometimes greasy, sometimes runny. Bacon ordered crisp was barely cooked, and sometimes is just fine. There is no continuity.

Service is out of this world great. Everyone is friendly, knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservation was for 7:45 but didn't get ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Reservation was for 7:45 but didn't get out of the game until 7:30. Called to change time and was given an 8:30 seating with no issues at all. Arrived at 8:30 and was seated right away, even though they were telling walk-in's that it would be an hour wait. Great food, friendly staff, would recommend eating here.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The crab cakes were amazing! But disappo ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The crab cakes were amazing! But disappointed that there were only 2 fairly small ones for the price. If you like butterscotch pudding, get it for sure, it's delicious. Very casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great before footballmsmdmejdjdjdjdjdjdj ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great before footballmsmdmejdjdjdjdjdjdjdhdhehdhdhehehdhdhehehdhdhdhdhe

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the years I have found the Roadhous ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Over the years I have found the Roadhouse to run very hot and cold. I have had great meals there, but they have been mingled with less than stellar experiences, ranging from food to service issues. On this occasion I ordered handmade corn dogs and sweet potato fries. They were served fairly quickly, but neither were particularly hot or crispy. Corn dog batter was decidedly mushy/soft.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Sat on the patio on a beautiful day, gre ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Sat on the patio on a beautiful day, great food and ambience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible, greasy , no stra ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was terrible, greasy , no straw was provided and we got drink in ditty glasses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Collard greens with bacon and smoked ham ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Collard greens with bacon and smoked ham hocks was the closest to the "real deal" that I've ever had in a restaurant. Butterscotch pudding from scratch, the bread that they make and serve at dinner is a meal in itself. I made sure they included the leftover bread in my doggie bag. Wait staff is laid back and knowledgeable at all things Zingerman.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Organic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Horrible. Our waitress disappeared. Fo ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Horrible. Our waitress disappeared. Food came out wrong. Then my correct food was over cooked. Had to wait for a third meal to arrive. Went and got the manager for drink refills and then for our check. Not near what I had expected! Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value5

Our server wasn't very attentive, she ki ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our server wasn't very attentive, she kind of forgot about us I think. We were a party of 4, 2 of our entrees the sides were not warm, my steak was perfect and warm but mashed potatoes and green beans were pretty much cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

You can be sure you're going to eat well ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

You can be sure you're going to eat well when you visit Zingerman's Roadhouse. I highly recommend the mac and cheese, as well as the unbelievable butterscotch pudding that was recommended by our fantastic waiter, James. Seriously, order the pudding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food as usual.

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Beer was good. Pulled chicken was cold. ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Beer was good. Pulled chicken was cold. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Zing is an Ann Arbor iconic restaurant, ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Zing is an Ann Arbor iconic restaurant, Ari one of the owners serves water to his guests, the food is absolutely fun and tasty! The staff from back and front of house is excellent !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel from Brighton about once a mon ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We travel from Brighton about once a month. Love the ribs and home style southern cooking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've gone here pretty often over the la ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We've gone here pretty often over the last few years - I've never really authored a review on the place. My wife and kids love it, but maybe I'm a little easier to please but initially I felt like I could take it or leave it. The food is great, but a bit pricey for what you get.

This past week we had a great experience there, and that has been the pattern lately. Our server was great, the food was excellent. Again the tab kind of hits you at the end, but at this point they have been so consistently great that I know we will continue to go without hesitation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was extraordinary.

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it at Zingerman's Roadhouse! My fa ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Love it at Zingerman's Roadhouse! My favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! Great service and outstanding foo ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great! Great service and outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is always superb! The waitstaff ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service is always superb! The waitstaff was very solicitous of my friend's first visit and let her sample some beers so that she could choose one. Very impressive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite breakfast spots and ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of our favorite breakfast spots and they take reservations. Servers are friendly and chatty but need to be conscious of the other 4 tables waiting to give them their orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic as always

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

How is the Roadhouse? Answer, it's alway ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

How is the Roadhouse? Answer, it's always great, educated waitstaff, enthusiastic expediters and very capable kitchen staff. My trout was grilled to perfection and delicious! So many creative things on the menu which changes daily. Wished I lived closer, but well worth the ride and your time to try Zingermans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been celebrating special occasio ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We have been celebrating special occasions at The Roadhouse for years - never disappointed.

We had a great server named Nancy who was so kind to us - and so professional! Lovely party for my friend's birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced and low quality and small ser ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overpriced and low quality and small serving size. . $26.00 for fish & chips served with burnt fries. $32.00 for salmon that wasn't cooked completely along with dried up pea pods when it was suppose to be green beans.

Meals came out very quickly but waited 15minutes for our check and then another 15 for the check to be picked up. It was a Sunday at 5:30 and a third of the room was empty so it wasn't like they were extremely busy.

I opted for veggies instead mashed potato because of the calories. I was given a bag of pastries for my trouble of the undercooked salmon. Well thanks!!!

When seated I mentioned that the water glass was dirty because it had a white rim all the way around about a third of the way up from the bottom. The hostess thanked me for being so observant BUT it wasn't dirty just scaling. Well get new water glasses because it wasn't very appealing to be seated and the first thing you see were the disgusting glasses.

We won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Unique menu, always. This is a favorite ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Unique menu, always. This is a favorite of ours when visiting U Mich.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took about 1 hour to get our meal after ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Took about 1 hour to get our meal after ordering it on a Saturday night. Sliders way over cooked.

Restrooms are filthy and smelly. Implies dirty place overall.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

The food is great and so is the service. ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is great and so is the service. I likes that it was not samo samo but that there were interesting choices. The flavor of my half chicken was delicious. Definitely a place to take friends.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It did not live up to my expectations! ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It did not live up to my expectations! When you walk in the door and see the James Beard nominations you expect quality. All of the food was too salty, the mac and cheese was greasy and there were way too many flies for a restaurant in the US.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I've had good meals at the roadhouse, bu ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I've had good meals at the roadhouse, but it's inconsistent. I took 3 guests for a birthday, the server was friendly.

Our mussels were very small creatures, sauce was good, bread delicious.

One guest ordered Salisbury steak medium, but it was rare. He ordered a garden salad with tomatoes but got a Ceasar salad which was exchanged for garden salad but still without tomatoes. Overall ok but not up to Roadhouse standards.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We LOVE Zingerman's and eat there every ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We LOVE Zingerman's and eat there every time we are in town visiting family. Our service has always been exceptional outside of this last visit. While the server was not very attentive until my sister pointed out to him that we felt the service was lacking, we have to assume that is a one off experience. My experience with the staff there the week before on a previous trip was amazing. So amazing that after a long day, I was blown away by how gracious the bartender was in giving me his time and conversation/suggestions.

We live in Georgia but have been in Michigan a LOT over the last month. We eat at one of the Zingerman's locations once a day when we are there. We also are Ari "disciples". His business philosophy and passion are unmatched in our eyes.

Don't miss the non-alc cocktails, the macaroni and cheeses, or the coffee rubbed fish. (The next morning we got breakfast burritos at the drive thru. Holy Cow. I didn't know someone could make a breakfast burrito that was sooooo delicious.)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Organic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Overall it was a great experience. It t ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Overall it was a great experience. It took a little while to be seen once we were sat, such that my boyfriend was getting irritated. Once we saw our server she was friendly and answered all of our questions well. I ordered a cheeseburger medium rare. I'm not someone who sends food back but when I cut into it, it was most definitely barely rare. I sent it back and the staff was very apologetic, they brought me a new burger and it was delicious and cooked just right. I was offered more fries and and was given a complimentary pastry which was also delicious. What started out a little rocky was made up for and the food really was delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great choices for paleo eaters. Had a lo ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great choices for paleo eaters. Had a lovely wine and beer with food. Wait staff is always great.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The bad - whitefish was dry. The good ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The bad - whitefish was dry.

The good - fried green tomatoes, poutine among the highlights. Service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken and ribs came highly recom ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fried chicken and ribs came highly recommended. Ribs were good. Fried chicken was really mediocre at best. Mac and cheese was good. Peach pie was also ok. Pudding was really great. Quality of ingredients is there, maybe we ordered wrong but nothing was a standout. We were really excited to go to Zingerman's and left underwhelmed. Also, it's expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I took my College-bound Grandson there f ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I took my College-bound Grandson there for brunch. It is his favorite spot for breakfast items. In fact, he ordered 2 items: Eggs Benedict and the Corned Beef hash dish! The food is really good and I love the combinations that are available. Brian, our waiter, was exceptional....friendly, attentive and very professional. Having been a waitress during College, I was in a position to recognize "great" service! Thanks for a wonderful visit as I bid my Grandson "Adios" as he begins his college years. We enjoyed our "date" together!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server was great. He made sure we ar ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The server was great. He made sure we are happy with the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were excellent.

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.