About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (87)
Comfort Food (86)
Casual (79)
See All
Fit for Foodies (74)
Worth the Drive (58)
Great for Brunch (54)
Good for Groups (53)
Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for a Date (48)
Authentic (47)
Fun (46)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Kid-friendly (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good Vegetarian Options (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great Beer (30)
Cozy (29)
Healthy (25)
Seasonal (25)
Family Style (24)
Business Meals (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Organic (23)
Gluten Free Options (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Afternoon Coffee (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (9)
Vegan (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fireplace (5)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Historic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, but really incredible servic ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Great food, but really incredible service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food but even better service. We l ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Great food but even better service. We loved the brunch menu and our waitress was awesome!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of town guests ask to go here everyt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Out of town guests ask to go here everytime they are in town.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A group of our team members went to wish ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

A group of our team members went to wish one of the group farewell. We had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the food. It was tasty, and the servings were nice sized.

A great place to share a special time with friends or family.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a random stop, our first time t ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a random stop, our first time there and it was very, very good food & the service was amazing! We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top notch, even on a holiday! Don't hes ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Top notch, even on a holiday! Don't hesitate to dine here, we've never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day is always a tricky night ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day is always a tricky night for dinner, but it actually wasn't crazy busy. The Valentine's menu is awesome and I will again wait a year to eat the crab salad (crab, avocado, capers, yum). The lobster pot pie was super rich and I probably should have balanced my seafood better. The champaign was a perfect compliment to this delicious meal. My daughter had a classic cheeseburger and fries, which too was a great compliment to my meal ;). There was a large group in the room where we were eating, but the serving staff did not miss a beat! Our food was timely and they were expertly attentive.

Another great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been going to Zingerman's now fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to Zingerman's now for 4 years worth of anniversarys and we absolutely love it. The menu can be a bit on the pricier side, however if you are a foodie, it is SO worth it! The staff is great, the food is great, the drinks are awesome! We LOVE going here and will go many times more in our future!! THANK YOU ZINGERMANS!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Roadhouse. It took a while to ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the Roadhouse. It took a while to get the hang of it- it is expensive compared to other places at least partly because they use premium ingredients entirely, provide incredible service, modify or create whatever in a friendly, even neighborhoody way. To entirely enjoy your meal, I would suggest giving up on economy (or plan on it being 2x what you thought and then be happy it's a bit less) and just have what you want. That was the main thing I had to adjust to but love the place and the people. Wine list could use some work if you care about that. Cocktails and beers are great however.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous all around!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fabulous all around!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a group of 10 to celebrate my wife ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I had a group of 10 to celebrate my wife's b-day. All was great except the roof mounted heater in the sun-room/patio was frying my scalp. I was asking for the heat to be turned off while other diners were complaining it was too cold. I could not enjoy fully my celebration.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our table was ready within 5 minutes of ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our table was ready within 5 minutes of arriving while the wait for walk-ins was 40 plus minutes. Heidi was a great server and even though she was obviously very busy. Food was very good and the portions were just right. Of course the lovely bread that they brought before lunch helped.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Zingerman's is a favorite of mine mainly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Zingerman's is a favorite of mine mainly because of the quality and freshness of the food served. The service is unparalleled in the respect that although not always perfect, the employees care about your experience, your food choice and how to enhance your visit. Whether helping you find an amazing food or drink (my favorites are mac and cheese, sweet potato fries, BBQ, corn dogs, calamari, sea scallops, smashed potatoes, and the list goes on....) or telling you the history of the rice you're eating, the meal is delicious, fun, and unpretentious. Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything from start to finish was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything from start to finish was great, and we will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, would come back again!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, would come back again!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great as usual, but the service ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great as usual, but the service was very slow on Saturday night. It took an excessive amount of time between the appetizers & entrees. I asked the server if they could speed up the kids meals b/c we had 2 kids on the verge of melting down, but she did not. In fact, she went to another table immediately after we spoke and talked to them for awhile. I don't know if she had too many tables or what the issue was. The service was a disappointment to everyone at the table--particularly for a place that charges as much as the Roadhouse does.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Zingerman's never disappoints. However a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Zingerman's never disappoints. However at this business breakfast, the noise level was a little too high from the neighboring table. The waitress helped navigate the menu for a Paleo water and it worked out, but it would be great to see more such options on the menu (no cheese and turkey bacon would be fantastic).

Going again? You betcha!

Tags: Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good. My son bacon Ma ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was very good. My son bacon Mac and cheese. I had BBQ beef with mashed potatoes and greens with bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The sweet potato fries were awesome! Als ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The sweet potato fries were awesome! Also really enjoyed the kale/pinenut/dried cherry salad.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service for Sunday brunch! Th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent service for Sunday brunch! The best service I've had in a year.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch at Zingerman's never disappoi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The brunch at Zingerman's never disappoints!! It our favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor. The staff is always warm and friendly. The menu always has something new and delicious to try.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent across the board, fro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent across the board, from the sweet potato fries appetizer to the steak and fish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Zingerman's Roadhouse se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been to Zingerman's Roadhouse several times, and this was the first time we had a negative experience. We had reservations for my husband's birthday, but we didn't feel comfortable taking our time as they seemed in a great rush to get us out the door, the hostess checking our table more than once to see if we were done. The meal, which is normally the highlight, was very disappointing. The BBQ pork had several large chunks of fat in it, and even with that, it seemed scantier than usual. They got my husband's order wrong and gave him the wrong side dish. I am so disappointed that we celebrated his birthday there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great experience. Our waiter took great ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience. Our waiter took great care of us and made sure that we had a memorable visit. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area looking for something special.

Tags: Authentic, , Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We lived in Ann Arbor 5 years ago, and w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We lived in Ann Arbor 5 years ago, and were frequent visitors. Last weekend we had to drive to Detroit, and would be passing through Ann Arbor on the way so decided to stop at the Roadhouse. Food was great as always, although service was a bit under par. Worth the drive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had a wonder time in a date for my boyfr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a wonder time in a date for my boyfriend who really appreciates food !

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Roadhouse to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went to the Roadhouse to celebrate our daughters 15th birthday. Ari spoke at her high school last month, and she was very impressed with him, she thinks it is great how responsible he is as a business man,( having the farm, and gmo free produce, and antibiotic, steroid free meat.) The environment was great, we sat in the closed in patio. It smelled fantastic :) our service was great, a very knowledgeable server, she also described ingredients, and flavors very well. The price was very high, but our daughter was very happy all around.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food and service!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and the service was s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was wonderful and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Have been there several times and the fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been there several times and the food has always been excellent, they have the best Mac and cheese and baked goods. It is busy and noisy, definitely use open table to avoid a long wait.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Organic, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food, drinks, and service was excell ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food, drinks, and service was excellent. The side room we were sat in was a little chilly, but it wasn't a deal breaker.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Saturday afternoon was a delight, Zinger ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Saturday afternoon was a delight, Zingermans Roadhouse is always a favorite and didn't disappoint we enjoyed oysters, a pastrami special sandwhich which was amazing! I believe Amy was our server and she was just delightful even though she was very busy! Thank you

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was wonderful, and the fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The wait staff was wonderful, and the food was even better!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Roadhouse continues to deliver a fan ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Roadhouse continues to deliver a fantastic dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Roadhouse is the essence of you get ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Roadhouse is the essence of you get what you pay for. If you want the best possible ingredients prepared with skill and care, don't hesitate. Of course there is a bit of a premium attached to top quality, so don't expect chain restaurant prices for casual fine dining. We go there several times a month and have yet to be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cheese curds?! You must. Naughty but wor ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Cheese curds?! You must. Naughty but worth it. Delicious!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best resataurant in Ann Arbor! ;) I ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The best resataurant in Ann Arbor! ;) I came here on a date with my boyfriend who had never dined at zingermans before and we both loved the experience. I'm sure he'll come back with me again soon for brunch or breakfast!! ❤️

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, choices. Can order ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great food, service, choices. Can order healthy or comfort food. French fries were delicious!! Mac and cheese wonderful. Arugula and goat cheese beer salad yummy!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, , Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met with family for an early dinner. Mos ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Met with family for an early dinner. Most ordered the BBQ... pulled pork sandwich, pulled chicken, slider trio, BBQ beef dinner...

Variety of sauces were appealing; sides were on point (fries, sweet potato fries, mac and cheese). Good service, fun place.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We ventured outside of our "normal" menu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We ventured outside of our "normal" menu items at the Roadhouse and as always Zingerman's delivered. My husband has the chicken fried steak - the smokiness of the gravy was wonderful! I had the prosciutto wrapped haddock which was cooked perfectly and will become on of my "go-to" dishes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.