Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Zingerman's Roadhouse

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (87)
Local Ingredients (85)
Comfort Food (81)
See All
Fit for Foodies (70)
Special Occasion (56)
Worth the Drive (55)
Good for a Date (53)
Fun (53)
Great for Brunch (50)
Good for Groups (49)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Great for Lunch (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Authentic (43)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Good Vegetarian Options (40)
Kid-friendly (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Cozy (32)
Great Beer (31)
Business Meals (26)
Family Style (25)
Organic (23)
Gluten Free Options (22)
Healthy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Seasonal (18)
Bar Seating (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fireplace (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Terrific BBQ and other tasty comfort food. Zingerman's always delivers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

In my mind, Zingerman's Roadhouse is gourmet comfort food. After living in the SE for decades, coming north to find country food in upscale restaurants was a surprise.

My wife got a deep-friend whole pompano, and for some odd reason I got spiced elk, just because. The pompano was fantastic, and I have to admit the spiced elk was quite good, too.

We also had what we were told was a bar food in Quebec: poudines. These were french fries and cheese curds covered with beef gravy. Sounds weird, but I'd get them again.

I recommend the place, though maybe not on a weekly basis.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a little to noisy for us but the food quality and service were superb as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good stuff! Zingerman's never fails to impress. Excellent service. Solid menu. So worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had a terrific meal on Friday, March 17 at Zingerman's Roadhouse! I wanted to go somewhere where I could eat traditional Irish food, but really didn't want to get in on all the drinking hoopla that goes on. I chose the Roadhouse because they offered the Irish food I was looking for. Their corn beef and cabbage was wonderful! I really enjoyed every bite. One of the best things that the Roadhouse offers are small bite desserts. Whenever I eat a large meal out, I usually do not have any room left for dessert even though I love it! Zingerman's has two small options and the one I had was fantastic. It had an unusual name so I don't remember it, but it was chocolate ganache on top of chocolate chiffon cake with a wonderful chocolate mousse infused with rum and a bottom layer of chocolate chiffon cake and ganache. What an incredible small bite! It was a perfect way to end a delicious meal! I have never been disappointed with any meal I've had at the Roadhouse. Thank you Zingerman's!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was amazing for me but my husband order turkey sandwich did not like it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Try the elk steaks!! They are AWESOME!! We love the Thursday special with pulled pork,greens, and mashed potatoes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A very nice place to go with family, kid friendly, great service, great food. Works also for date nights and lunch.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Was really great service and attempt to accomodate our food restrictions. It was very noisy though with screaming children.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were very excited for our first time at Zingerman's but unfortunately it was not the best experience. Our food did not come out all at the same time....bacon not hot, extra eggs didn't come with the main meal and then were not cooked correctly, one entree not hot just warm but I was going to eat anyway so as to eat with my boyfriend. But when his side of eggs weren't ready and then undercooked, he sent his whole meal back so he could have his meal hot all at one time. By the time his meal came, I had finished my lukewarm breakfast...and my boyfriend took his meal home not even wanting to eat at this point. Overall, just frustrating to not be able to eat together. Our waitress was very apologetic and very sweet and a manager even came over and apologized. But nothing was done to make the situation right...it was a birthday brunch that we couldn't eat together and a bit pricey to not live up the the reputation of Zingermans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Such a great time!! Seated relatively quickly, considering how packed the restaurant was. Brian rocked, per usual. Food was amazing!!! Trying to come up with another special occasion reason to go back... "Last Snowfall of the Season" celebration, perhaps??

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love Zingeman's Roadhouse and always eat there at least once every time we visit our daughter for a weekend in Ann Arbor. The service is ALWAYS excellent, the servers are extremely friendly and accommodating and the food never disappoints. Keep doing what you do! We do recommend reservations if you can get them as the wait to eat or even be seated can be LONG. It's well worth the wait, though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday brunch with friends and our son who is a U of M student. EVERYTHING was just terrific - from the food to the waitress to the delightful sunny table we got near the BBQ pit (which smelled amazing even through the weatherproof tent that left this room warm and toasty on a cold winter's afternoon). DO NOT MISS THIS spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fantastic food, but slightly pricey. $15 for a breakfast egg dish is pretty high, but the quality is phenomenal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

best brunch in town!!! always so accommodating to me and my family - and always so delicious. wish we could visit every day :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Zingerman's is always amazing and this night was no exception. I've never had a dish at the Roadhouse that wasn't outstanding. The server we had was very attentive. She brought us out a dessert as a surprise and it definitely made my date a great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were surprised that the service wasn't as good as it usually is.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our favorite place to go whether breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner! The high quality food is a great value and the service amazing!

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love this place with a group or one on one. If I'm looking for a quiet serious chat or to myself, not the place, but I know that.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, Zingerman's Roadhouse is fantastic. The food is phenomenal. You pay for the Zingerman's name, but it's worth it. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food and service were great (as always). Was a little too noisy tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Got together for brunch with family. Amazing service from our server, which made our experience wonderful. She was attentive and full of suggestions. Our table ordered fresh squeezed OJ, coffee, omelettes, mac and eggs, waffles and eggs benedict. All were delicious and served warm. You can never go wrong with Zingerman's!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Organic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Get the butterscotch pudding. Mmmmmmmmm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Zingerman's was great as usual. Open Table almost ruined the reservation. I asked for 4pm and that's what was confirmed on my email, but it came across as 6:30pm at Zingerman's. I saw it on their screen and they saw the discrepancy on my phone. You need to fix your software.

Tags: Organic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful lunch. I met old high school friends and we lingered over an excellent lunch. The waitress never asked us to leave and was attentive and respectful. We had pulled pork sandwiches, veggy burgers, Oyster Po Boy. Everything was tasty, especially the real sweet potato fries.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It's always good service but this person was amazing!! He really went above and beyond and was so kind. Thank you!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, but really incredible service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food but even better service. We loved the brunch menu and our waitress was awesome!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely yummy food and awesome service! We were there for brunch, and when we mentioned to the waitress that we had never been before, she brought us out a bunch of samples of their specialties. I highly recommend for anyone visiting Ann Arbor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Out of town guests ask to go here everytime they are in town.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A group of our team members went to wish one of the group farewell. We had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the food. It was tasty, and the servings were nice sized.

A great place to share a special time with friends or family.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a random stop, our first time there and it was very, very good food & the service was amazing! We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Top notch, even on a holiday! Don't hesitate to dine here, we've never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day is always a tricky night for dinner, but it actually wasn't crazy busy. The Valentine's menu is awesome and I will again wait a year to eat the crab salad (crab, avocado, capers, yum). The lobster pot pie was super rich and I probably should have balanced my seafood better. The champaign was a perfect compliment to this delicious meal. My daughter had a classic cheeseburger and fries, which too was a great compliment to my meal ;). There was a large group in the room where we were eating, but the serving staff did not miss a beat! Our food was timely and they were expertly attentive.

Another great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have been going to Zingerman's now for 4 years worth of anniversarys and we absolutely love it. The menu can be a bit on the pricier side, however if you are a foodie, it is SO worth it! The staff is great, the food is great, the drinks are awesome! We LOVE going here and will go many times more in our future!! THANK YOU ZINGERMANS!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love the Roadhouse. It took a while to get the hang of it- it is expensive compared to other places at least partly because they use premium ingredients entirely, provide incredible service, modify or create whatever in a friendly, even neighborhoody way. To entirely enjoy your meal, I would suggest giving up on economy (or plan on it being 2x what you thought and then be happy it's a bit less) and just have what you want. That was the main thing I had to adjust to but love the place and the people. Wine list could use some work if you care about that. Cocktails and beers are great however.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fabulous all around!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I had a group of 10 to celebrate my wife's b-day. All was great except the roof mounted heater in the sun-room/patio was frying my scalp. I was asking for the heat to be turned off while other diners were complaining it was too cold. I could not enjoy fully my celebration.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our table was ready within 5 minutes of arriving while the wait for walk-ins was 40 plus minutes. Heidi was a great server and even though she was obviously very busy. Food was very good and the portions were just right. Of course the lovely bread that they brought before lunch helped.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Zingerman's is a favorite of mine mainly because of the quality and freshness of the food served. The service is unparalleled in the respect that although not always perfect, the employees care about your experience, your food choice and how to enhance your visit. Whether helping you find an amazing food or drink (my favorites are mac and cheese, sweet potato fries, BBQ, corn dogs, calamari, sea scallops, smashed potatoes, and the list goes on....) or telling you the history of the rice you're eating, the meal is delicious, fun, and unpretentious. Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.