Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Zingerman's Roadhouse

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (90)
Local Ingredients (90)
Casual (81)
See All
Fit for Foodies (78)
Great for Brunch (64)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Special Occasion (57)
Fun (56)
Great for Lunch (55)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Worth the Drive (50)
Good for Groups (47)
Authentic (47)
Kid-friendly (46)
Good for a Date (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Good Vegetarian Options (40)
Cozy (36)
Organic (29)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Great Beer (25)
Family Style (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
People Watching (17)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Healthy (13)
Seasonal (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Fireplace (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Historic (4)
Vegan (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Romantic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Fabulous waiter who never steers us wrong! Amazing food! Discovered sorghum on biscuits and will never order toast again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazong experience at the Roadhouse. The waitress held the food to the highest standards card and went out of her way to make sure we had a great experience. Great meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Both men's room and ladies' room were out of order.
Very inconvenient

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful welcoming staff.... Very attentive!!!
Excellent food!!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service is terrific, warm and welcoming...food is deliciously eclectic and generous to boot. Definitely get reservations, well worth it or you will wait quite awhile. Enjoy!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent again. Pulled pork sandwich with South Carolina mustard bbq sauce and cole slaw was yummy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food in a casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a reservation. It was on Mothers Day. We spent quite a bit. Because the place was over booked, we were seated in a two top that was too small for us. I was seated out in the aisle, and my poor wife had to tell me to keep ducking when the servers came out of the kitchen. She kept scooting back in her chair and pulling our table closer to her to keep me out of the aisle.
Our seating arrangement spoiled what would have been an enjoyable brunch.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Poor service, average food. I expect better from Zingerman's and at that price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a wonderful Mother's Day brunch at the Roadhouse! Such a great place to relax and eat amazing food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Most often the food is excellent here but every now and then food gets rushed to the table
Grilled cinnamon role barely had a grill mark and cold
Huevos Rancheros cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good, but my burger that I requested to be medium-well, was raw. The inside look uncooked. The service was good though, and the quality of the ingredients is very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We live an hour away but go here every chance we get - never disappointed, always an outstanding, creative, delicious meal and terrific service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Once again, a great meal and impeccable service making for a memorable evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

food was not usual quality: ham was dry, overcooked and grits barely warm

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Sometimes you just have to have fried chicken and a Bloody Mary. When that craving arises on a late Sunday morning, we go local, Zingerman's Roadhouse Perfect except for oneflaw, te biscuits or for that matter bread, does not come with the meal. You have to ask, it's not suggested, and the biscuits are cold. I like a bread basket at a roadhouse or the very least a warm biscuit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Zingerman's has been a tradition for birthday breakfasts and has yet to disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Solid experience. Decent selection of gluten-free choices for my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Disappointing. I find the meals in this restaurant to be very hit and miss. From the evening dinner menu I ordered Fish & Chips, the pieces of fish were tiny and over cooked, like cheap bar food. For desert I ordered an elaborately described gourmet "Butterscotch Pudding" . What came out was unbelievable. A cheap (K-Mart) style half whiskey glass, half full of pudding.
No garnish, nothing. The pudding tasted identical to the ones you make from those instant little boxes at home. (I happen to like them). Again just unbelievable for any half decent restaurant.

There is obviously no serious head Chef here, someone supervising what goes out. Or they just don't care. Either way, I do not think I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is a tradition in Ann Arbor. Great food and very unique restaurant. It's always crowded because it is that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The portions on the whitefish were embarrassingly small for such a high price tag. My daughter and I ordered it and she was still starving after eating it. Whitefish is an inexpensive fish. Zingerman's should be more concerned with customer satisfaction and providing a good value than just padding their already large bottom line.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great restaurant. This was our 4th visit. The food and service were amazing. We were seated in an enclosed space adjacent to the smoker, which was roomy but had bad acoustics making it difficult to hear other guests and provided me with "smoked" clothing for the remainder of my trip. I will definitely return but would request another seating location.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was good, service was poor by Zingerman standards that they teach and preach. Had to ask for items multiple times. Server seemed less interested in our needs than going through a server protocol and checking the boxes. Experience was what I would expect from a chain restaurant like Big Boy or Red Robin.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Zingermans continues its tradition of excellent food made with mostly locally sourced ingredients at a not unreasonable price. It's great family dining, with good seating both indoors and out. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a graduation dinner with family. The service was fine. Food was mostly good, the lamb was the only item that was not prepared in a satisfactory manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Overall excellent experience. Zingerman's never seems to disappoint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent smoked meats. Friendly, professional service.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great place - good for events and business meals. A gem in Ann Arbor!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a pleasant experience. Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food, fantastic and welcoming service

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Food in a casual setting. Very knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fried chicken and breaded tenderloin were overcooked and fries were greasy. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Eater brunch at the Roadhouse. Great food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was delicious but pricey. The portions were adequate.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food here is great, no argument. My only complaint is the pricing, which is awfully high. $19 for a BBQ beef sandwich with about 5 or 6 ounces of beef and some fries is just too high. A brownie sundae with a 2" X 2" brownie and a teeny tiny scoop of vanilla ice cream, maybe 6 teaspoons of ice cream, is $8.50. An average dinner without alcohol is going to run you $60 or more. For a place with "Roadhouse" in it's name it simply too much. Nothing wrong with the food and the service is ok, provided you're not in a real rush. I just don't see what a place can do to mac & cheese to make it $15, even adding a few bits of fried chicken to it doesn't really warrant the cost. Shave $10 off every menu item and the place is 5 star. I realize Ann Arbor is an expensive city, but this place probably couldn't make it at these prices virtually anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place for brunch! We sat on their patio and had bloody Mary's and mimosas. Everyone enjoyed their food! They accommodate larger groups really well, we were able to split our check across many of us (10 person group)! I would recommend making a reservation, especially on the weekends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent all around, as always. Swordfish was amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Don't sit in the 'patio'. My coat still smells like brisket...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.