About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: 7346633663x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Restaurant Photos

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Kid Friendly
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
5 More
Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (205)
great for lunch (168)
good for groups (153)
See All
great for brunch (145)
kid-friendly (133)
neighborhood gem (116)
special occasion (102)
hot spot (61)
great for outdoor dining (39)
notable wine list (19)
late-night find (17)
vibrant bar scene (14)
romantic (6)
 (3)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Uniquely Ann Arbor, and always fun to visit

Dined on May 21, 2016

If one were to ask for a special Ann Arbor dining place, my answer will always be "Zingerman's Roadhouse". Frankly, roadhouse is a misnomer for this place, because the food, price, and service are definitely more upscale. However, every dollar spent is worth it, since all that will be served to you are of compatible quality. Free Zingerman's bread, to begin with, you will not complain. And the menu is constantly with quirky, but tasty food, sufficient for both adventurous and conservative eaters. The place is cosily designed, so you will feel at home every visit. I would definitely recommend this place for celebratory moments, or just to introduce your visiting friends to Ann Arbor. Remember to reserve your seatings ahead, because Zingerman's Roadhouse is always packed for all the times I have visited. Enjoy :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local Favorite

Dined on May 21, 2016

Whenever I return to Michigan this is the first place I try to eat. Always a total joy because the kitchen takes classics American comfort food to the next level. I started with a lovely pairing of oysters with a glass of Waterfire Gruner Veltliner, every bit as delicious as the best Gruners I have enjoyed in Austria. Mom and I went with the pan-seared Michigan whitefish with grits and were quite pleased.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place in Ann Arbor

Dined on May 17, 2016

We come to The Roadhouse for special occasions and know we will get great service, top quality food and a delicious, complimentary dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Thank you, Nancy, for your excellent ser ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Thank you, Nancy, for your excellent service and great recommendations!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My parents were in town, so my wife and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My parents were in town, so my wife and I wanted to take them to a quintessentially Ann Arbor restaurant. We are vegetarians, but my parents are not. So, we wanted a place with a wide range of foods, and Zingerman's Roadhouse was perfect. We had the pimento cheese and celery appetizer. I had the grilled grits. We had a great bottle of wine. It was all excellent, and the service was amazing. Great place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Super delicious food, we were both very impressed! Will definitely be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful as usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything on the menu looked delicious ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Everything on the menu looked delicious and it was hard to choose. I had buttermilk fried chicken with side of shitake mushroom mac & cheese instead of mashed potato and their standard mac & cheese. All of it, every single bite, was scrumptious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This one was a little disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my third visit to Zingerman's Roadhouse, and I am sad that I was disappointed. My last two visits were wonderful, but this time was just not that great. We went for dinner on Mother's Day at 4pm. they got us seated right away, but it seemed that the food took a long while to come out compared to some tables around us. I ordered the Sauteed Whitefish and it was bland. I didn't sent it back because there was nothing technically wrong with it, but it lacked flavor and really could have used even some salt. My husband ordered the fried chicken and it was pretty overcooked. He ate the dark meat, but as he tried to eat the chicken breast realized it was so overdone it was inedible. He let the server know right away, and they were nice enough to take the cost of the breast off of the bill without our asking for anything special. The server was very nice and accommodating, and the service was fine, we were just really disappointed with the food this visit. When I think Zingerman's I always think delicious food, and it did not live up to my expectations this time. That being said, I will probably go back at some point, but it will not be the first restaurant that I think of when deciding where to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Zingerman's Road House day before Mothers Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service. The food was good, although my wife's Eggs Benedict was not as hot as it could be.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We brig out of town guests here every ti ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We brig out of town guests here every time and without fail, folks are happy. Thanks roadhouse!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food still great; service not what it once was

Dined on May 5, 2016

I had touted this restaurant as known for both great food and service. But the latter was lacking - dishes were not timely cleared, at many times our waitperson could not be found, and forgot to bring some items. Some of the people in our group will not likely be back to Ann Arbor, since this was a special occasion... so glad we went for that reason, but wish the experience could have been a little better. For food - try the specials and new menu items. As always, the mac and cheese is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great times and great food...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit, the food was wonderful and the service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality, informed waiter

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Food quality, informed waiter

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing gluten-free finds for me, and ou ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Amazing gluten-free finds for me, and our server's suggestion was right on point! I'll be back soon!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Exceptionally good food on average, thoughtfully sourced, and very professional service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good bet!

Dined on May 1, 2016

I live about an hour from Zingerman's, but I'm a huge fan and take any opportunity to eat here when I'm passing through Ann Arbor. That was the case on this visit! My girls and I were passing through town, so we stopped in for brunch. I appreciate the ability to make reservations, which allowed for a short wait when we arrived. I got my usual, grits and eggs. This is a favorite dish of mine! I'm afraid that on this visit, the grits seemed a bit thicker than usual and the poached eggs were slightly overcooked. The bacon, on the other hand, was very undercooked. Our server was fantastic, though, and took the bacon back for some crisping up. Our waiter also made some great sweet treat recommendations, which allowed us to enjoy Zingerman's over the next couple days. While, I wasn't as thrilled with my meal on this trip, the service was still top notch and the food was still pretty tasty. I will certainly come back next time I'm in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent smoked meats, comfort food with a twist, always a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zingerman's does not disappoint!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu is a little different every time we visit - but I'm never disappointed! This time for brunch we both ordered the Zingerman's Hash - and it was fantastic. We love all of the local goodies and special touches. (House-made hot sauce is a great addition!) We dined with our 1 year old, and he really enjoyed the french toast and sausage. Crayons and coloring page for kiddos, and a comprehensive drink list for Mom and Dad. ;)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sooo awesome

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ate there twice in one week. Every single dish both times was delicious. Friendly,amazing staff!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Accommondating

Dined on April 30, 2016

They will go out of their way. This was our second visit. The first visit was for dinner and my son’s girlfriend could not decide between two dishes so the waiter said not to worry, they split the plate and gave her a half portion of each, something I’ve never seen in 40 years of dining out, plus the food was fantastic. Our second visit was to celebrate my son’s graduation but we forgot to order a cake, so we called the night before but the restaurant needed 48 hours for a cake order but directed us to their bakehouse down the road, we called the bakehouse, they had a cake and the gal who took the order said she would personally bring the cake over to the restaurant on her way home. When we arrived, sure enough, the waitress was aware of our cake and it was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebration

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great dinner at the Roadhouse recently to celebrate a graduation. We started with drinks at the bar and enjoyed the lively pace and friendly banter of the bartender. Next we moved to a perfect booth and our waiter, Joe L didn't miss a thing! He was friendly, funny and kept a great pace through the meal . We all had something different and it was all delicious and beautifully presented. This was our fourth time at the Roadhouse and it just keeps getting better!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! Delicious fall-off-the-bon ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding! Delicious fall-off-the-bone ribs, great mac and cheese, very pleasant waitress. A bit pricey but the quality justifies it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Super delicious as always. Best time to ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Super delicious as always. Best time to get a table is at 8am! :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Everything is made with ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent food. Everything is made with top ingredients and is super fresh and flavorful.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

captainscotty

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was the absolute worst meal and the most over rated restaurant EVER!!! They should be ashamed of themselves. We made a reservation months in advance and out food for 5 people was delivered to the table ICE COLD - TWICE!!!! Yes this was a busy weekend but isn't the famous ZINGERMANS always busy?? We ordered pulled chicken sandwiches. It was not even pulled chicken. It was chunked up white meat which was cold with hot BBQ sauce poured on it. What an embarrassment!! The ZINGERMANS were the keynote speaker last year at University of Michigan graduation. They should be beyond ashamed that this is how the 2016 graduates guests were treated this year! Would NEVER return!!!!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Roadhouse experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

Yes this felt like a roadhouse - we did kinda watch others food come out so we had an idea what to expect. Ribs looked ok - my S/O ordered the mac N cheese of some sort - the portion was not that big but was enough for him. I got a salad with beets and onions and goat cheese. Big hunks of goat cheese and lots of onions. Nothing stand out ish. The waiter asked my S/O if he wanted dessert- and he did order something. He didn't even look at me to ask me...so I had to interject that i wanted a macaroon before he left the table. It was a minor oversight..but still. The macaroon was pretty hard. I would probably go elsewhere for dinner if back in Ann Arbor as there are so many places to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

You can never go wrong eating at Zingerm ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

You can never go wrong eating at Zingerman's Roadhouse. We brought our French Exchange student so she could have an American dining experience. She loved the Mac and cheese and the barbecue pork. So do we. ;)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Standard of Comfort

Dined on April 18, 2016

Usually busy but worth the wait - at first they didn't take reservations so that is a welcome change. Great variety of choices without being overwhelming. The quality of food and preparation is outstanding. The service is attentive and most times Ari is there to chat with. We loved it when it opened and go often since we moved back to the area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service. If given the oppor ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Outstanding service. If given the opportunity, dine outside.

food4
ambience4
service5

Stay away from the gluten free fried chi ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Stay away from the gluten free fried chicken. It was burnt and dry - even the dark meat. Everyone else in our party thought the food was great. If you need to eat gluten free, you may want to eat somewhere else.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

I just don't get it

Dined on April 16, 2016

We seem to go to the roadhouse every 3 to 5 years hoping for a good experience but it's always a let down. This time, for example, three of us ordered burgers. The buns are overly thick (i.e. too bready) and are almost stale (on a previous trip the bun was, actually, very stale). One burger came with cheese -two pieces of cheese laid on the burger after it was put on the bun (i.e. the cheese wasn't melted). It wasn't very appetizing and not what we were expecting when ordering a 'cheeseburger'. The macaroni & cheese on the mac & 3 vegetarian platter was pretty good, though. The gelato was good although one of the flavors had ice crystals in it. Anyhow, I hate to be a hater but I just don't get the Roadhouse mystique and the lines out front. We always find it to be expensive ($15 - $20 macaroni & cheese?) and it never lives up to our expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great breakfast at the Roadhouse!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great coffee, great lox and bagels, great eggs and toast, great service. Love the Roadhouse!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service2

I've eaten here several times and not su ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

I've eaten here several times and not sure what happened last night but not impressed. All four meals came out warm temperature (Salisbury steak, Mac and cheese, ribs and bouillabaisse). Ribs were just microwaved warm again instead of complete fresh meal. I was never brought sweetener to add to ice tea and was never asked for a refill. Sorry but there is never any excuse for warm food. Won't be going back for a while. Sorry Zingermanns.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Assured of a great ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent as always. Assured of a great meal everytime.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great service, nice staff, excellent food... but at least for dining don't forget to make a reservation!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5

Laura is hands down one of the greatest ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Laura is hands down one of the greatest individuals working in the service industry. Attentive but not intrusive, kind but not over the top, knowledgable and friendly. Thank you Laura (and Justin for being 1 of the 5 hosts at the door to actually greet and seat us in a timely fashion)!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal

Dined on April 10, 2016

The whole family celebrated a birthday brunch at the Roadhouse. As usual, the food was great as was the service. We love visiting any chance we get. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Comfort Food!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Breakfast is my favorite meal to eat out. Zingerman's Roadhouse does not disappoint! Menu is varied so you can lean towards breakfast or lunch. Dining companions had the Santa Fe Mac and Cheese and Huevos Rancheros while I had the Roadhouse Omelet. All were great! We shared a pastry basket and the fresh doughnuts are the best! Service is always exceptional!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Hit or Miss

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had out-of-town visitors and the right thing to do in AA is to bring them here. However, the service and the food were disappointing. The server forgot our appetizer and did not bring us any bread until we reminded him during our entree. After all, this place is famous for it's delicious bread. The food as just mediocre and over priced. I don't mind paying above average for the food but I would expect the food to be above average and it was not.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.