About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: 7346633663x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Restaurant Photos

Prosciutto, Mozzarella And Red Pepper Sandwich
Zzang! Original Bar
Fried Chicken Mac and Cheese
Caesar Salad
Pit-Smoked Bbq Beef Sandwich
Zzang! Bar Shake
Carbonara Macaroni
The Roadhouse Reuben
Bacon, Egg & Cheese In A Bagel
New York Piperade Steak
Catfish
Bleu Cheese And Bacon Salad
fried chicken
Pork Entree
Bacon Steak
Pulled Beef Sandwich

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Great for Lunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Kid Friendly
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
7 More
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Neighborhood Gem
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (185)
good for groups (140)
great for lunch (136)
See All
kid-friendly (132)
great for brunch (129)
neighborhood gem (115)
special occasion (105)
great for outdoor dining (60)
hot spot (58)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
romantic (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Today, while everything was great, the f ...

 
·Dined 8 hours ago

Today, while everything was great, the fried green tomatoes appetizer was my favorite dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waiter really dropped the ball and t ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter really dropped the ball and totally disappeared for more than 15 minutes after we finished eating the entre. Could not order desert or another round of drinks .. We were a table of 8 in the main dining area so it wasn't like we blended into the wall. Finally had to flag down one of the supervisors to get things moving. Then we had an 18% gratuity automatically tacked onto the bill even though the service sucked.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food and service were outstanding. O ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable and made excellent suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here at least 50 times -- usua ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I've been here at least 50 times -- usually with families and their kids, but also for business and social occasions -- and the standout is the service: every person working there is striving actively to make it a positive experience. The food itself isn't to all tastes: it tends to be American, oriented towards animal products (although there are many vegetarian options as well), and somewhat heavy. That said, if that kind of cuisine appeals to you, it doesn't get much better than this (or so I'm told; I don't eat red meat, making at least 1/3 of the menu off-limits, and more, since they use bacon liberally as an ingredient). Their mac-and-cheese is terrific, and they have the best sweet potato fries I've ever tried, by a mile. The beer list is exceptional as well. When the weather is warm, it's great fun to sit "out" in the fully netted and overhead-fanned patio area. Zingerman's tried hard to obtain the finest local ingredients, and it shows in the results.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for brunch. Zingerman's as one o ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for brunch. Zingerman's as one of our all time faves in the Ann Arbor area and we are never disappointed. The food is excellent and the staff is always very friendly and willing to go out of their way to accommodate you.

The restaurant is a bit pricey and you may have to wait a bit to be served. However, that doesn't mean that the staff just lets you wait. They constantly check to be sure that you have drinks and are comfortable. This is an experience to be savored and not somewhere to go if you're looking for "a quick bite."

So sit back, relax and enjoy a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch food! We love the RoadHous ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great brunch food! We love the RoadHouse! We take all of our out of town visitors there.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a fun eating experience. The sta ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was a fun eating experience. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The best Mac and cheese...but so much mo ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The best Mac and cheese...but so much more. I really enjoy this restaurant. Interesting menu with a good mix of BBQ, comfort food and great salads. Service is always friendly and attentive. Food is made from high quality ingredients...and it shows. The Mac and Cheese is the best I've ever had.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When I visit Ann Arbor, I build my stay ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

When I visit Ann Arbor, I build my stay around going to ZIngerman's Roadhouse. We've never been disappointed. The food is top-notch, with quality ingredients. The service is friendly, patient and helpful. It's a casual place, so the energy level can get high (without getting out of control). Start with some pimento cheese and sweet potato fries. We always order the fish stew when we can, and the whole catfish is outstanding too. On the last trip, I finally got around to trying the BBQ, which was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

VERY expensive breakfast! It is obscene ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

VERY expensive breakfast! It is obscene to pay $15 for eggs, potatoes, bacon & toast. While Zingerman's is well-known for good quality, it's shameful to charge prices that are inconsistent with the area. We have dined at Zingerman's many times in the past and felt their prices teetered at the top, but this last visit found that the prices had gone OVER the top. We will no longer dine here; nor will we recommend this restaurant to friends any longer. The food is good; quality is good but the prices are simply not justified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Their BBQ is outstanding. Friendly servi ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Their BBQ is outstanding. Friendly service. With the OpenTable reservation we didn't had to wait at all (there was a pretty long queue outside).

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

For breakfast, lunch or dinner, Zingerm ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

For breakfast, lunch or dinner, Zingerman's never fails to disappoint. We love their home grown goodness complete with farm-fresh eggs, grass-fed meats and organic vegetables. THIS and the amazing customer service keeps us returning again and again. Today, we had the pleasure of meeting Lauren G. How have our paths not crossed in the three years she has been serving customers at Zingerman's? What a gem! Thank you, Zingerman's, for another wonderful meal!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service but at times it w ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

great food and service but at times it was like dining in a busy train or airport concourse. The clatter of occasional glass-breaking and high-volume conversion was the rule of the evening, and it spoiled a fine meal of arctic char, scallops and fried chicken. Our server remarked it would be a wonder to transform the place back to its original; Bill Knapp's for the same kind of meal in a quieter setting

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

We have reviewed Zingerman's in the past ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have reviewed Zingerman's in the past, and consider it one of our favorite go-to restaurants for both everyday dining and special events. Very creative, outstanding menu supported by an excellent, well-stocked and well served bar .and a wine list personally chosen for the restaurant Food prep is superb--they use personally vetted, single sourced materials for everything, featuring products from their own farm, bake house and creamery. Any visit to Ann Arbor should include a meal at the Roadhouse.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely great as always. The bagel an ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Absolutely great as always. The bagel and lox was perfect, and the new cold brew coffee was pretty on point as well. Thank you Zinger's, you are the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always busy busy. You pre ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place is always busy busy. You pretty much need a reservation. As busy as it is though, they keep up and provide you good service and good food. The prices seem on the high end to us, but it doesn't seem to deter business. You may essentially be paying for their name, and of course, their guaranteed good food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to Zingerman's for a brunch with fa ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went to Zingerman's for a brunch with family. As it has always been, the experience was great: Zingerman's offers a good selection of food with nice preparation and ingredients. We had the american breakfast, the belgian waffle and kids had the pancakes and french toast. I would recommend the waffle as it was perfectly cooked and tasty. Our waitress was also a bonus: very attentive, she could explain the menu and gave useful suggestions. It is definitely a good experience and make sure you have reservations: it is always busy there.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zingerman's is a long-time favorite. Wh ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Zingerman's is a long-time favorite. While the Roadhouse is not as good as the deli, the burgers and BBQ/fried chicken are fantastic. Be aware that southwestern dishes are a little sub par compared to the rest of the offerings. This is a "southern style" restaurant, after all. Also, the fries are inexplicably awful. But that's just me nitpicking. This is a fantastic restaurant. Reservations are a must.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server's name was Amy R. And she did ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My server's name was Amy R. And she did a fantastic job. She was so attentive. We never had to ask for anything and she was super friendly. The food was delicious, except my husbands medium well burger was vastly undercooked. The kitchen did fix it though. The one drawback was the hostess. She did not check us in correctly for my opentable point and we had to redo the whole reservation. Overall it was a great visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Zingerman's used to be one of my favorit ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Zingerman's used to be one of my favorites restaurants in Ann Arbor, but the past few visits were disappointing. It appears that some of the new employees did not learn what Zigerman's teach in Ari's many books. My last visit was particularly disappointing. The waiter forgot to bring the cup of coffee ordered with lunch, charged for it, and appeared to get irritated when asked to remove it from the bill. Indeed, she did apologized for any of these two mistakes.

Another problem is that the lunch entre was much smaller than during previous visits. I hope this is not a trend. It made me think about Whole Foods and its problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

It was my birthday and for the last fou ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was my birthday and for the last four years we always go to the roadhouse for special occasions.our server was great.she brought us a plate of fruit for our 20 month old son while we waited for the rest of our party.He ate the whole plate.we always get the grits and bits waffles which were delicious.thank you for a amazing birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places in to ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in town. The food is amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was average in taste, quantity,and ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was average in taste, quantity,and presentation. Fries soggy, greasy. Pulled pork was warm, grey, and small quantity. Coleslaw was tasty but quantity was very small. Not worth the price or driving from Perrysburg, Ohio for. Used to be our favorite place for special occasions. No more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent service from Alita. She was a ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent service from Alita. She was a delight, and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never lets me down. Just great food and ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Never lets me down. Just great food and you can tell the staff is well trained. You can tell they actually enjoy what they do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit, and we were impressed b ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our first visit, and we were impressed by the scope of menu selections, the quality of the food (all owned and managed by the restaurant, from beef, pork and poultry and on), as well the price point...very affordable, great for business groups, families...If I lived in Ann Arbor, it would be a regular spot for me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food, as always! Great environ ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic food, as always! Great environment, wonderful service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters Rockefeller were on the cool ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The oysters Rockefeller were on the cool side. The fish we had was good as were the sides. We got a sampling of Mac and cheese which we found to be very salty.

For the amount of food we got, we felt the prices were too high.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Zingerman's Roadhouse is one of the best ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Zingerman's Roadhouse is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The food is amazing, the service is wonderful, and the ambiance can't be beat. There's really no reason you shouldn't be eating there whenever you have the chance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From arrival to departure service was ex ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

From arrival to departure service was excellent, very good level of attentiveness, answered our question, made recommendations that fit, prompt food delivery in proper order. Food was tasty, properly prepared, crusty bread, quality all around. We were there for a relatively early dinner before the crowded period began but couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was outstanding, the mahi-mah ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server was outstanding, the mahi-mahi was perfect and this is fast becoming my favorite upscale dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Knowing the prices were high, I expected ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Knowing the prices were high, I expected memory making experience. The staff were fine, but the bun my pulled pork sandwich was on is one I could purchase at a grocery store. And the twice fried French fries were exceptionally greasy and limp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I took my son and his family to brunch o ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my son and his family to brunch on Father's Day. We had a reservation and our table was ready when we arrived.it waves a very warm day and I was concerned when we were seated on the patio but, it was actually comfortable. I love the crab cakes and I was disappointed to find they were not on the menu. Our server checked with the kitchen and reported that the supplier had not been able to produce sufficient product and so the crab cakes had been removed from the menu. I made another choice and enjoyed my meal. We all enjoyed our meals, including two young fussy eaters. I had cherry pie ala mode for dessert that was the best I have tasted. All in all, it was a delicious, enjoyable celebration. Can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Place was enjoyable from an atmosphere s ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Place was enjoyable from an atmosphere stand-point, service was decent, but the food was very average relative to the price. It was not bad, it wasn't anything particularly noteworthy, hence the non-recommendation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food, as usual!

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service and food, as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated Father's Day at The Roadho ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated Father's Day at The Roadhouse this year and enjoyed the brunch very much. It was a great choice!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. We have taken a group of ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointing. We have taken a group of 8-10 (with reservations) to brunch here several times this past year. Each time something has gone wrong (cold food, missed order). This visit included one missed order while the other 7 had hot food as well as overcooked, dry food. Service ranged from inconsistent to nonexistent. Some members of the extended family chose not to go at all because of bad meals here. The Road House has been coasting on a reputation and we kept trying but it's time to move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

After having an unpleasant experience ea ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

After having an unpleasant experience earlier this year, my husband and I came in Saturday to celebrate our anniversary. The food was phenomenal, as was the service. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Small portions for the price. Food was ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Small portions for the price. Food was ok, but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.