About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (82)
Comfort Food (79)
Casual (79)
See All
Fit for Foodies (68)
Worth the Drive (66)
Good for Groups (56)
Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (47)
Great for Lunch (46)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Great for Brunch (46)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Fun (43)
Authentic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Kid-friendly (39)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Good Vegetarian Options (38)
Family Style (32)
Great Beer (31)
Seasonal (31)
Healthy (28)
Organic (26)
Cozy (25)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Business Meals (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Open Kitchen (15)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vegan (8)
People Watching (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Private Room (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fireplace (4)
Historic (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Romantic (3)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Met with family for an early dinner. Mos ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Met with family for an early dinner. Most ordered the BBQ... pulled pork sandwich, pulled chicken, slider trio, BBQ beef dinner...

Variety of sauces were appealing; sides were on point (fries, sweet potato fries, mac and cheese). Good service, fun place.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We ventured outside of our "normal" menu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

We ventured outside of our "normal" menu items at the Roadhouse and as always Zingerman's delivered. My husband has the chicken fried steak - the smokiness of the gravy was wonderful! I had the prosciutto wrapped haddock which was cooked perfectly and will become on of my "go-to" dishes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always superb, and menu ever ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always superb, and menu ever changing. The grown ups had brunch, and our son had the corndogs from the kids menu - they were delicious! Nothing like a corn dog that I had growing up. For the little guy, we had the option of fries or fruit, and the fruit plate was amazing. Apples, pineapple, watermelon, grapes, strawberries, orange slice. Enough to keep him entertained and eating healthy food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time coming to this re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time coming to this restaurant. The restaurant is by Zingerman's, so I had certain level of expectation on food and service.

Quick summary of the dining experience:

-Very energetic and fun atmosphere.

-Quality of most ingredients were very high. Very fresh and tasty.

-Fresh oysters were excellent. Mussels were steamed to perfection! Fresh and plump; not over steamed/cooked at so many other places. Highly recommend sampling cheeses.

-Though the crab in my dish had an aroma of refrigerator... slow turnover?

-Made reservation at 6:45pm. Went there 6:30pm, but was not seated until 7:00pm. Are they taking too many reservations?

-Service was okay to good... At times I had to go find waitress for service. Too many tables to cover? Being Friday night, it maybe a bad night to expect good to great level of service.

-3 people having drinks, sharing appetizers and entrees = $200 bill including tip. Hmmm, difficult to determine if overall food/service I got was $200 (about $70/person) experience.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food. Decent service. Took our part ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. Decent service. Took our party early. Enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I wish there was an outstanding plus cat ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

I wish there was an outstanding plus category for service. Felipe and Alex made the get together extra special. Great service plus thoughtfulness and kindness.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Healthy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was amazing! He was hilarious ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was amazing! He was hilarious, thoughtful and kind. We had a fab meal (of course) but our server really made it special. Thank you!!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We read that the chicken was supposed to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We read that the chicken was supposed to be fantastic, so we traveled 30 minutes to try it. It was actually burnt and it is $39.00 for 6 pieces of chicken-just chicken in a basket, two of which were tiny wings and drumsticks. The Caesar salad was 4 half pieces of romaine lettuce laying on a plate. (Small not the mini) Our bill was $100.00 for three people,with no alcohol, and for that price, we were not impressed. The restaurant is cute and the servers were nice but the food was definately over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had 12:15 reservations and did not ge ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had 12:15 reservations and did not get seated until 12:35 after checking in at 12:05. As this was prior to a funeral, we did not have much time to enjoy company due to the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, good, but noisy atmosphere. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food, good, but noisy atmosphere. A reservation through OpenTable is a must do, as it was very busy, as usual.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place to gather with friends or fa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place to gather with friends or family. They have traditional menu items as well as many delicious new takes on traditional recipes. Also a great gift shop with delicious items to take home.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent food & service.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always excellent food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Creative yet traditiona ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good food. Creative yet traditional. Casual. Worth the money for sure. Breakfast, lunch or dinner. Very open to feedback! They LOVE feedback.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't happy with food or noise level. H ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wasn't happy with food or noise level. Had an oyster sandwich and there were only 3 oysters on it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We have enjoyed Zingerman's Roadhouse fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have enjoyed Zingerman's Roadhouse for years. The food is always outstanding, and the service is also always outstanding. They accommodate just about any special request they can, and the staff are always warm. All of the macaroni and cheeses are delicious and made with Zingerman's Creamery cheeses. The salads are also outstanding and all the vegetables are consistently fresh. The BBQ is made with quality meats and deliciously bold flavors. I've never had a dish I did not like at Zingerman's roadhouse. Even the coffee is outstanding.

For this visit, our waitress, Nicole, was incredibly warm and hospitable. We came during a busy time and had a large table of people, and she stayed moving continuing to keep our drinks full and our special requests promptly addressed. She was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time at the Roadhouse ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Roadhouse on New Year's Day!!!!! Our server was delightful and knowledgeable , and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were all very good! Our waite ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our meals were all very good! Our waiter, James was fantastic!! We were full, but still ordered dessert to take home! We will be back more often!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Zingerman's for a treat. It is ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We go to Zingerman's for a treat. It is very expensive for what you get-especially the appetizers. But the food is damn good, every time. If you want to splurge on a great steak, this is the place. The Rosemary marinated steak and pulled pork are my standard orders, but we have had other meals and they are all outstanding. Most of the time, we intentionally arrive early to have a couple rounds at the bar before dinner. The side dishes can be small for the price, but the entrée usually why you're there. Service is always good, but sometimes it takes awhile to get a refill or something you need because your server is so busy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A phenomenal place to get locally source ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A phenomenal place to get locally sourced food outside of the downtown chaos of A2. Wonderful ambience, great tasting food, fantastic service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved dining here. My only complaint was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Loved dining here. My only complaint was sitting out on the patio in January. They had heaters but it was still cold. The food was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great bunch of people as always. I look ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great bunch of people as always. I look forward to the ever changing menu but know I can always fall back on some standards. Fair rotating draft beer selection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Traditional American favorites done righ ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Traditional American favorites done right - sweet potato fries are a must, and endless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time there, second time someone a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Second time there, second time someone at the table had a burger med rare that was ordered med well. Why in such a hurry?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Have heard of this restaurant, but never ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Have heard of this restaurant, but never been. First time dinning experience, and last. Price is inflated. Nothing special about the steaks. My girlfriend ordered her steak medium, and it came out rare. While the waitress made an attempt to fix this by offering a free desert. My girlfriends sides got cold while waiting for the steak to be cooked correctly. The dessert was dry and tasteless. All this for a $100 bill. NO THANKS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Fantastic server and he made some great ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fantastic server and he made some great recommendations! Expert on the food

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always have a great time and wonderful f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always have a great time and wonderful food there. Worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is extremely rich, and can some ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is extremely rich, and can sometimes be overpowering. On the other hand, it is flavorful and unique and can really hit the spot. The brownie sundae was a knockout. I managed to get a reservation for New Years Eve, and so did everyone else in Ann Arbor, so it was crowded. However, our food still came fast and the waiters were pleasant and didn't seem to be in too much of a rush.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service and good food made for a pl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good service and good food made for a pleasant evening. Also good choices for Vegan and Gluten free meals!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Vegan, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food! Almost always superior s ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Terrific food! Almost always superior service! and a will to make good on any shortfall. I love this restaurant, which is within ten minutes of my house but to which I would be willing to drive much farther. We were there on New Year's Eve, and while service was understandably a little slow (a crowd), the wait person and also the chef, who came to talk to us about making a dish gluten-free, were lovely and attentive to our needs. A well spent evening. A lovely meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and good service, but it was q ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food and good service, but it was quite expensive for small portions

of food. Had some good choices in different foods to try.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We love going to Zingerman's Roadhouse. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love going to Zingerman's Roadhouse. It is expensive - so we usually just go on special occasions.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I received a Gift Certificate from a goo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I received a Gift Certificate from a good friend for my 60th birthday and had taken a friend to dinner. I made reservations and made perfect timing. The food and service was great! Looking forward to more lunches or dinners there!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a waitress who admitted she was n ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a waitress who admitted she was new on the job... she did alright but could have used more training and knowledge of the menu (especially the drink menu) before serving. Overall a good meal though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Always a great place to eat. Fresh food, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Always a great place to eat. Fresh food, fine service even on busy days (which most of them are). They have high standards -- and live up to them.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, , Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed ourselves and our food as usu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and our food as usual and fully appreciated together at the Roadhouse.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Organic, , Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, excellent service, an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great food, excellent service, and knowledgeable wait staff. A little loud, but to be expected around the holidays. We always come here with our kids, and it is never a problem. Only knock is that it is a little pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The sweet potato fries are my absolute f ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The sweet potato fries are my absolute favorite! And the rest of the food is awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great! Our buttermilk fried ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was great! Our buttermilk fried chicken ,mac and cheese and salad were very good. The fiery fried chicken on the other hand was virtually inedible (two of us tried it). We love HOT and spicy food this just tasted like raw cayenne though. This dish was a miss. Have been to the Roadhouse many times and will continue to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Consistently good quality food and servi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Consistently good quality food and service

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We travel once a month on Sunday to eat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We travel once a month on Sunday to eat here and shop! we love this place. the food is amazing. the hardest thing to decide is do we want breakfast or lunch. There isn't anything we've eaten here that wasn't amazing! A huge favorite is their fried chicken and their max and cheese with chicken in it! we never leave without splitting a donut sundae! Always a great time with the wait staff. Finer dining restaurants could learn a thing or two about how to take care of their guests. As usual they kill it! just great friendly service. like your family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.