About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: 7346633663x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Restaurant Photos

Prosciutto, Mozzarella And Red Pepper Sandwich - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Zzang! Original Bar - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Fried Chicken Mac and Cheese - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Caesar Salad - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Pit-Smoked Bbq Beef Sandwich - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Zzang! Bar Shake - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Carbonara Macaroni - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
The Roadhouse Reuben - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Bleu Cheese And Bacon Salad - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Catfish - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
fried chicken - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Pork Entree - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
New York Piperade Steak - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Bacon, Egg & Cheese In A Bagel - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Bacon Steak - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI
Pulled Beef Sandwich - Zingerman's Roadhouse, Ann Arbor, MI

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Fit for Foodies (71)
Comfort Food (66)
Local Ingredients (66)
See All
Casual (56)
Good for Groups (53)
Worth the Drive (49)
Great for Lunch (45)
Kid-friendly (44)
Great for Brunch (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Authentic (35)
Family Style (32)
Fun (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Organic (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Great Beer (25)
Seasonal (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Healthy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Business Meals (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Cozy (13)
People Watching (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Historic (5)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A few too many gnats flying around the f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 hours ago

A few too many gnats flying around the food... Kinda hot on that patio...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

They were willing to make a favorite bru ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined a day ago

They were willing to make a favorite brunch item no longer on their menu. Great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except the corner b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Everything was great except the corner booth we were offered for five people. The space would have been fine for a family with small children but it was cramped since we had three people over six feet tall.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Whenever friends visit from out of state ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Whenever friends visit from out of state I take them there to show how good Michigan food is!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to the roadhouse before and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to the roadhouse before and was never disappointed in the service until this trip. The waitress took forever to take our order and had to be reminded 3 times to bring the complementary bread after 39 min of waiting at the table. Other tables were sat, ordered before we even got drinks. There were only 5 in the group and we were ready to order immediately. The waitress was not attentive to bring things or check on us until we sought her out or caught her in passing. Other tables of 3 and 4 had eaten and left with the table being resat before we received our meal. I was highly disappointed as i had brought some first time visitors with me. Had this been my first time I would not return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Excellent as ever. They have it all fig ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent as ever. They have it all figured out: great service, great food, great atmosphere. This is our favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fun, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best service in town. as always - nancy ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

best service in town. as always - nancy exceeded expectations. she is The Best. thank you!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like many of the other Zingerman's place ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Like many of the other Zingerman's places, is always ok, but never great. We were crowded closer to other diners than people at our table, the food is good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Always delicious and great service - and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Always delicious and great service - and today was even better since you have the best mushroom soup in Ann Arbor!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner. Excellent place even for ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Family dinner. Excellent place even for toddlers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was able to make a reservation on shor ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was able to make a reservation on short notice, and while I'm normally able to arrive somewhat early and be seated, it was quite busy, but I was still seated prior to my reservation.

Service was slightly slower and not as welcome as usual, but previous visits haven't been during busy times. Food was awesome, and there was no rush for us to leave.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My eggs benedict was good but barely war ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My eggs benedict was good but barely warm! And a bit pricey.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very friendly, attentive and knowledgeab ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable staff. They know how to train. Great food, the crab cake appetizer was all crab no filler. Our first time there but not the last. We live about 45 minutes away, i wish it was closer I'd be there at least 2-3 times a week. We eat out a lot Zingerman's tops the list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing.Service was slow and food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Disappointing.Service was slow and food was cold and not very good. Atmosphere was hectic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

restaurant was a bit crowded with dozens ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

restaurant was a bit crowded with dozens of patrons waiting to get in...makes for a rather cool spot to sit for those around the door...and paths for servers to get thru...

While Dawn our server did and excellent job....not fair to cram the aisle ways ....just puts pressure on wait staff...

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I was in Ann Arbor for an appointment an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I was in Ann Arbor for an appointment and stopped in for lunch---my husband and I have been here many times. I ordered the Shrimp Po Boy with a side salad, and both were very fresh---would order again. My server took great care of me and was very personable---thanks, Danny! Also, Jennifer, at the Hostess desk, was great to talk with :) She shared some information with me regarding their bakery, creamery, and other operations they have in the area. I left with various candies, including some of their Christmas items that they had. Although I didn't order it today, I definitely recommend the "Oysters and Bubbly" on the menu, to start with. My husband and I love this place!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Service this visit was ve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food is great. Service this visit was very acceptable but not as good as most visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place to dine whether it be breakf ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great place to dine whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food is always well prepared. You can find anything from comfort foods to salads, meats and seafood. While a bit on the pricey side, the food never fails. Daily specials are worthwhile if you happen to like the special of the day. My all time favorite is the Fried Chicken and my son loves their Mac n Cheese (of which there are several versions of). Definitely a

try at least once!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good but very pricey. What I wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good but very pricey. What I wanted to eat they were out of (at 2 on a Sunday) but they did make something not on the menu that day for my husband when he asked. Comfort food, expensive prices.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Drove 5 1/2 hours to see all Zingerman's ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Drove 5 1/2 hours to see all Zingerman's has to offer. They did not disappoint. Got to see friends that lived an hour away which was an added bonus. Food was really good and our server was very nice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We drive from toledo usually once a mont ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We drive from toledo usually once a month to eat here. love the brunch menu. always unusual combinations. This last visit Inhad the corned beef hash. unlike any other i have ever had! Awesome. My wife had the Mac and cheese with eggs. awesome as well. Donut sunday is a huge must! We split that! Service is always great. Dot know where they find such amazing wait staff! Super attentive and actually can feel they care about you! for all these reasons and many many more we keep coming back! Great destination place to have amazing quality food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They took a reservation for party of 4, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They took a reservation for party of 4, nice. They didn't mind that our friends canceled and we only had a party of two. The server was knowledgable, curteous, helpful and efficient. The food was very flavorful, cooked well, hot and served in a timely manner. The place was packed and loud, but it made it a great place for families. I would like to go back again, soon!

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came highly recommended by friends and d ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Came highly recommended by friends and didn't disappoint. There are two locations - one a deli in downtown Ann Arbor and the Roadhouse just on the edge. We were at the Roadhouse. Hard to describe the level of obsession here with authentic, home made, best-you ever-had recipes. I came away saying the best southern style biscuits are to be found in Ann Arbor, Michigan (and I'm a Memphis native). Topped with Michigan cherry preserves kicked 'em up even further. But it's not just Southern or Michigan. I suspect they really capture the essence of whatever style American comfort food you're into.

I was so impressed by this place just as a business, I bought their book.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, delicious food and great serv ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

As always, delicious food and great service. Gotta love this place,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always love the Roadhouse for any occ ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We always love the Roadhouse for any occasion. The menu is so varied, and everything is top quality. The bar is creative and the staff is excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

it was my son's birthday. very nice cel ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

it was my son's birthday. very nice celebration with free dessert. he loved it

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zingerman's Roadhouse is our favorite br ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Zingerman's Roadhouse is our favorite breakfast place by far. The meals are a but pricey but well work the farm to table freshness and superb ingredients.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ann Arbor's HOT spot. Great friendly wai ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Ann Arbor's HOT spot. Great friendly wait staff very personable .Experience a fun enjoyable dinning atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good and the service was outstanding. They were great with my infant son.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mediocre, but not even clos ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was mediocre, but not even close to worth the high price. The Pitmaster salad at $17 was extremely disappointing . Very overcooked chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was very good though it did take ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was very good though it did take a while to get bill. Food good...burger was good but hard to eat...fell apart. Fun place for special occasion but not a quiet spot.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered the BBQ plate and the oyster ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We ordered the BBQ plate and the oyster po'boy. The spare ribs and pulled pork were great, but the smoked chicken was merely average. The po'boy did not have enough oysters but it tasted alright.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We travel three hours to Michigan games. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We travel three hours to Michigan games. Since finding you why tailgate. It's become a new tradition for many years "almost" as important as going to the game. Bob behind the bar is exceptional great customer service remembers our names and greets us with hey kids makes us feel good. Of course we are far from being kids!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Here for U. of MichiganParents Weekend- ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Here for U. of MichiganParents Weekend- so be sure to make a reservation well in advance. Fun atmosphere, good food, generous quantities. A very enjoyable dinner!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice service but overpriced and the port ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice service but overpriced and the portions were small. The crab cakes (2) were about the size of a half dollar and were $12.50. I left with a large bill and a generally unsatisfactory food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We were disappointed. The restaurant i ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We were disappointed. The restaurant is known for its barbecue but the wait staff also raved about other dishes. The bread was excellent. The barbecue was mediocre. The scallops were excellent but not for the price. The flank steak had an ok flavor but was not very tender. The pork belly was awful and did not have a good flavor. It was also very hard to hear. We went back for drinks later and really couldn't talk across the table. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our waiter was not very good, i'm usuall ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Our waiter was not very good, i'm usually used to impeccable service at zingermans but he just didn't have it. Our food was brought to us before silverware was and even though we asked for silverware 3 times we still had to flag down a different waiter to finally bring it to us. Things that were asked for never made it to the table and it kind of ruined the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

My husband and I treated ourselves to a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I treated ourselves to a date night. All my husband wanted was some fried chicken, so I goggled who has the best fried chicken and Zingerman's Roadhouse came up on a list of the top 10 places in Michigan for fried chicken. So my husband happily ordered the 4 piece chicken dinner and I ordered the mac n cheese on a suggestion from our server. Neither meal disappointed and my husband was extremely happy with his chicken dinner. Said it tasted like grandma was back in the kitchen frying chicken in an old cast iron skillet. this was our first time expirencing Zingermans Roadhouse but it will not be our last.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

absolutely stunning meal! our server was ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

absolutely stunning meal! our server was so kind and polite and the table at which we were seated perfectly accommodated our group. thank you for a fantastic time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience always at the Roadh ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent experience always at the Roadhouse.

Had the Fried Chicken Mac which was great.

Great glass of wine the Federalist for $8.

So many great choices, great drink, beer and wine selection.

I can not imagine anyone not being completely happy at Zingerman's Roadhouse.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.