Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Zingerman's Roadhouse

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (88)
Local Ingredients (83)
Fit for Foodies (68)
See All
Great for Brunch (66)
Casual (62)
Good for Birthdays (57)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Great for Lunch (55)
Special Occasion (50)
Fun (49)
Worth the Drive (48)
Kid-friendly (47)
Good for Groups (45)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good Vegetarian Options (42)
Good for a Date (39)
Organic (34)
Gluten Free Options (33)
Authentic (32)
Cozy (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great Beer (18)
Healthy (17)
Business Meals (17)
Seasonal (16)
People Watching (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Family Style (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vegan (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I am impressed with the superb service as well as the outstanding food. The servers were concerned that my gluten-free order was correctly prepared. I am delighted that you have a dedicated fryer. I haven't had fried chicken in over 40 years! I look forward to dining again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

So glad you finally got some new gluten free options - the mac and cheese was amazing. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

My family chose Zingerman's for a celebratory brunch. Our food and service was amazing. I have a daughter who is 21 months and the food options were great for her! The ambiance was great too because there was plenty for her to see in addition to the activity at our table. I was more relaxed as a mom because the staff was so welcoming to her and they didn't care if she occasionally was loud. A great time was had by our entire party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was exceptional. Food was all pretty much overdone. Burgers, bread, (Petri)fried chicken all on too long. Mac and cheese, the specialty, was good. Not exceptional. Prices outpaced value. Love their bakery sattelite(s) but dinner nothing off the charts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The bluefish was excellent paired with steamed greens. When I asked about it the server had the kitchen cook a taste of the fish because some people think it comes on too strong- nice touch and great service. I also enjoyed the Michigan beer selection plus a Dogfishhead Ale!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Drove down specifically for the brunch because we wanted to get the biscuits and chocolate gravy--we hadn't had that in a while. Didn't disappoint. Even if it sounds weird, this is absolutely worth getting. The whole brunch menu is excellent, it's probably the meal that the Roadhouse does best, though there's plenty of lunch/dinner options that are truly stand-out as well, like the burgers, fried chicken, and ribs. The fish selections are very good as well (for dinner/lunch) and there's lots of seasonal food from their self-run farm. Cheese flights are excellent. Not in love with anything they try to make spicy, and though they do better than a lot of places when it comes to vegetarian--I mean, it's like half the menu--the meat items are superior.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Eggs Benedict was pretty pathetic--it had Sourdough bread with crust so hard that I could barely cut through with a steak knife, very thin piece of ham, borderline prosciutto and a sorry little sampling of potatoes. The chocolate chip kids pancakes were pretty dry, a bit like cardboard. The service was fantastic, everyone is very nice and nice ambience outside on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

For the second time in 2 weeks service was slow and one item in the order was forgotten by the server. My meal had to be sent back because it was lukewarm. The cheese in the skillet wasn't even all melted. For these prices and marketing of service I expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast, and a special thanks for the GF waffles!

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food was good but overpriced $17 for two pieces of chicken? Crab cake app was disappointing also. Waiter was pleasant but Never asked once if we wanted anything to drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 6, 2017

What a fabulous evening. The food is always unique and delicious. Tonight's service was even better than the excellent service we've come to expect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I was very disappointed in the soup. I ordered a bowl of turkey and rice soup and it was broth and shredded turkey, no rice, no veggies. $10 for a bowl of soup is outrageous but $10 for broth and turkey is just ridiculous, not sure if I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I love the Zingerman's Roadhouse. Consistent food and service. I always stop here on my trips to Michigan.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was delicious however the service was lacking. It took a very long time for the server to greet the table and take our orders. 2 of us ordered iced tea which we never received. All of us were pleased with our food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our waitress, Nancy, was awesome! Food was delicious! Great family celebration of my birthday!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Zingermans never disappoints! It's always a favorite spot for our family. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Really great food....as always by Zingerman's. Our server, Kim, did a great job. Lots of menu options for every palate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was delicious! Service was excellent! Overall a very enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have always enjoyed Zingerman's as a family. We frequent often and attend special dinners they hold. However this trip we didn't enjoy as much as usual due to cold food and mediocre service. They did fix our cold food and compensate us for the trouble. We will continue to visit and hope this was a one time experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful tasty menu selections.Special treat to go to the Roadhouse with special friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Took a friend who had never been - she was pretty delighted.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Very expensive for the qualify of food received. I would have expected much better for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our waitress was great! We had business associates from Spain, and they really enjoyed there experience at your restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We traveled from Chicago-over 4 hrs. Definitely worth the effort! Scallops & ribs were excellent. Burgers & fried chicken looked great. Staff was very helpful & friendly. Pricey, always okay when the food
is high quality. We would recommend
Zingerman's Roadhouse to all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 25, 2017

There for Sunday Brunch with friends. Best ever Arnold Palmer. Awesome raisin toast with great tart cherry preserves. Went down from there. Very noisy. Kids running around. Slow service. Burnt corned beef hash. Over cooked fried eggs. Waitress had a bit of an edge. For the price I wouldn't go back. Felt like I was in a Big Boy. Not a great foodie spot. Sorry but it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A VERY noisy restaurant . Food was ok...my sandwich was big but it was because of the thick bread..not much turkey, cheese, or sauerkraut. Turkey had a very smokey taste if you like that...it was pulled turkey so it was like eating chopped turkey. The pulled chicken sandwich was very small compared to the $16 pricetag. Wait staff was amazing,polite, efficient . And why would Zingermans run out of smoked salmon (lox) especially at breakfast/brunch time on a Sunday? Inexcusable!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Coffee was not good. Pretty disappointed in overall food given the prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Every meal is always amazing at Zingermans! Highly recommend!

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were there celebrating a birthday. We really liked the ability to schedule our reservation online using the "OpenTable" app thru the Zingerman website. That was great since we had people coming from 3 different directions. We enjoyed sitting in the enclosed patio area. The only issue for us was when the smokers got going, it got a little smokey in that area. We had a great time. We would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Zingerman's is a family favorite. We love the hamburgers and great cheeses.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our waitress was fabulous! She was attentive and beyond helpful. And the food is always spectacular

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was great as usual. Only issue was we were seated really close to the only other party in the room (we went at an off time), next time I would ask to move, I just didn't like feeling like we were a part of another table's conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had our Fathers Day lunch here and everything was fantastic as usual, the food awesome, and the service was perfect! Thank you all for making it a great time

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great as always!! Love all the great people who work ZINGERMANS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Run there now to get the Samodi Kulacs French toast!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The only reason I gave a Very Good vs Outstanding was an issue with our eggs. My husband and I both order "medium" and our eggs were hard. It was Father's Day and busy, but we had a 9am reservation so plenty of time to get out eggs right!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were seated outside on a very warm day. Husband said it was the best seafood meal he ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Despite arriving nearly 45 minutes early, we were accommodated with no problems. Great experience, first time I had dessert there and it was delicious, as was the rest of the meal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Organic, Business Meals, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Zingerman's did a great job making my mom's 80th birthday brunch a very special occasion. They had her favorite flowers, a card signed by their staff and a very festive special dessert donut with ice cream and a candle. Perfect!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Came here for the first time when family came to town. There were six of us so we appreciated we could hold a table and also that they had it ready for us when we arrived. We also needed gluten free options and there were many. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable and took his time explaining the menu. Food and drinks were a little pricey but we enjoyed our meal and will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.