Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Zingerman's Roadhouse

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: (734) 663-3663

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (68)
Local Ingredients (64)
Casual (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Great for Brunch (40)
Fun (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Authentic (23)
Business Meals (23)
Organic (22)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Great Beer (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Seasonal (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vegan (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
People Watching (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 9 hours ago

Amy was our waitress and she was the absolute best. If you have food allergies, go to Zingermans and ask for her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 3 days ago

Spent our anniversary lunch date at Roadhouse. Never disappoints for food and service experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Zingerman's Roadhouse is usually on the mark, but today was the worst dining experience I've had in a very long time. We arrived at 9:15 for our reservation and at 9:30 we went to the hostess stand to request a wait staff person to come to our table...at 9:40 we received coffee, but no sugar. Our food arrived but the order was incorrect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

we had a terrible waitress and although i usually enjoy the Roadhouse it was not a great meal
my martini very mediocre and the fish and chips dinner the fish had a deep coating and the fish itself very small

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great dishes and taste real American food. Very friendly staff and good atmosphere. Becaful for the size of food.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I so wanted this to be a great breakfast--it wasn't. We had 9:45 am reservations which were perfect and the hostess was great! Waiter took almost 15 min to come to our table. Finally another waitress noticed and took our drink order. 25 min in our waiter appeared, apologized and offered a free dessert or app? I ordered a iced latte, after asking and a 20 min wait got a hot one? Food was ok, out of capers for bagels, found out after waiter said he would bring some-15 min and finished with breakfast, was told they were running to get another jar. Eric was our waiter, nice guy but really not good at waiting tables. Overrated and won't rush back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Once again, Zingerman's did not disappoint! Thank you, again, for a wonderful dining experience and great food!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Fun, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had a wonderful experience being my first time trying Zingerman's. Also, first time visiting the area and they made me feel very welcomed! Service was excellent and the food was great! Thank you for the experience and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food is always great, and our servers are consistently wonderful. The Roadhouse is one of our favorite places for brunch, lunch and dinner!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very enjoyable dinner. My only issues were that I had to remind the hostess of my reservation after waiting 20+ minutes after checking in, and that the wait staff seemed abnormally busy and it wasn't easy to flag down our waiter, but once we got ahold of him, everything was handled well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Roadhouse is one of my favorite places for brunch in town. Great beer/cocktails and a solid stable of rotating specials. If there's a wait, consider sitting at the bar for fast and friendly service.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always, the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It's always good!!! Even when their slammed we get great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious food
Very creative menu
Lots of options for all types of diets

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overpriced, small portions, and below average service. Not a great combo. Was very underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a large group in town and wanted something that speaks Ann Arbor- not a traditional chain. Made reservations, restaurant followed up and reminder us of reservations.. friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Really good American -themed food. For the most part generous servings and very reasonably priced specials M-F for breakfast and S-Th for lunch/ dinner. Salads, black bean burgers, and a few other really good vegetarian options. The grits are the BEST anywhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My Husband had absolutely no meat with his meal. I am not sure if they ran out or if they are cheap.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Mac and cheese was a real disappointment- seemed too heavy with butter and bechamel sauce but not enough cheese. Very little cheese flavor. All three of us who ordered it were disappointed. Fried chicken was good though. Wait staff were great. Despite being crowded it was easy enough in our booth to hear each other speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

It was a loud room and I had requested a quiet table due to a person with hearing loss.
Food took a long time to come.
Birthday desserts used to be a choice - we've been celebrating birthdays here for years. Now it is just the doughnut - some servers offer other options but not this one.

We do enjoy this restaurant and will return but would like requests honored.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I had to wait a long time before being seated. Once seated, I was asked if I wanted an appetizer or dessert on the house because I had to wait. I said no thank you. When I got the bill, I was charged for only the 2 beers I had. Now THAT'S customer service!! I will definitely go back! I gave the server a 100% tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2017

A good dinner. The BBQ beef was tender and good and the mac n cheese was excellent. The cocktails were very good too. They seated us right on time. I will go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Loved the Cajun potlicker fish stew!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was very good, our server was excellent but the noise level was horrendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great food, great service, excellent bar value. I would go back and, as a matter of fact, I'm going back for dinner 1 day after my first experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Hearty menu, so ate fried chicken, mashed potatoes with gravy, and the doughnut dessert with vanilla ice cream, bourbon caramel sauce and more. Deliciousness, but with a price! Great service; the Zingerman's company really instills friendly, attentive and complete service at all their locations, this restaurant included.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very good food and service. Really enjoyed it! Look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We've been to the Roadhouse several times over the past few years and after alternating between really good and really disappointing meals, we're done. This time the fried chicken was outstanding but the bluefish was somewhat flavorless and way too wet, and the eggplant was undercooked. The server was initially extremely friendly but never checked to see if we were enjoying our food until we were just about done. When I expressed dissatisfaction with the food she brought it to the chef and never mentioned it again. Poorly done on all fronts. I expect better food and service from a Zingerman's restaurant. We'll be back to the deli and continue ordering online but we're done with the Roadhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very good food- service-atmosphere but way over priced!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I had heard of Zingerman's but not the Roadhouse. We went on the advice of a local friend with out of town friends. It was very nice and the food was good. I don't think it has any particularly special features that separate it from other good restaurants in the area. Somewhat expensive but I would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

A family favorite for birthdays. It's comfort food based upon locally-sourced ingredients. They totally nail fried chicken, BBQ and mac'n cheese. Eclectic as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

7-19-2017. BBQ wing appetizer (daily dinner special) was excellent. Wings were brined in sorghum, smoked and then deep fried and sauced. The 5 mini burgers (sliders) with chef's choice of cheeses was also amazing... I think we had Cabot cheddar, feta, Swiss, blue cheese, pimento cheese. My daughter really enjoyed the GF pimento cheese & bacon macaroni. Always great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Always excellent. Barbeque plate and chicken outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This is one of our favorites for breakfast. Pricey ($40 for 2 with tip) but good food and terrific service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

For the price you pay I was not impressed with the food, ambiance or service.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overall we had a wonderful time. We had seven adults and two children a large family reunion and everyone loved the food. I didn't think the service was less attentive than usual. However it was Saturday night after all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service. Delicious food but VERY small portions in relation to vist.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always great options and huge portions of food! Delicious and excellent service

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Love zingerman's! My boyfriend and I love the gravy and fried chicken.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Vegan, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place never disappoints! Zingermans is popular for a reason! The food here can be pricey, but it's always worth what you pay. I also love that they are kid friendly and their kids menu isn't all junk food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.