About Zingerman's Roadhouse

2501 Jackson Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
View Larger Map

Our passion is to serve guests full-flavored, traditional, regional American foods in a down-to-earth restaurant atmosphere.

James Beard-winning Chef Alex Young and the Roadhouse crew serve a daily breakfast, lunch & dinner menu and weekly specials, with a passion for Really Good American Food, using seasonal, heirloom produce from Cornman Farms—our very own farm, supplying Roadhouse tables with hours-old vegetables.

Our All-American Bar serves carefully chosen wine and beer lists and an extensive Classic Cocktail menu that embraces balance and a return to better ingredients.

Join us for our Monthly Special Dinners and explore in-depth, regional American cuisine with guest culinary experts and producers.

We build community connections by hosting local music outdoors on our patio, a farmers market in the Roadhouse parking lot & fundraisers for local non-profits.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
M-TH 7am-10pm, F 7am-11pm, SA 9am-11pm, SU 9am-9pm (10pm in summer)

Weekday Breakfast 7am-11am, Weekend Brunch 9am-2pm

Roadshow Open Weekdays at 6am, Weekends at 8am for drive-up pastries & coffee and all menu to-go orders.

Cross Street:
Maple Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3663

Website:
http://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live traditional American music on the patio Wednesdays, 6:00pm to 9:00pm, May through September.

Catering:
Zingerman's Roadhouse is excited to custom create an event for you! We can work with everything from small intimate groups to large outdoor parties. We wilol craft a menu that reflects the theme of your party, and offer attentive, detailed service from your reservation all the way through to your event.

Parking Details:
Abundant free parking.

Executive Chef:
Alex Young

Private Party Facilities:
On-site or off-site, Zingerman's Roadhouse can plan a business meeting, wedding shower, or graduation party that reflects your needs as well as those of your guests. Our private rooms can accommodate up to 200 people. And, in the event that you have a larger party, or special location already, we can and do bring our great service and food to you! Contact us to talk about what we can provide for you.

Private Party Contact:
Joanie Mallory: 7346633663x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly, the Roadhouse takes a close look at one aspect of our diverse American foodways. Subjects range from fresh-from-the-garden local produce, to the state of barbecue in our country, and even more. Check out our events website for information.

Restaurant Photos

Prosciutto, Mozzarella And Red Pepper Sandwich
Zzang! Original Bar
Fried Chicken Mac and Cheese
Caesar Salad
Pit-Smoked Bbq Beef Sandwich
Zzang! Bar Shake
Carbonara Macaroni
The Roadhouse Reuben
Bacon, Egg & Cheese In A Bagel
New York Piperade Steak
Catfish
Bleu Cheese And Bacon Salad
fried chicken
Pork Entree
Bacon Steak
Pulled Beef Sandwich

Zingerman's Roadhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Kid Friendly
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
4 More
Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (180)
great for lunch (147)
good for groups (147)
See All
great for brunch (133)
kid-friendly (132)
neighborhood gem (115)
special occasion (98)
hot spot (58)
great for outdoor dining (45)
late-night find (14)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
romantic (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Knowing the prices were high, I expected ...

Dined 5 days ago

Knowing the prices were high, I expected memory making experience. The staff were fine, but the bun my pulled pork sandwich was on is one I could purchase at a grocery store. And the twice fried French fries were exceptionally greasy and limp

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my son and his family to brunch o ...

Dined 5 days ago

I took my son and his family to brunch on Father's Day. We had a reservation and our table was ready when we arrived.it waves a very warm day and I was concerned when we were seated on the patio but, it was actually comfortable. I love the crab cakes and I was disappointed to find they were not on the menu. Our server checked with the kitchen and reported that the supplier had not been able to produce sufficient product and so the crab cakes had been removed from the menu. I made another choice and enjoyed my meal. We all enjoyed our meals, including two young fussy eaters. I had cherry pie ala mode for dessert that was the best I have tasted. All in all, it was a delicious, enjoyable celebration. Can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Place was enjoyable from an atmosphere s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Place was enjoyable from an atmosphere stand-point, service was decent, but the food was very average relative to the price. It was not bad, it wasn't anything particularly noteworthy, hence the non-recommendation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined 6 days ago

Great service

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food, as usual!

Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food, as usual!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Father's Day at The Roadho ...

Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated Father's Day at The Roadhouse this year and enjoyed the brunch very much. It was a great choice!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointing. We have taken a group of ...

Dined 6 days ago

Disappointing. We have taken a group of 8-10 (with reservations) to brunch here several times this past year. Each time something has gone wrong (cold food, missed order). This visit included one missed order while the other 7 had hot food as well as overcooked, dry food. Service ranged from inconsistent to nonexistent. Some members of the extended family chose not to go at all because of bad meals here. The Road House has been coasting on a reputation and we kept trying but it's time to move on.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After having an unpleasant experience ea ...

Dined 6 days ago

After having an unpleasant experience earlier this year, my husband and I came in Saturday to celebrate our anniversary. The food was phenomenal, as was the service. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Small portions for the price. Food was ...

Dined 6 days ago

Small portions for the price. Food was ok, but not worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Good food. Overall I was ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great service! Good food. Overall I was very happy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food at a very reasonable price w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

great food at a very reasonable price with wonderful service. The meatloaf was a work of culinary art.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Zingermans is always a great place to ea ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Zingermans is always a great place to eat. Their attitude towards fresh and local is what they specialize in. The Sunday Fried Chicken is the best

food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Went here for brunch, early on Sunday mo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Went here for brunch, early on Sunday morning. Made a reservation and was seated instantly, but the place was quiet enough that there was no wait anyways. Our server was very friendly and attentive. My only complaint is that the A/C was on FULL blast and my companion & I were freezing throughout the whole meal. The price is slightly high for what it's worth, but they made a great cappuccino and the bread used for the cinnamon raisin french toast was delicious. The bacon n grits waffle was quite gooey -- my friend was expecting a waffle cooked with bacon inside but the bacon and cheese was just dumped on top. Probably would skip that one next time. Overall a good brunch at an Ann Arbor landmark, but be prepared to spend a few extra $$ and know your options will be very limited if vegetarian.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Very positive experience. Server was ver ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Very positive experience. Server was very accommodating.

food5
ambience5
service5

The cheeseburger made with locally raise ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The cheeseburger made with locally raised beef was delicious. I also sampled the bacon and pimiento macaroni and cheese which was also yummy. I topped it off with a glass of draft root beer that was very refreshing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant with good food and sustainabl ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Restaurant with good food and sustainable practices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appetizers, entrees, and dessert wer ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our appetizers, entrees, and dessert were delicious and the service was great. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service- great food. One of my f ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome service- great food. One of my favorite brunches in Michigan. One problem....you were out of cinnamon rolls! This should be against the brunch rules! They are the thing that gets you out of bed and makes you wait in line.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pleasant and most accommodating

Dined on June 5, 2016

Pleasant and most accommodating for my mother's 91st birthday - everyone enjoyed the venue and the food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Above and Beyond

Dined on June 5, 2016

From the time we walked in till the moment we left everything was very pleasant. The personable staff was very knowledgeable and excited to share there personal favorites and there recommendations was very helpful as first time diners. Everyone who came to our table did so with a smile which was very refreshing. The food was very fresh and the creative recipes were a welcomed change we can't wait to experience again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, few vegetarian options

Dined on May 29, 2016

As much as I love the deli in Kerrytown, sometimes eating at the Roadhouse is tough for a vegetarian. They do have common veggie fare (black bean burger, mac & cheese, and salads), but you would expect Zingerman's to have a bit more diversity.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Roadhouse!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We come from Toledo usually once a month to eat heer! its that great! havent had a bad time yet. weve about tried it all. breakfast. brunch stuff as well as lunch. Fried chicken is crazy good. mac and cheese fantastic. lasr visit we had bicuits and gravy and mac and cheese with chicken. brisket and pork are awesome as well. sweet potato fries are great! service staff are superb. friendly, attentive, and dont miss a beat. I dont usually write reviews because im almost always disappointed! never her at the roadhouse!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

My sister and I celebrated my daughter's 20th birthday at the Roadhouse with great success. The Scallops were perfectly cooked, the Rib eye was tender, and the bronzed whitefish superb. The Zingerman's brownie and Go Blue berry pie were the Best! Service was excellent and helpful. Wine pairings were perfect. Highly recommend! Meeting Ari and talking with him was a special treat for my daughter who has been a Zingerman's fan for 20 years!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Uniquely Ann Arbor, and always fun to visit

Dined on May 21, 2016

If one were to ask for a special Ann Arbor dining place, my answer will always be "Zingerman's Roadhouse". Frankly, roadhouse is a misnomer for this place, because the food, price, and service are definitely more upscale. However, every dollar spent is worth it, since all that will be served to you are of compatible quality. Free Zingerman's bread, to begin with, you will not complain. And the menu is constantly with quirky, but tasty food, sufficient for both adventurous and conservative eaters. The place is cosily designed, so you will feel at home every visit. I would definitely recommend this place for celebratory moments, or just to introduce your visiting friends to Ann Arbor. Remember to reserve your seatings ahead, because Zingerman's Roadhouse is always packed for all the times I have visited. Enjoy :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local Favorite

Dined on May 21, 2016

Whenever I return to Michigan this is the first place I try to eat. Always a total joy because the kitchen takes classics American comfort food to the next level. I started with a lovely pairing of oysters with a glass of Waterfire Gruner Veltliner, every bit as delicious as the best Gruners I have enjoyed in Austria. Mom and I went with the pan-seared Michigan whitefish with grits and were quite pleased.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place in Ann Arbor

Dined on May 17, 2016

We come to The Roadhouse for special occasions and know we will get great service, top quality food and a delicious, complimentary dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Thank you, Nancy, for your excellent ser ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Thank you, Nancy, for your excellent service and great recommendations!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My parents were in town, so my wife and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My parents were in town, so my wife and I wanted to take them to a quintessentially Ann Arbor restaurant. We are vegetarians, but my parents are not. So, we wanted a place with a wide range of foods, and Zingerman's Roadhouse was perfect. We had the pimento cheese and celery appetizer. I had the grilled grits. We had a great bottle of wine. It was all excellent, and the service was amazing. Great place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dinner!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Super delicious food, we were both very impressed! Will definitely be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful as usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything on the menu looked delicious ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Everything on the menu looked delicious and it was hard to choose. I had buttermilk fried chicken with side of shitake mushroom mac & cheese instead of mashed potato and their standard mac & cheese. All of it, every single bite, was scrumptious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This one was a little disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my third visit to Zingerman's Roadhouse, and I am sad that I was disappointed. My last two visits were wonderful, but this time was just not that great. We went for dinner on Mother's Day at 4pm. they got us seated right away, but it seemed that the food took a long while to come out compared to some tables around us. I ordered the Sauteed Whitefish and it was bland. I didn't sent it back because there was nothing technically wrong with it, but it lacked flavor and really could have used even some salt. My husband ordered the fried chicken and it was pretty overcooked. He ate the dark meat, but as he tried to eat the chicken breast realized it was so overdone it was inedible. He let the server know right away, and they were nice enough to take the cost of the breast off of the bill without our asking for anything special. The server was very nice and accommodating, and the service was fine, we were just really disappointed with the food this visit. When I think Zingerman's I always think delicious food, and it did not live up to my expectations this time. That being said, I will probably go back at some point, but it will not be the first restaurant that I think of when deciding where to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Zingerman's Road House day before Mothers Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service. The food was good, although my wife's Eggs Benedict was not as hot as it could be.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We brig out of town guests here every ti ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We brig out of town guests here every time and without fail, folks are happy. Thanks roadhouse!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food still great; service not what it once was

Dined on May 5, 2016

I had touted this restaurant as known for both great food and service. But the latter was lacking - dishes were not timely cleared, at many times our waitperson could not be found, and forgot to bring some items. Some of the people in our group will not likely be back to Ann Arbor, since this was a special occasion... so glad we went for that reason, but wish the experience could have been a little better. For food - try the specials and new menu items. As always, the mac and cheese is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great times and great food...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit, the food was wonderful and the service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality, informed waiter

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Food quality, informed waiter

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing gluten-free finds for me, and ou ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Amazing gluten-free finds for me, and our server's suggestion was right on point! I'll be back soon!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Exceptionally good food on average, thoughtfully sourced, and very professional service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.