Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11am - 3pm (between 3pm-4pm we have a limited anytime menu) Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4pm - 9pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Specials

Live music

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Live music

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Most of the time we have a three piece live jazz band playing but at times we'll also have a duo. No cover charge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

We have $5 cocktails and draft beers, $8 martinis, $6 glasses of wine, and a great variety of appetizers to choose from. It varies from crispy calamari, to any one of our 11 wood fired small pizzas or our pork quesadilla. On Wednesdays 4pm-10pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. For bar and high tops only. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Casual (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Romantic (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Live Music (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Seasonal (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

It had been a few months since our last visit to this "go-to" place so we were looked forward to it. It was an early dinner as a medical appointment we had ended much more quickly than I had guessed it might. The young woman who checked us in indicated there would be no problem seating us despite how early we were.
We both had the pasta with chorizo, clams, and prawns. While it was tad greasy from the sausage meat, it was very tasty and we both finished the entire thing.
When we got the check we were quite surprised that coffee was $4.00! Many four-star eateries charge between two and three dollars, so this was a bit disconcerting.
All in all, though, we will be back.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Enjoyable meal with family - birthdays. The pasta dishes were good, the seafood was cooked properly, the caesars salad with calamari was excellent and the calzone was just right (but a bit too much dough).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My husband & I had a $15.00 off dinner coupon, and when we got there I gave the coupon to our waiter. He took it, came back after he had taken our order and said that the coupon said we had to order 2 drinks in order to get the $15.00 off. I asked to see the coupon, it took over 5 minutes for him to bring it to me. When he did, I looked at it and it did say we had to order 2 beverages. However, looking at the coupon, it was not the entire piece of paper I had printed out that day, it was torn, slightly worn in the middle of it where it creases after being folded, the expiration date had been slightly scribbled on, and something had been written & scratched out at the bottom right corner of the sheet of paper the coupon was on. It was all very suspicious looking, and my name WAS printed on it, but was still very suspicious. I think he was trying to create a higher bill for a bigger tip. Next time, if there is a next time, I will read the entire coupon carefully & and take a picture of it so it's on my phone. So, beware of your servers at Zinfandel Grill on Fairoaks Blvd. and pay attention to your coupon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Consistently delicious food, with interesting specials. Casual but upscale and in a pleasant setting. And their pizzas are delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always consistent. Good variety on menu and specials are a plus

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our server, Joe Kennedy, was excellent! Food was very good and seating was comfortable. It was a little difficult to have a conversation because the noise level is somewhat high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A go to place for my wife and I.
Not once have we been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

One place can't be everything to everyone, so what I'm about to say is by no means meant to diminish how great Zinfandel is. Their menu is creative and interesting, the food excellent, and the service top-notch. We went because they had live music, and the band, JAZZ GITAN (I have no connection to them), was fantastic.

Now the negative part: I wish that the menu had more vegan options. Almost everything has meat and/or cheese and/or seafood. Again, they're good at what they're good at, and I respect that. But in a place like Sacramento, vegan options are not an uncommon request.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Live Music, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 7, 2017

They have best calamari that I've ever had! Highly recommend they.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went for lunch and had the Summer Niçoise Salad with Salmon. It was delicious! The salmon was cooked perfectly , and the service was friendly & appropriately attentive. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2017

nothing surprising about the food although the seafood pasta was spicier than I would have expected. That made my husband happy since he likes spicy food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I love Zinfandel anyway, but they really kicked up their performance on what happened to be my birthday. The special of the day was a veal dish that resembled the veal picatta my mother used to make me for my birthday every years at my request. (Yes, I was a spoiled child).

This entree was absolutely delicious! My friend ordered the same thing and we shared a Caesar salad which was as close to the original recipe as you can get, although I do love the ones with the whole romaine leaf. Most Caesar salads in Sacramento are not even close to the original recipe. They tend to substitute mayonnaise for the coddled egg and do other funny things with it. For dessert we shared a creme brulee which they do beautifully and they included a lit candle for my birthday which was great. I also appreciated that they didn't sing the birthday song.

The service was outstanding as usual. After all these years, Zinfandel continues to be consistenly great and reliable. I love Zinfandel!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Local neighborhood gen with predictably good standards from the avocado crab salad to the salmon and penne pasta. There are interesting specials but this time we had a later than normal arrival and missed the special lasagne. The music trio is an unnecessary addition . Service is very good with people who know their job and seem to enjoy working with custoners

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Made an on-line reservation with Open Table, and received a confirmation. But when we arrived, the staff had no record of the reservation. No big deal this day, since we were early and the restaurant was not that busy. But it demonstrates a potentially major systems failure.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The chef at Zinfandel grill has an unbelievable way with fish. I have enjoyed the fish special three times in the past two months. Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Another birthday celebrated here
Been doing it for over 30 years

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had great seafoods meals (scallops on risotto for her, ahi on spicy soba noodles for me). Wine list was extensive and offered bottles as well as single glass options.
Service was very prompt and friendly. Waitress was very accommodating to our requests and her timing was perfect.
Will definitely be back with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Nice table reserved for business meeting, good food (the pasta special was excellent) and good service. Nice atmosphere although a bit loud for a meeting, not sure how you solve that at busy lunchtime at popular place. Have eaten here before and I'm happy it retains high quality over time and continues to be a solid choice for a business lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great, as always! Good food, good atmosphere!
That's all I have to say about that!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent dinner ... steaks cooked perfectly!! Saleds we're very fresh and well presented ... dessert ... hmmmm ... lava cake a bit dry ... I've avoid it and go for the Cree bruelee instead

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was fabulous and our waiter Armando made the day, he was attentive, patient and very helpful. Great afternoon getting caught up with friends without feeling like we were rushed.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was flavorful and luxurious we both had the rib eye steak

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Attentive staff. Cool quiet environment. Meal was to return for. Kitchen was willing to accommodate special menu requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Celebrated my birthday! Salmon was excellent as was the ice cream treat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a group of 6, they sat us at a table near the back which was good. The food was great, good selection on the menu and was priced good. Our waiter (Joe) was exceptional, knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Complimentary bread was not up to par for freshness and foil wrapped butter was almost in a molten state. Swordfish Special was great and made up for those

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I really enjoyed dinner at Zinfandel Grill. The food was well prepared and tasty. The service was excellent. The only issue was the noise level. But after a while once I got use to it the noise level was no longer a problem.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

RESERVED TABLE WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR 30 MINUTES. NICOISE SALAD VERY POOR. MOSTLY LETTUCE GREENS. NO info on gluten free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very good food and excellent service. Great management at this place. 10 in my book.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Zinfandel is a great restaurant! Great servers, delicious meals and wonderful ambiance. It is our go to restaurant if we are going to mid-town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We each had excellent seafood. Server was pleasant, but had a few problems with the bill, which he quickly corrected.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Enjoyed dining experience and very nice server. Would go again if opportunity arises.
Accommodated special request with no problems.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As always a great meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everything was great. We have been going here since it opened and food is consitantly good. They have a great menu with something for everyone. Service was attentive and the front dining room set up with mostly booths is very pleasant and easy to have a conversation without shouting. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. You cannot go wrong dining here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The quality of the ribeye steak was poor even the good chefs there couldn't do much else to make it worth the price. They forgot our salad and apologized to the next table for the error, never offering us other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have always had a great meal. The salmon is wonderful and made differently each time we go.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The bottom line is to leave with a good impression of the dining experience. And Zinfandel Grill accomplished just that! Armando is excellent at what he does. The food was prepared properly and tasted great. This was the first time my wife and I dined at Zinvandel Grill and friends that joined us only once before. I have lived in the area since 1986 but never in the immediate area of where the restaurant is located. And, if it were not for our good friends we still might have not had dined at Zinfandel. Why? Because for my birthday, I was given a Zinvandel gift card. Thanks to our friends, you now have additional guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is consistently good, as is the service. The restaurant has a rustic modern flare and is quite comfortable. It's a little noisy but not enough that you can't hear your table mates talking. The menu is seasonal...I've always had good food there.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was great and reasonably priced. Server was professional and attentive. Other staff members were very attentive also.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.