Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11am - 3pm (between 3pm-4pm we have a limited anytime menu) Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4pm - 9pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (888) 315-0444

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Specials

Live music

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Happy Hour

Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

20% Off Food Only

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Live music

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Most of the time we have a three piece live jazz band playing but at times we'll also have a duo. No cover charge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Come treat dad at Zinfandel Grille!! We will be serving our regular dinner menu from 4:00pm-9:00pm plus having a fresh fish special, in house pasta special, and a Prime Rib special. We hope to see you all here!!

Happy Hour

Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

We have $5 cocktails and draft beers, $8 martinis, $6 glasses of wine, and a great variety of appetizers to choose from. It varies from crispy calamari, to any one of our 11 wood fired small pizzas or our pork quesadilla. On Wednesdays 4pm-10pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. For bar and high tops only. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

20% Off Food Only

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

20% Off Food Only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Discount is for main dining room only. Not valid with any other promotions. Special valid May 24, 2017 - Sep 22, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Wood Oven (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Casual (24)
Live Music (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Comfort Food (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fun (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Great appetizer menu, and we enjoyed the crabcakes in a delicious carrot and ginger puree. Our guest loved the ravioli stuffed with spinach and proscuitto (I think). Our wait person was quite good, just attentive enough and not overly friendly. When one of us spilled a full glass of water, there were two staff on the table immediately, with assurances that "this happens more than you think" and restoring the table back to normal. Nice touch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was very good but it was very loud and noisy! They had live music which was just another addition to the noise level

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, Zinfandel Grille exceeds all expectations! Consistently amazing food, service and atmosphere! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Busy as always for luch, but had a reservation for a booth and was seated promptly. I loved my Asian chicken salad which I won't order anywhere else in Sacramento, though I was tempted to order the soup of the day and a lighter salad. One friend ordered the special pasta with shrimp and puttanesca sauce. He loved every bit of it but he missed the anchovies which make puttanesca authentic. We both make this sauce ourselves and know the anchovies are the heart of this wonderful sauce. Even so, he cleaned his plate. My other friend ordered the turkey sandwich and soup of the day which he said was delicious. The grilled bread on the sandwich looked yummy.
As always our servers were 'top-notch', friendly and efficient but did not rush us in and out and out which we appreciate. Tracy is always great and we enjoyed her kind and knowledgeable service.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Over priced and not the best quality food. Wilted lettuce in the salad, chicken so dry it could not be chewed. Wait person not as attentive as she should have been. Very disappointed and very expensive.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

came from out of from Concord for mothers day dinner for my fiancee. one of our favorites when she lived in Sacto. Not so this time, we wanted to be seated in the main room at a table for two, we were put in the extension room with all families and noisy. I got very ill on the fettuccine and prawns as the noodles were not cooked. We alerted our waitress. I was very ill for almost three days after, intestinal. please tell the restaurant. we hope that if we decide to return it is like it used to be. our waitress was wonderful though. very very disappointed, it ruined our plans and ended up in the hotel room after instead of socializing. not so happy. Gil Polina and Joanne Santoro

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The occasion was mothers day buffet so one would expect noise, mediocre food, and slow service. Actually everything was the opposite, very low noise for crowd, outstanding food, fresh, hot items were hot, cold items were cold, prime rib and ham were top quality, service extremely friendly and helpful, generally a very good experience for a buffet on a busy day.....only negative was desert which was a touch dry for cake ......overall A- . Food quality and service justified price. Will be back for regular menu experience....thanks, MJS

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been there for dinner more than once and have been happy with my experiences. However, their Mother's Day Brunch left little to be desired. Overpriced for brunch options (didn't even include coffee), service was decent but was difficult to get things like more coffee, sugar for my coffee (I asked for it when I ordered it), ketchup - normal requests for any other day, but staff seemed overwhelmed with the brunch crowd. I will not recommend for any other brunch or special menu, but would still recommend for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We booked a reservation with Zinfandel Grill for Mother's Day Brunch 2017. We had a 9:30 reservation so my foodie husband was excited to be the first morning wave because food would be hot & fresh. The food had great flavor, but unfortunately it was cold, the servers were slow, & the prime rib was RAW. I love a very rare prime rib, but this was RAW. The eggs benedict was delicious & so was the french toast. But def not worth the $250 we paid for the 5 of us. We will not book with Zinfandel Grill again for a special occasion brunch like this. Their regular menu is is probably great! We may give it another shot someday. But we will definitely avoid the buffet brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, drinks, and bread. The scallops (3) might be the worst ever. They tasted unlike any other scallops I have ordered elsewhere. And they were supposed to be seared, but were only slightly brown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been going there for years, albeit not much recently. We were gravely disappointed in the food this time, and will likely not return. The fish special was over-cooked and dry. The lamb ragout was pedestrian and, for one guest, the noodles were under-cooked. The famous black bean soup, which I have fond memories of, was bland mush. And the beer selection would be more appropriate to a roadside pit stop than a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is always good, fresh ingredients, diverse menu. Friends enjoy meeting for drinks and dinner with live music. Another great evening at the Grille.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our second trip to Zinfandel. Both the appetizers and entrees were well thought-out and prepared. NY steak was flavorful. Companion's mushroom salad was delicious. Service was excellent. Although not in a "scenic" area, the large windows and forest-like surroundings create a pleasant backdrop to dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I always enjoy a meal at Zinfandel Grill The food and service are always good.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had a great time at Zinfandel. Food was great as always. Thank you so much for your great services, we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Zinfandel Grille is a great overall experience. I like the location and it has easy parking. The restaurant has a comfortable yet elegant feel. The staff is extremely friendly and professional. The food is consistently amazing with a nice menu. Wine list is top notch and the bar is awesome. Strongly recommend Zinfandel Grille to anybody looking for an establishment truly committed to excellence!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very good location for business lunch. Seating was comfortable for four, and noise level was fine for business conversation. Service was attentive and friendly. Everyone enjoyed their menu selection. Wine list had something for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Servers were pleasant and very responsive. Food was excellent!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I always enjoy eating here. The food is consistently good, service is well done and ambience enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good solid restaurant. Able to have a family Birthday with 11 people with appetizers, dinner, cocktails and dessert for a very reasonable price. Great service and friendly staff. Live music which was lovely, though could be a bit loud a times. Overall a great time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Cynthia was a great server. Great overall experience! Would definitely take my team there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lot's of confusion on the "happy hour". The hostess told us it was happy hour everywhere in the restaurant. That was not true. We paid full price while people 6 inches away on the other side of the glass paid 50% lessI spent over 50.00 on two cocktails and wine. When your bar is so close to the eating area it seems a little silly.

I called and explained my feelings but it seems you like your policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our dining experience at Zinfandel Grill was wonderful. We wanted to have a nice dinner before we attended a musical at the Community Center in Sacramento. I ordered the special sea bass. It was cooked to perfection. Our server even allowed me to substitute mashed potatoes for the polenta. The entire meal was very tasty and our server was friendly but professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service was great. It was a reunion of friends we hadn't seen for several years and enjoyed generous glasses of wine before ordering our lunch. Our waiter, Leo, was very patient with us until we were ready to order. 2 of us ordered the carnitas which I love and was not disappointed. Another diner ordered the reuben sandwich and cleaned his plate.
We did not have room for dessert on this visit, but on previous occasions I have enjoyed the creme brulee, the crisp with fresh fruit and their cheese cake of the day.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 19, 2017

As always, the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was my 3rd or 4th visit over the last several years, and I have never been disappointed. Food is consistently very good. Service very attentive without being intrusive. A little noisy for my taste, but not overwhelmingly so. Prices seem to be about middle of the road for the quality.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Second time we've been there in a year, and again we were delighted with the experience. My steak was perfect, my Wife's Seafood pasta was equally delightful. My daughter had the mustard chicken and was very impressed. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great and so was the service. We are going back on Mother'sDay

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent - but was very disappointed when I was charged for a coffee during an Easter brunch that was certainly not inexpensive
-- bad enough I had to pay for the second mimosa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was cold and over cooked. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I enjoyed the food but found it way too crowded. My mom is very old and she had a terrible time maneuvering to and from the buffet. We were afraid she would fall so we won't be back on holidays. Perhaps when it's not so crowded. Plus it would be nice to see the hostess smile, they didn't.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Noisy, disappointing house specialities, fried calimari doughy small pieces

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Again another great meal for a reasonable price at an attractive local restaurant. A bit noisy as everyone was having a good time, and a couple of big parties.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, service, and great place. We love this place for lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always a great experience at Zinfandel Grille. We enjoyed a birthday celebration dinner. Our server, Lauren B. was very helpful with suggestions and very attentive during our meal. We look forward to returning for another visit soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always great food and service! Loved the minestrone soup and Asian chicken salad.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's always a pleasure to visit Zinfandel's where we know the mood, service and food is something you can count on to have a great dining visit. The mood is always Up at Zinfandel's.

Our server greeted us directly and checked back after we ordered drinks for our dinner selections. Our eyes ordered more than we could eat. No worries, having Zinfandel left-overs is like ordering out from your favorite restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Courteous service, nice wine list, red meat meals and desserts elicited lots of praise. My risotto was a bit undercooked, but otherwise very pleasant experience and tasty meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good food and service. We will be back. My second visit. Worth the drive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.