Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11am - 3pm (between 3pm-4pm we have a limited anytime menu) Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4pm - 9pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (888) 315-0444

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Don't know where to take your Mom on Mothers Day?? We are having an all you can eat Mothers Day Bunch with French toast, apple wood sausage, fish, carnitas, Prime Rib, eggs, bacon, fresh salads, and much more! Make your reservations now! we open at 9:30am.

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Great for Lunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Wood Oven (29)
Casual (25)
Live Music (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Seasonal (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Cozy (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Healthy (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Private Room (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dining experience at Zinfandel Grill was wonderful. We wanted to have a nice dinner before we attended a musical at the Community Center in Sacramento. I ordered the special sea bass. It was cooked to perfection. Our server even allowed me to substitute mashed potatoes for the polenta. The entire meal was very tasty and our server was friendly but professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great. It was a reunion of friends we hadn't seen for several years and enjoyed generous glasses of wine before ordering our lunch. Our waiter, Leo, was very patient with us until we were ready to order. 2 of us ordered the carnitas which I love and was not disappointed. Another diner ordered the reuben sandwich and cleaned his plate.
We did not have room for dessert on this visit, but on previous occasions I have enjoyed the creme brulee, the crisp with fresh fruit and their cheese cake of the day.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my 3rd or 4th visit over the last several years, and I have never been disappointed. Food is consistently very good. Service very attentive without being intrusive. A little noisy for my taste, but not overwhelmingly so. Prices seem to be about middle of the road for the quality.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Second time we've been there in a year, and again we were delighted with the experience. My steak was perfect, my Wife's Seafood pasta was equally delightful. My daughter had the mustard chicken and was very impressed. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great and so was the service. We are going back on Mother'sDay

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent - but was very disappointed when I was charged for a coffee during an Easter brunch that was certainly not inexpensive
-- bad enough I had to pay for the second mimosa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was cold and over cooked. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I enjoyed the food but found it way too crowded. My mom is very old and she had a terrible time maneuvering to and from the buffet. We were afraid she would fall so we won't be back on holidays. Perhaps when it's not so crowded. Plus it would be nice to see the hostess smile, they didn't.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Noisy, disappointing house specialities, fried calimari doughy small pieces

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Again another great meal for a reasonable price at an attractive local restaurant. A bit noisy as everyone was having a good time, and a couple of big parties.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, service, and great place. We love this place for lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always a great experience at Zinfandel Grille. We enjoyed a birthday celebration dinner. Our server, Lauren B. was very helpful with suggestions and very attentive during our meal. We look forward to returning for another visit soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always great food and service! Loved the minestrone soup and Asian chicken salad.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's always a pleasure to visit Zinfandel's where we know the mood, service and food is something you can count on to have a great dining visit. The mood is always Up at Zinfandel's.

Our server greeted us directly and checked back after we ordered drinks for our dinner selections. Our eyes ordered more than we could eat. No worries, having Zinfandel left-overs is like ordering out from your favorite restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Courteous service, nice wine list, red meat meals and desserts elicited lots of praise. My risotto was a bit undercooked, but otherwise very pleasant experience and tasty meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good food and service. We will be back. My second visit. Worth the drive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is probably the third time in the past two years I have gotten food that was not very good. I ordered the scallops. They were cooked well but they were swimming in so much butter that I had to drain it before I could eat it, and I love butter! The risotto was also undercooked. The price was also very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 30, 2017

An early dinner before catching a show, and the service was top-notch...without hovering, the waitress and wait staff in general were spot on. The pasta dishes we ordered were excellent examples of seasonal produce and local meats cooked in imaginative and reasonably-priced ways!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food is always good there. Service is usually attentive but busy. They have depth in their staff, so needs are taken care of timely. We did order an additional drink from the server that delivered our food. However it was forgotten and we never received it. That was ok, as time passed and we were ready for dessert.
Was positive experience and we will go back.
On a side note, we did have to wait a while for our table. Generally, when this happens, as it is not unusual, we eat at the bar!

Tags: Wood Oven, Live Music, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. The food was well presented. Delicious and fresh salads. The service was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I took my parents to dinner here for my birthday on a Saturday--I made reservations and we waited for maybe 5 minutes for it to be ready.
Service was helpful and friendly, and they were quick with bread refills but not so much on the drinks.
I ordered a small salad with crumbled cheese and candied walnuts--when it came out I noticed a MASSIVE strand of black hair on top. After telling the waiter, he apologized and brought me another salad.
The food itself was delightful other than that; I enjoyed my lamb pasta and my parents both had the specials, and they liked their food quite a bit. We were all a bit disappointed that there was no offer to comp the salad in any way.
Live music was a nice touch, a jazz band was a nice compliment to the cozy dinner atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Dancing, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The waived corkage is the #1 reason we are there. Another nearby restaurant has waived corkage for many years, and it is great to have another where we can experiment with our wine tastes.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant. The food was very tasty and delivered in a reasonable amount of time. Our server was very professional and knowledgeable about the items on the menu. I plan to return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Zinfandel Grille is always a reliable source of fresh good food- I especially like the mustard chicken.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

waitress was excellent and efficient. food was very good, one of us had scallops which was rated excellent, another had halibut which was very good and third had cream of tomato soup and mushroom salad, both excellent. a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great meal all around. Excellent prawn salad and also a crab salad. Had the seafood pasta and enjoyed the blend without too much sauce. The wine list has good selection of by-the-glass. A bit noisy in the dining room, but then again, it is a busy place. Service was attentive and responsive to inquiries about selection. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best clam chowder! Food was good. Server forgot to mention dinner specials. Thought maybe they didn't have any but then overheard her telling another table next to us. The scallops were undercooked for my taste--mostly raw in center, but were still delicious. All the seafood was fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Love this place. Amazing service and excellent food. Will go every time.

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The Zinfandel Grille is our go-to place for special occasions - graduation luncheon, birthday dinners, and dining with out-of-town company. The food and service are wonderful. We've never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A reliable spot, with mostly American fare. The Kobe steak dish was tasty, but chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Pros...Had a real tasty dinner. The pappardelle pasta (awesome homemade pasta) was delish and my wife thoroughly loved the pork chop. The warm crisp was top notch as well (was free by "checking in" on Yelp). Had IPAs on tap so I was good to go with those. The waiter did a fine job and was attentive. The atmosphere was great and some live music in the background wrapped it all up nicely.

Cons...Parking is lacking. Weren't greeted right away which is always unwelcoming. At least you could say "hey guys, thanks for coming in...we'll be right with you." But that is on the hostess. After that everything else was pretty spot on!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I made a reservation online and we were seated promptly at the appointed time. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I chose to host the luncheon in the 'back' room because there were 8 of us for and we wanted a quiet corner to discuss our business and I wanted everyone to be able to hear. Our waiter, Alex, was excellent as well as the rest of his team, tending to all our wants and needs. The bread is so good here, we reordered several plates of it. They provide both EVOO dipping sauce and real butter which I appreciate. We all selected different entree's, appetizers and sides, and everyone loved what they ordered. I live in the neighborhood where I have a choice of several fine dining restaurants within walking distance, but when I want a restaurant I can depend to be consistently great, I choose Zinfandel. The menu changes with the seasons so it never gets 'old' yet they retain their best selling 'signature' dishes on the menu for those who never get tired of them. They offer a good variety of wine in all price ranges, and a nice variety of wines by the glass. Restrooms are nice and clean also (one of my 'issues' many other higher-end establishments fail to accomplish.) When with a small group of 2-4 people I prefer the front of this restaurant where the noise level is much more energetic, but not deafening, and you never know who you might run into. I love this place and all the people who work there. They treat everyone who walks in the door warmly, professionally and attentively. The food is always great! The prices do not break the bank!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even though we had reservations, we were not seated for over 20 minutes after we arrived. It seemed that the restaurant was either overbooked or that they seated too many customers who came without reservations. When we did get seated it was very noisy near our table and hard to hear the singer that was with the live band.
Food was excellent and our server helped to make a great overall dining experience for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic ambiance (if you don't mind leaning in, read on). For the two of us: perfect--for larger groups, the live music would have made it all but impossible to hear each other.

As it was our food was amazing, the server was fantastic, and their mixed drinks were very good.

My only complaint is that the chocolate "volcano" cake was pretty dry. (I can't remember what it was called)

5/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waitress we had for Valentine's Day was Awesome, very attentative, nice accommodating. She even had our deserts on the house for us. What I was disappointed was that my meat that I requested was not great and had to take it back for the chef to cook it well and there was not enough bread to serve especially for such a busy occasion like that. Should be able to have enough supply for guess. Also, We ( our party) were very angry and upset with the bus boy because he commented about how our food is supposed to be cooked and tried to make smart remarks about it. We are a paying customer and paying over $40 a meal we should be able to get how we want our dish supposed to be. That really made your Restaurant a bad review because of how that bus boy made remarks!! Our waitress was very nice and awesome. She took care of what we needed and apologized for what the bus boy commented. I don't know if I will ever come back to this Restaurant and let other patrons know how our service went. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation a week early and got put in a back room specially for Valentine's Day even though I never specified that I wanted that. The main room in the front of the restaurant had a different menu with more options. Our back room had 4 entre options. Very dissatisfied with the meal due to the lack of choice in Menu and outrageous pricing. With no drinks or desert or appetizers I payed $115

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I had not been to Zinfandel Grill in quite a few years, as usual the service was "Great" and the meal was "Excellent"......always a pleasure!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place. It's very nice for an upscale meal. Great Lemon drops and wine choices. Service is always the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.