About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Holiday promotion! Until the end of December, for every $50 gift card you buy we give you 20% back in a gift certificate! The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8883150444

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Father’s Day with the Z-Grille. Dinner will be served from 4pm-9pm.

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
3 More
Great for Lunch
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

neighborhood gem (99)
special occasion (82)
great for lunch (72)
See All
good for groups (60)
fit for foodies (51)
romantic (47)
vibrant bar scene (30)
great for outdoor dining (29)
notable wine list (27)
great for brunch (19)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (12)
scenic view (4)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Kitchen Away from Our Kitchen

Dined 2 days ago

It was one of those days: we just finishing working all day and neither of us wanted to be in the kitchen. Our first thought? Zinfandel's! Zinfandel's is always our first thought because the food, the service, and the value is consistently good, great, and fair. Our order was small: mixed baby greens salad, vegetable calzone and a small classic margherite pizza, and beverages. The salad wasn't over dressed leaving the greens crisp and the flavors full. The pizza was hot and the crust moist, not chewy or hard. The calzone flavors were great, but this time the interior needed a bit more heat. Our server, Tayler, was very pleasant, helpful on wine selections, and attentive without being bothersome-in other words: perfect. Zinfandel's is our kitchen away from our kitchen, what's not to like?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and service were excellent. The lam ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Good and service were excellent. The lamb and salmon were tasty and cooked very well as was the polenta and vegetables. My wife and I will be back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Arrived early and chose to sit at the ba ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Arrived early and chose to sit at the bar. The meal was excellent, and the bartender (Carissa) was, too.

food4
ambience4
service4

I prefer specials to be priced instead o ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

I prefer specials to be priced instead of a surprise at the time of the bill

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Z Grille never disappoints, whether happ ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Z Grille never disappoints, whether happy hour or dining. On this luncheon occasion with a BFF, I enjoyed the Z Mediterranean Salad and loved everything, especially the dressing which I am usually 'picky' about - balanced the fresh seasonal vegies and prawns beautifully. My friend ordered the Red pepper papparadelle with vegies and prawns entree and she raved about it. We brought a bottle of wine to share, and we found out that was the one day of the month the corkage fee was waived. That was a bonus! Service was wonderful as always. Friendly without interfering. I love Z Grille!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great; not too intrusive ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was great; not too intrusive, but always helpful. The food was delicious and the portions were good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As Good As Ever

Dined on May 15, 2016

Zinfandel Grill is always a place where I can find consistently good food and careful service. I have always heard how good their pizza is, but not being a lover of pizza, had never tried it before. Had the caramelized pear and prosciutto, SUPERB!!!! Others in the group also had pizzas and enjoyed them. Mushroom & Jarlsberg Salad is the best salad in town; however, this time it was too oily with too little lemon juice. Our wait staff was meticulous and our waitress was very patient with my friends who are sometimes food challenged not eating a number of common foods. The one difficulty at ZG is the noise level. This time it was better as we arrived late and it was not as busy. It was difficult but not impossible to carry on a conversation

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved our waitress Amy. She was very pro ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

loved our waitress Amy. She was very professional. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious and grateful to be seated earl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious and grateful to be seated early, since traffic was light,; clamaric tasty and delicious. I wonder if the fryer was a little bit cold since the calamari were both thick with oil and a bit wet.? Rest of the meal was delicious, and highly reccommended. No desserts or coffees were offered, which we would have accepted. 4/5 overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to dine here again! The food ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Can't wait to dine here again! The food and cocktails were wonderful!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day Dinner Overload

Dined on May 9, 2016

The place was packed and they couldn't handle it. We waited a hour to get our food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Zin!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love dining here. Food is great, service rocks, and location is handy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Grilled NY Steak w/stuffed pro ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the Grilled NY Steak w/stuffed prosciutto & Wife had the Saffron Seafood Papparadelle. Both were superb and beyond expectation. Wife claimed "best seafood plate" she's ever had. The desserts were very good, and the Wine list was noteworthy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Angie was amazing! We had 2 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Angie was amazing! We had 2 children with us and she took great care of them as well as us.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Mother's day brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Con: Service was lacking, the deserts were store bought, no tea or coffee included, the prime rib wsa raw and fatty. One of the managers almost knocked my wife over as he hurried into a back room, without even saying a word. On the good side, the salads were fresh, the eggs benedict was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this restaurant.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived to a packed house, but since we had a reservation we were seated almost immediately. We even asked to slide over to a table that was in a cooler location, as we'd been placed near the kitchen. NO PROBLEM!--even with the crowd. We took guests who had never been there, and we all enjoyed the crusted chicken. The food is consistently good, and the service is always friendly. The servers are experienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food preparation and service. Every employee was so pleasant, plus my scallops were cooked to perfection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Noisy!

Dined on May 5, 2016

When it's difficult to hear your dinner companion, or be heard, it's pretty difficult to enjoy a good meal. Can't something be done about the acoustics to muffle the sound a bit?

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

It's a safe place to eat.

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

By safe I mean the food could be great or not completely gross; it's always going to be decent. I just don't like the service here. We keep getting stuck with Taylor and she's an awful server.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went on this Saturday night to see the band and to have our anniversary dinner. We arrived during happy hour and the whole establishment was pretty busy. We had reservations and were seated promptly in the larger dining room. This part of the dining room is used to seat larger groups when needed. Wish I could remember our server's name because he was excellent. Fortunately we had our meals arrive just before a couple of very large tables were seated next to us. Salmon was fabulous. I complement our server on still being able to provide us decent service even though he was quite busy with the larger groups which were seated after us. We will return again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always great!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

we love the food, drink, appetizers, salad, deserts...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Zinfandel Grill a good bet...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Zinfandel Grill is a good Sacramento spot for dining. Seems to draw an older crowd. My wife ordered 'mustard' chicken a popular dish. I felt it was uninspired chicken breast pounded flat and rolled in crumbs and a bit dry. My 'z' steak, a beef tenderloin has been grilled as ordered each time I've ordered it. Since the quality of beef is so good I recommend less sauce over the top. Gilled asparagus was on the plate but soft and soggy which is too bad. Wine was available at a wide range of prices and there is something for most any budget. The list included Gary Farrell Pinot Noir. Before I ordered the wine I asked if they had good wine glasses to accompany the wine. Sorry to say, they did not. I'm sure our server had never been asked that question but wine at the high end of their wine list deserved better stemware. If you reside in Sacramento or just looking for a nice dinner experience I suggest you try Zinfandel Grill.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food...too noisy

Dined on April 9, 2016

All four of us had great entrees and the service was friendly, but the small band was too noisy and interfered with the four of us being able to talk easily.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious meal and enjoyed our friends.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our dinning experience is always delightful at Zinfandel Grill. The Hostess and Wait Staff are always courteous and professional. Or dinner was delish and presented beautiful. The mushroom salad is always a special treat. We appreciate having this reliable restaurant in our neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our meal, all four of us had a ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

We loved our meal, all four of us had a great one. The service was good too, we'll be back

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on March 31, 2016

The Zinfandel Grille is my "go to" place for lunch and dinner because it is close, with generally good food and pleasantly served.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Zinfandel Grille many ti ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

I have eaten at Zinfandel Grille many times. This time I planned a dinner for friends from high school reunion. There were 15 of us and we had a great time. The food was delicious and the service was very good. We were seated immediately and we never felt rushed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very noisy

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food potions are a bit small but tasty. Very noisy and tables were too close together. Lamb was excellent. Gets pricey as all is add on to entree.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gets better and better

Dined on March 27, 2016

I have been coming here off and on since they opened many, many moons ago. Always had excellent food and service. Had a very special dinner for our small company there in the room left of nice long, and attractive bar. I especially enjoy going during a less busy time for a more relaxed meal in a quieter space. Normally don't enjoy seeing TV screens around when dining but at least they are small and don't have the sound on. Looking forward to my next meal there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I discovered Zinfandel's while working a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I discovered Zinfandel's while working at CSU Sacramento. My friends and I always had lunch there a few times a year and still do! The lunch menu is excellent; the pastas are incomparable and service is too. We've twice been delighted with your delicious Easter Brunch...thank you. The best part is that Zinfandel's appeals to ALL ages. Our family/friends truly appreciate you. Thanks agin, Jere and Margaret Jarvis

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

sunflower

Dined on March 27, 2016

The waiter was very nice and kept check on bread water etc but did not hang over us. The food was very good. I had the kobe beef. I would go back there again. Nice place to go with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Too loud for elegant dining.

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was just adequate. Food was good but far from the best in town. They really should ask if you mind sitting near the band. You can't be romantic when you have to yell at your date.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner party

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great menu and good food However I did not receive whatI ordered Ordered the Thai scallops with mango and green rice but was served plain seared scallops with mashed potatoes Was good though And I appreciate the gluten free menu I also noticed your drinks in the bar have gone up in price I am a regular and will go back Great service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zinfandel on Fair Oaks is always a good ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Zinfandel on Fair Oaks is always a good choice, go there often with friends or family. (not small children though)

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

march16

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

great night as always and Cindy our waitperson the best

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

service

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was good, busy night with proms in full bloom. Service was subpar, and the kitchen was backed up as it was quite a while between course. could of been due to proms.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Vibe

Dined on March 13, 2016

Dined at Zinfandel Grille 'for the first time along with a long time customer and fell in love with just about everything this restaurant represents. First is the ambience. It is a perfect place to take a first date or gather for a family occasion. Zinfandel is not a quiet place but not so loud you cannot have a conversation. If you are looking for a place to go if you don't feel like being at home alone, go here, you will feel good that you did. The food was good, hot, well prepared and served by the outstanding staff perfectly. When I like a restaurant I will tell you about just as I will a restaurant the gets a thumbs down. This place is a jewel, a can't miss so relax and enjoy yourself.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never Fail Calzone!

Dined on March 10, 2016

I always have the calzone (prosciutto), the second meal is dependent on the special for the day. If not to our taste, we go with the Butternut Squash ravioli. Never had a bad meal at our, once a month, dining at Zinfandel Grill (Fair Oaks).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great start to a week-long birthday celebration!

Dined on March 10, 2016

We timed some medical appointments to get to Z Grille in time for lunch. We were seated promptly and quickly settled on our lunch choices. I repeated the fantastic Chicken Marsala I tried our last time here. Once again, fantastic! Hubby chose the chicken club sandwich accompanied by fries and pronounced it very good. This is our routine go- to place. Seems they continually do everything right! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great food

Dined on March 6, 2016

Myself and my fellow diner loved the food. The swordfish was very well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.