About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Holiday promotion! Until the end of December, for every $50 gift card you buy we give you 20% back in a gift certificate! The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8883150444

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Restaurant Photos

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Ginger-Honey Lemon Drop - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Minty Goose - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Pepperoni Pizza - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Calamari - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Mustard Chicken - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Chocolate Truffle Lava Cake - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Thai Shrimp Wraps - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Dungeness Crab Lasagna - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Pot Stickers - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Individual Meat Loaf Wrapped With Bacon And Stuffed With Blue Cheese - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
beef short ribs - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Roasted Meatloaf Stuffed With Blue Cheese - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Grey Goose And Tonic - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Banana Foster Croissant Bread Pudding - Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Great for Lunch
Sacramento
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Neighborhood Gem (67)
Great for Lunch (49)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Groups (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Casual (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was decent but the overall experien ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was decent but the overall experience felt tired. The interior is ok but didn't sparkle. The food prep was competent but not excellent. Pricing seemed a little high given the level of polish in the food presentation. We had a brand new waitress who was terrible but frankly she should have more oversight from management. We would try again but not go out of way to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

As always, Ise's calazone's are the BEST ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

As always, Ise's calazone's are the BEST. Service is always efficient and friendly. The noise level is rather high, but the food makes up for any negatives.

With host staff sometimes just standing at the reception area, it wouldn't hurt if they took a few seconds to help handicap patrons by opening the door. It sometimes gets awkward holding the door and helping others. Most time, patrons are coming in and hold the door for us and are then given a big Thank You.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine at Zinfandel Grille regularly; h ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We dine at Zinfandel Grille regularly; however, this time we tried the rack of lamb and it was just a bit overdone (ordered medium rare). Also, I inquired whether the pasta special that evening (with shrimp and sausage) with the "pepper sauce" was spicy. I was assured that it was not; however, the sausage was too spicy for our tastes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

There were five of us celebrating a birt ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

There were five of us celebrating a birthday. Two of us had the same entrée and got food poisoning. I called the restaurant to alert them to the fact and she said she would investigate and call back. No call back notice was made. The other three entrées were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

First time there, but certainly won't be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

First time there, but certainly won't be the last. Friendly staff. Fast service. Great food. On and off street parking.

Tags: Family Style, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, never disappoints! The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love this place, never disappoints! The food and atmosphere is always fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Wonderful service. When ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious food. Wonderful service. When I looked the restaurant up it was marked as $$ but I'd say it's more $$$-$$$$ however very much worth the prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my adult daughter's birthday. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It was my adult daughter's birthday. We all ordered different dishes (Kobe steak, lamb, salmon, salmon salad, and scallops) and they were all great. We also ordered the 3 dessert special and drinks. We've been here before and we plan to go back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have dined here regularly for lunch bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have dined here regularly for lunch but this was my time dining here for dinner. My wife has heard me describe it positively and wanted to give it a try, Overall the experience was quite good, we enjoyed the food and ambiance. The ovarall service was good, frequency could have been better. We definitely will go back !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was as expected--food wise, I ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was as expected--food wise, I noticed a slight disconnect between our waiter and our server. I thought when our food was ready both of them should have been present when serving us. Our server was quick and pleasant but as he did not take the orders he didn't know to whom they were for. At the end of our experience a error was discovered after our check was finalized. Our waiter neglected to charge us for our drinks and had to recalculate our check after it was already signed. I thought this was odd.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant has a lovely ambiance and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The restaurant has a lovely ambiance and the crab avocado salad yummy. Enjoy the restaurant for lunch with friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant quality of food remains reli ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Restaurant quality of food remains reliable. High five to chefs. Server was disappointing. Showed wrong wine, never refilled wine glasses, we had to ask for more coffee.minimal attention to service. Our bill was not cheap at 148.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Our server was fantastic, very helpful a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our server was fantastic, very helpful and engaged in providing us with an excellent experience. He was the best part of our experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Noise level is condusive to conversation ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Noise level is condusive to conversation. Service good.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Zinfandel Grille never disappoints! ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The Zinfandel Grille never disappoints! Its menu is varied and delicious . Their Creme Brûlée dessert was out of this world!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The type of wine that we chosee the cup ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The type of wine that we chosee the cup was to little and to expencive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The American Kobe beef was delicious and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The American Kobe beef was delicious and cooked to my liking. The special swordfish my wife ordered tasted fresh. The calamari was so so. I tasted more breading than calamari. Maybe order bigger squid but give people less. We felt like it was popcorn fried chicken. The service was outstanding. The buss boy kept my water full and our waitress was nice, helpful, and gave us perfect amount of attention.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service are always superb!!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food and service are always superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dine at Zinfandel Grille about two or ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I dine at Zinfandel Grille about two or three times a month. This is my standby favorite as it is close to my office. And with the club email special, it makes it extremely affordable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 1st time on the patio.... the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was my 1st time on the patio.... the service was outstanding and food excellent!Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Had the grilled salmon and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food! Had the grilled salmon and was called to perfection. Staff was courteous and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants to dine. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants to dine. Always satisfied with the service, food and detail to quality. A must if you want a delicious meal with a friendly smile.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Zinfandel grill on nume ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have dined at Zinfandel grill on numerous occasions. As usual, it was excellent, and is the reason we continue to patronize the restaurant. My wife had the scallops over risotto – one of her favorite dishes in the entire Sacramento area. I had the pasta special featuring spinach linguine with sautéed prawns in a white wine butter sauce. Both of our entrées were outstanding. Zinfandel Grille continues to be an exceptional value and worth the trip to Fair Oaks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Consistently great food and wonderful st ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Consistently great food and wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to the Zinfadel Grille on m ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to the Zinfadel Grille on more than one occasion. This time it was horrible! Poor service and the food was so-so. Very disappointed! We were going to get dessert but by the time we finally got our bill we were afraid we would be there another hour if we did. You may have lost a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been enjoying the casual atmosph ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have been enjoying the casual atmospher, interesting special selections, and typically attentive service at this local favorite for 5 years. This meal met all prior expectations except for the first time the service was inattentive and almost rude. New server that with whom we have had no prior contact. Only hope he improves his attitude.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

First time here and will definitely go b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

First time here and will definitely go back! Good food, great service and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, fabulous service and good dr ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food, fabulous service and good drinks! Waitress even stuffed two olives with bleu cheese for my martini! That's fabulous service! She also brought two salads, caprese and mushroom for the four of us and put the plates in the middle of the table; not on each end! To do that takes a little "moxey" and she gave us each a salad size plate to share. To say that we left her a large gratuity is an understatement!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we just don't have the energy to co ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

When we just don't have the energy to cook, Zinfandel Grill is our answer. We dine here often and know that the food will always be good and cooked as you ask, the service is friendly, and the price is fair. This is our neighborhood gem that keeps us coming back time after time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Grilled Pork Chop and my wife ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I had the Grilled Pork Chop and my wife had the Rack of Lamb, both were outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The four of us met at 1:00 for lunch wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The four of us met at 1:00 for lunch with the hope that we could have a real nice visit and we certainly did. It was not too noisy, very pleasant, and I particularly appreciated our waiter who was attentive but not overly so. The ambiance is excellent - - gives a special feel for a gathering but not obnoxiously 'special'.

Everyone seemed to enjoy his/her salad. Perhaps I was a little disappointed with my Asian salad which seemed somewhat bland to me.

I will be back, probably quite soon. nanj

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I recently moved back to Sac ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I recently moved back to Sacramento and wanted to get together with former friends. We were seated in a semi-circular booth and were provided very good service. Most of us had a salad or tuna salad sandwich and were very pleased. I had a Summer Niciose Salad that was very well-prepared and quite tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We've lived in the area for years. Freq ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We've lived in the area for years. Frequent customers. Our entrees were not up to the usual level of quality as we're accustom to. I had the scallops. Some of the cheese chunks in the entree were cold. My wife had the cannelloni special. She felt it tasted like chicken enchiladas not cannelloni. We were seated very closely to an extremely loud & obnoxious older man who was w/ his daughter & son-in-law. Not conducive to a intimate dinner out.

Have to say it wasn't up to the high standards we are used to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were really looking forward to dining ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were really looking forward to dining @ Zinfandel Grill. We have a couple of favorite items, & love the variety of the menu. However, the waiter seemed inexperienced. We think that she thought she was being helpful, but she really rushed us. We had barely finished our salads & out came the entrees. I finished my entree 1st & she cleared all of my plates, cutlery, the bread & dipping oil while my husband was still finishing his dinner, & then she proceeded to offer dessert & coffee while he was still eating. There was hardly anyone in the dining room, so we don't understand the rush. We had planned on a leisurely meal, but were back on the road in under an hour.

We love the mushroom salad; it's a long-time favorite. However, it seems to have shrunk over the years. We used to be able to split one, & now they seem to be on the small side. The waiter never offered fresh cracked pepper, either. The pesto pizza was so disappointing & flavorless we wanted to salt the pizza. The waiter never offered fresh parmesan cheese or red peppers; we had to flag her down & ask. The ahi dinner special was so salty I found myself scraping the sauce off of the fish. However, the accompanying vegetables were perfect, but the wasabi mashed potatoes were quite bland & cold.

It was annoying to watch the dining room manager(?) eat in the kitchen, in full view of the dining room. And he apparently never washes his hands.

It had been a while since we dined here, so we were observing the food as it was delivered & served at other tables. Some items like the Nicoise salad seemed quite small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I was very happy with everything but sur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was very happy with everything but surprised that I couldn't use my

Open Table gift card.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation process was simple and fast. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Reservation process was simple and fast. Table was ready upon arrival. Server friendly and efficient. Food was excellent. We had a great time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Room is light and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food is always good. Room is light and airy. I had dinner this last time- a pork chop, which was delicious. Others had pizzas, which were also good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zinfandel has been my favorite place sin ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Zinfandel has been my favorite place since I moved here in the 90s. For the past few years, we have patronized this restaurant & have enjoyed their food immensely. This time it was good for my partner but my dish was mediocre. The ravioli was kind of thick & the filling was forgettable. I want to mention that since they have an outdoor area, flies seem to get inside which it really annoying especially when they land on the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wife ordered ravioli Pomodoro: tasty and ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wife ordered ravioli Pomodoro: tasty and solid. Tomato sauce bright with hint of heat/spice. A nice dish ($18). I had lamb chops with ratatouille and polenta: expensive disappointment ($28). Ordered the lamb med. rare, but it came out closer to well done. Could not tell our server as she seemingly disappeared for 10 min. I enjoyed the sauce, but meat WAY overcooked. Waitress said the chef recommended lamb chops to medium (really??). Ratatouille was oily, lacked flavor and was not a nice looking side dish. Polenta was the excellent star of the plate.

Ordered a small salad split, but was given (and charged) for two. Bread dried out. Dessert (fruit crisp) was ho-hum.

Server was friendly, but needs polish. Not responsive about overcooked lamb other than to say: “sorry.” It was a disappointing evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.