Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11am - 3pm (between 3pm-4pm we have a limited anytime menu) Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4pm - 9pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (888) 315-0444

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Want to enjoy great food with your family and friends on Easter?? We will be serving an all you can eat Easter Brunch with French toast, apple wood sausage, fish, carnitas, Prime Rib, eggs, bacon, roasted potatoes, fresh salads, dessert and much more! Don't miss it and we will be starting at 9:30am.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Don't know where to take your Mom on Mothers Day?? We are having an all you can eat Mothers Day Bunch with French toast, apple wood sausage, fish, carnitas, Prime Rib, eggs, bacon, fresh salads, and much more! Make your reservations now! we open at 9:30am.

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (37)
Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Great for Lunch (31)
Business Meals (28)
Wood Oven (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Live Music (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Fun (16)
Seasonal (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Private Room (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1086 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. The food was well presented. Delicious and fresh salads. The service was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I took my parents to dinner here for my birthday on a Saturday--I made reservations and we waited for maybe 5 minutes for it to be ready.
Service was helpful and friendly, and they were quick with bread refills but not so much on the drinks.
I ordered a small salad with crumbled cheese and candied walnuts--when it came out I noticed a MASSIVE strand of black hair on top. After telling the waiter, he apologized and brought me another salad.
The food itself was delightful other than that; I enjoyed my lamb pasta and my parents both had the specials, and they liked their food quite a bit. We were all a bit disappointed that there was no offer to comp the salad in any way.
Live music was a nice touch, a jazz band was a nice compliment to the cozy dinner atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Dancing, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The waived corkage is the #1 reason we are there. Another nearby restaurant has waived corkage for many years, and it is great to have another where we can experiment with our wine tastes.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant. The food was very tasty and delivered in a reasonable amount of time. Our server was very professional and knowledgeable about the items on the menu. I plan to return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Zinfandel Grille is always a reliable source of fresh good food- I especially like the mustard chicken.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

waitress was excellent and efficient. food was very good, one of us had scallops which was rated excellent, another had halibut which was very good and third had cream of tomato soup and mushroom salad, both excellent. a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great meal all around. Excellent prawn salad and also a crab salad. Had the seafood pasta and enjoyed the blend without too much sauce. The wine list has good selection of by-the-glass. A bit noisy in the dining room, but then again, it is a busy place. Service was attentive and responsive to inquiries about selection. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best clam chowder! Food was good. Server forgot to mention dinner specials. Thought maybe they didn't have any but then overheard her telling another table next to us. The scallops were undercooked for my taste--mostly raw in center, but were still delicious. All the seafood was fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Love this place. Amazing service and excellent food. Will go every time.

Tags: Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The Zinfandel Grille is our go-to place for special occasions - graduation luncheon, birthday dinners, and dining with out-of-town company. The food and service are wonderful. We've never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A reliable spot, with mostly American fare. The Kobe steak dish was tasty, but chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Pros...Had a real tasty dinner. The pappardelle pasta (awesome homemade pasta) was delish and my wife thoroughly loved the pork chop. The warm crisp was top notch as well (was free by "checking in" on Yelp). Had IPAs on tap so I was good to go with those. The waiter did a fine job and was attentive. The atmosphere was great and some live music in the background wrapped it all up nicely.

Cons...Parking is lacking. Weren't greeted right away which is always unwelcoming. At least you could say "hey guys, thanks for coming in...we'll be right with you." But that is on the hostess. After that everything else was pretty spot on!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I made a reservation online and we were seated promptly at the appointed time. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I chose to host the luncheon in the 'back' room because there were 8 of us for and we wanted a quiet corner to discuss our business and I wanted everyone to be able to hear. Our waiter, Alex, was excellent as well as the rest of his team, tending to all our wants and needs. The bread is so good here, we reordered several plates of it. They provide both EVOO dipping sauce and real butter which I appreciate. We all selected different entree's, appetizers and sides, and everyone loved what they ordered. I live in the neighborhood where I have a choice of several fine dining restaurants within walking distance, but when I want a restaurant I can depend to be consistently great, I choose Zinfandel. The menu changes with the seasons so it never gets 'old' yet they retain their best selling 'signature' dishes on the menu for those who never get tired of them. They offer a good variety of wine in all price ranges, and a nice variety of wines by the glass. Restrooms are nice and clean also (one of my 'issues' many other higher-end establishments fail to accomplish.) When with a small group of 2-4 people I prefer the front of this restaurant where the noise level is much more energetic, but not deafening, and you never know who you might run into. I love this place and all the people who work there. They treat everyone who walks in the door warmly, professionally and attentively. The food is always great! The prices do not break the bank!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even though we had reservations, we were not seated for over 20 minutes after we arrived. It seemed that the restaurant was either overbooked or that they seated too many customers who came without reservations. When we did get seated it was very noisy near our table and hard to hear the singer that was with the live band.
Food was excellent and our server helped to make a great overall dining experience for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic ambiance (if you don't mind leaning in, read on). For the two of us: perfect--for larger groups, the live music would have made it all but impossible to hear each other.

As it was our food was amazing, the server was fantastic, and their mixed drinks were very good.

My only complaint is that the chocolate "volcano" cake was pretty dry. (I can't remember what it was called)

5/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waitress we had for Valentine's Day was Awesome, very attentative, nice accommodating. She even had our deserts on the house for us. What I was disappointed was that my meat that I requested was not great and had to take it back for the chef to cook it well and there was not enough bread to serve especially for such a busy occasion like that. Should be able to have enough supply for guess. Also, We ( our party) were very angry and upset with the bus boy because he commented about how our food is supposed to be cooked and tried to make smart remarks about it. We are a paying customer and paying over $40 a meal we should be able to get how we want our dish supposed to be. That really made your Restaurant a bad review because of how that bus boy made remarks!! Our waitress was very nice and awesome. She took care of what we needed and apologized for what the bus boy commented. I don't know if I will ever come back to this Restaurant and let other patrons know how our service went. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation a week early and got put in a back room specially for Valentine's Day even though I never specified that I wanted that. The main room in the front of the restaurant had a different menu with more options. Our back room had 4 entre options. Very dissatisfied with the meal due to the lack of choice in Menu and outrageous pricing. With no drinks or desert or appetizers I payed $115

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I had not been to Zinfandel Grill in quite a few years, as usual the service was "Great" and the meal was "Excellent"......always a pleasure!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place. It's very nice for an upscale meal. Great Lemon drops and wine choices. Service is always the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our meal was to die for. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Worse Dinner !!! Worse Service
I never got my meal !! And manager offered a free dessert
For kitchen messing up
I would N E V E R go again !!!!!! E V E R
Worse ever .. no connection from
Staff to kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very enjoyable but the waiter we got this time was somewhat of an idiot and came back multiple times to double check what we ordered.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Put at a table that was obviously wooblely we were moved to another table next two people were sat at that same table, they also asked to be moved. Table should have never been set up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely astounding food and desserts. The staff is professional, courteous and very attentive. We went there for Valentine's Day and we're not disappointed. Beefsteak entree that we had was beyond belief encased and combination of ingredients. The sauce was to die for. It also came with mash potatoes and asparagus which work just perfect. We had the molten lava chocolate cake which was warm and came with a dollop of ice cream perfect way to end the meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Short ribs & scallops are excellent
Service is above par- they strive to please
Avoid weekends at peak times unless prepared to wait even with reservation.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love it!! Always enjoy the experience with live music.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoy this restaurant as it is located very conveniently for us, the food has always been good and it is very family friendly.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed our evening with our friends, enjoyed the jazz music and loved our meal choices!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

As always we enjoyed a delicious meal. The salads were delicious and fresh. The main course, the fish special and the scallops were tasty and well presented. The service was spot on. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always good for food and service. We also enjoy the live music on Friday nights.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Private Room, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Reliable neighborhood restaurant. Food is always good with a nice selection. On this particular Sunday evening, it was quite noisy (we had a 6:30 reservation for a group of 8). Fortunately, over the period while we were there it emptied out and we were finally able to have conversations.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As usual, dinner at the Zinfandel Grille was quite excellent. Our group of 4 was particularly pleased with our serving person. She is very professional and caring -- quite excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is one of our "go to" places for an enjoyable dining experience. Seafood pasta (crab/prawns) was excellent and the sea scallops entree was marvelous. The sea scallops are always fresh and prepared to perfection. Appetizer, soup/salad, entree and glass of wine for two runs around $100. Feel that it is well worth it - you get what you pay for. Sign up for their e-mail list and they will send you a $15 off coupon every month.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A fantastic evening. The food was delicious and well presented. The service was excellent. We will be back as we had a very enjoyable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As always, the food is excellent, the staff friendly and attentive. Wonderful bread/dipping oil before dinner. Excellent gin and cucumber cocktail that I can't remember the name of. The lava cake for dessert was scrumptious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was delicious and perfectly prepared, though so rich I couldn't finish anything. We started with fried calamari - the most tender I have ever had (though I don't particularly care for it). The salad was fresh and full of flavor. I ordered the special swordfish. Amazing! It was topped with tasty white and red garnishes, the fish was flaky and juicy atop some green relish (avocado?) and a bit of creamy chile stuff. Lots of wonderful textures and flavors, but SO rich I could only eat half of it. It was just too much of a good thing for this food-wimp. The service was slow, but friendly - I prefer prompt and professional. Nice wine list.

Tags: Modern Decor, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Z-Grille is fast becoming one of our favorites. The menu suits us well and the specials are frequently very appealing. Cynthia, our most recent server, is a true professional - just the right amount of attentiveness without becoming overbearing.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

As always everything was wonderful....good drinks......great service and very delicious food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.