Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11am - 3pm (between 3pm-4pm we have a limited anytime menu) Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4pm - 9pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (888) 315-0444

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Specials

Live music

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

20% Off Food Only

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Live music

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Most of the time we have a three piece live jazz band playing but at times we'll also have a duo. No cover charge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

We have $5 cocktails and draft beers, $8 martinis, $6 glasses of wine, and a great variety of appetizers to choose from. It varies from crispy calamari, to any one of our 11 wood fired small pizzas or our pork quesadilla. On Wednesdays 4pm-10pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. For bar and high tops only. Not valid with any other promotions or discounts. Special valid May 26, 2017 - Sep 26, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

20% Off Food Only

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

20% Off Food Only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Discount is for main dining room only. Not valid with any other promotions. Special valid May 24, 2017 - Sep 22, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (46)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Casual (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Business Meals (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (17)
Live Music (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Seasonal (13)
Fun (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Private Room (5)
Quick Bite (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We each had excellent seafood. Server was pleasant, but had a few problems with the bill, which he quickly corrected.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed dining experience and very nice server. Would go again if opportunity arises.
Accommodated special request with no problems.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

As always a great meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Everything was great. We have been going here since it opened and food is consitantly good. They have a great menu with something for everyone. Service was attentive and the front dining room set up with mostly booths is very pleasant and easy to have a conversation without shouting. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. You cannot go wrong dining here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The quality of the ribeye steak was poor even the good chefs there couldn't do much else to make it worth the price. They forgot our salad and apologized to the next table for the error, never offering us other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have always had a great meal. The salmon is wonderful and made differently each time we go.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The bottom line is to leave with a good impression of the dining experience. And Zinfandel Grill accomplished just that! Armando is excellent at what he does. The food was prepared properly and tasted great. This was the first time my wife and I dined at Zinvandel Grill and friends that joined us only once before. I have lived in the area since 1986 but never in the immediate area of where the restaurant is located. And, if it were not for our good friends we still might have not had dined at Zinfandel. Why? Because for my birthday, I was given a Zinvandel gift card. Thanks to our friends, you now have additional guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is consistently good, as is the service. The restaurant has a rustic modern flare and is quite comfortable. It's a little noisy but not enough that you can't hear your table mates talking. The menu is seasonal...I've always had good food there.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was great and reasonably priced. Server was professional and attentive. Other staff members were very attentive also.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Entree was new and different and very good. Service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

As usual the food was delicious and the service was great. This is a go-to restaurant when I am in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Fantastic swordfish with asparagus and polenta. Loved every bite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a great dinner with any menu choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, great service, for good price. My wife and I spent about $45 for 1 appetizer and two entrées including 20% tip. Noise level fairly high but everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 22, 2017

asian chicken salad was different. not great. Not as I remembered. It was a hot day ,but too warm inside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. Noise level low allowing conversation. Food choices great. Always seem to have unique specials. This visit featured ahi. It was delicious. The chef actually visited our table to get my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very disappointed to find we could not use our dinner coupon because we had a happy hour drink. That should be made clear when ordering a drink during happy hour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Perhaps it was the business connected with the Father's day croud, but the food was very disappointing, not at all what I have come to expect. Everyone in my large party of 11 felt the same way. We'll probably go elsewhere for future family dinners... too bad because we really liked this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Zinfandel Grille never fails to impress. We have never had a bad meal there. It's not cheap, but it's not overpriced, either. The service is always wonderful, the dip for the bread is excellent, and all the food is prepared just exactly right and full of flavor

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place for date night... the mustard chicken is a must-try!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

All four of us made different choices. We all loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A local favorite, we arrived a bit early and were seated directly - it seems as if we never have to wait but being seated almost immediately is always a nice surprise. Not only does Zinfandel take reservations, they understand reservations.

The waiter was engaging while not being intrusive - that's important to us because often we are meeting friends and want to talk and catch-up with each other.

We had the evening special - Halibut - and it was great. The service was timely, meals arrived hot, and our water and bread were looked after.

Thank you Zinfandel for another lovely evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 13, 2017

wonderful evening as always and Cindy the very best server who has become our friend

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Never had a bad meal. Ise makes the best calazone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I have not been to Zinfandel grille for a while but I decided to have dinner for 7 on Friday. We had a great time from the moment we stepped in. 3kids got pizza dough to play with & never asked for phone. The kids menu was really great for $8(pasta with chicken, a drink & a small scoop of ice cream) & just for that we are definitely going back more regularly. The service was good & pleasant. My fillet mignon & husband's Kobe beef steak were both good. We shared trio dessert & they were plenty for 3 adults. My friend & her sons were happy & thank you for extra pizza dough that were brought to kids!
They played with it till next day! & there was live music from 7pm!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 8, 2017

It was an overall great experience from the time we walked in to the time we left. We were seated right away the waiter was really customer friendly and on top of of his game. The appetizers and food were delicious and on time We were never without a drink. GREAT PLACE WE WILL BE BACK

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was an excellent choice for the young adult who we celebrated because it is upscale from the type of restaurant that young adults often visit. The server paid special attention to make sure the the celebrant was knowledged and celebrated by the restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Four friends met for dinner. Each of us ordered something different: 2 main dish salads, and 2 ordered entrees, one pasta and one fish. Everyone was very happy with their dinners, drinks from the bar, and dessert. Service was timely. We stayed around to visit after our meal, and never felt pressured to leave. This was a thoroughly enjoyable evening, and we shall return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Consistent quality food and service. Very yummy menu, it was hard to pick!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Had high hopes when I ordered the trout. It tasted musty, mealy and old. I was candid, and they did another/same result. Very Poor product, white flesh-they need to use ruby trout that actually have flavor. I did like the mashed potatoes with lemon zest. My salad sat on the counter for almost ten minutes. My sense is that this place has had its day: we were there at 7 and there were only two other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Came in for a birthday celebration and everything was wonderful. Our server, Joe, was great and certainly added to the energy us group of ladies had! The table was set up well before our reservation time, the food was excellent, and while we didn't leave until after the restaurant was closed, we never felt rushed to get out. A great find and a definite place to come back to. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It is a lovely place to go for a meal. The food and service are excellent
. The noise level is low so you can talk to the people at your table and hear them too. I like the casual elegant decor too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Zinfandel Grille has been one of my two favorite restaurants for at least 20 years (the other is the Freeport Bar and Grill). I love the food, the ambiance (so cheerful and with a wide variety of customers...old and young) and the service. Plus the reasonable prices for what you get. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Never a disappointment. Good food and pleasant service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We are regular to Z Grill, so I was a bit disappointed in two items:

1) For the second time, I did not get credit for my Open Table points, without having to email Open Table. Problem was resolved, but a pain. I thought the first time was out of the ordinary, but seems to be a problem.

2) The Mustard Chicken is normally great, but was cremated, and exceptionally dry. They did replace it, as it was black from over cooking. Second one was better, but not up to their normal standards. I understand there was a new cook, which may be the problem.

3) Our server was outstanding!!! She worked hard, was attentive and responsive.

Despite 1 and 2, we will be back. After 20 years, I know it was something of an aberation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great appetizer menu, and we enjoyed the crabcakes in a delicious carrot and ginger puree. Our guest loved the ravioli stuffed with spinach and proscuitto (I think). Our wait person was quite good, just attentive enough and not overly friendly. When one of us spilled a full glass of water, there were two staff on the table immediately, with assurances that "this happens more than you think" and restoring the table back to normal. Nice touch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and service was very good but it was very loud and noisy! They had live music which was just another addition to the noise level

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Once again we had a wonderful experience. Food is first rate and the staff is personable and efficient.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

As usual, Zinfandel Grille exceeds all expectations! Consistently amazing food, service and atmosphere! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.