About Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento

2384 Fair Oaks Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Holiday promotion! Until the end of December, for every $50 gift card you buy we give you 20% back in a gift certificate! The Zinfandel Grille, Sacramento has been a local tradition for more than 20 years. Our upscale restaurant provides a unique dining experience while remaining comfortable and casual. The style of our food from our house-made pasta and wood-fired pizza to our grilled Kobe and rustic meatloaf pairs well with our array of Zinfandel wines. The cuisine ranges from California fresh to hearty Mediterranean. Our chefs selects only the best and freshest ingredients and we change our menu seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe & Fulton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 485-7100

Website:
http://zinfandelgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz music every Friday and Saturday from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.

Catering:
Offsite catering is available please call (916) 485-7100 to inquire.

Parking Details:
Private lots located behind and to the side of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cerilo Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Zinfandel Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8883150444

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact our Event Coordinator (Janet Walker) for more information.
She could be reached at 916-485-7100

Restaurant Photos

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento
Ginger-Honey Lemon Drop
Minty Goose
Pepperoni Pizza
Calamari
Mustard Chicken
Chocolate Truffle Lava Cake
Dungeness Crab Lasagna
Thai Shrimp Wraps
Grey Goose And Tonic
Roasted Meatloaf Stuffed With Blue Cheese
Banana Foster Croissant Bread Pudding
Pot Stickers
Individual Meat Loaf Wrapped With Bacon And Stuffed With Blue Cheese
beef short ribs

Zinfandel Grille - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
3 More
Great for Lunch
Sacramento
Neighborhood Gem
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

neighborhood gem (89)
special occasion (62)
great for lunch (56)
See All
good for groups (53)
fit for foodies (45)
romantic (26)
great for outdoor dining (23)
notable wine list (22)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for brunch (14)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the Grilled Pork Chop and my wife ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had the Grilled Pork Chop and my wife had the Rack of Lamb, both were outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The four of us met at 1:00 for lunch wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

The four of us met at 1:00 for lunch with the hope that we could have a real nice visit and we certainly did. It was not too noisy, very pleasant, and I particularly appreciated our waiter who was attentive but not overly so. The ambiance is excellent - - gives a special feel for a gathering but not obnoxiously 'special'.

Everyone seemed to enjoy his/her salad. Perhaps I was a little disappointed with my Asian salad which seemed somewhat bland to me.

I will be back, probably quite soon. nanj

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I recently moved back to Sac ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I recently moved back to Sacramento and wanted to get together with former friends. We were seated in a semi-circular booth and were provided very good service. Most of us had a salad or tuna salad sandwich and were very pleased. I had a Summer Niciose Salad that was very well-prepared and quite tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We've lived in the area for years. Freq ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We've lived in the area for years. Frequent customers. Our entrees were not up to the usual level of quality as we're accustom to. I had the scallops. Some of the cheese chunks in the entree were cold. My wife had the cannelloni special. She felt it tasted like chicken enchiladas not cannelloni. We were seated very closely to an extremely loud & obnoxious older man who was w/ his daughter & son-in-law. Not conducive to a intimate dinner out.

Have to say it wasn't up to the high standards we are used to.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were really looking forward to dining ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were really looking forward to dining @ Zinfandel Grill. We have a couple of favorite items, & love the variety of the menu. However, the waiter seemed inexperienced. We think that she thought she was being helpful, but she really rushed us. We had barely finished our salads & out came the entrees. I finished my entree 1st & she cleared all of my plates, cutlery, the bread & dipping oil while my husband was still finishing his dinner, & then she proceeded to offer dessert & coffee while he was still eating. There was hardly anyone in the dining room, so we don't understand the rush. We had planned on a leisurely meal, but were back on the road in under an hour.

We love the mushroom salad; it's a long-time favorite. However, it seems to have shrunk over the years. We used to be able to split one, & now they seem to be on the small side. The waiter never offered fresh cracked pepper, either. The pesto pizza was so disappointing & flavorless we wanted to salt the pizza. The waiter never offered fresh parmesan cheese or red peppers; we had to flag her down & ask. The ahi dinner special was so salty I found myself scraping the sauce off of the fish. However, the accompanying vegetables were perfect, but the wasabi mashed potatoes were quite bland & cold.

It was annoying to watch the dining room manager(?) eat in the kitchen, in full view of the dining room. And he apparently never washes his hands.

It had been a while since we dined here, so we were observing the food as it was delivered & served at other tables. Some items like the Nicoise salad seemed quite small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I was very happy with everything but sur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I was very happy with everything but surprised that I couldn't use my

Open Table gift card.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation process was simple and fast. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Reservation process was simple and fast. Table was ready upon arrival. Server friendly and efficient. Food was excellent. We had a great time!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Room is light and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food is always good. Room is light and airy. I had dinner this last time- a pork chop, which was delicious. Others had pizzas, which were also good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zinfandel has been my favorite place sin ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Zinfandel has been my favorite place since I moved here in the 90s. For the past few years, we have patronized this restaurant & have enjoyed their food immensely. This time it was good for my partner but my dish was mediocre. The ravioli was kind of thick & the filling was forgettable. I want to mention that since they have an outdoor area, flies seem to get inside which it really annoying especially when they land on the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wife ordered ravioli Pomodoro: tasty and ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wife ordered ravioli Pomodoro: tasty and solid. Tomato sauce bright with hint of heat/spice. A nice dish ($18). I had lamb chops with ratatouille and polenta: expensive disappointment ($28). Ordered the lamb med. rare, but it came out closer to well done. Could not tell our server as she seemingly disappeared for 10 min. I enjoyed the sauce, but meat WAY overcooked. Waitress said the chef recommended lamb chops to medium (really??). Ratatouille was oily, lacked flavor and was not a nice looking side dish. Polenta was the excellent star of the plate.

Ordered a small salad split, but was given (and charged) for two. Bread dried out. Dessert (fruit crisp) was ho-hum.

Server was friendly, but needs polish. Not responsive about overcooked lamb other than to say: “sorry.” It was a disappointing evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, especially the bread pudding ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, especially the bread pudding! Service was great and the restaurant was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of 10 friends dined at Zinfandel G ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Group of 10 friends dined at Zinfandel Grille. Everyone very pleased with their dinners. Excellent service . Great food. Dined here several times and never a miss at Zinfandel Grille! Menu changes with seasons. Not a large selection but something for everyone's taste and good wine list. If you dine between 4 - 6 pm, they give you a 20% "early bird" discount. Can't beat that!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly staff, attentive service and in ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Friendly staff, attentive service and interesting special menu items on top of reliable standard items make this restaurant a regular and enjoyable experience

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner selection of scallops and shrimp/ ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dinner selection of scallops and shrimp/chicken fettuccine were excellent. Every time we go the menu selections are perfect. Went on a Sunday evening which we thought would not be too busy but almost every table was occupied. The only negative thing I would share is that sitting near the kitchen area it is smoky and greasy smelling. Our eyes starting burning from grease in the air. This is the second time we have noticed the grease smell and our eyes burning whenever we have been seated near the kitchen. Otherwise this is an excellent restaurant and the service is very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A tad pricey and the menu is a bit limit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A tad pricey and the menu is a bit limited, but we always find something that appeals. Actually, I always have the mushroom salad, it is delicious, and this time I ordered it with chicken, though I may not do so in the future. For $4 extra I got like about 4 bites of chicken! The Ahi Tuna appetizer was terrific, so I didn't leave hungry. My husband had a pasta special and he really enjoyed it. We shared a bottle of Gewurstraminer, $45 and it wan't all that great. Our waitress was very amiable and professional. VERY noisy table quite close to us, it was a relief when they left before we did! Then we could hear the lovely guitar duo that was playing that evening! Overall a lovely experience. Not too busy here during the summer months!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service here is excellent.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service here is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Accompanied by a couple who had never be ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Accompanied by a couple who had never been to Zinfandel Grille. We all loved it and will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we wish the outside dining area could be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

we wish the outside dining area could be improved we love to eat out there but with the new arrangement no fun to sit and look into diners inside looking directly at you and us to them while dining WE miss the four man tables!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I had to leave before I ate because the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I had to leave before I ate because the I was waiting for called to report she was sick. I took our lunches to-go. Had outstanding service. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I celebrated her birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My sister and I celebrated her birthday on a Saturday evening at Zinfandel Grille. As is typically the case, the food was superb and the service was outstanding. Phillip, our server, was exceptionally attentive and had a great personality. He seemed to enjoy his work. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Kobe steak and my date had the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I had the Kobe steak and my date had the scallops. Both were EXCELLENT.

Wait staff was great, did not pressure us, rather allowed us to enjoy a drink or two before ordering. Kept checking back on us.

Will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated two birthdays. Used Entertai ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrated two birthdays. Used Entertainment Coupon for one couple and birthday certificate for second birthday as we had done in previous years.

Unlike last year, could only use one coupon which we were not told until finished dining and the bills were brought to table. Server said he would do early dining discount on second ticket but it would not be reflected until bill was paid. Then came back and said no discount would be given to one couple and would extend date by two weeks on birthday coupon.

We do not Intend to return so little good that will do.

Restaurant was busy, had to flag down busser when we needed soda refills, lemon, and bread.

Chicken Ravioli was not up to expectations, but server never came back to check.

Mustard chicken was over cooked but edible.

Not one of our better birthday celebrations.

Had we known that we could not use both coupons and that food would not be up to expectations, and service was lacking would never have gone there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Beautiful taste and presentation

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Beautiful taste and presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service, good food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

They knew this was our wedding anniversary but we got seated in the noisy bar area which was disappointing with all the loud TV's on but our server was excellent. I chose the scallops based on an online review I saw and my husband ordered the seafood pasta. We also had the calamari appetizer, black bean soup and mushroom salad.

The calamari was great. The black bean soup and mushrooms salads were both very bland and we would not order them again.

The scallops were the best I have ever had, large and done perfectly but the rice that accompanied it was supposed to be Thai but had little spices to indicate it was Thai. The seafood pasta had fresh seafood but my husband said it didn't really stand out for him.

We had the chocolate lava cake which was very good but you really can't go wrong with chocolate. Their espresso machine was not working so I just had an unremarkable decaf.

We'll come again only because the service was very professional and prompt and we want to try the Kobe steak next time. It's also conveniently located and has sentimental value for us (Old Beaverbrook place.)

We did leave feeling over the top full.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Easy Menu

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We have been here many times. Service is always good. Food is fairly consistent, specials are very good. Good drinks from the bar.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A lovely place to have lunch for any occasion.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. The salad selections are terrific particularly the crab/avocado salad. A lovely place to have lunch or dinner with a friend or business colleague.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went for dinner on a Sat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My friend and I went for dinner on a Saturday night. The meal and service were wonderful and there was very nice live jazz music. We were stunned that not more people were there! Not that we want it crowded for the next time we go, but it is such a nice spot and people should know about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy eating dinner at Zinfande ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I always enjoy eating dinner at Zinfandel Grill. This time I had the Mary's Chicken Ravioli, what a great choice. Also had the Mushroom Salad, one of my favorites. It's always exciting to try something I've never had before from the menu. The service is always superb!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Kitchen Away from Our Kitchen

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was one of those days: we just finishing working all day and neither of us wanted to be in the kitchen. Our first thought? Zinfandel's! Zinfandel's is always our first thought because the food, the service, and the value is consistently good, great, and fair. Our order was small: mixed baby greens salad, vegetable calzone and a small classic margherite pizza, and beverages. The salad wasn't over dressed leaving the greens crisp and the flavors full. The pizza was hot and the crust moist, not chewy or hard. The calzone flavors were great, but this time the interior needed a bit more heat. Our server, Tayler, was very pleasant, helpful on wine selections, and attentive without being bothersome-in other words: perfect. Zinfandel's is our kitchen away from our kitchen, what's not to like?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and service were excellent. The lam ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Good and service were excellent. The lamb and salmon were tasty and cooked very well as was the polenta and vegetables. My wife and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends celebrating mom's 100th birthday

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Zinfandel Grill is always my go-to restaurant. We go about once a month and never had a bad meal. The wait staff is the best. Sometimes the hostess don't seem to see some patrons wouldn't mind some help, like holding the door open when assisting handicap members. If they were extremely busy, I can understand, but most of our visits, they're just standing around. If the food and service weren't top-notch, we wouldn't be there every month.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early and chose to sit at the ba ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Arrived early and chose to sit at the bar. The meal was excellent, and the bartender (Carissa) was, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I prefer specials to be priced instead o ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I prefer specials to be priced instead of a surprise at the time of the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Z Grille never disappoints, whether happ ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Z Grille never disappoints, whether happy hour or dining. On this luncheon occasion with a BFF, I enjoyed the Z Mediterranean Salad and loved everything, especially the dressing which I am usually 'picky' about - balanced the fresh seasonal vegies and prawns beautifully. My friend ordered the Red pepper papparadelle with vegies and prawns entree and she raved about it. We brought a bottle of wine to share, and we found out that was the one day of the month the corkage fee was waived. That was a bonus! Service was wonderful as always. Friendly without interfering. I love Z Grille!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great; not too intrusive ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was great; not too intrusive, but always helpful. The food was delicious and the portions were good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Good As Ever

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Zinfandel Grill is always a place where I can find consistently good food and careful service. I have always heard how good their pizza is, but not being a lover of pizza, had never tried it before. Had the caramelized pear and prosciutto, SUPERB!!!! Others in the group also had pizzas and enjoyed them. Mushroom & Jarlsberg Salad is the best salad in town; however, this time it was too oily with too little lemon juice.

Our wait staff was meticulous and our waitress was very patient with my friends who are sometimes food challenged not eating a number of common foods.

The one difficulty at ZG is the noise level. This time it was better as we arrived late and it was not as busy. It was difficult but not impossible to carry on a conversation

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

loved our waitress Amy. She was very pro ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

loved our waitress Amy. She was very professional. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and grateful to be seated earl ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious and grateful to be seated early, since traffic was light,; clamaric tasty and delicious. I wonder if the fryer was a little bit cold since the calamari were both thick with oil and a bit wet.? Rest of the meal was delicious, and highly reccommended. No desserts or coffees were offered, which we would have accepted. 4/5 overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Can't wait to dine here again! The food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Can't wait to dine here again! The food and cocktails were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Dinner Overload

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The place was packed and they couldn't handle it. We waited a hour to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.