About Zinc Wine Bar & Bistro

3009 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Zinc is a lively three level bistro in Historic Nob Hill. Featuring an open, urban ambiance, Zinc offers casual fine dining on the main level and the loft mezzanine. For those looking for an exciting show, the exhibition bar offers seats right along the open kitchen. The menu focuses on high quality - yet affordable - American bistro fare and utilizes seasonal ingredients, many of which are sourced from local farmers. The Cellar Bar offers the same extensive wine list and premium cocktails as the upstairs, but in a more intimate lounge atmosphere with a lighter menu. The Cellar also showcases live music on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday nights. Visit www.zincabq.com for menus, pictures, and upcoming events!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Weekend Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cellar Bar
Tuesday-Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday & Monday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 254-9462

Website:
http://www.zincabq.com/

Entertainment:
Live music (jazz, blues, Americana, indie) in the intimate Cellar Bar every Tuesday from 8pm to 11pm and every Thursday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 12:30am. Sunday Brunch features live music from 11am to 2pm in the main dining room.

Catering:
Taste Boutique Catering is a joint catering arm of Zinc and sister restaurants Seasons Rotisserie & Grill and Savoy Bar & Grill.

Parking Details:
We have street parking, night parking in the lots across the street and a private lot at 116 Dartmouth SE for overflow.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Pope

Private Party Facilities:
Private balcony area that seats up to 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kaleene Keeley: 5052549462x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon
  • Lamb Filet Mignon
  • Grilled Lamb Strip Loin
  • Wild Mushroom Potstickers
  • Stuffed Quail
  • Beef Tenderloin With Green Beans And Blue Cheese Mashed Potatoes
  • Chicken
Salmon
Lamb Filet Mignon
Grilled Lamb Strip Loin
Wild Mushroom Potstickers
Stuffed Quail
Beef Tenderloin With Green Beans And Blue Cheese Mashed Potatoes
Chicken

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zinc Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (31)
notable wine list (24)
See All
romantic (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
vibrant bar scene (11)
good for groups (11)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had delicious food and a good wine se ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had delicious food and a good wine selection. Our server was excellent. The only thing is the wine bar below had a band going so we could hear the bass but everything else was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

When in Albuquerque, we always eat at Zi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

When in Albuquerque, we always eat at Zinc. The service and food is also exceptional. The only drawback this time, is that the person/s they seated next to us were not dressed properly for this restaurant and their behavior was not up to par. The man came in with a dirty white t-shirt, very dirty blue jeans and toothpick in his mouth, which stayed there while he was drinking, ordering food and finally when his food arrived, he removed the toothpick and put it behind his ear. I was embarrased for his date, but obviouly it didn't bother her, only us. I was happy they arrived towards the end of our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at Zinc. The food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Zinc. The food was prepared well, and the servers were attentive and friendly. We especially enjoyed the lamb entree and the polenta fries that came with our appetizer as well as the relaxing jazz music. The menu was not particularly unique, and the atmosphere was pleasant but not noteworthy. It's a good setting for a special occasion meal with family or a date night. I would return to Zinc if I was in the mood for upscale American food in the Albuquerque area.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dined solo, lovely experience for dining ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dined solo, lovely experience for dining solo.

All above reflects my positive dining experience. Found site through TripAdvisor. I was a tourist, only in town one evening.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the 3 course meal, a terrific va ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had the 3 course meal, a terrific value. The chopped salad had awesome veggies, the trout main course was perfectly cooked and the lemon cake was a delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Certainly not our first time at Zinc. We ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Certainly not our first time at Zinc. We are never disappointed. Food is exceptional, well prepared and professionally presented; service is always very attentive but never intrusive. We invited a friend as our guest for dinner; her first time at Zinc. She could not say enough about the quality of the experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Zinc is definitely one of my favorite re ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Zinc is definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Albuquerque. It is owned by a twin brothers, who also operate Seasons and Savoy, but - for my money - Zinc is the flagship. Zinc is lively without being raucous, having the feel of a really good New York bistro. They also have a really excellent manager at Zinc who makes certain that all goes well, and the hostesses are always pleasant and helpful. The menu choices are always varied, inventive, and tempting. Some of the starters seem to the inventions of the chef who puts a little twist on normal preparations. Their salads are excellent and often delightfully different. Their entrees present a nice variety in every field so that one has to take some time to decide which he might like to enjoy the most. The portions are more than ample (but I somehow am able to clean the plate well). The desserts are always really good - if you have any room left. The bar is also excellent and the drinks are not "stingy." The one suggestion for improvement I might offer to the owners is that they always seem understaffed with waiters both at Zinc and Savoy; there seems to be lot of scurrying around, which does not make for a leisurely dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It was a terrible experience at Zinc. No ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a terrible experience at Zinc. Not only was our bread plate paltry when the tables 2 ourright and left were full, but our server was also the bartender. We had terrible service, and terrible food. All in all, a dreadful Father's Day ruined by zinc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Having had a large, late lunch, we'd opt ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Having had a large, late lunch, we'd opted to try Zinc, and we're glad we did. We chose three starters -- 2 lite portions of mussels and the duck egg rolls plus the full portion of wild boar sausage and polenta fries. Delivery timing was great; ditto for service in general -- some would quibble about bringing 3 sampler wines (plus a full glass) but not our friendly, informative waitress. We left, our taste and wine buds sated A wino (nicely put oenophile), they've got a great and reasonable selection by the glass and bottle. For sure -- we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat the duck confit egg rolls every t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We eat the duck confit egg rolls every time. Much enjoyed the prix fix menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but not great. Although, t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food was good but not great. Although, the Overall service was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was fantastic. Everything else wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Server was fantastic. Everything else was underwhelming. I would suggest smaller portions of higher quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Everything was amazing! I couldn't have ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was amazing! I couldn't have asked for a better dinner to celebrate my best friends birthday. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I ordered the French Onion Soup for an appetizer and the rotisserie tenderloin for my main course. It was very disappointing. The soup had a strong alcohol taste and the tenderloin had a strange mushy texture. There was too much blue cheese in the mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, but I was expecting great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Took a date here, based on what I'd heard and read about this restaurant. We were seated upstairs which we enjoyed. However, the noise level was quite distracting and made conversation a little difficult. The wine selection was excellent and the service was good. I ordered the sea scallops which were good, but I felt that the pesto preparation was quite overdone (too heavy). The other flavors were simply overwhelmed. I would give this restaurant another chance, but frankly I expected more given their reputation. Sidenote: the basement bar makes for a fun hangout (nice vibe), separate from the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lamb, scallops, were all excellent.

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Lamb, scallops, were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, you get what you pay for.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Zinc is attentive and I've never had a bad experience-- even on their busiest night. Albuquerque is notorious for people trying to make their fine-dining establishments fit in by overpricing their menu. Only problem is-- nothing else meets the standard of the payment? As someone who cooks good, organic food on a daily basis. I know my cuts, my produce and my temperatures. If I'm going out to eat, I expect hot food and cold drinks with timely service. Zinc is very attentive, food is delicious and some plates are exquisite. It's a perfect go-to place for a romantic evening. We've always had a great time. It's not cheap-- but if you wanted cheap, then go to a bar and get yourself some bar food. :) Thanks again for a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here for Mothers Day. She ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I took my wife here for Mothers Day. She had the trout, I had a chicken dish with a truffle sauce. Both were delicious, especially the truffle sauce in the chicken dish. We finished with a strawberry shortcake that was the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each time we are in ABQ, we seem to grav ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Each time we are in ABQ, we seem to gravitate to Zinc, and it does not disappoint. Still a very pleasant wine bar, with 3oz and 6oz pours. For dinner, two of us shared 5 appetizers instead of ordering mains, since they looked so delectable: mushroom-broccoli potstickers in a gingery broth; smoked trout on potato pancakes (*); wild boar sausage with polenta fries; "asparagus-parmesan" strudel with frisee [too stringy] and prosciutto [too thick] and an egg [yum]; crispy duck confit eggrolls. Nice wines, good service, happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Whenever we are in Albuquerque & we have the time we make a point to eat at Zinc. It never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Request

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

My daughter actually requested to go to Zinc to her birthday due to the food and service. The food, as always, was perfectly prepared and met all our expectations per previous visits. The service was impeccable and we enjoyed our waiter who was both attentive and personable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice local place with a good vibe. Decen ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice local place with a good vibe. Decent dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always yummy!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Food was fantastic, as usual. Despite a VERY LOUD table adjacent to us (why could they not have been seated further away in an otherwise EMPTY dining room?)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very decent brunch; however forgettable.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very decent brunch; however forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We eat here a lot. Always satisfied with ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We eat here a lot. Always satisfied with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

This is not my first visit to Zinc. Service is always great and it is nice to experience a varied/changing menu of delightful meals!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We've been here several times for different reasons ranging from special occasions to business dinners to casual lunch. The food is always great, service can be inconsistent but this visit was excellent on all fronts!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good choice of wines; food average.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Good choice of wines; food average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

What a Find

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Zinc is a new "find" for us and what a find it is. We have known Heather and Ralph from previous locations and know that they are part of what makes this work. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent. You won't go wrong - try it!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night .... not good @ Zinc

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

My wife and I went to Zinc for date night without the kids. The waiter/bartender was less then attentive to us, likely because we were a couple.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Zinc Wine Bistro

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Had brunch at Zinc recently. The place is very nice inside and the food was good. My Caesar salad was good, and the onion soup very good. Then area on Central is somewhat sketchy, I would think, especially after dark.

Dessert really was the best course as all four of us enjoyed our choices.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Brunch - great choices

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Came to have a birthday brunch for a friend who chooses Zinc every year. We enjoy sitting upstairs and are never rushed and can enjoy a relaxed brunch. Food is great and service is very good.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Too much sauce

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We ordered chicken florentine that arrived undercooked and drenched with a rich sauce. The waiter promptly took it back for additional cooking and deleted the charge for a glass of wine. My wife's roast pork dish also arrived undercooked. It had to be sent back. It, too, had too much sauce. More restraint with sauce would have improved the dishes immeasurably. Otherwise this is a fine restaurant. Service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We stop at Zinc on our way to Phoenix and on the way home to Missouri. The food and service are always great. We love the smoked trout appetizer, the lamb and the beef Bourgogne ravioli . But everything that comes out looks great. Sometime sit at the bar by the kitchen and watch the food prep. The chefs have their act together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We were well taken care of from the moment we walked through the door. The presentation of the food was delightful and the taste was equally a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Visited during restaurant week with a group of friends. We were impressed with the quality of food and superior staff service. The price for restaurant week was great also.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Love the pre-fixe menu! It's a great value and we have never been disappointed. Four of us dined together and all ordered something different and were very happy with our choices!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Week! have not eaten there in ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Restaurant Week! have not eaten there in many many years.

Everything about it was great! We will definitely eat there again sooner then several years from now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Went during restaurant week. Once we ord ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Went during restaurant week. Once we ordered took 40 minutes to receive our food. My wife ordered the medallions medium well. Came out rare. Very unappetizing. I ordered the salmon. It was tough, dry and flavorless. Extremely disappointed. Usually love Zinc. Had to send both items back. Am unapologetic manager did remove the entrees and handed us our check for the drinks we had. Did not ask or offer alternative food choices. Felt very I welcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Noisy

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. But noise level is exceptionally high.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.