About Zinc Wine Bar & Bistro

3009 Central Ave NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
View Larger Map

Zinc is a lively three level bistro in Historic Nob Hill. Featuring an open, urban ambiance, Zinc offers casual fine dining on the main level and the loft mezzanine. For those looking for an exciting show, the exhibition bar offers seats right along the open kitchen. The menu focuses on high quality - yet affordable - American bistro fare and utilizes seasonal ingredients, many of which are sourced from local farmers. The Cellar Bar offers the same extensive wine list and premium cocktails as the upstairs, but in a more intimate lounge atmosphere with a lighter menu. The Cellar also showcases live music on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday nights. Visit www.zincabq.com for menus, pictures, and upcoming events!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Weekend Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cellar Bar
Tuesday-Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday & Monday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 254-9462

Website:
http://www.zincabq.com/

Entertainment:
Live music (jazz, blues, Americana, indie) in the intimate Cellar Bar every Tuesday from 8pm to 11pm and every Thursday and Saturday from 9:30pm - 12:30am. Sunday Brunch features live music from 11am to 2pm in the main dining room.

Catering:
Taste Boutique Catering is a joint catering arm of Zinc and sister restaurants Seasons Rotisserie & Grill and Savoy Bar & Grill.

Parking Details:
We have street parking, night parking in the lots across the street and a private lot at 116 Dartmouth SE for overflow.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Pope

Private Party Facilities:
Private balcony area that seats up to 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kaleene Keeley: 5052549462x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zinc Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Best Value
Albuquerque
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (53)
romantic (39)
See All
notable wine list (30)
neighborhood gem (30)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (12)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good, but I was expecting great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Took a date here, based on what I'd heard and read about this restaurant. We were seated upstairs which we enjoyed. However, the noise level was quite distracting and made conversation a little difficult. The wine selection was excellent and the service was good. I ordered the sea scallops which were good, but I felt that the pesto preparation was quite overdone (too heavy). The other flavors were simply overwhelmed. I would give this restaurant another chance, but frankly I expected more given their reputation. Sidenote: the basement bar makes for a fun hangout (nice vibe), separate from the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb, scallops, were all excellent.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Lamb, scallops, were all excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, you get what you pay for.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Zinc is attentive and I've never had a bad experience-- even on their busiest night. Albuquerque is notorious for people trying to make their fine-dining establishments fit in by overpricing their menu. Only problem is-- nothing else meets the standard of the payment? As someone who cooks good, organic food on a daily basis. I know my cuts, my produce and my temperatures. If I'm going out to eat, I expect hot food and cold drinks with timely service. Zinc is very attentive, food is delicious and some plates are exquisite. It's a perfect go-to place for a romantic evening. We've always had a great time. It's not cheap-- but if you wanted cheap, then go to a bar and get yourself some bar food. :) Thanks again for a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here for Mothers Day. She ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I took my wife here for Mothers Day. She had the trout, I had a chicken dish with a truffle sauce. Both were delicious, especially the truffle sauce in the chicken dish. We finished with a strawberry shortcake that was the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each time we are in ABQ, we seem to grav ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Each time we are in ABQ, we seem to gravitate to Zinc, and it does not disappoint. Still a very pleasant wine bar, with 3oz and 6oz pours. For dinner, two of us shared 5 appetizers instead of ordering mains, since they looked so delectable: mushroom-broccoli potstickers in a gingery broth; smoked trout on potato pancakes (*); wild boar sausage with polenta fries; "asparagus-parmesan" strudel with frisee [too stringy] and prosciutto [too thick] and an egg [yum]; crispy duck confit eggrolls. Nice wines, good service, happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum

Dined on April 27, 2016

Whenever we are in Albuquerque & we have the time we make a point to eat at Zinc. It never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Request

Dined on April 25, 2016

My daughter actually requested to go to Zinc to her birthday due to the food and service. The food, as always, was perfectly prepared and met all our expectations per previous visits. The service was impeccable and we enjoyed our waiter who was both attentive and personable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice local place with a good vibe. Decen ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice local place with a good vibe. Decent dishes.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always yummy!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Food was fantastic, as usual. Despite a VERY LOUD table adjacent to us (why could they not have been seated further away in an otherwise EMPTY dining room?)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

Very decent brunch; however forgettable.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very decent brunch; however forgettable.

food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here a lot. Always satisfied with ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

We eat here a lot. Always satisfied with the experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

This is not my first visit to Zinc. Service is always great and it is nice to experience a varied/changing menu of delightful meals!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 9, 2016

We've been here several times for different reasons ranging from special occasions to business dinners to casual lunch. The food is always great, service can be inconsistent but this visit was excellent on all fronts!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Good choice of wines; food average.

Dined on April 4, 2016

Good choice of wines; food average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Find

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Zinc is a new "find" for us and what a find it is. We have known Heather and Ralph from previous locations and know that they are part of what makes this work. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent. You won't go wrong - try it!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Date night .... not good @ Zinc

Dined on April 1, 2016

My wife and I went to Zinc for date night without the kids. The waiter/bartender was less then attentive to us, likely because we were a couple.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Zinc Wine Bistro

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had brunch at Zinc recently. The place is very nice inside and the food was good. My Caesar salad was good, and the onion soup very good. Then area on Central is somewhat sketchy, I would think, especially after dark. Dessert really was the best course as all four of us enjoyed our choices.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch - great choices

Dined on March 20, 2016

Came to have a birthday brunch for a friend who chooses Zinc every year. We enjoy sitting upstairs and are never rushed and can enjoy a relaxed brunch. Food is great and service is very good.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Too much sauce

Dined on March 14, 2016

We ordered chicken florentine that arrived undercooked and drenched with a rich sauce. The waiter promptly took it back for additional cooking and deleted the charge for a glass of wine. My wife's roast pork dish also arrived undercooked. It had to be sent back. It, too, had too much sauce. More restraint with sauce would have improved the dishes immeasurably. Otherwise this is a fine restaurant. Service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on March 13, 2016

We stop at Zinc on our way to Phoenix and on the way home to Missouri. The food and service are always great. We love the smoked trout appetizer, the lamb and the beef Bourgogne ravioli . But everything that comes out looks great. Sometime sit at the bar by the kitchen and watch the food prep. The chefs have their act together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were well taken care of from the moment we walked through the door. The presentation of the food was delightful and the taste was equally a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on March 13, 2016

Visited during restaurant week with a group of friends. We were impressed with the quality of food and superior staff service. The price for restaurant week was great also.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Love the pre-fixe menu! It's a great value and we have never been disappointed. Four of us dined together and all ordered something different and were very happy with our choices!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Restaurant Week! have not eaten there in ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Restaurant Week! have not eaten there in many many years. Everything about it was great! We will definitely eat there again sooner then several years from now.

food1
ambience4
service2

Went during restaurant week. Once we ord ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Went during restaurant week. Once we ordered took 40 minutes to receive our food. My wife ordered the medallions medium well. Came out rare. Very unappetizing. I ordered the salmon. It was tough, dry and flavorless. Extremely disappointed. Usually love Zinc. Had to send both items back. Am unapologetic manager did remove the entrees and handed us our check for the drinks we had. Did not ask or offer alternative food choices. Felt very I welcomed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Noisy

Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. But noise level is exceptionally high.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Food, Great Service, and a Superb Value

Dined on March 9, 2016

This restaurant was an exceptional find. The menu selection was varied, the preparation and presentation excellent, and we were pleasantly surprised by the generous portions. Our server was polite, helpful, and attentive. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

Dined on February 28, 2016

I brought my family into Zinc. It was a wonderful experience. Great food, service and ambiance. Ralph, the manager always takes great care of us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Evening

Dined on February 23, 2016

We sat at the chef's seats watching the chefs cook. It was a lot of fun, and they were very responsive to questions. It was a Monday night, not real busy, so they took time to chat now and then. The waiter was also very helpful. The food was great, from the seared tuna appetizer to the beef ravioli, all perfectly prepared and plated. The wines recommended by the waiter were good matches. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with friends

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was my first visit to Zinc - it's a lively restaurant with a great menu. Dinner was delicious, I had the pork tenderloin and my husband had the steak frites, our friends both had the salmon - all was cooked perfectly and very good. Loved our server Bryan - very attentive and on top of things but didn't smother us. Will definitely go back next time we're in Albuquerque!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Comfortable Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

We were three women who wanted a comfortable early dinner before we hustled to the Italian Film Festival down the street. Zinc filled the bill nicely. The food was interesting and delicious. The wine matched it perfectly. The service was very good. The noise level was loud enough to lift our spirits, but we could still hear each other well. It felt like home -- but we weren't the ones doing the heavy lifting. Grazie for doing that, Zinc.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

great service and atmosphere. Food was e ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

great service and atmosphere. Food was even better!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had never eaten there before, we will ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had never eaten there before, we will go back. Good food, service........

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Mexico's Top 3.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've been fortunate to eat in many places throughout the years. From Las Vegas's Bouchon to 5-Star restaurants in the British West-Indies. Surprisingly, Albuquerque and Santa Fe have a couple of restaurants that are delicious (however not always consistent).. But..... Zinc has never been a disappointment. I've been here on PACKED HOLIDAY-TYPE events like Valentine's Day to days when it was not-so-busy. And every time. The service, the food and the timing was right-on. Hard to say, and hard to find, especially in Albuquerque. But it's true. My experience was that good. This restaurant SERVES ART ON A PLATE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great, Love the mussels. My husband said the Caesar salad was amazing. The service was excellent. It is a little noisy. If your looking for something quiet and romantic this is not the place. Still great fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Zinc

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food continues to be good, service is shakey at best. We took my Mom to brunch before Christmas and the food was great and the waitress dropped her tray and then spilled water on my wife. We went Saturday, the 13th again wait staff seemed unprepared to be on the floor. My wife ordered a salad and an appetizer as an entre and I asked that they serve it with my dinner. They promptly served her both items without mine. Later I had to ask the waitress for a desert menu as she brought the check first.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time was good time

Dined on February 14, 2016

At 5pm on a Saturday it turned out that we didn't need reservations, but within an hour the place was bustling with patrons. Our server was polite, informative and attentive. The food was unique and very good. There were specials for Valentine's Day that were price conscience but elegant. I'll take my wife back again, no doubt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good late night bistro

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went to Zinc late at night, after a movie and just before their closing. Were treated very well and our waiter was informed, helpful, and cooperative with our special requests. With friends we like to share and sample, and he readily provided extra plates to accommodate our requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Zinc

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been dining at Zinc for 11 years and it continues to be one of the top few restaurants and dining experiences in Albuquerque.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We set at the chefs counter which was de ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We set at the chefs counter which was delightful and easy to make a entrée decision.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.