Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Zinc Restaurant

Canada"s Best New Restaurants of 2010; Zinc has been named one of Canada's Best New Restaurants of 2010

Located in the Art Gallery of Alberta in downtown Edmonton, Zinc offers a relaxed fine dining experience inspired by simple elegance and served in stunning surroundings. Zinc menu focuses on fresh Alberta ingredients fused with local artisan food products.

Intimate dinners, group celebrations, casual lunches or the simple enjoyment of a glass of wine become inspired at Zinc.

Zinc is open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. Our menus change seasonally and include dishes inspired by featured art exhibitions.

2 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Art Gallery of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T5J 2C1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed

Tuesday & Wednesday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 9 pm

Thursday & Friday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Saturday Brunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Sunday Brunch 11 am to 2 pm

Cross Street:
99 Street and 102A Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 392-2501

Website:
http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/

Catering:
Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering at the Art Gallery of Alberta. Whether you choose from one of our restaurant-inspired menus, request a themed menu based on a current exhibition or create your own customized selection, you and your guests will enjoy an incredible culinary experience! For more information on hosting an event at Zinc or in one of the magnificent rentable spaces at the Art Gallery, please visit: http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/events-catering

Parking Details:
There is ample meter parking around the Gallery. There is also a large Imperial Parking lot adjacent to the main doors as well as the Library and City Hall Parkades. The Art Gallery of Alberta is connected to the Library Parkade via the downtown pedway system. Zinc restaurant is walking distance from Edmonton City Centre, the Citadel Theatre and the Winspear Centre. The Edmonton LRT system is also accessible right from the building.

Executive Chef:
David Omar

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering. Chef Dave Omar and the Zinc Culinary Team provide the opportunity to explore masterful food creations in the remarkable setting of the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Zinc Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome service, intimate atmosphere with a great view. Restaurant manager Fady and his staff will ensure that you have a wonderful culinary experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff at Zinc are excellent. We were warmly welcomed at arrival and led to a table beside the huge window in the gorgeous space Zinc occupies. We both had a hard time deciding on a meal as everything on the menu looked like it would be delicious. After some guidance from the server, who patiently and expertly answered our questions, we were thoroughly pleased with our final choices! The staff made our visit to Zinc extra special and we both look forward to our next visit. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Vegan, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We go back to Zinc time and time again and it never dissapoints. Friday was a nice surprise as they brought in live music. We had several appetizers while sipping on delicious beverages. The pulled pork sliders were amazing and I don't often eat pork; a must have. When you visit Zinc make sure you have the coffee martini as a dessert to finish off the evening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had an excellent first visit to Zinc. Felt like we were treated like kings. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and beverage list. Special requests were welcomed. Everything tastes great and the menu was very unique. The restaurant manager was very attentiave and entertaining. Would love to come back next time I come to Edmonton.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to Zinc for a birthday dinner and everything was absolutely amazing! Our server, Leanne, was very knowledgeable of the wine and food menu. The manager, Fady, came to check on our table regularly and provided outstanding service over the course of the evening. Delicious cocktails, food was excellent, service was great, and the room is beautiful! Definitely recommend for a night out downtown!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While the food was fantastic I was totally unaware they were seating for mothers day brunch at $48 per person. It was not mentioned when I booked with open table so it came as a surprise. I thought the food choices and buffet were outstanding but was really disappointed we didn't have a choice to order off of a menu. We skipped mimosas because it also added to the bottom line and thought that at least one per person could have been included in the price. Maybe I need to pay more attention to understand mothers day is always uncharged (so I've been told).

I spoke to the manager at zinc and he was more than willing to accommodate us but I had already paid the bill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I were there prior to a concert. The appetizer was really good, we had the escargot. But both of our entrees were just okay. I had the catch of the day which was was dry and not terribly flavourful and my husband had the smoked chicken pasta dish which he said was overly rich and also lacking in flavour. I am hoping this was an off night as we have been to Zinc before and been very happy. The service was excellent so we will go back and give it another try.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Love the mood there. Especially great for girls' night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my second visit to Zinc and had brunch again. Overall the food was fine but not worth the price. Extremely small serving and uninteresting lobster benedict which had very little flavour. The best part of the entire meal was a wonderful 2 oz portion of hot chocolate served at the end. Overall the food lacked seasoning. Excellent service however and lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall, lovely ambience, lovely and wonderful wait staff, but food was lacking any flavour. I had the Wellington, Mom had the chicken pasta dish. Lacking salt and just overall in flavour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Edmonton has slowly been gaining a reputation as a bastion of food innovation. And I don't doubt that for a bit. I have been dining in some of the city's best-kept secrets for many years now, and I must say it's quite an experience. This so-called food revolution happening in the area has seen many new restaurants sprouting like mushrooms. And for those of you searching for a culinary experience like no other, look no further than Zinc.

We started with the marinated sirloin with frites, heirloom tomato, beech mushroom and truffle mayo, which is truly remarkable, perfectly cooked and served to perfection. My kids had mac n cheese made special for them. It was on the menu the first time we went and they couldn't leave without having it again.

The drink and wine selection is amazing; we left the recommendation to Fady Attia who never disappoints. His level of service, attention to detail and going above and beyond to make our experience unforgettable whether its for a date night, family celebration or business meeting is second to none.

Though I would love to be selfish and keep Zinc all to myself, the work of Chef David Omar and the outstanding customer experience provided by Fady Attia and his team is too good to stay hidden for long. There’s no doubt a table at Zinc will quickly become the hottest reservation in town.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We hadn't been to Zinc since it opened years ago and wonder why we hadn't gone back sooner. It's next door to the Winspear and the Citadel. Super convenient!
Everything was superb, from service to ambience to the meal.
We had lobster pot pie and prawn bisque to start, then had the Arctic char and smoked chicken linguine. Yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I went to this restaurant for Downtown dining week and the portions was very small. Also the duck was dry and just served on beans.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is my wife's and my favorite restaurant due to its amazing food, great ambiance and personable staff. Only reason I gave it 4 stars in service (would give it more 4.5) was it felt slower than usual when receiving our three courses during Edmonton's 'Downtown Dining Week'. We were there right when it opened for dinner so it could be they were still prepping, so take that rating with a grain of salt. This place has amazing dishes (short rib and filet mignon especially) and a wide variety. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Could not recommend this place more.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fine food, in a contemporary atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went for dining week and felt the fried oysters were not good and the portions were chintzy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fantastic place. Made reservations for brunch as soon as we left today. Great service. Great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Stopped in during Downtown Dining Week and really enjoyed the unique menu. The service was atentive and professional. Food was awesome. Super unique and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Shrimp bisque was cold. Other food was ok, we've had better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Location and service were excellent. Food was good but too salty for my preference. Wine was ok but would not order the organic Shiraz again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent experience great job. We'll be back. Cheers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Spectacular meal. Great spot for pre or post game @ Rogers place. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My mother and I had a lovely lunch last week. The quality and quantity of food was perfect for a mid day meal. The soup of the day was a lovely onion soup. The server told us it was french onion, but it was not your traditional cheesy bready soup (which we were both looking forward to!). Instead it was a much more delicately flavoured soup with a cheese dumpling floating on top. Very tasty, but not what we were expecting.

I do find this restaurant a bit pricey, but the mid day wine discount is an added bonus.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great spot. Always a solid experience. Fady was professional and attentive. Not only was the service on point, but the food was excellent. The chefs made a lovely lineup of dishes and executed them flawlessly. I will be back again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went to Zinc for dinner with a friend after checking out the art gallery and was very happily surprised. Loved the vibe instantly with its music, blue lighting, floor to ceiling windows with great views of Churchhill Square. Service was attentive, friendly and genuine and the food was delicious! My friend ordered a glass of Malbec and the waitress created a lovely and refreshing virgin drink for myself when I told her that I wanted something new and different. The chef had created a Valentine's Day menu which was still being featured for the week and between my friend and I, we tried the salmon perogies, Cornish game hen and lamb chops. Each bite was full of flavour and the presentation was wonderful! The white chocolate terrine that we had for dessert melted in our mouths and left us feeling satisfied and like we had completely indulged. Cheers Zinc, for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food quality & service was lacking for a high end restaurant. We went on Valentine's Day for the 7 course menu, which was hit & miss. The lamb & spinach gnocchi were excellent. In contrast, the ribeye steak was probably the worst ribeye steak I've had in a while.

The atmosphere is rather ordinary, which is surprising for being located at the art gallery. Imo they could use a musician or something to add a little ambiance to the venue.

The serving staff we had seemed inexperienced. They were unable to answer basic questions about the menu. I also had to ask for a steak knife which surprised me. The bill included a 18% tip but the service didn't warrant it. And there was no warning from the waitress that the bill includes an 18% tip. Therefore I suspect other patrons not paying close attention probably have tipped twice. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So not worth it. Very outdated for a restaurant that hasn't been open long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

the location, vibe, decor and view are really quite good. the food was very good although not a huge menu. the cocktail menu lacked whiskey but the bar is very nice. we had a very nice time although it is not inexpensive with some entrees over $50.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food is consistently excellent here and the servers are very attentive. Love their soup of the day!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

To be honest, I do not think the food was worth of the money that I paid.
The lamb shank had no taste or flavor so I had to add lots of pepper..
The veggies were just veggies that were cooked...

If my bill was not over $55.00 with a glass of the cheapest wine that they had, I would have been okay - still would not recommend the restaurant to any body though..

The atmosphere was good as the restaurant is sitting next to the city hall and the lights were pretty for winter but that was about it.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The flavor of the food was delicious, but we both found the temperature of our food too cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Staff was very nice and food was really delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was very good and flavorful but the portions were small and the prices were on the expensive end. The atmosphere was very quiet as there was only one other table in the restaurant but it was very peaceful and enjoyable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brutal! Service consisted of our server taking his time, forgetting a key ingredient of our appetizer and bringing it later, and then telling us he'd "bring the damage" when we wanted our check.

Food was crap! Expensive, totally unbalanced, and I could make better at home easily. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very nice vegan lunch! Lovely presentation, wine a bit pricey. Great for a business lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Highly overpriced for value of food. Very poor food quality. Would never return. Nice venue but no patrons so was quiet and uncomfortable. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service, wine pairings and, above all, excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service was very good. We each had a small wine. My suggestion is when serving the small portion put it in a smaller glass - it looked like just a drop. The fish was excellent but the fries were a disappointment. They were soggy - not crisp at all.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The service was prompt, friendly, and courteous. The food was prepared and served promptly.
It was a very nice lunch time meal. Enjoyed the meal and staff greatly

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.