About Zinc Restaurant

2 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Art Gallery of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T5J 2C1
View Larger Map

Canada"s Best New Restaurants of 2010; Zinc has been named one of Canada's Best New Restaurants of 2010

Located in the Art Gallery of Alberta in downtown Edmonton, Zinc offers a relaxed fine dining experience inspired by simple elegance and served in stunning surroundings. Zinc menu focuses on fresh Alberta ingredients fused with local artisan food products.

Intimate dinners, group celebrations, casual lunches or the simple enjoyment of a glass of wine become inspired at Zinc.

Zinc is open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. Our menus change seasonally and include dishes inspired by featured art exhibitions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed

Tuesday & Wednesday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 9 pm

Thursday & Friday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Saturday Brunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Sunday Brunch 11 am to 2 pm

Cross Street:
99 Street and 102A Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 392-2501

Website:
http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/

Catering:
Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering at the Art Gallery of Alberta. Whether you choose from one of our restaurant-inspired menus, request a themed menu based on a current exhibition or create your own customized selection, you and your guests will enjoy an incredible culinary experience! For more information on hosting an event at Zinc or in one of the magnificent rentable spaces at the Art Gallery, please visit: http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/events-catering

Parking Details:
There is ample meter parking around the Gallery. There is also a large Imperial Parking lot adjacent to the main doors as well as the Library and City Hall Parkades. The Art Gallery of Alberta is connected to the Library Parkade via the downtown pedway system. Zinc restaurant is walking distance from Edmonton City Centre, the Citadel Theatre and the Winspear Centre. The Edmonton LRT system is also accessible right from the building.

Executive Chef:
David Omar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cauliflower Croquettes
  • Gnocchi
  • Japanese Lemongrass Pork
  • Steak And Poached Eggs
  • Deconstructed Beef Welington
  • Prawn
  • Miso Glazed Lamb Chops, Wasabi Mash Potatoes, Green Pea Puree And Fried Chickpeas.
  • Beef Dish
  • Smoked Duck Breast
Cauliflower Croquettes
Gnocchi
Japanese Lemongrass Pork
Steak And Poached Eggs
Deconstructed Beef Welington
Prawn
Miso Glazed Lamb Chops, Wasabi Mash Potatoes, Green Pea Puree And Fried Chickpeas.
Beef Dish
Smoked Duck Breast

Private Dining

Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering. Chef Dave Omar and the Zinc Culinary Team provide the opportunity to explore masterful food creations in the remarkable setting of the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Zinc Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (18)
fit for foodies (11)
great for lunch (11)
See All
scenic view (10)
good for groups (7)
romantic (6)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Shockingly weak food experience for an e ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

Shockingly weak food experience for an expensive high end restaurant. Very limited entree choices. We had the smoked chicken and beef tenderloin and both were really disappointing. Being the only chicken on the menu, one would expect it would be a breast with some pasta as described in the menu but instead was just a bowl of pasta with shaved chicken that tasted processed. The beef was laughable as it was three extremely small narrow slices that couldn't have been even 4oz total on a tasteless bed of something for $45+. It was requested as medium and came out well done and seemed like it had been reheated or not evenly freshly cooked. Appetizers, service and ambiance were all good but the entrees were horrid. It is also quite telling that at prime time on a Saturday night, there was only one other table in the whole restaurant and only one person working as the hostess, waitress and bartender....not what you would expect for a pricey fancy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Fantastic food, devoured all of it. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food, devoured all of it. The Royal Harvest cocktail is my new favourite! Too full for desert :(

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love coming here! The staff a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely love coming here! The staff are amazing and the food is even better. Having the Chef come to our table to introduce himself is definitely a plus. We will be coming back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had starters,entrees and dessert! It ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had starters,entrees and dessert! It was all delicious. The service was great and the atmosphere was really nice it wasn't busy at all for a Saturday night but we heard their busy during the week days. It's a must try!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I love this restaurant, the chef ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall I love this restaurant, the chef's creations and it is a hidden gem in the downtown core. The martini's are exceptional, but the food was lacking this last time. For a party of 4, cocktails and food was over $150 and left me void of any true pleasure from their usually awesome food. I will still go back and chalk it up to an off night, but not sure where this menu is going. Fried lettuce, seafood - when I'm deathly allergic as well as all wheat choices - when gluten is also an allergy, not a lifestyle choice. Sadly disappointed that Zinc has momentarily regressed, but perhaps it's trying new things and I'm all for that, so come on Zinc resurrect some old favorites with a new twist. Chef Dave is one of the best in Edmonton and look forward to new shifts this summer in the menu once again. Thank you

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Lovely modern room with large windows ov ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Lovely modern room with large windows overlooking city hall and the park. Service was very professional and friendly. I ordered a glass of wine. Our server opened a new bottle but it turned out to be a bad bottle. Our server easily opened up another bottle which was perfect. Great artistic presentation of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Zinc is a terrific place for lunch while ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Zinc is a terrific place for lunch while visiting AGA.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was exceptional but a little pricey ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was exceptional but a little pricey for the average couple just wanting a dining night out. We would frequent more often if we could afford it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Too noisy to enjoy dinner with a friend ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Too noisy to enjoy dinner with a friend - there was a rock band on the other side so loud that we could barely hear each other. At the price we paid, I would expect a different dining experience. I will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent food but smaller portions than ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food but smaller portions than I expect for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The brunch was great! Loved the servers ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch was great! Loved the servers recommendations.

Only thing was the a service my b

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great location in the Entertainment District

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and drinks in the Art Gallery of Alberta and close to Citadel and Winspear. Very open and uncrowded and service was excellent. Good for carrying on conversations about the shows you'll be seeing and looking out over downtown. Only drawback is hours are restricted, so its not an after show spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing never let's us down se ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was amazing never let's us down servers were very nice and service was smooth and quick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Okay but...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My husband had the cannelloni. Expensive meal, not a very large portion and nothing else served with it like fresh veggies would be a suggestion. The prawns and risotto are excellent. Very large portion. So much so I had to share with my husband which worked out well since he had the cannelloni. The prawns and risotto dish was reasonably priced considering the amount of food. Restaurant was quite empty but dinner took almost an hour to come. Restaurant was freezing cold. Would be nice if some bread was served before the meal. Loved the decor with the cool blue vibe.

Tags: notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Lunch!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service at Zinc was excellent...our waitress was pleasant, quick and energetic. We had three courses and each were amazing! Great lunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Star Trek Starter

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We were early but seated immediately, meal and drink choices described and time given to us directly and calmly to answer all of our questions. The recommended starter, dumplings, were perfect in amount and flavor. Recommended wine was delicious. Meals were perfect - hot, presented artistically, just enough food and diverse flavors to tantalize the palate. It was the perfect start to our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Few choices for Vegans & Vegetarians

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

very few choices for vegans, vegetarians and no fish?..lots of people have shell fish allergies but can have fish..they had only prawns as a seafood option and no fish on the menu..

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Enjoyable Lunch Spot

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Zinc is a great place for a quiet lunch. The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful as well.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dining week

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I heard so many great things about Zinc so finallly decided to give it a try during dining week for lunch. Soup and lasagna both served COLD. Bison in lasagnia was a poor choice. Couldn't taste the bison at all. Might also be because it was cold 😒

Service was average. They did what they needed to but didn't try to socialize.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Dinner before the show

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Made reservations for 2 hrs before our show at the Winspear which was ample time for appetizer, main course, dessert and coffee. The servings tend to be small and tasteful. The exception being my choice of Risotto and Prawns. It was very flavourful and extremely filling. My friend ordered the Vegitarian dish and still felt hungry afterwards. Service was attentive but not overbearing. The decor was comfortable , windows provided a nice view. The restaurant was full the night we were there so it was a little noisy. I would recommend reservations. Overall a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

ZINC Edmonton

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We visit ZINC once a year during the Citadel Theatre season (Thursdays) and have yet to be disappointed. The food is always original and top notch. This may be a hidden gem as we have found the room rarely crowded. The low key suits us fine. There seem to be too few businesses now where you can hold a quiet conversation. There is music in the background that remains in the background as it should. Overall, a superior dining experience that continues to draw us back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Salad. Very dry unappetizing ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Exceptional Salad. Very dry unappetizing Duck main plate. The server was not at all welcoming but adequate. Not enough wine choice by the glass. Not every couple want to or need to consume a full bottle. I must say the experience rated less than I expected.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Consistently Delicious

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We visit Zinc a few times a year and on this occasion, had brunch before a mid afternoon concert at the Winspear. Service was prompt, food hot and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decent food but expensive

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Atmosphere was great. Wine list was great. Food was ok. For the quality of food expected, but expectations were set to high. Presentation of te food was poor. Just seems like food was put on the plate and served. I was hoping for something more vibrent especially if I'm paying $44 on a dish of duck.

I won't recommend this unless you want something romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

service was lacking

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went to zinc for valentine's day dinner. We had never been before bit had heard good things. Overall the experience was underwhelming. The food was okay but mostly on the bland side, which us disappointing considering the price. I have been to other restaurants that were similar in price or lower that wowed me with the food, unfortunately this was not one of them. That aside the dinner would have been fine but the service left us wanting more. Given the fact that it was valentine's day we were expecting a romantic dinner with time to enjoy our meal and each others company but this was not the case. The waiter came by immediately after the last bite of each course was in our mouths, forks not even to take table to take our plates away and bring the next. At one point I was not even done my meal and my plate was already being taken. Even after dessert our plates were cleared and our bill was dropped off without question. We felt very rushed and one would assume because it's valentine's day that perhaps they were busy and trying to turn over tables quickly but the restaurant was half empty. The waiter was also very assuming and didn't feel genuine when serving us. An example of this was when he checked to see how dinner was, instead of asking he said 'so everything's delicious right?' And when he brought my husband a coffee instead of asking if he needed cream or sugar he said "you don't need anything with that, right?"

Overall dinner was "ok" but the service is was did us in and unfortunately because of that I don't think I would recommend zinc. There are a lot of other restaurants out there with food that is just as good and service that is way better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Good food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This must be one of the better restaurants Edmonton has to offer! The new decor, plus in an excellent location make this one of the best restaurants in town. Be sure to check it out if you are going on a first date!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Terrible beef option

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had the stuffed chicken which was good my boyfriend had the beef option off the Valentine's Day menu and I tasted like rubber very chewy as if he was chewing on a Barbie doll head. We brought our two year old which they accommodated very well gave her a tour of the kitchen. Atmosphere was nice.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Portions are typically smaller than gene ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Portions are typically smaller than general North American fare, but can't beat the taste experience. These are dishes made to be savoured. A lovely & delicious dining experience. Wait staff is informed, knowledgable & so friendly. One of our favorite pre-theatre eateries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zinc

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Easily one of the best chef tasting menus I've had!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accommodating

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Overall, a nice place to go for lunch with friends. They put together two reservations into one table when we discovered friends were going at the same time. Eclectic mix of food options to please everyone. Cosy yet open at the same time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Exceptional on all counts. Freddy and Cl ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Exceptional on all counts. Freddy and Claire were terrific from the moment we arrived, making us feel welcome and like valued guests. We took Freddy's recommendation of the Chef's choice six+ course dinner plus wine pairings. Sous chef Sonny did not disappoint! Every dish that was brought out was amazing, from the crostini to beet salad, pork belly to duck confit, everything was delicious. After 5 courses and full tummies we figured dessert would be next, but instead they brought us steak knives and moved to adjacent table closer to gives us room for more food. The 6th course included rack of lamb, salmon, risotto, roasted potatoes, etc. etc. etc. Wow! It was all absolutely fabulous! This was followed by mouthwatering crème brûlée. Outstanding from beginning to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but I would not go ba ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was great but I would not go back the service was not great for the price you pay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great dining experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

My friends and I decided to come to Zinc before the symphony concert on Friday night. We wanted to try a new restaurant downtown, and since this is close to the Winspear, we decided to try it out. It was great! The waiter patiently came back to us more than once because we couldn't decide what to eat! All the appetizers, salads and desserts we ordered were so delicious! I definitely recommend this restaurant to others, maybe more for a special occasion or anniversary, as it is a little pricey, but definitely worth a try!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

COOL location being in a art gallery as well as having a out side glance of the square. Service was good, food was excellent. Was a great venue for new years Eve date with my girlfriend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spotty Service, Gratuity Rip Off

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Simple order of soup and sandwhich. Soup cold!

Bill paying expeience, clinched I will not likely return. Gouged 20% on gratuity. Service and food not worth it.

Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Mediocre...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Went to Zinc for an impromptu dinner. Had heard mixed reviews on the restaurant, not sure what to expect. Overall, the food and the service were ok, but for a fine dining experience the quality was quite a bit less than we expect from this type of restaurant (and from the other high quality restaurants in Edmonton).

Felt like the details that make for great cuisine were just missing. Every item we tried was good, not great. And the menu didn't seem to cohere together...a little thing, my wife is allergic to asparagus, we ordered the quinoa salad, but and it was only because we made an offhand comment about being allergic on another dish that we found out that the quinoa salad had asparagus in it (was not on the menu description).

Overall, disappointed...the food was certainly fine, but just not on the level it should be for this type of fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

food and menu and poor

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Too bad the food and menu selections are not fitting for such a lovely location. The building and art gallery are great. Food is very uninspired.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Awesome Evening

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Zinc never disappoints. Again a great meal by Chef Dave. My husbands recommendation is to have the asparagus appetizer. Martinis are awesome! Thanks again, and of course we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

yummy

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

yummy. yummy. yummy.

food was out of this world.

coming back this weekend for brunch.

yummy

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and many gluten free options.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

Great food and many gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.