About Zinc Restaurant

2 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Art Gallery of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T5J 2C1
View Larger Map

Canada"s Best New Restaurants of 2010; Zinc has been named one of Canada's Best New Restaurants of 2010

Located in the Art Gallery of Alberta in downtown Edmonton, Zinc offers a relaxed fine dining experience inspired by simple elegance and served in stunning surroundings. Zinc menu focuses on fresh Alberta ingredients fused with local artisan food products.

Intimate dinners, group celebrations, casual lunches or the simple enjoyment of a glass of wine become inspired at Zinc.

Zinc is open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. Our menus change seasonally and include dishes inspired by featured art exhibitions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed

Tuesday & Wednesday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 9 pm

Thursday & Friday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Saturday Brunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Sunday Brunch 11 am to 2 pm

Cross Street:
99 Street and 102A Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 392-2501

Website:
http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/

Catering:
Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering at the Art Gallery of Alberta. Whether you choose from one of our restaurant-inspired menus, request a themed menu based on a current exhibition or create your own customized selection, you and your guests will enjoy an incredible culinary experience! For more information on hosting an event at Zinc or in one of the magnificent rentable spaces at the Art Gallery, please visit: http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/events-catering

Parking Details:
There is ample meter parking around the Gallery. There is also a large Imperial Parking lot adjacent to the main doors as well as the Library and City Hall Parkades. The Art Gallery of Alberta is connected to the Library Parkade via the downtown pedway system. Zinc restaurant is walking distance from Edmonton City Centre, the Citadel Theatre and the Winspear Centre. The Edmonton LRT system is also accessible right from the building.

Executive Chef:
David Omar

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering. Chef Dave Omar and the Zinc Culinary Team provide the opportunity to explore masterful food creations in the remarkable setting of the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Zinc Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (28)
fit for foodies (23)
scenic view (18)
See All
great for lunch (16)
romantic (14)
hot spot (7)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3

The brunch was great! Loved the servers ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch was great! Loved the servers recommendations. Only thing was the a service my b

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location in the Entertainment District

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and drinks in the Art Gallery of Alberta and close to Citadel and Winspear. Very open and uncrowded and service was excellent. Good for carrying on conversations about the shows you'll be seeing and looking out over downtown. Only drawback is hours are restricted, so its not an after show spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing never let's us down se ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was amazing never let's us down servers were very nice and service was smooth and quick

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Okay but...

Dined on May 5, 2016

My husband had the cannelloni. Expensive meal, not a very large portion and nothing else served with it like fresh veggies would be a suggestion. The prawns and risotto are excellent. Very large portion. So much so I had to share with my husband which worked out well since he had the cannelloni. The prawns and risotto dish was reasonably priced considering the amount of food. Restaurant was quite empty but dinner took almost an hour to come. Restaurant was freezing cold. Would be nice if some bread was served before the meal. Loved the decor with the cool blue vibe.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Lunch!

Dined on April 22, 2016

The service at Zinc was excellent...our waitress was pleasant, quick and energetic. We had three courses and each were amazing! Great lunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Star Trek Starter

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were early but seated immediately, meal and drink choices described and time given to us directly and calmly to answer all of our questions. The recommended starter, dumplings, were perfect in amount and flavor. Recommended wine was delicious. Meals were perfect - hot, presented artistically, just enough food and diverse flavors to tantalize the palate. It was the perfect start to our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Few choices for Vegans & Vegetarians

Dined on March 27, 2016

very few choices for vegans, vegetarians and no fish?..lots of people have shell fish allergies but can have fish..they had only prawns as a seafood option and no fish on the menu..

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable Lunch Spot

Dined on March 22, 2016

Zinc is a great place for a quiet lunch. The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful as well.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Dining week

Dined on March 17, 2016

I heard so many great things about Zinc so finallly decided to give it a try during dining week for lunch. Soup and lasagna both served COLD. Bison in lasagnia was a poor choice. Couldn't taste the bison at all. Might also be because it was cold 😒 Service was average. They did what they needed to but didn't try to socialize.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner before the show

Dined on March 12, 2016

Made reservations for 2 hrs before our show at the Winspear which was ample time for appetizer, main course, dessert and coffee. The servings tend to be small and tasteful. The exception being my choice of Risotto and Prawns. It was very flavourful and extremely filling. My friend ordered the Vegitarian dish and still felt hungry afterwards. Service was attentive but not overbearing. The decor was comfortable , windows provided a nice view. The restaurant was full the night we were there so it was a little noisy. I would recommend reservations. Overall a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ZINC Edmonton

Dined on March 2, 2016

We visit ZINC once a year during the Citadel Theatre season (Thursdays) and have yet to be disappointed. The food is always original and top notch. This may be a hidden gem as we have found the room rarely crowded. The low key suits us fine. There seem to be too few businesses now where you can hold a quiet conversation. There is music in the background that remains in the background as it should. Overall, a superior dining experience that continues to draw us back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Exceptional Salad. Very dry unappetizing ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Exceptional Salad. Very dry unappetizing Duck main plate. The server was not at all welcoming but adequate. Not enough wine choice by the glass. Not every couple want to or need to consume a full bottle. I must say the experience rated less than I expected.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently Delicious

Dined on February 21, 2016

We visit Zinc a few times a year and on this occasion, had brunch before a mid afternoon concert at the Winspear. Service was prompt, food hot and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Decent food but expensive

Dined on February 15, 2016

Atmosphere was great. Wine list was great. Food was ok. For the quality of food expected, but expectations were set to high. Presentation of te food was poor. Just seems like food was put on the plate and served. I was hoping for something more vibrent especially if I'm paying $44 on a dish of duck. I won't recommend this unless you want something romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

service was lacking

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went to zinc for valentine's day dinner. We had never been before bit had heard good things. Overall the experience was underwhelming. The food was okay but mostly on the bland side, which us disappointing considering the price. I have been to other restaurants that were similar in price or lower that wowed me with the food, unfortunately this was not one of them. That aside the dinner would have been fine but the service left us wanting more. Given the fact that it was valentine's day we were expecting a romantic dinner with time to enjoy our meal and each others company but this was not the case. The waiter came by immediately after the last bite of each course was in our mouths, forks not even to take table to take our plates away and bring the next. At one point I was not even done my meal and my plate was already being taken. Even after dessert our plates were cleared and our bill was dropped off without question. We felt very rushed and one would assume because it's valentine's day that perhaps they were busy and trying to turn over tables quickly but the restaurant was half empty. The waiter was also very assuming and didn't feel genuine when serving us. An example of this was when he checked to see how dinner was, instead of asking he said 'so everything's delicious right?' And when he brought my husband a coffee instead of asking if he needed cream or sugar he said "you don't need anything with that, right?" Overall dinner was "ok" but the service is was did us in and unfortunately because of that I don't think I would recommend zinc. There are a lot of other restaurants out there with food that is just as good and service that is way better.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food

Dined on February 14, 2016

This must be one of the better restaurants Edmonton has to offer! The new decor, plus in an excellent location make this one of the best restaurants in town. Be sure to check it out if you are going on a first date!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Terrible beef option

Dined on February 13, 2016

I had the stuffed chicken which was good my boyfriend had the beef option off the Valentine's Day menu and I tasted like rubber very chewy as if he was chewing on a Barbie doll head. We brought our two year old which they accommodated very well gave her a tour of the kitchen. Atmosphere was nice.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions are typically smaller than gene ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Portions are typically smaller than general North American fare, but can't beat the taste experience. These are dishes made to be savoured. A lovely & delicious dining experience. Wait staff is informed, knowledgable & so friendly. One of our favorite pre-theatre eateries!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zinc

Dined on February 6, 2016

Easily one of the best chef tasting menus I've had!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Accommodating

Dined on February 5, 2016

Overall, a nice place to go for lunch with friends. They put together two reservations into one table when we discovered friends were going at the same time. Eclectic mix of food options to please everyone. Cosy yet open at the same time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional on all counts. Freddy and Cl ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Exceptional on all counts. Freddy and Claire were terrific from the moment we arrived, making us feel welcome and like valued guests. We took Freddy's recommendation of the Chef's choice six+ course dinner plus wine pairings. Sous chef Sonny did not disappoint! Every dish that was brought out was amazing, from the crostini to beet salad, pork belly to duck confit, everything was delicious. After 5 courses and full tummies we figured dessert would be next, but instead they brought us steak knives and moved to adjacent table closer to gives us room for more food. The 6th course included rack of lamb, salmon, risotto, roasted potatoes, etc. etc. etc. Wow! It was all absolutely fabulous! This was followed by mouthwatering crème brûlée. Outstanding from beginning to end.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was great but I would not go ba ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was great but I would not go back the service was not great for the price you pay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on January 23, 2016

My friends and I decided to come to Zinc before the symphony concert on Friday night. We wanted to try a new restaurant downtown, and since this is close to the Winspear, we decided to try it out. It was great! The waiter patiently came back to us more than once because we couldn't decide what to eat! All the appetizers, salads and desserts we ordered were so delicious! I definitely recommend this restaurant to others, maybe more for a special occasion or anniversary, as it is a little pricey, but definitely worth a try!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

COOL location being in a art gallery as well as having a out side glance of the square. Service was good, food was excellent. Was a great venue for new years Eve date with my girlfriend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Spotty Service, Gratuity Rip Off

Dined on December 23, 2015

Simple order of soup and sandwhich. Soup cold! Bill paying expeience, clinched I will not likely return. Gouged 20% on gratuity. Service and food not worth it. Never again!

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Mediocre...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Went to Zinc for an impromptu dinner. Had heard mixed reviews on the restaurant, not sure what to expect. Overall, the food and the service were ok, but for a fine dining experience the quality was quite a bit less than we expect from this type of restaurant (and from the other high quality restaurants in Edmonton). Felt like the details that make for great cuisine were just missing. Every item we tried was good, not great. And the menu didn't seem to cohere together...a little thing, my wife is allergic to asparagus, we ordered the quinoa salad, but and it was only because we made an offhand comment about being allergic on another dish that we found out that the quinoa salad had asparagus in it (was not on the menu description). Overall, disappointed...the food was certainly fine, but just not on the level it should be for this type of fine dining experience.

food1
ambience5
service2

food and menu and poor

Dined on December 12, 2015

Too bad the food and menu selections are not fitting for such a lovely location. The building and art gallery are great. Food is very uninspired.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Evening

Dined on December 11, 2015

Zinc never disappoints. Again a great meal by Chef Dave. My husbands recommendation is to have the asparagus appetizer. Martinis are awesome! Thanks again, and of course we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

yummy

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

yummy. yummy. yummy. food was out of this world. coming back this weekend for brunch. yummy

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and many gluten free options.

Dined on December 2, 2015

Great food and many gluten free options.

food2
ambience3
service3

We had lunch there. If you're a meat-eat ...

Dined on December 1, 2015

We had lunch there. If you're a meat-eater you will have a reasonable selection. If you're a vegetarian they won't have much for you and it's over-priced for what you get - $14 for about 1 cup of quinoa with a bit of kale and cheese that was not very flavourful. Pros: The service was friendly, the decor is nice and the desserts were good. Cons: limited vegetarian options and a bit pricey.

food2
ambience4
service3

mediocre

Dined on November 20, 2015

Overcooked duck and trout. Less than pleasing accompaniment to the trout. Slow to arrive. Overpriced as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful

Dined on November 8, 2015

Great food, delicious cocktails, fabulous service, what more could u want?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

Miss the Old Menu

Dined on November 7, 2015

We started coming to Zinc about 3 years ago, when we did we were fascinated with the "little plates" a person could get and bragged to everyone about the Charcuterie board as it was literally the biggest board we had ever experienced in our Monthly Fancy Restaurant Excursions . When we arrived we were not only given a smaller menu with no littles they got away from the Charcuterie and made you purchase a meat board of the day and a cheese board (Brie only). Another thing when we asked for bread (again going back to old days) it came out with your appetizer and had various oils and vinegar to try. We were told if we wanted bread it would be an extra charge. What fine dining place charges for bread? The food was okay we got the Wings, Cheese, Meat Board of the day and the Croquettes. It was good but please go back to your old ways. Sometimes change is not good.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding

Dined on November 5, 2015

This is an excellent and pleasant venue to eat. No one would even know that you could eat at the Gallery. Beautiful view of Churchill square, very well laid out restaurant and great atmosphere. Service is Outstanding! Im going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and service. Very helpful mana ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Good food and service. Very helpful manager. Quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The menu at Zinc has changed

Dined on October 31, 2015

The new menu at Zinc had some marvellous items. The starter list is varied with dome interesting food combinations. There is a wide variety of mains, all of which were appealing. We had the chicken with cheesy yams which was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I been there many times and I can say th ...

Dined on October 29, 2015

I been there many times and I can say that is the best restaurant in Edmonton best food and best service we enjoyed our lunch from the moment the manager welcome us at the door till the end I will definitely recommend it to all my friends

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dining experience we had ...

Dined on October 28, 2015

We had a great dining experience we had our lunch I would recommend duck as a main course , we where celebrating Special occasion and the manager was great and very professional he visited the table in different occasions to make sure we are enjoying our celebration,I wouldn't hesitate to rate this restaurant 5 of 5

food3
ambience4
service5

Relaxing dining experience

Dined on October 20, 2015

I like Zinc. It has a lovely ambience and being right downtown makes it easy to get to a show or the theatre afterwards. Unfortunately this time around the meal was rather pedestrian. Don't get me wrong: everything was ok but nothing was outstanding (unlike other occasions when I've eaten there). However, their coffee is amazing - some of the very best in the city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.