Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Zinc Restaurant

Canada"s Best New Restaurants of 2010; Zinc has been named one of Canada's Best New Restaurants of 2010

Located in the Art Gallery of Alberta in downtown Edmonton, Zinc offers a relaxed fine dining experience inspired by simple elegance and served in stunning surroundings. Zinc menu focuses on fresh Alberta ingredients fused with local artisan food products.

Intimate dinners, group celebrations, casual lunches or the simple enjoyment of a glass of wine become inspired at Zinc.

Zinc is open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. Our menus change seasonally and include dishes inspired by featured art exhibitions.

2 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Art Gallery of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T5J 2C1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed

Tuesday & Wednesday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 9 pm

Thursday & Friday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Saturday Brunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Sunday Brunch 11 am to 2 pm

Cross Street:
99 Street and 102A Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 392-2501

Website:
http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/

Catering:
Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering at the Art Gallery of Alberta. Whether you choose from one of our restaurant-inspired menus, request a themed menu based on a current exhibition or create your own customized selection, you and your guests will enjoy an incredible culinary experience! For more information on hosting an event at Zinc or in one of the magnificent rentable spaces at the Art Gallery, please visit: http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/events-catering

Parking Details:
There is ample meter parking around the Gallery. There is also a large Imperial Parking lot adjacent to the main doors as well as the Library and City Hall Parkades. The Art Gallery of Alberta is connected to the Library Parkade via the downtown pedway system. Zinc restaurant is walking distance from Edmonton City Centre, the Citadel Theatre and the Winspear Centre. The Edmonton LRT system is also accessible right from the building.

Executive Chef:
David Omar

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering. Chef Dave Omar and the Zinc Culinary Team provide the opportunity to explore masterful food creations in the remarkable setting of the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Zinc Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Modern Decor (14)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

We hadn't been to Zinc since it opened years ago and wonder why we hadn't gone back sooner. It's next door to the Winspear and the Citadel. Super convenient!
Everything was superb, from service to ambience to the meal.
We had lobster pot pie and prawn bisque to start, then had the Arctic char and smoked chicken linguine. Yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I went to this restaurant for Downtown dining week and the portions was very small. Also the duck was dry and just served on beans.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is my wife's and my favorite restaurant due to its amazing food, great ambiance and personable staff. Only reason I gave it 4 stars in service (would give it more 4.5) was it felt slower than usual when receiving our three courses during Edmonton's 'Downtown Dining Week'. We were there right when it opened for dinner so it could be they were still prepping, so take that rating with a grain of salt. This place has amazing dishes (short rib and filet mignon especially) and a wide variety. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Could not recommend this place more.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fine food, in a contemporary atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We went for dining week and felt the fried oysters were not good and the portions were chintzy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fantastic place. Made reservations for brunch as soon as we left today. Great service. Great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Shrimp bisque was cold. Other food was ok, we've had better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Location and service were excellent. Food was good but too salty for my preference. Wine was ok but would not order the organic Shiraz again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent experience great job. We'll be back. Cheers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Spectacular meal. Great spot for pre or post game @ Rogers place. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My mother and I had a lovely lunch last week. The quality and quantity of food was perfect for a mid day meal. The soup of the day was a lovely onion soup. The server told us it was french onion, but it was not your traditional cheesy bready soup (which we were both looking forward to!). Instead it was a much more delicately flavoured soup with a cheese dumpling floating on top. Very tasty, but not what we were expecting.

I do find this restaurant a bit pricey, but the mid day wine discount is an added bonus.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great spot. Always a solid experience. Fady was professional and attentive. Not only was the service on point, but the food was excellent. The chefs made a lovely lineup of dishes and executed them flawlessly. I will be back again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went to Zinc for dinner with a friend after checking out the art gallery and was very happily surprised. Loved the vibe instantly with its music, blue lighting, floor to ceiling windows with great views of Churchhill Square. Service was attentive, friendly and genuine and the food was delicious! My friend ordered a glass of Malbec and the waitress created a lovely and refreshing virgin drink for myself when I told her that I wanted something new and different. The chef had created a Valentine's Day menu which was still being featured for the week and between my friend and I, we tried the salmon perogies, Cornish game hen and lamb chops. Each bite was full of flavour and the presentation was wonderful! The white chocolate terrine that we had for dessert melted in our mouths and left us feeling satisfied and like we had completely indulged. Cheers Zinc, for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food quality & service was lacking for a high end restaurant. We went on Valentine's Day for the 7 course menu, which was hit & miss. The lamb & spinach gnocchi were excellent. In contrast, the ribeye steak was probably the worst ribeye steak I've had in a while.

The atmosphere is rather ordinary, which is surprising for being located at the art gallery. Imo they could use a musician or something to add a little ambiance to the venue.

The serving staff we had seemed inexperienced. They were unable to answer basic questions about the menu. I also had to ask for a steak knife which surprised me. The bill included a 18% tip but the service didn't warrant it. And there was no warning from the waitress that the bill includes an 18% tip. Therefore I suspect other patrons not paying close attention probably have tipped twice. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So not worth it. Very outdated for a restaurant that hasn't been open long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

the location, vibe, decor and view are really quite good. the food was very good although not a huge menu. the cocktail menu lacked whiskey but the bar is very nice. we had a very nice time although it is not inexpensive with some entrees over $50.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food is consistently excellent here and the servers are very attentive. Love their soup of the day!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

To be honest, I do not think the food was worth of the money that I paid.
The lamb shank had no taste or flavor so I had to add lots of pepper..
The veggies were just veggies that were cooked...

If my bill was not over $55.00 with a glass of the cheapest wine that they had, I would have been okay - still would not recommend the restaurant to any body though..

The atmosphere was good as the restaurant is sitting next to the city hall and the lights were pretty for winter but that was about it.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The flavor of the food was delicious, but we both found the temperature of our food too cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Staff was very nice and food was really delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was very good and flavorful but the portions were small and the prices were on the expensive end. The atmosphere was very quiet as there was only one other table in the restaurant but it was very peaceful and enjoyable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brutal! Service consisted of our server taking his time, forgetting a key ingredient of our appetizer and bringing it later, and then telling us he'd "bring the damage" when we wanted our check.

Food was crap! Expensive, totally unbalanced, and I could make better at home easily. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very nice vegan lunch! Lovely presentation, wine a bit pricey. Great for a business lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Highly overpriced for value of food. Very poor food quality. Would never return. Nice venue but no patrons so was quiet and uncomfortable. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service, wine pairings and, above all, excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service was very good. We each had a small wine. My suggestion is when serving the small portion put it in a smaller glass - it looked like just a drop. The fish was excellent but the fries were a disappointment. They were soggy - not crisp at all.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The service was prompt, friendly, and courteous. The food was prepared and served promptly.
It was a very nice lunch time meal. Enjoyed the meal and staff greatly

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Went to the restaurant prior to the symphony which was accross the road. Ive been to this restaurant twice before over 8 yrs and was disappointed. The presentation of the food was always beautiful, but the food itself was boring. As soon as we got there, the hostess/server sat as at the worst table ( the place was empty with empty tables next to the windows overlooking churchill square). We moved ourselves, she wasn't impressed. When another couple walked in, she sat them at the worst table. It was as if she was waiting for more important people to come in and sit at the nicer tables, but the place remained empty all evening. I ordered the cheese appetizer and the vegetarian spaghetti and meatball as it was the only veggie dinner entree...it was like eating a giant soggy cardboard meatball. The noodles were spaghetti squash...no flavour. The consistency almost made me gag. The appetizer tasted like watered down yogurt and the crostini had zero flavour as well. Its so strange. My dinner date had a nicer dish..pot pie and duck for the main. I ended up eating the side lentils as they were tastey. Ive always thought this restaurant as a "wannabe "upscale place. The decor is chic, but the food is dressed up and flat flavored. Its not cheap either.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I met my daughter for lunch at Zinc. It is conveniently located near City Centre Mall and the Court House where we work. Service was excellent, and quick. We were done in about 30 minutes at lunchtime!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I had lunch with a friend on a cold grey day. Loved the warm welcome I received upon arrival! My coat was taken and I was seated immediately. I had the macaroni of the day (shrimp with peas and gruyere). Delicious! My friend had the lamb shank with chick peas in a red curry sauce. Also delicious! Both of our meals were piping hot upon delivery to our table and well presented. The server was attentive and efficient without being annoying. The room is modern, elegant and comfortable. An excellent spot for a nice lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service is impeccable here, and the menu is delicious. Would have loved some nutmeg in the smoked chicken! Beautiful restaurant for all occasions.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My girlfriends and I had dinner before heading to the symphony. It was our second dining experience at zinc. There was live music playing at the art gallery and they had removed a partition, which made much too loud. The beef I had was a little dry, but very tasty. The overall plate was beautiful and delicious. My girlfriends commented that the chicken was good, but the pork belly did not have adequate relief from the richness of the dish. The desserts we tried were absolutely divine and would recommend any of them. I would definitely go to zinc again, but I would check beforehand of any other events taking place at the same time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had an outstanding meal with a great wine pairing recommendation, and lovely service. The only downside was there was a loud event in the gallery space, which was a little intrusive, but not enough to take away from the outstanding lamb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was great. Did find the food to be very salty but overall taste excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Being part of the art gallery, of course this is a cool place. From cutlery, coloured water glasses to lighting, the food backdrops are all wonderful. The food is delicious, with smaller, healthier sized portions. Service was great, not intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great tasting food, creatively plated,friendly helpful waiter. Had a window seat so was able to look at city hall etc.
Only negative is friends food not warm enough so she sent it back. I think cook may have started from scratch again so by the time her food returned the rest of us were finished. I guess though it was not just microwaved
We went on a Sunday am. Got free street parking , went to the art gallery and then ate. A great morning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was our first time to Zinc and after a nice visit to the Art Gallery it was a perfect way to end the evening. It was quiet when we went which was nice. The staff was awesome throughout our experience there. We had the duck and Arctic Char dishes which were prepared very well. Good wine selection and great martini's. Have been telling my friends about it for the last few days. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was excellent, server was very helpful and accommodating. The only complaint was the height of the table compared to the chairs. Felt like we were hunched over, and we aren't overly tall by any means. Was very quiet for 7pm on a Saturday night which we enjoyed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 12, 2016

It was just a little disappointing, It could have been better, the Mac and Cheese was blah and not what I expected. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.