About Zinc Restaurant

2 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Art Gallery of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T5J 2C1
View Larger Map

Canada"s Best New Restaurants of 2010; Zinc has been named one of Canada's Best New Restaurants of 2010

Located in the Art Gallery of Alberta in downtown Edmonton, Zinc offers a relaxed fine dining experience inspired by simple elegance and served in stunning surroundings. Zinc menu focuses on fresh Alberta ingredients fused with local artisan food products.

Intimate dinners, group celebrations, casual lunches or the simple enjoyment of a glass of wine become inspired at Zinc.

Zinc is open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. Our menus change seasonally and include dishes inspired by featured art exhibitions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed

Tuesday & Wednesday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 9 pm

Thursday & Friday Lunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Saturday Brunch 11 am to 2:30 pm
Dinner seatings between 5 pm and 10 pm

Sunday Brunch 11 am to 2 pm

Cross Street:
99 Street and 102A Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 392-2501

Website:
http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/

Catering:
Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering at the Art Gallery of Alberta. Whether you choose from one of our restaurant-inspired menus, request a themed menu based on a current exhibition or create your own customized selection, you and your guests will enjoy an incredible culinary experience! For more information on hosting an event at Zinc or in one of the magnificent rentable spaces at the Art Gallery, please visit: http://www.zincrestaurant.ca/events-catering

Parking Details:
There is ample meter parking around the Gallery. There is also a large Imperial Parking lot adjacent to the main doors as well as the Library and City Hall Parkades. The Art Gallery of Alberta is connected to the Library Parkade via the downtown pedway system. Zinc restaurant is walking distance from Edmonton City Centre, the Citadel Theatre and the Winspear Centre. The Edmonton LRT system is also accessible right from the building.

Executive Chef:
David Omar

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cauliflower Croquettes
  • Gnocchi
  • Japanese Lemongrass Pork
  • Steak And Poached Eggs
  • Smoked Duck Breast
  • Miso Glazed Lamb Chops, Wasabi Mash Potatoes, Green Pea Puree And Fried Chickpeas.
  • Deconstructed Beef Welington
  • Prawn
  • Beef Dish
Cauliflower Croquettes
Gnocchi
Japanese Lemongrass Pork
Steak And Poached Eggs
Smoked Duck Breast
Miso Glazed Lamb Chops, Wasabi Mash Potatoes, Green Pea Puree And Fried Chickpeas.
Deconstructed Beef Welington
Prawn
Beef Dish

Private Dining

Experiencing inspired works of art takes on a whole new meaning with Zinc Catering. Chef Dave Omar and the Zinc Culinary Team provide the opportunity to explore masterful food creations in the remarkable setting of the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Zinc Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Scenic View (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went here just 2 days ago on Saturday. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

I went here just 2 days ago on Saturday. We had a reservation for 5pm, it was empty when we started but people started to trickle in around 6pm and when we had left around 630 it was almost full. The restaurant itself is modern yet welcoming, the booths/chairs are so comfortable, our server had a lovely Australian accent and was very accommodating.

We had 2 different martinis, croquettes & prawn bisque to start. The croquettes were yummy and the bisque was flavourful at first but tended to get saltier the more we ate it - it wasn't too bad. I had the Smoke Chicken as my entrée and my fiancé had the pork belly. The Smoke Chicken is possibly one of the tastiest pastas I've had in a long time. Usually pasta doesn't blow me away and at first taste it didn't seem to have flavour. But this is because the more I ate it (and mixed the sauce in from the bottom), the flavour got better and it was beautifully understated. I haven't had anything like it, even though it sounds like it would be common in other restaurants. I'm salivating at remembering what it was like. My fiancé loved his Pork Belly, and he couldn't stop raving about the red lentils and creamed spinach. I had a taste of this and I know why - his dish was definitely very yummy. We had Crème brûlée to finish our night and that was also tasty. We enjoyed every moment of our dinner here and will come back. FYI, with everything our dinner for 2 came to around ~$120, which actually surprised us (we thought it would be more expensive). We felt the price fit the quality of the food and service, heck it could have been more and we wouldn't have minded.

Little does Zinc know, we actually came here to "taste-test" the food as we are hoping to have our wedding/reception at the AGA and we found out Zinc is the in-house caterer. Happy to say they passed the test and we can't wait to book for our special day and have this food once again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Boyfriend raved about this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Boyfriend raved about this restaurant for couple of months, but it turned out disappointing. Portion size small and combination of flavours didn't work together. The ladies working seemed bored. I don't think Ill ever come back. Just a 'meh' experience.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent lunch service, very attentive ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent lunch service, very attentive and well paced. Delicious lunch and amazing banana bread pudding for dessert. Will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard about this restaurant and w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had heard about this restaurant and wanted to try it out. It was a special occasion and the selection was a wonderful choice. Good environment, friendly staff, good selections in menus - both spirits and food

Highly recommended and great location

Cheers

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was average, expected better. Love ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was average, expected better. Love the restaurant style and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for a chef's tasting that we pur ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went for a chef's tasting that we purchased at a silent auction. They served us 7 courses and none was on their menu. It was all delicious. Service was great, with the waitress answering any questions that we had. Incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Fantastic service. Gre ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food. Fantastic service. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Super yummy! Absolutely loved everything ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Super yummy! Absolutely loved everything we had. Found our waitress a bit condescending but service was well paced and efficient. Was expensive, but is a high end place with great food so I didn't feel like it was excessive or not a good value. Will definitely return. View was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

one of the things that sets you apart fr ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

one of the things that sets you apart from the many other downtown generic restaurants is your ever changing twist on Mac & Cheese, its always a surprise and always great>

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Zinc Restaurant was just so am ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dining at Zinc Restaurant was just so amazing! Drinks , salads , main course and dessert was beautiful looking n delicious! Love the seating overlooking the fountains at the square !! Lovely staff! Kudos to the chef ! Thank you for making our dinning an amazing experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had the tasting menu with wine pairings and the entire meal was superb. Kudos to sous chef Sunny and waiter Claire for giving us and our guests a memorable evening.👍🏻👏🏻😀🍾

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I heard a lot of good things about Zince ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I heard a lot of good things about Zince but was disappointed when the food was only so-so. The pot pie as starter did not have nearly enough lobster bits and the grilled romaine salad was mediocre. I could cook a better meal myself. Ambience was good though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The ambience, service and view was fanta ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The ambience, service and view was fantastic. The food was delicious but portions were way too small for the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Shockingly weak food experience for an e ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Shockingly weak food experience for an expensive high end restaurant. Very limited entree choices. We had the smoked chicken and beef tenderloin and both were really disappointing. Being the only chicken on the menu, one would expect it would be a breast with some pasta as described in the menu but instead was just a bowl of pasta with shaved chicken that tasted processed. The beef was laughable as it was three extremely small narrow slices that couldn't have been even 4oz total on a tasteless bed of something for $45+. It was requested as medium and came out well done and seemed like it had been reheated or not evenly freshly cooked. Appetizers, service and ambiance were all good but the entrees were horrid. It is also quite telling that at prime time on a Saturday night, there was only one other table in the whole restaurant and only one person working as the hostess, waitress and bartender....not what you would expect for a pricey fancy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Fantastic food, devoured all of it. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fantastic food, devoured all of it. The Royal Harvest cocktail is my new favourite! Too full for desert :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Chef's tasting menu with wine pa ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had the Chef's tasting menu with wine pairing! Every bite was as good as the last! The creative talent of the Chef is amazing! The serve staff were on top of everything and helped to make the night wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love coming here! The staff a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Absolutely love coming here! The staff are amazing and the food is even better. Having the Chef come to our table to introduce himself is definitely a plus. We will be coming back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had starters,entrees and dessert! It ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had starters,entrees and dessert! It was all delicious. The service was great and the atmosphere was really nice it wasn't busy at all for a Saturday night but we heard their busy during the week days. It's a must try!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I love this restaurant, the chef ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall I love this restaurant, the chef's creations and it is a hidden gem in the downtown core. The martini's are exceptional, but the food was lacking this last time. For a party of 4, cocktails and food was over $150 and left me void of any true pleasure from their usually awesome food. I will still go back and chalk it up to an off night, but not sure where this menu is going. Fried lettuce, seafood - when I'm deathly allergic as well as all wheat choices - when gluten is also an allergy, not a lifestyle choice. Sadly disappointed that Zinc has momentarily regressed, but perhaps it's trying new things and I'm all for that, so come on Zinc resurrect some old favorites with a new twist. Chef Dave is one of the best in Edmonton and look forward to new shifts this summer in the menu once again. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Lovely modern room with large windows ov ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Lovely modern room with large windows overlooking city hall and the park. Service was very professional and friendly. I ordered a glass of wine. Our server opened a new bottle but it turned out to be a bad bottle. Our server easily opened up another bottle which was perfect. Great artistic presentation of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Zinc is a terrific place for lunch while ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Zinc is a terrific place for lunch while visiting AGA.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was exceptional but a little pricey ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was exceptional but a little pricey for the average couple just wanting a dining night out. We would frequent more often if we could afford it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Too noisy to enjoy dinner with a friend ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Too noisy to enjoy dinner with a friend - there was a rock band on the other side so loud that we could barely hear each other. At the price we paid, I would expect a different dining experience. I will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent food but smaller portions than ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food but smaller portions than I expect for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The brunch was great! Loved the servers ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The brunch was great! Loved the servers recommendations.

Only thing was the a service my b

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great location in the Entertainment District

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and drinks in the Art Gallery of Alberta and close to Citadel and Winspear. Very open and uncrowded and service was excellent. Good for carrying on conversations about the shows you'll be seeing and looking out over downtown. Only drawback is hours are restricted, so its not an after show spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing never let's us down se ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was amazing never let's us down servers were very nice and service was smooth and quick

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Okay but...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My husband had the cannelloni. Expensive meal, not a very large portion and nothing else served with it like fresh veggies would be a suggestion. The prawns and risotto are excellent. Very large portion. So much so I had to share with my husband which worked out well since he had the cannelloni. The prawns and risotto dish was reasonably priced considering the amount of food. Restaurant was quite empty but dinner took almost an hour to come. Restaurant was freezing cold. Would be nice if some bread was served before the meal. Loved the decor with the cool blue vibe.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Lunch!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The service at Zinc was excellent...our waitress was pleasant, quick and energetic. We had three courses and each were amazing! Great lunch menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Star Trek Starter

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We were early but seated immediately, meal and drink choices described and time given to us directly and calmly to answer all of our questions. The recommended starter, dumplings, were perfect in amount and flavor. Recommended wine was delicious. Meals were perfect - hot, presented artistically, just enough food and diverse flavors to tantalize the palate. It was the perfect start to our evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Few choices for Vegans & Vegetarians

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

very few choices for vegans, vegetarians and no fish?..lots of people have shell fish allergies but can have fish..they had only prawns as a seafood option and no fish on the menu..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Enjoyable Lunch Spot

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Zinc is a great place for a quiet lunch. The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dining week

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I heard so many great things about Zinc so finallly decided to give it a try during dining week for lunch. Soup and lasagna both served COLD. Bison in lasagnia was a poor choice. Couldn't taste the bison at all. Might also be because it was cold 😒

Service was average. They did what they needed to but didn't try to socialize.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Dinner before the show

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Made reservations for 2 hrs before our show at the Winspear which was ample time for appetizer, main course, dessert and coffee. The servings tend to be small and tasteful. The exception being my choice of Risotto and Prawns. It was very flavourful and extremely filling. My friend ordered the Vegitarian dish and still felt hungry afterwards. Service was attentive but not overbearing. The decor was comfortable , windows provided a nice view. The restaurant was full the night we were there so it was a little noisy. I would recommend reservations. Overall a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

ZINC Edmonton

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We visit ZINC once a year during the Citadel Theatre season (Thursdays) and have yet to be disappointed. The food is always original and top notch. This may be a hidden gem as we have found the room rarely crowded. The low key suits us fine. There seem to be too few businesses now where you can hold a quiet conversation. There is music in the background that remains in the background as it should. Overall, a superior dining experience that continues to draw us back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Salad. Very dry unappetizing ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Exceptional Salad. Very dry unappetizing Duck main plate. The server was not at all welcoming but adequate. Not enough wine choice by the glass. Not every couple want to or need to consume a full bottle. I must say the experience rated less than I expected.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Consistently Delicious

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We visit Zinc a few times a year and on this occasion, had brunch before a mid afternoon concert at the Winspear. Service was prompt, food hot and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Decent food but expensive

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Atmosphere was great. Wine list was great. Food was ok. For the quality of food expected, but expectations were set to high. Presentation of te food was poor. Just seems like food was put on the plate and served. I was hoping for something more vibrent especially if I'm paying $44 on a dish of duck.

I won't recommend this unless you want something romantic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

service was lacking

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went to zinc for valentine's day dinner. We had never been before bit had heard good things. Overall the experience was underwhelming. The food was okay but mostly on the bland side, which us disappointing considering the price. I have been to other restaurants that were similar in price or lower that wowed me with the food, unfortunately this was not one of them. That aside the dinner would have been fine but the service left us wanting more. Given the fact that it was valentine's day we were expecting a romantic dinner with time to enjoy our meal and each others company but this was not the case. The waiter came by immediately after the last bite of each course was in our mouths, forks not even to take table to take our plates away and bring the next. At one point I was not even done my meal and my plate was already being taken. Even after dessert our plates were cleared and our bill was dropped off without question. We felt very rushed and one would assume because it's valentine's day that perhaps they were busy and trying to turn over tables quickly but the restaurant was half empty. The waiter was also very assuming and didn't feel genuine when serving us. An example of this was when he checked to see how dinner was, instead of asking he said 'so everything's delicious right?' And when he brought my husband a coffee instead of asking if he needed cream or sugar he said "you don't need anything with that, right?"

Overall dinner was "ok" but the service is was did us in and unfortunately because of that I don't think I would recommend zinc. There are a lot of other restaurants out there with food that is just as good and service that is way better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Good food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This must be one of the better restaurants Edmonton has to offer! The new decor, plus in an excellent location make this one of the best restaurants in town. Be sure to check it out if you are going on a first date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.