Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Town Square TavernTown Square Tavern
(46)
Mediterranean | Sun Valley, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
Ketchum GrillKetchum Grill
(701)
Contemporary American | Ketchum, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
Jhony's Peruvian CuisineJhony's Peruvian Cuisine
(29)
Peruvian | Ketchum, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
Cornerstone Bar and GrillCornerstone Bar and Grill
(95)
Contemporary American | Ketchum, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
EnotecaEnoteca
(308)
Italian | Ketchum, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
Warfield Distillery & BreweryWarfield Distillery & Brewery
(38)
Gastro Pub | Ketchum, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
Il Naso Ristorante ItalianoIl Naso Ristorante Italiano
(183)
Italian | Ketchum, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
Gretchen'sGretchen's
(4)
Contemporary American | Sun Valley, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now
The Ram RestaurantThe Ram Restaurant
(85)
Steakhouse | Sun Valley, Sun Valley / Ketchum
Reserve Now

About Zinc Restaurant

230 Walnut Ave
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Zinc Restaurant is a new favorite hotspot among locals. It's all about hand crafted, creative food in casual yet elegant atmosphere. The seasonally inspired, moderately priced menu, boast innovative daily specials using local and organic products. Extensive wine list, with delicious food and high energy. The restaurant features an open kitchen with wood burning pizza oven, and a chic modern design with blond pine walls and spacious windows. You can also enjoy a glass of wine by the fireplace in the bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sun Valley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 727-1800

Website:
http://www.zinc-ketchum.com/

Catering:
Everything from small dinner parties to large weddings.

Parking Details:
Parking is adjacent to the restaurant. There is heating outdoor parking for winter guests.

Private Party Facilities:
The Dining Room and/or the Wine Bar can be used for private dining for up to 100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Scott Gittens: 2087271800x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server wasn't very knowledgeable about t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Server wasn't very knowledgeable about the bar... which is totally fine. But her response was "I'd have to ask..." (a bartender) and then didn't. Lazy with a big smile. The ribs were absolutely delicious. The salmon was really fishy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Opening week dinner

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Went during opening night, the service was very good, a lot of eager to please hosts and hostess's the wine we had, was very good, the pasta with seafood was a good choice,

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Nice selection from the menu with great specials.

Great service and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great -

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We had a party of eight on a holiday weekend, and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 19, 2015

Had a great experience at Zinc this past weekend. The service was fantastic - genuinely friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The food was tasty and creative. Our favorite was the trout with lemon curd appetizer - perfect with our rose! We also ordered a couple flatbreads and a burger--satisfying but not over-filling (perfect for a hot summer night). We enjoyed the outdoor deck/patio seating and - at no fault of the restaurant - the only downside was the smoky air from all the recent wildfires. I hope Zinc is very successful; its a great new addition to the Ketchum food scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Solid 3.5, maybe even 4.

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Our server was quite nice and very helpful. What she knew she shared and what she didn't know she didn't try to "make up". Like most beer lists, it was quite IPA heavy, but good. The wine list looked nice and was as reasonable as one could expect. The food was done well, just as the menu describes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had been to zinc last year and enjoye ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

We had been to zinc last year and enjoyed it so much we went back Friday. It did not disappoint!

The service was friendly and informative and the food was good and innovative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best kept secret in Ketchum

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Consistently good every time. The garden salad with green goddess dressing is wonderful. Good size portions also. Crab cakes very good. Wild king salmon fresh and good. Great wines, reasonably priced, and great draft beers. Great bar, with good TV if that is your thing. Limited desserts. Family owned and operated. Great service.

Have eaten there several times this year and never had a bad meal. Menu somewhat limited for entrees, but all are good, for us the selection was fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great specials

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2015

We enjoyed Zinc back during the winter, eating heartier entres (chicken and the Zinc burger) but in July we chose from the summer specials - fresh gazpacho appetizer and halibut main course. Our server recommended the halibut and it was exceptional - perfectly cooked and seasoned, and an ample portion. Zinc has a nice and varied wine list and friendly and efficient service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great little restaurant

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

We had the veggie salad and the salmon. Both were some of the best I have ever had. We sat outside, and it was quiet there. I don't know what it would be like inside on a busy evening. The rose wine was excellent, and our server was friendly and prompt. We had a peach cobbler for dessert, and that was also excellent. Lots of peaches, not over-doughy like some I've had. Overall, I would highly recommend this as a little spot to go for a nice dinner. Not pretentious, just simple and good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect Pick

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 16, 2015

Incredible service and food. We started out with the Avocado flat bread. We both loved it - the radishes were a perfect compliment to the avocado. I had the salmon with steamed clams and my husband had the ribs. The sauce on the ribs was just the right amount of sweet and the meet just fell off the bone. The salmon and clams were also very tasty. Comfortable atmosphere, we will be back next time we are in Sun Valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice find.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2015

Dined at Zinc on a slow weeknight. Service was attentive. Smoked trout appetizer was generous with a great lemon jam. Hamburger with fries was very good, especially the fries. Very generous portion of salmon with clams and snow peas. Salmon was very good, clams were tender and very flavorful, even the snow peas were delicious. There was only one type of dessert and it was undercooked and not at all inspiring. Overall a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Misleading advertising

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

This resteraunt is advertised as steaks,chops,and vegetarian dishes-not one steak or chop on the menu!!! They definitely need to change their ad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Friendly

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

Very friendly accommodating staff. Great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A dinner salad would be a great addition ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 20, 2015

A dinner salad would be a great addition but the food is always good

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I went with some friends, and we all ord ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

I went with some friends, and we all ordered something different so we could share...the ham and cheese fritters were to die for as was the pumpkin soup. I had barbecued ribs with huckleberry barbecue sauce...excellent, and the Zinc burger is over the top!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food a little undercooked

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Had the cheese and bacon fritter appetizer, which was pretty solid though a bit salty. My main entree was the chicken pot pie - the rosemary crust was a pleasant surprise and quite good but the main ingredient was the potato and those were a bit undercooked. For dessert my table tried a pear crumble and the pear was also undercooked! Good ideas, execution was a little lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Not worth the noise level for mediocre food

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 24, 2014

Having been seated next to the food station we watched and listened when the one burger was announced with "no cheese" and then proceeded to sit there for over 10 minutes. When it finally arrived with the other orders, both the fries and the burger were cold. Nice waitress said she would send it back to have it be delivered hot. When it returned it was overdone and dry like the cook just replaced it with an old burger sitting on the grill for awhile. The restaurant was nice to comp that meal. Pumpkin soup was thin and overly spiced with cloves and/or nutmeg. Ribs were tender but pretty tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Terrible service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

We left 15 minutes after we were seated because no one ever came to the table to offer us a beverage or take our order. When we told the hostess why we were leaving she just said "okay," without any apology. Terrible customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

A little disorganized

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

Very nice people, but don't quite have it down. Although the food was good, the menu was very limited. My husband won't go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great local eatery

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 22, 2014

Zinc is relatively new in Sun Valley and keeps getting better each time we go. The best snacks were the fries and the mushroom bruschetta. Risotto balls were a little too salty. For main courses, we had the ribs, which fell off the bone and were scrumptious, the burger, which was outstanding, and the salmon, which also got rave reviews.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food & Service, a Few Noisy Kids Though...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

The service was great and the menu was diverse enough for just about anyone. It did remind me of another restaurant in town though, so a little more uniqueness definitely wouldn't hurt. The food was delicious and prepared well, and the timing was done in a relaxed style. I'm looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Killer ribs

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

Some of the BEST ribs I've had. Great fries and wine list too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

great food, too much noise

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on October 22, 2014

Ribs were outstanding. good beer and wine list, but way too much noise. was was advised of this and to avoid the dinning room. we set in the bar on a slow night with only one other table but still way too much noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Great Fall menu. Sliders superb!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on October 13, 2014

Delicious food, good service, nice ambiance. Fireplace room and bar great, big dining room a bit noisy. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

3rd time

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

A REALLY loud group in the bar made our dining experience somewhat uncomfortable. This was our third visit and I will think twice before I go back again. Between the loud group and a couple of problems with food served to us, I just might have to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Food needs work

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

While the new space has been redefined and refined and the service was friendly, we found the food almost inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Needs improvement

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 2, 2014

It has nothing but hard surfaces.

Even on an empty night the noise was not acceptable. Food was tasteless and rare meat came raw.

Management did not introduce himself until stopped with a question.

I'd say the place is cold.

Better as a bar than a food place. Totally not comfortable, cozy or inviting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

A great new place!

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

A fabulous new Ketchum find. Food was great, very well prepared, and delicious. Loves the ribs- huge portion with lots and lots of meat. The chop salad was great, and tried bites of the pot pie and meatloaf which were also tasty. Will definitely come back, will be the perfect stop apres ski, as the portions are hearty and filling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zinc sinks

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

Zinc is a hard restaurant; hard surfaces, noise levels, grey & black server uniforms and a hard menu to cuddle up to.The noise level from the dining room overwhelms and it isn't coming from the welcoming murmurs of conversation and clinking glasses of happy and relaxed diners. It is a cacophony of noise ricocheting from hard metal surfaces and wait staff chatting loudly among themselves. The bar is noisier still. The "comfort food" on the menu isnt. The trout, an Idaho specialty, was simply ordinary and the lamb undistinguished. We liked the fries.Who doesn't like fries? Two items on the menu were not available that evening. With many excellent restaurants in Ketchum to choose from, I would slink past Zinc.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food and service were very high qual ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2014

The food and service were very high quality at Zinc. The poached shrimp appetizer, chopped vegetable salad and ribs were superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good Flatbread

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

We had been warned by friends and reviewers to eat outside because the restaurant is now lined with corrugated steel that reverberates every sound. It was quiet in the deck, and the servers were excellent. So was the thin flatbread with mushrooms and asiago cheese. Highly recommend that. But they had decided not to cook the pot roast which is the Sunday special we had been told was excellent, so one of us had an unremarkable trout and the other a reheated lamb pot pie. Despite being hotter than molten lava, the "crust" remained gummy and uncooked. We assumed the chef was off that night and the B team was operating the kitchen. We'll come back for flatbread and a glass of wine before or after an event or movie, but the not impressed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Great new restaurant

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. A great addition to the Sun Valley area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Memorable Trout!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

We were a party of four. Three of us ordered the trout, which was only $16. We can enjoy delicious fresh trout in many restaurants in the Wood River Valley, but this was really exceptional, especially given the reasonable price. It was so moist and deliciously prepared, with a simple mustard seed sauce (just right, not overdone), and a very generous serving of thin asparagus. The portion was ample, and could be shared if you order salads and/or other small plates. The salads are great as well. They were out of the wine we chose (Cinder Chardonnay), but the waitress brought a comparable selection, which was good.

Outdoor seating is limited, so be sure to request it, if desired, when making reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Three lives

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

This is the third reincarnation of this restaurant in the past few years. This version is the best featuring $10 corkage fees and comfort food. Ham fritters appetizer was great. Lamb pot pie was excellent. Server was especially outstanding with great food knowledge and attention to details. chef tate knows how to deliver and create great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

In a word, we were disappointed. the fo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

In a word, we were disappointed. the food was all right but the service was very slow and the place was noisy. We don't see any reason to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

zinc dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

The food was really good and priced reasonably. Wine list showed a broad cellar and again focused on good value for money. The location is a challenge given past turnover but the joint was hopping when we dined. Well worth supporting. Go zinc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious. Noise level was ove ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2014

Food was delicious. Noise level was overwhelming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Chopped salad is the best

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

We've been here 3-4 times. Inside the main dining room is too loud for comfortable conversation so we prefer outside or In the bar area. The food is consistent but limited. The chopped salad is what we return for. The burger gets high reviews, too (and the fries!!). Everything else we've had has been good, but not remarkable. I'm sure we'll return, but it's not a 5star event(yet. They are still relatively new, and I assume improving and changing.)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Promising but inconsistent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our first time at Zinc, but this one didn't quite live up. They were out of the wonderful Flatbread, without a good substitute, and the chopped salad was less interesting. The trout portion was small for $18. Fun and lively, and our friends loved their hamburgers, which are excellent (and certainly didn't suffer for portion size). There's a nice area outside and I'd like to try it again, since this may be kinks in working out a new restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.