About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: 210-224-1313x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sangria - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Cakebread Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon 2011 - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Sopapillas - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
prickly pear margarita - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Soapapillas - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Zinc Burger - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Riesling - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Steak And Frites - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Bread Pudding - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Crabcakes - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Escargot - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Expresoteeny - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Portabello Patty Melt - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Burger - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Antipasto - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Flirtini - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Pizza Margherita - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Zinc Bistro will be offering a Special Menu for Valentine's Day. A representative from Zinc will be in contact with the special limited menu and to confirm the reservation with prepayment.

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (16)
Casual (16)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The server ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The server was friendly and attentive. The food was all delicious. We were a party of three and everyone enjoyed the appetizers and their entrées. We would go back again and again if we we're not visiting from out of town.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, , Modern Decor, Casual, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had New Years Eve reservations weeks ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had New Years Eve reservations weeks ahead. Came in from Colorado and it was a bit of a mess. We pre paid $256 for wht we thought was going to be a phenomenal evening.

They had us downstairs in a very damp, dank wine cellar basement, with two tables set up like a wedding reception. ( round tables; party hats, etc. ) We had NO IDEA that we had signed on for anything like this. Much confussion about our 6:30 reservation, because the "wine pairing event doesn't begin for another hour and a half; dinner at 10:00". We felt VERY uncomfortable and were made to feel as if the confusion was our fault. They led us upstairs to a regular table. We asked to go outside and did, wich was a much improved atmosphere. We settled in for what we thought would be a lovely evening. NOT. We were immediately and abrubtly asked if we wanted the beef or the fish and needed to know right away. From that point forward, we were rushed.

It was a six course dinner and we barely had two bites of one course, when the waiter was stanidng there with the next course. Seated at 6:45. Finished at 7:20. I would NOT recommend this restaurant. The food was simply OK. The atmosphere was OK. Reatroom dirty. The staff confused and not especially gracious. A young gal ran out after we left and asked us if we were the couple that had the bad experience and when I said yes, she advised me to let someone know. When I said that I planned tow rite a letter, she high fived me. Really? Such a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Waiter seemed disinterested. "Frites" w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter seemed disinterested. "Frites" were little more than frozen fries from a bag. Calamari was cold. Was just "meh".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Terrible service

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food as usual! This is a hidden g ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food as usual! This is a hidden gem in the bustle of downtown San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding food and service. Hidden gem

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here several times before, a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've eaten here several times before, and will certainly return again! The food was very tasty, with the one exception being that the calamari was unseasoned and a little soggy, as if it had sat for a while before being served. Otherwise, it was great!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Again the Lamb burger was awesome. Wort ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Again the Lamb burger was awesome. Worth the walk from our Riverwalk hotel in sub-freezing temperatures. Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Crab Cakes and Calamari were really good ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Crab Cakes and Calamari were really good. Wanted Guac but the avocados were really brown so I passed. Overall good and I would return just not much of a view or dining room at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best restaurant in SAN Antonio. The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Best restaurant in SAN Antonio. The food is wonderful and a huge selection of wines. Don't miss this one!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant for a very pleasant e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A great restaurant for a very pleasant evening catching up with friends. Loved the menu and the choices were varied. A great drink menu as well. Service was excellent. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They sat us in the event space of Boudro ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They sat us in the event space of Boudro's (their sister company) so the old feel and charm of Zinc's was lost a bit. The space where we sat looked like it would be great for large parties which is good to know. The wine list was solid and the Boudro's famous tableside guac was phenomenal. Overall, I would recommend this place for drinks and appetizers. We didn't stay for dinner so I can't speak to that, although our neighbors plates looked yummy.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful evening on a cool night, staff ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful evening on a cool night, staff offered us warm blankets when we requested outdoor seating. That sure put a smile on the wife's face. Dinner and drinks were perfect and then I was able to enjoy a great Cigar. We will definitely be coming back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was a little slow as it did take a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Staff was a little slow as it did take a while for someone to greet us. I don't have a problem with them allowing time to digest food and we were in a rush so it was kind of unfair to judge them off of that. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place. Great food and great servi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place. Great food and great service. Their menu selections all offer a different twist. Unbelievable wine selection. Will have to return many times to try it all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Place is very cool and authentic whe ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Place is very cool and authentic where locals hang around too. The food is good and creative.We were a group of friends from Milano; they've served us guacamole prepared at the spot in front of our table - really cool! Waitors are friendly and nice. The place is also not too noisy,so could be nice for a date too!candels, soft lights,very warm atmosfere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the service and Chris were awesome for i ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 8, 2016

the service and Chris were awesome for it being my 1st time. We will go back.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere! Great server ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Great server as well. Will be back. Get the cheese plate dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dirty martini with blue cheese stuf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Best dirty martini with blue cheese stuffed olives I've had EVER!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Zinc Salad was lovely and the steak ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The Zinc Salad was lovely and the steak was tasty but the "frites" are bagged frozen fries like fast food places serve. Service was adequate. Overall, just an average experience. I think I would like to return to the bar and just skip the bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food, service and atmosphere at a ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere at a reasonable price! Will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here before when traveling th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We've been here before when traveling through San Antonio. Food is good and style is pub-like. The outdoor area is small yet lovely. Just a moment after being seated the server approached and seemed in a rush. We'd barely sat down and wanted a drink order. We like a bottle of wine with dinner and hardly had time to get settled. Things got better yet there was this feeling of 'let's get on with this' from the server. Pizza was great--very fresh. Guacamole made at the table is a unique feature. Wine list was not updated. Two I wanted to inspect weren't available. We'd return if we lived in SA yet there are so many good places to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

All food arrived cold

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 22, 2016

All food arrived cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very good food and stand-out service (at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Very good food and stand-out service (at least the night we were there). Much better vegetarian selection than most menus in the area. Nice (if a bit lively and loud) atmosphere. Great place to come with a group of friends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wine list. Good food. Good valu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great wine list. Good food. Good value. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place. Food beautifully p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We loved this place. Food beautifully prepared and a very good wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location, food was great! Had rese ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great location, food was great! Had reservations and sat us quickly. They were a little busy it seemed, but it was a Friday night so I wouldn't expect them to not be used to that and it took a while for our waiter to get to us, and we were waiting a while without menues or drink menues. They seemed to have run out of them. Other than that, the restaraunt delivered and we loved it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Met a friend here for lunch, and we sat ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Met a friend here for lunch, and we sat on the patio out back. Wonderful service, the Texas chopped salad was absolutely delicious, beautifully plated. My companion was gluten-free and the chef made sure she was happy with the accommodations to her dish. Definitely a keeper for SA!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here several times. Great atmospher ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Been here several times. Great atmosphere, very good wine list good selection of "small food". Dinner selections are limited and aren't up to the quality of the rest of the experience. Great place for drinks and tapas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are visiting the San Antonio area ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

If you are visiting the San Antonio area I highly recommend this gem, we loved it. Great, friendly service, wonderful food and wine. The outdoor patio was lovely.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three different servers. Never took out ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Three different servers. Never took out main course order. No refill on drinks. Only table in he dining room when it was posted that here were only 4 reservations left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

My family and I had dinner here to celeb ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My family and I had dinner here to celebrate my debut in a bodybuilding competition. I was looking forward to this dinner for months and the food was everything I'd been fantasizing about! The calamari is always on point. I had the lamb burger and it was juicy and heavenly! We were seated right away. Our server (Conrad or Conner I think) was amazing from the beginning. He was very accommodating and knowledgeable concerning the menu, funny and attentive. He helped us pair our wines which I appreciated. The only reason I give service 3 stars is he disappeared toward the end of our meal. I was looking forward to chocolate cake and was waiting for him to stop by so I could order before the kitchen closed. Sadly it got later and later, after having not seen him for 16 minutes I asked about the cake at 12:01. He said he would check if they could make it. Since it was 12:04 and the kitchen closed at 12 I couldn't order. Normally I wouldn't be so upset about just a piece of cake, but as a bodybuilder depriving myself for months, I'd been looking forward to having pinot with chocolate cake for the longest time!! It's pretty routine to do last call for the kitchen at least 20 mins prior to closing. After he said we couldn't order more he was no where to be found for 16 more minutes. We had to get up and look for him (without luck) so we could get our checks. I was so satisfied and happy with everything during the first half of the meal, but the last half was beyond disappointed. I was a server and also manager at a wine bar for 6 years, so I understand things happen and servers aren't perfect, but the last half of the meal is just as important as the first half, especially concerning basic service stuff, like doing last call. Despite all that I'll definitely be back for the delicious food!! Again Conrad was a great server but just needs to improve on follow through. I do love this place though and will be back✌💪🙄

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Absolutely fantastic restaurant! Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic restaurant! Great atmosphere, great food and drink, great service!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, People Watching, Authentic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait stuff were courteous and helpful. C ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wait stuff were courteous and helpful. Creative cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gerne wieder. Leckere Tapas!

 
 (München)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Gerne wieder. Leckere Tapas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In addition to great food and ambience i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

In addition to great food and ambience in the courtyard, I happened to accidentally leave my credit card behind. When I checked the next day, they had it ready for me, and to my pleasant surprise they really double checked to ensure they gave it back to the rightful owner. Kudos on security.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hatten drei verschiedene Tapas, die alle ...

 
 (München)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Hatten drei verschiedene Tapas, die alle sehr fein geschmeckt haben. Weinliste auch sehr gut sortiert. Für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei. Unsere Bedienung (kleine Rothaarige) war sehr flink und sehr freundlich. Hat uns die Guacamole am Tisch frisch zubereitet. Super lecker. Werden gerne wieder dort hingegen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious crab cakes are my favorite and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious crab cakes are my favorite and my 10 year old raved about the burger. It really is among the best in San Antonio. Tableside guacamole is also a must-have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was wonderful--all very tasty and w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was wonderful--all very tasty and well presented, including dessert . Service was good and price was very reasonable. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was OK, nothing spectacular - m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was OK, nothing spectacular - my wife had the crab cakes and I had the lamb&Pasta - there was hardly any lamb Both meals were just OK.

The worst part was the service - Our waiter asked us what we wanted before we even looked at the menu - I asked him to bring us wine and he tried to rush an appetizer order instead of just taking the drink order. Later we were only half finished with dinner and he interrupted our conversation asking us about desert - it all felt like he couldn't wait to get rid of us.

i'm in San Antonio every month on business - i'll never go to Zinc again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.