Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Casual (23)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Cozy (15)
Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Historic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 15 hours ago

Caldo was fantastic at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place; great wine selection and appetizer; was not impressed with the actual full menu choices

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great option off the Riverwalk. Very good food. Excellent wine and beer list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent lunch! All of our meals were delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This place is a great bargain. Less expensive than some of the other places in the area, but great food and upscale ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

They must not have been prepared for a busy Sunday night, but plates sat on the counter for too long before being brought to the table. It took over 45 minutes for our appetizer to be served. It was unfortunate because the food was good and our server was friendly, but it's hard to overcome long waits and cold food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here several times and always enjoy the food and drinks. This time it was for my birthday and we sat outside in the courtyard. I shared a steak and frites with my date. The steak was cooked medium and the fries were nice and crispy. The only disappointing thing, we kept thinking it needed another vegetable and some bread. We also shared a Prickly Pear Margarita, which is very unique, has a wonderful sweet flavor, and the rim is salted with Chamoy. We had an amazing dessert, too. Molten Chocolate Cake with cajeta drizzle and creme anglaise. We also asked for ice cream, and it was vanilla with cinnamon swirl. Delicious! We almost bought another cake. Good food, great atmosphere, but a little on the high price side for what it is. It will not disappoint though. Be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Came in for a birthday dinner around 9pm. It took an hour to get our food and by the time we got it about half of it was already cold. On top of that because the service was so slow the staff was already closing the restaurant by the time we were eating and were playing music on an iPhone while cleaning up around us. Price is very reasonable for the type of food you get but the service was terrible and unprofessional and ultimately contributed to a terrible experience. Would not recommend and definitely not coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We've been here before and it was as good as I remembered. Great place to hangout with friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Loved this place. Great burgers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and was able to accommodate a large group in short notice. Cocktails were amazing and half off during happy hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Enjoyed the menu, we had 3 small plates, enjoyed all, mac and cheese, parmesan fries, dip au gratin, and bread pudding suffle
Nice relaxing spot on the patio
Would recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good value for a downtown bistro near convention center.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food!! Good service!!! Great Prices!!! The food was worth well more than we paid.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always great food. We dine here regularly. The escargot , faux gras and duck wings confit appetizers are all 3 amazing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food, service, and ambiance. The guacamole was excellent, as were all of the main dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent food, variety, wine, service and location .

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Beautiful patio dining, delicious food, attentive wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very nice ambiance really had us enjoying the setting. Lamb burger was exceptionally good. Heat lamps on the patio help make it viable to eat outside even on cooler nights in the beautiful patio. Request outdoor seating in advance if desired. Overall a very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my second time dining here and it is my #1 restaurant in the Riverwalk area. It is quiet and the food is simple, but delicious. The Zinc salad was perfectly dressed and the steak and frites was delicious. The service was perfect. I will definitely go back the next time I am in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was good but the restaurant smells like smoke due to the bar scene at night.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Freshly prepared food with a creative twist. We especially enjoyed the Texas Chopped Salad which was delicious and beautifully presented. The tequilla cured salmon made this heaven in a bite. Attentive and gracious service. We returned 2 more times because it was that good. It didn't disappoint.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Everything was just right; terrific food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We recently traveled to San Antonio, and my wife noticed some great reviews of Zinc, so we made a reservation. We had a fantastic dinner (especially the amazing pizza), and enjoyed it so much, we brought another couple by for dinner on our last night in San Antonio. I recommend selecting outdoor seating, if it is available and the weather cooperates. If you're with a group, the pizza makes a great appetizer. The Zinc salad and escargot are also winners. The food is not only delicious; the prices are quite reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been here multiple times and have always had a great time. The food is wonderful! However, we went two days ago to celebrate my cousin's 25th birthday and bachelorette party (which I noted on the reservation). The service was incredibly slow and almost seemed annoyed. It took more than 15 mins for someone to ask for our drink order. My cousin was wearing her bride-to-be sash and no one even commented on that or congratulated her. We had 4 people from out of town and I chose this restaurant to to showcase our great city. I was very disappointed. The food is so so good, but the service was just not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went to Zinc bistro on Saturday and it was a great time. The wait staff was friendly and informative. Food and drink arrived in an acceptable timeframe for a busy weekend. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent as always our favorite spot whenever we want to get together with friends I just have an adult good time

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A great courtyard dining experience on a Friday night. The food was fine. Two people really enjoyed their Zinc burgers and the bread pudding souffle was a delicious surprise. The service was just right and the calm vibe was what we needed after a busy day, so we could have meaningful conversation. We walked back to our hotel on the very crowded and noisy Riverwalk and were so glad we had chosen Zinc!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Enjoyed dining away from the tourist crowd. Loved the creative wine list. Glad to have found this gem.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I discovered this restaurant by accident a year ago. The two things we like about it is the location. It is away from the Riverwalk so you don't have to put up with the crowds of people and the jostling. Second the prices are reasonable the type and quality of food you get.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We love this downtown restaurant! The food is outstanding and the location is great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always excellent food, drink and service! Great evening!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there for 4 hours. 2 bottles of wine, 4 courses, cigars and scotch at the end. We were never rushed, but our server was attentive and respectful. It was a great value for the food quality, quantity and the service. What a perfect Valentines celebration!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first impression was terrible. We weren't sure if we had the correct door and stumbled into the restaurant. We were barely greeted when the hostess disappeared into another room. We had no idea where we were going. Once we got to our table, we asked to sit outside. We were left standing for several minutes before she returned. We were given a table outside, but it was all so awkward that I really wanted to leave. We ended up staying to enjoy a great server and some really good food. We did not get any drinks because they were extremely expensive, and we noticed those around us got very small servings for those hefty prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Italian sausage pizza was excellent! Not too heavy but filling. And of course the prickly pear Margarita was amazingggg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Crabcakes are wonderful. The small side of arugula salad pairs perfectly. Love the Truffle Fries as either an appetizer or side option with cocktails and conversation. The small dining room is nice, but sit outside on the patio if you can. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

had 22 for business dinner outside. great vibe in the courtyard. easy to talk yet still good energy. good food, service and drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.