HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not bookable

This restaurant is offline. Check back soon.

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

4.4
765 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (40)
  • Notable Wine List (29)
  • Romantic (28)

Similar Restaurants

About

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(210) 224-2900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robbie Nowlin
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Commerce
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Pre- Fixe Valentine's Menu @ $45.00 per person, plus 8.25% sales tax and gratuity. We're only offering Pre-Fixe menu and Shared Plates on Valentine's Day.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine
What 765 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
TerenceS (Toledo)
4.0  Dined 2 days ago

The main reason I want to write a review is that we had a great waiter: he was attentive while being very busy with larger groups. He also recommended a few restaurants for the next night when I gave him some attributes I was looking for: price range combined with atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance, food & service for the price range, great value! Loved the table side guacamole!
Extra bonus is the happy hour prices!

Report
Helpful
vipAndrewM (Portland)
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

This was an unexpected but definitely pleasant discovery. The lamb burger was outstanding and the shrimp was delicious as well. Ambiance depends on where you're seated. The courtyard area is much better than the red room where we were seated, but we still enjoyed the evening.

Report
Helpful
Chasser (Chicago)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Superb service, Excellent. food. Will return next time in San Antonio. Extensive wine selection. One of the best resturants we visited while on vac.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food, ambience and service!! Great to get off the chaos of the river. I had crab cakes. My husband had shrimp po boy. Excellent prickly pear margarita!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

The food and service were very good, but the noise level was too high for us. The previous time I came, it was for lunch and I sat outside, which was delightful.

Report
Helpful
Hubby (Dallas)
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

We visit twice a year during convention events. The service this was time was the worst. Twenty-three minutes to receive our water and drinks. Crazy!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Excellent food and relaxing atmosphere for the weary conventioneer!

Report
Helpful
StephenH (San Antonio)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I brought my date here thinking it would be a lovely time, however, it was quite the opposite. My date and I were very underwhelmed with the entire experience of food and environment. The only part of the food that was mildly enjoyable was the appetizer and the dessert. The second course was supposed to be a lobster ravioli but then we were notified that they ran out and only offered one thing as a substitute; scallops. The scallops were quite bland and nothing special. The entree we both ordered was the steak and we both asked for medium but when they came out mine was much bloodier than my date’s. Come to find out mine was rare. After dinner my girlfriend was having stomach pain and cramps. She took antacids but that didn’t help at all. She had to take prescription medicine just to make the pain bearable. Overall the experience was horrible, underwhelming, and we shall not return unless otherwise compensated for our visit. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

My husband and I came here for our Valentine’s Day date. It was perfect! Affordable, romantic setting, extensive wine list, and the best filet mignon I’ve ever had!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Dallas)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s dinner menu was phenomenal. Quick and outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I made reservations for Valentine's day with my wife. We arrived 20 minutes before our reservation time which was 7:00pm. We were immediately seated, but to my dismay, the hostess escorted us to another building leading to a larger room for large groups. We were in the corridor, up against the wall. Imagine sitting in a hallway. Although the food was very good, we waited roughly 45 minutes between our second course and the Main entree, or third course. Overall, we were in the restaurant for approximately 2 hours and 45 minutes. I really don't know what I have to do to be seated in the main dining room. (This has only happened once, and the irony is that I didn't have a reservation at that time.) Our table was quiet initially, until the large group began entering through our room to get to the banquet room. Very disappointed!

Report
Helpful
Sunshine (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

My husband and I decided to try Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar for Valentine's Day. There was a four-course Valentine's Day special, $45 per person, so we decided to do that. We also bought a few cocktails and truffle fries. The truffle fries were great, the texture of the fries was crispy on the outside and they were paired with a great dipping sauce. The cocktails were all well-made, my favourite was the sangria which contained red wine, liquors, and apple bits. We received a choice of lobster bisque or warm spinach salad (we chose the former, and it was tasty), lobster ravioli, an entree, and a dessert. My choice of entree was the redfish, which had delicious sun-dried tomatoes on top. It was OK, but too salty for me- even with the sweetness of the tomatoes added. My husband's steak (black angus center cut filet) with asparagus and mashed potatoes was perfect. The steak was cooked they way he prefers it (medium) and the mashed potatoes had a great, chive-like seasoning. By the time we descended upon the dessert, I couldn't eat very much. My husband devoured the chocolate box, and enjoyed the hints of citrus/mousse. I would have, as well- if there had been room for it. The service was not good, due the amount of people dining out for Valentine's Day. I think we would have received better service on a normal night.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Awesom Valentine’s Day meal

Report
Helpful
MarcM (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Always amazing meal. Great service (they allow you to enjoy your meal, not rush you out). Tasty cocktails.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
51