About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (19)
See All
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Historic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was just right; terrific food ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 16 hours ago

Everything was just right; terrific food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here multiple times and have ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been here multiple times and have always had a great time. The food is wonderful! However, we went two days ago to celebrate my cousin's 25th birthday and bachelorette party (which I noted on the reservation). The service was incredibly slow and almost seemed annoyed. It took more than 15 mins for someone to ask for our drink order. My cousin was wearing her bride-to-be sash and no one even commented on that or congratulated her. We had 4 people from out of town and I chose this restaurant to to showcase our great city. I was very disappointed. The food is so so good, but the service was just not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We went to Zinc bistro on Saturday and i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Zinc bistro on Saturday and it was a great time. The wait staff was friendly and informative. Food and drink arrived in an acceptable timeframe for a busy weekend. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always our favorite spot wh ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always our favorite spot whenever we want to get together with friends I just have an adult good time

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great courtyard dining experience on a ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

A great courtyard dining experience on a Friday night. The food was fine. Two people really enjoyed their Zinc burgers and the bread pudding souffle was a delicious surprise. The service was just right and the calm vibe was what we needed after a busy day, so we could have meaningful conversation. We walked back to our hotel on the very crowded and noisy Riverwalk and were so glad we had chosen Zinc!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dining away from the tourist cro ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed dining away from the tourist crowd. Loved the creative wine list. Glad to have found this gem.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, , Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I discovered this restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I discovered this restaurant by accident a year ago. The two things we like about it is the location. It is away from the Riverwalk so you don't have to put up with the crowds of people and the jostling. Second the prices are reasonable the type and quality of food you get.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this downtown restaurant! The f ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We love this downtown restaurant! The food is outstanding and the location is great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always excellent food, drink and service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always excellent food, drink and service! Great evening!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for 4 hours. 2 bottles of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there for 4 hours. 2 bottles of wine, 4 courses, cigars and scotch at the end. We were never rushed, but our server was attentive and respectful. It was a great value for the food quality, quantity and the service. What a perfect Valentines celebration!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, , Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first impression was terrible. We w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first impression was terrible. We weren't sure if we had the correct door and stumbled into the restaurant. We were barely greeted when the hostess disappeared into another room. We had no idea where we were going. Once we got to our table, we asked to sit outside. We were left standing for several minutes before she returned. We were given a table outside, but it was all so awkward that I really wanted to leave. We ended up staying to enjoy a great server and some really good food. We did not get any drinks because they were extremely expensive, and we noticed those around us got very small servings for those hefty prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The Italian sausage pizza was excellent! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Italian sausage pizza was excellent! Not too heavy but filling. And of course the prickly pear Margarita was amazingggg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Crabcakes are wonderful. The small ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Crabcakes are wonderful. The small side of arugula salad pairs perfectly. Love the Truffle Fries as either an appetizer or side option with cocktails and conversation. The small dining room is nice, but sit outside on the patio if you can. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

had 22 for business dinner outside. gre ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

had 22 for business dinner outside. great vibe in the courtyard. easy to talk yet still good energy. good food, service and drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent would definitely come here aga ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent would definitely come here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Was in San Antonio for business then hus ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Was in San Antonio for business then husband joined me for a few days. Ate here with colleagues and knew he would love it so came back again!l Awesome experience both times.

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for restaurant week. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Made a reservation for restaurant week. When we arrived I was informed rather rudely that it was no longer restaurant week and that restaurant week is only one week in January. I could have shown him he was incorrect but I just said that's ok we'd like a table anyway.

We were seated right away. Someone dropped a drink menu on the table and left. No one came after that despite there being several other tables and waiters in the room.

We didn't even get water or see or find out who our waiter was.

After almost 12 minutes of being ignored while every other table was waited on,

On the way out my dinner companions let them know we were leaving and why. They seemed dumb founded.

We went around the corner to Las Ramblas at Hotel Contessa. We had been there in the fall. The food and service was amazing! And... They were still participating in restaurant week to boot!

It's such a shame. I had been looking forward to eating at Zinc for such a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great time!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To start off the hostess had us walking ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

To start off the hostess had us walking back and forward as our table wasn't ready. After 10 minutes they sat us down. Drinks were okay And our appetizers of Escargot was very salty. I ordered pasta portofino and that needed salt. My dates burger was good. Overall it was not what I expected. Disappointed

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went the first time on Saturday night fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went the first time on Saturday night for dinner. It was either a bad night or the first night ever for our waiter. He brought water and I had to ask for a wine list (wait, this is a wine bar, right?). He brought the wine list and immediately started to take our order, entree first. Were there any specials? Hell if I know, he never bothered to mention any. I made him start at the other end of the table so I would have time pick a wine and hopefully decide on a menu choice. I picked a wine, he took my order...entree, then salad, then appetizer. I started to wonder if the meal would come out in that order followed by my wine for dessert. I wasn't far off. They feature a "table-side" guacamole. He proceeded to roll the guac cart over, made it, and placed it on the table. Hey wait, if it's table-side, aren't you supposed to ask us how we want it made? Guess not. If it's not a show or there's no choice in the matter, why not just make it in the kitchen? The salads arrived promptly and were immediately followed by our entrees. It felt like a NASCAR race...and did I mention it was as loud as one? I could barely hear the conversation at our table. I might expect this if we were trying to eat at the bar or if it was late and much wine had been consumed...it was 6:45 PM. The food was pretty good but was completely obliterated by everything else.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Went to Zinc for the first time for rest ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Went to Zinc for the first time for restaurant week lunch! Delicious! Fun! We will be back. Nice atmosphere, good service and great food! Soup was divine- artichoke/tomato bisque. smooth and wonderful. My husband had the crab cakes(regular menu-$14) and they were CRAB and a nice salad. The green salad with my meal was very nice and beautifully presented. My entree was a pork tenderloin with sweet potatoes and a wonderful cane syrup type drizzle...very tender and moist. The waitress had a great personality and made us feel special. You can sit outside on a nice day. They have a great happy hour during the week.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The server ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The server was friendly and attentive. The food was all delicious. We were a party of three and everyone enjoyed the appetizers and their entrées. We would go back again and again if we we're not visiting from out of town.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, , Modern Decor, Casual, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry this review is so late. We made r ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Sorry this review is so late.

We made reservations through OpenTable for New Years Eve dinner at 9 o'clock. When we arrived at the restaurant, Zinc Bistro and Wine Bar, we were seated outside in a corner in make shift table for 7. When the waitress came to take our order she told us because we did NOT have reservations we would not be able to eat off the set menu because they didn't have any dinners left but we could order appetizers and of course alcohol. When we explained that we had made reservations through your website she asked if we received a confirmation from the restaurant manager to which I explained no but I did from OpenTable.

She went to "talk" with manager and kitchen staff to see what they could do then returned about 20 minutes later and said they were able to locate some "extra" meals for us. We ended up having a delicious dinner. Our server seemed a little annoyed with us most of the evening, never rude but really not friendly either.

It was disappointing that we were placed outside in a corner on a a chilly night when we expected to be sitting inside and not everyone was dressed for outside weather (New Years Eve attire). Also there was never any acknowledgment of our reservations.

This has been my only negative experience with OpenTable so far and I will continue to use the site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had New Years Eve reservations weeks ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had New Years Eve reservations weeks ahead. Came in from Colorado and it was a bit of a mess. We pre paid $256 for wht we thought was going to be a phenomenal evening.

They had us downstairs in a very damp, dank wine cellar basement, with two tables set up like a wedding reception. ( round tables; party hats, etc. ) We had NO IDEA that we had signed on for anything like this. Much confussion about our 6:30 reservation, because the "wine pairing event doesn't begin for another hour and a half; dinner at 10:00". We felt VERY uncomfortable and were made to feel as if the confusion was our fault. They led us upstairs to a regular table. We asked to go outside and did, wich was a much improved atmosphere. We settled in for what we thought would be a lovely evening. NOT. We were immediately and abrubtly asked if we wanted the beef or the fish and needed to know right away. From that point forward, we were rushed.

It was a six course dinner and we barely had two bites of one course, when the waiter was stanidng there with the next course. Seated at 6:45. Finished at 7:20. I would NOT recommend this restaurant. The food was simply OK. The atmosphere was OK. Reatroom dirty. The staff confused and not especially gracious. A young gal ran out after we left and asked us if we were the couple that had the bad experience and when I said yes, she advised me to let someone know. When I said that I planned tow rite a letter, she high fived me. Really? Such a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Waiter seemed disinterested. "Frites" w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter seemed disinterested. "Frites" were little more than frozen fries from a bag. Calamari was cold. Was just "meh".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Terrible service

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food as usual! This is a hidden g ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food as usual! This is a hidden gem in the bustle of downtown San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding food and service. Hidden gem

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here several times before, a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've eaten here several times before, and will certainly return again! The food was very tasty, with the one exception being that the calamari was unseasoned and a little soggy, as if it had sat for a while before being served. Otherwise, it was great!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Again the Lamb burger was awesome. Wort ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Again the Lamb burger was awesome. Worth the walk from our Riverwalk hotel in sub-freezing temperatures. Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Crab Cakes and Calamari were really good ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Crab Cakes and Calamari were really good. Wanted Guac but the avocados were really brown so I passed. Overall good and I would return just not much of a view or dining room at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best restaurant in SAN Antonio. The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Best restaurant in SAN Antonio. The food is wonderful and a huge selection of wines. Don't miss this one!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant for a very pleasant e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A great restaurant for a very pleasant evening catching up with friends. Loved the menu and the choices were varied. A great drink menu as well. Service was excellent. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They sat us in the event space of Boudro ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They sat us in the event space of Boudro's (their sister company) so the old feel and charm of Zinc's was lost a bit. The space where we sat looked like it would be great for large parties which is good to know. The wine list was solid and the Boudro's famous tableside guac was phenomenal. Overall, I would recommend this place for drinks and appetizers. We didn't stay for dinner so I can't speak to that, although our neighbors plates looked yummy.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful evening on a cool night, staff ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful evening on a cool night, staff offered us warm blankets when we requested outdoor seating. That sure put a smile on the wife's face. Dinner and drinks were perfect and then I was able to enjoy a great Cigar. We will definitely be coming back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was a little slow as it did take a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Staff was a little slow as it did take a while for someone to greet us. I don't have a problem with them allowing time to digest food and we were in a rush so it was kind of unfair to judge them off of that. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place. Great food and great servi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great place. Great food and great service. Their menu selections all offer a different twist. Unbelievable wine selection. Will have to return many times to try it all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Place is very cool and authentic whe ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Place is very cool and authentic where locals hang around too. The food is good and creative.We were a group of friends from Milano; they've served us guacamole prepared at the spot in front of our table - really cool! Waitors are friendly and nice. The place is also not too noisy,so could be nice for a date too!candels, soft lights,very warm atmosfere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the service and Chris were awesome for i ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 8, 2016

the service and Chris were awesome for it being my 1st time. We will go back.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere! Great server ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Great server as well. Will be back. Get the cheese plate dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.