Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Casual (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Wow! Only a few were at bar when I arrived at 530pm for happy hour but quickly got packed and I know why....everyrhing was wonderful! I decided to order a few,appetizers for dinner! The 2 alarm hummus was,recommended by my hotel staff and it did not disappoint! The escargot and duck confit wings were also amazing! Happy hour (4-6pm) has most appetizers and specialty drinks half off! Service was a little slow at first but then as they got busier, they were in motion! Oh, I took another recommendation and tried the Prickly Pear Margarita (I am visting Texas) and it was worth it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great deal during happy hour. Many of the appetizers are half priced. I had the escargot and a small salad and it was really good. The apple bread pudding is a must save room for desert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2017

We first ordered the Parmesan truffles fries as an appetizer. I knew right then the food would be amazing. The crab cakes followed. They all crab and not fillers. Two came in the order and I was stuffed with one. This place is off the beaten path and not on the Riverwalk, but worth finding it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2017

I loved this place! Great for date night and reasonably priced. The crabcakes were delicious! We will definitely be back next time we're in San Antonio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Absolutely loved this restaurant! The food, the ambiance, all of it. Amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Loved the food, but the setting is especially fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Nice local dining with fresh ingredients and great service. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great Outdoor Patio, reminded us alot of New Orleans. Excellent Wait Staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

We sat in outdoor seating, which was a little cold. Some outdoor heating would have made the evening perfect. The outdoor area had a very nice atmosphere, perfect for special occasions. The food was outstanding. The waiter was very knowledgeable about Vegan considerations and helped us find some delicious options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Loved our server, the food and wine. A little loud but overall wonderful!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Waitress said maybe tens words to us. She seemed like definitely didn’t want to be at work.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Saw an episode earlier that day with Tanji Patton, so I thought we'd try it before a show on Saturday night.
Nice looking bar where people were drinking and eating , the dining room was nice except for the restrooms that face diners as you go in or out (could use a partition there)
The food was delicious and great for the price.
All in all it was a great place!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2017

We are in the outside courtyard which was lovely. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

First time visit. Staff was friendly....food was terrific. We tried several appetizers, pizza, salads...and the lamb. All were very flavorful. Will plan on returning, often.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good food and romantic outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We have eaten here before and never really had any issues until this time. We arrived at 5.55pm and were seated. After waiting and watching 2 servers taking care of other tables and no even making eye contact with us for 15 minutes, we eventually stopped and asked the passing waitress who our server was. She looked confused and then asked if we wanted to order a drink. She came back with water and we ordered our food. The 2 servers continued to check on other tables and avoid eye contact with us or check on us while they refilled water glasses around us so we eventually asked to speak to the manager. He didn't really offer any explaination as why we were being ignored but did offer to buy us a round of drinks. The food was good as always which is what always brings us back but I was really disappointed about how we were treated during this visit. Not sure we will be going back after this experience. Hopefully others have better experiences. Pity because the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2017

The food was excellent. The noise level in our dining room was off the charts. It really impacted our experience in a negative way at this restaurant.

Would have liked spending more time in this beautiful restaurant however we were in and out within 1 hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We chose Zinc because of it's proximity to the Riverwalk and because of the wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed! Daniel was a wonderfully attentive waiter and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Great joint. Great food. Nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2017

I enjoy the atmosphere of Zinc and the menu has a nice variety of meals to choose from. I've invited several of my coworkers, and it has been a nice experience for all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've had in a while. We were given a great table on the patio, out of the way as I requested in the reservation. The night time ambiance of the patio reminded me of Europe and the little hidden cafes one only finds by accident. The food was cooked to perfection and the wine list extensive. I really appreciate a well executed simple menu with attention to quality ingredients. The service was impeccable, thanks Daniel.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

This is a gem away from the Riverwalk. Nice little restaurant with inside or outside seating. We had the calamari and the lamb burger. Both were good but lamb burger was outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good service and good food. We went for a casual dinner. The location is good for a night out after the meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was bad, he just wouldn't remove dirty plates or empty glasses. Drinks were very good. We had the crab cakes, fish and chips (no good, dry fish and frozen fries), pizza( three cheese pizza but I think one was blue cheese and it was horrible) mac and cheese (good)crab cakes( okay), ham and cheese sandwich (good)with the nastiest sweet potato salad, spinach artichoke dip (very good). We all had tons of mosquito bites on our leg. Even though we were there for a birthday they sat us next to the bathroom, and the restaurant was empty. The server needs to do a better job clearing a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our family met for a visit to San Antonio and were fortunate to find Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar. We each loved the food we ordered (lamb pappardelle, crab cakes, and short rib sandwich). We were pleasantly surprised when most of the drinks we ordered were half priced during Happy Hour. The spinach artichoke dip was lighter than we were used to and we all liked it better than the normal. As a matter of fact, we liked this restaurant was so much we went back the next night and enjoyed it all over again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always, Zinc did not disappoint. The service is great, and the food is delicious. Of course we had the guacamole! I had the cheeseburger; my friends had lamb burgers and the pappardelle pasta. We had a tasty bottle of Christom pinot noir- I love to see that on the menu.
Randy and Diane are such wonderful community supporters and give generously to many causes. I love to dine at their restaurants not only because of this, but because they have some of the best food in downtown San Antonio!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Drinks were not the best, wish there were more vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at Zinc. The food was amazing. We started with the Calamari, it was good. I had the blue crab cakes and they were delicious, I loved the sauce they were served in and my husband had the lamb burger and he loved it. The setting on the outdoor patio was lovely and our server was really great and knowledgeable about the wine. Definitely would come back if we were in San Antonio again. Best meal we had while here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good choice of wines and beers. Nice burger and pizza. Lovely server

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful wine list by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This was a great find! I was in San Antonio for a meeting for 4 nights and ate here twice! The lamb burger is legend, but everything we ate, and we covered a lot of the menu, was delicious. The service is professional, the drinks are creative, and overall it's just a really satisfying experience. I'll definitely return next time I'm in town!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

In town for a conference, what a great find. The wait staff was very attentive, the atmosphere on the patio was romantic and quiet, the food was so flavorful and delicious. They have a amazing wine list and fun drinks which added to the dinner. The dessert made it a perfect dinner for a nice price.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Lamb burger it's amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We recently visited zinc, we had Caesar salad, was delicious, and a prickly pear margarita also great, but the main dish I enjoyed the most and maybe one of the best things I've ever eaten was the lamb burger, was excellent ordered it medium, we also had the crab cakes and escargot, all great too but that lamb burger still think about till this day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was delish! Wine was great! Service was very good! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good atmosphere. Great guacamole. The service was very slow. The food was sub-par. The soup was very salty!! I ordered a medium rare steak and was given a well done steak. When I asked for it to be taken off the check I was told they wouldn't do that. Not a huge fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

very good food, fun place for dining and meeting friends. not expensive :)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had never eaten here, glad we tried it. Lunch was excellent. Beautiful presentation. Perfect soup, inventive salad, perfectly broiled salmon, grand yet simple dessert. Will be back. Great discovery of a little-known bistro. Thank you Culinaria.
Very noisy thanks to a nearby table of clueless loudmouths. Acoustics awful.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.