Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
675 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

I enjoy the atmosphere of Zinc and the menu has a nice variety of meals to choose from. I've invited several of my coworkers, and it has been a nice experience for all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best dining experiences I've had in a while. We were given a great table on the patio, out of the way as I requested in the reservation. The night time ambiance of the patio reminded me of Europe and the little hidden cafes one only finds by accident. The food was cooked to perfection and the wine list extensive. I really appreciate a well executed simple menu with attention to quality ingredients. The service was impeccable, thanks Daniel.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This is a gem away from the Riverwalk. Nice little restaurant with inside or outside seating. We had the calamari and the lamb burger. Both were good but lamb burger was outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good service and good food. We went for a casual dinner. The location is good for a night out after the meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was bad, he just wouldn't remove dirty plates or empty glasses. Drinks were very good. We had the crab cakes, fish and chips (no good, dry fish and frozen fries), pizza( three cheese pizza but I think one was blue cheese and it was horrible) mac and cheese (good)crab cakes( okay), ham and cheese sandwich (good)with the nastiest sweet potato salad, spinach artichoke dip (very good). We all had tons of mosquito bites on our leg. Even though we were there for a birthday they sat us next to the bathroom, and the restaurant was empty. The server needs to do a better job clearing a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our family met for a visit to San Antonio and were fortunate to find Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar. We each loved the food we ordered (lamb pappardelle, crab cakes, and short rib sandwich). We were pleasantly surprised when most of the drinks we ordered were half priced during Happy Hour. The spinach artichoke dip was lighter than we were used to and we all liked it better than the normal. As a matter of fact, we liked this restaurant was so much we went back the next night and enjoyed it all over again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always, Zinc did not disappoint. The service is great, and the food is delicious. Of course we had the guacamole! I had the cheeseburger; my friends had lamb burgers and the pappardelle pasta. We had a tasty bottle of Christom pinot noir- I love to see that on the menu.
Randy and Diane are such wonderful community supporters and give generously to many causes. I love to dine at their restaurants not only because of this, but because they have some of the best food in downtown San Antonio!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Drinks were not the best, wish there were more vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at Zinc. The food was amazing. We started with the Calamari, it was good. I had the blue crab cakes and they were delicious, I loved the sauce they were served in and my husband had the lamb burger and he loved it. The setting on the outdoor patio was lovely and our server was really great and knowledgeable about the wine. Definitely would come back if we were in San Antonio again. Best meal we had while here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good choice of wines and beers. Nice burger and pizza. Lovely server

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful wine list by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This was a great find! I was in San Antonio for a meeting for 4 nights and ate here twice! The lamb burger is legend, but everything we ate, and we covered a lot of the menu, was delicious. The service is professional, the drinks are creative, and overall it's just a really satisfying experience. I'll definitely return next time I'm in town!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

In town for a conference, what a great find. The wait staff was very attentive, the atmosphere on the patio was romantic and quiet, the food was so flavorful and delicious. They have a amazing wine list and fun drinks which added to the dinner. The dessert made it a perfect dinner for a nice price.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Lamb burger it's amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We recently visited zinc, we had Caesar salad, was delicious, and a prickly pear margarita also great, but the main dish I enjoyed the most and maybe one of the best things I've ever eaten was the lamb burger, was excellent ordered it medium, we also had the crab cakes and escargot, all great too but that lamb burger still think about till this day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was delish! Wine was great! Service was very good! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good atmosphere. Great guacamole. The service was very slow. The food was sub-par. The soup was very salty!! I ordered a medium rare steak and was given a well done steak. When I asked for it to be taken off the check I was told they wouldn't do that. Not a huge fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

very good food, fun place for dining and meeting friends. not expensive :)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had never eaten here, glad we tried it. Lunch was excellent. Beautiful presentation. Perfect soup, inventive salad, perfectly broiled salmon, grand yet simple dessert. Will be back. Great discovery of a little-known bistro. Thank you Culinaria.
Very noisy thanks to a nearby table of clueless loudmouths. Acoustics awful.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love this place just off the river...the restaurant week filet was superb as was the salad. Great job, guys. That's why we love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have eaten at Zinc several times. We love the outdoor dining area; it is usually cool in the evenings. The staff is extremely professional and knowledgeable. Their wine suggestions are spot on. We take out of town guests there as it is a nice change of pace from the frenetic atmosphere the Pearl or Southtown can have.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

A friend and I enjoyed the special Restaurant Week dinner at Zinc Saturday evening. It was our first time there and we'll definitely go back. The food was interesting, beautifully prepared and presented, tasted great, and the service was very good. Great wine list with a broad range of wines at several price levels. We plan to return on a regular basis. Parking is easy in the garage across the street.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent service, amazing food, great choice gor a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was great, food was brilliant and value was quite good. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Schwarzwald)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Truly the best restaurant in town, and we have tried a number of them. The dishes are special, e.g. the lamb burger with sweet potato fries (delicious!!!) We also had guacamole with tortilla chips, and the guatamole was freshly prepared directly at our table (delicious again!!). The service was impeccable, thanks especially to the young man who prepared the guacamole and who we chatted with most pleasantly!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The restaurant staff were very polite and professional. I must say the food was well worth the cost and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant has a very romantic feel. The food and service was amazing. Highly recommend this place to couples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our first time there for dinner, but it won't be our last. The ambience is cozy, even though the hardwood floors and high ceilings make it a little noisy when the room was filled. Cesar salad was excellent , Lots of dressing the way I like it. My wife had escargot and rated them an A+. I had New York strip medium well and it was one of the best steaks I've had in San Antonio in quite a while . My wife had some sort of lamb Ragu and it was also tasty and plenty of it . The pumpkin spice crème brûlée was to die for. It was too hot to sit out on the patio, but when it cools down we will be back and out there. The only spoiler, and this is probably just my pet peeve, was when more people started coming in to the Dining room (we were the only people seated) they sat them right next to us. It wasn't long before the whole room filled up so it wasn't any big deal, but I notice this happens quite a bit in restaurants must be a restaurant thing

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was excellent but the bar drinks were pricey. It would've been nice to hear some nice soft jazz playing in the background too. Overall I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very impressed! Food was amazing. Wine list incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Beef and farro soup!!! Excellent. Fried duck wings were good. The lamb burger was very good as was the portobella melt.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We only had one night out on our visit to San Antonio, and are so grateful we chose Zinc. First our waiter, Dustin, was so good . He knew everything, came by and checked on us just the right amount, and even walked us down the block after dinner to help us with directions.
The food was amazing. Calamari had little chunks of fried avocado. All dishes had wonderful little surprises in them. The crab cakes were amazing as well - just the right amount of lump crab and other ingredients. The food was also presented in a beautiful way - the fish and chips came out in a cone shaped holder and the fish was so flaky and crusty.

I cannot say enough nice things about Zinc.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Drove over from Houston to meet my husband for a one night "vacation". He asked my preference for dinner and it was an easy choice for a terrific food and service! Richard, owner, is the consummate gentleman and his venue is an inviting & intimate escape. The best of both worlds, we could sit on the patio or inside in the charming dining room. Patio is fun, reminds me of my favorites in NOLA. Food was marvelous, as always! Friends and business acquaintances alike are thrilled to find this "gem" in the area and not fight the infamous Riverwalk. Wine list has terrific choices and dessert was a must. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We really enjoyed a relaxed, low key dinner at Zinc's. The food was good and not overpriced. We chose to dine outside and the atmosphere really made the night special. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great wine list and super yummy food. Food was reasonably priced too! We will definitely be back next time we visit San Antonio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My salad was really great but everything else (including the service) was just ok .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great restaurant with wonderful ambience and service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Zinc Bistro was amazing! The wine and cocktail menu has endless choices and the food was also great! The service was the best part of the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were visiting from Houston and found this restaurant through Open Table. The restaurant is tucked away on a side street and the ambiance is very good and casual. The food is flavorful but I had gristle in my pasta portofino, and was almost done with the dish, so that took away from the overall rating.

The service is fair at best. Our server was waiting on a larger group and was not friendly and very abrupt in his mannerisms. He did provide timely service just his attitude was not welcoming or pleasant.

Overall, I cannot recommend the restaurant and would spend my money on something that delivers a better dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.