Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Notable Wine List (27)
Bar Seating (24)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Casual (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Cozy (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Fun (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tapas (6)
Historic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I had a lovely dinner at Zinc. We would've like to sit in the outdoor patio but there was a private party going on. We absolutely loved the duck wings!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and offered a taste of a by the glass wine to my wife, which was great as it was not one she would have enjoyed and was able to select something else. The back room is extremely loud and would possibly benefit from some foam installed under the tables and chairs to absorb the sound.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Reserving for a group on the open table app was awesome. Table was ready when we arrived a little early. Our waiter was friendly and connected to our group. The pizzas were delicious!! There is always an outdoor patio to eat, it was just too hot when we went.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Son's Family day, Fort Sam Houston Medic School eve of graduation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Ruby colored gem in the heart of downtown. Venture off the Riverwalk a few blocks to this welcoming sister restaurant to the crowded Boudrous. Open spaces, large bar and dining area, small courtyard patio for dining, cool art and friendly service. Wine choices by the glass were disappointing (only because the master wine list was SO impressive), and this restaurant might think in investing in a Coravin to serve more of the finer wines without sacrificing the bottles. Food was delicious! I had the Texas lamb and paparadelle, and it was very, very good.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Good food, good wine, and excellent service. We dined outdoors, which allowed some privacy. No complaints - go there!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Four girlfriends meeting up for a fun get together found this to be a great dining spot. Good food, good wine and desserts! The service was good also. This restaurant is on the Riverwalk so there are indoor and outdoor seating options. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Try the table side made guacamole!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My fiance & I wanted to eat at Zinc Bistro for lunch, during our Memorial weekend trip to San Antonio. I had the Zinc Burger & he had the Ancho Crusted Short Rib Sandwich. His sandwich came with warm potato salad and a side of pickles, my burger came with a side of fries and ketchup.

Immediately my fiance took a bite of the potato salad. He said by far, it was the best potato salad he has ever had. My fiance said his sandwich was delicious. The meat and sriracha sauce complemented each other perfectly. The pickles had a spicy kick, as if they were cooked or soaked in jalapeno juice.

I had the Zinc Burger & it was the best burger I have ever had. The Parmesan tuiles & the spicy tomato aioli is what makes this burger. The ketchup was a sort of spicy ketchup, but with more of a zing.

I also had a glass of 2015 Jean-Paul Brun Terres Dorees L'ancien Beaugolais. It was lovely. They have a wonderful selection of wines. They also serve beer & cocktails. I hear their prickly pear margarita is delicious, and I will try next time I dine there.

Every part of our meal was delicious and we will definitely be returning every visit we make to San Antonio.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Good food, nice selection at a very reasonable price. Happy hour, in particular, is a bargain.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server, Calvin, did a great job. He was busy but found time to have a bit of conversation with us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Short ribs were excellent. Loved the frozen zprickly Pear Margarita.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Perfect for date night!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Zinc was great! I have been for dinner but first time for lunch. It will definitely go into my downtown lunch rotation.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Love Zinc Bistro very good food nice surroundings and a excellent downtown location - a nice getaway

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for a date. We had a wonderful server who was very attentive. The tableside guacamole was awesome. Large chunks of perfect avocado. Crab cakes served with a wonderful mixed greens/pear/avocado salad. Steak was tasty for my husband but came out 1st VERY overcooked then moderately overcooked - did not begin to resemble medium rare as ordered. Manager very nice but no offers of a discount or perks for future meals, something a 5 star restaurant would have provided.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sat outside in the patio area and we had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner. Food was great and waitress provided great service. Plan to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My new favorite go to place for downtown dinner. Everything I've eaten at Zinc has been good! The table side guac was great and the Truffle French fries were wonderful. Very savory burger, and my daughter had the grilled cheese with ham and tomato. Best potato salad around! Their Texas chopped salad is a favorite and my other daughter thought the crab cakes were awesome! Definitely the place to eat if you are downtown. Centrally located and very convenient.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

An open, airy restaurant with patio seating as well as indoor separate from bar. Cocktails looked interesting (although we only had wine).
The mac & cheese was very good; sizzling hot with tasty cheesy sauce, not heavy, & a crispy bit of crust. Our salads were somewhat limp; the Zinc Salad had good combination of flavors but the Caesar was uninspired.
The crab cakes were too doughy, covered up flavour of crab.
Would like to try other items on menu; the burgers looked good, as did the prepared-at-table guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We're looking for a place to dine early on a Monday and stumbled upon this great find. Great location downtown with an extensive wine list, fabulous waiter ( Eugene) and a bill of fare that fit the bill. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was a bit iffy, but the food was so good that we went there twice. The first night we dined inside and the second on the patio. The ambiance on the patio was especially lovely. As long as you are not in a big hurry, I highly recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and nice atmosphere. Probably one of the best restaurants in downtown San Antonio. The only downside of this place is the acoustic- when there are large groups there it is quite noisy. Besides, we really enjoyed there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Beautiful Patio and interior. Great Foodie find in the middle of a tourist area.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good drinks and food but very loud. Hard to have a conversation

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Amazing food! Salmon salad and Lamb Pappardelle were delicious along with cocktails and wine list

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 28, 2017

location good. service was so-so. Welcoming atmosphere and staff. bathroom situation was poor (wait time and cleanliness detracted from the experience)

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Manager not friendly, the wait on food was over an hour.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Tried to find a place off the river walk to get away from the crowds and Zinc was a great choice. We had one of the few tables outside and it was quiet and not crowded at all. Good food choices including the lamb burger. Everything was done well and tasted terrific.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food add service. But very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Prices are good, food is average+, ambiance on patio is excellent. As a restaurant with "wine" in its name, they should not have listed 2012 by a bottle on the menu, when in actuality it was 2014. To wine drinkers who care that is a material difference, and the restaurant basically implied tough noogies by not offering a discount or other bottle.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Delicious, affordable and very memorable!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food as always was great. Disappointed that a bottle of sparkling wine was unavailable particularly after our waiter told us they hadn't had it for 6 months.... why is it still on the menu? Our waiter all but ignored us and seemed put out that we ordered the Guacamole that's prepared table-side. We were on the patio, literally right in front of the door and he had to pass us every trip he made inside and out... yet we had to flag him down every time. After leaving discovered that he charged for two guacamoles. Not what I expect from Zinc.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

One of the best and I don't just mean in San Antonio. Best crab cakes I've had anywhere in the US. And don't pass up dessert. Everything was top notch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

San Antonio River Walk is full of mediocre restaurants that survive on the tourist trade, this is not one of them. The service and food were the best we had for the full week we were in town on business. Highly recommended by a group of 6 fairly picky folks. We will return.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great service, great food, great location for businesses lunches. I recommend to all my friends and associates travelling to San Antonio and visiting downtown.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quick Bite, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Portions were large. Prices inexpensive. Our 1st table was inside, and it was noisy. They moved us outside, and that was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fun, unique menu of everyday items. Fantastic wine selection. Great outside seati g.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a delicious Zinc burger! Super yummy! Great service and awesome adult beverage selection! Would recommend this quaint place to all!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food, descent wine list, and the wait staff was perfect! Overall a wonder experience and would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The outdoor seating is wonderful. There was space around the table so our conversation was not heard by the table near us. Very good food and the recommended wine was excellent while being a reasonable price. Too many good/interesting things to try. Have to go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Enjoyed our food but service was very slow. Just that 10 minutes too long between courses. Don't come here if you want to have a quiet conversation because the dining room gets very loud. Outside dining is delightful if the weather is right. Definitely order the table side guacamole.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.