About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts. Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Manny Elizondo

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Boone: 210-224-1313

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Sangria
Cakebread Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Sopapillas
prickly pear margarita
Soapapillas
Zinc Burger
Riesling
Steak And Frites
Crabcakes
Escargot
Bread Pudding
Expresoteeny
Portabello Patty Melt
Burger
Antipasto
Flirtini
Pizza Margherita

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
5 More
American
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (22)
great for outdoor dining (19)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
notable wine list (16)
romantic (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (8)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (5)
special occasion (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

there was no hostess that evening on a F ...

Dined 3 days ago

there was no hostess that evening on a Fri. night and seems like you were understaffed as far as wait staff, however, one waiter was nice enough to show us the event room and the vaults which was really nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a table of 12 and we ended up sha ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a table of 12 and we ended up sharing all of our food with each other because everything was so delicious! Drinks were also pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and beverage options. Wh ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Delicious food and beverage options. When I travel I like to try local spots and I will definitely go back here. The courtyard patio was lovely and the service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll go back!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were trying to find something new to try before a concert at the Empire Theater. This place was great! Excellent food and we'll definitely go back. The Calamari was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, ambience and servic ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, ambience and service. We went 2 nights in a row.!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Sat outside -superb ambiance!! Amazing f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Sat outside -superb ambiance!! Amazing food!!

food3
ambience4
service2

This quaint little bistro has a beautifu ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

This quaint little bistro has a beautiful garden to eat dinner in, BUT the service is not only lacking but inept. They had a hard time even giving us a bucks to chill an expensive bottle of wine.

food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and wine selection. Our waitr ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and wine selection. Our waitress was pretty slow

food5
ambience5
service5

Table side guacamole was amazing!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Table side guacamole was amazing!

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 9, 2016

This place came very highly recommended from a friend so we were really looking forward to trying them out. The place was empty, the service was poor, and the food was mediocre. Maybe we were just expecting too much.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Date Night Spot

Dined on April 9, 2016

This place is very nice to go share a few dishes with significant other or friends. The food is well prepared and fresh! Service is just ok and I would stick to the wine list if your drinking cause the cocktails are just ok for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We ate here three times on our spring br ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

We ate here three times on our spring break trip to San Antonio. The food and drinks were exceptional. Service was friendly and attentive. Both pasta dishes were flavorful and the ingredients were fresh. Don't miss desert! Bread pudding and chocolate lava cake.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty little spot

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food and service were on the spot. Great value along with quality dishes. Very direct food menu, but does have something for everyone. Drink and wine list was lengthy, no complaints there. Lastly the bread pudding soufflé was a party in your mouth. My girlfriend and I fought over every bite, best to just a get your own.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great find

Dined on March 12, 2016

A business associate mentioned at breakfast that he had eaten the night before at Zinc Bistro. We saw the restaurant while out strolling that afternoon, and decided to make a reservation and check it out. A friend dined with us, and we had a delightful visit. The guacamole, made tableside, is delicious. There is an outdoor area in the back that I would love to visit when weather was warmer.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Good Service!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We made a reservation for 6:30 and arrived on time. We were seated right away and our server immediately came over and offered to get us drinks while we looked over the menu. We ordered the escargot for an appetizer. They were good. The bread provided for dipping could be better. For our meal we ordered the shrimp kabobs with basmati rice and crab cakes. Both entrees were very good. The crab cakes came with some greens with dices pears, delicious. There was a small mishap during our meal and to make up for it the manager sent over two glasses of their delicious frozen margarita with sangria (I think). We would not have ordered these because I thought they would be too sweet but they were perfect and I will definitely order one next time. For desert we couldn't decide between the molten lava cake and the pumpkin creme brûlée so we got one of each. The molten cake was very good as was the brûlée but I could not taste any of the pumpkin flavor. We found the service to be excellent. We will definitely return to Zinc in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SO glad to have found this place

Dined on February 29, 2016

In search of a place that would be good but not overly expensive and with some fun choices. We hit it perfectly with Zinc - the tableside guacamole was a huge draw and DELICIOUS. We both chose wines we were very happy with (and we are picky!), and even ended with chocolate covered strawberries for dessert. Nothing but good things to say!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in town for pleasure ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I were in town for pleasure attending a marriage retreat and found this spot on open table as my wife is a creme' brulee fanatic. The staff were polite and took very good care of us. The food had a pleasant presentation and tasted just as good as it looked. The sangria hit the spot. Definitely worth your time to and won't disappoint.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

not bad

Dined on February 28, 2016

food was decent, value not bad, but the place reminds me more of a sushi spot

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a nice pre-theatre meal.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Due to traffic we were 30 minutes late for our reservation. They were gracious enough to seat us even though their policy is to only hold reserved tables for 15 minutes. The wine list is quite extensive, we followed our waitress' recommendation and were quite pleased. We had Zinc salads (they had to replace the ceasar salads they they brought to the table) which were quite good. We shared 3 "small plates". It was really too much food for 2 of us as the small plates are actually quite large. The calamari was probably my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Liked the atmo...stylish, and good menu ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Liked the atmo...stylish, and good menu and wine list. We told the server that we would share the steak but it came out on a plate and we had to cut it ourselves.that was a first for us. Asked for medium pink but it was rare and TOUGH. Also came out lukewarm. Waited for awhile for check and to get it processed.my husband had to get up and find someone. Salads were delicious and super fresh do I'd say food quality was uneven.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating and attentive

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I reserved for a group of random folks, let Zinc know it was up to 12 people. They were very flexible and accommodating as our group's size changed. The food was delicious and a very nice wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience
service4

I tried to change my reservation online ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

I tried to change my reservation online and thought I had but the restaurant didn't get the revised reservation. So we arrived and had no reservation. Not great for a Friday night. The hostess was extremely nice and squeezed us in to a lovely patio table. The food was great- the table side guacamole has enough chile heat to be interesting but enough citrus to balance it. We had the crab cakes (panko- crumbed with a good butter sauce), the lamb burger is messy to eat but delicious ( the only bitterness was the Brie cheese), and the lamb ragu with pappardelle was hearty but not heavy. Molten chocolate cake was the dessert winner. Pleasant service -not rushed. Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Disappointed

Dined on January 23, 2016

This was our first time here; it was on the list of "Restaurant Week" places. The food was wonderful. But, the service was awful. Fortunately for the table adjacent to us, the service was great! They had drinks and appetizers before we were given our first drink. We were there long before they were. We were a table of two, they were a table of four. Our first drink arrived 30-40 minutes after we were seated. But, we had water! With ice! We may go back, but it will be a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst service I have had in 20 years.

Dined on January 20, 2016

Do not go here. It was BEYOND frustrating and nearly ruined a nice night out. Servers were plentiful, but were all talking with each other. We asked three times for our server and waited 40 minutes to make a drink order. We were finding a new place to go when they came to take our order otherwise we would have left. This place should get new management AND new servers and could become a neat location with a good menu. BUT service is everything and it is Zinc's downfall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great late night eating.

Dined on January 9, 2016

It is a great place to go for late night dining, since the kitchen closes until 12am. Very suitable for a quiet and relaxing place to hang out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining choice! One of my new f ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Excellent dining choice! One of my new favorite downtown spots! Everything was amazing and impressive. Definitely will be back.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food at central location

Dined on December 30, 2015

We loved our dinner there. The food was very creative, fresh and yummy, the location excellent as it is right in the middle of the "river loop" without being at the river itself. By that time we had had somewhat enough of the river and all the restaurants along it... They also have a nice selection of local and craft beers. Sadly our waitress was absolutely clueless about what is what so instead of the "lager" beer I was promised I got a stout. It was an excellent stout that I would have loved to drink with dessert but not what I would have liked to begin the meal. Still I recommend the place for a fun and delicious dinner. Just if you're into beers make your waitress go and ask what is what (or make her bring the bottles) if she doesn't know it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Friend and I had our pre-marathon dinner ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Friend and I had our pre-marathon dinner here and were pleasantly surprised. The pesto pasta and crab cakes surpassed expectations for the reasonable price. The wine list also let me carefully chose my singular glass for the evening. The chocolate covered strawberries with port was a perfect ending.

food4
ambience3
service1

horrible service no explanation of menu items.

Dined on November 27, 2015

Very disappointed. I have been there several times for lunch and was quite pleased. I can't recommend for dinner. Service was terrible, slow, not knowledgeable of the menu and didn't smile .once.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Unfortunately food was only good, servic ...

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Unfortunately food was only good, service adequate. Had grizzle on the entire side of steak, told the waitress, who said she told the manager... Only saw waitress when I was done with meal... Do not understand how restaurant has a 4 start rating...

food5
ambience4
service5

Best burger EVER

Dined on November 12, 2015

I didn't know a burger could be as good or better than a steak, but the Zinc Burger is! Whether it was the fig jam on the bun or the lamb mixed with the beef, but it was to die for...

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Food Great wine List

Dined on November 7, 2015

Drinks with appetizers, both well done . Dinner was fantastic with an excellent bottle of wine, we dined inside which was not too loud , next though we will dine outside. Waitress was excellent, attentive with out hovering.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We always come back here....

Dined on November 2, 2015

We make sure that Zinc Bistro is on our list of places to eat whenever we get to San Antonio. Atmosphere is fun; options for outdoor seating on the patio with candle light, or inside at the bar or dining room. Great music playlists. Pretty food with lots of textures. Always fresh and a nice variety. Most recently we had the Gulf Blue Crabcakes that my husband loved; he thought they were the best he's ever had. I chose the Texas Chop Salad with the Tequila cured salmon. Fabulous! We both cleaned our plates. My daughter really enjoyed her Linguini with pesto and chicken, but thought the dish was a bit heavy on the olive oil. Great wine list. Certainly something to accompany your meal perfectly! Molten Lava Cake for dessert...my teenager ate every last bite!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food at a reasonable price

vip
Dined on October 29, 2015

Happy hour is a must. Apps and signature cocktails are 1/2 off. If you love garlic, the escargot is a must. Guacamole is made tableside and is more than enough for 2. The Zinc Burger was cooked perfectly and the parmesean crisp and aioli were perfect accompaniments. Port and cigars on the patio post dinner made our evening. We went twice while in San Antonio and will definitely be going back next trip. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Really good...but really bad

vip
Dined on October 26, 2015

This was our first visit to San Antonio. Zinc was near the top of our list of places to try based on glowing recommendations from a colleague. We visited the first night we arrived, sat at the bar, and enjoyed a great meal (despite their not being able to find the bottle of wine we ordered). Made a reservation to return for a late dinner on Sunday after the Formula 1 race in Austin, with high hopes of an equally enjoyable meal. It started out great, with wine, antipasto plate, and entrees ordered. The wine arrived and we started to enjoy a glass. Time passed. And passed. And passed. And passed. No antipasto plate. No visit from a server. More time passed and the wine bottle was nearing empty. We're ordinarily patient and understanding people, but the restaurant was far from full and a lot of employees were milling around, so it was hard not to feel completely ignored. I finally waved at a passing server to find out the status; I've never done that...it was pretty embarrassing (and the server looked totally put-out). The plate then showed up, and the entrees very shortly after. The food was outstanding, but hardly enjoyed since the mood had turned sour. The server was somewhat apologetic, and the appetizer was comped, but the experience was ruined. It was so disappointing to experience such really good food, but really bad service.

food2
ambience5
service4

Mediocre Food

Dined on October 26, 2015

Not impressed by the food at all: Crabs cakes at room temperature, nearly tasteless. Great drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place !

Dined on October 24, 2015

Lovely place, food is excellent and quiet environment

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service3

Really great value with excellent food, ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

Really great value with excellent food, would definitely go back. Only downside was waitress who was slow and inattentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot for lunch. Service was atte ...

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Perfect spot for lunch. Service was attentive.

food3
ambience2
service3

Not their best showing

Dined on October 19, 2015

It could be just that we happened to be there on a bad night, but our experience was not that great. There wasn't anyone to greet at the door when we walked in and it took a few minutes to get their attention. We were shown to our table inside (maybe outside would have been different), and then we were ignored for about 15 minutes. A waiter came to ask if we had a waiter yet and when we said no, he got us some water. We did end up getting a waiter, but the situation was very much on the disorganized side. We ordered a couple of appetizers. The artichoke dip was only warm (the ramekin was hot, but inside was just warm, luckily not cold) and tasted OK. The escargot was somewhat hot, but you sort of expect it to be sizzling straight out of the oven. We had a thin-crust pizza for our main course and it was the best item of the bunch. Dessert was bread pudding, but it was served in a small ramekin that left it too dry and crusty to be enjoyable. The room we were in was very loud because of wood floors. A large party came in for drinks and they started playing drinking games which was quite annoying for a Sunday night dinner. The waiters couldn't really do anything about it and I would have to blame the party more than the restaurant for that.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.