About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts. Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Manny Elizondo

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Boone: 210-224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sangria
Cakebread Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Sopapillas
prickly pear margarita
Soapapillas
Zinc Burger
Riesling
Steak And Frites
Bread Pudding
Crabcakes
Escargot
Expresoteeny
Portabello Patty Melt
Burger
Antipasto
Flirtini
Pizza Margherita

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Romantic (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Zinc hit all the marks, great cocktails, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Zinc hit all the marks, great cocktails, wine, food, service and ambiance! Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table side guacamole is a must. Fres ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The table side guacamole is a must. Freshly made with warm fresh chips. A meal on its own. We split this and the chicken linguine pesto. Pasta was good. Guac was much better. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As a local that lives in King William, Z ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

As a local that lives in King William, Zinc is one of our favorite places. Good food, very good value and nice atmosphere. This visit though, service was not up to par. We had to ask a different server for drinks and our waitress took my plate before I was done without asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

3 of us stopped in for dinner before the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

3 of us stopped in for dinner before the Lyle Lovett concert @ the Majestic. 6 minute easy walk from Zinc to the venue. Vibrant decor, a little bit of New Orleans. Table side guacamole paired equally well with the prickly pear margarita and the Sonoma Cutrer chardonnay. Outstanding lamb burger, good hamburger and top of the line crabcakes. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our visit very much. The only c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Enjoyed our visit very much. The only complaint was our waiter did not give us the specials which sounded wonderful and our desert was poorly explained to us since it had nuts, there could have been an issue.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The lunch menu has great choices for eve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The lunch menu has great choices for every taste and budget. Expect fresh and fun flavors. My last two trips to San Antonio have include meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We recently had a last minute family din ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We recently had a last minute family dinner at Zinc. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect spot. The Happy Hour deals were great. The Wine List is full of great choices and at fair restaurant prices. The food menu has something for everyone. The restaurant has a hip feel without being pretentious. The wait staff (Eric) was absolutely fabulous. We are looking forward to returning for another great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited during Culinaria week and had th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Visited during Culinaria week and had the Culinaria dinner menu. Food was excellent and of reasonable portion size (not too large).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My steak and frites sucked. Rest was jus ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My steak and frites sucked. Rest was just ok. Nothing impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Our dining experience was underwhelming ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our dining experience was underwhelming to say the least. The calamari was okay. We both ordered the lamb pasta for our entree and it reminded us of beef stroganoff. My husband found a hair in his. They did comp his meal which we appreciated. My martini was flavorless. I was so disappointed because I was looking forward to a great meal after reading other reviews. Maybe it was just our particular experience, but we won't return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great place to grab a good meal at a goo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place to grab a good meal at a good price close to the riverwalk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed the table side guacamo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the table side guacamole and pizza we shared. Excellent selection of wine and cute spot! Would recommend as a great place to drink wine and share small plates. Service was disappointing. Our server wasn't personable and didn't check in with us for extended periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

ZINC might be the best value in San Anto ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

ZINC might be the best value in San Antonio's foodie scene. Reservations are a must. The place isn't large and it has earned its popularity. Great food, great wine and superb service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was terrific. Really interesting, u ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was terrific. Really interesting, unique and delicious Cobb salad. Lamb burger was excellent. Pizza was also outstanding. Lovely patio and ambiance inside was very nice as well (we ate in the bar area, at a table). Prices wee very reasonable for downtown San Antonio restaurant. We were thrilled to find this place and will return whenever we are in SA

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my third time here. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is my third time here. The food was great as always and very reasonably priced.

P.S. Try the Truffle Fries, they don't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Arrived at the restaurant 10 minutes bef ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Arrived at the restaurant 10 minutes before our reservation time and the hostess (in a snobby tone) told us she had no more tables for the rest of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Requesting a table in a certain area is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Requesting a table in a certain area is given no acknowledgement or consideration.

Waitress dropped our check then disappeared , we waited 30 minutes and then went to find her to pay . She was chatting w other employees behind the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The group works in the food industry and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The group works in the food industry and we thought the food was delicious in taste and the presentation was notable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice intimate place to dine ! Being ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Very nice intimate place to dine !

Being a historical place drew me to dine here and I was rewarded with an excellent meal. Amy was my server and was excellent. I ordered the mussels and a salad and was pleased. Their prices were so reasonable !

Don't miss out on a wonderful meal !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING FOOD AND CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!HIGH ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

AMAZING FOOD AND CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great we love it I'll first time ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was great we love it I'll first time in san antonio tx dinner was good the workers was cool thanks guys

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

there was no hostess that evening on a F ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

there was no hostess that evening on a Fri. night and seems like you were understaffed as far as wait staff, however, one waiter was nice enough to show us the event room and the vaults which was really nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a table of 12 and we ended up sha ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a table of 12 and we ended up sharing all of our food with each other because everything was so delicious! Drinks were also pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food and beverage options. Wh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Delicious food and beverage options. When I travel I like to try local spots and I will definitely go back here. The courtyard patio was lovely and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We'll go back!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We were trying to find something new to try before a concert at the Empire Theater. This place was great! Excellent food and we'll definitely go back. The Calamari was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, ambience and servic ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, ambience and service. We went 2 nights in a row.!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat outside -superb ambiance!! Amazing f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Sat outside -superb ambiance!! Amazing food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This quaint little bistro has a beautifu ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This quaint little bistro has a beautiful garden to eat dinner in, BUT the service is not only lacking but inept.

They had a hard time even giving us a bucks to chill an expensive bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great food and wine selection. Our waitr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and wine selection. Our waitress was pretty slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Table side guacamole was amazing!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Table side guacamole was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This place came very highly recommended from a friend so we were really looking forward to trying them out. The place was empty, the service was poor, and the food was mediocre. Maybe we were just expecting too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great Date Night Spot

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This place is very nice to go share a few dishes with significant other or friends. The food is well prepared and fresh! Service is just ok and I would stick to the wine list if your drinking cause the cocktails are just ok for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We ate here three times on our spring br ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We ate here three times on our spring break trip to San Antonio. The food and drinks were exceptional. Service was friendly and attentive. Both pasta dishes were flavorful and the ingredients were fresh. Don't miss desert! Bread pudding and chocolate lava cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasty little spot

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food and service were on the spot. Great value along with quality dishes. Very direct food menu, but does have something for everyone. Drink and wine list was lengthy, no complaints there. Lastly the bread pudding soufflé was a party in your mouth. My girlfriend and I fought over every bite, best to just a get your own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

A business associate mentioned at breakfast that he had eaten the night before at Zinc Bistro. We saw the restaurant while out strolling that afternoon, and decided to make a reservation and check it out. A friend dined with us, and we had a delightful visit. The guacamole, made tableside, is delicious. There is an outdoor area in the back that I would love to visit when weather was warmer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good Food, Good Service!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We made a reservation for 6:30 and arrived on time. We were seated right away and our server immediately came over and offered to get us drinks while we looked over the menu. We ordered the escargot for an appetizer. They were good. The bread provided for dipping could be better. For our meal we ordered the shrimp kabobs with basmati rice and crab cakes. Both entrees were very good. The crab cakes came with some greens with dices pears, delicious. There was a small mishap during our meal and to make up for it the manager sent over two glasses of their delicious frozen margarita with sangria (I think). We would not have ordered these because I thought they would be too sweet but they were perfect and I will definitely order one next time. For desert we couldn't decide between the molten lava cake and the pumpkin creme brûlée so we got one of each. The molten cake was very good as was the brûlée but I could not taste any of the pumpkin flavor.

We found the service to be excellent. We will definitely return to Zinc in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SO glad to have found this place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

In search of a place that would be good but not overly expensive and with some fun choices. We hit it perfectly with Zinc - the tableside guacamole was a huge draw and DELICIOUS. We both chose wines we were very happy with (and we are picky!), and even ended with chocolate covered strawberries for dessert. Nothing but good things to say!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in town for pleasure ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I were in town for pleasure attending a marriage retreat and found this spot on open table as my wife is a creme' brulee fanatic. The staff were polite and took very good care of us. The food had a pleasant presentation and tasted just as good as it looked. The sangria hit the spot. Definitely worth your time to and won't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not bad

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

food was decent, value not bad, but the place reminds me more of a sushi spot

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a nice pre-theatre meal.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Due to traffic we were 30 minutes late for our reservation. They were gracious enough to seat us even though their policy is to only hold reserved tables for 15 minutes. The wine list is quite extensive, we followed our waitress' recommendation and were quite pleased. We had Zinc salads (they had to replace the ceasar salads they they brought to the table) which were quite good. We shared 3 "small plates". It was really too much food for 2 of us as the small plates are actually quite large. The calamari was probably my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.