Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Casual (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Historic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food! Salmon salad and Lamb Pappardelle were delicious along with cocktails and wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

location good. service was so-so. Welcoming atmosphere and staff. bathroom situation was poor (wait time and cleanliness detracted from the experience)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Tried to find a place off the river walk to get away from the crowds and Zinc was a great choice. We had one of the few tables outside and it was quiet and not crowded at all. Good food choices including the lamb burger. Everything was done well and tasted terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food add service. But very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Prices are good, food is average+, ambiance on patio is excellent. As a restaurant with "wine" in its name, they should not have listed 2012 by a bottle on the menu, when in actuality it was 2014. To wine drinkers who care that is a material difference, and the restaurant basically implied tough noogies by not offering a discount or other bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Delicious, affordable and very memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food as always was great. Disappointed that a bottle of sparkling wine was unavailable particularly after our waiter told us they hadn't had it for 6 months.... why is it still on the menu? Our waiter all but ignored us and seemed put out that we ordered the Guacamole that's prepared table-side. We were on the patio, literally right in front of the door and he had to pass us every trip he made inside and out... yet we had to flag him down every time. After leaving discovered that he charged for two guacamoles. Not what I expect from Zinc.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

One of the best and I don't just mean in San Antonio. Best crab cakes I've had anywhere in the US. And don't pass up dessert. Everything was top notch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

San Antonio River Walk is full of mediocre restaurants that survive on the tourist trade, this is not one of them. The service and food were the best we had for the full week we were in town on business. Highly recommended by a group of 6 fairly picky folks. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great service, great food, great location for businesses lunches. I recommend to all my friends and associates travelling to San Antonio and visiting downtown.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quick Bite, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Portions were large. Prices inexpensive. Our 1st table was inside, and it was noisy. They moved us outside, and that was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fun, unique menu of everyday items. Fantastic wine selection. Great outside seati g.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a delicious Zinc burger! Super yummy! Great service and awesome adult beverage selection! Would recommend this quaint place to all!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food, descent wine list, and the wait staff was perfect! Overall a wonder experience and would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The outdoor seating is wonderful. There was space around the table so our conversation was not heard by the table near us. Very good food and the recommended wine was excellent while being a reasonable price. Too many good/interesting things to try. Have to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Enjoyed our food but service was very slow. Just that 10 minutes too long between courses. Don't come here if you want to have a quiet conversation because the dining room gets very loud. Outside dining is delightful if the weather is right. Definitely order the table side guacamole.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Lamb Burger is great. Fig jam gave it such a great dimension.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was a wonderful surprise, far better than expected. Service was great with lots of personality and attention. Calamari appetizer was excellent. The lamb pappardelle was extremely tasty with pasta cooked perfectly. The churrascos of grilled shrimp was also great - shrimp very tender and flavorful. We will definitely return next time in San Antonio. Also good wine list with very reasonable pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great burger! Friendly atmosphere! Nice happy hour.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wonderful find. Not terribly busy. Perfect evening on the back table. Great food and wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Change But Still Good:

My business was here three and four years ago. Then, we thought the menu was inspired at the small plate level. I returned with another client March 29. There was a change. The outside seating was still appropriate for business or romantic meetings. The wine list was still good. The martini was good. But, the menu has become pedestrian. This was disappointing, particularly since I had played up Zinc base on my previous visits. We had fries, calamari, duck wings among other small plates. But, it was essentially bar food. This was a radical change. Do I recommend it? Yes. Is it unique? No longer. One of the best aspects was that it was different from the other chain River Walk establishments. But, no longer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very limited menu. The food was fine. Flavor was good. Service was not good that night. Pretty loud inside, which made conversations difficult. I wouldn't recommend for business dinner. Casual dinner with friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Good food...but HORRIBLE SERVICE
This is not the first time we have dinner or lunch at this place. The food is good and that is why we kept coming back. That said, the service there is absolutely horrible. For one, this restaurant refuses to accommodate you if your reservation is for 4 and you show up with an extra person or two, claiming they don't have the room. Yet throughout our whole dinner there were 3 tables around ours that remained empty. This also happened to one of my friend over lunch earlier who experienced a similar attitude. I referred that friend to this restaurant and he said he would never come back again for the way they were treated. In addition to this, the waiters take for ever to show up, then never show up to ask if the food is ok and are nowhere to be found again when its time to check out. We do enjoy the food there, but we will never step a foot there again as long as the service is so Poor!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Overrated, at least for this night. Too many other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We loved it and deemed it the best meal of our weekend. Every single dish was perfectly executed. Two of us had the steak. I had the pappardelle with lamb bolognese sauce. Then I had the cheese course, which was amazing. Other than the shropshire blue, I can't remember the names, but so good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Caldo was fantastic at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Overall a very enjoyable experience. The server was knowledgeable and pleasant, offering insight on other dining locations in San Antonio. We ate outdoors in the beautiful, secluded area behind the restaurant. When it got cilly, the server provided ponchos.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place; great wine selection and appetizer; was not impressed with the actual full menu choices

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 16, 2017

On our first night in San Antonio we wanted something relatively close to our hotel (Contessa) and not too large or bustling. When I found out it was related to Boudro's it sealed my decision. As always, Boudro's guacamole is outstanding! The menu was varied and very reasonable. We had the ancho short rib sandwich and the Zinc burger. Both were delicious, as were the truffled fries ( not overly "truffled!) and the "warm potato salad" was unique and yummy. I don't like potato salad and this was more of a mashed with unique flavors. Dustin took good care of us as well. Very Highly Recommend!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great option off the Riverwalk. Very good food. Excellent wine and beer list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent lunch! All of our meals were delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This place is a great bargain. Less expensive than some of the other places in the area, but great food and upscale ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

They must not have been prepared for a busy Sunday night, but plates sat on the counter for too long before being brought to the table. It took over 45 minutes for our appetizer to be served. It was unfortunate because the food was good and our server was friendly, but it's hard to overcome long waits and cold food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've been here several times and always enjoy the food and drinks. This time it was for my birthday and we sat outside in the courtyard. I shared a steak and frites with my date. The steak was cooked medium and the fries were nice and crispy. The only disappointing thing, we kept thinking it needed another vegetable and some bread. We also shared a Prickly Pear Margarita, which is very unique, has a wonderful sweet flavor, and the rim is salted with Chamoy. We had an amazing dessert, too. Molten Chocolate Cake with cajeta drizzle and creme anglaise. We also asked for ice cream, and it was vanilla with cinnamon swirl. Delicious! We almost bought another cake. Good food, great atmosphere, but a little on the high price side for what it is. It will not disappoint though. Be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Came in for a birthday dinner around 9pm. It took an hour to get our food and by the time we got it about half of it was already cold. On top of that because the service was so slow the staff was already closing the restaurant by the time we were eating and were playing music on an iPhone while cleaning up around us. Price is very reasonable for the type of food you get but the service was terrible and unprofessional and ultimately contributed to a terrible experience. Would not recommend and definitely not coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We've been here before and it was as good as I remembered. Great place to hangout with friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.