About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts. Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Manny Elizondo

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Boone: 210-224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sangria - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Cakebread Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon 2011 - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Sopapillas - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
prickly pear margarita - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Soapapillas - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Zinc Burger - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Riesling - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Steak And Frites - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Bread Pudding - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Crabcakes - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Escargot - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Expresoteeny - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Portabello Patty Melt - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Burger - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Antipasto - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Flirtini - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Pizza Margherita - Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Antonio
American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Romantic (13)
See All
Casual (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Zinc Salad was lovely and the steak ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

The Zinc Salad was lovely and the steak was tasty but the "frites" are bagged frozen fries like fast food places serve. Service was adequate. Overall, just an average experience. I think I would like to return to the bar and just skip the bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food, service and atmosphere at a ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, service and atmosphere at a reasonable price! Will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here before when traveling th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We've been here before when traveling through San Antonio. Food is good and style is pub-like. The outdoor area is small yet lovely. Just a moment after being seated the server approached and seemed in a rush. We'd barely sat down and wanted a drink order. We like a bottle of wine with dinner and hardly had time to get settled. Things got better yet there was this feeling of 'let's get on with this' from the server. Pizza was great--very fresh. Guacamole made at the table is a unique feature. Wine list was not updated. Two I wanted to inspect weren't available. We'd return if we lived in SA yet there are so many good places to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

All food arrived cold

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 22, 2016

All food arrived cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very good food and stand-out service (at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Very good food and stand-out service (at least the night we were there). Much better vegetarian selection than most menus in the area. Nice (if a bit lively and loud) atmosphere. Great place to come with a group of friends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wine list. Good food. Good valu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great wine list. Good food. Good value. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place. Food beautifully p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We loved this place. Food beautifully prepared and a very good wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location, food was great! Had rese ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great location, food was great! Had reservations and sat us quickly. They were a little busy it seemed, but it was a Friday night so I wouldn't expect them to not be used to that and it took a while for our waiter to get to us, and we were waiting a while without menues or drink menues. They seemed to have run out of them. Other than that, the restaraunt delivered and we loved it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Met a friend here for lunch, and we sat ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Met a friend here for lunch, and we sat on the patio out back. Wonderful service, the Texas chopped salad was absolutely delicious, beautifully plated. My companion was gluten-free and the chef made sure she was happy with the accommodations to her dish. Definitely a keeper for SA!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here several times. Great atmospher ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Been here several times. Great atmosphere, very good wine list good selection of "small food". Dinner selections are limited and aren't up to the quality of the rest of the experience. Great place for drinks and tapas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are visiting the San Antonio area ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

If you are visiting the San Antonio area I highly recommend this gem, we loved it. Great, friendly service, wonderful food and wine. The outdoor patio was lovely.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three different servers. Never took out ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Three different servers. Never took out main course order. No refill on drinks. Only table in he dining room when it was posted that here were only 4 reservations left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

My family and I had dinner here to celeb ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My family and I had dinner here to celebrate my debut in a bodybuilding competition. I was looking forward to this dinner for months and the food was everything I'd been fantasizing about! The calamari is always on point. I had the lamb burger and it was juicy and heavenly! We were seated right away. Our server (Conrad or Conner I think) was amazing from the beginning. He was very accommodating and knowledgeable concerning the menu, funny and attentive. He helped us pair our wines which I appreciated. The only reason I give service 3 stars is he disappeared toward the end of our meal. I was looking forward to chocolate cake and was waiting for him to stop by so I could order before the kitchen closed. Sadly it got later and later, after having not seen him for 16 minutes I asked about the cake at 12:01. He said he would check if they could make it. Since it was 12:04 and the kitchen closed at 12 I couldn't order. Normally I wouldn't be so upset about just a piece of cake, but as a bodybuilder depriving myself for months, I'd been looking forward to having pinot with chocolate cake for the longest time!! It's pretty routine to do last call for the kitchen at least 20 mins prior to closing. After he said we couldn't order more he was no where to be found for 16 more minutes. We had to get up and look for him (without luck) so we could get our checks. I was so satisfied and happy with everything during the first half of the meal, but the last half was beyond disappointed. I was a server and also manager at a wine bar for 6 years, so I understand things happen and servers aren't perfect, but the last half of the meal is just as important as the first half, especially concerning basic service stuff, like doing last call. Despite all that I'll definitely be back for the delicious food!! Again Conrad was a great server but just needs to improve on follow through. I do love this place though and will be back✌💪🙄

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Absolutely fantastic restaurant! Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic restaurant! Great atmosphere, great food and drink, great service!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, People Watching, Authentic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait stuff were courteous and helpful. C ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wait stuff were courteous and helpful. Creative cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gerne wieder. Leckere Tapas!

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Gerne wieder. Leckere Tapas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In addition to great food and ambience i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

In addition to great food and ambience in the courtyard, I happened to accidentally leave my credit card behind. When I checked the next day, they had it ready for me, and to my pleasant surprise they really double checked to ensure they gave it back to the rightful owner. Kudos on security.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hatten drei verschiedene Tapas, die alle ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Hatten drei verschiedene Tapas, die alle sehr fein geschmeckt haben. Weinliste auch sehr gut sortiert. Für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei. Unsere Bedienung (kleine Rothaarige) war sehr flink und sehr freundlich. Hat uns die Guacamole am Tisch frisch zubereitet. Super lecker. Werden gerne wieder dort hingegen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious crab cakes are my favorite and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious crab cakes are my favorite and my 10 year old raved about the burger. It really is among the best in San Antonio. Tableside guacamole is also a must-have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was wonderful--all very tasty and w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was wonderful--all very tasty and well presented, including dessert . Service was good and price was very reasonable. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was OK, nothing spectacular - m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was OK, nothing spectacular - my wife had the crab cakes and I had the lamb&Pasta - there was hardly any lamb Both meals were just OK.

The worst part was the service - Our waiter asked us what we wanted before we even looked at the menu - I asked him to bring us wine and he tried to rush an appetizer order instead of just taking the drink order. Later we were only half finished with dinner and he interrupted our conversation asking us about desert - it all felt like he couldn't wait to get rid of us.

i'm in San Antonio every month on business - i'll never go to Zinc again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great atmosphere, we went right before a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, we went right before a show at the Majestic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great wine! The crembrulee was amazing!

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great wine! The crembrulee was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We loved it. I agree with a comment I re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We loved it. I agree with a comment I read river walk for drinks and this place for cozy and great food

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zinc is my Restaurant of choice when din ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Zinc is my Restaurant of choice when dining downtown.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best values for dinning downt ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of the best values for dinning downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Second Chance? This San Antonio eatery ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Second Chance?

This San Antonio eatery is set in a beautiful courtyard with both indoor and outdoor dining. Upscale yet casual, with a good value price point. But, unfortunately, the evening we dined there we received slow and disorganized service. Might consider Zinc again when in the area. But, we might not. One plus -- the property has beautiful, modern fountains. The water features drown out surrounding traffic noise and make for a unique setting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We loved the atmosphere. We really enjoy ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We loved the atmosphere. We really enjoyed the patio and the Italian wine was wonderful. It is the perfect spot for a date without dealing with crowds of the riverwalk. At Zinc you feel like you are somewhere else on a quaint patio cafe in another country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. I never thought t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was amazing. I never thought to order a hamburger at an upscale restaurant, but they are known for the Zinc Burger, and it lived up to the hype. We sat outside which was cozy and nice. The appetizers were also fantastic. Would definitely go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in San Antonio for four nights a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were in San Antonio for four nights and this was the best meal we had. Save the Riverview for drinks and eat your dinner here!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious wine and unique pumpkin crème ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious wine and unique pumpkin crème brulé

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food and Ambiance

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food and Ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been here a couple of times. I lo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I have been here a couple of times. I love the atmosphere and the food, and they have a great wine list. The table side guacamole is the best in the city. This last visit left a bit of a bad vibe. Four of us were there for happy hour and dinner. We each ordered full meals so some money was spent. Three of us were there for the $6 happy hour Tempranillo. The fourth person came after 6, and ordered a $16 glass of wine. The pour was skimpy, especially for price of wine. When she said something to our server, he said " we pour 5.5 ounces, sorry. To give you more would be against the law". Really? That turned a nice experience into a funky one. That waiter was also training someone else. Hmmm...

I'd be interested in management's response to this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Made reservations for 8. Table ready wh ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Made reservations for 8. Table ready when we arrived. Quality service with very good food. Within walking distance of the convention center.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food quality, portions an presentati ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food quality, portions an presentation, and menu variety and innovative options were outstanding, particularly for the very reasonable price. The Zinc salad I had assumed was a misprint listed for $4 as it would have been well worth $14, but I noticed I was charged $4 on the bill.

The burger was creative and well-executed and definitely a steal for $10. And the prickly pear martini was incredible, beautiful and huge.

A delightful meal for a super inexpensive price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Zinc hit all the marks, great cocktails, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Zinc hit all the marks, great cocktails, wine, food, service and ambiance! Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table side guacamole is a must. Fres ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The table side guacamole is a must. Freshly made with warm fresh chips. A meal on its own. We split this and the chicken linguine pesto. Pasta was good. Guac was much better. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As a local that lives in King William, Z ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2016

As a local that lives in King William, Zinc is one of our favorite places. Good food, very good value and nice atmosphere. This visit though, service was not up to par. We had to ask a different server for drinks and our waitress took my plate before I was done without asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

3 of us stopped in for dinner before the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

3 of us stopped in for dinner before the Lyle Lovett concert @ the Majestic. 6 minute easy walk from Zinc to the venue. Vibrant decor, a little bit of New Orleans. Table side guacamole paired equally well with the prickly pear margarita and the Sonoma Cutrer chardonnay. Outstanding lamb burger, good hamburger and top of the line crabcakes. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our visit very much. The only c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Enjoyed our visit very much. The only complaint was our waiter did not give us the specials which sounded wonderful and our desert was poorly explained to us since it had nuts, there could have been an issue.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.