Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar

Our chefs have painstakingly created a menu of wine-friendly fare consisting of old world hors d'oeuvres and regionally inspired tapas. From baked Texas goat cheese with kalamata olives to fresh chocolate covered strawberries, the menu caters to the diversity of the food enthusiasts.
Charles Court, at the rear of Zinc, is a truly serene gathering place for a rare outdoor experience. The private, spacious courtyard makes for a quiet sanctuary from the clatter of downtown city streets and the Riverwalk.

207 North Presa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm

Cross Street:
Commerce

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 224-2900

Website:
http://www.zincwine.com/

Executive Chef:
Robbie Nowlin

Private Party Facilities:
Zinc offers private dining in our wine cellar. A staircase from the street-level semi-private reception room leads to the wine cellar. Wine crates and barrels, wine tasting tables, ceiling-to-floor wine racks housing over 7,000 bottles of wine, and a beamed-ceiling with grapevine and twinkle lighting accent this room. From VIP board of director's dinners to rehearsal dinners to vintner-style dinners, this one-of-a-kind venue is the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Raychel Davis: (210) 224-1313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wine

Zinc Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Notable Wine List (22)
Romantic (21)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Casual (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Good atmosphere. Great guacamole. The service was very slow. The food was sub-par. The soup was very salty!! I ordered a medium rare steak and was given a well done steak. When I asked for it to be taken off the check I was told they wouldn't do that. Not a huge fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

very good food, fun place for dining and meeting friends. not expensive :)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had never eaten here, glad we tried it. Lunch was excellent. Beautiful presentation. Perfect soup, inventive salad, perfectly broiled salmon, grand yet simple dessert. Will be back. Great discovery of a little-known bistro. Thank you Culinaria.
Very noisy thanks to a nearby table of clueless loudmouths. Acoustics awful.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love this place just off the river...the restaurant week filet was superb as was the salad. Great job, guys. That's why we love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have eaten at Zinc several times. We love the outdoor dining area; it is usually cool in the evenings. The staff is extremely professional and knowledgeable. Their wine suggestions are spot on. We take out of town guests there as it is a nice change of pace from the frenetic atmosphere the Pearl or Southtown can have.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

A friend and I enjoyed the special Restaurant Week dinner at Zinc Saturday evening. It was our first time there and we'll definitely go back. The food was interesting, beautifully prepared and presented, tasted great, and the service was very good. Great wine list with a broad range of wines at several price levels. We plan to return on a regular basis. Parking is easy in the garage across the street.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent service, amazing food, great choice gor a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Schwarzwald)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Truly the best restaurant in town, and we have tried a number of them. The dishes are special, e.g. the lamb burger with sweet potato fries (delicious!!!) We also had guacamole with tortilla chips, and the guatamole was freshly prepared directly at our table (delicious again!!). The service was impeccable, thanks especially to the young man who prepared the guacamole and who we chatted with most pleasantly!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The restaurant staff were very polite and professional. I must say the food was well worth the cost and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant has a very romantic feel. The food and service was amazing. Highly recommend this place to couples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our first time there for dinner, but it won't be our last. The ambience is cozy, even though the hardwood floors and high ceilings make it a little noisy when the room was filled. Cesar salad was excellent , Lots of dressing the way I like it. My wife had escargot and rated them an A+. I had New York strip medium well and it was one of the best steaks I've had in San Antonio in quite a while . My wife had some sort of lamb Ragu and it was also tasty and plenty of it . The pumpkin spice crème brûlée was to die for. It was too hot to sit out on the patio, but when it cools down we will be back and out there. The only spoiler, and this is probably just my pet peeve, was when more people started coming in to the Dining room (we were the only people seated) they sat them right next to us. It wasn't long before the whole room filled up so it wasn't any big deal, but I notice this happens quite a bit in restaurants must be a restaurant thing

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was excellent but the bar drinks were pricey. It would've been nice to hear some nice soft jazz playing in the background too. Overall I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very impressed! Food was amazing. Wine list incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Beef and farro soup!!! Excellent. Fried duck wings were good. The lamb burger was very good as was the portobella melt.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We only had one night out on our visit to San Antonio, and are so grateful we chose Zinc. First our waiter, Dustin, was so good . He knew everything, came by and checked on us just the right amount, and even walked us down the block after dinner to help us with directions.
The food was amazing. Calamari had little chunks of fried avocado. All dishes had wonderful little surprises in them. The crab cakes were amazing as well - just the right amount of lump crab and other ingredients. The food was also presented in a beautiful way - the fish and chips came out in a cone shaped holder and the fish was so flaky and crusty.

I cannot say enough nice things about Zinc.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Drove over from Houston to meet my husband for a one night "vacation". He asked my preference for dinner and it was an easy choice for a terrific food and service! Richard, owner, is the consummate gentleman and his venue is an inviting & intimate escape. The best of both worlds, we could sit on the patio or inside in the charming dining room. Patio is fun, reminds me of my favorites in NOLA. Food was marvelous, as always! Friends and business acquaintances alike are thrilled to find this "gem" in the area and not fight the infamous Riverwalk. Wine list has terrific choices and dessert was a must. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We really enjoyed a relaxed, low key dinner at Zinc's. The food was good and not overpriced. We chose to dine outside and the atmosphere really made the night special. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great wine list and super yummy food. Food was reasonably priced too! We will definitely be back next time we visit San Antonio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My salad was really great but everything else (including the service) was just ok .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great restaurant with wonderful ambience and service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Zinc Bistro was amazing! The wine and cocktail menu has endless choices and the food was also great! The service was the best part of the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were visiting from Houston and found this restaurant through Open Table. The restaurant is tucked away on a side street and the ambiance is very good and casual. The food is flavorful but I had gristle in my pasta portofino, and was almost done with the dish, so that took away from the overall rating.

The service is fair at best. Our server was waiting on a larger group and was not friendly and very abrupt in his mannerisms. He did provide timely service just his attitude was not welcoming or pleasant.

Overall, I cannot recommend the restaurant and would spend my money on something that delivers a better dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Loved this place! Great food, presentation, and service! And priced well too. And just a short walk from the Riverwalk. Much enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was incredible! The restaurant was a bit too casual for a special occasion. I would definitely eat here for casual dining not for fancy meals.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was delicious. Service was very, very slow. We weren't in a hurry, but it was a long time between ordering and drinks, food, dessert, the check. But the food was good enough for a group of us to return the very next day. Love the outdoor area- so darling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We came here to get away from the crowds on the Riverwalk and we are so happy that we did. Great atmosphere, food and service! We would definitely come here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I had a lovely dinner at Zinc. We would've like to sit in the outdoor patio but there was a private party going on. We absolutely loved the duck wings!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Dinner was great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and offered a taste of a by the glass wine to my wife, which was great as it was not one she would have enjoyed and was able to select something else. The back room is extremely loud and would possibly benefit from some foam installed under the tables and chairs to absorb the sound.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Reserving for a group on the open table app was awesome. Table was ready when we arrived a little early. Our waiter was friendly and connected to our group. The pizzas were delicious!! There is always an outdoor patio to eat, it was just too hot when we went.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Son's Family day, Fort Sam Houston Medic School eve of graduation

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good food, good wine, and excellent service. We dined outdoors, which allowed some privacy. No complaints - go there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Ruby colored gem in the heart of downtown. Venture off the Riverwalk a few blocks to this welcoming sister restaurant to the crowded Boudrous. Open spaces, large bar and dining area, small courtyard patio for dining, cool art and friendly service. Wine choices by the glass were disappointing (only because the master wine list was SO impressive), and this restaurant might think in investing in a Coravin to serve more of the finer wines without sacrificing the bottles. Food was delicious! I had the Texas lamb and paparadelle, and it was very, very good.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Another wonderful evening at Zinc. Beautiful patio setting - great food/wine, great service and great value. A must for when I visit San Antonio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Four girlfriends meeting up for a fun get together found this to be a great dining spot. Good food, good wine and desserts! The service was good also. This restaurant is on the Riverwalk so there are indoor and outdoor seating options. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Try the table side made guacamole!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My fiance & I wanted to eat at Zinc Bistro for lunch, during our Memorial weekend trip to San Antonio. I had the Zinc Burger & he had the Ancho Crusted Short Rib Sandwich. His sandwich came with warm potato salad and a side of pickles, my burger came with a side of fries and ketchup.

Immediately my fiance took a bite of the potato salad. He said by far, it was the best potato salad he has ever had. My fiance said his sandwich was delicious. The meat and sriracha sauce complemented each other perfectly. The pickles had a spicy kick, as if they were cooked or soaked in jalapeno juice.

I had the Zinc Burger & it was the best burger I have ever had. The Parmesan tuiles & the spicy tomato aioli is what makes this burger. The ketchup was a sort of spicy ketchup, but with more of a zing.

I also had a glass of 2015 Jean-Paul Brun Terres Dorees L'ancien Beaugolais. It was lovely. They have a wonderful selection of wines. They also serve beer & cocktails. I hear their prickly pear margarita is delicious, and I will try next time I dine there.

Every part of our meal was delicious and we will definitely be returning every visit we make to San Antonio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good food, nice selection at a very reasonable price. Happy hour, in particular, is a bargain.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server, Calvin, did a great job. He was busy but found time to have a bit of conversation with us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Short ribs were excellent. Loved the frozen zprickly Pear Margarita.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Perfect for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.