About Zia Marie

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seafood Stuffed Shells
  • House Salad
  • Double Chocolate Cheese Cake
  • New York Strip Steak
  • Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese
  • Lobster With Broccoli Rabe
  • Greek Salad
  • Broiled Lamb Chops
  • Spagetti And Meatballs
Seafood Stuffed Shells
House Salad
Double Chocolate Cheese Cake
New York Strip Steak
Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese
Lobster With Broccoli Rabe
Greek Salad
Broiled Lamb Chops
Spagetti And Meatballs

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Neighborhood Gem
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had not been in a very long time and fou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had not been in a very long time and found the food just as I remembered, excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were told not to get a pizza because ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were told not to get a pizza because they take an hour. The same waitress tells us this each time. Amazingly the pizza was ready when the food came out. Not sure what's in the seafood shells. Not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was terrible. Ordered the rockfish ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was terrible. Ordered the rockfish special. Never have I had rockfish taste so bad. Waitress saw that I didn't eat and said nothing. Plus we were with small children and waitress told us the pizzas were small. Not true. She was t happy when we told her not to bring the second pizza. No way 3 little ones could eat even one!!!

Extremely loud and our waitress just want equipped to handle all her tables. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and all 9 of us were VERY disappointed. Will not be returning. And sorry about that because we always want to support a local business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Portobello app, stuffed eggplant, chicke ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Portobello app, stuffed eggplant, chicken marsala, tiramisu. Any mixed drink. Good times.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food, great service. Love goin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, great service. Love going there with family and friends. Great place to sit at the bar and have appetizers if you choose.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zia's never disappoints. They have some ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Zia's never disappoints. They have something for everyone on their menu. We love it here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool family dining experience with my in ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cool family dining experience with my in laws. Everyone loved their food.. especially the New York Strip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very dependable neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very dependable neighborhood restaurant with a very good wine list. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was wonderful but our server made u ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was wonderful but our server made us feel unwelcome and as if serving us was something she genuinely didn't want to do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This is a favorite of ours. We had out o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a favorite of ours. We had out of town guests who had not dined there before & they really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Entirely too noisy! Good food. Chalk b ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Entirely too noisy! Good food. Chalk board menu difficult to read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It's too bad that the place is SO noisy, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's too bad that the place is SO noisy, because other than that, it's great. I wish they could find a way to reduce that noise-we had to practically shout at each other to be heard. Love it otherwise though, and great food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always outstanding! Service wa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food is always outstanding! Service was great and our server really knew the menu! The special dinner entree was the best tuna I have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought a friend here for a special occa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Brought a friend here for a special occasion and we absolutely loved it. The portabella mushrooms are to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently excellent Italian Cuisine. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Consistently excellent Italian Cuisine. Love this place...can't wait to return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my wife and 1 year old daughter ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brought my wife and 1 year old daughter in there and had a very good dining experience. They were very accommodating to a small child and the food was very good (as usual).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Zia Marie. Food was o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My first visit to Zia Marie. Food was outstanding!! Very quaint, yet vibrant setting. Wait staff was super. Recommend to anyone. Parking can be a problem, but once that hurdle is overcome, the rest of your night will be spectacular.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, service prompt and f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was very good, service prompt and friendly. Only issue was Resturant was very noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We started with cocktails. I had a doubl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We started with cocktails. I had a double Crown Royal and the wife had a vodka martini. Both drinks were promptly served and well made. We order the Roasted Garlic w/ Goat Cheese appetizer to share. This appetizer was large enough to share and was very tasty. For our entrees I had the spaghetti with meatballs and my wife had the stuffed eggplant. The spaghetti with meatballs was very good. I would order it again. My wife thought the stuffed eggplant was light on the spinach and the eggplant was sliced too thin. The dish was primarily marinara sauce and cheese, not enough of the vegetables. Overall we had a great time the restaurants' ambience is fun and festive and the service was very good. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved everything we had to eat. The mars ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved everything we had to eat. The marsala sauce is unbelievable!

The eggplant WOW!

We had leftovers which was great for the next night.

We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the food. This time the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We really enjoy the food. This time the bread was a bit to hard with the goat cheese app but other than that it was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed in the food on my last visi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Disappointed in the food on my last visit. Seems like the quality of the moz was lowered in the fried moz app and the veal saltimbocca. The wine used to finish this veal dish also seemed to be of lesser quality. A change from spag to thin spag was noted and not appreciated additionally the red sauce recipe seemed to have been changed. not as rich seemed watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Always good. Nothing fancy, just good fo ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always good. Nothing fancy, just good food and service. Lasagna and salad. Plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was good but the service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely delicious! Great service, sea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Great service, seated quickly, gourmet selections with reasonable pricing. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! G ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! Great low key area! Relaxed dinning! Fabulous food and service! Go and check it out! After dinner take a nice walk in the beach and take in the beautiful senary!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Always do!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it. Always do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood restaurant that "fits the b ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Neighborhood restaurant that "fits the bill" - good food, very nice hostess and wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

There were seven of us. We each had diff ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

There were seven of us. We each had different entrée ,but shared three appetizers.We all enjoyed the experience. Thanks for being there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Never had a bad meal. Energized environ ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Never had a bad meal. Energized environment and lively bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The NY strip with spinach and peppers wa ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The NY strip with spinach and peppers was outstanding. It was a first for me ordering anything but a traditional Italian dish or a special. It will not be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good dining experience with my wife, chi ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good dining experience with my wife, child, and in laws. The food is always good here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious & Great Ambiance!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Zia Marie's for special occasions for years and have always loved it. It is a touch pricier, but the food is delicious and we never leave unhappy. This was the first we have brought our kids there. While Zia Marie's always struck us as more of a date night or grown-up gathering place, the restaurant completely catered to our kids and made all feel welcome. Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly nice variety of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Staff was very friendly nice variety of food great suggestions from waitress - will go back on our next visit to va beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dining at Zia's

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire experience was great! We arrived early but our reservation was validated and we were promptly seated. Our server was very friendly and accommodating and took our drink orders. Our drinks arrived promptly and when our drinks about halfway through our server took our orders. The food was hot and delicious! Prepared just as we like it. The owner, Mr Mender, came by and introduced himself and we had a nice chat and he ;made us feel very welcomed. The evening was exactly as we wished it to be. We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tough game fg

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Tough game fg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2

Return to Favored Place

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Returned to the restaurant because of past experiences. The veal piccata was exceptionally good. My wife tried two starters for her meal. These she described as okay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very festive atmosphere! Gathered with f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Very festive atmosphere! Gathered with friends that we hadn't seen in 22 years. Noise wasn't too high that we couldn't carry on a conversation. Friendly service with recommendations for just the right wine and entre. We'd go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Favorite Hidden Gem

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I can always count on Zia's to provide great homestyle Italian food at a great price! Tucked away in a residential area, you're unlikely to discover it by accident, but once you've found it, you'll be back. I would recommend making reservations on any night, but especially on the weekend, as it fills up quickly.

The atmosphere is a little rustic, but what it lacks in elegance, it makes up for in quality. It's always busy, and a bit noisy, but service is very good for the number of patrons on a given night. Parking can be an issue, so get there early.

Zia's is one of the best values in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Was on the affordable side so may be a g ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Was on the affordable side so may be a good place for a family or someone on a budget, but it was not the experience my husband and I were looking for on our date night. Food was unoriginal, and the preference was to cover the food in cheese and butter instead of using fresh ingredients and herbs to add flavor. My food came out at room temperature which the waitress did correct, and we enjoyed a nice wine. But overall will not plan to return to this restaurant, there is much better Italian in the area for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.