About Zia Marie

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Lobster With Broccoli Rabe
  • Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese
  • Double Chocolate Cheese Cake
  • Broiled Lamb Chops
  • New York Strip Steak
  • Spagetti And Meatballs
  • Greek Salad
Lobster With Broccoli Rabe
Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese
Double Chocolate Cheese Cake
Broiled Lamb Chops
New York Strip Steak
Spagetti And Meatballs
Greek Salad

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Neighborhood Gem
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

neighborhood gem (40)
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (16)
See All
special occasion (15)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (6)
romantic (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brought my wife and 1 year old daughter ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

Brought my wife and 1 year old daughter in there and had a very good dining experience. They were very accommodating to a small child and the food was very good (as usual).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Zia Marie. Food was o ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

My first visit to Zia Marie. Food was outstanding!! Very quaint, yet vibrant setting. Wait staff was super. Recommend to anyone. Parking can be a problem, but once that hurdle is overcome, the rest of your night will be spectacular.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, service prompt and f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good, service prompt and friendly. Only issue was Resturant was very noisy.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We started with cocktails. I had a doubl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

We started with cocktails. I had a double Crown Royal and the wife had a vodka martini. Both drinks were promptly served and well made. We order the Roasted Garlic w/ Goat Cheese appetizer to share. This appetizer was large enough to share and was very tasty. For our entrees I had the spaghetti with meatballs and my wife had the stuffed eggplant. The spaghetti with meatballs was very good. I would order it again. My wife thought the stuffed eggplant was light on the spinach and the eggplant was sliced too thin. The dish was primarily marinara sauce and cheese, not enough of the vegetables. Overall we had a great time the restaurants' ambience is fun and festive and the service was very good. We will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved everything we had to eat. The mars ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 7 days ago

Loved everything we had to eat. The marsala sauce is unbelievable!

The eggplant WOW!

We had leftovers which was great for the next night.

We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the food. This time the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We really enjoy the food. This time the bread was a bit to hard with the goat cheese app but other than that it was really good.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed in the food on my last visi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Disappointed in the food on my last visit. Seems like the quality of the moz was lowered in the fried moz app and the veal saltimbocca. The wine used to finish this veal dish also seemed to be of lesser quality. A change from spag to thin spag was noted and not appreciated additionally the red sauce recipe seemed to have been changed. not as rich seemed watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Always good. Nothing fancy, just good fo ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always good. Nothing fancy, just good food and service. Lasagna and salad. Plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was good but the service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely delicious! Great service, sea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Great service, seated quickly, gourmet selections with reasonable pricing. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! G ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! Great low key area! Relaxed dinning! Fabulous food and service! Go and check it out! After dinner take a nice walk in the beach and take in the beautiful senary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Always do!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it. Always do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood restaurant that "fits the b ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Neighborhood restaurant that "fits the bill" - good food, very nice hostess and wait staff.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

There were seven of us. We each had diff ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

There were seven of us. We each had different entrée ,but shared three appetizers.We all enjoyed the experience. Thanks for being there.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Never had a bad meal. Energized environ ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Never had a bad meal. Energized environment and lively bar.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The NY strip with spinach and peppers wa ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The NY strip with spinach and peppers was outstanding. It was a first for me ordering anything but a traditional Italian dish or a special. It will not be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good dining experience with my wife, chi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good dining experience with my wife, child, and in laws. The food is always good here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious & Great Ambiance!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Zia Marie's for special occasions for years and have always loved it. It is a touch pricier, but the food is delicious and we never leave unhappy. This was the first we have brought our kids there. While Zia Marie's always struck us as more of a date night or grown-up gathering place, the restaurant completely catered to our kids and made all feel welcome. Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly nice variety of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Staff was very friendly nice variety of food great suggestions from waitress - will go back on our next visit to va beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dining at Zia's

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire experience was great! We arrived early but our reservation was validated and we were promptly seated. Our server was very friendly and accommodating and took our drink orders. Our drinks arrived promptly and when our drinks about halfway through our server took our orders. The food was hot and delicious! Prepared just as we like it. The owner, Mr Mender, came by and introduced himself and we had a nice chat and he ;made us feel very welcomed. The evening was exactly as we wished it to be. We shall return!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tough game fg

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Tough game fg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2

Return to Favored Place

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Returned to the restaurant because of past experiences. The veal piccata was exceptionally good. My wife tried two starters for her meal. These she described as okay.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very festive atmosphere! Gathered with f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Very festive atmosphere! Gathered with friends that we hadn't seen in 22 years. Noise wasn't too high that we couldn't carry on a conversation. Friendly service with recommendations for just the right wine and entre. We'd go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Favorite Hidden Gem

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I can always count on Zia's to provide great homestyle Italian food at a great price! Tucked away in a residential area, you're unlikely to discover it by accident, but once you've found it, you'll be back. I would recommend making reservations on any night, but especially on the weekend, as it fills up quickly.

The atmosphere is a little rustic, but what it lacks in elegance, it makes up for in quality. It's always busy, and a bit noisy, but service is very good for the number of patrons on a given night. Parking can be an issue, so get there early.

Zia's is one of the best values in town!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Was on the affordable side so may be a g ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Was on the affordable side so may be a good place for a family or someone on a budget, but it was not the experience my husband and I were looking for on our date night. Food was unoriginal, and the preference was to cover the food in cheese and butter instead of using fresh ingredients and herbs to add flavor. My food came out at room temperature which the waitress did correct, and we enjoyed a nice wine. But overall will not plan to return to this restaurant, there is much better Italian in the area for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Wonderful, but NOISY

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We truly enjoy everything about Zia Marie: Excellent food and service; value prices; but it is almost painfully loud. It was a full house, we sat at a side booth, and we could hardly speak to each other. The walls, floor, and ceiling are all hard surfaces, with no sound deadening materials. If only Zia Marie would add some acoustical treatments, this restaurant would be near-perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Good food, Good friends

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

It has been more than 10 years since we last ate at Zia Maries. We were told that the owner has passed away, but his memory definitely lives on in the food. Being Italian, that is one of my favorite types of food. The meal was great. I had pasta and shrimp, my wife had eggplant. The taste was great, the meal was hot and the service was prompt. The place was packed by 6:30 PM on a Friday night, so a reservation would be a good idea. The only minor down side was that it was very noisy. Lots of people and lots of talk. That would not stop us from going back again and it's about a 50 minute drive for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Another great meal

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Fairly busy when we arrrived with a reservation but we were seated immediately. Veal saltimboca was outstanding as usual. Eggplant parm and stuffed eggplant also excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service are always good . Good ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Food and service are always good . Good selection of appetizers and evening specials. great local neighborhood eatery.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Zia's is delicious!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is what keeps us coming back to Zia's! Everything is delicious and very well priced. The atmosphere is energetic although a little tight on space. Eight people are seated at a very small round table and aisles are cramped. Ask for a booth if available.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

delish

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

chicken parm was the best I've ever had. Only negative was we felt a bit rushed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Everything was great... Food, service... ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was great... Food, service...everythi,g

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

BEST Italian food! Try to stuffed eggpl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

BEST Italian food! Try to stuffed eggplant. It's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a favorite place for my wife and I. A great neighborhood feel that always delivers really good food and service. The fireplace adds to the atmosphere and makes it cozy in the winter. Always good selection of wine and the cheesecake is fantastic. Not too fancy and not too casual. Very comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in with no reservation, and were se ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Went in with no reservation, and were seated immediately. Veal saltimbocca and eggplant parmesan we're both outstanding dishes. Service was pretty quick, attentive, but not overbearing. Looking forward to becoming regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Glad we went back

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Hadn't been to Zia's in years (our son lived close to it but moved a few years ago). Went back for his birthday - even better than we remembered. Excellent food, very friendly and efficient staff and good prices. Jam packed on a Saturday in January - definitely make reservations on weekends/summer!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food Was True Italian!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was True Italian. Everything was very delicious. The waitress was very helpful and made sure we had our food, appetizers and drinks on time. We were celebrating our anniversary and decided the last minute to make a reservation on open table. We were glad we made the decision to eat there. We will be back and will bring our family when they visit from Richmond. The cost of the food was not expensive. The Lemon Cake which the waitress suggested was the best!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

First time visitor. From the moment we arrived we were treated like like we were family. Wait staff was engaged and we didn't feel we were just another customer. Variety was exceptional, great wine like, food was excellent. I will not only recommend Zias, but go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We were there early and it was very quiet. However, within a hour, the dining area got very loud. The service was good, the food was excellent, and our bill was very reasonable. We'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS excellent

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

We've been going to Zia Marie for years and always walk out pleased. The food is consistently excellent and service is always prompt and friendly. The mushroom appetizer is always a must. My linguini w/ red clam sauce had just the right proportions of sauce and clams. My wife's stuffed eggplant was also very good 😊. Unfortunately, we were too full to have dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.