Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

About Zia Marie

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Casual (19)
See All
Comfort Food (17)
Authentic (17)
Fireplace (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

Caprese salad ... want balsamic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent menu, food was outstanding! Wine/cocktails left something to be desired (glasses look like they were taken from a grammar school cafeteria). Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came here for the second year in a row to carb load before the Shamrock Marathon and couldn't be more pleased. The food is amazing and the portions are generous. The atmosphere is cozy and comfortable and the service is excellent. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat. Did I mention that the food was outstanding???

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We go here often and love it.
The only negative is the noise level. It is sometimes off the charts.
But we keep going back for heir specials but most of all the "stuffed eggplant Parmesan"!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food is good, the service was awful. We had an older waitress that just wasn't polite and barely there. We had to constantly ask for things and she gave us a look every time. I'd still go again, but would avoid her. Unfortunately, I don't remember her name, but overall it's a good restaurant they just need to train their people better or hire the right people.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had an amazing time with the entire family celebrating our son'so birthday. Great food, service, and they even brought out the tiramisu with a candle in it for him 😀. Plenty of room for our group of 10! Definitely will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice clean restaurant. First time visit, ordered Caprese salad and veal parmigiana with penne.
The warm garlic bread was excellent, the Caprese salad was excellent, fresh tomatoes and Mozzorella. The veal was very disappointing. Hard coating, was cool to touch not steaming, very chewy. The marinara sauce was good on the penne and there was sufficient food. The pizza looked good from afar and if I go again would try that. I definitely don't recommend the veal parmigiana. Staff friendly, service was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was delicious as usual!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food every time. Our server we seem to get every time. She is a bit abrasive but does a good job. We just wish she was more warm and fuzzy. I don't think it's her personality though.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were very good. However, I would be unable to bring several of my family members because of the very limited vegan/vegetarian selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food & time. I brought my husband for the first time and he can't wait to come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love the neighborhood feel to Zia Marie but found the food average at best, the menu was non descript and written on a chalk board which couldnt be seen from anyone at our table. We ended up borrowing a single menu table tent from another table which we had to pass around between the 5 of us. As far as Italian food goes in Virginia Beach, you can find much better food at the same price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Zia Marie is a neighborhood institution that never disappoints in their quality of food delivery. That being said, this time we brought our 'elderly' parents and, unfortunately, there were several large, boisterous parties seated around us making it almost impossible to converse. Most of the meal was spent in awkward silence or yelling across the table so to be heard. We, of course, will be back...we've been coming here for almost 20 years, but don't think my parents enjoyed themselves too much.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was outstanding....Osso Buco was tasty an tender. Lobster crab lasagna was full of crab and lobster and very delicious.

Restaurant week was in play so the venue was packed, and the noise level extreme.

Service at first was great but as the tables filled the level of attentiveness suffered.

Would recommend though for the great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place good food good value. Extremely noisy. Wish they could do something about noise level.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food is always good. I was not pleased with the wait as I waited an hour to receive my food. I understand it was busy, but the party of 2 that sat right before we did, ate and left prior to us receiving our food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We went for Virginia Beach Restaurant week and were delighted with the choices. You will never go wrong with ordering the portobello mushroom appetizer! A delectable dish that stands on its own. We will be returning, thanks for a great meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is an outsting neighborhood Restaurant with fantastic service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Even with those busy holiday, the waitress was awesome and helpful. Highly recommend this family owned restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a reservation, but still had to wait a half hour to be seated. It was Valentine's Day, so I can understand somewhat, but still you should not have to wait for a table when you have a reservation. Other than that it was a completely positive and enjoyable dinning experience. We go there on special occasions (Birthdays, Anniversary, Valentine's Day) because the ambiance is very romantic, and will continue to do so!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

There were 4 of us in our party. The booth was very comfortable and our meals were delicious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding service and food as usual. A wonderful dining experience that has that home cooked Mom's Italian food feel and atmosphere. HIGHLY recommended!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was really pretty good and fairly priced, but it was overly hot and too noisy for friends to talk at the table. I won't go back in a group of 6....maybe as a couple.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Seafood stuffed shells and asked for Alfredo sauce. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We celebrated two of my grown childrens' birthdays at Zia Marie. The wine, food, and service were outstanding, as always! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very surprised by location in residential neighborhood. Menu was written on chalkboard. Food quality was good. Not too much creativity in dishes. Ambiance was very relaxing. Was seated by fireplace. Wine selection ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife's chicken parmesan was cold when served. We've been there allot of times. Never had this problem before. It seemed like the kitchen was just pushing out as quick as possible. It was New Year's eve. I hope that was all it was. We really like the place.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Italian food and service. My dad said it was the best Veal Marsala he has ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and Service was excellent we love going to Zia's. Always great homeade taste and great atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Large portions, good food and nice cozy ambiance. There homemade tiramisu was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Second visit. Did not disappoint. Food and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always the food was excellent. The restaurant was understaffed for the evening. The restaurant was full and there were only 2 waitresses on staff. The waitresses had to wait and bus their own tables. Despite the situation our waitress was friendly and as attentive as could be expected. All of our orders were correct as were the two checks. The waitress did keep the bread and adult beverages on the table to keep us content while waiting for our dinners! It is still one of my favorite places to dine and we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Lasagna and house salad. Portions are big so we split them (we're old). Always excellent taste, good service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was very good. Upon arriving, the hostess offered us a seat near the door with only 3 chairs for a party of four. We balked at it and she sat us at one of the 5 empty 4 top tables further from the door...much better. The server was very knowledgeable but very hurried to serve the customers she was responsible for. Once we ordered the drinks, salads and entree... the drinks and salads came out at about average time frame. The entree took awhile...pretty long actually, but it was of excellent quality. Chicken was tender, pasta was cooked perfectly, the tuna was perfect and tasted great. We did wait quite a while for dessert. After we were finished with coffee, it was a very long time before the check was presented, picked up and brought back to our table. The noise was VERY HIGH. We could barely carry on a conversation at our table. For that reason (the noise), it is unlikely that we would every return to this restaurant. We live in Greenbrier, so it took us a while to get there...the food was worth it, but the noise level soured the entire evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and drinks. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great night. Accomodating and attentive service. Parking..not so much but had worse. Great food. Can lose pick!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The ambiance was cozy and quaint. The staff was friendly. The food was delicious and the portions were very generous. They had a great selection, however no calamari (insert sad face). I definitely plan to come again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

IT was Saturday night the place was full. The food was not good especially the Lazania. The service was very bad I had to ask for the menu and the answer was that it was in the board and i had to take a picture of it in order to be able to order. They brought the butter without any knife or bread and we had to ask many times for that. The waiting time was more than the usual and again the service was not what we expect. The prices regarding the overall service was high. It is too bad i will not recommended to any body. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.