About Zia Marie

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Lobster With Broccoli Rabe
  • Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese
  • Double Chocolate Cheese Cake
  • Broiled Lamb Chops
  • New York Strip Steak
  • Spagetti And Meatballs
  • Greek Salad
Lobster With Broccoli Rabe
Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese
Double Chocolate Cheese Cake
Broiled Lamb Chops
New York Strip Steak
Spagetti And Meatballs
Greek Salad

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Virginia
Italian
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

neighborhood gem (37)
fit for foodies (19)
special occasion (15)
See All
good for groups (12)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (6)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! G ...

Dined 3 days ago

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! Great low key area! Relaxed dinning! Fabulous food and service! Go and check it out! After dinner take a nice walk in the beach and take in the beautiful senary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Always do!

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it. Always do!

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood restaurant that "fits the b ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Neighborhood restaurant that "fits the bill" - good food, very nice hostess and wait staff.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There were seven of us. We each had diff ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

There were seven of us. We each had different entrée ,but shared three appetizers.We all enjoyed the experience. Thanks for being there.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never had a bad meal. Energized environ ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Never had a bad meal. Energized environment and lively bar.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The NY strip with spinach and peppers wa ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The NY strip with spinach and peppers was outstanding. It was a first for me ordering anything but a traditional Italian dish or a special. It will not be the last.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious & Great Ambiance!

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Zia Marie's for special occasions for years and have always loved it. It is a touch pricier, but the food is delicious and we never leave unhappy. This was the first we have brought our kids there. While Zia Marie's always struck us as more of a date night or grown-up gathering place, the restaurant completely catered to our kids and made all feel welcome. Thanks for a great evening!

food5
ambience4
service5

Staff was very friendly nice variety of ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Staff was very friendly nice variety of food great suggestions from waitress - will go back on our next visit to va beach

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining at Zia's

Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire experience was great! We arrived early but our reservation was validated and we were promptly seated. Our server was very friendly and accommodating and took our drink orders. Our drinks arrived promptly and when our drinks about halfway through our server took our orders. The food was hot and delicious! Prepared just as we like it. The owner, Mr Mender, came by and introduced himself and we had a nice chat and he ;made us feel very welcomed. The evening was exactly as we wished it to be. We shall return!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service

Tough game fg

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Tough game fg

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Return to Favored Place

Dined on April 29, 2016

Returned to the restaurant because of past experiences. The veal piccata was exceptionally good. My wife tried two starters for her meal. These she described as okay.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very festive atmosphere! Gathered with f ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Very festive atmosphere! Gathered with friends that we hadn't seen in 22 years. Noise wasn't too high that we couldn't carry on a conversation. Friendly service with recommendations for just the right wine and entre. We'd go back!

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Favorite Hidden Gem

Dined on April 22, 2016

I can always count on Zia's to provide great homestyle Italian food at a great price! Tucked away in a residential area, you're unlikely to discover it by accident, but once you've found it, you'll be back. I would recommend making reservations on any night, but especially on the weekend, as it fills up quickly. The atmosphere is a little rustic, but what it lacks in elegance, it makes up for in quality. It's always busy, and a bit noisy, but service is very good for the number of patrons on a given night. Parking can be an issue, so get there early. Zia's is one of the best values in town!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Was on the affordable side so may be a g ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Was on the affordable side so may be a good place for a family or someone on a budget, but it was not the experience my husband and I were looking for on our date night. Food was unoriginal, and the preference was to cover the food in cheese and butter instead of using fresh ingredients and herbs to add flavor. My food came out at room temperature which the waitress did correct, and we enjoyed a nice wine. But overall will not plan to return to this restaurant, there is much better Italian in the area for the value.

food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Wonderful, but NOISY

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We truly enjoy everything about Zia Marie: Excellent food and service; value prices; but it is almost painfully loud. It was a full house, we sat at a side booth, and we could hardly speak to each other. The walls, floor, and ceiling are all hard surfaces, with no sound deadening materials. If only Zia Marie would add some acoustical treatments, this restaurant would be near-perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, Good friends

Dined on April 1, 2016

It has been more than 10 years since we last ate at Zia Maries. We were told that the owner has passed away, but his memory definitely lives on in the food. Being Italian, that is one of my favorite types of food. The meal was great. I had pasta and shrimp, my wife had eggplant. The taste was great, the meal was hot and the service was prompt. The place was packed by 6:30 PM on a Friday night, so a reservation would be a good idea. The only minor down side was that it was very noisy. Lots of people and lots of talk. That would not stop us from going back again and it's about a 50 minute drive for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal

Dined on March 28, 2016

Fairly busy when we arrrived with a reservation but we were seated immediately. Veal saltimboca was outstanding as usual. Eggplant parm and stuffed eggplant also excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service are always good . Good ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food and service are always good . Good selection of appetizers and evening specials. great local neighborhood eatery.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Zia's is delicious!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is what keeps us coming back to Zia's! Everything is delicious and very well priced. The atmosphere is energetic although a little tight on space. Eight people are seated at a very small round table and aisles are cramped. Ask for a booth if available.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

delish

Dined on February 22, 2016

chicken parm was the best I've ever had. Only negative was we felt a bit rushed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great... Food, service... ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was great... Food, service...everythi,g

food5
ambience4
service5

BEST Italian food! Try to stuffed eggpl ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

BEST Italian food! Try to stuffed eggplant. It's amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good.

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a favorite place for my wife and I. A great neighborhood feel that always delivers really good food and service. The fireplace adds to the atmosphere and makes it cozy in the winter. Always good selection of wine and the cheesecake is fantastic. Not too fancy and not too casual. Very comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went in with no reservation, and were se ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Went in with no reservation, and were seated immediately. Veal saltimbocca and eggplant parmesan we're both outstanding dishes. Service was pretty quick, attentive, but not overbearing. Looking forward to becoming regulars.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we went back

Dined on January 30, 2016

Hadn't been to Zia's in years (our son lived close to it but moved a few years ago). Went back for his birthday - even better than we remembered. Excellent food, very friendly and efficient staff and good prices. Jam packed on a Saturday in January - definitely make reservations on weekends/summer!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food Was True Italian!

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was True Italian. Everything was very delicious. The waitress was very helpful and made sure we had our food, appetizers and drinks on time. We were celebrating our anniversary and decided the last minute to make a reservation on open table. We were glad we made the decision to eat there. We will be back and will bring our family when they visit from Richmond. The cost of the food was not expensive. The Lemon Cake which the waitress suggested was the best!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food

Dined on January 16, 2016

First time visitor. From the moment we arrived we were treated like like we were family. Wait staff was engaged and we didn't feel we were just another customer. Variety was exceptional, great wine like, food was excellent. I will not only recommend Zias, but go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Not impressed

Dined on January 16, 2016

Unfortunately I was not impressed. The food was good but one guest said fetticini was not cooked all the way. We had guests from out of town and out of the country. I had hoped for a better experience based on the rating. We received 1 loaf of bread for 8 people. When asked for another one we were told ok but it didn't seem like they wanted to give more bread. It took awhile to get the other loaf. When the food came out we had bread dishes that were stacking up. It would have made more sense to live the dishes to provide room for the main dishes being served. We were told once all food is out we will move the dirty dishes. One person works at a 5 star restaurant and was shocked at our service. He said that we were not checked on enough during the Tine we were there. At this time I don't know if I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful.

Dined on January 16, 2016

We were there early and it was very quiet. However, within a hour, the dining area got very loud. The service was good, the food was excellent, and our bill was very reasonable. We'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ALWAYS excellent

Dined on January 14, 2016

We've been going to Zia Marie for years and always walk out pleased. The food is consistently excellent and service is always prompt and friendly. The mushroom appetizer is always a must. My linguini w/ red clam sauce had just the right proportions of sauce and clams. My wife's stuffed eggplant was also very good 😊. Unfortunately, we were too full to have dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food - the fried mozzarella was de ...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Great food - the fried mozzarella was delicious, the meatballs were homemade and nicely seasoned, the antipasti was excellent. The kids had a cheese pizza which they loved. The adults had veal piccata, veal marsala, stuffed shells and lobster/crab lasagna- all of which were homemade, very tasty, and too much! We took several doggy bags home. Looking forward to leftovers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food is great. I have been there a few times and the food has always been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food, terrible service.

Dined on December 28, 2015

We have eaten here many times. The food was excellent as usual. The service was horrible. First time we have experienced bad service; usually excellent. The dining room was way understaffed (2 wait staff) for the number of tables. In addition, our waitress appeared to have been barely trained. Long waits for waitress to appear, place settings, ordering, wine, etc. It would have been almost comical, but we had brought another couple who had never dined at Zia. I doubt they will return.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent chicken marsalla. Everyone enj ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Excellent chicken marsalla. Everyone enjoyed their entree, the waitress was attentive but not intrusive. We had an exceptional experience!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Reliable

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Zia's is consistently good. The menu doesn't change much, except for the specials, but there is enough there to satisfy everyone. There is also a very good wine list. Great place for a casual Italian dinner, and if you can land a place next to the fireplace, it can be good for a special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on December 17, 2015

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about Zia Marie, the food was amazing and the waitresses are great! So glad I found this place, it's a good way from my house but well worth the commute!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We took my mother here for her birthday. ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

We took my mother here for her birthday. They had a huge party of 20-30 when we got there but service was still quick... Maybe a little too quick. We got our salads approximately 1 minute before our entrees. That was disappointing. Overall, still great food, wine, ambiance... Hostess very friendly as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic!

Dined on December 2, 2015

Zia's is a "go to" anytime I have friends or family in town. The food is great, the wine list superb, and the staff are like family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

Terrible Service

Dined on November 15, 2015

We had a birthday dinner planned with a reservation. We were not seated for nearly an hour after our reservation. Our server was rude and messy.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious especially the roaste ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was delicious especially the roasted garlic and goat cheese appetizer!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.