Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

About Zia Marie

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Comfort Food (14)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fireplace (9)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is outstanding and consistent. The stuffed Eggplant is my favorite dish on the menu and is always great. The value relative to the amount of food you get is awesome! The restaurant is typically full and they're sometimes understaffed and unorganized, but nothing great food can't overcome. Great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was absolutely perfect!

We have been going to Zia Marie's for a few years now and we have never experienced anything but the best service and meals.

Don't change a thing!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Dinner was very good, and well priced. The service was not up to usual standards, we had to wait for drinks, wait for appetizers, wait for bread, wait for dinner, and finally wait and wait for the bill to pay.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere were great! Excellent service! Will definantly return!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Have been there three times now and have enjoyed each visit. Great food & hospitality!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It's like a tornado hit NJ, grabbed up the restaurant, & gently dropped it in the Shore Drive area. Tastes like home- best red sauce around.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My favorite Italian joint in VA Beach!! Great food and good wine! Love the goat cheese appetizer!!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

As always, the food was fresh and delicious.
However, our last two visits we have waited a while to be noticed once seated.
Once we have let the hostess know, both times our server has apologized and treated us very well.
It appears they could use one more server during the weekend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything was wonderful EXCEPT it was so hot in the restaurant. The garlic goat cheese app is always delightful. Our server was super nice. And our entrees and wine were perfect. As always. It was just too hot to eat. We were away from the sun coming in the windows too. Sitting in a booth. We asked our server to turn the AC on and she did but when we left, about 30 minutes later, we looked at the thermostat and it read 75 degrees. Hopefully just a fluke.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came in for Mother's Day with a group of 10 people. We all LOVED our food (portobellos and goat cheese apps followed by chicken parm, veal parm, eggplant parm, chicken Marsala, pizza and lasagna and of course cheese cake and tirimisu). Our service was amazing for the number of people we had in our group and for how busy the whole restaurant was. It was an awesome night! Thank you for making the moms in our group feel loved!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always Zia Marie did not disappoint. Awesome as always.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a lovely time at Zia's the other night. A family gathering of 8 people, and our waitress could not have been nicer or more patient. She had another large table (and others) at the same time and she handled all very well. There is a lot of teamwork with the wait/bus staff and we had everything we needed with all their help. The food was great as usual. Wonderful coffee! The only drawback was that as 7:30 approached, the room got very loud with conversation! Still a great place to eat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food for a great value! We moved in just down the street and have been 2 times and both times have been incredible. Great local, spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We absolutely LOVE Zia Marie! 2 out of the 3 times we have been to the restaurant, Collette has been our server and she is amazing. Her service truly makes the experience what it is for us. Everything always tastes so fresh and is so delicious. My grandpa raves about how his custom martini order is always made perfectly. The restaurant can get pretty loud on the weekends, but I think it's a great sign that so many people come to the restaurant and are enjoying themselves! I am so, so glad we discovered this gem of Chic's Beach!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great local restaurant. Friendly servers, super Italian food at a very reasonable price. It can get a bit noisy in there, that's about the only negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food and service are always outstanding. Great value with off the chart service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It's a goto for us and amazing food!!! We live at Chicks and we eat there a lot. This time we took the out of town family and it was as good as always!

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always, food was excellent, and we love the neighborhood "feel" of the place. Always seems to be consistent in service as well as the food.

Tags: Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place is always consistent. Wonderful food in a great atmosphere. A local gem in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

All around great night out! Thanks to chef & staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was good and timely, without being obvious. The food was okay, but nothing special. The spicing was relatively bland on the parmigiana but quite good on the spicy marinara (fradiablo). Entree pricing was reasonable, but a la carte; so if you want any salad or vegetables, they are extra.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was great, I had the seafood stuffed shells and they were delicious! The appletini was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Victoria is the best. Food consistency ,quality and price point. Local crowd

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great service great meal as always I recommend do you white lasagna it was awesome

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Caprese salad ... want balsamic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent menu, food was outstanding! Wine/cocktails left something to be desired (glasses look like they were taken from a grammar school cafeteria). Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came here for the second year in a row to carb load before the Shamrock Marathon and couldn't be more pleased. The food is amazing and the portions are generous. The atmosphere is cozy and comfortable and the service is excellent. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat. Did I mention that the food was outstanding???

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We go here often and love it.
The only negative is the noise level. It is sometimes off the charts.
But we keep going back for heir specials but most of all the "stuffed eggplant Parmesan"!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food is good, the service was awful. We had an older waitress that just wasn't polite and barely there. We had to constantly ask for things and she gave us a look every time. I'd still go again, but would avoid her. Unfortunately, I don't remember her name, but overall it's a good restaurant they just need to train their people better or hire the right people.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had an amazing time with the entire family celebrating our son'so birthday. Great food, service, and they even brought out the tiramisu with a candle in it for him 😀. Plenty of room for our group of 10! Definitely will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice clean restaurant. First time visit, ordered Caprese salad and veal parmigiana with penne.
The warm garlic bread was excellent, the Caprese salad was excellent, fresh tomatoes and Mozzorella. The veal was very disappointing. Hard coating, was cool to touch not steaming, very chewy. The marinara sauce was good on the penne and there was sufficient food. The pizza looked good from afar and if I go again would try that. I definitely don't recommend the veal parmigiana. Staff friendly, service was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was delicious as usual!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food every time. Our server we seem to get every time. She is a bit abrasive but does a good job. We just wish she was more warm and fuzzy. I don't think it's her personality though.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were very good. However, I would be unable to bring several of my family members because of the very limited vegan/vegetarian selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food & time. I brought my husband for the first time and he can't wait to come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love the neighborhood feel to Zia Marie but found the food average at best, the menu was non descript and written on a chalk board which couldnt be seen from anyone at our table. We ended up borrowing a single menu table tent from another table which we had to pass around between the 5 of us. As far as Italian food goes in Virginia Beach, you can find much better food at the same price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Zia Marie is a neighborhood institution that never disappoints in their quality of food delivery. That being said, this time we brought our 'elderly' parents and, unfortunately, there were several large, boisterous parties seated around us making it almost impossible to converse. Most of the meal was spent in awkward silence or yelling across the table so to be heard. We, of course, will be back...we've been coming here for almost 20 years, but don't think my parents enjoyed themselves too much.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was outstanding....Osso Buco was tasty an tender. Lobster crab lasagna was full of crab and lobster and very delicious.

Restaurant week was in play so the venue was packed, and the noise level extreme.

Service at first was great but as the tables filled the level of attentiveness suffered.

Would recommend though for the great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place good food good value. Extremely noisy. Wish they could do something about noise level.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.