Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.75mi

About Zia Marie

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Casual (23)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Cozy (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good, maybe a little more spices in my linguine with red and my husband white clam sauce, usually is very good. Service was excellent! great value! It's one of my favorite places to eat in all of Virginia Beach, VA!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We love Zia Marie! Food is consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Table was ready and waiting upon arrival. Service and food werr excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

One of our favorite places...great food....good service...go early in evening when it is not as noisy.....round tables seat six....perfect for conversation during dinner

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very good food good service had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good food and service. The homemade pasta and New York strip is always good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This gem of a restaurant is hidden in the Chick's Beach neighborhood. There is not a bad thing on the menu. And they do pizza to go or dine in. The Veal Saltimbocca is a must try.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went for our anniversary and had requested a quiet table. They were aware of our request and put us in a back corner. Unfortunately a table of about 6 on the other side of the restaurant was so loud we could hardly hear each other. Even after they finished, they stood around yelling to each other. It appeared that they had some connection to the restaurant and it surprised me they didn't show more consideration for other diners. This is our third and last time to the restaurant as each time it has been uncomfortably loud. The food was delicious so if you're into a loud venue, don't hesitate to book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved it!! Found my favorite wine! Hendrys 2015! Unoaked. Friendly experienced staff! Great location! A real gem! Will recommend!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Prices were higher then what was listed on their website. The place is tiny and way too many tables squeezed close together so it is very loud. Our waitress never checked back after delivering our meals, we never had water refilled until table was cleared. Food was good but We wouldnt visit again on a sunday evening during summer months.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good, reliable place to eat. Plenty of menu items for everyone, good wine and cocktail list. It can get noisy sometimes but it's easy to live with. Call ahead and try and get a table next to the fireplace in the winter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I've been to this place at least 100 times over the last 18 years. My favorite dish is the Chicken Marie. It's always a little different each time. Sometimes a lot of garlic, sometimes a little. Just right tonight. Lasagna was cheesy as usual. Bread is always awesome. Portions are more than generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of our favorite places for Italian food. Veal Parm is always tender and delicious. One of our party had the steak which was huge, yummy, and cooked to perfection! The noise level can be hard to handle on some evenings which is why we try to go early in the evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food for a great price. Fantastic service by Tori. Great neighborhood vibe. Also has the best pizza in Virginia Beach. Highly recommend the eggplant parmigiana and Greek salad.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent from NJ worth the drive! Tasty gravy! Get the mushroom appetizers! There so good. Love everything on the menu. Been going there for years. On weekends get there early gets busy

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I had eaten at Zia Marie's a long while back and really enjoyed it. However, this outing was not as good. The scallops were overcooked (rubbery), and the steak was tough and full of gristle. I was a little disappointed. The Eggplant Parmesan was pretty good, but it was not Zia Marie's best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

A neighborhood place that is energetic. leftovers. This is a local restaurant with restricted parking. It is extremely noisy and it is difficult to have a conversation at the table without raising your to hear each other.
Food tasty Italian, portions large enough for take-home. Service friendly and attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

My husband's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had a wonderful time here with our 3 older kids. Food portions are large so be prepared to split! Pizza is available as well! Will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Definitely worth a visit for lunch or dinner when you are in Virginia Beach. The ambience was relaxed and intimate. The food was delicious and a real value for the budget-minded. We will be frequent visitors when we visit Virginia Beach.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was my second visit although the food was good it appeared that our server was stretched as she struggled with maintaining the table. Also the restaurant just appeared dirty. The carpet was sticky on my shoes, there were stains on the napkins and if you looked around the salt and pepper shakers were empty. We enjoyed the food which was the main thing and will be back. My suggestion would be to add daily checklists to the operation and ensure the manager/owner reconciles daily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Delicious food, loved the selection. Didn't really care for not having menus, was a little hard to see the menu and most of us had to strain our necks to even access it. Service was good, our waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was the first time for some in our group and everyone agreeded that we would come back.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Fantastic fare pleasing even the most discriminating Italian Palette. Home made deserts and great pizza to go only add to the value proposition of this special corner of Chick's Beach Culture.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was good, service average and the temperature was unbearably cold.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food is always consistent and delicious. There is a great variety of wine to choose from as well. This is my favorite Italian restaurant! I definitely recommend using Open Table to make reservations as this restaurant is usually quite busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Overall, I like Zia Marie's. The menu was standard Italian fare, although I saw people ordering pizza but I didn't see it on the chalkboard menu. Our food was very tasty and I would definitely go back to try some of the other dishes. Our waitress left something to be desired, but that wouldn't stop me from returning another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

limited menu. steak was excellent but the lasagna was excessively cheesy. too much cheese and very little meat. bread was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Was ok nothing to really note. I was hoping for flavor filled Italian dishes. Was ok service was very good.

Pizza oven not working when we was there???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Waitress was amazing & went above and beyond. She even held out food at the bar while we went to the beach. Food was spectacular and with two entrees, a bottle of wine, and an appetizer it was very reasonably priced. Only downfall, is because it is a quaint place, it does tend to get noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food is outstanding and consistent. The stuffed Eggplant is my favorite dish on the menu and is always great. The value relative to the amount of food you get is awesome! The restaurant is typically full and they're sometimes understaffed and unorganized, but nothing great food can't overcome. Great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was absolutely perfect!

We have been going to Zia Marie's for a few years now and we have never experienced anything but the best service and meals.

Don't change a thing!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Dinner was very good, and well priced. The service was not up to usual standards, we had to wait for drinks, wait for appetizers, wait for bread, wait for dinner, and finally wait and wait for the bill to pay.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere were great! Excellent service! Will definantly return!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Have been there three times now and have enjoyed each visit. Great food & hospitality!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It's like a tornado hit NJ, grabbed up the restaurant, & gently dropped it in the Shore Drive area. Tastes like home- best red sauce around.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My favorite Italian joint in VA Beach!! Great food and good wine! Love the goat cheese appetizer!!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

As always, the food was fresh and delicious.
However, our last two visits we have waited a while to be noticed once seated.
Once we have let the hostess know, both times our server has apologized and treated us very well.
It appears they could use one more server during the weekend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.