About Zia Marie

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seafood Stuffed Shells - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • House Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Double Chocolate Cheese Cake - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • New York Strip Steak - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Lobster With Broccoli Rabe - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Greek Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Broiled Lamb Chops - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Spagetti And Meatballs - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA

Report a photo problem

Seafood Stuffed Shells - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
House Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Double Chocolate Cheese Cake - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
New York Strip Steak - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Lobster With Broccoli Rabe - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Greek Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Broiled Lamb Chops - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Spagetti And Meatballs - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (12)
See All
Fireplace (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Romantic (5)
Family Style (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seafood stuffed shells and asked for Alf ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 21 hours ago

Seafood stuffed shells and asked for Alfredo sauce. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated two of my grown childrens' ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated two of my grown childrens' birthdays at Zia Marie. The wine, food, and service were outstanding, as always! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Worth the Drive, , Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very surprised by location in residentia ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very surprised by location in residential neighborhood. Menu was written on chalkboard. Food quality was good. Not too much creativity in dishes. Ambiance was very relaxing. Was seated by fireplace. Wine selection ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

My wife's chicken parmesan was cold when ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife's chicken parmesan was cold when served. We've been there allot of times. Never had this problem before. It seemed like the kitchen was just pushing out as quick as possible. It was New Year's eve. I hope that was all it was. We really like the place.

Tags: , Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Italian food and service. My dad ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Italian food and service. My dad said it was the best Veal Marsala he has ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years eve

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service was excellent we love g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and Service was excellent we love going to Zia's. Always great homeade taste and great atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions, good food and nice cozy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Large portions, good food and nice cozy ambiance. There homemade tiramisu was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit. Did not disappoint. Food a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Second visit. Did not disappoint. Food and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always the food was excellent. The ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always the food was excellent. The restaurant was understaffed for the evening. The restaurant was full and there were only 2 waitresses on staff. The waitresses had to wait and bus their own tables. Despite the situation our waitress was friendly and as attentive as could be expected. All of our orders were correct as were the two checks. The waitress did keep the bread and adult beverages on the table to keep us content while waiting for our dinners! It is still one of my favorite places to dine and we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lasagna and house salad. Portions are bi ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Lasagna and house salad. Portions are big so we split them (we're old). Always excellent taste, good service.

Tags: , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Upon arriving, the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was very good. Upon arriving, the hostess offered us a seat near the door with only 3 chairs for a party of four. We balked at it and she sat us at one of the 5 empty 4 top tables further from the door...much better. The server was very knowledgeable but very hurried to serve the customers she was responsible for. Once we ordered the drinks, salads and entree... the drinks and salads came out at about average time frame. The entree took awhile...pretty long actually, but it was of excellent quality. Chicken was tender, pasta was cooked perfectly, the tuna was perfect and tasted great. We did wait quite a while for dessert. After we were finished with coffee, it was a very long time before the check was presented, picked up and brought back to our table. The noise was VERY HIGH. We could barely carry on a conversation at our table. For that reason (the noise), it is unlikely that we would every return to this restaurant. We live in Greenbrier, so it took us a while to get there...the food was worth it, but the noise level soured the entire evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Good food and drinks. One of my favorite ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food and drinks. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night. Accomodating and attentive ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great night. Accomodating and attentive service. Parking..not so much but had worse. Great food. Can lose pick!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was cozy and quaint. The st ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The ambiance was cozy and quaint. The staff was friendly. The food was delicious and the portions were very generous. They had a great selection, however no calamari (insert sad face). I definitely plan to come again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

IT was Saturday night the place was ful ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

IT was Saturday night the place was full. The food was not good especially the Lazania. The service was very bad I had to ask for the menu and the answer was that it was in the board and i had to take a picture of it in order to be able to order. They brought the butter without any knife or bread and we had to ask many times for that. The waiting time was more than the usual and again the service was not what we expect. The prices regarding the overall service was high. It is too bad i will not recommended to any body. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food for a great price. A good cha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Good food for a great price. A good change from the chain Italian restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there numerous times and have alway ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Been there numerous times and have always had a great meal and experience. On this last visit, I ordered the Chicken Piccata (never ordered it before) - it was fantastic! Can't wait to have it again!

Yes, the place has some acoustics issues, but a visit here is well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This is a family friendly restaurant wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a family friendly restaurant with yummy Italian food. It is very affordable with Friendly service and a fun ambience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

We had a wonderful evening. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. We enjoyed visiting with each other and the food was really fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is typically excellent and rea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food is typically excellent and reasonably priced. You just have to put up with the high noise level which sometimes makes it challenging to hear others at your own table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We went out to celebrate a special event ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We went out to celebrate a special event with great friends! It happened to be wine night which was an added bonus.

As always the the service was excellent and food delicious!

I highly recommend the stuffed eggplant. All six of us were highly satisfied with our meals and the service. Has a nice "locals vibe."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place I recommended all the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fantastic place I recommended all the time. You have to order the fried cheese appetizer it is so good

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner, as always, with our serv ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed dinner, as always, with our server Victoria. A group of very LOUD drunks came in and provided our "entertainment" for the evening. They served them very quickly in order to get them out. Always an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Xiang Marie's is a local yokal place tha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Xiang Marie's is a local yokal place that never lets you down for authenticity and FANTASTIC cuisine each and every time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. Good fo ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been in a very long time and fou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had not been in a very long time and found the food just as I remembered, excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were told not to get a pizza because ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were told not to get a pizza because they take an hour. The same waitress tells us this each time. Amazingly the pizza was ready when the food came out. Not sure what's in the seafood shells. Not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was terrible. Ordered the rockfish ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was terrible. Ordered the rockfish special. Never have I had rockfish that tasted so bad. Waitress saw that I didn't eat it and said nothing. Plus, we were with small children and were told the pizzas were small. Not true. She wasn't happy when we told her not to bring the second pizza. No way 3 little ones could eat even one!!!

Extremely loud and our waitress just wasn't equipped to handle all of her tables. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and all 9 of us were VERY disappointed. We will NOT be returning. Sorry about that because we always want to support a local business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Portobello app, stuffed eggplant, chicke ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Portobello app, stuffed eggplant, chicken marsala, tiramisu. Any mixed drink. Good times.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food, great service. Love goin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, great service. Love going there with family and friends. Great place to sit at the bar and have appetizers if you choose.

Tags: , Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zia's never disappoints. They have some ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Zia's never disappoints. They have something for everyone on their menu. We love it here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool family dining experience with my in ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cool family dining experience with my in laws. Everyone loved their food.. especially the New York Strip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very dependable neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very dependable neighborhood restaurant with a very good wine list. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was wonderful but our server made u ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was wonderful but our server made us feel unwelcome and as if serving us was something she genuinely didn't want to do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This is a favorite of ours. We had out o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a favorite of ours. We had out of town guests who had not dined there before & they really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Entirely too noisy! Good food. Chalk b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Entirely too noisy! Good food. Chalk board menu difficult to read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.