About Zia Marie

4497 Lookout Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
View Larger Map

Over a decade ago we were inspired to create a restaurant that welcomes, entertains and nourishes our customers the Italian way, like family. Known to the locals as Zia's, this quaint neighborhood restaurant is located just blocks from the Chesapeake Bay, nestled in the heart of Chic's Beach. Specializing in authentic Italian cuisine, the chalkboard menu features an array of flavorful chicken, veal, beef and seafood dishes made with the freshest ingredients. Weekly additions of seasonal fair, featured wines, and homemade desserts bolster more traditional menu selections. Family and friends enjoy casual dining with great food, a well rounded wine list, and specialty martinis at an excellent value. Salute!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 460-0715

Website:
http://zia-marie.com/

Parking Details:
Small parking lot with ample on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Bill Minder

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seafood Stuffed Shells - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • House Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Double Chocolate Cheese Cake - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • New York Strip Steak - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Lobster With Broccoli Rabe - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Greek Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Broiled Lamb Chops - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Spagetti And Meatballs - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Seafood Stuffed Shells - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
House Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Double Chocolate Cheese Cake - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
New York Strip Steak - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Roasted Garlic And Goat Cheese - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Lobster With Broccoli Rabe - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Greek Salad - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Broiled Lamb Chops - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA
Spagetti And Meatballs - Zia Marie, Virginia Beach, VA

Zia Marie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (9)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fireplace (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

IT was Saturday night the place was ful ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

IT was Saturday night the place was full. The food was not good especially the Lazania. The service was very bad I had to ask for the menu and the answer was that it was in the board and i had to take a picture of it in order to be able to order. They brought the butter without any knife or bread and we had to ask many times for that. The waiting time was more than the usual and again the service was not what we expect. The prices regarding the overall service was high. It is too bad i will not recommended to any body. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food for a great price. A good cha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Good food for a great price. A good change from the chain Italian restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there numerous times and have alway ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Been there numerous times and have always had a great meal and experience. On this last visit, I ordered the Chicken Piccata (never ordered it before) - it was fantastic! Can't wait to have it again!

Yes, the place has some acoustics issues, but a visit here is well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This is a family friendly restaurant wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a family friendly restaurant with yummy Italian food. It is very affordable with Friendly service and a fun ambience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

We had a wonderful evening. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. We enjoyed visiting with each other and the food was really fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is typically excellent and rea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food is typically excellent and reasonably priced. You just have to put up with the high noise level which sometimes makes it challenging to hear others at your own table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We went out to celebrate a special event ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We went out to celebrate a special event with great friends! It happened to be wine night which was an added bonus.

As always the the service was excellent and food delicious!

I highly recommend the stuffed eggplant. All six of us were highly satisfied with our meals and the service. Has a nice "locals vibe."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place I recommended all the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fantastic place I recommended all the time. You have to order the fried cheese appetizer it is so good

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner, as always, with our serv ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed dinner, as always, with our server Victoria. A group of very LOUD drunks came in and provided our "entertainment" for the evening. They served them very quickly in order to get them out. Always an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Xiang Marie's is a local yokal place tha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Xiang Marie's is a local yokal place that never lets you down for authenticity and FANTASTIC cuisine each and every time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. Good fo ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been in a very long time and fou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had not been in a very long time and found the food just as I remembered, excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were told not to get a pizza because ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were told not to get a pizza because they take an hour. The same waitress tells us this each time. Amazingly the pizza was ready when the food came out. Not sure what's in the seafood shells. Not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was terrible. Ordered the rockfish ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was terrible. Ordered the rockfish special. Never have I had rockfish that tasted so bad. Waitress saw that I didn't eat it and said nothing. Plus, we were with small children and were told the pizzas were small. Not true. She wasn't happy when we told her not to bring the second pizza. No way 3 little ones could eat even one!!!

Extremely loud and our waitress just wasn't equipped to handle all of her tables. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and all 9 of us were VERY disappointed. We will NOT be returning. Sorry about that because we always want to support a local business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Portobello app, stuffed eggplant, chicke ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Portobello app, stuffed eggplant, chicken marsala, tiramisu. Any mixed drink. Good times.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food, great service. Love goin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, great service. Love going there with family and friends. Great place to sit at the bar and have appetizers if you choose.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zia's never disappoints. They have some ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Zia's never disappoints. They have something for everyone on their menu. We love it here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool family dining experience with my in ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cool family dining experience with my in laws. Everyone loved their food.. especially the New York Strip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very dependable neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very dependable neighborhood restaurant with a very good wine list. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was wonderful but our server made u ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was wonderful but our server made us feel unwelcome and as if serving us was something she genuinely didn't want to do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This is a favorite of ours. We had out o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a favorite of ours. We had out of town guests who had not dined there before & they really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Entirely too noisy! Good food. Chalk b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Entirely too noisy! Good food. Chalk board menu difficult to read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It's too bad that the place is SO noisy, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's too bad that the place is SO noisy, because other than that, it's great. I wish they could find a way to reduce that noise-we had to practically shout at each other to be heard. Love it otherwise though, and great food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always outstanding! Service wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food is always outstanding! Service was great and our server really knew the menu! The special dinner entree was the best tuna I have had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brought a friend here for a special occa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Brought a friend here for a special occasion and we absolutely loved it. The portabella mushrooms are to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently excellent Italian Cuisine. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Consistently excellent Italian Cuisine. Love this place...can't wait to return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my wife and 1 year old daughter ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brought my wife and 1 year old daughter in there and had a very good dining experience. They were very accommodating to a small child and the food was very good (as usual).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Zia Marie. Food was o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My first visit to Zia Marie. Food was outstanding!! Very quaint, yet vibrant setting. Wait staff was super. Recommend to anyone. Parking can be a problem, but once that hurdle is overcome, the rest of your night will be spectacular.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, service prompt and f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was very good, service prompt and friendly. Only issue was Resturant was very noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We started with cocktails. I had a doubl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We started with cocktails. I had a double Crown Royal and the wife had a vodka martini. Both drinks were promptly served and well made. We order the Roasted Garlic w/ Goat Cheese appetizer to share. This appetizer was large enough to share and was very tasty. For our entrees I had the spaghetti with meatballs and my wife had the stuffed eggplant. The spaghetti with meatballs was very good. I would order it again. My wife thought the stuffed eggplant was light on the spinach and the eggplant was sliced too thin. The dish was primarily marinara sauce and cheese, not enough of the vegetables. Overall we had a great time the restaurants' ambience is fun and festive and the service was very good. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved everything we had to eat. The mars ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved everything we had to eat. The marsala sauce is unbelievable!

The eggplant WOW!

We had leftovers which was great for the next night.

We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the food. This time the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We really enjoy the food. This time the bread was a bit to hard with the goat cheese app but other than that it was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed in the food on my last visi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Disappointed in the food on my last visit. Seems like the quality of the moz was lowered in the fried moz app and the veal saltimbocca. The wine used to finish this veal dish also seemed to be of lesser quality. A change from spag to thin spag was noted and not appreciated additionally the red sauce recipe seemed to have been changed. not as rich seemed watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Always good. Nothing fancy, just good fo ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always good. Nothing fancy, just good food and service. Lasagna and salad. Plenty of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was ex ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was good but the service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely delicious! Great service, sea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolutely delicious! Great service, seated quickly, gourmet selections with reasonable pricing. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! G ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Zia Maria is an awesome Italian place! Great low key area! Relaxed dinning! Fabulous food and service! Go and check it out! After dinner take a nice walk in the beach and take in the beautiful senary!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.