Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Yuwa Japanese Cuisine (fka Zest Restaurant)

The Best Upscale Japanese Restaurant
- Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Award
Gold Wine List Award
- Vancouver International Wine Festival

Zest is located in upscale neighbourhood of Vancouver
West-side. Atmosphere is elegant and serene such as Japanese simplicity combined with sensuality and elements drawn straight from West Coast landscape. The menu items are mix of traditional Japanese and adventurous with European flare. Presentation is decidedly modern. Chef's Omakase Course (up to the chef menu - requires min 24 hour prior reservation) containing 7 to 8 courses of chef's special creations using seasonal local ingredients is a must have item here. Or you may choose number of small plates accompanying with your wine and sake from the award winning wine/sake list.

2775 W. 16th Ave
Vancouver, BC V6k 3C3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mcdonald St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 731-9378

Website:
http://www.zestjapanese.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building off 16th or at the back of the building accessing from Mcdonald St to the back alley. Or there are plenty of free parking along 16th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Tatsuya Katagiri

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer winemaker's dinner or sake maker's dinner throughout the year. Please see out Facebook page or website for the details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Zest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.7

value

4.7

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
See All
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had the omakase with sake pairing, was excellent.
Looking forward to next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Japanese food at its best. The food is authentic and prepared just as it would be in Japan--one of our favorite vacation spots. The menu has fresh sheet changes every week. We have never been disappointed. The staff is over the top, and we love eating there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Some dishes were fantastic and none were less than good. But they enter a hiatus on Saturday and will open with a new chef in a month or so, so look for newer reviews after June 2017.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a very good but not excellent japanese restaurant. I was suggested to eat some of the nigiri as is but found them to lack on texture; maybe if i had added some soy sauce and wasabi, they would have tasted better. Lastly the restaurant is not a good value at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was divine. The seasonal menu is worth focussing on as each dish takes on locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was very good. Unfortunately, we were seated at the sushi bar which meant that the service was spotty (at one point I had to get up to get my own water) and occasionally the waitresses would yell orders to the sushi chefs over our heads which was annoying.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I think it's over rated. The price is quite high and the portion is very small. We spent $300 for six of us and we still felt hungry after. We decided to pay the bill and finished the meal at a local noodles place.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The taste of food is excellent. The servers are nice and attentive. The dessert is a bonus and out of expect tasty. It's a kind of Japanese-western fusion cuisine, a little bit pricey since the portion of food is small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very cozy place.... great food and atmosphere...!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

over-rating, quite expensive but the food is not valued. order a fresh tuna belly ( $38 ) , it is not fresh, 5 small tiny piece, colour is not good and taste worse. other food is normal, not good and not bad. but the green tea cake is quite good.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall, we had a lovely dinner. The sea bass was by far our favourite dish. I was a little disappointed that the four piece sashimi dish was served with Albacore, not Ahi, which is so much better. The California and Dynamite rolls were not exceptional. The service was great; however, we felt a little rushed. It's nice to linger over each dish, but sometimes a new dish was served before we completed the previous course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service! Definitely worth trying out!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Terrific as always. The seasonal menu offers sensational dishes - each one a unique flavor & texture - delicious on the palate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loved it. Tempura fiddlehead greens amazing. Salad on spring menu beautiful. Rolls delish. Seafood very fresh.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Romantic setting. Always delicious consistent great quality food with beautiful presentation and attentive friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was delish! We tried the tasting menu and everything tasted so good we ordered a couple side dishes of what was already included in the tasting. The portions are on the small side, and likely for sharing, but worth the try to see what Zest is all about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great Japanese style service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 17, 2017

beautiful, precise food with great wines to match!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

After visiting Zest I can understand why it so highly rated. The service at Zest was top notch and the food albeit pricey was delicious. The sashimi was fresh but I thought that the rolls were over priced compared to other sushi restaurants in the city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

In one word: Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

in a city of amazing sushi, just felt this was a bit overblown in way - i think there are better choices out there as far as value and amazing sushi - the server we had was absolutely amazing though, she was on her game - she is the only reason , i'm taking the time to write this review.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Zest is my favourite restaurant and on this occasion, I took an out-of-town friend who loves innovative fabulous food. I was worried I'd built Zest up too much and he might be disappointed but he wasn't - he loved it, loved everything we ate, and wished he'd been able to try more dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a very wonderful evening great service,great food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Nice place but pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Yoshisan has put together the single best Japanese Restaurant in Vancouver. It has all of the elements of the best of the best. Have been here many times and tried virtually all of the menu which changes frequently.
bobban

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I can see why Zest is rated in the top tier for Vancouver's Japanese restaurants. Unbelievable sashimi and overall excellent, creative food. The atmosphere was beautiful but relaxed, and the service was on point. We'll certainly be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went there to celebrate my husband's dinner. We were first time been there. The food was really good and flesh. The waiter provided good service. We'll be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was absolutely amazing! Extremely attentive staff. This is a lovely restaurant that would be perfect for a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have gone to Zest a number of times and have always been impressed with the menu, food and service. Truly an exceptional restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved the addition of the fresh sheet. Disappointed that one of the items we wanted was sold out. Outstanding selection of Saki although quite pricey. Rave reviews on all the items we ordered. Bravo Zest!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fresh food, innovatively prepared. Thoughtful service, without being intrusive. It was very nice celebration of my wife's birthday. We will certainly come back and dine at Zest more often!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Zest is amazing! The menu is very unique and the taste is perfect. Great service as well as a nice wine list. A ten year Tawny topped it off.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love the food very tasty with fresh ingredients . Very nice presentation. My family who are great fan of Japanese food from out of town enjoyed it very much. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

a bit cheaper than I thought it would be , the food was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall experience was great except the food takes too long to serve.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fresh seafood, good selection of daily specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall, my Zest experience was a good one; however there were one too many dishes that underwhelemed and I left feeling as though I didn't get a strong value for what I spent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing service with a very impressive seasonal, drinks and regular menu. I enjoyed every dish especially the Live Uni Sashimi, Four Kinds of Sashimi Platter, Prosciutto wrapped Persimmon Tempura and Green Tea Matcha TiraMisu. Reservations were easy to make on short notice as our previous dinner reservations were abruptly cancelled thanks to Sushi Maumi's very aggressive reservation policy. Looking forward to returning to Zest again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Simply perfection. Repeat simply perfection. Repeat simply perfection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.