About Zest Restaurant

2775 W. 16th Ave
Vancouver, BC V6k 3C3
View Larger Map

The Best Upscale Japanese Restaurant
- Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Award
Gold Wine List Award
- Vancouver International Wine Festival

Zest is located in upscale neighbourhood of Vancouver
West-side. Atmosphere is elegant and serene such as Japanese simplicity combined with sensuality and elements drawn straight from West Coast landscape. The menu items are mix of traditional Japanese and adventurous with European flare. Presentation is decidedly modern. Chef's Omakase Course (up to the chef menu - requires min 24 hour prior reservation) containing 7 to 8 courses of chef's special creations using seasonal local ingredients is a must have item here. Or you may choose number of small plates accompanying with your wine and sake from the award winning wine/sake list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mcdonald St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 731-9378

Website:
http://www.zestjapanese.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building off 16th or at the back of the building accessing from Mcdonald St to the back alley. Or there are plenty of free parking along 16th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Tatsuya Katagiri

Private Party Facilities:
Zest has hosted private parties of many Vancouverites throughout the year. Our experienced catering consultants will assist you with all aspects of your event including wine pairing with award winning Japanese cuisine. Easy access from D/T (10 minutes drive) with plenty of private parking available

Private Party Contact:
Wine Director: 6047319378x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer winemaker's dinner or sake maker's dinner throughout the year. Please see out Facebook page or website for the details

Restaurant Photos

  • Green Tea Tiramisu - Zest Restaurant, Vancouver, BC
Green Tea Tiramisu - Zest Restaurant, Vancouver, BC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Zest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
6 More
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver
Japanese
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Tapas (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

a bit cheaper than I thought it would be ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

a bit cheaper than I thought it would be , the food was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh seafood, good selection of daily s ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fresh seafood, good selection of daily specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Overall, my Zest experience was a good o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall, my Zest experience was a good one; however there were one too many dishes that underwhelemed and I left feeling as though I didn't get a strong value for what I spent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing service with a very impressive s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing service with a very impressive seasonal, drinks and regular menu. I enjoyed every dish especially the Live Uni Sashimi, Four Kinds of Sashimi Platter, Prosciutto wrapped Persimmon Tempura and Green Tea Matcha TiraMisu. Reservations were easy to make on short notice as our previous dinner reservations were abruptly cancelled thanks to Sushi Maumi's very aggressive reservation policy. Looking forward to returning to Zest again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply perfection. Repeat simply perfect ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Simply perfection. Repeat simply perfection. Repeat simply perfection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at Zest was really a memo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our first time at Zest was really a memorable occasion. The food was divine, the server was very attentive and informative. She made many helpful suggestions. The food portions were small ( we knew this before going ) but attractive and very tasty. We will go again as a special occasion destination. Patricia A.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasty, refined and artistic. A little oa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Tasty, refined and artistic. A little oasis far away from Crazy town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Zest's daily specials are extraordinary. ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Zest's daily specials are extraordinary. You won't find similar dishes anywhere else. They are always delicious.

The service is always very graceful and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Scallop sashimi is very fresh and tasty. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Scallop sashimi is very fresh and tasty. The food presentation is amazing. I would definitely come back for me. A bit pricy, but well worth it. You get what you paid for.

Tags: Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Their daly sheets keep this restaurant i ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Their daly sheets keep this restaurant interesting. The wagyubeef salad was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and food quality were impecc ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service and food quality were impeccable. Creative plates. Every bite was a treat. Great value for the quality.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zest is a place one goes to experience a ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Zest is a place one goes to experience a very upscale aspect to Japanese food. It is very small and we were one of the only tables not occupied by a local. Every dish was expertly prepared and the service is, if anything, obsequious. While the sushi quality is superb, we were not blown away by the flavors. The price point here may be a big drawback for some diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Food excellent, speed/quality of service ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food excellent, speed/quality of service not so. Waited a LONG time to receive our order. A great restaurant service would proactively apologize for the delay....but the management did not seem to care as if we should be so lucky to be dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautifully presented and flavourful foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Beautifully presented and flavourful food in a modern setting. Small, intimate space that's not suitable for children, although they accommodated us graciously. Will not bring the kiddo next time so we can better enjoy the cuisine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love Zest - we find it has the best blen ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Love Zest - we find it has the best blend of traditional and modern Japanese food. Sashimi is almost always excellent - with one exception of the uni being a bit off on our last visit. Service is fairly friendly but spotty - not as attentive as you'd expect/hope for at those prices. With that said, it is still one of our favourite Japanese restaurants in Vancouver in a cozy space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Greet sushi, pleasant atmosphere, excell ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Greet sushi, pleasant atmosphere, excellent service.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great foods!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great foods!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food. uni shooter - the combinatio ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

great food. uni shooter - the combination between mountain potato, quail eggs and uni was amazing. also had one of the fattiest hamachi i've had in vancouver - which was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have not been this impressed by a meal ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I have not been this impressed by a meal in a very long time. Authentic Japanese undertones meet fresh, local ingredients with a creative twist. If you're looking for that cookie-cutter, Western Japanese food you get everywhere else, you won't get it here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've been to Zes ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is the second time I've been to Zest. The first time I went, the food was excellent. Lots of flavour, and every dish was amazing. I was really looking forward to our meal there. This time, the food had little to no flavour at all. The ingredients were high quality, so the lack of flavour was a big disappointment. We ordered about 6-8 dishes, and only about 1-2 were good. If there was just a bit of seasoning or some flavour, they would have been so delicious. One of the rolls was $27, and I feel that it was worth $18 at the very most, as there was no flavour. The server was the best thing about the meal. She was very friendly and helpful in choosing dishes for us. I will be going back to Miku from now on, as their food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Wonderful food, drinks and service

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful food, drinks and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been there for a few years; t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I haven't been there for a few years; they were always good, but have since upped their game.

You probably can't go wrong. We had half a dozen things, and not only was there not a weak item, there was not a weak ingredient; clearly a high degree of attention to sourcing. Every mouthful was an experience to be savored. The portions were small, but the flavours intense and engrossing, so it really didn't feel like we needed more afterward. And while not cheap, the bill was about half of what I was expecting for that quality. Good service too, in that unobtrusive but very polite and engaging Japanese waitress genre.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our fourth visit to Zest and as ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Zest and as before our dinner was delicious!!

Presentation of our food was very appealing, service is always attentive and helpful in guiding our selection of saki.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant but you are not getting the usual sushi selections here.

We are already planning our next visit and we're bringing friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like Zest as a nice treat; a special ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We like Zest as a nice treat; a special place that our family looks forward to. It is expensive enough that it is not a frequent destination, but we also feel that we get very good value for our money.

What we enjoy is that everything that comes to the table is a delight; each dish seems carefully crafted, and is an individual experience. It is also nice to eat small bits and bites slowly, taking time to enjoy each dish.

The service and atmosphere are a very nice combination of gracious and casual- that itself is a special skill.

On our last visit three of us had dinner with a bottle of wine. The bill was about $150.00 before tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zest remains one of our very favourite r ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Zest remains one of our very favourite restaurants-- and hands down our favourite Japanese restaurant. The food is fresh, creative, and immaculate in presentation. Prices are reasonable for a high-end restaurant. Service is very attentive. We'll be back, again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place blew us away. This was the be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This place blew us away. This was the best sushi we have had in Vancouver, comparable to a top (Michelin rated) sushi place in Tokyo.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is very delicious however on the ex ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is very delicious however on the expensive side and the dishes small. The menu is rather limited.

Very busy place and they seem to have regular customers willing to pay that price for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We requested a certain table on Open Tab ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We requested a certain table on Open Table, but the server stated it did not show on our reservation special requests. Unfortunately the couple ahead of us were given the table we wanted. We had a nice table.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was looking for a modern Japanese rest ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2016

I was looking for a modern Japanese restaurant to take my boyfriend out to for his birthday and read excellent reviews about Zest. I'm so glad I picked this place because the food was exceptionally fresh and flavourful, and service was attentive and top notch. Quality of quantity definitely won the game here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and excellent! Like ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was delicious and excellent! Like the variety that you rarely see and experience! Really enjoyed seeing some fishes flown from Japan and oysters flown in from New Zealand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One could tell only best ingredients are ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

One could tell only best ingredients are used in this restaurant. I have been going to this restaurant since it opened and the food is always fresh and delicious. Presentation is simple in a good way..you could tell the food is the focus. Service is always fantastic . Portions are a a bit on the small range but i would rather have good food than quantity, :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love this place for a nigh ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I love this place for a night out. The stuffed zucchini blossom, nasu gomae, and sushi were all amazing -- and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Signature tuna roll is awesome!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Signature tuna roll is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh, interesting and deli ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fresh, interesting and delicious. I particularly recommend ordering off the seasonal menu as every dish we tried was delicious.

The service was impeccable. Our server was entertaining and informative without being intrusive. Her recommendations were spot on as were the recommendations of the Sake Sommelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food was fresh and appeared to b ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

All the food was fresh and appeared to be made to order. Ingredients were flavorful. Presentation was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As usual, the food and service were exce ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usual, the food and service were exceptional. We have been dining at Zest for years and never have we been disappointed with any aspect of the restaurant. Truly an amazing feat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is such a great restaurant for the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is such a great restaurant for the food, top-notch service, and an excellent menu with interesting selections such as the Beef Croquette (seasonal offering), Sautéed Mushroom Salad and Green Tea Cream. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to enjoy a wonderful meal with others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a lovely dinner on July 10th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely dinner on July 10th. The new appetizers - stuffed zucchini blossoms & halibut cheeks were delicious ! Sashimi is very fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love foods, wine lists and very nice ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love foods, wine lists and very nice services.

Authentic Japanese menu.

I will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here before, and they have yet ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been here before, and they have yet to disappoint. It is a bit of a distance to get there, but worth the drive. My wife and never eaten at Zest before so it was on her list of restaurants to try out. She had already decided that we were coming back before we had even left the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.