About Zest Restaurant

2775 W. 16th Ave
Vancouver, BC V6k 3C3
View Larger Map

The Best Upscale Japanese Restaurant
- Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Award
Gold Wine List Award
- Vancouver International Wine Festival

Zest is located in upscale neighbourhood of Vancouver
West-side. Atmosphere is elegant and serene such as Japanese simplicity combined with sensuality and elements drawn straight from West Coast landscape. The menu items are mix of traditional Japanese and adventurous with European flare. Presentation is decidedly modern. Chef's Omakase Course (up to the chef menu - requires min 24 hour prior reservation) containing 7 to 8 courses of chef's special creations using seasonal local ingredients is a must have item here. Or you may choose number of small plates accompanying with your wine and sake from the award winning wine/sake list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mcdonald St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 731-9378

Website:
http://www.zestjapanese.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building off 16th or at the back of the building accessing from Mcdonald St to the back alley. Or there are plenty of free parking along 16th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Tatsuya Katagiri

Private Party Facilities:
Zest has hosted private parties of many Vancouverites throughout the year. Our experienced catering consultants will assist you with all aspects of your event including wine pairing with award winning Japanese cuisine. Easy access from D/T (10 minutes drive) with plenty of private parking available

Private Party Contact:
Wine Director: 6047319378x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer winemaker's dinner or sake maker's dinner throughout the year. Please see out Facebook page or website for the details

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Zest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver / British Columbia
6 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Japanese
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

fit for foodies (44)
special occasion (38)
neighborhood gem (36)
See All
romantic (20)
good for groups (12)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zest never lets us down. We have tried m ...

Dined 7 days ago

Zest never lets us down. We have tried many restaurants in the city and zest is our favorite. The food is exceptional and the whole dining experience is elegant and flawless. The service is unobtrusive . I can't wait to go back. We loved the oysters, the ceviche, the schnitzel was fabulous. The simplest of rolls are divine. The restaurant just gets better. Also one of our party has s nut allergy and the restaurant was very careful .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We really like the food there. It's very ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We really like the food there. It's very fresh and tasty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Best sushi

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Delicious dishes, friendly but SLOW service

Dined on May 5, 2016

I loved the braised rapini, fresh sheet for spring (fiddle heads, wild local sea bass) and delicious sake choices. We didn't even use the regular menu - there were over 20 options on the fresh sheet and each dish was delicious. Not cheap, but good value as everything was seasoned perfectly and very fresh. The place was full with lots of staff, but service was very slow. We had to ask staffer for a drink after waiting about 10 minutes, and didn't get our first dish until we had been there for 30 minutes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Service with High Quality of Sashimi!

Dined on April 4, 2016

First time to try Zest Restaurant and have nothing to say except excellent food and service. The scallop sashimi was excellent....by far the best so far. Great service & very good ambiance. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys fine dinning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the omakase menu, for which you h ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had the omakase menu, for which you had to book 24 hours in advance. This is our favorite way to dine as you never know what is coming. You get surprise upon surprise. This omakase did not disappoint. Well-thought out dishes, fresh ingredients, great service. All good quality seafood/meat with almost no carb fillers. We tried premium sake (ginjo) and it worked very well with the meal. Chef was friendly and approachable. Will be back!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

PC

Dined on March 31, 2016

Very good , delicious and fresh food with attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

The roll and the nigiri disappointed me ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

The roll and the nigiri disappointed me , it took 30-40 mins for one special roll. They gotta improve the efficiency of the sushi bar. Took way too long

food5
ambience5
service5

So good! The place is a little bit hard ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

So good! The place is a little bit hard to find but totally worth it! Next time I'm gonna try the chef's choice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Along with quiet and unique atmosphere a ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Along with quiet and unique atmosphere and quality food, the waitress was knowledgeable about the menu by giving us great recommendation and efficient at little things. More rommy parking would be a convenient plus.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good.

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Get the karaage, but try some of the daily specials. Best service in town? Hard to find better, that's for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions are small but they taste gr ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The portions are small but they taste great! Staff are all very friendly and helpful, they are also quite knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The wild sockey salmon sashimi and the c ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The wild sockey salmon sashimi and the chicken karaage were outstanding. Great service and fantastic food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We came here as a family for a special o ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We came here as a family for a special occasion. The staff noted this and gave us one free dessert for the table, in acknowledgment, which was nice. The food itself was good, but I still find it hard to justify the price tag. Highly recommend the tuna 3 ways and the 4 signature sashimi.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Spectacular neighbourhood gem!

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Great spot for foodies. Wonderful presentation and simple dishes brought to life with amazing flavours and creative presentation. Service was attentive, but not intrusive to the diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Japanese food in Vancouver

Dined on January 18, 2016

Zest has the best high-end Japanese food in Vancouver. The menu is extensive, with everything from chicken kara-age to sushi and sashimi to age-dashi-gomadoufu to miso-marinated black cod, with seasonal fish and vegetable specials that constantly change. On multiple visits I have never had a bad or even a mediocre dish. The regular menu highlights are the uni shooters, the beer pickles, the black cod, and the sashimi or sushi, but everything is good. The atmosphere is quiet and elegant in a Japanese style, without feeling pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

$60 set menu made us really full, good value.

Dined on January 16, 2016

Sashimi salad was great. Tempura could have been bit more crunchy, but we did not expect to have 2 shrimp tempura. I am now curious their omakase course.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great set dinner menu

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

Having had the smaller Tasting Menu a few times, I decided to try the Dinner Menu ($60). My friend and I sat at the sushi bar and watched Yoshisan slice fish for sushi and sashimi all evening. You can read about the dishes in the online menu. The dishes were all well prepared to be visually appealing, had straight forward, clean flavours and various textures -- from the chewiness of octopus to crunchiness of fish roe. Tempura batter was light. Four pieces of nigiri sushi were bite sized and perfect at the end of the meal. Compared to any multi-course meal at at "western" restaurant, this was good value. Service was attentive and friendly without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best there is in Vancouver

Dined on January 13, 2016

We recently spent two weeks in Japan. Seeing expert sushi chefs there at work reinforced our absolute awe at the expertise of the chefs at Zest and excellence of its menu. The food is authentic Japanese and as good as the best in Japan in presentation, menu choices and use of regional and seasonal foods to complement the standard menu. There is always a pre printed menu plus an additional fresh sheet of what is special for the day and season so Zest also is part of the 100 mile, Slow Food movement throughtout the world. Our under three year old granddaughter was with us, and loves the food, too. It is our #1 Japanese food choice, and worth the slightly higher price points. Terrific sake and beer, and lovely wine list. Green tea is cream is yummy. Waitresses are Japanese and do well trained.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing quality!

Dined on January 10, 2016

We had a great experience! Everything was very good, from service to food. High quality ingredients makes homemade products even better. I totally recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on December 27, 2015

Zest has such a restful and beautiful atmosphere. The dishes are innovative and lovingly prepared. The service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on December 23, 2015

This is the perfect Japanese restaurant, the food is immaculate and the service is beyond awesome. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great sushi

Dined on December 19, 2015

Great food and service. Only complain is they charged full price of dessert when we upgraded from course menu.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good, not great

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Our experience at Zest was good but not great. I wasn't sure why the reviews were glowing. The food and service was nice but not super memorable and the ambiance was average as well. I can imagine that it's a popular neighborhood spot but I'm not sure I'll make a special trip to return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding

Dined on December 19, 2015

I've been to Zest many times and it seems it has become my new standard for what a restaurant is capable of providing it's guests when we take out the scene part of dining and focus attention on the food and service. I always leave this restaurant feeling lucky to have experienced what could almost be considered a dance of fine cuisine. Please keep up the creativity and consistency and I'll be coming back for years to come!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service3

The tables were really close to each oth ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

The tables were really close to each other. We can hear the entire conversation from the table beside us.. The food was very delicious but it was very slow in coming out. We must've waited for over 15 mins from our last course for our tuna amigos roll. The roll was amazing but it took a little too long between dishes to come out.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic meal

Dined on December 12, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner here with out of town guests. Every dish was different. The warm mushroom salad, chef's choice sashimi, and daily special roll were highlights. Highly recommended!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

TERRIBLE FOR AN EXPENSIVE DINNER

Dined on December 12, 2015

service was rude thoughtless and indiscriminate. in the middle of my meal, I had been ordering for a good3/4 hour, I was asked to move to allow a family of 3 to sit together. there were 2 open seats to my left and 3 to my right. service put 2 in the 3 slot and five minutes later then asked me to move over. The 2 hadn't even ordered their drinks. I paid my bill of $95 and cancelled the rest of the order. Being single at the sushi bar I thought was being nice, not reserving a table for one. They do not seem to care.

food4
ambience2
service3

needs work on customer relations

Dined on December 7, 2015

After 5 visits I doubt I'll return for a 6th. Still being warned I only have the table for 2 hours. No recognition as a repeat customer.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great!

Dined on December 5, 2015

Once again my husband & I dined at Zest for a special occasion and once again were delighted with everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed.

Dined on November 25, 2015

We love it here. Always attention to detail. Beautiful presentation of deliciousness. Fresh menu changes with interesting new or new versos of fav.s. Gracious service. Beautiful atmosphere. Always leave feeling well attended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Gem

Dined on November 25, 2015

Zest has become our go to restaurant for special occasions. More than the sushi, we really enjoy their other dishes and seasonal specials. The servers are a little bland and they could improve their dessert choices. Still a very good, solid restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Off the beaten path

Dined on November 21, 2015

I dined at Zest simply because it had gotten good reviews and was about halfway between my hotel and my friend's house. What a great idea! the restaurant is un assuming from the outside but the food inside is incredible! We arrived almost 1/2 hour early for our reservation and were still seated with no fuss. The staff was attentive without being cloying and the menu was very different from your standard sushi place. Lots of interesting things to try. we had the sashimi omikase and it was an excellent start to the evening. Everything we tried was fresh and well prepared. I really liked the unagi, and I will be back just for the beer pickled Daikon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on November 19, 2015

I really can't ask for more in a higher-end Japanese restaurant. The service is always on point, as is the quality of the raw fish and the cooked dishes. I always look forward to dining here - highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favourite restaurants!

Dined on November 8, 2015

Zest is one of my favourite restaurants. I love that is on the west side, so that it is not necessary to go downtown. It has become a neighbourhood highlight. The food is amazing - innovative, delicious, with a great core menu and wonderful changing specials. The service is exemplary - I've never had an instance of poor service. And the wine list is fabulous. Among my favourite dishes: tuna three ways, fluffy chili prawns, green beans with black sesame miso paste, yam sticks tempura with a truffle aioli dip, and chicken gyoza.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The Chefs tasting menu was delicious. Al ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

The Chefs tasting menu was delicious. Also had the flight of sake. It would be nice if the restaurant organized a proper same tasting!

food5
ambience3
service4

Zest Restaurant

Dined on October 3, 2015

For our dinner, my g/f and I had the tasting menu, and it was excellent. The fish and steak were perfectly cooked, and the sashimi was some of the nicest I have ever had. Service was excellent,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fab food!

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Amazing food & service. The dishes are unique but still offers traditional Japanese flavours. The grilled eggplant is outstanding. Can't wait to return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on September 30, 2015

Outstanding

food4
ambience5
service5

I would recommend...

vip
Dined on September 30, 2015

The chefs know a good cut of tuna, so it's a good bet to order the toro. Karaage is another favourite and they do something quite interesting that you won't find in other places - making it slightly sour. But why I go back is for the customer experience. You will be properly taken care of here, the service is impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.