About Zest Restaurant

2775 W. 16th Ave
Vancouver, BC V6k 3C3
View Larger Map

The Best Upscale Japanese Restaurant
- Vancouver Magazine Restaurant Award
Gold Wine List Award
- Vancouver International Wine Festival

Zest is located in upscale neighbourhood of Vancouver
West-side. Atmosphere is elegant and serene such as Japanese simplicity combined with sensuality and elements drawn straight from West Coast landscape. The menu items are mix of traditional Japanese and adventurous with European flare. Presentation is decidedly modern. Chef's Omakase Course (up to the chef menu - requires min 24 hour prior reservation) containing 7 to 8 courses of chef's special creations using seasonal local ingredients is a must have item here. Or you may choose number of small plates accompanying with your wine and sake from the award winning wine/sake list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Mcdonald St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 731-9378

Website:
http://www.zestjapanese.com/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building off 16th or at the back of the building accessing from Mcdonald St to the back alley. Or there are plenty of free parking along 16th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Tatsuya Katagiri

Private Party Facilities:
Zest has hosted private parties of many Vancouverites throughout the year. Our experienced catering consultants will assist you with all aspects of your event including wine pairing with award winning Japanese cuisine. Easy access from D/T (10 minutes drive) with plenty of private parking available

Private Party Contact:
Wine Director: 6047319378x

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer winemaker's dinner or sake maker's dinner throughout the year. Please see out Facebook page or website for the details

Restaurant Photos

  • Green Tea Tiramisu
Green Tea Tiramisu

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Zest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
2 More
Best Food
Vancouver
Japanese
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Kitsilano ›

Fit for Foodies (51)
Special Occasion (44)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our fourth visit to Zest and as ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our fourth visit to Zest and as before our dinner was delicious!!

Presentation of our food was very appealing, service is always attentive and helpful in guiding our selection of saki.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant but you are not getting the usual sushi selections here.

We are already planning our next visit and we're bringing friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like Zest as a nice treat; a special ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We like Zest as a nice treat; a special place that our family looks forward to. It is expensive enough that it is not a frequent destination, but we also feel that we get very good value for our money.

What we enjoy is that everything that comes to the table is a delight; each dish seems carefully crafted, and is an individual experience. It is also nice to eat small bits and bites slowly, taking time to enjoy each dish.

The service and atmosphere are a very nice combination of gracious and casual- that itself is a special skill.

On our last visit three of us had dinner with a bottle of wine. The bill was about $150.00 before tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zest remains one of our very favourite r ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Zest remains one of our very favourite restaurants-- and hands down our favourite Japanese restaurant. The food is fresh, creative, and immaculate in presentation. Prices are reasonable for a high-end restaurant. Service is very attentive. We'll be back, again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place blew us away. This was the be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This place blew us away. This was the best sushi we have had in Vancouver, comparable to a top (Michelin rated) sushi place in Tokyo.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is very delicious however on the ex ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is very delicious however on the expensive side and the dishes small. The menu is rather limited.

Very busy place and they seem to have regular customers willing to pay that price for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We requested a certain table on Open Tab ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We requested a certain table on Open Table, but the server stated it did not show on our reservation special requests. Unfortunately the couple ahead of us were given the table we wanted. We had a nice table.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was looking for a modern Japanese rest ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I was looking for a modern Japanese restaurant to take my boyfriend out to for his birthday and read excellent reviews about Zest. I'm so glad I picked this place because the food was exceptionally fresh and flavourful, and service was attentive and top notch. Quality of quantity definitely won the game here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and excellent! Like ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was delicious and excellent! Like the variety that you rarely see and experience! Really enjoyed seeing some fishes flown from Japan and oysters flown in from New Zealand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One could tell only best ingredients are ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

One could tell only best ingredients are used in this restaurant. I have been going to this restaurant since it opened and the food is always fresh and delicious. Presentation is simple in a good way..you could tell the food is the focus. Service is always fantastic . Portions are a a bit on the small range but i would rather have good food than quantity, :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love this place for a nigh ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I love this place for a night out. The stuffed zucchini blossom, nasu gomae, and sushi were all amazing -- and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Signature tuna roll is awesome!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Signature tuna roll is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fresh, interesting and deli ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fresh, interesting and delicious. I particularly recommend ordering off the seasonal menu as every dish we tried was delicious.

The service was impeccable. Our server was entertaining and informative without being intrusive. Her recommendations were spot on as were the recommendations of the Sake Sommelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food was fresh and appeared to b ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

All the food was fresh and appeared to be made to order. Ingredients were flavorful. Presentation was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As usual, the food and service were exce ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usual, the food and service were exceptional. We have been dining at Zest for years and never have we been disappointed with any aspect of the restaurant. Truly an amazing feat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is such a great restaurant for the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is such a great restaurant for the food, top-notch service, and an excellent menu with interesting selections such as the Beef Croquette (seasonal offering), Sautéed Mushroom Salad and Green Tea Cream. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to enjoy a wonderful meal with others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a lovely dinner on July 10th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely dinner on July 10th. The new appetizers - stuffed zucchini blossoms & halibut cheeks were delicious ! Sashimi is very fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love foods, wine lists and very nice ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love foods, wine lists and very nice services.

Authentic Japanese menu.

I will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here before, and they have yet ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been here before, and they have yet to disappoint. It is a bit of a distance to get there, but worth the drive. My wife and never eaten at Zest before so it was on her list of restaurants to try out. She had already decided that we were coming back before we had even left the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I came here for a speci ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for a special birthday dinner and Zest made it a night to remember. Service was amazing, food was even better. We liked how the food we ordered came out a dish at a time and not all together, we found that we were able to enjoy each dishes flavours more. We dined here on a Thursday night that wasn't too busy so the noise level wasn't hard to talk over, but I can see how for some it would be hard as the tables are closer together than other restaurants. Overall had a wonderful experience and will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is a MUST try for those ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant is a MUST try for those who would like to try Japanese food with a twist & flare. Their food was fun, presented well and most of all delicious. We practically tried every dish on their Daily Special, not one was a disappointment. We couldn't decide which bottle of wine to order to go with the food, our server was brilliant in suggesting this lovely wine which truly paired with the food well. Bonus, my desert was free since it was my birthday.

Although the restaurant was full when we were there on a Tuesday night, the service we received was quite good and our server was very attentive. Will definitely go back here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed celebrating a birthday. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating a birthday. Wonderful food. Definitely will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered tempura and really enjoyed it ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ordered tempura and really enjoyed it. However, we left the restaurant hungry even though we ordered 3 dinners for 2 people (to have extra shrimp).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a variety of good quality sak ...

 
 (東京)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed a variety of good quality sake very much. Presentations of each dish were excellent.

BGM was a little bit too loud for us. We had to speak up to make our conversation.

overall we could have a very good time. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Most inventive and tasty Japanese food i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Most inventive and tasty Japanese food in town. Everything made with care and attention and creativity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent again and service was ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was excellent again and service was friendly but very slow - they seemed to be incredibly busy the night we dined there and took a while to even be greeted for a drink and then again for a food order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Second time is a charm.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our second visit to Zest and just as memorable and tasty as the first. Several new items on the menu we enjoyed and some of their classics remain. Service was outstanding, prices are moderate but not unreasonable for the quality and finish of the meal. I'd go back for a third visit anytime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Meal

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food as always. It was my sister's birthday and we were both looking forward to our favourites but none of them were on the menu! We missed the Tuna Tataki salad, Hot Chili Prawns, Chicken Gyoza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Been here twice, both times was very goo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Been here twice, both times was very good. Enjoyed very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my second visit to Zest. I enjo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was my second visit to Zest. I enjoyed the first visit more.

Service was great, the food tasty but not memorable.

The tuna prepared 3 ways is a must. The sea asparagus delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Zest never lets us down. We have tried m ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Zest never lets us down. We have tried many restaurants in the city and zest is our favorite. The food is exceptional and the whole dining experience is elegant and flawless. The service is unobtrusive . I can't wait to go back. We loved the oysters, the ceviche, the schnitzel was fabulous. The simplest of rolls are divine. The restaurant just gets better. Also one of our party has s nut allergy and the restaurant was very careful .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like the food there. It's very ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We really like the food there. It's very fresh and tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best sushi

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Best sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes, friendly but SLOW service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I loved the braised rapini, fresh sheet for spring (fiddle heads, wild local sea bass) and delicious sake choices. We didn't even use the regular menu - there were over 20 options on the fresh sheet and each dish was delicious. Not cheap, but good value as everything was seasoned perfectly and very fresh.

The place was full with lots of staff, but service was very slow. We had to ask staffer for a drink after waiting about 10 minutes, and didn't get our first dish until we had been there for 30 minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Zest for quality Japanese food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Zest is a bit hidden away from the main road but what a little gem of a restaurant. The quality of the food was good from dish to dish. The sashimi was fresh and the taste was equally as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Service with High Quality of Sashimi!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

First time to try Zest Restaurant and have nothing to say except excellent food and service. The scallop sashimi was excellent....by far the best so far. Great service & very good ambiance. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys fine dinning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the omakase menu, for which you h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had the omakase menu, for which you had to book 24 hours in advance. This is our favorite way to dine as you never know what is coming. You get surprise upon surprise. This omakase did not disappoint. Well-thought out dishes, fresh ingredients, great service. All good quality seafood/meat with almost no carb fillers. We tried premium sake (ginjo) and it worked very well with the meal. Chef was friendly and approachable. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

PC

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Very good , delicious and fresh food with attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The roll and the nigiri disappointed me ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The roll and the nigiri disappointed me , it took 30-40 mins for one special roll. They gotta improve the efficiency of the sushi bar. Took way too long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

So good! The place is a little bit hard ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

So good! The place is a little bit hard to find but totally worth it! Next time I'm gonna try the chef's choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Along with quiet and unique atmosphere a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Along with quiet and unique atmosphere and quality food, the waitress was knowledgeable about the menu by giving us great recommendation and efficient at little things. More rommy parking would be a convenient plus.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.