About Zero Zero

826 Folsom Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Zero Zero opened in 2010 inspired by Chef Bruce Hill’s dedication to farm driven ingredients, combined with his love for wood-fired pizzas that have been nicknamed “Calipolitan”. Michael Bauer of the San Francisco Chronicle named us the French Laundry of upscale pizza, and the readers of 7x7 Magazine voted us “Best Pizza in San Francisco”. In addition to pizza, our menu showcases housemade pastas, a variety of market-fresh appetizers, and artisan soft serve. We also have two big time bars with a selection of seasonal house cocktails, beers, and 12 wines on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Organic

Hours of Operation:
11:30am-10pm Everyday (‘til 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays)
Kitchen is closed Monday-Friday from 2:30pm-4pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-8800

Website:
http://www.zerozerosf.com/

Executive Chef:
Bruce Hill

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us directly for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Gerasomovich: 4153488800

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Castro Pizza
Castro Pizza - Sopressata, House Made Sausage, Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, Basil
Skillet Fried Chicken Thighs
Slow Cooked Pork Belly
Fillmore Pizza
Arancini with Taleggio, Mixed Herbs and Salad Cream
Margherita di Bufala pizza
Straus Dairy Organic Soft Serve Ice Cream: Chocolate/Vanilla Swirl Topped With Elderflower Blueberry Compote
Sunchoke Agnolotti
Brussels Sprouts
Sunchoke And Leak Soup
Hamachi Crudo
Squid Ink Bucatini
Margerita Extra Pizza
Hamachi Tartar - Shallot, Jalapeño, Lime, Dijon Mustard
Summer Vegetable Salad- Summer Squash, Fresh Mozzarella
, Fried Squash Blossom, Frisée, Herb Vinaigrette
Margharita Pizza
Chicken Thighs
Margherrita Extra Pizza With Hen Of The Woods Mushrooms
Duck Rigatoni
Crispy Duck
Hot Lips Cocktail
Paradox "Pear" Cocktail
Radiatore With Braised Short Rib
Beet Salad With House Made Ricotta
Avocado Bruschetta
Caesar Salad
Local Halibut Crudo
Radiatore Goodman Ranch Veal Shank “Ossobuco”
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Treasure Island
Peat And Repeat
The Gin & Tonic (Dessert)
Ricotta Donuts
English Pea Cappellacci
Vanilla Soft Serve With Tcho Milk Chocolate Toffee
Vanilla Soft Serve With Ricotta Donut
Margherita Pizza Extra
Vanilla Soft Serve Ice Cream
Rhubarb Semifreddo
Caesar-Romaine Hearts with Farm Egg, Anchovy, Lemon, Garlic Croutons and Parmesan
Geary Pizza
Caramel Sundae
Arancini
Ham Plate
Ceasar Salad
Spring Pisco Sour Cocktail
Sazerac
The Fillmore
Meyer Lemon Sorbet with Fresh Thyme, Sous Vide Mandarins, Sea Salt, Sicilian Orange Oil
Chicken and Waffles
chocolate soft serve
Hitachino Nest White Ale
English Pea Bruschetta
Whisky Sour With Egg White Foam
Fried Chicken Thighs
Taleggio Stuffed Arancini
Park City Cocktail
Lamb Sausage
Soft Serve Vanilla Ice Cream with Bread Pudding
Margherita
Fried Chicken And Semolina Waffles
Pork and Veal Meatballs, Spicy Tomato Sauce, Fonduta
Page Pizza
The Castro
Salted Caramel Sundae
Margarita Pizza
Rigatoni
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Brunch Cavatelli
The Geary
 Bucatini, Dungeness Crab, Artichok
Casareccia
Terroir
Deep Fried French Toast
Chocolate Cherry Tart W/ Pretzel Crust
Rhubarb Semifredo
Negroni Bianco
Mini Donuts with Vanilla Ice Cream
Pimm's Ale
Sidecar
Espresso
Pork Belly
Grilled Squid with Croquettes
Filetti Pizza
Vanilla Ice Cream
Pizza Margherita
Biscuits
Barrel Aged Negroni
Fontina And Spinach Stuffed Arancini
Coffee
Bruschetta with Avocado, Balsamic, and Coppa
Barrel Aged White Manhattan
Chocolate/Vanilla Swirl Soft Serve
Bruschetta With Burrata, Chickpeas, And Rosemary
Asparagus
Eggplant Caponata Bruschetta
Soft Serve Ice Cream Dessert
Dixie's Dram
White Pie

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Zero Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for Groups (55)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
See All
Hot Spot (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Kid-friendly (19)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Super pricey and a bit loud. The lemonad ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Super pricey and a bit loud. The lemonade was extremely sweet even though we asked for it to not be. The salad was in an odd circular shape and reminded us of a forest sprite's head wreath. The mozzarella in the salad was hard and nothing special. Considering the ~$14 price we expected more than Safeway hard mozzarella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were great as usual. H ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food and service were great as usual. Have been here many times

and the food quality has always been consistently great. Server was

friendly and attentive without being overbearing. A little noisy but

that is to be expected with a good sized crowd.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stumbled upon this place when looking ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We stumbled upon this place when looking for a good restaurant near Yerba Buena. What a find! Love the thin crust pizzas and the unique combinations of dishes. I've been wanting a place like this for a while! Our favorite pizza was the folsom - a hit with adults and kids. We all enjoyed the squash blossoms. The build-your-own dessert was fun, with all the different options. One day I'll return to try the olive oil & sea salt toppings, but this time I was too tempted by good ol' hot fudge. Bar drinks were excellent too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food! Solid Italian offerings ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food! Solid Italian offerings coupled with a full bar, lovely cocktails and adequate wine list.

A little noisy for a romantic dinner, but good for business or casual groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I was a little surprised by the ratings ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was a little surprised by the ratings on this place. Non are deserved. We had a salad (average). Arincini which was tasteless and a pizza. The pizza was ok. I certainly would not go out of my way for it. The place was noisy and the decor reminded me of a TGI Fridays. It was wildly disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Noisy and full of folks at the bar who l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Noisy and full of folks at the bar who like to make noise. If they got rid of the tvs, they'd get a more respectable clientele. The services was very good. The food was ok. I won't be going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

This is a weird tourist trap. Or somethi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a weird tourist trap. Or something. Anyway, it's a barely glorified buca di bepo, but I think the food at Buca is better and the ambiance is much more cheerful. Complete lack of sophistication-- felt like I was in the suburbs. Wouldn't come back. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We've only eaten pizza here because it's ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've only eaten pizza here because it's so amazing. Grilled and crispy and full of delicious herbs. Oh, well, come to think of it, we have eaten the Soft Serve Straus ice cream for dessert a couple of times. Cold, perfect vanilla with their warm chocolate brownie. Oh my! BTW, a little hard to get a reservation on short notice. Plan ahead for a usual dinner time slot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Well, I eat out a lot, an awful lot. Do ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Well, I eat out a lot, an awful lot. Don't usually say enough positive about experiences (my fault) but also don't feel I should criticize places.

But, I have to say, this is a GREAT place!! First, they seated us early without making it seem they were doing us a favor. They explained that certain things became available at 5:30 but were happy to offer a limited menu prior.

The wait staff was incredibly nice. The food was excellent. The manager came by and told us a story or two about how long they've been in this location. Giants game, good beer, etc.

Well done. If you are within 5 blocks of this place you really should check it out. The food is as good as the people are nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pizza was great, but it came out *re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The pizza was great, but it came out *really slowly*. I think it took almost 35 minutes to arrive, which is not acceptable during lunch when people have a limited amount of time. The crostini w hamachi (crudo) was way too salty. Caesar salad was decent. Our server was nice, but again, the pizza came out way too slowly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is very good as is the service. Noi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food is very good as is the service. Noise level detracts from experience, but that's a very subjective observation and opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our waiter was a little off so we waited ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our waiter was a little off so we waited for way too long to order. Ultimately he got "sent home" and the manager took care of us. From that point on, we were very well taken care of, and our food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Continues to deliver great food and serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Continues to deliver great food and service. Good wine list. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family friendly but call ahead and make ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Family friendly but call ahead and make reservations. Excellent pizza and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and wonderful menu select ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful menu selections. I was a bit disappointed when my opentable reservation was not on the books at Zero Zero. It made the check in process a bit awkward, and overall, I thought the service was mediocre. I was willing to increase my rating because of the tasty food and superb selections of avocado bruschetta, crispy cauliflower, gnocchi, and olive oil-sea salt topped soft serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Zero-zero usually has a killer margherit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Zero-zero usually has a killer margherita pizza. Not tonight...it just didn't have the fantastic flavor and crust combo. Hopefully it was just a bad night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I adore this place! I've been coming her ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I adore this place! I've been coming here for quite some time and it might just be my favorite pizza in the whole world (even more so than Europe!) it's so pretty inside, and great for date night with its selection of artisan cocktails. The post card at the end was a great addition, I sent it off to my friend in Europe who first took me here years ago!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our first visit to Zero Zero about two y ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit to Zero Zero about two years ago, the food was memorable and the service was outstanding. So we were looking forward to another visit during our time in San Francisco again this time, but were a little disappointed. The server just didn't seem to want to be there, and the food was just okay. Still better than many places in other cities, but not a standout for a place like San Fran. We might go back again, but would be more likely to try a new place next time instead

The pizza and appetizers are above average, but again just not as awesome as we remembered from last time. Worth a visit once, but without stellar expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our party of 5 enjoyed everything the pi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our party of 5 enjoyed everything the pizza and pastas were terrific. Our server was also very good, very attentive and was helpful with menu choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the meal was solid, but nothing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall the meal was solid, but nothing crazy special. I think the highlight of the show was the avocado bruschetta as an appetizer. The cocktails were also very good, which is why I gave 4 stars instead of 3 for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I took my daughter here for our first lu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I took my daughter here for our first lunch together in SF and this was a good choice. The pizza was great and they offer gourmet build it yourself sundaes, which she loved. It's not a casual choice for kids, seemed more of a place for a nice lunch and drinks for adults, but we loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good pizza and cocktails! Great s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Really good pizza and cocktails! Great service too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero Zero really gets what "thin pizza c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Zero Zero really gets what "thin pizza crust" means! Good quality ingredients prepared well make for an enjoyable meal every time. I am not really a pizza lover at all - Zero Zero is one of the very few places I can enjoy a really well-made pizza for a meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved my recent meal at Zero Zero - I am ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Loved my recent meal at Zero Zero - I am a succker for Italian cusine and this definitely didn't disappoint!

The fried cauliflower appetizer was delicious, salty and moreish with some nice acidity from the addition of tomatoes.

Main of gnocchi with pork ragu was also divine, and the generous portion sizing allowed it to be enjoyed the next day for lunch also.

Would recommend without hesitation based on the food, service and ambiance were not up to the lofty standards of the cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The drinks were interesting. And the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The drinks were interesting. And the food was good. However, our waiter kind of shrugged off the fact that there was no mozzarella in our salad of tomatoes and mozzarella. The soft serve was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We had ordered 2 pizzas (in addition to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had ordered 2 pizzas (in addition to 2 large salads) and ate a total of 1, maybe a little more, and asked to take the rest home. They were busy and service slowed and I noticed they hadn't brought us our pizza to take home. I said to my husband "don't forget to remind them to bring our leftover pizza". But, by the time they came back - a while - we forgot to ask them and walked out without it. We feel like they owe us a pizza. Also, our salads were unexpectedly huge - really enough for 2 - I felt like they should have told us they are meant to be shared. We finished them...but, a more reasonable price - a couple bucks less - and smaller size, is what we would have preferred.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The food and service were impeccable. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. We had a stone fruit salad, Fried Chicken Thighs and a Castro Pizza. The waiter did an outstanding job of pacing delivery of the dishes. Water glasses never needed filling, because they already were. We loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even though I don't live in SF proper I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Even though I don't live in SF proper I have now been to Zero Zero twice because of their spare ribs pasta dish, so good! I went with a group of friends and we ordered the punch bowl which was also creative and fun. Definitely a good restaurant in that neighborhood, albeit a little quiet on a Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding pizza and phenomenal pasta. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding pizza and phenomenal pasta. Well worth a visit if you want a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the food a lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the food a lot. The service was good as well. However, the environment was very noisy and sometimes hard to have a relaxing conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the food here, seems always to be s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Love the food here, seems always to be spot on. We ate family style sharing among the family. We had a great Classic Margherita pizza, gnocchi with pork ragu, stone fruit salad and the awesome meatballs. Everything was really outstanding, highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Need more attentive service. Annoying we ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Need more attentive service. Annoying we had constantly flag down our waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Its a pizza place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I got the salad - get the pizza - it is in their name - my bad - but the stone fruit salad was really underwhelming and pricey.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Always good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Zero Zero is one of our go to spots in SF for a meal or light bites and drinks. We know we're always going to get excellent Italian food, and service. I'd go as far to say Zero Zero has some of the best Italian inspired food, in a casual but hip setting SOMA, just around the corner from Moscone Convention Center.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not special anymore

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A few years ago this was my favorite place for Neopolitan pizza, but the quality here has gone down and the options have gone up. It's clearly still popular and always packed, but there is pizza elsewhere. The crust, which used to be consistently blistered but chewy, was cracker like and overdone on this most recent visit. The sauce was also very heavily salted. The service has also declined in quality, which was confirmed on this visit. Our server was clearly overburdened and everything took way too long for two appetizers and a marinara pizza. I won't be back for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We had the crispy cauliflower and a pizza n pasta... Food was great . A lot of options for veggies too.. Should add some more chicken pizza/dishes for people who don't want to eat red meat n don't want to go veggie as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I think was perfect for a light meal aft ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I think was perfect for a light meal after a hectic day. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in town for work, staying in the n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I was in town for work, staying in the neighborhood, dining alone.The wait staff treated me beautifully even tho I was a table for 1--always a litmus test. And the food was outstanding. Looking forward to returning next time I visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be sure to order this new starter on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Be sure to order this new starter on the menu- chopped peaches and apricots, thin slices of red onion, micro basil greens, homemade ricotta, and I believe a coriander vinegar dressing! Also the avocado bruschetta was amazing. Pizza was good also but these 2 things are the reason we will go back to Zero Zero next time in San Francisco. You need reservations, even for lunch! Take Uber as parking would be impossible! If you like desserts the almond cake was worth the splurge. Beautiful texture! Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The decor is gorgeous! The food is delic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The decor is gorgeous! The food is delicious! The cocktails are amazing! I also like that there us a great energy to the place but it's not really loud inside. It is so wonderful to have a meal with friends and family and not have to shout to hear each other at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.