About Zero Zero

826 Folsom Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Zero Zero opened in 2010 inspired by Chef Bruce Hill’s dedication to farm driven ingredients, combined with his love for wood-fired pizzas that have been nicknamed “Calipolitan”. Michael Bauer of the San Francisco Chronicle named us the French Laundry of upscale pizza, and the readers of 7x7 Magazine voted us “Best Pizza in San Francisco”. In addition to pizza, our menu showcases housemade pastas, a variety of market-fresh appetizers, and artisan soft serve. We also have two big time bars with a selection of seasonal house cocktails, beers, and 12 wines on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Organic

Hours of Operation:
11:30am-10pm Everyday (‘til 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays)
Kitchen is closed Monday-Friday from 2:30pm-4pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-8800

Website:
http://www.zerozerosf.com/

Executive Chef:
Bruce Hill

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us directly for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Gerasomovich: 4153488800

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Zero Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (65)
fit for foodies (63)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
vibrant bar scene (36)
great for lunch (33)
hot spot (33)
special occasion (17)
romantic (13)
notable wine list (12)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cauliflower appetizer was incredible ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Cauliflower appetizer was incredible!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Most tasteful arugular salad with strawb ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Most tasteful arugular salad with strawberrys. Perfect combination ob sweet and bitter. Greal ham and mushroom pizza

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Not the best brunch service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Chose this restaurant for brunch as I had been here for dinner and now was going to an event at Yerba Buena. Not recommended for brunch, and with the brunch service am now questioning whether I would return again. We were seated upstairs and maybe only 1/3 of the tables were occupied. We didn't see any waitstaff for at least 15 minutes. After ordering we didn't see our drinks, including glasses of water for at least that long also. Had to beg the person bussing the tables for water. Our female waitperson what NOT attentive, and the restaurant was definitely NOT busy for the below par service we received.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent pizza with lightly blackened tasty bubbles on thin dough. Salad had a good combination of lightly bitter greens with salty pancetta and a perfectly balanced vinaigrette.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic meal after the SF MOMA preview

Dined on May 6, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant. We started with the Arugula salad, which was dressed just the right amount. The Chicken thighs were absolutely stunning. Finally, the Pizza put us over the top. Amazing crust; my bride ate all hers, and she usually leaves the crust on the plate. We had no room for dessert. Our waitress was super! Attentive without being intrusive; friendly without being cloyingly so. All in all a great ending to a lovely day.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for pizza or pasta.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Uncomplicated menu that was tasty with fresh incredients. Great place to meet friends and get a quick bite.

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Don't reserve a table for 5:30

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Avoid reserving a table for 5:30 because they will send you to the bar to wait 10-20min. As they explained it to me they do not seat tables right at 5:30. Had I known I would of reserved 5:15p so we could stay on time for the event we had planned at 7pm. Waitress seemed annoyed that we did not order drink from her since we had to sit at the bar so long so we already purchased them. Dinner took a long time so as soon as they gave us our dinner plates we had to ask for the check so we could make or 7pm class. Food was good but don't make plans till well after you think you may be done so you can enjoy the meal without inhaling and having to run out the door

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch with work friends

Dined on April 15, 2016

This place is near our office and fit the bill for a leisurely Friday afternoon lunch with coworkers. We kept things light with salads, all tasty and satisfying, plus the arancini to share. Between us we tried the sparkling sauvignon blanc and rose, both refreshing. The service was attentive but not too much so. They even let us move from our table to a cozy booth. We'll surely be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every morsel of food.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were in SF for a short trip and ate out every night. Zero Zero was by far our favorite choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Good food, raucous atmosphere

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The fried chicken is terrific and the pizza dough is as good as bloggers say it is. The Caesar salad was pretty good though I was disappointed by the lack of actual anchovies in the dish (the waitress kindly offered when I brought up the issue but too much of the dish was gone by then). I was unfortunately disappointed by both the flavor and value of the Margarita pizza. The version with bufala is extra and and the aragula is a $1.50 add-on, and without either this pizza wouldn't have been worth ordering. The sauce (a combination of tomato, grana padano and olive oil) seems very acidic to me and all I really tasted was the tomato. The quality of the dough nearly makes up for this, however. A nice dessert menu (loved the panna cotta and make-your-own soft-serve sundae) and the waiting staff was both generous and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Calling all Foodies

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a hot spot in San Francisco. The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is not like your typical small crowded space that you would usually find in the city. As soon as you walk in you are greeted by 2 story ceilings and ambient lighting. The place gets packed at night so make sure you make reservations. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because they didn't have enough servers to accommodate the amount of people that were there, so it was a bit slow. It took a good 10-15 minutes before someone offered to take our drink order.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Clam and bacon pizza is to die for. Not ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Clam and bacon pizza is to die for. Not many places offer such an amazing pie.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy Zero Zero. Exceptionally ni ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Always enjoy Zero Zero. Exceptionally nice server this time.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Surprise

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

A pleasant surprise from someone who likes to shy away from eating Italian outside of Italia.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service3

We had Caesar salad, pasta and meatballs ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

We had Caesar salad, pasta and meatballs. Some of the worst I've ever had, and the price is $$$$. Zero, zero should have been an omen.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on March 19, 2016

not a great experience and not a place I would recommend. Food was okay - not a great value at all. Server suggested alternative option and then came back and it was not available. Then to make matters worse, she questioned (in an 'alarmed way') how I asked for the dish to be prepared. (Isn't the customer always right?) Rather than be excited about my dish, I was taken aback by her surliness.

food5
ambience5
service5

Server was very informative

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Server was very informative

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding food

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Went on a very busy lunch hour and got seated fairly quickly since we had reservations. Brussel sprouts starter was excellent--very flavorful and the compressed Asian pear was a novelty. Very tasty without being cloyingly sweet. The pizza was good as well with a good thin crust. Drinks were also interesting and very good--basil lemonade and Twain's Twist. Dessert of soft serve with olive oil and sea salt topping was quite interesting and turned out to be very good. The ricotta doughnuts were light and heavenly. Capuccino also very good. Overall, excellent food and good service despite the very busy lunch hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on March 2, 2016

Everything that we order was great!!! From the appetizers to the main course I wasn't disappointed with anything. I would recommended this restaurant with two thumbs up!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of hopefully many visits! Avocado Bruschetta

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

The Avocado Bruschetta is fantastic! Four of us split one, and we also shared 2 pizzas. All of the food was amazing. The staff was friendly and prompt. Next time we will either get more apps or another pizza... we were satisfied, but should have ordered more.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Pizza

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

This was my first visit for lunch. Beautiful day in SF, a very lively scene in this delightful space, room for large parties as well as accommodating two tops. Service was very good, drinks were good. The pizza is outstanding, the crust is perfectly cooked. We had two pizzas, a buffalo Mozzarella and one called The Castro with loads of meats, both were excellent. I will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit was excellent

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a free evening in San Francisco, and Zero Zero came highly recommended. It did not disappoint at all. A fantastic bruschetta with avocado started us off and we shared a nearly perfect "Columbus" pizza. Complemented by a delicious bottle of California cabernet and impeccable and fast (though not rushed) service, it was the perfect spot for a cozy dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero Zero never disappoints!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I took a friend who had never been to one of my top 5 fave places to eat in SF on Friday night. We were seated promptly, our server was amazingly friendly and helpful, and the pasta was on point, as usual. We had the pork belly, the roasted cauliflower, and my all time fave, the spaghettoni amatriciana. We topped it off with soft serve ice cream with olive oil and sea salt. I can't wait to go back! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service, good ambience, ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Good food, good service, good ambience, and great music!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Custom dessert

Dined on February 22, 2016

I love their pizzas and small plates. But the winner is their customizable ice cream dishes. Get the soft serve with sea salt and olive oil!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

For Pizza good

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Took a friend who is a serious pizza person. Travels the world finding great pizza and he wanted to try Zero Zero. Good mushroom pizza, good pasta, all a round good not great. Except our waiter was great. Crust perfect just didn't connect on any other levels that night. Maybe the Brussel sprouts would bring me back again.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for early vday celebration ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We came here for early vday celebration and the night was perfect. Food was delicious. Service was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great!

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

This is my 4th time and Zero Zero after having first been brought here on a romantic escapade. My duck was wonderful and the Brussel Sprouts are the best I've had. And of course, the custom made dessert is a delicious and fattening event. We went there on our way to see "Vertigo" at Davies hall, altogether a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Modern updates on classic Italian - always packed!

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

I had a great dinner. We really enjoyed the beet salad with citrus as well as the pasta with short rib. Delicious wine as well and their build-your-own sundae is always delightful. It is a very popular (read: very noisy) restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find in the heart of SOMA

Dined on February 6, 2016

I was looking for a place to dine after spending some time at the Moscone Center. Very busy weekend but was lucky to find this place only a block away. It had excellent reviews and was available for a table of four. Really enjoyed our time here, service, food and ambiance was perfect. We look forward to going back again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Zero Zero is No Zero

Dined on January 16, 2016

I have been to this restaurant twice before and have always had a good time. On this occasion, my guest arrived about half an hour early (5:15 pm; reservation was for 5:45) , but was seated right away nonetheless (the hostess was friendly and welcoming). We had a choice seat upstairs in the front window (which shielded us a bit from the noise level, which can be vigorous). Our waitress was accommodating and friendly and assisted in finding details about a red wine on tap that we particularly enjoyed. We shared the trout salad and the Geary pizza (without the bacon) and wolfed down the generous helping of vanilla soft serve ice cream with toppings. I would definitely return to Zero Zero.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great! Everything was great, from the fresh salad, to tasty salad, impeccable pizza and super fun ice cream sundae dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun dinner

Dined on January 10, 2016

The cocktails were very strong and very delicious. Me and my friend shared a ceasar salad, margherita pizza and a pasta dish. All were very tasty. I ended up returning a few days later because I was nearby for a meeting. I had another delicious pizza and a beet salad. Great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Visiting SF from Honolulu and found Zero Zero based on an online rating service. We were not disappointed. The food was great, from the appetizers to desserts. The service was excellent too. We would definitely go back to Zero Zero the next time we are in the Bay Area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love me some Zero Zero!

Dined on January 7, 2016

Joyce Conway and her amazing team create wildly dynamic dishes that are phenomenal in flavor. Whether you are going for dinner or brunch, they have mastered the art balancing creativity with superb execution.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Nothing exceptional and nothing bad to report

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

Tables are packed too closely together. I got to listen to a young couple next to me flirt. If you want privacy, then don't come in. The smoked trout salad was refreshing and helped open my appetite, but I hit a long fish bone. No it was not a tiny one. I told the waiter. He just said he will let kitchen know. I noticed that he didn't tell us the specials for the night, but did so for the table next to us. He also disappeared for long periods so service is inconsistent. We did like the cocktails we ordered.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

food and service typically always good. ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

food and service typically always good. Today seemed under-staffed as it took a long time to get drinks each time we re-ordered. Perhaps upstairs bar closed and he had to go downstairs? waiter kept telling us he was waiting on bar. Asked for a black napkin and waiter forgot to bring it. He seemed too busy so the service was not great today. Food always good and did not disappoint today!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant

Dined on January 3, 2016

This restaurant is small, but a great place to enjoy good food and to be able to have conversations with people at your table without too much distraction going on around you. The only thing that I think could be better is that their only seem to be one staff member upstairs, where we were seated.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Decent pizza, great vibe

Dined on December 30, 2015

We've heard a lot of great things about the pizzas at Zero Zero. They were nice, but compared to other great pizza places, we felt a bit underwhelmed. I would place them in the comfort food category, not foodie category. However, the atmosphere was awesome, the service was friendly and the home-made ice cream for the dessert was very tasty.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

a fun Italian place

Dined on December 30, 2015

We enjoyed the wood oven thin crust pizza and delicious arugula and pomegramate salad at this fun and lively Italian place. Chocolate budino to share was excellent. Friendly and professional service. A lively and popular spot

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.