About Zero Zero

826 Folsom Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Zero Zero opened in 2010 inspired by Chef Bruce Hill’s dedication to farm driven ingredients, combined with his love for wood-fired pizzas that have been nicknamed “Calipolitan”. Michael Bauer of the San Francisco Chronicle named us the French Laundry of upscale pizza, and the readers of 7x7 Magazine voted us “Best Pizza in San Francisco”. In addition to pizza, our menu showcases housemade pastas, a variety of market-fresh appetizers, and artisan soft serve. We also have two big time bars with a selection of seasonal house cocktails, beers, and 12 wines on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Organic

Hours of Operation:
11:30am-10pm Everyday (‘til 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays)
Kitchen is closed Monday-Friday from 2:30pm-4pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-8800

Website:
http://www.zerozerosf.com/

Executive Chef:
Bruce Hill

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us directly for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Gerasomovich: 4153488800

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Castro Pizza
Castro Pizza - Sopressata, House Made Sausage, Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, Basil
Skillet Fried Chicken Thighs
Slow Cooked Pork Belly
Fillmore Pizza
Arancini with Taleggio, Mixed Herbs and Salad Cream
Margherita di Bufala pizza
Straus Dairy Organic Soft Serve Ice Cream: Chocolate/Vanilla Swirl Topped With Elderflower Blueberry Compote
Sunchoke Agnolotti
Brussels Sprouts
Sunchoke And Leak Soup
Hamachi Crudo
Squid Ink Bucatini
Summer Vegetable Salad- Summer Squash, Fresh Mozzarella
, Fried Squash Blossom, Frisée, Herb Vinaigrette
Hamachi Tartar - Shallot, Jalapeño, Lime, Dijon Mustard
Margerita Extra Pizza
Chicken Thighs
Margharita Pizza
Margherrita Extra Pizza With Hen Of The Woods Mushrooms
Duck Rigatoni
Crispy Duck
Paradox "Pear" Cocktail
Hot Lips Cocktail
Beet Salad With House Made Ricotta
Radiatore With Braised Short Rib
Fried Chicken Thighs
Margherita Pizza
Avocado Bruschetta
Local Halibut Crudo
Radiatore Goodman Ranch Veal Shank “Ossobuco”
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Treasure Island
Peat And Repeat
Caesar Salad
Daily Crudo
The Gin & Tonic (Dessert)
Ricotta Donuts
Vanilla Soft Serve With Ricotta Donut
Vanilla Soft Serve With Tcho Milk Chocolate Toffee
English Pea Cappellacci
Margherita Pizza Extra
Vanilla Soft Serve Ice Cream
Rhubarb Semifreddo
Caesar-Romaine Hearts with Farm Egg, Anchovy, Lemon, Garlic Croutons and Parmesan
Geary Pizza
Caramel Sundae
Arancini
Ham Plate
Ceasar Salad
Spring Pisco Sour Cocktail
Sazerac
The Fillmore
Meyer Lemon Sorbet with Fresh Thyme, Sous Vide Mandarins, Sea Salt, Sicilian Orange Oil
Chicken and Waffles
chocolate soft serve
Hitachino Nest White Ale
English Pea Bruschetta
Whisky Sour With Egg White Foam
Taleggio Stuffed Arancini
Park City Cocktail
Lamb Sausage
Soft Serve Vanilla Ice Cream with Bread Pudding
Margherita
Fried Chicken And Semolina Waffles
Pork and Veal Meatballs, Spicy Tomato Sauce, Fonduta
Page Pizza
The Castro
Salted Caramel Sundae
Margarita Pizza
Rigatoni
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Brunch Cavatelli
The Geary
 Bucatini, Dungeness Crab, Artichok
Casareccia
Terroir
Deep Fried French Toast
Chocolate Cherry Tart W/ Pretzel Crust
Rhubarb Semifredo
Negroni Bianco
Mini Donuts with Vanilla Ice Cream
Pimm's Ale
Sidecar
Espresso
Pork Belly
Grilled Squid with Croquettes
Filetti Pizza
Vanilla Ice Cream
Pizza Margherita
Barrel Aged Negroni
Biscuits
Fontina And Spinach Stuffed Arancini
Coffee
Bruschetta with Avocado, Balsamic, and Coppa
Barrel Aged White Manhattan
Chocolate/Vanilla Swirl Soft Serve
Bruschetta With Burrata, Chickpeas, And Rosemary
Asparagus
Eggplant Caponata Bruschetta
Soft Serve Ice Cream Dessert

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Zero Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (60)
fit for foodies (59)
neighborhood gem (43)
See All
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for lunch (26)
special occasion (25)
notable wine list (15)
kid-friendly (14)
romantic (11)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Family friendly but call ahead and make ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Family friendly but call ahead and make reservations. Excellent pizza and salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food and wonderful menu select ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food and wonderful menu selections. I was a bit disappointed when my opentable reservation was not on the books at Zero Zero. It made the check in process a bit awkward, and overall, I thought the service was mediocre. I was willing to increase my rating because of the tasty food and superb selections of avocado bruschetta, crispy cauliflower, gnocchi, and olive oil-sea salt topped soft serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Zero-zero usually has a killer margherit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Zero-zero usually has a killer margherita pizza. Not tonight...it just didn't have the fantastic flavor and crust combo. Hopefully it was just a bad night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I adore this place! I've been coming her ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I adore this place! I've been coming here for quite some time and it might just be my favorite pizza in the whole world (even more so than Europe!) it's so pretty inside, and great for date night with its selection of artisan cocktails. The post card at the end was a great addition, I sent it off to my friend in Europe who first took me here years ago!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our first visit to Zero Zero about two y ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit to Zero Zero about two years ago, the food was memorable and the service was outstanding. So we were looking forward to another visit during our time in San Francisco again this time, but were a little disappointed. The server just didn't seem to want to be there, and the food was just okay. Still better than many places in other cities, but not a standout for a place like San Fran. We might go back again, but would be more likely to try a new place next time instead

The pizza and appetizers are above average, but again just not as awesome as we remembered from last time. Worth a visit once, but without stellar expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our party of 5 enjoyed everything the pi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our party of 5 enjoyed everything the pizza and pastas were terrific. Our server was also very good, very attentive and was helpful with menu choices.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the meal was solid, but nothing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall the meal was solid, but nothing crazy special. I think the highlight of the show was the avocado bruschetta as an appetizer. The cocktails were also very good, which is why I gave 4 stars instead of 3 for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I took my daughter here for our first lu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I took my daughter here for our first lunch together in SF and this was a good choice. The pizza was great and they offer gourmet build it yourself sundaes, which she loved. It's not a casual choice for kids, seemed more of a place for a nice lunch and drinks for adults, but we loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good pizza and cocktails! Great s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Really good pizza and cocktails! Great service too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero Zero really gets what "thin pizza c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Zero Zero really gets what "thin pizza crust" means! Good quality ingredients prepared well make for an enjoyable meal every time. I am not really a pizza lover at all - Zero Zero is one of the very few places I can enjoy a really well-made pizza for a meal!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved my recent meal at Zero Zero - I am ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Loved my recent meal at Zero Zero - I am a succker for Italian cusine and this definitely didn't disappoint!

The fried cauliflower appetizer was delicious, salty and moreish with some nice acidity from the addition of tomatoes.

Main of gnocchi with pork ragu was also divine, and the generous portion sizing allowed it to be enjoyed the next day for lunch also.

Would recommend without hesitation based on the food, service and ambiance were not up to the lofty standards of the cuisine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The drinks were interesting. And the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The drinks were interesting. And the food was good. However, our waiter kind of shrugged off the fact that there was no mozzarella in our salad of tomatoes and mozzarella. The soft serve was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We had ordered 2 pizzas (in addition to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had ordered 2 pizzas (in addition to 2 large salads) and ate a total of 1, maybe a little more, and asked to take the rest home. They were busy and service slowed and I noticed they hadn't brought us our pizza to take home. I said to my husband "don't forget to remind them to bring our leftover pizza". But, by the time they came back - a while - we forgot to ask them and walked out without it. We feel like they owe us a pizza. Also, our salads were unexpectedly huge - really enough for 2 - I felt like they should have told us they are meant to be shared. We finished them...but, a more reasonable price - a couple bucks less - and smaller size, is what we would have preferred.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The food and service were impeccable. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. We had a stone fruit salad, Fried Chicken Thighs and a Castro Pizza. The waiter did an outstanding job of pacing delivery of the dishes. Water glasses never needed filling, because they already were. We loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even though I don't live in SF proper I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Even though I don't live in SF proper I have now been to Zero Zero twice because of their spare ribs pasta dish, so good! I went with a group of friends and we ordered the punch bowl which was also creative and fun. Definitely a good restaurant in that neighborhood, albeit a little quiet on a Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding pizza and phenomenal pasta. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding pizza and phenomenal pasta. Well worth a visit if you want a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the food a lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the food a lot. The service was good as well. However, the environment was very noisy and sometimes hard to have a relaxing conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the food here, seems always to be s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Love the food here, seems always to be spot on. We ate family style sharing among the family. We had a great Classic Margherita pizza, gnocchi with pork ragu, stone fruit salad and the awesome meatballs. Everything was really outstanding, highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Need more attentive service. Annoying we ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Need more attentive service. Annoying we had constantly flag down our waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Its a pizza place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I got the salad - get the pizza - it is in their name - my bad - but the stone fruit salad was really underwhelming and pricey.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Always good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Zero Zero is one of our go to spots in SF for a meal or light bites and drinks. We know we're always going to get excellent Italian food, and service. I'd go as far to say Zero Zero has some of the best Italian inspired food, in a casual but hip setting SOMA, just around the corner from Moscone Convention Center.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not special anymore

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A few years ago this was my favorite place for Neopolitan pizza, but the quality here has gone down and the options have gone up. It's clearly still popular and always packed, but there is pizza elsewhere. The crust, which used to be consistently blistered but chewy, was cracker like and overdone on this most recent visit. The sauce was also very heavily salted. The service has also declined in quality, which was confirmed on this visit. Our server was clearly overburdened and everything took way too long for two appetizers and a marinara pizza. I won't be back for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We had the crispy cauliflower and a pizza n pasta... Food was great . A lot of options for veggies too.. Should add some more chicken pizza/dishes for people who don't want to eat red meat n don't want to go veggie as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I think was perfect for a light meal aft ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I think was perfect for a light meal after a hectic day. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in town for work, staying in the n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I was in town for work, staying in the neighborhood, dining alone.The wait staff treated me beautifully even tho I was a table for 1--always a litmus test. And the food was outstanding. Looking forward to returning next time I visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be sure to order this new starter on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Be sure to order this new starter on the menu- chopped peaches and apricots, thin slices of red onion, micro basil greens, homemade ricotta, and I believe a coriander vinegar dressing! Also the avocado bruschetta was amazing. Pizza was good also but these 2 things are the reason we will go back to Zero Zero next time in San Francisco. You need reservations, even for lunch! Take Uber as parking would be impossible! If you like desserts the almond cake was worth the splurge. Beautiful texture! Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The decor is gorgeous! The food is delic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The decor is gorgeous! The food is delicious! The cocktails are amazing! I also like that there us a great energy to the place but it's not really loud inside. It is so wonderful to have a meal with friends and family and not have to shout to hear each other at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great experience!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were early and they were friendly showing us to the upstairs bar. The bus boy went out of his way to grab us an extra stool. Then the bar tenders were really cool and made us a punch bowl even though the restaurant was packed, other restaurants would not make one in that situation. We ordered and the food came out timely and it was reasonably priced. We then asked our server about some other bars to hit up. He gave us some great choices. Overall great place to eat at.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cauliflower appetizer was incredible ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The Cauliflower appetizer was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most tasteful arugular salad with strawb ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Most tasteful arugular salad with strawberrys. Perfect combination ob sweet and bitter.

Greal ham and mushroom pizza

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not the best brunch service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Chose this restaurant for brunch as I had been here for dinner and now was going to an event at Yerba Buena. Not recommended for brunch, and with the brunch service am now questioning whether I would return again. We were seated upstairs and maybe only 1/3 of the tables were occupied. We didn't see any waitstaff for at least 15 minutes. After ordering we didn't see our drinks, including glasses of water for at least that long also. Had to beg the person bussing the tables for water. Our female waitperson what NOT attentive, and the restaurant was definitely NOT busy for the below par service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Pizza

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent pizza with lightly blackened tasty bubbles on thin dough. Salad had a good combination of lightly bitter greens with salty pancetta and a perfectly balanced vinaigrette.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic meal after the SF MOMA preview

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant. We started with the Arugula salad, which was dressed just the right amount. The Chicken thighs were absolutely stunning. Finally, the Pizza put us over the top. Amazing crust; my bride ate all hers, and she usually leaves the crust on the plate. We had no room for dessert. Our waitress was super! Attentive without being intrusive; friendly without being cloyingly so. All in all a great ending to a lovely day.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for pizza or pasta.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Uncomplicated menu that was tasty with fresh incredients. Great place to meet friends and get a quick bite.

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't reserve a table for 5:30

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Avoid reserving a table for 5:30 because they will send you to the bar to wait 10-20min. As they explained it to me they do not seat tables right at 5:30. Had I known I would of reserved 5:15p so we could stay on time for the event we had planned at 7pm. Waitress seemed annoyed that we did not order drink from her since we had to sit at the bar so long so we already purchased them. Dinner took a long time so as soon as they gave us our dinner plates we had to ask for the check so we could make or 7pm class.

Food was good but don't make plans till well after you think you may be done so you can enjoy the meal without inhaling and having to run out the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Lunch with work friends

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This place is near our office and fit the bill for a leisurely Friday afternoon lunch with coworkers. We kept things light with salads, all tasty and satisfying, plus the arancini to share. Between us we tried the sparkling sauvignon blanc and rose, both refreshing. The service was attentive but not too much so. They even let us move from our table to a cozy booth. We'll surely be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved every morsel of food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We were in SF for a short trip and ate out every night. Zero Zero was by far our favorite choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, raucous atmosphere

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The fried chicken is terrific and the pizza dough is as good as bloggers say it is. The Caesar salad was pretty good though I was disappointed by the lack of actual anchovies in the dish (the waitress kindly offered when I brought up the issue but too much of the dish was gone by then).

I was unfortunately disappointed by both the flavor and value of the Margarita pizza. The version with bufala is extra and and the aragula is a $1.50 add-on, and without either this pizza wouldn't have been worth ordering. The sauce (a combination of tomato, grana padano and olive oil) seems very acidic to me and all I really tasted was the tomato. The quality of the dough nearly makes up for this, however.

A nice dessert menu (loved the panna cotta and make-your-own soft-serve sundae) and the waiting staff was both generous and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Calling all Foodies

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a hot spot in San Francisco. The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is not like your typical small crowded space that you would usually find in the city. As soon as you walk in you are greeted by 2 story ceilings and ambient lighting. The place gets packed at night so make sure you make reservations. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because they didn't have enough servers to accommodate the amount of people that were there, so it was a bit slow. It took a good 10-15 minutes before someone offered to take our drink order.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Clam and bacon pizza is to die for. Not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Clam and bacon pizza is to die for. Not many places offer such an amazing pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.