About Zero Restaurant + Bar

317 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The a-la-carte menu is approachable, hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard. We also offer a 7-course Chef's Tasting Menu Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Happy Hour nightly from 5-6 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
George St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://www.zerogeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Intimate and lush and so quintessentially Charleston, Zero Restaurant + Bar is an ideal private event venue. Delight your guests with the candlelit alfresco ambiance of our Old World courtyard and/or our inviting dining room. Zero Restaurant’s combination of upscale hospitality and culinary wow makes your special event truly special.

Types of private events: Private Cooking Classes, Hosted Happy Hours, Private Dinners, Cocktail Receptions. Please inquire directly with Restaurant for pricing and availability.

Private Party Contact:
Cacky Bastian: 8439018675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
8 More
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Outdoor Dining
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (49)
romantic (43)
special occasion (39)
See All
great for outdoor dining (37)
neighborhood gem (29)
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (7)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
good for groups (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were so impressed with Zero's unique ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were so impressed with Zero's unique setting . Truly it is the most interesting, cozy dining setting I've ever encountered . What a disappointment as our evening evolved. We ordered wine while we waited for our table. The pour was ridiculous. We regularly dine in fine restaurants and have never encountered such a meager pour. We approached the manager who said he would take care of it, but he did not. We were seated at a beautiful table and offered the prix fixe menu with a very limited selection. We ordered and were served at a very relaxing pace. The octopus appetizer had so many different flavors and textures that it was difficult to discern what you were eating. The tile fish entree was less than mediocre. The coconut leche cake for desert was good, but one to share???

It was an expensive evening that was very disappointing. I would recommend visiting Zero George for a drink and appetizers just to experience the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

An overall disappointment. The seasonal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An overall disappointment. The seasonal tasting menu was intriguing but not particularly we executed. The melon with shaved porkbelly was underwhelming as the melon was not particularly ripe and had a significant amount of dehydrated yogurt that was drying and distracting. The duck main course was good. The server was semi insist any that dessert on the prix fix menu was to be shared. Unusual. The setting was beautiful. The dinnerware was dark and mass produced feeling. Didn't help the preparation look. The wine glasses were not great quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Zero George offers the option to choose ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Zero George offers the option to choose Prix Fixe or the Chef's tasting menu. Their Prix Fixe menu is printed daily and presented to the diner at the table. Nice cocktails and a high level of selected wine by the glass. Service was friendly, polite and knowledgeable. Our meal was timed well and we were provided ample time to enjoy each course at our leisure, without sacrificing what was to come next. Each of our dishes were carefully prepared, artfully plated, and well executed. It is apparent to me that there is strong focus at Zero George and the staff are working to make sure their total experience is a great one. We look forward to returning. If you choose not to have the full dining experience, there is a nice small bar between the kitchen and the dining room that offers a limited snack menu. Absolutely come check this place out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful, wonderful! The food was outst ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful, wonderful! The food was outstanding both in taste & presentation. Our server was, also, excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible experience. The fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Absolutely incredible experience. The food was amazing (the taste and presentation) and was the impeccable service. Next time we are in CHarleston we will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef is amazing Every bite exquisite Go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chef is amazing

Every bite exquisite

Go eat be happy !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't think of anything bad to say abo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I can't think of anything bad to say about our night at Zero George. It was my husband's birthday and there were 4 of us celebrating. We all chose the chef's 5 course tasting menu. It did not disappoint. Each course was thoughtfully superb with flavors to excite the palate. The wine only enhanced every flavor profile. The courses were a nice size for eating five of them. You were able to enjoy each one and not feel overburdened. The wait staff was amazing..... attentive, informative and very engaging. It was defiantly a night and a meal to remember. It is well worth it's price considering the time, effort, quality of food and creativity it took to produce. Don't miss this Charleston gem!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero George is a very neat place. Great ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Zero George is a very neat place. Great atmosphere. Unique drinks. Did not have any appetizers. Main course was very good. Divine coconut cake to end unique dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

From the host to the bartender then our ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the host to the bartender then our server Amy, the entire time spent there was an incredible event. Every employee was courteous, friendly and made us feel at home. We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated like family. I will tell everyone I know about Zero George and recommend this as an experience to savor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was absolutely blown away by this rest ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was absolutely blown away by this restaurant when we ate here this past weekend. We almost didn't stay for dinner because we had to drive home to Atlanta that night but our server talked us into it and it has to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. The chef is a genius, every dish was so filled with flavor and beautifully assembled, I didn't know what was more excited to eat: my eyes or my stomach. The menu is seasonal so we had Soft Shell crab and "The Tomato" for an appetizer. Both incredibly delicious and so inventive. Dinner was Wahoo over pickled summer squash and corn with a red pepper coulis accompanied by scallop stuffed shoshito peppers. My husband had a different fish (I've forgotten what his was exactly, but it was equally as delicious!). And for dessert we split the Tres Leches cake. The meal was absolutely incredible from start to finish. There aren't enough words to describe how highly I think of this restaurant. It will certainly be a staple in my Charleston restaurant rotation when I come back! I highly recommend you tucking some money away to eat here at least once! PS get the Gin Lemonade cocktail, it's the most refreshing thing you'll drink in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entire experience was wonderful. Ch ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our entire experience was wonderful. Chef is so very creative. We will be moving from the Charleston area and out of all of great restaurants in this city, Zero George was THE ONE I had to dine at just one more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very beautiful dinning experience. Sat ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A very beautiful dinning experience. Sat out side and it was so peaceful. The food was fabulous as well as the attentive and friendly service staff. Will recommend this to all my friends and business associates.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really lovely outdoor patio area with tr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Really lovely outdoor patio area with true Low Country/Historic CHS charm; service is fabulous and food is very creative and tasty. If experimental dishes from the kitchen are not your thing, you might want to dine elsewhere. Quiet and so charming - hard not to give it a 5 out of 5 in all categories though!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very innovative menu. Everything was de ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very innovative menu. Everything was delicious. The wait staff were great, so friendly,

so knowledgeable, so helpful! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly inspired food! Most restaurants t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly inspired food! Most restaurants that have food plated as art lack taste. These plates are beautiful and delicious! Everything we ate was gorgeous and yummy! Super creative and nothing you will find elsewhere. Small dining room and courtyard gives a intimate feeling. Best food we ate in Charleston by a mile!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero George is my absolute Charleston fa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Zero George is my absolute Charleston favorite. From the charming ambience to the outstanding service, food and wine selections , it's all superb. On site parking is another plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at some really nice places an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I've eaten at some really nice places and this was one of the best overall. Food was fantastic with appropriate portion sizes, cocktails were delicious, and the service second to none. We will definitely be going back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Spectacular

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

On this evening was a limited menu fixed price dinner done during the Spoleto festival. One of Chef Vinson Petrillo's fortes is octopus, but this time the octopus was simply extraordinary. It was pressure cooked and then smoked on an open grill and served with a crispy lamb belly, eggplant, and pesto. I declared it my perfect last meal (of course in a entree not appetizer portion), but that was before I had the local wreck fish cooked in Serrano ham and served with carrots and celery, and an Ambrose blossom, and “asparagus jus” which also was the best wreck fish you will ever have. Now this is not even mentioning "The Tomato" appetizer and the lightly seared tuna with sea lettuces and Prawn Dumpling, Pickled Scapes, Truffle Miso, Sweet Turnip and the Tres Leches cake which I also sampled. Food, both taste and presentation, here is always excellent but this meal was truly extraordinary!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing!! I've been to 0 Geo ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing!! I've been to 0 George multiple times and have never had a bad experience! Servers are outstanding and the food is just phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere The food was inventi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great atmosphere The food was inventive and tasty. The service was good. My only complaint would be the $35 corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Restaurant

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and I dined at Zero Cafe on a recent trip to Charleston. Everything about our experience was wonderful. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings and really enjoyed our meal. Our server, John, was friendly and helpful and we found the entire staff to be very welcoming. We went to a couple of other well-known "foodie" restaurants while there, but found this one to be our favorite by far!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu, only 3 entrees. Port ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Very limited menu, only 3 entrees. Portions were quite small, given the prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

A bit too pretentious

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We started at the bar and really enjoyed the experience and the cocktails even though they were pretty pricey.

We were taken to our table in a gorgeous courtyard in the most beautiful setting. We had seen the menu online but I don't think we saw the prices. We were so hungry, especially after the strong drinks, that we ordered the Avocado Toast 'snack' to start. The caviar on top was overpowering and was all we tasted. We then each had appetizers (tortellini) which were very good. I had the 'beef Wellington' and my husband had the cobia. They were both very good dishes but when we totaled up our meal it came to $250. For that, we expect to be blown away and I felt like service got slower as the courses went on. The food was good but not fantastic. We left pretty disappointed and honestly still hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Our birthday dinner at the Zero Cafe was ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our birthday dinner at the Zero Cafe was absolutely wonderful! The staff could not have been more gracious! The great cocktails at the bar before dinner were a treat and the bartender was a gem.

Our meals were outstanding and beautifully presented. The service is top notch and added to a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are many great places eat in Charl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There are many great places eat in Charleston but few can claim to offer a truly fine dining experience like Zero Cafe + Bar. This is a hidden gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had thought Nouvelle cuisine gone, and I had thought that was a good thing. This restaurant proved me wrong. The wait staff was helpful and entertaining and worked together impeccably. We sat outside (do it if the weather is good, it is lovely) had the meal describe to us (set menu for mother's day), and enjoyed every minute. The flavors were different, fresh and better than described. The first course for example was tortellini and lobster with consomme. The dish was not drowned in the broth, but greatly enhanced by perhaps 4 ounces. after we mopped up what we could with our bread, I looked to make sure no one was watching, and picked up my bowl to drink it down. and unlike the typical nouvelle servings, they looked small but truly filled you up. My husband barely finished the main course, which left more dessert for me. He had over-indulged in the cheese plate, so it is not surprising. Also, the original cocktails were very tasty and not overworked. We are looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Highlight of My Charleston Trip

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and it's presentation were impeccable. That, combined with the ambiance, made for a very special dining experience. I just wish the weather had been a bit warmer so we could have taken advantage of the outdoor dining area. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Charleston and so cool, the George & ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Old Charleston and so cool, the George & Zero's first impression was a lovely courtyard

you enter from the street. Really lovely and private outside dining. The lobster app was delicious and a tuna dish was delicious. Portions are smaller than the check, but it was a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Superb food!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were staying at the hotel but received recommendations to dine at the cafe by several locals. The food was excellent. We had the lobster tortellini and soft shell crab to start and both were delicious. My husband had the lamb and he thoroughly enjoyed his dish. I had the flounder and the combination of flavors was amazing. We weren't that excited about the sound of the desert option but since the whole meal had been so phenomenal so far we have the Tres leche cake a shot. Once again we were impressed. Best meal we've had in a while worldwide!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous from start to finish

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We dined here on our last night in Charleston. We certainly saved the best for last. The outside setting was lovely. Service was attentive and gracious. The kitchen is small and open, which means the menu isn't extravagant. We each had a fish entree and both were spectacular. A special place, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just what I thought it would be ,from th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Just what I thought it would be ,from the time we were greeted when we came in we were seated

Our Server Kailee was fantastic,explained

Everything to us,it was my husbands birthday

we ordered dessert,and she brought us

some champagne to go along with our dessert.

We will be back !!

Outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very creative menu and excellent warm service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

While this was bit of a walk frim Belmond Charleston place hotel, it was absolutely worth it. The menu was unique and execution was flawless. We had two fish courses as main dish and each was a celebration of taste. The creativity alone is something not to be missed. The dessert eith passion fruit was zesty and unexpectedly nice. Our waitress was knowledgeable and genuine which accentuated the entirety of a good culinary experience. Nice dining room as well, small, well sectioned so it doesnt get too loud, with a classy decor.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A delightful gem!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was perfect...can't wait to return!

Food, service, ambiance was elegant, yet understated for everyone's comfort. Table settings, flowers, & touches of fine taste abound. Staff was a pleasure, as well!

Delicious offerings with perfect sized portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were outstanding! I will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and drinks were outstanding! I will certainly be back and I will spread the word in the meantime.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience I've had in a While

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The outside patio was so special and the tasting menu was all delicious. I would definitely recommend Zero George to anyone looking for a nice dinner spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best after-show meal around. Never disa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Best after-show meal around. Never disappoints! Menu is continuously changing and is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For a stylish, exquisitely prepared meal ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

For a stylish, exquisitely prepared meal, you must hit Zero Cafe + Bar. A fabulously romantic little spot that delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The hype is real. One of the most romant ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The hype is real. One of the most romantic spots in charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great special birthday dinner with friends

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Perfect setting with excellent food. Recommend for special event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful dinner and service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Zero George offers an intimate and unique dining experience. The menu changes frequently, and the chef's specials are always amazing. Definitely a destination for people who enjoy creative food as there is not much for the "meat and potatoes" crowd on the menu. I had one of the best meals I've had in a long time - a mix of seafood (Hamachi collar and diver scallops) and rich Beef Wellington with foie gras. I will definitely be back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.