About Zero Restaurant + Bar

0 George St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The menu is hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard. We also offer a 7-course Chef's Tasting Menu Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Happy Hour nightly from 5-6 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
George St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://www.zerogeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Intimate and lush and so quintessentially Charleston, Zero Restaurant + Bar is an ideal private event venue. Delight your guests with the candlelit alfresco ambiance of our Old World courtyard and/or our inviting dining room. Zero Restaurant’s combination of upscale hospitality and culinary wow makes your special event truly special.

Types of private events: Private Cooking Classes, Hosted Happy Hours, Private Dinners, Cocktail Receptions. Please inquire directly with Restaurant for pricing and availability.

Private Party Contact:
Cacky Bastian: 8439018675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
6 More
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (46)
Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

truly exceptional we went for our 31st ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

truly exceptional we went for our 31st anniversary our normal go to would be FIG but difficult getting a table we defaulted to Zero and we were lucky we did It now stands toe to toe with the best in Charleston cozy romantic perfect service rhythm the food was ridonkolous the octopus the beef wellington the dessert great wine service tried the Ultraviolet red- very nice will be back many times !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous meal even during Restaurant wee ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fabulous meal even during Restaurant week. Beautiful location and lovely ambience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of this dining experience w ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Every aspect of this dining experience was first rate; from the warm greeting when entering, to our departure, and everything in between, the staff contributed to a highly enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zero George was a delightful dining expe ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Zero George was a delightful dining experience. The food was original and delicious. The only thing better than the food was the staff and the service!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to ZeroGeorge twice. On bot ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to ZeroGeorge twice. On both occasions we thoroughly enjoyed our appetizer and entree . In spite of the limited menu selections, there were multiple choices that we knew we'd enjoy. Desserts are the opposite. Neither appealed to us on the menu. Selecting the best of two poor options, we tasted it and left the rest. When you pay for 3 courses on a prix fixed menu, you hate to know the last course is a disappointment.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening. My husband and I went ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful evening. My husband and I went there doing restaurant week. All courses were creative and delicious. You must try the Tres Leche dessert! We will be back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here with a friend before a concert ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came here with a friend before a concert at the Gaillard across the street. It was during restaurant week which was an additional bonus. Food was amazing and a bargain for the price. Service superb and a rare restaurant today because it was elegant and quiet enough to carry on a conversation with your dinner partner! Will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Zero George ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was our second visit to Zero George. Unfortunately, it was restaurant week and the tasting menu that we loved on our first visit was replaced by a prix fix menu. While the food was amazing, it was too much food for the way we like to eat. Service is always top notch with a fun spin.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All of the food and drink aspects of our ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

All of the food and drink aspects of our first visit to Zero were outstanding. The Craft Cocktails (Bespoke Manhattan & Smoke on the Water) were unique and tasty. We dined during Restaurant Week and chose to take advantage of that menu. The appetizers (octopus and unusual lettuce leaf salad), entrees (snapper and beef Wellington) and dessert (tres leches) were all totally delicious. Our server, Kailee, was friendly and efficient. The one negative was the time it took to be seated, despite the fact that we had a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very tasty. However, we wen ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was very tasty. However, we went for restaurant week, and when we arrived, the menu was different from the one they posted online. My friend is allergic to fish, and the only option they had he could eat required him to pay an extra $18, and they were unable to provide some other, less pricey dish. As we were already paying quite a bit for our meal and drinks (a draft beer was $8!), I was disappointed in their ability to be a bit more flexible, especially since the menu they had online would have had other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The meal was delicious. The wait staff w ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The meal was delicious. The wait staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We sat outside where it was nice and quiet. The bar section is very loud, but the dining area is protected from the noise. We liked the unique way we walked into the restaurant, open kitchen on the left side. Nice, eclectic restaurant. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall our dinner at Zero George was ou ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Overall our dinner at Zero George was outstanding. Great food, especially the beef wellington, and wine choices. We had a table next to us that was a little loud and unruly but other than that it was 5 stars. Our waiter was one of the best we've ever had. He made great recommendations and truly made the night memorable. Would love to come back again and try the 5 course pairings!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was unique, creative, well exec ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was unique, creative, well executed and presented. Our server Kavan was an ace.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visited to celebrate a birthday. Service ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Visited to celebrate a birthday. Service was fantastic. They provided complimentary champagne which was very special. Good was outstanding. First course included grilled octopus, fried pork belly and LAMB BELLY - Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch as advertised! Best foodie sp ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Top notch as advertised! Best foodie spot in Charleston!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely our go to restaurant to expe ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Absolutely our go to restaurant to experience again! It started when we couldn't find the exact location. With a quick phone call the host was out front waving to us and parked our car. We were given a tour of the grounds and hotel by our host. Friendly, warm and knowledgeable best describe all the staff. The bartenders were experienced and passionate about their work. I requested a low sugar drink and they concocted a fresh, clean experience for my palate! Once seated we ordered the Chef's selection. The course rank with restaurants in Yountville without the pretenses! Our waiter, Jay Jay, made us feel as we were the only patrons in the place. We were impressed with all the servers and bartenders in that they were a cohesive team that enhanced our total dining experience! Price point was reasonable. Thank you Chef and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! You better hurry before th ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding! You better hurry before this chef becomes so popular you can't get a seat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time here and each has been memor ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Second time here and each has been memorable. The art of the preparation rivals Eleven Madison, which isn't an overstatement. Truly a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Small romantic dining room. Creative cui ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Small romantic dining room. Creative cuisine. Cozy pleasant dinner. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

zero george has been a favorite since ou ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

zero george has been a favorite since our first visit over a year ago. the food is very creative and the staff very knowledgeable and attentive. we recommend this to our foodie friends who want to experience some of the best food in charleston.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zero George is charming and delicious! ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Zero George is charming and delicious! Everyone we encountered was friendly and knowledgable about the menu. We chose to sit outside since it was a cool for Charleston evening in the mid-80s. It was cozy and romantic. The only thing that would have made it better would be a fan just to circulate air where we dined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A beautiful place to celebrate our anniv ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A beautiful place to celebrate our anniversary. Service was outstanding -- friendly, attentive but not hovering. The menu is limited but no problem finding dishes we enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best meals I had in ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was one of the best meals I had in the past couple of years, and I travel the world. In my opinion worth at least a Michelin Star.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good. So f#%cking good. The menu do ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

So good. So f#%cking good. The menu does no justice to the food that is placed in front of you. From the tasting snacks (lobster rolls and deviled eggs and radish) and beverage pairings to the corn tortellini, amazed and surprised by the flavors. Service is attentive but not overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great dining experience albei ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a great dining experience albeit at a very hefty price tag.

I brought a very special bottle of wine since it was my wife's birthday.

The corkage fee of $35 is too high given that their very limited wine list.

While a very special dinner, there are several other better value venues

in Charleston

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Best meal in Charleston. ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding! Best meal in Charleston. Quaint, small... Indoor and outdoor patio. Little bar... Supercool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, great service in a cozy, ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous food, great service in a cozy, romantic space

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an outstanding dinning experien ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was an outstanding dinning experience. The balance of the ingredients in the food produced sensational taste that was subtle yet distinctive on the palate. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and combined warmth with total professionalism. Great dinning demands great food and much more. This experence had everything and was grounded in exceptional food based on fabulous produce and created by an exceptional chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Were a really cool experience! We will a ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Were a really cool experience! We will absolutely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so impressed with Zero's unique ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were so impressed with Zero's unique setting . Truly it is the most interesting, cozy dining setting I've ever encountered . What a disappointment as our evening evolved. We ordered wine while we waited for our table. The pour was ridiculous. We regularly dine in fine restaurants and have never encountered such a meager pour. We approached the manager who said he would take care of it, but he did not. We were seated at a beautiful table and offered the prix fixe menu with a very limited selection. We ordered and were served at a very relaxing pace. The octopus appetizer had so many different flavors and textures that it was difficult to discern what you were eating. The tile fish entree was less than mediocre. The coconut leche cake for desert was good, but one to share???

It was an expensive evening that was very disappointing. I would recommend visiting Zero George for a drink and appetizers just to experience the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Awesome experience for my wife and I who ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome experience for my wife and I who were vacationing at Kiawah Island. Worth the drive to Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An overall disappointment. The seasonal ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An overall disappointment. The seasonal tasting menu was intriguing but not particularly we executed. The melon with shaved porkbelly was underwhelming as the melon was not particularly ripe and had a significant amount of dehydrated yogurt that was drying and distracting. The duck main course was good. The server was semi insist any that dessert on the prix fix menu was to be shared. Unusual. The setting was beautiful. The dinnerware was dark and mass produced feeling. Didn't help the preparation look. The wine glasses were not great quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Zero George offers the option to choose ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Zero George offers the option to choose Prix Fixe or the Chef's tasting menu. Their Prix Fixe menu is printed daily and presented to the diner at the table. Nice cocktails and a high level of selected wine by the glass. Service was friendly, polite and knowledgeable. Our meal was timed well and we were provided ample time to enjoy each course at our leisure, without sacrificing what was to come next. Each of our dishes were carefully prepared, artfully plated, and well executed. It is apparent to me that there is strong focus at Zero George and the staff are working to make sure their total experience is a great one. We look forward to returning. If you choose not to have the full dining experience, there is a nice small bar between the kitchen and the dining room that offers a limited snack menu. Absolutely come check this place out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful, wonderful! The food was outst ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful, wonderful! The food was outstanding both in taste & presentation. Our server was, also, excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible experience. The fo ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Absolutely incredible experience. The food was amazing (the taste and presentation) and was the impeccable service. Next time we are in CHarleston we will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef is amazing Every bite exquisite Go ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Chef is amazing

Every bite exquisite

Go eat be happy !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't think of anything bad to say abo ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I can't think of anything bad to say about our night at Zero George. It was my husband's birthday and there were 4 of us celebrating. We all chose the chef's 5 course tasting menu. It did not disappoint. Each course was thoughtfully superb with flavors to excite the palate. The wine only enhanced every flavor profile. The courses were a nice size for eating five of them. You were able to enjoy each one and not feel overburdened. The wait staff was amazing..... attentive, informative and very engaging. It was defiantly a night and a meal to remember. It is well worth it's price considering the time, effort, quality of food and creativity it took to produce. Don't miss this Charleston gem!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero George is a very neat place. Great ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Zero George is a very neat place. Great atmosphere. Unique drinks. Did not have any appetizers. Main course was very good. Divine coconut cake to end unique dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

From the host to the bartender then our ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the host to the bartender then our server Amy, the entire time spent there was an incredible event. Every employee was courteous, friendly and made us feel at home. We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated like family. I will tell everyone I know about Zero George and recommend this as an experience to savor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was absolutely blown away by this rest ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was absolutely blown away by this restaurant when we ate here this past weekend. We almost didn't stay for dinner because we had to drive home to Atlanta that night but our server talked us into it and it has to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. The chef is a genius, every dish was so filled with flavor and beautifully assembled, I didn't know what was more excited to eat: my eyes or my stomach. The menu is seasonal so we had Soft Shell crab and "The Tomato" for an appetizer. Both incredibly delicious and so inventive. Dinner was Wahoo over pickled summer squash and corn with a red pepper coulis accompanied by scallop stuffed shoshito peppers. My husband had a different fish (I've forgotten what his was exactly, but it was equally as delicious!). And for dessert we split the Tres Leches cake. The meal was absolutely incredible from start to finish. There aren't enough words to describe how highly I think of this restaurant. It will certainly be a staple in my Charleston restaurant rotation when I come back! I highly recommend you tucking some money away to eat here at least once! PS get the Gin Lemonade cocktail, it's the most refreshing thing you'll drink in Charleston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.