About Zero Restaurant + Bar

0 George St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The menu is hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street and George Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://zerorestaurantcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Intimate and lush and so quintessentially Charleston, Zero Restaurant + Bar is an ideal private event venue. Delight your guests with the candlelit alfresco ambiance of our Old World courtyard and/or our inviting dining room. Zero Restaurant’s combination of upscale hospitality and culinary wow makes your special event truly special.

Types of private events: Private Cooking Classes, Hosted Happy Hours, Private Dinners, Cocktail Receptions. Please inquire directly with Restaurant for pricing and availability.

Private Party Contact:
Kendall Moore: 8439018675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Restaurant Entrance - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Deviled Eggs - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Coffee Roasted Carrots - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Happy Hour Cheese Plate - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Octopus - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Scallops - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Tuna "Sandwich" - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Hamachi Collar - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Strawberry Tart - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
American Surrealist Cocktail - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Cocktail - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
9 More
Contemporary American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Historic (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Open Kitchen (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An amazing experience. Quirky layout yie ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 8 hours ago

An amazing experience. Quirky layout yielded a cozy bar where my husband ordered his typical gin martini, bartender suggested a dash of orange butters and it was the best martini he'd ever had. I had the Smoke on the Water, fabulous take on a Manhattan. Then to our courtyard table with heat lamp. Waiter JJ was outstanding. Food unbelievable, this is a spot for foodies to luxuriate. 5 courses but really 6 with "snacks" which were devil eggs with caviar, lobster spring roll so delicate, carrot macaroon, and the mind blowing potted plant, won't give away the surprise. Then a tapioca and oyster riff on clam chowder, the superb gnudi with chanterelles and hazelnuts, olive oil poached salmon with sunchoke veloute, decadent beef Wellington with a black garlic daub, and surprising reinterpreted carrot cake. All with wine pairings. Truly a dining experience to remember. Go to this place before everyone else finds out about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caught off guard by the fixed price menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Caught off guard by the fixed price menu, but what we had was very good. Waiter very knowledgeable and conversant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was truly a unique dining experience. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

It was truly a unique dining experience. Loved the inventive food selections and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location, food was uneven, some dis ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Nice location, food was uneven, some dishes were quite good but most were disappointing. We took the 55$ menu, but the entree selection is very narrow salmon ( not bad but without real savor) or vegetarian ( pretty good). Cheese plate was very basic, tre lecce really good.

Overall cooking is not tasty enough for the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Overall excellent place to dine. Good cr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall excellent place to dine. Good creatively prepared and dished courses. Staff friendly and accommodating. Ambiance made the meal! Although this may be perceived as picky, the "dress code" by online sites labeled it as "dressy" and for the most part, diners were dressed the part. The servers on the other hand wore jeans/plaid shirts and carried a rather hipster vibe. Seemed to clashed a bit. Would it deter me from returning? By no means. Just an observation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary here and were amazed at the quality of food. My husband said it was the best meal he has ever had. The staff was very attentive to everyone in the restaurant, not just us. If you want a special experience, this is the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was wonderful. My ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful. My wife and I each had the five course herbivore option and, while we both agreed every course was excellent, the celery root sous-vide was the highlight of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

perfection! This restaurant is magically ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

perfection! This restaurant is magically magnificent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great intimate space. Chose the 3 course ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great intimate space. Chose the 3 course tasting menu which was enough food. No way we would have made it through the full one. Great wine too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A cozy gem hidden in a courtyard of old ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A cozy gem hidden in a courtyard of old Charleston. Simple menu of fresh food, superbly cooked. An intimate spot for couples to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero George does a bad job disguising th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Zero George does a bad job disguising their interest in pushing up the price of your check. There is a LIMITED tasting menu at $55 (regular tasting menu is more than $100) -- with one of the items having a $15 surcharge (that's 30%). If the food had been exceptional, then maybe it would be worth the price -- but the food is over-wrought and not well-executed (I know what puff pastry tastes like -- maybe the chef needs a reminder). The chef has delusions of grandeur and for people who eat the decor (which is lovely), maybe it works. But for those of us who have been to truly great restaurants, the emperor isn't wearing any clothes. The only good news -- since the food is okay at best, the fact that the portions are tiny doesn't much matter. Eat someplace better for less money.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I brought my girlfriend here because I h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here because I had just proposed earlier that day. The service was amazing and the food was even better! The atmosphere was quiet and romantic. I let the restaurant know that it was a special occasion before we arrived and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special. Every time someone came up to us they congratulated us. Every member of the staff was personable and knowledgeable. The chef even came out to congratulate us and explain his favorite dish to us! From

Beginning to end, this was a fantastic experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative. The pairings of wine were ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very creative. The pairings of wine were very generous as where the portions of the unbelievable food. Accolades to the chef and well versed waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an unbelievable classy and friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

What an unbelievable classy and friendly restaurant. You would think you are in a metropolitan restaurant if it wasn't for the quaint southern decor! From drinks at the bar created by Kincaid (. Am sorry I will never be able to order his signature "alter ego" drink which was fantastic! E did the chefs paired tastings and one course was more creative and flavorful then the next. My only critique (and many will say I am crazy but the amount of the pairings were to much- the beers, wines and creative drinks fill you up more than just what a sample to compliment should be. But with that kudos goes out to the hotel and the restaurant staff- we will certainly return on our next visit to Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again this place proved to be one o ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Once again this place proved to be one of or even the best spot in Charleston. Service was not only great but informed the us of the flavors we were about to experience. The skills of the chef were oh so evident in the level of expertise that came through in what was served. Realizing that the menu changes, all courses were experiences to remember. For us, the tortellini and the beet tartare were amazing. But that's not to downplay the other awesome plates. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 6 pm and arrive ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had a reservation for 6 pm and arrived on time and were seated quickly. The very small dining room was almost full. Our waiter, Jay Jay, was very good and gave us a bit of a history of the building. We chose the 3 course fixed price menu. I thought the choices were pretty slim with only a salmon dish, a steak dish which was priced at a $15 premium over the $55 fixed price, and a vegetarian dish. We both enjoyed our 1st course very much, a pasta appetizer and beet tartare (which I of course misread as beef!). We also enjoyed the dessert. However the steak which again cost an extra $15 was tough and not cooked to our liking. Each of us ate only half the steak portion and brought the remainder home which we threw out since it was so tough. We were in a bit of a hurry to get to a show and I didn't really scan the bill that well so I don't know if the tip was included, but the bill I saw came to $250 (how I'll never know!). Since we had had good service from Jay Jay, I left a $50 tip bringing the bill for the meal to over $300. This, in my opinion, was way too high for the meal that we received. Based on the cost versus quality of our meal, we will not be going back to Zero nor recommending it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The tasting menu with the wine pairing w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The tasting menu with the wine pairing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Knocked it out of the park for a special ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Knocked it out of the park for a special birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly a wonderful experience. Ambience, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Truly a wonderful experience. Ambience, service, cuisine -were all outstanding. Will return!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience all the way around. O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing experience all the way around. One of the most memorable meals I've had!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the experience was exce ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything about the experience was excellent and we are ready to make our way back to Charleston and go back to Zero for dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The tasting menu and the wine pairings w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The tasting menu and the wine pairings were exceptional. Creative and delicious food was paired with unusual wines (and one beer!). Service was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our best meals ever! Perfect outs ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of our best meals ever! Perfect outside patio spot, server who was spot on, great support staff--surprised by a tableside visit from Chef--all with exceptional food and wine pairings! Can't say enough about our experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely outstanding! This is a set 5 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely outstanding! This is a set 5-course dinner of the chef's choice. I overheard a waiter tell another diner that they only seat 8 people every half hour. The attention to detail from the staff to the food is phenomenal. Everyone is happy, excited to be there, excited you are there and the food is exquisite and fun. A must go!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful experience from ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had such a wonderful experience from the moment we walked thru the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious !!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I cannot say enough about this gorgeous ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I cannot say enough about this gorgeous restaurant and its amazing food. Romantic with creative, delicious, creative food and an informed and delightful staff. This was a perfect experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been telling everybody about Zero ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have been telling everybody about Zero George. I have done both the three course meal and the five course meal. What a culinary adventure! Everything is so beautifully prepared and wonderful tasting. I dream about returning each time I go. The staff is friendly and fun and very well versed on the food being prepared and served.

When I have friends visiting from out of town, I take them to Zero George. It's always a hit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most impressive, spe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This was one of the most impressive, special get-a-ways ever. The staff was efficient and most accommodating. The room was quaint, quiet, serene. The evening meal was an occasion that wil be remembered as very personal and exquisite. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome dinner. If you're going to come, ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome dinner. If you're going to come, go ahead and treat yourself to the five course meal with drink pairings. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable and the chef's creations were inventive and delicious. This is a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING! Food was fabulous, service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

OUTSTANDING! Food was fabulous, service was wonderful. Our entire dining experience was great. And the outside dining is just lovely. Couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant features a fixed course m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The restaurant features a fixed course menu at $125. This could be a problem if there are items you don't care for. This comes with wine pairings. There are also a la carte items which we chose, but the number of items is limited. We had the Beef Wellingtom and egg plant Parmesan, and both were well prepared.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Zero George is probably the most creativ ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Zero George is probably the most creative and exciting restaurant in Charleston today. Chef Vinson is adventurous and innovative, coming up with wonderfully tasty and interesting food. Definitely have the tasty menu, with accompanying drinks of all sorts. We've eaten a number of meals here, as well as attended a demo cooking class with Chef, and have enjoyed all of them. Don't think twice - go, and enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals of my lif ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was one of the best meals of my life. The food was to die for, in particular the beef wellington; our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a very intimate and cozy setting, but still fun and energetic. I know I could return here without eating this same thing twice, as the menu is often changing. I would come here again and again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good. Ho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food and service were very good. However, their menu is very limited; only three entrees were available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My first experience with Chef Petrillo. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My first experience with Chef Petrillo. Great to Outstanding! So obvious that he likes what he does for a living! Preparation, Presentation and Service equals Excellent Cooking Worthy of a Detour (in the Guide Michelin, two stars). I shall return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

truly exceptional we went for our 31st ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

truly exceptional we went for our 31st anniversary our normal go to would be FIG but difficult getting a table we defaulted to Zero and we were lucky we did It now stands toe to toe with the best in Charleston cozy romantic perfect service rhythm the food was ridonkolous the octopus the beef wellington the dessert great wine service tried the Ultraviolet red- very nice will be back many times !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I have never been disappointed and this ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have never been disappointed and this was no exception. A real gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal even during Restaurant wee ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fabulous meal even during Restaurant week. Beautiful location and lovely ambience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.