About Zero Restaurant + Bar

317 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The a-la-carte menu is approachable, hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard. We also offer a 7-course Chef's Tasting Menu Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Happy Hour nightly from 5-6 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
George St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://www.zerogeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Intimate and lush and so quintessentially Charleston, Zero Restaurant + Bar is an ideal private event venue. Delight your guests with the candlelit alfresco ambiance of our Old World courtyard and/or our inviting dining room. Zero Restaurant’s combination of upscale hospitality and culinary wow makes your special event truly special.

Types of private events: Private Cooking Classes, Hosted Happy Hours, Private Dinners, Cocktail Receptions. Please inquire directly with Restaurant for pricing and availability.

Private Party Contact:
Cacky Bastian: 8439018675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar
Zero Restaurant + Bar

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
5 More
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (56)
romantic (50)
special occasion (47)
See All
great for outdoor dining (39)
neighborhood gem (32)
notable wine list (9)
hot spot (7)
scenic view (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
good for groups (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was absolutely blown away by this rest ...

Dined 3 days ago

I was absolutely blown away by this restaurant when we ate here this past weekend. We almost didn't stay for dinner because we had to drive home to Atlanta that night but our server talked us into it and it has to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. The chef is a genius, every dish was so filled with flavor and beautifully assembled, I didn't know what was more excited to eat: my eyes or my stomach. The menu is seasonal so we had Soft Shell crab and "The Tomato" for an appetizer. Both incredibly delicious and so inventive. Dinner was Wahoo over pickled summer squash and corn with a red pepper coulis accompanied by scallop stuffed shoshito peppers. My husband had a different fish (I've forgotten what his was exactly, but it was equally as delicious!). And for dessert we split the Tres Leches cake. The meal was absolutely incredible from start to finish. There aren't enough words to describe how highly I think of this restaurant. It will certainly be a staple in my Charleston restaurant rotation when I come back! I highly recommend you tucking some money away to eat here at least once! PS get the Gin Lemonade cocktail, it's the most refreshing thing you'll drink in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our entire experience was wonderful. Ch ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Our entire experience was wonderful. Chef is so very creative. We will be moving from the Charleston area and out of all of great restaurants in this city, Zero George was THE ONE I had to dine at just one more time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very beautiful dinning experience. Sat ...

Dined 5 days ago

A very beautiful dinning experience. Sat out side and it was so peaceful. The food was fabulous as well as the attentive and friendly service staff. Will recommend this to all my friends and business associates.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really lovely outdoor patio area with tr ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Really lovely outdoor patio area with true Low Country/Historic CHS charm; service is fabulous and food is very creative and tasty. If experimental dishes from the kitchen are not your thing, you might want to dine elsewhere. Quiet and so charming - hard not to give it a 5 out of 5 in all categories though!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very innovative menu. Everything was de ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Very innovative menu. Everything was delicious. The wait staff were great, so friendly, so knowledgeable, so helpful! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly inspired food! Most restaurants t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly inspired food! Most restaurants that have food plated as art lack taste. These plates are beautiful and delicious! Everything we ate was gorgeous and yummy! Super creative and nothing you will find elsewhere. Small dining room and courtyard gives a intimate feeling. Best food we ate in Charleston by a mile!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Zero George is my absolute Charleston fa ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Zero George is my absolute Charleston favorite. From the charming ambience to the outstanding service, food and wine selections , it's all superb. On site parking is another plus.

food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at some really nice places an ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I've eaten at some really nice places and this was one of the best overall. Food was fantastic with appropriate portion sizes, cocktails were delicious, and the service second to none. We will definitely be going back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Spectacular

Dined on June 7, 2016

On this evening was a limited menu fixed price dinner done during the Spoleto festival. One of Chef Vinson Petrillo's fortes is octopus, but this time the octopus was simply extraordinary. It was pressure cooked and then smoked on an open grill and served with a crispy lamb belly, eggplant, and pesto. I declared it my perfect last meal (of course in a entree not appetizer portion), but that was before I had the local wreck fish cooked in Serrano ham and served with carrots and celery, and an Ambrose blossom, and “asparagus jus” which also was the best wreck fish you will ever have. Now this is not even mentioning "The Tomato" appetizer and the lightly seared tuna with sea lettuces and Prawn Dumpling, Pickled Scapes, Truffle Miso, Sweet Turnip and the Tres Leches cake which I also sampled. Food, both taste and presentation, here is always excellent but this meal was truly extraordinary!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing!! I've been to 0 Geo ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing!! I've been to 0 George multiple times and have never had a bad experience! Servers are outstanding and the food is just phenomenal!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere The food was inventi ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great atmosphere The food was inventive and tasty. The service was good. My only complaint would be the $35 corkage fee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and I dined at Zero Cafe on a recent trip to Charleston. Everything about our experience was wonderful. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings and really enjoyed our meal. Our server, John, was friendly and helpful and we found the entire staff to be very welcoming. We went to a couple of other well-known "foodie" restaurants while there, but found this one to be our favorite by far!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Very limited menu, only 3 entrees. Port ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Very limited menu, only 3 entrees. Portions were quite small, given the prices

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

A bit too pretentious

Dined on May 15, 2016

We started at the bar and really enjoyed the experience and the cocktails even though they were pretty pricey. We were taken to our table in a gorgeous courtyard in the most beautiful setting. We had seen the menu online but I don't think we saw the prices. We were so hungry, especially after the strong drinks, that we ordered the Avocado Toast 'snack' to start. The caviar on top was overpowering and was all we tasted. We then each had appetizers (tortellini) which were very good. I had the 'beef Wellington' and my husband had the cobia. They were both very good dishes but when we totaled up our meal it came to $250. For that, we expect to be blown away and I felt like service got slower as the courses went on. The food was good but not fantastic. We left pretty disappointed and honestly still hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our birthday dinner at the Zero Cafe was ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our birthday dinner at the Zero Cafe was absolutely wonderful! The staff could not have been more gracious! The great cocktails at the bar before dinner were a treat and the bartender was a gem. Our meals were outstanding and beautifully presented. The service is top notch and added to a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

There are many great places eat in Charl ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

There are many great places eat in Charleston but few can claim to offer a truly fine dining experience like Zero Cafe + Bar. This is a hidden gem!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had thought Nouvelle cuisine gone, and I had thought that was a good thing. This restaurant proved me wrong. The wait staff was helpful and entertaining and worked together impeccably. We sat outside (do it if the weather is good, it is lovely) had the meal describe to us (set menu for mother's day), and enjoyed every minute. The flavors were different, fresh and better than described. The first course for example was tortellini and lobster with consomme. The dish was not drowned in the broth, but greatly enhanced by perhaps 4 ounces. after we mopped up what we could with our bread, I looked to make sure no one was watching, and picked up my bowl to drink it down. and unlike the typical nouvelle servings, they looked small but truly filled you up. My husband barely finished the main course, which left more dessert for me. He had over-indulged in the cheese plate, so it is not surprising. Also, the original cocktails were very tasty and not overworked. We are looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Highlight of My Charleston Trip

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and it's presentation were impeccable. That, combined with the ambiance, made for a very special dining experience. I just wish the weather had been a bit warmer so we could have taken advantage of the outdoor dining area. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Old Charleston and so cool, the George & ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Old Charleston and so cool, the George & Zero's first impression was a lovely courtyard you enter from the street. Really lovely and private outside dining. The lobster app was delicious and a tuna dish was delicious. Portions are smaller than the check, but it was a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We were staying at the hotel but received recommendations to dine at the cafe by several locals. The food was excellent. We had the lobster tortellini and soft shell crab to start and both were delicious. My husband had the lamb and he thoroughly enjoyed his dish. I had the flounder and the combination of flavors was amazing. We weren't that excited about the sound of the desert option but since the whole meal had been so phenomenal so far we have the Tres leche cake a shot. Once again we were impressed. Best meal we've had in a while worldwide!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous from start to finish

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We dined here on our last night in Charleston. We certainly saved the best for last. The outside setting was lovely. Service was attentive and gracious. The kitchen is small and open, which means the menu isn't extravagant. We each had a fish entree and both were spectacular. A special place, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Just what I thought it would be ,from th ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Just what I thought it would be ,from the time we were greeted when we came in we were seated Our Server Kailee was fantastic,explained Everything to us,it was my husbands birthday we ordered dessert,and she brought us some champagne to go along with our dessert. We will be back !! Outstanding !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very creative menu and excellent warm service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

While this was bit of a walk frim Belmond Charleston place hotel, it was absolutely worth it. The menu was unique and execution was flawless. We had two fish courses as main dish and each was a celebration of taste. The creativity alone is something not to be missed. The dessert eith passion fruit was zesty and unexpectedly nice. Our waitress was knowledgeable and genuine which accentuated the entirety of a good culinary experience. Nice dining room as well, small, well sectioned so it doesnt get too loud, with a classy decor.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful gem!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was perfect...can't wait to return! Food, service, ambiance was elegant, yet understated for everyone's comfort. Table settings, flowers, & touches of fine taste abound. Staff was a pleasure, as well! Delicious offerings with perfect sized portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were outstanding! I will ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and drinks were outstanding! I will certainly be back and I will spread the word in the meantime.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience I've had in a While

Dined on April 8, 2016

The outside patio was so special and the tasting menu was all delicious. I would definitely recommend Zero George to anyone looking for a nice dinner spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Best after-show meal around. Never disa ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Best after-show meal around. Never disappoints! Menu is continuously changing and is always delicious!

food5
ambience5
service4

For a stylish, exquisitely prepared meal ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

For a stylish, exquisitely prepared meal, you must hit Zero Cafe + Bar. A fabulously romantic little spot that delivers.

food5
ambience5
service5

The hype is real. One of the most romant ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

The hype is real. One of the most romantic spots in charleston.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great special birthday dinner with friends

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Perfect setting with excellent food. Recommend for special event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner and service

Dined on March 4, 2016

Zero George offers an intimate and unique dining experience. The menu changes frequently, and the chef's specials are always amazing. Definitely a destination for people who enjoy creative food as there is not much for the "meat and potatoes" crowd on the menu. I had one of the best meals I've had in a long time - a mix of seafood (Hamachi collar and diver scallops) and rich Beef Wellington with foie gras. I will definitely be back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambience, but falls flat elsewhere

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

You go to a place like Zero George for the full Monty .. food, beverages, ambiance and service. Overall, Zero George is a great romantic setting, but it falls flat elsewhere. The issues started when we were seated upstairs, which we found out from our waiter was the "overflow area". The room was very nice, but the seats were foldable wooden-slat chairs which were extremely uncomfortable. The issues continued with the waiter who was not very personable. Also, when we asked the person who delivered the food about the food, he wasn't able to provide much in the way of answers. The service overall was inattentive. ... no one filled up our wine glasses, water glasses were left empty, etc The wine list was very abbreviated ... maybe a dozen or so reds and whites. That would be fine if they were well chosen, but to give you an idea, they had a La Crema Chardonay on the list ... a nice grocery store wine, but not something you want to see in a restaurant striving to be better. And then there was the food. It was good, but not great. We had the flounder and the snapper. They reminded us of preparations from the 80's or 90's ... lots of different ingredients piled together that didn't result in cohesive dishes. We really wanted to love this place (and we did love the ambiance), but they have work to do. If they were to ask my option as to what they could do to improve, I would say (1) get someone to run the front of the house and (2) have the chief not try as hard.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 5 restaurant of all time

Dined on February 27, 2016

I've had some great meals and this one is in the top 5 for sure and I might even dare to say the top 2. Do the tasting menu! It's worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Food and Right next to the Gillaird.

Dined on February 25, 2016

Wonderful food, although menu is limited. Tiny bar and dining rooms but historic and elegant. Service was a bit over zealous but that is much better than inattentive. Our party contained a truly gluten free diner and no issues. So glad the Gilliard Center has been renovated to make it worthy of being Zero George's neighbor :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noisy but great cuisine

Dined on February 24, 2016

While the acoustics in the main dining area are not conducive to loud voices, the food was excellent. It has a limited menu but the two items that we sample were worthy of five stars each. Ditto, the starters. The wines by the glass were excellent as well.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

D luscious and unique

Dined on February 19, 2016

We loved that the menu revolved around current, in season ingredients in a number of delicious forms. Everything is crafted and creative and ALL delicious. Not what we expected, and better than we had hoped for. Will be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Literally the best meal we have had in a ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Literally the best meal we have had in all of our travels. A beautiful establishment and the food was out of this world. We came on the Friday before Valentine's Day. It was a chefs menu. 6 courses of bliss. Every course had a perfectly paired glass of wine or cocktail. I wish they did menus like this every night!

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Zero is a Hero

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our reservation was at eight in the even this Friday passed. We were not set in their intimate dining area until after nine that night. We were allowed a bit to much time with the bartender. He was an excellent citizen of our georgeous city, and understanding of our empty bellied good spirited plight. The menu was acute and pristinely prepared. I did incorrectly explain Beef Wellington to my not adventurous in food love. That really was my fault. The kitchen and staff meet my challenging allergy to the Allium family of plants with savour. I have been missed served by very reputatable chef's. The reason why we were seated late is the prior residents of our table were having memory that didn't need to end. Why we were glad to wait we have made ourselves afloat before the food. When the bill came the charged us very little much to our contrary. We bought a gift card to ensure our return in circa the amount of their generosity. The most impressive service we have received in this city and in the face of the adversity only kindness causes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food very loud

Dined on January 30, 2016

With tickets for a Saturday concert at the Gaillard in hand my wife and I decided to try 0 George. The pre show dinner special includes an appetizer , entrée, and a shared desert, at $49, on the expensive side. The quality of the food was excellent, the presentation, spectacular. On the down side; the dinning area is rather small and the bar only steps away so the noise level was very high. Our server was soft spoken so we had some difficulty hearing him. On a warmer evening the very pretty outdoor space might be a better option. The wine list was small but well chosen, with options for a full bottle or a glass .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A really nice evening out

Dined on January 30, 2016

Eating out should be a complete experience beyond sustenance. Zero George did not disappoint. From the bar to the table we received attentive well informed service. The ambiance was lovely. The food was artistic. Definitely on the list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.