About Zero Restaurant + Bar

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The menu is hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard.

0 George St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street and George Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://zerorestaurantcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Intimate and lush and so quintessentially Charleston, Zero Restaurant + Bar is an ideal private event venue. Delight your guests with the candlelit alfresco ambiance of our Old World courtyard and/or our inviting dining room. Zero Restaurant’s combination of upscale hospitality and culinary wow makes your special event truly special.

Types of private events: Private Cooking Classes, Hosted Happy Hours, Private Dinners, Cocktail Receptions. Please inquire directly with Restaurant for pricing and availability.

Private Party Contact:
Kendall Moore: (843) 901-8675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Restaurant Entrance - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Deviled Eggs - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Coffee Roasted Carrots - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Happy Hour Cheese Plate - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Octopus - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Scallops - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Tuna "Sandwich" - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Hamachi Collar - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Strawberry Tart - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
American Surrealist Cocktail - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC
Cocktail - Zero Restaurant + Bar, Charleston, SC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Tasting Menu (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (27)
Historic (23)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Vegan (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

i did not know what to expect from looki ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

i did not know what to expect from looking at the menu, but was pleasantly surprised. There were no decisions to be made and we got to try many things we normally would not. However, I went with my dauther and was happy my son in law didn't come and she doesn't enjoy wine and was in a hurry to get home to her husband so the atmosphere was wasted on her. But i will be going back and requesting to sit outside under the twinkling lights (it looked so romantic) and with someone who enjoys great food and amazing wine. this would be perfect for a date night or any time a little romance is needed. It would be great to go with a group of girlfriends who want to dine and visit as it was about a 3 hour process. The service was AMAZING.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very innovative cuisine and concept; wou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Very innovative cuisine and concept; would not recommend for those who just want meat and potatoes and are not willing to experiment and keep an open mind.. Absolutely loved the small dining area free from any piped in or loud music that would inhibit conversation. Waitstaff incredibly knowledgeable and genial. Most assuredly this is a special occasion dining experience based on uniqueness of the menu offerings and pricing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I traveled to Charleston for my birthday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I traveled to Charleston for my birthday and went to Zero to celebrate. At first I had sticker shock when I saw the tasting menu with pairings, but I decided to take advantage of what may be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. I was not disappointed! Both my friend & I had the Omnivore menu with pairings and it was incredible!! Great service - not only knowledgeable but friendly, warm & welcoming. Overall one of the best meals I've had. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were excellent. The staff, including the bar staff, is very knowledgeable and accommodating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is awesome. The chef's pr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is awesome. The chef's preparations are so unique and delicious. The ultimate for the foodie. Love that the chef prepares the meals in a small kitchen that is also used for their great cooking classes. The service was also very good and very attentive. Even though we were only visiting Charleston, we plan to come back just to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb! Everything was beautiful, delici ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb! Everything was beautiful, delicious and intriguing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolute perfection. Food preparation an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolute perfection. Food preparation and presentation is stellar, tasty cocktails, beautiful ambiance, wonderful service and staff.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Zero George is impeccably pr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The food at Zero George is impeccably prepared with local ingredients, with a creative presentation, and outstanding taste. The five course meal with the wine paring is well worth the extra money and is still a great value. The chef and his staff were very attentive. It is a hidden gem in a town known for its food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zero George is hands down the best resta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Zero George is hands down the best restaurant in Charleston. The creativity of Chef Vinson is top notch and the taste is even better. I could not speak more highly of this restaurant and the whole team here. Thank you for two amazing dinners.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 5th or 6th visit to Zero an ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was our 5th or 6th visit to Zero and every visit has been a culinary experience that we truly enjoy. The presentations and uniqueness to the offering are incredible and for anyone who truly appreciates fine dining this is a must!!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Petrillo is a genius. I've lived i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Chef Petrillo is a genius. I've lived in Europe for 22 years, four in France, and being a foodie, have eaten in some of the best restaurants in 22 European countries . If Z G were in France, they'd have at least one Guide Michelin star for presentation, preparation, quality, creativity of each and every one of their dishes. Chef P has my vote for best in the city . (Chef JS, sorry, but knowing you, it's only temporary).

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went as part of Restaurant Week and, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We went as part of Restaurant Week and, wow, this was probably the single best restaurant 'experience' we have had in Charleston. Beautiful, historic site nicely renovated, warm bar with on-request drinks, spectacular food, especially the appetizers and beef Wellington. Totally professional and friendly service finished off by amazing desserts. Pricey, but worth it and perfect for special events.

Tags: , Historic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the quality of t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were disappointed in the quality of the food. In considering the high prices I am not sure I could risk trying it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was out of this world. The bart ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was out of this world. The bartender was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. We loved our waitress' sense of humor. It was fun trying new food. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time. The tasting menus and wi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our first time. The tasting menus and wine pairings were both memorable. Service was casual but still timely and precise. Planning another visit in May.

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amy was so wonderful! Food was amazing! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amy was so wonderful! Food was amazing!!! Thank you for a great experience!!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit here and I was s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was my first visit here and I was so impressed. the wait staff were very knowledgeable about the menu and were friendly. this is a must visit whenever you are in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for New Year's eve and fou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for New Year's eve and found everything was very good including the wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is possibly the best restaurant I'v ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is possibly the best restaurant I've been to all year. For whatever reason I go to a lot of restaurants! The dining experience is unique… You walk through the very small kitchen to get to the bar and then through the bar to the seating area. The seating area itself is very intimate and romantic. A phenomenal date spot. As far as the food goes… Quite incredible. The best courses actually were towards the beginning. But all seven courses throughout are still quite incredible. You must get the tasting menu. I cannot recommend more highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant, eclectic menu. 5 courses w ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very elegant, eclectic menu. 5 courses with wine pairings. Delightful way to spend two very pleasant hours. However it is over priced so that "once would be enough". Very very good but not worth the tab.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Easy access and interesting menu. No ala ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Easy access and interesting menu. No ala Carter choices available but what was was unique and delicious. Portion size very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our third time to this restaurant. If yo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our third time to this restaurant. If you want a night to remember, a little pricey, this is the place. I never mind paying more for something that always leaves a great memory. Zero George does just that. The octopus is brilliant and will make you like octopus, if you do not already!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hands down -Best meal in charleston and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Hands down -Best meal in charleston and the ambience was beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is fine dining in Charleston, abun ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There is fine dining in Charleston, abundant everywhere you look. However Zero George is in a completely different league than any other restaurant in Charleston, by a long shot. And I've eaten at 95% of them. This is the kind of restaurant that you come to as it is the event of the evening. Don't be in a rush to hurry off to anything afterwards as you will want to savor every bite the chef and team prepare for you.

Arrive 30 minutes ahead of time and have a cocktail at the small quaint bar...this is absolutely worth it.

The service is casual but impeccable; whoever trains the wait staff deserves massive credit for the success of this wonderful venue . The meal itself is absolutely Michelin star quality; creative, unique, perfect blend of unusual flavors in every dish.

Free parking is on site, across the street. You enter through an open chef's kitchen where the chef and team greet you. You are then escorted through the small bar into the tiny dining room; or if the weather is nice, choose the beautiful outdoor patio dining.

Don't try to overthink what you want from the menu. Pick one of the prefix menus that seems roughly suitable to your tastes and sit back and enjoy all the creativity and innovation that went into the preparation.

This is our favorite spot in the area, and continues to exceed our expectations every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my girlfriend there for her birth ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took my girlfriend there for her birthday. Amazing environment, great service, great experience overall. The food was very interesting, I would highly recommend the snack plate to start, they had some very unique dishes that were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite Charleston restaura ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is our favorite Charleston restaurant. Everything is perfect. Ambiance, service and food all superlative. It is a must have experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Fiancé and I stayed at Zero George an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My Fiancé and I stayed at Zero George and were blown away by the ambiance and service in the hotel. When we ate dinner at the restaurant our expectations were blown out of the water! Amazing food done in extremely creative and beautiful ways. Great flavors, service and love for the food. Noteable cocktails as well! We will definitely be back next time we visit Charleston.

Tags: , Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't get reservations at Alinea in Chic ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Can't get reservations at Alinea in Chicago or Tickets in Barcelona? Then this is the place to be! Outstanding food experience with an artful touch. This is a true culinary experience hitting on all cylinders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A native Charlestonian of 59 years, our ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A native Charlestonian of 59 years, our evening at Zero George was one of the best ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A newly renovated old Charleston inn. Th ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A newly renovated old Charleston inn. The owners have done justice to this historic property. Very, very charming. Now they are attempting to recoup the investment through outrageous pricing in their restaurant. The food description was better than the delivered products. The Beef Wellington was, Beef Wellington. Enough said. I think there are better places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Brilliant presentation. Expensive but w ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brilliant presentation. Expensive but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. First course took 40 minutes to receive, but everything was great from there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A real treat before "The Nutcracker". Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A real treat before "The Nutcracker". The Omnivore cascade was delicious, with terrific wine pairings. Best was JJ, our server - Knowledgeable, attentive and a great and appropriate conversationalist.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

So far is the best restaurant I have bee ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

So far is the best restaurant I have been on USA as far as value,food,service,. No words can describe the experience that I had. The food was amazing 5 plates the tasting manu,one plate better than the other and paired with very good wine. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A recommendation to us from some friends ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A recommendation to us from some friends who live in Charleston, and we were not disappointed! Great savory flavors with amazing texture. The wine pairings were spot on, and our server was fantastic (I wish we would have gotten her name)! What a terrific full dining experience. No regrets from this charming, one of a kind, delectable gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience. Quirky layout yie ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 2, 2016

An amazing experience. Quirky layout yielded a cozy bar where my husband ordered his typical gin martini, bartender suggested a dash of orange butters and it was the best martini he'd ever had. I had the Smoke on the Water, fabulous take on a Manhattan. Then to our courtyard table with heat lamp. Waiter JJ was outstanding. Food unbelievable, this is a spot for foodies to luxuriate. 5 courses but really 6 with "snacks" which were devil eggs with caviar, lobster spring roll so delicate, carrot macaroon, and the mind blowing potted plant, won't give away the surprise. Then a tapioca and oyster riff on clam chowder, the superb gnudi with chanterelles and hazelnuts, olive oil poached salmon with sunchoke veloute, decadent beef Wellington with a black garlic daub, and surprising reinterpreted carrot cake. All with wine pairings. Truly a dining experience to remember. Go to this place before everyone else finds out about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Caught off guard by the fixed price menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Caught off guard by the fixed price menu, but what we had was very good. Waiter very knowledgeable and conversant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was truly a unique dining experience. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was truly a unique dining experience. Loved the inventive food selections and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location, food was uneven, some dis ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Nice location, food was uneven, some dishes were quite good but most were disappointing. We took the 55$ menu, but the entree selection is very narrow salmon ( not bad but without real savor) or vegetarian ( pretty good). Cheese plate was very basic, tre lecce really good.

Overall cooking is not tasty enough for the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Overall excellent place to dine. Good cr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Overall excellent place to dine. Good creatively prepared and dished courses. Staff friendly and accommodating. Ambiance made the meal! Although this may be perceived as picky, the "dress code" by online sites labeled it as "dressy" and for the most part, diners were dressed the part. The servers on the other hand wore jeans/plaid shirts and carried a rather hipster vibe. Seemed to clashed a bit. Would it deter me from returning? By no means. Just an observation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.