About Zero Cafe + Bar - Zero George Hotel

317 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Zero Cafe + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The a-la-carte menu is approachable, hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard. We also offer a 7-course Chef's Tasting Menu Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Happy Hour Tuesday - Sunday from 5-6 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
George St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://www.zerogeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Two wonderful communal rooms for small cocktail gatherings. Please call in advance for parties of six or more.

Private Party Contact:
Justin Edgar: 8439018675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Zero Cafe + Bar - Zero George Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
6 More
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (52)
romantic (46)
special occasion (44)
See All
great for outdoor dining (29)
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
good for groups (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere The food was inventi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere The food was inventive and tasty. The service was good. My only complaint would be the $35 corkage fee.

food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Very limited menu, only 3 entrees. Port ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Very limited menu, only 3 entrees. Portions were quite small, given the prices

food3
ambience5
service2
value1

A bit too pretentious

Dined on May 15, 2016

We started at the bar and really enjoyed the experience and the cocktails even though they were pretty pricey. We were taken to our table in a gorgeous courtyard in the most beautiful setting. We had seen the menu online but I don't think we saw the prices. We were so hungry, especially after the strong drinks, that we ordered the Avocado Toast 'snack' to start. The caviar on top was overpowering and was all we tasted. We then each had appetizers (tortellini) which were very good. I had the 'beef Wellington' and my husband had the cobia. They were both very good dishes but when we totaled up our meal it came to $250. For that, we expect to be blown away and I felt like service got slower as the courses went on. The food was good but not fantastic. We left pretty disappointed and honestly still hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our birthday dinner at the Zero Cafe was ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our birthday dinner at the Zero Cafe was absolutely wonderful! The staff could not have been more gracious! The great cocktails at the bar before dinner were a treat and the bartender was a gem. Our meals were outstanding and beautifully presented. The service is top notch and added to a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

There are many great places eat in Charl ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

There are many great places eat in Charleston but few can claim to offer a truly fine dining experience like Zero Cafe + Bar. This is a hidden gem!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had thought Nouvelle cuisine gone, and I had thought that was a good thing. This restaurant proved me wrong. The wait staff was helpful and entertaining and worked together impeccably. We sat outside (do it if the weather is good, it is lovely) had the meal describe to us (set menu for mother's day), and enjoyed every minute. The flavors were different, fresh and better than described. The first course for example was tortellini and lobster with consomme. The dish was not drowned in the broth, but greatly enhanced by perhaps 4 ounces. after we mopped up what we could with our bread, I looked to make sure no one was watching, and picked up my bowl to drink it down. and unlike the typical nouvelle servings, they looked small but truly filled you up. My husband barely finished the main course, which left more dessert for me. He had over-indulged in the cheese plate, so it is not surprising. Also, the original cocktails were very tasty and not overworked. We are looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Highlight of My Charleston Trip

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and it's presentation were impeccable. That, combined with the ambiance, made for a very special dining experience. I just wish the weather had been a bit warmer so we could have taken advantage of the outdoor dining area. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Old Charleston and so cool, the George & ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Old Charleston and so cool, the George & Zero's first impression was a lovely courtyard you enter from the street. Really lovely and private outside dining. The lobster app was delicious and a tuna dish was delicious. Portions are smaller than the check, but it was a nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We were staying at the hotel but received recommendations to dine at the cafe by several locals. The food was excellent. We had the lobster tortellini and soft shell crab to start and both were delicious. My husband had the lamb and he thoroughly enjoyed his dish. I had the flounder and the combination of flavors was amazing. We weren't that excited about the sound of the desert option but since the whole meal had been so phenomenal so far we have the Tres leche cake a shot. Once again we were impressed. Best meal we've had in a while worldwide!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous from start to finish

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We dined here on our last night in Charleston. We certainly saved the best for last. The outside setting was lovely. Service was attentive and gracious. The kitchen is small and open, which means the menu isn't extravagant. We each had a fish entree and both were spectacular. A special place, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Just what I thought it would be ,from th ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Just what I thought it would be ,from the time we were greeted when we came in we were seated Our Server Kailee was fantastic,explained Everything to us,it was my husbands birthday we ordered dessert,and she brought us some champagne to go along with our dessert. We will be back !! Outstanding !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very creative menu and excellent warm service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

While this was bit of a walk frim Belmond Charleston place hotel, it was absolutely worth it. The menu was unique and execution was flawless. We had two fish courses as main dish and each was a celebration of taste. The creativity alone is something not to be missed. The dessert eith passion fruit was zesty and unexpectedly nice. Our waitress was knowledgeable and genuine which accentuated the entirety of a good culinary experience. Nice dining room as well, small, well sectioned so it doesnt get too loud, with a classy decor.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful gem!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was perfect...can't wait to return! Food, service, ambiance was elegant, yet understated for everyone's comfort. Table settings, flowers, & touches of fine taste abound. Staff was a pleasure, as well! Delicious offerings with perfect sized portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were outstanding! I will ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food and drinks were outstanding! I will certainly be back and I will spread the word in the meantime.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience I've had in a While

Dined on April 8, 2016

The outside patio was so special and the tasting menu was all delicious. I would definitely recommend Zero George to anyone looking for a nice dinner spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Best after-show meal around. Never disa ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Best after-show meal around. Never disappoints! Menu is continuously changing and is always delicious!

food5
ambience5
service4

For a stylish, exquisitely prepared meal ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

For a stylish, exquisitely prepared meal, you must hit Zero Cafe + Bar. A fabulously romantic little spot that delivers.

food5
ambience5
service5

The hype is real. One of the most romant ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

The hype is real. One of the most romantic spots in charleston.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great special birthday dinner with friends

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Perfect setting with excellent food. Recommend for special event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner and service

Dined on March 4, 2016

Zero George offers an intimate and unique dining experience. The menu changes frequently, and the chef's specials are always amazing. Definitely a destination for people who enjoy creative food as there is not much for the "meat and potatoes" crowd on the menu. I had one of the best meals I've had in a long time - a mix of seafood (Hamachi collar and diver scallops) and rich Beef Wellington with foie gras. I will definitely be back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambience, but falls flat elsewhere

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

You go to a place like Zero George for the full Monty .. food, beverages, ambiance and service. Overall, Zero George is a great romantic setting, but it falls flat elsewhere. The issues started when we were seated upstairs, which we found out from our waiter was the "overflow area". The room was very nice, but the seats were foldable wooden-slat chairs which were extremely uncomfortable. The issues continued with the waiter who was not very personable. Also, when we asked the person who delivered the food about the food, he wasn't able to provide much in the way of answers. The service overall was inattentive. ... no one filled up our wine glasses, water glasses were left empty, etc The wine list was very abbreviated ... maybe a dozen or so reds and whites. That would be fine if they were well chosen, but to give you an idea, they had a La Crema Chardonay on the list ... a nice grocery store wine, but not something you want to see in a restaurant striving to be better. And then there was the food. It was good, but not great. We had the flounder and the snapper. They reminded us of preparations from the 80's or 90's ... lots of different ingredients piled together that didn't result in cohesive dishes. We really wanted to love this place (and we did love the ambiance), but they have work to do. If they were to ask my option as to what they could do to improve, I would say (1) get someone to run the front of the house and (2) have the chief not try as hard.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 5 restaurant of all time

Dined on February 27, 2016

I've had some great meals and this one is in the top 5 for sure and I might even dare to say the top 2. Do the tasting menu! It's worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Food and Right next to the Gillaird.

Dined on February 25, 2016

Wonderful food, although menu is limited. Tiny bar and dining rooms but historic and elegant. Service was a bit over zealous but that is much better than inattentive. Our party contained a truly gluten free diner and no issues. So glad the Gilliard Center has been renovated to make it worthy of being Zero George's neighbor :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noisy but great cuisine

Dined on February 24, 2016

While the acoustics in the main dining area are not conducive to loud voices, the food was excellent. It has a limited menu but the two items that we sample were worthy of five stars each. Ditto, the starters. The wines by the glass were excellent as well.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

D luscious and unique

Dined on February 19, 2016

We loved that the menu revolved around current, in season ingredients in a number of delicious forms. Everything is crafted and creative and ALL delicious. Not what we expected, and better than we had hoped for. Will be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Literally the best meal we have had in a ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Literally the best meal we have had in all of our travels. A beautiful establishment and the food was out of this world. We came on the Friday before Valentine's Day. It was a chefs menu. 6 courses of bliss. Every course had a perfectly paired glass of wine or cocktail. I wish they did menus like this every night!

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Zero is a Hero

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our reservation was at eight in the even this Friday passed. We were not set in their intimate dining area until after nine that night. We were allowed a bit to much time with the bartender. He was an excellent citizen of our georgeous city, and understanding of our empty bellied good spirited plight. The menu was acute and pristinely prepared. I did incorrectly explain Beef Wellington to my not adventurous in food love. That really was my fault. The kitchen and staff meet my challenging allergy to the Allium family of plants with savour. I have been missed served by very reputatable chef's. The reason why we were seated late is the prior residents of our table were having memory that didn't need to end. Why we were glad to wait we have made ourselves afloat before the food. When the bill came the charged us very little much to our contrary. We bought a gift card to ensure our return in circa the amount of their generosity. The most impressive service we have received in this city and in the face of the adversity only kindness causes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food very loud

Dined on January 30, 2016

With tickets for a Saturday concert at the Gaillard in hand my wife and I decided to try 0 George. The pre show dinner special includes an appetizer , entrée, and a shared desert, at $49, on the expensive side. The quality of the food was excellent, the presentation, spectacular. On the down side; the dinning area is rather small and the bar only steps away so the noise level was very high. Our server was soft spoken so we had some difficulty hearing him. On a warmer evening the very pretty outdoor space might be a better option. The wine list was small but well chosen, with options for a full bottle or a glass .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A really nice evening out

Dined on January 30, 2016

Eating out should be a complete experience beyond sustenance. Zero George did not disappoint. From the bar to the table we received attentive well informed service. The ambiance was lovely. The food was artistic. Definitely on the list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The chef is very meticulous and focused ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

The chef is very meticulous and focused in composition, which we admired throughout the meal. We found out they do cooking classes too! I believe this chef has a lot to teach people!

food5
ambience4
service5

Small space. Intimate. Had tasting menu. ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Small space. Intimate. Had tasting menu. Very good. Lots of food. Good pairings. Fun experience. Spent 304 dollars for 2 people.....so pretty expensive, but I was not disappointed. Might go back for special occasion. Too much money to be a regular destination.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply the best of Charleston!

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

I came here with high expectations and was blown away. Food was an awesome experience. The service was knowledgable, personable, and perfectly timed. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience it was to di ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

What a wonderful experience it was to dine at Zero Café + Bar. The ambiance is perfect for a romantic night out or celebrating a special occasion. Warm and friendly, it was like dining in the family dining room. The food was exceptional as was the service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience for a special occasion

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

We have eaten at all the best restaurants in Charleston as locals and highly recommend Zero George as one of Charleston's best kept secrets. A smaller establishment, special attention and personal service is provided to all diners. Drinks and especially food is spectacular, very refined, thoughtful presentations with imaginary depth of flavor. Romantic ambiance and a wonderful 3 course meal were the perfect combination for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A lovely dining experience, Old World setting

Dined on January 8, 2016

Our server was delightful, dinner was outstanding, the atmosphere intimate and wonderful, a delightful prelude to the concert across the street at The Gaillard. And the parking is free!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good everything

Dined on January 8, 2016

food and service were excellent. Very quiet and intimate dining room where you could actually have a conversation. A little pricey but for special occasions it is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I was drawn to the restaurant by the oct ...

Dined on January 5, 2016

I was drawn to the restaurant by the octopus appetizer which was excellent as was the Beef Wellington. This place does not disappoint. Fabulous!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but the choices were limited

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

There were only 3 choices for entrees. I feel there should at least be 5. The food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dinner!

Dined on December 30, 2015

Fantastic food, beautiful space, excellent service. This restaurant is truly special and I can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Excellent food- not so good a value

Dined on December 27, 2015

Definitely fit for foodies. The food was extremely carefully prepared, and the atmosphere very warm and quiet. Although there were only 3 entree choices, we both like fish and ordered the salmon and the cod. We also each ordered appetizers, which were excellent, and had one glass of wine each. The issue was the portion sizes, which were extremely small. You really need to order the tasting menu with 5 courses to have a normal meal. Our bill for the above, including tip, was $170, a very poor value since we left hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.