About Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Experience the fresh taste of coastal Italian cuisine beneath the twinkling of lights in an enchanting courtyard setting. At Zeppole, you’ll enjoy traditional Italian and uniquely prepared seafood dishes. Enhance your meal with our large selection of exquisite Italian wines, or fresh baked signature Zeppole pastries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $25 or more in Zeppole will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Sascia Marchesi

Private Party Facilities:
A variety of dining spaces make Zeppole a perfect choice for intimate dinners or group gatherings with the ability to accommodate up to 100 guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

special occasion (22)
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (17)
See All
romantic (16)
great for outdoor dining (11)
scenic view (9)
notable wine list (5)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even though we had a reservation, we wer ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Even though we had a reservation, we were seated at the worst table in the house which we refused. The restaurant was not that busy. They kept better tables for those just walking in and staying at the hotel. I would not recommend this place to anyone who lives in the area. There is a much better Italian restaurant just a mile down the road. Very Disappointing! Will never go back. Also gives the Gaylord a black eye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

We had the lamb chops. Nether of us cou ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had the lamb chops. Nether of us could finish our plates. Lamb was cooked perfect as was everything. Price for 2 with drinks was below 85.00 and our waiter was perfect. We tried to go Saturday night without a reservation even though over 20 tables were empty they wouldn't seat us. Was very disappointed but went to Mexican restaurant and had a very good meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice for special occasion! Service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice for special occasion! Service was excellent and food arrived promptly. We were celebrating a birthday and were offered a complimentary dessert which was delicious. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chilean sea bass was so tasty, I ret ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Chilean sea bass was so tasty, I returned the next night for seconds! I also recommend the lemon tart. Service was pleasant and very accommodating.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. I was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service were excellent. I was impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Take wife there for date nights, we alwa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Take wife there for date nights, we always enjoy going to the Gaylord for the great service and awesome atmosphere

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and food was just ok - defi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Poor service and food was just ok - definitely not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Food was good but not great. I enjoyed ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good but not great. I enjoyed my ravioli selection but wished it had more flavor. Everything on the plate just one flavor - no variety. Good but not great. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meals but all commented they were just "ok". Service was good and the menu prices were reasonable for a resort restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very disappointed in the food qu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food quality and ordered Martini's that were served in regular glasses...they were out of Martini glasses. Our waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The Caesar salad was excellent as were t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The Caesar salad was excellent as were the meatballs. The pasta was so over cooked it was like mush. Certainly not what I would expect from a higher-end restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We took advantage of the happy hour appe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We took advantage of the happy hour appetizers and wine--Very good value. There were some ups and downs: The shrimp and calamari was mostly fried vegetables, but crisp and tasty. The poached pear and prosciutto was great, though it came with a huge ball of blue cheese and no crackers. At $5, we weren't complaining. And the fig pizette was good, but the crust was not as crisp and light as I would have liked. Overall, everything was good. The service was efficient and congenial. We did not order entrees, but the selection looked delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was definitely the low point of our ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was definitely the low point of our stay at the Gaylord. I made a reservation for 8:15pm, we arrived at around 8pm and were told that we would be seated closer to our reservation time. At 8:30 we were still waiting! I had to go back to the host to remind him of our reservation time, he told me he was getting the table ready. We walked by many empty tables to be seated practically in the kitchen and right next to the bathroom. I asked if we could move, after a few excuses the lady finally seated us at another table.

Our server was Paul. He was very nice, but either he had too many tables in his section or he has poor time management. There was not one time when he automatically refilled our drinks and we never asked for a refill less than twice! The food was ok, but nothing memorable.

It was a huge disappointment after the great experience we had at the hotel in general and the Mexican restaurant they have onsite. I live locally and won't be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was delicious!!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall very good experience - service w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall very good experience - service was exceptional and food was tasty - few hiccups but overall nothing to be upset about. Recommend and will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian food EVER! I was so impres ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Best Italian food EVER! I was so impressed with every aspect of the menu items that we ordered. Salad - divine! Spaghetti and Meatballs were the BEST EVER!!! Lobster was perfect! The food is a far cry above other Italian restaurants in the DFW metroplex. It is a bit pricey, but we WILL BE BACK!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is exactly what you would expect from ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It is exactly what you would expect from a hotel restaurant. The food was okay nothing special. Our server was horribly slow. Dinner took over 2 hours and we only ordered entrees and one dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Awesome sea bass and tiramisu!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome sea bass and tiramisu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Thoroughly pleased

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

A group of us were in for a conference and wanted to have dinner all together. We booked here based on other's reviews and we were so happy we did! The food was EXCELLENT! The wait staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this place to everyone! And should I find myself in Dallas again, you can be sure I will be at Zeppole!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High standards

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent. Lovely Caesar salad, perfect focaccia, in house made veal ravioli!

We finished our dinner with lemon tart although the signature dessert are the sugar zeppoles...next time. Knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. Italian wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best dinner we've ever had out. !

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

From beginning to end. I had the lobster risotto, my husband had the lamb chops! It was AMAZING, we've never had a better meal! Had to compliment the manager and the chef. Our waiter was also impeccable. We were given a complimentary dessert and shot for my husband's graduation. Never even had to ask for it. They went above and beyond for us, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MRS.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food. I had requested speghetti and meatballs, but the waiter encouraged me to get something different since my husband ordered speghetti and meatballs.

I ordered the lobster and it was not good at all I think it was not even real lobster. This was the first restaurant we went to which was not a good first impression. I wish we would get our money back. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Despite the bad customer experience at t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Despite the bad customer experience at the hotel it self, we thought staying in at the hotel our last night to enjoy some dinner would turn around our experience; but we thought wrong. The waitress was not friendly nor suggested any good dishers/drinks to enjoy. We are not from Grapevine and expected to have the waitress ask what the occasion was to help our experience. the food was not what we expected and with such a small choice of dishes. we ordered appetizers and main dish. and both were dropped off by a random people and not friendly at all. they dropped it off and ran off, the waiter took a while to check how our food was. we never saw her, and my husband had to go up to the bar to ask for our tab to close out. not a friendly welcome or thank you. the prices of the food we expected a lot more especially in a hotel. we expected to stay at the hotel the entire time but this was the toping of the icing that we are for sure never going to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing Meal

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had an absolutely wonderful meal at Zeppole. I began with a prosciutto & pear appetizer, the house salad and then an oh so tasty entre - the Pappardelle Pasta All Astice. This was a delightful mix of pasta cooked to perfection, lobster, shrimp & zucchini in a saffron tomato sauce. Yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for our anniversary dinner, a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went there for our anniversary dinner, awesome! Great good and when I asked the server a question about the bar drinks, he didn't know but went and got an answer right away.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good but not great. Since we were at th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good but not great. Since we were at the Gaylord it was easy to get to it but not particularly special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food and service were very good. Me ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and service were very good. Me and my family enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Huge selcetion fone the wine list. Food choices were varied - and excellent quality

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mixed review

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had 11 in our group and they accommodated us nicely, but several meals were ice cold and had to be sent back. Service was a little slow, but ambiance was nice. Not a full restaurant so getting a table for a big group was not a problem.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Gaylord Dinner spot

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Zeppole works as a decent value alternative to the high priced steak house scene. Service was great and variety of times was decent.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

M Nielsen

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Decent Italian food... Good service, good atmosphere. The plates start at $35 and go up from there. My wifes seafood pasta dish was in a skillet, it was okay. My seafood pasta dish was larger, had shrimp, scallops, it was better tasting we agreed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ok Italian

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

We ate there for convenience so we wouldn't have to leave the hotel. Food was ok, nothing special.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for Valentines!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wasn't even staying at the Gaylord but took my wife to Zeppole for Valentine's Day to try their food and was very satisfied. We had a great experience, excellent food and service, will definitely recommend Zeppile's for dinner and we'll be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful; however, the wai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was wonderful; however, the waitress kept apologizing for being too busy (It was Valentines weekend and the hotel was full, you would have thought they would have anticipated being very busy). The main course came right before we finished our appetizer, which was a little irritating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Dinner with out of town guests

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had a great time, the food was excellent, really enjoyed the atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Memorable Anniversary

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 6th anniversary and could not be more pleased with the entire experience. We were greeting very warmly by the host, who took time to "adjust our table" after he learned that it was our anniversary. We were seated on the patio overlooking the indoor water feature. Our server, Jamie, was extremely attentive and provided excellent service. The food was amazing and very well worth the price. We were treated to a dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. We plan to visit here again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was really expecting more of everything. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Was really expecting more of everything. Someone had to find our server to let her know she had guests seated. The appetizer meat and cheese board was very good. The salads were bland and after sitting with all our empty plates for about thirty minutes the table was partially cleared. It took another long wait for our entrees one of which was cold and the other three were still warm enough but none were hot. It took so long to flag our server about the cold dish that the others were done with there's. The taste was good but nothing was great on any dish. For the price nothing really to recommend.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The meal was spot on. Best pasta. Had th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

The meal was spot on. Best pasta. Had the cavatapi which is made fresh there and it was amazing. The waitress was very attentive and had great recommendations. Would go back every time even if your not staying at the Gaylord.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zeppole Coastal Italian Inn

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Stayed with my family at the Gaylord Texan and chose Zeppole as our dinner restaurant to avoid the need to leave the grounds. Reservations are HIGHLY recommended as we heard the wait for walk-ups as we arrived to be nearly 2 hours. The food is very good. Our waitress was very accommodating and attentive. However, there was a party going on next to us with 20+ kids and virtually no adult supervision. We are not snobs and enjoy children, but the noise level and the activity of the kids was beyond tolerable. We were gracious with our waitress since it was in no way her fault and she was apologetic. This really isn't a "romantic getaway" spot because of the noise, but is great for family dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Poor service, below average food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I made reservations 1 month in advance. I was excited that they kept checking via email and phone calls to make sure I still wanted my time and date. I believed that was as sign it was popular. We were seated right away. Waiter got our orders all wrong and they were simple. I had a salad with dressing on the side, my husband had fish no pork. Both were wrong I had coffee and had to ask 3 times for sugar and my husband had to ask for refills on wine then waiter passed us so many times before he could remember we needed sugar or refills. It was not that busy and many tables were empty. When we got the fish it looked like they just pealed off the pork and reserved the same dish. We paid and left but will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

restaurant review

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Our server, Richard, realized we were indecisive, so offered to decide our dinner selection for us and we agreed. He modified the meal since neither of us eat seafood. His selection was an entree we have never had, and it was wonderful. The chef is excellent, the atmosphere very unique with open roof seating and visually enjoyable. We enjoyed the evening and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.