About Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Experience the fresh taste of coastal Italian cuisine beneath the twinkling of lights in an enchanting courtyard setting. At Zeppole, you’ll enjoy traditional Italian and uniquely prepared seafood dishes. Enhance your meal with our large selection of exquisite Italian wines, or fresh baked signature Zeppole pastries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $25 or more in Zeppole will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Sascia Marchesi

Private Party Facilities:
A variety of dining spaces make Zeppole a perfect choice for intimate dinners or group gatherings with the ability to accommodate up to 100 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Seasonal (12)
Fun (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fireplace (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Expensive for business travel but the food and service were great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service was great but the food not so much. Didn't really care for the appetizer and was not edible for me. The lobster in the pasta was very chewy. Also noticed the couple next to us sent the salmon dish back and couldn't eat it either. We were a party of 2 and seated very close to each other, another party was seated in the middle of our dinner and was very loud. Would not recommend at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great calamari! Seafood also was great! Go D service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Pumpkin Ravioli is to die for. It was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is not worth it. Expensive for what you get... Better to go to Maggiano's or Nicola's in Plano. Nice ambiance but that's it. The server screwed up and threw away my left over which still had lobster in it. He gave me a replacement but it looked bad when I opened the bag~ who knows what that was! I will not go back here for sure!

Valet is paid if u get validation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Been to the Gaylord a couple of times and this is the first time we tried Zeppole which was rather good. Had great choices and very filling. The shrimp and calamari app was great and the main courses were rather good. The pumpkin filled pasta for my wife and I had the lamb which was very good. Overall an excellent meal and the staff was very good. Would like to see a few more offering choices but overall it was well worth the meal. Nice to sit outside and not worry about the weather on patio.

Good place for a special occasion in my books and value was good. You should try this place if at the Gaylord.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fun location inside the Gaylord and nice ambience. I enjoyed the veal ravioli and my companion enjoyed spaghetti and meatballs. The profiterole and chocolate cake desserts were also very good. We received very attentive service and the food was prompt coming out. I would recommend this to others.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The restuarant and wine selections was nice. However the food was extremely salty and full of MSG.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

(Editorial caveat: Post-Christmas season, and the entire Gaylord Texan was practically empty) The food was okay, but for the price, I would expect it to be epic. I will say that the cocktails were extremely good, and ambiance and service were both exceptional. I'm on the fence about recommending the place, but again, it was post-Christmas season rush madness, and there were probably 10 people in the whole restaurant. I'd like to give this place another try when it's busy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Overall a decent location. Food was par small portions and a bit pricey considering . Ddrinks were par service was par but overall kind of rude. Do not plan on sitting long after you finish your meal to have a bit of conversation with your group as you will feel rushed to move on out by the wait staff who has no problem making you know they feel it is time for you to go. Hostess was very professional and friendly as well as accommodating.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Celebrating birthdays; excellent service; we felt very relaxed, not rushed, and spent about 2 hours at the table.

Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was the second time to dine in the same restaurant with-in two days (as were staying at the hotel). The waiter we had was just awful. He knew nothing about the drink menu or the dining menu. He went so far as to say that a dish 'looked good, but he never tasted it.' We ordered wine and he sniffed our wine cork, touching his nose!

My older daughter was drinking tea out of the wine glass that was on the table upon arrival and after appetizers were brought. He told her she could not use the wine glass, as they will break and crumble in your hand, he has already had several break. Needless to say, we were concerned if we should be using the glasses.

On our previous dining experience, we received a basket of bread after we ordered drinks and appetizers. We asked for bread, and the waiter said, he doesn't bring out bread until the entree's are ordered. We assured him that we would be ordering entree's, as we were asking questions about items on the menu - not that he was any help.

He was very inattentive and rude. I wish I could recall his name.

If dining there, ask for Karen. She is super sweet and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent our server was awful

Very slow & inattentive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined for New Year's Eve. The temperature of the restaurant was uncomfortably cool. Service seemed too slow. Food, however, was very good. I would come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good we will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great restaurant in the Gaylord! Food was fantastic. We sat in a small room with about 4 tables which made the noise level a bit better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great meal and dining experience. It was our New Year's dinner and we were very pleased. We were promptly seated and attended to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was seved luke warm. Much better after being heated.

Italian tenors were rather too loud and tiresome.

The only reservation available was 5 PM at which time most tables were empty until 6 PM. Why not allow us a later reservation time, or tell us it is OK to arrive an hour late?

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very fresh and delicious. Waitress was very knowledgeable about the food & drink menu,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fun times with friends. I had the Seafood Stew which was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is incredible. We had a wonderful first time experience, our server was super and provided honest recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Gaylord is always festive at the Christmas Season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

After we got past the horrible hostess, we had a good meal and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Booked on open table, got there early and they sat us immediately. Food was delicious and our waiter was very friendly and accomodating. Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to the Gaylord to spend the holidays having fun at ICE. We needed a place to eat and choose Zeppole for my dad's birthday. It was great. Service was top notch and food delicious. Only negative thing I have to say is that for the price I expected more food but regardless foods and drinks were delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is a great restaurant. Fresh focaccia with a dipping "sauce" of balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Salads included the caesar salad with huge parmesan shavings and the house salad, both excellent. Our entrees included gnocci with lobster in a cream sauce and the veal "osso bucco" raviolli. Wow! Everything was delicious. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Been there 3 times, every time food was great, but what better was service (each different waiters).

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was cold...at a holiday brunch and they did not replace the sterno cans to keep the buffet food warm. The a manager could have easily spot checked this..

There was a great variety of food..that was not the issue, but the food was surprisingly cold ...very expensive dining experience and somewhat of a disappointment considering the expense and the effort to dine here for a very rare holiday experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had the Christmas Buffet, but they couldn't keep the warmers hot and the food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The lower ratings above are ONLY pertaining to the buffet style meal at Zeppole Restaurant experienced on Christmas Day 2016. I have no experience at Zeppole otherwise. But with the severe disappointments encountered on that specific day, I feel compelled to share them. And, as a result of the visit to that restaurant, as well as the hotel itself, on that particular day, I will never repeat the visit for the same purpose nor recommend it to anyone for two reasons. (1) Regarding Zeppole restaurant itself, while the flavor of the buffet food was excellent, ALL of it was cold, and that was a huge disappointment, especially given the exorbitant price for a "self-service" meal. (2) The entire place (i.e. entrance, lobby, atrium, etc.) was drastically over-crowded, causing significant mobility hassles and severely diminishing the long anticipated Christmas Day meal experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had dinner reservations for 4 on Christmas Eve. You were able to be seated 25 min before our reservation. It didn't appear to be too busy. The service was good, the food was good but I thought the wine and food were a bit overpriced. I had spaghetti and meatballs-not a big portion at all and it was $20. Wine by glass (small serving) $9.

The rest of my dining companions said their entrees were good. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back to the Gaylord just for this restaurant but it was nice for the occasion.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Probably the best calamari we've ever had! The food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our service was excellent. We were sat right by the kitchen which isn't a bad view as it is an open kitchen. Most of the seating has a view of something, people walking by, etc. we had our 2 1/2 year old with us and they were very accommodating and patient and we never felt out of place. I loved that it was in the hotel so I could have a couple glasses of wine and walk back to our room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Just a lovely dinner. The sea bass, gnocchi, and clams are all fabulous. The ambience is perfect t for a celebration!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (East Texas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Loved everything about this place! Best Italian food ever!! Had the Shrimp and scallop scampi!! Yummo!! Also the best ceaser salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Got sick from meatball! Service apathetic. Would not recommend or come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I thought the food at Zeppole was fantastic. What I was not happy with was the service. Our waiter forgot about us multiple times, he didn't tell us the specials until I asked, and never asked us if we wanted an appetizer or a drink. By the end of the night I just wanted to eat my food and leave because the service was so poor.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful!!! Wine a little over priced! But everything else WONDERFUL!!!! Food fabulous!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Horrible food, ok service and sat us by a family with screaming kids running around. Not at all what I had in mind...would never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had been to the Gaylord one other time with a work party. I was amazed by the ambiance and the fact I finally found some decent Italian food in Texas.

However this latest visit for my wife's birthday was not the same experience. The difference was in our server Paul. He seemed aggravated, and rushed the entire time. Everyone at my table (party of four) noticed and said something. I did not address, not looking to aggravate him more and risk creating a negative situation for my wife on her birthday.

Luckily my wife and family were so impressed with everything else I will be allowed to return to the Gaylord to enjoy the Italian cuisine, that generally lacks in Texas. I will however be sure NOT to sit at a table served by Paul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food and atmosphere were excellent. We were not rushed and our waiter (Paul) was attentive and extremely helpful.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lobster gnocchi was grainy and drowning in sauce. Tasted like mushy Mac n cheese- not good for $28!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Kevin our waiter was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was attentive and couldn't do enough to make our dinner enjoyable. Thank you !

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was terrible which was unfortunate because the food was awesome. Loved the spaghetti and meatballs and don't forget the zeppole for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Good is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed a great meal and wonderful setting at the restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Consistentky good food and service. Hard to find in a hotel setting. Even though we're locals, we dine here often.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food! Great service just not the best place for a important date night it's more of a family restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.