About Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Experience the fresh taste of coastal Italian cuisine beneath the twinkling of lights in an enchanting courtyard setting. At Zeppole, you’ll enjoy traditional Italian and uniquely prepared seafood dishes. Enhance your meal with our large selection of exquisite Italian wines, or fresh baked signature Zeppole pastries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $25 or more in Zeppole will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Sascia Marchesi

Private Party Facilities:
A variety of dining spaces make Zeppole a perfect choice for intimate dinners or group gatherings with the ability to accommodate up to 100 guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

special occasion (27)
good for groups (23)
romantic (21)
See All
notable wine list (17)
fit for foodies (14)
scenic view (14)
great for outdoor dining (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Despite the bad customer experience at t ...

Dined 7 days ago

Despite the bad customer experience at the hotel it self, we thought staying in at the hotel our last night to enjoy some dinner would turn around our experience; but we thought wrong. The waitress was not friendly nor suggested any good dishers/drinks to enjoy. We are not from Grapevine and expected to have the waitress ask what the occasion was to help our experience. the food was not what we expected and with such a small choice of dishes. we ordered appetizers and main dish. and both were dropped off by a random people and not friendly at all. they dropped it off and ran off, the waiter took a while to check how our food was. we never saw her, and my husband had to go up to the bar to ask for our tab to close out. not a friendly welcome or thank you. the prices of the food we expected a lot more especially in a hotel. we expected to stay at the hotel the entire time but this was the toping of the icing that we are for sure never going to go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for our anniversary dinner, a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went there for our anniversary dinner, awesome! Great good and when I asked the server a question about the bar drinks, he didn't know but went and got an answer right away.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Good but not great. Since we were at th ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Good but not great. Since we were at the Gaylord it was easy to get to it but not particularly special.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were very good. Me ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and service were very good. Me and my family enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Huge selcetion fone the wine list. Food choices were varied - and excellent quality

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Mixed review

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had 11 in our group and they accommodated us nicely, but several meals were ice cold and had to be sent back. Service was a little slow, but ambiance was nice. Not a full restaurant so getting a table for a big group was not a problem.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Gaylord Dinner spot

Dined on March 2, 2016

Zeppole works as a decent value alternative to the high priced steak house scene. Service was great and variety of times was decent.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

M Nielsen

Dined on February 28, 2016

Decent Italian food... Good service, good atmosphere. The plates start at $35 and go up from there. My wifes seafood pasta dish was in a skillet, it was okay. My seafood pasta dish was larger, had shrimp, scallops, it was better tasting we agreed.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok Italian

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

We ate there for convenience so we wouldn't have to leave the hotel. Food was ok, nothing special.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Valentines!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wasn't even staying at the Gaylord but took my wife to Zeppole for Valentine's Day to try their food and was very satisfied. We had a great experience, excellent food and service, will definitely recommend Zeppile's for dinner and we'll be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was wonderful; however, the wai ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was wonderful; however, the waitress kept apologizing for being too busy (It was Valentines weekend and the hotel was full, you would have thought they would have anticipated being very busy). The main course came right before we finished our appetizer, which was a little irritating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with out of town guests

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had a great time, the food was excellent, really enjoyed the atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Anniversary

Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 6th anniversary and could not be more pleased with the entire experience. We were greeting very warmly by the host, who took time to "adjust our table" after he learned that it was our anniversary. We were seated on the patio overlooking the indoor water feature. Our server, Jamie, was extremely attentive and provided excellent service. The food was amazing and very well worth the price. We were treated to a dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. We plan to visit here again in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Was really expecting more of everything. ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Was really expecting more of everything. Someone had to find our server to let her know she had guests seated. The appetizer meat and cheese board was very good. The salads were bland and after sitting with all our empty plates for about thirty minutes the table was partially cleared. It took another long wait for our entrees one of which was cold and the other three were still warm enough but none were hot. It took so long to flag our server about the cold dish that the others were done with there's. The taste was good but nothing was great on any dish. For the price nothing really to recommend.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was spot on. Best pasta. Had th ...

Dined on January 4, 2016

The meal was spot on. Best pasta. Had the cavatapi which is made fresh there and it was amazing. The waitress was very attentive and had great recommendations. Would go back every time even if your not staying at the Gaylord.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Zeppole Coastal Italian Inn

Dined on January 3, 2016

Stayed with my family at the Gaylord Texan and chose Zeppole as our dinner restaurant to avoid the need to leave the grounds. Reservations are HIGHLY recommended as we heard the wait for walk-ups as we arrived to be nearly 2 hours. The food is very good. Our waitress was very accommodating and attentive. However, there was a party going on next to us with 20+ kids and virtually no adult supervision. We are not snobs and enjoy children, but the noise level and the activity of the kids was beyond tolerable. We were gracious with our waitress since it was in no way her fault and she was apologetic. This really isn't a "romantic getaway" spot because of the noise, but is great for family dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service, below average food

Dined on January 1, 2016

I made reservations 1 month in advance. I was excited that they kept checking via email and phone calls to make sure I still wanted my time and date. I believed that was as sign it was popular. We were seated right away. Waiter got our orders all wrong and they were simple. I had a salad with dressing on the side, my husband had fish no pork. Both were wrong I had coffee and had to ask 3 times for sugar and my husband had to ask for refills on wine then waiter passed us so many times before he could remember we needed sugar or refills. It was not that busy and many tables were empty. When we got the fish it looked like they just pealed off the pork and reserved the same dish. We paid and left but will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

restaurant review

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our server, Richard, realized we were indecisive, so offered to decide our dinner selection for us and we agreed. He modified the meal since neither of us eat seafood. His selection was an entree we have never had, and it was wonderful. The chef is excellent, the atmosphere very unique with open roof seating and visually enjoyable. We enjoyed the evening and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were outstanding. I ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food and service were outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone. Looking forward to my next visit!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on December 30, 2015

We enjoyed our meal. We were a party of 7 but our server was very friendly and efficient making sure we all had what we needed while still able to carry on with our conversation. Food was excellent as was the wine. Atmosphere was pretty but since it's in an open atrium there were echoes of people in the hotel, a bit reminiscent of a food court in the mall. Very pricey. My shared appetizer & wine with pasta was around $60. Lovely holiday dinner with family from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Seafood is not good at this place

Dined on December 28, 2015

The lobster tail that was part of my entree was not cooked at all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not bad, just over priced

Dined on December 28, 2015

I was hopeful this place wouldn't just be a tourist trap but that's what it felt like. Service was poor and the food was over-priced for what you get. Olive Garden quality at double the cost. There are much better places to eat Italian in the grapevine area so a short cab ride is worth it if you're staying in the hotel.

food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed sitting on the patio! ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

We really enjoyed sitting on the patio! Candace did a wonderful job!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Pretty Good

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

The food is not outstanding but it is decent, but VERY expensive. The service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Your Typical Hotel Restaurant

Dined on December 24, 2015

We ate here Christmas Eve, and had low expectations because the Gaylord Resort was packed with people. However, the wait staff did a great job taking care of us even though they were obviously swamped. They were attentive and professional, and seemed very good about helping each other out to make sure their customers were being take care of. We amazed that the food was so good as well. The only downside is the price. The dishes are on the high side price wise, and don't come with complimentary bread like most Italian places. The upcharge on wine was high as well. However, we would probably eat there again if we stay at the Gaylord. It's definitely better than most hotel restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular view of the Christmas Lights

Dined on December 24, 2015

We had a wonderful family dinner with excellent service. My daughter is in a wheelchair and instead of putting us in a back table out of the way like usually happens, the manager put us at a great table on the patio with a wonderful view of the Christmas lights. Food was delicious and a fun festive atmosphere. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Food

Dined on December 23, 2015

Was very noisy and crowded, but it was Christmas Eve

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Rude Hostess, over rated

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

This could have been a nice dinner. However, the rude hostess ruined the evening. We were 15-20 minutes early and didn't think it would have or should have been a problem since there were so many empty seats. However, she rudely sent us away to wait 15 more minutes. Then we were seated in an enclosed room with NO view and very claustrophobic. My daughters did NOT like their over priced pasta dishes as was evidenced by them leaving their entire dish. However, the server did not come by to ask us about our dishes. My husband's steak was also not done as he asked and over priced for the quality. The only thing that was ok was the drink. This was not a good experience. I was a little saddened as this punctuated our trip to ICE which was very nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience!

Dined on December 16, 2015

We decided to dine at a restaurant within the Texan and chose Zeppole. It was a great choice. The food was very good and the service was good as well. We enjoyed the varied menu. It was not your standard Italian fare. We were celebrating our anniversary and when the manager found out he made sure we had a memorable evening. Would certainly recommend Zeppole to everyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time there.

Dined on December 14, 2015

The food and wine were excellent and the ambiance was wonderful. This Resturant is kid friendly but adults won't be put off by this at all. Lots of menu choices and very good service. I highly recommend this place for anyone visiting Grapevine TX.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for a Nice Dinner

Dined on December 13, 2015

The open concept of the restaurant in the atrium of the hotel make it a fun place to eat. The food and drinks were both very good and the service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2

Dinner

Dined on December 12, 2015

Service was poor. Were taking wal ins before us when we had a reservation. Took over 45 minutes to get food. Food was great once we got it.

food2
ambience3
service3

food

Dined on December 7, 2015

The salad and dessert were great, but all 3 entrees were mediocre at best. Very pricey, not at all worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things about the service

Dined on November 29, 2015

Our waiter was amazing. Yes, the night was slow and there really wasn't much going on but she really took the time to make sure that we had a great time. I had my 2 year old daughter with me and she let her have a good time as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Average at best

Dined on November 29, 2015

My dish, Pappadelle Pasta, was very good but everyone else's dish was so-so. The only thing going for it was convenience

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Zeppole Experience

Dined on November 28, 2015

Zeppole was recommended to us by my wife's sister. And, since our trip to Italy in 2005, we've embraced the Italian style of cooking. We were seated on a patio that included a view of the Gaylord atrium. Hard to beat that! But it was followed very well by the performance of Richard, our server, and his training assistant. Very attentive. And the food . . . we're of the mind that Italian in the U.S. is quite a bit different that in Italy . . . and we were grateful for that at Zeppole. Several uniquely flavored dishes, which were thoroughly enjoyed. We'd go there again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

FANTASTIC RESTAURANT

Dined on November 28, 2015

Amazing food, beautiful restaurant and great service is all I can say about this place! This was our third time dining with them and we can't wait to go back again. From the pizza, soup & salads to the pasta, dessert & expresso... FABULOUS

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3

Yep. Still way overpriced.

Dined on November 27, 2015

Food is OK but overpriced. And they'll really get you on drinks. Four adults, two kids, two drinks per adult. $350.

food1
ambience1
service1

It was our 10 year wedding anniversary a ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

It was our 10 year wedding anniversary and they seated us in the kitchen area and service was lackluster. I wasn't also impressed with food quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

what a night/anniversary

Dined on November 22, 2015

The evening was fantastic and the food was what you would expect from a Lux Marriott operation. The quality of the food was top notch, the wine was very good and very drinkable. They went out of there way to make our night very special and relaxing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.