About Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Experience the fresh taste of coastal Italian cuisine beneath the twinkling of lights in an enchanting courtyard setting. At Zeppole, you’ll enjoy traditional Italian and uniquely prepared seafood dishes. Enhance your meal with our large selection of exquisite Italian wines, or fresh baked signature Zeppole pastries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $25 or more in Zeppole will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Sascia Marchesi

Private Party Facilities:
A variety of dining spaces make Zeppole a perfect choice for intimate dinners or group gatherings with the ability to accommodate up to 100 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (21)
Romantic (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was terrific, waitress average, ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was terrific, waitress average, very nice place for a meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I usually shy away from Italian restaura ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

I usually shy away from Italian restaurants, because it is my favorite thing to cook and i generally find myself disappointed when i go out for it. This was no the cause for Zeppole Coastal Kitchen at the Gaylord hotel in Grapevine, Texas. The food was delicious. I had the ravioli osso buco. The pasta was handmade, cooked to perfection and not drenched in sauce. The waitstaff was very attentive. Great selection of wine. Our server even brought us a complementary dessert of biscotti and chocolate. The lighting level was low, which is great for atmosphere, but not so great for reading the menu when your over a certain age, however a cell phone flashlight cured that problem. I would diffidently go back where if i were in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were very disappointed with our dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were very disappointed with our dining experience. We didn't care for the food and thought it was overpriced.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We had an enjoyable meal of the Rigatoni ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had an enjoyable meal of the Rigatoni and the House Risotto. Our server was attentive without being overbearing. I would definitely encourage others to visit the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Zeppole was a nice place to go to get a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Zeppole was a nice place to go to get a great meal at the Gaylord with either one other or a large group. Easily adaptable to your dining needs, the staff were gracious and informative. The service was really spot on when we asked for a slow-paced, relaxing meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A bit overpriced, especially for kids me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A bit overpriced, especially for kids meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I shared an eggplant appetiz ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I shared an eggplant appetizer before my wife's main course, an Italian seafood stew, and I had a special flounder dish. Both the appetizer and the two main courses were delicious. Our desserts, creme rule and a lemon tart, were also top shelf. We also received an unexpected complimentary treat after our desserts. Our waiter was most attentive and convinced me the flounder special was an excellent main course choice. The overall dining experience was most enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Zeppole was acceptable, but is not somew ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Zeppole was acceptable, but is not somewhere I'd consider a "special find". The food was good but nothing spectacular, the service was not (he forgot about us, multiple times). We specifically went to the Gaylord to try this place out due to the ratings and it left me wishing we had tried somewhere else. Also, the self-park price at the Gaylord is exceptionally high. Not an experience I'd be willing to repeat unless I was absolutely stuck at the Gaylord for a conference and couldn't leave the building.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Superb food and service. Greatambiance! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Superb food and service. Greatambiance! Loved it. It's in agreat setting.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trio of gelato is the best I have ev ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The trio of gelato is the best I have ever had. Great entree also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was very good and the atmosphere w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good and the atmosphere was great, I would eat there again and would recommend it to friends

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lamb chops I've had in I don't even ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best lamb chops I've had in I don't even know how long. They were HUGE and cooked perfectly! Many thoughtful, creative touches throughout the meal. Our server was excellent and even brought a surprise for our anniversary. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 9 (6 adults and 3 kid ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a group of 9 (6 adults and 3 kids). We were seated after a short wait which was fine since we moved our reservation by 15 mins. We were handed over the menu promptly but from thereon the service was a downhill ride. It wasnt overly packed for a saturday night and hence totally unjustifiable for the kind of service; total lack of attention to the table.

The food too wasnt anything wowww except for the Sea Bass Entree which was decent. Our bill was close to USD400 and for that price it just wasnt worth it. There are umpteen Italian restaurants out there that give you a delectable fare at more reasonable prices.

The ambience is nice and thats the only plus to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Server completely changed his demeanor a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server completely changed his demeanor after we declined ordering a bottle of wine. (We still ordered cocktails) The rest of the dinner service was delivered with a scowl and short attitude. Be prepared to have a 20% gratuity added even if you are a group less than 8 people. The atmosphere is unique, being inside an atrium it's like dining on a patio.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, but I felt rushed from one course to the next (they were not busy). The pasta was fresh, but either too adventurous or too bland. Few options when taking my seafood allergies into account.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food, good service but the noise le ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food, good service but the noise level was up there but you can still have a conversation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, but service was extr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was very good, but service was extremely slow. It took a long time to get drinks and appetizers, but our main meals came out in about 15 minutes. We were there over 2 hours.

Never had bad service here before, but they seemed very understaffed that day. Always great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It was just an ok experience. The Gaylo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was just an ok experience. The Gaylord has a captured audience since there are not many restaurant options for business meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Liked that we could make reservations fo ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Liked that we could make reservations for large group. All of the food was great!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always!! My wife and I always ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great as always!! My wife and I always head here for special occasions as have never left disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though I had a reservation, it took ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Even though I had a reservation, it took a while before they sat my family and I for dinner. The server also took forever to come over and greet us. Everything from then on also seemed to take an eternity. Food was at ok at best. Unfortunately had a similar experience once before so I don't plan to visit them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our server Tesesa was fabulous! She was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server Tesesa was fabulous! She was very fun and entertaining! Serving size of the meal was small for the price. I ordered the Chilean sea bass. If it wasn't for the excellent bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil, I would have walked away hungry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though we had a reservation, we wer ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we were seated at the worst table in the house which we refused. The restaurant was not that busy. They kept better tables for those just walking in and staying at the hotel. I would not recommend this place to anyone who lives in the area. There is a much better Italian restaurant just a mile down the road. Very Disappointing! Will never go back. Also gives the Gaylord a black eye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

We had the lamb chops. Nether of us cou ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had the lamb chops. Nether of us could finish our plates. Lamb was cooked perfect as was everything. Price for 2 with drinks was below 85.00 and our waiter was perfect. We tried to go Saturday night without a reservation even though over 20 tables were empty they wouldn't seat us. Was very disappointed but went to Mexican restaurant and had a very good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice for special occasion! Service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very nice for special occasion! Service was excellent and food arrived promptly. We were celebrating a birthday and were offered a complimentary dessert which was delicious. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chilean sea bass was so tasty, I ret ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Chilean sea bass was so tasty, I returned the next night for seconds! I also recommend the lemon tart. Service was pleasant and very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. I was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service were excellent. I was impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Take wife there for date nights, we alwa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Take wife there for date nights, we always enjoy going to the Gaylord for the great service and awesome atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and food was just ok - defi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Poor service and food was just ok - definitely not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Food was good but not great. I enjoyed ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good but not great. I enjoyed my ravioli selection but wished it had more flavor. Everything on the plate just one flavor - no variety. Good but not great. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meals but all commented they were just "ok". Service was good and the menu prices were reasonable for a resort restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very disappointed in the food qu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food quality and ordered Martini's that were served in regular glasses...they were out of Martini glasses. Our waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The Caesar salad was excellent as were t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The Caesar salad was excellent as were the meatballs. The pasta was so over cooked it was like mush. Certainly not what I would expect from a higher-end restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We took advantage of the happy hour appe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We took advantage of the happy hour appetizers and wine--Very good value. There were some ups and downs: The shrimp and calamari was mostly fried vegetables, but crisp and tasty. The poached pear and prosciutto was great, though it came with a huge ball of blue cheese and no crackers. At $5, we weren't complaining. And the fig pizette was good, but the crust was not as crisp and light as I would have liked. Overall, everything was good. The service was efficient and congenial. We did not order entrees, but the selection looked delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was definitely the low point of our ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was definitely the low point of our stay at the Gaylord. I made a reservation for 8:15pm, we arrived at around 8pm and were told that we would be seated closer to our reservation time. At 8:30 we were still waiting! I had to go back to the host to remind him of our reservation time, he told me he was getting the table ready. We walked by many empty tables to be seated practically in the kitchen and right next to the bathroom. I asked if we could move, after a few excuses the lady finally seated us at another table.

Our server was Paul. He was very nice, but either he had too many tables in his section or he has poor time management. There was not one time when he automatically refilled our drinks and we never asked for a refill less than twice! The food was ok, but nothing memorable.

It was a huge disappointment after the great experience we had at the hotel in general and the Mexican restaurant they have onsite. I live locally and won't be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was delicious!!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall very good experience - service w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall very good experience - service was exceptional and food was tasty - few hiccups but overall nothing to be upset about. Recommend and will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian food EVER! I was so impres ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Best Italian food EVER! I was so impressed with every aspect of the menu items that we ordered. Salad - divine! Spaghetti and Meatballs were the BEST EVER!!! Lobster was perfect! The food is a far cry above other Italian restaurants in the DFW metroplex. It is a bit pricey, but we WILL BE BACK!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is exactly what you would expect from ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It is exactly what you would expect from a hotel restaurant. The food was okay nothing special. Our server was horribly slow. Dinner took over 2 hours and we only ordered entrees and one dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Awesome sea bass and tiramisu!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome sea bass and tiramisu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Thoroughly pleased

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

A group of us were in for a conference and wanted to have dinner all together. We booked here based on other's reviews and we were so happy we did! The food was EXCELLENT! The wait staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this place to everyone! And should I find myself in Dallas again, you can be sure I will be at Zeppole!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.