About Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Experience the fresh taste of coastal Italian cuisine beneath the twinkling of lights in an enchanting courtyard setting. At Zeppole, you’ll enjoy traditional Italian and uniquely prepared seafood dishes. Enhance your meal with our large selection of exquisite Italian wines, or fresh baked signature Zeppole pastries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $25 or more in Zeppole will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Sascia Marchesi

Private Party Facilities:
A variety of dining spaces make Zeppole a perfect choice for intimate dinners or group gatherings with the ability to accommodate up to 100 guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Zeppole Coastal Italian at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (10)
Scenic View (10)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always enjoy coming to Zeppole for di ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy coming to Zeppole for dinner when we stay at the Gaylord. We've have Paul as a server many times and he always is great! Very knowledgable about the wine list and menu! Although we only get to come a handful of times a year, he makes you feel like you were there just yesterday...definitely takes care of you!

I recommend dining here when you head to the Gaylord!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience! Awesome se ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It was an amazing experience! Awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed. Service was very slow. L ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not impressed. Service was very slow. Limited menu items. Over priced. Will not go back to this place again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Our food was very good, but the waiter r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our food was very good, but the waiter rushed us and didn't seem happy to help us. He acted like he didn't want to be there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Horrible. Arrived early and even though ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Horrible. Arrived early and even though several tables open wouldn't seat us. Appetizer was cold. Had the sea bass for dinner and it was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The service is impeccable! I recommend m ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The service is impeccable! I recommend making a reservation, or you probably won't get in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was phenomenal . Pretty ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service was phenomenal . Pretty cool to see the head chef checking every single plate before it was sent out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking is too far away and extra cost. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Parking is too far away and extra cost. Valet parking is even more cost! Good but was expecting great. Not worth what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Great place to have dinner. We were tre ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great place to have dinner. We were treated very well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a bad restaurant, but a little disap ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Not a bad restaurant, but a little disappointing. Some of the food choices in our party were very good and tasty, others were not so good. I probably wouldn't eat here again, but we were staying at the Gaylord and there are only so many food choices.

The table we sat at was in a far section of the restaurant and it was very cold.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A little disappointing for our group. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A little disappointing for our group. The rabbit entree was not warm when served. The waiter apologized, but did not offer any resolution.

The New York Strip steak was on the tough side and without flavor.

Unfortunately will not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing. The Gaylord Texan offers ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Disappointing. The Gaylord Texan offers such great dining experiences, we anticipated the same here. Wrong. Food was cold and not particularly flavorful. Service was mediocre, even though the restaurant was not busy. Choose another restaurant in the resort for a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the atmosphere and food was wonder ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and food was wonderful! Great first time here and looking forward to the next visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scallops were not fresh and Scampi sauce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Scallops were not fresh and Scampi sauce had too much butter. Did not enjoy my meal. In addition, the restaurant is overpriced for what they serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We were looking for a cozy place to eat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were looking for a cozy place to eat w/o leaving the hotel and oh my goodness, I wish we had found this the first night we were there instead of the last. Food and service were fantastic, pricing was fair considering the location and wine and beer were lower priced than other lower quality restaurants at the hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful Celebrated my daugh ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful Celebrated my daughter's 16th. Food was fabulous

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet mignon was excellent. Atmosphe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The filet mignon was excellent. Atmosphere was perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server didn't know a lot about the alcoh ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Server didn't know a lot about the alcohol menu. Table was very sticky but the appetizers were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We love the Gaylord but this restaurant ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love the Gaylord but this restaurant was really mediocre relative to the other restaurants at the hotel. Our food was decent but quite expensive for what we ordered. The service was excellent as it has been at all Gaylord venues we've visited. I doubt we'll return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife and I truly enjoyed our experien ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife and I truly enjoyed our experience. The customer service was per excellence.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was pleasant. We had three di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Atmosphere was pleasant. We had three dishes at out table; one was excellent and the other two were mediocre. As the price of the meals is very high, we all expected a higher quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Outstanding food. The pumpkin ravioli is ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Outstanding food. The pumpkin ravioli is on the menu year-round and is a must-have. Great wine list. If you prefer to be away from the crowds a bit, request a table on the front patio/bar area. Really nice. The service is outstanding. Very friendly and attentive. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I normally do not write reviews but feel ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I normally do not write reviews but feel so strongly about my experience here that I feel compelled. Our service was poor but the way management handled our night was horrible. Our waitress was overheard a few times complaining about how her night was going. Customers should not have to hear that kind of stuff. She was nice but her skills as a server were poor. We had to ask for many things that normally would be part of regular service, such as bread and butter, salt and pepper, water refills, and knives to eat our main course. We only received a wine bucket to chill our white wine once the table next to us was done with theirs. My wife has a shellfish allergy and we told our waitress about it when ordering yet she was served an entree that gave her a minor allergic reaction. After asking to speak to the manager a woman came over to hear what had happened and was apologetic. She came back again to explain that the chef was aware of the allergy and gave instructions accordingly but admitted that perhaps these instructions were not followed through. She offered to not charge us for the entree (kind of a given) and to buy us dessert. My wife took her Benedryl and watched me eat. After ordering and finishing 2 desserts, I was presented with the check and we were charged for one of the desserts! Apparently, they were only offering us 1 dessert! This was kind of the straw that broke the camel's back so I then went up to speak to the manager again and this time was told it was a man named Eric. I asked to speak to him. He came to the host stand and I asked him if he was aware of our situation. I assumed he was not since he never came over himself to apologize. He said he was and went on to say that the kitchen did what they were supposed to do in preparation of my wife's food and suggested that perhaps the allergic reaction was caused by my touching her. I was so offended and upset. I asked for his boss' name and left. Arrogant and poor management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was terrific, waitress average, ver ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was terrific, waitress average, very nice place for a meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I usually shy away from Italian restaura ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I usually shy away from Italian restaurants, because it is my favorite thing to cook and i generally find myself disappointed when i go out for it. This was no the cause for Zeppole Coastal Kitchen at the Gaylord hotel in Grapevine, Texas. The food was delicious. I had the ravioli osso buco. The pasta was handmade, cooked to perfection and not drenched in sauce. The waitstaff was very attentive. Great selection of wine. Our server even brought us a complementary dessert of biscotti and chocolate. The lighting level was low, which is great for atmosphere, but not so great for reading the menu when your over a certain age, however a cell phone flashlight cured that problem. I would diffidently go back where if i were in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were very disappointed with our dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were very disappointed with our dining experience. We didn't care for the food and thought it was overpriced.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We had an enjoyable meal of the Rigatoni ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had an enjoyable meal of the Rigatoni and the House Risotto. Our server was attentive without being overbearing. I would definitely encourage others to visit the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Zeppole was a nice place to go to get a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Zeppole was a nice place to go to get a great meal at the Gaylord with either one other or a large group. Easily adaptable to your dining needs, the staff were gracious and informative. The service was really spot on when we asked for a slow-paced, relaxing meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A bit overpriced, especially for kids me ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A bit overpriced, especially for kids meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I shared an eggplant appetiz ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I shared an eggplant appetizer before my wife's main course, an Italian seafood stew, and I had a special flounder dish. Both the appetizer and the two main courses were delicious. Our desserts, creme rule and a lemon tart, were also top shelf. We also received an unexpected complimentary treat after our desserts. Our waiter was most attentive and convinced me the flounder special was an excellent main course choice. The overall dining experience was most enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Zeppole was acceptable, but is not somew ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Zeppole was acceptable, but is not somewhere I'd consider a "special find". The food was good but nothing spectacular, the service was not (he forgot about us, multiple times). We specifically went to the Gaylord to try this place out due to the ratings and it left me wishing we had tried somewhere else. Also, the self-park price at the Gaylord is exceptionally high. Not an experience I'd be willing to repeat unless I was absolutely stuck at the Gaylord for a conference and couldn't leave the building.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Superb food and service. Greatambiance! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Superb food and service. Greatambiance! Loved it. It's in agreat setting.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trio of gelato is the best I have ev ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The trio of gelato is the best I have ever had. Great entree also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was very good and the atmosphere w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very good and the atmosphere was great, I would eat there again and would recommend it to friends

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lamb chops I've had in I don't even ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best lamb chops I've had in I don't even know how long. They were HUGE and cooked perfectly! Many thoughtful, creative touches throughout the meal. Our server was excellent and even brought a surprise for our anniversary. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 9 (6 adults and 3 kid ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a group of 9 (6 adults and 3 kids). We were seated after a short wait which was fine since we moved our reservation by 15 mins. We were handed over the menu promptly but from thereon the service was a downhill ride. It wasnt overly packed for a saturday night and hence totally unjustifiable for the kind of service; total lack of attention to the table.

The food too wasnt anything wowww except for the Sea Bass Entree which was decent. Our bill was close to USD400 and for that price it just wasnt worth it. There are umpteen Italian restaurants out there that give you a delectable fare at more reasonable prices.

The ambience is nice and thats the only plus to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Server completely changed his demeanor a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server completely changed his demeanor after we declined ordering a bottle of wine. (We still ordered cocktails) The rest of the dinner service was delivered with a scowl and short attitude. Be prepared to have a 20% gratuity added even if you are a group less than 8 people. The atmosphere is unique, being inside an atrium it's like dining on a patio.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, but I felt rushed from one course to the next (they were not busy). The pasta was fresh, but either too adventurous or too bland. Few options when taking my seafood allergies into account.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food, good service but the noise le ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food, good service but the noise level was up there but you can still have a conversation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, but service was extr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was very good, but service was extremely slow. It took a long time to get drinks and appetizers, but our main meals came out in about 15 minutes. We were there over 2 hours.

Never had bad service here before, but they seemed very understaffed that day. Always great food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.