About Zen Box Izakaya

602 Washington Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55415
View Larger Map

A Ramen-centric Izakaya owned by Chef & Wife in Downtown Minneapolis' Mill District.

We are devoted to the pleasures of Craft Ramen & Japanese comfort food.
Zen Box Izakaya is THE place for ‘Good Food, Good Drinks and Good Company’.
Established since 2011.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Portland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 332-3936

Website:
http://zenboxizakaya.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking: You can find metered parking along Washington & Portland all of the meters are $1.00 per hour, payable with Credit Cards. Meters are free after 10:00pm daily. Let us know if you need change.

Ramp Parking: There are several parking ramps and surface parking lot nearby which range in price from $1.50 on evenings & weekends to $4/first hour on weekdays.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit Lightrail: Metrodome Station.
Metro Transit Bus No. 7 & 22

Executive Chef:
John Ng

Private Party Facilities:
Available for groups up to 25-50.

We can host sit-down dinners, buffet-style meals, or cocktail hour.

We have unique seating options, atmosphere and privacy levels, whether your event is birthday party, business meeting, holiday party or corporate functions.

The choice is up to you!

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 6123323936x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
  • Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya
Zen Box Izakaya

Zen Box Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Great for Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Late-night Find (12)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fun (9)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (3)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Romantic (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, different from the usual Japa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, different from the usual Japanese restaurant options. Staff was very knowledgable about the ingredients and made sure to help me navigate which items were gluten free and/or vegetarian. It was surprisingly loud for lunch.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the Ramen!! And for $3 more you get ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Love the Ramen!! And for $3 more you get 6 gyoza! Very yummy !! Short rib app is awesome. Must go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've only been to zen box izakaya twice ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I've only been to zen box izakaya twice but I love it so much. I really wish rochester had an izakaya place. I brought my husband and he really enjoyed it, but he thought it was too loud. The food is delicious and I love the posters and figurines. I want to come here every time I'm in the cities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tyler was very nice, also the avocado te ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Tyler was very nice, also the avocado tempura was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Find another place in the twin cities wi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Find another place in the twin cities with onigiri and you will be a God in my eyes! Besides that, everything was excellent tonkastsu Ramen, miso short ribs, the udon, all fabulous.

Top it all of which draft Japanese beers some of which are craft beers imported directly.

The servers are all excellent and amazingly friendly ,and best of all accommodating and welcoming to a two year old guest, when theft are definitely not the target demographic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My partner and I were visiting from out ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My partner and I were visiting from out of state and got a late dinner here. We made a reservation and were seated right on time. You will notice the very cute and hip interior upon arrival. Our server was excellent, not to mention the hostess. They were obviously slammed and were still on top of everything, never missing a beat. The food was super tasty comfort fare. We are vegetarians and had plenty of options to choose from, even though a lot of their specialties contain meat. Definitely recommend Zen Box Izakaya, as it is comfortable and modern, with something on the menu for everyone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tapas, Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

best ramen in the twin cities! great foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

best ramen in the twin cities! great food, fast service, great staff!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ramen, the rest of the menu is goo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great ramen, the rest of the menu is good too, though not as exceptional. Lots of authentic and Korean options. Remember to make reservations on weekends as they can get really busy.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss the pork tonkatsu. All the d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Don't miss the pork tonkatsu. All the dishes we had were great. The only cavil was that the service was a little too prompt. We needed more time before curtain at the Guhrie.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our go-to place for some of the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our go-to place for some of the best ramen in the Twin Cities. I would pass on the gyoza next time (they seemed almost deep-fried instead of pan-fried), but the pork katsu is delicious.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting dishes with a wide variety o ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Interesting dishes with a wide variety of choices. Server was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our party of 4 liked being able to share ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our party of 4 liked being able to share a variety of reasonably-priced small plates and a few larger dishes. Service was knowledgeable and efficient. A great spot for pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was very tasty. We (two couples ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very tasty. We (two couples) shared our food and were very positive in our comments. Our server was very informative and prompt. We will come again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food at great prices. Very good f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food at great prices. Very good food at very reasonable prices - close to the Guthrie theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Always pleased at Zen Box. Friendly, we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always pleased at Zen Box. Friendly, welcoming service. Great food. The menu has both more familiar Japanese items for those who may be venturing into this cuisine for the first time, as well as authentically prepared more complex and richly flavored and textured dishes for those who know the food, or who want to go deeper into the Japanese palate. Great, huge sake menu, and some good beer choices, too. A wonderful place to sample, whether its the food items, the drinks, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here twice now: once for dinn ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Have eaten here twice now: once for dinner (tapas-like experience), and once for lunch. Both times the food was very good. Lunch is a bit on the expensive side, but the Ramen was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Decent food, great happy hour prices. Co ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Decent food, great happy hour prices. Convienant for a pre-Guthrie dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Traversed Japan's backroads 30 years ago ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Traversed Japan's backroads 30 years ago. LOVED the food! First time I've tasted the authentic Japanese flavors was on our visit to Zenbox. Took me back to comfort and contentment. Absolutely wonderful food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a lovely time at Zen Box. They ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had a lovely time at Zen Box. They have some amazing food, and great service. I'd love to try something new next time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent lunch service with multiple be ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent lunch service with multiple bento boxs offered. Great selection of draft beers and japanese whiskey. Apps were also great, try the tuna!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent small plate Japanese comfort f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent small plate Japanese comfort food fare. I'd recommend anything on the menu, and half of the fun is trying things you haven't had on past visits...or forgot, and have now rediscovered. Make sure you end your meal with mochi ice cream for a delicious and unique treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best Ramen in the City. Than ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Always the best Ramen in the City. Thanks for making lunch great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Zen Box twice now, and i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have been to Zen Box twice now, and it is our new favorite place to go! It's perfect for a nice dinner, or just a hang out with friends. The staff were all very friendly, attentive and knowledgable! The food is fantastic, and surprisingly affordable as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was so good, I almost don ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our experience was so good, I almost don't want to tell you about it for fear of not getting a table in the future. Everything was absolutely delightful - not a weak dish in the 7-8 small plates 4 of us tried. Super knowledgeable server accompanied by fabulous service. Plus- this place feels like fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Closest thing to real Japanese food in M ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Closest thing to real Japanese food in Mpls. My Japanese friends recommended it. Staff is always willing to accommodate your seating needs. When they are slammed busy, staff always has a good attitude. Food always come out from the kitchen fast and hot. Try everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

keep up the good work! we come whenever ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

keep up the good work!

we come whenever we go to the guthrie

always fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good place for Japanese cuisine. Has go ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good place for Japanese cuisine. Has good ramen options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The server was very knowledgable and gui ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The server was very knowledgable and guided us with ordering an interesting variety of items to taste. A fun, new experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food/ drinks and nice selection out ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food/ drinks and nice selection outside of standard sushi fare. Kitchen rather slow even though we mentioned need to get to show. Will be back with more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I couldn't have enjoyed my experience mo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I couldn't have enjoyed my experience more. It's also an insanely affordable, which surprised me. Excellent service too. I will definitely be back. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Zen Box a number of tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have eaten at Zen Box a number of times. It has a fun menu where you select small plates and share with your dining mates. This time I was not as impressed with the food, but that was probably due to our choices. We had a tofu salad that didn't have enough flavor from the dressing and other components--acknowledging that tofu itself is mostly flavorless. A vegetable curry was good, but a fried oyster special was nothing special. Nevertheless, we will continue to eat here because there are a lot of menu items that we really like. This time we were trying new things, and were not completely successful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is absolutely delicious! I have bee ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food is absolutely delicious! I have been a times and the servers always a little rude. Not in an "I hate you, way, but an "I hate my life" way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

First time going to Zen Box, and the rev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time going to Zen Box, and the reviews raving about the ramen were utterly correct! Everything we ordered was delicious, one of the best first-time dining experiences I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was top notch. We ordered tapas ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was top notch. We ordered tapas style and it was just right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great foods, great atmosphere as always! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great foods, great atmosphere as always! They made a little mistake on my bill, but it got fixed right away with clear explanation and apology. Problem was solved in the best way. Best customer service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic food and experience! Gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great authentic food and experience! Great for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

You can't go wrong with any of the ramen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

You can't go wrong with any of the ramen dishes from Zen Box! I like their ramen so much I find it difficult to order anything else.

The staff, delightfully city quirky, are very friendly and helpful. They cheerfully explain the menu without making me feel dumb for mispronouncing things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my type of comfort food! The ram ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is my type of comfort food! The ramen is my favorite in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Noise level made mewant to eat,run...way ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Noise level made mewant to eat,run...way too loud, kinda cramped...need new bigger place. The food,service, cost was great.just bar atmosphere, noise..way toomuch for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Spot For Dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We ended up ordering WAY more than we needed because it all looked so awesome! The service was great as well as the food. You will have a really good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.