Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Zen Box Izakaya

A Ramen-centric Izakaya owned by Chef & Wife in Downtown Minneapolis' Mill District.

We are devoted to the pleasures of Craft Ramen & Japanese comfort food.
Zen Box Izakaya is THE place for ‘Good Food, Good Drinks and Good Company’.
Established since 2011.

602 Washington Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55415
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Portland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 332-3936

Website:
http://www.zenbox.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking: You can find metered parking along Washington & Portland all of the meters are $1.00 per hour, payable with Credit Cards. Meters are free after 10:00pm daily. Let us know if you need change.

Ramp Parking: There are several parking ramps and surface parking lot nearby which range in price from $1.50 on evenings & weekends to $4/first hour on weekdays.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit Lightrail: Metrodome Station.
Metro Transit Bus No. 7 & 22

Executive Chef:
John Ng

Private Party Facilities:
Available for groups up to 25-50.

We can host sit-down dinners, buffet-style meals, or cocktail hour.

We have unique seating options, atmosphere and privacy levels, whether your event is birthday party, business meeting, holiday party or corporate functions.

The choice is up to you!

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (612) 332-3936

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zen Box Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Comfort Food (19)
See All
Casual (18)
Fun (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Spicy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic dining experience with great service at Zen Box Izakaya... Food was fantastic - so tasty and delicious - and the service were prompt and attentive which was appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The items the waitress chose for us were all delicious. We try to get her for service whenever we go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Vegan, Authentic, Spicy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great place for a casual get together or date. The ramean was delicious and the ambiance seemed more authentic then other restaurants in the twin cities area. I will have to go back and check out some of the other great menu options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food tastes great. Great as usual. Zen Box is one of my favorite Minneapolis restaurants.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I love Zen Box! Their pork ramen is PHENOMENAL! I also like getting their Lunch Bento Boxes, specifically the tuna poke. I'm always excited to eat at Zen Box.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food. Would recommend to anyone. Lots of variety. Even the drinks were delicious and interesting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Awesome service, excellent food, fun & delicious drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent food, especially the salmon sashimi and tonkotsu ramen. The ume shiso chu-hai was a tasty, very Japanese-influenced drink.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Sold out on ramen.... turn out to be a great experience
We get to try different food on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Its a good restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Zen Box is one of the best, if not the best, places to go for Japanese comfort food. If it's your first time, definitely consider ordering the ramen if it's still available. Haven't order an appetizer or dish I have disliked yet. Show up early at 5pm to take advantage of their great Happy Hour!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

As usual, the ramen is wonderful here. We tried one of the braised side dishes which were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I love Zenbox. We live close and eat there frequently. The service is quick.
Happy hour is great with $4 wine choices. The broccoli and onions are great.
I love the fried chicken pieces, cabbage salad and so much more!

Tags: Spicy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food. I had the Kimchi Ramen. Nice slices of roast pork, the egg was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great experience! Loved it. Food was delicious and the server was friendly and informative!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Zen is my favorite place - I only wish I could eat there more often. I've never had a bad meal and the staff is uniformly awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The Zen Box is a jewel--small and perfect! This was our second visit and it was as enjoyable as the last. The food is delicious, and everything is beautifully presented. Even with that artful aspect it didn't take long for our appetizers and meals to arrive. As with our last visit, our server was helpful, cheerful and friendly with a charming and comfortable manner. We (there were 4 of us) would highly recommend the Zen Box!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Love the ramen dishes, especially yakisoba (fried noodles), I had the chashu (pork belly) again, which is fantastic! My companion had the ika kara-age (calamari), some of the best I've tasted. Takoyaki (battered octopus balls) was good as always, and the mochi ice cream was a fun treat at the end, just enough after a full meal! Will continue to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food is consistently good, except the tuna poke which has been uneven. Great place for a bento box or a bowl of ramen. The pork broth is especially comforting. Staff is super friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I've never had a meal here that wasn't amazing. Saturday night's dinner was no exception. Just a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We had 2 kids with us and everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We love Zenbox! Daughter came home to Minneapolis for her birthday and wanted to go here! Yummy

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Zen Box is awesome! My wife and I have been here numerous times and it's never been anything but great. My wife had the Tonkatsu ramen as usual, and it was spot on as usual. We've also had the Yakisoba noodles numerous times including tonight. Probably the best we've had in the Twin Cities. The small plates, skewers, and rice bowls are all home runs as well. The Veggie Curry seemed a little flat with just carrot and potato, but good flavor overall. You won't be disappointed at Zen Box Izakaya.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Tonkatsu Ramen was fantastic. Rich flavor. The edamame is served chilled which I am not particularly fond of, but overall the meal was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I went to Zen Box with my mom this previous Friday. It was spectacular. My experience with Japanese food is extremely limited and i'm glad we chose here to expand my pallet. The restaurant has great vegetarian and vegan options, which i greatly appreciated. I also got to work on my chopsticks skills (they're still sub-par but i'll get there eventually! ;) ) Would definitely go again, and recommend to friends as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Just didn't like that we kept on having to keep flies from getting to our foods. But beside that the food was great. My kids loved the place as they had anime figures by the entrance and by the bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our favorite restaurant we have tried the Minneapolis area! Amazing food and service! Next time we are in town, we will most definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing all the way around. I had been searching for a quality Japanese restaurant and finally found it. I grew up in Japan and was looking for a place that had all my favorites how I remember them. I believe Zen box does everything they can to create an authentic experience. The beef bowl is on point reminds me of my late night Sukiya trips. The yakisoba is memorable and has texture and flavor of the many festivals I went to. The katsu curry took me right back to all the ski lodges I had lunch at. The ongiri was perfectly reminiscent of my Lawson trips before a long drive. The chu hai put me right back into a night club. I will be coming here quite frequently as this place allows me to travel time.

Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food. Great staff. Best ramen ❤️❤️❤️
I always have a great time whether I'm dining with my hubby or with my friends, it's great food and great service everytime.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE ZEN BOX!! <3 <3 <3

We love everything about this place. We have been eating at Zen box for years and have not once had a bad experience. This is a testament to the business and how it has sustained for so many years.

In fact, we just moved to the Mill City area and part of why we chose our place was because it is close to Zen Box!

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Zen Box is one of my favorite restaurants in the Twin Cities. Always tremendous food and always attentive to special requests. Inventive cocktails perfect for hot days. Knowledgeable staff--all of whom seem to work hard and enjoy being part of the Zen Box. Excellent experience --a true gem.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was good - nice that they have meals that give you a variety of foods that you can try. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The kimchi ramen is a must and is a dish I consistently return for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent service and food! We will return in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server was fantastic. The food came out quickly and was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

All the food is great but some of weekend Ramen specials are amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Already a favorite; treated my octogenarian parents, who are fairly adventurous eaters, to a happy hour course of many shared small plates, and had a blast. Don't usually photograph my food, but couldn't resist a shot of my dad's entracement with the dancing Bonito flakes on his octopus dish. The wait staff was very patient with us, even as the restaurant started hopping on a Friday night. We'll have to come back with them soon, because we never made it to the amazing ramen bowls!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We have been here several times in the last year and their food is super consistent. Great variety of tastes and options. The staff is very knowledgable and always helpful.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I have recommended this restaurant to probably every one I know! Anytime someone asks for a restaurant recommendation, I send them to Zen Box. As always, the food was delicious, great service and great ambiance. This time, we ate here before our show at the Guthrie and it worked out great. Parked only once and made it to the show with plenty of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.