About Zen Box Izakaya

A Ramen-centric Izakaya owned by Chef & Wife in Downtown Minneapolis' Mill District.

We are devoted to the pleasures of Craft Ramen & Japanese comfort food.
Zen Box Izakaya is THE place for ‘Good Food, Good Drinks and Good Company’.
Established since 2011.

602 Washington Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55415
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Portland Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 332-3936

Website:
http://zenboxizakaya.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking: You can find metered parking along Washington & Portland all of the meters are $1.00 per hour, payable with Credit Cards. Meters are free after 10:00pm daily. Let us know if you need change.

Ramp Parking: There are several parking ramps and surface parking lot nearby which range in price from $1.50 on evenings & weekends to $4/first hour on weekdays.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit Lightrail: Metrodome Station.
Metro Transit Bus No. 7 & 22

Executive Chef:
John Ng

Private Party Facilities:
Available for groups up to 25-50.

We can host sit-down dinners, buffet-style meals, or cocktail hour.

We have unique seating options, atmosphere and privacy levels, whether your event is birthday party, business meeting, holiday party or corporate functions.

The choice is up to you!

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (612) 332-3936

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
  • Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN

Report a photo problem

Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN
Zen Box - Zen Box Izakaya, Minneapolis, MN

Zen Box Izakaya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Authentic (25)
See All
Fun (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Tapas (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quick Bite (6)
People Watching (5)
Spicy (5)
Romantic (4)
Vegan (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food and service as usual.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, with a real Japanese fla ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambience, with a real Japanese flair!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. The Bento box for lunch is a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Good food. The Bento box for lunch is a great value. Service was lacking. Server seemed disinterest and being out first time here, getting suggestions for her was like pulling teeth

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

What a great treasure in mill city. The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What a great treasure in mill city. The ramen here is amazing, we came for the weekend special ramen. It didn't disappoint, we were glad we came early as they sold out by 8pm. Everything here is amazing but definitely try the ramen. I've had many different Ramen in Japan and this is by far the best place to go in Minneapolis. Make reservations or you will have to luck out with an empty bar seat. Staff is super attentive and helpful and you will hear them call out greetings to all customers just like an authentic ramen shop should. Natto omlette, karage, Takoyaki, and the grilled mackerel are some of our other favorites. They also had a craft cocktail special this weekend with bourbon, honey and lemon served warm. It was perfect for a Minneapolis cold evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant ambiance- best Asian ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great restaurant ambiance- best Asian experience in Minneapolis. Service was good, as server was very helpful explaining the nuances of the menu. My one complaint was with respect to the food, and it's very specific. I will say, overall the food was very good. Especially some of the appetizers and noodle dishes. The one specific problem I had was the meat in several dishes was not prepared as well as it could have been. For the pork belly, the pork in the ramen dish, and the short ribs, there was an unacceptable amount of fat in the meat. It averaged over 50% fat in these cuts of meat and was very off-putting. The restaurant just needs to do a better job of prepping these meats (or selecting better cuts), and the menu would hit it out of the park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Always amazing and delicious!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always amazing and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting food and friendly service. V ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Interesting food and friendly service. Very loud-not a place for quiet conversation. Recommended as a good place to try.

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

We all ordered 2-3 items from the menu a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We all ordered 2-3 items from the menu and shared everything. It was all fantastic! Get a reservation though -- the place fills up quickly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Seated promptly. Server was mostly atten ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Seated promptly. Server was mostly attentive, had a little too much time waiting to order. Food came promptly and was spaced well. The lump crab avocado app was only ok. Kimchee pork belly was the highlight. Nicely spiced and very tasty. The short ribs were good, but there was a serious shortage of meat on the bone. They needed to be cut thicker. Nice beer selection. I'd try it again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food here was amazing and authentic, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food here was amazing and authentic, "Japanese Tapas" as they themselves call it. Fantastic deals at happy hour, and all-around decent prices. We tried the pickled cucumber, miso soup, kimchi ramen (DELISH), short ribs, and chicken gyoza... and also some interesting Japanese ice cream that was a fun to try. This is a very casual place, so the food's great but it's not a great date night spot or anything (bright lights, tables verrrryyy close together so you can hear conversations of the patrons next to you). It's a fun experience, however! I would return and recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, , Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We loves love zen box, it have been one ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We loves love zen box, it have been one of my favorite places to eat for the last year. One thing I would complain about is that ramen was not as hot as usual last time I was there (December 15).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Okay, this was not what I was expecting. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Okay, this was not what I was expecting. It was SO MUCH BETTER. Food is authentic, prices are affordable and waitstaff are both friendly and knowledegable. Something for everyone. Win, Win, win and win.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I came here a couple of weeks ago becaus ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I came here a couple of weeks ago because I had heard there was a vegetarian ramen on the menu. It was so delicious that it's become my staple Tuesday night spot since it's the only night that there's a Veggie ramen option. I wish it were available other nights. I love the selection of whiskey and whisky's. The food is well seasoned and flavorful without being too salty. The meat-eaters I go with are happy as well. One of these days I'll try something else on the menu but I can't make myself try an alternate.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well worth it. Awesome ramen, and great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Well worth it. Awesome ramen, and great service. Hit the spot on a snowy cold evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Zen Box never disappoints. From the tuna ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Zen Box never disappoints. From the tuna poke, to the pork Ramen, I can't get enough. It's a great lunch or dinner spot!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, , Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From the moment we walked inside, I knew ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

From the moment we walked inside, I knew we had walked into a world most Minnesotans would never see. It felt like we had just arrived at a secret restaurant in Japan. My wife and I sat down with pure excitement and then the wonderful experience began.

The waitress was so patient and helpful with explaining how we should share small plates. It was clear to me that we had to also order a Ramen soup because her face lit up with such happiness and joy when she was explaining it to us. All of the food was amazing. It was served hot and tasted as good as it looked.

Now I am purposely not going to tell you everything we ordered. You need to go as soon as possible and let them take you through the guided tour of the menu. In summary, we loved it and this was an unexpected culinary surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tired of the same-old, same-old? Looking ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Tired of the same-old, same-old? Looking for a new favorite dining spot near you, check out Zen Box Izakaya, love the atmosphere and the food.

Zen Box offers small and large full dishes all of them excellent, this is a no frills genuine restaurant with a great atmosphere and staff.

As always, the place was crowded (use Open-Table, book early!!) but service was wonderful and the food very tasty. we ordered different types of appetizers and they were all great. the cocktails were good too.

All in all, a great Japanese themed experience in Minneapolis!!! A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful attentive servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food and wonderful attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at zen box didn't know what t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time at zen box didn't know what to expect but had a great time. Food was great as well as the service. Friendly server and quick to getting our order. Super cool spot for date or just sit at the bar and enjoy some food. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was super knowledgeable and p ...

vip
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was super knowledgeable and patient in explaining the different types of Japanese liquors in the cocktail menu. The food was all amazing; ask your server for recommendations. We were so happy with ours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations for 6:45, arrived at 6: ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had reservations for 6:45, arrived at 6:40 and was seated immediately! Great when a restaurant has your table ready as you reserved. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tried the Katsu Curry with pork this tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Tried the Katsu Curry with pork this time. It was absolutely delicious. Freshly prepared, generous portions, and tasted super delicious. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is not your classic Japanese. This ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is not your classic Japanese. This place is young, fun and edgy like the food and drinks. Had a great evening. Service was excellent, too. Will definitively be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After one quick dinner Zen Box Izakaya q ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

After one quick dinner Zen Box Izakaya quickly became my favorite restaurant. Made a reservation for a Saturday night and so happy I did because it seems everyone else loves their authentic food as much as I do! The seating was tight but not uncomfortable, got to chat for a couple moments with the couple next to us which was very pleasant. Our waitstaff was welcoming, energetic, and a very enjoyable aspect of the evening. The food comes as it is made so the short wait between plates gave us time to savor and truly enjoy each unique item we ordered. The squid and octopus dishes were delicious and exciting to try as it was the first time any of us had experienced such different and exotic cuisine. Octopus quickly went from a dish I was unsure to try to a favorite I cannot wait to order again. Their Mochi Ice Cream was the perfect end to the spicy meal and I'll recommend it to any ice cream lover.

Overall Zen Box Izakaya was a fantastic and memorable experience, one I cannot wait to return to shortly and can see myself venturing to often. It's chill vibes, fun waiters, out of this world food, and huge menu will be bringing me back time after time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Private Room, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Spicy, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the food and the hosts greeted us ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I love the food and the hosts greeted us with a Japanese welcome. We were seated immediately thanks to our reservation. It was a bit noisy, so I wouldn't recommend it for a business meeting. Love it!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the seaweed salad, Japanese pickle, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had the seaweed salad, Japanese pickle, kimchi Ramen. Everything was really good kimchi Ramen was nice and spicy, just right. Great place, bustling with all ages.

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

awesome food and service every visit is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

awesome food and service every visit is like a mini vacation for us. :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love Zen Box - vibrant atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love, love Zen Box - vibrant atmosphere and great food!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a fun place for great food in a fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Just a fun place for great food in a fun atmosphere!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, , Happy Hour, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was loud and seemed a bit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The restaurant was loud and seemed a bit cluttered with stuff everywhere. The food was good and liked having a gluten free menu. The staff was nice and well trained. Just seemed a bit over priced for the atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything about Zen Box is fantastic! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything about Zen Box is fantastic! Their ramen is magical, a nice selection of Japanese beer and sake in addition to local favorites, creative cocktails, and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, , Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Tonkatsu Ramen and it di ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went for the Tonkatsu Ramen and it did not disappoint. It was a clean but rich broth and the noodles were cooked perfectly. Thinly sliced pieces of tender pork. The flavors were mild but lovely and I added some of the spices that were delivered with it. For $3 6 fried gyoza were added; they recommended chicken. There was ample flavor and the dumplings were perfectly crispy and tender at the same time. The service was super attentive, helpful and cheerful. We will definitely be back. We were among the first to arrive at 11:30 and within 10 minutes they were full!

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Zen Box! It's my favorite Ramen in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Love Zen Box! It's my favorite Ramen in town. Always delicious food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Zen Box Izakaya--fun spot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

First visit to Zen Box Izakaya--fun spot, excellent, friendly service, good food. The kimchi ramen was yummy, the fried takoyaki appetizer better than what I had in Osaka (famous for this item), the soba salad just right. But really, deep-fried gyoza? A horrible idea. Had we known, we would never have ordered this--pan-fried gyoza are great, who would deepfry them, even in the interest of speed? Yuck. But a good experience overall, and worth another visit.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service, as always! T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic food and service, as always! The ramen is outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I will be back .

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I will be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a friend/co-worker from Japan. Wen ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Took a friend/co-worker from Japan. Went to have ramen (because its the best I've had outside Tokyo). Never got to the ramen, just kept trying other items on the menu. Very good, very authentic Japanese food. Even my friend from Japan was impressed at the overall quality.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

While in town on business we went for di ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 18, 2016

While in town on business we went for dinner and lunch, both phenomenal! The pork belly and Kimchi stir fry is the best with just the right amount of kick! The ramen beats all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome and affordable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awesome and affordable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ramen! One of the best places for ramen ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Ramen! One of the best places for ramen in the Twin Cities. I had a somewhat overpriced beef ramen special. The enoki mushrooms and other extras without a doubt jacked up the price, but at the end of the day, it's about the broth, the noodles, and the gu (beef and other fixings) in that order. I had misgivings about what was "clear broth," but whatever might have been lacking compared to their amazing tonkotsu broth I didn't miss it. The noodles were a bit on the scant side, but half an hour after I inhaled the bowl I'm glad there wasn't more. The beef melted in my mouth. I was a happy camper.

Get reservations on a Friday night. I'm so glad I did.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.