Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 41 times today

Zen Box Izakaya

4.7
352 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Authentic
  • Good for a Date
A Ramen-centric Izakaya owned by Chef & Wife in Downtown Minneapolis' Mill District.

We are devoted to the pleasures of Craft Ramen & Japanese comfort food.
Zen Box Izakaya is THE place for ‘Good Food, Good Drinks and Good Company’.
Established since 2011.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Tapas / Small Plates, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 332-3936
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Ng
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Available for groups up to 25-50.

We can host sit-down dinners, buffet-style meals, or cocktail hour.

We have unique seating options, atmosphere and privacy levels, whether your event is birthday party, business meeting, holiday party or corporate functions.

The choice is up to you!
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
General Manager: (612) 332-3936
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Portland Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street Parking: You can find metered parking along Washington & Portland all of the meters are $1.00 per hour, payable with Credit Cards. Meters are free after 10:00pm daily. Let us know if you need change.

Ramp Parking: There are several parking ramps and surface parking lot nearby which range in price from $1.50 on evenings & weekends to $4/first hour on weekdays.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Metro Transit Lightrail: Metrodome Station.
Metro Transit Bus No. 7 & 22
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 352 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

We tried a bunch of things and enjoyed them all. Definitely go with the recommended items. Our favorites were the fried chicken and spare ribs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

If I didn't work in the same neighborhood as this gem I would still drive however long it would take to get here. Zen Box has the happiest staff that doesn't just sit around but they are always helping their guests. The food is delicious and the drinks are wonderful! Thank you for being a staple to my life!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Love everything about this restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great Friday night restaurant the Tonkotsu and Kimchi ramen were both - chef kisses fingers noise!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This was my fifth time for dinner at Zen Box and the quality and service are consistent. The food is excellent and I have recommended Zen Box to friends. Seating is limited so reservations are recommended. Zen Box is an excellent place to eat for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Enjoyed the food and overall experience. The service was prompt and friendly and the food was quite good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

ZBI is the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Good Ramen!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Good drinks. Order the ramen. Short ribs are great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Loved it. Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Wonderful well-crafted homemade food! My favorite above all is their spicy kimchi ramen with homemade noodles and amazing broth.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Enjoyed the suggested appetizers but our main courses were not savory enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Japanese comfort food at its best! Love the Ahi Tuna Bento Box.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I love their craft ramen. Their sake selection is really good. This place is amazing and delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Always have to make a stop to Zen Box every time I am in Minneapolis!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Amazing as always! Keep up the great work and service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Ramen was just ok and meat was VERY fatty. Broth could have been better. Short Rib appetizer was meaty but flavorless. Chicken Kara-Age was good. Tuna Poke' was fantastic and the bright spot of the meal. Service was great but restaurant is very loud....hard to talk to each other. Surprised it was rated this highly. We LOVE sushi and would not come back here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good food and great food, would go back for another taste. Lots of interesting items on the menu. Highly recommend the crab guacamole. Worth the reservation!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Do yourself a favor and stop by this place. Being in town for a trade show our group went to more expensive places at the beginning of the week. I got tired of that "type" of dining and I just had to try this place. When I told them of my plans a group of 5 wanted to go with me. We ordered a lot of food and let me tell you EVERYONE was impressed they could not believe the flavors in just our "appetizers". Beer was cold and food was AMAZING.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Fabulous ramen; great gyoza; terrific sake. Friendly and helpful service. Nice casual atmosphere. An altogether great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

My favorite Japanese spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great ramen- get their daily special! Fun and causal place with awesome drink names.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

There was such unique menu items, it was hard for me to pick what I wanted! Great taste and great presntation. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for something different than your typical dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Went on a Saturday night. Finding a spot on the street to park close by was easy. Arrived at 8 for a 8:30 reservation and was seated immediately. Food choices were plentiful and food presentation was excellent. Both had the ramen special and it was unique and tasty. Great for quick dinner before a show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I highly recommend! Best ramen I've had in the Twin Cities. There was nothing left of the huge bowl I ordered. Luckily there was a spoon provided so I didn't have to drink the broth directly from the bowl (because I absolutely would have). It was worth the hype - Kudos!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We were put in the back of the restaurant in a smallest room that was Extremely Loud. The food was okay. Most of the meat is fatty. the best two items we had War our drinks and the Sebastian Joe's ice cream

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Loved Zen Box! Such a wonderful place for a date and social outing. The food was absolutely amazing and an incredible value for its quality. One of the most authentic Japanese food experiences we've experienced in Japan. My boyfriend and I love coming here even though we live outside the twin cities.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Always wonderful! Great food, great service and just an overall good time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The food here is always top notch and delicious. I love the small plates because I like to sample as many dishes as possible. I highly recommend the tempura avocado. They’re to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Our server was great. The food was outstanding. Can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

My wife and I ate there with two friends, and we enjoyed the food immensely. The calimari is the best of its kind I have ever had. We ended up ordering two! The ramen was also excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Excellent Ramen. Definitely their strong suit. The other dishes I had were good. Not great. Get the ramen.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The staff is great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Tonkatsu Ramen 🍜 and the short ribs are delightful. 🍻

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

third visit to Zen Box - love the Ramen - so delicious. Tastes closest to what I had in Japan - wish I could eat here weekly!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

great Ramen

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Such a great experience here! One of my favorite spots!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Very energetic and fun location... Food was very good and the staff was friendly... Definitely a recommended place to eat...

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9