About Zebra Restaurant

4521 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Zebra, elegant dining, - or casual dining in the bar/patio French influenced local-sustainable and internationally sourced food products.
Zebra offers a la carte, three course prix fixe and chef grand tasting menus. Live music every Friday night on the renovated patio. Bar menu, wines by the glass & beers of character!
Open breakfast, lunch and dinner M-F and dinner on Sat.
Private rooms and catering.
AAA Four Diamonds
Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence
Wine Enthusiast Award of Distinction
Private events and catering 7 days.

Visit zebrarestaurant.net to view menus & upcoming events

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Wine Bar, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 9:30am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu, Open All day M - F with a select Menu outside of standard dining hours.
Great location for a morning or afternoon meeting or just a coffee!

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 442-9525

Website:
http://www.zebrarestaurant.net/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday evenings with half price appetizers, beer and wine by the glass.
Half price Martini Monday's
Half price bottle wines and desserts Wednesdays
Private wine tastings, weddings, events.

Catering:
Charlotte's creme de la creme of fine catering, and simple to extravagant. Parties from 8 to 800, in home intimate dinners to elaborate corporate affairs.

Executive chef/owner provides tremendous
resource for creative and unique parties.

Sample menus forwarded quickly. Inclusive pricing, experienced catering you can count on.

References include Belk, Bank of America, Carolina Panthers, Simonini Builders, more if required.

Rehearsal dinners, receptions, bridal showers, multi course in home dinners and much more!

Parking Details:
Two hundred spaces above, 100 spaces
covered below, bus/van access.

Public Transit:
South Park Mall across Sharon Road.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners, artist receptions, receptions.

Restaurant Photos

Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Zebra Restaurant
Antipasta
Souffle With Chocolate Grand Marnier Sauce
Salmon
Lobster Bisque
Chicken Breast Oscar
Froie Gras Slider
Lamb Tenderloins
Micro Arugula Salad with Sheep’s Milk Roquefort, Sugar Roasted Walnuts And Pear
WHITE CHOCOLATE SOUFFLÉ
Lamb Tenderloin “Diablo” with Celeriac Yukon Puree, Melted Greens and Glace d’Agneau
Pan Roasted Wahoo with Risotto and Haricots Verts
Blue Point Oyster with Smoked Crème Fraiche and Osetra Caviar
Griddled Palmetto Farms Squab Breast, Wild Mushrooms Duxelles, Haricots Vert and Rosemary Scented Squab Glace
Seared Foie Gras, Dried Cherries, Chestnut Honey, Brioche Toast
Butter Poached Maine Lobster and Avocado, Tomato Confit and Saffron Crème

Promotions

20% Off Entire Meal

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

20% Off Entire Meal

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Zebra is delighted to have the opportunity to provide assistance in planning your next catered event! From intimate dinners to elaborate corporate receptions, Zebra offers beautiful space, excellent cuisine and superior service.

Zebra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (26)
fit for foodies (17)
romantic (16)
See All
great for outdoor dining (13)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the food was very good, it was ov ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

While the food was very good, it was overpriced for what was delivered. The wait staff while friendly was often missing and service was slow--almost as if the waiter was the cook and while we were there the hostess began serving as well. For a Friday evening, the restaurant was almost empty which was interesting as to why the service was so slow. Would we go again? Nope--overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

We love Zebra to take clients and potent ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love Zebra to take clients and potential clients for lunch. Very relaxing and quite along with outstanding food and service

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most intimate restaurants in ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

One of the most intimate restaurants in charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Dave, turned what might have ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our waiter, Dave, turned what might have been an ordinary lunch into an extraordinary celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. Heard good things, but th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Disappointed. Heard good things, but the service was below average and the food (given the price) was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We went for our anniversary based on pas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We went for our anniversary based on past experience. Quite frankly, we were disappointed. Service was slow and not very attentive. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nicely appointed dining room with impecc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Nicely appointed dining room with impeccable service! Great "European" feel. Food was outstanding. It was mentioned they had a new chef and a new menu. He appears to be off to a great start. Watermelon gazpacho was excellent and the trout en papiotte just fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This use to be our favorite fine dining ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This use to be our favorite fine dining restaurant. Not any more. The changes made seem to lose the intimacy customers would like to have when dining. Most of the dining area is a small dining room with a smaller room attached. The changes have made it brighter and thus everyone gets a feel that they are all dining together and thus have no privacy. Previously, the space had more subduded lighting so that one could feel they were by themselves even though there 30 other guest in the room.

The music was terrible with a varied selection of Jazz Fusion, smooth jazz, Pop techno, etc. and when we spoke with the staff, they said they had no control over it.

We wish them well and hope they find their niche in the Charlotte market

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

CWHere were the customers?? Was surpris ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

CWHere were the customers?? Was surprised to see such few customers there. Our meal and service were very good. The interior decor was very attractive. We just missed seeing other customers there.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not worth the price

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went there for an anniversary dinner and they gave us a complimentary glass of champagne, but it basically went downhill from there. Food was "OK", but nothing to rave about. Service was "OK" but considering there were only 5 other tables being served while we were there, service was less then stellar. First time I've ever had a waiter walk away in the middle of taking our order without saying a word. Took 15 minutes to get our check at the end of the meal. Given the prices they charge for their food, I have to say that the value just wasn't there. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our experience at Zebra was disappointing to say the least. We had a feeling it was under new management/ownership when we walked in and didn't recognize employees. And then the menu. ... not what we expected. The menu choices were limited. Our server didn't seem to know anything about the menu. He just kept saying "oh everything is good. The chef is great". He would also disappear for long periods and never came back with the desert menu. The hostess,who was playing multiple positions, brought the menu and took the order. Desert was the only menu item that we truly liked. The food was mediocre at best and certainly not worth the price. And. . . $17 for a Martini????!!!!! Ridiculous considering the surrounding restaurants in SouthPark sell a Martini for $14 max. The perks provided by the "old" Zebra made the experience so much better.. . .like the chef selected aperitif and the small cookies at the end of the meal. These are no longer part of the "new" Zebra". We truly feel Zebra won't be in business in a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

really wanted to love it, but just liked it

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

friday night dining. nothing on menu really excited me and, unfortunately, the waiter didn't seem to know the menu specifics so he wasn't helpful. he also confused our wine order. my husband loved the chicken cacciatore at Georges so was happy to see it on the menu, but was underwhelmed. On the upside, the atmosphere is great, especially outside. a nice special occassion spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We visit Zebra several times a year and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We visit Zebra several times a year and it has been one of our Charlotte favorites! Unfortunately, as we found out this past Friday, Zebra is under new ownership, which has resulted in a modified menu. My wife and I usually struggle to decide on a dish because they all look great. This time we struggled to determine what we thought looked good. One of the reasons I visit Zebra is for the Lobster Bisque, which is usually buttery and smooth. This time it was, unfortunately, very - very peppery, which was not expected and not pleasant. Also, the soufflé, which is usually the cherry on top (so to speak), did not have much substance and the added orange creme (the souffle was Dark Chocolate) was too cool. We realize things change, but really wish they could have kept the majority of the old menu in place with little to no modifications to the existing dishes. We will be on the lookout for our next go-to French restaurant for those special evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ok food. Better steak elsewhere but salm ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Ok food. Better steak elsewhere but salmon was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Probably one of the best dining experien ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Probably one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The ambiance, meal, and service was outstanding. After dinner we enjoyed a cocktail outside on the patio by the outdoor fireplace. Great romantic date night restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kind of dead atmosphere. Used to be much ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Kind of dead atmosphere. Used to be much better. Way over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Would try and come again I guess and may ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Would try and come again I guess and maybe select something else on the menu to give a better review

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable Mother's Day brunch

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Zebra had a pre-fixe menu with plenty of choices of outstanding food. The duck on the charcuterie was exceptional. The eggs Benedict equally good. Tracy gave us wonderful service that I recommend asking for her. It was a tremendous Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good experience!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a good experience, waiter was nice and informative. The lobster bisque was mediocre but everything else was delicious. The beef tenderloin with lobster was awesome. The chicken special was delicious and the waiter made good wine recommendations. Would definitely return--

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The bowl of soup came in a snack bowl, r ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The bowl of soup came in a snack bowl, ridiculous as it was my meal. Our server brought a metal pitcher of soup to be added to the so-called bowl. A nice gesture. Offer a cup and a BOWL!! My friends said that there was no citrus in the citrus salad!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Wow! We were totally Enchanted by this b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Wow! We were totally Enchanted by this beautiful restaurant, recently taken over by a new owner. The decor core was lovely, especially the window treatments and the artwork. We chose to eat inside the restaurant, but the beautiful outdoor fireplace and fountains were very tempting. Our server, Tracy, was attentive and professional and treated us royally. Kim, the new owner was welcoming and informative, and treated us to complimentary Prosecco, while we waited for our most excellent food. Location is great, as it is right across the street from South Park Mall. Can't say enough good things about Zebra, and we'll certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good overall

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We ate at Zebra on a Saturday night. Overall our experience was positive. Despite them being relatively low on customers that night, most of our food was delivered lukewarm. We had a wonderful and very knowledgeable server.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Not worth the price.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Way over-priced. I ordered the $34 grouper special and got a small piece of grouper. My $11 salad was a small plate of wilted greens and a few other things. My entree was delicious, but was not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Poor in every way

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Enter and app were served together after 40 minutes, burger was overlooked and bun was burnt, served with a side of cold fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great Find in Southpark

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I've dined at Zebra several times for lunch, but never for dinner. My friend and I both thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We both had the salmon which we thought was delicious. Had it been a bit warmer, it would have been nice to sit on the terrace. I definitely recommend Zebra as a neighborhood gem.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Not great

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Server recommended the fries as an add on to my sandwich. They were greasy , under-cooked and $5.95. Cup of coffee was $3.50. Burger was cooked properly as requested.

I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The pecan cream cheese crepes were delic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The pecan cream cheese crepes were delicious! My husband really enjoyed his steak and eggs. The staff was attentive and friendly. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Slightly disappointing

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our first visit. The ambience is very high-end - quiet and intimate (very nice). It is obviously a place that people go for big occasions. And the food was great "around the edges". A squash soup and the lobster bisque were outstanding. However, the main courses were a disappointment. My wife had the trout dish. She requested some other sides, and noted that the cabbage was barely cooked and the spaetzle was crunchy instead of creamy. When the chef offered a replacement of couscous, it was tasteless. She called it "the chef's revenge" (for returned food). I had the duck entrée - it was okay but not great. The server or manager felt ad enough to offer a dessert sampler, which was terrific. So - ups and downs, but at an expensive restaurant like this, the food should be the star, and it wasn't. The outdoor patio looked very inviting, so maybe we'll try again - but not any time soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Zebra Never Disappoints

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Zebra. She selected Zebra based on our past experiences dining there. The food and the service is always superb and has never disappointed us!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We think Zebra is back on track! For awh ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We think Zebra is back on track! For awhile the food was inconsistent. We ordered the Dover sole and it was excellent! We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service poor entrees

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was excellent. Appetizers were excellent. Entrees were both terrible. Lamb very chewy and lacked flavor despite being cooked medium rare. Trout over cooked and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

It was OK ..... very quiet........ we we ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

It was OK ..... very quiet........ we were one of two tables and they sat us right together ... very strange .. food was OK ... but not rushing back ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was very good; surprised at pricing ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was very good; surprised at pricing especially corkage fee per bottle.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Favorite

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

It's been a year since our last visit and I'm not sure why. . . the food is still Fabulous and service stellar! We will make a point to visit more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty good!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

All was fine except, we were seated and after 45 minutes, and our water glasses were filled several times, we had to ask if we had a waiter for the evening. Otherwise, it was fine. Just like for someone to check in to let us know we were on the schedule to be served. Otherwise, all fine. Just a hitch since the tables were not filled anyway and we felt neglected until we asked for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Find

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

First time to dine here at night. We were able to get seated outside on a beautiful night and it was so relaxing. The food was good and the service was top drawer. Would definitely go again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, next to loud chatty table

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food, service and wine list were superb. Only detractors were a conversation at a nearby table that grew louder by the glass and the Crème brûlée was under-cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time I have been since the ownersh ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

First time I have been since the ownership change. The food was not nearly as good as i remember. Very few people in there, so there must have been others that have had a similar experience. Took an out-of-town client, Zebra has always been her favorite, but said it was not very good this time. With all the choices in the area, will be hard to go back.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding Dinning Experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

What a great restaurant, atmosphere was one of the best in Charlotte only topped by the great food. The chef prepared my wife's scallops to perfection which is a rarity in most restaurants. The fish special was one of the best that I have had lately and the condiments we beyond description. We concluded our dining experience with a soufflé that was second to none. Our complements to the Chef and staff.

The restaurant has a quiet atmosphere with tables spaced far enough apart so you can converse without everyone overhearing your conversation.

We will definitely add Zebra to our go to restaurant list and will look forward to returning in the very near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First lunch at Zebra

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

First time we had lunch at Zebra. We have had dinner here several time before and were pleased with the professional attentive service. We arrived at 1 pm this past Friday. Dining room was was less than half full. If you are in hurry don't have lunch here, very slow and leisurely. Lunch menu was fine, good selections. Cocktail prices hover around $16. I had the short rib sandwich; very good came with chips; frites were extra at $6. My wife had the steak frite, medium. It was a filet mignon, nice flavor but woefully under done-it came rare and sliced. Perplexing since it was sliced you could plainly see it was rare. Sent back to charred a bit; came out OK. Server was pleasant and professional, but AWOL quite a bit. Overall food was good, service slow.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.