About Zebra Restaurant

4521 Sharon Rd
Charlotte, NC 28211
View Larger Map

Zebra, elegant dining, - or casual dining in the bar/patio French influenced local-sustainable and internationally sourced food products.
Zebra offers a la carte, three course prix fixe and chef grand tasting menus. Live music every Friday night on the renovated patio. Bar menu, wines by the glass & beers of character!
Open breakfast, lunch and dinner M-F and dinner on Sat.
Private rooms and catering.
AAA Four Diamonds
Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence
Wine Enthusiast Award of Distinction
Private events and catering 7 days.

Visit zebrarestaurant.net to view menus & upcoming events

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Wine Bar, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 9:30am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu, Open All day M - F with a select Menu outside of standard dining hours.
Great location for a morning or afternoon meeting or just a coffee!

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 442-9525

Website:
http://www.zebrarestaurant.net/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday evenings with half price appetizers, beer and wine by the glass.
Half price Martini Monday's
Half price bottle wines and desserts Wednesdays
Private wine tastings, weddings, events.

Catering:
Charlotte's creme de la creme of fine catering, and simple to extravagant. Parties from 8 to 800, in home intimate dinners to elaborate corporate affairs.

Executive chef/owner provides tremendous
resource for creative and unique parties.

Sample menus forwarded quickly. Inclusive pricing, experienced catering you can count on.

References include Belk, Bank of America, Carolina Panthers, Simonini Builders, more if required.

Rehearsal dinners, receptions, bridal showers, multi course in home dinners and much more!

Parking Details:
Two hundred spaces above, 100 spaces
covered below, bus/van access.

Public Transit:
South Park Mall across Sharon Road.

Private Party Facilities:
Zebra is delighted to have the opportunity to provide assistance in planning your
next catered event! From intimate dinners to elaborate corporate receptions, Zebra
offers beautiful space, excellent cuisine and service.
We accommodate 200 on premise, up to 1,000 off premise.

Private Party Contact:
Jim, Michael, Stephanie: 7044429525x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners, artist receptions, receptions.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1/2 Price Bar Bites 5-7:30pm, All Day Bev. Special

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1/2 Price Bar Bites 5-7:30pm, All Day Bev. Special

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Details
We also have Half Price Wine By the Glass & Beer All Day! Live Music on the Fire Place Patio! Bar Menu includes Petite Beef Tenderloin Burgers w/ Remoulade, Artisan Cheese Platter, 12 hr. Short Rib Brioche Sandwich.. and more!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 11, 2016 - Jul 11, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zebra Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (37)
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
great for outdoor dining (15)
notable wine list (13)
great for lunch (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for brunch (8)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Ok food. Better steak elsewhere but salm ...

Dined 2 days ago

Ok food. Better steak elsewhere but salmon was good.

food2
ambience2
service5

Kind of dead atmosphere. Used to be much ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Kind of dead atmosphere. Used to be much better. Way over priced.

food3
ambience4
service4

Would try and come again I guess and may ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Would try and come again I guess and maybe select something else on the menu to give a better review

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Mother's Day brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Zebra had a pre-fixe menu with plenty of choices of outstanding food. The duck on the charcuterie was exceptional. The eggs Benedict equally good. Tracy gave us wonderful service that I recommend asking for her. It was a tremendous Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall good experience!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a good experience, waiter was nice and informative. The lobster bisque was mediocre but everything else was delicious. The beef tenderloin with lobster was awesome. The chicken special was delicious and the waiter made good wine recommendations. Would definitely return--

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

The bowl of soup came in a snack bowl, r ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

The bowl of soup came in a snack bowl, ridiculous as it was my meal. Our server brought a metal pitcher of soup to be added to the so-called bowl. A nice gesture. Offer a cup and a BOWL!! My friends said that there was no citrus in the citrus salad!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! We were totally Enchanted by this b ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wow! We were totally Enchanted by this beautiful restaurant, recently taken over by a new owner. The decor core was lovely, especially the window treatments and the artwork. We chose to eat inside the restaurant, but the beautiful outdoor fireplace and fountains were very tempting. Our server, Tracy, was attentive and professional and treated us royally. Kim, the new owner was welcoming and informative, and treated us to complimentary Prosecco, while we waited for our most excellent food. Location is great, as it is right across the street from South Park Mall. Can't say enough good things about Zebra, and we'll certainly return!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good overall

Dined on April 23, 2016

We ate at Zebra on a Saturday night. Overall our experience was positive. Despite them being relatively low on customers that night, most of our food was delivered lukewarm. We had a wonderful and very knowledgeable server.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not worth the price.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Way over-priced. I ordered the $34 grouper special and got a small piece of grouper. My $11 salad was a small plate of wilted greens and a few other things. My entree was delicious, but was not worth the price.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor in every way

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enter and app were served together after 40 minutes, burger was overlooked and bun was burnt, served with a side of cold fries

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Find in Southpark

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

I've dined at Zebra several times for lunch, but never for dinner. My friend and I both thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We both had the salmon which we thought was delicious. Had it been a bit warmer, it would have been nice to sit on the terrace. I definitely recommend Zebra as a neighborhood gem.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Not great

Dined on April 12, 2016

Server recommended the fries as an add on to my sandwich. They were greasy , under-cooked and $5.95. Cup of coffee was $3.50. Burger was cooked properly as requested. I will never go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

The pecan cream cheese crepes were delic ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The pecan cream cheese crepes were delicious! My husband really enjoyed his steak and eggs. The staff was attentive and friendly. We would definitely return.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Slightly disappointing

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our first visit. The ambience is very high-end - quiet and intimate (very nice). It is obviously a place that people go for big occasions. And the food was great "around the edges". A squash soup and the lobster bisque were outstanding. However, the main courses were a disappointment. My wife had the trout dish. She requested some other sides, and noted that the cabbage was barely cooked and the spaetzle was crunchy instead of creamy. When the chef offered a replacement of couscous, it was tasteless. She called it "the chef's revenge" (for returned food). I had the duck entrée - it was okay but not great. The server or manager felt ad enough to offer a dessert sampler, which was terrific. So - ups and downs, but at an expensive restaurant like this, the food should be the star, and it wasn't. The outdoor patio looked very inviting, so maybe we'll try again - but not any time soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Zebra Never Disappoints

Dined on April 9, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Zebra. She selected Zebra based on our past experiences dining there. The food and the service is always superb and has never disappointed us!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We think Zebra is back on track! For awh ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We think Zebra is back on track! For awhile the food was inconsistent. We ordered the Dover sole and it was excellent! We will definitely go back.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Good service poor entrees

Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was excellent. Appetizers were excellent. Entrees were both terrible. Lamb very chewy and lacked flavor despite being cooked medium rare. Trout over cooked and dry.

food3
ambience3
service3

It was OK ..... very quiet........ we we ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

It was OK ..... very quiet........ we were one of two tables and they sat us right together ... very strange .. food was OK ... but not rushing back ....

food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Food was very good; surprised at pricing ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was very good; surprised at pricing especially corkage fee per bottle.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

It's been a year since our last visit and I'm not sure why. . . the food is still Fabulous and service stellar! We will make a point to visit more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pretty good!

Dined on March 12, 2016

All was fine except, we were seated and after 45 minutes, and our water glasses were filled several times, we had to ask if we had a waiter for the evening. Otherwise, it was fine. Just like for someone to check in to let us know we were on the schedule to be served. Otherwise, all fine. Just a hitch since the tables were not filled anyway and we felt neglected until we asked for service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Find

Dined on March 12, 2016

First time to dine here at night. We were able to get seated outside on a beautiful night and it was so relaxing. The food was good and the service was top drawer. Would definitely go again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, next to loud chatty table

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The food, service and wine list were superb. Only detractors were a conversation at a nearby table that grew louder by the glass and the Crème brûlée was under-cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

First time I have been since the ownersh ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

First time I have been since the ownership change. The food was not nearly as good as i remember. Very few people in there, so there must have been others that have had a similar experience. Took an out-of-town client, Zebra has always been her favorite, but said it was not very good this time. With all the choices in the area, will be hard to go back.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Dinning Experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

What a great restaurant, atmosphere was one of the best in Charlotte only topped by the great food. The chef prepared my wife's scallops to perfection which is a rarity in most restaurants. The fish special was one of the best that I have had lately and the condiments we beyond description. We concluded our dining experience with a soufflé that was second to none. Our complements to the Chef and staff. The restaurant has a quiet atmosphere with tables spaced far enough apart so you can converse without everyone overhearing your conversation. We will definitely add Zebra to our go to restaurant list and will look forward to returning in the very near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

First lunch at Zebra

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

First time we had lunch at Zebra. We have had dinner here several time before and were pleased with the professional attentive service. We arrived at 1 pm this past Friday. Dining room was was less than half full. If you are in hurry don't have lunch here, very slow and leisurely. Lunch menu was fine, good selections. Cocktail prices hover around $16. I had the short rib sandwich; very good came with chips; frites were extra at $6. My wife had the steak frite, medium. It was a filet mignon, nice flavor but woefully under done-it came rare and sliced. Perplexing since it was sliced you could plainly see it was rare. Sent back to charred a bit; came out OK. Server was pleasant and professional, but AWOL quite a bit. Overall food was good, service slow.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

One of our go to spots for date night! ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

One of our go to spots for date night! They always have great food and their wine list is great! I wish they would bring back the mushroom foie gras soup though!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for a special occasion

Dined on March 3, 2016

Everyone in our party enjoyed the fantastic service and wonderful meal. We were not rushed, the waiter made great suggestions, and our "Birthday Guest" received extra attention from the entire staff. This was our second time to dine at the Zebra Restaurant and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Accommodating

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Our large group dined while on the way to a funeral and we could not have chosen a better restaurant! Very understanding and efficient and we were even able to sit in a private area that held our large party perfectly. Outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very courteous server' the food excellent '

Dined on February 22, 2016

it's pricey but so worth the romantic experience with sum one with love of great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is outstanding. Ask ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food and service is outstanding. Ask for Lucky as your waitress.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The décor of the room, and especially th ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The décor of the room, and especially the white curtains, didn't work for me. It felt a bit contrived. The service was good and cocktails were delicious. The bread at the start of the meal was great. The menu was broad and tasty. The outdoor area wasn't open but will be nice once the weather warms.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Only one complaint

Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was very good except that for 2 of us our food came out lukewarm. Why that happen I don't know as the place was not overly crowed. Food was tasty. Didn't say anything to our waiter.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

Dined on February 19, 2016

Service was friendly, expert and prompt. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. They made our lunch a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best food, good people

Dined on February 15, 2016

Last time I went to Zebra for dinner, and the food was my favorite. This time we went with my friends for lunch. It was also great. Its taste was the best I've ever tried. If I was not a driver, I could have had a nice wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Avoid on holidays

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to Zebra before on a normal weekend and the food and service were amazing. On Valentine's Day, they had a 4 course menu that was not up to their usual standards. The food was good, but not great and the menu was small and was different then the Valentine's menu on their website. The service was friendly but slow. It felt like they overbooked and were understaffed as a result. If you are celebrating a special occasion I would go to Zebra, but avoid it on any holiday.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine Day Dinner

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was excellent especially the lobster and shrimp appetizer and the best caesar salad I have ever had

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The kitchen seemed to be backed up becau ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The kitchen seemed to be backed up because our dining experience took over 3 hours from start to finish, which seemed long for a night in which they had a mostly set menu ... other than that, it was fine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service experience was great... Luck ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service experience was great... Lucky took care of us and we felt like she was part of our family. She kept it real and to the point with excellent recommendations.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was Awesome

Dined on February 6, 2016

Have not been to Zebra in awhile and went due to an offer through e-mail for a discount on that specific night. Restaurant still is very nice but still has a feel of being very "empty". Does not feel like much is going on even on a Friday night with all tables full. The waitress we had was very good (Lucky) and knew her stuff. Service could have been a little more prompt with a lengthy wait between apps and dinner. Food was EXCELLENT! Chef did a wonderful job. The wine list is very nice. I saw that they had a nice area outside that will be great in the spring and fall. I will go back and try the outside seating and early bar specials in the future.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.