About Zeal

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

 Fried Chicken
Zeal 2013 Sauvignon Blanc
Fried Cheesecake
Steak
Duck Breast
Burgers
Soup & Sandwiches
Scallops!
$1 Oysters
Butternut Squash Soup
French Toast
Brunch!
Spanish P
Lamb Rack
Beer

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kennesaw / Marietta
Neighborhood Gem
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

neighborhood gem (55)
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (34)
See All
special occasion (32)
great for outdoor dining (31)
great for lunch (30)
great for brunch (26)
kid-friendly (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
notable wine list (19)
romantic (17)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (13)
Sort By:
Newest
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places in ea ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in east Cobb. We always have whatever special the chef has prepared and it is always amazing. Our server from our last visit recognized our family and came over to say hi. I want to say his name is Matt but don't hold me to that... Though our server this time wasn't as personable he did a fantastic job taking care of my family. It always feels like visiting old friends when we go in. From the welcoming hostesses to the great service to the delicious food. I had a chocolate peanut butter cake that I wasn't going to order because it was gluten-free (I like my gluten, thank you) but our server assured me I would love it. He was right. It was phenomenal. This is a great place no matter what the occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!!! Best food and service in East ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

AMAZING!!! Best food and service in East Cobb! Ask for Scott, the owner - friendly, attentive, informative...great experience!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my second time trying Zeal. The ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This was my second time trying Zeal. The first was for a terrible Mother's Day brunch in 2015 where they only had about 2 items to choose from. I had heard that they had improved their menu so I wanted to give it another try for a dinner out with the girls. My salmon was good but for $24 it should have been great. I passed on the kale side dish that came with it and got the garlic mashed potatoes instead. Those were fine but not outstanding. My other menu item that I was interested in was a $14 cheeseburger. I just think this restaurant is overpriced for what you get. I think the interior is a bit cold and boring. I was with a group and we sat at a semi-circle booth and the booth seats were so uncomfortable that my back was hurting before we left. I will not return to this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

OUr waiter Sam was AWESOME!! Great guy, ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

OUr waiter Sam was AWESOME!! Great guy, gave great suggestions. Food was fantastic. Celebrated my wifes birthday and she loved the place. We will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

I'm so thankful their is a place in East ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm so thankful their is a place in East Cobb that is 80% gluten free. Having a child with Celiac makes it tough to enjoy a meal out! She had a nice brunch with no issues!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Father's Day brunch had great options l ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day brunch had great options like chicken and waffles, shrimp low boil and a prime rib carving station. Food, service and drinks were great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service2

Food is excellent but service is very sl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is excellent but service is very slow. Go to this restaurant if you have a lot of time to just sit back and chill. You may have to chase others down to get needed items. Our waiter was MIA most of the meal except when it came time to pay.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Food is very good, but pricey for a "nei ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is very good, but pricey for a "neighborhood restaurant". There are lots of restaurants of this genre around and I can't point to anything that distinguishes Zeal. It's good, but didn't leave me yearning to go back. Also it was one of the live music nights - don't count on conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The office crew and I went to Zeal for a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The office crew and I went to Zeal for a quick drink at the bar. The restaurant is well divided between a nice, modern looking dining room and a cool bar. Looks like two different restaurants. We all had a good time snacking on the chicken lollipops and the bar staff were very knowledgeable and accommodating. Great selection of beer and bourbon. When we realized we were hungry, we ordered burgers which we all agreed were quite good. Solid restaurant and bar, highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT HIDDEN GEM! Came here with my wife ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

GREAT HIDDEN GEM! Came here with my wife and a few friends. Excellent service, Looks like a fun spot in the evening. Seems to be a good family restaurant. For seafood lovers, it is the best option in the area.Reasonable price with mouth watering dishes. Would highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed Sunday Brunch. Great simple menu with lots of different choices of mimosas and bloodys. They quite busy but service was still pretty good. We made fathers day reservations for a "manly brunch"! Looking forward to it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time here, and it was delish.

Dined on June 12, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance, the service and most importantly the food. I had come here thanks to my friend's recommendation and I am glad that I did. Ambiance is perfect for old friends or romantic date. Very eclectic setting, modern and nice. Go for it, you won't regret it - the ambiance is that of a restaurant in midtown or Buckhead.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressed. The blackened shrimp is ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very impressed. The blackened shrimp is a must and the fantastic guitarist was a nice touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Unfurtunately an inconsistent restaurant ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Unfurtunately an inconsistent restaurant. I have dined there 4 times and 2 times the experience and food was great. The other 2 made me decide it wasn't worth the money. Poor cuts of steak, which were not cooked to order on the most recent experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time is simply the best

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and service were both amazing, once again. Loved the hummus with veggies, which was new for me this time. Drink menu is extensive from great wines to craft beers to creative cocktails... get the East Cobb Harvest. Fantastic entertainment on Saturday night with an awesome acoustic guitar player and singer. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

Dined on May 11, 2016

We were so excited to go to Zeal for Mothers Day and left very impressed. The buffet selection was amazing. Our server Ethan was outstanding. Very sharp and knowledgeable. They were very busy, yet he gave great service and the food was A plus. This was the first time we dined at Zeal and looking forward to go back very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

favorite local spot

Dined on May 11, 2016

I enjoy a good dining experience. Zeal has been one of my top 3 places in East Cobb for the last few years. But my last experience Saturday night was very special. Took my wife out for our 15 year anniversary and we sat at the bar. Gene and Ethan, are an amazing duo. Their personality and drink recommendations will make you want to stay all night. This is place is here to stay and we briefly talked to the owner and he is an east cobb young local. He was very pleasant and smart. We returned for Mothers day and had a nice lunch on the patio. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only my 2nd time to Zeal but again, it w ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Only my 2nd time to Zeal but again, it was enjoyable and delicious! Great staff and very interesting and delicious menu. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Mother's Day Disaster

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for Mother's Day, and that I would not visit this place on any special day (i.e. Mother's Day, Father's Day, or even Valentine's Day) way overpriced!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and ambiance!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance! The scallops, braised beef ribs, and kale salad are the best! I love this upbeat restaurant in my own neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We were very disappointed with our Sunday brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We expected much more from a fairly expensive meal. The seating was cramped and uncomfortable and the selection of food and drinks was quite unappealing. For example, there were few fresh vegetables, the fruit salad was pedestrian, the meats were overcooked and dry, and the dessert choices were very limited. We also ordered from the regular menu but were disappointed with the items we ordered. The server tried hard to ensure our comfort, but could not make up for the lack of atmosphere and the uninspired menu.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food. great service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the oysters and they are worth it. I didn't like the grits fritters as much as I expected to being a southerner. I felt they lacked depth. Wine special was great and I would go again for a brunch. Food was a bit pricey but we were celebrating Mother's Day early so I expected to spend a bit more than usual. I had the short ribs which were great, my partner had a burger and my sister(the mother) had the scallops(i was jealous).

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best gluten free and vegetarian choices!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best gluten free and vegetarian choices!

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

It was OK.

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We've driven by plenty of times over the months, but decided to stop by for a family dinner. The venue is really nice. It's got a nice lay-out and is very well decorated. The staff was nice and attentive. The food quality is not in keeping with either the prices or the venue. I had short-ribs that, though resepctable, were well overpriced for the quality. My wife's chicken was dry. When dishes go over the $20 price point, it needs to be much better. The deal-breaker for us though, was that our kids' meals cost $18 (before tip.) There is no justification for why a neighborhood restaurant should charge $18 for two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (served on white bread,) a side of fruit and a glass of milk. We likely won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zealous about Zeal

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fantastic food in a cool atmosphere that manages to not be too uptight as well. We absolutely love the way that gluten-free items--a big priority for us--are clearly marked. Service is genuine and warm. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Bless their hearts

Dined on April 30, 2016

They tried hard. The space is nice. The service was good. But the food was just average. You can charge more money to make if feel special, but Zeal just wasn't all that. They told me my entree was the best on the menu yet it was just OK. If that was the best item you have, then clearly we don't need to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste of Marietta

Dined on April 29, 2016

We visited the Zeal booth at taste of Marietta and the line was LONG! We tried the Scallops and the Lollipops and they were to die for. We were surprised to see the chef and owner cooking real food at the event. We were very impressed. So we went back for Thursday night dinner and ordered 2 lollipops, scallops, and bunch of other entrees. Everything was good and some items very even amazing. Glad to have come across this place. We live in West Cobb but don't mind making a drive for such a fun experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

3rd Visit

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the 3rd time I have returned in 2 week. This place is so cute and welcoming. I love the décor and the staff. We have tried the Halibut, Scallops, Pork chop, and Butcher Steak thus far and its all been delicious. My mom prefers everything Gluten Free, so now she has found her a favorite place without compromising her diet. We will be back for Mothers Day!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Short version as I could write for an ho ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Short version as I could write for an hour about how awful it was; selected this spot out of many great spots in the area based primarily on the oyster component of the online menu. Server nice but were quickly informed that the online menu was wrong and most of the seafood items were not available. We were able to get some oysters but not what my husband (and it was his birthday). Both entrees he and I both wanted were no longer on the menu...meaning online info incorrect again. So my husband whet to the infamous fried chicken and it was terrible. As he cut into it the crust fell off to the side and the chicken was dry. I don't remember what I had the short ribs. His collard greens had good flavor but so many of the large, tough stems much much of he dish was edible. The mashed potatoes tasted instant. I had the short ribs.......good flavor but extremely tough. My cauliflower was very good. No special "Happy Birthday" Mr. Sanders and we left and went to a fast food restaurant for inner. Never again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Zeal, a great place for foodies!

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Zeal. It exceeded our expectations. My husband had the Sea Bass special and I had the scallops. Both were excellent. Despite that most of the staff were away at a special event, we received excellent service. We'll be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Baby Blue

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wine down Wednesday was spent at Zeal. We were there for a while and got to enjoy an exceptional Alexander Valley Wine called Baby Blue for half price. I got the Featured Steak, a 14 oz ribeye that was mouth watering as it arrived to the table and melted in my mouth. My friend got the Halibut, it was cooked perfectly, a little spicy but she really enjoyed it. Service was great and the entire staff was very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Expected better

Dined on April 21, 2016

Second time here. Dinner entree portions significantly small for the price charged. Halibut had too many bones. Fries were over salted. Sauce with steak tasted like jarred/commercial steak sauce. One large group sitting near us were extremely loud and disruptive, causing us to leave to continue our dinner conversations outside in the parking lot, because we couldn't hear above the noise. Disappointed both times we had meals here, first time, food and service were mediocre, the second time service was great, but food was overpriced for the quality, and noise level was annoying. Will not return. Such a shame, as there aren't many restaurants in this area that offer mostly gluten-free food. Perhaps they will achieve and maintain food consistency and/or lower their prices a bit. I don't mind paying a higher price for quality food, but the quality/consistency and portion size should justify the prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch meeting

Dined on April 21, 2016

I took my client out for lunch at Zeal and it was quite impressive. Beautiful décor and ambiance. We both ordered the smoked salmon lunch special and it was outstanding. Not many places for good lunch in East Cobb, I am glad I came across this place. Gary was a very passionate server, to say the least.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Night on the Patio

Dined on April 18, 2016

Loved our dinner tonight on the patio. The landscape and flowers are very welcoming. we could smell the rosemary and mint in the garden. My mom and I both ordered the 14 oz Ribeye and it was divine. Apparently they source it from Chicago, meats by Linz. Love this restaurant. Bread pudding hit the spot to conclude a nice dinner. See you soon.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent - Celiac Friendly

Dined on April 16, 2016

As a person with Celiac this is an Excellent place to eat. you don't feel like a person with special needs but rather you can look through most of the menu and find tons of selections right in line with the main menu...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Third visit heading south

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our third visit to Zeal and we were pleased to find so many gluten free options; especially the fried chicken. Each visit, it seems the food quality is losing life and flavor. This time, each of our three dishes lacked seasoning that even salt & pepper couldn't repair. And, the service was a bit stretched and not as attentive as we had experienced before.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday Night in East Cobb

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had halibut and salmon dishes from the menu and both were excellent; service by " Sam "was excellent. Good wine choices. Would have liked more varied desert choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Atmosphere was nice, Service was good, F ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Atmosphere was nice, Service was good, Food was just ok

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad this restaurant is in east Cobb.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent waiter, excellent food. Wish the serving of wine was a little larger. No screaming children, so I was happy. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful food, service, & atmosphere. We have gone on date nights there and for fun dinners with friends. Highly recommend the springer chicken!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.