About Zeal

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

 Fried Chicken
Zeal 2013 Sauvignon Blanc
Fried Cheesecake
Steak
Duck Breast
Burgers
Soup & Sandwiches
Scallops!
$1 Oysters
Butternut Squash Soup
French Toast
Brunch!
Spanish P
Lamb Rack
Beer

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kennesaw / Marietta
Fit for Foodies
Kennesaw / Marietta
Neighborhood Gem
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

neighborhood gem (52)
fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (33)
See All
good for groups (32)
great for outdoor dining (30)
great for lunch (27)
great for brunch (24)
kid-friendly (24)
vibrant bar scene (21)
notable wine list (18)
romantic (17)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (12)
Sort By:
Newest
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zeal was recommended to us by a friend a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Zeal was recommended to us by a friend and we were delightfully surprised with our dining experience. The food was great and the service outstanding in a pleasant ambiance. We will definitely go back !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Zeal and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Zeal and the service was excellent. We will return soon because it was hard to choose just one entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were good. The meal is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service were good. The meal is on the pricey side but overall very good. I would go back. Thanks-

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I went to dinner with a friend and I had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I went to dinner with a friend and I had a great experience! The food was very good and fresh. The kale salad was amazing. I highly recommend it. I also liked the zucchini fries with the spicy sauce. I also thought the atmosphere was great along with the service. My friend also felt the same way. Nothing but good things to report! My friend and I will definitely return to Zeal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is set in the suburbs and is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place is set in the suburbs and is a great find of you are looking for non-corporate fare. Their bar is staffed with people who are very serious about their art and making good drinks. The East Cobber is a great summer drink everyone should try. I had their pork chops as a main and it was flowing with flavor. The goat cheese fritters are also one of many great apps. They also have good gluten free options for those that require it. Service is upbeat and they definitely make sure often that you are getting what you need. Definitely will be going back

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only is the food fantastic, the staf ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Not only is the food fantastic, the staff, especially Sam, is beyond compare!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This particular trip was for my daughter ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This particular trip was for my daughter's 8th birthday but Zeal is an excellent restaurant for everyday dining. When given her choice for birthday dinner, she didn't even hesitate - Zeal was the only spot she was interested in... that should tell you something!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had lunch there twice before and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have had lunch there twice before and it was wonderful. I think our problem was a poor waitress who made our experience less than wonderful. One of our group had a wonderful meal and one had a terrible one. The rest of us was just mediocre to poor. So sorry for this as we took our friends here and have had good food in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places in ea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in east Cobb. We always have whatever special the chef has prepared and it is always amazing. Our server from our last visit recognized our family and came over to say hi. I want to say his name is Matt but don't hold me to that... Though our server this time wasn't as personable he did a fantastic job taking care of my family. It always feels like visiting old friends when we go in. From the welcoming hostesses to the great service to the delicious food. I had a chocolate peanut butter cake that I wasn't going to order because it was gluten-free (I like my gluten, thank you) but our server assured me I would love it. He was right. It was phenomenal. This is a great place no matter what the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING!!! Best food and service in East ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

AMAZING!!! Best food and service in East Cobb! Ask for Scott, the owner - friendly, attentive, informative...great experience!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time trying Zeal. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was my second time trying Zeal. The first was for a terrible Mother's Day brunch in 2015 where they only had about 2 items to choose from. I had heard that they had improved their menu so I wanted to give it another try for a dinner out with the girls. My salmon was good but for $24 it should have been great. I passed on the kale side dish that came with it and got the garlic mashed potatoes instead. Those were fine but not outstanding. My other menu item that I was interested in was a $14 cheeseburger. I just think this restaurant is overpriced for what you get. I think the interior is a bit cold and boring. I was with a group and we sat at a semi-circle booth and the booth seats were so uncomfortable that my back was hurting before we left. I will not return to this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

OUr waiter Sam was AWESOME!! Great guy, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

OUr waiter Sam was AWESOME!! Great guy, gave great suggestions. Food was fantastic. Celebrated my wifes birthday and she loved the place. We will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm so thankful their is a place in East ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm so thankful their is a place in East Cobb that is 80% gluten free. Having a child with Celiac makes it tough to enjoy a meal out! She had a nice brunch with no issues!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Father's Day brunch had great options l ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day brunch had great options like chicken and waffles, shrimp low boil and a prime rib carving station. Food, service and drinks were great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent but service is very sl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is excellent but service is very slow. Go to this restaurant if you have a lot of time to just sit back and chill. You may have to chase others down to get needed items. Our waiter was MIA most of the meal except when it came time to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Food is very good, but pricey for a "nei ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is very good, but pricey for a "neighborhood restaurant". There are lots of restaurants of this genre around and I can't point to anything that distinguishes Zeal. It's good, but didn't leave me yearning to go back. Also it was one of the live music nights - don't count on conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The office crew and I went to Zeal for a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The office crew and I went to Zeal for a quick drink at the bar. The restaurant is well divided between a nice, modern looking dining room and a cool bar. Looks like two different restaurants. We all had a good time snacking on the chicken lollipops and the bar staff were very knowledgeable and accommodating. Great selection of beer and bourbon. When we realized we were hungry, we ordered burgers which we all agreed were quite good. Solid restaurant and bar, highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT HIDDEN GEM! Came here with my wife ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

GREAT HIDDEN GEM! Came here with my wife and a few friends. Excellent service, Looks like a fun spot in the evening. Seems to be a good family restaurant. For seafood lovers, it is the best option in the area.Reasonable price with mouth watering dishes. Would highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed Sunday Brunch. Great simple menu with lots of different choices of mimosas and bloodys. They quite busy but service was still pretty good. We made fathers day reservations for a "manly brunch"! Looking forward to it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time here, and it was delish.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance, the service and most importantly the food. I had come here thanks to my friend's recommendation and I am glad that I did. Ambiance is perfect for old friends or romantic date. Very eclectic setting, modern and nice. Go for it, you won't regret it - the ambiance is that of a restaurant in midtown or Buckhead.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed. The blackened shrimp is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very impressed. The blackened shrimp is a must and the fantastic guitarist was a nice touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfurtunately an inconsistent restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unfurtunately an inconsistent restaurant. I have dined there 4 times and 2 times the experience and food was great. The other 2 made me decide it wasn't worth the money. Poor cuts of steak, which were not cooked to order on the most recent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Every time is simply the best

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and service were both amazing, once again. Loved the hummus with veggies, which was new for me this time. Drink menu is extensive from great wines to craft beers to creative cocktails... get the East Cobb Harvest. Fantastic entertainment on Saturday night with an awesome acoustic guitar player and singer. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We were so excited to go to Zeal for Mothers Day and left very impressed. The buffet selection was amazing. Our server Ethan was outstanding. Very sharp and knowledgeable. They were very busy, yet he gave great service and the food was A plus. This was the first time we dined at Zeal and looking forward to go back very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

favorite local spot

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I enjoy a good dining experience. Zeal has been one of my top 3 places in East Cobb for the last few years. But my last experience Saturday night was very special. Took my wife out for our 15 year anniversary and we sat at the bar. Gene and Ethan, are an amazing duo. Their personality and drink recommendations will make you want to stay all night. This is place is here to stay and we briefly talked to the owner and he is an east cobb young local. He was very pleasant and smart. We returned for Mothers day and had a nice lunch on the patio. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only my 2nd time to Zeal but again, it w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Only my 2nd time to Zeal but again, it was enjoyable and delicious! Great staff and very interesting and delicious menu. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Disaster

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for Mother's Day, and that I would not visit this place on any special day (i.e. Mother's Day, Father's Day, or even Valentine's Day) way overpriced!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food, service, and ambiance!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance! The scallops, braised beef ribs, and kale salad are the best! I love this upbeat restaurant in my own neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our Sunday brunch.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We expected much more from a fairly expensive meal. The seating was cramped and uncomfortable and the selection of food and drinks was quite unappealing. For example, there were few fresh vegetables, the fruit salad was pedestrian, the meats were overcooked and dry, and the dessert choices were very limited. We also ordered from the regular menu but were disappointed with the items we ordered. The server tried hard to ensure our comfort, but could not make up for the lack of atmosphere and the uninspired menu.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

great food. great service.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the oysters and they are worth it. I didn't like the grits fritters as much as I expected to being a southerner. I felt they lacked depth. Wine special was great and I would go again for a brunch. Food was a bit pricey but we were celebrating Mother's Day early so I expected to spend a bit more than usual. I had the short ribs which were great, my partner had a burger and my sister(the mother) had the scallops(i was jealous).

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best gluten free and vegetarian choices!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Best gluten free and vegetarian choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was OK.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We've driven by plenty of times over the months, but decided to stop by for a family dinner. The venue is really nice. It's got a nice lay-out and is very well decorated. The staff was nice and attentive.

The food quality is not in keeping with either the prices or the venue. I had short-ribs that, though resepctable, were well overpriced for the quality. My wife's chicken was dry. When dishes go over the $20 price point, it needs to be much better.

The deal-breaker for us though, was that our kids' meals cost $18 (before tip.) There is no justification for why a neighborhood restaurant should charge $18 for two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (served on white bread,) a side of fruit and a glass of milk.

We likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Zealous about Zeal

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Fantastic food in a cool atmosphere that manages to not be too uptight as well. We absolutely love the way that gluten-free items--a big priority for us--are clearly marked. Service is genuine and warm. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bless their hearts

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

They tried hard. The space is nice. The service was good. But the food was just average. You can charge more money to make if feel special, but Zeal just wasn't all that. They told me my entree was the best on the menu yet it was just OK. If that was the best item you have, then clearly we don't need to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Taste of Marietta

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We visited the Zeal booth at taste of Marietta and the line was LONG! We tried the Scallops and the Lollipops and they were to die for. We were surprised to see the chef and owner cooking real food at the event. We were very impressed. So we went back for Thursday night dinner and ordered 2 lollipops, scallops, and bunch of other entrees. Everything was good and some items very even amazing. Glad to have come across this place. We live in West Cobb but don't mind making a drive for such a fun experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd Visit

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the 3rd time I have returned in 2 week. This place is so cute and welcoming. I love the décor and the staff. We have tried the Halibut, Scallops, Pork chop, and Butcher Steak thus far and its all been delicious. My mom prefers everything Gluten Free, so now she has found her a favorite place without compromising her diet. We will be back for Mothers Day!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Short version as I could write for an ho ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Short version as I could write for an hour about how awful it was; selected this spot out of many great spots in the area based primarily on the oyster component of the online menu. Server nice but were quickly informed that the online menu was wrong and most of the seafood items were not available. We were able to get some oysters but not what my husband (and it was his birthday). Both entrees he and I both wanted were no longer on the menu...meaning online info incorrect again. So my husband whet to the infamous fried chicken and it was terrible. As he cut into it the crust fell off to the side and the chicken was dry. I don't remember what I had the short ribs. His collard greens had good flavor but so many of the large, tough stems much much of he dish was edible. The mashed potatoes tasted instant. I had the short ribs.......good flavor but extremely tough. My cauliflower was very good.

No special "Happy Birthday" Mr. Sanders and we left and went to a fast food restaurant for inner. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.