About Zeal

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kennesaw / Marietta
Neighborhood Gem
Kennesaw / Marietta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

neighborhood gem (67)
fit for foodies (59)
good for groups (37)
See All
special occasion (32)
great for lunch (30)
great for brunch (29)
great for outdoor dining (26)
vibrant bar scene (25)
kid-friendly (22)
romantic (22)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (9)
Sort By:
Newest
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

Dined on May 11, 2016

We were so excited to go to Zeal for Mothers Day and left very impressed. The buffet selection was amazing. Our server Ethan was outstanding. Very sharp and knowledgeable. They were very busy, yet he gave great service and the food was A plus. This was the first time we dined at Zeal and looking forward to go back very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

favorite local spot

Dined on May 11, 2016

I enjoy a good dining experience. Zeal has been one of my top 3 places in East Cobb for the last few years. But my last experience Saturday night was very special. Took my wife out for our 15 year anniversary and we sat at the bar. Gene and Ethan, are an amazing duo. Their personality and drink recommendations will make you want to stay all night. This is place is here to stay and we briefly talked to the owner and he is an east cobb young local. He was very pleasant and smart. We returned for Mothers day and had a nice lunch on the patio. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only my 2nd time to Zeal but again, it w ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Only my 2nd time to Zeal but again, it was enjoyable and delicious! Great staff and very interesting and delicious menu. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Mother's Day Disaster

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for Mother's Day, and that I would not visit this place on any special day (i.e. Mother's Day, Father's Day, or even Valentine's Day) way overpriced!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and ambiance!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, and ambiance! The scallops, braised beef ribs, and kale salad are the best! I love this upbeat restaurant in my own neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We were very disappointed with our Sunday brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We expected much more from a fairly expensive meal. The seating was cramped and uncomfortable and the selection of food and drinks was quite unappealing. For example, there were few fresh vegetables, the fruit salad was pedestrian, the meats were overcooked and dry, and the dessert choices were very limited. We also ordered from the regular menu but were disappointed with the items we ordered. The server tried hard to ensure our comfort, but could not make up for the lack of atmosphere and the uninspired menu.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food. great service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the oysters and they are worth it. I didn't like the grits fritters as much as I expected to being a southerner. I felt they lacked depth. Wine special was great and I would go again for a brunch. Food was a bit pricey but we were celebrating Mother's Day early so I expected to spend a bit more than usual. I had the short ribs which were great, my partner had a burger and my sister(the mother) had the scallops(i was jealous).

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best gluten free and vegetarian choices!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best gluten free and vegetarian choices!

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

It was OK.

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We've driven by plenty of times over the months, but decided to stop by for a family dinner. The venue is really nice. It's got a nice lay-out and is very well decorated. The staff was nice and attentive. The food quality is not in keeping with either the prices or the venue. I had short-ribs that, though resepctable, were well overpriced for the quality. My wife's chicken was dry. When dishes go over the $20 price point, it needs to be much better. The deal-breaker for us though, was that our kids' meals cost $18 (before tip.) There is no justification for why a neighborhood restaurant should charge $18 for two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (served on white bread,) a side of fruit and a glass of milk. We likely won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Zealous about Zeal

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fantastic food in a cool atmosphere that manages to not be too uptight as well. We absolutely love the way that gluten-free items--a big priority for us--are clearly marked. Service is genuine and warm. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Bless their hearts

Dined on April 30, 2016

They tried hard. The space is nice. The service was good. But the food was just average. You can charge more money to make if feel special, but Zeal just wasn't all that. They told me my entree was the best on the menu yet it was just OK. If that was the best item you have, then clearly we don't need to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste of Marietta

Dined on April 29, 2016

We visited the Zeal booth at taste of Marietta and the line was LONG! We tried the Scallops and the Lollipops and they were to die for. We were surprised to see the chef and owner cooking real food at the event. We were very impressed. So we went back for Thursday night dinner and ordered 2 lollipops, scallops, and bunch of other entrees. Everything was good and some items very even amazing. Glad to have come across this place. We live in West Cobb but don't mind making a drive for such a fun experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

3rd Visit

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the 3rd time I have returned in 2 week. This place is so cute and welcoming. I love the décor and the staff. We have tried the Halibut, Scallops, Pork chop, and Butcher Steak thus far and its all been delicious. My mom prefers everything Gluten Free, so now she has found her a favorite place without compromising her diet. We will be back for Mothers Day!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Zeal, a great place for foodies!

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Zeal. It exceeded our expectations. My husband had the Sea Bass special and I had the scallops. Both were excellent. Despite that most of the staff were away at a special event, we received excellent service. We'll be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Baby Blue

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wine down Wednesday was spent at Zeal. We were there for a while and got to enjoy an exceptional Alexander Valley Wine called Baby Blue for half price. I got the Featured Steak, a 14 oz ribeye that was mouth watering as it arrived to the table and melted in my mouth. My friend got the Halibut, it was cooked perfectly, a little spicy but she really enjoyed it. Service was great and the entire staff was very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Expected better

Dined on April 21, 2016

Second time here. Dinner entree portions significantly small for the price charged. Halibut had too many bones. Fries were over salted. Sauce with steak tasted like jarred/commercial steak sauce. One large group sitting near us were extremely loud and disruptive, causing us to leave to continue our dinner conversations outside in the parking lot, because we couldn't hear above the noise. Disappointed both times we had meals here, first time, food and service were mediocre, the second time service was great, but food was overpriced for the quality, and noise level was annoying. Will not return. Such a shame, as there aren't many restaurants in this area that offer mostly gluten-free food. Perhaps they will achieve and maintain food consistency and/or lower their prices a bit. I don't mind paying a higher price for quality food, but the quality/consistency and portion size should justify the prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch meeting

Dined on April 21, 2016

I took my client out for lunch at Zeal and it was quite impressive. Beautiful décor and ambiance. We both ordered the smoked salmon lunch special and it was outstanding. Not many places for good lunch in East Cobb, I am glad I came across this place. Gary was a very passionate server, to say the least.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Night on the Patio

Dined on April 18, 2016

Loved our dinner tonight on the patio. The landscape and flowers are very welcoming. we could smell the rosemary and mint in the garden. My mom and I both ordered the 14 oz Ribeye and it was divine. Apparently they source it from Chicago, meats by Linz. Love this restaurant. Bread pudding hit the spot to conclude a nice dinner. See you soon.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent - Celiac Friendly

Dined on April 16, 2016

As a person with Celiac this is an Excellent place to eat. you don't feel like a person with special needs but rather you can look through most of the menu and find tons of selections right in line with the main menu...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Third visit heading south

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our third visit to Zeal and we were pleased to find so many gluten free options; especially the fried chicken. Each visit, it seems the food quality is losing life and flavor. This time, each of our three dishes lacked seasoning that even salt & pepper couldn't repair. And, the service was a bit stretched and not as attentive as we had experienced before.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday Night in East Cobb

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had halibut and salmon dishes from the menu and both were excellent; service by " Sam "was excellent. Good wine choices. Would have liked more varied desert choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Atmosphere was nice, Service was good, F ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Atmosphere was nice, Service was good, Food was just ok

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad this restaurant is in east Cobb.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent waiter, excellent food. Wish the serving of wine was a little larger. No screaming children, so I was happy. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful food, service, & atmosphere. We have gone on date nights there and for fun dinners with friends. Highly recommend the springer chicken!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to go here!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The famous kale salad is amazing. This may be the best salad I have ever tasted in my life and quite honestly, I do not even like kale.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and good food

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our overall experience at Zeal was great! I was not a big fan of the dish I had though. It was the veggie plate(believe it was called Chefs plate). The Brussels, cauliflower and risotto were just ok. However my husband loved his meal, The butchers cut steak and my daughter loved her burger. I did have a salad that was wonderful!! It had great fried green tomatoes as the crouton part. I will definitely go back to Zeal, I just would pick a different entree for myself. Great Service and great atmosphere!!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

The music is much to loud on the dining ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The music is much to loud on the dining room to enjoy a relaxing dinner. While the food and service is superior; will not be going back anytime soon ..... Unless music stops!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent gluten-free find in Cobb!

Dined on March 25, 2016

I asked a gf friend for a recommendation in the area (we both have celiac and are not trend diet followers) and this is the place she suggested. It's a fabulous space, service was attentive without being annoying and the best part is most of the menu is gluten-free! That said, no glutenoids would know the difference - the food is that delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quiet Sunday Evening

Dined on March 20, 2016

Visited on a cold Sunday evening. Business was relatively light. Had a wonderful halibut with rice and red curry sauce, spicy for most but very much to my liking. Appreciate policy of fresh, wild caught fish. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not as good as the first time

Dined on March 19, 2016

Went to Zeal for the second time. First time was great. They hit it on all counts. This time was a big disappointment. My pork chop was not well prepared, tough, and the risotto was the consistency of thick paste. Service was good. This may be the typical new restaurant up and down, but they had better get it on track or it won't last. This was a Saturday night (7pm), the place was half full...maybe because others have had the same experience...

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So happy to have found Zeal

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Every time we bring a friend here they love it. Most have never heard of it, so we are happy to broaden their horizons!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Patio Dining

Dined on March 16, 2016

Guess it was so nice everyone decided to either sit on the patio or at the bar! Its a beautiful restaurant. We enjoyed our service by Jim! The cedar plank salmon was to die for and my husbands shrimp & grits were as spicy and tangy as he expected! live music and 1/2 price wine was a plus...fair prices. You get lots of food for the price you pay! we will be back Friday for Oyster Happy Hour!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Down

Dined on March 16, 2016

My friends and I have been to plenty of 1/2 price wine nights in the area and Zeal by far has the best Wednesday going on! Wine list is notable and live music is consistently amazing! My snapper special was prepared well and the ladies loved the charcuterie and the goat fritter app! we sat on the patio! its beautiful out there! We made Easter Sunday reservations! They are having live music on Easter as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

You can get much better food for the price point.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went there for a date night. It was an upbeat environment but the food was just ok and we spent a lot of money for the taste and presentation of the food. Server was friendly but not overly knowledgeable about the menu.

food5
ambience5
service4

Zeal has turned out to be one of our fav ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Zeal has turned out to be one of our favorite restaurants in East Cobb. If you tried them early on and found them to be so-so, give them another chance. Zeal has earned the right to be our "go to" restaurant over the past few months. I love the salmon on the plank. They also have so terrific soups. Ask for a sample and don't let their unique ingredient combos scare you. I never had one I didn't like. Enjoy!

food5
ambience4
service4

Attentive service, good food, live musi ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Attentive service, good food, live music

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

overall very good

Dined on February 20, 2016

I went here on a whim. Made reservation through OpenTable. The service was great. Gene was my bartender/server. He knew his beer and made a good recommendation. Food came out in a timely fashion and plating looked good. I had the insane Royale. Fantastic burger! The flavors are killer. Eat over the fries so the flavoraid doesn't go to waste. Only thing I would have changed was let them know the burger was over cooked. It wasn't burnt, but not how I ordered it. Asked for medium and it was well done. I was hungry and had plans right after so didn't want to wait for another one. They need to have a talk with their grill cook though, as I've heard several complaints verbally from my friends about this happening to them as well. I will go back again though. If it's not right, I have confidence they'll fix it. I would also recommend them to others who ask about a good place to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

Dined on February 20, 2016

Absolutely LOVED Zeal! Great food, OUTSTANDING service and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gluten free menu

Dined on February 15, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day a little late. Monday night was a great night to go. Very quiet, great service and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines

Dined on February 15, 2016

Valentines Dinner was very special this year! My husband is very fond of Zeal and brings a lot of his employees and clients for lunch and decided to make a Vday reservation. Table set up with candles and flowers was just perfect. We opted to do the pre fixe menu. For $100 for two was an amazing deal with all uniquely prepared dishes. We had the Seabass and the Scallops and couldn’t ask for it to be prepared any better. Live music was nice, set the right tone and ambiance for us! Thank you Zeal and our server Sam for making it special! See you soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.