About Zeal

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

 Fried Chicken
Steak
Fried Cheesecake
Duck Breast
Soup & Sandwiches
Scallops!
French Toast
Brunch!
Spanish P
$1 Oysters
Burgers
Zeal 2013 Sauvignon Blanc
Butternut Squash Soup
Lamb Rack
Beer

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Northwest Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Atlanta
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Romantic (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was meh. I went there for fanta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was meh. I went there for fantastic food but I think this place is more for drinks perhaps. I had the fried ice tea chicken or something like that, which tasted nothing like ice tea but was simular to O'charleys honey fried chicken, in flavor only. The sweet potato fries are perfectly sweet, crunchy and salty. Ambiance and service were perfect. I would bet it's awesome on live music nights. Nothing personal but I have a rule to only rate 4 or more if I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent and over 90% of the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Dinner was excellent and over 90% of the menu was gluten free. They even had gluten free dessert!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allie our server was perfect and we had ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Allie our server was perfect and we had a great girls night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zeal is still a neiva rhinos fun place. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Zeal is still a neiva rhinos fun place. Food was great

Only negative - we choose it for an anniversary. Even noted it via Open Table. No recognition/no congratulations. Felt like "can I have your order" That was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious salad and nice service though ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Delicious salad and nice service though a bit neglectful as it was only me eating. This seems to be a pattern in restaurants. Sat me by the kitchen and it was not busy. Really?

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

After not getting into another local eat ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

After not getting into another local eatery, sans reservation, I quickly found Zeal on Open Table and made a quick reservation. From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the better choice. Staff was quick and courteous. Food was outstanding tasting and presentation was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! It was perfect f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love this restaurant! It was perfect for date night, love the ambiance and music. It was very vegetarian and allergy friendly, nice fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived, the conversation noise ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

When we arrived, the conversation noise was quite annoying (loud).

The service was excellent while the restaurant was busy.

But, as it cleared out and we were still there, it seemed tat the staffing forgot

about us and left us waiting for additional items.

At all times, the server was very personable and professional giving us

suggestions and comments about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time there and I want to go back t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time there and I want to go back this weekend. Excellent food, Sam was a fantastic waiter and I want to go back and hear the guitar player on Saturdays.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Dancing, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - well prepared & well served ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food - well prepared & well served. Not the usual everyday versions you find elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the halibut in coconut curry. Lite ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I had the halibut in coconut curry. Literally died and went to heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great live music, good food and awesome ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great live music, good food and awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had the trout dish and it was very goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had the trout dish and it was very good. We also shared the mussels and they were also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience at Zeal. Fried chicken ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great experience at Zeal. Fried chicken was definitely best yet! The short rib spring rolls were just as awesome. Drinks -- bees knees and Moscow mule were winners. Plus the live music was a nice touch to a great evening. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to have dinner at Zeals. Meals pre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love to have dinner at Zeals. Meals prepared beautifully. Desserts unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome. Great décor, exce ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This place is awesome. Great décor, excellent staff and the food was delicious to the last bite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zeal was recommended to us by a friend a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Zeal was recommended to us by a friend and we were delightfully surprised with our dining experience. The food was great and the service outstanding in a pleasant ambiance. We will definitely go back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Zeal and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Zeal and the service was excellent. We will return soon because it was hard to choose just one entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were good. The meal is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service were good. The meal is on the pricey side but overall very good. I would go back. Thanks-

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I went to dinner with a friend and I had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I went to dinner with a friend and I had a great experience! The food was very good and fresh. The kale salad was amazing. I highly recommend it. I also liked the zucchini fries with the spicy sauce. I also thought the atmosphere was great along with the service. My friend also felt the same way. Nothing but good things to report! My friend and I will definitely return to Zeal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is set in the suburbs and is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place is set in the suburbs and is a great find of you are looking for non-corporate fare. Their bar is staffed with people who are very serious about their art and making good drinks. The East Cobber is a great summer drink everyone should try. I had their pork chops as a main and it was flowing with flavor. The goat cheese fritters are also one of many great apps. They also have good gluten free options for those that require it. Service is upbeat and they definitely make sure often that you are getting what you need. Definitely will be going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only is the food fantastic, the staf ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Not only is the food fantastic, the staff, especially Sam, is beyond compare!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This particular trip was for my daughter ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This particular trip was for my daughter's 8th birthday but Zeal is an excellent restaurant for everyday dining. When given her choice for birthday dinner, she didn't even hesitate - Zeal was the only spot she was interested in... that should tell you something!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had lunch there twice before and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We have had lunch there twice before and it was wonderful. I think our problem was a poor waitress who made our experience less than wonderful. One of our group had a wonderful meal and one had a terrible one. The rest of us was just mediocre to poor. So sorry for this as we took our friends here and have had good food in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places in ea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in east Cobb. We always have whatever special the chef has prepared and it is always amazing. Our server from our last visit recognized our family and came over to say hi. I want to say his name is Matt but don't hold me to that... Though our server this time wasn't as personable he did a fantastic job taking care of my family. It always feels like visiting old friends when we go in. From the welcoming hostesses to the great service to the delicious food. I had a chocolate peanut butter cake that I wasn't going to order because it was gluten-free (I like my gluten, thank you) but our server assured me I would love it. He was right. It was phenomenal. This is a great place no matter what the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING!!! Best food and service in East ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

AMAZING!!! Best food and service in East Cobb! Ask for Scott, the owner - friendly, attentive, informative...great experience!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time trying Zeal. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was my second time trying Zeal. The first was for a terrible Mother's Day brunch in 2015 where they only had about 2 items to choose from. I had heard that they had improved their menu so I wanted to give it another try for a dinner out with the girls. My salmon was good but for $24 it should have been great. I passed on the kale side dish that came with it and got the garlic mashed potatoes instead. Those were fine but not outstanding. My other menu item that I was interested in was a $14 cheeseburger. I just think this restaurant is overpriced for what you get. I think the interior is a bit cold and boring. I was with a group and we sat at a semi-circle booth and the booth seats were so uncomfortable that my back was hurting before we left. I will not return to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

OUr waiter Sam was AWESOME!! Great guy, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

OUr waiter Sam was AWESOME!! Great guy, gave great suggestions. Food was fantastic. Celebrated my wifes birthday and she loved the place. We will be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm so thankful their is a place in East ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm so thankful their is a place in East Cobb that is 80% gluten free. Having a child with Celiac makes it tough to enjoy a meal out! She had a nice brunch with no issues!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Father's Day brunch had great options l ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day brunch had great options like chicken and waffles, shrimp low boil and a prime rib carving station. Food, service and drinks were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent but service is very sl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is excellent but service is very slow. Go to this restaurant if you have a lot of time to just sit back and chill. You may have to chase others down to get needed items. Our waiter was MIA most of the meal except when it came time to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Food is very good, but pricey for a "nei ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is very good, but pricey for a "neighborhood restaurant". There are lots of restaurants of this genre around and I can't point to anything that distinguishes Zeal. It's good, but didn't leave me yearning to go back. Also it was one of the live music nights - don't count on conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The office crew and I went to Zeal for a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The office crew and I went to Zeal for a quick drink at the bar. The restaurant is well divided between a nice, modern looking dining room and a cool bar. Looks like two different restaurants. We all had a good time snacking on the chicken lollipops and the bar staff were very knowledgeable and accommodating. Great selection of beer and bourbon. When we realized we were hungry, we ordered burgers which we all agreed were quite good. Solid restaurant and bar, highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT HIDDEN GEM! Came here with my wife ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

GREAT HIDDEN GEM! Came here with my wife and a few friends. Excellent service, Looks like a fun spot in the evening. Seems to be a good family restaurant. For seafood lovers, it is the best option in the area.Reasonable price with mouth watering dishes. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed Sunday Brunch. Great simple menu with lots of different choices of mimosas and bloodys. They quite busy but service was still pretty good. We made fathers day reservations for a "manly brunch"! Looking forward to it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time here, and it was delish.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance, the service and most importantly the food. I had come here thanks to my friend's recommendation and I am glad that I did. Ambiance is perfect for old friends or romantic date. Very eclectic setting, modern and nice. Go for it, you won't regret it - the ambiance is that of a restaurant in midtown or Buckhead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed. The blackened shrimp is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very impressed. The blackened shrimp is a must and the fantastic guitarist was a nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.