About Zeal

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

 Fried Chicken - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Steak - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Fried Cheesecake - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Duck Breast - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Soup & Sandwiches  - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Scallops! - Zeal, Marietta, GA
French Toast - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Lamb Rack - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Brunch!  - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Spanish P - Zeal, Marietta, GA
$1 Oysters - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Burgers - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Zeal 2013 Sauvignon Blanc - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Beer - Zeal, Marietta, GA
Butternut Squash Soup - Zeal, Marietta, GA

Specials

Oyster Happy Days- 1/2 Price Oysters!

Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1/2 Price Wine Bottles / Ladies Night Out

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

1/2 Price Wine by the Glass

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Oyster Happy Days- 1/2 Price Oysters!

Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Come enjoy Chesapeake Bay Virginia Oysters for 1/2 Price all day long on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 17, 2016 - Feb 17, 2017 on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

1/2 Price Wine Bottles / Ladies Night Out

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us every Wednesday and indulge in your favorite wine bottle for 1/2 the price!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 16, 2016 - Feb 16, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

1/2 Price Wine by the Glass

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us every Tuesday and sip your. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us every Tuesday and sip your favorite wines by the glass for 1/2 price all. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 16, 2016 - Feb 16, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Northwest Atlanta
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Marietta ›

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Live Music (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was decent if a bit pricey. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was decent if a bit pricey. It also took quite a long time to get everything, but overall a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I really love this restaurant. It's gr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I really love this restaurant. It's great to have so many gluten free options. We went a little later than usual this past weekend and the live music was playing. The music was very good (as well as the food!) but we were a large group and it was difficult to have conversation with the music playing. I just prefer a much lower volume on the sound.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great service a must if ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic food, great service a must if you like Sunday brunch

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zeal is a cute restaurant, but the servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Zeal is a cute restaurant, but the service was extremely slow and we had to ask for things repeatedly. Our server was friendly and professional , but everything took a long time, especially the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food and service was great, but the live ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and service was great, but the live music was way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food. Well prepared, and attractiv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food. Well prepared, and attractively presented. Good service, but not too overbearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gary, our waiter was wonderful. Helped u ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Gary, our waiter was wonderful. Helped us navigate the menu & feel welcome. We'll definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Much quieter : a huge improvement , we w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Much quieter : a huge improvement , we will return more often as long as it remains low level on noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food. Fun, interesting appet ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding food. Fun, interesting appetizers only. Shared around the table and everyone loved them. Quite a place! We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredibly refreshing menu with inspired ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Incredibly refreshing menu with inspired plates that bring forth incredible spices and flavors. And, GLUTEN FREE!

Bourbon selection is exceptional. Bar manager's knowledge of bourbon and his personality ... fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love the lunch at Zeal. I get the Zeal ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I love the lunch at Zeal. I get the Zeal side salad with Salmon, it is the perfect portion.

My daughter got the Kale salad and loved it. And the other person got the grilled cheese-which looks amazing, it comes with soup. It looks really good. WE all enjoyed lunch and will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great, service was excellence : ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great, service was excellence : the music is too loud, which is a reason we do not choose Zeal more often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been to Zeal at least 8 times. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have been to Zeal at least 8 times. The food is always wonderful. We especially love having so many gluten free options. The music could be turned down a bit though. Not everyone likes it that loud. We like to be able to have a conversation!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the grouper with cous cous and it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I had the grouper with cous cous and it was so over cooked and I asked for medium. The cous cous was good. My daughter had the trout and it was also extremely over cooked. Really not eatable so they gave us a coupon for $40 and a free dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

great vibes. decided to give up our dini ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

great vibes. decided to give up our dining reservations and grab a seat at the bar for the live music. Diver scallops were amazing and the butcher steak melted in my mouth. Good creative cocktail menu and beer menu is even more impressive. Will be back for the scofflaw beer dinner.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful lunch experience at Zeal ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch experience at Zeal. Took my business partner for some local food action. Spring rolls were amazing as well as the burgers. Need to come try their dinner menu. We saw they won a few awards for their halibut and scallops. Wine list is quite nice, not over extensive and unique at the same time. Gary did a great job serving us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate to write bad reviews however, thi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I hate to write bad reviews however, this one is necessary. Our family got together for a special dinner. Several of our 10 meals were bad enough that we did not eat them. Two of them, Fisherman's bowl, were way too salty to eat, The pork chops were too burnt and the other ones were barely eatable. We were hoping to find a new favorite in the neighborhood and this was our first and probably last time there. Very disappointing.

P.S. the server was fine but we decided not to return all the food since there were too many with problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The dinner we ordered was missing many o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The dinner we ordered was missing many of the ingredients, a seafood stew that was missing the fish, the sausage, the spinach, the mussels. Very disappointed. The did give us a $25 gift card instead of giving us the meal for free. Should have done both to entice us back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The community of Marietta is fortunate t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The community of Marietta is fortunate to have such a wonderful restaurant to access. The greeting of the staff from the minute you enter is warm and welcoming. The menu was delightful to read and made you look forward to the upcoming meal. Our appetizers of the short rib spring rolls and oysters were awesome. The main meal of a halibut was tasty and a perfect portion to share. We ordered a side of spinach and side salad to share as well. It was perfect. The background music did not interfere with conversation and the staff checked on us without disturbing the flow of discussion either. It was en enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I loved eating at the Zea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My husband and I loved eating at the Zeal!! We are vegan and loved the different options even though they had just run out of dish my husband wanted to order. We also love a good glass of high quality wine. They offer some wines by the glass that others may not because of a special device they use to pour the wine and then it is immediately sealed back up. They also had many different kinds of beer and bourbon. The waitress was wonderful. The ambiance is very casual but has outside seating. Try it. I think you will like it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Casual, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Zeal had always been a great restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Zeal had always been a great restaurant for us. My spouse is celiac and their gluten free options are plentiful and normally delicious. They were visibly under-staffed and the hostess kept seating tables even though there were no servers to take them. We came here for our anniversary and the experience was awful. Our server Gary was smiling through the stress though and he is truly a remarkable young man. Food was very slow and we took what we got for fear of never getting to eat.

This was a disappointing evening and I think it will be a while before we come here again.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was HORRIBLE and the restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was HORRIBLE and the restaurant was not even crowded. Server seemed like he did not care. Food was served late and was cold plus our orders were not correct. Partial clearing of plates when we indicated we were finished and other plates never cleared. Ordered coffee and after 15 minutes, had to track down server as coffee never arrived and we had to leave.

Will never go back or recommend this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was meh. I went there for fanta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was meh. I went there for fantastic food but I think this place is more for drinks perhaps. I had the fried ice tea chicken or something like that, which tasted nothing like ice tea but was simular to O'charleys honey fried chicken, in flavor only. The sweet potato fries are perfectly sweet, crunchy and salty. Ambiance and service were perfect. I would bet it's awesome on live music nights. Nothing personal but I have a rule to only rate 4 or more if I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent and over 90% of the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Dinner was excellent and over 90% of the menu was gluten free. They even had gluten free dessert!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allie our server was perfect and we had ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Allie our server was perfect and we had a great girls night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zeal is still a neiva rhinos fun place. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Zeal is still a neiva rhinos fun place. Food was great

Only negative - we choose it for an anniversary. Even noted it via Open Table. No recognition/no congratulations. Felt like "can I have your order" That was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious salad and nice service though ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Delicious salad and nice service though a bit neglectful as it was only me eating. This seems to be a pattern in restaurants. Sat me by the kitchen and it was not busy. Really?

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

After not getting into another local eat ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

After not getting into another local eatery, sans reservation, I quickly found Zeal on Open Table and made a quick reservation. From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the better choice. Staff was quick and courteous. Food was outstanding tasting and presentation was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! It was perfect f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love this restaurant! It was perfect for date night, love the ambiance and music. It was very vegetarian and allergy friendly, nice fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived, the conversation noise ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

When we arrived, the conversation noise was quite annoying (loud).

The service was excellent while the restaurant was busy.

But, as it cleared out and we were still there, it seemed tat the staffing forgot

about us and left us waiting for additional items.

At all times, the server was very personable and professional giving us

suggestions and comments about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time there and I want to go back t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time there and I want to go back this weekend. Excellent food, Sam was a fantastic waiter and I want to go back and hear the guitar player on Saturdays.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Dancing, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - well prepared & well served ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food - well prepared & well served. Not the usual everyday versions you find elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the halibut in coconut curry. Lite ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I had the halibut in coconut curry. Literally died and went to heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great live music, good food and awesome ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great live music, good food and awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had the trout dish and it was very goo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had the trout dish and it was very good. We also shared the mussels and they were also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience at Zeal. Fried chicken ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great experience at Zeal. Fried chicken was definitely best yet! The short rib spring rolls were just as awesome. Drinks -- bees knees and Moscow mule were winners. Plus the live music was a nice touch to a great evening. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to have dinner at Zeals. Meals pre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love to have dinner at Zeals. Meals prepared beautifully. Desserts unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome. Great décor, exce ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2016

This place is awesome. Great décor, excellent staff and the food was delicious to the last bite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is simply one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is simply one of the best restaurants in the Atlanta/metro area. Consistently excellent food and service. Try the Alaskan Halibut - my favorite menu item. The butcher steak is also great. My wife loves the oysters and the salads. Oh, and if you have food allergies, no worries. My son is anaphylactic to dairy, nuts and shellfish and they always have something it make something special for him. Need to book a private event? Ask for Gene (GM) or Scott (Owner). These guys are great. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.