About Zaytinya

701 9th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM

Friday and Saturday: 11:00 AM to Midnight

Brunch Specials:
Saturday & Sunday 11:00 AM until 2:30 PM (regular menu available all day)

Cross Street:
G St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-0800

Website:
http://www.zaytinya.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 638-0800.

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking Monday - Friday starting at 5pm and starting at 4pm Saturday and Sunday till one hour after restaurant closing time. Cost is $12.

Public Transit:
Gallery Place/Chinatown station.
9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef José Andrés; Zaytinya Head Chef, Michael Costa

Private Party Facilities:
Zaytinya is the perfect place for your next event. We have a number of large spaces, intimate coves, and dramatic communal tables to accommodate any size and type of event or group dining big or small.

Private Party Contact:
Events@zaytinya.com: 2028108283x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website www.zaytinya.com and sign up for our mailing list to receive the latest information and updates on special events at Zaytinya

Restaurant Photos

Turkish Delight
Octopus Santorini
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Brussels Sprouts
Shish Taouk
Falafel
Baba Ghannouge
Scallops With A Yogurt Dill Sauce
Hummus
Seared Halloumi Cheese
Adana Kebab
Keftedes Kapama
Turkish Coffee Chocolate
Chocolate Rose
Greek Yogurt And Apricots
Garides Me Anitho
Htipiti
Apricots, Greek Yogurt, Pistachios And Apricot Sorbet
Grape-Leaves Dolmades
Beef Tartare Lebanese Style
Haloumi Cheese
Tzatziki
Crispy Eggplant
Watermelon, Feta & Olive Salad
Seared Salmon
Mushroom Saganaki
Lamb Kleftiko
Lamb Shank
Spanikopita
Lemon Chicken Soup
Crispy Brussels Afelia
Pita Bread
Fattoush
Sea Scallops
Kibbeh Nayeh
Kibbeh
Taramosalata
Grilled Platter
Crab Cakes
goat cheese
Labneh
Cardamon Cooler Cocktail
Sauces
Pomada
Turkish Coffee Chocolate Cake
Hummus & Falafel Platter
Hommus
Bantijan Bil Laban
Arayes
Spanakopita
Mushroom Couscous
Urfa Biftek
Chicken Shish Taouk
mercimek köftesi
Branzino
Hunkar Begendi
Lamb Kleftico
Calamari
Lamb
Beet Salata
Kebab Tasting Platter
roasted cauliflower
Scallops
Baba Ghanouj
Fried Squid
Greek Yogurt
Shrimp In A White Wine Dill Sauce
Sweet Potato Frites
Knisa Lamb Chops
Seared Scallops
Clean Monday / The Associate
Crispy Brussel Afelia
Hünkãr Beğendi
Kotopoulo Youvetsi
Skuna Bay Salmon
Clean Monday
Salyargoz Kibbeh
Brussel Sprouts and Walnuts
Moussaka
Bakaliarou Mavro Skordalia
Piyaz
Local Butternut Squash Hommus
Orange Salad
Pulpo
Chicken Kebab
Death in the Aegean
Bread And Oil
Asparagus Salata
Loukaniko Me Aginares
Seasonal Mushrooms
Spring Vegetable Saganaki
Sparangia Me Moustarda
Salmon
Rose Ice Cream
Crispy Eggplant With Roasted Garlic Yogurt Sauce
Soft Shell Crab
Chocolate Turkish Delight
Lamb Mahanek
Crispy Squash Blossoms
Seasonal Mushrooms And  Roasted Cauliflower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zaytinya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (727)
good for groups (475)
special occasion (406)
See All
hot spot (347)
great for lunch (346)
great for outdoor dining (277)
neighborhood gem (193)
vibrant bar scene (173)
romantic (138)
notable wine list (129)
great for brunch (121)
late-night find (82)
kid-friendly (51)
scenic view (32)
Sort By:
Newest
9092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zaytinya never disappoints. The food is ...

Dined 4 days ago

Zaytinya never disappoints. The food is imaginative and tasty. Ordering a few small plates yields a wide variety of flavors, textures and beautiful presentations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service was wonderful, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food, service was wonderful, the outside patio is so nice on a beautiful summer day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good but staff seem to be going through ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Good but staff seem to be going through motions and portions small for price We went here for a business meal. The waitor was not very warm and would not give us separate checks even though we were only a group of 5. They spilled a glass of wine on my colleague and were not that apologetic and the replacement glass was modest in amount. The tabouleh was tasteless , very small size, and mostly just parsley. There is no one dish that sticks out to go back for again. Pricey and disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Food quality and preparation were except ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Food quality and preparation were exceptional. Wait staff service excellent. Hostess service was not very welcoming and appeared quite disorganised. It appeared(my assumption) our table was used to accommodate a larger party and left the hostess with a challenge as to where to seat us. We did have an Open Table reservation and declined an outdoor table at the time of our reservation, however after waiting an additional 15 minutes without any recognition from the hostess, we were escorted to an outdoor table without comment; a very unprofessional front of house. Fortunately, the food and waiter more than made up for the uncomfortable introduction.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party included a vegan and a child w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our party included a vegan and a child with severe food allergies. Our server was fantastic and never made us feel like our special requests were a burden. In fact, it seems the policy is to make every effort to include those with dietary challenges. We were informed that many of the dishes could be altered to suit vegans and were brought options for the bread (which includes some dairy). The nut/seed allergies could have been a real pain for a mediterranean restaurant! But again, each item was checked for us. So, because pistachios are fried in the same oil as the french fries, we were told to avoid those. We would not have even considered that. Za'tar was provided in a separate bowl rather than sprinkled on top of dishes so that the sesame seeds would not be a problem. Our server was so attentive and kind and could not have made it a more pleasant experience. We were celebrating a high school graduation (the vegan) and she chose Zaytinya because it had enough options for all of us. The graduation ended earlier than we thought and the restaurant was wonderful in seating us a full half hour before our reservation. The atmosphere is upbeat and fun and beautiful. And the food was absolutely what one would expect from a José Andrés restaurant. We loved everything we ordered. The lebneh was so good we nearly licked the plate! It is rare that expectations are exceeded, but ours were at Zaytinya.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent vegeterian option. Will defin ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent vegeterian option. Will definitely go back again. Great drinks and perfect for date.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always.

Dined 6 days ago

Perfect as always.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

For years this was my favorite DC restau ...

Dined 6 days ago

For years this was my favorite DC restaurant. This time I was very disappointed in disorganized, slow service at a time not crowded (2:30 mid-week). My view was of dirty tables. It really colored my experience. I won't be going back anytime soon.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food but very loud difficult to ha ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food but very loud difficult to have a business lunch at peak hours. Waitress in a hurry didn't take enough time with us, food didn't arrive together.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was great as usual but service ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was great as usual but service was not as good. The hostess said there were no outdoor tables available so I told her several were empty as we arrived. Only then did she leave her desk and check. Then we had to constantly wave the waiter down for drink refills. Usually service is the best I've seen and yet this time we were left to ask for help. Maybe it was just a bad day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and unique food served artisticall ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Fresh and unique food served artistically and with enthusiasm. Make memories here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the menu at Zaytinya! The small p ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I love the menu at Zaytinya! The small plate options this time were exceptional. Great, attentive service and cool new cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Carefully prepared, first class food ing ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Carefully prepared, first class food ingredients assembled into amazing delicious dishes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always Special highlight w ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent as always Special highlight was the soft shell crabs superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful outdoor patio - roomy and rela ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful outdoor patio - roomy and relatively quiet given it's in the heart of busy downtown DC.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zaytinya provides small plate dining. M ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Zaytinya provides small plate dining. My favorite dishes are the red pepper spread and the lamb shank. The brussel sprouts were very good as well. Service was excellent. Our server, David, was very attentive and enthusiastic. The menu is in Greek and English and there are many wonderful choices. We were there for Father's Day lunch and it was very relaxing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server! Recommended nice geek wine ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great server! Recommended nice geek wine. Only noticed a tad difference in the plates on fixed prix were just a little less enthusiastic about than other menu choices. Baba ganuosh was fab

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great combo, great food

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great combo, great food

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We had 6 people in our party. Bill was 3 ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We had 6 people in our party. Bill was 300.00 +\- And WE ALL LEFT HUNGRY. We are all into health and nutrition; portions were painfully small and the waiter was not particularly helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely love eating here. Food and s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely love eating here. Food and service are excellent. Everything about this place is vibrant! We have had many things on the menu as this was our 4th visit and haven't been disappointed yet! Go and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

Food excellent, staff generally good but ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food excellent, staff generally good but our waiter was barely medicre, pricey, ambiance relatively noisy, lots of people with little space to maneuver, back to food excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome menu: it's all small plates. We ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome menu: it's all small plates. We got 7 for 2 people, and every single dish was great. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reser ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reservation, but had to wait 20 minutes for a table even though there appeared to be empty tables. Our waiter was very energetic and upbeat. The food was lovely - everything had a great taste, but while I realize that the concept is small plates, some of the portions were chincy given the ingredients . . . the spanikopita being one example. Given some of the other Greek/Mediterranean restaurants in the city, this definitely isn't my go-to place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location - right across the street ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great location - right across the street from the National Portrait Gallery. Modern and sleek décor makes for a lovely bright space. Perfect spot for lunch. Food was generally very good but the outstanding items on the menu are the starters and the desserts. The main courses are ok but not special.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food beautifully prepared and presented. ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Food beautifully prepared and presented. Great server and excellent busboys.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner with excellent service. We ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great dinner with excellent service. We had seven small plates between the two of us and then dessert - perfect. Wine list also is very helpful in choosing Greek wines based on your flavor preferences.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place never disappoints. Great port ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This place never disappoints. Great portions and presentation. One of my reliable mezze spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Zaytinya as usual was brilliant. Since t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Zaytinya as usual was brilliant. Since they are too busy they have a late service. That's it. i went with my aunt and it was an enjoyable experience for both of us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef's tasting menu was filled with many ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Chef's tasting menu was filled with many interesting and tasty dishes. Dessert was a bit of a disappointment though. Overall excellent evening with servers who could explain the many elements of the many plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite DC restaurant. All t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is my favorite DC restaurant. All the food is excellent as well as the interesting and delicious cocktails. Excellent and friendly service, too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the fresh pita bread to the dessert ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

From the fresh pita bread to the desserts, impeccable. Humus the city's best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely food - the hummus was amazing, as ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely food - the hummus was amazing, as were the brussel sprouts! Attentive staff without overwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dear Staff of Zaytinya, Our food waste ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Dear Staff of Zaytinya, Our food waste audit team from the World Wildlife Fund Had a remarkable meal - Everything came out perfect and in perfect timing! Chef Michael Costa is amazing and it is a business lunch we will never forget. We look forward to working with Chef Costa and his team as well Zaytinya. Very Best Regards, World Wildlife Fund

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Allowed the wait staff to select our mea ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Allowed the wait staff to select our meal. It was excellent. And for $55 great value. Arrived exactly at reservation time and was seated immediately. Will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food. Really noisy so hard to talk ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food. Really noisy so hard to talk. But great scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Zaytinya is always amazing. ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food at Zaytinya is always amazing. The tastes are familiar, but the combinations are inspired. I find that my taste buds are always refreshed by a visit, and my own cooking imagination enhanced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

I tried a falafel burger and it was awes ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

I tried a falafel burger and it was awesome. I really like food. However, service was terrible.. My server nerver come to my table while dining and did not say nothing after I finished my meal. She just gave me a check and left.. While I did not like service, food was so good.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service was great - albeit the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food and service was great - albeit the portions are small and plate sharing is recommended. The noise level was extremely high... Bare this in kind of you want to converse. I wish we would have opted to sit outside on the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Return visit to this gem of a restaurant ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Return visit to this gem of a restaurant did not disappoint. Will return whenever I'm in DC!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

enjoyed the food. lots of veggie options ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

enjoyed the food. lots of veggie options...a bit too noisy for me

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.