About Zaytinya

701 9th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM

Friday and Saturday: 11:00 AM to Midnight

Brunch Specials:
Saturday & Sunday 11:00 AM until 2:30 PM (regular menu available all day)

Cross Street:
G St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-0800

Website:
http://www.zaytinya.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 638-0800.

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking Monday - Friday starting at 5pm and starting at 4pm Saturday and Sunday till one hour after restaurant closing time. Cost is $12.

Public Transit:
Gallery Place/Chinatown station.
9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef José Andrés; Zaytinya Head Chef, Michael Costa

Private Party Facilities:
Zaytinya is the perfect place for your next event. We have a number of large spaces, intimate coves, and dramatic communal tables to accommodate any size and type of event or group dining big or small.

Private Party Contact:
Events@zaytinya.com: 2028108283x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website www.zaytinya.com and sign up for our mailing list to receive the latest information and updates on special events at Zaytinya

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Lunch for $25.00

Special valid Feb 1, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Lunch for $25.00

Special valid Feb 1, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Lunch for $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Mezze Lunch- Join us at Zaytinya for the best lunch deal in the Penn Quarter. Special valid Feb 1, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zaytinya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (755)
good for groups (533)
special occasion (434)
See All
hot spot (390)
great for lunch (356)
vibrant bar scene (209)
great for outdoor dining (203)
neighborhood gem (196)
romantic (176)
notable wine list (147)
great for brunch (143)
late-night find (88)
kid-friendly (52)
scenic view (36)
Sort By:
Newest
8967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, delicious food, exce ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful ambiance, delicious food, excellent service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a large group with older guests a ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a large group with older guests and the hostess was very accommodating to seat us on the first level in a quieter area in the restaurant. Food was great as always, everyone could find something they liked and it was fun to share dishes with the group!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff, from the Maitre'd to the busb ...

Dined 5 days ago

The staff, from the Maitre'd to the busboy, were excellent. Very attentive. The food and drinks were worth the visit. We all would come there again. I particularly like the fried eggplant. It was a bit hard on the ears, but not too bad considering the place was full of guests, many celebrating graduations or other personal events.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , and the service even better

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great food , and the service even better

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a special get together for two famil ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had a special get together for two families to meet. The food and service were excellent and really helped make our meeting amazing. Thank you!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch!

Dined 5 days ago

Great brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food

Dined 6 days ago

Zaytinya is a great place to find tasty vegetarian options. Service is great. I'd recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding,exhotic。and the mezze sets ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding,exhotic。and the mezze sets are highly recommended if you new here. The waiter make precise suggestion as well. Fashion,highclass,bright,and gorgeous food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic always!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Fantastic always!

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding variety of dishes. The chef' ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Outstanding variety of dishes. The chef's sampling was an incredible way to enjoy them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was told about this restaurant by my g ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I was told about this restaurant by my girlfriend and I kind of went in not expecting something as great as it actually was! We went on a date there to try it out. The atmosphere, the food, the drinks, and the service was phenomenal! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good time and some delicious food. I usually do not write reviews, but I had to for here! 5/5 would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our out-of-town guests enjoyed the experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Four of us shared 11 small plates, including desserts. The food was very interesting and very tasty - all 11 plates!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and value for money! Very bus ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food and value for money! Very busy so see vice could have been more attending.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food. The service was sketchy and ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food. The service was sketchy and slow during our recent visit, unlike our past experience. We dined at 8 pm on a Monday night, but they were very busy. We waited a long time for drinks and the breads to arrive while we waited for the food order to be taken. We loved the food so the service was the only deterrent. We will definitely dine here again but maybe try a different dining time.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner and fantastic waiter. It ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Lovely dinner and fantastic waiter. It was a little loud, but incredibly busy for a Monday night. Only off note was the cluster F at the hostess stand. Three behind the desk talking amongst themselves, but several minutes before one even deigned to make eye contact....rather off-putting and hardly a good first impression. The evening rapidly improved from there though. We had a delightful time, we had the tasting menu and accompanied that with several of the hand-crafted cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live in Idaho. When in DC we always e ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We live in Idaho. When in DC we always eat once at Zaytinya and Jaleo. Love the style and food at both. This time we took some newly weds and they loved it too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional lunch!

Dined on May 16, 2016

I have to say that I was happily surprised by this restaurant. I have walked by here probably 30 or 40 times because it is between two offices that I frequent. We had an occasion at work, so we decided to take some time out for a nice lunch. The place is sparkling clean and bright and contemporary and open, lots of windows and multiple levels. The tables are a bit close together for easy in/out when seating, especially if there are coats or rain gear involved, but fine. There was a mix up, in that we didn't get our bread with our appetizers, which included hummus, so it was needed. But they made up for it by bringing multiple baskets as we literally tore into our dishes. Each dish was superb--we had squid (calamari fritti with garlic aioli), hummus (house made and not to be missed), grilled octopus with some kind of herbed pureed peas, shrimp, spanakopita (best I've ever had), and stuffed grape leaves dolmades (with sun-dried tomatoes and bursting with flavor and less rice-stuffed--incredible!!) We will definitely be back. It was a bit pricey for every day, 8 plates for 4 people, plus the small desserts are light and perfectly sweet but not too sweet, especially the apricot. Our waiter was appropriately attentive and responsive when we asked about the missing bread. And the Ginger Beer was fantastic--kind of like lemonade with a bit of a ginger bite and carbonation. What a great lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food again. Bartenders helpful ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food again. Bartenders helpful with menu list and beer or wine selections. Loved the lamb options , baba ganoush terrific, kibbee excellent, hot bread complements meal options perfectly. The labne is tart and delicious and goes well with kibbee

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

I have heard great things about Zaytinya ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have heard great things about Zaytinya. Went there because I had an event to attend in the area and had a gift card. The service was very good and the atmosphere is very nice. It's a very pleasant place to have dinner despite the noise level. The food was very average though. We ordered 6 plates between the two of us and only one was very good. The others were very average, didn't have a lot of taste and one (the last one unfortunately) was extremely salty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Time.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waitress was great! There was one dish among the many delicious ones that was not cooked to our liking and she took it off the bill. Every other dish we tried was unique and fabulous. Sooooo happy. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my second time dining at Zaytin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my second time dining at Zaytinya, and on both occasions the food, drinks, and service were outstanding. I will say, the noise level was crazy, but completely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Tapas

Dined on May 14, 2016

A tough reservation to get but worth the wait. Our server suggested that we order as we go, so there isn't too much of a gap between servings and it was a great suggestion

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Second visit disappointing

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Zaytinya. First time there the food was fresh and flavorful, well prepared, well seasoned and well presented. This time the food was disappointing. Fried eggplant was soggy and bland, no pita served with baba ghanous, veal tartine extremely oily and under seasoned. The scallops were very well prepared and the lamb meatballs were better than we remembered. But overall the food was underwhelming. Restaurant has always been noisy but that's the urban two story environment, so was expected. Not sure I would return next time we travel to DC.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chef's tasting menu. It was f ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu. It was fabulous! Well worth the money and wonderful overall. David, our server, recommended some wines to go with our plates and they were great as well. If go here every week if I lived in DC.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The timing of the lunch was a little lon ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The timing of the lunch was a little longer than I would have enjoyed. We ordered 4 plates per the recommendation of the waiter, but he failed to ring in the fourth so while we thought we were waiting on our last plate, it never came and the work lunch ran longer than it should have. We had the lamb meatballs, the avgolemono (best dish by far), the cauliflower, brussel sprouts, and were supposed to have the fried squid which never came.

food5
ambience3
service4

Everything was fabulous! If I had to pi ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was fabulous! If I had to pick favorites: the lamb hummus and the seafood shwarma with the cheese plate and red lentil patties close behind. Loved everything!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere is a bit off and is a bit ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The atmosphere is a bit off and is a bit overwhelming with the noise and commotion. For the hype, this place did not wow me.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, large restaurant, noisy indoord

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is a very large restaurant so the menu is pretty standard but very good. The fish, shrimp and octopus dishes were the best. The meat kabobs were cold and dry. The desserts excellent. Service was spotty as it took two requests and long wait to get our second drinks. Had to finish my beer with dessert. Our server was busy while a number of waitstaff appeared to be just standing around. The noise level inside is painful but outdoors ok. The evening was cool but the heaters made it comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service3

We had lunch. I chose from the $25 speci ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We had lunch. I chose from the $25 special menu and my guy he chose a sandwich. The 7 spice soda is like a Coke, but different and really good. Disappointingly, I've had better meals and I think I chose the wrong things. Nothing was bad. it just didn't have the Wow! Factor that I am used to.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter's name was John he was so kno ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our waiter's name was John he was so knowledgeable about the menu that he made it a pleasure to order where we were not familiar with a lot of the food or drinks. His professionalism was of a caliber rarely seen and restaurants these days. I would suggest not only going back to this restaurant but requesting John as your waiter. The service did not stop with John The hostess was amazing as was the rest of the staff. I can see why this is one of DC's favorite digs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere. We did t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere. We did the chef's tasting and everything was great. The lamb shoulder and fried were both out fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DC's Best

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've yet to have a negative experience at Zaytinya. The brussel sprouts of course are a must, as are the snails. No matter what you order, you will not be disappointed. That, along with attentive service and inspired cocktails makes for an incredible evening, be it a group of two or ten.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Except for the snail kibbeh (rather blan ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Except for the snail kibbeh (rather bland) and the octopus Santorini (dry and overcooked), all of the dishes we had were delicious. Our server, Nikina, did an excellent job recommending dishes and the bottle of wine we ordered. Because it was our anniversary, we were greeted with a glass of champagne. We especially loved the labneh, the fried squid, the bronzino and the kibbeh nayeh. Overall, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always Fun

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I was a bit disappointed with my selection, although I did ask the waiter for his advice. Two of the dishes had basically the same sauce. I think that the waiter could have been more informed and better at helping with the selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We Loved It!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was one of the best meals I have ever had. The food was outstanding and the service was as well. The salmon was awesome, the baba ganoush was excellent, the lamb was perfect and the pita was like no other. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food to choose from and enjoy w ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Fabulous food to choose from and enjoy with different types of people. Just a great place and conveniently located.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3

met a friend for lunch. food was an une ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

met a friend for lunch. food was an unexpected disappointment. her gyros was exceedingly dry, my chicken wrap had more filler than meat & both of our fries tasted as though they had been double-fried, then sat around & were re-heated. on the positive side, our drinks & appetizers (i.e., dmall plates) were fine. bottom line? stick to small plates & skip the lunch sandwiches.....

food5
ambience4
service3

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. G ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in DC. Great food and ambiance. Service is never consistent. Sometimes service is wonderful. This time we waited a long time before someone took our order, although there were a lot of empty tables. It took a lot to get the waiter to come back to order more food. But overall, the food is delicious which is why we keep going back every time we visit DC.

food3
ambience2
service4
value4

I always enjoy going to Zaytinya and I f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I always enjoy going to Zaytinya and I find it a particularly good place for vegetarians. The food choices are always interesting. But this time I was really bothered by the noise. It made it very difficult to talk.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great outdoor dining!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service impeccable! Vegetarian options are wonderful. Outdoor seating is best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.