About Zaytinya

701 9th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM

Friday and Saturday: 11:00 AM to Midnight

Brunch Specials:
Saturday & Sunday 11:00 AM until 2:30 PM (regular menu available all day)

Cross Street:
G St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-0800

Website:
http://www.zaytinya.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 638-0800.

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking Monday - Friday starting at 5pm and starting at 4pm Saturday and Sunday till one hour after restaurant closing time. Cost is $12.

Public Transit:
Gallery Place/Chinatown station.
9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef José Andrés; Zaytinya Head Chef, Michael Costa

Private Party Facilities:
Zaytinya is the perfect place for your next event. We have a number of large spaces, intimate coves, and dramatic communal tables to accommodate any size and type of event or group dining big or small.

Private Party Contact:
Events@zaytinya.com: 2028108283x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website www.zaytinya.com and sign up for our mailing list to receive the latest information and updates on special events at Zaytinya

Restaurant Photos

Turkish Delight
Octopus Santorini
Brussels Sprouts
Shish Taouk
Crispy Brussel Sprouts
Falafel
Scallops With A Yogurt Dill Sauce
Baba Ghannouge
Hummus
Adana Kebab
Keftedes Kapama
Turkish Coffee Chocolate
Greek Yogurt And Apricots
Seared Halloumi Cheese
Garides Me Anitho
Chocolate Rose
Htipiti
Grape-Leaves Dolmades
Beef Tartare Lebanese Style
Haloumi Cheese
Crispy Eggplant
Watermelon, Feta & Olive Salad
Seared Salmon
Mushroom Saganaki
Lamb Kleftiko
Tzatziki
Lamb Shank
Apricots, Greek Yogurt, Pistachios And Apricot Sorbet
Lemon Chicken Soup
Spanikopita
Fattoush
Crispy Brussels Afelia
Pita Bread
Taramosalata
Sea Scallops
Grilled Platter
Crab Cakes
Kibbeh Nayeh
Kibbeh
goat cheese
Labneh
Cardamon Cooler Cocktail
Sauces
Pomada
Turkish Coffee Chocolate Cake
Hummus & Falafel Platter
Bantijan Bil Laban
Hommus
Arayes
Spanakopita
Mushroom Couscous
Urfa Biftek
mercimek köftesi
Lamb Kleftico
Calamari
Lamb
Hunkar Begendi
Beet Salata
roasted cauliflower
Kebab Tasting Platter
Scallops
Baba Ghanouj
Fried Squid
Greek Yogurt
Shrimp In A White Wine Dill Sauce
Sweet Potato Frites
Knisa Lamb Chops
Seared Scallops
Chicken Shish Taouk
Clean Monday / The Associate
Crispy Brussel Afelia
Hünkãr Beğendi
Kotopoulo Youvetsi
Skuna Bay Salmon
Clean Monday
Salyargoz Kibbeh
Brussel Sprouts and Walnuts
Moussaka
Bakaliarou Mavro Skordalia
Piyaz
Local Butternut Squash Hommus
Orange Salad
Pulpo
Chicken Kebab
Bread And Oil
Death in the Aegean
Asparagus Salata
Spring Vegetable Saganaki
Sparangia Me Moustarda
Loukaniko Me Aginares
Seasonal Mushrooms
Salmon
Rose Ice Cream
Crispy Eggplant With Roasted Garlic Yogurt Sauce
Soft Shell Crab
Lamb Mahanek
Crispy Squash Blossoms
Chocolate Turkish Delight
Seasonal Mushrooms And  Roasted Cauliflower
Mezze

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zaytinya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (637)
Special Occasion (412)
Good for Groups (406)
See All
Great for Lunch (305)
Hot Spot (297)
Great for Outdoor Dining (250)
Neighborhood Gem (182)
Vibrant Bar Scene (150)
Romantic (128)
Notable Wine List (118)
Great for Brunch (98)
Late-night Find (66)
Kid-friendly (50)
Scenic View (26)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
9370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bad service, authentic flavor. Too noisy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Bad service, authentic flavor. Too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Had a late meal on a Friday night with t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a late meal on a Friday night with two guests. Young crowd and a fairly high noise level through out the restaurant. We sat in one of the quieter areas upstairs but the volume was still high until people started clearing out. Food was OK but not what I expected. The menu read better than the food that was served which seemed a bit bland and almost run of the mill. I was expecting rock your taste buds novelty based on the reputation so maybe my expectations were a bit too high.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Took my daughter for her birthday! Our ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Took my daughter for her birthday! Our waiter was informative and helped us with our order. The only thing we did not particularly like was the stuffed grape leaves. Everything else was scrumptious - grilled octopus, sea bass, shrimp (lemon, dill), chick pea fritters ... We will return.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I had lunch here on a wee ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I had lunch here on a weekday. The service was prompt and friendly. The food was yummy and there are many vegetarian options. I highly recommend eating here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a fantastic meal. Each dish was del ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

What a fantastic meal. Each dish was delicious and beautifully presented. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food a little pricy. Was a little n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food a little pricy. Was a little noisy this time but still a good place to recommend to friends. Wines are expansive but what should we expect from DC...

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in DC. It was so ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our favorite restaurant in DC. It was so delicious we went two nights in a row!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent food and great service. Enjoye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

excellent food and great service. Enjoyed the casual and friendly environment, certainly any person with Turkish, Greek and southern European cuisine taste will appreciate the rich food variety and flavor.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good place that caters to vegans and car ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

good place that caters to vegans and carnivores:) Great to try for restaurant week. We did various dishes from the menu and enjoyed dining with someone who had not been there before

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, this restaurant's time ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately, this restaurant's time has passed. Greasy calamari, abysmal service. I used to love going there for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

A fantastic place to meet friends or bus ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

A fantastic place to meet friends or business partners for lunch or dinner. Enough options to please anyone, including vegans. The brussels sprouts are heavenly and the salads/mezes are delectable. Don't skip the yogurt & apricot dessert, it's only a bit of a splurge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good (as usual) but service has ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good (as usual) but service has slipped--very slow between courses. I've noticed this twice over the last 3 months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was outstanding! Enjoyed numerous t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding! Enjoyed numerous tapas. Great time out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere, not quiet but full of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere, not quiet but full of life.

Good tasting menu and service by David was excellent

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time for visiting restaurant week. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

First time for visiting restaurant week. Between the two us, we tried 10 dishes. So many wonderful flavors. I highly recommend Zaytinya. And as also, the fresh-made pita is to die for.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific as usual. The outdoor patio is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific as usual. The outdoor patio is a treat. Food and service exceptional.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was easy to make a reservation. We w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was easy to make a reservation. We were able to sit outside which allowed for a nice breeze and relative quiet (one of our party has hearing aids and that is always a concern if a place is loud). The food was excellent and the beer was very good. We chose two "Restaurant Week" dinners plus 2 other items for 4 people and it was a substantial amount of very delicious tastes. We all were very filled up by the end! Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Early reservation, so had nice location ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Early reservation, so had nice location on outdoor patio. Excellent service and delightful food. No rush; enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, super service and great locat ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food, super service and great location. Best Indian in DC?

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The first table was directly under three ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The first table was directly under three air conditioning vents. So cold we asked to be moved outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

My friend and I had a wonderful time cat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful time catching up. Out wait staff team was excellent and it wasn't noisy on our booth. LOVED THE FOOD. can't wait to return.

We ordered the 4 plate restaurant week special. Great quality, great presentation, delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were meeting family friends who were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were meeting family friends who were in town for a late brunch and some members of the party had food allergies, which the Zaytinya staff was extremely gracious and helpful in accommodating. The food was absolutely delicious and everyone left satisfyingly full and happy!

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's fine, just does not live up to its ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It's fine, just does not live up to its reputation. Certainly not destination dining. Food is average, service indifferent and ambiance cold.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the food. We went there for lunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved the food. We went there for lunch during the Restaurant week and loved the selections they had for vegetarians.

The pita bread was nice hot and fluffy. Would definitely be visiting it again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved celebrating our anniversary here. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved celebrating our anniversary here. The food is creative and memorable. Every course was an adventure in great taste.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with interesting food. We en ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great meal with interesting food. We ended up catching the tail end of restaurant week which isn't necessarily the best way to judge a place (but a great deal). There were creative drinks including a cocktail cleverly named "3 pm in Instanbul".

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I come to Zaytinia at least ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife and I come to Zaytinia at least once a month. It's her favorite restaurant. We love the food, we love the décor and on nice nights, we enjoy sitting outside on the patio. Our one complaint is that it is loud. Sitting on the patio is quieter. Despite the loud noise inside, it's still our go-to restaurant and will keep coming back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here was fantastic. We had the Chef ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food here was fantastic. We had the Chef's choice and ended up with nearly too much food to eat. The problem was that the food was so good, we couldn't stop eating it, even after we were ready to fall through our chairs. Only drawback, a very loud room.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love Zaytinya - it always delivers. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I love Zaytinya - it always delivers. Went for restaurant week. If you have a big eater in your group who "hates tapas" just make sure to keep asking for bread - they'll bring you some. =)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed eating here for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Enjoyed eating here for restaurant week. The food was fantastic but the noise level was quite loud. I would recommend coming here for a special occasion but make reservations far in advance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Vibrant restaurant with excellent tapas. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Vibrant restaurant with excellent tapas. Great for groups or for a date.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fantastic time, totally worth i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a fantastic time, totally worth it. Glad for restaurant week to be able to get a good taste of everything.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Great Beer, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is great every time we go to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything is great every time we go to Zaytinya. Lots of vegetarian dishes. Excellent service. Manager held our table even though half of our group was late; he seemed to care about the quality of our experience. When we have friends in from out of town this is the first place we take them for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a group of friends to ge ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great place for a group of friends to get together and share great food and a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very helpful and all the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our server was very helpful and all the dishes he recommended were delicious. Great ambiance and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had been here several times in the pa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had been here several times in the past and always left more than pleased. This time (for Restaurant Week), the experience exceeded our expectations. The menu items were each delicious in their own way, and the portions were generous. The service was consistently attentive and knowledgeable throughout our dining. Highly recommend Zaytinya for all occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and service! Best bread, be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food and service! Best bread, best pizza, best dips, best service, incredible journey

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zaytinya never fails in the quality of t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Zaytinya never fails in the quality of the food, the great service, wonderful ambiance and the drinks are sublime! You can go for any occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a bad waiter for our first half of t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Had a bad waiter for our first half of the meal but, then he went on lunch break and we got an amazing female waitress!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I very much enjoyed Zaytinya - all the s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I very much enjoyed Zaytinya - all the staff was attentive and warm especially since I was dining alone.

Great location and easy to find. Looking forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.