About Zarletti - Mequon

Zarletti Mequon: A dining experience designed by restauranteur, Brian Zarletti. The restaurant reflects Brian’s lifelong passion for Italian wine, food, and culture bringing a genuinità to Zarletti Mequon that can be felt throughout.

We hope you enjoy the simple, thoughtful cuisine. Whether it’s our Neopolitan pizza, hand-crafted in the wood-burning oven imported from Italy, or one of our many housemade pastas, each dish is prepared and presented with both appetite and aesthetic in mind.

We are thrilled to welcome you to the world of Italian food, wine, and fun! Buon appetito!

1515 W. Mequon Rd, Ste 1
Mequon, WI 53092
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
Lunch 11am - 4pm
Dinner 4pm - 9pm

Friday
Lunch 11am - 4pm
Dinner 5pm - 10pm

Saturday
Lunch 11am - 4pm
Dinner 4pm - 10pm

Sunday
Brunch 11am - 2pm
Lunch 2pm - 4pm
Dinner 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Port Washington RD

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 241-5990

Website:
http://zarlettimequon.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesdays Pizza Night
50% off any Pizza

Wine Wednesdays
50% off wine by the glass

Martini Thursdays
Select martinis available at $5

Executive Chef:
Miguel Mayorl

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Mequon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Romantic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Went here primarily to try the pizzas out of the Neopolitan wood-fired oven. While the crust was very good and had the requisite char on it, the Margharita (the standard of comparison for us) was a bit soggy. The flavor was good but always sad to see a floppy crust. The garlic sauce and spicy sausage pizza however was crisper and was the winner of the two--excellent flavors. The tiramisu made by Grandma Zarletti was superb. Our server Olivia was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. The food is excellent, Easter brunch did not disappoint. Friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sat at bar. Bartenders friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service, good food. Pleasant lunch. I liked my pizza, a little too much garlic for my taste.

Tags: Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great dinner and service as usual! Zarletti's is easily the best restaurant in the North Shore/Mequon area. Some of the menu items are similar to the great upscale metro Zarletti location. The wood-fired pizza is exceptional, always!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was our fourth time dining at Zarletti in Mequon. One can always count on a reliable and tasty meal at this restaurant. The house and specialty salads, pasta and pizza are all very good. Their marinara sauce is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful server who made the meal memorable. Very good meal and nice wine choices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

They are no longer stuffing the olives with real blue cheese and they certainly don't taste good. Also, the food was horrible. I have eaten there at least several times and it's always been great, but all three of us had terrible food. I recommended the restaurant and my friends were not happy. I had The veal piccata and it was breaded which I have never seen before and soggy and greasy. The breading just fell off in a big mess. Dinner was a huge disappointment. The only saving grace was the bartender who was very friendly and nice. We will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My friends and I go here every few weeks and always enjoy it. This visit we had a server who was new, and she was delightful. Friendly, prompt and eager to answer questions. There was also a new menu, and one of my favorite dishes (Spaghetti Carbonara) was deleted, so I asked if the kitchen would make it "off menu" for me. Server said they were happy to oblige, but what was served was a new dish (Strozzapreti Pancetta) on the menu that was good, but definitely not Carbonara. That was very disappointing. The dish was fine and would have been my fall back, so I smiled and accepted it, but I wish the kitchen would have just said no instead of hoping I wouldn't notice. We had the Burrata appetizer with prosciutto and it was wonderful, prepared perfectly. My dining companions both had the grilled salmon salad and both enjoyed it, saying it was well prepared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Tuesday night took forever to get our food and it wasn't even that busy. Not sure if there was a shortage in the kitchen but it usually isn't like that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Zarletti's Mequon is a very upscale Italian restaurant with a modern feel. Starters are superb and the main course pastas are inventive and tasty. We had the daily special which was a lamb ravioli in a slightly spicy, red sauce. Fantastic! If you are looking for a business lunch, or a good place for a night out for fancy Italian, this is it.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a very good meal to celebrate a local business success. The waiter was attentive and we stayed much later than most with no one making us feel like we were putting them out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was good but the food is average. We ordered an appetizers of tenderloin bites and they lacked flavor and were a little dry. Some of our guests ordered pasta which was good but average. The salmon was good but was told it was medium and came out well done.

The bill with wine and a few beers was $200.00 with tip not worth the $$.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, Great selections, Great service.

Would not let me use gift card that I got for Christmas. That was not good. That cost me $100 more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic meal and our server Rachel was very professional and attentive. Our go to place in Mequon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is bland and definitely not worth it. For the prices they charge, they should serve very, very good to great Italian food. Dishes do not taste like they are prepared fresh and the ingredients are tasteless. I would recommend going to almost any other Italian place in Milwaukee. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is bland and does not meet the expectations of a high quality Italian restaurant. For $120 the meal should be excellent and this was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The prices were way too high for small portions of mediocre entrees that didn't even come with soup or salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a rare night out with friends. I chose Zarletti because my husband wanted Italian. We were not disappointed. The fried olives were amazing, pastas were delicious. Kudos to the wait staff for handling a very busy evening with a large group of teens (who were very kind and courteous). We'd definitely go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great service at this local place, this time with Anna and Sunshine. Good wine values, pretty authentic Italian pizza (crust was a little dry this time), good shrimp and nice presentation.

Tags: Disabled Access, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Zarletti- Mequon for his birthday. We had a great waitress, who was very prompt at welcoming us, asking for our order, and checking on us. Together, my date and I decided to split a few dishes on the menu, and they were very accommodating of requests. The food was hot, and unique. Some dishes we would try again, others, not so much. We had only two concerns: the fact that where we sat was very cold (by the front window) to the point where it felt like there was a wind blowing, and that we were placed next to the area where the waiters placed their orders, and we felt as if our conversations were being listened to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Having seen this spot listed as one of the 30 top restaurants in Milwaukee, I booked a party of 4. I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed.
Our group was seated in a timely fashion by the Host. We then waited what I considered a long time before our waitress arrived with menus. From that point on, every wait was longer than I thought was appropriate, water, drinks, refills to water..... You get the picture.
We shared a couple of aps among the four of us. The Fried Olives were well received, while I found the Saffron Arancini disappointing; not crisp, and less heated through than I expect.
We all found the salads outstanding, both the Spinach, and the Chopped that was also shared.
Entrees eventually arrived and they were hit and miss. I ordered the Spaghetti Della Nonna. I thought the sauce uninteresting, and the meatballs less than I expect at a highly rated Italian Restaurant. The others ordered the Roasted Chicken, (Possibly the smallest bird I've ever seen described as a chicken, which was lucky, as she found it not to her taste.) the Strauss Veal, (a winner, well seasoned and perfectly cooked.) and the Grilled Pork Chop, (Yet another great offering.)
I finished with the Cheesecake, which was fantastic. The rest of the deserts included a Chocolate cake offering that was unfinished and removed from our bill, a Tiramisu, which was as expected, and a sorbet offering that I did not try as it was described as "swamped with liquer".

Overall, as I said earlier, far less than I expect from one of the "Top 30 restaurants in Milwaukee"

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Freddy the gentleman that brought the food to the table and check on us was awesome. He was not our regular server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our service was friendly and attentive. Food was very good and restaurant was busy but not too loud. Definelty recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always wonderful pizza and a great, casual environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to the restaurant during a packers game. It was very quiet...but I think it is a great place to watch the game. They have several tvs, and great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We met friends here and enjoyed a leisurely lunch with them. The noise level was conducive to conversation. The pizza offerings were unique and very tasty. Ever had a butternut squash pizza? It's great! We'll be back again to try out the apple and Gorgonzola pizza.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went for a business lunch and it was great. Good food and timely.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Went to dinner with my grandson and his girlfriend. We all ordered a different pizza and none of us were disappointed. Each one was delicious. The service was excellent - very attentive. Water glasses were refilled without ever needing to ask. I have dined here several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

While we had a nice time, the food was very good ...it was very hard to hold a conversation there. Disappointing!

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have enjoyed many meals at Zarletti's in downtown Milwaukee, but not here in Mequon. We had reservation and requested table not next to window since it was cold, but were told none were available when restaurant was only 25% full. Saw other couples seated at tables for 4 after us. Entrees were served when I was only half-way through salad, just plopped on table without comment. Salad, Chicken and asparagus tasted great, but pasta was mushy (not al dente) and cold. Meatballs had funny taste. Issues were not addressed. Waiter barely came back to table. Water was never refilled. Much potential with this location, but very poor hospitality and service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time at Zarletti's in Mequon - have wanted to try for quite some time. Read the previous reviews and it appeared to be 50/50 so I was optimistic. It was wonderful. We got there early as it was theater night, table ready for us. Service was admirable - not so much hovering but always promptly there when needed. Food was absolutely great. I grew up on northern Italian dishes and it reminded me of grandma's Sunday table. Tried the fried olives for the first time and should have ordered 2 right away. Yummy! There were 3 of us and we all ordered different things. Pizza with apple and gorgonzola smelled delicious, my Strauss Veal Marsala was wonderful - had it with linguini noodles and oilio and some added grated parmeson - very favorful. My daughter had the roasted ribs which was out of this world. Salad again like grandma made. A true dining experience. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great authentic Northern Italian food. Nice appetizer selection, fresh mozzarella, delicious drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Me and my boyfriend went here for dinner on New Year's Eve. This was our first time at Zarletti. We loved the apple gorgonzola pizza and strozzapreti pancetta that we got as our entrees. Ordered bruschetta as an appetizer after our soup, but received the meal before the appetizer came out and the waitress never addressed the lack of appetizer. Our waitress was very nice and polite, but she talked us into getting a second round of drinks and then they did not get to our table for another 20-30 minutes and we had already completed our meal by the time they came. Overall, I would like to try this restaurant again as the food was very good and I enjoyed the romantic atmosphere for a special occasion like New Year's Eve. Hoping the service lives up to everything else next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server was very fun and friendly. She made great food recommendations and the service was prompt. All four of us enjoyed our food; two pizzas, one lobster ravioli and one chioppino.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our wait person, Sarah was fantastic. She was polite, knowledgeable and charming. I have never had fried olives and they are now my new addiction! The cocktails were wonderful and dinner was amazing, of course we had a pizza in addition to a pasta entree. And mama makes dessert, who can say "no"?? ....the panna cotta was heavenly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food seemed warmed over. Pizza crust was limp and barely warm when brought to the table.
Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Second time there with a bad experience. No one to greet us, stood by entrance for 5 minutes before someone came. Had reservations but when they walked us to the table it was not set up for 4. Had to wait while that happened and the person doing it stopped to talk to customers at another table. Just stood there in the middle of the restaurant waiting. Very uncomfortable. It was a business lunch and I was embarrassed. Will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Zarletti's in Mequon, WI has the best pizza around! A glass of wine and the ambiance makes for a relaxing fun dinner or lunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.