Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti is a fine dining northern Italian restaurant located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Executive chef and owner Brian C. Zarletti focuses on creating regional Italian cuisine inspired by lessons learned in his grandmother’s kitchen and on his extensive travels in Italy.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm- 9:00 pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm-10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Parking Details:
Valet available Thursday - Saturday (PM)

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Romantic (41)
Authentic (35)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Cozy (24)
Business Meals (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (10)
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
1423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Server was prompt but he seemed hurried and at times annoyed. Ambiance was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We visited with friends to celebrate two birthdays and a retirement. The food was absolutely delicious and our waiter could not have been more friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed the pasta special and the ravioli special for the day. We were presented with three deserts for sharing at the end of our meal and they all were delicious! The waiter was very knowledgeable about Italian wines and was able to recommend something for my taste. It was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

We go to your place nearly every Valentine's Day and LOVE it. Everything was, as usual, fabulous, with one small exception. My wife was underwhelmed by the spaghetti carbonera and wished she had ordered something else. Perhaps you can give that dish a little attention? She is a very good judge of food, by the way, and is a very good cook.

The couple that was with us also had a fabulous time. Please keep up the great work!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Very confused as to why I was sat at the bar while there were plenty of tables open throughout the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Zarletti’s has been one of our favorites since it opened. The ambience is so lovely. We like the size of the restaurant. Our wait staff was excellent , friendly and extremely well trained. I followed her suggestions and had a delicious meal and wine. My husband almost always orders osso buco; he feels it is always the best he has ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2018

The pastas were overdone & NOT served fresh !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great authentic Italian. They reserve seats at bar for diners, go across the street to the hotel bar for a predinner drink if they are that busy.Small restaurant, close tables, but has a great energy. Waitstaff professional and spot-on. Osso Buco is perfection! Worked well for 2 to split a first course and then also split second course. No room for dessert, but they looked fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We love Zarletti. The food is great. The atmosphere is perfect for either a quiet conversation or a larger party. But the main thing is the service...they have easily the best wait staff in Milwaukee. Thais why we go back so often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Wait staff very knowledgeable about food and wine. Meal was paced well so one could enjoy each course. Every course was well prepared. An enjoyable evening at Zarlettis every time I go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Terrific food, ambience, and service. Kudos to Kurt, our server.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Great and friendly service! Very attentive and helpful with the menu! Great atmosphere and food was wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Food was overly priced. This was the second time I have visited and was not impressed with the service or the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2018

We have had many excellent meals there in the past although a bad experience a couple of years ago kept us away. We went a couple of nights ago for a birthday dinner and this was mentioned in the reservation. We are not expecting anything free but a "happy birthday " would have been nice. Bresaola didn't look like raw beef but was dark brown (perhaps cooked in some way) and dried up. Arugula and dressing with it were good. The entrees were good as was the special soup. All in all, an okay dinner but this has been in the past a more than okay restaurant. Not so much the other night.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2018

The evening dinner did not begin well as our table was not ready when we arrived and the five of us were left standing at the door which was very cold. We were in the path of servers and platters of food. The table they said we would be seated at was not yet ready when a table at the door opened first, so we were seated at a table near the cold door that opened repeatedly during our dinner.
The waitress was informative and very pleasant. She worked to make sure the experience was enjoyable. She was not particularly helpful on questions about the wine list. A wrong side was brought with one of the meals. They added the correct side when it was pointed out.
The food was very good. The sauces and flavors were wonderful. They allowed us to stay at our table to have dessert and continue conversation. The food itself made it worth it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 6, 2018

One of our party of two had the lamb sandwich on the menu and the other had the special chicken and pasta special. The former was tasteless in terms of seasoning, and I wouldn't have known it was lamb except that was the listing on the menu. VERY disappointed, had left overs, threw it away. Though the rosemary aioli was delicious. The pasta/chicken special was very tasty, the pasta was very al dente, chewy. Some people might want it a little softer but the taste and composition was very appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We enjoyed Zarletti for the first time and very much enjoyed the food. The server explained everything very well and we enjoyed our experience. The ragu special was well worth the trip. My only complaint was that this was a dinner for my fiance's birthday, it was noted on the reservation through open table but it was not acknowledged at all. Our server didn't ask if we were celebrating anything and no special offered (as I expected with the note in the reservation). To top it off, the table next to us had a birthday and they were served a dessert with a candle lit. We laughed it off but I was pretty disappointed by that.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Our server was impressive in his detailed description of the offerings, but service fell off after we asked for a straw in our second BOFS. No offer to others if they wanted another drink, generally seemed he wanted us to finish up and leave. Which we did.
Food: Caesar salad was one of the best I ever had. Calamari dish stuffed with something was so so and would not order again. Soups were delicious and the special ragu was also delicious. We did not have dessert as server was by that time ho hum.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Soooooo good! We went for a special occasion (birthday dinner) but will go back for a random occasion because it was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Zarletti’s is always consistent, the service and the food are always very good. We have been going there since they opened and always have had a great experience..

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Good food
Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Great food and excellent service, would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Food quality has gone down from our last visit. Seating is very tight, it appears they want to cram as many people as they can. Noise level is high, not a good place for a quiet dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The food was delicious, including the desserts, and our server Matt was attentive and friendly without smothering us or being pretentious. We both remarked upon what a great waiter he was.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Group of 6 of us enjoyed a great dinner together after a play at the Rep. Everyone enjoyed their meals and you could tell the menu items were prepared with care. Only concern for some might be the crowded conditions in the dining room.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Great family dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Really enjoyed our dinner before the MSO. Staff was very friendly
Had a wonderful waitress, Brianna?? I think her name- on 1/19 for dinner- she was very knowledgeable and adorable
Food was delicious- we’ll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2018

We had a wonderful, informed server. Tables are way too close for the servers to make their way around very easily.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2018

I have eaten there several times over the last few years. I was not disappointed, the food was delicious as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Nice setting, friendly staff, and cozy place to eat with a good vibe. It was 10 degrees outside so we settled for the pasta dishes; rabbit Ragu and their Bolognese. Both were excellent. They could upgrade their bread, as it was mostly a crunchy white bread. Tasty, but not a classic rustic Italian bread.

The waiter was excellent. He was observant and knew the menu, so could offer personal recommendations.

I would definitely go back to sample the other dishes.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Food, Dessert & coffee was delicious! Everyone was satisfied with their choices. Great service and atmosphere!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We have relocated and no longer get to regularly dine at one of our favorites in the world, MKE has come along way in providing world class dining. Zarletti’s helps to set a gold std. in MKE, driving both culinary and service expectations right down to the house made Lemoncello .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2018

A small restaurant, but exceptional food. We came from out of town and picked this place at random since it was close to the hotel. We were blown away. Service was good, but our server was a tad 'grim'. Not a smile all night!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2018

This was our first time for dinner. We had lunch back in November. Both experiences were spectacular. Best authentic Italian dishes we have had since we visited Bologna!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Consistently amazing food and amazing service all at reasonable prices! One of the vest values in town!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2018

I will def go back to that restaurant next time I am in Milwaukee. Nice wine list. My server seemed a little to loud and hyper for a restaurant of that caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Are go to restaurant in Milwaukee never had a bad meal or service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The service was outstanding and he was on top of everything. The food was delicious. My wife had the pork and I had the special (beef tenderloin). We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Consistently excellent! Great food, stellar service, cool ambiance, and an all-around great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Everything was great! We were sat immediately, service was outstanding and very accommodating!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.