About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Tre Inizi - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Vitello Al Limone Strauss - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pasta Bolognese - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Gamberi Alla Putanesca Con Gamberi - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Boscarelli Montepulciano 2011 - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Raviolo Del Giorno, Pollo - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pistachio Crusted Halibut With Door County Cherries - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pork Chops With Balsamic Reduction - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Cocktail Round - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Eggplant Parmesean - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pasta Cami - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Sweet Potato Soup - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Ravioli - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Cream Of Corn Soup - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Gamberi Con Pancetta - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Osso Bucco - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Caesar Salad - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Bruschetta - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Calamari - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Butternut squash ravioli with brown butter - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Penne Pasta with Italian Sausage - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Seafood Risotto - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Tiramisu - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pistacchio Encrusted Grouper - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Liveli Wine - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Roasted Chicken Ravioli W/Italian Sausage - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Crab Cakes - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Ravioli - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Chops - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Authentic (21)
Romantic (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband had Osso Bucco which was the ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined a day ago

My husband had Osso Bucco which was the best that he had in many places including Italy. We started out with the special appetizer dish, baked shrimp in wine sauce with cheeses and artichoke. It was done so right and perfectly. Caesar's salad was light and to our liking, especially since it was only $5. We asked for a pasta dish prior to our main dish that was not on the menu, just with simple garlic, olive oil, red pepper, herbs and cheese. Perfection! All of these, the two of us shared along with their warm and crusty bread. Then as our main course we had Osso Bucco and Seafood Soup. We picked a bottle of excellent Italian red wine for $60. To wrap up the evening with delicious Tiramisu. At the end of the whole dinner the bill was only $160! My husband's jaw dropped for the value of what we got out of this fantastic 30th Anniversary dinner at this downtown establishment. The staff (especially Curt) gets an A for their knowledge, professional service, efficiency and friendliness. One last thing, they treated us with excellent prosecco as we arrived for dinner making us feel very welcomed for our celebration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian food. Our waiter ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great authentic Italian food. Our waiter was excellent. We will go there again every time we are In Milwaukee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Ricardo was a true gem. He wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waiter Ricardo was a true gem. He was very helpful in menu suggestions and was very knowledgeable of the restaurant itself. We loved the food. My husband had the Brodetto di Pesce and it was to die for, the light fish flavoring in the broth was so good. I had the special wild mushroom ragu and it was delicious. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding--both welcom ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was outstanding--both welcoming and timely. The food was outstanding. I had the veal and my wife had the steak. Both were excellent. The only negative was that we found the tables very, very close together, so you don't really get much privacy. All conversations could be overheard, if you wanted to listen. The only other problem, on this particular evening, was a birthday celebration that got somewhat out of hand, and people got pretty loud. It was good when they left. They clearly had too much to drink.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Love our experience at Zarletti's!!! The ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love our experience at Zarletti's!!! The service and Food are AMAZING! Enjoyed every single bite! Yummm

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not overly impressed with the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was not overly impressed with the food, nor was the rest of my party.

The staff was excellent, which made the evening enjoyable. I can't recommend this to a friend, when i felt the food was sub standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and excellent food. Nice ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Nice dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was great and very knowledgea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our waiter was great and very knowledgeable about the menu. When he shared the antipasti and entree specials, we decided to go that route, even though the main menu looked equally delicious. The veal meatballs were an excellent start. We then shared the pulled pollo (chicken) ravioli and rabbit ragu. Both were fantastic, but my #1 vote went to the ragu! We'll definitely keep Zarletti on the list for our next stay in Milwaukee!!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dinner was excellen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything about our dinner was excellent. I had the halibut and my daughter the butternut squash. Our server was attentive, made recommendations and was very friendly. The dessert was magnificent. If you haven't tried Zarletti's you need to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time and the food is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A staple in the ever changing restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A staple in the ever changing restaurant scene of MKE. Simply delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice ambiance. Waiter was outstand ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Waiter was outstanding. Did very well with his recommendations. The order was mixed up, however, the mix up worked to our advantage. The pairing, soup and salad, were much better than our initial selection! Kodos to the mistake!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As good as it's ever been. All of our e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As good as it's ever been. All of our expectations were met, AGAIN. Can't wait to go back again. Even thinking about having our anniversary party there so others in our family can enjoy what we come to love.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pasta was cooked perfectly. Caprese sal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pasta was cooked perfectly. Caprese salad was fresh so flavors stood out.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious, not overly complicated dishes ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious, not overly complicated dishes made extremely well with fresh ingredients. This is the way I enjoy eating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bartender Brian fantastic; veal cutlets ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Bartender Brian fantastic; veal cutlets superb. Zarletti never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had lunch with friends from out of town. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had lunch with friends from out of town. They were very impressed and everything was great, as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite Italian restaurant. Very fres ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A favorite Italian restaurant. Very fresh ingredients. Very good service. Everything well paced so we could get to the theater on time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I've eaten several times. The first was ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I've eaten several times. The first was a business lunch. They never let you down. the food is amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pre-theatre dinner as a prelude to A Chr ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Pre-theatre dinner as a prelude to A Christmas Carol at the MRT...an exceptional meal delivered with attentive, friendly but unobtrusive service from Skip.

The food was excellent - perfect for a cold winter night - with hearty soups, crisp salads and delicious homemade ravioli topped off by another amazing dessert from Mama Zarletti!

A "go to" evening in downtown Milwaukee.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience, a truly authent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great dining experience, a truly authentic Italian kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The valet parking was inefficient, altho ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The valet parking was inefficient, altho it was snowing. Food is great as ever. Somewhat pricey, but overall a good value. Waiter was attentive and did a good job at a busy time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We continue to go to this spot several ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We continue to go to this spot several times a year and is a Xmas tradition with some of our friends.

food was very good, service very good. Restaurant was very busy and crowded for an early dinner,

One of the best Italian spots in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding, as usual, after all these y ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding, as usual, after all these years. A true gem in Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Office Christmas party. We had the wors ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Office Christmas party. We had the worst table in the restaurant. very uncomfortable. My pasta wasn't al dente, it was hard and chewy and dry. Others at the table had a better food experience. I should have said something but it would have made the others in my party uncomfortable. I didn't feel this was a good value. Would not recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Wonderful experience with extremely atte ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful experience with extremely attentive staff. Gave great suggestions for entrees as well as wine pairing. Would highly recommend this restaurant on your next visit to Milwaukee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Occasion was get-together of three old f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Occasion was get-together of three old friends post-MKE Rep ('The Foreigner' - excellent production and incredibly relevant in light of recent election). Our waiter, Kurt, was fun and informative. Specials of the night - lamb ragu and roasted chicken ravioli - were especially good. Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice dinner. First time at this re ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very nice dinner. First time at this restaurant and will definetly return. Great menu option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant with awesome Italian fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great restaurant with awesome Italian food. A favorite of ours!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Zarletti's several times ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We have been to Zarletti's several times and it is never been better. Service is impeccable, the cusine devine and a trully enjoyable dining experience. Need one say more! My lovely bride of 48 years celebrated our anniversay at Zarletti's and highly receommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We typically love this place. Server was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We typically love this place. Server was not as seasoned as previous servers we have had.

When I asked about the specials she said let me get your drink order I told her I'm drinking wine and my choice would determine a red or a white wine

Then when explaining them she said ragu and I asked rabbit because I had it before and it was fabulous and she said no it's bird or fowl

So I went with one of my favorites the pistachio encrusted halibut she told me that the halibut was not in season and it was replaced with grouper but assured me it was just as good as halibut so I ordered that.

Later I heard a waiter someone we have had before who's excellent explaining the specials and when he explained the ragu he EXPLAINED it in detail and stated it was pheasant I LOVE PHEASANT I would of ordered that and the grouper was not as good as halibut and when I told her that she said oh I've never had it😧

She was pleasant and all just needs some work to be at the level we are typically used to at Zarletti,s

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I did check "kid-friendly" but wouldn't ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I did check "kid-friendly" but wouldn't say it is always kid-friendly. I did take my two boys (6/9) there. The restaurant was very accommodating to the boys but I can see that this is not a place for children during busy hours. The restaurant did not have a kids menu but the boys split a dish of the pasta bolognese and loved it. The "adult" meals were amazing as well and will certainly be going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my birthday. Looked at reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for my birthday. Looked at reviews online & chose it for the halibut and the proximity to the Marcus. The halibut was disappointing as it was overcooked. We also had 2 children and they didn't offer anything different then their main menu so that was a disappointment. Felt slightly deceived with their half off wine sale that ended that day. We ordered a $55 bottle of wine off the menu as recommend but when the bill came it was really a $110 bottle of wine. More then shocked at the bill. Positives - it was a fun experience for our family and I would say it would make a nice date night. The waiter was very attentive - thanks Skip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive waiter but not in the lea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very attentive waiter but not in the least overbearing. Knowledgable. Did not rush our table at all. All selections were very good. Especial loved the veal shank.

Would recommend to a friend. Valet parking is available

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted to take our adult children out ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We wanted to take our adult children out as a thank you. Zarletti is their favorite restaurant. The seating area is small, they utilize every inch of space. The restaurant is very noisy, but keep in mind we are seniors so the noise may be more tolerable for the youth. Very hip and trendy. Everyone was in black, white or gray, even the staff.

My husband and son-in-law had the hailbut which had good flavor but was a little soggy from the sause. I had the lamb which came cold. The kitchen threw it back into the pan to heat it up. It came back hot but of course over-cooked. My daughter had the veal shank which was very rich and tender.

Three of the four before dinner drinks were fine (wine and vodka on the rocks). The dirty martini was only smudged.

There was a woman in a wheel chair in the restaurant. She entered by a door on the street level. I would suggest informing the restaurant when making reservations so they can be prepared.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, service. The crab stuffed c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, service. The crab stuffed calamari was wonderful. My scallops were very tender, and plentiful. My wife's Halibut with cherry sauce was supreme. It was full on Friday night, reservations recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. A tad noisy if y ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food and service. A tad noisy if you want a quiet dinner but do not be put off by that comment. Great wine list and fantastic ragu

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit in two weeks. L ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was my second visit in two weeks. Love the food, but for the second time, was seated at very back in a corner, banquette table for 2. In both instances, there was a loud group within arm's length...will not go back if I get that table again...there were other tables empty!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Disappointing food. The butternut squash ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Disappointing food. The butternut squash ravioli was swimming in butter. The pasta was thick and doughy. The squash had little flavor. Wish we had gone to Il Mitos instead. Grossly over-priced. Wouldn't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food and service was outstanding. At ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Attention to detail at every level when you walk in the door until you leave. I do not mind spending money, but I also have high expectations. The food and service exceeded my high expectations. They have a new customer. I can only say, thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.