Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place! Always great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Another outstanding meal; the highlight was the food which was fresh and delicious. Service was polite, efficient and unobtrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love this place! Food and ambiance is of course great. Specials always good. Wait staff is maybe the best ever had, seriously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Close to the theatres makes this good for ore or post show. Excellent northern Italian fare. "Nona's" sauce is probably the best marinera I've ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing food and service!!!!! Great server... super helpful with the menu and the wine list. His suggestions were spot on. Cannot wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was a great experience having dinner with my wife there

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was not good. No taste really - all blend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I chose to go to here because I wanted to go to a high class restaurant to celebrate my graduation and many reviews listed it as vegetarian friendly and fine dining. I was sad to realize that they had so many tables crammed together that there was no privacy and it sounded like a cafeteria. There is no buffer between the tables and the door so every time someone opened it, it was freezing! The food wasn't bad but it was boring.
The waitress was amazing though. She was nice and attentive and funny. Definitely turned a let down into a decent night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

always have a great experience at this restraint. great for birthdays, date night ect. its a little small but it still works. I would recommend this restraint to anyone that wants to have a nice evening with some fantastic food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I can't say enough about our experience at Zarletti. Not only was our food amazing, the service was absolutely phenomenal. Kurt was very attentive, kind, helpful, and v

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Superb meal for special occasion! Service was great--attentive, helpful but not intrusive--thank you, Skip. We have eaten at Zarletti numerous times and the food is always great, but this meal was above and beyond! With a seafood special and wild mushroom ravioli on the menu, makes me glad we chose Zarletti for this family graduation celebration. Both wines were Skip's recommendations and both were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had dinner at Zarletti on Monday, 5/8/17 and were not disappointed. We've eaten at Zarletti several times, and we've always been impressed by both the food and the service.

On this particular evening, Skip was our server. He was attentive and professional. The restaurant was very crowded for a Monday night, with several large parties seated; despite the crowd, Skip was able to meet the needs of all parties. And of course, the food was outstanding.

We will be back!

Thanks Zarletti for a memorable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous!! I'm a picky Italian and their fare is fantastic. We had an excellent server who catered to our needs and the chef did as well - super impressed! Loved the atmosphere and would absolutely eat there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Matt, our waiter was very helpful and attentive, and had good wine recommendations. The calamari appetizer was not the usual fried variety but stuffed and very good. The Caesar salad with anchovies was very good and very plentiful. The Osso Bucco was excellent, both rich and flavorful. Surprisingly the noise level was moderate at the most, but the tables are close together and we could hear the conversation at the next table. We enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Generally pretty good. Good service with a knowledgeable wait staff that understood what they were serving and also how to pronounce it . The only complaint I have is that the mortadella was not fresh on the antipasto plate app.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Entrees in the $15-$30 range. Service was excellent. Our server gave detailed descriptions of the chef specials. Nice place for a meal and close to the Pabst Theater, the Milwaukee Rep, and the Marcus Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great meal and great service from our waiter Skip. I'll be back!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Some of the best italian my wife and I have ever had? It made are date night a great one we will be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

All around great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Zarletti's continues to have creative and delicious food. Saturday night was no exception-- except the portions had shrunk since our last visit. Additionally, the noise level was way too high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We've been to Zarletti's several times now and have never had a bad experience. The service is impeccable, no matter which server we've had (Matt is a favorite) and attention to detail and diners' likes/dislikes is superb. The homemade pastas and sauces are amazing. The ambiance is cozy and warm, encouraging lingering over a bottle of wine from a very well thought out wine list. I feel pampered, full and satisfied every time I leave this place. Can't wait for next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had to change my reservation time twice due to unplanned detour. Staff was understanding, and even being an hour late, I was seated immediately. Soup was excellent, and the main entrees (the swordfish and the ravioli) was superb. Made the evening extra-special!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went to Zarletti's because we were downtown for "Chicago ". Conveniently located and very good food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was impeccable. Professional knowledgeable and timely. Pasta cooked perfectly and sauces are authentic and expertly prepared.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our server Skip was the best and the food from our appetizer, salad, my pasta carbonara and my friends lamb was amazing. Good but pricey wine list but delicious and worth it when treating yourself!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great; service was decent

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a party of 8 from the office and everyone enjoyed their food. This was last Friday and a few people ordered to pick up today. The waiter did an excellent job and the service was very timely. We have some picky eaters and they even liked their choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Karen was our server and did a great job explaining the menu items. Her table service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Easy reservation. Nice meal in the windows up front.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great service but entree was less than excellent ... dry chicken and average lunch overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is definitely over priced. Wouldn't recommend it but the service and hospitality was great

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent Food and Service! I will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious, with top notch service! Everything we had was spot on, high quality without being pretentious. Also, fantastic wine list! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Once again Zarletti did not disappoint. The food was wonderful, and our server was very attentive. This is now going to be our go-to place anytime we have tickets for shows in Milwaukee. It's an easy walk from parking and to the theaters.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Date night with dinner at Zarletti. A great experience. Awesome food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Zarlett's was amazing!! A friend found it online for my roommate's birthday, and the 5 of us who went had an absolutely incredible time! The food was delicious, the wine was excellent, and the service was friendly and attentive! I also so appreciated that the restaurant called to coordinate birthday plans with me beforehand, so that there was a wonderful surprise for my roommate at the end of the meal. A little pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food, drink, and service were all wonderful. Our waiter's knowledge of both food and wine were exceptional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I ate dinner at zarletti on Saturday evening for date night, the service was exceptional as was the food and wine. We will certainly return for future dates. Thanks for the great experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. Creative specials and regular menu items that are delicious. Excellent cocktails and wine list with great specials on wine. Service is always first rate as well. Our most recent dinner, lamb ragu on homemade gnocchi, and wine (half price Brunello?!) were excellent as always. The noise level allows an intimate conversation or group conversation at normal speaking level. No need to shout.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service, everyone goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great dinner. The best menu, they'll modify things to your liking to make a great dinner. Our favorite place in Milwaukee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.