About Zarletti - Downtown

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very Romantic with great food & service! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Very Romantic with great food & service! Would recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent cuisine - 4th time back! Quai ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent cuisine - 4th time back! Quaint atmosphere, great food/drink!

Tags: Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and the service was eve ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing and the service was even better! Our server Ricardo was one of the best servers we have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service. Would recommen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and service. Would recommend to any one. If you are on the bigger side it is really tight to walk between tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food, formal yet intimate and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Incredible food, formal yet intimate and quaint ambiance, bartender and servers were professional and courteous and knowledgeable. Wine list was excellent with mostly Italian wines. Great restaurant for date, special occasion or business meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly reliable perfection ❤

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazingly reliable perfection ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zarletti's never disappoints - the house ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Zarletti's never disappoints - the house ragu and osso bucco are winners, the calimari ripieni is unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service... expected more from the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service... expected more from the food. The Osso Bucco was so so. The halibut was awesome. Nice wine list.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food with great service!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really wanted to like this location an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I really wanted to like this location and it was alright, however I will say that it did not stand out to me. The food was good but nothing spectacular. Prices were reasonable for a upper scale location. Drinks were also pretty good. The best part of our evening was our waitress whose name I sadly cannot at this moment remember. She was very personable and funny. If the rest of the location can come up to her level it would be a much more memorable dining establishment.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a favorite of ours, so wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a favorite of ours, so wonderful! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zarletti's has excellent food and servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Zarletti's has excellent food and service. Anyone who says otherwise is a rare exception. My only issue is that the restaurant is just too small. Saturday night dining is just not enjoyable if you are that cramped. I'd love them to move to the old Moceans. In the interim, I'll be a repeat customer on week nights only.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Restaurant! The food is fantastic, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Restaurant! The food is fantastic, and out waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and was able to give us great recommendations. I love eating here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience from start to finish. ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great experience from start to finish. Greeted immediately and were shown to our table and our coats were checked for us. Our waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. He recommended a wonderful red blend wine based on what we said we were looking for. Food was delicious and dessert to die for! If you drop anything from a napkin to a knife, they have it picked up and replaced before it even hits the floor! Will definitely return next time we're in town!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Italian food and great service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent Italian food and great service. Nice wine list as well. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, at a great price, as alw ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, at a great price, as always. But the true high point of this place is the service. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without being overbearing. I never feel rushed through my meal here, or pressured to get my order in. Know they the tables are cramped and close together, but the food and service is worth it. My only complaint is that the tables near the door get awfully chilly in the winter with people coming in and out and constantly opening the door--not sure there is anything the restaurant could do to fix that given the small space, so the best solution may be to dress warm or ask for a table near the back. Still would not deter me from coming, and I can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I ate here following a Millw ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I ate here following a Millwaukee Rep performance. Zarletti's has a warm, comfortable ambience. Our waiter was mature, knowledgeable, and attentive. I had the traditional Ossobucco which was simply outstanding. My wife had the Seafood of the Day plate and she gave it high marks. We had a bottle of Speri Amarone. It was spectacular. We have traveled a fair amount and eaten at numberable excellent restaurants. Zarletti's is a place we wouldn't think twice about re-visiting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great downtown restaurant. The food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great downtown restaurant. The food was fabulous. Highly recommend you give it a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another memorable meal at Zarletti.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Another memorable meal at Zarletti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We scheduled a business luncheon. From ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We scheduled a business luncheon. From the moment we walked in, we received very attentive service from Bryan. The food was excellent...something for everyone. Karen was a terrific server.The restaurant was perfect for interacting with clients and making a good impression. Well done! Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Homemade pasta are excellent. No selec ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Homemade pasta are excellent. No selection of wine at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband had Osso Bucco which was the ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband had Osso Bucco which was the best that he had in many places including Italy. We started out with the special appetizer dish, baked shrimp in wine sauce with cheeses and artichoke. It was done so right and perfectly. Caesar's salad was light and to our liking, especially since it was only $5. We asked for a pasta dish prior to our main dish that was not on the menu, just with simple garlic, olive oil, red pepper, herbs and cheese. Perfection! All of these, the two of us shared along with their warm and crusty bread. Then as our main course we had Osso Bucco and Seafood Soup. We picked a bottle of excellent Italian red wine for $60. To wrap up the evening with delicious Tiramisu. At the end of the whole dinner the bill was only $160! My husband's jaw dropped for the value of what we got out of this fantastic 30th Anniversary dinner at this downtown establishment. The staff (especially Curt) gets an A for their knowledge, professional service, efficiency and friendliness. One last thing, they treated us with excellent prosecco as we arrived for dinner making us feel very welcomed for our celebration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wine special advertised online wasn' ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The wine special advertised online wasn't , and very expensive glass of wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great authentic Italian food. Our waiter ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great authentic Italian food. Our waiter was excellent. We will go there again every time we are In Milwaukee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Ricardo was a true gem. He wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waiter Ricardo was a true gem. He was very helpful in menu suggestions and was very knowledgeable of the restaurant itself. We loved the food. My husband had the Brodetto di Pesce and it was to die for, the light fish flavoring in the broth was so good. I had the special wild mushroom ragu and it was delicious. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding--both welcom ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was outstanding--both welcoming and timely. The food was outstanding. I had the veal and my wife had the steak. Both were excellent. The only negative was that we found the tables very, very close together, so you don't really get much privacy. All conversations could be overheard, if you wanted to listen. The only other problem, on this particular evening, was a birthday celebration that got somewhat out of hand, and people got pretty loud. It was good when they left. They clearly had too much to drink.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Love our experience at Zarletti's!!! The ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love our experience at Zarletti's!!! The service and Food are AMAZING! Enjoyed every single bite! Yummm

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not overly impressed with the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was not overly impressed with the food, nor was the rest of my party.

The staff was excellent, which made the evening enjoyable. I can't recommend this to a friend, when i felt the food was sub standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and excellent food. Nice ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Nice dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was great and very knowledgea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our waiter was great and very knowledgeable about the menu. When he shared the antipasti and entree specials, we decided to go that route, even though the main menu looked equally delicious. The veal meatballs were an excellent start. We then shared the pulled pollo (chicken) ravioli and rabbit ragu. Both were fantastic, but my #1 vote went to the ragu! We'll definitely keep Zarletti on the list for our next stay in Milwaukee!!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dinner was excellen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything about our dinner was excellent. I had the halibut and my daughter the butternut squash. Our server was attentive, made recommendations and was very friendly. The dessert was magnificent. If you haven't tried Zarletti's you need to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time and the food is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A staple in the ever changing restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A staple in the ever changing restaurant scene of MKE. Simply delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice ambiance. Waiter was outstand ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Waiter was outstanding. Did very well with his recommendations. The order was mixed up, however, the mix up worked to our advantage. The pairing, soup and salad, were much better than our initial selection! Kodos to the mistake!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As good as it's ever been. All of our e ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As good as it's ever been. All of our expectations were met, AGAIN. Can't wait to go back again. Even thinking about having our anniversary party there so others in our family can enjoy what we come to love.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pasta was cooked perfectly. Caprese sal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pasta was cooked perfectly. Caprese salad was fresh so flavors stood out.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious, not overly complicated dishes ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious, not overly complicated dishes made extremely well with fresh ingredients. This is the way I enjoy eating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bartender Brian fantastic; veal cutlets ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Bartender Brian fantastic; veal cutlets superb. Zarletti never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had lunch with friends from out of town. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had lunch with friends from out of town. They were very impressed and everything was great, as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite Italian restaurant. Very fres ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A favorite Italian restaurant. Very fresh ingredients. Very good service. Everything well paced so we could get to the theater on time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.