Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Authentic (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

We stopped here for lunch. Have been wanting to try this restaurant for awhile. Menu sounded great! We had the cauliflower soup which was very good, but then our sandwich came which was a chicken panini. There was so much olive oil it was dripping all over. The panini had only about 2 small strips of chicken on it. It was mostly bread and a very large tomato slice. Very disappointed. Not sure if we will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Once again, a terrific business lunch! Such a great spot in downtown Milwaukee. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

my wife and i had a wonderful time, our server was amazing, the food was very good, and the deserts, well dont get me started on the deserts!! A+

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was good, our server was a bit blah. He seemed impatient.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent experience! If you like Italian, this is a place to try. Wonderful service from our waiter, Skip who made some wonderful recommendations and told us about the specials which did not disappoint. Take time to visit this great little spot when you're in Milwaukee!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our server was very energetic and helpful with placing our dinner order.
The ambiance was perfect for conversation while enjoying authentic Italian food.
The food was delectable, I could not have requested better. I only wish I tried the dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My wife and I consider Zarletti's Downtown to be one of the best restaurants we go to and we eat out almost every night. Our waiter was knowledgeable, helpful with our selections and willing to joke with us a little. The meal was excellent with my wife's Caesar salad and lamb chops exceeding all of her expectations and my veal dish was delicious. We were never rushed and when our waiter found out this was an anniversary dinner we received a cannoli dessert on the house with a candle for us to allow a wish to be considered. We both commented that we need to go downtown for dinner more often and to definitely get back to Zarletti's as soon as possible. A great place for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time there, recommended by friends. Food was amazing across all courses, ample wine list. Our waiter Skip knew the wine list and menu inside and out, had great recommendations, gave us appropriate attention, and enhanced our overall experience. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Best veal in the city. Great service, from the bartender (Brian) to the wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our first visit. Food and service were very good. We greatly appreciated our server's knowledge of the menu which helped us make good choices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The entrees were excellent, drinks were excellent, and desserts were outstanding! We love dining at Zarletti!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My husband had the pork chop and found that it was over-cooked and not juicy as a properly cooked pork chop should be.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Fresh and vibrant, great flavor, wonderful service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great ravioli dinner. In addition the halibut was very good. It was my girlfriends birthday and they gave her a free cannoli. Waitresse was very good. It's always a bit noisy there since it's small and the food is great

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a go to place for us in downtown Milwaukee. The food is delicious and there is much to choose from. Italian is a specialty and they do it very well. Service is attentive and if you come back a few times they will always remember you.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing food that took us back to our honeymoon in Venic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We took a close friend, his first time in Milwaukee, to dinner and he thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Our waiter Skip is an old favorite and he was very accommodating and made the evening more fun! All our meals were delicious and well prepared!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I am gluten sensitive, and I did not get any indication from the online menu that gluten free options are available. Our wonderful server went over all the gf options and I was amazed that almost all their pasta selections are available with gf pasta. I was so excited. My Pasta Robusto was amazing! I can't wait to go back there again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Took a few customers to dinner. Great downtown location. Both the food and service were excellent. It is a small and cozy place, but I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for something upbeat and downtown, and the halibut was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Matt was our waiter, he was outstanding.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was great and food was excellent. No complains here, always a great evening as Zarlettis

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Outstanding cuisine. Excellent selections in all courses on menu. Many gluten free options. Well trained knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We enjoyed the downtown dining week special. The veal was cooked very well along with a fantastic tomato soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Awesome food and service! Downtown dining week is a great way to experience new restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Every summer a group of friends get together and head to Zarletti. We love the food and the amazing deals during Downtown Dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was so good! The service was excellent! I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I visited for downtown dining week and the food was really good especially the pistachio gelato the service was great I would definitely be returning

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very good flavorful food. I would join you again for any downtown gathering.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food and service were amazing! It was a perfect restaurant for date night. It is a small restaurant, so it can get a bit noisy, but it wasn't bad. But definitely bring a sweater! We will for sure be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Visited with our parents for "real" Italian and truly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend visiting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We visited Zarletti for downtwon dining week after not dining there for nearly two years. Had a lovely meal with very attentive service. Would definitely give this establishment a thumbs up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I have been to Zarletti's a number of time and am always delighted with the meals and time I spend there.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic meal and great wine list - I would definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

When we first arrived, the hostess ignored us and played on her phone for a good five minutes. Luckily, once we were seated, the night improved. Our waitress was lovely and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food and service. Downtown Dining menu is awesome. Had the osso Bucco and it was fantastic as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

A group of four made a noon reservation here for downtown dining, and we were not disappointed! Although it was a bit busy, we were sat right away, and throughout the meal, all food was served at a nice pace - quick enough for us to get back to work, but in a matter that didn't seem rushed. The bread was average, but the soup was delicious (the chef's choice was a tomato basil). I tried the Pasta Aglio Olio e Peperoncini, which was exactly as it sounds. I was nervous that it might be a bit hot with the chili pepper flakes, but it wasn't too spicy for my tastebuds. Overall - nice ambiance, good food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Talked about the food being so good for a few days. Wait staff made us feel very special. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I really enjoyed the options for Downtown Dining. The food is always amazing. The updates to the restaurant are also really nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The staff is always very pleasant, the atmosphere is comforting, the food is delicious. Greta place to celebrate a special occasion or just a good place to have a very good meal.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As usual, Zarletti's did not disappoint. I'm Sicilian and if I want authentic without cooking, I know I can count on Zarletti's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.