Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (29)
See All
Authentic (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Business Meals (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (12)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was amazing! True Italian food, great ambiance and servers were great! Only thing I wasn't a true fan of was how tight the seating was, hit the elbow of who I was sitting next too several times. But otherwise check this place out!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappoints. Excellent food. Attentive service. Always one of our favorite downtown Milwaukee dining places.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was fantastic although the lamb ravioli was a little too strong. The drinks, antipasti, salad and even the ravioli had it less lamb filling, were all outstanding. Service was flawlessly professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food, great wine. We went before a show at the Riverside, was perfect date night place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This is a special place. The food is exceptional ... some of the best italian in the country. House made pasta, terrific ragu and the wine list is spectacular. Don't miss the stuffed calamari tubes ... they are exceptional

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our second time there since the food and service was above our expectations the 1st time. The second visit, the food was excellent and the service even better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was good. Cheese was added before; Pepper was added after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good food, but small and tight quarters so don't go there if you are wanting a quiet, romantic evening because the people at the next table are very near! Overall though very nice place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We love Zarletti's. The staff is always extremely friendly and the food delicious. It can be a bit noisy depending on the crowd, but the people watching is great. The bar manager is a delight to chat with and extremely knowledgeable about wine. Our waitress was fantastic, giving honest opinions when asked about specific menu items. I loved my pasta dish with duck, and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his ribeye special. We had wonderful Italian wine with dinner as well. Nothing disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Our bartender made the best Dirty Martin, very nice and personable. Curt our waiter was very helpful with the menu and the food was outstanding, he made our night with his great personality and humor. We will for sure be back, one of our favorite places to go.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service. Upscale but not stuffy. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I was apprehensive before coming here having read a couple negative reviews on OpenTable. I am sure glad we did. Top notch. The service was impeccable, friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food was out of this world, real Italian, from crab stuffed calamari, to the ossobuco and veal limone through our desserts and coffee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

What a terrific Italian restaurant.. crab-stuffed calimari, meatballs and assorted olives were rantastic apps; followed by ravioli stuffed with chicken...yum and the shrimp with puttanesca sauce was over the top delicious.

The service was spot-on and we will definitely return. 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We have been going to this restaurant since it opened. I usually order the lamb or the Halibut. Last night I ordered the lamb. I was shocked to see a disheveled plate of tiny lamb chops which were so thin they belonged on a charcuterie platter. Some were raw and some were over cooked. I sent it back and ordered the Halibut with potatoes. The Halibut arrived with the zucchini. It obviously had not rested at all as I bit into it and burned my tongue and the roof of my mouth. This is certainly not what I expect from a fine dining restaurant. Used to be a very good restaurant. Now I understand why it was empty on a Friday night. For the price they charge and with all the great dining options in Milwaukee, we will not be going back anytime soon. They did not remove it from our bill.

Further, the waitress became rather curt with us and just wanted us out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Everything was great! Convenient valet parking, wonderful waiter and the food was terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Can't go wrong. Consistently great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Good food in a nice environment. Good Italian wine list. Attentive staff. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We happened upon Zarletti by accident. We took a spontaneous break from life in Milwaukee and we very surprised. In Boston it's sort of "You went where? Milwaukee? Why?" Zarletti is one of the wonderful places that changed our mind about Milwaukee. The food, I had the pistachios coated halibut with cherry sauce and Bruce had the ravioli of the day. Not your usual Chicken Marsala.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I thought the food was just average and given the price being on the higher end I would not recommend it. I expected much better flavors than served; it just did not live up to my expectations.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This was my second dinner at Zarletti's. I always hope to have a great meal here, but unfortunately it is fair at best. The appetizers are good, the main entrees however consistently fall bland and unmemorable. The truffle pasta was bland, had little truffle oil and was overbaked and dry. The short rib ravioli was bland and uneventful. Entrees make a meal. The atmosphere was very nice, the service was very good and the wine choices were very good. Sadly the food was just fair for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service and food were excellent! My wife and I absolutely loved everything about the restaurant. I would without any doubt recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We love Zarletti's and have been there several times over the years. We can always count on a fun time and great food. Our only minor complaint this time was the waiter was rather aloof and seemed distracted. He was available but seemed to want to hurry us along, and he described the wine list so quickly it was almost funny. We still would go back but perhaps hope for a different server.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I was in from out of town and read several good reviews for this restaurant. The ambiance was good but the service got worse at the night went on. The appetizer of mozzarella wrapped in prosciutto and flash fried was terrific. However, the entrees were a big disappointment. The cheese ravioli were huge and too weighty and the sauce lacked seasoning and imagination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I would use open table for this restaurant. We were seated off in a corner at a small 2 person table and were told all the other open table were reserved. My wife said this restaurant is very punctual in table seating. I would have preferred to call and request a better table

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was good overall, but halibut was a little overdone. The pasta was not homemade. Tiramisu was awesome. Service from Matt was excellent, but felt a little rushed. We tried to upgrade our table, but the maitre'd resisted. It was a Saturday night though. Overall good, but not the best in town.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Same menu for last 3 years-Would like to see menu changed. Overall the wine is very Expensive. Our waitress Samantha was very attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was very ok. I would not go back. The wait staff on the other hand was amazing. The outdoor sitting was very nice as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

the server we had was quite rude and harsh. 2 members of our party arrived first and when i asked about what the special ravioli was the server told me she would tell me only when everyone had arrived. the food was good but her attitude ruined my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Zarletti never fails. I especially loved the veal cutlets and scallops al fungi. I make it a habit to eat here every time I'm in town.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Wonderful experience, except for a poor choice of entre.
3 of us ordered the Pasta Carbonara, and found it lacking.
Not much taste and certainly not like a normal Carbonara. Very little cream, no peas and no texture.
We should have let them know, but our waiter, Kurt, had to notice that the 3 of us did not finish it, and he should have asked why.
Like the place but we were very disapointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best Italian restaurant in town

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My fiancé wanted to try an Italian restaurant, so I googled and came across Zarletti's. I was kind of curious about the food selection, but figured I can't go wrong with Salmon. OMG! It was so good, my plate was clean. And for my waiter, Matt, he was awesome. Thank you Matt for the great experience. You Rock!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our server , Samantha, was phenomenal. We always enjoy the food, especially the Halibut!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was fantastic as always. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent meal despite very busy night. Food excellent. Service attentive. Clearly one of the best Italian restaurants in Milwaukee

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The server took our order, and it took almost 30 minutes to get our starters. Then it took another 30 minutes for our entrée. When we mentioned to our server that we had to get back to work and asked why it was taking so long, her response was "you should have told me so I could expedite your order", taking no responsibility for the long wait. We noticed all of the surrounding tables that were seated after us had gotten their meals and were finished before we received our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Brian is a true professional and had wonderful service

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We stopped here for lunch. Have been wanting to try this restaurant for awhile. Menu sounded great! We had the cauliflower soup which was very good, but then our sandwich came which was a chicken panini. There was so much olive oil it was dripping all over. The panini had only about 2 small strips of chicken on it. It was mostly bread and a very large tomato slice. Very disappointed. Not sure if we will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Once again, a terrific business lunch! Such a great spot in downtown Milwaukee. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.