About Zarletti - Downtown

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tre Inizi - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Vitello Al Limone Strauss - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pasta Bolognese - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Gamberi Alla Putanesca Con Gamberi - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Boscarelli Montepulciano 2011 - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Raviolo Del Giorno, Pollo - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pistachio Crusted Halibut With Door County Cherries - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pork Chops With Balsamic Reduction - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Cocktail Round - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Eggplant Parmesean - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Ravioli - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Cream Of Corn Soup - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pasta Cami - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Sweet Potato Soup - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Gamberi Con Pancetta - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Osso Bucco - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Caesar Salad - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Bruschetta - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Calamari - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Butternut squash ravioli with brown butter - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Penne Pasta with Italian Sausage - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Seafood Risotto - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Tiramisu - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Pistacchio Encrusted Grouper - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Liveli Wine - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Roasted Chicken Ravioli W/Italian Sausage - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Crab Cakes - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Ravioli - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI
Lamb Chops - Zarletti - Downtown, Milwaukee, WI

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
4 More
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (19)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to Zarletti's several times ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been to Zarletti's several times and it is never been better. Service is impeccable, the cusine devine and a trully enjoyable dining experience. Need one say more! My lovely bride of 48 years celebrated our anniversay at Zarletti's and highly receommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We typically love this place. Server was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

We typically love this place. Server was not as seasoned as previous servers we have had.

When I asked about the specials she said let me get your drink order I told her I'm drinking wine and my choice would determine a red or a white wine

Then when explaining them she said ragu and I asked rabbit because I had it before and it was fabulous and she said no it's bird or fowl

So I went with one of my favorites the pistachio encrusted halibut she told me that the halibut was not in season and it was replaced with grouper but assured me it was just as good as halibut so I ordered that.

Later I heard a waiter someone we have had before who's excellent explaining the specials and when he explained the ragu he EXPLAINED it in detail and stated it was pheasant I LOVE PHEASANT I would of ordered that and the grouper was not as good as halibut and when I told her that she said oh I've never had it😧

She was pleasant and all just needs some work to be at the level we are typically used to at Zarletti,s

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I did check "kid-friendly" but wouldn't ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

I did check "kid-friendly" but wouldn't say it is always kid-friendly. I did take my two boys (6/9) there. The restaurant was very accommodating to the boys but I can see that this is not a place for children during busy hours. The restaurant did not have a kids menu but the boys split a dish of the pasta bolognese and loved it. The "adult" meals were amazing as well and will certainly be going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my birthday. Looked at reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for my birthday. Looked at reviews online & chose it for the halibut and the proximity to the Marcus. The halibut was disappointing as it was overcooked. We also had 2 children and they didn't offer anything different then their main menu so that was a disappointment. Felt slightly deceived with their half off wine sale that ended that day. We ordered a $55 bottle of wine off the menu as recommend but when the bill came it was really a $110 bottle of wine. More then shocked at the bill. Positives - it was a fun experience for our family and I would say it would make a nice date night. The waiter was very attentive - thanks Skip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive waiter but not in the lea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very attentive waiter but not in the least overbearing. Knowledgable. Did not rush our table at all. All selections were very good. Especial loved the veal shank.

Would recommend to a friend. Valet parking is available

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted to take our adult children out ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We wanted to take our adult children out as a thank you. Zarletti is their favorite restaurant. The seating area is small, they utilize every inch of space. The restaurant is very noisy, but keep in mind we are seniors so the noise may be more tolerable for the youth. Very hip and trendy. Everyone was in black, white or gray, even the staff.

My husband and son-in-law had the hailbut which had good flavor but was a little soggy from the sause. I had the lamb which came cold. The kitchen threw it back into the pan to heat it up. It came back hot but of course over-cooked. My daughter had the veal shank which was very rich and tender.

Three of the four before dinner drinks were fine (wine and vodka on the rocks). The dirty martini was only smudged.

There was a woman in a wheel chair in the restaurant. She entered by a door on the street level. I would suggest informing the restaurant when making reservations so they can be prepared.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, service. The crab stuffed c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, service. The crab stuffed calamari was wonderful. My scallops were very tender, and plentiful. My wife's Halibut with cherry sauce was supreme. It was full on Friday night, reservations recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. A tad noisy if y ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food and service. A tad noisy if you want a quiet dinner but do not be put off by that comment. Great wine list and fantastic ragu

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit in two weeks. L ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was my second visit in two weeks. Love the food, but for the second time, was seated at very back in a corner, banquette table for 2. In both instances, there was a loud group within arm's length...will not go back if I get that table again...there were other tables empty!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Disappointing food. The butternut squash ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Disappointing food. The butternut squash ravioli was swimming in butter. The pasta was thick and doughy. The squash had little flavor. Wish we had gone to Il Mitos instead. Grossly over-priced. Wouldn't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food and service was outstanding. At ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Attention to detail at every level when you walk in the door until you leave. I do not mind spending money, but I also have high expectations. The food and service exceeded my high expectations. They have a new customer. I can only say, thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is a little tight but the food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The place is a little tight but the food is delicious and the service is very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal, excellent service - the righ ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great meal, excellent service - the right balance of being attentive without being a pest.

Osso Buco and housemade ravioli in butter sauce were both excellent. Good size portions.

Authentic Italian food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner gathering with colleagues. Halibu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner gathering with colleagues. Halibut and Brodetto entrees were superbly prepared and consumed. Server Leahnna delivered her usual stellar service with ease and professionalism. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From our seat at the bar, to our seat at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

From our seat at the bar, to our seat at the table, I was impressed with the knowledgeable and professional staff we encountered during our diner at Zarletti. The food was good, albeit a touch heavier than I expected. Overall, this was a good dining experience and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is ultra fancy, but the atmosph ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The menu is ultra fancy, but the atmosphere not so much. The waiter was very snobby. The food though was very good, but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Entertained execs from Chicago and LA, t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Entertained execs from Chicago and LA, they voted it "best Italian in the Midwest". And not the easiest crowd. Phenomenal job! As a local it's one of my favorites!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience from beginning t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great dining experience from beginning to end every time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top restaurants in Milwaukee! ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Milwaukee!! Every time I dine at Zarletti's, I always leave saying, "This is an excellent restaurant!" Service is impeccable!! Food is fantastic!!! Will always return!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, and the servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was outstanding, and the service was among the best my friends and I have experienced. (I believe our server was named Curt.) His knowledge of the menu, and ability to make recommendations to our table of first time diners was impressive. From his dinner suggestions to his drink suggestions, we were all well-satisfied! We will definitely return again. Well done!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Were in town for Book of Mormons and spe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Were in town for Book of Mormons and spending the night at Pfister. Overall great celebration in Milwaukee and the meal at Zarletti's was excellent. Can especially recommend the veal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Caesar Salad had very little flavor, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Caesar Salad had very little flavor, otherwise the meal was excellent. Service was great and the Old Fashions were outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another pre-theater meal which offered e ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Another pre-theater meal which offered exceptional food combined with attentive and friendly service from one of the restaurant's best servers, Matt. Our server, aware of our fondest for the seasonal butternut squash ravioli (hand-made) with brown butter sage sauce, secured the off menu starter from the kitchen...they are delightful! The entire meal was fantastic, the wine a superb accent, and the experience outstanding in every regard.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service. Could not ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Could not have asked for a better place to eat for our first restaurant in Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall another great dining experience. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Overall another great dining experience. Only issue was they were out of mussels... (one of their best dishes)

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Zarletti downtown is one of our favorite ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Zarletti downtown is one of our favorite restaurants. Service is impeccable and the staff are all very friendly. This is the kind of place you can dress casually, but also "dress up." The food is always excellent. We like it because my wife is vegetarian and me too, although I eat fish occasionally. I got the halibut, which was excellently-prepared and served.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In my opinion Zarletti has consistently ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

In my opinion Zarletti has consistently been the best restaurant in Downtown Milwaukee for pasta and Italian entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service and amazing food. Wil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian Food in MKE. Love that they ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Best Italian Food in MKE. Love that they have professional wait staff! Very attentive and informative. Great for a small business dinner (8 or less), or a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Karen was phenomenal and the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our server Karen was phenomenal and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is authentic Italian din ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant is authentic Italian dining in the heart of beer town. The food was terrific and the service was great with Attentive wait staff. Menu is a little on the high price side but worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service. Great selection. C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Exceptional service. Great selection. Close to theater. Tables are positioned tight together given that it's not a excessively large restaurant. Quality of food was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! A small restaurant, but ve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing food! A small restaurant, but very nice inside. A short walk from parking and the theater. Waiter was very pleasant. Would definitely recommend and go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was looking for a restaurant to take m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I was looking for a restaurant to take my Italian friends who are from Milan. They enjoyed the experience. I loved the fact that the owner's mother was recognized for making many of the desserts on the menu.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My pork chops came out completely underc ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My pork chops came out completely undercooked. They actually removed my meal from the bill. The service was good but the food was sub-par. Probably won't go back again. It was a disappointing date night for my wife and I.

Tags: Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding food! The pistachio and cher ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding food! The pistachio and cherry halibut is superb! Will visit again and recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was amazing! The food was so ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our service was amazing! The food was so good and the menu had wonderful selections. We had a celebratory work team meeting here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and the wait staff was ve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very good food and the wait staff was very patient with us, despite our cultured palate.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian food I ever had!! Lived in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Best Italian food I ever had!! Lived in NJ near an Italian neighborhood noted for its restaurants and never had a meal this good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.