Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Authentic (31)
Romantic (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

Zarletti has never disappointed! Always outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Usually love our experience at Zarlettis; this time we were shoved in a back corner to celebrate our anniversary. We felt like we were eating with the adjacent 4 top. Service was just okay not very attentive (as in past). Would have drank more if asked. A bummer overall. Usually a fantastic experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Zarlettis' is always guaranteed to offer wonderful food and attentive service. The wait staff is well trained on the menu and ingredients and you can always get a suggestion for wine if your unsure. Can't say enough, our favorite!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Server was incredibly knowledgable and helpful. She was the most engaged, service-oriented, courteous person there. A good role model for others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on November 11, 2017

A /unique Italian style restaurant.Plenty of menu item to select from.Fresh pasta, lamb, beef, sea food.
The restaurant is small, therefore it appears you must have a reservation. Service by Matt was very professional and timely. If there is a problem, it is the size of the place leaves little room to move, or have quiet conversation.
Presentation is excellent as were the dinners. The restaurant takes great care in their sauces and presentation.
We would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

In town for annual Co meeting, ate here last year and remembered excellent food and service.
It was duplicated this year, excellent Osso Bucco!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Have eaten there many times, always good food. Well worth the money.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Some of the best Italian food this side of Italy, and the wine list is terrific!!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Very good overall experience. Not the best restaurant or food Ive ever eaten, but very good none the less. Good food, upscale atmosphere, great downtown location (parking limited due to streetcar...) Would definitely recommend and revisit, but only for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on November 5, 2017

One of our favorites downtown. Classy feel & unique. A true dining experience.

Thanks for a fun night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on November 5, 2017

I live in the neighborhood and have dined there many times. It is always amazing how consistently good the food is. I think it is the best Italian in the city and would recommend it to anyone. The osso buco is amazing! Great wine list!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Truly a memorable event! Used the occasion to celebrate my wife's retirement. Was a little confused on the November promotion of half-price wines - wish that was explained more precisely.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Our server was absolutely phenomenal! I️ do not remember her name, but she was tall, blonde and so so friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Delicious calamari and pasta dishes. We were very happy to get half off the fantastic bottle of Piedmontese wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Excellent and our server Breana was a professional

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Enjoyed dinner very much. Arrived early and given a window seat. Food was great and service was amazing. Kuddos to an extremely kind bartender who helped out in a pinch. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food was very good at Zarletti. The bread and oil were delicious, the veal and beef meatballs were perfect and my pasta with marsala sauce was very unique. Our waiter, Curt, was great, too. I didn't care for how close all the tables were to each other. It made the atmosphere a little uncomfortable at times. It seemed cramped in there. But otherwise the atmosphere was nice, low lighting which is ideal and not a lot of noise. Thanks for the great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

A friend recommended this restaurant when I came to Milwaukee for business. A coworker and I decided to check it out. We started with the stuffed calamari and caprese which were very good. Our waitress helped us decide which wines to try and she was right on point with the red and white selections. My entree was the seared scallops w truffle oil and I opted to try the housemade ribbon pasta. It was delicious! I even had leftovers to take. My coworker ordered the pork chop stuffed with provolone and prosciutto and was equally satisfied. I would definitely come back when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Zarletti never disappoints. This is my favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. Food is always amazing and the service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

As always, food and service at Zarletti's was excellent. Our server Matt was attentive and personable without being distracting. Food was prepared to their usual high standards. Might be my imagination, but it appeared as though prices were up substantially over our last visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was delicious, and the choices excellent for this foodie! Our server, Skip, was fantastic and his enthusiasm was contagious. I actually remembered him from dining there about a year ago. All 5 in our party thoroughly enjoyed their appetizers, entrees, and dessert. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic food; professional servers, great atmosphere, Top notch !

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Zarletti nails old school Italian meets new-age cuisine - the food was absolutely phenomenal. Our server was ultra knowledgeable and attentive, and relayed the entree names to us with an Italian accent. The pace was perfect, and we were able to enjoy our meals and each other for the whole duration. Would definitely suggest going here for a date - even on a Monday, this place was nearly packed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great experience, every time we go, service is very good, food excellent

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Server made some great recommendations that we enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Haven't been here in a couple of years and I don't know why - they are outstanding. Perfect for walking to before or after the Rep or Pabst. Had salads & pasta. Both excellent. Pasta is definitely homemade. Our waiter was very friendly yet professional. Great service. Zarletti's is pretty close to flawless.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was excellent and service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Parents weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I really enjoyed this place. Skip was our waiter and he was amazing! The food was all very fresh and I will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service. Great cocktails. If this is you then put Zarletti on your list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent quality and very attentive service. Zarlettis is a superb dining choice

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

great ossu buco, good service, great high end italian menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 24, 2017

My wife and I were in town to attend a performance at the Milwaukee Repertory Theater and decided to dine at Zarletti's. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Milwaukee and once again we were very pleased with our meals. My wife ordered scallops and pasta while I had shrimp and pasta........both meals were very good. I found a nice bottle of Verdicchio on the wine list which complimented our meals very nicely. Our server provided great service and we're looking forward to our next opportunity to dine there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Dinner was amazing! True Italian food, great ambiance and servers were great! Only thing I wasn't a true fan of was how tight the seating was, hit the elbow of who I was sitting next too several times. But otherwise check this place out!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Never disappoints. Excellent food. Attentive service. Always one of our favorite downtown Milwaukee dining places.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was fantastic although the lamb ravioli was a little too strong. The drinks, antipasti, salad and even the ravioli had it less lamb filling, were all outstanding. Service was flawlessly professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food, great wine. We went before a show at the Riverside, was perfect date night place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This is a special place. The food is exceptional ... some of the best italian in the country. House made pasta, terrific ragu and the wine list is spectacular. Don't miss the stuffed calamari tubes ... they are exceptional

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our second time there since the food and service was above our expectations the 1st time. The second visit, the food was excellent and the service even better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was good. Cheese was added before; Pepper was added after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.