About Zarletti - Downtown

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tre Inizi - Zarletti - Downtown
Vitello Al Limone Strauss - Zarletti - Downtown
Pasta Bolognese - Zarletti - Downtown
Gamberi Alla Putanesca Con Gamberi - Zarletti - Downtown
Boscarelli Montepulciano 2011 - Zarletti - Downtown
Raviolo Del Giorno, Pollo - Zarletti - Downtown
Pistachio Crusted Halibut With Door County Cherries - Zarletti - Downtown
Pork Chops With Balsamic Reduction - Zarletti - Downtown
Cocktail Round - Zarletti - Downtown
Eggplant Parmesean - Zarletti - Downtown
Lamb Ravioli - Zarletti - Downtown
Cream Of Corn Soup - Zarletti - Downtown
Pasta Cami - Zarletti - Downtown
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle - Zarletti - Downtown
Sweet Potato Soup - Zarletti - Downtown
Gamberi Con Pancetta - Zarletti - Downtown
Osso Bucco - Zarletti - Downtown
Caesar Salad - Zarletti - Downtown
Bruschetta - Zarletti - Downtown
Calamari - Zarletti - Downtown
Butternut squash ravioli with brown butter - Zarletti - Downtown
Penne Pasta with Italian Sausage - Zarletti - Downtown
Seafood Risotto - Zarletti - Downtown
Tiramisu - Zarletti - Downtown
Pistacchio Encrusted Grouper - Zarletti - Downtown
Liveli Wine - Zarletti - Downtown
Roasted Chicken Ravioli W/Italian Sausage - Zarletti - Downtown
Crab Cakes - Zarletti - Downtown
Ravioli - Zarletti - Downtown
Lamb Chops - Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
3 More
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (61)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Romantic (46)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food and the wait staff was ve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food and the wait staff was very patient with us, despite our cultured palate.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian food I ever had!! Lived in ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best Italian food I ever had!! Lived in NJ near an Italian neighborhood noted for its restaurants and never had a meal this good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Zarletti's is still my son's favorite re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Zarletti's is still my son's favorite restaurant in Milwaukee!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, knowledgeable server, small ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, knowledgeable server, small intimate dining with fabulous food, drove in from Waukesha, worth the drive, will return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I came for a date night a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I came for a date night and were both impressed with the coziness of the restaurant, the service, and the food. It was a nice treat and reminded us of the time we spent in Italy. Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Osso Buco and must have home made ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great Osso Buco and must have home made deserts! Server was frenulum and very helpful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb meal complimented by fantastic se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Superb meal complimented by fantastic service (thanks, Matt).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience a Zarletti's was w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our dining experience a Zarletti's was wonderful. Were were seated immediately, the service was fantastic and the food was great. It was nice to be able to have a conversation with friends during dinner without TVs and a lot of extraneous noise. Very comfortable, very nice decor. All in all an excellent experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a team dining experience for 10 a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had a team dining experience for 10 and Zarletti delivered as usual. Brian delivered behind the bar and Leahanna's service at the table was excellent as usual. Our expectations were met and exceeded.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was commensurate with Zarletti's us ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was commensurate with Zarletti's usual level of excellence. Service was marginal - very slow, inefficient, long delays between segments of our dining experience. Interior space on Saturday evening was very cramped - felt like we were sitting on top of the tables around us. Was bumped several times during the meal by servers and patrons waking past our table. Valet service convenient, reasonably priced ($5) and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was delicious and service impeccabl ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was delicious and service impeccable! The best panzanella salad I have ever eaten. pasta cooked perfectly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. The place i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food, great service. The place is a bit crowded so hard at times to have quiet talk, but it's a great place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

surprisingly small but adequate; food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

surprisingly small but adequate; food was good for all; took a little longer to serve wine, appetizer, salad, and entree than we thought (about 1 1/2 hours); make it more well known that valet parking is available for $5--I ended up paying $14 for a garage one block away

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Zarletti never disappoints! The service, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Zarletti never disappoints! The service, food quality and wine selection is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another extraordinary dinner - excellent ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Another extraordinary dinner - excellent food and superb service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not their best night. Food was adequate. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Not their best night. Food was adequate.It lacked flair and uniqueness. Service was good and the staff attentive. But the food glided to Olive Garden quality.

Tags: Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

What a nice find! Not your typical heav ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

What a nice find! Not your typical heavy Italian food, but a pleasurable twist. Having a gluten allergy I sometimes feel like an outcast in an Italian restaurant, but not here. There are so many options, the food is amazing and if you didn't know the pasta was gluten free, you would not be able to tell by the taste. Oh, and the service was amazing, there when we needed something but not in our face. We have a new fave Italian restaurant in Milwaukee .. cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very positive experience. Bein ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a very positive experience. Being only a two top, I think the waitress had her hands full though, with other larger groups.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed in the food. B ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Both meals were bland and uninteresting. The dessert was especially tasteless and dry. Not at all what we expected and would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic experience. It's why we keep c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic experience. It's why we keep coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here after a day at the art muse ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went here after a day at the art museum and it was relaxing, the food was wonderful and the ambience perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was limited for Itali ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food selection was limited for Italian, I could not understand the menu quite well. The food was not very good and over priced, the drinks were weak, not sure if there was more than a drop of alcohol? The service was good. The place was very small and crowded. I was hoping for a good meal. I didn't get that. I wish I did.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

I celebrated my birthday here with frien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I celebrated my birthday here with friends and colleagues. As always our entrées were delicious, all around the table, our server was thorough and delivered everything effortlessly and timely. We all had plenty of laughs and my friends were very impressed with the quality of their dishes and noted that 'Zarletti will be their go-to Italian destination when traveling through downtown Milwaukee from now on'. Even though I had a large number of people in my group, the restaurant handled it very efficiently. This was my first time ever having Mama Zarletti's Cheesecake... I can only describe it as every bite being "sinfully delicious". Be sure to explore the wine list, they have exquisite Italian selections to pair with any dish or dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt provided great service! Food was ma ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Matt provided great service! Food was marvelous. Thanks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service, great food and wine a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Attentive service, great food and wine at this downtown institution. Will enjoy coming back again. Charming bartender and amiable wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food and service! I am a New Yor ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome food and service!

I am a New Yorker and this food was authentic Italian!

Best tiramisu!

Everything was AMAZING!!!!

Not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally quick - this day it was very ve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Normally quick - this day it was very very slow. Slow to acknowledge us. Slow to get our drinks. Slow with food. I will still come back, but disappointing visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Outstanding cuisine, brilliant flavors, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding cuisine, brilliant flavors, lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here a few times now and be ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I have been here a few times now and being downtown Chicago, am a somewhat demanding foodie with my expectations. I have gotten knowledgeable service and excellent food every time I have visited and I am already looking forward to my next meal with them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place! Shrimp was fantastic! Enjoye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nice place! Shrimp was fantastic! Enjoyed the carbonara too!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find, fantastic, knowledgable wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great find, fantastic, knowledgable waiter, great drinks and wine, large portions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. The hand made noodles ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent meal. The hand made noodles were amazing. Every single thing we ate was fantastic. If I lived near this restaurant it would have become my favorite tonight. Delicious meal with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was good. The butternut squa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was good. The butternut squash ravioli was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The dining experience is always superb! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The dining experience is always superb!

Our waitress, Hannah, is outstanding!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartender Brian was very engaging and hi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Bartender Brian was very engaging and his homemade sangria was delicious. Great wine selection and ravioli of the day was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate at the bar service wine list food al ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ate at the bar service wine list food all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and even better service! No d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and even better service! No details is left unattended. Exceeded expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Zarletti's on several oc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been to Zarletti's on several occasions and have never been disappointed! Our meal on Saturday night was OUTSTANDING and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful...great food, e ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful...great food, exceptional service and ambiance! We had a great evening!

Thank you for making my parents 55th anniversary a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.