About Zarletti - Downtown

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tre Inizi
Vitello Al Limone Strauss
Pasta Bolognese
Gamberi Alla Putanesca Con Gamberi
Boscarelli Montepulciano 2011
Raviolo Del Giorno, Pollo
Pistachio Crusted Halibut With Door County Cherries
Pork Chops With Balsamic Reduction
Cocktail Round
Eggplant Parmesean
Lamb Ravioli
Cream Of Corn Soup
Liveli Wine
Crab Cakes
Lamb Chops
Pasta Cami
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle
Sweet Potato Soup
Gamberi Con Pancetta
Osso Bucco
Caesar Salad
Bruschetta
Calamari
Butternut squash ravioli with brown butter
Penne Pasta with Italian Sausage
Seafood Risotto
Tiramisu
Pistacchio Encrusted Grouper
Roasted Chicken Ravioli W/Italian Sausage
Ravioli

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Wisconsin
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
1 More
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (64)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Romantic (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Groups (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Matt provided great service! Food was ma ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Matt provided great service! Food was marvelous. Thanks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service, great food and wine a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Attentive service, great food and wine at this downtown institution. Will enjoy coming back again. Charming bartender and amiable wait staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food and service! I am a New Yor ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome food and service!

I am a New Yorker and this food was authentic Italian!

Best tiramisu!

Everything was AMAZING!!!!

Not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally quick - this day it was very ve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Normally quick - this day it was very very slow. Slow to acknowledge us. Slow to get our drinks. Slow with food. I will still come back, but disappointing visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Outstanding cuisine, brilliant flavors, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding cuisine, brilliant flavors, lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here a few times now and be ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I have been here a few times now and being downtown Chicago, am a somewhat demanding foodie with my expectations. I have gotten knowledgeable service and excellent food every time I have visited and I am already looking forward to my next meal with them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place! Shrimp was fantastic! Enjoye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nice place! Shrimp was fantastic! Enjoyed the carbonara too!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find, fantastic, knowledgable wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great find, fantastic, knowledgable waiter, great drinks and wine, large portions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. The hand made noodles ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent meal. The hand made noodles were amazing. Every single thing we ate was fantastic. If I lived near this restaurant it would have become my favorite tonight. Delicious meal with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was good. The butternut squa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was good. The butternut squash ravioli was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The dining experience is always superb! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The dining experience is always superb!

Our waitress, Hannah, is outstanding!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartender Brian was very engaging and hi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Bartender Brian was very engaging and his homemade sangria was delicious. Great wine selection and ravioli of the day was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate at the bar service wine list food al ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ate at the bar service wine list food all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and even better service! No d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and even better service! No details is left unattended. Exceeded expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Zarletti's on several oc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been to Zarletti's on several occasions and have never been disappointed! Our meal on Saturday night was OUTSTANDING and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful...great food, e ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful...great food, exceptional service and ambiance! We had a great evening!

Thank you for making my parents 55th anniversary a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived for our anniversary reservati ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We arrived for our anniversary reservation on a Friday at 7:30 , prime time for Downttown dinner, and were seated immediatly. The staff was fantastic. The Hostess had noticed that I had asked for a quite table for our anniversay on the reservation and wished us happy anniversary and also delivered a complimentry galss of champagne to us. Unexpected, but greatly appreciated. The Server new the menu thouroughly and was abel to answer questions and make suggestions. The entrire staff was attentaive and the fodd was amazing. I had a New York Strip that was uniquely preparred and temp was perfect. My wife had the Halibut which was equally well preparred. Great evening out and I am sure we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal with business colleagues. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent meal with business colleagues. Our server Kurt provided excellent table service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown business lunch spot as we ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great downtown business lunch spot as well as for special occasion or just want a great dinner tonight - interior reminds me of quaint dining spots in west village of NYC - extensive northern Italian menu is very "meat" focused and served in hefty and tasty portions but they do have vegetarian options and make an great sautéed pesto dish of mixed green veggies upon request - probably some of the best trained wait staff in MKE - understand it's Italian but wish that they'd add a few Californians to the red wine list ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! One of the best Risotto's I h ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent! One of the best Risotto's I have ever had the pleasure of eating. Great service by server too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat here or forever miss out. The food i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Eat here or forever miss out. The food is amazing. The drinks are amazing . The environment is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to Zarletti's on the final ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We always go to Zarletti's on the final night of the symphony. It's consistently good and staff is always outstanding!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal with my colleagues! B ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Another great meal with my colleagues! Bravo Zarletti!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great restaurant that is close to home ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A great restaurant that is close to home. Service and servers very friendly and

efficient. (Chairs are uncomfortable) Food very good. Will go again several times.

Bill & Barb

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was too hot and uncomfortable because ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was too hot and uncomfortable because air conditioning couldn't keep up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Our server was very good, but the food w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was very good, but the food was not the best. I was surprised since the restaurant wasn't busy Saturday night. Three of our guests had Ozo Buco and one person had steak they all said it was delicious. The rest of us (3 guests) had pasta which was tough, flavorless and cold. We've eaten there several times and we were pretty disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our waiter, Matt, was very personable an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter, Matt, was very personable and connected well with our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent Karen took great c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was excellent Karen took great care of all of our dining needs quickly and efficiently

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. Wine list a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Wine list a little short on variety. Selection of wine by the glass also minimal

Food was worth it. Panna Cota was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty meal, friendly staff and great amb ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Tasty meal, friendly staff and great ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great, so were the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food and service were great, so were the cocktails recommended by our waiter. BUT, it was 1000 degrees in the place and very uncomfortable. The response was that the restaurant was the last to get AC after the condos upstairs. I'll go back, but never when its above 70.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Downtown dining week

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

From greeting to bar to dining everything was good for Downtown Dining week .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great service, but I wasn't thrilled with the Panini option on the downtown dining menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch - June 2015

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was excellent for this work lunch. Tomato basil soup with fresh croutons and the just baked bread at the table; Pasta Oglio was PHENOMENAL, and the ice cream for dessert was very nice. Will definitely go back there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was amazing...the special of ra ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was amazing...the special of ravioli (whatever flavor it is) is a MUST. Definitely will be going back for that dish again. The panna cotta for desert was also very good and a wonderful way to end the meal.

The service was a little slow and lagged my expectations, can't remember the servers name but she seemed a little busy and never checked in on us until our meal was basically finished.

Everything else was great and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Zarletti never disappoints. Food, serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Zarletti never disappoints. Food, service, ambiance = GREAT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown Dining

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very nice welcoming staff. Menu selection was nice for downtown dining lunch. Didn't feel pressured to be quick. Overall just an pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great italian food, service was great, good wine

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

this downtown Italian restaurant has great food, excellent pasta, its moderately priced, service was very attentive and the wine was delicious as well. I will return again someday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Noisy

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Tables are so crammed together our waiter had a difficult time getting to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The best Italian fare in Milwaukee. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The best Italian fare in Milwaukee. The veal is awesome. Highly recommend it. Service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.