Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Zarletti - Downtown

Zarletti's specializes in Italian fine dining.

741 N Milwaukee St
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee & Mason

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 225-0000

Website:
http://www.zarletti.net/

Executive Chef:
Brian C. Zarletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Zarletti - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (7)
People Watching (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Once again had a great dinner experience at Zarletti. Started with a phone call from Kurt who wanted to confirm the reservation and see if we had any questions or requests How often does that happen!! The food is outstanding as always and the server Ricard was amazingly professional yet personable. We can't say enough about the staff. I'm from Massachusetts and travel and eat out way too much. However I always look forward to dining at Zarletti with the love of my life. We always have a special time there. THANK YOU ZARLETTIS !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We went out with another couple and had a wonderful evening. The service was excellent, as was the food and wine. This is our "go to" place downtown and is always consistently very good. My only request would be to space the tables a bit further apart as we were too close to the neighboring tables.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

An attractive restaurant near hotels and the Milwaukee Art Museum with solid Italian cuisine, well-prepared, skilled service and fairly priced wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were in Milwaukee for NCAA and Zarletti's was three blocks from hotel. Saw it driving back from game and reserved table on Open Table. This is a tremendous Italian restaurant. Fairly expensive but portions were much more than adequate. Apparently not a local downtown favorite - casual but with a great ambiance and relatively small with meals served at bar as well as tables. Would highly recommend. Reservations needed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent! Thank you.
Dinner was delicious....as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I brought my family here for dinner this past weekend (my kids are in their 20's) and we ALL enjoyed our dining experience. Service was excellent - this xannot be overstated - our waitress Leana (sp) was helpful with the menu overview as well as picking out a bottle of wine. Food was excellent as well - had the braised lamb and it melted in my mouth. Lamb is so hard to get right but the chef owned this. We all enjoyed a relaxing delicious meal and will be back! Suggestion: reserve in advance - this place is always full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Quiet atmosphere although got there early before the theater. Great service. Food was excellent, with several specials including home made pasta with lamb ragout sauce. Really good antipasto plate with charcuterie and cheese with olives and artichoke hearts. Extensive wine list. Will definitely go back to try the other entrees.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Zarletti's is consistently very good! It is my favorite downtown lunch dining place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to Zarletti. They have an outstanding Italian wine list. We ypically start with Funghi Portobella alla Griglia, the portabella mushroom appetizer with goat cheese and roasted red bell pepper---such a delicious combination. The menu has so many wonderful choices but we went back to old favorites on our latest visit. Fettucine Capasante e Funghi--seared sea scallops with sauteed wild mushrooms and truffle oil. It was served on orecchiette this time. Vitello al Limone Strauss---a generous serving of perfectly cooked pounded veal cutlets with a lemon pan sauce. Our server graciously substituted garlic butter pasta for the included side choices.
The highlight of this particular visit was our server Ricardo. He was hospitable, personable, and intuitive. He sensed our pacing and didn't make us feel rushed to order at any point during our meal. He was attentive but not intrusive, and we enjoyed talking with him about his native Spain. He ensured that we had a pleasant and enjoyable evening to the point that we'll likely ask for him on our next visit. You can't go wrong at Zarletti.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Brian provided great service at the bar and Leahnna provided professional table service. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2017

One of our favorites in downtown Milwaukee. Service and food were very good. Soup and dessert were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent place, excellent staff! Very knowledgeable and personable. Bryan and Skipp (sp?) took great care of us.
And, of course, the food was excellent. It's the kind that makes you really slow down to enjoy it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Got there early with the intent of having a cocktail at the bar. Wanted to seat us right away. Were fine with us doing that. Drinks were very good and the bartenders were very kind and informative. Food was good. Waiter left a bit to be desired. All in all a good experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Zarletti's is always consistently delicious. Every time I visit, I can count on a wonderful meal. Besides great Italian food, they also have the best burger in Milwaukee! Great and friendly service. I highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very Romantic with great food & service! Would recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent cuisine - 4th time back! Quaint atmosphere, great food/drink!

Tags: Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was amazing and the service was even better! Our server Ricardo was one of the best servers we have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing food and service. Would recommend to any one. If you are on the bigger side it is really tight to walk between tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Whether it is lunch or dinner, the food and environment are both excellent. As a regular diner, I know that the lunch crowd is vibrant and well connected. The dinner ambiance is romantic, and the menu is varied and creative. Wine, wine, wine--the waiters and bartenders know what works, so trust their advice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Incredible food, formal yet intimate and quaint ambiance, bartender and servers were professional and courteous and knowledgeable. Wine list was excellent with mostly Italian wines. Great restaurant for date, special occasion or business meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazingly reliable perfection ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Zarletti's never disappoints - the house ragu and osso bucco are winners, the calimari ripieni is unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service... expected more from the food. The Osso Bucco was so so. The halibut was awesome. Nice wine list.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I really wanted to like this location and it was alright, however I will say that it did not stand out to me. The food was good but nothing spectacular. Prices were reasonable for a upper scale location. Drinks were also pretty good. The best part of our evening was our waitress whose name I sadly cannot at this moment remember. She was very personable and funny. If the rest of the location can come up to her level it would be a much more memorable dining establishment.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a favorite of ours, so wonderful! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Zarletti's has excellent food and service. Anyone who says otherwise is a rare exception. My only issue is that the restaurant is just too small. Saturday night dining is just not enjoyable if you are that cramped. I'd love them to move to the old Moceans. In the interim, I'll be a repeat customer on week nights only.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Restaurant! The food is fantastic, and out waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and was able to give us great recommendations. I love eating here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great experience from start to finish. Greeted immediately and were shown to our table and our coats were checked for us. Our waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. He recommended a wonderful red blend wine based on what we said we were looking for. Food was delicious and dessert to die for! If you drop anything from a napkin to a knife, they have it picked up and replaced before it even hits the floor! Will definitely return next time we're in town!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent Italian food and great service. Nice wine list as well. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, at a great price, as always. But the true high point of this place is the service. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without being overbearing. I never feel rushed through my meal here, or pressured to get my order in. Know they the tables are cramped and close together, but the food and service is worth it. My only complaint is that the tables near the door get awfully chilly in the winter with people coming in and out and constantly opening the door--not sure there is anything the restaurant could do to fix that given the small space, so the best solution may be to dress warm or ask for a table near the back. Still would not deter me from coming, and I can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I ate here following a Millwaukee Rep performance. Zarletti's has a warm, comfortable ambience. Our waiter was mature, knowledgeable, and attentive. I had the traditional Ossobucco which was simply outstanding. My wife had the Seafood of the Day plate and she gave it high marks. We had a bottle of Speri Amarone. It was spectacular. We have traveled a fair amount and eaten at numberable excellent restaurants. Zarletti's is a place we wouldn't think twice about re-visiting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great downtown restaurant. The food was fabulous. Highly recommend you give it a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Another memorable meal at Zarletti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We scheduled a business luncheon. From the moment we walked in, we received very attentive service from Bryan. The food was excellent...something for everyone. Karen was a terrific server.The restaurant was perfect for interacting with clients and making a good impression. Well done! Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Homemade pasta are excellent. No selection of wine at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband had Osso Bucco which was the best that he had in many places including Italy. We started out with the special appetizer dish, baked shrimp in wine sauce with cheeses and artichoke. It was done so right and perfectly. Caesar's salad was light and to our liking, especially since it was only $5. We asked for a pasta dish prior to our main dish that was not on the menu, just with simple garlic, olive oil, red pepper, herbs and cheese. Perfection! All of these, the two of us shared along with their warm and crusty bread. Then as our main course we had Osso Bucco and Seafood Soup. We picked a bottle of excellent Italian red wine for $60. To wrap up the evening with delicious Tiramisu. At the end of the whole dinner the bill was only $160! My husband's jaw dropped for the value of what we got out of this fantastic 30th Anniversary dinner at this downtown establishment. The staff (especially Curt) gets an A for their knowledge, professional service, efficiency and friendliness. One last thing, they treated us with excellent prosecco as we arrived for dinner making us feel very welcomed for our celebration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The wine special advertised online wasn't , and very expensive glass of wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great authentic Italian food. Our waiter was excellent. We will go there again every time we are In Milwaukee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waiter Ricardo was a true gem. He was very helpful in menu suggestions and was very knowledgeable of the restaurant itself. We loved the food. My husband had the Brodetto di Pesce and it was to die for, the light fish flavoring in the broth was so good. I had the special wild mushroom ragu and it was delicious. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.