About Yokozuna - Yale St

9146 South Yale, Suite 100
Tulsa, OK 74137
View Larger Map

Yokozuna is South Tulsa’s home for sushi, noodles, cocktails, & fun. Patio dining available during the summer. We offer discounted prices during "Sushi Happy Hour" M-F 2-5pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Fridays - Saturdays: 11:00am - Midnight

Cross Street:
91st & Yale

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(918) 619-6271

Website:
http://www.yokozunasushi.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK
Yokozuna - Yale St, Tulsa, OK

Yokozuna - Yale St Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Tulsa
Best Food
Tulsa
Best Restaurants in Tulsa ›

Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Business Meals (4)
See All
Healthy (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Yokozuna has DELICIOUS sushi. I love the ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Yokozuna has DELICIOUS sushi. I love their Philadelphia roll, and it's only $4 during happy hour!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first table was directly under two a ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our first table was directly under two air conditioning vents. We were so cold, we asked to move to outside seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Can't wait for you to open in OKC! Tou ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Can't wait for you to open in OKC! Tough to make a strip mall spot that cool, but you did it right!

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food!

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was quite a bit slower than usua ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was quite a bit slower than usual. I think maybe they lost our order back in the kitchen. Otherwise, it was as good as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service. Bartender wa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food, great service. Bartender was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that Yoko is on open table! No wait ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love that Yoko is on open table! No wait when we walked up! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great staff.

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience. The sushi was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great overall experience. The sushi was awesome and the service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate my Wife's birthday. ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to celebrate my Wife's birthday. It was a great choice as they delivered a great lunch as usual. The food was just as we ordered it, the service was attentive and responsive. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Yokozuna, it is one of my favorit ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love Yokozuna, it is one of my favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great and went to great l ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was great and went to great lengths to make sure everything was perfect. She answered quite a few questions for us. She even got the wraps from the kitchen in the package that the spring rolls are in for us to check the carb count. Very nice!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this Yokozuna South many ti ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2016

I've been to this Yokozuna South many times now. This review is based on my experiences, not just the most recent. Overall I've ate here when it's busy. During these times the service is a little slow and inattentive. However, the sushi and atmosphere is overall good. The service isn't terrible, I've noticed it's just consistently okay. I do like having a decent sushi place in SoTul. I will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I have been to their downtown location m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been to their downtown location many times but first time at this location. Ambiance is nice, cool and trendy, although a bit noisier than I would have expected. Outdoor seating is available and looked comfortable (when it's not 90+ outside!). Food was just average today, I remember it being better downtown. Our waitress did a fine job, very knowledgeable about the menu, good personality, and quick with drink refills. However, the food expediter needs some more training, he (a black kid, didn't get his name) brought out my squid salad with his thumb stuck halfway down the bowl...not very appetising! Overall, I'd give it a C+ performance today. Think I'll stick with my regular sushi place(s) down on Peoria or head downtown next time. There is definitely better and more a variety of sushi elsewhere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The sushi was great. Our server was a li ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The sushi was great. Our server was a little slow. Would go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Place!!

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 8, 2016

This place is one of my all time favorites!! I love the food and love coming here with my girlfriends for a night out! They have a wonderful selection of sushi and wines and many other foods for picky eaters!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The host was so cute and recognized me b ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The host was so cute and recognized me by name when we came in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love their sushi. Service is nearly always great.

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Loved the food. They were slammed when we were there so were a little slow, but it was worth the wait. Server was just the right amount of attentive. We eat here often and always enjoy it. Sitting at either bar (sushi bar or bar-bar) is also always a good experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, staff, and ambiance

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 26, 2016

I recently took my fiancé here for lunch, and it was the first time we had ever been. We loved the decor and the overall ambiance of the place. It was quiet so we could hold a conversation without having to yell over background noise. The staff were all very attentative and willing to help in any way possible. The food was great, and very fresh. It took a little while for them to get the food out, but it was well worth it. Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely go back and recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always good...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Always good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and noise level

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was mediocre, and the restaurant was so noisy that it was difficult to have a decent conversation without shouting.

I will probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wait for food was long

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We waited an extremely long time to get our food after we ordered.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Great lunch with my daughter

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 2, 2016

I want to thank Richard for a wonderful dining experience. My daughter and I occasionally get out together and try to find a good place for sushi or noodles and we've tried a few. Yokozuna Yale topped them all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Slow service.

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Everything was great except it took forever to get drinks. It was a birthday party, so that was important.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Place, Would recommend

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 9, 2015

The manager greeted us at the hostess stand but couldn't find our reservation. This was no problem because the dinner crowd hadn't arrived yet so we were seated promptly. The manager let us know our server would be with us shortly yet we sat for awhile before someone took our drink order. We learned from him that there were 5 employees missing/late. Once our sever did show up we had wonderful service without complaint. It was just weird that they would tell us that their employees were gone and we had to wait for a server to arrive before putting our dinner order in.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2015

It's one of our favorite sushi places here Tulsa. The variety of sushi rolls is great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was not good.

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 16, 2015

My friend and I went to this restaurant for Restaurant Week. The entree was very greasy, and neither of us ate much of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Everything was perfect for celebrating m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Everything was perfect for celebrating my brothers grand opening of his Drum Shop! Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Love It!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 30, 2015

I always enjoying going to this location with my girl friend. Love the service, the ambience and most of all, the food! We go usually during happy hours and every now and then during regular hours. I wod highly recommend this location for a great tasting sushi experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Perfect birthday dinner

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 9, 2015

We went out for dinner and drinks on my fiance's birthday with his family. The food and drinks were delicious, the waitress was friendly and efficient, and the fortune cookies were hilarious! It was a great place to celebrate his birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always enjoyable

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2015

Have dined here many times. The food is always fresh, tasty and nicely presented. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was slightly displeased with our exper ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 22, 2015

I was slightly displeased with our experience this time. We ate at both locations previously and had better experience. I made a reservation way before we were going to come in. Upon our arrival the restaurant staff just seamed very scattered. The host wasn't at the door so we waited and when we were given a table it was one of those tables in the bar area behind the wall. It was just not very cozy. I would assume if you see two adults coming in together you might think it's a date or some kind of special occasion and give the a better table than what we got. Once we sat we had someone bring us waters and told us our waiter will be with us shortly. In the mean time shift manager was walking around and had a brief meeting with the staff all along while we were waiting for our waiter. They held their meeting right in front of us and never even thought that we still didn't get our waiter. Once we got our waiter, he was the same person working the bar he came to our table and was apologizing for being slow but really the way he apologized made us feel like we should be apologizing.

Anyway long story short for a South Tulsa restaurant we were fairly disappointed pretty much since we walked thru the door. To the point where we don't think we will be coming back. Also don't call it a happy hour and then put few select items on it. It's like going to Sonic for happy hour and only ordering Coke. Not cool. False advertisement. There's a lot of people attracted to Yokozuno happy hour but once you're there it's like really California roll!!! If you have a happy hour then make it a happy hour for the whole sushi menu. I can guarantee you'll see more people come in then what I saw this last time. It was right around the dinner time and the place was empty. And I thought "oh I better reserve the table" Well that was funny!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Great food/service

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 20, 2015

Always great food. The Yale location has excellent service. Our waiter, Christopher, is always fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Carly waited on us tonight and did an ex ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2015

Carly waited on us tonight and did an excellent job.

Food as always, was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was a little large for one bite. ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 2, 2015

Sushi was a little large for one bite. I would let the customer know that you offer women size sushi.

Service was good. Sweet potato fries have too much batter. The booths are wonderful because we could carry on a conversation and not have to yell at each other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great choice!

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 14, 2015

Yokazuna is our go-to sushi restaurant, and it didn't dissapoint once again. Their selection is solid, the quality of each item is noticeable and the service is on point. Several of their in-house specialty rolls are very unique and absolutely delicious. The Hot Mess - so good, The Nutty Thai Professor - love it, and we always get a "CHEF'S SPECIAL". This is a roll that is custom made for you and different every time. You tell the server what you enjoy in your sushi, from what types of fish you like or things like creamy, crunchy, spicy, sweet, etc. The chef then creates something just for you based on your direction. We have done this a number of times and have always said, "wish that was always on the menu".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Super variety.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Food was great. Super variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Always Great Food

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 3, 2015

I visit Yokozuna often and tried the Miso soup this time. Everything I've tried is always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Absolutely amazing sushi and Asian cuisi ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Absolutely amazing sushi and Asian cuisine .. I will definitely be going back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Service

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 20, 2015

The food was great, but the service put it over the top. Seriously, ask for Dustin. He was extremely personable, and very knowledgeable about the menu items. My husband is a newly converted sushi lover, and Dustin was very patient and able to answer his questions without coming across as pretentious. My daughter had the Nutty Professor roll (delicious), I had the Rising Sun roll (perfect if you hate seaweed). My youngest son, who hates sushi, had the sweet-and-sour chicken. He loved it. My oldest son and his wife both had the Sashimi. They were both very pleased. All in all it was a Top notch dinner. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation. This place stays busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.