About Yokozuna Yale

9146 South Yale, Suite 100
Tulsa, OK 74137
View Larger Map

Yokozuna Yale is an Asian restaurant and sushi bar located in Yale Village at 91st & Yale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Fridays - Saturdays: 11:00am - Midnight

Cross Street:
91st & Yale

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(918) 619-6271

Website:
http://www.yokozunasushi.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale
Yokozuna Yale

Yokozuna Yale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (9)
good for groups (9)
special occasion (9)
See All
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
romantic (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
81 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Yokozuna, it is one of my favorit ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I love Yokozuna, it is one of my favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great and went to great l ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was great and went to great lengths to make sure everything was perfect. She answered quite a few questions for us. She even got the wraps from the kitchen in the package that the spring rolls are in for us to check the carb count. Very nice!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this Yokozuna South many ti ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I've been to this Yokozuna South many times now. This review is based on my experiences, not just the most recent. Overall I've ate here when it's busy. During these times the service is a little slow and inattentive. However, the sushi and atmosphere is overall good. The service isn't terrible, I've noticed it's just consistently okay. I do like having a decent sushi place in SoTul. I will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I have been to their downtown location m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have been to their downtown location many times but first time at this location. Ambiance is nice, cool and trendy, although a bit noisier than I would have expected. Outdoor seating is available and looked comfortable (when it's not 90+ outside!). Food was just average today, I remember it being better downtown. Our waitress did a fine job, very knowledgeable about the menu, good personality, and quick with drink refills. However, the food expediter needs some more training, he (a black kid, didn't get his name) brought out my squid salad with his thumb stuck halfway down the bowl...not very appetising! Overall, I'd give it a C+ performance today. Think I'll stick with my regular sushi place(s) down on Peoria or head downtown next time. There is definitely better and more a variety of sushi elsewhere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The sushi was great. Our server was a li ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The sushi was great. Our server was a little slow. Would go again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Place!!

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This place is one of my all time favorites!! I love the food and love coming here with my girlfriends for a night out! They have a wonderful selection of sushi and wines and many other foods for picky eaters!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The host was so cute and recognized me b ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The host was so cute and recognized me by name when we came in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love their sushi. Service is nearly always great.

 
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Loved the food. They were slammed when we were there so were a little slow, but it was worth the wait. Server was just the right amount of attentive. We eat here often and always enjoy it. Sitting at either bar (sushi bar or bar-bar) is also always a good experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, staff, and ambiance

 
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I recently took my fiancé here for lunch, and it was the first time we had ever been. We loved the decor and the overall ambiance of the place. It was quiet so we could hold a conversation without having to yell over background noise. The staff were all very attentative and willing to help in any way possible. The food was great, and very fresh. It took a little while for them to get the food out, but it was well worth it. Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely go back and recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always good...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Always good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and noise level

 
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was mediocre, and the restaurant was so noisy that it was difficult to have a decent conversation without shouting.

I will probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wait for food was long

 
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We waited an extremely long time to get our food after we ordered.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Great lunch with my daughter

 
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I want to thank Richard for a wonderful dining experience. My daughter and I occasionally get out together and try to find a good place for sushi or noodles and we've tried a few. Yokozuna Yale topped them all!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Slow service.

 
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Everything was great except it took forever to get drinks. It was a birthday party, so that was important.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Place, Would recommend

 
·Dined on October 9, 2015

The manager greeted us at the hostess stand but couldn't find our reservation. This was no problem because the dinner crowd hadn't arrived yet so we were seated promptly. The manager let us know our server would be with us shortly yet we sat for awhile before someone took our drink order. We learned from him that there were 5 employees missing/late. Once our sever did show up we had wonderful service without complaint. It was just weird that they would tell us that their employees were gone and we had to wait for a server to arrive before putting our dinner order in.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

It's one of our favorite sushi places here Tulsa. The variety of sushi rolls is great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was not good.

 
·Dined on September 16, 2015

My friend and I went to this restaurant for Restaurant Week. The entree was very greasy, and neither of us ate much of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Everything was perfect for celebrating m ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Everything was perfect for celebrating my brothers grand opening of his Drum Shop! Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Love It!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I always enjoying going to this location with my girl friend. Love the service, the ambience and most of all, the food! We go usually during happy hours and every now and then during regular hours. I wod highly recommend this location for a great tasting sushi experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Perfect birthday dinner

 
·Dined on August 9, 2015

We went out for dinner and drinks on my fiance's birthday with his family. The food and drinks were delicious, the waitress was friendly and efficient, and the fortune cookies were hilarious! It was a great place to celebrate his birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always enjoyable

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Have dined here many times. The food is always fresh, tasty and nicely presented. Attentive wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was slightly displeased with our exper ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2015

I was slightly displeased with our experience this time. We ate at both locations previously and had better experience. I made a reservation way before we were going to come in. Upon our arrival the restaurant staff just seamed very scattered. The host wasn't at the door so we waited and when we were given a table it was one of those tables in the bar area behind the wall. It was just not very cozy. I would assume if you see two adults coming in together you might think it's a date or some kind of special occasion and give the a better table than what we got. Once we sat we had someone bring us waters and told us our waiter will be with us shortly. In the mean time shift manager was walking around and had a brief meeting with the staff all along while we were waiting for our waiter. They held their meeting right in front of us and never even thought that we still didn't get our waiter. Once we got our waiter, he was the same person working the bar he came to our table and was apologizing for being slow but really the way he apologized made us feel like we should be apologizing.

Anyway long story short for a South Tulsa restaurant we were fairly disappointed pretty much since we walked thru the door. To the point where we don't think we will be coming back. Also don't call it a happy hour and then put few select items on it. It's like going to Sonic for happy hour and only ordering Coke. Not cool. False advertisement. There's a lot of people attracted to Yokozuno happy hour but once you're there it's like really California roll!!! If you have a happy hour then make it a happy hour for the whole sushi menu. I can guarantee you'll see more people come in then what I saw this last time. It was right around the dinner time and the place was empty. And I thought "oh I better reserve the table" Well that was funny!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Great food/service

 
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Always great food. The Yale location has excellent service. Our waiter, Christopher, is always fantastic.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Carly waited on us tonight and did an ex ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 8, 2015

Carly waited on us tonight and did an excellent job.

Food as always, was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was a little large for one bite. ...

 
·Dined on June 2, 2015

Sushi was a little large for one bite. I would let the customer know that you offer women size sushi.

Service was good. Sweet potato fries have too much batter. The booths are wonderful because we could carry on a conversation and not have to yell at each other.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great choice!

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2015

Yokazuna is our go-to sushi restaurant, and it didn't dissapoint once again. Their selection is solid, the quality of each item is noticeable and the service is on point. Several of their in-house specialty rolls are very unique and absolutely delicious. The Hot Mess - so good, The Nutty Thai Professor - love it, and we always get a "CHEF'S SPECIAL". This is a roll that is custom made for you and different every time. You tell the server what you enjoy in your sushi, from what types of fish you like or things like creamy, crunchy, spicy, sweet, etc. The chef then creates something just for you based on your direction. We have done this a number of times and have always said, "wish that was always on the menu".

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Super variety.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Food was great. Super variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Always Great Food

vip
·Dined on May 3, 2015

I visit Yokozuna often and tried the Miso soup this time. Everything I've tried is always great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Absolutely amazing sushi and Asian cuisi ...

 
·Dined on May 2, 2015

Absolutely amazing sushi and Asian cuisine .. I will definitely be going back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Service

 
·Dined on March 20, 2015

The food was great, but the service put it over the top. Seriously, ask for Dustin. He was extremely personable, and very knowledgeable about the menu items. My husband is a newly converted sushi lover, and Dustin was very patient and able to answer his questions without coming across as pretentious. My daughter had the Nutty Professor roll (delicious), I had the Rising Sun roll (perfect if you hate seaweed). My youngest son, who hates sushi, had the sweet-and-sour chicken. He loved it. My oldest son and his wife both had the Sashimi. They were both very pleased. All in all it was a Top notch dinner. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation. This place stays busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good service, good food

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 5, 2015

Very good service for dinner. Space was cold, and we had to ask to have the heat put on higher. Food was delicious: we both ordered ramen. Drinks were good as well.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Best sushi in Tulsa!!!

 
·Dined on February 20, 2015

Yokozuna has the best sushi in tulsa. Great environment, great place. The waiters are always super sweet and are very prompt. Food always gets prepared quickly too. Just an all around great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for Valentine's Day

 
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The service was amazing. The waitress was attentive, helpful and sweet. As busy as they were several people came by to freshen our drinks and check on us. The food as always was delicious and the drinks were first rate. This is one of my favorite restsurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

 
·Dined on February 11, 2015

Very enjoyable evening with friends, superb service and great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great night with friends

 
·Dined on January 24, 2015

We visited with 2 other couples. The server had great personality and was so much fun, our table enjoyed sharing the pork spring rolls and edamame. For dinner we tried the caterpillar, nutty Thai professor, spicy scallop and veggie rolls all of which were great. Another at the table tried the fish tacos, which were a great choice and better than any we have tried before!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Late evening dinner with family

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

We have been to this location several times before and have had good experiences each time. This evening our orders were delivered quite quickly due to the lack of other diners in the restaurant. Everyone's dishes were quite tasty as usual. Our only complaint involved a cocktail that was ordered, but had to be sent back. The ingredients were flat and tasteless and the bartender appeared to have forgotten the all-important booze ingredients.

Otherwise, it was a good visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

great food, ok service

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

I have been here twice, first was in the evening for dinner, both food and service was great. This second visit was a different story, we went for an early dinner around 4 and the service was terrible. There were possibly 6-8 people dining at the same time and the service was very slow but plenty of staff available. The food was still amazing and we will definitely return, must have just caught them at a bad time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Eeverything was great,we have been there ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2015

Eeverything was great,we have been there on 3 different occasions and have never had a bad meal yet

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Years Eve! Great Food!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2015

My wife and I arrived with reservations for 8pm on New Years Eve. We were seated the second we walked in by a very friendly host. It was fairly crowded with 2 tables marked reserved, one of which was ours, it was in a heavy traffic lane and we asked to move to another less traveled area, she moved us with no problems. I must say the host staff is the best! Our waiter was great, he recommended an appetizer of spring rolls, you must try! wow! We ordered Sushi, mine was recommended from the server, Flaming Volcano, this was the bomb! My wife has sushi and was thrilled with her food. It was busy, not worse than a typical Friday night and getting our ticket to pay took some time. For New Years Eve, you cant complain, the food will bring me back. Thanks for the good experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Don't waste your money on the giant drink!

 
·Dined on December 5, 2014

We had a party of six. All had something different and loved our meal and appetizers. Three had beer and three had drinks. I and another had the giant drink for $16. MISTAKE! IT WAS LATE AND TASTED LIKE HAWAIIAN PUNCH, NO ALCOHOL. Total waste of good money. Our waitress explained the first order was dropped and they had to make two more, must had decided not to waste their alcohol a second time. One in out party ask for another beer and never received it, after asking another waitress five minutes later he received two, which we were ready to leave at that point so he didn't drink either. Our waitress never brought us enough menus that she promised so we ended up sharing.

Overall, we enjoyed getting together since it had been awhile but I don't think our group would pick this restaurant again. My husband and I would return just for the food......and water. We wasted TOO much money on a fruit drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.