About Yo Amo Tacos

7034 Islington Ave
Woodbridge, ON L4L 1V8
View Larger Map

Tasty Dishes, Delicious Cocktails

Enjoy Mexican Euro Fusion comfort food

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Wednesday 4pm-10pm
Thursday 4pm-2am
Friday-Saturday 12pm-2am
Sunday 12pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Islington Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 266-2135

Website:
http://www.yoamotacos.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Yo Amo Tacos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
fit for foodies (5)
See All
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
special occasion (3)
scenic view (3)
romantic (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

we have been to this establishment befor ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

we have been to this establishment before but this past Saturday was our worst experience. We were seated at a broken table, the wait staff took forever to take our order. Our drink order was not delivered until we pointed it out. We asked to sit at another table they moved us but advised that we had to be done within the hour because it was reserved for someone else. Our food was delivered to the wrong table. The music was so loud we couldn't carry on a conversation. It was very noticeable that all the tables around us were as frustrated as we are. Its to bad that the wait staff brings this place down because the food is good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on June 5, 2016

Overall fantastic experience! Good was delicious and service was great!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food great, service was pretty bad.

Dined on May 21, 2016

My only complain was the service from our waitress. Although she was friendly and polite she was not attentive. I had to go ask for the hot sauces at the bar because she never checked once on us after she took our orders. Someone else brought our food. We had to ask the waitress serving the table next to us for some water (jalapeños were super spicy lol). The other waitress started checking on us from then on until it was time to pay then the original waitress finally came back to our table.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very authentic, food was outstanding, nu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very authentic, food was outstanding, numerous beverage options, great service. Overall a very good experience and I will absolutely come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Overpriced for what is a suburban Mexica ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for what is a suburban Mexican restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

hidden gem!

Dined on April 22, 2016

What a pleasant surprise to find this place ! Friendly staff, great food, great drinks! Live music after 8:30pm. A must try for anyone looking to avoid generic places!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Find.

Dined on April 8, 2016

We were surprised to find this Mexican restaurant out of the way in a converted house. Food was delicious and the view is great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was great, but the service was ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was great, but the service was absolutely awful. Go here if you want a tasty dish, and don't mind waiting 15 minutes for everything you ask the waitress to do. Oh and if you plan on getting your bill within 30 minutes of finishing your meal, then this is not the place for you. Cool atmosphere though.

food2
ambience4
service2

This was my second time at Yo Amo Tacos ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

This was my second time at Yo Amo Tacos and I'm not in a hurry to go back. The guacamole is amazing! But the tacos are pretty average. The battered Mahi Mahi tacos were tasty but the short rib, the pork, and the octopus tacos were pretty bland. And both times I've been there, the tacos are soggy so the tortillas fall apart when you eat them. The restaurant has a fun and authentic feel but there are definitely way better mexican restaurants in the GTA that pack more of a punch when it come to their food. And the service was pretty slow too. Cute waitress but not very attentive.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great to dine here!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place! Frequent customer!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

When we arrived the gentleman just asked ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

When we arrived the gentleman just asked us to be seated but we had a reservation and when I mentioned it, it was like it didn't matter. I've been here before and the food is outstanding. They didn't have the beer I ordered. Our waitress was so nice. Thanks.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

could be better

Dined on December 19, 2015

The waitress was a little short with us since we booked a table last minute. She almost turned us away. Our drinks and apps order was taken first, but not 5 mins later she was back asking for our full order (a repeat of drinks and apps again) and our dinner. We got the guacamole and chips. The guac was a little plain, but not too bad. Our food came out like 2 minutes after the apps. But still no drinks. The drinks arrived shortly after the food. I got a strawberry daiquiri, which was really good. I also got the pork tacos, which were pretty good, but not the best. My husband got the chicken pollo and was pretty disappointed. The chicken tasted funny and the whole taco was plain. We ended up splitting mine and left the chicken to the side. No one asked how the food was (especially not after seeing the chicken tacos left over, didn't even ask if we wanted to take it away, so I think they know its bad) and the area we were in had to be cleared out for a big party of 25 at 8pm (it was just after 7pm and they were already moving people). All in all... I probably wouldn't go back. It would have been nice to find a good taco place in my area.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Mexican Meh

Dined on November 7, 2015

The Tostados apps were fab as well as the drinks...I had a Strawberry Margarita! Had HIGH hopes for the main course...disappointed in portion size of tacos especially for the price; lack of flavor and texture of corn tortillas left alot to be desired. My husband ordered fajitas which were much more tasty and appropriately portioned for the price. Dessert was churros with chocolate sauce. Delicious! Coffee was nothing to write home about. Out waitress was nice, the place was busy for its small size and service was slowwww. But we didn't complain as it was date night with another couple. Had to ask for refills on drinks. And long wait for food. Would I go back again? Probably not. $180 plus tips for 4 ppl!!! On with my search to find a Mexican Food Lovers Dream restaurant. :)

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience4
service3

Everything was just okay, definitely not ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Everything was just okay, definitely not the best Mexican food I've ever eaten

food4
ambience5
service4

Great and original ambiance. Lots of fun!

Dined on September 16, 2015

Great and original ambiance. Indoor and outdoor dining. Entertainment is great. Décor is fun. Great comfort food. Perfect for a casual and relaxed night with the family or fun and energetic night with a large group.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious!

Dined on September 9, 2015

Delicious food! The tacos and tostadas were amazing! Really enjoyed the short ribs, flank steak, and chorizo.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

Slipping

Dined on August 22, 2015

We made our second visit in just over a month. The first trip everything was excellent, service, food, all of it. This visit however was lacking. We were informed by our server that the management and the chef had changed. Sometimes that is a good thing but not in this case. The service level dropped dramatically, most of the evening the 6 servers were all standing at the bar talking and laughing, not serving tables. The appetizers were good for taste but the quantity of chips given with the guacamole was laughable. The main courses were still outstanding. No complaints at all. Dessert was horrible. The churros which are supposed to be light and fluffy inside were heavy, doughy, over cooked on the outside and undercooked on the inside. When we complained the waitress agreed with us but informed us that she was told by the chef that is how they are supposed to be cooked. We are very disappointed and may not return. We had told many people to try this restaurant and are now considering telling them all to not try it. Overall very disappointed.

food1
ambience2
service1

Turn around and go else where

Dined on June 27, 2015

If you are looking for good Mexican food I suggest you turn around and go to Taco Bell because at least there you get your monies worth. The food was cold and really had no flavour. We ordered the calamari and they were boring. My husband and I both ordered the 4 tacos and the fish one was cold and gross and such a small piece of fish. It wasn't even battered more like frozen fish sticks. I had corn tortillas and traditional they are served with 2 per taco so this way they don;t fall apart. Well not this place 1 corn tortilla per taco and needless to say it fell apart and was just a complete mess. The service needs work I made reservations through open table and I got a call from the restaurant earlier in the day to confirm i was still coming and I said yes. I later got another call while sitting in the restaurant for 30min asking if I was still coming. I said I'm sitting here by the window. It's too bad that this place isn't good because it was close to my home and i was excited oh well. Oh and good luck finding parking.

food4
ambience5
service2

Accommodated us when there was a large p ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2015

Accommodated us when there was a large party present we were very grateful! Servers were very busy with party , that was the only downfall.

food3
ambience2
service3

Inconsiderate owner

Dined on March 12, 2015

My husband, child and I went for dinner around 6:30 on Thursday and when we walked in the music was blaring. We sat down and asked if the music could be lowered slightly as we could barely hear each other talk. The waitress was nice and lowered the music. Within 5 min the music was turned up again even louder than before completely startling my little girl. We asked the waitress about the music and she explained that the owner liked it loud. I was so disappointed by his lack of customer service. This is not a club nor is it later in the evening to denote such loud dance music. To top it off the loud music kept on switching to different songs and getting louder depending on the song. The tacos came unseasoned and the tortillas completely fell apart on my husband. We were disapointed in the food and most importantly the service. The owner was completely self absorbed in himself and his music. Will not be back.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good Authentic Mexican Food, bad upcharging

Dined on January 16, 2015

While we love the atmosphere and the food at Yo Amo taco, we continue to be unhappy with the outrageous upcharging. As a result we will likely not return. My husband and I ordered 3 tacos each. We were upcharged $1 for EACH taco for cheese (equivalent of about 1/2 tablespoon per taco) and $1 for EACH taco for guacamole (barely visable smear on each taco) so that upped the price of each of our meals $6 and it was definitely not worth the charge. Also, no free refills on drinks, so 3 smallish glasses of diet coke cost us $9. I don't feel like a valued customer when they are gouging us for every little extra bit of money they can get.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

We were not impressed with the restauran ...

Dined on September 30, 2014

We were not impressed with the restaurant service or food what so ever. The nacho were not cooked. Our tacos were cold and the condiments and the rice came out when we were almost finished eating. On a positive note my sons steak fahitas were pretty good. Thankyou,

food4
ambience4
service4

This was very good. The only thing I wou ...

Dined on September 13, 2014

This was very good. The only thing I would say is that it was a bit pricey. I mean we had taco's and the bill was 50$ at the end plus we had a 40$ reduction with our groupon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience4
service4

Quality of Food need to Improve alo

Dined on September 11, 2014

The Building and Restaurant is very good. it just missing a few touches in regards to make it a hit for Mexican Tacos, first they need to have the same approach as the very successful Mandarin Chain, Get 100% Ethnic Staff, MEXICAN Staff, Specially the CHEF and all the kitchen staff, to get good quality food! Then The Secret in ALL Tacos is the Meat and the Tortilla, and that is was is missing here., the Tortillas should be made in house and the meat has to be prepare by a Real Mexican Taquero. the SALSAS should be made in house by the Chef (Mexican 100% Taquero) Then some Marketing Know How is need it to make this place a hit, get Corona or Dos XX bear Glasses The Musical group that plays there is a real great attraction for the Patrons

food3
ambience4
service1

Horrible Customer Service!!!!!

Dined on September 7, 2014

Went to yo amos tacos on sunday night. waitress came quickly and took all the orders, so impresive first service. It was horrible experience after the order as food took almost 1 hr for just 2 items especially when restaurant was not too busy. Wrong food arrival many times and complete disorganized in the dining area. Waitress added food on the bill which wasn't even ordered. Very rude and arrogant answers but handled well by polite manager.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2

Authentic Mexican food-bad service

Dined on August 30, 2014

We went here, portions are a little small, but the food is incredibly tasty. The service was terrible - we had to ask three different people, including the manager for food missing with our order. They forgot about us right after the food came - my partner had to get out of his seat to track down the server and ask him to bring me water. The team apologized for the bad service, and tried to get their act together at the end of the night (when it doesn't matter). Bottom line: food is excellent, but the terrible service leaves behind a sour taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

A Nice Change

Dined on August 29, 2014

We certainly enjoyed the food and it was fresh and plentiful and uniquely presented on wooden plates. It was a bit pricey for what you received. Atmosphere was great - loved the decor and small keyboard/drum playing. If you like a bar atmosphere with sports screens and colourful decor this is your place. Unfortunately the parking was horrendous - we ended up at strip mall across the street and having to cross 4 lanes of traffic to get back to the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Very nice! I liked the live band!

Dined on August 29, 2014

I enjoyed my evening dinner a lot. The music was a bit loud but the food very tasty. We all ordered something a bit different and everyone enjoyed their meal. Desserts were delicious. I just found some of the dishes a little expensive for what you got. I would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Worst experience in dining

vip
Dined on August 23, 2014

By far the worst service and dining experience. Say us underneath loud speakers but refused to move us or lower music. Service was beyond horrible. No manager came to table when several complaints were made. Food was horrible when we finally got out appetizers and meal all at the same time. A total nightmare.

food5
ambience4
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this ...

Dined on August 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this establishment! The food was very good and the service very attentive. We'd recommend this restaurant to our friends and will return ourselves. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Going back!

Dined on August 20, 2014

A must for delicious food and a great atmosphere! Service was beyond satisfying and we really enjoyed the live music.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service2

Just okay

Dined on August 13, 2014

Food was tasty but service and ambiance killed it for us. Service was slow and it was a weeknight so the place wasnt very busy, staff werent very friendly either. Also, it was so quiet and "akward". I expected to hear spanish music but instead it felt like we was in a very formal restaurant. There was no background music so you could hear everyones conversation which again added to the awkward feeling. Too bad because the food is tasty but I don't think I will return.

food4
ambience5
service3

Sweet Spot

Dined on August 10, 2014

I fell in love with Yo Amo Tacos the moment I walked in. Great ambiance. The outside patio was like sitting in a backyard as other places have their patios in a parking lot. Food was tasty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

This was our first occasion at Yo Amo Ta ...

Dined on August 3, 2014

This was our first occasion at Yo Amo Tacos, we generally like trying true Mexican restaurants, this was a good choice, in particular the tostados, and the variety of tacos. But no burritos? And no sopa de tacos? (Typical Mexican soup) on the menu. The waitress was very friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Toco

Dined on August 2, 2014

The toco were very good and the extra sauce to put on top were very good with spice I would recommend the fish toco servers need to be more educated on sauce and toco meats being served

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service1

Three hour meal

Dined on July 27, 2014

The service was extremely slow. They got the order wrong. We had to repeatedly ask for things. Like our drinks. Waitress said it was her first week but what we wanted to be a fun night out turned into a test of our patience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Playa De Carmen in Woodbridge

Dined on July 26, 2014

We were looking for something different to experience and we found it on Saturday July 19th. Brought back memories for our trip to Mexico. Food was fantastic! Our server Michael was great and gave great recommendations. Wonderful atmosphere. The music made you want to get up and merenge all not long. We have already recommended Yo Amos Tacos to friends and family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

Finally, great Mexican in the GTA!

Dined on July 8, 2014

Great food, ambiance and prices! Service was slow,though, maybe they're new?

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

yummy

Dined on July 5, 2014

food was great, and service was fast and very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tacos!

Dined on July 2, 2014

We loved the tacos, great variety, very fresh. The music in the evening was a lovely surprise as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.