Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Yo Amo Tacos

3.8
89 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
  • Authentic
Tasty Dishes, Delicious Cocktails

Enjoy Mexican Euro Fusion comfort food
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday-Wednesday 12pm-10pm
Thursday 12pm-2am
Friday-Saturday 12pm-2am
Sunday 12pm-9pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(905) 266-2135
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Islington Avenue
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 89 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
4.1
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Everything was great but the wait for the food to arrive from the time we ordered was too long.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent but slow service due to understaffing

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My fiancé and I had reservations for Saturday night at 10pm, May 5th which was also Cinco de Mayo. We knew because of that they would be extremely busy hence why we made reservations. We also booked a later time so the crowd/rush would hopefully die down a bit. Wrong! We got there at 9:45pm, 15 mins early and weren’t even greeted until 20 mins later. We were then brought to the corner of the restaurants were we were seated and given menus. Half an hour of waiting and waiting with no one to come even say hello or bring us a glass of water we decided to go call the waitress who said she’d be right over... wrong again. People all night were complaining about slow service. There was a birthday party there who waited an hour and a half just for their drinks!!! When asked how many people were staffed, they told us 4 in the kitchen, 4 servers, and two bar tenders. Ummm hello, it’s Cinco de Mayo and you had over 200 reservations for that night, shouldn’t you have staffed it more appropriately? After waiting an hour with no service at all, we decide to get up and leave. Unfortunately, I never got to taste the food but due to the service, or lack of, I won’t ever be returning...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We have been to this restaurant multiple times. I did not understand the poor service rating these other reviews gave the restaurant until tonight. We booked reservations a whole week before asking for seats on the upper level. And we ended up on the basement with very little to no service. We came hungry and did not get ANY food until after numerous complaints within the 3hrs we were left to wait. Thank goodness one of our guests was Spanish and knew one of the bartenders! Otherwise no one would've acknowledge that we were forced to pay off our bill without actually receiving any of the drinks and food ordered. Then to top it off, we saw patrons who came in hours after we showed up getting serviced with food before us. We now know next time not to come here for dinner..I raved so much about this place and ended up getting disrespect from the curly haired hostess who felt younger walk-in patrons would bring her better $ for the night. We ended up spending over $900 for our group of 10 for food and drinks despite the unnecessary and inconsiderate wait. This disrespect has turned us off from going back for a while and we plan to tell and warn others to expect potential poor service when you've invited a group of people to impress to this establishment.Spare yourself the embarassment, go somewhere else who is equipped and staffed to service all guests and patrons to have reserved for the night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Busy night. Food took a long time to come. Waitress made us feel very rushed and quickly cleared our dishes and brought bill. Food is good but expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We find the food and drinks are always consistently DELICIOUS. We enjoy having the live band and DJ. Feels like we travelled to Playa Del Carmen one we walk through the doors. This place has great fun vibe and it's always a fun time when we visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Really like the location and the food was great. Have to say the service left a little to be desired. It was slow and they didn't bring out the shells for the fajitas until well after the food and needed to be reminded. I'd hope it was just an off night because I really like the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great tasting Mexican food done right. All other places are sloppy take outs.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I knew Good Friday is a holiday for many restaurants so I did some advanced planning and found through the website that Yo Amo Tacos was accepting reservations. Wasn't I surprised when we and our of town guests arrived to find the restaurant was closed. I respect your choice to close for a holiday but to take reservations on that date is highly respectful of your clientele.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

When we walked in it was like we were out of the country (cool). Unfortunately our table had to wait almost 20 minutes for 2 Sodas and 1 beer. Food service seemed slow overall. At the end of the day everyone said it was tasty...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Amazing! Staff were nice. Food was really good and authentic! Have to have the churros!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Our server Rose is fantastic. She knows when to be at your table and when to leave you alone. Very pleasant and nice to deal with. Not hard when the food is this good. Special shout out to Mike for taking care of us like we were long time friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Food was good and waitress was friendly but waited an hour for the food to arrive at our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Delicious food & excellent service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

I’ve been here many times, and the food has been beyond delicious! I was raving about the nachos to a friend I brought this weekend... and they were terrible! The nachos tasted like eating a container of salt. This was a horrible experience for myself and my friend who’s first experience was not impressionable. I usually recommend yo amo for the best Mexican but I’m worried about getting the salt nachos again...
too bad, as I tell so many people about this great find..

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Food was good. Need some more renos. Nachos were so so. Room for improvement. Fajitas were awesome.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was very bland, stale. Delivered the chicken fajita almost cold. Lousy food though pretty expensive

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Good food. Way to loud with live music playing. Need more wait staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 24, 2017

- pricey for the portion sizes
- we were charged for a birthday dessert, not classy
- VERY disappointed

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Was my bday. Didn't end up getting the table that I was told was reserved for me and my party. Waitresses too busy setting up and seating people that I almost couldn't get their attention to order a drink. Music is too loud, can't talk to people at your table. Too many flies flying around.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Good mediocre

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was very good, and great ambiance but music was very very loud it was difficult to have a conversation with the person next to you

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Absolutely never going back here. The service was horrendous, taking over an hour for our meal to come while tables who arrived after us got their food. The food was sub par and cold when it arrived. When we asked for the bill, the waitress brought it over and did not return to process payment for half an hour. Very disappointing experience, was hoping for a great taco place in the area but it seems as if you have to go downtown to get quality Mexican food. Would not recommend this place to anyone for any occassion. The bill was incredibly high for such poor quality food and service. Terrible experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2017

Music is too loud for early dining crank it up after 9:30: food is always fresh and with great flavour

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic enchiladas. Save room for the strudel. It is fresh made every day and incredible.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Food is always great. Service was horrible as I had a drink fell on the table and glass broke and ended up on me! My husband order his mojito 3 times until he got one. Music was insanely loud and couldn't even have a conversation with my friends. Everyone, was competing in having their conversations heard from one table to another. I told them to lower the music a bit, considering it was 7:30pm. People want to eat great food, catch up with friends and later enjoy the loud Latin vibe.
For this reason, I wouldn't go back. Low down the music between 7-9pm. Next time, we will go somewhere we can hear each other, while we eat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was disgustingly delicious! The live and was fantastic as I could sit still in my seat. Servers were extremely busy but always happy. Ever go for nachos and you always have chips with no toppings for it? That won't happen here. You actually have more toppings than chips! The enchiladas were perfect, steak fajitas were on point. I would say thou, the music is to loud for dinner time as we weren't able to communicate at the table since we couldn't hear each other. Happy Morhers day to me😞. I will just imagine the kids said wonderful things to me😎
Check out this place and make a reservation or you won't regret it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2017

They did not accept our reservation.
We entered the restaurant and were told the reservation was not accepted through OpenTable
We left very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2017

I went there for Cinco de Mayo. I reserved a table with open table for 9:15pm however there was a miscommunication with open table and Yo amo tacos. We didn't get a seat untill 10:30pm of course we opted to wait as I have been here before and had a few people with me who were from out of town and thought the wait would be worth it. Once we sat down the server gave us the menus and said she would be back in 5 mins. We ordered right away I was surprised that the server didn't have a note pad to write down our order I was impressed. To my disappointment we didn't get out food untill 12:30pm 2 hours after we ordered. When she brought our food she got one of our guests order mixed up she said if she were to put the new order now we would have to wait for an u known amount of time since they had a full house . Given we waited 2 hours you can imagine our frustration at this point that was unacceptable maybe if she wrote down the orders there would be no confusion and the chef would have something to refer to -simple. She said "If you saw how busy it was then why did you decide to stay" the fact that we stayed says a lot we put aside the waiting because we thought we would have a good time we believed in the restaurant. Her attitude was the icing on the cake. Needless to say I won't be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2017

If you are looking for a place with fast service, I would definitely not recommend this place. I've been here a couple of times and I keep going back because the food and venue is great, but their service always lacks, and it's not the servers fault but rather management who is under staffed and does nothing about it. We went on Cinco de Mayo, and being a Mexican restaurant, you would assume a hectic night. We waited 3 hours to get our food (no exaggeration it was crazy). The only thing keeping me there was the bar, so we drank while we waited. When the food came, a lot of my friends had cold tacos. When my friend told the manager about it he said "well if you want to leave, leave". I can't believe that actually happened. So all in all, the food is great the servers are so nice, but management, REALLY could use some work and organization. You would expect after 3 hours of waiting they would feel bad, but nope.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Horrible..will never return ... service was awful... no parking...overcrowded I think over capacity...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2017

sorry but I would not recommend this restaurant to any one I know...have been there a few times and it was the same service. Sat down at 6pm it wasn't until 6:30pm before the waitress came to take our drink orders and then took another half hour to receive them one at a time. Was told we could only sit and dine for 2 hours but it took an hour to get our food order and another 50 mins to receive our food order ,by that time, it took over 2 hours . Ordered drinks and the waitress forgot all about our drink order , so when we asked for our bill it was funny how it came very quickly .... So NO I would not recommend your restaurant to any one I know.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2017

We wished the dancing was open already! We also loved the live music!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2017

It took us an hour to get our food and when it came it was cold. It looked like they were short staff but no excuses. The food would of been great if it was brought on time and hot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2017

For the restaurant not to be so busy, the food & drink orders took quite a while. Worth the wait for the delicious food but a little too lengthy for our liking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2017

Great tacos!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food .. bartender was great she took care of us .. however, they were understaffed .. sat down at 8:30 got our mains at 10:30 .. food was excellent and authentic it's unfortunate that it took so long or else this place would be a 5/5 .. live music and drinks were great it was very reasonably priced

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Way too loud! Couldn't hear yourself. Slow service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Service wasn't great. Our server barely came around and evet time I tried to call her over she wasn't available. The tacos were amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good
I found it a little expensive and wifi was low and difficult to check out

Report
Helpful
1
2
3