About Yo Amo Tacos

Tasty Dishes, Delicious Cocktails

Enjoy Mexican Euro Fusion comfort food

7034 Islington Ave
Woodbridge, ON L4L 1V8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Wednesday 4pm-10pm
Thursday 4pm-2am
Friday-Saturday 12pm-2am
Sunday 12pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Islington Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 266-2135

Website:
http://www.yoamotacos.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Yo Amo Tacos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

2.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Live Music (5)
See All
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was disgustingly delicious! The live and was fantastic as I could sit still in my seat. Servers were extremely busy but always happy. Ever go for nachos and you always have chips with no toppings for it? That won't happen here. You actually have more toppings than chips! The enchiladas were perfect, steak fajitas were on point. I would say thou, the music is to loud for dinner time as we weren't able to communicate at the table since we couldn't hear each other. Happy Morhers day to me😞. I will just imagine the kids said wonderful things to me😎
Check out this place and make a reservation or you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

They did not accept our reservation.
We entered the restaurant and were told the reservation was not accepted through OpenTable
We left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I went there for Cinco de Mayo. I reserved a table with open table for 9:15pm however there was a miscommunication with open table and Yo amo tacos. We didn't get a seat untill 10:30pm of course we opted to wait as I have been here before and had a few people with me who were from out of town and thought the wait would be worth it. Once we sat down the server gave us the menus and said she would be back in 5 mins. We ordered right away I was surprised that the server didn't have a note pad to write down our order I was impressed. To my disappointment we didn't get out food untill 12:30pm 2 hours after we ordered. When she brought our food she got one of our guests order mixed up she said if she were to put the new order now we would have to wait for an u known amount of time since they had a full house . Given we waited 2 hours you can imagine our frustration at this point that was unacceptable maybe if she wrote down the orders there would be no confusion and the chef would have something to refer to -simple. She said "If you saw how busy it was then why did you decide to stay" the fact that we stayed says a lot we put aside the waiting because we thought we would have a good time we believed in the restaurant. Her attitude was the icing on the cake. Needless to say I won't be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

If you are looking for a place with fast service, I would definitely not recommend this place. I've been here a couple of times and I keep going back because the food and venue is great, but their service always lacks, and it's not the servers fault but rather management who is under staffed and does nothing about it. We went on Cinco de Mayo, and being a Mexican restaurant, you would assume a hectic night. We waited 3 hours to get our food (no exaggeration it was crazy). The only thing keeping me there was the bar, so we drank while we waited. When the food came, a lot of my friends had cold tacos. When my friend told the manager about it he said "well if you want to leave, leave". I can't believe that actually happened. So all in all, the food is great the servers are so nice, but management, REALLY could use some work and organization. You would expect after 3 hours of waiting they would feel bad, but nope.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Live Music, Dancing, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Horrible..will never return ... service was awful... no parking...overcrowded I think over capacity...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

sorry but I would not recommend this restaurant to any one I know...have been there a few times and it was the same service. Sat down at 6pm it wasn't until 6:30pm before the waitress came to take our drink orders and then took another half hour to receive them one at a time. Was told we could only sit and dine for 2 hours but it took an hour to get our food order and another 50 mins to receive our food order ,by that time, it took over 2 hours . Ordered drinks and the waitress forgot all about our drink order , so when we asked for our bill it was funny how it came very quickly .... So NO I would not recommend your restaurant to any one I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We wished the dancing was open already! We also loved the live music!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It took us an hour to get our food and when it came it was cold. It looked like they were short staff but no excuses. The food would of been great if it was brought on time and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

For the restaurant not to be so busy, the food & drink orders took quite a while. Worth the wait for the delicious food but a little too lengthy for our liking.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food .. bartender was great she took care of us .. however, they were understaffed .. sat down at 8:30 got our mains at 10:30 .. food was excellent and authentic it's unfortunate that it took so long or else this place would be a 5/5 .. live music and drinks were great it was very reasonably priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food. Way too loud! Couldn't hear yourself. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service wasn't great. Our server barely came around and evet time I tried to call her over she wasn't available. The tacos were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good
I found it a little expensive and wifi was low and difficult to check out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the restaurant was nice. The service was slow. It took a while to get our orders but the waitstaff did check up on us a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant. We know it gets pretty busy at night during the weekend, so we try and get in early before the crowd. It's never too busy and the food comes out super fast. Love the music they play too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Family Style, Live Music, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This place was amazing ! Good atmosphere but the service was a little slow but overall I was really happy with this place and will definitely come back

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I loved it! From the guac, to the menu choices, to the ambience, everything was refreshing and fun!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It 1.5 hours to get our food. My sons drink had alcohol in it. Servers had no idea what they had on the menu. As for the food, liked the taste.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was truly enjoyable . And the cost was just incredible for what we've got. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Unfortunately there was no entertainment which I was looking forward to but there wasn't issue that night. I recommend this restaurant 100%.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bad service. Bad food. Dirty washrooms. The only saving grace was the live music. Would not go there again or recommend yo ampo tacos to anyone for any reason.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2016

we have been to this establishment before but this past Saturday was our worst experience. We were seated at a broken table, the wait staff took forever to take our order. Our drink order was not delivered until we pointed it out. We asked to sit at another table they moved us but advised that we had to be done within the hour because it was reserved for someone else. Our food was delivered to the wrong table. The music was so loud we couldn't carry on a conversation. It was very noticeable that all the tables around us were as frustrated as we are. Its to bad that the wait staff brings this place down because the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Overall fantastic experience! Good was delicious and service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2016

My only complain was the service from our waitress. Although she was friendly and polite she was not attentive. I had to go ask for the hot sauces at the bar because she never checked once on us after she took our orders. Someone else brought our food. We had to ask the waitress serving the table next to us for some water (jalapeños were super spicy lol). The other waitress started checking on us from then on until it was time to pay then the original waitress finally came back to our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very authentic, food was outstanding, numerous beverage options, great service. Overall a very good experience and I will absolutely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for what is a suburban Mexican restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2016

What a pleasant surprise to find this place !
Friendly staff, great food, great drinks! Live music after 8:30pm.
A must try for anyone looking to avoid generic places!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We were surprised to find this Mexican restaurant out of the way in a converted house. Food was delicious and the view is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was great, but the service was absolutely awful. Go here if you want a tasty dish, and don't mind waiting 15 minutes for everything you ask the waitress to do. Oh and if you plan on getting your bill within 30 minutes of finishing your meal, then this is not the place for you. Cool atmosphere though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was my second time at Yo Amo Tacos and I'm not in a hurry to go back. The guacamole is amazing! But the tacos are pretty average. The battered Mahi Mahi tacos were tasty but the short rib, the pork, and the octopus tacos were pretty bland. And both times I've been there, the tacos are soggy so the tortillas fall apart when you eat them. The restaurant has a fun and authentic feel but there are definitely way better mexican restaurants in the GTA that pack more of a punch when it come to their food. And the service was pretty slow too. Cute waitress but not very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place! Frequent customer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2016

When we arrived the gentleman just asked us to be seated but we had a reservation and when I mentioned it, it was like it didn't matter. I've been here before and the food is outstanding. They didn't have the beer I ordered. Our waitress was so nice.

Thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2015

The waitress was a little short with us since we booked a table last minute. She almost turned us away.
Our drinks and apps order was taken first, but not 5 mins later she was back asking for our full order (a repeat of drinks and apps again) and our dinner.
We got the guacamole and chips. The guac was a little plain, but not too bad. Our food came out like 2 minutes after the apps. But still no drinks. The drinks arrived shortly after the food.
I got a strawberry daiquiri, which was really good. I also got the pork tacos, which were pretty good, but not the best. My husband got the chicken pollo and was pretty disappointed. The chicken tasted funny and the whole taco was plain. We ended up splitting mine and left the chicken to the side.
No one asked how the food was (especially not after seeing the chicken tacos left over, didn't even ask if we wanted to take it away, so I think they know its bad) and the area we were in had to be cleared out for a big party of 25 at 8pm (it was just after 7pm and they were already moving people).
All in all... I probably wouldn't go back. It would have been nice to find a good taco place in my area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2015

The Tostados apps were fab as well as the drinks...I had a Strawberry Margarita! Had HIGH hopes for the main course...disappointed in portion size of tacos especially for the price; lack of flavor and texture of corn tortillas left alot to be desired. My husband ordered fajitas which were much more tasty and appropriately portioned for the price. Dessert was churros with chocolate sauce. Delicious! Coffee was nothing to write home about. Out waitress was nice, the place was busy for its small size and service was slowwww. But we didn't complain as it was date night with another couple. Had to ask for refills on drinks. And long wait for food. Would I go back again? Probably not. $180 plus tips for 4 ppl!!! On with my search to find a Mexican Food Lovers Dream restaurant. :)

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Everything was just okay, definitely not the best Mexican food I've ever eaten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2015

Great and original ambiance. Indoor and outdoor dining. Entertainment is great. Décor is fun.
Great comfort food. Perfect for a casual and relaxed night with the family or fun and energetic night with a large group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2015

Delicious food! The tacos and tostadas were amazing! Really enjoyed the short ribs, flank steak, and chorizo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2015

We made our second visit in just over a month. The first trip everything was excellent, service, food, all of it. This visit however was lacking.
We were informed by our server that the management and the chef had changed. Sometimes that is a good thing but not in this case. The service level dropped dramatically, most of the evening the 6 servers were all standing at the bar talking and laughing, not serving tables.
The appetizers were good for taste but the quantity of chips given with the guacamole was laughable.
The main courses were still outstanding. No complaints at all.
Dessert was horrible. The churros which are supposed to be light and fluffy inside were heavy, doughy, over cooked on the outside and undercooked on the inside. When we complained the waitress agreed with us but informed us that she was told by the chef that is how they are supposed to be cooked.
We are very disappointed and may not return. We had told many people to try this restaurant and are now considering telling them all to not try it.

Overall very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 27, 2015

If you are looking for good Mexican food I suggest you turn around and go to Taco Bell because at least there you get your monies worth. The food was cold and really had no flavour. We ordered the calamari and they were boring. My husband and I both ordered the 4 tacos and the fish one was cold and gross and such a small piece of fish. It wasn't even battered more like frozen fish sticks. I had corn tortillas and traditional they are served with 2 per taco so this way they don;t fall apart. Well not this place 1 corn tortilla per taco and needless to say it fell apart and was just a complete mess. The service needs work I made reservations through open table and I got a call from the restaurant earlier in the day to confirm i was still coming and I said yes. I later got another call while sitting in the restaurant for 30min asking if I was still coming. I said I'm sitting here by the window. It's too bad that this place isn't good because it was close to my home and i was excited oh well. Oh and good luck finding parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.