About Yo Amo Tacos

Tasty Dishes, Delicious Cocktails

Enjoy Mexican Euro Fusion comfort food

7034 Islington Ave
Woodbridge, ON L4L 1V8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Wednesday 12pm-10pm
Thursday 12pm-2am
Friday-Saturday 12pm-2am
Sunday 12pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Islington Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 266-2135

Website:
http://www.yoamotacos.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Yo Amo Tacos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

- pricey for the portion sizes
- we were charged for a birthday dessert, not classy
- VERY disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Was my bday. Didn't end up getting the table that I was told was reserved for me and my party. Waitresses too busy setting up and seating people that I almost couldn't get their attention to order a drink. Music is too loud, can't talk to people at your table. Too many flies flying around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was very good, and great ambiance but music was very very loud it was difficult to have a conversation with the person next to you

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Absolutely never going back here. The service was horrendous, taking over an hour for our meal to come while tables who arrived after us got their food. The food was sub par and cold when it arrived. When we asked for the bill, the waitress brought it over and did not return to process payment for half an hour. Very disappointing experience, was hoping for a great taco place in the area but it seems as if you have to go downtown to get quality Mexican food. Would not recommend this place to anyone for any occassion. The bill was incredibly high for such poor quality food and service. Terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Music is too loud for early dining crank it up after 9:30: food is always fresh and with great flavour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic enchiladas. Save room for the strudel. It is fresh made every day and incredible.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food is always great. Service was horrible as I had a drink fell on the table and glass broke and ended up on me! My husband order his mojito 3 times until he got one. Music was insanely loud and couldn't even have a conversation with my friends. Everyone, was competing in having their conversations heard from one table to another. I told them to lower the music a bit, considering it was 7:30pm. People want to eat great food, catch up with friends and later enjoy the loud Latin vibe.
For this reason, I wouldn't go back. Low down the music between 7-9pm. Next time, we will go somewhere we can hear each other, while we eat.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was disgustingly delicious! The live and was fantastic as I could sit still in my seat. Servers were extremely busy but always happy. Ever go for nachos and you always have chips with no toppings for it? That won't happen here. You actually have more toppings than chips! The enchiladas were perfect, steak fajitas were on point. I would say thou, the music is to loud for dinner time as we weren't able to communicate at the table since we couldn't hear each other. Happy Morhers day to me😞. I will just imagine the kids said wonderful things to me😎
Check out this place and make a reservation or you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

They did not accept our reservation.
We entered the restaurant and were told the reservation was not accepted through OpenTable
We left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I went there for Cinco de Mayo. I reserved a table with open table for 9:15pm however there was a miscommunication with open table and Yo amo tacos. We didn't get a seat untill 10:30pm of course we opted to wait as I have been here before and had a few people with me who were from out of town and thought the wait would be worth it. Once we sat down the server gave us the menus and said she would be back in 5 mins. We ordered right away I was surprised that the server didn't have a note pad to write down our order I was impressed. To my disappointment we didn't get out food untill 12:30pm 2 hours after we ordered. When she brought our food she got one of our guests order mixed up she said if she were to put the new order now we would have to wait for an u known amount of time since they had a full house . Given we waited 2 hours you can imagine our frustration at this point that was unacceptable maybe if she wrote down the orders there would be no confusion and the chef would have something to refer to -simple. She said "If you saw how busy it was then why did you decide to stay" the fact that we stayed says a lot we put aside the waiting because we thought we would have a good time we believed in the restaurant. Her attitude was the icing on the cake. Needless to say I won't be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

If you are looking for a place with fast service, I would definitely not recommend this place. I've been here a couple of times and I keep going back because the food and venue is great, but their service always lacks, and it's not the servers fault but rather management who is under staffed and does nothing about it. We went on Cinco de Mayo, and being a Mexican restaurant, you would assume a hectic night. We waited 3 hours to get our food (no exaggeration it was crazy). The only thing keeping me there was the bar, so we drank while we waited. When the food came, a lot of my friends had cold tacos. When my friend told the manager about it he said "well if you want to leave, leave". I can't believe that actually happened. So all in all, the food is great the servers are so nice, but management, REALLY could use some work and organization. You would expect after 3 hours of waiting they would feel bad, but nope.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Horrible..will never return ... service was awful... no parking...overcrowded I think over capacity...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

sorry but I would not recommend this restaurant to any one I know...have been there a few times and it was the same service. Sat down at 6pm it wasn't until 6:30pm before the waitress came to take our drink orders and then took another half hour to receive them one at a time. Was told we could only sit and dine for 2 hours but it took an hour to get our food order and another 50 mins to receive our food order ,by that time, it took over 2 hours . Ordered drinks and the waitress forgot all about our drink order , so when we asked for our bill it was funny how it came very quickly .... So NO I would not recommend your restaurant to any one I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We wished the dancing was open already! We also loved the live music!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It took us an hour to get our food and when it came it was cold. It looked like they were short staff but no excuses. The food would of been great if it was brought on time and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

For the restaurant not to be so busy, the food & drink orders took quite a while. Worth the wait for the delicious food but a little too lengthy for our liking.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food .. bartender was great she took care of us .. however, they were understaffed .. sat down at 8:30 got our mains at 10:30 .. food was excellent and authentic it's unfortunate that it took so long or else this place would be a 5/5 .. live music and drinks were great it was very reasonably priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food. Way too loud! Couldn't hear yourself. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service wasn't great. Our server barely came around and evet time I tried to call her over she wasn't available. The tacos were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good
I found it a little expensive and wifi was low and difficult to check out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant. We know it gets pretty busy at night during the weekend, so we try and get in early before the crowd. It's never too busy and the food comes out super fast. Love the music they play too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Live Music, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the restaurant was nice. The service was slow. It took a while to get our orders but the waitstaff did check up on us a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This place was amazing ! Good atmosphere but the service was a little slow but overall I was really happy with this place and will definitely come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I loved it! From the guac, to the menu choices, to the ambience, everything was refreshing and fun!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

It 1.5 hours to get our food. My sons drink had alcohol in it. Servers had no idea what they had on the menu. As for the food, liked the taste.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was truly enjoyable . And the cost was just incredible for what we've got. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Unfortunately there was no entertainment which I was looking forward to but there wasn't issue that night. I recommend this restaurant 100%.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Bad service. Bad food. Dirty washrooms. The only saving grace was the live music. Would not go there again or recommend yo ampo tacos to anyone for any reason.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2016

we have been to this establishment before but this past Saturday was our worst experience. We were seated at a broken table, the wait staff took forever to take our order. Our drink order was not delivered until we pointed it out. We asked to sit at another table they moved us but advised that we had to be done within the hour because it was reserved for someone else. Our food was delivered to the wrong table. The music was so loud we couldn't carry on a conversation. It was very noticeable that all the tables around us were as frustrated as we are. Its to bad that the wait staff brings this place down because the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Overall fantastic experience! Good was delicious and service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2016

My only complain was the service from our waitress. Although she was friendly and polite she was not attentive. I had to go ask for the hot sauces at the bar because she never checked once on us after she took our orders. Someone else brought our food. We had to ask the waitress serving the table next to us for some water (jalapeños were super spicy lol). The other waitress started checking on us from then on until it was time to pay then the original waitress finally came back to our table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very authentic, food was outstanding, numerous beverage options, great service. Overall a very good experience and I will absolutely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for what is a suburban Mexican restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2016

What a pleasant surprise to find this place !
Friendly staff, great food, great drinks! Live music after 8:30pm.
A must try for anyone looking to avoid generic places!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We were surprised to find this Mexican restaurant out of the way in a converted house. Food was delicious and the view is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was great, but the service was absolutely awful. Go here if you want a tasty dish, and don't mind waiting 15 minutes for everything you ask the waitress to do. Oh and if you plan on getting your bill within 30 minutes of finishing your meal, then this is not the place for you. Cool atmosphere though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2016

This was my second time at Yo Amo Tacos and I'm not in a hurry to go back. The guacamole is amazing! But the tacos are pretty average. The battered Mahi Mahi tacos were tasty but the short rib, the pork, and the octopus tacos were pretty bland. And both times I've been there, the tacos are soggy so the tortillas fall apart when you eat them. The restaurant has a fun and authentic feel but there are definitely way better mexican restaurants in the GTA that pack more of a punch when it come to their food. And the service was pretty slow too. Cute waitress but not very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Love this place! Frequent customer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.