About Yesterday's Food & Spirits

12594 Adams Rd
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Yesterday's of Granger sits in one of the third oldest homes in St Joseph County, featuring a unique dining atmosphere like no other.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
near Princess Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 272-7017

Website:
http://www.yesterdays-granger.com/

Entertainment:
Outside entertainment is featured twice a week during the summer months on our outdoor patio, weather permitting. The music style is vocal with acoustic guitar.

Catering:
Catering is available only through direct communication with the management of Yesterday's.

Parking Details:
No valet, self parking.

Public Transit:
No public transportion is available in Granger at this time.

Executive Chef:
Evonne and Bill Corbett

Private Party Facilities:
We have smaller, private dining rooms that can accommodate parties in size from twelve to thirty five, available either on the main floor, or upstairs. Please keep in mind, this is an old farm house, with a farm house floor plan.

Private Party Contact:
Evonne Corbett: 5742727017

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Yesterday's Food & Spirits, Granger, IN
Yesterday's Food & Spirits, Granger, IN

Yesterday's Food & Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Bend
Best Food
South Bend
Best Service
South Bend
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Bend
Best Value
South Bend
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in Granger ›

Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terri was a great server. Very friendly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Terri was a great server. Very friendly and attentive. Great experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only complaint we could have was tha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The only complaint we could have was that (probably because we came the time of our reservation, 5:30, but perhaps early for the wait staff) we were seated after a 5-min. wait, then no one came to take a drink order until we spoke to the bar tender who came to our rescue.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waitress struggled to get us our dri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waitress struggled to get us our drinks and service was subpar. Food good not great. Nice salad. Pricey for this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We walked in and we walked out. The men ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We walked in and we walked out. The menu was not the same as what was online at the time of the reservation and was considerably higher. I was told that the new cheaper menu starts on Monday. (After the Notre Dame fans leave). We spent an hour trying to get to Yesterdays because of the good reviews and were disappointed we were deliberately mislead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The food and atmosphere were great as al ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food and atmosphere were great as always. The desserts never cease to amaze.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Let's see ..where do I begin. I made th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Let's see ..where do I begin. I made the reservation for 5:00pm. We promptly arrived at 5, we were seated at 5:20 with the waiter saying there was some confusion as to where we were to be seated because they had a large party coming in. At this point the restaurant was empty. We got our menus and asked the waiter right away that we were here for their famous burgers but we didn't see burgers on the menu. He tells us since it is a ND football weekend they do not serve burgers. Ummm...ok? Why? So, no burgers for us. A menu full of fish and steak. I do not eat either. I order prime rib. It was fine. My husband asks for a dessert menu. There isn't one we are told and the waiter says he will describe all desserts when we are ready. So, there is 15 minutes of my life I will never get back. He describes in full detail at least 15 different desserts. Ok, so, we get up to leave and imagine our surprise when the large party next to us is being served BURGERS!!!!! What??? I was really quite surprised and since I was with my 15 year old daughter I couldn't voice my displeasure right there because she gave me the evil eye. I am not really sure what that was all about. All in all the food was good, dessert was very good. Service not so much. I asked my waiter for a straw and he told me they didn't give straws out, but he would get me one. Well, he never did, another waitress got me one without question. It turned out to be a very expensive meal, when really all we wanted were burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Awesome! Great personnel.. helpful. anx ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Awesome! Great personnel.. helpful. anxious to please.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for after dinner drinks and dessert ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for after dinner drinks and dessert. Sat in the bar. Had to leave after listening to the most annoying cracking laughter coming from the bar tender! Couldn't take it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Asked a friend about a good place to hav ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Asked a friend about a good place to have dinner. She told me about Yesterday's, what a phenomenal place! We had a great time, great food and great service. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not miss this local gem! The food is ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Do not miss this local gem! The food is creative, hearty and delicious! Fantastic ambiance and service is impeccable! And then there is dessert..all homemade and beyond description here! Ask to see the daily offerings presented on a gorgeous platter..you have never seen or tasted anything so incredible! !Can't wait to go back for the coconut prawns, best salad I have ever had..and KEY LIME PIE..freshly made by Carol! Don't delay ..try out Yesterday's!❤

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit area every 6 months and this is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We visit area every 6 months and this is a must stop while we are here.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Woefully understaffed. Waited 20 minute ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Woefully understaffed. Waited 20 minutes to be served at the bar; incredibly slow service after we ordered. Likely our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Typing this review is physically painful ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Typing this review is physically painful for me. Since the 90's, when I was a student and my parents and friends parents would take us to Yesterday's, I have touted this place above all others in the area. My wife and I brought our 1 month old (back in 2003) here for our first "post-kid" dinner. We come into town for games and bring the kids and, over the last 5 years, there has been a steady decline in quality. Last Friday night was the last straw and, unfortunately, we will not be returning to Yesterday's.

We had reservations for 10. Since OpenTable only takes reservations up to 8, I made a reservation for 8 and called to add. It took me 3 calls to get someone who could increase our number from 8-10. We arrived and the marathon was on. First, our 1st 2 choices of wines were unavailable. Certainly not a big deal.

Went on to order and had decent apps. We were at 1 hour of dine time to that point.

Finally, we put our orders in for dinner and received our entrees. Out of the 4 adult entrees, only 1 was edible. I had the ahi tuna that was cooked more like a burger than ahi. Must have been a sub-par piece of tuna to get cooked to that degree. The bagged fish was soggy. The most tasty part of our dinners was the squash. We were all quite disappointed at the first 2 hours of our meal, but it was time for dessert...their specialty. Ordered the pumpkin cheesecake, like I have countless times before. It tasted metallic, with fake flavoring. Not in the same ballpark of our previous slices of the fall dessert from years past.

We were finally there for a total of 3 hours. The kids were restless, though polite. We finally left after dropping hundreds of dollars. Barely 1/2 of the food was edible and that fell on deaf ears.

So, after all of this, we won't be back. It saddens me, but i was so EMBARRASSED taking friends to this former local treasure. Needs a restaurant makeover, at this point. Every expectation was not met.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We loved our birthday celebration dinner ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We loved our birthday celebration dinner at Yesterdays. The food was excellent, the service prompt and fun/energetic!! and the desserts!!! Wow!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for dinner on a Frid ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had reservations for dinner on a Friday evening for my birthday. When we were finally seated our waitress approached our table. She was not friendly. We were given menus that were like an insert to a real menu. The menu offered half of the items they normally serve. I had looked at the menu online prior to making reservations. Now let's talk about the prices....The prices were jacked up on the few items that were on the menu. I was told by the waitress that this is because it is a "game weekend" and this is just how it is. Wow. This should be known on Yesterday's website. It is ridiculous that this restaurant does this just for Notre Dame game weekends. Not everyone is an ND lover. Needless to say we left and went somewhere else. Great choice as our dinner was wonderful and our waitress was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We went to celebrate 4 birthdays and di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We went to celebrate 4 birthdays and discoveredthis very fun place with excellent food! We donned fun hats at the end with dessert and took photos! Our lovely waitress laughed and laughed infectiously - with a munchkin's titter!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evonne and Bill Corbett have a first cla ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Evonne and Bill Corbett have a first class restaurant that has the best food in the area. The menu has excellent variety, the food is always fantastic, and the homemade desserts are the best I have ever experienced anywhere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The salmon was mealy and dry. But the de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The salmon was mealy and dry. But the dessert was wonderful and huge. You can actually share the dessert with 2 or 3 other people.

Our waitress was very sweet and pleasant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great and they were very kid fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was great and they were very kid friendly. We are going to make this a regular stop for every Notre Dane game that we attend in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service has really fallen over the y ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service has really fallen over the years. We used to feel special coming here, not anymore. The drinks and desserts are great and the ambiance but that is it. I will choose Cafe Navarre any day for a special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

This is a great restaurant in an histori ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is a great restaurant in an historic house. Our waiter who also happened to be the bartender was outstanding. The food was great but way too much so we all had doggie bags. I would highly recommend it and can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite In Michiana. Friendly, rel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favorite In Michiana. Friendly, relaxed and delicious. Where we go to show out of Towners a good time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for years when we are in town. This past weekend was a terrible experience and we will never return. We made our reservations several weeks in advance to enable us to take friends to dinner. We arrived on time and waited nearly 20 minutes while management rudely discussed where to seat us. We were finally sent upstairs to a small attic room. It was quiet; but obviously not set up for diners. We had to continually ask for standard items that generally are on a dining table; salt, pepper, sugar, water. The paper "special menu" was overpriced and consisted of mostly seafood items; and not any of our favorite dishes. The waitress was friendly but not experienced. She told us that she "doesn't usually work here but was called in by a friend to help out since it was a busy night". Since she continuously had to come back upstairs, we rarely saw her. When our garlic appetizer arrived, she spilled the buttery garlic dish on the blouse of our guest. She apologized and told her she should soak her top in lemon to get rid of the stain and odor. No mention of perhaps taking the item off the bill since most of it was wasted. When I ordered a piece of coconut pie for dessert, she commented it would take 15-20 minutes since they were busy downstairs. After 25 minutes I told her I no longer wanted the pie and asked for our bill. The waitress said that "it is going to take awhile for someone downstairs to redo your bill and remove the dessert; we have a large group from the Notre Dame softball team and we are busy trying to get their desserts first. " She was right, we waited an additional 20 minutes for our bill. We apologized to our guests for a disappointing three hour dining experience. We have since read other reviews of this restaurant and it appears the quality of food and service has diminished. Upon entering the restaurant, it was obvious to see that restaurant management was so indifferent to longstanding customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Food is always outstanding but be prepar ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is always outstanding but be prepared to wait a long time for all of your courses. There were only 6 of us and dinner took over 3 hours. The deserts are worth the wait.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, excellent desserts, good ser ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food, excellent desserts, good service. We had an wonderful evening celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was amazing!!!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Atmosphere was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, we had the best waitress ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service, we had the best waitress and all the food was excellent like the prime rib, the burgers and french onion soup. We will definitely return to try other dishes

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to go when visiting Notre Da ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place to go when visiting Notre Dame - couple of miles down Rt 23. Very good food and deserts are spectacular.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The music was so loud, we couldn't talk. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The music was so loud, we couldn't talk. The food was overpriced-some entrees $40, yet oilcloth tablecloths covered with glass were used. For their prices, I would expect a nicer table setting. My salmon was dry.

We couldn't wait to get out of there. For $80, we thought we wasted our money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Was known it was r 55th wedding annivers ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Was known it was r 55th wedding anniversary: felt it could have been recognized in one way or another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was very good and the food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was very good and the food was excellent as always. We had eaten too much for the fabulous desserts so ordered one to go. My son enjoyed his mid-night snack. The owners are always present checking to make sure their guests are being served well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great !! Dinner was really good, our ser ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great !! Dinner was really good, our server was new and a compete delight !!!! And the DESSERTS - ohhhhh my goodness!!! Take one home ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We only had dessert and one drink but we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We only had dessert and one drink but were there for well over two hours. So if you're not in a hurry, it's great. Don't go if you need to be somewhere. From the time we said we'd like to order desserts, to actually seeing the selections, it was about 40 minutes. They may have been short staffed because the servers did seem very friendly and knowledgeable. It felt a little bit like we were neglected since we weren't ordering full meals, as another, bigger group was seated near us AFTER us, and they ate dinner and paid their check before we got dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Dining in the bar is very loud. Food is ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dining in the bar is very loud. Food is overpriced.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always excellant! I invited a friend wh ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always excellant! I invited a friend who had never been to Yesterdays and I told her it's a place where you feel away from all the stress of the day and can relax! After our dinner together she couldn't agree more and can't wait to bring back her friends and family now! Our server (Tyler) was on point with eveything. He made the overall experience five stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here for years:) Thi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have been dining here for years:) This is our special occasion favorite!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud and small tables, had a large ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very loud and small tables, had a large party and we were pretty smashed together. The restaurant was uncomfortably hot. It is definitely a little pricey, would recommend only for a special occasion or splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

I love going to Yesterday's. The food i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I love going to Yesterday's. The food is always good and the desserts are out of this world.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing and I can't say eno ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing and I can't say enough about the desserts! The portions were large and you could easily share them. We went for our anniversary and everyone was so nice! We will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, the desert is AMAZING!. F ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food is great, the desert is AMAZING!. Food portions are very generous especially the deserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.