About Yesterday's Food & Spirits

12594 Adams Rd
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Yesterday's of Granger sits in one of the third oldest homes in St Joseph County, featuring a unique dining atmosphere like no other.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
near Princess Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 272-7017

Website:
http://www.yesterdays-granger.com/

Entertainment:
Outside entertainment is featured twice a week during the summer months on our outdoor patio, weather permitting. The music style is vocal with acoustic guitar.

Catering:
Catering is available only through direct communication with the management of Yesterday's.

Parking Details:
No valet, self parking.

Public Transit:
No public transportion is available in Granger at this time.

Executive Chef:
Evonne and Bill Corbett

Private Party Facilities:
We have smaller, private dining rooms that can accommodate parties in size from twelve to thirty five, available either on the main floor, or upstairs. Please keep in mind, this is an old farm house, with a farm house floor plan.

Private Party Contact:
Evonne Corbett: 5742727017

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Yesterday's Food & Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Indiana
Best Overall
South Bend
Best Food
South Bend
4 More
Best Service
South Bend
Best Ambiance
South Bend
Best Value
South Bend
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in Granger ›

special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (19)
fit for foodies (18)
See All
romantic (18)
good for groups (15)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food as always, and even bet ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food as always, and even better service. Never pass on dessert!

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Yesterday's is always one of our favorit ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Yesterday's is always one of our favorite places to go, but this was not a great experience. My steak was undercooked and came back from the kitchen very chewy with a cinnamon taste. Likely had been thrown in a skillet and was dried out. The service is normally exceptional, but was mediocre at best. Disappointed, but we will go back and I'm sure next time the experience will be better.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great desserts

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful desserts with generous portions! Perfect for sharing with a friend, or taking home for a treat the next day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been there twice

Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to this place twice in one week. Yes it a little pricey but it worth it when you want to have a get together with your family. My kids love the desserts, the New York New York.....oh my goodness! Hubby and I love the juicyness of this meat. Will come back soon hopefully within a month or so! Been telling people at work about this place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Very good and relaxing place to have din ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Very good and relaxing place to have dinner.Steak was over cooked and vegetables under cook.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

4 hour dinner...terrible service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Awful service! We didn't get our drinks until after an hour and did not get food until another hour after that. Everything was ridiculously slow! Manager said that it was our fault for not saying something. We asked for our order to be taken and the waitress did not come back for 20 minutes to do it. She was so incredibly inefficient. The manager was rude and did not even attempt to apologize for the horrible service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had an awesome dinner! Took two friends who had never eaten there before and they immediately made plans to return on Mother's Day! When you leave Yesterday's - you know your money was well spent. Can't recommend it any higher!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have dined here several times and it's always top quality in all areas. All appetizers are great but the desserts are a "must have" even if you have to take it home (which we do)! Higher priced but worth every cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pricey, but great.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great, local restaurant. A little pricey, but you get a lot of food. The side salad is huge and delicious. Desserts were great! The main entrees were also very delicious. If the prices were a little less, we would be back more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was awesome, the food was ev ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was awesome, the food was even better!! Their desserts are UNBELIEVABLE!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a very good dinner. Great desert. Al ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Was a very good dinner. Great desert. All pricey but knew it was. Great service

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Local Find!

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended by a local contact. Took friends to dinner and had a great time. Great hospitality, ambiance, and of course, food! Definitely will be coming back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Desserts EVER!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere, and an amazing assortment of desserts. I highly recommend the Very Moist Chocolate Cake, Key Lime Pie or the Fruit of the Forrest Pie. I understand all of the cheesecakes are delicious too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Valentine

Dined on February 14, 2016

The roasted garlic appetizer was wonderful and large (4 giant garlic bulbs!). Husband had the King Neptune, steak with seafood and I had the Godfather filet with sauteed mushrooms - both very tender and delicious! For desert we shared a piece of Turtle Cheesecake - YUMMY!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

DISAPPOINTED

Dined on February 14, 2016

my wife and I hadn't been to Yesterday's in 20 years. we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary on Valentine's Day and this is where she wanted to go. reservations were very easy to make, we were greeted kindly and our server was wonderful. my wife ordered the filet, med.well. it was butterflied so it would be done to her liking. it was very good. I ordered the 16oz. prime rib, done med. rare. I can now see why such a heavy duty knife was provided. the meat was grissely and I had to use the knife like a saw to cut it, even if it was a piece that didn't have grissel in it. I said something to our server. she said she could would get me a different piece. I chose not to accept. this piece should not have been served in the first place. we did order desert. it was excellent!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Even thought we had reservations, we wer ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Even thought we had reservations, we were told to wait and waited in excess of thirty minutes. It was clear after a number of parties had been seated that we had been forgotten. When we were given a table, it was near the door and very drafty as well as in a room with a large,loud party. We didn't see any wait staff after we had been seated for quiet some time. That being said, the food was good, and they were very busy. We live nearby and have frequented Yesterday's before. But, we'll not frequent again on a holiday weekend.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointing service

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food and deserts are some of the very best in Northern Indiana. Service was subpar. Plan on a long evening if dining in as our meal for two took over two hours from start to finish..

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day tradition for us.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Using Open Table made it easy to book our reservation. Yesterdays is a wonderful restaurant for special occasions or anytime you want to impress someone. The ambiance is very pleasing and relaxing. The service is very professional and pleasant. Dinner was amazing! We ordered the Hey Walleye crusted in pecan with a hazelnut sauce and the Godfather 10 oz fillet steak wrapped in bacon cooked to perfection Medium rare. Last but not least is the Peanut butter Cheesecake which is to die for delicious. We WILL return to Yesterdays!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

fun girls' night

Dined on February 6, 2016

Had a really nice girls' night. Employees were fun and energetic and it was a good time. Desserts are fantastic and so is the presentation. Can't go wrong with anything on their amazing platter of choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy the eclectic atmosphere and ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Always enjoy the eclectic atmosphere and great deserts. Bar room with fireplace is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pricey food, slower than normal service

Dined on January 16, 2016

I enjoyed our time with friends. The food was kind of unusual for my tastes and the waitress was nice but always behind on things...

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for dinner on NYE and had to wait 2 ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went for dinner on NYE and had to wait 20 minutes even after having a reservation. Took two and a half hours to get our food, and the staff was almost no where to be found when we needed another drink or anything else. We came for the dessert, but could not order because it was close to the countdown for New Years!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Very disappointing

Dined on December 31, 2015

We were looking forward to a nice New Years Eve dinner. We started with a beer for me and my wife had a glass of house wine.($8.50 a little pricey). We then had our salads which were tasty, but the croutons were as hard as a rock. My wife ordered the Plum Chicken. The chicken was tasty, but stringy, and tough. I had the filet which wasn't done enough, and my potatoes were cold, but I didn't want to complain since my wife sent her chicken back to the kitchen. The waitress did bring her a new meal, but since I was done with mine she asked the waitress to box it up. My wife did order a dessert, which was excellent. Overall, for the price, ($102.00 with tip) we were quite disappointed. Even though the waiters was busy she gave excellent service.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

New Year's Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

Expected New Year's Eve to be crowded and it was Service was great Waitress who I think was one of the owner's was awesome Food was usual outstanding Wish I could try the desserts but diabetic Our favorite place for special times

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

After many great meals, a real dud

Dined on December 29, 2015

Went to Yesterday's expecting another exquisite dining experience but from the outset, it was surprisingly and annoyingly bad. The brie was always something to savor .... but not this evening. The brie appetizer arrived and looked appealing but one slice into the pastry coating and the cheese, which did not taste like brie, ran all over the plate like a cheese soup including tiny lumps. It was exceedingly salty as well. As mentioned, it did not taste like brie and not sure if that was because it was heated to liquification, oversalted or was another cheese entirely. The waitress was informed of the problem after we ate less than a quarter and she offered to replace it. We declined as we thought more of the same was not a good option. I did think she'd take it off the bill; when the evening ended, she did not remove the charge. Onion soup was ordered as a starter and it too was oversalty. I informed server. I am a person who eats many salty things and I'm not on a reduced salt diet so this was not a matter of being sensitive to salt. The brie and onion soup had way too much salt. Ordered dessert at end of evening and specifically requested NO whipped cream on both desserts. They always put too much on and it goes to waste as I just scrape it off. Both desserts arrived with the large portion of whipped cream. None was eaten. I realize the mounds of freshly made whipped cream are part of their cachet but when not requested, it should be left off. Left at end of evening (after paying for uneaten brie which should have been deducted) with a very unsatisfactory feeling and musing about "what just happened?" Looked forward to the meal and have had many very nice experiences there in the past but this even was off the charts poor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Dined on December 10, 2015

We were a party of 8 and treated like we were family. From the host that sat us to Terri our Waitress. Nothing but great food, service great atmosphere. Samantha the bar tender was a peach as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Attention

Dined on December 4, 2015

We were celebrating a big event and the staff made us feel very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place

Dined on November 28, 2015

Yesterday's is our favorite place to go for special occasions. Food is always good and the desserts are incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous evening

Dined on November 19, 2015

We went to celebrate a birthday. Our service was outstanding, and the food was even better. The AWESOME dessert choices were the highlight of the evening!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

Poor Service

Dined on November 14, 2015

We had a party of 10 for a double birthday party. We were not seated until 30 minutes past our scheduled time, which isn't the real problem. It took forever to get anything from water to bread to our food. One member of our group received his steak that was well done instead of medium rare. He didn't even get his meal until after we were all done. One chicken dinner was almost uneatable due to the level of heat. I really love the venue and normally have loved the food. I was definitely disappointed in this evening and since we were celebrating birthdays it made it worse. The service was sooooooo slow. We were supposed to have 2 servers and that didn't happen either.

food3
ambience4
service3

I made a reservation and yet we were stu ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

I made a reservation and yet we were stuck by ourselves upstairs. The waitress and hostess were very short with us and the music was loud. It was turned down after we asked. The food was good and dessert was excellent but I have eaten here many times and I never know if it will be a good experience or not. I also didn't like that because it was a home ND game they had a "special" menu that was much more expensive.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great food experience!

Dined on November 7, 2015

This is one of our favorites but we always save it for special occasions. My mother was coming into town, and we have raved about this place enough over the past 9 years, I made reservations. Our server was wonderful, food was outstanding, and let's be honest, no one comes to Yesterday's without getting dessert, and of course it was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Experience

Dined on October 28, 2015

We had a business dinner at Yesterday's and it was a great experience. The drinks were good, waitstaff was simply outstanding. Found out she was the owners Mom at the end of the evening. Food was great. Our group had fresh fish and steak all good. Baked garlic was memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Hidden Gem

Dined on October 21, 2015

Wonderful out of the way spot. Food was good and servings were large enough to share. Our server Terri was the bes. She was very knowledgeable not only on the food but also local on history.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Details

Dined on October 17, 2015

Their attention to detail has slipped. It seems they want to get "fine dining" pricing but the details of service, presentation, and environment are not up to standards. I realize the name is "Yesterdays" but the interior needs to be spruced-up. The nut encrusted fish was not good and the prime rib was just OK. The dessert tray has always been a favorite. I asked for my dessert to be put into a "take home" box and it appeared it was plopped into the box upside down. Its all the little things that make a good restaurant a great one. I still like the restaurant but I hope they are not living on their past success and this was just an off night.

food5
ambience4
service5

Very good high end food.

Dined on October 17, 2015

A very cosy and homey place (it is, after all, in a former house). The food is great and they are known for their desserts. If I could I'd go here once a week - it is that good. But, it is not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun place to go with friends

Dined on October 10, 2015

This truly is a gem to visit. Our favorite reason to visit, whether on a date between the two of us or with friends, is their desserts. Fabulous and wonderfully made. The presentation is fun and no matter how many times you have been, it can still be a difficult decision because they are so good. Now their supper menu is good, but I would describe it as mildly limited if you own a picky pallet (I do not have a picky pallet, so the menu is fine by me). Their appetizers are well crafted, presented well and very tasty. If you have never been, seating is tight on a Friday or Saturday evening - some would consider this part of their charm. Very relaxing atmosphere and staff are conversational as well as helpful in knowing what Yesterday's has to offer. The owners always appear to be there and we like seeing them. All-in-all, the Yesterday's experience is one we keep going back to because they treat you right and serve you well. You matter to them.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service3

Over Priced and Cold Food

Dined on October 8, 2015

We were one of three groups in the entire restaurant. Both of our couples ordered appetizers and each couple split the (2) 5 oz. filet medallion meal. When our waitress brought us our meals they were cold. We sent them back to be reheated. When they brought them back one of our group's medallions, which was supposed to be medium rare, was well done. She sent it back and told them not to bother with another. She was given a free dessert but it didn't make up for the nightmare of a meal. I bought a round of drinks, the appetizer and the 5 oz. filet medallions meal. My bill came to $118. We were entertaining guests from Charlotte, NC (in for the ND game) and were very embarrassed by our choice of restaurants.

food2
ambience4
service1

Extremely slow, overpriced, & terrible service!

Dined on September 17, 2015

We went there with 2 kids (plus 4 adults). You would expect them to be somewhat faster, but we waited for drinks, had to ask for bread because we were so hungry, orders were wrong and I had to remind the waitress several times to bring things we'd asked for. Drinks took almost 20 minutes to come and one turned out to not even have alcohol in it (she brought cranberry juice without the vodka which we found out once we got the bill). Reservations were at 5:45 because of the kids, and we didn't get home until almost 8pm (we live 1.5 miles from the restaurant). We even had to ask several times for the bill because the kids were getting antsy. The food is ok. Not bad by any means, but nothing special. The cheesecake is outstanding though. For the dinner, we spent over $200. In my opinion, not worth the money. However, the building and patio are very cute and it's a nice atmosphere for a date or relaxing with friends. Even though the service was slow and not very good, the staff was still extremely nice. I'd go back for drinks and dessert, but that's it. And definitely wouldn't bring kids because it takes too long.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun atmosphere

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

Planned this reservation for guests that were in from Texas for the ND-TX game. Great, fun atmosphere-TONS OF FOOD! The only thing I will note was there was some confusion on the wine list or which wine list to use. Unfortunately, we struck out on the first 2 we went to order. The third bottle we ordered by default, I thought, was overpriced and we bought 6 bottles of this wine at $100/bottle, when the Caymus or Heitz we wanted wasn't much more-I was just disappointed with this aspect of dinner. Desserts were out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.