About Yesterday's Food & Spirits

12594 Adams Rd
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Yesterday's of Granger sits in one of the third oldest homes in St Joseph County, featuring a unique dining atmosphere like no other.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
near Princess Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 272-7017

Website:
http://www.yesterdays-granger.com/

Entertainment:
Outside entertainment is featured twice a week during the summer months on our outdoor patio, weather permitting. The music style is vocal with acoustic guitar.

Catering:
Catering is available only through direct communication with the management of Yesterday's.

Parking Details:
No valet, self parking.

Public Transit:
No public transportion is available in Granger at this time.

Executive Chef:
Evonne and Bill Corbett

Private Party Facilities:
We have smaller, private dining rooms that can accommodate parties in size from twelve to thirty five, available either on the main floor, or upstairs. Please keep in mind, this is an old farm house, with a farm house floor plan.

Private Party Contact:
Evonne Corbett: 5742727017

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Yesterday's Food & Spirits
Yesterday's Food & Spirits

Yesterday's Food & Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Indiana
Best Overall
South Bend
Best Food
South Bend
3 More
Best Service
South Bend
Best Ambiance
South Bend
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in Granger ›

special occasion (29)
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (17)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (10)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing and I can't say eno ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing and I can't say enough about the desserts! The portions were large and you could easily share them. We went for our anniversary and everyone was so nice! We will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, the desert is AMAZING!. F ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food is great, the desert is AMAZING!. Food portions are very generous especially the deserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

service was excellent food hot and more ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

service was excellent food hot and more than I could consume but the steak was not trimmed and the connecting tissue was hard to cut through thus making it tough

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Dessert was expensive but worth it. Our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dessert was expensive but worth it. Our table was forgotten and it took 45 minutes to order cheesecake and water, and another 20 minutes to receive it. Will try going again when it's not a busy Friday night.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food. Love sitting on the outdoor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Love sitting on the outdoor patio during the summer. Very romantic.

Service is outstanding. Everyone works together. Roger is top-notch!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very personal and special experience. F ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very personal and special experience. Food is very unique and different than any mainstream fare or ethnic cuisine and worth the visit. Desserts are fabulous, nothing else like it in the US. Servers never rush, it's a great place for a long pleasant evening

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food at Yesterday's. We tr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We loved the food at Yesterday's. We tried a steak and a fish and they were both excellent. However the cheesecake.....simply scrumptious!! The food is a little pricey for just a weeknight out, but perfect to celebrate special occasions. The decor is eclectic, so don't be surprised if you are sitting next to a coconut head in the tiki room.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are a family of 6, and we were out ce ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We are a family of 6, and we were out celebrating our daughter's 9th birthday. It was a wonderful experience! The adult menu is great--and the portions huge! The children's menu was simple to allow the children to understand it, but the quality and portion size far exceeded expectations! Our children were delighted! The staff sang to our daughter and made her feel like a princess the entire meal. We loved our dinner and especially our desserts. Congratulations on a meal well-prepared and well-served! Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and the desserts a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was excellent and the desserts are amazing.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Outstanding food and service. Good for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Good for Open Table to find this gem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoy the atmosphere and love the foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

we enjoy the atmosphere and love the food.

It's a great place.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Online reservation

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Loved the online reservation option - received an immediate confirming email plus another one the day of our dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food as always, and even bet ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food as always, and even better service. Never pass on dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yesterday's is always one of our favorit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Yesterday's is always one of our favorite places to go, but this was not a great experience. My steak was undercooked and came back from the kitchen very chewy with a cinnamon taste. Likely had been thrown in a skillet and was dried out. The service is normally exceptional, but was mediocre at best. Disappointed, but we will go back and I'm sure next time the experience will be better.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great desserts

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful desserts with generous portions! Perfect for sharing with a friend, or taking home for a treat the next day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been there twice

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to this place twice in one week. Yes it a little pricey but it worth it when you want to have a get together with your family. My kids love the desserts, the New York New York.....oh my goodness! Hubby and I love the juicyness of this meat. Will come back soon hopefully within a month or so! Been telling people at work about this place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good and relaxing place to have din ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Very good and relaxing place to have dinner.Steak was over cooked and vegetables under cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

4 hour dinner...terrible service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Awful service! We didn't get our drinks until after an hour and did not get food until another hour after that. Everything was ridiculously slow! Manager said that it was our fault for not saying something. We asked for our order to be taken and the waitress did not come back for 20 minutes to do it. She was so incredibly inefficient. The manager was rude and did not even attempt to apologize for the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Amazing Dinner!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had an awesome dinner! Took two friends who had never eaten there before and they immediately made plans to return on Mother's Day! When you leave Yesterday's - you know

your money was well spent. Can't recommend it any higher!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We have dined here several times and it's always top quality in all areas. All appetizers are great but the desserts are a "must have" even if you have to take it home (which we do)! Higher priced but worth every cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, but great.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Great, local restaurant. A little pricey, but you get a lot of food. The side salad is huge and delicious. Desserts were great! The main entrees were also very delicious. If the prices were a little less, we would be back more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was awesome, the food was ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was awesome, the food was even better!!

Their desserts are UNBELIEVABLE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a very good dinner. Great desert. Al ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Was a very good dinner. Great desert. All pricey but knew it was. Great service

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Local Find!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended by a local contact. Took friends to dinner and had a great time. Great hospitality, ambiance, and of course, food! Definitely will be coming back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Desserts EVER!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere, and an amazing assortment of desserts. I highly recommend the Very Moist Chocolate Cake, Key Lime Pie or the Fruit of the Forrest Pie. I understand all of the cheesecakes are delicious too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Special Valentine

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The roasted garlic appetizer was wonderful and large (4 giant garlic bulbs!). Husband had the King Neptune, steak with seafood and I had the Godfather filet with sauteed mushrooms - both very tender and delicious! For desert we shared a piece of Turtle Cheesecake - YUMMY!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DISAPPOINTED

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

my wife and I hadn't been to Yesterday's in 20 years. we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary on Valentine's Day and this is where she wanted to go. reservations were very easy to make, we were greeted kindly and our server was wonderful. my wife ordered the filet, med.well. it was butterflied so it would be done to her liking. it was very good. I ordered the 16oz. prime rib, done med. rare. I can now see why such a heavy duty knife was provided. the meat was grissely and I had to use the knife like a saw to cut it, even if it was a piece that didn't have grissel in it. I said something to our server. she said she could would get me a different piece. I chose not to accept. this piece should not have been served in the first place. we did order desert. it was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Even thought we had reservations, we wer ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Even thought we had reservations, we were told to wait and waited in excess of thirty minutes. It was clear after a number of parties had been seated that we had been forgotten. When we were given a table, it was near the door and very drafty as well as in a room with a large,loud party. We didn't see any wait staff after we had been seated for quiet some time.

That being said, the food was good, and they were very busy. We live nearby and have frequented Yesterday's before. But, we'll not frequent again on a holiday weekend.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food and deserts are some of the very best in Northern Indiana. Service was subpar. Plan on a long evening if dining in as our meal for two took over two hours from start to finish..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Valentines Day tradition for us.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Using Open Table made it easy to book our reservation. Yesterdays is a wonderful restaurant for special occasions or anytime you want to impress someone. The ambiance is very pleasing and relaxing. The service is very professional and pleasant. Dinner was amazing! We ordered the Hey Walleye crusted in pecan with a hazelnut sauce and the Godfather 10 oz fillet steak wrapped in bacon cooked to perfection Medium rare. Last but not least is the Peanut butter Cheesecake which is to die for delicious. We WILL return to Yesterdays!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fun girls' night

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Had a really nice girls' night. Employees were fun and energetic and it was a good time. Desserts are fantastic and so is the presentation. Can't go wrong with anything on their amazing platter of choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy the eclectic atmosphere and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Always enjoy the eclectic atmosphere and great deserts. Bar room with fireplace is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey food, slower than normal service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I enjoyed our time with friends. The food was kind of unusual for my tastes and the waitress was nice but always behind on things...

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for dinner on NYE and had to wait 2 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went for dinner on NYE and had to wait 20 minutes even after having a reservation. Took two and a half hours to get our food, and the staff was almost no where to be found when we needed another drink or anything else. We came for the dessert, but could not order because it was close to the countdown for New Years!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Very disappointing

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We were looking forward to a nice New Years Eve dinner. We started with a beer for me and my wife had a glass of house wine.($8.50 a little pricey). We then had our salads which were tasty, but the croutons were as hard as a rock. My wife ordered the Plum Chicken. The chicken was tasty, but stringy, and tough. I had the filet which wasn't done enough, and my potatoes were cold, but I didn't want to complain since my wife sent her chicken back to the kitchen. The waitress did bring her a new meal, but since I was done with mine she asked the waitress to box it up. My wife did order a dessert, which was excellent. Overall, for the price, ($102.00 with tip) we were quite disappointed. Even though the waiters was busy she gave excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

New Year's Eve

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Expected New Year's Eve to be crowded and it was

Service was great

Waitress who I think was one of the owner's was awesome

Food was usual outstanding

Wish I could try the desserts but diabetic

Our favorite place for special times

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

After many great meals, a real dud

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Went to Yesterday's expecting another exquisite dining experience but from the outset, it was surprisingly and annoyingly bad. The brie was always something to savor .... but not this evening. The brie appetizer arrived and looked appealing but one slice into the pastry coating and the cheese, which did not taste like brie, ran all over the plate like a cheese soup including tiny lumps. It was exceedingly salty as well. As mentioned, it did not taste like brie and not sure if that was because it was heated to liquification, oversalted or was another cheese entirely. The waitress was informed of the problem after we ate less than a quarter and she offered to replace it. We declined as we thought more of the same was not a good option. I did think she'd take it off the bill; when the evening ended, she did not remove the charge. Onion soup was ordered as a starter and it too was oversalty. I informed server. I am a person who eats many salty things and I'm not on a reduced salt diet so this was not a matter of being sensitive to salt. The brie and onion soup had way too much salt.

Ordered dessert at end of evening and specifically requested NO whipped cream on both desserts. They always put too much on and it goes to waste as I just scrape it off. Both desserts arrived with the large portion of whipped cream. None was eaten. I realize the mounds of freshly made whipped cream are part of their cachet but when not requested, it should be left off.

Left at end of evening (after paying for uneaten brie which should have been deducted) with a very unsatisfactory feeling and musing about "what just happened?" Looked forward to the meal and have had many very nice experiences there in the past but this even was off the charts poor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Very warm and welcoming atmosphere.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

We were a party of 8 and treated like we were family. From the host that sat us to Terri our Waitress. Nothing but great food, service great atmosphere. Samantha the bar tender was a peach as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Attention

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

We were celebrating a big event and the staff made us feel very special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Yesterday's is our favorite place to go for special occasions. Food is always good and the desserts are incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.