About Yesterday's Food & Spirits

12594 Adams Rd
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Yesterday's of Granger sits in one of the third oldest homes in St Joseph County, featuring a unique dining atmosphere like no other.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -10:30pm

Cross Street:
near Princess Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 272-7017

Website:
http://www.yesterdays-granger.com/

Entertainment:
Outside entertainment is featured twice a week during the summer months on our outdoor patio, weather permitting. The music style is vocal with acoustic guitar.

Catering:
Catering is available only through direct communication with the management of Yesterday's.

Parking Details:
No valet, self parking.

Public Transit:
No public transportion is available in Granger at this time.

Executive Chef:
Evonne and Bill Corbett

Private Party Facilities:
We have smaller, private dining rooms that can accommodate parties in size from twelve to thirty five, available either on the main floor, or upstairs. Please keep in mind, this is an old farm house, with a farm house floor plan.

Private Party Contact:
Evonne Corbett: 5742727017

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Yesterday's Food & Spirits
Yesterday's Food & Spirits

Yesterday's Food & Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Indiana
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in Granger ›

Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and they were very kid fr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great and they were very kid friendly. We are going to make this a regular stop for every Notre Dane game that we attend in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service has really fallen over the y ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service has really fallen over the years. We used to feel special coming here, not anymore. The drinks and desserts are great and the ambiance but that is it. I will choose Cafe Navarre any day for a special dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

This is a great restaurant in an histori ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is a great restaurant in an historic house. Our waiter who also happened to be the bartender was outstanding. The food was great but way too much so we all had doggie bags. I would highly recommend it and can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite In Michiana. Friendly, rel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favorite In Michiana. Friendly, relaxed and delicious. Where we go to show out of Towners a good time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for years when we are in town. This past weekend was a terrible experience and we will never return. We made our reservations several weeks in advance to enable us to take friends to dinner. We arrived on time and waited nearly 20 minutes while management rudely discussed where to seat us. We were finally sent upstairs to a small attic room. It was quiet; but obviously not set up for diners. We had to continually ask for standard items that generally are on a dining table; salt, pepper, sugar, water. The paper "special menu" was overpriced and consisted of mostly seafood items; and not any of our favorite dishes. The waitress was friendly but not experienced. She told us that she "doesn't usually work here but was called in by a friend to help out since it was a busy night". Since she continuously had to come back upstairs, we rarely saw her. When our garlic appetizer arrived, she spilled the buttery garlic dish on the blouse of our guest. She apologized and told her she should soak her top in lemon to get rid of the stain and odor. No mention of perhaps taking the item off the bill since most of it was wasted. When I ordered a piece of coconut pie for dessert, she commented it would take 15-20 minutes since they were busy downstairs. After 25 minutes I told her I no longer wanted the pie and asked for our bill. The waitress said that "it is going to take awhile for someone downstairs to redo your bill and remove the dessert; we have a large group from the Notre Dame softball team and we are busy trying to get their desserts first. " She was right, we waited an additional 20 minutes for our bill. We apologized to our guests for a disappointing three hour dining experience. We have since read other reviews of this restaurant and it appears the quality of food and service has diminished. Upon entering the restaurant, it was obvious to see that restaurant management was so indifferent to longstanding customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Food is always outstanding but be prepar ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is always outstanding but be prepared to wait a long time for all of your courses. There were only 6 of us and dinner took over 3 hours. The deserts are worth the wait.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, excellent desserts, good ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food, excellent desserts, good service. We had an wonderful evening celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was amazing!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Atmosphere was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, we had the best waitress ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service, we had the best waitress and all the food was excellent like the prime rib, the burgers and french onion soup. We will definitely return to try other dishes

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to go when visiting Notre Da ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place to go when visiting Notre Dame - couple of miles down Rt 23. Very good food and deserts are spectacular.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The music was so loud, we couldn't talk. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The music was so loud, we couldn't talk. The food was overpriced-some entrees $40, yet oilcloth tablecloths covered with glass were used. For their prices, I would expect a nicer table setting. My salmon was dry.

We couldn't wait to get out of there. For $80, we thought we wasted our money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Was known it was r 55th wedding annivers ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Was known it was r 55th wedding anniversary: felt it could have been recognized in one way or another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was very good and the food wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was very good and the food was excellent as always. We had eaten too much for the fabulous desserts so ordered one to go. My son enjoyed his mid-night snack. The owners are always present checking to make sure their guests are being served well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great !! Dinner was really good, our ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great !! Dinner was really good, our server was new and a compete delight !!!! And the DESSERTS - ohhhhh my goodness!!! Take one home ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We only had dessert and one drink but we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We only had dessert and one drink but were there for well over two hours. So if you're not in a hurry, it's great. Don't go if you need to be somewhere. From the time we said we'd like to order desserts, to actually seeing the selections, it was about 40 minutes. They may have been short staffed because the servers did seem very friendly and knowledgeable. It felt a little bit like we were neglected since we weren't ordering full meals, as another, bigger group was seated near us AFTER us, and they ate dinner and paid their check before we got dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Dining in the bar is very loud. Food is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dining in the bar is very loud. Food is overpriced.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always excellant! I invited a friend wh ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always excellant! I invited a friend who had never been to Yesterdays and I told her it's a place where you feel away from all the stress of the day and can relax! After our dinner together she couldn't agree more and can't wait to bring back her friends and family now! Our server (Tyler) was on point with eveything. He made the overall experience five stars!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here for years:) Thi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have been dining here for years:) This is our special occasion favorite!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud and small tables, had a large ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very loud and small tables, had a large party and we were pretty smashed together. The restaurant was uncomfortably hot. It is definitely a little pricey, would recommend only for a special occasion or splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

I love going to Yesterday's. The food i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I love going to Yesterday's. The food is always good and the desserts are out of this world.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing and I can't say eno ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing and I can't say enough about the desserts! The portions were large and you could easily share them. We went for our anniversary and everyone was so nice! We will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, the desert is AMAZING!. F ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food is great, the desert is AMAZING!. Food portions are very generous especially the deserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

service was excellent food hot and more ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

service was excellent food hot and more than I could consume but the steak was not trimmed and the connecting tissue was hard to cut through thus making it tough

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Dessert was expensive but worth it. Our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dessert was expensive but worth it. Our table was forgotten and it took 45 minutes to order cheesecake and water, and another 20 minutes to receive it. Will try going again when it's not a busy Friday night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food. Love sitting on the outdoor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food. Love sitting on the outdoor patio during the summer. Very romantic.

Service is outstanding. Everyone works together. Roger is top-notch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very personal and special experience. F ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very personal and special experience. Food is very unique and different than any mainstream fare or ethnic cuisine and worth the visit. Desserts are fabulous, nothing else like it in the US. Servers never rush, it's a great place for a long pleasant evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food at Yesterday's. We tr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We loved the food at Yesterday's. We tried a steak and a fish and they were both excellent. However the cheesecake.....simply scrumptious!! The food is a little pricey for just a weeknight out, but perfect to celebrate special occasions. The decor is eclectic, so don't be surprised if you are sitting next to a coconut head in the tiki room.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are a family of 6, and we were out ce ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We are a family of 6, and we were out celebrating our daughter's 9th birthday. It was a wonderful experience! The adult menu is great--and the portions huge! The children's menu was simple to allow the children to understand it, but the quality and portion size far exceeded expectations! Our children were delighted! The staff sang to our daughter and made her feel like a princess the entire meal. We loved our dinner and especially our desserts. Congratulations on a meal well-prepared and well-served! Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and the desserts a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was excellent and the desserts are amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Outstanding food and service. Good for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Good for Open Table to find this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoy the atmosphere and love the foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

we enjoy the atmosphere and love the food.

It's a great place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Online reservation

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Loved the online reservation option - received an immediate confirming email plus another one the day of our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding food as always, and even bet ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding food as always, and even better service. Never pass on dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very lovely evening.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yesterday's is always one of our favorit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Yesterday's is always one of our favorite places to go, but this was not a great experience. My steak was undercooked and came back from the kitchen very chewy with a cinnamon taste. Likely had been thrown in a skillet and was dried out. The service is normally exceptional, but was mediocre at best. Disappointed, but we will go back and I'm sure next time the experience will be better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great desserts

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful desserts with generous portions! Perfect for sharing with a friend, or taking home for a treat the next day.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been there twice

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to this place twice in one week. Yes it a little pricey but it worth it when you want to have a get together with your family. My kids love the desserts, the New York New York.....oh my goodness! Hubby and I love the juicyness of this meat. Will come back soon hopefully within a month or so! Been telling people at work about this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good and relaxing place to have din ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Very good and relaxing place to have dinner.Steak was over cooked and vegetables under cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

4 hour dinner...terrible service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Awful service! We didn't get our drinks until after an hour and did not get food until another hour after that. Everything was ridiculously slow! Manager said that it was our fault for not saying something. We asked for our order to be taken and the waitress did not come back for 20 minutes to do it. She was so incredibly inefficient. The manager was rude and did not even attempt to apologize for the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Amazing Dinner!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had an awesome dinner! Took two friends who had never eaten there before and they immediately made plans to return on Mother's Day! When you leave Yesterday's - you know

your money was well spent. Can't recommend it any higher!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.