About Yantar

Ashford Avenue- Astor Condo 1018 1-C
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Awesome place right in the Condado Tourist Area adjacent to the beautiful Condado Lagoon, has a very nice dining area but also a large bar next to windows that offer great views of the lagoon and the city at night. We offer a variety of tapas at the bar. It is a great place to go with friends to have a drink and also have a wonderful dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am - Sunday 1pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
In Front of San Juan Beach Hotel and Vanderbilt Ho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3636

Executive Chef:
Xiomara Marquez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Yantar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Quiet

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Scenic View
Puerto Rico
1 More
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

romantic (12)
fit for foodies (11)
scenic view (11)
See All
special occasion (10)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice view. Romantic atmosphere.

Dined 4 days ago

Nice view. Romantic atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service5

I come to the restaurant every time we w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I come to the restaurant every time we want to celebrate, feel special or crave fresh fish served in a cool ambiance. Excellent service. Delicious appetizers (octopus, tartare and croquettes). My prawns were delicious; my husband's fish was delicately cooked and our friends meat was of very high quality and he enjoyed it thoroughly. Good wine list. All our desserts were pretty spectacular too!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was outstanding!

food2
ambience3
service3

Not sure why this place has such high ra ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Not sure why this place has such high ratings. The food ranged from bad to the low end of mediocre. Nothing was good, not even the drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ince you figure out how to get in its WONDERFUL

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

A little complicated to get in to the restaurant but once you're in it's wonderful. Romantic, great service but most importantly the good was delicious! Was looking for great seafood and we found it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Two Thumbs Up!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Would not recommend for large groups. I had 14 in my party. We sat at two different tables next to each other so they were able to accommodate. We all had a good variety of the entrees and were all excellent. Great atmosphere!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Pleasant Surprise

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Usually if you can get a last minute Saturday night reservation, it's in a place you wouldn't want to eat. So it was a pleasant surprise when my wife and I dined at Yantar 6 hours after arriving in San Juan. The venue was sophisticated and attractive. Our meals were excellent and the service outstanding. While it gradually filled up, the restaurant remained pleasantly subdued. We even had the pleasure of meeting the executive chef, who stopped by our table to introduce herself. All in all, it was an excellent dining experience, one we hope to repeat on our next visit to San Juan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consider the night....

Dined on February 8, 2016

We went on Super Bowl Sunday, so the place (as most fine dining establishments) were empty. There were two other parties when we arrived and we were the only ones there when we left. As a result, I can't comment on the ambiance other to say that it is a beautiful setting and when full is likely a lively and inviting atmosphere. Service was great - considering we were the only customers; but food was served rapidly - not my preference. Food was notable, good to very good, but again a bit rushed. I would definately go back and would like to experience it in all of its glory. It seems like it would attract more of a business dinner clientele, we were vacationers. None the less, a very viable option for more upscale dining in the Condado area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was excellant Very pricey but the b ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Food was excellant Very pricey but the best meal I had in PR. Employees very attentive. NIcely decorated View ok As long as you dont look down into the parking lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We did the tasting menu and the food was amazing!

Dined on January 23, 2016

We just got off a Windstar cruise and this food blew them out of the water. We did the tasting menu and every single item was so delicious and creative. The executive chef came out and introduced herself. The maitre treated us to after dinner drinks. We live in NJ and our flight got canceled so having this was our last meal in PR so it made it so special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quite a good Spanish restuarant in San Juan

Dined on January 13, 2016

I invited a couple of friends, and we had a great time there. Good food, very good service and nice ambient overall. I would certainly repeat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Yantar is Bad

Dined on January 6, 2016

My wife and I dined at Yantar on January 6, 2016. We found the experience less than desirable. There was no menu posted online for this restaurant, allegedly because it changes so often. The food we ordered, recommended by the waiter, was oversalted. The desert was quite good However, our main complaint was the service. The serving staff liked to stand over in a corner and laugh and cut up. It ruined the atmosphere of the place. Further, the service was slow, as if we were being ignored. In fact, we waited for the check for a good while and finally had to ask for it. This place is way overpriced for what you get. We had great experiences at Oceano and Lemongrass. However, Yantar is not on our recommended list of high quality restaurants.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply Great!

Dined on January 2, 2016

Very help and attentive staff coupled with excellent food! The waiter was very knowledgable about his wine and the executive chef took some time to stop and greet us at the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Beware!

Dined on December 30, 2015

Not impressed for the price. And BEWARE, they try to up-sell you on items and check your bill carefully for extra charges and for things you didn't even order. Felt a bit like used car salesmen were working us over :-(

food5
ambience4
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A littl ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A little pricy for PR. We were very impressed that the waiters wore suits. A very nice touch.

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

A very disappointing experience

Dined on December 28, 2015

The table service was poor. We had to call a waiter over for the menu, the bread, to take our order, to ask why it was taking more the 50 minutes to prepare and deliver the entree and final for the check. The grilled vegetables were over cooked and saturated in oil. A very disappointing experience in a supposedly fine restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Expensive

Dined on December 24, 2015

Chose this restaurant as it was in the top 5 on tripadvisor. Expected a good view based on some reviews, but in reality it was on the second floor at the back of a building, view was of the dumpster and carpark on the first floor, and beyond that, residential buildings across a "canal". Food was expensive, but quality was not bad. The salmon was good. Mango gazpacho was pretty but tasted so-so. Overall, I would say it was not value-for-money, you can do better at other restaurants nearby.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2

Service is important

Dined on December 12, 2015

Upon arriving I was impressed that the place had valet. When we advised the valet we were there gorgeous the restaurant he advised my husband "You can get out now." At first I assumed it was the limited English language but I realize I may have been wrong. The location and scenery truly breathtaking. Once we were seated I reviewed the menu send looking for a sweet wine I found a moscato d'asti that was $49 a bottle. Which I oredered for myself and 2 others with my party. The waiter then went to the manager who then came to our table. The manager then advised that there was no more. At this point, I just shook my head knowing that was not familiar with any of the other wines and that it may take a moment for 3 people to agree again. My friend told the manager that I was saddened by his news. He then turned and looked at me and stated " We are done with this. It is dinner not dessert. You will have a dinner wine that is it". I was surprised and was not looking for someone to chastise my drink of choice at dinner. It seemed to also be a problem when we (a party of 6) asked for 2 tickets. I would have expected better service from a place of this caliber. I do not recommend it for tourists looking for customer sevice.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, great service, excellent food.

Dined on December 12, 2015

The service and quality of food and wine are among the best in Condado.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food with a Spanish accent

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

had read about this restaurant and decided to gove it a try......very interesting layout with a waterview......food was very good and the service was very professional and friendly. The waiter was very helpful in explaining the menu.....reservations are recommended....was a very nice dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service1

The service was horrible. The gentleman ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

The service was horrible. The gentleman at the door was extremely rude.

food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for Celebrating

Dined on October 23, 2015

We just got married and were celebrating at Yantar. The food was excellent and the staff was very attentive and thoughtful. When they found out we just got married they brought a dessert out after dinner that said Just Married and the chef came out herself to congratulate us! We would definitely come back---the best meal we had during our stay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Fantastic view of the lagoon, beautiful ...

Dined on October 22, 2015

Fantastic view of the lagoon, beautiful restaurant, great device, nice wine selection. Great place to celebrate a special occasion or for a date. Overall food was good. As an FYI that have affordable valet parking; a much better deal than parking in the lot next door.

food4
ambience3
service5

Very nice restaurant and on top of it we ...

Dined on September 28, 2015

Very nice restaurant and on top of it we had entire restaurant for ourselves. Food was very good, we had Dover Sole and Codfish and for starter excellent grilled octopus. Service was outstanding but we were the only table in the restaurant for entire evening, little strange but we liked it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxing evening

Dined on September 26, 2015

IT was the best place to take my wife for her birthday. Everyone was quite polite, very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious and good for the price. They wrote Happy Birthday on her dessert plate. Only thing is that on no alcoholic drinks they were limited to sodas and juices. No virgin piña coladas nor frappe.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food but what was outstanding ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Excellent food but what was outstanding was the service;

food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant, great service

Dined on September 18, 2015

We had a table right on the water overlooking the skyline. The food was good, and the service was excellent! They surprised us with dessert to celebrate our anniversary :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

great food

Dined on September 16, 2015

We when there for my husband birthday and they made it special. They took the time to see to our every need very attentive to what we wanted we go to Puerto Rico every year and will be back next year

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the Best Restaurants in town

Dined on June 21, 2015

Always a great dining experience. Ambiance is always perfect with the amazing lagoon view

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Evening

Dined on May 28, 2015

The service was impeccable as well as the food. The main chef came out to greet us with smile. The food was superb where distinct flavors delighting your taste buds in every dish!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was outstanding.the duck pât ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

The service was outstanding.the duck pâté was sublime. Great dinner overall.

food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers were outstanding very cre ...

Dined on April 30, 2015

The appetizers were outstanding very creative and tasty Oysters super fresh The Chef Xiomara went beyond the menu to accommodate our preferences 5 stars on everything

food4
ambience5
service5

Attention to detail!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2015

While visiting Puerto Rico, we happened on Yantar for dinner. We tried many appetizers and each was perfectly presented and absolutely delicious ! We were lucky to be there on an evening when it was fairly quiet -our servers and waitstaff were fast, efficient and unobtrusive. They were very helpful to alter menu items to suit vegetarian preferences. The warm mango soup was a delight and the presentation- magical! We were very pleased with our dining experience - nothing was overlooked. I am unable to give a perfect five star food review because the Langostines ordered for an entrée were unfortunately overcooked and rubbery. Don't let that discourage you though, everything else made up for it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had an amazing time. D ...

Dined on April 18, 2015

My husband and I had an amazing time. Delicious food, great service and beautiful view. We could not think of a better way spending our last night in Puerto Rico.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

MAGICAL NIGHT

Dined on April 8, 2015

WE CHOOSE THIS PLACE TO CELEBRATE MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND ITS COULDN'T BE BETTER!!!! THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING....THE WINE SPECTACULAR.....THE DESSERTS A DELICIOUS TEMPTATION AND AS A COMPLEMENT, A SPEEDY AND PERSONALIZED MAGIC SHOW AT YOUR TABLE THAT DEFINITIVELY MADE THIS FAMILIAR CELEBRATION UNFORGETTABLE!!! THANKS FOR CHEF XIOMARA FOR ALL HER ATTENTIONS AND TO OUR FAVORITE WAITER -CAPI-.....THE BEST ON THE TOWN!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience

vip
Dined on March 29, 2015

Went to Yantar for dinner with a couple of friends and had a great experience. Great authentic food, good presentation and portions. The octopus is AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Not worth it

Dined on March 27, 2015

The food is mediocre. The croquettes are tasteless. We ordered two fish dishes. One was mediocre (my husband's, and I don't remember what he ordered), and the one that I ordered with piquillo pepper sauce was good. The chocolate cake was dried. The service is ok. I do not say bad, because the waiter tried very hard. However, the order was taken by the captain, as well as the wine order. He did not show any special care in describing and helping with the menu, and we waited quite a bit for the wine. The captain was too busy talking with the owner and going around the place. If the service is centralized in one person, it is hard to have good service. In addition, the owner was just walking around the restaurant doing nothing while many tables were needing help.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant

vip
Dined on March 25, 2015

This was our second time at yantar - and it was excellent. We celebrated our daughter's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

The place was beautiful so was the view. ...

Dined on March 22, 2015

The place was beautiful so was the view. The crabcakes where good but I didn't think there was too much of a selection on the menu.

food3
ambience1
service1

Disappointing

Dined on March 14, 2015

My friends and I went based on the positive reviews we read. We were seated at a table where the light was so dim, we had difficulty reading the menu. We asked to be moved, and despite the fact that the restaurant was still nearly empty, they staff would not accommodate us. (To put this in perspective, the table to or right had to light their menu with their phones, and the one to or left asked to have the options read to them by the staff.) Most of the good was decent, but my friend's entree was extremely bland, and the fish fillet had bones. We also had to ask for more bread twice. None of this would be a deal breaker at a lower price restaurant. BUT, if I'm dropping over a hundred dollars on dinner, I expect the experience to be flawless. During our stay we also dined at Marmalade and at Pikayo, and were extremely pleased with the quality of the food and the service at both.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.