About Yantar

Ashford Avenue- Astor Condo 1018 1-C
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Awesome place right in the Condado Tourist Area adjacent to the beautiful Condado Lagoon, has a very nice dining area but also a large bar next to windows that offer great views of the lagoon and the city at night. We offer a variety of tapas at the bar. It is a great place to go with friends to have a drink and also have a wonderful dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Latin / Spanish, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am - Sunday 1pm-8:30pm

Cross Street:
In Front of San Juan Beach Hotel and Vanderbilt Ho

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3636

Executive Chef:
Xiomara Marquez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Yantar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.0

noise

Energetic

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
See All
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Romantic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was pretty good. I had the shrimp a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was pretty good. I had the shrimp and plantaines. Not much flavor. Friends had other dishes that were somewhat better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I'm visiting Puerto Rico and this place ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

I'm visiting Puerto Rico and this place was gorgeous, the view was beautiful and there was a nice bar scene... the food was great, they had a really nice tasting menu, which I ordered and loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took WAY too long for service and it was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Took WAY too long for service and it wasn't busy. Food was fine but not awesome and the mouse was melted ice cream. The bartender was attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was all wonderful and visually ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food was all wonderful and visually stunning. Try the conch. You'll be sorry when it's gone. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, attentive service. Hold the ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food, attentive service. Hold the salt! The mushrooms on top of the veal chop were so salty that they were inedible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is very cold, lacks ambiance. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This place is very cold, lacks ambiance. The bar scene is nice though. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

My husband and I dined at Yantar on our ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I dined at Yantar on our last night of vacation in Condado. We had dined at Yantar a few years before and looked forward to being able to do so again. The service from the moment we walked in was exceptional. Everyone is very friendly and nice. We were fortunate to be seated next to the window facing the lagoon, it was beautiful. Our main server was Carlos and he was extremely kind and promptly took care of our needs. The food was excellent and prepared perfectly. My husband had the homemade chocolate ice cream for dessert and he said it was the best dessert he had all week. That is a huge compliment as he enjoyed the food everywhere that we ate. We visit Condado a few times a year and we will be sure to come back to Yantar on our next trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! My wife and I went for ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great experience!

My wife and I went for our anniversary and it really surpass our expectations. Starting with their friendly and awesome staff to the quality of the food, Yantar is a complete dining experience!!! Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and the food was great ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent service and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time here. Had the tasting menu wi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2016

First time here. Had the tasting menu with wine. Best meal in San Juan so far. Beautiful place inside once you get by the ugliness along the walkway!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice view. Romantic atmosphere.

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice view. Romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I come to the restaurant every time we w ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 13, 2016

I come to the restaurant every time we want to celebrate, feel special or crave fresh fish served in a cool ambiance. Excellent service. Delicious appetizers (octopus, tartare and croquettes). My prawns were delicious; my husband's fish was delicately cooked and our friends meat was of very high quality and he enjoyed it thoroughly. Good wine list. All our desserts were pretty spectacular too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not sure why this place has such high ra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Not sure why this place has such high ratings. The food ranged from bad to the low end of mediocre. Nothing was good, not even the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ince you figure out how to get in its WONDERFUL

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 13, 2016

A little complicated to get in to the restaurant but once you're in it's wonderful. Romantic, great service but most importantly the good was delicious! Was looking for great seafood and we found it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two Thumbs Up!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Would not recommend for large groups. I had 14 in my party. We sat at two different tables next to each other so they were able to accommodate. We all had a good variety of the entrees and were all excellent. Great atmosphere!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A Pleasant Surprise

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Usually if you can get a last minute Saturday night reservation, it's in a place you wouldn't want to eat. So it was a pleasant surprise when my wife and I dined at Yantar 6 hours after arriving in San Juan. The venue was sophisticated and attractive. Our meals were excellent and the service outstanding. While it gradually filled up, the restaurant remained pleasantly subdued. We even had the pleasure of meeting the executive chef, who stopped by our table to introduce herself. All in all, it was an excellent dining experience, one we hope to repeat on our next visit to San Juan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consider the night....

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2016

We went on Super Bowl Sunday, so the place (as most fine dining establishments) were empty. There were two other parties when we arrived and we were the only ones there when we left. As a result, I can't comment on the ambiance other to say that it is a beautiful setting and when full is likely a lively and inviting atmosphere.

Service was great - considering we were the only customers; but food was served rapidly - not my preference.

Food was notable, good to very good, but again a bit rushed.

I would definately go back and would like to experience it in all of its glory. It seems like it would attract more of a business dinner clientele, we were vacationers. None the less, a very viable option for more upscale dining in the Condado area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellant Very pricey but the b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2016

Food was excellant Very pricey but the best meal I had in PR. Employees very attentive. NIcely decorated View ok As long as you dont look down into the parking lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We did the tasting menu and the food was amazing!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2016

We just got off a Windstar cruise and this food blew them out of the water. We did the tasting menu and every single item was so delicious and creative. The executive chef came out and introduced herself. The maitre treated us to after dinner drinks. We live in NJ and our flight got canceled so having this was our last meal in PR so it made it so special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Quite a good Spanish restuarant in San Juan

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 13, 2016

I invited a couple of friends, and we had a great time there. Good food, very good service and nice ambient overall. I would certainly repeat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Yantar is Bad

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2016

My wife and I dined at Yantar on January 6, 2016. We found the experience less than desirable. There was no menu posted online for this restaurant, allegedly because it changes so often. The food we ordered, recommended by the waiter, was oversalted. The desert was quite good However, our main complaint was the service. The serving staff liked to stand over in a corner and laugh and cut up. It ruined the atmosphere of the place. Further, the service was slow, as if we were being ignored. In fact, we waited for the check for a good while and finally had to ask for it. This place is way overpriced for what you get. We had great experiences at Oceano and Lemongrass. However, Yantar is not on our recommended list of high quality restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Simply Great!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Very help and attentive staff coupled with excellent food! The waiter was very knowledgable about his wine and the executive chef took some time to stop and greet us at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beware!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Not impressed for the price. And BEWARE, they try to up-sell you on items and check your bill carefully for extra charges and for things you didn't even order. Felt a bit like used car salesmen were working us over :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A littl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A little pricy for PR. We were very impressed that the waiters wore suits. A very nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A very disappointing experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2015

The table service was poor. We had to call a waiter over for the menu, the bread, to take our order, to ask why it was taking more the 50 minutes to prepare and deliver the entree and final for the check.

The grilled vegetables were over cooked and saturated in oil.

A very disappointing experience in a supposedly fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Expensive

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Chose this restaurant as it was in the top 5 on tripadvisor. Expected a good view based on some reviews, but in reality it was on the second floor at the back of a building, view was of the dumpster and carpark on the first floor, and beyond that, residential buildings across a "canal". Food was expensive, but quality was not bad. The salmon was good. Mango gazpacho was pretty but tasted so-so. Overall, I would say it was not value-for-money, you can do better at other restaurants nearby.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Service is important

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Upon arriving I was impressed that the place had valet. When we advised the valet we were there gorgeous the restaurant he advised my husband "You can get out now." At first I assumed it was the limited English language but I realize I may have been wrong. The location and scenery truly breathtaking. Once we were seated I reviewed the menu send looking for a sweet wine I found a moscato d'asti that was $49 a bottle. Which I oredered for myself and 2 others with my party. The waiter then went to the manager who then came to our table. The manager then advised that there was no more. At this point, I just shook my head knowing that was not familiar with any of the other wines and that it may take a moment for 3 people to agree again. My friend told the manager that I was saddened by his news. He then turned and looked at me and stated " We are done with this. It is dinner not dessert. You will have a dinner wine that is it". I was surprised and was not looking for someone to chastise my drink of choice at dinner. It seemed to also be a problem when we (a party of 6) asked for 2 tickets. I would have expected better service from a place of this caliber. I do not recommend it for tourists looking for customer sevice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Beautiful view, great service, excellent food.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2015

The service and quality of food and wine are among the best in Condado.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food with a Spanish accent

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2015

had read about this restaurant and decided to gove it a try......very interesting layout with a waterview......food was very good and the service was very professional and friendly. The waiter was very helpful in explaining the menu.....reservations are recommended....was a very nice dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was horrible. The gentleman ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2015

The service was horrible. The gentleman at the door was extremely rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Mi Sra, mi invitado y yo muy complacidos ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Mi Sra, mi invitado y yo muy complacidos con los aperitivos y menu fijo. Casi cerramos el establecimiento.

El postre en el menu fijo lo pueden eliminar o mejorarlo notablemente. Lastima

Antonio Dajer

Tags: joya del vecindario, vista panorámica
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect for Celebrating

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2015

We just got married and were celebrating at Yantar. The food was excellent and the staff was very attentive and thoughtful. When they found out we just got married they brought a dessert out after dinner that said Just Married and the chef came out herself to congratulate us! We would definitely come back---the best meal we had during our stay.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic view of the lagoon, beautiful ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Fantastic view of the lagoon, beautiful restaurant, great device, nice wine selection. Great place to celebrate a special occasion or for a date. Overall food was good. As an FYI that have affordable valet parking; a much better deal than parking in the lot next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant and on top of it we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2015

Very nice restaurant and on top of it we had entire restaurant for ourselves. Food was very good, we had Dover Sole and Codfish and for starter excellent grilled octopus. Service was outstanding but we were the only table in the restaurant for entire evening, little strange but we liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Relaxing evening

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2015

IT was the best place to take my wife for her birthday. Everyone was quite polite, very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious and good for the price. They wrote Happy Birthday on her dessert plate. Only thing is that on no alcoholic drinks they were limited to sodas and juices. No virgin piña coladas nor frappe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food but what was outstanding ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Excellent food but what was outstanding was the service;

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful restaurant, great service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2015

We had a table right on the water overlooking the skyline. The food was good, and the service was excellent! They surprised us with dessert to celebrate our anniversary :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great food

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 16, 2015

We when there for my husband birthday and they made it special. They took the time to see to our every need very attentive to what we wanted we go to Puerto Rico every year and will be back next year

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impresionante

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 6, 2015

Somos de Barcelona y pasamos dos semanas en Puerto Rico. Para una noche especial encontramoa este restaurante y por las reviews decidimos reservar. No nos imaginavamos el lujo de restaurante que encontrariamos. Una vistas magnificas de la laguna. Un servicio atento y esplendido. La comida... Genial! Un 10 en todos los sentidos!

Tags: ideal para el almuerzo, apto para niños, carta de vinos notable, romántico, vista panorámica, ocasión especial
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.