Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Yanagi Bistro

4.4
64 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. A Yanagi Dining Experience
Family owned and operated, the philosophy is to use only the highest grade ingredients and freshest fish we can find. With foundations in traditional Japanese sushi, and contemporary creation, Yanagi specializes in modern yet authentic Japanese cuisine. Please come and experience Yanagi Bistro.

Yanagi Bistro( ya-na-ghi, bis-troh): Eat, Drink, Enjoy

*FOR PARTIES OF 5 OR MORE:
Please call 310.539.2488 to make a reservation for 5 or more people.

*Due to technical issues, our OPENTABLE reservation system may be interrupted.
If you are unable to make a reservation on OpenTable, please call us at 310.539.2488 or
visit us at www.yanagibistro.com to make a reservation.
We are sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you very much.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Hours

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 539-2488
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
CRENSHAW
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine
What 64 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Ownership changed hands and the food does not taste as good. Tempura dipping sauce was way too sweet and chicken was dry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

My grand daughter and I frequent Yanagi Bistro just to relax and enjoy great Sushi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

All our dishes were so fresh tasting. The presentation is wonderful. Service is great and food came quickly. love it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Fresh food and friendly service. Love this place!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was delish! Sushi was creative! Service was excellent. There was a drink guy yakking loudly and excessively for quite some time, but it was nice and quiet once he left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2017

We always enjoy dining here and love the atmosphere. And, of course, the sushi, sashimi, and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2017

Very good food and service. Also, the ice cream was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat and my fave sushi place in the South Bay!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been here many times and have never had a bad dish. Service is outstanding especially if your server is Nobu. Everyone there treats customers like family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place. Love it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

This is my favorite sushi spot in the South Bay. The staff is so efficient and cool. The sushi chefs are amazing and hilarious! There's such a relaxed vibe.

Love the synergy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service as always! I stumbled across this hidden gem and I cannot get enough of it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2016

When my lovely grand daughter is here from CU-Boulder we cannot wait to have dinner at Yanagi Bistro.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

Jason is the best. Go see him at the sushi bar and he will take care of you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food ! Neighborhood gem! This place is always welcoming, friendly and has great sushi.
If you don't want to drive far and want to enjoy good sushi and ambience this is the place to go!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2016

Great lobster roll, tempura soft shell crab and pork buns. Everything is incredibly fresh!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2016

Always great! Hadn't been before during Happy Hour....good choices and prices!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2016

Seems like they are always understaffed with servers, but we know to expect slow and forgetful service by now. It's not so bad that we don't return...we like the food too much and it is a convenient location for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

Sushi was really fresh , buttery melted in my mouth! So good! Thanks for the great dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Sunday night Happy Hour menu. Sushi is always super fresh here and comes out fast!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Have dined here a lot of times. It is one of our favorite places. Fresh sushi, great maki rolls, and other cooked dinners. Service is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 10, 2016

The manage showed he was not happy with us requesting to switch to a booth for the my kids
More than $140, with some sushi and some kids food?!
$22 for toro, but the fish was still frozen with many tender inside the fish, unbelievable at this price
Wasted of money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Always great quality food and outstanding service. One of our favorite places to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2016

The food is always high quality and the service outstanding. Been here many times and have never had a bad experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2016

OMG, my friend took me to the Redondo Beach location back in January, and I loved it. So much that I told my husband we should go there for our Anniversary in April. I called the restaurant to make sure it had the same menu. The Lomita location is much closer to where we live, and it was equally as awesome as the RB location. I think the RB location has a little more ambiance, but the food is equally terrific at both locales. We had an amazing Anniversary dinner and stuffed ourselves nearly blind. We will definitely be coming back next time we are celebrating!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Love the lunch Bento special. A good way to have a taste of many types of dishes. The sashimi is wonderful; so fresh and tasty and the texture is not mushy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was disappointing, if we did stop a server we would not have spoken to one. Chairs at sushi bar are falling apart.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. The staff make you feel like family. Yanagi is one of our favorite places to dine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2016

Went for lunch and ordered a sushi lunch that was reasonably priced. What set the tone of mediocrity for me was that the Wasabi was extremely hard and dry and I practically found myself "chiseling" it with the end of my chopsticks. I can only imagine that it had been prepared and then was sitting out or in a fridge for a very long time. The food quality in general was very average. Not an acceptable level of quality for anyone who is very familiar with Japanese cuisine, and definitely not recommended forJapanese people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner was incredible thanks to the outstanding food and excellent service. Our waitress was kind and helpful when we asked for drink recommendations and was always ready to help us, as were the other employees. After enjoying our meal the whole staff sent us out with a friendly goodbye and left both my girlfriend and me with a great impression. Would definitely recommend this place for everyone!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

We have dined here many times. The staff makes you feel like family and the quality of food along with the service is always outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2016

Great middle priced sushi restaurant that is good for small groups. Friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

The food is authentic and very well prepared; beautiful in fact! I have eaten at Yanagi several times in the past 2 years and enjoyed it each time. The service is outstanding as is the care taken to ensure that guests have what they need. the new configuration, adding booths was a good idea. Talking is possible and guests feel like they can relax and take their time. There is a back room for large parties.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. High quality food and outstanding service. The staff make you feel like family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2015

Had a lovely dinner, food was exceptional and so was the service. Nice contemporary decore very clean great atmosphere. Would definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2015

Outstanding service as always from Richard, Alice, and Nobu. The sushi chefs are always courteous in greeting each customer with excellent food. A must try spot for weekend dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2015

Outstanding food and service. One of our favorite restaurants to go to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2015

Best sushi place in Torrance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2015

Great service & staff very customer focused...
Kim Crawford yes!!! And best baked crab hand rolls ever!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2015

Best sushi In the South Bay

Report
Helpful
1
2