Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Yanagi Bistro

A Yanagi Dining Experience
Family owned and operated, the philosophy is to use only the highest grade ingredients and freshest fish we can find. With foundations in traditional Japanese sushi, and contemporary creation, Yanagi specializes in modern yet authentic Japanese cuisine. Please come and experience Yanagi Bistro.

Yanagi Bistro( ya-na-ghi, bis-troh): Eat, Drink, Enjoy

*FOR PARTIES OF 5 OR MORE:
Please call 310.539.2488 to make a reservation for 5 or more people.

*Due to technical issues, our OPENTABLE reservation system may be interrupted.
If you are unable to make a reservation on OpenTable, please call us at 310.539.2488 or
visit us at www.yanagibistro.com to make a reservation.
We are sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you very much.

2439 Pacific Coast Highway
Torrance, CA 90717
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
CRENSHAW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 539-2488

Website:
http://www.yanagibistro.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Yanagi Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Healthy (6)
See All
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Sports (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very good food and service. Also, the ice cream was great!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat and my fave sushi place in the South Bay!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Family Style, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been here many times and have never had a bad dish. Service is outstanding especially if your server is Nobu. Everyone there treats customers like family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great place. Love it

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is my favorite sushi spot in the South Bay. The staff is so efficient and cool. The sushi chefs are amazing and hilarious! There's such a relaxed vibe.

Love the synergy.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service as always! I stumbled across this hidden gem and I cannot get enough of it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 28, 2016

When my lovely grand daughter is here from CU-Boulder we cannot wait to have dinner at Yanagi Bistro.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Jason is the best. Go see him at the sushi bar and he will take care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food ! Neighborhood gem! This place is always welcoming, friendly and has great sushi.
If you don't want to drive far and want to enjoy good sushi and ambience this is the place to go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great lobster roll, tempura soft shell crab and pork buns. Everything is incredibly fresh!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Always great! Hadn't been before during Happy Hour....good choices and prices!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Seems like they are always understaffed with servers, but we know to expect slow and forgetful service by now. It's not so bad that we don't return...we like the food too much and it is a convenient location for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sushi was really fresh , buttery melted in my mouth! So good! Thanks for the great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Sunday night Happy Hour menu. Sushi is always super fresh here and comes out fast!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Have dined here a lot of times. It is one of our favorite places. Fresh sushi, great maki rolls, and other cooked dinners. Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The manage showed he was not happy with us requesting to switch to a booth for the my kids
More than $140, with some sushi and some kids food?!
$22 for toro, but the fish was still frozen with many tender inside the fish, unbelievable at this price
Wasted of money

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always great quality food and outstanding service. One of our favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is always high quality and the service outstanding. Been here many times and have never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2016

OMG, my friend took me to the Redondo Beach location back in January, and I loved it. So much that I told my husband we should go there for our Anniversary in April. I called the restaurant to make sure it had the same menu. The Lomita location is much closer to where we live, and it was equally as awesome as the RB location. I think the RB location has a little more ambiance, but the food is equally terrific at both locales. We had an amazing Anniversary dinner and stuffed ourselves nearly blind. We will definitely be coming back next time we are celebrating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Love the lunch Bento special. A good way to have a taste of many types of dishes. The sashimi is wonderful; so fresh and tasty and the texture is not mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2016

Service was disappointing, if we did stop a server we would not have spoken to one. Chairs at sushi bar are falling apart.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. The staff make you feel like family. Yanagi is one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Went for lunch and ordered a sushi lunch that was reasonably priced. What set the tone of mediocrity for me was that the Wasabi was extremely hard and dry and I practically found myself "chiseling" it with the end of my chopsticks. I can only imagine that it had been prepared and then was sitting out or in a fridge for a very long time. The food quality in general was very average. Not an acceptable level of quality for anyone who is very familiar with Japanese cuisine, and definitely not recommended forJapanese people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner was incredible thanks to the outstanding food and excellent service. Our waitress was kind and helpful when we asked for drink recommendations and was always ready to help us, as were the other employees. After enjoying our meal the whole staff sent us out with a friendly goodbye and left both my girlfriend and me with a great impression. Would definitely recommend this place for everyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have dined here many times. The staff makes you feel like family and the quality of food along with the service is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great middle priced sushi restaurant that is good for small groups. Friendly staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2016

The food is authentic and very well prepared; beautiful in fact! I have eaten at Yanagi several times in the past 2 years and enjoyed it each time. The service is outstanding as is the care taken to ensure that guests have what they need. the new configuration, adding booths was a good idea. Talking is possible and guests feel like they can relax and take their time. There is a back room for large parties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. High quality food and outstanding service. The staff make you feel like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Had a lovely dinner, food was exceptional and so was the service. Nice contemporary decore very clean great atmosphere. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Outstanding service as always from Richard, Alice, and Nobu. The sushi chefs are always courteous in greeting each customer with excellent food. A must try spot for weekend dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Outstanding food and service. One of our favorite restaurants to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Best sushi place in Torrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2015

Great service & staff very customer focused...
Kim Crawford yes!!! And best baked crab hand rolls ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Best sushi In the South Bay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Yanagi is great for sushi and other Japanese foods, Everyone in our group had delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2015

Amazing sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Our favorite sushi place in Torrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Our server, Nobu gave us excellent service; friendly, courteous, and very timely. Give this employee a raise !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Friday night we brought some friends from New Orleans. Food in that city is legendary. Following dinner they said the sushi and rolls were the best they have ever had. They loved the food and service. This is one of our favorite spots so we are thrilled they enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2015

Jason the sushi chef is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.