About Yanagi Bistro

2439 Pacific Coast Highway
Torrance, CA 90717
View Larger Map

A Yanagi Dining Experience
Family owned and operated, the philosophy is to use only the highest grade ingredients and freshest fish we can find. With foundations in traditional Japanese sushi, and contemporary creation, Yanagi specializes in modern yet authentic Japanese cuisine. Please come and experience Yanagi Bistro.

Yanagi Bistro( ya-na-ghi, bis-troh): Eat, Drink, Enjoy

*FOR PARTIES OF 5 OR MORE:
Please call 310.539.2488 to make a reservation for 5 or more people.

*Due to technical issues, our OPENTABLE reservation system may be interrupted.
If you are unable to make a reservation on OpenTable, please call us at 310.539.2488 or
visit us at www.yanagibistro.com to make a reservation.
We are sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you very much.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
CRENSHAW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 539-2488

Website:
http://www.yanagibistro.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Yanagi Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
49 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great lobster roll, tempura soft shell c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great lobster roll, tempura soft shell crab and pork buns. Everything is incredibly fresh!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great! Hadn't been before during ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Always great! Hadn't been before during Happy Hour....good choices and prices!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seems like they are always understaffed ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Seems like they are always understaffed with servers, but we know to expect slow and forgetful service by now. It's not so bad that we don't return...we like the food too much and it is a convenient location for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Sushi was really fresh , buttery melted ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sushi was really fresh , buttery melted in my mouth! So good! Thanks for the great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday night Happy Hour menu. Sus ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Sunday night Happy Hour menu. Sushi is always super fresh here and comes out fast!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have dined here a lot of times. It is o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Have dined here a lot of times. It is one of our favorite places. Fresh sushi, great maki rolls, and other cooked dinners. Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The manage showed he was not happy with ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The manage showed he was not happy with us requesting to switch to a booth for the my kids

More than $140, with some sushi and some kids food?!

$22 for toro, but the fish was still frozen with many tender inside the fish, unbelievable at this price

Wasted of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Always great quality food and outstandin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always great quality food and outstanding service. One of our favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always high quality and the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is always high quality and the service outstanding. Been here many times and have never had a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OMG, my friend took me to the Redondo Be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2016

OMG, my friend took me to the Redondo Beach location back in January, and I loved it. So much that I told my husband we should go there for our Anniversary in April. I called the restaurant to make sure it had the same menu. The Lomita location is much closer to where we live, and it was equally as awesome as the RB location. I think the RB location has a little more ambiance, but the food is equally terrific at both locales. We had an amazing Anniversary dinner and stuffed ourselves nearly blind. We will definitely be coming back next time we are celebrating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the lunch Bento special. A good way ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Love the lunch Bento special. A good way to have a taste of many types of dishes. The sashimi is wonderful; so fresh and tasty and the texture is not mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was disappointing, if we did sto ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2016

Service was disappointing, if we did stop a server we would not have spoken to one. Chairs at sushi bar are falling apart.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been here maNY times because it is great.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. The staff make you feel like family. Yanagi is one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Too Impressed

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Went for lunch and ordered a sushi lunch that was reasonably priced. What set the tone of mediocrity for me was that the Wasabi was extremely hard and dry and I practically found myself "chiseling" it with the end of my chopsticks. I can only imagine that it had been prepared and then was sitting out or in a fridge for a very long time. The food quality in general was very average. Not an acceptable level of quality for anyone who is very familiar with Japanese cuisine, and definitely not recommended forJapanese people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our Valentine's Day dinner was incredibl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner was incredible thanks to the outstanding food and excellent service. Our waitress was kind and helpful when we asked for drink recommendations and was always ready to help us, as were the other employees. After enjoying our meal the whole staff sent us out with a friendly goodbye and left both my girlfriend and me with a great impression. Would definitely recommend this place for everyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here many times. The staf ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have dined here many times. The staff makes you feel like family and the quality of food along with the service is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great middle priced sushi restaurant that is good for small groups. Friendly staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very good Japanese restaurant.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2016

The food is authentic and very well prepared; beautiful in fact! I have eaten at Yanagi several times in the past 2 years and enjoyed it each time. The service is outstanding as is the care taken to ensure that guests have what they need. the new configuration, adding booths was a good idea. Talking is possible and guests feel like they can relax and take their time. There is a back room for large parties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. High quality food and outstanding service. The staff make you feel like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a lovely dinner, food was exceptiona ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Had a lovely dinner, food was exceptional and so was the service. Nice contemporary decore very clean great atmosphere. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Spot for Dinner!!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Outstanding service as always from Richard, Alice, and Nobu. The sushi chefs are always courteous in greeting each customer with excellent food. A must try spot for weekend dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. One of our ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Outstanding food and service. One of our favorite restaurants to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi place in Torrance.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2015

Best sushi place in Torrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NikNak

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2015

Great service & staff very customer focused...

Kim Crawford yes!!! And best baked crab hand rolls ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi In the South Bay

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Best sushi In the South Bay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Japanese Restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Yanagi is great for sushi and other Japanese foods, Everyone in our group had delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing sushi

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2015

Amazing sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite sushi place in Torrance.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Our favorite sushi place in Torrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food & service.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Friday night we brought some friends from New Orleans. Food in that city is legendary. Following dinner they said the sushi and rolls were the best they have ever had. They loved the food and service. This is one of our favorite spots so we are thrilled they enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot spot for a Friday evening after work !!!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Our server, Nobu gave us excellent service; friendly, courteous, and very timely. Give this employee a raise !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jason the sushi chef is great

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2015

Jason the sushi chef is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent sushi and sashimi. Nothing extrao ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2015

Decent sushi and sashimi. Nothing extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Excellent dining spot, a must try !!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2015

Outstanding service by Richard, Peter, Alice, and Nobu. Always busy and always timely with food and drinks. This is a hot spot for couples to try. The sushi chefs are very creative in presentation and the food matches the great appearance; ambiance is excellent !!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like Japanese food, you have to eat here.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2015

We dine here frequently. They treat you like family and the food is outstanding. Everything is very fresh and they have a wide selection. This time we took another couple for dinner who had never been there before. They loved the food and the service. They couldn't tell us enough times how much they enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good find but needs much improvement

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2015

love the ambiance besides the AC being blasted to high. Comfortable and good lighting. They were a bit frazzled and behind, received sushi before appetizer and had to ask for water glasses repeatedly, was told 10minutes for a roll took about 40, but it happens. Service was still polite. All the food was stellar, some of the best Udon broth I've ever had and quality sushi. Would def. go back for a second chance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Always Outstanding!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2015

We have been here many times and the quality has always been consistent. Food and service is outstanding and they always make you feel like family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is superb, especially the half-half ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2015

Food is superb, especially the half-half sushi. The blackened cod is outstanding, so moist, fresh caught, and exceptionally flavorful. Service is always excellent; servers are friendly. A neighborhood gem with decent prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding Japanese food with an extensive menu.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2015

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have also brought many friends and family here. Extensive menu and a wide selection of wonderful fresh sushi. The staff is very friendly and responsive. I am more of a sushi eater then roll eater. However, when we go here we end up having at least four large rolls. They are they good! Don't miss out on the fresh blue crab roll, it is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of many visits and we will keep coming back.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Read our other reviews on this place. You can't go wrong and the quality never wavers. Food and service are outstanding. We have heard come comments that it is a little pricey. That has to be the $2 a plate folks that go to the rotating sushi bars. Were not knocking them because we have enjoyed many meals at those places. But, the quality and volume of food you get at Yanagi is more then worth what they charge. We believe it is more then worth the price. If we want to impress friends and family who enjoy Asian cuisine we bring them here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local find!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2014

Really glad we found this place! Excellent shushi with great ambiance and price. Definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.