XS Lounge and Grill

3.7
34 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Located in the stunning new Radisson Hotel & Conference at 6620, 36th Street N.E, minutes from the new Calgary International Airport Tunnel, is a unique and chique lounge with a variety of experiences XS Lounge and Grill promises to deliver. Its walls of intricate lighting, glass wine cellar at the entrance, soaring high ceilings and comfortable décor will not make you want to leave.

Here at XS Lounge and Grill we like to keep it simple and fun. We are desirous about our guests. Desirous about our food. Desirous of our service. Whether you’re looking for a place to bring clients for brunch, a romantic rendezvous, a place to unwind for happy hour or a lively hangout, you’ll find the perfect spot at XS Lounge & Grill for any occasion.



Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Tuesday - Friday: 6:00am - 10:30pm

Saturday - Monday: 6:00am - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(587) 350-8427
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Formal Attire
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shibu Thampan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
36th Street and 64 Avenue NE
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Full ground level parking lot surrounding hotel. Access points from North or South of building.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
McKnight C-Train station located 10 minute walk down a well lit path.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 34 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.7
food
3.6
service
3.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 15, 2016

PLEASE SEND ME ON HOW TO SEE MY POINT TOTAL
THANK YOU

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2016

Steak was very good, cooked to exact temperature requested. Service was good. Restaurant was quiet when we first arrived but started filling up quickly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2016

This is the second time me and my partner been to XS lounge and grill. Ou first time was on Valentines day and they had special menu's just for that day, and second was my anniversary, the people are great , the server was very nice, the food was also great! I am definitely planning on coming back and take my mom and her husband the next time..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

I think my husband and I have found a new favorite spot. We both loved it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our second time there & the food did not disappoint. The ribeye steaks were awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Nice and quiet, wonderful servers, delicious lunch

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2016

Lovely little hotel restaurant at Airport hotel/ Varied menu, modern and airy and resonable prices/ Would visit again

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place to sit, relax and enjoy your meal. Not too crowded and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Great meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was just average and was quite expensive. For the price I would recommend to go to a restaurant like the Keg or Milestones instead

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

We went here for the Valentine's Day special and it was great! So much food for such a good price. The filet mingon was delicious, as was the broccoli soup. The only downside was there was almost too much food to properly enjoy, so come with a big appetite.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was way too salty and they ran out of Ribeye..... enough said.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2016

I booked a table for a large group. The staff was very nice, and the food was high quality for a reasonable price. We had no idea there would be an Indian buffet, which was a pleasant surprise, and over half of us chose to have that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2016

Delicious food with great menu selection from steaks to bowls/ pasta/ ribs and awesome selection on wines and drinks. Loved my filet mug in & Loved the lychee martini.

Service is outstanding Jhonna was extremely helpful.
Best restaurant In Nw & Ne Calgary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2015

Loved the food, had the winter special which is a 3 course meal for $38. This special is on till February 2016. We had the prime rib cooked exactly to our liking along with crisp veggies, broccoli, brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes.
The dessert if you have room, was also delicious. I had the tiramisu chocolate cake and my spouse had the lemon tart.
You get a choice of 3 different items for each course.
Our server was very friendly and shy.
Would definitely go back.
Thank-You

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 9, 2015

We found the food below expectation. The Rib Eye steak was dry, Chicken Oscar sauce was not good at all, yet the chicken breast was cook nicely. Disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2015

restaurant was quiet and service was prompt. The food was nothing special but well prepared

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2015

Our server was amazing. One of the most attentive, friendly, knowledgeable and professional servers we have ever had in town. If it weren't for this little ray of sunshine, our dining experience at XS would have been THE WORST we had in town (and we ate at some dingy dives, mind you).
My wife ordered a File Mignon which had traces of canned soup (or sauce), the seafood was over cooked and it was very much overpriced for the size of the portion. I asked for Blue Rare stake and got something which was north of medium well. It is especially awkward given that the menu lists a detailed description of what constitutes each grilling level. At least the server was kind and honest enough to talk to the manager and get us a discount on it.
Both dishes arrived with house veggies which included very little food portions. A single Carrot, a single slice/cube of Zucchini, two slices of Bell Peppers, and three crowns of Broccoli each. Really? that's all we get for a stake dinner that ends in the $30s range!?
I get it that the price is also influenced by the fact they're at a hotel and that, given the distance from any other eatery, many patrons are captured clientele. However, I do not think this is the proper way to go about it. The owners could win big if they improve their kitchen's act and make use of the fact there isn't a single decent restaurant as close to the airport as they are right now.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2015

Good first time experience, server was friendly and service was fast.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2015

The location for us wasn't appealing but shocked that it looked nice when we walked inside.
The food wasn't super awesome but edible nothing really wowed us. My husband order a rib eye, that he liked. I had their spare rib. I really didn't enjoy them, it was fatty
Would I go back there - I doubt it, maybe to try out the Indian lunch buffet
Would I recommend the place - not really

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2015

The happy hour specials were pretty good and our server Samantha was awesome

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We had a very nice dinner my wife and i to your place!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2014

Our reservations were at 6:15, we ordered our food within 20 min. Our food never arrived until just after 8pm, and that was after we asked when was our food going to come. The food was good alittle over priced, but good. The server was great she was always around to get us more drinks. We won't go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2014

had a great evening, loved the service and food standard.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2014

Had a awesome experience, great steaks and loved the butter chicken ( best in town) moreover drink special and service was awesome. Very friendly staff .

The 3 course menu offer was awesome,
I think The best place in NW Calgary. Will be a regular visitor .

Keep up the good work.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 21, 2014

In need of Management real bad
We left to go to another restaurant
Save your money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2014

Had an amazing experience .awesome food complimented by fantastic service . Nice promo on happy hours . Great job . Ell

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2014

We were disappointed in the experience, other Rics grill locations we have been too offer an intimate dining experience with great food. This failed to leave up to our expectations based on that. The restaurant felt industrial and empty and was not clean from the table wear to the floor

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2014

Our experience here was very dissapointing. There was only about 5 tables full in the entire restaurant, yet the server was no where to be found. As if the server wasn't bad enough, the food was a big let down. I specifically said I can not eat any type of pork or bacon, yet when my filet mignon came, it was covered in bacon. When I complained, they just removed the bacon from the edges. The server was rude, unattentive and we would never go back there. Infact, I wasn't even compensated or apoligzed to for my steak. The appetizers and salads were not bad, but each of our entrees tasted awful. Not what I was expecting for a place that calls themself a steakhouse. Save yourself a trip or you will be dissapointed as we were.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2013

The food was good, very well presented, but for the price, I feel I've gotten better value from other restaurants of similar stature.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 16, 2013

On a Monday, two tables for lunch and it took over an hour to get our food. Ric's advertises that they get food to your table within 20 minutes at lunch time. After an hour the managers comes and advises that they have run out of on of the meals orderd so choose another one. Quality of food was very poor too and not good presentation. Beef dip gravy is served in a very small manekin where you can dip one french fry at a time. Poor communication and lack of staff training.. Even if they had written off our bill we will not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2013

The food was excellent. It was my Wife's 50th birthday, and we all had great meals once we found the restaurant. The address listed does not match the location, so we ended up in the middle of a dead end road.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 5, 2013

We wanted to try Rics at the Radisson Calgary airport because we like their menu and food selections. We were not dissapointed here. Our waitress was attentive but she also had a very large party to contend with and we were left out on some of her checks. Our steaks were fabulous and the drinks were very enjoyable !!! I will give Rics another try to see if they can do better with a smaller crowd.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 27, 2013

Overall there was nothing wrong with Ric's Grill, but I wouldn't go back if I had to pay regular price. Even with the travelzoo deal it was a bit steep for what the meal had to offer. There was nothing spectacular about it. I got the rib-eye which is a great cut of steak on its own. What little seasoning that was added didn't really add anything to the overall taste. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and had nice seasoning on them. And the mashed potatoes were good as well, but it wasn't anything spectacular that I couldn't replicate at home for a fraction of the cost. I almost forgot the clam chowder because that was how uninspired it was. When I order a chowder I expect it to be more hearty, not just a running broth with a few scraps.

Report
Helpful