About XO Prime Steaks Pepper Pike

29425 Chagrin Blvd
Pepper Pike, OH 44122
View Larger Map

XO Prime Steaks, the standard for trend setting dining in beautiful Pepper Pike. XO is elevating Steakhouse dining to new heights. We offer stylish and fashionable dining and the only ALL Prime concept in town with incredible juicy steaks and fresh seafood. Cool, sexy and refreshing decor, unlike anything in Cleveland. The place to see and to be seen, with the most happening bar scene. Best place to impress for business or pleasure. Reservations are suggested.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
MON - THURS 5 PM - 11 PM
FRI & SAT 5 PM - 11 PM
HAPPY HOUR 5:00-6:30 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 378-8988

Website:
http://www.xoprimesteaks.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

XO Prime Steaks Pepper Pike Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fireplace (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Certainly, awesome atmosphere and food was great. I would definitely return in the future.Plus, I would like to try crab legs. The wine was amazing .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time here. It did not disappoint! We loved everything from the prompt, fun, and friendly server to the delicious food. Every aspect of this meal was excellent. The ambiance was romantic and cozy, and perfect for a date night or special occasion. The food was some of the best I've had in the Cleveland area. Top notch Bernaise sauce and the potato croquettes were to die for! Can't wait to go back for our next special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were looking forward to first time at XO. We are long time Ruth's Chris fans so always looking for a good steak

Very disappointed in the food. Carpaccio was the best thing all night. French onion soup, steaks, sides of fries, truffle Mac, and onion and mushrooms were little better than banquet food

Steak had to be sent back to cook to temp. Server said oh how about more like medium, yes please that's what I ordered

The dishes were filthy, food stuck to wine glasses and silverware

Maybe kitchen staff is tired

We won't be back. So many more choices in the same area for steak or great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Reservation was at 7:45, didn't get seated until ~8:25. Most people around us were complaining of similar wait times. Took us ~20 minutes to get a drink from the bar. Bartender was busy but totally understaffed and had no rhyme or reason on who she took drink orders from around the bar regardless at how long people were waiting there. Waiter was flighty and kept leaving our table and coming back -- finally got to order after his fourth visit to our table. Food was excellent though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a reservation for 730 and didn't get seated until almost 830. While waiting for our table we sat at the bar, and it took about 10 minutes before the bartender acknowledged us, and another 5 just fir my water and a drink. Then we were told we would get a complimentary app or dessert; we did not (though they comped my husbands drink). Service was poor, and tables sat after us ordered before we did, soup came out with the steak.....horrible birthday dinner experience. Food was pretty good; husband said his steak was perfect and all his food really delicious. Mine was a B. Steak over cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were made to wait for almost 30 minutes beyond the time of our reservation. After finally being seated, we waited another 20 minutes without a single member of the wait staff stopping by to greet us or ask us if we needed anything. I finally went to the check-in and asked for the manager. They sent a waitress over who tried to do everything in her power to make up for the missteps. This is totally unacceptable at any restaurant, let alone one at this price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was excellent!!! Everyone was very nice. Jake was very nice and knowledgeable on the menu.

Valet, coat check,and hostess!!! All very nice and helpful.

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Pricey but delicious! The decor was a bit fancy for our tastes but both the steaks and drinks were delicious. We also enjoyed our desserts. The service was attentive but discrete. Every year we celebrate our son's birthday by taking him out for a steak dinner and this was his favorite meal so far.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server Geri was great! Her recommendations to order the green beans and au gratin potatoes was a very good suggestion. My only complaint was the restaurant was cold and it took away from being able to relax.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've been a number of times and have always been satisfied with the food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always great. Dined at XO many times. Very consistent. Have never had a bad meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The best steakhouse in Cleveland with a cozy, romantic fireplace.

Tags: Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a Beautiful Experience. The Service & the scenery was fantastic 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place for a special date. The tomahawk is the best steak I have ever eaten.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

There seafood tower was very disappointing especially for the price. It is so small and misleading. The ahi tuna dish was excellent though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Restaurant is dead and overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had many choices for NYE reserved, but chose XO, as neither of us have ever been and wanted to try. We may have had high expectations for a $50 steak, but when mine was cooked perfectly, but cold, as were the sides, and my husband's was way overdone, we were disappointed. We really didn't have a chance to tell our server as she didn't come back to our table to check in, so we ate as we waited for the wine we hoped to enjoy with our steak. She was very sweet and offered us wine, coffee, or dessert on the house, but we did not want that. She told us she asked the manager, Zeke, who was "scary" (her words) to come to our table, but he did not. We paid our bill and left. On our way out, I told my husband, to go back in and just tell them about his steak, as we paid, did not want anything, but wanted them to know we were unhappy. Zeke, who said he was not a manager, but the owner, told him he was busy and chose not to stop by our table. It wasn't that busy; Applebee's is busier on a Tuesday night and the manager still stops by the table when everything is fine. SO disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was very delicious, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Celebrating a 93 birthday with a dear friend and mentor so we wanted a special dining experience. XO did not disappoint. The staff made our evening memorable. The food was exceptional. The atmosphere, cutlery, table setting were all at a high level and appropriate for the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and the service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our second time here and while the first experience was terrific, the second time was our last. The sparkling water tasted like it was made with unfiltered tap water and had a heavy chlorine taste.. The filet's came out cold and after sending them back they came back reheated but medium rare was now definitely medium. The seafood dishes were very good. The ice cream for desert was full of crystals and half melted and had to be send back as well. It turned out there was a problen with the freezer. The manager apologized and took the steaks and the desert of the bill. While the ambience at this restaurant is great and it may just have been a "bad-luck" experience there are too many excellent steakhouses around to risk it another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We truly enjoyed our experience at XO. Although I had eaten at the XO in downtown Cleveland, It was John's first time eating there and he enjoyed the food and atmosphere. From the time we walked in the door, the reception from Skylar was friendly and our waiter John was very accommodating. It was a great night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My first time to XO and unfortunately my last. When I first walked I was impressed with the atmosphere and decor. When I browsed the menu I was excited even more. But there is where it ended. Horribly slow service. Our waiter seemed very overwhelmed and was never at our table. The manager was not there to step in and help. Food took extremely long to come out. Even my salad. We were not offered any bread. And to top it off we had to wait a long time to get our check because the credit card machine went down. Two hour meal for two people a d the food was just ok!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Side dish of onions and mushrooms -- fair. Eliminate onions, sauté better mushrooms

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great but our server wasnt good at paying attention. We asked her 3 times to take a picture of us and she would say yes and walk away (restaurant did not look that busy for a Saturday night). Also, someone else brought our leftover out without distinguishing which was which or whose was whose (this was a table of 4 girlfriends out for a birthday - we werent going home to put them in the same refrigerator).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent Prime steakhouse. In a world of prime steak chains like capital, ruths chris, fleming's, and Morton's, XO definitely stands out. While the downtown location is busier and noisier (but fun), this location is a bit more relaxed and comfy. The steaks are as good as anywhere, you can really tell they use high quality prime meats.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

While we waited for our second guest, we ordered drinks. It seemed to take too long to get them. But we were pleased that a waiter suggested another table away from a set-up for 10. And they shut off a fan that was blowing cold air on our necks. Steaks were superb. But, the side dishes were kind of cold. Mash potatoes and Brussels sprouts should be hot. The green beans were special . A sushi appetizer was delicious! We only had ice cream for dessert, but they were yummy flavors.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I went to XO for my birthday and for the most part it was a good experience. The food is pretty pricey so I wouldn't suggest coming there not willing to spend money for smaller portions. My food was amazing. The only thing was my steak bled on my plate when I asked for it to be cooked medium well. I would still go back. My server Jerry was amazing and very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

All 5 of us enjoyed every bit of our meals and our server Trish was the best and went above and beyond her duties.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Seasonal, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was my third visit to XO. The first two were terrific with excellent food and service. This visit made me question whether I had gone to a parallel universe! Soda was flat (even after the first drink was sent back for that... second one no better). Our group of 4 were the ONLY ones in the dining room and the food took an incredibly long time from time of ordering to when it appeared in front of us! While my steak was perfectly cooked, two others at our table had steaks that were not. One had to be sent back, the other was medium to medium rare on one end and well done at the other. Sour cream on baked potato was frozen (literally had ice crystal in it that we could remove with our fork)!

Concerns were shared with the manager, who took items off bill and offered us free dessert and after dinner drinks. While appreciated, we did not take advantage of the offer as we were 'over it' at that point. Not sure that I'll revisit - it's pricey and to have a visit like this one, not sure I'm up for the gamble.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and service at XO were excellent. We were looking for a cozy place to celebrate our anniversary, but this was not quite as cozy as we had hoped. The music was more "new age" and what I'd expect to hear in a younger generation's clothing store. The clientele was at least 30 and over so I would have expected nicer jazz music.

I would dine there again, just not for the same occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was mediocre at best. Candles in the fireplace looked silly. We expected much better. Service only fair and food server was forgetful. Not on our list anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice romantic atmosphere, delicious food, great service...Tempura sushi roll was the hit! Bone in ribeye was very flavorful and done perfectly... Little pricey but not more than all same level restaurants around...definitely will be back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Valet parking set up was silly, since there wasn't anyone else there.

Foul odor when walking into building. Not the most pleasant thing.

Bar was essentially empty and out of a particular whiskey, after bartender told us she had it.

Considered leaving at this point.

This was essentially a private dining experience. There were two other patrons in the restaurant when the six of us were seated. Guess where, yes, right on top of the other two people. I'm sure they weren't too pleased either. Ordered a seafood plate for four people. Wasn't enough on it for three. Flemings' seafood tower for two is much better. Five of the six meals came out together. Apparently, the sixth meal must have been forgotten. Five of us sat there for 10-15 minutes waiting for the sixth meal to arrive. Steak is meant to be eaten hot, not luke warm. Highway robbery at this XO for the lack of service care given for what had to be a ridiculously underwhelmed kitchen staff. Evidently, there is a reason the restaurant was empty. Lesson learned! Should have gone with my instincts and left after walking into the hallway odor at the start of the night.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service and food where great and it was not too noisy, wine was a little pricy for a screw top bottle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went on a date with my wife and we found this place to one of the easier places to make reservations on Chagrin at the time we decided to go out (same night around 5pm) Waiter was attentive and nice after we ordered food he took all menus away, would have liked to order more than one drink, maybe keep the wine/cocktail menu on the table. Food was delicious, steak (bone-in ribeye) was very tender, mine was slightly under-cooked, but wasn't enough to send back and possibly ruin flavor. Wife ordered surf and turf which presented well and she said tasted as much. Vegetables are ordered to share and were super hot, but good. Creme Brulee was a yummy dessert. Would go back again, but price is prohibitive for us, maybe a once or twice a year type place. All and all, a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is the first time we ate at XO Prime and it did not disappoint! The service was attentive. Food exceptional. This was definitely the place to celebrate our anniversary! We will be back repeatedly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Avoid the seafood appetizer, worst in all the places we dined throughout the globe.

Service was very poor - waitress couldn't understand our drinks order (ironically their signature drinks).

Maitre d' was unfriendly and borderline creepy.

The only good thing was the steak, if you can ignore everything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was very tasty! A little pricey but worth it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. The ambiance is constant of white table cloth fine dining. Our steaks were cooked to perfection with garnishments of roasted garlic cloves. A quiet atmosphere without the loud chop house noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really disappointed. Server was lovely, maître d' too. But the food was mediocre at best. Porterhouse with a ton of gristle, vastly oversalted seafood. Wine list not great and overpriced, even for a steakhouse. With Red down the street, this place is a nonstarter. Considering how few people were in the restaurant on a Saturday night, they better start executing soon or they will be out of business within a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Outstanding steaks and superior service. High end decor and ambiance. Location is hidden

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Terrific steakhouse with great service and a classy ambiance. Steaks are fantastic and the service has been flawless every time we visited.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Steak was good. Not really exceptional for it being $50. Very hot in the restaurant. Didn't meet the expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of the best restaurants in our area. Great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant; We will definitely return. Our waiter and other staff were all excellent. It was the best meal we have had in a long time. We did think it was odd that the rack of lamb dinner included a side but the steak did not. It was our anniversary and the waiter had a special treat for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Although the food and service was excellent the servers need to be aware of nut and food allergies.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2016

XO has the best of both worlds. Service and food are amazing. Our steaks, pasta were to die for. John our server have the best service possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always one of the best - service is amazing. Food is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was very disappointed. Had dinner with my daughter. Caesar salad was very good. Creamed spinach was terrible--just sauteed spinach in a cream sauce, not a true creamed spinach. Steak ordered medium rare, came medium well--to my mind inexcusable for a high-end steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.