About XO Le Restaurant

355, rue Saint - Jacques ouest
Montreal, QC H2Y 1N9
View Larger Map

The French called Canada’s main financial thoroughfare "rue Saint-Jacques", and the English "St-James Street". Synonymous with opulence and influence, it was the second street in what is now Montréal. Bordered by banks and named after Jacques Olier, the street continues to be known today as a museum of high finance. Today, Hotel Le St-James, the former Merchants Bank, sits enthroned at the crossroads of history. On midsummer nights, modern-day coachmen in top hats take us back a hundred years to a day when bankers glanced at their pocket watches while crossing rue St-Jacques to the stock exchange and central telegraph offices just blocks away.



XO Le Restaurant, situated in the former Banker's Hall, is truly a beautiful space composed of a dining room, a bar & lounge, two beautiful mezzanines, as well as four alcoves which add an extra touch of comfort and privacy. Chef Robillard's exciting culinary imagination brings you modern, creative French cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am to 11:30am Monday to Friday & Sunday,
7am to 1pm Saturday

Brunch: 11am to 3pm Sunday

Lunch: 11:30am to 2:30pm Monday to Friday

Dinner: 6pm to 10pm Monday to Sunday

Tasting menu: 6pm to 9pm Tuesday to Saturday

Bar / Lounge: 11am to 11pm Monday to Sunday

Cross Street:
rue St-Pierre

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 841-5000

Website:
http://www.xolerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Square Victoria Station
or
Place D'Armes Station

Executive Chef:
Julien Robillard

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 1:15PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Our dedicated event planning team is on hand to assist you in carefully planning every detail for a memorable occasion. Notre équipe est à votre disposition pour vous aider à planifier avec soin tous les détails afin de vivre une expérience inoubliable.

XO Le Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
3 More
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

special occasion (15)
romantic (13)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
notable wine list (8)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a gr8 meal, the assembly of the d ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We had a gr8 meal, the assembly of the dishes are very nice, gr8 tasting!U have to try the tasting menu...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

XO is a knock out... Gr8 ambiance, Gr8 ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

XO is a knock out... Gr8 ambiance, Gr8 service nice selections. I had a light meal, a dozen oysters with freshly grated radish root & chopped scallions in apple cider vinegar, a nice off the menu green salad perfectly seasoned & the foie gras pate on a sablè biscuit served with a sorbet & a few other complimentary sides, really good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything here was amazing! The waitres ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything here was amazing! The waitress was great and the food was incredible. The decor was inspiring. We went to celebrate my best friend's bachelor party and we left impressed. I highly recommend this place! It's expensive, but well worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful setting, spectacular food.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful setting, spectacular food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very impressive

Dined on May 7, 2016

When there for my birthday! Excellent in every aspects.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our meal was not only delicious but was presented beautifully! The service was exceptional as well! I would recommend XO Le Restaurant to anyone looking for a special evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top notch experience

Dined on March 9, 2016

One of my favourite restos in Montreal! Very consistent with everything! Food is incredible! ;-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

good restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

good food,great wine but my wife and felt rushed throughout the meal. i understand it was valentines.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our best dining experiences!great ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

One of our best dining experiences!great cocktails, food (outstanding braised beef and tartar), unique cheese selection and outstanding staff: waiters, maitre D' and others. Would rate this is a top dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambiance!

Dined on February 1, 2016

The ambiance is extraordinary! Great place for 5-7 whether with co-workers, friends or just for a romantic evening. The seating arrangements are great as you have a variety of choices between booths, table with chairs. It's a great place to just sit back, relax and enjoy the evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eats

Dined on January 16, 2016

XO is located in a old bank lobby, totally renovated but leaving the classic charm of very special building. The food was well prepared. And some of the presentations were very imaginative. It's a place to dress up a bit to fit the ambiance however some were dressed casually. We would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Beautiful atmosphere however the amount ...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere however the amount of food compared to the price does not add up. Don't be surprised if you aren't full when leaving. Service was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do yourself a favour and eat here.

Dined on January 2, 2016

This restaurant is amazing. As soon as you walk in, from the decor to the friendliness of the staff, you will be left in awe. The food was impeccable. There isn't one bad thing to say about this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Christmas

Dined on December 25, 2015

We went for Christmas Dinner because most other restaurants were closed. We tried to order from the regular menu but advised that choice was the Christmas or Bar menu . We had limited choice so we took the Table de Hot. They dinner was full of gimmicks but filling . After all the courses it would have been better to order from Bar menu because the dinner was not worth $300 bucks for 2

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Fantastic atmosphere

Dined on December 25, 2015

Food was ok but not exceptional . Great atmosphere good for events.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great weekday brunch spot

Dined on December 23, 2015

Lovely restaurant that feels like a private club. Everything was on point. Great kickoff to our holiday season.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

XO again exceeded my expectations.

Dined on December 20, 2015

My anniversary surprise gift to my wife at the same place I proposed to her. I booked the Amour package with couples massage. St. James is truly a five star Hotel with exceptional attention to detail. Everything from the rooms to the service is stand alone. Impeccable experience that makes memories last a lifetime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Dolce

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

The setting of this restaurant is beautiful. The food taste is not as good as the plate presentation. I had a beet salad, beautiful presentation however, beets were not cooked properly. Then I had the filet, the taste was very average. Also, in regards to the service, although our waiter was very polite, he wasn't very pleasant. He barely smiled during the whole service, I was watching him with other tables, he had the same attitude.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Slow service at first. Good ambience an ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

Slow service at first. Good ambience and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Loved it! Would go again for special occasions! Great service and ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome and creative brunch offering!

Dined on November 8, 2015

I really enjoyed my time at XO Le Restaurant. The service was fantastic, the food was delicious and the ambience was really nice. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The service and the food was great. Gre ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

The service and the food was great. Great service by Vanessa. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It wasa good lunch

Dined on October 26, 2015

Nicely portioned entrees that left you satisfied. Very attentive service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent overall experience, service was awesome!

Dined on October 23, 2015

Staff was really good and very nice. Food was excellent. We found the prices to be quite good, considering you're eating in one of the city's top two hotels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was pricy but taste and presentatio ...

Dined on October 7, 2015

Food was pricy but taste and presentation was worth it! Nice touches especially the peanut butter and raspberry macaroons!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Unforgettable Dining Experience!

Dined on September 26, 2015

My husband took me here for my birthday and I had an amazing meal. It was my first time in Montreal and I was so impressed with the service, ambience and food. We ordered 3 courses and they were done to perfection. I really enjoyed the amuse bouches between courses too. Thank you for such a romantic and memorable evening. I highly recommend the Creme brûlée, beef tartare and salmon. C'est magnifique!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good date night

Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the evening at XO. The service was very good and timely. The filet mignion and shrimp plates very good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Romantic Date Night

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

My wife and I were visiting Montreal on a whim and decided to go out to dinner near Old Montreal. We decided to eat at XO Le Restaurant and it was perfect. The staff and service were excellent. Attentive but not hovering. The ambiance of the room was a wonderful combination of old architecture, which I love but made contemporary. They did an outstanding job and the restaurant is very romantic. Noise was low so you can actually have a nice conversation but we were there rather early. The food was very good and I highly recommend the Beef Tarter with foie gras. The pasta was also an excellent choice. The drinks were very well crafted and we both enjoyed our French 75 and the XO Gin and Tonic. Highly recommended for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Work Of Art

Dined on September 6, 2015

Fantastic dinner. We had the Tasting Dinner It was fun to follow the dinner menu through the booklet describing the art form used to create each dish. We thought the small portions would never fill us up but by the time we got to the 9th course we could hardly finish Service was excellent with the waiter giving a full description on how each of our plates related to the artwork in the booklet. The wine pairing was also excellent and a good compliment to the type of dish being served Do not be in a hurry. 2.5 hr. for the Tasting. It was perfect for a special night out with my wife. Get you wallet out. Not for the faint of heart

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Did not meet expectations

Dined on September 5, 2015

Having had 2 wonderful meals (lunch and Dinner) here some 5 years ago, we were expecting at least as good. The restaurant seems to have changed philosophy from being a dining experience focused on imaginative cuisine with quality ingredients to a cuisine for a monied but unsophisticated diner (no dress code, allowing anybody through the restaurant etc.) The wine list concentrates on expensive French and American wine and has but a few other country wines, also over priced. The wine service was amateurish, with no real sommelier (I expect this in a fine restaurant on a Saturday evening meal), with confusion as to who was going pour the wine and when. The food was good, but not exceptional, especially for the price. Also, salt was over present. I know that salt is in these days, but that is just an excuse for lack of imagination in seasoning. If we hadn't intervened about the poor choice of background music, XO wouldn't have changed it to a more appropriate for dining music. Sorrily we can't recommend XO for discerning diners or gourmets.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

I went to this restaurant because it was ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

I went to this restaurant because it was ranked as one of the top 10 in Montreal. I have to say that the service is probably one of the best I have experienced and the ambiance is really nice but I was dissapointed about the food. I went with my boyfriend and both ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing. The plates are supposed to be a representation of different art movements but unfortunatelly it stays more on the visual rather than on the taste. I was expecting an explosion of flavors with impeccable combinations, taking into account the price and place, but was really dissapointed. Too many diferent flavors that did not match on a same plate, molecular food gels with strong colors, meat cooked too much...Dissapointing... But I have to insist that they offer a very good service. For the money you pay I would rather go to Europea, Club Chasse et Peche or Bouillon Bilk.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant and vegetarian friendly

Dined on August 19, 2015

Although the regular menu had few vegetarian options, they made up for it with a superb vegetarian tasting menu. The food was presented nicely, preparations were creative and service was impeccable. The room is opulent yet had a quiet, intimate ambiance. Not cheap but the previous night we went to a comparable restaurant in Montreal that was more expensive. If they had more vegetarian options on their ala-carte menu I would have been wildly ecstatic about the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Father's day brunch

Dined on June 21, 2015

The staffs are very kind and sociable. Good ambiance ! Foods are excellent ! We are very pleased and delighted for our first visit ! Definately, we are going back very soon !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Not the best service

Dined on May 30, 2015

Not my first visit, but this one was disappointing. 7 people and 3 took pasta which was not at all the best choice. One was fantastic (lamb) which bring the average to 3. This is not the best meal of the week with my guests from Europe. Might take a little while before I go back. Dommage!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great cuisine in an old bank

vip
Dined on May 28, 2015

Old Montreal treasure - in the Hotel Le St-James - a remodeled old bank building in the old financial district. Beautiful setting with plenty of marble, wood, chandeliers, etc. The food is excellent and service the best that we have experienced in Montreal so far. Sometimes restaurants like this are long on opulence and short on food quality and service. That is definitely not the case with XO. Not quite Paris service quality but running close. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Ideal for important business lunch

Dined on April 21, 2015

The service, wonderful food, and flexibility of the staff made XO Le Restaurant an ideal place to host an important private business lunch. We stayed long after eating, and the staff was gracious and lovely. Beautiful little hotel too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5

XO - Rendez-vous manqué!!!

Dined on December 5, 2014

Malheureusement, ce qui devait être un dîner d’anniversaire mémorable comme la majorité de nos visites chez XO s’est bien mal déroulé. Le service comme toujours était impeccable, la décoration de Noël était festive et même la recommandation pour le vin était impeccable. Cependant, au niveau de la cuisine, tant notre entrée au champignons sauvages que notre plat principal au poulet manquaient de saveur et tendresse. La magie, le raffinement, la complexité et l’originalité n’étaient pas au rendez-vous. Quel dommage!!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole package

Dined on November 13, 2014

From the valet, to the Maître D', to the server, to the chef, The whole service experience was extraordinary. Keep it up !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2

Montreal restaurant week disaster

Dined on November 6, 2014

I hoped this week would permit chefs to experiment with flavours and showcase their talents. Our reservations were for 8pm, our appetizer arrived at 9, nicely plated using interesting ingredients, and just bad to the taste. The main course was fine, and although I eat everything, the dessert was just not edible. Tarte tatin on an overly rich shortbread cookie with too much rosemary and fine layers of apples with cheese, sounds good but the result remained in our plates, we could not eat it. I spoke with a friend who frequents restaurants often, and she laughed that she experienced an identical, terrible meal a few years ago during restaurant week. Chef, please review your menu!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best service in montreal

Dined on November 4, 2014

This restaurant is the fine dining experience in montreal. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent wine, excellent presentation. I could continue, but the adjective would not change. The food is innovative and interesting as well as delicious. This restaurant should not be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.