About XO Le Restaurant

355, rue Saint - Jacques ouest
Montreal, QC H2Y 1N9
View Larger Map

The French called Canada’s main financial thoroughfare "rue Saint-Jacques", and the English "St-James Street". Synonymous with opulence and influence, it was the second street in what is now Montréal. Bordered by banks and named after Jacques Olier, the street continues to be known today as a museum of high finance. Today, Hotel Le St-James, the former Merchants Bank, sits enthroned at the crossroads of history. On midsummer nights, modern-day coachmen in top hats take us back a hundred years to a day when bankers glanced at their pocket watches while crossing rue St-Jacques to the stock exchange and central telegraph offices just blocks away.



XO Le Restaurant, situated in the former Banker's Hall, is truly a beautiful space composed of a dining room, a bar & lounge, two beautiful mezzanines, as well as four alcoves which add an extra touch of comfort and privacy. Chef Robillard's exciting culinary imagination brings you modern, creative French cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am to 11:30am Monday to Friday & Sunday,
7am to 1pm Saturday

Brunch: 11am to 3pm Sunday

Lunch: 11:30am to 2:30pm Monday to Friday

Dinner: 6pm to 10pm Monday to Sunday

Tasting menu: 6pm to 9pm Tuesday to Saturday

Bar / Lounge: 11am to 11pm Monday to Sunday

Cross Street:
rue St-Pierre

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 841-5000

Website:
http://www.xolerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Square Victoria Station
or
Place D'Armes Station

Executive Chef:
Julien Robillard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us at XO Le Restaurant for a perfect holiday dinner. For a family gathering or a romantic experience, we have a delicious 5 course meal that will make all your Christmas wish come true!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us at XO Le Restaurant for a perfect holiday dinner. For a family gathering or a romantic experience, we have a delicious 5 course meal that will make all your Christmas wish come true!

We also offer a Special Christmas Brunch from 11am to 3pm.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate the New Year at XO Le Restaurant! Join us for a memorable evening with the fabulous live band Versatile Trio. Our 5 course culinary experience will blow you away.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Our dedicated event planning team is on hand to assist you in carefully planning every detail for a memorable occasion. Notre équipe est à votre disposition pour vous aider à planifier avec soin tous les détails afin de vivre une expérience inoubliable.

XO Le Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Impeccable evening..attentive staff..fri ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Impeccable evening..attentive staff..friendly..beautiful room..five stars!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night with my husband. The restaur ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Date night with my husband. The restaurant came very well recommended and it did not disappoint. The staff and service was professional and pleasant; the food very good.

Thank you for a pleasurable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Le chef Julien Robillard fait des mervei ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Le chef Julien Robillard fait des merveilles en cuisine! Le tout dans un décor grandiose.

Tags: Environnement paisible, Repas d’affaires, Historique, Une valeur sans pareille, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Une occasion spéciale, Cuisine créative, Lieu huppé, Romantique, Idéal pour les plus fins palais
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nous y sommes allés lors de l'événement ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Nous y sommes allés lors de l'événement Montréal à Table. Super beau menu. Service impeccable, repas succulents et bien présentés. Tout était délicieux. Le dessert, Trompe-l'oeil au chocolat, était surprenant et excellent. Nous recommanderons ce resto et y retournerons certainement. Quelle belle soirée !

Tags: Il en vaut le détour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor is Old Europe type, It reminde ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The decor is Old Europe type, It reminded me of some beautiful halls I saw in Budapest, with the high ceilings and grandiose finishings. The service was great, our waiter Massimo was warm, friendly and gave us good service. The food was really delicious and original. I brought my mum there for her birthday and she really enjoyed every course. Lovely evening all in all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Soirée Magique! Nous sommes allés au XO ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Soirée Magique! Nous sommes allés au XO dans le cadre de Montréal à Table (41$ par personne). Un 3 services très recherché et différent des joues de boeuf qu'on retrouve dans 50% des menus de Montréal à Table. Tartare et salade d'endives pour débuter, Pintade en plat principal, tarte de chocolat et surprise au chocolat en dessert. On vous offre un accompagnement de verre de vin pour chacun des plats. C'était réussi! Un pure délice pour le yeux et le palais. On prend le temps de vous expliquer chaque plat et vin qui l'accompagne. Le service impeccable en entrant, au repas et à la sortie.

Tags: Une trouvaille nocturne, Cuisine créative, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, Ingrédients locaux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experince, waiters very attentiv ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A great experince, waiters very attentive. Incredible presentation of food and very savory dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service et le personnel est pr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent service et le personnel est professionnel, attentionné mais pas hautain!

Le menu offert dans le cadre de Montréal à Table était exquis. Nous nous sentions pas pressé à sortir de table.

Tags: Cuisine créative, Cocktails artisanaux, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and the food is a to ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Outstanding service and the food is a total delish. I recommand it to everyone. Well located in hotel luxurious Hotel St-James. Amazing food especially the tasting menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here for Montreal à Table and it ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I came here for Montreal à Table and it was my first time attending the restaurant with my significant other. Keep in mind, it's a french restaurant so for those who have a big appetite, don't be shy with the bread. There were 3 types of bread that came with our basket: Black Olive (my favorite of the bunch due to it's bold flavor), one with nuts and another with white sesame. The bread- soft with a nice hard top.

Our main meal was fantastic and they went well with the wine paring. Finally, desert came and it was definitely a taste to remember. Non-the-less, I don't come coming back for a 2nd visit. Fellas, if you want to impress your date, this is the spot; ladies, you will love this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Très beau restaurant et belle expérience ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Très beau restaurant et belle expérience en général! Les plats manquaient un peu de goût, de cohésion et de profondeur par contre! Très belle présentation! Personnels sympathique, Le service était excellent et les conseils du sommelier était très apprécié pour le choix des vins! Une ambiance idéal pour prendre un bon repas!

Merci encore!

Tags: Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

There was a problem with the service tha ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

There was a problem with the service that day.

Wine arrived late. Service was slow.

Usually it is very good.

Do not worry, We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

First time at The Hotel St James. I want ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First time at The Hotel St James. I wanted to stay here but it was $600 per night. So instead I stayed next door for half the price. And then blew my budget at XO at lunch. Had endless bottles of gorgeous champagne and took our time having a leisurely lunch. We sat at the back round table and were having a romantic lunch for 2. When 4 obnoxious women showed up and started playing rock YouTube videos on their phones at full volume. We told our waiter how inappropriate it was and the manager came over and moved us immediately into the lounge - which ended up being an even sexier table than the dining room. She even compd us a few drinks for our troubles. Well worth having a drink in the lounge just to see the gorgeous castle like room of XO. Please also take your time to view the bathrooms - more castle like ambiance. Truly the most stunning ballroom for dining I've ever been in. I felt like the princess I am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the whole experience. The food wa ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Loved the whole experience. The food was delish simply amazing. I will recommend this restaurant to everyone I know. Hope to go back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Massimo was our server, although everyon ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Massimo was our server, although everyone at the restaurant seemed to stop by our table at some point to help. That was fantastic. We felt very welcome and comfortable there.

Massimo kept our courses at a pace that was very enjoyable. We never felt rushed.

What a joy it was. We will visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants that I have ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants that I have dined at around the world! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. A little bit expensive. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Very good food. A little bit expensive. Nice presentation of cassoulet fruit de mer. Magret de canard outstanding. Bollenger champagne very good. Dishes little bit cold et lack of blue cheese with the endives. Chocolate desserts original and tasty. Excellent service and spectacular decor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Très beau resto. Rapport qualité/prix mo ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Très beau resto. Rapport qualité/prix moyen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

A superbly crafted gastronomic meal prep ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A superbly crafted gastronomic meal prepared elegantly and expertly

As a chaine des rotisserie member I so enjoyed this meal

Merci

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful room, attentive staff and go ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 29, 2016

A beautiful room, attentive staff and good classical cooking

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my worst dining experience ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This was my worst dining experience ever, across 30+ cities in the last 15 years. We ordered dinner at 8:20 PM and were not served anything until 9:45 PM. We even had to ask for the bread after an hour. Then, we got the wrong appetizers - our server came later to tell us that the kitchen did not have what we ordered. We were ready to leave but stayed because he told us our entrees were 5 minutes away. Then we got the wrong entrees - both of us! The server came to apologize again. We asked how long our food would take it would be another 15 minutes. At that point, we just got up and left. How can a restaurant like this continue to be rated 5 stars?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Un des meilleurs brunchs à vie!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Un des meilleurs brunchs à vie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional, effortless and unobtrusive ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Exceptional, effortless and unobtrusive service. Magnificent historic bank building. Excellent, interesting food with a mix of contrasting tastes and textures. Quiet ambiance

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything -- food, service and ambience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Everything -- food, service and ambience -- was magnificent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, great food, great pla ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent service, great food, great place for special night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the tasting menu, everything was ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had the tasting menu, everything was delicious, loved the starters and main dish. However, I wasn't a big fan of the desserts. Service was ok but not outstanding, we felt a bit pushed to order sparkling water and champagne just as we were seated, even before we looked at the menu. Overall, a good experience but could be improved.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Perfection!! From the moment we walked i ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Perfection!! From the moment we walked in the door, we had the most wonderful experience:) Truly a gem.. Best meal we ever had.. The atmosphere upstairs was quiet and romantic.. Isabella was an amazing server, very knowledgable, enchanting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu dégustation avec accords des vin: T ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Menu dégustation avec accords des vin: Tout simplement extraordinaire!

Tags: Romantique, Une carte des vins remarquable, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant! Food quality could ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! Food quality could use an upgrade and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Impressive ambiance, exceptional food, i ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Impressive ambiance, exceptional food, impeccable service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was wonderful! I loved the relaxed atmosphere as well as the beautiful architecture and interior design of the restaurant. The St-James Gin and Tonic was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live two blocks away from this hotel ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We live two blocks away from this hotel (and restaurant). We had company visiting from Los Angeles, and we went here for dinner. The food was exceptional; the service (Jean-Phillipe) was flawless; the ambiance was quiet, elegant and beautiful. We had a spectacular experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. This was one of the be ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent dinner. This was one of the best set menu dinner we ever had. I Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nourriture bien présenté et de bon goût. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Nourriture bien présenté et de bon goût. Mais, rien d'extraordinaire. Aussi, pourquoi vendre des desserts, si le resto nous en donne un gratuit de toute façon, meilleur que celui acheté?

Tags: Lieu huppé
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This place treated us like kings and que ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place treated us like kings and queens! The food was amazing! Everyone in our group loved what they ordered and we clean the plates! The chef was doing a contest to create a new dish and we ordered it and tried it, we think his dish will win the prize in the contest. The staff was so attentive and available always and catered to allergies at the table. You have to try the filet and lobster its GREAT! Will go back 100%!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is very elegant & chic! We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The ambiance is very elegant & chic! We were not as impressed with service or food. The bartender working on the night we dined was not very good--drinks were very tart, messy garnishes. After dessert, we waited 12 minutes before we saw our server in order to get his attention for the bill. I feel like this May be a "hit or miss"type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent restaurant - great food and su ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent restaurant - great food and superior service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

XO is the only resto that I can think of ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 26, 2016

XO is the only resto that I can think of that offers such class and elegance to the dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

J'ai beaucoup aimé les plats et le servi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 7, 2016

J'ai beaucoup aimé les plats et le service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They are short handed. Waiting time was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 29, 2016

They are short handed. Waiting time was too long. Waiters take too long to take care of the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.