About XO Le Restaurant

355, rue Saint - Jacques ouest
Montreal, QC H2Y 1N9
View Larger Map

The French called Canada’s main financial thoroughfare "rue Saint-Jacques", and the English "St-James Street". Synonymous with opulence and influence, it was the second street in what is now Montréal. Bordered by banks and named after Jacques Olier, the street continues to be known today as a museum of high finance. Today, Hotel Le St-James, the former Merchants Bank, sits enthroned at the crossroads of history. On midsummer nights, modern-day coachmen in top hats take us back a hundred years to a day when bankers glanced at their pocket watches while crossing rue St-Jacques to the stock exchange and central telegraph offices just blocks away.



XO Le Restaurant, situated in the former Banker's Hall, is truly a beautiful space composed of a dining room, a bar & lounge, two beautiful mezzanines, as well as four alcoves which add an extra touch of comfort and privacy. Chef Robillard's exciting culinary imagination brings you modern, creative French cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am to 11:30am Monday to Friday & Sunday,
7am to 1pm Saturday

Brunch: 11am to 3pm Sunday

Lunch: 11:30am to 2:30pm Monday to Friday

Dinner: 6pm to 10pm Monday to Sunday

Tasting menu: 6pm to 9pm Tuesday to Saturday

Bar / Lounge: 11am to 11pm Monday to Sunday

Cross Street:
rue St-Pierre

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 841-5000

Website:
http://www.xolerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Square Victoria Station
or
Place D'Armes Station

Executive Chef:
Julien Robillard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 11:30AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Our dedicated event planning team is on hand to assist you in carefully planning every detail for a memorable occasion. Notre équipe est à votre disposition pour vous aider à planifier avec soin tous les détails afin de vivre une expérience inoubliable.

XO Le Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
3 More
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Old Montreal ›

Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful restaurant! Food quality could ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! Food quality could use an upgrade and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Impressive ambiance, exceptional food, i ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Impressive ambiance, exceptional food, impeccable service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was wonderful! I loved the relaxed atmosphere as well as the beautiful architecture and interior design of the restaurant. The St-James Gin and Tonic was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live two blocks away from this hotel ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We live two blocks away from this hotel (and restaurant). We had company visiting from Los Angeles, and we went here for dinner. The food was exceptional; the service (Jean-Phillipe) was flawless; the ambiance was quiet, elegant and beautiful. We had a spectacular experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. This was one of the be ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent dinner. This was one of the best set menu dinner we ever had. I Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place treated us like kings and que ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place treated us like kings and queens! The food was amazing! Everyone in our group loved what they ordered and we clean the plates! The chef was doing a contest to create a new dish and we ordered it and tried it, we think his dish will win the prize in the contest. The staff was so attentive and available always and catered to allergies at the table. You have to try the filet and lobster its GREAT! Will go back 100%!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is very elegant & chic! We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The ambiance is very elegant & chic! We were not as impressed with service or food. The bartender working on the night we dined was not very good--drinks were very tart, messy garnishes. After dessert, we waited 12 minutes before we saw our server in order to get his attention for the bill. I feel like this May be a "hit or miss"type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent restaurant - great food and su ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent restaurant - great food and superior service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

XO is the only resto that I can think of ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

XO is the only resto that I can think of that offers such class and elegance to the dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They are short handed. Waiting time was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

They are short handed. Waiting time was too long. Waiters take too long to take care of the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We had a gr8 meal, the assembly of the d ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a gr8 meal, the assembly of the dishes are very nice, gr8 tasting!U have to try the tasting menu...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

XO is a knock out... Gr8 ambiance, Gr8 ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

XO is a knock out...

Gr8 ambiance, Gr8 service nice selections.

I had a light meal, a dozen oysters with freshly grated radish root & chopped scallions in apple cider vinegar, a nice off the menu green salad perfectly seasoned & the foie gras pate on a sablè biscuit served with a sorbet & a few other complimentary sides, really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything here was amazing! The waitres ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything here was amazing! The waitress was great and the food was incredible. The decor was inspiring. We went to celebrate my best friend's bachelor party and we left impressed. I highly recommend this place! It's expensive, but well worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful setting, spectacular food.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful setting, spectacular food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressive

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

When there for my birthday! Excellent in every aspects.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our meal was not only delicious but was presented beautifully! The service was exceptional as well! I would recommend XO Le Restaurant to anyone looking for a special evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always top notch experience

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

One of my favourite restos in Montreal! Very consistent with everything! Food is incredible! ;-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good restaurant

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

good food,great wine but my wife and felt rushed throughout the meal. i understand it was valentines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

One of our best dining experiences!great ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

One of our best dining experiences!great cocktails, food (outstanding braised beef and tartar), unique cheese selection and outstanding staff: waiters, maitre D' and others. Would rate this is a top dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Ambiance!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

The ambiance is extraordinary! Great place for 5-7 whether with co-workers, friends or just for a romantic evening. The seating arrangements are great as you have a variety of choices between booths, table with chairs. It's a great place to just sit back, relax and enjoy the evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eats

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

XO is located in a old bank lobby, totally renovated but leaving the classic charm of very special building. The food was well prepared. And some of the presentations were very imaginative. It's a place to dress up a bit to fit the ambiance however some were dressed casually. We would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful atmosphere however the amount ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere however the amount of food compared to the price does not add up. Don't be surprised if you aren't full when leaving. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Do yourself a favour and eat here.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

This restaurant is amazing. As soon as you walk in, from the decor to the friendliness of the staff, you will be left in awe. The food was impeccable. There isn't one bad thing to say about this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We went for Christmas Dinner because most other restaurants were closed. We tried to order from the regular menu but advised that choice was the Christmas or Bar menu . We had limited choice so we took the Table de Hot. They dinner was full of gimmicks but filling . After all the courses it would have been better to order from Bar menu because the dinner was not worth $300 bucks for 2

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Fantastic atmosphere

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Food was ok but not exceptional . Great atmosphere good for events.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great weekday brunch spot

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Lovely restaurant that feels like a private club. Everything was on point. Great kickoff to our holiday season.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

XO again exceeded my expectations.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

My anniversary surprise gift to my wife at the same place I proposed to her. I booked the Amour package with couples massage. St. James is truly a five star Hotel with exceptional attention to detail. Everything from the rooms to the service is stand alone. Impeccable experience that makes memories last a lifetime.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dolce

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The setting of this restaurant is beautiful. The food taste is not as good as the plate presentation. I had a beet salad, beautiful presentation however, beets were not cooked properly. Then I had the filet, the taste was very average. Also, in regards to the service, although our waiter was very polite, he wasn't very pleasant. He barely smiled during the whole service, I was watching him with other tables, he had the same attitude.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Slow service at first. Good ambience an ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Slow service at first.

Good ambience and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Loved it! Would go again for special occasions! Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome and creative brunch offering!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I really enjoyed my time at XO Le Restaurant. The service was fantastic, the food was delicious and the ambience was really nice. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the food was great. Gre ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The service and the food was great. Great service by Vanessa. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It wasa good lunch

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

Nicely portioned entrees that left you satisfied. Very attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent overall experience, service was awesome!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Staff was really good and very nice. Food was excellent. We found the prices to be quite good, considering you're eating in one of the city's top two hotels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was pricy but taste and presentatio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Food was pricy but taste and presentation was worth it! Nice touches especially the peanut butter and raspberry macaroons!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Unforgettable Dining Experience!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

My husband took me here for my birthday and I had an amazing meal. It was my first time in Montreal and I was so impressed with the service, ambience and food. We ordered 3 courses and they were done to perfection. I really enjoyed the amuse bouches between courses too. Thank you for such a romantic and memorable evening. I highly recommend the Creme brûlée, beef tartare and salmon. C'est magnifique!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good date night

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the evening at XO. The service was very good and timely. The filet mignion and shrimp plates very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Romantic Date Night

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

My wife and I were visiting Montreal on a whim and decided to go out to dinner near Old Montreal. We decided to eat at XO Le Restaurant and it was perfect. The staff and service were excellent. Attentive but not hovering. The ambiance of the room was a wonderful combination of old architecture, which I love but made contemporary. They did an outstanding job and the restaurant is very romantic. Noise was low so you can actually have a nice conversation but we were there rather early. The food was very good and I highly recommend the Beef Tarter with foie gras. The pasta was also an excellent choice. The drinks were very well crafted and we both enjoyed our French 75 and the XO Gin and Tonic. Highly recommended for date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A Work Of Art

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Fantastic dinner. We had the Tasting Dinner

It was fun to follow the dinner menu through the booklet describing the art form used to create each dish.

We thought the small portions would never fill us up but by the time we got to the 9th course we could hardly finish

Service was excellent with the waiter giving a full description on how each of our plates related to the artwork in the booklet. The wine pairing was also excellent and a good compliment to the type of dish being served

Do not be in a hurry. 2.5 hr. for the Tasting. It was perfect for a special night out with my wife.

Get you wallet out. Not for the faint of heart

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did not meet expectations

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Having had 2 wonderful meals (lunch and Dinner) here some 5 years ago, we were expecting at least as good.

The restaurant seems to have changed philosophy from being a dining experience focused on imaginative cuisine with quality ingredients to a cuisine for a monied but unsophisticated diner (no dress code, allowing anybody through the restaurant etc.)

The wine list concentrates on expensive French and American wine and has but a few other country wines, also over priced. The wine service was amateurish, with no real sommelier (I expect this in a fine restaurant on a Saturday evening meal), with confusion as to who was going pour the wine and when.

The food was good, but not exceptional, especially for the price. Also, salt was over present. I know that salt is in these days, but that is just an excuse for lack of imagination in seasoning.

If we hadn't intervened about the poor choice of background music, XO wouldn't have changed it to a more appropriate for dining music.

Sorrily we can't recommend XO for discerning diners or gourmets.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.