Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Casual (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Organic (10)
Cozy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Vegan (6)
Spicy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite places ever. Phenomenal food, great casual vibe but still good for special occasions

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Early Saturday night dinner - great food as always and good portions for the price. We had a little of everything, and a couple of house rolls. The "Wet Brain" was fantastic.

I'm always full after eating here, but not stuffed. Great food and service.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The dishes looked pretty with creative names but did not taste as good as they looked (basically lack of flavor). We had high expectations due to the great reviews and were disappointed. Also pricey for what it is. Also crowded, and staff was unorganized and frazzled. Thu. night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This joint is the best place to get sushi in North County. My husband and I have always sat at the bar - and have enjoyed the best service, the best tasting fish and ingredients you just KNOW are fresh. We tend to stray from the menu a bit and ask for whatever the sushi chef may feel like making - and it never disappoints.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great Sushi and team service, as always! Let the chefs do the driving, and you'll never be dissatisfied...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The W/R continues to amaze. Simply wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent food! Outside seating was challenging at times due to sometimes very loud traffic noise and wobbly seating/table.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

As always great food, great staff, great time!!! Best place for sushi, highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food, loved the firecracker green beans!
Very unique seafood and not your run of the mill sushi!
Only drawback is the limited beer and wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was very good which interesting takes on sushi. The ambience depends on where you sit. The front room is nice, the back room is dark and outside is rather noisy with traffic. The service was fine but not exceptional. Overall a slight disappointment after hearing good things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was very good but the service was awful. I had been warned by a friend who had had the same experience. With so many good places to choose from in all of San Diego area, I just wouldn't recommend Wrench and Roadant. I know they like there reputation of being "what you see is what you get" & they don't give a darn , but come on. My party and I are usually very good tippers but in this case I just couldn't see giving more than 15% and not our usual 20.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always a favorite. Never a bad meal. Sit at the bar and enjoy Davin's omakase. We appreciate the low key vibe and unpretentious atmosphere but always with excellent food and service. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The specialty rolls where terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

great nigiri..freshest fish in san diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The sushi here rivals anything in Southern California. Great staff and perfect vibe.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food! Truly a taste sensation. Great food combinations. Truly loved this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Unique dishes, top of the line seafood selections. Local beers and a nice sake selection accompany the dinner well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Didn't know what to expect, but the food was spectacular!! The dishes were very unique, presented beautifully and very tasty. I just loved the food but the ambiance was quite rustic, nothing fancy. Service was good. I would definitely come back but dress casual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My first time there... was quaint and fun and delicious. I'm vegetarian and they had soy or rice paper and several plant based options to choose from! The waitress and chef even suggested an item they were able to make vegetarian that originally wasn't, so they are very accommodating. My husband loves fish (he's not veggie), so it's great for both of us! We sat outside and enjoyed the breeze and we love Oceanside!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Nice discovery of a place to dine as we drove from Bay Area to San Diego. Interesting and unusual combinations. Very friendly and helpful staff. A pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I like a little less fishy sushi. My husband liked the sardines (yuk) but overall ok experience. Waitress was lovely. Wine divine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The decor is of a dive bar and clean. No coca cola available. They do have other bottled soda though. Chopsticks in mason jars. Fresh seafood. The salmon from NZ was good with sugar on top. The scallop and anchovy were not good. Nice waitresses.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This place never disappoints! The food is excellent and the service is efficient and friendly. It's somewhat small & slightly cramped inside so it can tend to be quite lively and noisy- but that's part of the casual, fun atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It really is a great place. I like the very casual vibe. Don't equate casual vibe with casual service. Out waitress was the appropriate balance between always available and zero pressure. The place was very busy, but our food was served surprisingly quickly.

While we liked some things more than others, there was zero disappointment in any dish. My favorite on the night was the scallops. If you like scallops don't miss the Spicy Scallop Carpaccio.

Go with friends, so you can have at least four people at your table. You get to order more variety and try more things!!

It would be nice if there were more draft beers, but they have a respectable bottle beer selection and you probably can find something you'll like.

I/we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

No doubt, one of the best spots around. Serious about what they do here. The service is incredible and the food is crazy stupid good!!!!!
It is one of the places you never get tired of.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I love this place so much, I don't share. Yes, I'm selfish. Davin, Lauren, and Alex are the very best, as with all of the staff. Friendly and make you feel like family. Thank you♡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Dining adventure grounded in excellent execution on all levels.
Recommended and endorsed without exception.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Place came highly recommended by friends. Food we great with a nice variety of unusual dishes you dont find in most sushi restaurants. We sat outside since it was a nice evening but didn't realize how noisy the coast highway was going to be. Mostly because of all the loud motorcycles and cars with bad / intentionally loud mufflers! But overall it worked out good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food. Very inventive spin heavy on sushi-style. Server was superb (Maxx). She was delightful. But the food is a tad slow as we're the drinks. But the food is great and worth the wait
There was a table of very loud people next to us. Made it a little tough to converse. When they left, we breathed a sigh of relief.
We had the crispy fish skins, hedgehog roll and devils ginger roll. Oprah and Ono in coconut sauce. All fantastic and we all agreed we'd definitely go back. Soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I love this place and go as often as possible. They have a number of very unique and very delicious rolls

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very funky joint. Good sushi with a bit of a twist. Very fresh. Sushi bar was fun and we'd go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Eclectic decor. The food ranges from off-beat creative to surprisingly adventuresome. Try the specials and bring friends to try more.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Hands down best sushi in North County. Fresh and cool

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Taste sushi and sashimi like no other place you have ever eaten. All unique flavors have beginnings in locally grown fruits and vegetables. Unbelievable combinations of flavors make dining there amazing. Davin and Alex are incredible chefs. Don't forget the cheesecake.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Literally loved this place. Found them on an article about the most eco-conscious restaurants in the US. Didn't disappoint, plus they have plant-based options that are a must! Especially the sweet potato roll.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding service, food, prices, and atmosphere. . . . .

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great Sushi, never disappointed, will come back if we are in the area

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious!!! Everything was very tasty & fresh. I will be back and I live about an hour South, so worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My friend highly recommended this restaurant and, having been there, I fully understand why. Small but inviting place , with outdoor dining if you choose, but the sushi bar is where you want to sit. Reservations are a must if you want to watch your gourmet sushi being constructed. I was salivating just reading the menu selections.Brilliant and inventive combinations and delicious daily special selection,s as well as the usual sashimi and sushi items. The seafood is SO fresh and I definitely recommend the scallop carpaccio. Best sushi I have ever had!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.