About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
San Diego
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
2 More
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Value
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Oceanside ›

Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
See All
Casual (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (13)
Healthy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great Beer (8)
Cozy (7)
Organic (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Vegan (6)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We frequent W&R and love bragging about ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We frequent W&R and love bragging about our north county sushi gem. Unfortunately this visit our server was not up to par as they've been in the past. Didn't know the specials or oysters or beers available and food descriptions were lack luster when items were brought to the table. Yes, I know this is the salmon nigiri, but what's the garnish? The chef is SO creative and the flavors are always so incredible, we wish the service mirrored that level of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I've been eating at this amazing establi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I've been eating at this amazing establishment for over two years. The sushi chefs never cease to amaze me. I can't name another restaurant that can surprise me with unique presentations each and every visit. The freshness of the fish is the least of your concern. Davin and Alec make sure your dining experience is enjoyable on a whole other level. Sitting at the bar is indescribable. Trust your local #sushichefs

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An intimate funky lively venue, invisibl ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An intimate funky lively venue, invisible from the street at night--and the sushi is outstanding! Don't miss the Hedgehog Roll and the saltwater eel nigiri! Service is fast and prompt. The beer menu is short, and the selections are exotic and delicious! They have captured the essence of California dining, especially with the outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough good things about the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I can't say enough good things about the quality and creativeness of the food. I'm a changed person about the way I think about food and what it can be. I've been aware of the place since the beginning thanks to the beautiful food photos on Instagram but never made the trek down from LA. I finally did and it was better than I imagined. There is nothing fancy going on here. It's all about the food and a staff that really seems to care about what they are doing here. This place is a one-of-kind and needs to be experienced by people that appreciate greatness. Detailing the Wow Factor are too many to write here but if you are ok buying your sushi from Von's this place is not for you. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the second time there and the fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is the second time there and the food was outstanding, the service was superb and both the chef and the server were spot on. GREAT SUSHI

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal - possibly the be ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a fabulous meal - possibly the best sushi I've had anywhere!! In addition to the usual sushi bar options, there were lots of more unique combinations - and they were fantastic. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great time, great food and serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had a great time, great food and service! Always love coming here:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were pleasantly surprised. Order we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. Order wet braines...its delicious

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual! We go there regularly an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great as usual! We go there regularly and bring friends as well. Favorite sushi place. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you are looking for creative 'fun' su ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 19, 2016

If you are looking for creative 'fun' sushi rather than the traditional simple fare, this is an excellent choice. Some interesting selections that do not need soy sauce and wasabi ... they are already packed with interesting flavors. Dress down for this California seaside venue ... its kitschy and laid back fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Creative, local, fresh, non traditional ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Creative, local, fresh, non traditional sushi dishes. Amazing flavors and great experience at the sushi bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi anywhere. They are true arti ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Best sushi anywhere. They are true artists and create unique dishes that not only look beautiful but provide magic to your mouth. Unique flavors and the freshest of fish. Always different and delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service, good food though smal ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very good service, good food though small portions and expensive price, lousy ambiance and very loud noise level. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Best meal of my life, every time. And th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Best meal of my life, every time. And this says I need more characters but I think the first sentence is all you really need to know.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Healthy, Modern Decor, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Organic, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and his fellow Marine had just re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

My son and his fellow Marine had just returned from a 7 month deployment, had a great night treating them to some great food with spectacular service!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Creative take on sushi, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fantastic food! Creative take on sushi, and fresh! Plus a wonderful selection of craft beer. Our server was having a rough night, but ended up buying my wife and I our dessert truffles. Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Service forgot multiple things

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service forgot multiple things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Excellent, the food was delicious. Sinc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent, the food was delicious. Since it is a sushi place, and we ordered all at once, the dishes all cam rapid fire. However we didn't feel rushed and had a great time.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing! We loved the atmo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was amazing! We loved the atmosphere as well. Make a reservation because they are busy and it's small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as usual!!!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was amazing as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE HAVE AN AWESOME MEAL EVERY TIME. IF Y ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 22, 2016

WE HAVE AN AWESOME MEAL EVERY TIME. IF YOU ARE A SUSHI LOVER THIS PLACE IS A MUST.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent as was the service. H ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent as was the service. Highly recommend it to one and all who like sushi!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

This place is awesome. Great food. Great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place is awesome. Great food. Great service. Super friendly. Me and my wife love this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. The eclectic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing food and service. The eclectic aspect of the food was so refreshing and the in season, local and sustainable concept is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Sushi here is off the charts! Super cre ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sushi here is off the charts! Super creative and really fresh! Best you can find in so cal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice. It's small and we went on a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was nice. It's small and we went on a Monday so wasn't packed, but I'd definitely recommend reservations for weekends. The food was delicious. The sauces are unique like the seared ahi with strawberry BBQ sauce. The staff is very attentive and the feel is eclectic. We'll be back. Plus we want to try the ramen house which is sort of attached to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Incredible culinary experience -- and be ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Incredible culinary experience -- and beyond fantastic chef. Worth traveling to get here. Best sushi in the San Diego area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing every time!!! Service i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is amazing every time!!! Service is great and I love sitting at the bar and ordering omikase if I can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered Toro and it was not good. I or ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I ordered Toro and it was not good. I ordered some chefs custom shrimp tempura roll. I waited around 20 minutes because two chefs work hard to try serve other customers. I thought if you sit in bar you should not wait so long. The roll was nothing special, just shrimp tempura roll. Beer was warm too. They have website much better then restaurant itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Unappetizing decor, ambiance didn't matc ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Unappetizing decor, ambiance didn't match the cost level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Best sushi on the planet! Creativity off ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Best sushi on the planet!

Creativity off the charts

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a bad place, but not a classic sushi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Not a bad place, but not a classic sushi joint. A few creative dishes but overall I had higher hopes based on the reviews. I would still recommend you dine here, but would temper expectations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was 3.5/5 stars. I was looking for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was 3.5/5 stars. I was looking for more authentic sushi, but some of their flavor did not match with sushi rice. Pricy. If food 5/5 stars, I cannot complain about their price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was very fresh. Different take on s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was very fresh. Different take on sushi. Very creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great selection, very fresh! Eclectic b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great selection, very fresh! Eclectic but comfortable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Sushi with a punk rock/alternative twist ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sushi with a punk rock/alternative twist. Fun, vibrant place to go with a date or small group of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was great, service was very good, a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2016

food was great, service was very good, ambiance leaves something to be desired but the chairs are comfortable, table was small for the amount of food we ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What is not to love? Amazing sushi, supe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2016

What is not to love? Amazing sushi, super local ingredients, talented, charming staff, totally relaxed atmosphere and did I say AMAZING food? South O rocks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Freaking dope

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Freaking dope

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice new find

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Creative, fresh and overall enjoyable - great add to Oside

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.