About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
3 More
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Value
North San Diego
Fit for Foodies
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Oceanside ›

fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (36)
hot spot (21)
See All
special occasion (12)
good for groups (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
romantic (6)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants, ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants, ever. To call it a sushi restaurant is to do a disservice, because it is so much more than just sushi. It's a very inventive creative menu comma with extremely fresh ingredients from both the farm and sea. Trust me, just try this place.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Seabasstro (and more) pub.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Ecclectic, creative, local, foodie, fresh, great beer, great wine , have-an-open-mind, always awesome ocean delights!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Epic as always!!!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Epic as always!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute go-to for amazing people and ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

My absolute go-to for amazing people and food. They are consistently right-on and I love it.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Gem!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We didn't know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised with the awesome friendly service and delicious sashimi :) We got a fun seat at the sushi bar and got to appreciate all of the beautiful sushi going out, and even got some mini samples...awesome! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dishes; creative and delicious ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful dishes; creative and delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staple for us!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We love this place! Eat here probably once a week and recommend to everyone! We especially love their plant based menu! :) Ali & Pat

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night, food is amazing so different!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Everything is cooked fresh and so tasty, I had the Wahoo it melted in your mouth !My husband had the steak tips, on fresh veggies, he loved it. Great atmosphere, Nice staff and its lovely decorated. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best sushi I've ever eaten!! ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Some of the best sushi I've ever eaten!!if you're thinking of going here, do it!

food1
ambience2
service2

Sloppy Japanese food.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Sloppy Japanese food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing..

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The W and R never disappoints. Remarkable food, remarkable staff and world class sushi .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food kept coming

Dined on March 26, 2016

Sushi chef Davin is creating some incredible delights with fish. We had Omakase and each dish was fresh ,amazing to look at, and melt in your mouth delicious. Fun and funky vibe. Great service - Casis was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Unique sushi items. Eclectic atmosphere ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Unique sushi items. Eclectic atmosphere. Very good service.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Really creative sushi!

Dined on February 28, 2016

A really outstanding hole in the wall restaurant in Oceanside. The fish and other ingredients were incredibly fresh and tasty. Very creative and unorthodox menu for sushi and sashimi. We went with the "Chef's Choice" and the waitress would bring dishes one after another. Each new dish was a pleasant and unexpectedly creative surprise. EVERYTHING was delicious and the price was reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

From the waiters/waitresses to the fooos. Everything is amazing. Our favorite eatery any day of the week..

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi chefs were so creative with their ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Sushi chefs were so creative with their dishes and very personable. Fish is soooo fresh! They've always accommodated my request for sushi bar when I've used Open Table.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Sushi ok im a sushi snob

Dined on February 15, 2016

Im a sushi snob and i can't enjoy sushi at most americanized sushi bars with deep fried rolls and spicy mayo sauce. This place is a fusion of authentic sushi and gourmet flavors and sauces. The only complaint. No full bar. Location. This place is actually very reasonable but they could do so much better in del mar la costa etc. More $$$ Despite the full bar I will be back. My wife said its the best sushi she has had> it was among the top for me too. Next time I am trying the chefs tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always consistently amazing. ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is always consistently amazing. Davin the owner is very creative .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful, unique dining experience.

Dined on February 2, 2016

Celebrated hubby's birthday and had a great time. Cool vibe. Very fresh, very well prepared food. Loved the Del Mar, Hedgehog, and Wet Brain, as well as the duck fat carrots, and the ceviche. Had a lovely wine to pair with it. The cheesecake was decadent. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Another good find in downtown Oceanside

Dined on February 2, 2016

Had heard so much about this place so we decided to give it a try. To be honest when we walked it I was taken a bit back at the "rustic" deco. With all the new "hip and trendy" places in Oceanside I was expecting something different. We were seated at a VERY small table and were both still unsure of our choice for dining. Since we were so close to the people next to us we started chatting with them and they said the food we great and they made suggestions. We tried the special of the carrots cooked in duck fat with Chimi Churi sauce - fabulous! We had three rolls - Cronic - Mango and Wet Brain. Cronic not my favorite - Mango really good and Wet Brain was great. A family sat at the table on the other side - and once again since everything is so close we shared what we liked and struck up a great conversation with them. They shared their Del Mar roll with us and it was very good. Another great example of not judging a book by it's cover. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious....Delicious....Delicious Sushi/Sashimi

Dined on January 31, 2016

A delightful experience awaits anyone who loves sushi/sashimi. The selections are not the standard rolls and raw fish that most sushi restaurants offer, although they do have that. Their creations are remarkable and require NO soy sauce. We (5 of us) went omakase, giving them our dietary limits and they did the rest. My only complaint and that is a minor one, is they were able to bring the food out a bit quicker than we were ready for, but we still to enjoyed it all. Friendly service...small establishment so reservations are suggested. Not inexpensive (a bit more than most sushi restaurants) but you get what you pay for and it was worth it. I will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The rolls are always amazing

Dined on January 21, 2016

The rolls are always amazing

food5
ambience4
service3

This is our 2nd time dining here, the ro ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

This is our 2nd time dining here, the rolls and dishes are all unique and delectable! The service wasn't very friendly but most the of the staff was nice. We don't ask for much but would prefer a server that looked happy to be there, kind of is a downer when they seem annoyed that they have to be working. Overall this doesn't effect the score because we love their food and craft beer availability.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and innovative.

Dined on January 16, 2016

I let the chefs create what's new and interesting and I am never disappointed. I love the combination of seasoning inspired by what's sustainable and local. You can't go wrong unless you don't make a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Favorite

Dined on January 10, 2016

My husband and I eat here often - absolutely one of our most favorite spots to eat. It's apparent that the entire staff love what they're doing and it comes through in every aspect of the dining experience. Highly recommend eating Omakase at the sushi bar (leaving it up to the chef).

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Weird Vibes and Excellent Food

Dined on December 19, 2015

I know, right? My title seems a little strange but that is what it was like. The food is excellent I mean cutting edge and amazing, the best Cali/Japanize/sushi food in Oceanside. With that said you might consider getting it as carry out, at least while I was there, the restaurant lacks, lets say, any kind of multi cultural diversity in their "neighborhood" clients. In other words it was mainly upper middle class hipster/new age 25 - 55 straight Caucasians. I am not used to this in California, I mean it, it was very unusual for this area. I am sure this is not the intention of the owners but I prefer to go to places my friends might feel welcome and relaxed not uncomfortable. So the Food is great! The parking is challenging, lacks multi cultural clientele. Of course, maybe I just went on a weird night!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Really good food. Only complaint was th ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Really good food. Only complaint was that the 8 plates we ordered came to us nearly at the same time. Given the size of table we felt rushed to eat and make room for plates. It was quite awkward.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall very good. Eclectic spin on trad ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Overall very good. Eclectic spin on traditional sushi. That is a good thing. From the menu to the Decour, to the staff, ownership as well as he patrons, in a word funky. Very Oceanside meets Northpark. Look forward to going again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very creative dishes, made with fresh, l ...

Dined on November 16, 2015

Very creative dishes, made with fresh, local seafood.

food4
ambience2
service3

Fun and funky! Great food. Not recommend ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Fun and funky! Great food. Not recommended if you want a traditional, quiet Japanese sushi experience.

food3
ambience3
service4

Funky coastal town vibe.non-traditional ...

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

Funky coastal town vibe.non-traditional sushi. Freshness was good but not great. Trying a little to hard to be different in some cases. Awesome oysters with topped with spicy roe. I'd go back again forsure.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

New and Traditional Sushi

Dined on November 1, 2015

We tried the more traditional California Roll and Crunchy Roll. The Crunchy Roll was the best I've had. We also tried the Mango Madness (California-type roll with salmon on top with a mango salsa). It was probably the best of the three.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Funky sushi place

Dined on October 23, 2015

The best way to sum up this place is to call it surfer sushi. No resemblance to a traditional Japanese sushi restaurant. The place is casual and funky. The rolls were creative and the sauces were delicious but wish the fish was fresher or better quality. Usually what makes a sushi restaurant over the top is the quality and how fresh the fish is and not overfilling rolls with rice. Here the yummy sauces and fun rolls make up for the fish itself. A little overrated but worth a visit.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our experience here! My husband an ...

Dined on October 19, 2015

Loved our experience here! My husband and I left the kiddos just in case, but it is kid friendly. We will be back. Seems like a hotspot so I recommend reserving a table. Sushi was fabulous. We tried the Scooby-snacks and highly recommend it. Love, love love this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesomeness defined. AMAZING sushi, vibe ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Awesomeness defined. AMAZING sushi, vibe and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Epic!

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

The sushi here is a "must-experience" for sushi lovers. Nigiri sushi selections with great and interesting sauces. Items that you usually don't see on a menu. Great specials. Even found a great bottle of Hiatus Cellars chardonnay for only $30! It's a little tricky to find, they need a better lit sign. Just look for Bull Taco and you're there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love the sushi! Also, P ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

My husband and I love the sushi! Also, Pat is an awesome server!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

We heard about Seabasstropub from a frie ...

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

We heard about Seabasstropub from a friend. This is a hidden gem on Oceanside. Oceanside is starting to revive and SBP is part of that movement. My wife had one if their signature rolls and it was outstanding. I wend for the red chili chicken special and it was outstanding. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great. Their rolls are al ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Everything was great. Their rolls are all tasty. The Scottish salmon is a special treat. We enjoyed all of the food. Great wine choices. All of the staff cares about making the guests feel as if they are part of their family.

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable dining

Dined on September 22, 2015

We were eating here on the recommendation of a friend who has a coffee shop down the street and I am very happy we followed up. The variety and quality of the meal and appetizer options made it tough to choose but we got the NZ salmon, ceviche plate, scallops, beers and a couple of rolls. All the food was fine, service was quick and friendly too, so we'll be coming back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.