Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Foodies (22)
CreativeCuisine (21)
NeighborhoodGem (19)
See All
WorthTheDrive (16)
Fun (15)
LocalIngredients (15)
SpecialOccasions (15)
GoodForDates (14)
Casual (14)
Healthy (11)
HotSpot (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (10)
Anniversaries (9)
Birthdays (9)
BarSeating (8)
VegetarianOptions (7)
OutdoorDining (7)
Seasonal (6)
GlutenFree (6)
ModernDecor (6)
Vegan (6)
Organic (5)
OpenKitchen (4)
Lunch (4)
PeopleWatching (4)
TastingMenu (3)
Spicy (3)
Romance (3)
LateNightFind (3)
OutstandingValue (2)
GreatBeer (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
QuickBite (2)
QuietConversation (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
ComfortFood (1)
NotableWineList (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
HandcraftedCocktails (1)
Groups (1)
BusinessMeals (1)
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

It really is a great place. I like the very casual vibe. Don't equate casual vibe with casual service. Out waitress was the appropriate balance between always available and zero pressure. The place was very busy, but our food was served surprisingly quickly.

While we liked some things more than others, there was zero disappointment in any dish. My favorite on the night was the scallops. If you like scallops don't miss the Spicy Scallop Carpaccio.

Go with friends, so you can have at least four people at your table. You get to order more variety and try more things!!

It would be nice if there were more draft beers, but they have a respectable bottle beer selection and you probably can find something you'll like.

I/we will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place so much, I don't share. Yes, I'm selfish. Davin, Lauren, and Alex are the very best, as with all of the staff. Friendly and make you feel like family. Thank you♡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Place came highly recommended by friends. Food we great with a nice variety of unusual dishes you dont find in most sushi restaurants. We sat outside since it was a nice evening but didn't realize how noisy the coast highway was going to be. Mostly because of all the loud motorcycles and cars with bad / intentionally loud mufflers! But overall it worked out good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Eclectic decor. The food ranges from off-beat creative to surprisingly adventuresome. Try the specials and bring friends to try more.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Hands down best sushi in North County. Fresh and cool

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Taste sushi and sashimi like no other place you have ever eaten. All unique flavors have beginnings in locally grown fruits and vegetables. Unbelievable combinations of flavors make dining there amazing. Davin and Alex are incredible chefs. Don't forget the cheesecake.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Literally loved this place. Found them on an article about the most eco-conscious restaurants in the US. Didn't disappoint, plus they have plant-based options that are a must! Especially the sweet potato roll.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding service, food, prices, and atmosphere. . . . .

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great Sushi, never disappointed, will come back if we are in the area

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious!!! Everything was very tasty & fresh. I will be back and I live about an hour South, so worth it

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My friend highly recommended this restaurant and, having been there, I fully understand why. Small but inviting place , with outdoor dining if you choose, but the sushi bar is where you want to sit. Reservations are a must if you want to watch your gourmet sushi being constructed. I was salivating just reading the menu selections.Brilliant and inventive combinations and delicious daily special selection,s as well as the usual sashimi and sushi items. The seafood is SO fresh and I definitely recommend the scallop carpaccio. Best sushi I have ever had!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Perfection ...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

TIGHT seating, close to other tables but food is fabulous and unique! Reserve table through Open Table or you risk a long wait as place is SMALL!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This place rocks!!! Creative, fresh, delicious...I was the only glutard in a group of 4 and didn't miss a beat. Omakase just rolls until you can't take any more and everything was killer! Vegetable dishes intermixed with sushi etc make the whole thing great. Only reason I didn't give service full 5 stars was not because staff was not really great but just because some of the dishes are really complex and we had to ask a lot of questions to figure some
Of them out....but not really sure how you could make that much better when the place is hoppin and the food is so unique....and the price is ridiculously great as well! It just can be a little confusing if you are not a seasoned sushi fan.We had a great evening and will be back again as soon as possible!!! Amazing!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fabulous combinations, great & informed server. Will return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had not been to this restaurant before and because my husband has Celiac's Disease I mentioned, when I made reservations on Open Table, that it would be helpful to h ave someone explain gluten free options to us. I knew immediately that information had been relayed because with our water, she brought a little pitcher of gluten free soy sauce. Wonderful server and meal! Will be back again and again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food. Unique menu. Knowledgeable waitress. We really enjoyed our evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We sat at the bar and Alex gave us the omakase, which was some of the BEST sushi I have had. Ever.

The service was stellar from the moment we arrived until we left. They were friendly, but not overly chatty, on top of things without hovering, and kept us on a great pace with the food.

I live in Long Beach but plan to stop here on any trip South in the future. I have been craving their food since we left. It's SO good!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food is amazing!!! We live 45 minutes away and continue to return. Our first server was great. However, after she left our second server was rushing us out. I totally understand we were the last ones there. However, our second server could have politely mentioned they were closing and it was time to wrap it up instead she was unfriendly and curt. So it was a delivery issue. Regardless we will be back, because the food is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always amazing here. Favorite sushi spot. Make sure to try their specials, they never let me down and are always fantastic. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always wonderfully innovative, FRESH and unique sushi. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

In town looking for good sushi and I found amazing sushi!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The best sushi ever! New Zealand salmon nigiri is awesome. They have amazing sauces and unique dishes that are all delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place! The sushi is amazing. They'll make a surprise roll for you if your request it and it's always phenomenal. Some of the inside tables are really close as it's a small place so not as intimate but the sushi is worth it. You can order next door at the ramen place too

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service plus amazing food. We loved the fresh sashimi and fish rib karaage. Will come back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our seating was a little tight . . . too close to our neighbor, but other than that, it was awesome.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our food and service were all A+ across the board. We loved our rolls and the cheesecake was a great way to finish off the meal. Definitely coming back to try more of their rolls.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very innovative cuisine interesting dishes caters to a younger crowd there are actually 3 restaurants.
Glad we went for the experience.Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very nice sushi (and other things) restaurant; the chef has done some great twists on classical sushi that we really enjoyed. The restaurant itself is fairly small, but the patio is more spacious and very nice if weather permits.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Some of the best and most inventive sushi I've ever had. Fantastic! Coupled with the great -- yet relaxed service -- it's on the top of my list for Oceanside.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

WE arrived early and they seated us in a kind of overflow room with only two tables in the back. It was quiet and we had fabulous service. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the food and wine are excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Private Room, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was spectacular we recognized the sushi chef from another place. happy to see him here. It was early evening and it looked like they were a little under staffed. it took a while to get drinks and longer to get the order taken. the food quality made up for it! the place is small inside so be prepared for a loud environment. the food is spectacular! definitely check it out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific place. Somewhat small and parking is not great. Hard to see restaurant sign.
But the food was fantastic. Good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unique food combos as well as traditional. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing rolls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely evening. From the food to the atmosphere and the service all ways quality and top notch. Going to make this a regular watering hole.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Organic, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Their sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delicious Perdection!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great. The service was amazing. I would highly recommend this place.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.