Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

4.7
358 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 271-0531
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Davin Waite
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cassidy
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 358 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Lots of smiling staff who are helpful, we had the special chefs menu omskase. Incredibly fresh sushi great service great meals very noisy sitting outside I’m assuming quite noisy inside. Very good value, I’m not a fan of sushi ota I think that this could be one of the best places in San Diego County for sushi. Very creative, I think they should get rid of the shisuto peppers

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

It’s a good concept but a lot of the stuff lacked flavor. Sushi rice soggy. Fish not that good. A little bit of you get what you pay for with the prices but not for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food here is unique. We had sushi rolls which were delicious, but we had never seen anything like them before. Other than the name, we really liked it and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Another killer awesome experience! We did the omikaze leaving the creative talent of the chefs to use their imagination. Chefs Loren and Alex did not disappoint! The quantity and quality of the food created in such a small area is amazing. Everything is a work of art that also is a great taste experience. One dish, a seared scallop topped with foui gras, exquisite sauce and a pinch of citrus salt was a standout! The texture and flavor profile were magnificent. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our always favorite spot when my grown kids come down from LA.
Truly great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

the food was fantastic, fresh and delicious and had it's own twist on it. Everyone is friendly and accommodating. The only one complaint I would have is that our waitress left her shift mid meal and the transition was poorly executed. The 2nd gal was nice but didn't come over and didn't introduce herself it was confusing and a little frustrating. Other than that, food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Awesome as always!!! Thanks for making Mother's Day fantastic!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Best seafood in SD county.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was outstanding! Great vegan options too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Resturant and food, as well as service, was Fantastic! Reservations through Made with Open Table SUCKED! I asked for seats at the bar and I was confirmed for same. After getting there I was informed those seats were not available! Not a happy camper. Will call direct next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Amazing & creative food... the best Sushi I have ever had...PERIOD!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

As you leave W&R, you can't help thinking ahead to your next repast! Wonderful, eclectic creations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Best.....sushi....period....just go.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 3, 2018

I was recommended to this restaurant, and was really looking forward to this dinner after taking a quick look at hair menu online. Unfortunately I was disappointed. I expecting a more upscale, tradicional restaurant.
We started out diner with a ceviche sampler that the whole table disliked. The yellowtail was completely overpowered by the blackberry marinade they used and the other two whitefish ceviches were just ok! We order a few nigiri and without any of their sauces or marinades we could tell they use very good quality fish. But unfortunately their play on tradicional dishes are not well executed, taking away the beauty from the fresh seafood!
I wouldn’t come back, since I do not live here, or recommend this place and there are so many better places around SD areas for fresh delicious seafood!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

One of my favorite places in San Diego! I live down in North Park so I only make it up for special occasions usually but it is SO WORTH IT!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I was very disappointed in our overall experience here on a Monday night. We had reservations for 6:30pm. We arrived on time and were seated right away. The drinks we ordered were served timely. After that, it went down hill. I am very allergic to shrimp and since many of the specialty sushi rolls included shrimp, our waitress told us it would not be a problem to serve the shrimp separately for my husband to enjoy. I ordered two rolls. He ordered a cucumber salad and Korean pork. His food was served quickly. I had to wait for the first roll, which, once it arrived, had the shrimp separate. It was not my favorite sushi roll, but it was ok. The second roll took another 20 minutes to arrive and by the time it was served, my husband was done with his meal. And unfortunately, the shrimp was included in the roll. The waitress offered to have it re-made, but not wanting to wait, we declined. She did remove it from our bill. We were never offered another drink nor dessert. Both tables next to us were also waiting on food from their orders. Maybe this was just an off night, and if I lived here I might give the place another try. Based on other reviews, our experience didn’t live up to our expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Such amazing food! Nothing like it anywhere including Japan. The food is creative
Kudos to the sushi chefs. This is my 3rd time and absolutely recommend this warm and inviting restaurant. Super service too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

As acknowledged foodies, sushi devotees and out-of-towners at a business meeting, we read the description of W&RSpub with some reservation-just not sure what to expect.
What we found was sushi that was, without exaggeration, twice as good as the next best sushi we have ever eaten (including top-tier N.Y. places). Their version of omekase was fresh, creative, surprising, delicious (pickled kohlrabi; guava puree; halibut; wahoo tataki; steelhead; much much more).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We found this place by accident some time ago. It is our go-to Sushi destination restaurant. We travel an hour to get there and it is worth it. Highly recommend this establishment! just wish we could figure out the story behind the name!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Our server was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Server was an expert on the menu and sourcing. She (Rae) paced us beautifully and we never felt rushed but always felt taken care of. Ceviche was creative, complex and fresh. Sushi was elevated, executed perfectly. Bold flavor combinations, conceptually fearless, and each roll was unique and distinct from the other. The menu was progressive but I noticed a mix of clientel including families with young kids. The beer and wine selection was nice too with local options. Overall one of the best weekend dining experiences we've had in a long time. Definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great ambiance and unique food choices made this dining experience wonderful. We tried some sashimi, rolls, and of course the seabass and everything was great. Service was prompt and attentive and she made great recommendations since it was our first time there. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Has become my favorite sushi bar & one of my favorite restaurants. Chefs are creative and innovative. Fun to watch!! Staff is friendly. Good energy!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We were celebrating a birthday but there was no acknowledgement of that. Not a big deal at all, just wanted to pass on the info. We still enjoyed ourselves.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

It was a fantastic meal as always however , we ordered the meal where you keep the food coming and didn’t know we should’ve told them when to stop and our bill was $169 for two people. We discussed with the waitress the fact that it was listed as $40 on the menu but didn’t realize that we were supposed to communicate when to stop. Bummer . Next time I will be more clear .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

One of our favorite places to go. Everyone there takes such good care of us and as far as the food goes, I don’t think you can find anything like it anywhere. I Love this place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The hostess was most helpful when I called in to change my reservation time slot reserved thru Open Table. As for food, the nigiri wasn't the best but the ceviche was delicious. Bites from the noodle shop (combined restaurant next door) were better overall. Staff was courteous & professional in fixing a small problem we had. Because of the head waitress/manager's resolution we'd visit again but try different dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The sushi are amazing and delicious. I would highly recommend any dish on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food and service were outstanding. The restaurant itself is quite bohemian but super fun. Music was not my taste but part of the experience...highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Amazing food and service with a positive vibe. This is my family’s go to spot because of the fresh sushi and creative dishes. I highly suggest this spot. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We love Nobu but the food here was as good or better and it was a nice casual environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

What a wonderful restaurant. Inventive sushi with no attitude. Love coming here and just let the chef make the choices. All the 5 star reviews are there for a reason!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Best creative (non-traditional) sushi I have had in a long time. Fresh fish, inventive flavors and a warm staff. Everyone was happy with every dish. That is truly rare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great great food and service. Tables are cramped and too small but great food makes up for it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Eclectic small space. Insane vibrant food flavors. Super creative. Worth a drive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We heard a lot about the place via Facebook/Instagram so gave it a try. With vegan options it was worth the try. Food was good and the choices were plentiful - for both vegan and non-vegan diners. Would recommend if looking for a casual - almost sushi - restaurant for vegans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I recall a dish I ordered on my first visit; it's an outstanding sashimi preparation called "Powerbowl." No skimpy portions here; it's very generous with the most fantastic salad, a real work of art! I almost didn't try the salad, it was so gorgeous! I've ordered this dish 3 times in my last 3 visits. A real masterpiece.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Always amazing food , energy and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9