Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Worth the Drive (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Healthy (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (8)
Organic (8)
Authentic (7)
Vegan (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome Californian rolls as usual. Orginal, awesome tasting!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Always amazing here. Favorite sushi spot. Make sure to try their specials, they never let me down and are always fantastic. Can't say enough good things about this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Always wonderfully innovative, FRESH and unique sushi. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is not your typical sushi restaurant. The Wrench will happily make "traditional" sushi dishes. But their forte is creative dishes using available local ingredients, house made sauces and pickled additions. Once they learn your flavor preferences, it's in your best interest to let them create for you. If you enjoy nearly every food that enters your mouth, try the Omakase. The chefs will perform amazingly to create not just a meal, but an "experience", that happens to include stunningly delicious food! Course after course! Embrace "Earth to Face"!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

In town looking for good sushi and I found amazing sushi!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The best sushi ever! New Zealand salmon nigiri is awesome. They have amazing sauces and unique dishes that are all delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place! The sushi is amazing. They'll make a surprise roll for you if your request it and it's always phenomenal. Some of the inside tables are really close as it's a small place so not as intimate but the sushi is worth it. You can order next door at the ramen place too

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service plus amazing food. We loved the fresh sashimi and fish rib karaage. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our seating was a little tight . . . too close to our neighbor, but other than that, it was awesome.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our food and service were all A+ across the board. We loved our rolls and the cheesecake was a great way to finish off the meal. Definitely coming back to try more of their rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very innovative cuisine interesting dishes caters to a younger crowd there are actually 3 restaurants.
Glad we went for the experience.Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very nice sushi (and other things) restaurant; the chef has done some great twists on classical sushi that we really enjoyed. The restaurant itself is fairly small, but the patio is more spacious and very nice if weather permits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Some of the best and most inventive sushi I've ever had. Fantastic! Coupled with the great -- yet relaxed service -- it's on the top of my list for Oceanside.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

WE arrived early and they seated us in a kind of overflow room with only two tables in the back. It was quiet and we had fabulous service. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the food and wine are excellent.

Tags: Organic, Private Room, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was spectacular we recognized the sushi chef from another place. happy to see him here. It was early evening and it looked like they were a little under staffed. it took a while to get drinks and longer to get the order taken. the food quality made up for it! the place is small inside so be prepared for a loud environment. the food is spectacular! definitely check it out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific place. Somewhat small and parking is not great. Hard to see restaurant sign.
But the food was fantastic. Good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place, good for dates, friends and family! Very fresh!

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unique food combos as well as traditional. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing rolls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We get to experience truly imaginative cuisine so infrequently. The chef is a real artist and dining here is such a treat. Good thing it's so far away or we'd be spending the kids' inheritance as regulars...!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely evening. From the food to the atmosphere and the service all ways quality and top notch. Going to make this a regular watering hole.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Organic, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Their sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delicious Perdection!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great. The service was amazing. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sushi with a twist and very fresh
The owner and his assistant really know how to create very fresh fish .
You will love what they create and every night they have different dishes .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The "Monkey Brain" was delicious but our favorite by far was the "Chronic" roll. What a way to end the meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always excellent, creative and delicious beyond compare ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We frequent W&R and love bragging about our north county sushi gem. Unfortunately this visit our server was not up to par as they've been in the past. Didn't know the specials or oysters or beers available and food descriptions were lack luster when items were brought to the table. Yes, I know this is the salmon nigiri, but what's the garnish? The chef is SO creative and the flavors are always so incredible, we wish the service mirrored that level of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I've been eating at this amazing establishment for over two years. The sushi chefs never cease to amaze me. I can't name another restaurant that can surprise me with unique presentations each and every visit. The freshness of the fish is the least of your concern. Davin and Alec make sure your dining experience is enjoyable on a whole other level. Sitting at the bar is indescribable. Trust your local #sushichefs

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An intimate funky lively venue, invisible from the street at night--and the sushi is outstanding! Don't miss the Hedgehog Roll and the saltwater eel nigiri! Service is fast and prompt. The beer menu is short, and the selections are exotic and delicious! They have captured the essence of California dining, especially with the outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I can't say enough good things about the quality and creativeness of the food. I'm a changed person about the way I think about food and what it can be. I've been aware of the place since the beginning thanks to the beautiful food photos on Instagram but never made the trek down from LA. I finally did and it was better than I imagined. There is nothing fancy going on here. It's all about the food and a staff that really seems to care about what they are doing here. This place is a one-of-kind and needs to be experienced by people that appreciate greatness. Detailing the Wow Factor are too many to write here but if you are ok buying your sushi from Von's this place is not for you. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is the second time there and the food was outstanding, the service was superb and both the chef and the server were spot on. GREAT SUSHI

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a fabulous meal - possibly the best sushi I've had anywhere!! In addition to the usual sushi bar options, there were lots of more unique combinations - and they were fantastic. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had a great time, great food and service! Always love coming here:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. Order wet braines...its delicious

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great as usual! We go there regularly and bring friends as well. Favorite sushi place. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 19, 2016

If you are looking for creative 'fun' sushi rather than the traditional simple fare, this is an excellent choice. Some interesting selections that do not need soy sauce and wasabi ... they are already packed with interesting flavors. Dress down for this California seaside venue ... its kitschy and laid back fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Creative, local, fresh, non traditional sushi dishes. Amazing flavors and great experience at the sushi bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Best sushi anywhere. They are true artists and create unique dishes that not only look beautiful but provide magic to your mouth. Unique flavors and the freshest of fish. Always different and delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very good service, good food though small portions and expensive price, lousy ambiance and very loud noise level. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.