Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (15)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Organic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Great Beer (8)
Vegan (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Food was just ok overall. Scallop carpaccio was amazing!! We were there for our anniv. i put it on rsvp but they didnt even recognize it. Bartender was awesome, Nick. We had such high hopes for this place, no go sadly

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Delicious! Try the Hedgehog - having daydreams about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2017

omakase was spectacular as always! Love the sushi chefs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Excellent fish quality and creative ideas for nigiri/sashimi. Wish the rice matched the quality of the fish as it couldn't quite bring the dishes together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2017

All time favorite Sushi experience! Chef Davin is inspired in his approach to creativity as a no waste kitchen. And Jessica makes sure the dining room experience is exactly what it should be. Fun, authentic Rand welcoming.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Romantic, Fun, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Outstanding omikase (chef's choice)!!! Davin and his team provide a culinary dreamlike experience that I challenge anyone to match!!! Mind-blowing creativity coupled with artistry and top quality fish makes them my "go to" awesome restaurant, period.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Absolute best Sushi outside of Japan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Creative, local, fresh, great staff. Best sushi in San Diego.
All that and the Ramones and Johnny Cash playing in the background. What more do you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Probably the best sushi in north county.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2017

An absolutely superb experience at the sushi bar when you leave yoursel in the chefs hands. Hands down one of the most creative and generous dining experiences we’ve had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Very small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Amazing as always! Our favorite date night spot! Amazing sushi, always fresh and always yummy! Great flavors and creative delicious rolls!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Servers did not really understand the beer list. Brought my mate the wrong beer [we did not say anything]. Music was loud for a restaurant - bar volume and style for sure. Cash out software set to default to 20% [with tax ? - I don't know cuz the screen was not an itemized break down]...I changed the tip to 14$ from $15.75-ish [20%] - just because....and when I received my printed receipt I was billed the %20 value. Not too cool. I like the food and service much better at the Flying Pig and LTH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

This place is awesome! If you like sushi, you will love this place. There are a lot of vegan options as well as meaty so come on over and try it out :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Incredible creative chef Davin is a master and loves his work

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2017

This place is always busy and the staff is always great ! The food is awesome !

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2017

The hype is true, this place rocks out your mouth! Sashimi with fruit and sublime sauces, great presentations. We appreciated the server giving us choices on price points for the omakase. This place can cost you a good portion of your weekly allowance, that not withstanding—it was worth it for the quality.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Always a pleasure to come to this place , great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The sushi was SO fresh & sooo good! We loved how eclectic the resturaunt was, and our waitress, Quincy, was SO friendly and went out of her way to make sure whatever we ordered did not contain dairy products (as I'm allergic). Quincy even brought out a vegan cupcake for my birthday treat and it was delicious! She even took my boyfriend and I outside to their romantic dining area to take a cute photo of us! She went above and beyond! And the food was amazing! Thanks for making me feel so special on my birthday! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Excellent food and service! Best sushi in North County by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2017

My new go-to omakase spot! No question. I am new to San Diego and this was my first time here - I fell in love. Sushi bar chefs were great, Alex is very friendly and knew lots of the regulars. Got great recommendations from our neighbors at the sushi bar, and all praised the chefs for their creativity and amazing flavor combos! Honestly, I wanted to come back the next day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

After hearing about this place for months I finally made it up for a father / daughter dinner. It lived up to everything we had heard with unique preparations including local ingredients. I wanted to order the whole menu! We will be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2017

High quality ingredients and creative execution! Loved everything from the cucumber salad to the smoked eel, to the sashimi. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Consistently the best food, let alone Sushi around.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We had heard about this place from the locals and it did not disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Amazing! We went back two days in a row during our four day vacation. My only regret is we didn't discover it earlier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This place is so good. Out of control good. Make a reservation, trust me

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Every time we go we try something new and are never disappointed. So many great choices on the menu. Great cozy atmosphere. Love to go with friends and share! Highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Always a great experience and phenomenal food. I don't eat this type of food anywhere else.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is the best, creative, fresh sushi I have had locally.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The very best sushi and other special creations from the sea that we have ever eaten. And, we have sampled the coastal areas of the world. Friendly sushi bar without too much noise, friendly chefs and wonderful, gracious energy. Bob and Joyce Simpson

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I called and asked for outside table which they said yes, very nicely but as we got there they didn't hold an outside table and asked we wait 30 minutes. I said no and they sat us in corner with very lousy service. I am sad as the food can be very well done but consistently is an issue here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our favorite place to eat no matter what. Ok so 50 characters or more how about how we love the crew. Dave, Alex, Torrey, Dave's brother, the young man who always takes care of us and we should know his name. The wahoo, chronic roll and the sculpin is the best we've ever had and all the rest of the goodies they have us try. Just the best, keep it up you have a great following.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The menu is unique. Sushi is excellent. There are other crazy-wonderful options. Beer is great - not surprising, around here. But they offer a Carruth wine - the Solana Beach winery---NICE!!!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

we always enjoy the food and the "friends" at W and R.
OPEN table mistakenly show us as a no show but we were merely late. thanks
Melissa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Honestly, the food at this restaurant is like no other. Everything we ordered was like nothing else we've ever had!!! Fantastic!!!!!!!!The value is amazing and so was the service. Get a reservation as it really fills out and for good reason.
We had "Cronic", Mango sushi, cucumber salad with salmon. Those are just the one's I remember.
Will be going back and sending all my family and friends!!
Go there, you won't be disappointed!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great place! It is a gem, food is always great. Tried the baked Scallops they were amazing. Great service and food is DELICIOUS!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Goofy name and funky atmosphere with unique but tasty food options. We shared a delicious salad and enjoyed several sushi staples. All were very scrumptitious and fun. Would recommend for couple or small group as the place is "cozy". Have local brews and what we enjoyed, a local sake!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

sit at the bar and have the "chef's choice" excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of my favorite places ever. Phenomenal food, great casual vibe but still good for special occasions

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.