About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood, Creative Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Local Ingredients (21)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Healthy (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Organic (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Vegan (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (6)
Great Beer (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very innovative cuisine interesting dish ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very innovative cuisine interesting dishes caters to a younger crowd there are actually 3 restaurants.

Glad we went for the experience.Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice sushi (and other things) resta ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice sushi (and other things) restaurant; the chef has done some great twists on classical sushi that we really enjoyed. The restaurant itself is fairly small, but the patio is more spacious and very nice if weather permits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best and most inventive sush ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Some of the best and most inventive sushi I've ever had. Fantastic! Coupled with the great -- yet relaxed service -- it's on the top of my list for Oceanside.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

WE arrived early and they seated us in a ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

WE arrived early and they seated us in a kind of overflow room with only two tables in the back. It was quiet and we had fabulous service. I would highly recommend this restaurant, the food and wine are excellent.

Tags: Organic, Private Room, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was spectacular we recognized t ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was spectacular we recognized the sushi chef from another place. happy to see him here. It was early evening and it looked like they were a little under staffed. it took a while to get drinks and longer to get the order taken. the food quality made up for it! the place is small inside so be prepared for a loud environment. the food is spectacular! definitely check it out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Terrific place. Somewhat small and parki ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific place. Somewhat small and parking is not great. Hard to see restaurant sign.

But the food was fantastic. Good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, good for dates, friends and ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place, good for dates, friends and family! Very fresh!

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique food combos as well as traditiona ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unique food combos as well as traditional. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing rolls

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing rolls

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We get to experience truly imaginative c ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

We get to experience truly imaginative cuisine so infrequently. The chef is a real artist and dining here is such a treat. Good thing it's so far away or we'd be spending the kids' inheritance as regulars...!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely evening. From the food to the ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

A lovely evening. From the food to the atmosphere and the service all ways quality and top notch. Going to make this a regular watering hole.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Organic, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their sushi

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Their sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Delicious Perdection!!!

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delicious Perdection!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The service was amaz ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great. The service was amazing. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi with a twist and very fresh The o ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sushi with a twist and very fresh

The owner and his assistant really know how to create very fresh fish .

You will love what they create and every night they have different dishes .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The "Monkey Brain" was delicious but our ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

The "Monkey Brain" was delicious but our favorite by far was the "Chronic" roll. What a way to end the meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent, creative and delicious ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always excellent, creative and delicious beyond compare ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We frequent W&R and love bragging about ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

We frequent W&R and love bragging about our north county sushi gem. Unfortunately this visit our server was not up to par as they've been in the past. Didn't know the specials or oysters or beers available and food descriptions were lack luster when items were brought to the table. Yes, I know this is the salmon nigiri, but what's the garnish? The chef is SO creative and the flavors are always so incredible, we wish the service mirrored that level of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I've been eating at this amazing establi ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

I've been eating at this amazing establishment for over two years. The sushi chefs never cease to amaze me. I can't name another restaurant that can surprise me with unique presentations each and every visit. The freshness of the fish is the least of your concern. Davin and Alec make sure your dining experience is enjoyable on a whole other level. Sitting at the bar is indescribable. Trust your local #sushichefs

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An intimate funky lively venue, invisibl ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

An intimate funky lively venue, invisible from the street at night--and the sushi is outstanding! Don't miss the Hedgehog Roll and the saltwater eel nigiri! Service is fast and prompt. The beer menu is short, and the selections are exotic and delicious! They have captured the essence of California dining, especially with the outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough good things about the ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

I can't say enough good things about the quality and creativeness of the food. I'm a changed person about the way I think about food and what it can be. I've been aware of the place since the beginning thanks to the beautiful food photos on Instagram but never made the trek down from LA. I finally did and it was better than I imagined. There is nothing fancy going on here. It's all about the food and a staff that really seems to care about what they are doing here. This place is a one-of-kind and needs to be experienced by people that appreciate greatness. Detailing the Wow Factor are too many to write here but if you are ok buying your sushi from Von's this place is not for you. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the second time there and the fo ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is the second time there and the food was outstanding, the service was superb and both the chef and the server were spot on. GREAT SUSHI

Tags: Open Kitchen, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal - possibly the be ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a fabulous meal - possibly the best sushi I've had anywhere!! In addition to the usual sushi bar options, there were lots of more unique combinations - and they were fantastic. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great time, great food and serv ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had a great time, great food and service! Always love coming here:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were pleasantly surprised. Order we ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. Order wet braines...its delicious

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual! We go there regularly an ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great as usual! We go there regularly and bring friends as well. Favorite sushi place. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you are looking for creative 'fun' su ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

If you are looking for creative 'fun' sushi rather than the traditional simple fare, this is an excellent choice. Some interesting selections that do not need soy sauce and wasabi ... they are already packed with interesting flavors. Dress down for this California seaside venue ... its kitschy and laid back fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Creative, local, fresh, non traditional ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Creative, local, fresh, non traditional sushi dishes. Amazing flavors and great experience at the sushi bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi anywhere. They are true arti ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Best sushi anywhere. They are true artists and create unique dishes that not only look beautiful but provide magic to your mouth. Unique flavors and the freshest of fish. Always different and delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service, good food though smal ...

 
·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very good service, good food though small portions and expensive price, lousy ambiance and very loud noise level. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Best meal of my life, every time. And th ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Best meal of my life, every time. And this says I need more characters but I think the first sentence is all you really need to know.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Healthy, Modern Decor, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Organic, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and his fellow Marine had just re ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My son and his fellow Marine had just returned from a 7 month deployment, had a great night treating them to some great food with spectacular service!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Creative take on sushi, ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Fantastic food! Creative take on sushi, and fresh! Plus a wonderful selection of craft beer. Our server was having a rough night, but ended up buying my wife and I our dessert truffles. Highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Service forgot multiple things

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service forgot multiple things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Excellent, the food was delicious. Sinc ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent, the food was delicious. Since it is a sushi place, and we ordered all at once, the dishes all cam rapid fire. However we didn't feel rushed and had a great time.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing! We loved the atmo ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was amazing! We loved the atmosphere as well. Make a reservation because they are busy and it's small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as usual!!!

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was amazing as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE HAVE AN AWESOME MEAL EVERY TIME. IF Y ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

WE HAVE AN AWESOME MEAL EVERY TIME. IF YOU ARE A SUSHI LOVER THIS PLACE IS A MUST.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent as was the service. H ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent as was the service. Highly recommend it to one and all who like sushi!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

This place is awesome. Great food. Great ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place is awesome. Great food. Great service. Super friendly. Me and my wife love this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.