About Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub

1815 South Coast Highway
Oceanside, CA 92054
View Larger Map

Please call for reservations of 7+ (760) 271-0531

Wrench & Rodent Seabasstropub in Oceanside, CA is located at 1815 South Coast Highway. Executive Chef Davin Waite, founder of The Fish Joint and Café Japengo veteran, is conjuring up a menu relying on the highest quality, chef-selected fish and produce. Ingredients are carefully chosen, grown, or made from scratch. Offerings include Loch Duart and Mt. Cook salmon with a caper tapenade, a ceviche flight that changes daily, and the freshest, most exciting specialty items from Catalina Offshore Products, Specialty Produce, local fishermen, divers and growers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Please call to make a reservation for Parties of 7+

SUSHI BAR
We do our best to accommodate sushi bar requests, but will place guests at a table when there is no available bar seating. Please call to confirm.

Cross Street:
Cassidy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 271-0531

Website:
http://seabasstropub.com/

Catering:
Onsite sushi chef or delivery service available. The Seabasstropub offers PG Catering as an option for intimate private parties as well as large corporate events.

Parking Details:
Small parking lot available, much convenient neighborhood parking as well.

Executive Chef:
Davin Waite

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wrench and Rodent Seabasstropub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
4 More
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Food
North San Diego
Best Value
North San Diego
Fit for Foodies
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Oceanside ›

fit for foodies (31)
neighborhood gem (29)
hot spot (18)
See All
great for outdoor dining (16)
special occasion (12)
good for groups (6)
romantic (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible culinary experience -- and be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Incredible culinary experience -- and beyond fantastic chef. Worth traveling to get here. Best sushi in the San Diego area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing every time!!! Service i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is amazing every time!!! Service is great and I love sitting at the bar and ordering omikase if I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered Toro and it was not good. I or ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I ordered Toro and it was not good. I ordered some chefs custom shrimp tempura roll. I waited around 20 minutes because two chefs work hard to try serve other customers. I thought if you sit in bar you should not wait so long. The roll was nothing special, just shrimp tempura roll. Beer was warm too. They have website much better then restaurant itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Unappetizing decor, ambiance didn't matc ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Unappetizing decor, ambiance didn't match the cost level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Best sushi on the planet! Creativity off ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Best sushi on the planet!

Creativity off the charts

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a bad place, but not a classic sushi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Not a bad place, but not a classic sushi joint. A few creative dishes but overall I had higher hopes based on the reviews. I would still recommend you dine here, but would temper expectations.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was 3.5/5 stars. I was looking for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was 3.5/5 stars. I was looking for more authentic sushi, but some of their flavor did not match with sushi rice. Pricy. If food 5/5 stars, I cannot complain about their price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great selection, very fresh! Eclectic b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great selection, very fresh! Eclectic but comfortable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Sushi with a punk rock/alternative twist ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Sushi with a punk rock/alternative twist. Fun, vibrant place to go with a date or small group of friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was great, service was very good, a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

food was great, service was very good, ambiance leaves something to be desired but the chairs are comfortable, table was small for the amount of food we ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What is not to love? Amazing sushi, supe ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

What is not to love? Amazing sushi, super local ingredients, talented, charming staff, totally relaxed atmosphere and did I say AMAZING food? South O rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice new find

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Creative, fresh and overall enjoyable - great add to Oside

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome,, wonderful experience.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Awesome,, wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty funky in a good way. Sushi was f ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Pretty funky in a good way. Sushi was fresh, interesting food choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Some good, some lacking.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife and I loved the salads and the braised greens and the basic nigiri items were top notch. When I asked the server about food items, he indicated he "didn't eat fish" and "never had alcohol" so couldn't advise on an of the food or wine selections. We had a "special" roll called the "Brain" and it was disappointing. Too much Krab.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Perfection. The most innovative, non stu ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfection. The most innovative, non stuffy restaurant in SD county. Remarkable sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi that is served with the best ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Best sushi that is served with the best sauces & farm to table organic produce & local fish! My go to sushi place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was surprised on the overall evening. Th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Was surprised on the overall evening. The quality and creativity of the food was excellent. Loved how fresh all of the sushi tasted. A fun casual progressive place with high quality reliable dishes. Was a little noisy due to sitting directly under a speaker where music was playing but didn't ruin the experience. Definitely returning in hopes of becoming a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants, ever. To call it a sushi restaurant is to do a disservice, because it is so much more than just sushi. It's a very inventive creative menu comma with extremely fresh ingredients from both the farm and sea. Trust me, just try this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seabasstro (and more) pub.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Ecclectic, creative, local, foodie, fresh, great beer, great wine , have-an-open-mind, always awesome ocean delights!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Epic as always!!!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Epic as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute go-to for amazing people and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My absolute go-to for amazing people and food. They are consistently right-on and I love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Gem!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We didn't know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised with the awesome friendly service and delicious sashimi :) We got a fun seat at the sushi bar and got to appreciate all of the beautiful sushi going out, and even got some mini samples...awesome! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dishes; creative and delicious ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful dishes; creative and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staple for us!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We love this place! Eat here probably once a week and recommend to everyone! We especially love their plant based menu! :)

Ali & Pat

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night, food is amazing so different!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Everything is cooked fresh and so tasty, I had the Wahoo it melted in your mouth !My husband had the steak tips, on fresh veggies, he loved it.

Great atmosphere, Nice staff and its lovely decorated.

We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best sushi I've ever eaten!! ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Some of the best sushi I've ever eaten!!if you're thinking of going here, do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sloppy Japanese food.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Sloppy Japanese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Simply amazing..

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The W and R never disappoints. Remarkable food, remarkable staff and world class sushi .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food kept coming

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Sushi chef Davin is creating some incredible delights with fish. We had Omakase and each dish was fresh ,amazing to look at, and melt in your mouth delicious. Fun and funky vibe. Great service - Casis was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love every time!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Love every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique sushi items. Eclectic atmosphere ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Unique sushi items. Eclectic atmosphere. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Really creative sushi!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

A really outstanding hole in the wall restaurant in Oceanside. The fish and other ingredients were incredibly fresh and tasty. Very creative and unorthodox menu for sushi and sashimi. We went with the "Chef's Choice" and the waitress would bring dishes one after another. Each new dish was a pleasant and unexpectedly creative surprise. EVERYTHING was delicious and the price was reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellence

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

From the waiters/waitresses to the fooos. Everything is amazing. Our favorite eatery any day of the week..

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi chefs were so creative with their ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Sushi chefs were so creative with their dishes and very personable. Fish is soooo fresh! They've always accommodated my request for sushi bar when I've used Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sushi ok im a sushi snob

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Im a sushi snob and i can't enjoy sushi at most americanized sushi bars with deep fried rolls and spicy mayo sauce.

This place is a fusion of authentic sushi and gourmet flavors and sauces. The only complaint. No full bar. Location. This place is actually very reasonable but they could do so much better in del mar la costa etc. More $$$ Despite the full bar I will be back. My wife said its the best sushi she has had> it was among the top for me too. Next time I am trying the chefs tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always consistently amazing. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is always consistently amazing. Davin the owner is very creative .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, unique dining experience.

 
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Celebrated hubby's birthday and had a great time. Cool vibe. Very fresh, very well prepared food. Loved the Del Mar, Hedgehog, and Wet Brain, as well as the duck fat carrots, and the ceviche. Had a lovely wine to pair with it. The cheesecake was decadent. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another good find in downtown Oceanside

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Had heard so much about this place so we decided to give it a try. To be honest when we walked it I was taken a bit back at the "rustic" deco. With all the new "hip and trendy" places in Oceanside I was expecting something different. We were seated at a VERY small table and were both still unsure of our choice for dining. Since we were so close to the people next to us we started chatting with them and they said the food we great and they made suggestions. We tried the special of the carrots cooked in duck fat with Chimi Churi sauce - fabulous! We had three rolls - Cronic - Mango and Wet Brain. Cronic not my favorite - Mango really good and Wet Brain was great. A family sat at the table on the other side - and once again since everything is so close we shared what we liked and struck up a great conversation with them. They shared their Del Mar roll with us and it was very good. Another great example of not judging a book by it's cover. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious....Delicious....Delicious Sushi/Sashimi

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

A delightful experience awaits anyone who loves sushi/sashimi. The selections are not the standard rolls and raw fish that most sushi restaurants offer, although they do have that. Their creations are remarkable and require NO soy sauce. We (5 of us) went omakase, giving them our dietary limits and they did the rest. My only complaint and that is a minor one, is they were able to bring the food out a bit quicker than we were ready for, but we still to enjoyed it all. Friendly service...small establishment so reservations are suggested. Not inexpensive (a bit more than most sushi restaurants) but you get what you pay for and it was worth it. I will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.