About WP Kitchen + Bar - Greensboro

607 Green Valley Rd.
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

WP Kitchen + Bar is Wolfgang Puck’s newest restaurant concept serving globally-influenced fare in a family-style format. Inspired by how the acclaimed chef dines and entertains at home, the menu boasts a seasonal offering of small plates, fresh salads, pizzas and handmade pastas as well as a variety of seafood, steak and other proteins. Located in Friendly Center, the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner beginning at 11AM daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Sun-Mon – 11am-9pm


Tues-Thurs 11am-10pm


Fri-Sat 11am-11pm


Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-0301

Website:
http://www.wolfgangpuck.com/dining/wp-kitchen-bar-greensboro-nc/

Parking Details:
Restaurant located in Friendly Center with free parking lot for the restaurant and complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Culpepper

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please give us a call! We're happy to help you with all of your special event needs.

WP Kitchen + Bar - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
See All
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Upon entering the restaurant, the hostess was very preoccupied and did not greet us at all. She has several opportunities to but was far to busy checking on things in the dining room. We realized our party had already been seated. Had we not been meeting people, I would have walked out. Not a good first impression. The pizza oven wasn't working so the menu was small. Our waiters was friendly and helpful but our experience was still terrible. Food was not good and one person's meal was not cooked properly. They were out of several things we wanted. The manager came by with complementary desserts which was kind but it was a very disappointing and expensive evening. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Waited incredibly long (over an hour) for entrees in a half empty restaurant. Food came out incorrect. Food was good, but not worth dealing with the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, the ambiance was amazing and the staff was very welcoming! Food portions were somewhat small for the price but I understand that you are paying for the environment and not the quantity.

Would recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Decided to go to WP for Valentine's Day. First impression was how modern it was inside. Seats were comfy and bar looked great. Great wine list, but I'm a beer guy. Food was decent. We had the fried calamari and it had a chalky aftertaste to it. I think it was the breading. Pizza oven was not working which was disappointing since I wanted to try one. The burger and fries was tasty, but the wife's alfredo was bland. For the price I was expecting tastier food. Maybe I'll try it again when the pizza oven is fixed, but other than that I would not visit again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

3rd Valentine's Day there...we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was good. Food was bland and overpriced for the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wonderful service and food. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is usually great, very disappointing this visit- Birthday day dessert- gelato , was grainy-. Not a typical night at WP

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lunch birthday for 6 people! Lunch at 13pm! The place wasn't packed.

We waited 1hr for our food! We got back to work at 1:45pm!

Five of us ad specials for the day! We didn't asked for an intricate dish! It was just a bit too long for lunch!!!

With that said, the food was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was great as always and the service top notch! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I had never visited WP since it opened at Friendly. Based in previous reviews my guest and I were very disappointed with our meal. Wine, WP, was great...Sam our server was excellent and very accommodating. We ordered a pizza, nothing special, and our pasta dish came out cold. It was replaced and the GM brought it out with an apology. Even warmer, the sauce on top of the cheese ravioli was nothing more than a tomato bisque. I would have to say I will frequent other nearby venues, more value for the dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food and service was great even after my initial request for two tables totally away from each other was apparently not documented. Servers for both tables were wonderful. Managers were great about checking in

Entry Hostesses could use a bit more personality and attention to detail.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

If you're looking for a place in Greensboro that offers impeccable service, creative menus (using a lot of locally sourced ingredients), with a quaint, comfortable atmosphere - WP Kitchen + Bar is the place for you. Be sure to sign up for their newsletter so you can be the first to know when they have one of their specialty dinners!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We are never disappointed when we eat at WP Kitchen. The food is always fresh and prepared to perfection, especially the Brussels sprouts! A.J.'s service was fantastic, very personable! Keep up the great work. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent mountain trout and excellent service. Good value.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good and service was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Had a business lunch here, service good, and the food was great. Would go there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food overall was good...pizzas were great! Had the cheese and salumi as appt...eh. Need to bring back cheese and meat board as it was awesome!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went for our daughters birthday. Food was excellent as usual!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went for family New Year's celebration. Able to satisfy teenage sons' hunger with large dishes and have good reviews by all from appetizers thru dessert. Have to try pizza and mussel appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 27, 2016

During this visit I had fantastic service and great food. The atmosphere is very relaxed, but still upscale. The food is always fresh and delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always delicious pizza and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

First time back in a few months. The new menu is fantastic! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great, and our server was very nice and attentive. But, as usual, it took quite a while for the food to come out. A little loud too if you are seated next to the bar area.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was perfectly prepared and came out fresh from kitchen quickly. Servers and managers were very attentive and provided top quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was my second time to WP and it was just as delicious as the last time. Only issue was our waitress was here and there and assumed we were done, gave us three separate checks and walked away. We were all together and we wanted a dessert but after receiving our bill prematurely we decided to go somewhere else for dessert.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not what it used to be...Service, as always, was great. Unfortunately, the food wasn't. Both wife and I had wood fired pizzas. Crust was thin and soggy. Too much grease. The menu for this new concept is different, and not very tasty. We were there on a Friday night, and the place was dead. When this first opened several years ago this place was always packed on Friday and Saturday nights. They need to bring back some menu items that were great from the original menu (truffle fries, goat cheese pizza), and also make the portions worth the prices, or drop the prices. Cheese ravioli used to be a very large portion of 8 or 9 pieces, now its 5 or 6. They need to change up the menu more often, improve the wine & beer menu as well.

Probably won't be back, which is too bad, because the ambiance & service is great - they just need the food & value to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love WGP everytime we come. Had my family at the restaurant for my birthday and my sister's birthday. We always enjoy the craft pizzas - truly artisan style! But if you really want to splurge on your diet, get the truffle fries. I order them everytime!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great quick dinner - good value - very good service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The menu offered a wide variety of choices so everyone was happy with their meal. Calamari some of most tender I have had. Blue Cheese Potato chips were ridiculously good. Pizzas are great of course but we were equally please with seafood, dinner sizes salads and my husband raved about his burger. Said it was cooked just right. Add this to your favorites list in Greensboro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Dined at 8:45 pm. Service slow although not many people dining. Salad and pizza ok but not worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 30, 2016

I can cook better at home and have a nicer atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We've been longtime customers and we had high hopes for the new concept but unless something chances drastically, it will be a while before we go back. They have one seafood pasta on the menu and it's pretty bland. The pork schnitzel was tough and the mustard sauce was just ok. I don't know if they have a new chef but that dish was not the same. I ordered a side salad and had to return it because it had absolutely no taste. The second one was better but not great. They've priced themselves out of what I consider reasonable for the food. I've left disappointed before but nothing like Saturday night. The only redeeming factor is the wait staff. Paul normally waits on us but was not there. The other staff were very attentive as are the house managers. If they could get a menu that worked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We are not familiar with restaurants in the area and felt this choice would be a safe bet. The restaurant's claim to bring out each meal when ready to 'savor every bite at its best' is confusing. All 8 meals came out together and 7 were over-cooked. Price and quality are not in alignment. No complaints with the salads, desserts and wine and the environment was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I went in with a friend to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant has been updated. The cost was very expensive for a normal neighborhood restaurant. The waitress was push, made us feel like we needed to hurry. She was older , and was miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Would have rated this visit higher except for mix-up on the dessert order. We had to wait over 20 minutes for it to be delivered and we were ready to leave. The manager came by before we ever said anything and apologized for the delay - and offered the dessert for free. Our problem was we went 20 minutes with no word from anyone. It was a generous solution, but did not change the fact that we were left with no word for a long time. This was unusual and it still remains one of our regular places to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service great selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

A great place for any occasion. The service was okay, but the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very relaxed and comfortable. Greeted promptly and seated right away. Expanded menu is quite varied and more complete now. Would suggest doing the same with the wine list. Three of us ordered three different pizzas so we could have take-homes. Made for nice lunch the next day. My wife and I are regulars but a first for our daughter. She can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 18, 2016

There was no "wow" factor here, but the food was really good. The serving staff seemed very disorganized, delivering food to wrong tables and not keeping track of who ordered what. Hopefully that will improve as they get used to their new environment. The space is very chic; we'll definitely be back to check out the patio area, which was closed for a private party during our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was very good on the upper end of Wolf Gang Puck places with good this on some originals. Everything came out hot and very flavorful. Pricing was reasonable too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I usually get the fennel sausage pizza. I tried the chicken pasta this time and it was perfect, the sauce wasn't heavy and if was well seasoned. We also love the truffle fries. Craft beer selection is nice and I always love the overhead music playing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The "format change" is a little shaky. The food wasn't as good as in past visits but the prices are definitely higher. My experience mirrored comments I had heard from others. Hopefully, these are just growing pains and will be resolved with a little more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoyed the Easter Supper offering, it was delicious and gave us an opportunity to try several different things on the menu. Service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The new concept is not that different than before. Food continues to be good but the service is spotty. Some increased training for the servers would benefit the place a great deal -- particularly at their price point.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 22, 2016

I feel It's good food but not really worth the $$ and the amount of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent variety from which to choose; we were with two picky eaters and everyone was well pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I dined at Wolfgang Puck's for the first time recently. We like to try new (for us) restaurants and we hadn't been there before. As we walked in, the place seemed nice enough. The ambiance was average or slightly above, but nothing special. We were seated and we began to browse the menus. One of the first things I noticed was the price of a glass of beer -- seven dollars! Quite high for this area. The dinner prices were high as well -- so I expected that the food would be quite special. It was good, slightly above average, but not deserving of the high price. (I had pasta; my wife had salad and wood oven roasted root cellar vegetables with golden raisins -- which came without the raisins; we both had wine.). The service was better than average (although the servers forgot to bring the bread that I requested and it had to be re-ordered). We don't mind spending a few bucks occasionally for a top quality meal at a fine dining establishment, but I wouldn't rate WP as such an establishment. The food, atmosphere, and service were good but not commensurate with the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We enjoyed a birthday dinner here with delicious fish entrees, vegetables and dessert. The food presentation is beautiful and entrée portions are ample. Vegetables are an add-on and they were good, but a small portion. Desserts were also small portions (not enough to share) but lovely presentations and tasty. The restaurant was packed and service was friendly, but slower than we expected. If you like a lively restaurant and $50 per person (with no beverage other than water) is OK with your budget, you'll enjoy dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.