About WP Kitchen + Bar - Greensboro

607 Green Valley Rd.
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

WP Kitchen + Bar is Wolfgang Puck’s newest restaurant concept serving globally-influenced fare in a family-style format. Inspired by how the acclaimed chef dines and entertains at home, the menu boasts a seasonal offering of small plates, fresh salads, pizzas and handmade pastas as well as a variety of seafood, steak and other proteins. Located in Friendly Center, the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner beginning at 11AM daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Sun-Mon – 11am-9pm


Tues-Thurs 11am-10pm


Fri-Sat 11am-11pm


Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-0301

Website:
http://www.wolfgangpuck.com/restaurants/casual-dining/WP-Kitchen-Bar/Greensboro

Parking Details:
Restaurant located in Friendly Center with free parking lot for the restaurant and complimentary valet.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please give us a call! We're happy to help you with all of your special event needs.

Restaurant Photos

  • WP Kitchen + Bar - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
WP Kitchen + Bar - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC

WP Kitchen + Bar - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
43 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great, and our server was very ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great, and our server was very nice and attentive. But, as usual, it took quite a while for the food to come out. A little loud too if you are seated next to the bar area.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was perfectly prepared and came out ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was perfectly prepared and came out fresh from kitchen quickly. Servers and managers were very attentive and provided top quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time to WP and it was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was my second time to WP and it was just as delicious as the last time. Only issue was our waitress was here and there and assumed we were done, gave us three separate checks and walked away. We were all together and we wanted a dessert but after receiving our bill prematurely we decided to go somewhere else for dessert.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Not what it used to be...Service, as alw ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not what it used to be...Service, as always, was great. Unfortunately, the food wasn't. Both wife and I had wood fired pizzas. Crust was thin and soggy. Too much grease. The menu for this new concept is different, and not very tasty. We were there on a Friday night, and the place was dead. When this first opened several years ago this place was always packed on Friday and Saturday nights. They need to bring back some menu items that were great from the original menu (truffle fries, goat cheese pizza), and also make the portions worth the prices, or drop the prices. Cheese ravioli used to be a very large portion of 8 or 9 pieces, now its 5 or 6. They need to change up the menu more often, improve the wine & beer menu as well.

Probably won't be back, which is too bad, because the ambiance & service is great - they just need the food & value to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Love WGP everytime we come. Had my famil ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love WGP everytime we come. Had my family at the restaurant for my birthday and my sister's birthday. We always enjoy the craft pizzas - truly artisan style! But if you really want to splurge on your diet, get the truffle fries. I order them everytime!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great quick dinner - good value - very g ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great quick dinner - good value - very good service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The m ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The menu offered a wide variety of choices so everyone was happy with their meal. Calamari some of most tender I have had. Blue Cheese Potato chips were ridiculously good. Pizzas are great of course but we were equally please with seafood, dinner sizes salads and my husband raved about his burger. Said it was cooked just right. Add this to your favorites list in Greensboro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dined at 8:45 pm. Service slow although ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Dined at 8:45 pm. Service slow although not many people dining. Salad and pizza ok but not worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I can cook better at home and have a nic ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 30, 2016

I can cook better at home and have a nicer atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

New menu continues to disappoint.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We've been longtime customers and we had high hopes for the new concept but unless something chances drastically, it will be a while before we go back. They have one seafood pasta on the menu and it's pretty bland. The pork schnitzel was tough and the mustard sauce was just ok. I don't know if they have a new chef but that dish was not the same. I ordered a side salad and had to return it because it had absolutely no taste. The second one was better but not great. They've priced themselves out of what I consider reasonable for the food. I've left disappointed before but nothing like Saturday night. The only redeeming factor is the wait staff. Paul normally waits on us but was not there. The other staff were very attentive as are the house managers. If they could get a menu that worked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing meal.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We are not familiar with restaurants in the area and felt this choice would be a safe bet. The restaurant's claim to bring out each meal when ready to 'savor every bite at its best' is confusing. All 8 meals came out together and 7 were over-cooked. Price and quality are not in alignment. No complaints with the salads, desserts and wine and the environment was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The waitress was pushy, the food was over priced.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I went in with a friend to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant has been updated. The cost was very expensive for a normal neighborhood restaurant. The waitress was push, made us feel like we needed to hurry. She was older , and was miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

temporary low review

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Would have rated this visit higher except for mix-up on the dessert order. We had to wait over 20 minutes for it to be delivered and we were ready to leave. The manager came by before we ever said anything and apologized for the delay - and offered the dessert for free. Our problem was we went 20 minutes with no word from anyone. It was a generous solution, but did not change the fact that we were left with no word for a long time. This was unusual and it still remains one of our regular places to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service great selections.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service great selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great place for any occasion. The serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

A great place for any occasion. The service was okay, but the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

WP "wow place"

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very relaxed and comfortable. Greeted promptly and seated right away. Expanded menu is quite varied and more complete now. Would suggest doing the same with the wine list. Three of us ordered three different pizzas so we could have take-homes. Made for nice lunch the next day. My wife and I are regulars but a first for our daughter. She can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice, new and simple

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 18, 2016

There was no "wow" factor here, but the food was really good. The serving staff seemed very disorganized, delivering food to wrong tables and not keeping track of who ordered what. Hopefully that will improve as they get used to their new environment. The space is very chic; we'll definitely be back to check out the patio area, which was closed for a private party during our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was very good on the upper end of W ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was very good on the upper end of Wolf Gang Puck places with good this on some originals. Everything came out hot and very flavorful. Pricing was reasonable too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never disappointed

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I usually get the fennel sausage pizza. I tried the chicken pasta this time and it was perfect, the sauce wasn't heavy and if was well seasoned. We also love the truffle fries. Craft beer selection is nice and I always love the overhead music playing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "format change" is a little shaky. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The "format change" is a little shaky. The food wasn't as good as in past visits but the prices are definitely higher. My experience mirrored comments I had heard from others. Hopefully, these are just growing pains and will be resolved with a little more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Easter Supper

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoyed the Easter Supper offering, it was delicious and gave us an opportunity to try several different things on the menu. Service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but service is spotty

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The new concept is not that different than before. Food continues to be good but the service is spotty. Some increased training for the servers would benefit the place a great deal -- particularly at their price point.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overpriced, small portions

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 22, 2016

I feel It's good food but not really worth the $$ and the amount of food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Great menu

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent variety from which to choose; we were with two picky eaters and everyone was well pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner experience review

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I dined at Wolfgang Puck's for the first time recently. We like to try new (for us) restaurants and we hadn't been there before. As we walked in, the place seemed nice enough. The ambiance was average or slightly above, but nothing special. We were seated and we began to browse the menus. One of the first things I noticed was the price of a glass of beer -- seven dollars! Quite high for this area. The dinner prices were high as well -- so I expected that the food would be quite special. It was good, slightly above average, but not deserving of the high price. (I had pasta; my wife had salad and wood oven roasted root cellar vegetables with golden raisins -- which came without the raisins; we both had wine.). The service was better than average (although the servers forgot to bring the bread that I requested and it had to be re-ordered). We don't mind spending a few bucks occasionally for a top quality meal at a fine dining establishment, but I wouldn't rate WP as such an establishment. The food, atmosphere, and service were good but not commensurate with the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Busy. Delicious. Pricey.

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We enjoyed a birthday dinner here with delicious fish entrees, vegetables and dessert. The food presentation is beautiful and entrée portions are ample. Vegetables are an add-on and they were good, but a small portion. Desserts were also small portions (not enough to share) but lovely presentations and tasty. The restaurant was packed and service was friendly, but slower than we expected. If you like a lively restaurant and $50 per person (with no beverage other than water) is OK with your budget, you'll enjoy dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent Grilled Chicken Salad and appetizers

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Try the chicken meatballs and the onion rings - they are both amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Like the new menu!

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Family dinner on the heated (enclosed) patio, excellent food. You must try the schnitzel!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Service & Amazing Food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2016

The service at WP was incredible. Beginning with the hostess, to the waitress, to the manager stopping by more than once. The food was outstanding, I ordered the seafood linguine and Brussel sprouts and I cannot tell you another place that has better Brussels. They were out of this world. Will definitely be back the next time I am in Greensboro!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great modifications to menu! Wolfgangs ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great modifications to menu! Wolfgangs brother was on site - nice to see this place is getting attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. The desert was over ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was excellent. The desert was over the top good. Red velvet cake came with a scoop of gelato. The gelato was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I dined here for Valentine's Day, and I don't think we could've made a better choice. We both ordered steak frites for our entree; the steak was wonderfully cooked and very tender, and the fries were good as well. The homemade steak sauce was beyond delicious. Hands down, this is one of the best meals I've had in a long time, but the desserts we had got this restaurant a guarantee that we will be back. I had the creme brûlée and my husband had the apple tart, both were sheer heaven on a plate. This place is moderately pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Changed menu to try to upscale the resta ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Changed menu to try to upscale the restaurant...poor job. Food not good, everything a la carte, not worth the money. Service only mediocre. Dinner group will not be going back nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2016

I thought the new menu looked great and all the food we had was yummy! The waitress was great and very friendly. We sat outside which was heated but there was a draft near the ground so my feet were freezing, thank goodness I had boots on. But other than that it was a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was great! So glad they were able to ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 6, 2016

It was great! So glad they were able to accommodate our group of 14 on the patio! Even though it's winter, the patio had been enclosed (plastic) and there were heaters! It was very comfortable!

Sand that some of our favorite appetizers are no longer available though! (Goat cheese dip)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and wonderful food

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Outstanding service and great tasting food. Their salads are wonderful. The pizzas are very good. If you must wait for a table the bar staff is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed with the new menu and wine list

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 30, 2016

I think more attention needs to be paid to the food presented. The plate my pizza was served on was not appropriate and the bottom of the pizza was soggy right from the beginning. It made have been caused by being under the lights too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Need to try again

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 21, 2016

First visit since they change concepts to WP Kitchen + Bar. I expected a more dramatic change in the menu. Keep a lot of items and added some entrees. Appetizers and salads are pretty expensive. There is no small salad that you can order with an entree -- so if someone else doesn't want to share, you are stuck with a larger $10 salad. Food overall was good and the server was attentive. Overall doesn't seem that much different -- but higher. They said they were up scaling but they have a ways to go to get there. We will try it again. We have always liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent find!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2016

Excellent food and wine! The service was very good and fast. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New but not necessarily better.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2016

Ate lunch at Pucks before Christmas with friends and it was enjoyable as always. Out lunch on the 12th was my first with the new format and menu. While the food was certainly delicious (I had the fennel sausage pizza), I missed some of the former menu items, like flatbread; and the way the menu is laid out, I found it difficult to read. I'm sure I'll return at some point, and maybe some of these new things will have been evaluated.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.