About WP Kitchen + Bar - Charlotte

6706-C Philips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

WP Kitchen + Bar is Wolfgang Puck’s newest restaurant concept serving globally-influenced fare in a family-style format. Inspired by how the acclaimed chef dines and entertains at home, the menu boasts a seasonal offering of small plates, fresh salads, pizzas and handmade pastas as well as a variety of seafood, steak and other proteins. Located in Phillips Place, the restaurant is open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Mon-Thurs 11:30am-2:30pm; 5pm-10pm


Fri 11:30am-2:30pm; 5pm-11pm


Sat 11:30am-11pm


Sun 12pm-9pm

Cross Street:
NA - Phillips Pace Center

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 295-0101

Website:
http://www.wolfgangpuck.com/restaurants/casual-dining/WP-Kitchen-Bar/Charlotte

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV's and music throughout the dining room

Parking Details:
Free parking available at Philip's Place

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please give us a call! We're happy to work with you on any and all of your special event needs.

WP Kitchen + Bar - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have lived in Charlotte years and jus ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have lived in Charlotte years and just discovering this great restaurant. I really like the half sandwich and salad idea. Many restaurants are serving small plates and this is like a small plate. We went 2 days in a row and will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent at WP Kitchen, Good fo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always consistent at WP Kitchen, Good food, good service, and lively atmosphere. Always enjoy my dinners here!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! everytime we go! Bartenders ar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous! everytime we go! Bartenders are extremely attentive and food never disappoints~

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations work perfectbly. Great atmo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Reservations work perfectbly. Great atmosphere with good food. Mushroom pizza is great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, ambiance, and service. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, ambiance, and service. We tried the Octopus, the apple salad, and the Salmon and they were all superb. Outstanding value

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and very fresh food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic service and very fresh food and flavors. I liked that they had healthy options on the kids menu as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was small portions, decently pr ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was small portions, decently prepared, way overpriced. I can easily find exceptionally prepared food for less elsewhere. The service was excellent, the decor very nice, but I have no reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Enjoyed out time at WP and thought our w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed out time at WP and thought our waiter was wonderful. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated quickly and was checked on by sev ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Seated quickly and was checked on by several people on how things were going!

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've said it once and I will say it agai ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I've said it once and I will say it again...

This place is one of the most consistent restaurants in Charlotte

Great menu, professional waitstaff and the food is terrific

Love their chicken and love the Octopus appetizer

Can't wait to return

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow this time, but muc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was very slow this time, but much better when we dined there about a year ago. Food is always delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Both had steak - it was horrible.... if ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Both had steak - it was horrible.... if you are headed out and looking for steak, go to Beef & Bottle - you and your guests will be MUCH happier.

Service was decent , bar area seemed nice

The french fries were great (some of the best I have had)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Trout was wonderful and a very large por ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Trout was wonderful and a very large portion / friends had pizza which is always very good / and we had the Carolina cocktail - a bubbly treat

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful spot! Delicious food ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is a wonderful spot! Delicious food and a very acomidating staff! We had a large group and they did a great job of taking care us !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant we've been to in quite a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best restaurant we've been to in quite a while. Food, service and good value. The butternut squash soup was to die for! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome will definitely be back!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Awesome will definitely be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of service and food was fant ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The quality of service and food was fantastic. All 4 of us enjoyed our entrees, food was hot, tasty and would sefinelty return again. We lucked out on half bottle of wine night, they have specials during the week. Check it out!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 5th time at WP and it just g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This is our 5th time at WP and it just get's better. Really consistent and professional service

Can't wait to return

Best,

Steve

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience at WP. Service f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a great experience at WP. Service from our first drink at the bar to the end-of-the-night dessert wonderful. Food awesome and loved the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was beyond amazing from hosts, s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was beyond amazing from hosts, server, and management. The food was fantastic and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 4th time back, so we must li ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This is our 4th time back, so we must like it. On this visit, we brought a friend. We ordered 3 appetizers and 3 entrees. Two of the appetizers came out first, and we had to stare at our food until my wife's appetizer arrived.. We had ordered the octopus (Outstanding), and she ordered the chicken salad. Why that came out late and last was never explained to us. My friends burger was good to perfection. We had the trout. Both great dishes... but way to salty. We mentioned that to our waitress, who followed with a wonderful sweet tart to clear our palate. This did their best to "make things right". We will be back, but we will remember to remind them to go lightly on the salt.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding and I loved the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was outstanding and I loved the ambiance of the place! The décor was beautiful. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First time we have been here since the n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time we have been here since the new menu and their re-design. Frankly I liked the old menu better. The new menu didn't resonate that much with me. Luckily the fish and chips lunch special was being offered. It was very good, batter was very tasty and the the chips were hot and good. My wife had the tortilla soup (too bad they made it with cumin, ugh) and the 3 chicken meatball starter, which was very good. Cocktails are at the higher end about $13, but well crafted. We ended out lunch with a shared peach tart with vanilla ice cream; delicious at $9. While our lunch was an enjoyable one, I'm not sure we'll be running back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Great as always. Service is great and a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great as always. Service is great and always good quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and ambiance. Excellent servic ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food and ambiance. Excellent service, and a nice atmosphere. A very enjoyable meal! Many tempting offerings on the menu. I had the ribeye steak and it was huge , tasty and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting in Charlotte and chose ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were visiting in Charlotte and chose WP Kitchen because it was close to our hotel and based on the memo and reviews. The restaurant has a cool vibe. The calamari was very tender and lightly battered and fried. My husband and I both had the salmon and loved it. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoy Wolfgang Puck restaurant quite ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We enjoy Wolfgang Puck restaurant quite often. Always good in every respect, especially when Wolfgang visits his Charlotte location. Great, attentive manager too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, but it is kind of ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was very good, but it is kind of expensive if you get the $15.00 salads and a meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an phenomenal dining expierenceex ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had an phenomenal dining expierenceexpierence. The staff was attentive and friendly. Food was plated well and tasted perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it once was. Such a shame too a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Not what it once was. Such a shame too as it was the perfect family friendly/nice restaurant hybrid for my wife and I and two young kids.

The food is still good and the service is usually good too. But they keep making the menus worse. There's three boring pasta dishes. Now it's just spaghetti and Alfredo dishes. They used to have my favorite pasta dish in town. And the pizza options are also dull.

Bring back the sausage and broccoli rabe pasta

Bring back the salmon and potato pizzas

Bring back the burrata appetizer

Bring Back the old menu!!!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

WP is always a great experience. Their ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

WP is always a great experience. Their staff provides service that is unmatched in Charlotte. We highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in food. I had lunch there ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Disappointed in food. I had lunch there a week ago. We shared the salumi and cheese platter and i ordered the mussels for my entrée. Both delicious.

Wednesday night we ordered same thing.... Cheese platter ok but skimpier on meat than lunch portion. Mussels way off.... Not hot and very little sauce. When I got them for lunch they were steaming hot swimming in delicious, spicy sauce that we sopped up with bread. For dinner cold no sauce and when I asked for more they brought a little bowl with lukewarm sauce. Lunch definitely better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely fantastic. Everything from se ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Everything from service, drinks, to the food. The pizza is divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd time back and we still ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our 3rd time back and we still love it. The service is terrific.

We had reservations, but when we showed up, they acted like they will try to squeeze us in by putting 2 high top tables together. I told them that won't work. After chatting with another hostess, she said " oh they have reservations, so we were immediately seated.

Love the valet parking

Will be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

saturday night dinner out. first time w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

saturday night dinner out. first time we didn't try the pizza or pasta. the chicken and the salmon were both very good. can get pricey with apps, but a nice night out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food quality keeps going down! And down! ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food quality keeps going down! And down!!! The host was extremely gracious and kind; the waiter was very professional and friendly. The moment the food came, it was downhill! Nothing was even average. Everything we had was subpar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

I've know about WP, but for some reason ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've know about WP, but for some reason it fell off my radar. Never been to the Southwark location, so we gave it a try for lunch one day. It was so good, that we had to bring friends for dinner. Notable was the professional wait staff. Talk about the food? some of the best grilled chicken I have ever had.. and I've had quite a bit

Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, location and service. Everyt ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, location and service. Everything is over-priced ($14 for a cocktail & $12 for a delicious, but very small salad), but otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

WPK+B keeps changing - but not for the b ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2016

WPK+B keeps changing - but not for the better. Even changed the name. We love this place and want it to succeed. Waiter asked "is this your first time here?" It was the first time I've seen him - but we've dined there about 100 times (even met WP there). Unless you are a "new" restaurant don't ask that. Also had OT reservations - that system prob knows we've dined there before (100 and counting) so use the technology. "Welcome back" "great to see you again" are very welcoming. Frequent menu changes but not for the better - you keep taking off iconic items. Diners want healthier items - not alfredo sauces. Pizza is still great. I know they have pizza cooking space issue - but this is your "franchise item" - get another oven. The dough is the bomb - a good thing. Pasta need to be served in a bowl - not a plate - it moves around and get cooler quicker. Bring back the water pitchers for table and/or get larger glasses (our waiter left us dry). Until things improve - you need a drink special every night (not just mon/tues). The music changed to something like hits from the 70s (take a trip to NYC and see what the better/hipper places are playing and use that). The staff has changed - not sure where the guys with suit jackets went or the regular servers (that would remember us). If your good employees are leaving - not a good sign. We will keep coming back and making suggestions because this place should make it. BTW still a great looking space - you def. got that right. Tim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Manager was present and making sure cust ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Manager was present and making sure customers were happy. We ordered the flat iron steak and it was cooked perfectly and tasted great! Wouldn't recommend the chicken meatballs, they were fair and not worth the money. The creme brûlée was fantastic, definitely a worthwhile dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.