About WP Kitchen + Bar - Charlotte

6706-C Philips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

WP Kitchen + Bar is Wolfgang Puck’s newest restaurant concept serving globally-influenced fare in a family-style format. Inspired by how the acclaimed chef dines and entertains at home, the menu boasts a seasonal offering of small plates, fresh salads, pizzas and handmade pastas as well as a variety of seafood, steak and other proteins. Located in Phillips Place, the restaurant is open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Mon-Thurs 11:30am-2:30pm; 5pm-10pm


Fri 11:30am-2:30pm; 5pm-11pm


Sat 11:30am-11pm


Sun 12pm-9pm

Cross Street:
NA - Phillips Pace Center

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 295-0101

Website:
http://www.wolfgangpuck.com/restaurants/casual-dining/WP-Kitchen-Bar/Charlotte

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV's and music throughout the dining room

Parking Details:
Free parking available at Philip's Place

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please give us a call! We're happy to work with you on any and all of your special event needs.

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy 50% off all bottles of wine, all day, every Tuesday. Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

WP Kitchen + Bar - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for a Date (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome will definitely be back!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome will definitely be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 5th time at WP and it just g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is our 5th time at WP and it just get's better. Really consistent and professional service

Can't wait to return

Best,

Steve

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience at WP. Service f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a great experience at WP. Service from our first drink at the bar to the end-of-the-night dessert wonderful. Food awesome and loved the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was beyond amazing from hosts, s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was beyond amazing from hosts, server, and management. The food was fantastic and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 4th time back, so we must li ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This is our 4th time back, so we must like it. On this visit, we brought a friend. We ordered 3 appetizers and 3 entrees. Two of the appetizers came out first, and we had to stare at our food until my wife's appetizer arrived.. We had ordered the octopus (Outstanding), and she ordered the chicken salad. Why that came out late and last was never explained to us. My friends burger was good to perfection. We had the trout. Both great dishes... but way to salty. We mentioned that to our waitress, who followed with a wonderful sweet tart to clear our palate. This did their best to "make things right". We will be back, but we will remember to remind them to go lightly on the salt.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was outstanding and I loved the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was outstanding and I loved the ambiance of the place! The décor was beautiful. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First time we have been here since the n ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time we have been here since the new menu and their re-design. Frankly I liked the old menu better. The new menu didn't resonate that much with me. Luckily the fish and chips lunch special was being offered. It was very good, batter was very tasty and the the chips were hot and good. My wife had the tortilla soup (too bad they made it with cumin, ugh) and the 3 chicken meatball starter, which was very good. Cocktails are at the higher end about $13, but well crafted. We ended out lunch with a shared peach tart with vanilla ice cream; delicious at $9. While our lunch was an enjoyable one, I'm not sure we'll be running back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Great as always. Service is great and a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great as always. Service is great and always good quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and ambiance. Excellent servic ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food and ambiance. Excellent service, and a nice atmosphere. A very enjoyable meal! Many tempting offerings on the menu. I had the ribeye steak and it was huge , tasty and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were visiting in Charlotte and chose ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were visiting in Charlotte and chose WP Kitchen because it was close to our hotel and based on the memo and reviews. The restaurant has a cool vibe. The calamari was very tender and lightly battered and fried. My husband and I both had the salmon and loved it. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoy Wolfgang Puck restaurant quite ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We enjoy Wolfgang Puck restaurant quite often. Always good in every respect, especially when Wolfgang visits his Charlotte location. Great, attentive manager too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, but it is kind of ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was very good, but it is kind of expensive if you get the $15.00 salads and a meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an phenomenal dining expierenceex ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had an phenomenal dining expierenceexpierence. The staff was attentive and friendly. Food was plated well and tasted perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it once was. Such a shame too a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Not what it once was. Such a shame too as it was the perfect family friendly/nice restaurant hybrid for my wife and I and two young kids.

The food is still good and the service is usually good too. But they keep making the menus worse. There's three boring pasta dishes. Now it's just spaghetti and Alfredo dishes. They used to have my favorite pasta dish in town. And the pizza options are also dull.

Bring back the sausage and broccoli rabe pasta

Bring back the salmon and potato pizzas

Bring back the burrata appetizer

Bring Back the old menu!!!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

WP is always a great experience. Their ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

WP is always a great experience. Their staff provides service that is unmatched in Charlotte. We highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in food. I had lunch there ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Disappointed in food. I had lunch there a week ago. We shared the salumi and cheese platter and i ordered the mussels for my entrée. Both delicious.

Wednesday night we ordered same thing.... Cheese platter ok but skimpier on meat than lunch portion. Mussels way off.... Not hot and very little sauce. When I got them for lunch they were steaming hot swimming in delicious, spicy sauce that we sopped up with bread. For dinner cold no sauce and when I asked for more they brought a little bowl with lukewarm sauce. Lunch definitely better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely fantastic. Everything from se ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Everything from service, drinks, to the food. The pizza is divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd time back and we still ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our 3rd time back and we still love it. The service is terrific.

We had reservations, but when we showed up, they acted like they will try to squeeze us in by putting 2 high top tables together. I told them that won't work. After chatting with another hostess, she said " oh they have reservations, so we were immediately seated.

Love the valet parking

Will be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

saturday night dinner out. first time w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

saturday night dinner out. first time we didn't try the pizza or pasta. the chicken and the salmon were both very good. can get pricey with apps, but a nice night out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food quality keeps going down! And down! ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food quality keeps going down! And down!!! The host was extremely gracious and kind; the waiter was very professional and friendly. The moment the food came, it was downhill! Nothing was even average. Everything we had was subpar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

I've know about WP, but for some reason ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've know about WP, but for some reason it fell off my radar. Never been to the Southwark location, so we gave it a try for lunch one day. It was so good, that we had to bring friends for dinner. Notable was the professional wait staff. Talk about the food? some of the best grilled chicken I have ever had.. and I've had quite a bit

Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, location and service. Everyt ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, location and service. Everything is over-priced ($14 for a cocktail & $12 for a delicious, but very small salad), but otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

WPK+B keeps changing - but not for the b ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WPK+B keeps changing - but not for the better. Even changed the name. We love this place and want it to succeed. Waiter asked "is this your first time here?" It was the first time I've seen him - but we've dined there about 100 times (even met WP there). Unless you are a "new" restaurant don't ask that. Also had OT reservations - that system prob knows we've dined there before (100 and counting) so use the technology. "Welcome back" "great to see you again" are very welcoming. Frequent menu changes but not for the better - you keep taking off iconic items. Diners want healthier items - not alfredo sauces. Pizza is still great. I know they have pizza cooking space issue - but this is your "franchise item" - get another oven. The dough is the bomb - a good thing. Pasta need to be served in a bowl - not a plate - it moves around and get cooler quicker. Bring back the water pitchers for table and/or get larger glasses (our waiter left us dry). Until things improve - you need a drink special every night (not just mon/tues). The music changed to something like hits from the 70s (take a trip to NYC and see what the better/hipper places are playing and use that). The staff has changed - not sure where the guys with suit jackets went or the regular servers (that would remember us). If your good employees are leaving - not a good sign. We will keep coming back and making suggestions because this place should make it. BTW still a great looking space - you def. got that right. Tim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Manager was present and making sure cust ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Manager was present and making sure customers were happy. We ordered the flat iron steak and it was cooked perfectly and tasted great! Wouldn't recommend the chicken meatballs, they were fair and not worth the money. The creme brûlée was fantastic, definitely a worthwhile dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beet salad was great.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Beet salad was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Each of our party of 4 had something dif ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Each of our party of 4 had something different and everyone was happy with the food and the beer selection and the bar drinks. I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time dining here and was pleasantl ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

First time dining here and was pleasantly surprised by the delicious meal and attentive service. My last experience with a Wolgang Puck concept was the pizza, sandwich, salad semi-fast food of several years ago. This was a nicer full service bistro/bar. Stand outs were the roasted peach salad special and the skirt steak with chimichurri sauce. One of the best tasting, tender steaks I've ever eaten. I enjoyed this more than a recent steak at Flemings, honestly. It was so flavorful and the roasted onions were perfect accompaniment. I wasn't crazy about the purée style chimichurri...I like mine more traditional, chunky and vinegary. My husband enjoyed a different style steak with fries. We split a salted caramel pudding dessert which was tasty but small, so sized for just one person. It is a casual bistro kind of atmosphere with a mix of teens eating pizza, families, bar scene. Our bill came to well over $100 for two people without alcohol which kind of surprised us at first given the atmosphere of the place. The food was great but the atmosphere didn't quite match the tab if you know what I mean. We will return, but I wonder if they are still trying to figure out what they want to be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We picked WP last min for Father's Day b ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We picked WP last min for Father's Day brunch. We had never even heard of WP and only picked it because they had space or our size group, at the time we needed. I am so glad that we did! It was amazing! We had a full house, 9 people that included 3 kids and everyone and everything was amazing. The staff is the best! It's honestly stressful taking our kids out to restaurants that we hadn't check out before. They are still little (6,4&2) but everything was perfect! Totally can't wait to go back on a date night with just me and my husband!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to this restaurant after having ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to this restaurant after having gone to Postrio in Vegas, so we were drawn to Wolfgang Puck's restaurants. It did not disappoint and we will continue to frequent this restaurant. Food is excellent, atmosphere is fantastic, and the staff is spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly disappointing. I can literal ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Incredibly disappointing. I can literally see this restaurant from where I live and walked by it almost every night so was looking forward to eating there this past Sunday night. They advertise a 3-course supper on the blackboard outside the restaurant, on their website and in the restaurant which lured us in. However, when we sat down, we were told that because there was only 2 of us, we would have to pay double the advertised price. Nowhere does it say this - and I went back and reviewed the aforementioned places. Needless to say, we did not order the Sunday Supper and instead ordered a few items that were advertised as part of that meal - e.g. crispy shrimp and calamari, margherita pizza, etc. It tasted ok not great but we will NEVER go back to this restaurant due to its deceptive advertising. Only when we went to pay for the bill was there any mention of the Sunday Supper being for parties of 4 or more. Too bad because this would have been a nice "go to" restaurant for its convenient location.

One further comment – we expected to be able to make one selection from each of the 3 courses and the explanation at the restaurant was that you received all listed choices for the Sunday Supper. Never heard of this before – and there should be an option for 2 people for a slimmed down meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always great food, great service and won ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Always great food, great service and wonderful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My family and I come into the Charlotte area to visit family several times a year. We visit WP Kitchen and Bar at least twice each visit. The food is as wonderful as the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a bad move to change the menu... ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was a bad move to change the menu... Had a reservation at 5:30 on a Saturday afternoon and it was nearly empty... The chicken meatballs were good but extremely salty and I did not enjoy the meat pizza I ordered. The wait-staff were excellent though but all-in-all... The meal was not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Great cocktails served by fabulous bar a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great cocktails served by fabulous bar attendants/mixologists on 5/25/16! The Ribeye special with Fingerling Potatoes was delicious. I look forward to checking out the Sunday Supper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

interesting menu - everything we had was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

interesting menu - everything we had was delicious. Even though this was a busy Friday evening, our booth was redyfor us when we arrived. The'barnwood' décor seemed very deliberate. zgood seating options for couples or groups. We will return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prior to the menu change , WP was a favo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Prior to the menu change , WP was a favorite for special occasions and just to grab a bite after shopping. The pizza was awesome, the fries were delicious. Pasta and sandwiches were on point. The Kale salad was great. This place was great. I recommended this restaurant always. We went for Mothers Day. What a disappointment. I had no idea the menu had changed but waiters were really pushing the new menu. We were told the new Kake salad was better! Honestly, just another salad. The fries, seriously, take them off the menu. The manager did comp the fries. So disappointed that all the great tasting menu items are gone. Will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Small Portions Terrible Value

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Group of four for mothers day. Ordered Mothers Day dinner. Portions sizes of servings were 1/2 sized. For desert they brought out one small pudding cup with 4 spoons. I asked server why only one pudding was brought out and was told that is the serving size determined by corporate. Approx 5 minutes later server brought out an over cooked fruit tart with one tine scoop of ice cream. Despite portion size the food quality was fine but the desert ruined the meal. Meal had a set price per person but the bill listed completely different food than I was served and had 4 pudding cups on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great Food and Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. Short wait on meals (seven people). Wait person did not hover but monitored our table to make sure our needs were met. Could not have asked for better food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and great service - what a find

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Reservations for Mother's Day and even with the most picky eaters the staff was able to accommodate everyone's needs & allergies. Make sure to try the pesto pizza with locally grown greens - fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little cramped at the table

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We made reservations a few weeks in advance. We had a big group. We were put in the bar area and that was very cramped. They allow people to stand behind you and gather at the bar as well as the table next to us that only had 2 people was so closed that there was no way to get by them to sit down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.