About WP Kitchen + Bar - Charlotte

6706-C Philips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

WP Kitchen + Bar is Wolfgang Puck’s newest restaurant concept serving globally-influenced fare in a family-style format. Inspired by how the acclaimed chef dines and entertains at home, the menu boasts a seasonal offering of small plates, fresh salads, pizzas and handmade pastas as well as a variety of seafood, steak and other proteins. Located in Phillips Place, the restaurant is open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Mon-Thurs 11:30am-2:30pm; 5pm-10pm


Fri 11:30am-2:30pm; 5pm-11pm


Sat 11:30am-11pm


Sun 12pm-9pm

Cross Street:
NA - Phillips Pace Center

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 295-0101

Website:
http://www.wolfgangpuck.com/restaurants/casual-dining/WP-Kitchen-Bar/Charlotte

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV's and music throughout the dining room

Parking Details:
Free parking available at Philip's Place

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please give us a call! We're happy to work with you on any and all of your special event needs.

WP Kitchen + Bar - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Good for a Date (10)
Comfort Food (9)
See All
Kid-friendly (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to WP several times for drin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to WP several times for drinks and/or dinner, but this was my first time for lunch. I found the menu underwhelming for lunch: a few salads and pizzas, a sandwich or two, but still pretty heavy on, well, heavy food like pasta. It didn't seem that different from a dinner menu and definitely wasn't much different in price - other than non-meat salads, entrees were close to or over $20, a bit high for lunch. The food is ample and excellent, however.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a nice experience at the WP kitchen ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a nice experience at the WP kitchen for Charlotte Queens Feast. The whole menu was available for $30 a person and 3 courses. The calamari was great and came with 2 kinds of dipping sauce. The cesaer salad was pretty large, pre-mixed and great. We were a little surprised by the small amount of entrees on the menu. They had many pizza and burgers options but only a few actual entrees. I had the trout dinner which was kind of boring. My wife had the Linguini Fradiavlo which was great. Slightly spicy with ample shrimp and mussels. The desserts were a good size and pretty good as well. We had the molten chocolate cake and apple crumble. Both served with ice cream. All in all a nice, slightly upscale atmosphere in S. Park. Prices were a little on the high side for everyday eating out in our opinion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is delicious and great for a low-ke ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is delicious and great for a low-key dinner! Sit at the bar for quick service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A fun night with friends ! After seeing ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A fun night with friends ! After seeing a movie, we had reservations and were seated upon arrival. From the hostess to the waitress to the servers - EVERYONE was very friendly and had wonderful attitudes ! We all tried specialty cocktails which were very good. Next we had the truffle/blue cheese potato chips and peppers as appetizers. All were great, except one of us wished the peppers were a little more spicey. Next we ordered, pizzas, crab cakes and cheese board. I had the mushroom/spinach pizza and I loved it . We would all go back again. My only request would be to turn down the level of music. It was hard to hear the other two people across the table.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! Went for our 2 year an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great restaurant! Went for our 2 year anniversary! Would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Waiter was exceptional. Food - quite th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waiter was exceptional. Food - quite the abundance and would recommend possibly sharing unless going with a large appetite. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All pretty good - more filling than expe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All pretty good - more filling than expected. Calamari a touch underdone - coating not crispy. Pepperoni pizza crust a bit soggy but very tasty. Should provide red pepper flakes & parmesan cheese without having to ask. Octopus was perfect. How do they run out of an Italian Malbec by the glass early on a Friday night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great at WP! Yummy salad and pizz ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always great at WP! Yummy salad and pizza and you HAVE to get the blue cheese fondue truffle chips. YUM!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have tried WP Kitchen a few times and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have tried WP Kitchen a few times and have decided that pizza is the best thing on the menu. The pastas are not creative, my butternut squash soup tasted like it was from a grocery store line, and our appetizer was almost cold. They quickly brought another appetizer and it was very good, but everything else was ordinary. Cocktails were great, service was good, wine list is expensive and limited.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always consistent. Fantastic sal ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food is always consistent. Fantastic salads and the grilled octopus is some of the best around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

WP has become a favorite go to spot bit ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 26, 2016

WP has become a favorite go to spot bit Monday night was a huge disappointing event. Not a busy evening yet our food (table of 6) came out all at different times. Crab cakes, usually my favorite, were cold. Apple salad was fabulous as usual. Our gelato and sorbet choices were not available. Apple crisp ordered by 2 at our table seemed to be canned apples covered by granola with the vanilla sorbet being only saving grace. Server never told us of kithen issues but the problems were non-stop. Our out of town guests were underwhelmed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Good food, good service, nice place. Pa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food, good service, nice place. Parking a challenge at lunch hour.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and waiter!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great meal and waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent chicken dish tonight. Also gre ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent chicken dish tonight. Also great burger. Server was top notch. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

WP was awesome! The food was delicious a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

WP was awesome! The food was delicious and atmosphere was perfect for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was absolutely delicious - and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious - and the service was great too! Will definitely go back again soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was what we expected for one of ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was what we expected for one of Wolfgang Puck's restaurants. Everything tasted great and our server was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First off I'm knock 1 star off because t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

First off I'm knock 1 star off because the restaurant was 1/2 full on a Wednesday night, I made a reservation, we were well dressed AND they tried to seat us in the first high-top table next to the door by the bar (a.k.a. Worst seat in the place). Beyond that, the service was excellent and the food was very good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great and service was great ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was great and service was great for the most part. I had the Southpark Sour drink to start with.It is Jim Beam, maple, sage & lemon. I have a great sense of taste but cold not taste maple. Basically jim beam & lemon with tiny chunks of sage that were unappealing.A manager stopped by asking about how I liked the drink. I commented that it was not to my taste and she was basically like 'oh well have a nice night". What? First, strain the drink and then put a sage leaf garnish on top. I was pulling tiny pieces of sage out of my mouth at the dinner table. Classy! I finally asked our server if she could ask them to put a little more maple in it because I could not taste it AT ALL. She brought it back and it was great. So I'm happy to not waste $13 for a drink that wasn't good but still can't believe the manager (or whoever) walked away without asking what was wrong with the drink.

My husband had the weiner snitzel and loved it. I had the turkey burger and it was also very good. It was charbroiled, not fried on a griddle. For all beef burger lovers, I think you would really enjoy it. My husband took a bite and had a look of surprise on his face b/c it did not taste like turkey burgers as he expected.

Overall we love the atmosphere and food and USUALLY the service is great. The only fault in service this night was not from our server, she was great, but from the manager on duty. We love this place though and will be back. Oh for parents, somehow this is very kid friendly even though it's also a great night out for adults. They pull it all together between both of those better than any other restaurant I've been too. It's pretty impressive.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We have lived in Charlotte years and jus ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have lived in Charlotte years and just discovering this great restaurant. I really like the half sandwich and salad idea. Many restaurants are serving small plates and this is like a small plate. We went 2 days in a row and will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent at WP Kitchen, Good fo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always consistent at WP Kitchen, Good food, good service, and lively atmosphere. Always enjoy my dinners here!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! everytime we go! Bartenders ar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous! everytime we go! Bartenders are extremely attentive and food never disappoints~

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, , Open Kitchen, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations work perfectbly. Great atmo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Reservations work perfectbly. Great atmosphere with good food. Mushroom pizza is great.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, ambiance, and service. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, ambiance, and service. We tried the Octopus, the apple salad, and the Salmon and they were all superb. Outstanding value

Tags: Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service - would come her ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good food, good service - would come here again - no problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service and very fresh food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic service and very fresh food and flavors. I liked that they had healthy options on the kids menu as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was small portions, decently pr ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was small portions, decently prepared, way overpriced. I can easily find exceptionally prepared food for less elsewhere. The service was excellent, the decor very nice, but I have no reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Enjoyed out time at WP and thought our w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed out time at WP and thought our waiter was wonderful. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated quickly and was checked on by sev ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Seated quickly and was checked on by several people on how things were going!

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've said it once and I will say it agai ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I've said it once and I will say it again...

This place is one of the most consistent restaurants in Charlotte

Great menu, professional waitstaff and the food is terrific

Love their chicken and love the Octopus appetizer

Can't wait to return

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow this time, but muc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was very slow this time, but much better when we dined there about a year ago. Food is always delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Both had steak - it was horrible.... if ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Both had steak - it was horrible.... if you are headed out and looking for steak, go to Beef & Bottle - you and your guests will be MUCH happier.

Service was decent , bar area seemed nice

The french fries were great (some of the best I have had)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Trout was wonderful and a very large por ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Trout was wonderful and a very large portion / friends had pizza which is always very good / and we had the Carolina cocktail - a bubbly treat

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful spot! Delicious food ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is a wonderful spot! Delicious food and a very acomidating staff! We had a large group and they did a great job of taking care us !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant we've been to in quite a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best restaurant we've been to in quite a while. Food, service and good value. The butternut squash soup was to die for! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome will definitely be back!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Awesome will definitely be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of service and food was fant ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The quality of service and food was fantastic. All 4 of us enjoyed our entrees, food was hot, tasty and would sefinelty return again. We lucked out on half bottle of wine night, they have specials during the week. Check it out!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 5th time at WP and it just g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This is our 5th time at WP and it just get's better. Really consistent and professional service

Can't wait to return

Best,

Steve

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience at WP. Service f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a great experience at WP. Service from our first drink at the bar to the end-of-the-night dessert wonderful. Food awesome and loved the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was beyond amazing from hosts, s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was beyond amazing from hosts, server, and management. The food was fantastic and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.