About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Private Party Facilities:
Workshop Kitchen + Bar understands event planning is a lot of work, and memorable events especially so. In order to make the process easier, Chef Michael Beckman designs season-appropriate menus for every event. Join us for a truly unique Palm Springs dining experience in the historic El Paseo Building.

Private Party Contact:
Alec Linehan: 7604593451x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Halibut With Foie Gras And Asparagus - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Steelhead - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Shelton Farms Whole Duck - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Braised Oxtail Shepherds Pie - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Duck Rillette - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Octopus Carpaccio - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Duck Fat Fries - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Crispy Local Goat Cheese - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Mesquite-Charred Brussel Sprouts - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
White Yam Soup - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Duck Confit Cannelloni - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
spiced lamb - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
lemon tart - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Lobster Terrine - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Seasonal Fruit - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Lamb Shoulder - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Brick Chicken - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Crispy Barbecued Suckling Pig - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Brussels Sprouts - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Scallop W/ Squid Ink Rissotto - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Texas Redfish - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Beet Salad - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Burger - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Chicken Diavolo - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Duck Liver Pate - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Salmon - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Heirloom Tomato & Burrata - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Vegetarian Enchilada - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Brick Oven Pizza - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Tenderloin - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Braised Veal Cheek - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Sous Vide Filet Mignon & Foie Gras - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
30 Oz. Ribeye Steak - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Risotto - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Cocktails - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Chopped Salad - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Correia Ranch Beef Tenderloin - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA
Yam Soup - Workshop Kitchen + Bar, Palm Springs, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us at Workshop Kitchen + Bar this Christmas Eve. Step out of the kitchen and allow us to create an amazing farm to table experience for your whole family this year. Keep an eye out for our Festive Christmas Menu.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Fit for Foodies (27)
Modern Decor (25)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Hot Spot (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (7)
Organic (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very cool space and decor. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Very cool space and decor. Excellent food. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A definite delight for the foodie. Very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

A definite delight for the foodie. Very LA in Palm Springs. This cook knows what he's doing. I think that the apps could be a little larger. The size of the meals does make up for it though. The atmosphere is very very cold. Poured concrete everywhere. If you're a couple you may want reserve a booth. The majority of the seating is community down the center, which is okay for groups but not my favorite for a date. Their drinks are a little pricey. The service is fantastic. This is one of the best in Palm Springs otherwise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Considering I'm from Manhattan, I can be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Considering I'm from Manhattan, I can be annoyingly picky about restaurants and food. While visiting my parents in Palm Springs, I researched restaurants in the downtown area to meet with a girlfriend. Workshop was exactly my kind of restaurant. The design is a lovely combination of warm and cool with the communal table down the middle of the restaurant and the private booths along the edges in concrete and wood. The bar at the end is lit nicely displaying the extensive spirit options. Tell the bartenders what you like and they'll create something amazing for you. Martine was attentive, well-informed on the menu and very open to offering suggestions. His service was a perfect balance of space and attentive. The food was interestingly plated and creative as well as adventurous. There's also an outside patio that sets a lovely evening tone with gas flamed heaters. This restaurant is a must try. I have every intention of returning the next time I'm back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably one of the best restaurants in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Probably one of the best restaurants in Palm Springs. The decor and service are top notch. Food and drinks are really nice. Nothing too out of the chart and typical food of a large restaurant (definitely not your mom and pop place) but just nice and consistent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great venue, great service, great food, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great venue, great service, great food, going back soon

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb dinner - the best sole meunière w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Superb dinner - the best sole meunière we've had in California. The chef clearly has grip of European flavours and combines it with the best of modern LA presentation and ambience. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant is real ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is really nice. We especially enjoyed the bar, which is lovely. The drinks were excellent. Unfortunately, I think the prices are excessive for the overall level of the food. Just one couple's opinion.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was perfect except a bit pric ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything was perfect except a bit pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant with a well prepared, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely restaurant with a well prepared, thoughtful menu. We dined here for Thanksgiving and were not disappointed. The atmosphere is unique and modern and surprisingly warm despite the minimal, industrial design. The service was friendly and attentive without being invasive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely space with a cuisine worthy to fi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely space with a cuisine worthy to fill it. Our dinners were near perfect and service was helpful and friendly (although we did have to flag down our waiter for some needed flatware. Note to all food servers: always check to make sure diners have utensils after you deliver their food!)

Priced quite high but everything we ordered, from cocktails to entrees and sides, was excellent so I can't complain but at this price point will return primarily for special occasions.

Lovely space with delicious food and gracious service. Cheers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always love going to Workshop Kitchen... ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always love going to Workshop Kitchen...have been dining there for three years. Booths are so comfortable ...food is amazing.....staff super too. Love the fact the the manager/owner takes time to visit with guests.

Last time we went we did find that a new waiter there...great friendly large gentlemen...was really noisy. He was working on the communal table...very enthusiastic, but it would have been great if he kept his voice down a little.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Healthy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful visit. Great service, deliciou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful visit. Great service, delicious food and beautiful atmosphere. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Hostess was rude and ser ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent food! Hostess was rude and server was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Nina the waitress was amazing!!! Good lu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Nina the waitress was amazing!!! Good luck with the JAMES Beard award!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved this restaurant..very sophistica ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I loved this restaurant..very sophisticated ambience, spectacular food particularly the little gem Caesar salad, mesquite grilled pork chop with pickled plums and the lemon tart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined at Workshop Kitchen ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife and I dined at Workshop Kitchen +Bar, 849, and The Tropicale while we were in Palm Springs this past week and concluded that although the restaurants are trying, and consider themselves to be among the cream of the crop, they're just not trying hard enough. Workshop is the best restaurant of the three listed above.

Workshop occupies an interesting space... there's a small entry courtyard that was hosting an event and we were greeted by the folks at the sign-in table. When we looked confused, they pointed us to the dining room door. The dining area is quite spare, but we were into it.

We chose a bottle of wine from the very pricey wine list (the bottle we chose was almost 3X the retail price). Service from our waiter was good. The bread that came before dinner appeared to have been sliced from a small baguette too long before being served, as it was dried out. The compound butter that came along with the bread was nice.

I started with the grilled octopus, which was very good, but I would have liked more of the pickled mushrooms in place of the large amount of octopus. That was nice, but with only 2 small pieces of mushroom it was difficult to ration. My wife started with the Kabocha and burrata, which was good, but spa-portion-sized.

My entree, the Market Veggie Enchiladas, was delicious and just what I was looking for (an upscale Mexican dish). I don't remember what my wife had, and since a look at the online menu didn't spur any memories, it was probably one of the specials. I seem to recall it was good, but not great. Similarly, I can't remember if we had dessert. Take that as you may.

The experience at Workshop was good enough that if I'm ever back in Palm Springs, I would probably go back, but I would rather eat at a better restaurant in the Bay area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Best food and ambience in Palm Springs! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Best food and ambience in Palm Springs! A must try!

Michael is a culinary genius the cocktails are amazing, the staff couldn't be friendlier, highly recommend

Jane T.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for Sunday brunch with my pare ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Came here for Sunday brunch with my parents. At first we were kind of thrown off because it was somewhat empty (we had also arrived at 10:15am) but the ambiance was peaceful and pleasant. The food was delicious - tasteful and imaginative. Service was excellent! I would love to return to try their dinner menu!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and the service shine at th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The ambiance and the service shine at this restaurant. We had dinner in the outdoor courtyard which is beautiful and tucked away from all the noise of the street. Our server was wonderful - I wish I remembered his name, but he was a tall fellow, maybe in his 40s, with a beard. He was very attentive, offered suggestions, and checked in at the right times. I'm pregnant and get worried about making sure stuff is "safe" to eat and ask a lot of questions. The server was incredibly understanding and patient and offered great suggestions. You go to some restaurants where the server doesn't even know what "pasteurized" is so I was very grateful.

The food was underwhelming. I had steak frites and they were very good, but not my favorite. My husband had a fish dish that was teeny tiny - more appetizer sized than entree - and it was just OK. We did love the appetizer we had. I think we may have enjoyed the food more if we had ordered from their tapas-style menu. We saw a lot of those dishes coming out and they looked interesting and delicious.

Kudos on the great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband, a friend and I had a wonderf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband, a friend and I had a wonderful dinner. The menu is creative, uses very fresh ingredients interestingly prepared, and has good variety. Our waiter did a great job. They have a very nice patio for outdoor dining with heaters that did the job. Inside it's noisier but fun with a communal table plus booths. I'd recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful evening...together wi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a wonderful evening...together with two good friends...all had a great time with perfect drinks and tasty food that is different and healthy!! A very special place for special times...we live in Palm Springs and enjoy Workshop Kitchen every time!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just the best! A favorite and consistent ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Just the best! A favorite and consistent dinner spot on annual trips to Palm Springs. From quality of food and drink, to aesthetics, to service- it's tops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great craft cocktails...great menu

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great craft cocktails...great menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really pleasant outdoor space vs the noi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Really pleasant outdoor space vs the noisy interior.. Food was excellent but it is not cheap :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really cool interior, we sat outside whi ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Really cool interior, we sat outside which was a nice ambience. The food was great, I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The meals were well below average and no ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The meals were well below average and nowhere close to notable. The steak was like a brick, the duck clumsily presented and with overlooked brown mush as garnish. The salads were cafeteria like. Service was transactional. The restaurant is full of tourists - a bus pulled up with 30 to 40 people as we walked in. Very few locals, which in Palm Springs is very telling. Totally overrated, a poor value and not recommended at all. Go somewhere else - Copley's, So'Pa , Tropicale and others are head and shoulders above this joint.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great atmosphere, wine and service. Food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great atmosphere, wine and service. Food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

My second time. The food is ALL exceptio ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My second time. The food is ALL exceptional...among the best one could imagine. I'm a big eater so I felt the portions were a bit nouvelle for me, BUT the flavors are just too good to not go there. Our server (Jason) and service were both top notch.. I dislike eating in places where you ask a server about something on the menu and they're clueless. Jason was knowledgeable about ever dish...very informed and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very awesome dining. We thoroughly enjo ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very awesome dining. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of our dining experience. The food, the service, the ambiance were all great. Well done Workshop......we will visit you again sometime soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat us outside directly to a corporate g ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Sat us outside directly to a corporate gathering of about 100 people they knew were coming and would be loud but did not warn us or offer to let us move. Ruined the ambiance, meal and night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Beautiful spot for dinner. Lively upbeat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Beautiful spot for dinner. Lively upbeat ambience, fresh creative beautiful plates. The service and food delivery was extraordinary and well paced. We loved it !

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, People Watching, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Amazing service. Incredible ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food. Amazing service. Incredible vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time there. I recall ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This was our second time there. I recall it being better the first time. Service was very good. Food was good, but not worthy of the price. Given other options in the area we won't be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall experience was mostly positive. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overall experience was mostly positive. Brussels sprout starter and Red Fish entree portions were quite small. Plated red fish was attractive however given small piece of fish served added accompaniments would have been preferred. We ordered four cocktails and brought special wine for the dinner. The corkage($25) was expected but adding a separate 2.00 charge for tonic to go with the $12 gin and vodka cocktails may just keep me from coming back and spending over $300. The value proposition is certainly in question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Made a last minute reservation for early ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Made a last minute reservation for early on a rainy Monday night. The outside dining area looks like it would be great on a nice night and the indoors was cool and inviting. We were seated across from each other at the long communal table and we appreciated that the host was seating people as far apart as possible and then filling in as the restaurant got busier. We had plenty of room and were very comfortable. Cocktails were delicious and the waiter suggested a great choice when I wanted to switch to wine. Two of us shared four of the "smalls" and that was plenty. The lobster mac n'cheese was delicious with the flavor of the chunks of lobster coming through the cheese very nicely. Roasted Brussel sprouts with chorizo were perfectly cooked, tender but not mushy, and the duck sausage pizza of the day was delicious. I found the grilled octopus a bit too charred for my taste, but my husband really liked it. We split a slice of moist cornmeal almond cake for dessert and the night was complete. Will definitely be back the next time we are in Palm Springs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Loved the food, ambiance and everything! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Loved the food, ambiance and everything! One of the best dinners I've had in a long time. They take alot of pride in their food and service. Very friendly. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Location and ambiance was outstanding. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Location and ambiance was outstanding. Food was great. However the service was slow. It took 15 minutes for the waiter to come over and say hi. The bread guy did a far better job. It was almost as if my table wasn't worth his time. Maybe this experience was overshadowed by the much greater service level I've been getting at the Ritz Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Imdustrial design .and yet romantic, da ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Imdustrial design .and yet romantic, dark atmosphere due to great lighting. Excellent octopus; delicious redfish and fried rice Attentive service innovative drinks

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been to Workshop Kitchen and abou ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have been to Workshop Kitchen and about 2 years. Not a big fan of their food. We

both left food on our plan (quite a bit in fact). No one ask us "how was your food".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Don't waste your time or money at this m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Don't waste your time or money at this mediocre place masquerading as a James Beard award winner (they won for restaurant design, not the food). Three flat iron stakes that were so tough we asked for different steak knives to cut them. Soggy cold fries completed the dish...told the owner/chef Michael who just stared at me in disbelief...no comped drinks or dessert for the terrible entree and when the bill came nothing was taken off...because, we were told, we had eaten the steak (we didnt want to wait another 20 min for another entree to be made, sorry Michael, and we shouldn't have to). Our server Matt was kind and attentive...until we told him about the steaks...and he dissappeared for 20 min, only to reappear for our desert order... he told us he was just a server and could not hrlp us with our request...we then had to ask owner to remove the entrees..twice..which he finally did... an embarrassing sitatuon for everone...and without class. The entrees were good and the serice was on par until the entree fiasco...and then everything that was good just became a distant memory...save the aggravation and the money and skip this ridiculous place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.