About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Private Party Facilities:
Previously home to art galleries, a 1950's movie theatre, City Council, and most recently Design Within Reach, Workshop's unique space promises a dining experience unlike any other.
PRIVATE DINING ROOM
Private back entrance. Floor-to-ceiling glass window overlooking Spanish eclectic patio. PS Lab custom lighting. Perfect for business meetings, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, showers and more. Capacity: 16

THE COURTYARD
Original from 1926, Workshop's courtyard is perfect for cocktail parties, wedding receptions, meetings, private lunches, or simply dining under the Palm Springs sun and stars. Modern Bend seating. Historic fountain. Standing Capacity:150

COMMUNITY TABLE
Friends, family, and strangers alike sit together at Workshop's stunning 32' long cast concrete communal table.Perfect for tasting spreads, wine dinners, industry events, and social celebrations, the Community table means you never have to eat (or drink) alone.Capacity: 24

Private Party Contact:
Michael Beckman: 7604593451x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Halibut With Foie Gras And Asparagus
Burger
Steelhead
Braised Oxtail Shepherds Pie
Shelton Farms Whole Duck
Duck Rillette
Octopus Carpaccio
Crispy Local Goat Cheese
Mesquite-Charred Brussel Sprouts
Duck Fat Fries
White Yam Soup
Duck Confit Cannelloni
spiced lamb
Lobster Terrine
lemon tart
Lamb Shoulder
Seasonal Fruit
Scallop W/ Squid Ink Rissotto
Brussels Sprouts
Beet Salad
Texas Redfish
Crispy Barbecued Suckling Pig
Brick Chicken
Duck Liver Pate
Chicken Diavolo
Salmon
Heirloom Tomato & Burrata
Vegetarian Enchilada
Braised Veal Cheek
Tenderloin
Brick Oven Pizza
Sous Vide Filet Mignon & Foie Gras
30 Oz. Ribeye Steak
Cocktails
Risotto
Correia Ranch Beef Tenderloin
Chopped Salad
Yam Soup

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 10:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

fit for foodies (125)
special occasion (78)
hot spot (69)
See All
great for outdoor dining (68)
good for groups (62)
romantic (51)
neighborhood gem (46)
notable wine list (25)
great for brunch (25)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food creatively prepared and prese ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food creatively prepared and presented. Cool interior design.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The restaurant itself was lovely. Very w ...

Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant itself was lovely. Very well put together and clean. I ordered a steak and it was like cutting into a tree-trunk. I was truly shocked at the quality of my food. I was hoping it was going to be good because of how beautiful it is sitting inside the restaurant. I will go back for drinks - as they had a wonderful cocktail/wine menu. It looks like a great place for large parties - maybe it just wasn't meant to be for me to enjoy a steak at this place. I will try it one more time and see if there's a difference in my experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing cocktails and hospitality from Z ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing cocktails and hospitality from Zane at the bar. Shredded brussels sprouts salad and jidori chicken were great. Our waiter was somewhat less than great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great dinner with my husband while ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Had a great dinner with my husband while on vacation in Palm Springs. It was really hot out, but nice and cool inside. Very mellow vibe, which was perfect. I had a pizza made in wood fire oven and it was delicious. My husband had redfish, also excellent. A great spot to go when visiting PS!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very dramatic and attractive interior de ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Very dramatic and attractive interior design and lighting. Booths were very comfortable. Service was great. The food was very inventive, attractive, well presented and very delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Palm Springs. Awesome atmosphere and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very impressed with the food and ambianc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very impressed with the food and ambiance of this unique dining spot in Palm Springs. Varied and interesting Menu both for food and alcohol. Beautiful space both inside and on the large patio for outdoor dining. Very special place for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a hit when I travel to Palm Sprin ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a hit when I travel to Palm Springs

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Very well sourced ingred ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food. Very well sourced ingredients, prepared carefully yet with flai and plenty of flavor. Very contemporary design and a nice courtyard.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and amazing drinks! Hard to ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and amazing drinks! Hard to find, but definitely worth the find!

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

I made reservations for our 10 year anni ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I made reservations for our 10 year anniversary through Open Table. When we arrived we were sat at the community table in the middle of the resturant. Never once did any mention our anniversary. My beet salad was horrible, so much that I didn't eat it. I did mention it to the server, but it remained on our bill. I was very dissapointed that such a special evening for us was treated with mediocrity. Luckily the company made up for the dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

review

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

What a great dinning experience. Everything was perfect. The pork belly was the best I have ever had. Could have made a whole meal out of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

pretentious miss.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Very cement ambiance, high echo would be tolerable for great food. My appetizer (about $13) was 2 not complete slices of tomato with some white and green sauces. Not big enough to even share much less savor. Main dish steak marinated to the point of not tasting meat. Bottle of wine too expensive. Many better choices in Palm Springs

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

I popped in to try this place during restaurant week. I was pleasantly surprised. The entire experience was awesome. My waiter, Levi, was a dream waiter. He knew the menu really well and helped me select dishes that navigated my many allergies and allowed me to eat really well. The KOROBUTA PORK BELLY is to die for. The balance of flavors and textures is tremendous. The HALF ORGANIC CHICKEN DIAVOLO was a great entree. I finished my meal with the VALRHONA FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE TERRINE, salted peanut butter ice cream, housemade marshmallow. During my main meal I had a great local Pinot Noir. With dessert my waiter recommended a Brandy Alexander. This was one of those meals where I had to close my eyes to fully absorb the experience. I will be back when in PS. I highly recommend trying this place. Besides amazing food, the design choices are really tasteful and interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was fantastic! She was so att ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server was fantastic! She was so attentive and made excellent recommendations.

food5
ambience5
service5

I had the pork chop that was amazing and ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

I had the pork chop that was amazing and it paired well with the Malbec that we chose. Very good! High praises!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Favorite

Dined on May 31, 2016

I Always make sure to have a bite here when I am in town, a big fan! On the more expensive side but the quality, presentation, ambiance and service is of the highest quality. Been going here for a while and I enjoy how the menu changes by the season. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food

Dined on May 30, 2016

This was the third time we have been to workshop and they never disappoint. We had great service. The food was incredible. Their bar makes great drinks as well. We also loved the ambiance of the restaurant. This is a go-to spot in Palm Springs for us. Next time we visit we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful and creative brunch

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This is one of our favorite brunch destinations! Each dish is special and tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Poor service was the only downside.

Dined on May 28, 2016

We may have caught a server on a bad day, but we were sitting a while before she ever came over. Once she finally did she did not check in often. Other than that, it was a super cute/trendy place great atmosphere and yummy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being our first meal in Palm Springs, Wo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Being our first meal in Palm Springs, Workshop blew us away! There was a nice seating area outside, but was still quite warm for our early dinner so we opted to sit inside. The ambience inside was so inviting and intimate. We were lucky enough to get our own booth. We had a few small plates and shared an entrée. The shaved brussel sprouts, beef carpaccio and pork cheek fries were phenomenal! Each did had so much flavor and were prepared to perfection. The duck was prepared very well and was tender, juicy and delicious! Thank you Workshop for a wonderful start to our long weekend in Palm Springs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Did not live up to hype

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

There were two of us, and we were both somewhat underwhelmed. Not that we could find anything really wrong with the food - it was merely OK. We had the idea that the jidoori chicken would be chicken with the herbs and mustard baked into the chicken. It was merely chicken with a nice flavored mustard slathered on it,

Tags: hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

First time. Decided on workshop based on ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

First time. Decided on workshop based on their James beard award. Told them it was our anniversary, no gesture or acknowledgment. We ordered plenty. The food was fair at best. Some things were tasty, but then ruined by the accompaniment. Pizza tasted out of a box. Burger ordered medium rare. Arrived well done. Ordered Hemingway daiquiri. Was brought a maitai. No schpiel from the server. No explanation of dishes arriving at table. Fries were ordered, but never received. Bathrooms are not even inside the restaurant, they are in the courtyard of a small retail mall. Overall skip it.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service, the atmosphere ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The food, the service, the atmosphere were all top notch. Wish I had found this gem sooner.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great, great food. The best pork chop we ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great, great food. The best pork chop we've ever tasted. Wonderfully displayed. Really cool, concrete setting in a classic space. On the down side--not very friendly greeter and seating; I had to request a refill for my iced tea; bathrooms were a mess (and we were there within half an hour of opening time); overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, food was good, not great. Nothi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall, food was good, not great. Nothing extraordinarily innovative going on here. Same over priced "locally" sourced blah blah food. Your best bet is dinner. Brunch was just ok. Also nothing too special. Outside dining is very nice if the weather is agreeable. Otherwise the inside is a concrete monster. I would recommend the pork chop or the jidori chicken platter which is enough for 3 people.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing flavors. Steak was a tiny bit ov ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing flavors. Steak was a tiny bit overdone but still very tasty. Service was great, Ambience was very nice too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our second visit to Workshop in two year ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our second visit to Workshop in two years. We do not get to Palm Springs often but looked forward to dinner at Workshop since we first visited. This night was our children's 21st birthday and we thought a nice meal with cocktails would be an excellent celebration. The food was good but we felt maybe off from meal we had two years ago. We had the special California Bass. A tad over-cooked, stuffing in the bass was not that interesting and seemed not a match for delicacy of the fish flavor. Our service was very good, our waiter kind and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4

Decor was gorgeous. The vegetable portio ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Decor was gorgeous. The vegetable portions were ridiculously small, laughable even. Overall it was just okay all around. Probably wouldn't go back..

food3
ambience3
service2

Cool modern vibe, interesting menu, but ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Cool modern vibe, interesting menu, but execution and service don't live up to the potential for a great dining venue.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere, highly recomm ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, highly recommend the pork entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

overpriced, loud, manager was terribly rude.

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Not at all what was expected. liked the decor although sitting at a communal table with no back whatsoever was very uncomfortable. Felt it was very overrated. appetizer was not pleasing very bland. Nice wine list, tiny pours by the glass for a 22 dollars. All and all not worth what all the hype was

food4
ambience4
service4

The server said our bread would be compl ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The server said our bread would be complementary and we ordered it, only to be surprised that we were charged for bread. Complementary means free, and to change for bread when we ordered 4 expensive meat dishes along with two bottles of whine is kind of an insult no matter the cost. I don't think it was the servers fault, but the management who is overcharging for small dishes. Kind of disappointing .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Workshop kitchen experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had an exceptional dining experience at workshop kitchen. They were on point on every level. From the moment we walked in and were greeted to when dessert was served. Would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've dine here a couple of times. On bo ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I've dine here a couple of times. On both occasions the food was over-salted. While the ingredients may be fresh and/or organic and/or locally sourced, there is no subtlety or finesse to the flavors. Everything is very bold. BTW my flat iron steak was tough. For a restaurant with such a lofty reputation and price point, it is inexcusable. The service and atmosphere were very good. Unfortunately the same could not be said about the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Swank. Great food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was wonderful. Setting is chic, stylish and comfortable, but menus are unreadable in the low-light dining room. Lots of options for craft cocktails and picky eaters. Skip the dessert course: flavors and execution were not as solid as the rest of the (outstanding) meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Typical Story: Good Food; Bad Service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall, decent restaurant. The decor is minimalist, nothing extraordinary, but fine. The food is good and everything we tried tasted well and was prepared without issues. However, as with most restaurants in big cities, the service was not good. Especially given the fact that this restaurant is located in a small resort town. The hostess acted as if she was hostessing for The French Laundry, or Le Cirque, or any other fine dining restaurant, for which Workshop Kitchen + Bar is not. I would definitely suggest improving the courteousness of the front room staff. But the food was enjoyable despite the attitude.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my fourth visit to Workshop and ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Workshop and I must say it seems to get better! The food is always farm to table and highlights seasonal eating. I took my two teenaged nieces and they loved everything as well. It was all delicious, our service was great and everything was timed perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What an excellent dinner. I read about t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

What an excellent dinner. I read about the place because I follow Gail Simmons. We all loved our apps, dinner, drinks, and dessert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great new spot in PS

Dined on May 4, 2016

The outdoor space is quaint, but if you were sitting looking out towards the entryways to the street, it feels a little less intimate. The food was excellent with wonderful flavor and a nice touch of spice. The muscles came in a flavorful habanero sauce that I used every ounce of bread to soak up. My friend ordered the Porkchop which was done to perfection and the Brussels sprouts or my favorite part. Definitely try their authentic Mai Tai. Great experience, lovely surprise!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent spot

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Beautiful, unique restaurant. I have never seen such interesting architecture in a restaurant. It is one of the few places where I'd rather sit inside than out. The food was excellent just very very small portions. I ordered the scallops and it came with 3 diver scallops and a small amount of a kale mixture.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.