About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Private Party Facilities:
Previously home to art galleries, a 1950's movie theatre, City Council, and most recently Design Within Reach, Workshop's unique space promises a dining experience unlike any other.
PRIVATE DINING ROOM
Private back entrance. Floor-to-ceiling glass window overlooking Spanish eclectic patio. PS Lab custom lighting. Perfect for business meetings, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, showers and more. Capacity: 16

THE COURTYARD
Original from 1926, Workshop's courtyard is perfect for cocktail parties, wedding receptions, meetings, private lunches, or simply dining under the Palm Springs sun and stars. Modern Bend seating. Historic fountain. Standing Capacity:150

COMMUNITY TABLE
Friends, family, and strangers alike sit together at Workshop's stunning 32' long cast concrete communal table.Perfect for tasting spreads, wine dinners, industry events, and social celebrations, the Community table means you never have to eat (or drink) alone.Capacity: 24

Private Party Contact:
Michael Beckman: 7604593451x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 10:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Hot Spot
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

fit for foodies (132)
great for outdoor dining (82)
hot spot (78)
See All
special occasion (75)
good for groups (61)
romantic (55)
neighborhood gem (54)
great for brunch (27)
vibrant bar scene (27)
notable wine list (27)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Did not live up to hype

vip
Dined 4 days ago

There were two of us, and we were both somewhat underwhelmed. Not that we could find anything really wrong with the food - it was merely OK. We had the idea that the jidoori chicken would be chicken with the herbs and mustard baked into the chicken. It was merely chicken with a nice flavored mustard slathered on it,

Tags: hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

First time. Decided on workshop based on ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

First time. Decided on workshop based on their James beard award. Told them it was our anniversary, no gesture or acknowledgment. We ordered plenty. The food was fair at best. Some things were tasty, but then ruined by the accompaniment. Pizza tasted out of a box. Burger ordered medium rare. Arrived well done. Ordered Hemingway daiquiri. Was brought a maitai. No schpiel from the server. No explanation of dishes arriving at table. Fries were ordered, but never received. Bathrooms are not even inside the restaurant, they are in the courtyard of a small retail mall. Overall skip it.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service, the atmosphere ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food, the service, the atmosphere were all top notch. Wish I had found this gem sooner.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great, great food. The best pork chop we ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great, great food. The best pork chop we've ever tasted. Wonderfully displayed. Really cool, concrete setting in a classic space. On the down side--not very friendly greeter and seating; I had to request a refill for my iced tea; bathrooms were a mess (and we were there within half an hour of opening time); overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, food was good, not great. Nothi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall, food was good, not great. Nothing extraordinarily innovative going on here. Same over priced "locally" sourced blah blah food. Your best bet is dinner. Brunch was just ok. Also nothing too special. Outside dining is very nice if the weather is agreeable. Otherwise the inside is a concrete monster. I would recommend the pork chop or the jidori chicken platter which is enough for 3 people.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing flavors. Steak was a tiny bit ov ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing flavors. Steak was a tiny bit overdone but still very tasty. Service was great, Ambience was very nice too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our second visit to Workshop in two year ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our second visit to Workshop in two years. We do not get to Palm Springs often but looked forward to dinner at Workshop since we first visited. This night was our children's 21st birthday and we thought a nice meal with cocktails would be an excellent celebration. The food was good but we felt maybe off from meal we had two years ago. We had the special California Bass. A tad over-cooked, stuffing in the bass was not that interesting and seemed not a match for delicacy of the fish flavor. Our service was very good, our waiter kind and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4

Decor was gorgeous. The vegetable portio ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Decor was gorgeous. The vegetable portions were ridiculously small, laughable even. Overall it was just okay all around. Probably wouldn't go back..

food3
ambience3
service2

Cool modern vibe, interesting menu, but ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Cool modern vibe, interesting menu, but execution and service don't live up to the potential for a great dining venue.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere, highly recomm ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, highly recommend the pork entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

overpriced, loud, manager was terribly rude.

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Not at all what was expected. liked the decor although sitting at a communal table with no back whatsoever was very uncomfortable. Felt it was very overrated. appetizer was not pleasing very bland. Nice wine list, tiny pours by the glass for a 22 dollars. All and all not worth what all the hype was

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Workshop kitchen experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had an exceptional dining experience at workshop kitchen. They were on point on every level. From the moment we walked in and were greeted to when dessert was served. Would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've dine here a couple of times. On bo ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I've dine here a couple of times. On both occasions the food was over-salted. While the ingredients may be fresh and/or organic and/or locally sourced, there is no subtlety or finesse to the flavors. Everything is very bold. BTW my flat iron steak was tough. For a restaurant with such a lofty reputation and price point, it is inexcusable. The service and atmosphere were very good. Unfortunately the same could not be said about the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Swank. Great food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was wonderful. Setting is chic, stylish and comfortable, but menus are unreadable in the low-light dining room. Lots of options for craft cocktails and picky eaters. Skip the dessert course: flavors and execution were not as solid as the rest of the (outstanding) meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Typical Story: Good Food; Bad Service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall, decent restaurant. The decor is minimalist, nothing extraordinary, but fine. The food is good and everything we tried tasted well and was prepared without issues. However, as with most restaurants in big cities, the service was not good. Especially given the fact that this restaurant is located in a small resort town. The hostess acted as if she was hostessing for The French Laundry, or Le Cirque, or any other fine dining restaurant, for which Workshop Kitchen + Bar is not. I would definitely suggest improving the courteousness of the front room staff. But the food was enjoyable despite the attitude.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my fourth visit to Workshop and ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Workshop and I must say it seems to get better! The food is always farm to table and highlights seasonal eating. I took my two teenaged nieces and they loved everything as well. It was all delicious, our service was great and everything was timed perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What an excellent dinner. I read about t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

What an excellent dinner. I read about the place because I follow Gail Simmons. We all loved our apps, dinner, drinks, and dessert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great new spot in PS

Dined on May 4, 2016

The outdoor space is quaint, but if you were sitting looking out towards the entryways to the street, it feels a little less intimate. The food was excellent with wonderful flavor and a nice touch of spice. The muscles came in a flavorful habanero sauce that I used every ounce of bread to soak up. My friend ordered the Porkchop which was done to perfection and the Brussels sprouts or my favorite part. Definitely try their authentic Mai Tai. Great experience, lovely surprise!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent spot

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Beautiful, unique restaurant. I have never seen such interesting architecture in a restaurant. It is one of the few places where I'd rather sit inside than out. The food was excellent just very very small portions. I ordered the scallops and it came with 3 diver scallops and a small amount of a kale mixture.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional Experience, Can't Wait to Come Back!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Workshop was one of the highlights to our Palm Springs weekend. Coming from LA, I have high expectations when it comes to food and service. Workshop certainly didn't disappoint. We opted to sit outside on the patio, as it was a beautiful night, and we wanted a more romantic mood. The inside was definitely lively and high energy, with the patio being a little quieter for romantic dinner-side conversation. The service was phenomenal, with our waiter being very kind to accommodate my requests for raising and lowering the heat lamps outside. He was also very knowledgeable about gluten free options, which I always appreciate. We started with the wagyu beef carpaccio, which was so fresh and delicious. I also enjoyed the scallops tremendously. They were such an eclectic combination of flavors on the plate. Definitely fit for a foodie. My boyfriend loved his flat iron steak. Overall this was the best dining experience we had in Palm Springs, and we can't wait to come back. Thanks Workshop!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

This place was awesome! The food is very unique, but great. The dishes are great for sharing and the ambiance is nice too. I would totally recommend going here. Only thing I didn't like is that they were not able to accommodate any changes to the menu items.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed cool

Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved everything about Workshop, relaxed, unpretentious but striking interior design, interesting food, the octopus was delicious. The cocktails were the best we had in Palm Springs and the service was attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. A great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful space, atmosphere, food, wine ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Wonderful space, atmosphere, food, wine and (best of all) people to make it special.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

After 3 years, disappointed.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

It's sad and disappointing to see one of your favorite restaurants start skimping on food. Brunch used to be great here, but Sunday, my husband and I brought 2 friends who had never been. I was embarrassed by the skimpy omelette sand frittatas, served on mini plates, looking like child portions, with absolutely nothing else on the plane. The omelette used to be my favorite dish, with a little side salad, and either fruit or potatoes. The fruit is fine, but my friend's potatoes were so skimpy, they were barely a meal. Are you losing money, cutting back on food? I come to PS about 3 times a month, and won't be coming back for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great friends, great dinner.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were a party of six (3 couples). My wife and I had been here once before and really enjoyed the experience. On this occasion we Started with Drinks and Duck Fat Fries. Great way to start. Everyone raved about they're dinners. Pork Chops , Chicken for two, and Scallops. The finish, Stumptown coffee and Goat milk cheesecake. Awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS 5 STARS!!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

My favorite place in Palm Springs! Excellent food, great service, lovely atmosphere. Very sophisticated!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, generous portions, knowledga ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, generous portions, knowledgable staff and incredible cocktails ! Best bartenders in Palm Springs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a winner!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

We have been coming to Workshop Kitchen for over a year on a very regular basis. Could not be happier with the service and delicious food. Vegetarian enchilada are fantastic as well as the PEI mussels, all the salads, as well as the cocktails are wonderful. Always happy with our meals. Brunch is excellent as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. Grapefruit mimos ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was delicious. Grapefruit mimosa is recommended. Also, ask the chef to throw a fried egg on top of the duck hash. Best thing ever!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside on beautiful evening with 2 ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Sat outside on beautiful evening with 2 other couples. Everyone agreed, it was fabulous. I had the flat iron steak and my husband had pork chop. Done perfectly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit to Workshop. The ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to Workshop. The first visit took us back a second time and this visit will take us back again. One of the most interesting and innovative menus we have ever enjoyed stretching our palates 'comfort zone'. We we not disappointed. Highly recommend for the adventuresome diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A HOUSE glass of Cabernet was $17.00. REALLY?

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

The food was very good and I expected it to be pricy but the liquor prices are outrageous.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A perfect birthday celebration!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Our welcome was lovely- our requested table waiting... The service was superb And the food--- delicious and presented perfectly ( our wine pairings were ideal as well) Couldn't be happier Finally a dining experience to truly look forward to when we return to Palm Springs!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great experience

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Very unique combination of design, creative menu and solid service. Saw some of the previous critiques but our experience was spot on. Ate at one of the communal tables but still felt like we had plenty of room. Tried the Jidori chicken (to share) and flavor was perfect. Side dishes tasty. Try the Romanesco dish. Really flavorful and great presentation. Dishes are not large so sharing a few is good way to go. Definitely will return. Patio was very busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lacking wine menu

Dined on April 8, 2016

The atmosphere and service were excellent. Went there for dinner with a winery friend from the bay area. We tried the Malbec by the glass first and it was off. Switched the Zinfandel (since the bar tender did not agree that the wine was off) and it had a funny taste as well. Decided that whoever was choosing the wine was not in line with our taste so it wouldn't matter what we tried. Good wine selection is very important to us so for that reason, we would probably not go back. Too bad....I love the design of the restaurant. Hard to find young, hip places in the desert.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

overrated!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

highly overpriced for trendy setting and average (though visually creative) cuisine!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place. Sat on the patio. Friendly w ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Nice place. Sat on the patio. Friendly waiter. Good food. Small portions, however.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting and Creative Menu

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

This is our second time at Workshop and was planned as part of a short visit from the LA area. Last time, we shared the gravlax and this time had the PEI mussels for starters. Both were excellent. I had the scallops and my wife has the veggie enchilladas with a fried egg on top. They both were excellent (I finished hers as well) and were accompanied by very tasty sides. We enjoyed all aspects of our meal including dessert and coffee. I would highly recommend Workshop for anyone who likes creative and unusual cuisine. You will be rewarded with an exciting and delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on April 6, 2016

We were in Palm Springs & had heard some good things about Workshop. Unfortunately it did not live up to the hype. Service was poor... we were rushed to order and then pretty much left on our own. I really wanted to love the food, but it was really sub-par. My husband's crispy duck was not crispy & the fat was not rendered correctly. As far as my scallops, they were ok, but nothing out of the ordinary. When spending $140 for a meal, I expect to love something....we will not be back.

food4
ambience3
service5

Had several small dish appetizers, carro ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Had several small dish appetizers, carrots, kale salad, pizza, all very good. Drinks on small side and pricey. Atmosphere very modern with lots of concrete which leads to increased noise levels. Food very good but not great and again expensive. Service excellent

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.