About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Private Party Facilities:
Previously home to art galleries, a 1950's movie theatre, City Council, and most recently Design Within Reach, Workshop's unique space promises a dining experience unlike any other.
PRIVATE DINING ROOM
Private back entrance. Floor-to-ceiling glass window overlooking Spanish eclectic patio. PS Lab custom lighting. Perfect for business meetings, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, showers and more. Capacity: 16

THE COURTYARD
Original from 1926, Workshop's courtyard is perfect for cocktail parties, wedding receptions, meetings, private lunches, or simply dining under the Palm Springs sun and stars. Modern Bend seating. Historic fountain. Standing Capacity:150

COMMUNITY TABLE
Friends, family, and strangers alike sit together at Workshop's stunning 32' long cast concrete communal table.Perfect for tasting spreads, wine dinners, industry events, and social celebrations, the Community table means you never have to eat (or drink) alone.Capacity: 24

Private Party Contact:
Michael Beckman: 7604593451x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Halibut With Foie Gras And Asparagus
Burger
Steelhead
Shelton Farms Whole Duck
Braised Oxtail Shepherds Pie
Duck Rillette
Octopus Carpaccio
Duck Fat Fries
Crispy Local Goat Cheese
Mesquite-Charred Brussel Sprouts
White Yam Soup
Duck Confit Cannelloni
spiced lamb
lemon tart
Lobster Terrine
Seasonal Fruit
Lamb Shoulder
Brick Chicken
Crispy Barbecued Suckling Pig
Brussels Sprouts
Scallop W/ Squid Ink Rissotto
Texas Redfish
Beet Salad
Chicken Diavolo
Duck Liver Pate
Salmon
Heirloom Tomato & Burrata
Vegetarian Enchilada
Brick Oven Pizza
Tenderloin
Braised Veal Cheek
Sous Vide Filet Mignon & Foie Gras
30 Oz. Ribeye Steak
Risotto
Cocktails
Chopped Salad
Correia Ranch Beef Tenderloin
Yam Soup

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 10:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Fit for Foodies (63)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Hot Spot (40)
Romantic (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at the Workbar. Great selection of fresh l, farmed produce,delicious meal, tasty cocktails and fantastic atmosphere. Lovely smiles from our server. Second time round and will definitely come back for more.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything we ate. There were ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved everything we ate. There were 6 of us and we all had different meals entirely. It was all amazing, the ambiance was perfect and the service lovely. We would highly recommend and also return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group (of 6) all raved about this di ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our group (of 6) all raved about this dinner! The food was amazing, 4 of us ordered a sea bass special that was excellent. Our server Nina was so personable and friendly, we loved her! Cocktails were great, wine was affordable, food was delicious, and dessert was the perfect end to the meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful but pricey! Side dishes like ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful but pricey! Side dishes like green beans and carrots were $15 a piece and the portions were small. Nice ambience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Brunch is great. Dinner was a disappoin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Brunch is great. Dinner was a disappointment for me only. I had the Texas red-fish. For $34 you get a small filet, a smear of corn "bisque" (more like a paste), two sun-dried tomatoes and two basil leaves.......that's it. The fish was good, but not $34 good. I could go to Ralph's or Stater Brothers for the same fish and prepare it on my grill just as good for 1/5 the price. Other's dinners were same in price but a lot more substantial. Also, I had made reservations for 7:30pm. Arrived at 7:30 and was told the table wasn't quite ready but to feel free to wait at the bar. We were escorted by a booth set up for 4 that was empty. After 30 minutes of standing, we were then escorted to that same booth. Not sure why we couldn't have been seated unless they though we'd push our way between people eating at the bar for a cocktail while waiting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The space was a little cramped and it wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The space was a little cramped and it was too hot. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was a special family get together w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was a special family get together with a combination of foodies and people who really do not much enjoy eating out. Everyone, even the 'I don't like restaurants' person, agreed that the food was excellent and the cocktails equally good. The service was good but unobtrusive, and requests were fulfilled graciously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Came here on our honeymoon and couldn't ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Came here on our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. We're from LA, where small plate restaurants are a'plenty, and even given that the food here was noteworthy, as were the cocktails. Truly fabulous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shockingly bad food. Salt is the main ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Shockingly bad food. Salt is the main choice of seasoning. Prices are way out of line with flavor and size portion. $31.00 for a small piece of fish, TWO cherry tomatoes and two basil leaves. Laughable. They need to look at their menu, food cost, and kitchen manager. Great looking place, but it does not make up for the terrible food. Our waiter was very nice....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Not happy with seating. Told no booths ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Not happy with seating. Told no booths available. Sat and ate at bar. More than half of the booths remained empty the entire 90 minutes we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My fiance and I dined here over this pas ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My fiance and I dined here over this past weekend. It was dead on a Thursday (summer in PS not surprising) and was easy to get a reservation via OpenTable. When we arrived, we learned that the chef changes his menu almost daily and what I had seen online was not what was available. The prices seemed pretty high. I believe the least expensive plate was the octopus appetizer.

My fiance and I ended up ordering one glass of sparkling rose ($11.00) and one glass of wine ($13.00) plus the special appetizer pizza ($21.00). We would have ordered dinner however each dinner plate was at least $22.00 and we're simply not in the market to each be ordering that expensive of plates. This meal for two could have easily been over $100.00 without dessert.

All in all, totally chic spot, could see how it could be super fun with a big group, could be very expensive but they have an amazing bar!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was okay but the prices were as ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was okay but the prices were astronomical for average food. My main issue is the portion sizes... They served a quarter sirloin and charged over $30... They duck fat fries again, tiny portion. I was just underwhelmed after all the hype. Had much, much better food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Took a special friend for the evening... ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Took a special friend for the evening...the three of us had a great time...LOVED our food and waiter (Diego) was most attentive and helpful!! We live in PS and enjoy Workshop Kitchen each time we visit...a wonderful place...

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in Palm Springs this entire tr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Best meal in Palm Springs this entire trip. Ambiance + design are perfect, service was friendly and knowledgeable, and our meal was cooked perfectly. Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been here for a few months bec ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We hadn't been here for a few months because we we'd been trying a variety of newer local restaurants. After many mediocre and disappointing meals we returned to Workshop - and so glad we did! It's better than ever in every respect. Excellent and friendly service, great drinks and without a doubt the best food in town! Looking forward to returning ASAP!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck breast and foie gras were beyond go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Duck breast and foie gras were beyond good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food, amazing service and am ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding food, amazing service and ambiance. Lovely spot and great look!! The carpaccio was the best I ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good however its a very overpri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good however its a very overpriced restaurant. My husband and I have dined at many small plate style restaurants but the price fit the quantity AND quality. They did offer a good selection of custom cocktails. But still not worth a re-visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very rushed service with multiple people ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very rushed service with multiple people asking if they could clear the table, while we were still eating. Happened at each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Way, and I mean way overpriced for the q ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Way, and I mean way overpriced for the quality of the food. If you're going to charge premium prices, then you need to deliver on quality. Unfortunately this place doesn't. So what you get is overpriced and mediocre food that's not imaginative, not well flavored, not well cooked (over cooked) and in small quantities.

Our advice, there is far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

This is one of the worst restaurants on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is one of the worst restaurants on the planet. The food is terrible and the non-existent service is a joke. Someone needs to close this place down and replace it with a real restaurant. We asked for the check and left before our entrees arrived - the entire experience was intolerable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We did get the last reservation of the n ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We did get the last reservation of the night, 10:30pm. But doesn't justify them serving us so poorly, literally had to get up and walk to find someone and ask for the check they left us waiting for so long. The food was ok. Ambiance is amazing, very nice place but doesn't make up for the bad service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

The portions here are TINY. I realize th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The portions here are TINY. I realize they are called small plates but the beet salad we had filled up a quarter of the plate at most. The duckfat fries were mediocre. The mussels and flat iron steak were fairly good but nothing fantastic. I think we had one more item but it doesn't stand out. I'm disappointed because this restaurant came highly recommended by many. Would not go again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was outstanding hats off to che ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was outstanding hats off to chef and owner, Michael Beckman! How terribly unfortunate bartender and wait staff had less than inviting attitude, snooty would be a more accurate, making overall experience a big disappointment. We recently relocated to Palm Springs from NY. We dine out a lot in local surrounding NY area, in NYC, San Fran, and Sonoma. Some of our favorite restaurants in NY are Danny Meyers; Gramercy, Untitled (Michael Antony our favorite chef), Union Square Cafe, etc. I reference to Danny Meyers because he recognizes wait staff to be their number one asset. Quote from Wikipedia, "order to make his restaurants successful, Danny Meyer focused on customer satisfaction". Michael Beckman, Joseph Mourani and Candy Arreola need a page from Danny's playlist. One important note - front hostess was very personable and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I wanted to really like the place, but i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I wanted to really like the place, but it fell short on food and service. Although the Hostess was very friendly and immediately greeted us upon our entrance, our server was not very personable and appeared somewhat robotic. When I order a Cosmo with Mandarin / orange vodka, the server turned up his nose and told me that they ‘don't do’ flavored liquors. Instead of desert we ordered Chocolate Martini's and again, the server told us they ‘don't do’ Chocolate Martini's. The food presentation was excellent and the taste was pretty good, but you better order a few side dishes, because the quantity falls short and many of my guests left the restaurant still hungry.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food creatively prepared and prese ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food creatively prepared and presented. Cool interior design.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The restaurant itself was lovely. Very w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The restaurant itself was lovely. Very well put together and clean. I ordered a steak and it was like cutting into a tree-trunk. I was truly shocked at the quality of my food. I was hoping it was going to be good because of how beautiful it is sitting inside the restaurant. I will go back for drinks - as they had a wonderful cocktail/wine menu. It looks like a great place for large parties - maybe it just wasn't meant to be for me to enjoy a steak at this place. I will try it one more time and see if there's a difference in my experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing cocktails and hospitality from Z ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing cocktails and hospitality from Zane at the bar. Shredded brussels sprouts salad and jidori chicken were great. Our waiter was somewhat less than great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a great dinner with my husband while ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a great dinner with my husband while on vacation in Palm Springs. It was really hot out, but nice and cool inside. Very mellow vibe, which was perfect. I had a pizza made in wood fire oven and it was delicious. My husband had redfish, also excellent. A great spot to go when visiting PS!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very dramatic and attractive interior de ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very dramatic and attractive interior design and lighting. Booths were very comfortable. Service was great. The food was very inventive, attractive, well presented and very delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Palm Springs. Awesome atmosphere and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with the food and ambianc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very impressed with the food and ambiance of this unique dining spot in Palm Springs. Varied and interesting Menu both for food and alcohol. Beautiful space both inside and on the large patio for outdoor dining. Very special place for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a hit when I travel to Palm Sprin ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a hit when I travel to Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Very well sourced ingred ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food. Very well sourced ingredients, prepared carefully yet with flai and plenty of flavor. Very contemporary design and a nice courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and amazing drinks! Hard to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and amazing drinks! Hard to find, but definitely worth the find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made reservations for our 10 year anni ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I made reservations for our 10 year anniversary through Open Table. When we arrived we were sat at the community table in the middle of the resturant. Never once did any mention our anniversary. My beet salad was horrible, so much that I didn't eat it. I did mention it to the server, but it remained on our bill. I was very dissapointed that such a special evening for us was treated with mediocrity. Luckily the company made up for the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

review

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a great dinning experience. Everything was perfect. The pork belly was the best I have ever had. Could have made a whole meal out of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pretentious miss.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very cement ambiance, high echo would be tolerable for great food. My appetizer (about $13) was 2 not complete slices of tomato with some white and green sauces. Not big enough to even share much less savor. Main dish steak marinated to the point of not tasting meat. Bottle of wine too expensive. Many better choices in Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

My new favorite restaurant

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I popped in to try this place during restaurant week. I was pleasantly surprised. The entire experience was awesome. My waiter, Levi, was a dream waiter. He knew the menu really well and helped me select dishes that navigated my many allergies and allowed me to eat really well. The KOROBUTA PORK BELLY is to die for. The balance of flavors and textures is tremendous. The HALF ORGANIC CHICKEN DIAVOLO was a great entree. I finished my meal with the VALRHONA FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE TERRINE, salted peanut butter ice cream,

housemade marshmallow. During my main meal I had a great local Pinot Noir. With dessert my waiter recommended a Brandy Alexander.

This was one of those meals where I had to close my eyes to fully absorb the experience. I will be back when in PS. I highly recommend trying this place. Besides amazing food, the design choices are really tasteful and interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic! She was so att ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server was fantastic! She was so attentive and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the pork chop that was amazing and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I had the pork chop that was amazing and it paired well with the Malbec that we chose. Very good! High praises!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.