About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Private Party Facilities:
Previously home to art galleries, a 1950's movie theatre, City Council, and most recently Design Within Reach, Workshop's unique space promises a dining experience unlike any other.
PRIVATE DINING ROOM
Private back entrance. Floor-to-ceiling glass window overlooking Spanish eclectic patio. PS Lab custom lighting. Perfect for business meetings, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, showers and more. Capacity: 16

THE COURTYARD
Original from 1926, Workshop's courtyard is perfect for cocktail parties, wedding receptions, meetings, private lunches, or simply dining under the Palm Springs sun and stars. Modern Bend seating. Historic fountain. Standing Capacity:150

COMMUNITY TABLE
Friends, family, and strangers alike sit together at Workshop's stunning 32' long cast concrete communal table.Perfect for tasting spreads, wine dinners, industry events, and social celebrations, the Community table means you never have to eat (or drink) alone.Capacity: 24

Private Party Contact:
Michael Beckman: 7604593451x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Workshop Kitchen + Bar
Halibut With Foie Gras And Asparagus
Burger
Steelhead
Braised Oxtail Shepherds Pie
Shelton Farms Whole Duck
Duck Rillette
Octopus Carpaccio
Crispy Local Goat Cheese
Mesquite-Charred Brussel Sprouts
Duck Fat Fries
White Yam Soup
Duck Confit Cannelloni
spiced lamb
Lobster Terrine
lemon tart
Lamb Shoulder
Seasonal Fruit
Scallop W/ Squid Ink Rissotto
Brussels Sprouts
Beet Salad
Texas Redfish
Crispy Barbecued Suckling Pig
Brick Chicken
Duck Liver Pate
Chicken Diavolo
Salmon
Heirloom Tomato & Burrata
Vegetarian Enchilada
Braised Veal Cheek
Tenderloin
Brick Oven Pizza
Sous Vide Filet Mignon & Foie Gras
30 Oz. Ribeye Steak
Cocktails
Risotto
Correia Ranch Beef Tenderloin
Chopped Salad
Yam Soup

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 10:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

fit for foodies (97)
special occasion (66)
good for groups (55)
See All
hot spot (54)
great for outdoor dining (45)
romantic (41)
neighborhood gem (37)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for brunch (19)
notable wine list (18)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best meal in Palm Springs this entire tr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

Best meal in Palm Springs this entire trip. Ambiance + design are perfect, service was friendly and knowledgeable, and our meal was cooked perfectly. Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been here for a few months bec ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We hadn't been here for a few months because we we'd been trying a variety of newer local restaurants. After many mediocre and disappointing meals we returned to Workshop - and so glad we did! It's better than ever in every respect. Excellent and friendly service, great drinks and without a doubt the best food in town! Looking forward to returning ASAP!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck breast and foie gras were beyond go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Duck breast and foie gras were beyond good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food, amazing service and am ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding food, amazing service and ambiance. Lovely spot and great look!! The carpaccio was the best I ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good however its a very overpri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good however its a very overpriced restaurant. My husband and I have dined at many small plate style restaurants but the price fit the quantity AND quality. They did offer a good selection of custom cocktails. But still not worth a re-visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very rushed service with multiple people ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very rushed service with multiple people asking if they could clear the table, while we were still eating. Happened at each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Way, and I mean way overpriced for the q ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Way, and I mean way overpriced for the quality of the food. If you're going to charge premium prices, then you need to deliver on quality. Unfortunately this place doesn't. So what you get is overpriced and mediocre food that's not imaginative, not well flavored, not well cooked (over cooked) and in small quantities.

Our advice, there is far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

This is one of the worst restaurants on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is one of the worst restaurants on the planet. The food is terrible and the non-existent service is a joke. Someone needs to close this place down and replace it with a real restaurant. We asked for the check and left before our entrees arrived - the entire experience was intolerable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We did get the last reservation of the n ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We did get the last reservation of the night, 10:30pm. But doesn't justify them serving us so poorly, literally had to get up and walk to find someone and ask for the check they left us waiting for so long. The food was ok. Ambiance is amazing, very nice place but doesn't make up for the bad service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

The portions here are TINY. I realize th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The portions here are TINY. I realize they are called small plates but the beet salad we had filled up a quarter of the plate at most. The duckfat fries were mediocre. The mussels and flat iron steak were fairly good but nothing fantastic. I think we had one more item but it doesn't stand out. I'm disappointed because this restaurant came highly recommended by many. Would not go again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was outstanding hats off to che ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was outstanding hats off to chef and owner, Michael Beckman! How terribly unfortunate bartender and wait staff had less than inviting attitude, snooty would be a more accurate, making overall experience a big disappointment. We recently relocated to Palm Springs from NY. We dine out a lot in local surrounding NY area, in NYC, San Fran, and Sonoma. Some of our favorite restaurants in NY are Danny Meyers; Gramercy, Untitled (Michael Antony our favorite chef), Union Square Cafe, etc. I reference to Danny Meyers because he recognizes wait staff to be their number one asset. Quote from Wikipedia, "order to make his restaurants successful, Danny Meyer focused on customer satisfaction". Michael Beckman, Joseph Mourani and Candy Arreola need a page from Danny's playlist. One important note - front hostess was very personable and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I wanted to really like the place, but i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I wanted to really like the place, but it fell short on food and service. Although the Hostess was very friendly and immediately greeted us upon our entrance, our server was not very personable and appeared somewhat robotic. When I order a Cosmo with Mandarin / orange vodka, the server turned up his nose and told me that they ‘don't do’ flavored liquors. Instead of desert we ordered Chocolate Martini's and again, the server told us they ‘don't do’ Chocolate Martini's. The food presentation was excellent and the taste was pretty good, but you better order a few side dishes, because the quantity falls short and many of my guests left the restaurant still hungry.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food creatively prepared and prese ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food creatively prepared and presented. Cool interior design.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The restaurant itself was lovely. Very w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The restaurant itself was lovely. Very well put together and clean. I ordered a steak and it was like cutting into a tree-trunk. I was truly shocked at the quality of my food. I was hoping it was going to be good because of how beautiful it is sitting inside the restaurant. I will go back for drinks - as they had a wonderful cocktail/wine menu. It looks like a great place for large parties - maybe it just wasn't meant to be for me to enjoy a steak at this place. I will try it one more time and see if there's a difference in my experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing cocktails and hospitality from Z ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing cocktails and hospitality from Zane at the bar. Shredded brussels sprouts salad and jidori chicken were great. Our waiter was somewhat less than great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a great dinner with my husband while ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a great dinner with my husband while on vacation in Palm Springs. It was really hot out, but nice and cool inside. Very mellow vibe, which was perfect. I had a pizza made in wood fire oven and it was delicious. My husband had redfish, also excellent. A great spot to go when visiting PS!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very dramatic and attractive interior de ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very dramatic and attractive interior design and lighting. Booths were very comfortable. Service was great. The food was very inventive, attractive, well presented and very delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Palm Springs. Awesome atmosphere and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with the food and ambianc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very impressed with the food and ambiance of this unique dining spot in Palm Springs. Varied and interesting Menu both for food and alcohol. Beautiful space both inside and on the large patio for outdoor dining. Very special place for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a hit when I travel to Palm Sprin ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always a hit when I travel to Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Very well sourced ingred ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food. Very well sourced ingredients, prepared carefully yet with flai and plenty of flavor. Very contemporary design and a nice courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and amazing drinks! Hard to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and amazing drinks! Hard to find, but definitely worth the find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made reservations for our 10 year anni ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I made reservations for our 10 year anniversary through Open Table. When we arrived we were sat at the community table in the middle of the resturant. Never once did any mention our anniversary. My beet salad was horrible, so much that I didn't eat it. I did mention it to the server, but it remained on our bill. I was very dissapointed that such a special evening for us was treated with mediocrity. Luckily the company made up for the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

review

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a great dinning experience. Everything was perfect. The pork belly was the best I have ever had. Could have made a whole meal out of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pretentious miss.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very cement ambiance, high echo would be tolerable for great food. My appetizer (about $13) was 2 not complete slices of tomato with some white and green sauces. Not big enough to even share much less savor. Main dish steak marinated to the point of not tasting meat. Bottle of wine too expensive. Many better choices in Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

My new favorite restaurant

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I popped in to try this place during restaurant week. I was pleasantly surprised. The entire experience was awesome. My waiter, Levi, was a dream waiter. He knew the menu really well and helped me select dishes that navigated my many allergies and allowed me to eat really well. The KOROBUTA PORK BELLY is to die for. The balance of flavors and textures is tremendous. The HALF ORGANIC CHICKEN DIAVOLO was a great entree. I finished my meal with the VALRHONA FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE TERRINE, salted peanut butter ice cream,

housemade marshmallow. During my main meal I had a great local Pinot Noir. With dessert my waiter recommended a Brandy Alexander.

This was one of those meals where I had to close my eyes to fully absorb the experience. I will be back when in PS. I highly recommend trying this place. Besides amazing food, the design choices are really tasteful and interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic! She was so att ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our server was fantastic! She was so attentive and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the pork chop that was amazing and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I had the pork chop that was amazing and it paired well with the Malbec that we chose. Very good! High praises!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Favorite

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I Always make sure to have a bite here when I am in town, a big fan! On the more expensive side but the quality, presentation, ambiance and service is of the highest quality. Been going here for a while and I enjoy how the menu changes by the season. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This was the third time we have been to workshop and they never disappoint. We had great service. The food was incredible. Their bar makes great drinks as well. We also loved the ambiance of the restaurant. This is a go-to spot in Palm Springs for us. Next time we visit we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and creative brunch

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is one of our favorite brunch destinations! Each dish is special and tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor service was the only downside.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We may have caught a server on a bad day, but we were sitting a while before she ever came over. Once she finally did she did not check in often. Other than that, it was a super cute/trendy place great atmosphere and yummy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Being our first meal in Palm Springs, Wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Being our first meal in Palm Springs, Workshop blew us away! There was a nice seating area outside, but was still quite warm for our early dinner so we opted to sit inside. The ambience inside was so inviting and intimate. We were lucky enough to get our own booth.

We had a few small plates and shared an entrée. The shaved brussel sprouts, beef carpaccio and pork cheek fries were phenomenal! Each did had so much flavor and were prepared to perfection. The duck was prepared very well and was tender, juicy and delicious!

Thank you Workshop for a wonderful start to our long weekend in Palm Springs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not live up to hype

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

There were two of us, and we were both somewhat underwhelmed. Not that we could find anything really wrong with the food - it was merely OK.

We had the idea that the jidoori chicken would be chicken with the herbs and mustard baked into the chicken. It was merely chicken with a nice flavored mustard slathered on it,

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

First time. Decided on workshop based on ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

First time. Decided on workshop based on their James beard award.

Told them it was our anniversary, no gesture or acknowledgment.

We ordered plenty.

The food was fair at best. Some things were tasty, but then ruined by the accompaniment.

Pizza tasted out of a box.

Burger ordered medium rare. Arrived well done.

Ordered Hemingway daiquiri. Was brought a maitai.

No schpiel from the server. No explanation of dishes arriving at table. Fries were ordered, but never received.

Bathrooms are not even inside the restaurant, they are in the courtyard of a small retail mall.

Overall skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Love this place. It seems like a big ci ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Love this place. It seems like a big city place in the middle of Palm Springs. Had friends in for a few days and we had a dinner here. Great food and always fun. So sad that they only serve whole fish on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food, the service, the atmosphere ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food, the service, the atmosphere were all top notch. Wish I had found this gem sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, great food. The best pork chop we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great, great food. The best pork chop we've ever tasted. Wonderfully displayed. Really cool, concrete setting in a classic space.

On the down side--not very friendly greeter and seating; I had to request a refill for my iced tea; bathrooms were a mess (and we were there within half an hour of opening time); overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall, food was good, not great. Nothi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall, food was good, not great. Nothing extraordinarily innovative going on here. Same over priced "locally" sourced blah blah food. Your best bet is dinner. Brunch was just ok. Also nothing too special. Outside dining is very nice if the weather is agreeable. Otherwise the inside is a concrete monster. I would recommend the pork chop or the jidori chicken platter which is enough for 3 people.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing flavors. Steak was a tiny bit ov ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing flavors. Steak was a tiny bit overdone but still very tasty. Service was great, Ambience was very nice too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our second visit to Workshop in two year ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Our second visit to Workshop in two years. We do not get to Palm Springs often but looked forward to dinner at Workshop since we first visited. This night was our children's 21st birthday and we thought a nice meal with cocktails would be an excellent celebration.

The food was good but we felt maybe off from meal we had two years ago. We had the special California Bass. A tad over-cooked, stuffing in the bass was not that interesting and seemed not a match for delicacy of the fish flavor. Our service was very good, our waiter kind and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.