About Woodwork

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tues - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Lindsay Porter

Additional:
Full Bar, Late Night

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Fun (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Tapas (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Booze and food wizardry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would go back just for the sticky toffee pudding. Om nom nom!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a lovely time at Woodwork, celebrating a mom and dad night out. The food was very nice and we enjoyed all of it. The bar service was a bit slow but not horrible. I would definitely go back if I wanted to splash out on a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never disappointed with the exceptional service and some of the best Edmonton cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great shared plates and excellent cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great space. The cocktails are creative and absolutely something special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

New chef and the food is still fabulous. Our favourite spot for dinner before the theatre. Menu is small but selections are always stellar. This visit octopus and tuna were the favourites. The old fashions are brilliant.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The mood was fantastic and the wait staff was very friendly. Great pork shoulder and even better short rib dish. We got to eat what we had smelled as we walked by the night before.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner. Wrong choice. My husband suggested sitting at the bar. I should have listened. I knew what to expect as far as seating, because we had been to this restaurant a few times. I forgot how close you are to your neighbors. All I could hear was their conversations. Very uncomfortable. One less table would make a difference. We ordered the charcuterie board, which we have had a couple times before and always good. This time, a very lame attempt. A few pieces of cheese and some meat and bread piled. No presentation. No mustard. Nothing special. Very disappointing. The drinks were tasty as usual. We will go back for a drink at the bar. They did give us a free bubbly to celebrate our anniversary which was great. We thank you for that. This was once our favourite go to in the downtown. Not so much anymore:(

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Was a very pleasant experience. Food was outstanding. Cocktails were amazingly tasty. Staff were super. Good time!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Tapas, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a little chilly near the door every time someone came in or out. The steak tartare was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and the ambiance was amazing. It is one of our go to places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been to woodwork several times, always had a great time and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Cocktails great. Park shoulder was delicious but lacked fresh vegetables which would have been nice. Miss the meatballs. Your website is broken, says it has expired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awful short rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time going to Woodwork and I went with my boyfriend after work (it was convenient to make a reservation online during the day). The server was very friendly and went out of her way to do a comprehensive allergy check for us. The atmosphere was nice and the decor was stylish. Even though it was fairly busy, the service was quick.

The menu had a lot of unique options that all sounded tasty. My boyfriend and I both ordered some house Kola and the fried polenta cake, which boasted house-made ricotta, crispy sage, and candied nuts. Unfortunately, when it got to our table, the polenta cake was covered with little halved tomatoes, and there's something about the texture of tomatoes that I just can't stand. It didn't say anywhere on the menu that the dish had tomatoes in it and knowing about them would've been a big factor in ordering the way that I did. That being said, after scraping off the tomatoes, the rest was delicious. We also got an order of the fries with curry ketchup to share, and although the fries didn't 'wow' me, the curry ketchup had a really interesting flavour and a bit of spice, and the dish would probably be perfect for if you went to Woodwork for drinks and snacks, as opposed to a full dinner.

For dessert my boyfriend ordered the sticky toffee pudding and I ordered the tiramisu creme brulee. Both desserts were good and I'd recommend either one of them.

Overall it was a pleasant dining experience and I think we'd both go back to try out some different menu items - I would recommend asking more questions about the menu items if you have food dislikes though!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Have returned to Woodwork, and again was not disappointed! I recognized all the meals but one or two from last year - the newest item was a grilled octopus which looked great but I opted for the current fish plate which was delicious without question (Ling Cod). My colleague had a Winter Risotto (also new) which was wonderful. Our guest enjoyed the braised beef short rib dish. Drinks as always were interesting and prepared with enthusiasm! We then treated ourselves to dessert - a yummy winter pavlova and sticky toffee pudding completed the very nice meals. Service is friendly and very knowledgeable, quite attentive. This is a very busy venue and be ready for a bit of noise - we found it hard to have a very business Like conversation but we managed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, and fun atmosphere. Service was good, great for handcrafted cocktails.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My only complaint was the noise level. It was so loud that conversation was very difficult. The food and services was great and I was happy that so many of the items were gluten free for those of us with Celiac Disease.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Cocktails are everything they are bragged up to be. We shared four small plates and found all to be lacking; especially the tuna rillettes served on the most massive piece of baguette ever. Hickory Frites were cut too small to pick up with fingers, while the grilled octopus was barely grilled and did not have enough romesco sauce to accompany it. The brussel sprouts were by far the best dish. The restaurant was very busy, so maybe it doesn't matter if the food is lacklustre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 19, 2017

kale salad the best!!! I get it every time I am in Edmonton

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Woodwork is always fantastic. The brussels sprouts are the best I've had anywhere. Seriously. And they are one of the few spots in town that carries the Duchesse de Bourgogne. Duchess + sprouts combo highly recommended, both go well with their hickory fries too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I've been wanting to try Woodwork for a while - I knew it would be pricey, but I did expect better. Our waitress seemed to just float by answer a question and then leave. However, when 3 out of the 3 ordered steaks came out cold, she was kind to have it remade which was much appreciated. I enjoyed the beverage I ordered, but felt it was a tad pricey for what it was.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent meal with fantastic mixed drinks and incredible service. For a date it's great.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, great service! I highly recommend this local treasure. The effort is put in to make a great experience. Unique dishes for all to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A unique flavor available locally at a fair price. A warm aroma of smokehouse flavors as you enter makes the mouth water. The seating is a little cramped but the quality and flavour of the food makes you soon forget. A good selection of beers available... Nice to see. Also nice to see a hip establishment with professional looking staff. Highly recommend the charcuterie to start.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food, absolutely incredible service.

Try the sticky toffee pudding. Really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great service and savory dishes that tantalized the palate - taste far exceeded the great presentation. And the cocktails ... exquisite. Perfect ambiance. Quite enough for spending time with friends and enabling conversation without any distractions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a great time at Woodwork. We only came for snack and apps as we were headed to the hockey game after. Service was fantastic food was relish, especially the octopus. Thank you very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent all around. We particularly enjoyed not being rushed: we occupied our table for almost 4 hours (had asked for extra time at reservation though). From our group of nine everyone was very happy with their meal. Wine menu had very good options in the mid-price range (~$60) too.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A very warm and inviting restaurant. Great food and excellent service. The limited menu selections allow the kitchen to do things very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love the cocktails! Great place for a drink and a snack.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We loved everything! Will definitely be back soon :)

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I found the current menu and flavours lacking compared with previous visits. Otherwise a great spot for casual fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had higher expectations. About half our meals were pretty good, but others were mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great coffee and drinks, food was super salty but we just had appies so maybe the main meals are less so. Atmo was fun and very down town:)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant has a very limited menu; there were only 3 entrees. The food is reasonably priced and is OK but is nothing out of the ordinary. The wines, most of which I have never heard of, start at $55 per bottle and I don't think that is acceptable. Our server was very good and attentive. This was our second visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was fantastic, the cocktails excellent but it was the service that stood out, five stars is not enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good! I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service was great, food was cold and over cooked. Portions are small for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Noise level too loud for a conversation.

People with diet restrictions are given modified plates by elimination, not substitution, thus not just less flavour , but less volume of food & thus less value. Or the plate just got more expansive for what we paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Consistently good food with a nice ambience. Open design with most tables along a single wall going from front to back. The only real limitation is that the menu does have limited options of the mains so we tend to share the same state options and main course each time, limiting the frequency we decide to visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

A wonderful evening!!!! Looking forward to going back again and again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great place to grab a bite downtown. Great cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Woodwork is one of my favourite places. For those working downtown, it's a great place to pop in for an after-work drink and grab a seat at the bar, and it's also great for food. Everything is just really great, excellent quality, delicious tasting and the service is always super. Highly recommend Woodwork to anyone who appreciates delicious things.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My Husband and I have been to woodwork 3 times - we live out of town and make sure when we are in Edmonton we come for dinner. The food is always amazing and the cocktails are even better!

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Love the atmosphere here and great service as wells very unique restaurant for Edmonton. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The original Old World Fashioned is back- hooray! It really is my favourite cocktail in the city.

Somewhat disappointed with the Pickles and Crudités, due in part to my dining partner's aversion to mushrooms, zucchini and olives. His loss was my gain. I do feel there could have been more pickled items overall and, this is picky I know, but I would have preferred the fennel to be served in chunks rather than thin slices of the entire bulb. However, we were both dazzled by the butternut squash dip; that's definitely a keeper!

Our server was friendly and attentive. Overall, another great night at Woodwork. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food and drinks. Especially loved theBrusselsprouts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant, I'm surprised that Woodwork wasn't tried to open a second location or new location with a different menu. There so good I would be the first customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.