About Woodwork

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Scorgie

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night

Restaurant Photos

  • Woodwork
  • Woodwork
Woodwork
Woodwork

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Fit for Foodies (75)
Special Occasion (48)
Hot Spot (41)
See All
Romantic (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Late-night Find (28)
Good for Groups (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Tapas (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've enjoyed my experienced at Woodwork ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've enjoyed my experienced at Woodwork each time I have been there. The food is exceptional and the cocktails amazing. My only complaint would be the noise level. It is sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation with the person across the table without leaning in towards each other. Also, just a tiny bit more light, either on the table or above the table to help see the menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for an anniversary, way too expensi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for an anniversary, way too expensive, and overcooked the steaks. After we sent back the waitress tried to explain that the cooking process prevented them from being able to cook anything rarer than medium, only to come back with a perfectly cooked medium rare. So why try and tell me that you can not make it that way? Also the portions are small, you may leave hungry after you spend 150 bucks + . The waitress made us feel rushed all dinner. Also an older crowd, which is ok but we are a young couple and like to be around a younger crowd.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great place for a wonderful meal. Food i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a wonderful meal. Food is great, and the server is friendly. I particular enjoy their exquisite cocktail. WW is great for great drink and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, great meal and grea ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time, great meal and great drinks. Would definitely come back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food and drinks! Service was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the food and drinks! Service was awesome! Only down fall was it was so noisy it was hard to have a conversation and hear each other.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time a Woodworks and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our first time a Woodworks and it didn't disappoint. Our server was excellent. She knew everything. She was pleasant. She was efficient. She asked if we had a deadline ( we did) and made sure our food arrived promptly. Top marks there.

We tried some new wine which I really enjoyed but my husband wasn't a fan. I finished his off!

My husband and I shared the smoked Arctic char appetizer that was to die for. The presentation was gorgeous and we practically licked the plate!

I had the small plate meatballs ( 3 of them that were a very generous size) which were cooked on the wood fire. They were delicious and served with toasted whole almonds and a yummy, think tomato sauce. It was topped with goat's cheese. Wow. I ate 1.5 of them and took the rest home for lunch.

My husband had the Chicken Supreme which was not quite what he expected but really liked. It was served with Israeli couscous which is one of my favourites. I helped him finish it.

He ordered the sticky toffee pudding for dessert which was to die for. I had an EXCELLENT cup of decaf coffee ( freshly brewed) and topped everything off for me. Worth going.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was quite good. Some of the feature ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was quite good. Some of the feature drinks were outstanding. Definitely a place to go and share as many items as possible. with friends.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ambience is on point. Beautifully crafte ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ambience is on point. Beautifully crafted cocktails and delicious meals. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't think I have had a bad experienc ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I don't think I have had a bad experience at WoodWork. It a great place with great food and great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We headed her for my wife's birthday. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We headed her for my wife's birthday. We had been once before and I remember it being good, but not as good as it was on our recent visit. The staff were outstanding and very knowledgeable about the menu. The drinks were great! The food was bang on. We shared two appetizers (the brussels sprouts and Arctic char) and each had the flank steak for our mains. They were all outstanding. I would order each of those again, no questions asked. Then came dessert - I can't comment on the peanut butter thang my wife had (I'm allergic), but the sticky toffee pudding was amazing - I could have ordered 3 more right then and there and eaten all of them.

Overall a fantastic experience and highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly good food for what I consid ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Surprisingly good food for what I considered to be a cocktail bar. The cook on the meat was excellent and the sauces were different in a good way. Their cocktails are unique and always worth the expense.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our group of eight dined here on a Satur ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our group of eight dined here on a Saturday night and we honestly could not fault the service we received here. Our server was attentive, knowledgable and friendly.

The menu was small, local and the food fresh and very tasty.

I would definitely recommend this place to foodies!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was efficient and good, the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service was efficient and good, the food was excellent and correctly portioned, not too small , not too big for the large plates. We were there for a business meal in the early evening and it was a bit too loud. Which has more to do with the very tall ceilings in a very narrow space. So while I might not take any more clients there I will certainly go back with friends.

I will be dreaming about the Sticky Toffee Pudding for weeks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service as always. Only s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and service as always. Only suggestion is some 5 oz wine options that are under $13-18 dollars. Most I pay for 5oz glass of wine..

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, my experience at Woodwork was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

As always, my experience at Woodwork was an absolute pleasure. The server was fantastic, the wine was beautiful, and the food delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with some friends for my wife's bir ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went with some friends for my wife's birthday and, as we expected, everything was fantastic. The food and drinks are some of our favourites in the city, and our server was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was fantastic , Jessie mixes a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The staff was fantastic , Jessie mixes a mean version of an old fashion with mint - we traumatized the servers with our requests , bombastic behavior and they kept us well fed, entertained with attention to every detail. Incidentally, the whipped cream was incredible! High scores, and will be back if they permit us...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit in a year and both times wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Second visit in a year and both times was a good meal. Thankfully this summer they have fixed their heat issue so the temperature was comfortable. We had a great server; very knowledgeable and bubbly but not in your face.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, good value and incredible se ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food, good value and incredible service. Staff was extremely accommodating and enhanced the experience. Would recommend to anyone however tables are very close and bit but cramped and restaurant is a bit noisy. All in all a definite hit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Woodwork never disappoints us. The pisco ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Woodwork never disappoints us. The pisco sour version is itself another reason to go back. The flank was really well done, tender, juicy and went really well with their version of the chimichurri. And the risotto, a really good vegetable option, not super creamy, but I would order again. Cheers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved loved loved my experience, the ser ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved loved loved my experience, the service was top notch and we really appreciated our servers knowledge of both the drink menu and the food items. We told them about my husbands food allergies and she was more than willing to make any allowances necessary so that we could enjoy the items we wanted without compromising his health. The food was fabulous - the Brussel sprouts were the best I've ever had! The restaurant is very small however and privacy wasn't really an option. Taking out a couple of tables for 2 would really help but I know that affects the bottom line especially for a small business. Also the chairs were very flimsy my husband is tall and a bigger build he had no choice but to sit on the bench as we were concerned that the chair wouldn't hold up. These small inconveniences didn't affect our meal and the fact that it was overall a fabulous experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything is just 30% more expensive th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything is just 30% more expensive then it should have been.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Fantastic spot, great food and service, ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic spot, great food and service, creative cocktails and attentive staff. Very reasonably priced!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinning , the servers were fan ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fantastic dinning , the servers were fantastic and friendly and were super healthful with the menu for both the food and drink . Food came out in good time and everything was delicious. Amazing experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as always!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was super knowledgable, perfe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server was super knowledgable, perfectly attentive, friendly .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Wordwork on the recommendatio ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went to Wordwork on the recommendation of a colleague. We were impressed with the quality of service from the moment we stepped in the door. The creative cocktail list was a good place to start, and the cocktails were expertly crafted.

The food was excellent. For starters, we opted to share a few smaller plates: the aquavit char, the brussels sprouts, and the meatballs. Great flavours! For mains, we split between the flank steak and a pork dish, both of which were interesting, well put together, and expertly prepared.

A bottle of Sancerre went well with our meal. (One of our party could not drink red wine, but the wine list is a nice selection of old and new world red, white, and rose wines.)

We shared the toffee pudding for dessert -- the Brit at our table gives it a hearty endorsement.

Overall, it was nice to be in a simple space with attention to food, drink, and quality service. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Woodwork has been a fave dinner spot for ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Woodwork has been a fave dinner spot for my partner and I since it opened. A great spot to grab a drink and share a delicious dinner- it's always on my recommended list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our time at Woodwork! ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our time at Woodwork! Great service, and food. Will definitely check it out again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and interesting and delic ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and interesting and delicious cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for a great night with my friends ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Thanks for a great night with my friends. The overall very good and hospitable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service great! Especially loved ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food and service great! Especially loved the desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent! Cocktails were incredible. F ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent! Cocktails were incredible. Food hit the mark. Highly recommend if you are in Edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No air conditioning made it very hot ins ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

No air conditioning made it very hot inside the restaurant. Our server wasn't very attentive and had to be asked for certain requests multiple times. Still a great restaurant and would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

What a wonderful night except it was sli ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a wonderful night except it was slightly warm in the restaurant. Our server Sarah was exceptional. Very knowledgeable about the food and the cocktail menu and beer selection. All the small dishes were flavorful and very tasty. Recommend the drumsticks, steak tarter, meatballs and my favorite the charcuterie board. Yum! You need reservations and you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service. Well educated on all the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Super service. Well educated on all the food and delicious drinks. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A great visit to this restaurant. The me ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A great visit to this restaurant. The menu was smaller but everything on the menu was top notch. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service. Knowledgable, and res ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful service. Knowledgable, and respectful and fun. Not a huge menu. Could use more selections. But what they have is delicious. Needs different lighting for ambience. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The dishes like the menu are simple but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The dishes like the menu are simple but pack a ton of flavor! Even though I ordered a "small plate" it was still a good size meal. They were also kind enough to cater to my citrus allergy and double checked my order with the kitchen. It's a great place to have dinner or a date - the ambiance is inviting and the house made drinks and food are superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food, great cocktails, loud.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Decent food, great cocktails, loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.