About Woodwork

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Scorgie

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night

Restaurant Photos

  • Woodwork
  • Woodwork
Woodwork
Woodwork

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

fit for foodies (111)
hot spot (61)
special occasion (54)
See All
vibrant bar scene (53)
late-night find (43)
neighborhood gem (38)
romantic (36)
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent! Cocktails were incredible. F ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent! Cocktails were incredible. Food hit the mark. Highly recommend if you are in Edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No air conditioning made it very hot ins ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

No air conditioning made it very hot inside the restaurant. Our server wasn't very attentive and had to be asked for certain requests multiple times. Still a great restaurant and would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

What a wonderful night except it was sli ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

What a wonderful night except it was slightly warm in the restaurant. Our server Sarah was exceptional. Very knowledgeable about the food and the cocktail menu and beer selection. All the small dishes were flavorful and very tasty. Recommend the drumsticks, steak tarter, meatballs and my favorite the charcuterie board. Yum! You need reservations and you will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service. Well educated on all the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Super service. Well educated on all the food and delicious drinks. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A great visit to this restaurant. The me ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A great visit to this restaurant. The menu was smaller but everything on the menu was top notch. Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service. Knowledgable, and res ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful service. Knowledgable, and respectful and fun. Not a huge menu. Could use more selections. But what they have is delicious. Needs different lighting for ambience. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The dishes like the menu are simple but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The dishes like the menu are simple but pack a ton of flavor! Even though I ordered a "small plate" it was still a good size meal. They were also kind enough to cater to my citrus allergy and double checked my order with the kitchen. It's a great place to have dinner or a date - the ambiance is inviting and the house made drinks and food are superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food, great cocktails, loud.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Decent food, great cocktails, loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was friendly and quick and t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was friendly and quick and the food was incredible. We ordered 4 dishes to share and each dish was delicious. The caramelized Brussels sprouts were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 7 was celebrating a birthda ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our group of 7 was celebrating a birthday. We had a great, knowledgeable, attentive server. The food was wonderful and the drinks were amazing. Had another memorable evening at Woodwork

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything here is fantastic. Drinks, fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything here is fantastic. Drinks, food, service, it's all impeccable! Do yourself a favor and try the Daq & Siam cocktail. Delicious!! The Brussel sprouts, meatballs, and risotto were excellent. Can wait to go back and try everything else!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, woodwork continues to amaze m ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always, woodwork continues to amaze me. They have immaculate attention to detail and a genuine passion for great food and drink. The restaurant is quite small, although it creates the perfect atmosphere. The servers are well educated and professional. Woodwork has made me fall in love with craft cocktails, and are a must try. Although they may seem expensive I have yet to try something that wasn't exceptional or at the very least an experience. As far as the food goes... the Aquavit Cured Char is an absolute must try (the work that goes into such a small and delicate appetizer impresses me every time). I will be back to woodwork as soon as I can; it has won my heart and is easily my favourite restaurant downtown Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not good. The only thing th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was not good. The only thing that would be worth trying is the charcuterie board. Stay away from the in house made Kola. So gross. And stay away from the flank steak. Nasty. Definitely not worth the price!

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

I was surprised to find this a very casu ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I was surprised to find this a very casual sort of restaurant with fine dining prices. Too pricey. Cocktails were too expensive... am not sure we got our money's worth... food was fresh but not fantastic... blended several items together... no air conditioning... doors were open and the street noise (sirens, cars, etc) was obvious... cool space but not much effort on interior design...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The ambiance was hip but stylish. The se ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The ambiance was hip but stylish. The service was excellent, especially our server Mary Ellen. The food was to die for and the drinks were expertly crafted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was here with a group of girlfriends it ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Was here with a group of girlfriends it was okay. Not sure I would be back, other than the Brussel sprouts nothing really stood out to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

The drinks were great. Food was good. Se ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The drinks were great. Food was good. Service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Woodwork is delicious, gorgeous, and sme ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Woodwork is delicious, gorgeous, and smells amazing. Go eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your "cola" with rum is not good! Coca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Your "cola" with rum is not good! Coca Cola is needed or tell client what to expect.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for late night snacks and ate th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went for late night snacks and ate the smoked drumsticks with honey mustard, the duck salad, the cured Arctic char. The chef also brought out some house made bresaola with buckwheat honey that hasn't made the menu quite yet - which was our favorite thing! The staff are engaged and knowledgable and the portions were perfect (we don't love small bites). Thank you WW for a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great cocktails and bottl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great service, great cocktails and bottled beer selection. Decent apps, poor charchutrie selection. Tasty steak tartar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Woodwork is absolutely fantastic. Our se ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Woodwork is absolutely fantastic. Our server was lovely and she was extremely knowledgable with every question asked. The food was perfection. And the drinks, well they were next level. I have been wanting to come to back since we left!! I can't wait for round two!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! A tad bit loud so no ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious! A tad bit loud so not for those wanting a quiet place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I often come to Woodwork ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I often come to Woodwork after downtown concerts; the food is incredible and locally-sourced, and the cocktail program is really creative, often innovative . This time I brought my visiting out-of-town sisters and my in-town sister, daughter, and niece, most of whom are foodies, all of them a lot of fun. They loved everything about the restaurant!

I ordered all our must-haves for the table: Arctic char on toast, steak tartare, Brussels sprouts, frites, the charcuterie board, and the sticky toffee pudding. We had to get second rounds of the char and the Brussels sprouts – they are that good. Seriously. Eat some.

The service is great; water glasses always full, cocktail and wine glasses closely monitored, and food arrival well-timed. Just be aware that there is a set time frame allowed for your meal as the place is usually booked solid all night, so don't plan to have long conversations over your coffee. That being said, we never, ever feel rushed – we just know that post-dinner lingering will be limited.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Woodwork had an excellent cocktail menu ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Woodwork had an excellent cocktail menu complimented by an amazing menu! It was an excellent venue to celebrate with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a drink or light dinner ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great place for a drink or light dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Met up with a friend for a few craft coc ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Met up with a friend for a few craft cocktails. Sat at the bar from 5-11pm and had a great time chatting with each other and the bartenders. Service was professional, friendly and playful! Had a fantastic time. The only slight negative was the charcuterie board. With so many other restaurants doing this spectacularly, you may need to step up the quality in the individual items and presentation. Will be back for sure.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting, tasty food - Great company!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were a party of six, the night we went to Woodwork for my husband's birthday celebration. The food was very good and made with interesting ingredients although despite it being asparagus and rhubard season, neither of these ingredients were on the menu! Our server could have smiled more. The restaurant is very loud because of the high ceiling and harsh surfaces so it was hard to have a conversation that included everyone. We all felt like we had to raise our voices in order to converse.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Excellent meal -- even for a group of vegetarians!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Knowing we would find great cocktails, four friends headed to Woodwork to celebrate a birthday and to mourn a going away. After consultation with our server, we were all delighted with our choices from the cocktail menu. Though not all of us are strict vegetarians, we opted to to go without meat for the night, and we thoroughly enjoyed the options we had -- the brassica salad, crudite, and brussels sprouts to start, and a risotto for each of us as a main. All were delicious, though the salad particularly shone. We finished with a couple of salted toffee puddings, and these were outstanding, too. The meal was proclaimed a great success by all and we couldn't have asked for better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was super friendly and attentive. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Staff was super friendly and attentive. Food was delicious. Drinks were different but good, a little expensive for the size of drinks we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

In an era of 3 types of restaurants: -fa ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

In an era of 3 types of restaurants:

-fast food

-quick-service/fast casual

-very expensive

....Woodwork is part of a growing trend of affordable, imaginative, creative and curious places that serves its Guests well. Some fresh spins on traditional fare makes one want to come back. This place has great cocktails and small, medium & full plates to appeal to individuals & sharing alike. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AWESOME!!!!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Woodwork is my favorite restaurant in the city. I am never disappointed. Great food, top notch service and the best cocktails in town. You would have to be dumb not to go to Woodwork.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb bar and selection of cocktails. E ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb bar and selection of cocktails. Excellent taste and presentation- great vibe to the place. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They should have a selection of Draught ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

They should have a selection of Draught Beers on Tap.

Wait staff should try and smile and be more engaging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I enjoyed the opportunity to try new foo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I enjoyed the opportunity to try new food and really did enjoy it. The best fries ever.

We were a group of 7 who were saying goodbye to one who is moving away. What we did struggle with was the 'energetic' noise level which made it hard to hear the people 2 chairs over. Maybe not the best venue for our purpose. Great if you're a smaller group.

I appreciated the list of suppliers for the food that was on the menu. Fun. And the dessert was amazing. Our server was great - sorry don't remember her name.

I would go again

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was outstanding and the drinks were fantastic. I highly recommend Woodwork it was fantastiic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great. We tried a few diff ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great. We tried a few different things but my favourite was the meat balls in sauce. Also there selection in Bourbon was fantastic it was a great date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food I've ever eaten!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was so incredible I don't have words. I was full but didn't want the food to end! Waitress was professional and atmosphere was warm and rustic/industrial. We shared the meat and cheese charcuterie and I had the duck confit salad. Ate various pieces of charcuterie mixed together for a flavour explosion and the salad was perfectly mixed and dressed for a perfect bite every time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favourite Restaurant in Edmonton

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Have never had a bad meal here. Best cocktails in the city. You HAVE to try the sticky toffee pudding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.