About Woodwork

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Scorgie

Additional:
Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night

Restaurant Photos

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
1 More
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

fit for foodies (148)
hot spot (78)
vibrant bar scene (67)
See All
special occasion (66)
late-night find (64)
romantic (52)
good for groups (42)
neighborhood gem (41)
notable wine list (24)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Staff was super friendly and attentive. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Staff was super friendly and attentive. Food was delicious. Drinks were different but good, a little expensive for the size of drinks we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

In an era of 3 types of restaurants: -fa ...

Dined 6 days ago

In an era of 3 types of restaurants: -fast food -quick-service/fast casual -very expensive ....Woodwork is part of a growing trend of affordable, imaginative, creative and curious places that serves its Guests well. Some fresh spins on traditional fare makes one want to come back. This place has great cocktails and small, medium & full plates to appeal to individuals & sharing alike. Excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

AWESOME!!!!

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Woodwork is my favorite restaurant in the city. I am never disappointed. Great food, top notch service and the best cocktails in town. You would have to be dumb not to go to Woodwork.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb bar and selection of cocktails. E ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb bar and selection of cocktails. Excellent taste and presentation- great vibe to the place. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

They should have a selection of Draught ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

They should have a selection of Draught Beers on Tap. Wait staff should try and smile and be more engaging

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I enjoyed the opportunity to try new foo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I enjoyed the opportunity to try new food and really did enjoy it. The best fries ever. We were a group of 7 who were saying goodbye to one who is moving away. What we did struggle with was the 'energetic' noise level which made it hard to hear the people 2 chairs over. Maybe not the best venue for our purpose. Great if you're a smaller group. I appreciated the list of suppliers for the food that was on the menu. Fun. And the dessert was amazing. Our server was great - sorry don't remember her name. I would go again

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was outstanding and the drinks were fantastic. I highly recommend Woodwork it was fantastiic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. We tried a few diff ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great. We tried a few different things but my favourite was the meat balls in sauce. Also there selection in Bourbon was fantastic it was a great date night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I've ever eaten!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was so incredible I don't have words. I was full but didn't want the food to end! Waitress was professional and atmosphere was warm and rustic/industrial. We shared the meat and cheese charcuterie and I had the duck confit salad. Ate various pieces of charcuterie mixed together for a flavour explosion and the salad was perfectly mixed and dressed for a perfect bite every time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favourite Restaurant in Edmonton

Dined on May 7, 2016

Have never had a bad meal here. Best cocktails in the city. You HAVE to try the sticky toffee pudding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great downtown spot.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were well taken care of on a recent visit to Woodwork for a business evening out. From the charcuterie plates to the main course selections of the flank steak and chicken - the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, well prepared. Small bee ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent food, well prepared. Small beer menu, none on tap.

food4
ambience4
service5

Our server was extremely attentive witho ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server was extremely attentive without invading our space or interrupting our conversations! Had a great time and plan on visiting again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummo

Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious food. Chicken Suprême was so moist. Toffee cake was heavenly. Amazing meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They were very accommodating and friendl ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

They were very accommodating and friendly staff! The servers went out of their way to make our experience enjoyable. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My daughter and I had dinner at Woodwork ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

My daughter and I had dinner at Woodwork on April 26. Food was very good and very well served. We had the kale salad and chicken drumsticks for appetizers and the chicken entree. Service was excellent. This is our second time and we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Amazing!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Woodwork is always amazing. Beautifully plated food and skillfully made cocktails. I would recommend Woodwork to anyone who wants something more creative than "meat and potatoes".

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5

Meatballs were best

Dined on April 23, 2016

Meatballs were best

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The flank steak (with smashed potatoes) ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The flank steak (with smashed potatoes) was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

I really enjoyed the specialty cocktails ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

I really enjoyed the specialty cocktails, (the Bloc Heater was warm and had a nice cardamom spicy twist. The flank-steak was tender and the pea shots and smashed potato was a really nice, compliment to the meal. Book early! The restaurant fills up quick.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Small Plates are Better

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Had large plates (steak) and found the meal to be extremely salty. The meat was tough to chew and I had to spit out the unchewable portions, which was embarrassing. We had a couple small plates though and they were really good (salmon on toasted bread). I liked the atmosphere within the restaurant and they had some great bourbon. I would recommend it for some wine and small plates but not for a full lunch or supper.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Spot

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a great little spot for a date. Loved the flank steak and the ginger cake with whipping cream topping. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best BRUSSEL SPROUTS on planet earth! T ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best BRUSSEL SPROUTS on planet earth! The meatballs and the charcuterie platter; exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent spot.

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Always an excellent spot.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice meal, in nice surroundings. Be ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Very nice meal, in nice surroundings. Best meal all week on my trip to Edmonton.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as Usual

Dined on April 9, 2016

This was my second dining experience at Woodwork and was not disappointed. The staff are friendly and efficient, the food is amazing. They went so far as to tailor our meals so they would be gluten free (substituted the couscous with grilled veggies). I highly recommend the Chicken Supreme with the Chocolate Salted Toffee whatchamacallit for dessert. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. We will definitely be ba ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Fantastic food. We will definitely be back!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food at woodwork is wonderful and the quality is evident. Nice charming location in downtown Edmonton.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fantastic cocktails.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great food and fantastic cocktails.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have Celiac's Disease and I accidental ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I have Celiac's Disease and I accidentally ordered something that had breadcrumbs (it didn't list bread on the menu). I apologized for my mistake and politely asked for a new plate, and they were extremely understanding! Plus the food is divine, though I'm limited in what I can eat. I don't eat out very often but Woodwork is always one of my top picks if I do.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You will want to return

Dined on March 26, 2016

Their meals and appetizers are full of flavor and their cocktails are unique and well worth a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food at a great price, wine a bit ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food at a great price, wine a bit expensive , a bit loud for a date. I find mainly groups of women which is why I think it's loud. Love the place, not romantic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Friday night in Woodwork

Dined on March 19, 2016

Good service, food is average - nothing out of ordinary, cocktails and interior deserve the visit other than that nothing that you can find almost everywhere.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Woodwork rocked!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Found the place a little dim, but that seems to be the way it goes now. Was a little surprised by the size of the menu, but upon investigating it had everything one could need. Very good variety and some excellent surprises. The drink menu was large and somewhat overcomplicated. Not every bar needs their own version of an old fashioned. Having said that the drinks we did try were excellent. All the food choices were discussed with our server and she gave us some excellent suggestions and was very knowledgeable about the menu. We enjoyed all the dishes and my favourite was the smoked arctic char.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 12, 2016

This was my second time going to this restaurant and I was disappointed. The first time I went I thought it was really good, both the service and the food. So I recommended my daughter choose it for her birthday dinner. Sadly, it wasn't a great experience. The food, which I ordered the same thing as my previous visit, was nowhere as good as the first time. I did try the Brussel Sprouts small dish and the Peanut Butter Thang, and those were really good. The service also was seriously lacking on this visit. The server never asked how our food was and when she took my daughter's plates away with most of the food on it, she still didn't inquire. I am sorry I recommended my daughter choose this place for her birthday, as it was a disappointment, and an expensive one at that. We won't be returning.

food5
ambience4
service5

Was a nice experience but the menu is qu ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Was a nice experience but the menu is quite minimal. Had to go out of my comfort zone and had the meatballs but was so glad I did they were incredible and I rarely like meat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Night

Dined on March 4, 2016

Came here before a event with friends, we had a few food allergies and the Chef was amazing about accommodating this, the waitress took the menu straight to the chef and he marked up with pen (right on the menu) what contains dairy and what does not and what can be made dairy free. Our food was delicious and the serve was very knowledgeable with what they were serving and if she didn't know the answer she promptly found out for us. We had a charcuterie board, which was nice and full, much fuller then most restaurants, meats cheeses (on the side), pickles and bread with oil, everything was delicious, nothing was left on the plate. We also had the kale salad, and brusselsprouts and I highly recommend both! I am still thinking about those brusselsprouts... One friend had the chicken and said it was okay, nothing to rage on about, and we shared the steak which was cooked perfectly. All in all I would highly recommend checking this place out

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Full meal deal!

Dined on March 3, 2016

While I have been to Woodwork a few times, I have never had a full meal there. I was not disappointed. They make amazing cocktails! The Brassica Salad was shared between the 3 of us and all agreed it was delicious! The Brussel Sprouts, Steak Tartare, Meatballs, and Pork Shoulder were all beautifully presented and very tasty! You can't go wrong with the Sticky Toffee Pudding! So good!!! Service was just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Edmonton's best!

Dined on March 2, 2016

Love the space, with open kitchen and trendy decor. Menu is limited but options are all good. Must try the meatballs and Brussels sprouts. Love the meatballs!! Small plates are actualy quite generous portions. One of Edmonton's best dining options!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Return customer, food and service were e ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Return customer, food and service were excellent as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.