About Woodwork

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tues - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Scorgie

Additional:
Full Bar, Late Night

Restaurant Photos

  • Woodwork, Edmonton, AB
  • Woodwork, Edmonton, AB
Woodwork, Edmonton, AB
Woodwork, Edmonton, AB

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Service
Edmonton
1 More
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Good for a Date (41)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Romantic (26)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Cozy (21)
Late-night Find (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Tapas (13)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A very warm and inviting restaurant. Gre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

A very warm and inviting restaurant. Great food and excellent service. The limited menu selections allow the kitchen to do things very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the cocktails! Great place for a d ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love the cocktails! Great place for a drink and a snack.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything! Will definitely be ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We loved everything! Will definitely be back soon :)

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the current menu and flavours la ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I found the current menu and flavours lacking compared with previous visits. Otherwise a great spot for casual fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Had higher expectations. About half our ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had higher expectations. About half our meals were pretty good, but others were mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great coffee and drinks, food was super ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great coffee and drinks, food was super salty but we just had appies so maybe the main meals are less so. Atmo was fun and very down town:)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant has a very limited menu; ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant has a very limited menu; there were only 3 entrees. The food is reasonably priced and is OK but is nothing out of the ordinary. The wines, most of which I have never heard of, start at $55 per bottle and I don't think that is acceptable. Our server was very good and attentive. This was our second visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was fantastic, the cocktails ex ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was fantastic, the cocktails excellent but it was the service that stood out, five stars is not enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good! I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was great, food was cold and ove ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service was great, food was cold and over cooked. Portions are small for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Noise level too loud for a conversation. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Noise level too loud for a conversation.

People with diet restrictions are given modified plates by elimination, not substitution, thus not just less flavour , but less volume of food & thus less value. Or the plate just got more expansive for what we paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently good food with a nice ambie ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Consistently good food with a nice ambience. Open design with most tables along a single wall going from front to back. The only real limitation is that the menu does have limited options of the mains so we tend to share the same state options and main course each time, limiting the frequency we decide to visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful evening!!!! Looking forwa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

A wonderful evening!!!! Looking forward to going back again and again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to grab a bite downtown. Gre ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great place to grab a bite downtown. Great cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Woodwork is one of my favourite places. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Woodwork is one of my favourite places. For those working downtown, it's a great place to pop in for an after-work drink and grab a seat at the bar, and it's also great for food. Everything is just really great, excellent quality, delicious tasting and the service is always super. Highly recommend Woodwork to anyone who appreciates delicious things.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband and I have been to woodwork 3 ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My Husband and I have been to woodwork 3 times - we live out of town and make sure when we are in Edmonton we come for dinner. The food is always amazing and the cocktails are even better!

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere here and great servi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Love the atmosphere here and great service as wells very unique restaurant for Edmonton. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The original Old World Fashioned is back ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The original Old World Fashioned is back- hooray! It really is my favourite cocktail in the city.

Somewhat disappointed with the Pickles and Crudités, due in part to my dining partner's aversion to mushrooms, zucchini and olives. His loss was my gain. I do feel there could have been more pickled items overall and, this is picky I know, but I would have preferred the fennel to be served in chunks rather than thin slices of the entire bulb. However, we were both dazzled by the butternut squash dip; that's definitely a keeper!

Our server was friendly and attentive. Overall, another great night at Woodwork. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food and drinks. Especially loved ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food and drinks. Especially loved theBrusselsprouts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant, I'm surprised that ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant, I'm surprised that Woodwork wasn't tried to open a second location or new location with a different menu. There so good I would be the first customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Able to accommodate dairy and gluten fre ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Able to accommodate dairy and gluten free, though the options were limited. Delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was great, the drinks were very g ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Dinner was great, the drinks were very good as well. Our waitress was fantastic, she knew how everything was made and gave suggestions as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Small plates and Appetizers are way to g ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Small plates and Appetizers are way to go. Fantastic Drink menu with some amazing selections. In particular if you are a Bourbon fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

A little on the noisy side but everythin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A little on the noisy side but everything else wonderful; a great experience that I'll definitely do again.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best cocktails in Edmonton

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Best cocktails in Edmonton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time there. Great food ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was our first time there. Great food and very cozy!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've enjoyed my experienced at Woodwork ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I've enjoyed my experienced at Woodwork each time I have been there. The food is exceptional and the cocktails amazing. My only complaint would be the noise level. It is sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation with the person across the table without leaning in towards each other. Also, just a tiny bit more light, either on the table or above the table to help see the menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for an anniversary, way too expensi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Went for an anniversary, way too expensive, and overcooked the steaks. After we sent back the waitress tried to explain that the cooking process prevented them from being able to cook anything rarer than medium, only to come back with a perfectly cooked medium rare. So why try and tell me that you can not make it that way? Also the portions are small, you may leave hungry after you spend 150 bucks + . The waitress made us feel rushed all dinner. Also an older crowd, which is ok but we are a young couple and like to be around a younger crowd.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great place for a wonderful meal. Food i ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great place for a wonderful meal. Food is great, and the server is friendly. I particular enjoy their exquisite cocktail. WW is great for great drink and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, great meal and grea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a great time, great meal and great drinks. Would definitely come back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food and drinks! Service was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Loved the food and drinks! Service was awesome! Only down fall was it was so noisy it was hard to have a conversation and hear each other.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time a Woodworks and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our first time a Woodworks and it didn't disappoint. Our server was excellent. She knew everything. She was pleasant. She was efficient. She asked if we had a deadline ( we did) and made sure our food arrived promptly. Top marks there.

We tried some new wine which I really enjoyed but my husband wasn't a fan. I finished his off!

My husband and I shared the smoked Arctic char appetizer that was to die for. The presentation was gorgeous and we practically licked the plate!

I had the small plate meatballs ( 3 of them that were a very generous size) which were cooked on the wood fire. They were delicious and served with toasted whole almonds and a yummy, think tomato sauce. It was topped with goat's cheese. Wow. I ate 1.5 of them and took the rest home for lunch.

My husband had the Chicken Supreme which was not quite what he expected but really liked. It was served with Israeli couscous which is one of my favourites. I helped him finish it.

He ordered the sticky toffee pudding for dessert which was to die for. I had an EXCELLENT cup of decaf coffee ( freshly brewed) and topped everything off for me. Worth going.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was quite good. Some of the feature ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was quite good. Some of the feature drinks were outstanding. Definitely a place to go and share as many items as possible. with friends.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ambience is on point. Beautifully crafte ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ambience is on point. Beautifully crafted cocktails and delicious meals. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't think I have had a bad experienc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I don't think I have had a bad experience at WoodWork. It a great place with great food and great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We headed her for my wife's birthday. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We headed her for my wife's birthday. We had been once before and I remember it being good, but not as good as it was on our recent visit. The staff were outstanding and very knowledgeable about the menu. The drinks were great! The food was bang on. We shared two appetizers (the brussels sprouts and Arctic char) and each had the flank steak for our mains. They were all outstanding. I would order each of those again, no questions asked. Then came dessert - I can't comment on the peanut butter thang my wife had (I'm allergic), but the sticky toffee pudding was amazing - I could have ordered 3 more right then and there and eaten all of them.

Overall a fantastic experience and highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly good food for what I consid ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Surprisingly good food for what I considered to be a cocktail bar. The cook on the meat was excellent and the sauces were different in a good way. Their cocktails are unique and always worth the expense.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our group of eight dined here on a Satur ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our group of eight dined here on a Saturday night and we honestly could not fault the service we received here. Our server was attentive, knowledgable and friendly.

The menu was small, local and the food fresh and very tasty.

I would definitely recommend this place to foodies!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was efficient and good, the food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service was efficient and good, the food was excellent and correctly portioned, not too small , not too big for the large plates. We were there for a business meal in the early evening and it was a bit too loud. Which has more to do with the very tall ceilings in a very narrow space. So while I might not take any more clients there I will certainly go back with friends.

I will be dreaming about the Sticky Toffee Pudding for weeks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service as always. Only s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and service as always. Only suggestion is some 5 oz wine options that are under $13-18 dollars. Most I pay for 5oz glass of wine..

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.