Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Woodwork

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tues - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Lindsay Porter

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (9)
Fun (9)
Casual (8)
Tapas (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, pricey depending on what you get. I have been here twice and the food was great both times. Good restaurant but very cramped space.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best places for cocktails, their drink menu goes on and on. Food is great as well! Order the Woodwork Charcuterie if there is a handful of you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food menu was much too small. There are only a handful of menu items from what I was used to. Also quite overpriced for what you actually receive on your plate. $46 for a steak and fries is far too expensive. In the economy today in Edmonton, you cannot pay this type of money and still pay for a vegetable on the side. I don't know how frequently I would go back to this restaurant with my current concerns.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The service was really slow. We waited almost 15-minutes to receive our drinks. The food was mediocre.... loud bass music which didn't seem to match the environment. A bit overpriced on the cocktails as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Overall was not the experience that we wanted, because it felt as if it was 40 degrees in there (not being sarcastic). I don't know if the AC was broken or if they don't have AC, but we spent the entire time fanning ourselves. Food was great and service was almost as great, but the heat was too overwhelming to enjoy the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

A little loud for a romantic date night, but very tasty food and cocktails!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious cocktails and small, but delicious menu! decor and ambiance are great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Service left something to be desired, significant lag between seating and ordering.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was our first visit to woodwork and we were very happy with the drinks, service and food. It was recomended to us by a friend and we will be sure to recommend it to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

definitely loved the setting. The service was great, but the food felt a little overpriced but delicious. We all thought this place would be great for a pre- or post-game cocktail as it is close to the new rink and the cocktail menu is spectacular.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have a very picky/reatricted diet so the limited menu was challenging to work with but our server tried so hard to try to accomodate my crazy restrictions! I ended up with the cauli Mac and cheese and it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always love this place. If I was to search for some type of criticism: I'd like to see the menu vary a little with the seasons. Beyond that, always an amazing meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This place has the best cocktails in town, including very tasty house made sodas. Phenomenal steak, great salad, and wonderful service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Woodwork always has such a great vibe to it. They were playing mostly hip hop music which I really enjoyed. We had the brussel sprouts which were delicious and the steak and frites which was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Second time I have been there and once a again both service and food were over the top,
I was stuck in traffic and called to let them know I would be late and they were awesome in making sure we were seated when we got there.
Drinks are amazing at woodwork, very expensive but very enjoyable
I will return for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic service! Our server was great. We've had her twice. She is knowledgeable about so much more than just the menu. We let the bartenders run wild with our drink choices and, as usual, the drinks were stellar.
The food was great, also as usual. We had the ceviche, brussel sprouts, pasta hickory frites and the butterleaf lettuce salad. Dessert was one of my favourite things: toffee sticky pudding. So freaking good!

Really, why don't I go here more often?

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Have been meaning to try this place for some time and finally got 'round to it. Food and service excellent and a very cool urban vibe with heritage building, wood and open grill. Would suggest it for a quick bite and cocktails at the (very creatively stocked) bar as acoustics make any sort of conversation a challenge.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great place with excellent cocktails. The food menu looked good but we came for the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Again a great meal, the pork chop was over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

AMAZING FOOD!! The duck was amazing and the side that came with it.... I couldn't get enough! My wife had the pork chop and it looked amazing! Everything is cooked over a wood fire and it gives everything that great hickory taste! We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great Beer, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very good food and drinks for the price. Amazing lime pavlova dessert. There was a glitch with OpenTable that actually let us reserve a spot that didnt exist, so we had to wait 20 minutes outside; but it was worth the wait!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were in Edmonton and happened by Wood Work. The cocktails were good (the sour was maybe a little sweet for my taste). We split a small plate (salad with grilled cucumbers and candies nuts) and a big plate (monkfish) and both were delicious. Good portions. Thanks. Nice evening. Good service. We forgot to take photos sorry. The food was nicely presented.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

7 dollar cup of french fries is excessive, smoked squid was amazing

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration - this place was excellent. Servings were generous, the price wasn't terrible - the cocktails were amazing! And it felt really great to be supporting all the local producers.

The ambiance was great, and although it was a bit noisy (we had to talk a little louder to be heard) it wasn't to the point where we had to shout at each other for a large table of 7 people. Outstanding service, as well! We had a large group (7+ per their criteria) so a gratuity of 18% was automatically added - but it was well earned by the server.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Vegan, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great cozy spot tucked into a small pocket in an office building. “Different” décor with somewhat trendy clientele. Very small menu with limited offering, but found everything ordered at our table was outstanding. Caramelized Brussels Sprouts was the highlight of the dishes. Very limited wine list with some obscure wines, not a spot for an oenophile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The service provided by Camille was friendly and efficient. Overall the quality and quantity of the food was very good. Unfortunately my steak came medium well when I ordered it rare. They quickly replaced it with a new one which was much better but still not rare. I wood return again but not really soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Woodwork always provides a fabulous experience. Our server was very attentive. She and the cooking staff were also very accommodating of my food sensitivities. I always look forward to going there!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Super fun place. Waitress was very courteous and knew the menu well, knowing what to offer. Third time I've been, but it was cool to see some new additions on the menu.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic meal and atmosphere as always. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We chose Woodwork because we had won a gift card, which we saved until a family birthday came along. We loved the food -- both of us had the duck leg, and we shared a sticky toffee pudding for dessert. The place is loud and echoey, making conversation a bit difficult. The service was informed and not overly attentive. My one complaint is the price of the wine. $15 for a 5-oz. pour?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went here with my boyfriend for his birthday. It was his first time and my second (I came when it first opened for lunch). He commented on how narrow the seating is, which I agree with but it's that type of atmosphere. If you are looking to come here on a date, each having at least one drink, sharing an appie and having a main to yourself each, with no dessert, you are looking to spend somewhere in the ballpark of $140+. So this is not a cheap place to go. The prices have definitely jumped since I went there - with the main courses all being in the $30 range with the exception of two. We did not have an appie, went straight to mains and shared a drink together - this cost me 100$ with tip. My boyfriend got the Bison ribs and I got the house made pasta. He did not think it was a $40 plate but the meat was falling off the bone, the beans were sweet and smokey and the sauce was very good. The pasta was the first portion for a pasta dish; easily able to finish it. The mushroom were the "protein" of the entire dish and were cooked very nicely. We had one drink together, with egg white and it was delicious! All in all, a great place with a unique and great atmosphere but definitely a place where you save up first.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Mary-Ellen was the best waitress we've ever had. So accommodating to our large group and right on the mark for suggestions!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Come here if you enjoy some of the city's best made cocktails crafted by a very knowledgeable bar team. If you see don't see it on the list, they will craft something for you based on YOUR preferences. They actually LISTEN to what you want! If you don't like your drinks to sweet, they will ADJUST to YOUR taste! Bravo! Very informed serving staff and excellent food. Being in the trade, it is refreshing to find places like this where they know what they are doing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything from the drinks to the Bison ribs were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service, great recommendations from the server. Good atmosphere and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My favourite place in Alberta. I stop by every time I am in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good cocktails, friendly and knowledgable, absolutely perfect service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was very helpful with our choice of cocktails. Our main was good as usual and the dessert , sticky toffee pudding was the perfect ending to a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.