Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Woodwork

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tues - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Lindsay Porter

Additional:
Full Bar, Late Night

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Fun (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (17)
Wood Oven (15)
Romantic (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Tapas (13)
Casual (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 14 hours ago

Birthday dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, but evening spoilt by over eager waitress trying to get desserts picked while my wife (guest of honour as it was her birthday) was still eating her main course. I was short with her about it which I regretted but when I apologised a few minutes later did not expect a lecture in return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Sensational. Drumsticks were amazing. I had the Blackened Cod and my husband had the Beef tip. Both of us loved every bite. Ambience is sexy. Thanks Woodwork. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had supper with family and friends on a chilly Thursday night. Service was excellent from start to finish- server helped a friend with food allergies figure out which dishes would be ok, explained the cocktails in detail and was pleasant and efficient. Food was wonderful. I recommend the blackened cod with chickpea fritters, and husband said the steak was one of the best he's had. Go more for the small plates and mains than the desserts - only three options and none stellar. It is quite loud, even on a weeknight, but not so much you couldn't hear your tablemates. Try to get a table further back, when the front door opens, you get a blast of cold air. It is pricey, but where isn't in Edmonton? This was our second time here and would definitely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My sister and I got a gift card for here and we came for our birthday. Service was excellent, waitress was not invasive and also very polite and relaxed. Food wasn't outstanding, but it was tasty, my short rib was very tender. BUT we all shared the sticky toffee pudding in actually 30 seconds, so so divine. I could LIVE off of it! Really enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. Great place to go if you are more of a foodie! Maybe in a few years I'll enjoy it more than I did ;-)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and the drinks are amazing. Worth the price. Definitely going to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Couple friends and I dined at Woodwork recently and it was fantastic! Great ambiance fitting the name Woodwork. Large selection of cocktails and they will off-menu a drink for you based on preference. Our waitress was very knowledgeable on both the food and beverage options, providing several recommendations. The menu was very friendly for a gluten free requirement. And with a seasonal changing menu, we shall be back again & again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Woodwork is awesome. This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. Excellent food, well prepared, reasonable portions, perfectly balanced flavors. Service was top notch. Our server was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu, the preparations, the wine list, and the spirit list.
If you are familiar with the Hardware Grill or Corso 32 in Edmonton, I would put Woodwork in the same category. Prices are a little higher than other establishments, but the quality is worth it.
So good. We will be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great meal excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great restaurant. Staff were great and food was really delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was both professional and knowledgeable; she came to top up our waters and check on our food with discretion and subtlety, which was appreciated!

For dinner, my friend had the Steak Frites and I had the Steak Tartare - excellent!
For dessert, we shared the Sticky Toffee Pudding - highly recommended
For drinks, an old fashioned and a French Lavender Fizz - superb!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always impressed by Woodwork's amazing cocktail selection. I also loved the caramelized brussel sprouts. So much flavour!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Booze and food wizardry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would go back just for the sticky toffee pudding. Om nom nom!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a lovely time at Woodwork, celebrating a mom and dad night out. The food was very nice and we enjoyed all of it. The bar service was a bit slow but not horrible. I would definitely go back if I wanted to splash out on a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never disappointed with the exceptional service and some of the best Edmonton cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great shared plates and excellent cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great space. The cocktails are creative and absolutely something special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

New chef and the food is still fabulous. Our favourite spot for dinner before the theatre. Menu is small but selections are always stellar. This visit octopus and tuna were the favourites. The old fashions are brilliant.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The mood was fantastic and the wait staff was very friendly. Great pork shoulder and even better short rib dish. We got to eat what we had smelled as we walked by the night before.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner. Wrong choice. My husband suggested sitting at the bar. I should have listened. I knew what to expect as far as seating, because we had been to this restaurant a few times. I forgot how close you are to your neighbors. All I could hear was their conversations. Very uncomfortable. One less table would make a difference. We ordered the charcuterie board, which we have had a couple times before and always good. This time, a very lame attempt. A few pieces of cheese and some meat and bread piled. No presentation. No mustard. Nothing special. Very disappointing. The drinks were tasty as usual. We will go back for a drink at the bar. They did give us a free bubbly to celebrate our anniversary which was great. We thank you for that. This was once our favourite go to in the downtown. Not so much anymore:(

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Was a very pleasant experience. Food was outstanding. Cocktails were amazingly tasty. Staff were super. Good time!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Tapas, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a little chilly near the door every time someone came in or out. The steak tartare was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and the ambiance was amazing. It is one of our go to places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been to woodwork several times, always had a great time and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Cocktails great. Park shoulder was delicious but lacked fresh vegetables which would have been nice. Miss the meatballs. Your website is broken, says it has expired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awful short rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time going to Woodwork and I went with my boyfriend after work (it was convenient to make a reservation online during the day). The server was very friendly and went out of her way to do a comprehensive allergy check for us. The atmosphere was nice and the decor was stylish. Even though it was fairly busy, the service was quick.

The menu had a lot of unique options that all sounded tasty. My boyfriend and I both ordered some house Kola and the fried polenta cake, which boasted house-made ricotta, crispy sage, and candied nuts. Unfortunately, when it got to our table, the polenta cake was covered with little halved tomatoes, and there's something about the texture of tomatoes that I just can't stand. It didn't say anywhere on the menu that the dish had tomatoes in it and knowing about them would've been a big factor in ordering the way that I did. That being said, after scraping off the tomatoes, the rest was delicious. We also got an order of the fries with curry ketchup to share, and although the fries didn't 'wow' me, the curry ketchup had a really interesting flavour and a bit of spice, and the dish would probably be perfect for if you went to Woodwork for drinks and snacks, as opposed to a full dinner.

For dessert my boyfriend ordered the sticky toffee pudding and I ordered the tiramisu creme brulee. Both desserts were good and I'd recommend either one of them.

Overall it was a pleasant dining experience and I think we'd both go back to try out some different menu items - I would recommend asking more questions about the menu items if you have food dislikes though!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Have returned to Woodwork, and again was not disappointed! I recognized all the meals but one or two from last year - the newest item was a grilled octopus which looked great but I opted for the current fish plate which was delicious without question (Ling Cod). My colleague had a Winter Risotto (also new) which was wonderful. Our guest enjoyed the braised beef short rib dish. Drinks as always were interesting and prepared with enthusiasm! We then treated ourselves to dessert - a yummy winter pavlova and sticky toffee pudding completed the very nice meals. Service is friendly and very knowledgeable, quite attentive. This is a very busy venue and be ready for a bit of noise - we found it hard to have a very business Like conversation but we managed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, and fun atmosphere. Service was good, great for handcrafted cocktails.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My only complaint was the noise level. It was so loud that conversation was very difficult. The food and services was great and I was happy that so many of the items were gluten free for those of us with Celiac Disease.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Cocktails are everything they are bragged up to be. We shared four small plates and found all to be lacking; especially the tuna rillettes served on the most massive piece of baguette ever. Hickory Frites were cut too small to pick up with fingers, while the grilled octopus was barely grilled and did not have enough romesco sauce to accompany it. The brussel sprouts were by far the best dish. The restaurant was very busy, so maybe it doesn't matter if the food is lacklustre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 19, 2017

kale salad the best!!! I get it every time I am in Edmonton

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Woodwork is always fantastic. The brussels sprouts are the best I've had anywhere. Seriously. And they are one of the few spots in town that carries the Duchesse de Bourgogne. Duchess + sprouts combo highly recommended, both go well with their hickory fries too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I've been wanting to try Woodwork for a while - I knew it would be pricey, but I did expect better. Our waitress seemed to just float by answer a question and then leave. However, when 3 out of the 3 ordered steaks came out cold, she was kind to have it remade which was much appreciated. I enjoyed the beverage I ordered, but felt it was a tad pricey for what it was.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent meal with fantastic mixed drinks and incredible service. For a date it's great.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, great service! I highly recommend this local treasure. The effort is put in to make a great experience. Unique dishes for all to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A unique flavor available locally at a fair price. A warm aroma of smokehouse flavors as you enter makes the mouth water. The seating is a little cramped but the quality and flavour of the food makes you soon forget. A good selection of beers available... Nice to see. Also nice to see a hip establishment with professional looking staff. Highly recommend the charcuterie to start.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing food, absolutely incredible service.
Try the sticky toffee pudding. Really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Room is noisier by virtue of small space, open kitchen and high roof line. Wait staff is excellent. Menu is small wish they had more choices. Food could be healthier. Most items are fried in one way or another. Hard to go back unless menu offers healthier choices. Bread pudding is to die for so maybe just drinks and dessert and eat somewhere else beforehand ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.