Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Woodwork

Wood-fired | Barrel-aged

Located in Edmonton's historic McLeod Building at 10132-100 Street.


***Please see your confirmation email for important information regarding your reservation***

10132-100 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0N8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Tues - Thu: 5pm - 12am
Fri - Sat: 5pm - 1am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 757-4100

Website:
http://woodworkyeg.com/

Executive Chef:
Lindsay Porter

Additional:
Full Bar, Late Night

Woodwork Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Tapas (8)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Woodwork always has such a great vibe to it. They were playing mostly hip hop music which I really enjoyed. We had the brussel sprouts which were delicious and the steak and frites which was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time I have been there and once a again both service and food were over the top,
I was stuck in traffic and called to let them know I would be late and they were awesome in making sure we were seated when we got there.
Drinks are amazing at woodwork, very expensive but very enjoyable
I will return for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Organic, Romantic, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic service! Our server was great. We've had her twice. She is knowledgeable about so much more than just the menu. We let the bartenders run wild with our drink choices and, as usual, the drinks were stellar.
The food was great, also as usual. We had the ceviche, brussel sprouts, pasta hickory frites and the butterleaf lettuce salad. Dessert was one of my favourite things: toffee sticky pudding. So freaking good!

Really, why don't I go here more often?

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been meaning to try this place for some time and finally got 'round to it. Food and service excellent and a very cool urban vibe with heritage building, wood and open grill. Would suggest it for a quick bite and cocktails at the (very creatively stocked) bar as acoustics make any sort of conversation a challenge.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place with excellent cocktails. The food menu looked good but we came for the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Again a great meal, the pork chop was over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

AMAZING FOOD!! The duck was amazing and the side that came with it.... I couldn't get enough! My wife had the pork chop and it looked amazing! Everything is cooked over a wood fire and it gives everything that great hickory taste! We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great Beer, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very good food and drinks for the price. Amazing lime pavlova dessert. There was a glitch with OpenTable that actually let us reserve a spot that didnt exist, so we had to wait 20 minutes outside; but it was worth the wait!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were in Edmonton and happened by Wood Work. The cocktails were good (the sour was maybe a little sweet for my taste). We split a small plate (salad with grilled cucumbers and candies nuts) and a big plate (monkfish) and both were delicious. Good portions. Thanks. Nice evening. Good service. We forgot to take photos sorry. The food was nicely presented.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

7 dollar cup of french fries is excessive, smoked squid was amazing

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration - this place was excellent. Servings were generous, the price wasn't terrible - the cocktails were amazing! And it felt really great to be supporting all the local producers.

The ambiance was great, and although it was a bit noisy (we had to talk a little louder to be heard) it wasn't to the point where we had to shout at each other for a large table of 7 people. Outstanding service, as well! We had a large group (7+ per their criteria) so a gratuity of 18% was automatically added - but it was well earned by the server.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Vegan, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great cozy spot tucked into a small pocket in an office building. “Different” décor with somewhat trendy clientele. Very small menu with limited offering, but found everything ordered at our table was outstanding. Caramelized Brussels Sprouts was the highlight of the dishes. Very limited wine list with some obscure wines, not a spot for an oenophile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The service provided by Camille was friendly and efficient. Overall the quality and quantity of the food was very good. Unfortunately my steak came medium well when I ordered it rare. They quickly replaced it with a new one which was much better but still not rare. I wood return again but not really soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Woodwork always provides a fabulous experience. Our server was very attentive. She and the cooking staff were also very accommodating of my food sensitivities. I always look forward to going there!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Super fun place. Waitress was very courteous and knew the menu well, knowing what to offer. Third time I've been, but it was cool to see some new additions on the menu.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic meal and atmosphere as always. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We chose Woodwork because we had won a gift card, which we saved until a family birthday came along. We loved the food -- both of us had the duck leg, and we shared a sticky toffee pudding for dessert. The place is loud and echoey, making conversation a bit difficult. The service was informed and not overly attentive. My one complaint is the price of the wine. $15 for a 5-oz. pour?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went here with my boyfriend for his birthday. It was his first time and my second (I came when it first opened for lunch). He commented on how narrow the seating is, which I agree with but it's that type of atmosphere. If you are looking to come here on a date, each having at least one drink, sharing an appie and having a main to yourself each, with no dessert, you are looking to spend somewhere in the ballpark of $140+. So this is not a cheap place to go. The prices have definitely jumped since I went there - with the main courses all being in the $30 range with the exception of two. We did not have an appie, went straight to mains and shared a drink together - this cost me 100$ with tip. My boyfriend got the Bison ribs and I got the house made pasta. He did not think it was a $40 plate but the meat was falling off the bone, the beans were sweet and smokey and the sauce was very good. The pasta was the first portion for a pasta dish; easily able to finish it. The mushroom were the "protein" of the entire dish and were cooked very nicely. We had one drink together, with egg white and it was delicious! All in all, a great place with a unique and great atmosphere but definitely a place where you save up first.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Mary-Ellen was the best waitress we've ever had. So accommodating to our large group and right on the mark for suggestions!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Come here if you enjoy some of the city's best made cocktails crafted by a very knowledgeable bar team. If you see don't see it on the list, they will craft something for you based on YOUR preferences. They actually LISTEN to what you want! If you don't like your drinks to sweet, they will ADJUST to YOUR taste! Bravo! Very informed serving staff and excellent food. Being in the trade, it is refreshing to find places like this where they know what they are doing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything from the drinks to the Bison ribs were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service, great recommendations from the server. Good atmosphere and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My favourite place in Alberta. I stop by every time I am in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good cocktails, friendly and knowledgable, absolutely perfect service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was very helpful with our choice of cocktails. Our main was good as usual and the dessert , sticky toffee pudding was the perfect ending to a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

You gotta go. And start with a drink at the bar. Tres chic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We really liked the ambiance and the service. The cocktails were original and delicious. Sadly, the food was a let down. The steak was a poor cut and overcooked, as was the duck. We would go back for drinks, but not for food.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great location away from Rogers Centre area and close to theatre and Winspear. Parking and construction are both problematic. Small plates are a great option but nothing I tasted was memorable. It's a casual alternative to some of the 'big name' restaurants at this end of town.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and service is exceptional. We've dined here a few times in the past, and upon arriving during our latest visit we were informed that we were overcharged for a glass of wine during a previous visit...and they corrected the error by offering two complimentary glasses of wine. WHO DOES THAT!!!!?!?!? That's top notch in my opinion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great birthday celebration for the 2 of us for a nice night on the town!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was excellent. The food tasted good but I can't give it 5 stars mainly because I've definitely had better in the city. All in all this place has smooth decor, a nice vibe and we enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service was wonderful and the food was absolutely incredible, the only downside is minimal parking, but honestly an amazing experience and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The quality of the food for the price is not reasonable. We ordered the steak that was $35.00. It was fatty, mealy and tough-definitely not worth the price. We had send back both our steaks because they were not cooked properly. The wine list starts at $50.00.
The ambiance is quite nice -the cocktail bar was hopping! Our service was excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Was a lovely spot for a nice dinner with my husband. The atmosphere, service, cocktails and food were very good. The Sticky Toffee Pudding is out of this world. I will certainly go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had an awesome meal before the theatre. We shared the fries and curry ketchup to start, then shared the Toulouse sausage, sauerkraut and potato dish and finished with maple creme brûlée. It was all so delicious!
The decor was funky and service was prompt and professional!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Found the prices for drinks to be abut high, on wine by the glass in particular. $13 for a 5oz pour of average wine seems a bit steep to me.
The chicken drumsticks were fabulous with the host sauce. The Carmelita's Brussels sprouts were also delicious. I had the cod as my entree. I wasn't full afterwards, and I'm not a big eater or a big person. It was a bit dry and bland. The chickpea fritters were also a bit bland. None of it was bad.....just blah.
The service was very good, and it was packed in there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had the Toulouse sausage for two and it was absolutely delicious (although the "sauerkraut" had nothing "sauer" about it and was more like barely cooked coleslaw. The tuna ceviche was also incredible.
The cocktails were a great feature also.
Book your table or be ready to wait a while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It's a little pricey, but ultimately it's worth it. Great food options and some interesting drinks too. The noise level is higher than usual, but between the food, drinks, and general ambiance the noise is easily disregarded.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time. Love the small menu, the chef is able to perfect the meals. I have a dairy allergy and they were very accommodating, even had a dairy free dessert! Definitely a place to go

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.