About Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque

301 Bell St
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 690-4755

Website:
http://diamondjo.com/woodfiregrill

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Nelson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
5 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Romantic
Iowa
Special Occasion
Iowa
Steak
Iowa
Most Booked
Dubuque
Best Restaurants in Dubuque ›

Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Fireplace (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Private Room (5)
Scenic View (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice place to bring out of town guests. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place to bring out of town guests. Quality food and drinks and a nice atmosphere that is conducive to conversation. One of the nicer restaurants in Dubuque. The crab cakes are wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ordered the 34 dollar prime rib. It come ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ordered the 34 dollar prime rib. It comes to the table luke warm. Waitress doesn't apologize or offer something to fix it. Not a very customer friendly waitress. Kind of bummed due to the expense of the dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

First time at Woodfire. The feedback we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 14, 2016

First time at Woodfire. The feedback we had received from friends prior to our visiting was that the food and atmosphere were great, but it was a little pricey especially for our area. That pretty much sums it up. We dined early on a Monday night and were one of only a handful of tables seated, which was nice. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. Expect to spend around $35 plus per person if you have drinks, an appetizer, and an entrée. Overall great experience and we'll definitely be back. Especially for date night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was great! Lisa was a lot ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our waitress was great! Lisa was a lot of fun, professional, prompt, and made our dinner even more special for my husband's 69th birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good, but defiantly not wor ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good, but defiantly not worth the money. Went with my family and had a table of 4 and the bill was $200. The menu did not have as big of a variety as I was expecting. Also to mention all sides are Al Carte which I am never a fan of when the entrees are pricey to begin with.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Always good food and attentive wait staf ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always good food and attentive wait staff. Yummy Avocado spring rolls, steak you can almost cut with a fork. Pumpkin cheesecake recommended by our waitress was mouthwatering. Can't say enough good things about Woodfire!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We came down for my birthday and our ser ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came down for my birthday and our server was awesome (Lisa) and my dessert came out on a cold plate wishing me a happy birthday in chocolate!! That just made my night. Very special!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent experience, as always. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had an excellent experience, as always. The lobster was FANTASTIC and the waiter recommended the crabmeat rangoon flatbread appetizer which was also awesome. Great atmosphere for a quiet dinner! We will be returning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely beautiful restaurant with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

An absolutely beautiful restaurant with great food. There were so many items on the menu that I would have loved to have tried. I had the butternut squash risotto and my husband had the bacon wrapped shrimp served over angel hair pasta in a chipotle cream sauce. We both enjoyed our dinners. The best part is the ambiance with a private fire place right in our booth. Great place for date night!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the atmosphere and the food is deli ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Love the atmosphere and the food is delicious. Took some friends who have never been there and they loved it. Try the Lobster macaroni and cheese. Amazing!!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were from omaha traveling to Green B ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We were from omaha traveling to Green Bay. Great service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious; service was O.K., no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was delicious; service was O.K., not spectacular. There was a table of four men who got quite a bit more attention that us (man/woman). I notice these things a lot. Four men v. one woman and one man - who will leave the better tip? That gets old, fast. There was also a bit of a snafu with our reservation, but that was resolved in time for us to eat at a leisurely pace and still make it to our show on time. All in all, I would recommend this place. The casino where the restaurant is located is also very nice, as is the small theater where we saw our show. Very pleasant experience.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. Wait staff ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. Wait staff always makes it fun.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate all special occasions here. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We celebrate all special occasions here. This time it was for my wife's 40th birthday and the food was fantastic but ever better was the service. We will keep Woodfire on our list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!!! Great service!!!! Will b ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing food!!! Great service!!!! Will be going back!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. He was know ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Our server was outstanding. He was knowledgeable on menu and wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice people great food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Nice people great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food! Great ambiance!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious food! Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out to Galena for our 1st anniversary (w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Out to Galena for our 1st anniversary (we are 47 and 53 yes of age) . Wanted a nice place to dine . Atmosphere was quiet and pleasant. Service was very good. I ordered the prime rib, rare, at $39. The meat was cooked perfect, however, overly "grisly". Often tough to chew. My wife's filet mignon, rare, was excellent. Cooked perfect and good cut of beef. We shared an order of sauteed mushrooms. These were over cooked and mildly warm as though they were sitting for some time. The stuffed baked potato was good. All together, it was good dining experience, however, slightly overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice place with good food and excel ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

very nice place with good food and excellent service

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great except my wife's st ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was great except my wife's steak. She ordered a bison tenderloin, medium rare, got it and it was closer to medium well. Needless to say, she was very disappointed by the over cooked bison as we know bison should never be anything over medium, it is very lean and gets dry. The bison tenderloin is the main reason she picked this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice restaurant for a special occas ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a special occasion and when you want a special dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We dine here several times a year and ar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We dine here several times a year and are never disappointed. While the prices are a little higher than most area restaurants it is well worth it. As a premium steakhouse there is no competition in the area that approaches this level of quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was outstanding as was the food. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was outstanding as was the food. Will definitely be back when in Dubuque.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect as usual, Server Danielle was on ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Perfect as usual, Server Danielle was on her game :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to the Wood Fire Grill to celebr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to the Wood Fire Grill to celebrate and anniversary. The appetizer we selected was excellent as were the entrees and sides that we selected. The one thing that I felt could improve the experience was to have menu options that would include a potato and side with the entrée selection. The entrées were pricey to start and adding sides at $7 - $8 each was a bit much in my opinion. Since it was a special occasion the experience was worth the added costs.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had eaten at the Woodfire about 6 mon ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had eaten at the Woodfire about 6 months ago & my husband just loved the Bison Bolgonese so we came back to experience that entree again & celebrate my birthday!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was day upon our arrival. We ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was day upon our arrival. We enjoyed the flatbread appetizer, and the chop salad and the heirloom tomatoes salad were wonderful beginnings to delicious entrees. Service was great and noise level was low. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our daugjter for her 17th birthd ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We took our daugjter for her 17th birthday, the Waiter was extremely nice and helpful, she made my daughter feel special, his dessert recommendation was excellent and the specials he recommended. Thank you for making our experience an A+

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in all o ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in all of Illinois and we have a home in the Chicago area. The food is outstanding. The service is excellent. Our favorite waitress is Lisa. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most enjoyable evening with my family. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 20, 2016

A most enjoyable evening with my family. The food was very good and service excellent. Definitely one of my favorite places to eat when celebrating a special event.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to the Woodfire about every t ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We've been to the Woodfire about every time we're in the area. The food has always been fantastic, the service exceptional! We will be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service sufficient but by no means above ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service sufficient but by no means above average.No acknowledgement of our aniversary.Steak was ok lobster did not seem fresh. Perhaps expectations to high for a casino restaurant

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We love bringing the family to the Woodf ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We love bringing the family to the Woodfire Grille for our special occasions!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening! Our waiter, Dahan, was ab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great evening!

Our waiter, Dahan, was absolutely fantastic! He made our evening very enjoyable.

We loved the house made tomato preserve on the warm house made bread.

We could have made a meal of that alone! The french onion soup, lobster bisque, and chopped salad were very tasty. I liked the idea of two size options for the salads; I got the smaller size and it was a perfect starter portion.

The filets were tender and delicious. The bacon wrapped shrimp were devoured...sauce was a bit spicy. The portobello mushroom side was so good as were the green beans with the tomato preserve and mashed potatoes.

The banana foster dessert was truly decadent and yummy.

There would have been five stars for the food except my lobster tail was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was nice as was out for a dat ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Atmosphere was nice as was out for a date night with my wife. Nice to be able to have a nice conversation without a lot of noise. Menu gave a little sticker shock, but portions were fit for a king and prepared superbly. Very delicious and service was great. Made a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our experience was positive from the mom ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our experience was positive from the moment we walked in the Woodfire Grille until we walked out.

The food was excellent and was enhanced by Sarah, our server. She made us feel welcome the entire meal.

I would not hesitate to return on our next visit to Dubuque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening! Our server was imp ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding evening! Our server was impeccable, very helpful and so professional and friendly! The food was tremendous and well prepared! Thank you for this great dining experience! We will definitely be back again!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very expensive. The food p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was very expensive. The food portions were very small. The food was only average in taste. Service was slow for the amount of people in there. The service had to be guided to do ordinary things. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This was our 3rd time eating here and wa ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our 3rd time eating here and was quite disappointed, my tenderloin was ordered medium rare came med-well and when I told waitress she said "Oh sorry to hear that", never offered to bring new one or take price off bill. Calamari seemed like it was a prepackaged deal, not good. Crab Rangoon and au gratin potatoes were very good. Waitress forgot to bring salad and when told said 'My bad". We told her just to forget it since our main course had already arrived. Hostess seemed mad at the world. When I pay prices like they have, I expect everything to be perfect which it has been in the past, not this time!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.