Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque

Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.

301 Bell St
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 690-4755

Website:
http://diamondjo.com/woodfiregrill

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Nelson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fireplace (30)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Private Room (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our first time experience. Nice casual date night. It could be less formal or more formal depending on how you're feeling for the night. A little pricy, but great good and service.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, excellent service and delicious food. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful, and everything was top notch. Much appreciated!!
Portion sizes were awfully small, but the quality is stellar; totally worth the extra money for a special night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful EXCEPT one of the lady workers carried the bathroom basket of dirty hand towels right past our table twice. That wasn't a good view while dining and looking at the fireplace in the center of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always good but our last visit was outstanding. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent atmosphere.
Food above average after we returned the prime rib due to being well done. We wanted medium rare. It was excellent once it came out the second time.
Seating wasn't what we really wanted when we made reservations. Waiter and hostess accomodated us.
Waiter kept interrupting when we were ordering. Did not listen to customers. Otherwise, very refreshing atmosphere, average food and pricey. Good for special occasions. Valet was great. Fireplace, hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The steaks were not worth the price. There was nothing special about them. And for the price of a steak, sides should not be extra (they were expensive too). Dessert was the best. We will not be dining there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time dining at the Woodfire and would recommend this to anyone. The service was great and the food was excellent. Was our 20th anniversary and was a big hit with my wife.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wood fire was an enjoy place to dine in a comfortable and romantic atmosphere. The food was excellent and the service wa S prompt and friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone who wanted a great evening out.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My last visit is the first time that the food and service were not over the top.
4 out of 5 of us had less than suitable food, two had the queen cut prime which was
gristly. Two of us had over cooked steaks, we did not complain due to our host
having picked the restaurant. After the meal we talked and discovered the issues.
Since I frequent Woodfire a lot I am going to just mark it up to an off night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time to Woodfire. We went with a group of friends who had all been there before and recommended it. We were impressed. All of us had a different dish and they were all high quality. Very nice meal, will be back.

Tags: Fireplace, Private Room, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We come here every few months, it is a little pricey. Love the ambiance. I prefer to have a booth, much more cozy for a couple than the tables. Our food was very good! We got the Woodfire Steak (bone-in ribeye) and the Diamond-cut prime rib. Next time I will get the small prime rib, this one is about 3 inches thick. It was delicious but difficult to cut. The calamari was perfect. A bunch of different flavored martinis to choose from. Our waitress was great and kept us well watered and cared for. We haven't had a bad experience with anything here yet. Great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great celebration of wedding anniversary! Nice table allowed for great evening with wife and sons - would recommend strongly for occasions like these,

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing food and service as always! Great belated Valentines dinner. Quiet and relaxing. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have eaten at Woodfire Grill one other time. The atmosphere is great. The food was absolutely fantastic! Unfortunately, our experience this time was not so great.
My husbands steak was over seared (charcoal). I ordered the root vegetables, under cooked and very hard, unable to eat. They did remake these, i got them back overcooked. For desert the creme brulle was over crystallized on the top, which was uneatable.
For the price, we expected more and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have never been disappointed with the food or service at Woodfire

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have gone to woodfire numerous times for work events and in the very few times my husband and I get a break from his very busy schedule at the hospital, however this last time the food was unacceptable I don't think we will be going back to woodfire as our night was completely ruined by the terrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal was outstanding. The prime rib 16oz. cut was way more than I could eat and done to perfection. The salmon was a little on the bland side but still good. We went for Valentines Day and they treated us to a couple of raspberry truffles and the wife receives a rose at the end of dinner. Very nice touch. The service was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always good service. I have never been disappointed in the food. Good atmosphere for a date.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food excellent service and excellent atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

For what was touted as the best steak place in Dubuque, I was incredibly disappointed with the actual steak and presentation. The filet mignon I ordered had nothing but 3 sprigs of asparagus on the plate with it, and was so dry (even after I sent back the first one for being overcooked) that I couldn't even finish it (that has never happened to me in all my dining experience - I love steak). It absolutely needed some kind of sauce. The service was great, and the setting was lovely, but the actual steak was an embarrassment, and definitely not worth the extremely high prices. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was my birthday so I wanted a place our group had not gone to. We found it warm, inviting and we were spoiled. Thank you for a great time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious food, atmosphere, highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pricey for quality of the food. The entree comes with a choice of salad or soup. They serve this before the entree. Then your plate comes and there is meat/fish on the plate, sides are an additional 8-14$ depending on which one you choose. Plan on spending at the very least 50$ per person.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were excellent! I love the atmosphere and convience of this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We enjoyed every moment we spent at the Woodfire Grille! Our server was very pleasant...she made us feel very welcome! The food...was beyond spectacular! The Prime Rib melted in our mouth! Our drinks were awesome! I would recommend going to the Woodfire Grille to everyone. Thank you for a pleasant and outstanding dining experience! Thank you to the Chef and our Server for making our evening one we will always remember.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The beef medallion special was excellent. I hope to see it on the menu in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice and the dinner along with the service was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great experience as usual. Food is always top notch and worth the cost. Service is always great.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The staff and food were excellent and our waiters recommendations were perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went there for our anniversary dinner. We sat in a cozy booth along the wall. The lighting and fireplaces made it romantic. Our service was excellent and my husband says it was the best prime rib he's ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and the service were amazing! We have had three Christmas parties there and have enjoyed everyone! Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cozy atmosphere Perfect for special occasions and date nights!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was fantastic! Great atmosphere and service was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My Husband and I ate at Woodfire Grill on New Years Eve. Our server was fantastic (wish I could remember her name). The food at Woodfire Grill is always excellent. I had prime rib with a lobster tail which was cooked perfectly. My husband had the lobster bisque which he said was really good and New York Strip steak. Asparagus was served with both entrees. When we are in Dubuque (3-4 times per year) we always eat at Woodfire!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

$120 for two steaks, baked potato, macaroni and salad. The food was also bland, however the steak was cooked exactly to the requested temp.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The wait staff at The Diamond Joe are the BEST:)
The food is top shelf and atmosphere is always nice and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our favorite place to go for the best steak in town! We always request Dijon for our waiter. He's very cordial and knows his business of waiting on tables. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great job by everyone, bartender, waitress, cook. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We have dines there often! The sauces were beyond spicy which was not usual! Hope things didn't change because it was better before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.