About Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque

301 Bell St
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 690-4755

Website:
http://diamondjo.com/woodfiregrill

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Nelson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Romantic
Iowa
3 More
Special Occasion
Iowa
Steak
Iowa
Most Booked
Dubuque
Best Restaurants in Dubuque ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fireplace (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Scenic View (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice restaurant for a special occas ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a special occasion and when you want a special dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We dine here several times a year and ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We dine here several times a year and are never disappointed. While the prices are a little higher than most area restaurants it is well worth it. As a premium steakhouse there is no competition in the area that approaches this level of quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was outstanding as was the food. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was outstanding as was the food. Will definitely be back when in Dubuque.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect as usual, Server Danielle was on ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Perfect as usual, Server Danielle was on her game :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to the Wood Fire Grill to celebr ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to the Wood Fire Grill to celebrate and anniversary. The appetizer we selected was excellent as were the entrees and sides that we selected. The one thing that I felt could improve the experience was to have menu options that would include a potato and side with the entrée selection. The entrées were pricey to start and adding sides at $7 - $8 each was a bit much in my opinion. Since it was a special occasion the experience was worth the added costs.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had eaten at the Woodfire about 6 mon ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had eaten at the Woodfire about 6 months ago & my husband just loved the Bison Bolgonese so we came back to experience that entree again & celebrate my birthday!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was day upon our arrival. We ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was day upon our arrival. We enjoyed the flatbread appetizer, and the chop salad and the heirloom tomatoes salad were wonderful beginnings to delicious entrees. Service was great and noise level was low. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our daugjter for her 17th birthd ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We took our daugjter for her 17th birthday, the Waiter was extremely nice and helpful, she made my daughter feel special, his dessert recommendation was excellent and the specials he recommended. Thank you for making our experience an A+

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in all o ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in all of Illinois and we have a home in the Chicago area. The food is outstanding. The service is excellent. Our favorite waitress is Lisa. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most enjoyable evening with my family. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A most enjoyable evening with my family. The food was very good and service excellent. Definitely one of my favorite places to eat when celebrating a special event.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to the Woodfire about every t ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We've been to the Woodfire about every time we're in the area. The food has always been fantastic, the service exceptional! We will be back!!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service sufficient but by no means above ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service sufficient but by no means above average.No acknowledgement of our aniversary.Steak was ok lobster did not seem fresh. Perhaps expectations to high for a casino restaurant

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We love bringing the family to the Woodf ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We love bringing the family to the Woodfire Grille for our special occasions!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening! Our waiter, Dahan, was ab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great evening!

Our waiter, Dahan, was absolutely fantastic! He made our evening very enjoyable.

We loved the house made tomato preserve on the warm house made bread.

We could have made a meal of that alone! The french onion soup, lobster bisque, and chopped salad were very tasty. I liked the idea of two size options for the salads; I got the smaller size and it was a perfect starter portion.

The filets were tender and delicious. The bacon wrapped shrimp were devoured...sauce was a bit spicy. The portobello mushroom side was so good as were the green beans with the tomato preserve and mashed potatoes.

The banana foster dessert was truly decadent and yummy.

There would have been five stars for the food except my lobster tail was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was nice as was out for a dat ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Atmosphere was nice as was out for a date night with my wife. Nice to be able to have a nice conversation without a lot of noise. Menu gave a little sticker shock, but portions were fit for a king and prepared superbly. Very delicious and service was great. Made a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our experience was positive from the mom ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our experience was positive from the moment we walked in the Woodfire Grille until we walked out.

The food was excellent and was enhanced by Sarah, our server. She made us feel welcome the entire meal.

I would not hesitate to return on our next visit to Dubuque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening! Our server was imp ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding evening! Our server was impeccable, very helpful and so professional and friendly! The food was tremendous and well prepared! Thank you for this great dining experience! We will definitely be back again!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very expensive. The food p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was very expensive. The food portions were very small. The food was only average in taste. Service was slow for the amount of people in there. The service had to be guided to do ordinary things. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This was our 3rd time eating here and wa ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our 3rd time eating here and was quite disappointed, my tenderloin was ordered medium rare came med-well and when I told waitress she said "Oh sorry to hear that", never offered to bring new one or take price off bill. Calamari seemed like it was a prepackaged deal, not good. Crab Rangoon and au gratin potatoes were very good. Waitress forgot to bring salad and when told said 'My bad". We told her just to forget it since our main course had already arrived. Hostess seemed mad at the world. When I pay prices like they have, I expect everything to be perfect which it has been in the past, not this time!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The service was good. The appetizers wer ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was good. The appetizers were very good (Shrimp cocktail and Crab cakes). 14.00 & 16.00

The Salad was good. but a la carte.

The Berkshire pork was very small portion maybe 5 oz. flavor was bland. it came with 2 slices of apple no thicker than an 1/8" and 3 carrots the diameter of a cigarette and a little shorter than a cigarette. all for the low price of 29.00.

My wife had the Lobster. 2 7 0z tails total tasteless. 40.00

The Creme Berle had been over cooked and was gritty.

I will return for the Appetizers but nothing else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Our waiter seemed disinterested. My sea ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter seemed disinterested. My sea bass was very good but my husband's duck was dry and not good and it was the special. I think it best to avoid house specials as they are often old and restaurant trying to get rid of it. When asked about his meal my husband did tell our server and he said nothing and walked away.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Anniversary enjoyment

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I chose the Woodfire Grill as a special dinner venue to celebrate our 24th anniversary. We had a good experience in the past and were not disappointed this time either. The food, drinks and service were exceptional. It was a very pleasant environment and we didn't feel rushed also enjoyed the chef visiting our table to ask if we were happy with our choices. thanks for a special evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were quite impressed with the service ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were quite impressed with the service and the food. The wait staff were extremely prompt and courteous. Our meat was cooked perfectly. My only disappointment was that the spinach was "wilted" not creamed so I ordered the baked potato, which was, well, a baked potato. My husband really liked his "loaded baked potato". The atmosphere was very nice for our anniversary dinner except for the gentleman at a nearby table that seemed intent on having the whole restaurant hear what he had to say. I expect we will eat here again for another special occasion; it is one of the few places locally that you can get dressed up and have an exceptionally nice dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard this was a great place... W ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had heard this was a great place... Well not the case. Now the atmosphere was great, good wine list... Started with Lobster bisque... very good and the meal went down hill from there... The sea bass was flavorless and was an appetizer portion.... maybe 4 oz... The pork chop was cooked correctly but TOUGH... again no seasoning...

Service was good but the food was so disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Delicious food, always. We enjoy that th ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Delicious food, always. We enjoy that the menu changes a bit with the seasons. The molten chocolate cake is absolutely amazing! The best restaurant dessert hands down. Thankfully, it's a permanent fixture on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

decor very nice-- food is usually great- ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

decor very nice-- food is usually great-waiters and waitresses alway competent and friendly --amount of dinning time is about right--bread could be tastier

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my husband and I's favorite "dat ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is my husband and I's favorite "date night" spot. We frequent here about once a month to every other month. The service, atmosphere and food is amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten here before and been very happy but this time we were very disappointed. It was a limited brunch menu which we were not expecting. And that would have been OK except that many of the items were very mediocre. The presentation was way better than the taste! But the ambiance is great - and we will come again based on our previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Food and Service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Always great food and service. Nice atmosphere . Food is presented nicely and plenty of choices,

Desert although limited is worth every bite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

usually have a great meal here - not this time

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Ordered prime rib that is usually outstanding here. It was so tough it wasn't consumable. Wait staff wasn't attentive and favorite menu items are gone. I wonder what's changed? Proceed with caution!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Night out in Dubuque.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I went to the Woodfire Grill for his birthday dinner while we were in Dubuque for another occasion and thought it was excellent! I had read other good reviews but we had never been there before so this was our first time. We found the food to be very good and the service was just as good! The waitress gave him his dessert for free since it was his birthday and he got his favorite so he was happy! We would absolutely go there again but mostly likely only for a special occasion since it was pretty pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Place in Dubuque

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I have been going to the Woodfire Grille ever since it opened. It's my very favorite place for a great filet. Their french onion soup is awesome too. We usually split the filet and my hubby gets the lobster tail as a side for $20. Just right for the two of us. The fireplace adds so much ambiance to the restaurant. I always ask for Dijon (sp) (pronounced Dehon) for our waiter. He's a fantastic server!! We've always left full and having enjoyed a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We went with a group of 6 people and were met at the door and taken care of all night. This is a top class chop house that caters to the customer with great pride!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful spot, one great meal, one just ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful spot, one great meal, one just so-so. Service mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Always good!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The staff at Woodfire are very attentive and the food is always delicious. I've been there several times and try to get something different each time. I can honestly say I've been pleased with every meal. It's on the pricey side but well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bison Bolognese to die for!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

My husband absolutely loved the Bison Bolognese! The sauce was exceptional! The only request he had was to include more pasta in the dish. I loved the Thai Seafood Pasta. The peanut sauce had a wonderful flavor not too heavy. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We had a very good dinner and the atmosphere is among the best in the area. Great drinks at bar and a terrific wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

This was our 2nd time at the restaurant , and we ordered the exact same dish. We love the cedar plank salmon. Great selection of wines. Nice and quiet, a romantic setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food is awesome, Servers are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great staff and awesome food!!!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The staff was very accomidating and the food was amazing...would recommend to all who visit, but be prepared a little pricey, although was definitely worht it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.