Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque

Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.

301 Bell St
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 690-4755

Website:
http://diamondjo.com/woodfiregrill

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Nelson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had an excellent meal for my wife's birthday. Thanks to Dahan and John for doing a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Way overpriced! The signature rib eye shouldn't even be on the menu. It's definitely not a $49 steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great food and service! The crab cakes are some of the best I've had! Awesome place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The elegant but casual dining room, the steaks were the best we've ever eaten and fabulous service made it a memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Whenever we visit Dubuque we always save a night for dinner here. Everything excellent and reasonable. Our server Kylie was very attentive, and when my wife asked to change the preparation of one dish she encouraged her request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Incredible steak, excellent service, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

To pricey for normal people....food was good, but isn't worth the money...atmosphete nice...wouldn't pay $39 for a steak if I won 500 million $ lottery..
WON'T go back....one time deal...maybe if I won 600 milli9n $ lottery🙃

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good variety of entree menu items, appetizers, salads, sandwiches, cocktails, wines and desserts. Very good service and beautiful dining room. Easy to have conversation with dining companions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was too oily and made us sick the next day. We ordered the bacon wrapped shrimp in angel hair pasta and both dishes were sitting in a pool of orange oil.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The place is well worth the money as well as the hour plus drive.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Friend & I had a lot of catching up to do. Waitress was friendly, always there when we needed her but unobtrusive. Really liked her. Perfectly cooked prime rib but I miss the German Riesling spatlese. Not many wines I like.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our food was okay. I am pretty sure it was ruined by our horrible service. My husband and I go a handful of times a year, always gettinh exceptional service and food. This server left a lot to be desired, and should have been working in the sports bar not a $60/person plate. It isnt anything for the two of us to drop $200.00 in food and drink before tip. We wanted to walk out before our app. It took our server 20 min to bring me a glass of wine, it wasnt crazy busy either.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was great as usual. I am disappointed though that they took the lettuce wedge off the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a very nice evening great atmosphere it was the best steak I've ever eaten

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food is always excellent. We have never had a bad meal here. Waitress this time (only), did not provide very good service. A couple of other waitress's jumped in and helped.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Anytime we have team members or vendors I recommend the Woodfire Grille as our first choice for a business meal. The service, food and ambiance is superb and the location is in a great part of Dubuque. I take my wife hear for special occasions as well and we always leave with a smile.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food and the service was outstanding. Sarah was our server and was extremely accommodating and tended to our needs quickly, efficiently, and with a friendly and helpful demeanor. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our deco d time here and boy were things different. Last time we were blown away by the food and have talked about it longingly since so of course we made reservations the next time we were in town. We both ordered the same thing as last time. How can it go from epic to meh? My salmon did not taste right not to mention the Dijon glaze was almost non existent. The other halfs porter house was cooked so uneven and overall over cooked. It was very tough also. Neither of us finished our food and feel like we spent almost 100.00 for food we could have cooked better at home. Trust me, we are not food snobs or foodies and are typically easily pleased food wise. This was not worth the money and we won't be back since we can't afford another barely mediocre meal that pricey.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Visiting friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Dinner with my spouse and a few business associates. All 1st time diners at WoodGrille.
Food was great! Service was excellent. Teach your bartender how to make a good Old Fashioned... mine was not good and my guest said the same about his.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was an excellent experience overall. The bone-in ribeye was amazing. Pricing was excellent. They only charged a $10 corckage fee. Looking at the wine list, it was extensive and priced well, though we brought our own. We noted it was our anniversary and they provided a free dessert. Wonderful, we will dedicatedly go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Celebrating our retirement! Food was great, calamari, lobster bisque, beef Shish kabob, applewood,smoked shrimp. Desert was on the house, which was very thoughtful! Michelle is always our server, and always amazing!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The atmosphere was great but the food was poor. It seemed like all the food came right off the Sysco truck and was just heated in the oven. For the price, I was really disappointed in the low quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was phenominal! We did ask to be moved because it was quite cold where we were originally seated. Our table was set and switched quickly to accommodate us and we had an excellent meal! Lobster bisque was amazing and the sea bass was PERFECT. Our date nights usually involve dinner and a casino so the location couldn't have been better! So glad we found this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The hostess was less than friendly and acted as if she wished that she were somewhere else. However, the waiter was very friendly and accommodating. He was really hustling because of the amount of tables he had to take care of, so because of that service was just ok. The shrimp cocktail appetizer and bisque soup were excellent. The entrees were also very good and done professionally.
We are a tough couple to please as we dine out 3-4 times a week and are fussy. Over all, we were quite pleased and would recommend this restaurant to others, and will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. My go-to for sea bass - always! Friendly, knowledgeable wait staff. Love the fires and booth comfort, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is a great restaurant! Food was delicious and it was cooked to perfection. Our server was Lisa, and she is amazing! GO. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Was delicious as usual, meal has never disappointed

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We wanted a steak and each had a great one - a NY strip and a Porterhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

That ribeye steak stole the show for two of our party - what a treat! Filet was good, scallops were excellent. The starters (crab cakes and prosciutto/fig flatbread) reminded me of excellent tapas. Werribee selections were fine, very reasonably priced. Desserts were spot on. Service was excellent. Will be back to enjoy again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great night. Food and service were outstanding. Always nice for a special dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was ready as requested, wait staff professional (didn't call us 'GUYS') without being over the top. Atmosphere is wonderful, other things to do in the building are great. Steaks were very nice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service, the atmosphere, the drinks and the meal were great. All of the food was unbelievable. We ordered the prime rib, I'm 53 years old and have eaten a lot of quality prime rib over the years, this was the absolute best I have ever had in my life! The quality of the meat, the seasoning and how it was prepared. Excellent, excellent, excellent!! This has become our new favorite special occasion restaurant. Great job

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food , the prime rib is super tender and very flavorful , the bread they serve before the meal is super good and just out off the oven.The atmosphere is very relaxing and the drinks are out this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent, but I felt it was very over priced.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was delicious
Quiet
Beautiful
Good for a date
Respectful service
Took awhile to get our food, but worthwhile
Fancy bathrooms
Very formal
Great for prom/homecoming
Be sure to make reservations

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and the service was exceptional. We could not have asked for anything more. It was our 48th wedding anniversary and we are still talking about it. Thank you to all who helped give us a terrific evening.

Larry and Roberta

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our waitress (don't recall her name unfortunately), was just great. She provided extraordinary service, above and beyond. We had a wonderful time gathering some smart people for intelligent discussions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was our first time experience. Nice casual date night. It could be less formal or more formal depending on how you're feeling for the night. A little pricy, but great good and service.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Lobster was delicious as well as the augratin potatoes. Service was outstanding. Dehaan does a great job. He is very curteous, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu items.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.