About Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque

301 Bell St
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 690-4755

Website:
http://diamondjo.com/woodfiregrill

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Nelson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Romantic
Iowa
2 More
Special Occasion
Iowa
Most Booked
Dubuque
Best Restaurants in Dubuque ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (32)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our experience was positive from the mom ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience was positive from the moment we walked in the Woodfire Grille until we walked out.

The food was excellent and was enhanced by Sarah, our server. She made us feel welcome the entire meal.

I would not hesitate to return on our next visit to Dubuque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening! Our server was imp ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding evening! Our server was impeccable, very helpful and so professional and friendly! The food was tremendous and well prepared! Thank you for this great dining experience! We will definitely be back again!!

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very expensive. The food p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was very expensive. The food portions were very small. The food was only average in taste. Service was slow for the amount of people in there. The service had to be guided to do ordinary things. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This was our 3rd time eating here and wa ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our 3rd time eating here and was quite disappointed, my tenderloin was ordered medium rare came med-well and when I told waitress she said "Oh sorry to hear that", never offered to bring new one or take price off bill. Calamari seemed like it was a prepackaged deal, not good. Crab Rangoon and au gratin potatoes were very good. Waitress forgot to bring salad and when told said 'My bad". We told her just to forget it since our main course had already arrived. Hostess seemed mad at the world. When I pay prices like they have, I expect everything to be perfect which it has been in the past, not this time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The service was good. The appetizers wer ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was good. The appetizers were very good (Shrimp cocktail and Crab cakes). 14.00 & 16.00

The Salad was good. but a la carte.

The Berkshire pork was very small portion maybe 5 oz. flavor was bland. it came with 2 slices of apple no thicker than an 1/8" and 3 carrots the diameter of a cigarette and a little shorter than a cigarette. all for the low price of 29.00.

My wife had the Lobster. 2 7 0z tails total tasteless. 40.00

The Creme Berle had been over cooked and was gritty.

I will return for the Appetizers but nothing else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Our waiter seemed disinterested. My sea ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter seemed disinterested. My sea bass was very good but my husband's duck was dry and not good and it was the special. I think it best to avoid house specials as they are often old and restaurant trying to get rid of it. When asked about his meal my husband did tell our server and he said nothing and walked away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Anniversary enjoyment

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I chose the Woodfire Grill as a special dinner venue to celebrate our 24th anniversary. We had a good experience in the past and were not disappointed this time either. The food, drinks and service were exceptional. It was a very pleasant environment and we didn't feel rushed also enjoyed the chef visiting our table to ask if we were happy with our choices. thanks for a special evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were quite impressed with the service ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were quite impressed with the service and the food. The wait staff were extremely prompt and courteous. Our meat was cooked perfectly. My only disappointment was that the spinach was "wilted" not creamed so I ordered the baked potato, which was, well, a baked potato. My husband really liked his "loaded baked potato". The atmosphere was very nice for our anniversary dinner except for the gentleman at a nearby table that seemed intent on having the whole restaurant hear what he had to say. I expect we will eat here again for another special occasion; it is one of the few places locally that you can get dressed up and have an exceptionally nice dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard this was a great place... W ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had heard this was a great place... Well not the case. Now the atmosphere was great, good wine list... Started with Lobster bisque... very good and the meal went down hill from there... The sea bass was flavorless and was an appetizer portion.... maybe 4 oz... The pork chop was cooked correctly but TOUGH... again no seasoning...

Service was good but the food was so disappointing.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Delicious food, always. We enjoy that th ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Delicious food, always. We enjoy that the menu changes a bit with the seasons. The molten chocolate cake is absolutely amazing! The best restaurant dessert hands down. Thankfully, it's a permanent fixture on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

decor very nice-- food is usually great- ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

decor very nice-- food is usually great-waiters and waitresses alway competent and friendly --amount of dinning time is about right--bread could be tastier

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my husband and I's favorite "dat ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is my husband and I's favorite "date night" spot. We frequent here about once a month to every other month. The service, atmosphere and food is amazing!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten here before and been very happy but this time we were very disappointed. It was a limited brunch menu which we were not expecting. And that would have been OK except that many of the items were very mediocre. The presentation was way better than the taste! But the ambiance is great - and we will come again based on our previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Food and Service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Always great food and service. Nice atmosphere . Food is presented nicely and plenty of choices,

Desert although limited is worth every bite.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

usually have a great meal here - not this time

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Ordered prime rib that is usually outstanding here. It was so tough it wasn't consumable. Wait staff wasn't attentive and favorite menu items are gone. I wonder what's changed? Proceed with caution!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Night out in Dubuque.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I went to the Woodfire Grill for his birthday dinner while we were in Dubuque for another occasion and thought it was excellent! I had read other good reviews but we had never been there before so this was our first time. We found the food to be very good and the service was just as good! The waitress gave him his dessert for free since it was his birthday and he got his favorite so he was happy! We would absolutely go there again but mostly likely only for a special occasion since it was pretty pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Place in Dubuque

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I have been going to the Woodfire Grille ever since it opened. It's my very favorite place for a great filet. Their french onion soup is awesome too. We usually split the filet and my hubby gets the lobster tail as a side for $20. Just right for the two of us. The fireplace adds so much ambiance to the restaurant. I always ask for Dijon (sp) (pronounced Dehon) for our waiter. He's a fantastic server!! We've always left full and having enjoyed a wonderful dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We went with a group of 6 people and were met at the door and taken care of all night. This is a top class chop house that caters to the customer with great pride!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful spot, one great meal, one just ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful spot, one great meal, one just so-so. Service mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Always good!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The staff at Woodfire are very attentive and the food is always delicious. I've been there several times and try to get something different each time. I can honestly say I've been pleased with every meal. It's on the pricey side but well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bison Bolognese to die for!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

My husband absolutely loved the Bison Bolognese! The sauce was exceptional! The only request he had was to include more pasta in the dish. I loved the Thai Seafood Pasta. The peanut sauce had a wonderful flavor not too heavy. We will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We had a very good dinner and the atmosphere is among the best in the area. Great drinks at bar and a terrific wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

This was our 2nd time at the restaurant , and we ordered the exact same dish. We love the cedar plank salmon. Great selection of wines. Nice and quiet, a romantic setting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food is awesome, Servers are friendly and attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great staff and awesome food!!!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The staff was very accomidating and the food was amazing...would recommend to all who visit, but be prepared a little pricey, although was definitely worht it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and my parents were visiting Dubuque for a long weekend and made a reservation for dinner. The meal was wonderful. The crab cakes were some of the best we have ever had. My father had the salmon and was impressed and my husband the signature rib eye. We all had a laugh at the "tomahawk cut". We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Woodfire our Favorite place to Dine

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We dinned at the Woodfire many times and always had excellent service and wonderful food. This is our favorite place to dine. We also love the early dinning feature as we don't have to wait for a special occassion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The only drawback to this location is, due to the attachment to the casino, I felt like we were eating in the smokers lounge!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

we had prime rib for dinner and it was v ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

we had prime rib for dinner and it was very tough and chewy -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Awesome Night Out

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time, the ambiance was perfect, the food was outstanding, and our waitress was so attentive. We could not have picked a better place to enjoy our night out to celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Family night out.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Beautiful setting . Small portions for the price. Glass of wine 1/4 full. Time between getting our check and paying took well over 40 minutes. But with our group we did have a good time.

.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

All talk and no do!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Crab cakes mostly cake and no crab. Appetizers bored me to tears. Salads very unusual odd tasting dressing. Entrées completely anticlimactic. Drinks were good. All hype and little delivery.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Outstanding!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Always outstanding food and service! This is our go to place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband ordered a common brand of scotch. They didn't carry it. He then ordered dinner from the menu. The server came back after ten minutes and said they were out of his selection. Then he ordered a glass of wine from the menu and they were out of that! It made the night a bit of a disappointment.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

My husband and I have always had awesome ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

My husband and I have always had awesome food and service at The Woodfire Grille and last Friday night was no exception. I had french onion soup, we split the filet and my husband added the lobster tail for an additional $20. The steak was prepared perfectly and hubby said that the lobster was out of this world. Dijon (spelling) was our waiter and was his usual spot on friendly and attentive self!! We were celebrating our anniversary and were given a dessert of creme brulee on the house! Yummy! I can hardly wait to go back next month for my birthday!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Great food.great ambience. Great service.we really enjoy having our anniversary dinners at woodfire.it was our 3rd time and we have never been disappointed with the food or service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The service, selection and meal was wonderful. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Woodfire Grille was excellent. The bacon wrapped shrimp pasta and New York Strip were great. The best part of the meal was the crab Rangoon flat bread. Great for special occasions-a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent Dining experience

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

The atmosphere at Woodfire Grille is excellent. Elegant casual dining at it's best. You can feel comfortable there in jeans or a long dress. Food has always been excellent. A special place to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Everything was amazing from setting to food to service!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.