About Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque

Woodfire Grille is a contemporary wine centric steak and seafood restaurant that features USDA Prime grade steaks and inspired fresh seafood in an upscale and contemporary dining experience. Lauded in reviews that include the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, validates that it is simply the best dining experience in its respective market. With a classic interior, the ambiance is warm with natural wood tones, is welcoming and sure to delight all your senses. Our classically trained chefs personally select our ingredients. Our menus change seasonally as it is our goal is to source locally and offer only the finest produce, meats and seafood available. You will find a lively bar that attracts a dynamic crowd and features an unparalleled wine list and an impressive offering of wines by the glass. Unique to Woodfire is the crafted cocktail program unmatched in the area. Created by our team of creative mixologist, the list is a collection of classic and modern cocktails.

301 Bell St
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 690-4755

Website:
http://diamondjo.com/woodfiregrill

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Nelson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Fireplace (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there for our anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went there for our anniversary dinner. We sat in a cozy booth along the wall. The lighting and fireplaces made it romantic. Our service was excellent and my husband says it was the best prime rib he's ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were amazing! W ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and the service were amazing! We have had three Christmas parties there and have enjoyed everyone! Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy atmosphere Perfect for special occ ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cozy atmosphere Perfect for special occasions and date nights!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fantastic! Great atmosphere and ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was fantastic! Great atmosphere and service was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband and I ate at Woodfire Grill o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My Husband and I ate at Woodfire Grill on New Years Eve. Our server was fantastic (wish I could remember her name). The food at Woodfire Grill is always excellent. I had prime rib with a lobster tail which was cooked perfectly. My husband had the lobster bisque which he said was really good and New York Strip steak. Asparagus was served with both entrees. When we are in Dubuque (3-4 times per year) we always eat at Woodfire!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$120 for two steaks, baked potato, macar ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

$120 for two steaks, baked potato, macaroni and salad. The food was also bland, however the steak was cooked exactly to the requested temp.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The wait staff at The Diamond Joe are th ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The wait staff at The Diamond Joe are the BEST:)

The food is top shelf and atmosphere is always nice and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place to go for the best st ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our favorite place to go for the best steak in town! We always request Dijon for our waiter. He's very cordial and knows his business of waiting on tables. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great job by everyone, bartender, waitre ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great job by everyone, bartender, waitress, cook. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have dines there often! The sauces we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We have dines there often! The sauces were beyond spicy which was not usual! Hope things didn't change because it was better before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice place to bring out of town guests. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nice place to bring out of town guests. Quality food and drinks and a nice atmosphere that is conducive to conversation. One of the nicer restaurants in Dubuque. The crab cakes are wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ordered the 34 dollar prime rib. It come ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ordered the 34 dollar prime rib. It comes to the table luke warm. Waitress doesn't apologize or offer something to fix it. Not a very customer friendly waitress. Kind of bummed due to the expense of the dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

First time at Woodfire. The feedback we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 14, 2016

First time at Woodfire. The feedback we had received from friends prior to our visiting was that the food and atmosphere were great, but it was a little pricey especially for our area. That pretty much sums it up. We dined early on a Monday night and were one of only a handful of tables seated, which was nice. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. Expect to spend around $35 plus per person if you have drinks, an appetizer, and an entrée. Overall great experience and we'll definitely be back. Especially for date night!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was great! Lisa was a lot ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our waitress was great! Lisa was a lot of fun, professional, prompt, and made our dinner even more special for my husband's 69th birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good, but defiantly not wor ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good, but defiantly not worth the money. Went with my family and had a table of 4 and the bill was $200. The menu did not have as big of a variety as I was expecting. Also to mention all sides are Al Carte which I am never a fan of when the entrees are pricey to begin with.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Always good food and attentive wait staf ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always good food and attentive wait staff. Yummy Avocado spring rolls, steak you can almost cut with a fork. Pumpkin cheesecake recommended by our waitress was mouthwatering. Can't say enough good things about Woodfire!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We came down for my birthday and our ser ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came down for my birthday and our server was awesome (Lisa) and my dessert came out on a cold plate wishing me a happy birthday in chocolate!! That just made my night. Very special!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent experience, as always. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had an excellent experience, as always. The lobster was FANTASTIC and the waiter recommended the crabmeat rangoon flatbread appetizer which was also awesome. Great atmosphere for a quiet dinner! We will be returning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely beautiful restaurant with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

An absolutely beautiful restaurant with great food. There were so many items on the menu that I would have loved to have tried. I had the butternut squash risotto and my husband had the bacon wrapped shrimp served over angel hair pasta in a chipotle cream sauce. We both enjoyed our dinners. The best part is the ambiance with a private fire place right in our booth. Great place for date night!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the atmosphere and the food is deli ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Love the atmosphere and the food is delicious. Took some friends who have never been there and they loved it. Try the Lobster macaroni and cheese. Amazing!!!!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were from omaha traveling to Green B ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We were from omaha traveling to Green Bay. Great service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious; service was O.K., no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was delicious; service was O.K., not spectacular. There was a table of four men who got quite a bit more attention that us (man/woman). I notice these things a lot. Four men v. one woman and one man - who will leave the better tip? That gets old, fast. There was also a bit of a snafu with our reservation, but that was resolved in time for us to eat at a leisurely pace and still make it to our show on time. All in all, I would recommend this place. The casino where the restaurant is located is also very nice, as is the small theater where we saw our show. Very pleasant experience.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. Wait staff ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. Wait staff always makes it fun.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate all special occasions here. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We celebrate all special occasions here. This time it was for my wife's 40th birthday and the food was fantastic but ever better was the service. We will keep Woodfire on our list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!!! Great service!!!! Will b ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing food!!! Great service!!!! Will be going back!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. He was know ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Our server was outstanding. He was knowledgeable on menu and wine list.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice people great food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Nice people great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food! Great ambiance!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious food! Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out to Galena for our 1st anniversary (w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Out to Galena for our 1st anniversary (we are 47 and 53 yes of age) . Wanted a nice place to dine . Atmosphere was quiet and pleasant. Service was very good. I ordered the prime rib, rare, at $39. The meat was cooked perfect, however, overly "grisly". Often tough to chew. My wife's filet mignon, rare, was excellent. Cooked perfect and good cut of beef. We shared an order of sauteed mushrooms. These were over cooked and mildly warm as though they were sitting for some time. The stuffed baked potato was good. All together, it was good dining experience, however, slightly overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice place with good food and excel ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

very nice place with good food and excellent service

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great except my wife's st ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was great except my wife's steak. She ordered a bison tenderloin, medium rare, got it and it was closer to medium well. Needless to say, she was very disappointed by the over cooked bison as we know bison should never be anything over medium, it is very lean and gets dry. The bison tenderloin is the main reason she picked this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice restaurant for a special occas ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant for a special occasion and when you want a special dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We dine here several times a year and ar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We dine here several times a year and are never disappointed. While the prices are a little higher than most area restaurants it is well worth it. As a premium steakhouse there is no competition in the area that approaches this level of quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was outstanding as was the food. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was outstanding as was the food. Will definitely be back when in Dubuque.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect as usual, Server Danielle was on ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Perfect as usual, Server Danielle was on her game :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to the Wood Fire Grill to celebr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to the Wood Fire Grill to celebrate and anniversary. The appetizer we selected was excellent as were the entrees and sides that we selected. The one thing that I felt could improve the experience was to have menu options that would include a potato and side with the entrée selection. The entrées were pricey to start and adding sides at $7 - $8 each was a bit much in my opinion. Since it was a special occasion the experience was worth the added costs.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had eaten at the Woodfire about 6 mon ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had eaten at the Woodfire about 6 months ago & my husband just loved the Bison Bolgonese so we came back to experience that entree again & celebrate my birthday!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was day upon our arrival. We ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was day upon our arrival. We enjoyed the flatbread appetizer, and the chop salad and the heirloom tomatoes salad were wonderful beginnings to delicious entrees. Service was great and noise level was low. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our daugjter for her 17th birthd ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We took our daugjter for her 17th birthday, the Waiter was extremely nice and helpful, she made my daughter feel special, his dessert recommendation was excellent and the specials he recommended. Thank you for making our experience an A+

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in all o ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in all of Illinois and we have a home in the Chicago area. The food is outstanding. The service is excellent. Our favorite waitress is Lisa. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.