About Woodberry Kitchen

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: 4104648000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
2 More
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (478)
special occasion (391)
neighborhood gem (256)
See All
great for brunch (235)
hot spot (217)
romantic (209)
good for groups (160)
great for outdoor dining (144)
notable wine list (125)
vibrant bar scene (85)
great for lunch (81)
kid-friendly (53)
scenic view (48)
late-night find (33)
 (16)
 (14)
 (13)
 (10)
 (7)
 (4)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
Sort By:
Newest
7983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

One of the best foods have tried in the ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

One of the best foods have tried in the dmv area. That was one of the first date I had with my wife. Since then, the restaurant has gotten better! Food and drinks are amazing.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Scrumptious and urban

Dined 3 days ago

We LOVE Woodberry kitchen! Went here for brunch on Sunday and it didn't disappoint. Honey latte and raspberry drink were great. Husband got French toast which looked amazing and tasted even better. I got scrambled egg. DIVINE!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, perfectly prepared wit ...

Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food, perfectly prepared with super friendly service. A true gem in Baltimore!!

food3
ambience4
service2
value5

Overrated

Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed with level of service, portion sizes notably smaller, taste experience was good, atmosphere fun...but past experiences have been far better, but that was a year ago.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not suitable for vegetarians

Dined 4 days ago

My dad wanted to go to Woodberry Kitchen, so I obliged. I tried to check the menu ahead of time to see if they'd have vegan options, but the website wasn't cooperating on my phone. I should have called to check. Regardless, it baffles me that, in a time where the number of people who eat plant-based has grown 400% in less than ten years, a restaurant wouldn't have many vegan options. And by "many," I mean more than one. They didn't even have any dairy-free milks for their coffee...and no orange juice? Only fancy cocktails. The ambiance is great, and the dish that I could eat—the hash browns—was fantastic; but I've had more options at a steakhouse. I went once before a few years ago and you could barely get a seat in the house. The place looked only half full on Saturday. It seems that being more inclusive with their menu might help bring more customers.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant. I really enjoyed ...

Dined 5 days ago

Loved this restaurant. I really enjoyed the food and the person that decorated my dessert (the plate said "Happy 32nd anniversary" in chocolate did an excellent job writing it, it was beautiful! This is my new favorite restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice experience- fun atmosphere- beer wa ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Nice experience- fun atmosphere- beer wasn't cold enough Wine was nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amaaazing Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Brad was our amazing, on-the-ball at every turn server and did everything perfectly to make us feel right at home celebrating our special day. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodating staff and our scrumptious meal. Thank you for everything!!!! We will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Hostess was surly... ( I heard you the f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Hostess was surly... ( I heard you the first time when told her all of our party was here) they confirmed reservation 2x... we (6) ended up last table seating 20 minutes late. Waiter average at best... Food great. Waited at bar for table...No Orange juice for Mimosa... didn't want a belini.. said I'd just take the champagne instead... surprize $17.50 Yikes... guess we need to be very specific that generic would be ok... explain that choice might be prosecco or champange.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

We were seated 25 mins after our reserva ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We were seated 25 mins after our reservation - it seems the popular brunch on Sunday is difficult to manage. I would suggest going early on Sunday - we booked 1.30pm The service was good - but at 1.30pm well 2.00pm when we ordered many items were off the menu. And then when the food arrived it was lukewarm I have been here many times before but not for brunch - and it is always very good - dodge the late brunch - we were not the only ones waiting

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and considerate

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We had brunch on a Sunday. It was crowded and there was a delay in the delivery of our main course so the staff supplied us with some appetizers in acknowledgement of the delay. Their kind consideration was appreciated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

A rare misstep for Woodberry Kitchen, th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A rare misstep for Woodberry Kitchen, the service went completely off the rails and it couldn't recover. The restaurant was crowded and service was abnormally slow, we waited to be seated for 20 minutes past our reservation time even though we confirmed. Drinks and the first course were within the expected for a crowded place but then the entree took more than an hour to arrive and when it did- the wrong item arrived, when replaced the right item was undercooked due to the pressure of replacing it quickly rather than correctly. While we were promised the items would be comped due to the wait, the were listed on the first bill, the bill had to be re-run a second time because items not ordered were listed. This was not the usual experience at WK and not what I would expect for a return visit, but this particular visit was not a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, fantastic cocktails, and ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious food, fantastic cocktails, and excellent service! We will definitely return for another meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Server was rude. No idea how to accommod ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Server was rude. No idea how to accommodate dietary restrictions. Offered no suggestions. Was not a good experience

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I had the grits from the brunch menu and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had the grits from the brunch menu and it was salty. I expected more from the restaurant of this hype.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Poor service this time. We went for brun ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Poor service this time. We went for brunch and sat for at least 10-15 mins without any acknowledgement, water or menus. Then when we ordered French press coffee the server immediately pushed the plunger on the press without letting it properly brew so our coffee was weak and tasteless. We did get a new one which was better, but even that coffee was weak. Definitely not what I'd expect from woodberry! The food was expected awesome that's was the only redeeming quality. Please fix the service and please prepare leftover containers at the table because ours were taken away then lost...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I heard about this resturant from friend ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I heard about this resturant from friends the food was fair their service terrible and very noisy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a lovely experience at the Woodb ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Always a lovely experience at the Woodberry Kitchen. Food always delicious and wonderful, as is the service. No complaints from this couple.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New York Dining in Charm City

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've wanted to come to Woodberry for some time but just hadn't made the trip until last week. It far exceeded all of my expectations! The food and drinks were excellent! The service was impeccable! We ate on the outdoor patio where they had several chimneas to keep us warm (and when my friend got a little chilly, our amazing server even brought out a blanket for her). we couldn't have wished for a better experience. I highly recommend this Baltimore gem

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fact: A hotdog is a sandwich.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Fact: A hotdog is a sandwich.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, creative food in a unique a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Outstanding, creative food in a unique and interesting atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not visit the Baltimore area without ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Do not visit the Baltimore area without dining at the Woodbury Kitchen. Courtyard seating is particularly charming. Local & in-house selections. Arrive with an appetite.

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Just a warning if you don't like spicy ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Just a warning if you don't like spicy food, the black bean spread and scallops dinner have a bit of a kick to them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I haven't been to Woodberry in several y ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I haven't been to Woodberry in several years but decided it was the best place to celebrate my birthday with my wife. I couldn't have been more satisfied. The center of a great dining experience begins with service and our waiter, Morgan (Morgon? I'll call him M. Guy with an Irish accent), exceeded all expectations. My wife drinks alcohol only once in a great while and I don't drink: M recommended an alcoholic and nonalcoholic specialty drinks that we both loved. We're also not great at dissecting food so we relayed our mood (tired parents of three kids at a late reservation due to babysitting snags after long days of a Sunday shift for her and solo parenting for me): M helped us navigate our way to two meals that more than hit the spot. They reinvigorated us, literally waking us up. It helps that M was so cheerful and decisive. Just what we needed. Plus, he brought us unexpected appetizers that blew us away, especially the "wreck" fish. I think that's what it was called. And dessert arrived with a chocolate drizzle happy birthday wish for me. Smores on the fire outside with plenty of blankets topped off a wonderful late night birthday dinner with my wife. The oysters, the ambiance and the smores did the trick in more ways than one ; )

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great! My favorite.

Dined on May 16, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Baltimore. The only minor minor issue I have is that their service is actually a little fast for me! I doubt most people would have a problem with this. In fact, it's probably a huge plus for many. I'm likely in the minority on wanting dishes to come out a bit slower. Overall, I just love the place. It's worth every penny.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had brunch, this was our first time t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had brunch, this was our first time to the restaurant. We had reservations and we were running a few minutes late, I called to let them know. We arrived about 10 minutes late, we were seated immediately and thanked for calling in to let them know! Refreshing to get a restaurant that has manners and cordialness. The restaurant was very crowded with diners waiting, so this was especially nice. Our service was good, great team effort on serving the table ( empty plates picked up immediately etc). Our spot upstairs while cozy (a 2 top) enabled us to get a great view of the restaurant. Food was pretty good, some dishes were stronger than others. Overall a very nice dining experience. I cant wait to come back for dinner al fresco with a larger group. Bonus- the day was chilly and the valet had a chiminea going, the smell of the fire was terrific walking in an out of the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had been to the WK several times with ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We had been to the WK several times with good experience but this time was somewhat mixed. The food was good as was the server for our table. But the front desk ladies were not so nice. We called 30mins ahead that we will be a bit early to our reservation time. We were told "no problem we have tables". We arrived 15min early, but was not seated even though there were table available. We were told that we will be seated at our reservation time. This took us a bit surprised since we haven't seen this treatment during our earlier visits. Anyway, our server was very nice and helpful person. We had good food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to brunch and wind down the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great place to brunch and wind down the year to a graduation. I suggest the crab pot to anyone who likes crab or seafood.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch on A Saturday

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went with husband and toddler. Table was ready and they had some coloring and dough for the child to play with. We started with crab pot, doughnut and premium coffee press , all excellent! The toddler's pancake was a little out of what he is used to, so he barely ate it, but we loved it. It was more wheat flour and much thicker than a typical toddler style pancake. Husband had french toast and I had a hash with veggies on top. Both were really excellent. Staff looks like they came out of a Mumford and Sons video, circa 2012 :) If only they would have not played so much U2, I would have given it 5 stars for ambiance! Overall, really good though. Definitely would like to try it again but for dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time dining at Woodberr ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

It was our first time dining at Woodberry Kitchen and it didn't disappoint. Our server and service was great. We were there during brunch and the food was fantastic. We definitely will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience dining outdoors

Dined on May 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here on a Friday night and sat outside for a truly magical evening. We enjoyed delicious craft cocktails, followed by some of the freshest and most flavorful appetizers and main courses I've had in a long time. We started with the dish of fresh strawberries and the wreckfish dip - both so tasty in their own ways. I had the crab cake entree and he had the pork, and both were truly phenomenal dishes. Sitting outside was a bonus, as we got to sit under the lights and smell the wood-burning fires. Gorgeous setting, incredible food and drink, and excellent service - all reasons that we will be back the next time we have a special occasion or just feel like treating ourselves!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

The outdoor seating was spectacular. The ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The outdoor seating was spectacular. The fresh and local food is always delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak tar-tar is absolutely amazing ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The steak tar-tar is absolutely amazing every single time, a must try! The scenery is always lovely. It is a hidden gem in the middle of the city.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Restaurant not easy to find and parking ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Restaurant not easy to find and parking is confusing but it's the city so sometimes that's the situation. Complimentary valet which is nice. Busy menu layout with tons of options. Dining room was cozy and very nicely decorated. The chairs we sat in were very uncomfortable with no cushions. Food was fresh and in season, not blown away by the flavors. Service was ok, nothing spectacular. Nice experience ,everything was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went on a date. This is our go-to specia ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went on a date. This is our go-to special occasion date night spot. Food was great and seasonal as always. Always a little pricey for s couple of broke college students, but you pay for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were celebrating our son's birthday. I didn't mention it when they called to confirm the reservation. But when dessert was served, there was a candle on the plate. The waitress remembered that it was his birthday after seeing the date on his ID when we first arrived. Everything we had to eat was delicious. We were in a small room so the noise level was manageable. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. We sat outside next to the f ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food. We sat outside next to the fire. Very nice, even if we did get a little smokey.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

We ate outside and it was delightful, ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate outside and it was delightful, I think inside was quite noisy. We had a wonderful salad and excellent crab cakes. They obviously use local ingredients! It is pricey and worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in town for work and my boyfriend ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I was in town for work and my boyfriend and I randomly booked this place off if recs from Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint! We sat outside, had delicious food, and we can't wait to be back in Baltimore to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always memorable

Dined on May 12, 2016

We always pick Woodbury Kitchins when we want to have a special evening and especially if entertaining friends or family from away. We always have problems deciding what to select because the menus is always different and always has interesting combinations of ingredients and flavors. So sometimes it is really fun to order family style and share everything. We have Never had any disappointments (and the wait staff is exceptional!)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.