About Woodberry Kitchen

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: 4104648000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

French Press Coffee
Manhampden Cocktail
Steak & Eggs
Plum Muffin And Stone Fruit Turnover
Ice Cream & Sorbet
Liberty Delight Steak & Eggs
Eggs Benedict
Kitchen Bloody Mary
Peanut Butter Brownie Bars
Bake Shop On A Board
Cocoa Donut Holes
Smoked Beef & Potato Hash
Savory Danish
Black Ankle Beef Tartare
Oyster Stew
Cheese Plate
Tilghman Island Crab Pot
Ice Cream Sandwich
Deviled Eggs
Ruby Sour
Tilghman Island Crab Cake
Wood-Roasted Ocean City Lobster Tail
Apple Pie
Liberty Delight Tavern Steak
Cmp
Rettland Farm Pork Chop
Honey Macchiato
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Government Mule
Bread and Butter
Popcorn
Rainbow Trout
CMP 1.0
16 Oz Ribeye With Cheesy Potato Gratin
BLT
French Toast
Wood Grilled White And Americana Sausage
Mason Dixon Oysters
Attaboy! Cocktail
Pickles
Roast Chicken
South Baltimore Tequila
Chocolate Bomb
Oysters
Breakfast Burger
Tomato Soup With Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Soft Shell Crab Sliders
Toasted Oat And Fresh Cream Ice Cream
Sizzling Pastrami & Potato Hash

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
1 More
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (518)
special occasion (420)
neighborhood gem (301)
See All
great for outdoor dining (265)
romantic (232)
hot spot (229)
great for brunch (227)
good for groups (179)
notable wine list (130)
great for lunch (92)
vibrant bar scene (90)
scenic view (84)
kid-friendly (64)
late-night find (38)
Sort By:
Newest
8156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was really disappointed with my evenin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was really disappointed with my evening at Woodberry Kitchen. The food was above average but not spectacular and nothing really stands out as memorable- just good decent food. I would have potentially enjoyed the evening more if it wasn't for everything else.

The restaurant was extremely hot. Not like a 78 degree kinda warm/ could use a fan hot. It was probably 82-85 degrees with a big open oven putting out even more direct heat. I was luckily downstairs because when I asked about the extreme temperatures the server joked- at least I wasn't seated upstairs it is even hotter there. No attempt to cool the room, clearly this wasn't a one time thing and as a result means I will not be back to give it another try.

The server was also a bit over the top. He was offended when I didn't order some of the items he spent 3-4 minutes describing. The drinks were good which was probably the only thing that kept me from passing out from the heat.

If the bill for two of us was $50 I could see giving it another try when the temperature cools but for $100 I have much better options in the DMV region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

I've dined at WK before. The menu was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've dined at WK before. The menu was full of summer goodness. As Always- the menu was intriguing, the preparation and presentation was flawless. Our party of 2 sat upstairs. The warmth/heat was suffocating. Even our waitresses face was flushed red the whole evening and she seemed to be sweating a bit. Plus they don't serve water with ice, I had to ask for ice. There are ceiling fans, but the heat made enjoying dinner difficult. I ordered 2 small cold plates -which were very good- but I felt like I had to limit my selections to cold food to help with the heat.

I would recommend this place to anyone- but if you're going during the summer you may want to sit downstairs. Downstairs is quite noisy but cooler. Upstairs quieter but very warm.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Food and service were great, but the tab ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were great, but the tables are right next to one another so you feel like you're at dinner with strangers and can't speak freely with privacy. So the seating situation is uncomfortable, but good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first time here, we had an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time here, we had an 5:pm reservations. We arrived around 4:45 introduced ourselves to the hostess , the hostest told us the restaurant opens at 5pm to sit at the bar and she would seat us shortly. Well 5pm came and went everyone who entered after was seated, I asked the hostess " Did you forget that we were here with a 5pm reservation" the hostess showed us to our table. The restaurant was amazing with the original brick, open with upstairs seating. From up stairs I observed the bartender tasting the drinks and serving them out of the same glass WE DID NOT ORDER FROM THE BAR. THER service was EXCELLENT, the food good but OVER PRICED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The egg dish during the Sunday brunch wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

The egg dish during the Sunday brunch was disappointing. It was not quiet up to par for the place. The French press coffee is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We were pleasantly surprised. The old W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised. The old Woodberry style and food is BACK!!! Our prior two visits to Woodberry were a bit disappointing --with food quality and service not at their original levels. This time, it was back to greatness. Loved the chicken enchilada (gluten-free!!). Wish they would bring back the Breakfast Burger -- and let us know when it's on the menu, even if just for a day. We would drive from PA just for that burger.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food but way way too noisy. W ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

wonderful food but way way too noisy. We could barely have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Everything was excellent. The only reas ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was excellent. The only reason for 4/5 stars on value was the portion size on the Hand-stretched Mozzarella. For $18 it was quite small. Each of us (party of four) only got a tiny morsel. Wouldn't recommend it. Other than that, Woodberry never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family highly recommends Woodberry K ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our family highly recommends Woodberry Kitchen for those who appreciate good, healthy food. The service and ambiance is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Woodberry Kitchen does an amazing job. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Woodberry Kitchen does an amazing job. Their commitment to sourcing from quality producers and serving guests incredible food is admirable. Chef Spike Gjerde and his staff should be an example to restaurants nationwide. A must go restaurant experience in Baltimore!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a gorgeous way to spend a few hours. kn ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

a gorgeous way to spend a few hours. knowledgable servers and staff, interesting and fresh menu, great atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent dinner date with my wif ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had an excellent dinner date with my wife for her birthday. We got the crab pot (their version of crab dip) for an appetizer, which was awesome, and then my wife ordered the Tuna and I got a Ribeye, both were amazing. Both of us had excellent wines, Pinot for her, Cab for me. Top it all off with a delicious CMP (their take on a s'mores themed ice-cream sundae) and some sorbet for dessert and the experience was outstanding. Our waiter was top notch (wish I could remember his name).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter and chef accommodated dietary res ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Waiter and chef accommodated dietary restrictions and still delivered delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From start to finish, everything was per ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

From start to finish, everything was perfect at Woodberry Kitchen! We were celebrating our anniversary and we loved everything from the cocktails (Match Point and Manhattan) to the appetizer (Tilghman Island Crab Pot) and our entrees (soft shell crabs and pork chop). Unfortunately, we were too full to try one of the offerings on the dessert menu, but our server brought us some mint ice cream with happy anniversary written in chocolate on the plate. What a nice touch! We will definitely be going back and won't wait for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and service in Baltimore

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Best food and service in Baltimore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reservations but still had to wai ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had reservations but still had to wait about 40 minutes. I wasn't expecting to wait that long to be seated and was very hungry. The food and service was great, but we it was hard to get over the long wait. I doubt we will visit again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great but pricey. Very interesting. Ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great but pricey. Very interesting. Neat neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

On a beautiful summer evening, not too h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

On a beautiful summer evening, not too hot, we were lucky enough to snare an outside table for a memorable meal with truly superior service. We prefer the outside dining here because the inside is too loud for us to enjoy conversation with our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter seemed a bit overworked and at ti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Waiter seemed a bit overworked and at times distracted. Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Better than ever! Terrific service, amaz ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Better than ever! Terrific service, amazing food. Probably the best experience I've ever had there. Perfect birthday celebration for my 26-year-old son

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food - DELICIOUS! Service - AMAZING! Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food - DELICIOUS!

Service - AMAZING!

This was our first visit, so we tried several appetizers and entrees, everything was fresh, perfectly seasoned and so tasty. The wait staff works as a well-oiled machine, helping each other and ensuring that our every need was met almost immediately. Overall, this was a fabulous experience, we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good wonderful presentation excelle ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very good wonderful presentation excellent and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! Went for my partner's and my ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fantastic! Went for my partner's and my anniversary. I had the duck breast while he splurged on the 2.5 lb ribeye steak with crab imperial. Everything was perfect, from the drinks to the ambience, to the service, to the food, everything. Will definitely be back again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food. We food the menu exciting ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the food. We food the menu exciting and had a hard time choosing. Loved the chicken pate with jam and toast points. If you like a steak order it here. The soft shell crabs were exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Upbeat, hip atmosphere. HIghly recommend ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Upbeat, hip atmosphere. HIghly recommend the soft crab, steamers, and scallops. The duck salad was tasty, but the duck fried rice was too salty. Our group of 4 ate family style but our server who otherwise was terrific, seemed to forget to include a serving spoon for each of the dishes he brought us. Overall, a good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This was the best restaurant in Baltimor ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was the best restaurant in Baltimore in which we have ever eaten! Baltimore has some great restaurants so I do not say that lightly. We have been to all the restaurants in Harbor East and all the Foreman-Wolf restaurants (Charlestown, Cinghiale, Pazo, Petit Louis, etc.) and Woodberry Kitchen is the best, hands down! The service was absolutely fantastic without being pretentious. We wanted for and waited for nothing, not once. The service was friendly and efficient without being rushed. The food was amazing, original, fresh and local. We had the squash blossoms, crab pot, flat bread, soft shell crabs (the best I've ever had) and diver scallops. The presentation, beautiful; the sauces, superb; the food, so delicious we can't wait to come back for more. Thank you Woodberry Kitchen for an amazing night! We can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place! The staff was outsta ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What a great place! The staff was outstanding, and the food is remarkable. The ambiance is a bit rustic but very warm. Great menu and beverage options make this one of,, if not the best in the area!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The locavore cuisine is inspired, and th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The locavore cuisine is inspired, and the waitstaff are extremely helpful and friendly. Nevertheless, I was dismayed to see that the bathroom made no attempt to accommodate disabilities. The toilet is extremely low, and there is not even a handrail fixed to the wall to help the person get up and down. Anyone with hip or knee problems will have a problem here. Since there are three unisex bathrooms, surely one could have a higher toilet and a solid handrail next to it. Doesn't Baltimore require such things?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately, prior to being seated, re ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Unfortunately, prior to being seated, reservations were made and we didnt get seated til 35 minutes later. The hostess had noted that the restaraunt would "absolutely make up for this delay" however nothing was mentioned thereafter. What is the point of a reservation? The food was decent but nothing to write home about.

Our waiter was fantastic, a lovely irishman, knowlegeable, animated, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great farm to table experience, very goo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great farm to table experience, very good food! Fresh mozz and steak tartare were among the best ever. Passionate servers. We spread the news of our experiences to a wedding-full of friends this weekend. We will return. Only suggestion: please offer citrus (not grown locally), at least for drinks, or advise patrons to bring their own.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Woodbury Kitchen basically invented farm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Woodbury Kitchen basically invented farm to table, a concept that is spreading around the country like wild fire. The fact that the menu constantly changes with available local meat, seafood, fish and produce is one of the enticements to keep coming back. Combine this with some of the best preparations EVER, and you have a dining experience that will not soon be forgotten. The wait staff is very enthusiastic, and lives and breathes the food; if they can't get you excited about what's to come, it's probably because of oxygen deprivation. I will say that Woodbury Kitchen is not shy about their pricing or overly generous with their portions, but everything is so damn good, you walk away not even caring. This has quickly evolved into one of my favorite restaurants in the country, and it's no wonder why reservations are required generally weeks in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent!! I love that t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was excellent!! I love that the food is locally sourced and delicious!! Never felt rushed or hovered over!! I love this place!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly disappointed. My entree was so ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Highly disappointed. My entree was so bad I took no more than two bites of crab cake and a tasteless potato thing. It was $36 and nobody seemed to care that I hated it and ate none of it. It was a waste of money dining here.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Let me start by saying that the food was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Let me start by saying that the food was great. However, the experience was marred by the abysmal service. We waited over 30 minutes for our table (even with a reservation), and since the bar was full , we were left standing in the hallway to wait. When we finally got seated, we waited a long time for everything. Our drinks took about 20 minutes after we ordered. We weren't brought any bread. After the appetizers, we waited a looong time for our dinners. There were two mistakes with our order (wrong beer and wrong side dish). When they found out it was my husband's birthday, they brought him a nice dessert, and then charged us $20 for it. It took two tries to get this corrected on the check. This should have been a nice celebration dinner, but instead it was a comedy of errors. It's a shame that some of the best food in Baltimore gets the worst service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

On this most recent visit to Woodberry K ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

On this most recent visit to Woodberry Kitchen, our dishes were expertly crafted from top notch ingredients. The service was a different story. We waited 45 min beyond our reserved time to be seated, with little apology. Our server was downright unpleasant. I'll think twice before heading back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Overpriced but I do not mind for a speci ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Overpriced but I do not mind for a special occasion.

The food is very different from the "usual". One could make a case that it is not overpriced but with my limited funds, it is overpriced? My limited funds are not your problem but I still think it is overpriced. I was in the hole right away when we spent $30 (tip included) on a drink while waiting for a table. We ordered two small fruity drinks that had very little alcohol.

Still, we had a great time. The food and service was great.

Mark Tabb

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The dessert, coffee, service, and food p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The dessert, coffee, service, and food presentation were excellent, but the entrees were disappointing for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

I love the locally-sourced menu, relaxed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I love the locally-sourced menu, relaxed-yet-high class vibe, and excellent overall experience at Woodberry. Thanks for another fantastic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, high prices, small portions, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good food, high prices, small portions, fairly noisy, hard to get to.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone was so attentive, and because o ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Everyone was so attentive, and because of my special occasion, treated useusextra amazingly. Woodberry Kitchen is expensive - SUPER expensive - but truly amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.