Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Woodberry Kitchen

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: (410) 464-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (203)
Local Ingredients (192)
Special Occasion (181)
See All
Good for a Date (173)
Creative Cuisine (159)
Handcrafted Cocktails (137)
Good for Anniversaries (121)
Worth the Drive (116)
Wood Oven (104)
Neighborhood Gem (103)
Good for Birthdays (100)
Romantic (95)
Cozy (90)
Organic (89)
Seasonal (88)
Open Kitchen (82)
Authentic (80)
Hot Spot (77)
Great for Brunch (77)
Fun (71)
Historic (68)
Healthy (65)
Comfort Food (60)
Casual (58)
Good for Groups (52)
Good Vegetarian Options (52)
Notable Wine List (47)
Bar Seating (47)
Great Beer (37)
Fireplace (37)
People Watching (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Modern Decor (31)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Kid-friendly (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Vegan (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Outstanding Value (15)
Scenic View (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Family Style (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Tapas (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Private Room (6)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sort By:
S
9262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 hours ago

Great food, great service. As always the food was on point and creative. It was a little loud for conversation however we were sitting in the main room right in front of the woodfired oven. Dessert was incredible, however I have had better coffee there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect meal every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Normally we really like Woodberry, but they were off their game this time. Despite our reservation, we were seated 20 minutes late and waited another 25 for a waiter to arrive. He brought still water that tasted like turpentine (something about an ambient system) and then disappeared again before returning to take our orders. The food was good as it always is, but the overall experience was a poor one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed brunch...outstanding service. Best oysters I have had in a long time. We were seated in the small room off the bar area, good for conversation. Main room is for those who want to be a part of the scene. Prosecco with Plum Syrup was Delicious, nice change from a Bellini.
Good brunch choices on the menu, every thing out of the ordinary spectrum.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Brunch menu and food. Highly recommend - make sure you make a reservation as it was packed!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

This may be my very favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The food and cocktails are always spectacular. Service is stellar. My only complaint is that the noise level makes it almost impossible to converse. Go anyway, and save chit chat for later.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We love sitting at the bar but still have a full menu access. It was great to reacquaint with Hannah, whom we haven't seen for several years. The entire staff was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was surprisingly ordinary, heavy on the fried and sauce components. I would have preferred more foodie-type options. I had the lamb sausage with potatoes and carrots. It tasted pretty much the way I might have made that food at home. Meh. Service was sporadic. Trendy and hip, but inefficient. The one exception to an overall lackluster meal was the ice cream. The apple sorbet was fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service. Not great food. Went for brunch and it was not palatable. Grits with cheddar so greasy they were not edible. Eggs severely overcooked and butter used on toast was very greasy.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and ambiance was good and we enjoyed the service. The only part I disliked was that it was very noisy that a conversation is not possible. We were also seated next to a family with two babies who spilled their parent's drink on me during dinner. I probably won't be back due to the noise level.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing unique menu. Could cut my steak with a fork it was so tender. Drinks expensive but wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Another excellent meal and overall experience at Woodberry Kitchen this time for a birthday dinner. Server and host make you feel special from start to finish. Had one of our favorite tables in the middle near the open kitchen and oven all the better to see the attention and love that goes into preparing each dish. Flatbreads are great place to begin, this time crab. French onion soup can be so boring elsewhere but not here. Server recommended it and we were swooning. Rich vege stock, not beef, topped with a nice crouton and cheese nicely balanced. Special request preparation for the scallops to forego the pork was smoothly accommodated. Perch also nicely prepared whole with crispy skin. Finished with a beautifully presented platter of handwritten birthday wishes in chocolate accompanied by a just right small scoop of ice cream. If you can't make it for dinner, go for brunch which is equally delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Historic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A foodie's destination run by foodies. Delightful dishes done right.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I have eaten here often. Food can be exciting but not always. Today it was somewhat off. Salad was only so-so. Trout well prepared. Butterscotch pudding dessert more whipped cream topping than pudding. Preciously was more pudding than topping. Still an excellent addition to the Baltimore dinning scene and I will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Having been to your restaurant several times for brunch, I brought my friend up from Alexandria for this dinner/event. Ordered dinners for both, the flavors were either over seasoned or bland. Drinks were small and very expensive! Wine bottle prices reflect standard size, but the $55 Pinot Noir was a half bottle? The over $200 cost of the meal warranted a D.C. Restaurant bill. Very disappointed and my friend had no interest in returning, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were impeccable, and the prices were in line with the quality of the food. We never felt rushed, there was plenty of time to enjoy each course and breathe a bit between courses. The atmosphere was casual and not stuffy. It was a bit noisy, but not to point that you could not easily hear the people at your table. Tables are spaced well enough that you don't share the conversations of the tables around you. We will not hesitate to dine here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was for my birthday. I really enjoyed every part of the experience. My name was written on my dessert plate with "Happy Birthday" written on it, as well.

Tags: Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The biscuits of the spicy cheese appetizer were a bit hard and stale. The food took extremely long to come out. However, other than that, it was fine.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was very disappointed in my experience at Woodberry Kitchen. I made a reservation through open table and then they gave my reservation away to someone else who had a "similar name". I do not have a remotely common name and they wouldn't clarify what name exactly they confused it for. Neither the hostess nor the manager apologized for their hostess' mistake and then they refused to give any time estimates as to when we would sit down. We waited 45 minutes before we finally sat down and even after all that our service was incredibly slow and the staff was very inattentive. The food was fine but the overall experience and service was horrific and I will never return and neither will anyone else in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Flat out awesome brunch with Wife and daughter. Really creative food, deliciously prepared, and the creamiest cappuccino on the planet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is easily one of my favorite restaurants in the area. I recommend it to everyone. It is a little on the pricier side, but definitely worth every penny spent.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Vegan, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our yearly birthday brunch. Enjoyable, as always. Interesting menu items, wonderful baked goods, great coffee, and friendly servers and wait-staff.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rustic setting with creative furnishings - hipster vibe is pulled off in what appears effortless as the fit and svelte staff is clad in plaid and beards (on the waiters) - attentive and knowledgeable wait staff that appear to enjoy their jobs; clean and local food that time and energy is invested in to create delightful notes of flavor, thoughtfulness, and creativity.
The setting is not "invented" or contrived it is maintained in its former mill state; obviously, a forward-thinking restaurateur had a vision in creating Woodberry Kitchen. Kitchen is open as cooks and preps create. Fresh wood piled to the ceiling in anticipation of being used in various ovens or grills. Pricey, but well-worth the experience, ambiance, and palate pleasing fare.
A gem for historically rich Baltimore City.

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was excellent and servers are knowledgeable. Didn't like the music. It was disruptive for conversation and relaxing during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

If you set a reservation do not expect to sit when you set it for. For this place reservations are mere suggestions and it's constantly over booked. There is upstairs seating that is never used. And I generally wait 30+ mins for a table.

Once you are seated the food is fantastic. The front of the house just needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

WK has passed the test of time. Always fun to be in this hipster place w great food. Pricey but you get what you pay for. My only minor complaint was that they have no fresh lemons!! Was told they only serve food and beverages made with LOCAL ingredients. My beautiful raw oysters ($17 for six) would have been so much tastier with fresh lemon. Oh well...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Vegetables with dinner were slightly undercooked-but overall a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

What a great place! Extraordinary building. The fish was very good. A crazy drive to get there but glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

It was our first time and it was delicious. The wait staff was so kind and friendly and they were very busy for a Thursday night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Woodberry Kitchen has a very interesting menu; It never disappoints!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Organic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Steak was under cooked and way over priced but the staff was extremely attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Aside from the incredible food and drinks, I can't say enough about how genuinely nice and accommodating the staff was yesterday to myself and my 10 year old daughter, who was making her first visit. From the folks at the bar (the teetotalers menu rocks), to our server Kati (who explained everything), and most of all Virginia, you left a lasting impression on a young girl (and her father). Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very crowded on a Saturday night! Very well staffed, and everyone was amazing. Helpful, enthusiastic, friendly.
Food was seasonal, local and delicious. We ate from the small plates menu, and were happy with the eclectic and healthy options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The ambiance is perfect, and the service was exceptional. There was never a moment that we did not have what we need and every question we had was answered. The flavors of all of the food was fantastic, the only hitch keeping it from being five stars was that my date's dish was a little bit cold.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious! I honestly don't think you could have a bad meal at Woodberry. You do need to be a bit adventurous in your tastes as the selections are creative and something you wouldn't necessarily think would be good -- but it is! Great food from beginning to end. The Bayleaf ice cream... YUM!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food is great but portions are very small for a very high price. Even a tea is $6.50!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The main room was great, sat at the bar. They originally put us in the quite room which didn't have a great atmosphere but they were more than happy to move us. Meatball appetizer was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

3rd time I've gone for dinner, and probably the last. The food was just not up to par- one of the appetizers was burned, the rockfish lacked flavor, and the scallops had an odd flavor combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and wonderful service! Will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I have been here on 3 trips to Baltimore. I have the rustic atmosphere and the food is unique,creative and fresh. I will keep coming back!!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.