Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 162 times today

Woodberry Kitchen

4.5
10538 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Local Ingredients
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Organic, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 464-8000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Spike Gjerde
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jolanta Kunkulis: (410) 464-8000
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Union Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 10538 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Hurt by high expectations. Mostly fine, but expected a bit more by reputation. Thus all prices slightly high (breakfast, lunch). On a par with Gertrude's, maybe a little less good---and at Gertrude's there's a museum. Bad music, too loud(if you're going to play bad music, at least keep it very low). Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Amazing restaurant with amazing service, my second time there the second of many

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Sat at the bar because the bartenders were so inviting. The ambience is phenomenal as is the service. This will be a new regular go to place whenever I’m in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

One of the best farm to table meals in the city. Enjoyed the atmosphere and great service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Been going to Woodberry for a long time and always had a good experience but this time not so much. Service was subpar. Plus it was unbelievably loud. Never really experienced that before. I'll be back but there's way to many other options now.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Food is always better than the pretentious service staff. Get over yourselves and enjoy being one of the best restaurants in Baltimore.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Woodberry Kitchen is a kind of happening place. It is noisy and casual. Unfortunately at times the service is too casual. My friend and I asked 3 times before we got a refill for our coffee and tea. The food is very good. We arrived at 11:15 for brunch. I had the eggs in purgatory which is a baked dish of eggs in a rich tomato broth with cheese curds, served with toasted flatbread. It is on the spicy side but very good. The curds and eggs cut the spice of the sauce somewhat. My friend had the quiche. It is a mile high kind of puffy quiche not the dense low rise type. It came with a salad but no bread of any kind. We also ordered an assorted dessert platter. The assortment included a donut, coffee cake, tart and pastry. The donut was more dense than expected, the coffee cake was delicious and so was the tart. The pastry was mostly dough, little filling. We had a very enjoyable time and did not feel rushed although the server did present the bill before we asked for it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

I would have given 4 stars but I had an allergic reaction after my brunch there a few days ago. The 3 stars are not for having an allergic reaction but in the way that follow up was handled, or, more appropriately, not handled. I emailed Woodberry shortly after leaving, asking for the ingredients of the items I ordered. I had hoped to receive a prompt response or at least some concern but even after 2+ days, no response.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely outstanding as usual. The wine list and sommelier are especially good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Woodberry Kitchen is my favorite restaurant bar none. I travel constantly and experience good food everywhere I go, and still I look forward to eating here every time I'm near Baltimore. The food is fresh, locally sourced, creative and delicious ... the cocktails are great and innovative ... the staff is very involved in the entire process ... ambience of the building and neighborhood redefines "cool". I could go on but I'm busy right now. Stop reading my review and go make a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was fabulous! Everything was beautiful and full of flavor. Server was outstanding and took great care of us. A sweet surprise at the end for the member of our party we were celebrating ended the night on a special note.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Too crowded, too noisy, too pretentious. Greeter should not have to make admends by comping drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Lives up to the hype. Excellent invenive dishes made with local ingredients. In an age when "Farm to Table" has become meaningless they really are walking the walk. A bit pricey but ultimately worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great service with outstanding food. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

great service great food. very creative how they made this restaurant out of old warehouse. i enjoy all their services. Oh they give something to taste for free..i know.. very nice vibe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

As always, a great visit. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE for these Open Table reservations, your follow up message should be “call if your plans have changed.” Lessens the whole value of using Open Table. Or text us with a “press 1” option. Realize your problem with no-shows but please make it easy for those of us with good show-up track records.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

They take the best, freshest ingredients and whip 'em up in simple-but-elegant ways. We'll definitely be back for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day at Woodberry Kitchen - magic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is an excellent choice for those who like to eat healthy. Everything is fresh and local. There is a great variety of items on the menu to satisfy everyone in your party. The food was absolutely delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Dined here for Mother's Day and it was phenomenal as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Have enjoyed both lunch and dinner at Woodberry. It never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food, as always, was inventive, fresh and delicious and the server was attentive and pleasant. As a vegan who does not eat animals or animal products, I count myself lucky if there is one truly vegan offering on the menu, which there was on the day of my visit. However, they could offer no cow milk substitute for my coffee. Really? In this day and age, where soy and almond milks are widely available, there is no excuse. I know Woodberry Kitchen prides itself on locally sourcing as much of their foodstuffs as they can, but I'm pretty sure the coffee didn't come from Maryland so it seems that there is some room for flexibility for plant-based milks as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was my second time there. The first time I was there for dinner and decided to take my mom the four Mother's day. We both enjoyed everything about our experience. The food was awesome and the customer service even better. I'll definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fantastic place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food and service here is amazing. However, it is very annoying that the tables are so close together upstairs that when someone gets up or you try to get to your seat you bump someone else’s table and things fall off. It so close that you are hearing every word of someone’s conversation. If you are larger than a size two you will have a hard time. If I am placed upstairs again I will not choose to eat here. It’s awkward, uncomfortable and a poor environment to spend a meal.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I've never waited 30 minutes to be seated before -- especially on a special occasion. Then it went downhill from there. Loud. Some sort of speaker over our heads blaring music. We ordered sparkling water and got tap. Our waiter did the traditional disappearing act after the main course was served. Ordering dessert felt as long as being seated. I longed to escape.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Attentive staff and delicious food. My wife and I came here based on a recommendation. We were not disappointed! Everyone was super friendly and the attention to detail was second to none!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Due to rain, the outdoor diners were moved inside and created a 50 Minute wait for our 7:15 reservation. Service went well and very loud.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food and ambiance were great. I had been there before for brunch and I thought the dinner food was much better than the brunch. It was very crowded and loud on a Saturday night, so definitely not a place to go if you are looking for peace and quiet. We made a reservation at 7:15pm for two but were not seated until almost 8:00pm. There was a thunderstorm so they couldn't use the seats outside, which is understandable. Still, it is frustrating when one makes a reservation and then still has to wait 45 minutes for their table.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went to the restaurant on a Saturday night and it was very crowded. We were seated right next to the pizza oven and were very hot on a hot day. Food was mediocre and prices were high. Ambiance (other than the hot seat we had) and service would pretty good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Love this place. Have been dining here since opening years back. Farm fresh food from local farms is great. Can’t say enough about the food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great place for local comfort food and old industrial location. Had reservations for mom's day brunch, but we waited an additional 30+ minutes for a seat-- even though there was seating available. The hostess was dismissive toward us-- maybe due to it being mom's day brunch? i wasn't impressed by that attitude, luckily our female server who was was a smart chef from LA-- proved to be nimble, and friendly which made up for the mishap upon our arrival. Food was great, but very expensive. Alcoholic beverages were yummy but lacked spirits!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very simply.....excellent food and excellent service. The appetizers, entree, and dessert were delicious. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, attentive, and polite.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Cool location. Very expensive for what you get. Was once one of my favorites, but now the food is just not worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful weekend brunch spot!

Excellent local menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Just a fabulous outdoor brunch. Couldn’t have had better food, and the atmosphere was delightful

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Nice evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Super knowledgeable wine staff!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food was excellent and our servers knowledge of the menu was outstanding. I wish I remembered her name because the way she navigated my parents thru the menu was quite impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Everything was amazing! Food, service, atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
250