About Woodberry Kitchen

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: (410) 464-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

French Press Coffee - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Manhampden Cocktail - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Smoked Beef & Potato Hash - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Liberty Delight Steak & Eggs - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Cocoa Donut Holes - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Eggs Benedict - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Plum Muffin And Stone Fruit Turnover - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Ice Cream & Sorbet - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Bake Shop On A Board - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Steak & Eggs - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Kitchen Bloody Mary - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Peanut Butter Brownie Bars - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Savory Danish - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Black Ankle Beef Tartare - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Oyster Stew - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Cheese Plate - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Tilghman Island Crab Pot - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Ice Cream Sandwich - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Deviled Eggs - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Apple Pie - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Ruby Sour - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Tilghman Island Crab Cake - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Wood-Roasted Ocean City Lobster Tail - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Rettland Farm Pork Chop - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Liberty Delight Tavern Steak - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Cmp - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Honey Macchiato - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Fried Chicken & Waffles - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Bread and Butter - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Government Mule - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Popcorn - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Rainbow Trout - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
16 Oz Ribeye With Cheesy Potato Gratin - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
CMP 1.0 - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
BLT - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
French Toast - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Pickles - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Roast Chicken - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Attaboy! Cocktail - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Mason Dixon Oysters - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Wood Grilled White And Americana Sausage - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
South Baltimore Tequila - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Chocolate Bomb - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Oysters - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Breakfast Burger - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Sizzling Pastrami & Potato Hash  - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Toasted Oat And Fresh Cream Ice Cream - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Soft Shell Crab Sliders - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD
Tomato Soup With Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore, MD

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (179)
Special Occasion (174)
Fit for Foodies (171)
See All
Good for a Date (152)
Creative Cuisine (149)
Handcrafted Cocktails (130)
Good for Anniversaries (121)
Good for Birthdays (112)
Worth the Drive (103)
Neighborhood Gem (100)
Seasonal (100)
Wood Oven (90)
Romantic (90)
Organic (83)
Cozy (80)
Hot Spot (80)
Authentic (79)
Open Kitchen (74)
Great for Brunch (71)
Historic (70)
Comfort Food (68)
Fun (66)
Healthy (59)
Good Vegetarian Options (53)
Casual (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Good for Groups (48)
Notable Wine List (48)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Fireplace (39)
Modern Decor (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Gluten Free Options (30)
Great Beer (26)
Business Meals (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Scenic View (15)
Family Style (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Vegan (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Private Room (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Tapas (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Spicy (4)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
9080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Let's get one thing straight, right now. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Let's get one thing straight, right now...We're foodies.

As usual, our visit was completely awesome. Woodberry was crazy hopping. It's such a fun crowd, to watch and be a part of.

How does Woodberry get it sooo right?

Our server, Paul, was the best; attentive, personable and took wonderful care of us.

The incredible menu makes it so hard to choose...but is guaranteed to satisfy no matter what you choose. We started with oysters and flatbreads, then progressed to our mains of 14 hour Beef, Chesapeake Bounty x 2, and Dayboat Scallops. Every time the food arrived, it went dead quiet at our table - everyone drooling from the fantastic aromas wafting up from our plates. For dessert, we had the Lattice Apple pie (not too sweet, not too tart w/perfect crust), Plum Congee (best I'd ever had) and Butterscotch pudding (butterscotch cloud wow!)- all superior.

If only licking one's plate was socially acceptable...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Great service and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience. Great service and a memorable meal.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, fresh imaginative food, g ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, fresh imaginative food, great beer and wine list. Can't wait to try it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The night didn't start well as we had to ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The night didn't start well as we had to wait almost an hour for our reservation. The service made up for it though. They were very apologetic and offered us a couple of appetizers on the house. The food was excellent, but I though the serving sizes were small for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Usually we love Woodberry and its one of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Usually we love Woodberry and its one of our favorite places as a special treat to go, but this time I was a little disappointed. I do want to note that the service is outstanding and the staff is excellent. We also still love the atmosphere to the restaurant as well. There were 4 of us in the party and we Ubered over to Woodberry so we could drink without having to worry about driving home. We started off with 2 round of cocktails (8 drinks in total) and while the drinks tasted ok, it didn't taste like there was any alcohol in any of them and when you are paying $12, you would think you there would be some. We had 2 appetizers to go with the cocktails, which both were very good, one was raw beef and the other was lamb sausage. For dinner, we had a bottle of wine for the table which was very good, Linden. For dinner, we ordered clams and grits, beef short ribs and duck. I will say the best entree's were the clams and duck, but even those were not stellar. The beef short ribs had a lot of fat on them, which made them taste good, but if you don't eat fat and cut all that off, you were left with very little beef/very little entree. The vegetables and sides that came with the dishes were all enjoyed. I have to say the best part of the meal was probably dessert, the CMP, Butterscotch pudding, and Crackling Creme were all very good. We also enjoyed cocktails with dessert, which the wine pairing and bourbon were excellent, however the amaretto was not good at all. We were just disappointed by the quality for what we paid (over $400 when said and done) and also by the available menu options. I felt like the menu during the winter is just ok, as opposed to the summer menu when you have a lot more options and I think everything tastes better. I still think Woodberry is a good restaurant, but I suspect we will probably stick with wine only and visit during the summer months.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The good: great food and service. Had a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The good: great food and service. Had a nice corner table upstairs. The old industrial theme and the great old building was a perfect marriage. The bad: very crowded, extremely loud, had to wait even with reservations, and ridiculously hard to find--not just the actual location but once you got there, the small, practically non existent signage to the restaurant was a challenge. Overall though, a very good experience, but those negatives detracted a bit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Woodberry brunch never disappoints. Food ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Woodberry brunch never disappoints. Food and service was great as always. They make dining with our one year old an enjoyable experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for Sunday morning ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation for Sunday morning the night before right when they opened at 10am, but we hit an unexpected delay when we had to chip the ice off our car that morning and got to the restaurant at 10:15am. They said they have a 15 minute hold policy and said that they wouldn't give us our table even after we held up our phone to show the time said EXACTLY 10:15am. We were seated at some uncomfortable high tops even though there were empty tables everywhere and service was not great in the bar area (literally no room to put your food, we ended up putting most of our food items on a ledge to the side of us just to be able to eat) We had been here before and they definitely treat you better if you get a table - I understand not being able to hold a reservation past a certain time, but to deny us at 10:15am when they literally just opened is pretty ridiculous, especially since the next reservation time slot was at 10:30am. I guess we needed to be waiting outside the restaurant before they even opened their doors. We like to come here occasionally because the food is great and tastes fresh, very pricey, but I feel like they handled this situation poorly and I was disappointed with the bad bar service.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was amazing. Recommended black ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing. Recommended black bean dip and the chicken and biscuit dish. All the drinks were tempting to order but I went with something different, the one with the beet juice in it. Will come back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic as always. Looking forward to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic as always. Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Private Room, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Historic, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service from the minute you wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent Service from the minute you walk in. The food is phenomenal!! Well worth the price!

Highly recommend and will certainly be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at Woodberry Kitchen sever ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We have eaten at Woodberry Kitchen several times. The food is well prepared from innovative recipes and the service is good. The crab fritters and sweet potatoes were terrific, but the rockfish was too salty. Desserts were mostly ice cream flavors; otherwise, they were limited.

The noise level is deafening and tables are too close together. We don't care for the decor and can't climb the stairs. The aluminum chairs are uncomfortable. Prices are too high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Went there with my Girlfriend last week. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Went there with my Girlfriend last week. Food was great, service was great, overall feel was also great.

The staff was really nice and fast with food and drinks. However, when most approach you they say this strange "Hi Friends" or "how are you doing friends", the friends thing is too odd, cult like...

Prices were a bit high, no reason for any beer to be more then $7 And a steak for $110...

Reservations are a must!

Might go back at some point.

Tags: Wood Oven, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Woodberry Kitchen has to be my favorite ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Woodberry Kitchen has to be my favorite Baltimore restaurant. The service, the food, the atmosphere - everything is fantastic. Local, fresh ingredients shape the menu that changes seasonally based on what is available. It is always outstanding. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay... Nothing special but it ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was okay... Nothing special but it was fresh so you can't fault them for quality. It was a little expensive and our server gave me a $16 Glass of wine instead of an $8 glass I asked for which isn't a huge deal but they also got my food order wrong.. it's a pretty good place but it's hard to walk away from a $40 meal you didn't really enjoy Happy. Maybe I'll try it again later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Hitting on all cylinders. Sometimes hit ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hitting on all cylinders. Sometimes hit or miss and kitchen can be a little slow but perfect on the night I ate. Waiter was best I ever had there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed this farm to table rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I really enjoyed this farm to table restaurant. Wonderful food!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. One of my 2 favs in Bmore ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place. One of my 2 favs in Bmore .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food in an amazing atmosphere, l ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing food in an amazing atmosphere, love going to woodberry for dinner

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter has celiac disease and Woodb ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My daughter has celiac disease and Woodberry Kitchen is conscientious about gluten-free. She can eat a delicious meal here and not get sick. That may not sound like a huge compliment or a big deal, but it is. Thanks a bunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing evening. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had an amazing evening. The food was incredible, the service was lovely and the whole experience was great. Strongly recommend for a fun date night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Woodberry Kitchen did not disappoint! I' ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Woodberry Kitchen did not disappoint! I'd been wanting to go for years and never had the chance. When a friend came into town and had a couple of hours to spend before catching a train, I took her there. The service was outstanding and the staff was very accommodating of the tight schedule we had. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was rustic and quaint. I'd love to go back on a day when I have more time to take it all in. Thanks Open Table and Woodberry Kitchen for the easy dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but our service SUCKED! I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was good but our service SUCKED! I wish I got our server's name (guy with beard), but he was not attentive, he seemed like he had a couple of friends dining that night coz he noticeably paid particular attention to that table. Our drinks came late a couple of times. We asked him for recommendations between dishes and he had a sarcastic answer that our whole table didn't appreciate. For it's reputation, the experience that night was a disappointment, sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a phenomenal date at Woodberry Ki ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had a phenomenal date at Woodberry Kitchen. Our waiter, Patrick, went above and beyond to make sure we had a great dining experience. He was a major part of why we had such a great night. The food was amazing as well! We'll definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey but very good. Enjoyed the ambian ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Pricey but very good. Enjoyed the ambiance , the food, cocktails , wine and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our date night! We work at the ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

It was our date night! We work at the capital grille in Washington DC. We dro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place. Was my first time! Serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent place. Was my first time! Service was spectacular. Had the jalenpeno hollandaise sauce, superb. Definitely try the French toast! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time for a 1:15 Sunday bru ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We arrived on time for a 1:15 Sunday brunch reservation. The waiting area was extremely crowded. The hostess let us know that they were running behind. They found a chair for my elderly mom to sit in. When the wait turned into half an hour, the manager brought us free drinks and pastries and was very apologetic. We had a time limit as we were scheduled to go to a concert later that afternoon and had thought we built in extra time. While the service was helpful, the kitchen was very busy so things took a while. Food was good and plentiful. Moral of the story: Don't go to Sunday brunch if your time is limited.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were not seated until half an hour af ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were not seated until half an hour after our reservation, for which we arrived exactly on time. Hungry when we arrived, it took quite some time before we were actually served. Overall, the food was tasty and there were many options for vegetarians. The ingredients are locally sourced when possible and seasonal. It's certainly "a spot" but its popularity without expedient service makes the waiting in the crowded bar or hall area unpleasant and frustrating. With myriad other places in the neighborhood for brunch, Woodberry Kitchen will need to step up the game in terms of seating parties quickly and serving their delicious food with more expedience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and drinks, but we had to wai ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food and drinks, but we had to wait for over half an hour and ended up eating at the bar although we had made reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went on a Sunday for a birthday brunch. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went on a Sunday for a birthday brunch. Mother didn't like her soda-too flat. The food seemed to be either really great or just ok. Prices are generally high but everything is fresh and local. Would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply outstanding food and service. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Simply outstanding food and service. The cocktails are the BEST! This is by far my favorite place to eat when I have the time to really enjoy a meal.

Tags: Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as always. We went fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was delicious as always. We went for appetizers and dessert instead of dinner this time. Delicious. Excellent service.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. This might be my new fav ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent meal. This might be my new favorite restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Organic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time back in over a year...started ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time back in over a year...started with the winter radishes...very nice, simple appetizer...the sea bass was good...same with the crab rigatoni, plenty of lump crab meat...nice selection of local draft beers...the blizzard was very good for a winter ale...overall a good experience...will stop back at some point :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, wine, champagne, excellent ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, wine, champagne, excellent service. We bought 4bottles of their Snake oil as gifts and one for ourselves. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Healthy, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated son's 24th! We ordered two a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Celebrated son's 24th! We ordered two appetizers and three Suppers. My son loved his meal which consisted of scallops and crab fritters. He said it was one of the best meals he had ever eaten!!

We shared steak tartare for the table. This was exceptional although a bit difficult to eat with the chips provided. We ordered one dozen Raw oysters and they were plump and delicious but it would have been better to serve the various sauces in small cups with spoons. The lighting in the upper dining area is poor and it was difficult to see what we were eating. Table was also cramped for 3 persons.

The "Old Fashioned" cocktail was delicious!! My husband ordered a whole fish but was unimpressed and it was again hard to see what he was eating. I ordered the Chicken and biscuit and was disappointed. The chicken was overpowered with herbs although the skin was beautifully charred. The collard greens were too briny but could have been delicious given the smoky flavor. The biscuit was the most delicious part of the meal. I wrapped the remainder of my meal to go and my dachshund loved the leftovers.

I believe sticking to small plates may be a better way to go at this restaurant during cold months . The "Supper"s are expensive and I don't mind that as long as the meal is stellar! I love this restaurant when crab is in season and if I go back soon, I'll stick with small plates. We shared a 1/2 bottle of Alexander B. Cabernet and it was nice.

Our server was pleasant. The staff is lovely but they can do better with the "Suppers".

Only three stars this time. Was hoping for five. The bill with tax and tip was $320.00.

Tags: Organic, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Restaurant was way too crowded, and mayb ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Restaurant was way too crowded, and maybe that's why we were seated so close to our neighboring tables. Hence, we had to converse loudly, as it was too noisy around. Food is way too pricy and options are limited. I didn't like any food item that had chicken. Nevertheless, the place is aesthetically rustic and old.

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I've been to the Woodberry Kitchen maybe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I've been to the Woodberry Kitchen maybe 5 times within the past 5 years, each time prior to this most recent visit the service and food was remarkable. However, during my most recent visit in January 2017 the food was just okay. The bean dip, which was highly recommended by the server, was lacking in flavor and lacked salt and pepper. They did not have any sort of house vinaigrette, only buttermilk dressing, but offered to make one for the salad I ordered but that, too, was also very basic (white vinegar and oil).

Perhaps that night was just a bad night.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.