About Woodberry Kitchen

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: 4104648000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

French Press Coffee
Manhampden Cocktail
Smoked Beef & Potato Hash
Liberty Delight Steak & Eggs
Cocoa Donut Holes
Eggs Benedict
Plum Muffin And Stone Fruit Turnover
Ice Cream & Sorbet
Bake Shop On A Board
Steak & Eggs
Kitchen Bloody Mary
Peanut Butter Brownie Bars
Savory Danish
Black Ankle Beef Tartare
Oyster Stew
Cheese Plate
Tilghman Island Crab Pot
Ice Cream Sandwich
Deviled Eggs
Apple Pie
Ruby Sour
Tilghman Island Crab Cake
Wood-Roasted Ocean City Lobster Tail
Rettland Farm Pork Chop
Liberty Delight Tavern Steak
Cmp
Honey Macchiato
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Bread and Butter
Government Mule
Popcorn
Rainbow Trout
16 Oz Ribeye With Cheesy Potato Gratin
CMP 1.0
BLT
French Toast
Pickles
Roast Chicken
Attaboy! Cocktail
Mason Dixon Oysters
Wood Grilled White And Americana Sausage
South Baltimore Tequila
Chocolate Bomb
Oysters
Breakfast Burger
Sizzling Pastrami & Potato Hash
Toasted Oat And Fresh Cream Ice Cream
Soft Shell Crab Sliders
Tomato Soup With Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (455)
Special Occasion (390)
Neighborhood Gem (276)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (250)
Romantic (237)
Hot Spot (196)
Great for Brunch (194)
Good for Groups (157)
Notable Wine List (119)
Vibrant Bar Scene (80)
Great for Lunch (79)
Scenic View (79)
Kid-friendly (58)
Late-night Find (37)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
8244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seasonal menu always offers great select ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Seasonal menu always offers great selections. On the snack menu there's always something fresh and delicious on toast (currently heirloom tomatoes) definitely get that! Nothing from food to cocktails is a bad choice! My favorite place to eat in Baltimore for a reason!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my fourth time to Woodberry Kit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my fourth time to Woodberry Kitchen. While the fresh ingredients and interesting dishes keep me coming back, I once again felt the tinge of disappointment which keeps me coming back only once a year. The drinks were slow to arrive, causing the flow of the evening to drag. The food was overly salty (which is something I don't typically mind, but SO salty that we couldn't eat one dish). I would suggest ordering several of the small portions to get a variety. Our best tastings were recommended by our server. The chicken and biscuit, large dish was very bland. I fed it to my dog when I got home. If I had just ordered "supper" I would have been even more disappointed. (My suggestion, go for the small dishes, skip "supper" and order your next drink as soon as you order the first.)

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The tomato and mozz salad was amazing as ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

The tomato and mozz salad was amazing as was the "green apple crisp" Virginia Chardonnay. Fantastic advice from waitstaff. Expensive but very very good indeed.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat outside and the mood and setting ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We sat outside and the mood and setting were so cozy and ambient! We loved everything about the atmosphere and the meals were delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had better foods and experiences ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have had better foods and experiences at WK, but still enjoyed the occasion.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Well it was on my list of restaurants to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Well it was on my list of restaurants to try and I tried it. It was nice. Presentation was good and we had a good time. I enjoyed the dessert of melons with melon sorbet, it was nice and light. Visually it was wonderful, food wise it was fine, but then again, I've been spoiled by better. I think I was let down by many great reviews, and those high expectations were not met upon tasting the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place for a special dinner . The se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place for a special dinner . The service was excellent and atmosphere was nice outside on a decent night. Will return again when I am in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Baltimore! Food is fa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best restaurant in Baltimore! Food is fantastic and the wait staff is exceptionally courteous and knowledge about the menu. Highly recommended.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great, food is so fresh, local, e ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always great, food is so fresh, local, expertly prepared with excellent service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience from the opening ro ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent experience from the opening round of cocktails at the bar to the apps, dinner, dessert, and nightcap back at the bar. Everything we had was delicious, service was excellent, ambiance was great. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Baltimore. Just don't be more than 15 minutes later for your reservation or else you might lose your table!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saltiest fluke and pasta I have ever ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Saltiest fluke and pasta I have ever had. Not worth the $36! I have never complained about food in my whole life until this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Ended up being a great experience and ba ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Ended up being a great experience and bartender was great. Wonderful vegetarian options and food was good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Wood Oven, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was amazing. While our server ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was amazing. While our server was excellent, the service was very slow. We had a reservation and were seated over a half hour late. It also took a long time for the server to come to our table, take our order and deliver the first round of food. After that the service picked up. The food made the wait worthwhile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

The first time I visited Woodberry Kitch ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The first time I visited Woodberry Kitchen, I loved it! Our service was great and the food was delicious. The last time I visited Woodberry Kitchen, we had to wait a long time for our table (even though the hostess told us it would only be a few moments), and we didn't receive much attention from then on. They put us in a side room and took a very long time to take our drink order, let alone our dinner order. The food was tasty but not worth the wait. Our waiter never came back to give us the check - we had to flag down two other waiters to pay so we could leave! It was a very disappointing experience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I understand that it is a local farm to ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I understand that it is a local farm to table restaurant; however, please get order lemons and have them on hand.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This place is cool. It's in a great old ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This place is cool. It's in a great old steel mill and has fantastic architecture.

Service was great. The staff knows their stuff. The food was super fresh. Local ingredients, a delicious variety - we certainl want to go back.

It's kind of funny because as you drive there you feel as though you might be near some crack houses, but then you turn into the neighborhood and you are in the middle of this awesome area - you might just want to move in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the Farm raised trout with potatoe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had the Farm raised trout with potatoes, it was delicious, my date had Crab cake with cucumber salad she loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants, and we are very discerning DC diners. Oh but if we could actually have a conversation. The noise level at Woodbury is really the only minus. Unfortunately, it is like so many really fine dining experiences today. That said, we return several times a year despite the 60+mile distance for the creative offerings.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great special occasion place although ca ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great special occasion place although can get pricey pretty quick. The brunch was excellent. The eggs with pork belly were a real treat, as was the buttermilk fried chicken. And they make wonderful bloody marys. I love this restaurant and it's always a treat to dine there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at Woodberry kitchen previo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have dined at Woodberry kitchen previously and I always enjoy the food, drinks, and service. This was my first time there for Sunday brunch. This also did not diasppoint. My only complaint is the parking situation- it was a rainy day and very busy and we were stuck waiting for our valetd car in the rain:(

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 7 people. Did cal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Made a reservation for 7 people. Did call the day before our reservation requesting to add another person. They were very accommodating and told us we had a table that would even sit 10. However received a voicemail later asking to confirm reservations for the evening when our reservations were for brunch. This did cause some confusion but was clarified with a phone call. Part of our party was running a few minutes late. We were told that they would not seat us until our entire party was there. We grabbed a few seats at the bar...the drinks were great. When the rest of our party arrived we were then told our table was not ready. This also was ok because we had seats at the bar and the bartenders were great. But why make your patrons feel like they are responsible for not being seated. We were not seated for almost 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation. All in all the waiting staff and bartenders awesome!!! Food great!!! Hostesses seemed a little lost. Did have a fun family brunch

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Another great birthday brunch! The Wood ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another great birthday brunch! The Woodberry Kitchen is our birthday brunch tradition these past few years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and it was amazing. N ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went for brunch and it was amazing. Not your average brunch. Good amount of menu items to choose from. More than we'd normally spend to dine out, but worth the price. Looking forward to trying their dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best crab cake we've ever had!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best crab cake we've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little loud, but great night overall. ...

 
 (Berlin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A little loud, but great night overall. Everything was exceptionally fresh. Definitely plan to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Appetizers were good everything overpric ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Appetizers were good everything overpriced, crab soup was horrible, entrees were not great, took along time to get food, restaurant was loud and tables were on top of each other. Won't be going back.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Amazing restaurant. Great decor, ambianc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing restaurant. Great decor, ambiance, and staff. Food was solid. It's a bit pricey and sometimes when it gets busy it can be a bit slower, but overall, wonderful. Cocktails are strong and tasty and change up quite a bit. Food dishes change but they always have some solid ones that don't change each time i've gone. It's wonderful for special occasions as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative and delicious cocktails featuri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Creative and delicious cocktails featuring local ingredients. Our crabcakes were superb, the best we've had anywhere.

Only quibble was the somewhat slow service. That said, we were dining outside on a gorgeous evening and weren't in a rush so waiting a bit longer than we expected for our main courses wasn't a big deal. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic food, vibe, and drinks. Highly ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic food, vibe, and drinks. Highly recommend the farmers daughter cocktail. Great outdoor, seating! Love love love. Will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent . Great local su ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was excellent . Great local summer choices. The cocktail menu had many summer drink options.

The service was very attentive . The atmosphere is fun to sit and watch all the activity.

This is a favorite restaurant for our family and friends

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server (can't remember his name, sli ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our server (can't remember his name, slight european accent) was phenomenal. he answered every question thoroughly and was very attentive, as well as the rest of the staff.

Food was excellent as usual. Non-entree portions tend to be on the small side but the entrees are fulfilling.

As always, we appreciate the use of local ingredients and support of local food providers.

Thanks again!

Tyme Gigliotti

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGG I drive from new yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGG I drive from new york just to come to this place every year. its my favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners I've had since c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of the best dinners I've had since coming to Baltimore two years ago. The menu was interesting and creative. The food very well prepared. The service knowledgable and efficient. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The rustic atmosphere is charming. Servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The rustic atmosphere is charming. Service staff were knowledgeable and attentive. Our server was a bit pretentious. However, my first dish, soft-shell crabs, was heavily salted. I had to send it back as inedible. My replacement dish was shrimp with rice and a sauce somewhat similar to gumbo. It was adequate and forgetful. The dessert, peach shortcake, was delicious. The server attempted to charge me for the higher-priced entree dish I had to return and appeared somewhat annoyed when I questioned her about the mistake. Overall, I have dined at WK six or more times in the past and enjoyed my meals. This time not so much. I am not likely to return any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The CMT is an excellent dessert that I h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The CMT is an excellent dessert that I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I've been to Woodberry Kitchen twice now ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been to Woodberry Kitchen twice now, and both times were great experiences! Fresh and premium ingredients go a long way when you know how to use them well like this kitchen staff! Amazing food and drinks! Cocktails are definitely created and served with tender loving care! We arrived 10 minutes early with reservations and were seated right away. Staff was friendly and eager to help; great teamwork to make it all come together! The cost was up there, but still a very fair price for a great meal experience. I've paid much more for much less elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent e extra service so friendly an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent e extra service so friendly and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is overpriced. The food was n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is overpriced. The food was nothing to write home about especially for the price. The waiter I had was not very helpful with food choices. I let him know it was my first time visiting and he did nothing to make sure I returned. I will not be back and honestly would not recommend to anyone either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent restaurant except for the over ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent restaurant except for the over 20 minute wait even with my reservation. ....

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was our only compliant. The menu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was our only compliant. The menu raised som questions which the waiter was not helpful at answering. He was not attentive, and it took a long time to be served once we ordered. I expected a better quality service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.