Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Woodberry Kitchen

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: (410) 464-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (279)
Fit for Foodies (231)
Special Occasion (208)
See All
Good for a Date (204)
Creative Cuisine (199)
Handcrafted Cocktails (175)
Good for Anniversaries (162)
Worth the Drive (145)
Great for Outdoor Dining (143)
Neighborhood Gem (132)
Good for Birthdays (127)
Seasonal (124)
Organic (115)
Romantic (112)
Authentic (109)
Hot Spot (97)
Great for Brunch (92)
Fun (87)
Casual (82)
Cozy (73)
Good for Groups (73)
Good Vegetarian Options (68)
Comfort Food (64)
Notable Wine List (61)
Sunday Lunch (57)
Bar Seating (52)
People Watching (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Gluten Free Options (42)
Open Kitchen (40)
Business Meals (40)
Great Beer (37)
Great for Lunch (35)
Wood Oven (34)
Scenic View (30)
Paleo Friendly (28)
Tasting Menu (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Happy Hour (22)
Historic (21)
Vegan (20)
Late-night Find (18)
Afternoon Coffee (17)
Tapas (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Fireplace (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Private Room (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
9754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Been to Woodberry several times. Can sometimes be hit or miss depending on the available ingredients of the season. We like to go here at the end of the summer when more produce is in harvest, but this time the options were not abundant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Ambience is excellent. Food was above average but not over get top. Drinks were very good and creative. Our server was fair. She forgot one of our guests appetizer. After a long wait for brunch to be served, none of us had forks. We asked for forks on 2 separate occasions, while she prepared and delivered a tables Check, other services etc. After a good 10 minutes and 2 requests, she brought 3 forks for 4 people. After waiting some more, we finally stole one from another table. By that time, the food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely loved the farm-to-table fare, and their nod to seasonal ingredients. The day cocktails were superb, and their scallops and grits deserve a standing ovation!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Waited 30 minutes for a table with a reservation. We were only offered water as a apology. Unfriendly server and management. Okra over fried and the dip was unpleasant tasting. Some dishes were a nice size but most were tiny especially the . Gazpacho and so ft shell crabs. Meatballs and the beet salad were good. Has more potential than the restaurant exhibits. Most importantly the staff should be friendlier which would make up for many of the other concerns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I don't mean to be negative. Woodberry has a great reputation and reservations have been hard to get. It's great that they specialize in local sourcing, but I never expected that mean my husband (whose birthday celebration it was) couldn't get an OLIVE for his Martini! We were also packed in cheek-to-jowl and could barely converse. They asked and knew it was a special occasion, but didn't provide a table that was conducive. I'm glad we tried it, the food was very good, but not our sort of place, ultimately.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

We come every year from dc for my best friends birthday. It's always the place he chooses. We had a good time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

First time at Woodberry Kitchen. I have read and heard a lot about this restaurant. The food and service met all of the expectations. Excellent meal, wonderful service, and I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

It is outstanding. We would rather eat at WK than at any restaurant in D.C. It cannot be overemphasized how delicious our food was. Four people, four very different orders, all the food was fantastic.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service! The handcrafted cocktails were excellent and my food was excellent. I had two different entrées because I'm greedy and love to eat : ) The waiter suggested I order one as a kid portion if I thought it would be too much. It was the perfect size and just enough. If you're in Baltimore and looking for a place with great food and drinks. This is the place!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wow so yummy!! Great cocktails. The doughnut board was amazing and there were great brunch options. A perfect stop on our Baltimore tour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable - from the moment we entered the door, to when we departed. The watermelon appetizer was an interesting combination of herbs, salt and perfectly ripe melon, perfect greens, and entrée as expected - perfectly cooked chicken with accoutrements. Loved the simple espresso ice cream float (simply a coffee cup of ice cream, we chose vanilla, and a full espresso cup - to be combined however desired). I wish that there were more vegetarian/vegan options. Many entrées had an accompanying pork variation of something, including fish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We've been going to Woodberry Kitchen for years to celebrate special occasions like birthdays and graduation and it's always been great. This time I was underwhelmed. The food was good but not outstanding. My steak was not cooked as I wanted and while the hostess took it back to the kitchen to try & make it right, it just seemed like the put more sauce on it to cover up the fact it was still undercooked. Therefore my son ate most of my dinner. Hoping it was just an off night.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, exciting cocktails, and great, friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Woodberry Kitchen several times. Each time I go I am less impressed, perhaps inversely proportionally to how self impressed the staff is. This visit was no different. The best aspect of the meal was that the weather cooperated and since the restaurant was not busy (midweek in August), we were able to sit outside. The food was solid but contrary to what our server said - the menu had not changed significantly in the past week (I had looked prior to making the reservation). I had the trout. It was rather dry and uninspiring. One of my companions had the skillet chicken. That is on the menu (almost) every time I have been there. It is very good, but it's still just chicken. Other people had crab cake, tavern steak - nothing notable. The service was marginal. We asked for more bread, and then had to ask again. We ordered a couple of additional drinks during the meal. They arrived near the end when we were preparing to order dessert. Please note that the restaurant was not busy.
Overall, Woodberry Kitchen is solid. The pretentiousness of the staff is off-putting. The food is good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our 4th visit and we continue to LOVE it! Each time we have sat in a different 'section' which really changes the experience. The appetizers and entrees are good, but desserts are 'to die for'!!! Great cocktails and tasty beers. We will continue to visit...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food, as amazing as it is, is only one of the wonders of this place. Complementary valet parking attendants are courteous and friendly. The staff knows the menu, what ingredients are used and their source, what's in season. My wife and I have NEVER understood the desire of others to take photos of their dinners, but this place made us both want to do exactly that. Even the cocktails are nearly works of art (and delicious!) As most restaurants throw a complimentary basket of bread at you, Woodberry Kitchen brought out samples of deviled eggs, toasted sourdough bread with crab dip, and salted watermelon slices. It's more than a dinner, it's an experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

First visit to woodberry kitchen. Had excellent service and delicious food. Will be back again

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was delicious . Interesting menu options. Great locally sourced ingredients. Pricey, and small portions. Great for a special occasion, not every day dinner. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 8, 2017

What can I say about Woodberry Kitchen. It is probably one of the top 5 dining spots in our area. Yes it is very expensive but this is a dining experience not just eating. If you do not like an open kitchen, open bar and noise do not go. It is high level dining in an old warehouse with some of the most imaginative food in our City. We had so much food it is hard to talk about all of it.. However, I want to point out two or three really exquisite items. The bread was to die for. Our Maryland crab cakes in a skillet were superb and oh so sweet with no filler and no grease. This makes every crab cake in our City seem ordinary. It was served with a fresh luscious tomato salad and a potato dish that melted in our mouths. My son had a beautiful garden salad that looked like a freshly picked flower. We ended with a dish of three flavors of cold but not overly sweet home made fruit sorbet. The service was impeccable with Brad our server leading the team of many. The check was provided and yes it was expensive. However, if you want to dine and not just eat, go to Woodberry for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This was our first visit, and we were very impressed. The locally sourced ingredients, including many distilled spirits, were varied and what we tried was delicious. Portions were small enough that adding on starters and having dessert didn't leave us completely stuffed. The flank steak was perfectly cooked (for me) and not dry. The crab cake was awesome, very fresh and with no filler.
We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

By far one of the best dining experiences I've had in in Maryland

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always wonderful! And some nights it's spectacular!! You walk away in wonder.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at Woodberry Kitchen. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing food! A bit pricey, but worth it - local ingredients, creative dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food and drinks were amazing as usual. We love the seasonal menu. We had lunch here on a Sunday. They were quite busy so our service was very slow and lacking. We weren't too upset that the hostess and servers seemed to be ignoring us, because the meal was very memorable.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Hello
I do not take pleasure in writing this review but I felt like I needed to express my disappointment. My sister picked this place to celebrate her Birthday. I made a reservation several weeks prior for an afternoon luncheon. We were seated upstairs; I know we waited close to an hour for our food and when we finally did receive it , well, it wasn't very good. Between the the service, food and value... not worth it to us, very overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We waited for over a half an hour past our reservation to be seated. Our order took almost an hour to come out of the kitchen. No one came by to speak to us during this time, and, even when I approached front of house staff, no explanation was ultimately given other than "it's not personal the chefs are doing the best they can."
Additionally, I had asked for a side which never came but we had been waiting so long I opted not to wait any longer at that point.
It is really unfortunate because we had always had great brunches here when we visited our Baltimore friends in the past, but now don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

one of my favorite places to eat.
the food is always so fresh and I love the creativity of the kitchen's use of spices.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely meal in a beautiful setting. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The wait was 50 minutes on top of the reservation. Reserved at 9:00 PM, arrived at 8:50 PM and got seated at 9:50 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was so excited to go to this restaurant because everyone always raved about it. We weren't able to get a reservation until 8:45 so we decided to go early and have a few drinks. When it came time for us to be seated, we were told our table was not ready. 45 minutes later we were still at the bar with no answers as to what the issue was. Thank god a few seats opened up at the bar itself and we just ate there since it was almost 10pm. The bartenders were amazing at trying to remedy the issues and the food was excellent but overall I was disappointed with the way the hostesses dealt with the reservation issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Long wait times can be improved, but food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent server. Very efficient and was a busy Saturday night. Food was excellent. Pricey but expected with the quality.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We waited 30 mins for our table with reservation. The food took almost an hour to arrive, our waiter was very rude and disrespectful.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was underwhelming and the service was incredibly slow. The servers kept saying how busy they were but it was clear they just forgot to make my entree. Extremely disappointed with the entire experience. Way overpriced for what I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were seated at 8 pm and at 10 pm still had not been served our entrees. The manager was less than apologetic. After waiting 15 more minutes to see if our food would appear we decided to leave. Poor service and management. Food is overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ate there one year prior and the experience was outstanding . Recently was a disappointment

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Woodberry Kitchen is my all-time favorite restaurant. The food melts in your mouth, and the servers know absolutely everything about what is being served each day. Even their gluten-free options are delicious. I have come to really enjoy the friendly, homey, yet classy and special feel of this place. I especially love the outside dining area, complete with fireplace. I will be going back again and again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food and service were off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Add this to your must go list! Great atmosphere, phenomenal food, great variety, fun drinks. Will be going back!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Seasonal, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.