About Woodberry Kitchen

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: 4104648000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

French Press Coffee
Manhampden Cocktail
Steak & Eggs
Plum Muffin And Stone Fruit Turnover
Ice Cream & Sorbet
Liberty Delight Steak & Eggs
Eggs Benedict
Kitchen Bloody Mary
Peanut Butter Brownie Bars
Bake Shop On A Board
Cocoa Donut Holes
Smoked Beef & Potato Hash
Savory Danish
Black Ankle Beef Tartare
Oyster Stew
Cheese Plate
Tilghman Island Crab Pot
Ice Cream Sandwich
Deviled Eggs
Ruby Sour
Tilghman Island Crab Cake
Wood-Roasted Ocean City Lobster Tail
Apple Pie
Liberty Delight Tavern Steak
Cmp
Rettland Farm Pork Chop
Honey Macchiato
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Government Mule
Bread and Butter
Popcorn
Rainbow Trout
CMP 1.0
16 Oz Ribeye With Cheesy Potato Gratin
BLT
French Toast
Wood Grilled White And Americana Sausage
Mason Dixon Oysters
Attaboy! Cocktail
Pickles
Roast Chicken
South Baltimore Tequila
Chocolate Bomb
Oysters
Breakfast Burger
Tomato Soup With Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Soft Shell Crab Sliders
Toasted Oat And Fresh Cream Ice Cream
Sizzling Pastrami & Potato Hash

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
1 More
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (487)
special occasion (400)
neighborhood gem (286)
See All
great for brunch (228)
romantic (215)
great for outdoor dining (215)
hot spot (213)
good for groups (167)
notable wine list (122)
vibrant bar scene (86)
great for lunch (85)
scenic view (66)
kid-friendly (60)
late-night find (34)
Sort By:
Newest
8064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service. They even ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, great service. They even made me custom brunch cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

They sat us outside on their patio at ou ...

Dined 3 days ago

They sat us outside on their patio at our request - except there wasn't any shade for the table they put us at. I actually watched my husband turn red as I became increasingly uncomfortable. Side note - those metal chairs don't take long at all to heat up when you head inside to cool off a bit. YIKES! The food was delish, but I couldn't enjoy the experience as I was so uncomfortably hot. I'm sure if you're inside or under the umbrella it's different.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

We arrived 30 minutes early for a 9:15 r ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We arrived 30 minutes early for a 9:15 reservation and did not get seated until well after 10:00. I spoke to the hostess shortly after our reservation time had passed and was told that we would be seated shortly. Only to wait another 45 minutes. Once we were seated, the waiter, having heard about our long wait, tried to make up for it by bringing us some stale popcorn and bland deviled eggs, followed by an over salted butcher flat bread. This sad showing was followed by our entrées of over cooked scallops and beef bolognese which tasted like noodles with a garnish of poorly seasoned taco meet. The evening was finished by a serving of chalky and pasty ice cream with indiscernible flavors. I have previously dined at Woodberry Kitchen and left wanting to come back for more. After this experience, I am disappointed to say that I have no interest in dining there again. While the food left a little to be desired, I do want to say the drinks were excellent as was the service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Woodberry Kitchen always impresses me. I ...

Dined 3 days ago

Woodberry Kitchen always impresses me. I love being able to sit around the fire with a drink while we wait to be seated. My only complaint is that we were seated at least 30 mins after our reservation time. But I know that it depends on how long other patrons take, so I couldn't hold that against Woodberry. The raw selection has been my favorite throughout the seasonal menu changes. And the desserts are sinfully delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had to wait almost an hour for our re ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had to wait almost an hour for our reservation. Appetizers were "on the house" but still . . .

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was inventive and delicious and ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was inventive and delicious and the service was superb. HOWEVER, I can't stand when restaurants face people into a wall, and when I have to lean towards my dining partner in order to hear them. Those 2 things will stop me from returning.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Had a $150 gift card. Used part of that ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a $150 gift card. Used part of that a while ago for brunch, which was OK but not enough food. Had 6:30p res, arrived at 6pm we were seated upstairs immediately. Server Brad great guy, very attentive. Very noisy place, menu print was very small so difficult to read (without my glasses!). Outdoor seating would have been better. Cheese on toast was excellent. I ordered goatchella on barley, with steamed chard as a side. OK, but not a good choice. Ate all of it, really full after. Should've got a big salad and a side. My date had steak - better choice. We had 3 glasses of wine and one of madeira $48 total; probably next time get a bottle or half-bottle (expensive wine list btw), a better idea. Whole meal for 2: $164 + $30 tip = $194. Pretty expensive for us. Server, waiters, water guys all very good, timely. Don't know if we'll be back for a while.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This has become one of our favorite plac ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This has become one of our favorite places, not only to eat, but also just to be. We love the atmosphere & have never been disappointed with the food. We like the fact that we are able to have something different each time, being that the menus rotate depending on which fresh products are available. The food is always full of flavor. The only issue I have is with the seasoning of the fish. No matter which fish I have had, it was usually a bit too salty for me. We have great Servers on each visit. They are knowledgeable about all the items on the menu and will not steer you wrong. Then again, you could not go wrong with anything you may chose. I must also add that Woodberry Kitchen is dedicated to their customers. On the last visit, we were comped for a mishap that occurred to me on a previous visit. I did not fret about it as I knew it was an accident. Our waiter asked about it and brought us a complimentary dish, which really surprised us. They must keep good notes, which is a plus, especially for repeat customers. Overall, Woodberry Kitchen remains on our favorites list. Until next visit. . .

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food at Woodberry was excellent. We ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food at Woodberry was excellent. We ordered the crab dip, black seabass and duck breast. Each meal was prepared very well and we could not stop raving about the taste quality and presentation. The waiter was very knowledgeable on all of the items on the menu and he gave good recommendations. This is the best restaurant that I have eaten at in the Baltimore area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect Dining Experience. Se ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely Perfect Dining Experience. Server was very knowledgeable, attentive, and suggested some great food selections. The 'Raw Beef on Toast' was amazing! Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was amazing and came out timely ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and came out timely. The waiter didn't take our drink order right away then once he did it took a long time for them to come out. I think we got one our appetizers before our drinks.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The house specialty drinks were an inter ...

Dined 5 days ago

The house specialty drinks were an interesting mixture of various ingredients, the one we had was a delightful surprise of herbs and berries. The waiter was helpful on answering questions and making recommendations. The food was very good. I look forward to a future return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was wonderful, loved the ...

Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was wonderful, loved the rustic vibe. Food was reasonably priced for the flavor and portion sizes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummm it's amazing The best restaurant i ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Yummm it's amazing The best restaurant in Baltimore farm to table inventive Beautiful food✨💫💙

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try in the area, excellent food a ...

Dined 5 days ago

A must try in the area, excellent food and service !!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rabbit leg special was wonderful. Devil ...

Dined 5 days ago

Rabbit leg special was wonderful. Deviled eggs best in the city still. We were seated right away and service was great. Strongly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We made a reservation but waited for abo ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We made a reservation but waited for about an hour to be seated. That being said the manager comped us appetizers and our waiter was wonderful. The noise level was a bit much, but the great food made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Very overrated. Service was not excellen ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Very overrated. Service was not excellent, seating was crowded and very loud, food was decent but not amazing and very overpriced.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I was underwhelmed given the hype. The ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

I was underwhelmed given the hype. The kale Caesar was meh. The waiter initially dropped off the wrong small dish and also had to check our order with us shortly after taking it (why can't servers write orders down anymore??). The sea bass was okay but boney and the sauce was not complimentary to the fish- just didn't go well. Best part was dessert! The strawberry shortcake was pretty amazing. All-in-all I was expecting greatness but walked away a bit disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the rustic, authentic ambiance and ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Love the rustic, authentic ambiance and visual appearance of the outdoor dining area. I was impressed by the intense yet subtle flavors that complemented each other perfectly. The waitress had a true understanding of the menus items and where their ingredients are sourced, even though the menu changes often (we ordered from a weekend menu).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2

Kilt Kale and Turkey Flatbread were grea ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Kilt Kale and Turkey Flatbread were great. Scallop & crab cake entree were nothing special.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall the food was great, but our wait ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall the food was great, but our waitress kept trying to upsell us on every single thing we ordered, which got old pretty quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We recently visited Woodberry Kitchen to ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We recently visited Woodberry Kitchen to celebrate my husband's birthday. As a party of five, we were seated upstairs in an uncomfortable small booth where we had to constantly lean forward to see our party to converse. The food was good but not great. The cost was on the high side. I have had a better experience on previous visits. Pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! Incredible! Summer m ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Incredible! Summer menu is perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here and we had wonderful ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our first time here and we had wonderful service from Elizabeth. We sat upstairs and the view was amazing! Good was awesome from the tilefish and scallops to the flatbread and beet salad. Finished up with strawberry shortbread and iced coffee!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good restuarant.. Very cool outside ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good restuarant.. Very cool outside and good drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience! Impeccable ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Impeccable service and highest quality food. Roasted vegetable appetizer followed by fresh rockfish and the tavern steak. The sides are treated with as much care as the proteins

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special evening. Perfect weather to ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Very special evening. Perfect weather to dine outside, outstanding, beautifully presented food and service by individuals clearly committed to presenting superb farm to table cuisine. It was our first visit but it clearly will not be our last.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Cold turkey and stuffing

Dined on June 17, 2016

Cold turkey and stuffing

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was super good. Thanks to Ke ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was super good. Thanks to Kevin and the rest of the WK crew for making it such a great evening. Raw beef on toast. Yum.

food2
ambience4
service4

Food was good quality but majorly over s ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was good quality but majorly over salted! I was disappointed and I usually add salt to my food .... But with no salt added was too salinated all across the board. Though service / ambiance great not worth it for the need to drink water all night/next day

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never on time. reservation was at 9:30 b ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Never on time. reservation was at 9:30 but we were sitted after 10 pm. Food and service were great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Greatest farm to table in Baltimore. The ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Greatest farm to table in Baltimore. The food is fresh and prepared perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've now had four meals at Woodberry, a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We've now had four meals at Woodberry, and every dish has been outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was very knowledgeable...really k ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable...really knew the menu! Attentive and timely food delivery

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Woodberry Kitchen is a wonderful restaur ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Woodberry Kitchen is a wonderful restaurant in Baltimore. It never disappoints with regard to the food the friendliness of staff, etc. We did have a concerning issue this time though. Our reservations were for 7:45. We arrived around 7:30 and were told that we would be seated closer to our reservation time and could have a seat outside . That's all good. I looked at my watch and it was 8:15. I went and asked how much longer our wait would be and was not given a clear answer. We ended up waiting until about 8:35 to be seated. That's excessive. The reservation scheduling needs work. Everyone was very nice and we were brought popcorn and deviled eggs to tide us over, but we came from out of town and had over an hour drive home. Had we known the wait was going to be that long, we would have went elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Bean dip was only edible course. Terribl ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Bean dip was only edible course. Terrible: fried green tomatoes, scallops. Weird "'jsalad " was actually a bowl of very salty roasted veggies. Pretentious sommelier.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

delicious dinner - we shared two vegetar ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

delicious dinner - we shared two vegetarian dishes . we each had a glass of wine and shared a dessert. we LOVED sitting outside as dining inside is too noisy - one cannot talk easily. we do wish that an effort to baffle the sound would be under taken.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food, sevice and locale are great! We d ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food, sevice and locale are great! We don't care for the decor/ambiance, but I suppose many others like it. Food and drinks are expensive, but the food tastes are unique and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was really good and our wait ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was really good and our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.