Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Woodberry Kitchen

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: (410) 464-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (205)
Fit for Foodies (200)
Good for a Date (177)
See All
Special Occasion (176)
Creative Cuisine (161)
Handcrafted Cocktails (148)
Worth the Drive (123)
Neighborhood Gem (119)
Good for Anniversaries (118)
Wood Oven (109)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Cozy (95)
Seasonal (91)
Romantic (89)
Organic (87)
Great for Brunch (85)
Authentic (83)
Open Kitchen (81)
Hot Spot (74)
Casual (73)
Fun (73)
Healthy (70)
Historic (68)
Notable Wine List (58)
Good Vegetarian Options (57)
Comfort Food (56)
Good for Groups (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Bar Seating (47)
People Watching (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Fireplace (39)
Modern Decor (37)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Great Beer (34)
Business Meals (30)
Gluten Free Options (25)
Kid-friendly (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Scenic View (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Vegan (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Tapas (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Family Style (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Private Room (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Waterfront (2)
Sort By:
S
9341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic, creative restaurant. Flavors are out of this world. Service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

I want to be in love with this restaurant because if it's farm to table mission, but at the end of the day I am consistently left disappointed with the food. The oyster sauces were not that appetizing and the homemade cocktail sauce had a strange taste. For my entree, I received steak that was not at the proper temperature. The only enjoyable food was the deep fat fried asparagus. Of course it is hard to mess up deep fat frying.

Our server was amazing and all of the servers worked well as a team. That part of the evening was world class.

And the end of the day it was another disappointing visit to Woodberry Kitchen.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great outdoor dinner. 2nd time at the restaurant for dinner and both have been great. In town for business from Chicago and this is now my favorite spot in Baltimore.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Weird menu but once we settled in on our selections the food was DELICIOUS !! Presentation beautiful! Very noisy but such great energy! Very cool space!! Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to Woodberry a few times for breakfast and for dinner and every meal was fantastic. The service is outstanding and the ambiance is unbeatable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for our 8-year anniversary and had such a good time! The food was absolutely delicious. We had been here for the first time a few weeks ago, and I think the menu had already changed since then. The cocktails were soo good and refreshing!

We love how the entire wait staff comes around and takes care of us. Someone who had come by to drop off an appetizer asked if we needed another round of cocktails, and passed it onto our server.

Our server had forgotten about some oysters that we had ordered, which was fine, because it turned out we didn't need them anyways.

We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

You just have to go......like now.....GOGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently fresh and tasty. We always appreciate their willingness to accommodate food allergies.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great farm to table experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Woodberry Kitchen is overpriced for food that is marginally good, depending on the season. We were disappointed - huge tab (which was expected), with disappointing results.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch. Ages in our party ranged from 27-88 years so he variety on the menu helped tremendously. Great food choices and terrific server, Morgan. WK never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Woodbury Kitchen never disappoints. It is one of my very favorite restaurants, between the freshest food you'll get, the creative cocktails and the knowledgeable staff. I took my friend who had just returned from serving in Afghanistan and he was blown away that such a gem exists in Baltimore; he also ordered about half the menu and ate it all - thanks for helping me convince him that this city has a fantastic food scence, starting with your restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter Brunch. Exceptional as always. Restaurant staff was extremely accommodating and exerted extra effort to see to it that we were comfortable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first bad experience at Woodberry. We were there for Easter brunch and it took an hour and a half to get our meals. Not good especially with two very hungry kids. I have loved this place in the past for dinners, so I'm just treating this as a fluke, but my visitors were not impressed with the food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great Easter brunch. Our server, Susz, was excellent. The food was delicious, as usual. Please add chicken and waffles to the brunch menu!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great vibe and good food. The passion of our waiter was extreme!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The rustic and cozy ambiance is what grabs your attention at first, but then the welcoming service and delicious food is what keeps you there. The knowledgeable staff and menu reflexive of the season and surrounding farms make this experience worth every moment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything we tried was delicious. The pastry board, in particular, really wowed us and is worth getting to share with your friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lovely brunch, fresh ingredients, attentive staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was "second to none", and the location was amazing!! Great choice all the way around!!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Bad wine. We ended up trying three different wine and they were all bad. Tastes as if they were exposed to warm temperature. When we brought up that to wait staff, they treated us as we don't know.
The waitress was bad. She recommended the "amazing" wine that she didn't remember later on.
Just one fish dish on Good Friday.
Two entrees that we ordered were so salty.
We would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our second time at Woodberry Kitchen and it did not disappoint! The waiter was very attentive and accommodating as we had special eating conditions. Everything tasted even better than expected - appetizer, entrée, dessert - all superb! We will definitely be coming back again.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Out for a celebration dinner. Food was excellent as always. Really liked the oysters and beef shin.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

As per usual, Woodberry knocked it out of the park. Super accommodating to various dietary restrictions, excellent cocktails, delicious food, and an awesome server. We keep coming back; it's that good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Woodbury Kitchen is the perfect example of how to be a truly great restaurant requires more than just great food. We were in town for the weekend and decided to try out Woodbury for dinner before heading back. We arrived on time for our reservation and we warmly greeted by the reception staff - as they were running a bit behind - we were told there would be a wait for our table. As they were jam-packed and we had only made reservations the day of - this was absolutely not a problem for us, we happily waited at the bar and enjoyed a few drinks. After about 30 minutes - we were escorted to our table - this is where the evening took a turn. Our waiter was clearly annoyed with the late seating (again, we would gladly have sat at our reservation time as we also had a 3 hour drive back home) and did all he could to make us feel like a nuisance standing in his way of leaving for the evening. Our orders were rushed and our plates grabbed the second we put our forks down to take a quick break in between bites - towards the end - I was even asked for our dessert order before my boyfriend had even had a chance to see the menus (he was in the restroom). At no point did anyone check to see how our food was (excellent by the way) - only to see whether they could move us along a bit quicker. Between the surly attitude and the rushed service, we felt incredibly uncomfortable and were eager to settle up and leave as quickly as possible. Being out of town, our card had been flagged and frozen for "suspicious activity" without our knowledge - the waiter came back and loudly announced that our card had been declined (loud enough for the adjacent table to hear). We quickly presented another card and made a beeline for the exit. It's a shame that what could have been a wonderful experience was overshadowed by such poor service. What is the point of investing so much time and effort in the menu and design of the space without ensuring that the service is of the same quality?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Ordered a bourbon Manhattan. Cost me $20. Nothing special - drowned in a mediocre vermouth - served in a thick-stemmed glass. Dull drink - $20.00 plus tip. Hey - this isn'the Lexington, KY. No Maryland Manhattan is worth $20.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I made a reservation for 7:15 five days ahead of the actual date. We arrived at 7:15pm and were not seated until 7:45pm... YUP. We were there to celebrate a birthday. A special occasion. We finally got seated and I believe the manager sat us and asked for our water preference. We said still water was fine and waited for our water and waited for our water some more...YUP 15 min later we were actually greeted by our waiter and he brought water. He didn't share any specials, he didn't really answer any questions in detail about the dishes we asked him about. He also suggested we knew what things already were? Also, when I said I had a question he said "yeah, what's up". I've never had someone serving me ask what was up, especially at an expensive restaurant before. The service was just okay. Nothing special at all.
The food was fresh. The waiter finally took our order around 8:20pm and it didn't come out until 8:50pm.It was okay :/ must of been a bad night to go? It was my first time and my guests choice for her birthday dinner. I surprised her and brought her to Woodberry. Timing was so terrible. We didn't leave until 9:45pm. This place will never be my first choice because of my experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Stopped in on a Sunday for brunch. we had a great meal. always a good time here at Woodberry. Outside seating was open and many were outside enjoying the fabulous day.

Tags: Great Beer, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Really wonderful. Service, food, ambiance...the restaurant is unique and our dishes were inventive and delicious. We also had two small children and we felt very welcomed!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our service was uncharacteristically bad this visit and I discovered today the entree of my companion was overcooked. There were so many people waiting on us that nothing was accomplished. Our appetizer bakery item was not delivered before the meal was served, so we cancelled it with the food runner. Then two separate servers tried to serve it to us. We asked for a replacement napkin when our entrees came that was never replaced. A coffee was delivered after we had completed dessert. I have always raved about Woodberry Kitchen and could not wait for an occasion to revisit. My recent experience has unfortunately dampened my enthusiasm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Outstanding overall experience... I've never had a bad meal and am always surprised by something new and interesting (and delicious) on the menu. I did drop $400 on dinner for four people, though it was mostly worth it...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious, and the wait staff were amazing: patient, attentive without being intrusive, and helpful. We went for both a dinner and a brunch on the same weekend, and couldn't decide which we loved more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

From the moment a cheerful female called to confirm the reservation and asked if we had a special occasion, to the ambience, service, food and the special happy birthday dessert for my daughter, it was everything I heard it was and more. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome atmosphere. Food was very good and the server & kitchen were very accommodating to my girlfriend's relatively picky and unadventurous palate - although I couldn't tell if he was being snarky about it at times. My dinner was based around the oyster stew and scallops. On my return I would try out some of the butcher centric items on the menu. Cocktails were awesome! Overall, I would def. return to this restaurant and highly recommend it to others.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What's not to love? Food is always fantast and prepared with taste! Customer service nerves disappoints!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always great service and food. I love this place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great dining experience and wonderful food. The service was amazing and the locally sourced food and libations was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great, food and wait service. Very unique food everytime and great cocktails as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We have been to Woodberry Kitchen several times. It was fabulous, as always!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.