Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Woodberry Kitchen

Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future.
Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.

2010 Clipper Park Road, #126
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner seven days a week beginning at 5:00pm
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday Evening 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Evening 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 464-8000

Website:
http://www.woodberrykitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking located just a few steps from the front door. Handicapped parking spaces also available next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.

Executive Chef:
Spike Gjerde

Private Party Facilities:
Woodberry Hall, adjacent to our main dining room, offers an intimate dining area in a restored mill with exposed brick walls, soaring windows with custom drapery, and custom made farm tables. A private entrance ensures no disruptions or unexpected guests. The room is perfect for family gatherings, business holiday parties and pharmaceutical dinners. Woodberry Hall seats up to 40 guests for dinner or 60 for a standing cocktail party. Please inquire about available dates and our feasting menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jolanta Kunkulis: (410) 464-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Woodberry Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (239)
Fit for Foodies (224)
Good for a Date (198)
See All
Special Occasion (188)
Handcrafted Cocktails (168)
Creative Cuisine (168)
Worth the Drive (137)
Good for Anniversaries (129)
Neighborhood Gem (121)
Seasonal (111)
Wood Oven (110)
Good for Birthdays (107)
Romantic (100)
Great for Brunch (97)
Authentic (97)
Open Kitchen (96)
Organic (93)
Cozy (87)
Fun (86)
Casual (84)
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Healthy (77)
Hot Spot (77)
Historic (69)
Comfort Food (68)
Notable Wine List (61)
Good for Groups (58)
Good Vegetarian Options (57)
Bar Seating (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Sunday Lunch (42)
People Watching (41)
Modern Decor (40)
Fireplace (38)
Great Beer (36)
Business Meals (35)
Kid-friendly (27)
Happy Hour (26)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vegan (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Scenic View (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Paleo Friendly (17)
Tapas (15)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Family Style (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
9462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Food was food but on the cold side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

My first time, I absolutely loved everything about it. The setting was the quintessential factor in my experience. Will be returning for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant but overall experience marred by having to wait 30 minutes past our reservation time to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Chicken and rabbit were excellent. Great ambiance.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

A fantastic experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing place! Great service but the food is the best part!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Woodberry Kitchen is always a lovely meal. I prefer the previous menu, it was very difficult for me to find something interesting to eat from the current menu.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

it was quiet because we sat outside - a wonderful way to experience WK. I love this restaurant and was glad to bring a new friend

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Woodberry Kitchen is simply amazing. Every aspect is wonderful. You must eat here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food. Excellent service. One of the best restaurants I've ever been to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I absolutely love the ever changing fresh menu. The atmosphere is always very cool!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I can always count on Woodberry to serve up a delicious, gluten-free meal with style.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful delicious amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall good experience - but don't expect to get a regular cocktail. Woodberry only serves organic beverages made in the U.S. No specialty juices if the fruit isn't grown in the U.S. or in season. Only U.S. distilled alcohol .... Soft Shell Crabs were delicious and oysters were very good as well! Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait 45 minutes for a table. Would rate it a 5 out of 10.

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

As always this was a very good experience. A little too "local ingredients" and strange serving sizes. Didn't really like the side of asparagus.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

I like Woodberry Kitchen but I've had mixed experiences in the past. Last week, my husband and I went there for my birthday. He had the steak and I had the chicken, and both dishes were excellent. Then they delivered the dessert menu. We chose to share their hot fudge toasted marshallow sundae, which comes with "wet peanuts." Before ordering, I asked our server if we could have it without peanuts. He said absolutely, as they hear many requests for the non-peanut version. The sundae came and we were dipping our long spoons in the large sundae dish in order to reach the various ingredients. I took a couple of bites, and discovered I had a mouthful of peanuts! I removed as many as I could and ate around the dessert, but frankly, I was appalled. Luckily I don't have a peanut allergy, but if I did, I would have been in serious trouble. When the waiter came back, I informed him of the mistake. He apologized and then went to get our check. He immediately came back, apologized again and disappeared. Much to my surprise--the sundae was still listed on our bill. My husband paid it but now I regret leaving without saying something to a manager. The kitchen and the server both dropped the ball on this one and it really is unacceptable that an upscale restaurant like WK would charge you for a dessert that you actually didn't order, as well as potentially put someone's health at risk. I'm still shaking my head over this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

I used Open Table to make the reservation - which was easy. I included instructions for what we were celebrating. The staff was very accomodating to all of our requests. My guests LOVED the experience - the exquiste food, fine drinks, and the unique atmosphere. The evening was a huge hit for our two day celebration of my son's Medical School graduation. I will definitely return in future - and I live two hours away in West Virginia! Well done Woodberry Kitchen.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food but terrible service. After waiting 25 minutes for our reserved table and quickly ordering, we waited over half an hour to be served our entrees after having our salad. After commenting on our wait having been told "just a few more minutes" several times, we were given a bowl of WK's signature popcorn. Really? What about a free glass of wine that also took an exceptionally long time to serve! Be prepared for slow service and you will love your food.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Dined outside which was great. Server was extremely helpful with the menu. Food was exceptional! A great evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We had five in our party and our entrees came out at different times, the last guy got his dish a good 5 minutes later than the first dish. One guy ordered Crab Cakes and his plate came with out the cake and a server brought it out about 45 seconds later. Our server didn't inquire or offer an explanation just played it off like it was no big deal....disappointing!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We only go to Woodberry Kitchen for special occasions because it's fairly expensive and requires a reservation well in advance. This was one of those special occasions, our 20th anniversary. The atmosphere was great, our waitress was great, the food was tremendous but there were a couple problems. The waitress couldn't answer my wife's question about a wine she was interested in so she said she would get the answer for us. I wanted to wait until she got her wine before I ordered my beer so we didn't order anything at that time. For the next 10 mins we saw the waitress walking around the dining room waiting on other tables and serving other diners. I was wondering when she was going to get back to my wife with the answer to her question. She finally came back to the table and asked if anyone had come by to answer the wine question. I realized she wasn't going to answer the question, the sommelier was supposed to come by the table to answer the question. She got the sommelier, he came by and we ordered our wine/beer but by this time we'd been in the restaurant at least 15 mins before we ordered anything. The bread was actually brought to the table before we had a chance to order our drinks. Later, when we were waiting for our entrees 3 different people came to the table to apologize for our food taking so long. I didn't realize it had been that long but realized when they started to apologize for it that we'd been in the restaurant for well over an hour before we got our food. The rest of the night went kind of the same way and we were in the restaurant for almost 3 hours, although we did order dessert and coffee. I'm not sure what the problem was, I assume the kitchen was backed up because our waitress seemed very efficient. Other than this, everything was really good.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A lovely experience from start to finish! I received this restaurant as a recommendation from a former local when I was traveling here on business. The food was very fresh & delicious. Ambiance was charming. And the service was customer focused from the moment we were greeted by the hostess. Highly recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I travel constantly throughout the US and Europe, and Woodberry Kitchen remains my favorite restaurant. From the food and wine, to the highly engaged staff and incredible ambience it's an incredible experience every time. Special thanks to the owner Spike for what he has created!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Vegan, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Organic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Woodberry Kitchen provided our family with a superb graduation dinner occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place to eat. I always love coming here. I will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Organic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Organic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good as usual.Service was good, but you can really feel that they were busy. Went to the restaurant for Mother's day brunch. place was packed and restaurant was really behind for their reservations. However, if you check open table there were a lot of slots available. I think this needs to be corrected in the future. otherwise, as expected liked the visit.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As we have experienced previously, once again we had an exceptional evening from drinks through dessert. 3 of 4 of us had crab cakes and all agreed it was the best crab cake we had ever had. Love this place for a special dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been to Woodberry Kitchen and this was our best meal yet. The Rockfish was outrageous! Plus, the cocktails were amazing. 34th and Vine was delicious! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was great! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved, loved the grilled oysters! Raw beef and chicken liver pate excellent. My monkfish was too salty and it was sent back. Server and chef both very nice and apologetic about that. They made new plate and took it off my check. Mother's day treat was free sorbet and candied strawberry. Overall experience was excellent. Service amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been going to Woodberry Kitchen for close to 10 years and it never disappoints! The warm asparagus and ramp broth with ricotta dumplings was fabulous! And we always love the chicken liver appetizer. I always tell friends this is my favorite restaurant in the Baltimore area!

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Woodberry Kitchen is one of Baltimore's best restaurants & we always enjoy it, & did again Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good. My husband had been wanting to try it so we went for his Birthday. For non-foodies like myself the menu can be a little intimidating, but everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been here several times; this was the first occasion on which the service left something to be desired. We were a table of four: my wife and I plus another couple. Not just once but twice, our orders arrived while the other couple got nothing. This went on for probably half an hour. When finally I caught our waiters eye and announced what should have been obvious -- "our friends have no food!" he sent some other guy over to ask what our problem was; that guy declared a "misunderstanding." The waiter reappeared a few minutes later and said the rest of the food would be "right out" -- which it wasn't. It was at least ten minutes and another false reassurance from the waiter before our friends' orders appeared. At no time was there an apology from anyone. That's what bothers me the most.

WTF??

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As a long time fan of Woodberry Kitchen who has recently adopted a vegan lifestyle, I wanted to offer some feedback on my visit this past weekend for brunch. I was there for Mother's Day with three other family members, two of whom are mostly vegan as well. I talked to the server about vegan options and while she was knowledgable about which items were vegan, when it came down to it, there were not a whole lot of options. I ended up with the Spring Lettuces (with oil and vinegar instead of buttermilk dressing) and the Gold Potato Hash Brown (without the honey). Both were excellent, but it would have been nice to have more variety, and perhaps the option of something from the griddle/bakery.

The world is moving toward increased plant-based eating, and I tend to eat most often at those places that embrace this way of eating and offer lots of options. It would be really great to see more variety at Woodberry Kitchen, which is undeniably a superb restaurant and a leader in the restaurant world

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been to Woodbury kitchen many times and normally I would rate all of the categories as a 5... this time we were a little disappointed. The food was only ok, unfortunately. We got the breakfast flatbread, the beaus breakfast and the soft shell Benedict, which was the best dish of them all except the eggs were more hard boiled and not poached. The eggs on the flatbread were hard boiled as well. I just wanted to mention and bring to light the over cooked eggs which I don't think the cook was aware of - it was slammed for Mother's Day brunch. But thank you for always being a great place to go.

Tags: Organic, Wood Oven, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Vegan brunch options were very limited. Our food was heavily oiled and salted - even the salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went for Mother's Day. Food was amazing as always. Our server was skilled and kind. My family left happy. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband very much enjoyed the woodberry kitchen. The cocktails were delicious and the appetizers and entrees were also great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.