About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: 828-526-8396x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (37)
notable wine list (33)
See All
great for outdoor dining (28)
neighborhood gem (26)
romantic (26)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great wiener schnitzel and wine list. Pa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great wiener schnitzel and wine list. Patio dining ambience needs some improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still serving great food with excellent ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Still serving great food with excellent wait staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious European cuisine and prompt kn ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Delicious European cuisine and prompt knowledgeable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious. Ser ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. Service was outstanding. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary during vacation in Highlands. Food was excellent, I had the trout and my wife the duck. The sommolier was right on target with the wine. However it was a bit noisy (likely due to the hour and the tourist season) and the service lagged badly at the end, the entree took too long to deliver after apps and salad and the waiter disappeared when it was time for the check. Otherwise a pleasant experience and I would not hesitate to recommend for visitors to Highlands NC.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were a party of 3--all getting differ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were a party of 3--all getting different dishes. Each dish was outstanding--Veal Wolfgang, beef fillet, and snapper would all melt in your mouth!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu options, the roast lamb was e ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great menu options, the roast lamb was excellent. The portabella mushroom appetizer was the best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was just disappointed. The décor in thi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was just disappointed. The décor in this restaurant doesn't seem to have been updated since we were there 10+ years ago. The cold cucumber soup, steak, and veal with crawfish, and potatoes were very good, but vegetables were overcooked (asparagus) and the ambiance left much to be desired. Dessert was not good at all. The apple streudel was bitter tasting and bananas foster had too much rum and ice cream was almost entirely melted when it was brought to the table. Our server was very loud. In retrospect, perhaps he was trying to speak so those hard-of-hearing could hear him, but still was an uncomfortable interruption to our dinner several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

One of the top 2 restaurants in Highland ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the top 2 restaurants in Highlands, NC. The sommelier knows her business!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose to eat inside to be cooler but ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We chose to eat inside to be cooler but it wasn't. Either the A/C wasn't on or wasn't working.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent excellent service. The chef ca ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent excellent service. The chef came to our table and made sure everything was good. The food and wine were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, attentive service, acceptabl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, attentive service, acceptable pricing, a great gathering place for special occasions or special friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ours sons birthday from Florida a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was ours sons birthday from Florida and we were so excited when we saw where they seated our family. We had a lovely private room and was enjoyed by all. Very special to say the least. Drinks were excellent and wine list was too. The wine our son selected was so good. The staff was very attentive We are still talking about the room, service and food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service would recomme ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food and service would recommend them to everyonr

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Wolfgangs for my 2 year annive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I went to Wolfgangs for my 2 year anniversary. I got the shrimp and lobster bisque and short ribs. My boyfriend got the french onion soup and the filet. We thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The service was great and everyone was very nice. Highly recommend Wolfgangs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is just average for the price

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is just average for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Wolfgang's never disappoints! Make a re ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wolfgang's never disappoints! Make a reservation to dine in the main/formal dining rooms. Walk in's can dine in the Bistro out front or in the formal dining (assuming tables are available). Great blend of German and Cajun influenced dishes. Save room for dessert. Tremendous wine list. Let Annelize, their Somm/Wine Director, help you with your wine selection. We like to tell her a flavor profile and price range and have her surprise us. She always gets it right!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and outstanding service!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great menu and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the worst dining experiences I've ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the worst dining experiences I've had in years. Go to Madison's and get more for your money, much better service and much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Wolfgang's outdoor covered patio was a v ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wolfgang's outdoor covered patio was a very nice setting for a delicious dinner. The steak was perfectly done and nicely seasoned. The Bavarian Platter was a wonderful selection of German meats and flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a relaxing evening out. E ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thank you for a relaxing evening out. Everyone was very friendly and the food was Awesome. I will be telling my friends and I hope to make the 2 hour ride back soon to visit your restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so disappointed in the food. We ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were so disappointed in the food. We had the trout and the Wiener schnitzel. Everything was completely unremarkable starting with the Caesar salad. Shocked after the strong referrals. Had dinner the next night at Madison's and it blew this away.

Tags: notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wolfgang's is a must whenever we're in H ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wolfgang's is a must whenever we're in Highlands. The food it top notch. The German cuisine is as good as we've found anywhere. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. While it's a bit pricy, the food, the service, and the ambience make it worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good atmosphere with a friendly and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good atmosphere with a friendly and courteous staff. Food was excellent from appetizer to desert. Great place to enjoy a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat and enjoy the atmosphere

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Have always had a great meal and lots of options to try for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were there to celebrate our anniversary and they made it very special. The food and the service was awesome as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After 16 years on this mountain this has ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

After 16 years on this mountain this has become our favorite restaurant. We always feel we have had a perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the three best restaurants in hig ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

One of the three best restaurants in highlands nc . Dine there several times while there for the summer .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, nice setting.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate in the back room which was very nicely finished. I had a greens salad which was excellent and my wife had fried Brie which she likes, then we both had snapper special which was very nice; a good filet with seafood topping . Coffe chocolate creme brulee was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came to Highlands for our 5 year anniversary and stopped here for dinner one night. It was delicious and the kitchen was very accommodating to all the food allergies that my wife has. The chef even came out and greeted all the people that came to eat there. I would definitely recommend coming here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent as always and service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent as always and service was very attentive. However one member of the serving staff was a bit over anxious to remove plates before we were finished.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional meal with great service.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Escargot and Chateaubriand were all that we had hoped for. What a pleasant meal for our birthday celebration. Chef Wolgang Green and his staff did all they could to make us feel welcome!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While the food was wonderful we were a l ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

While the food was wonderful we were a little disappointed in a couple things. We chose Wolfgang's for our wedding anniversary celebration but were told we could not bring our own special bottle of wine or if they acquiesced they would charge a $35 corkage fee. $35???? The message was loud and clear. We bought their bottle (not as good as the one we brought). Also, the server was fine but honestly not great and dinner dragged on a bit given his lack of attention to our needs. There was no "Happy Anniversary", no special dessert, nothing. So, good food and all but don't expect any special treatment if there for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good food but very poor service. I ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very good food but very poor service. I made reservations 2 weeks in advance but when we arrived we were led thru 3 dining rooms with empty tables to a lower level. My husband and I later wished we had asked for a better location than this. Our server was completed disinterested in us and was arrogant. The young man who was clearing a nearby table even stopped to see if we needed anything probably because we both had empty cocktail glasses. My husband mentioned to our server when she told us the specials he would want the dessert special. After our plates were cleared she arrived with his dessert. I told her I also wanted a dessert so she brought the dessert menu but acted annoyed. I ordered dessert that came 15 minutes later, long after my husband had finished his. This server needs to go across the street to the very elegant restaurant that not only has excellent food but also excellent service where she could learn about good customer service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Probably the best restaurant in Highlands

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I had wanted to go to Wolfgang's for quite some time, and finally did last Friday. She had the Trout Oscar and I the Weiner Schnitzel. Both were wonderful. We can also recommend the Caesar salad and the Bavarian chocolate mousse dessert. Chef Wolfgang and his staff have a wonderful restaurant that we will enjoy returning to frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice service, friendly, prompt

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great wine list and wines by glass. My NY strip seemed as if it had been "brined". Others enjoyed their dishes, however.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Eat here every time we visit highlands

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We love this place! Food is delicious & the service is superb. The wine somminilier has a vast knowledge of the wines. She is great! Love sitting on the covered terrace. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dinner in Highlands!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant and recommend it for dinner for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Overrated, in my opinion.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Overrated, in my opinion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

anniversary dinner

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

excellent menu- service was scattered. main waitress totally forgot about us after the meal.

we went early so there would be no hassles. you would think with a 20 anniversary you at least be given the option of buying a dessert without having to track someone down 25 minutes later.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.