About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: 828-526-8396x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

special occasion (24)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (18)
See All
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for outdoor dining (10)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent as always and service ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent as always and service was very attentive. However one member of the serving staff was a bit over anxious to remove plates before we were finished.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional meal with great service.

Dined 5 days ago

The Escargot and Chateaubriand were all that we had hoped for. What a pleasant meal for our birthday celebration. Chef Wolgang Green and his staff did all they could to make us feel welcome!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

While the food was wonderful we were a l ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

While the food was wonderful we were a little disappointed in a couple things. We chose Wolfgang's for our wedding anniversary celebration but were told we could not bring our own special bottle of wine or if they acquiesced they would charge a $35 corkage fee. $35???? The message was loud and clear. We bought their bottle (not as good as the one we brought). Also, the server was fine but honestly not great and dinner dragged on a bit given his lack of attention to our needs. There was no "Happy Anniversary", no special dessert, nothing. So, good food and all but don't expect any special treatment if there for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Very good food but very poor service. I ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very good food but very poor service. I made reservations 2 weeks in advance but when we arrived we were led thru 3 dining rooms with empty tables to a lower level. My husband and I later wished we had asked for a better location than this. Our server was completed disinterested in us and was arrogant. The young man who was clearing a nearby table even stopped to see if we needed anything probably because we both had empty cocktail glasses. My husband mentioned to our server when she told us the specials he would want the dessert special. After our plates were cleared she arrived with his dessert. I told her I also wanted a dessert so she brought the dessert menu but acted annoyed. I ordered dessert that came 15 minutes later, long after my husband had finished his. This server needs to go across the street to the very elegant restaurant that not only has excellent food but also excellent service where she could learn about good customer service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best restaurant in Highlands

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I had wanted to go to Wolfgang's for quite some time, and finally did last Friday. She had the Trout Oscar and I the Weiner Schnitzel. Both were wonderful. We can also recommend the Caesar salad and the Bavarian chocolate mousse dessert. Chef Wolfgang and his staff have a wonderful restaurant that we will enjoy returning to frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Very nice service, friendly, prompt

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great wine list and wines by glass. My NY strip seemed as if it had been "brined". Others enjoyed their dishes, however.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat here every time we visit highlands

Dined on April 23, 2016

We love this place! Food is delicious & the service is superb. The wine somminilier has a vast knowledge of the wines. She is great! Love sitting on the covered terrace. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great place for dinner in Highlands!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant and recommend it for dinner for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3

Overrated, in my opinion.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Overrated, in my opinion.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

anniversary dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

excellent menu- service was scattered. main waitress totally forgot about us after the meal. we went early so there would be no hassles. you would think with a 20 anniversary you at least be given the option of buying a dessert without having to track someone down 25 minutes later.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Girl's weekend

Dined on April 1, 2016

The main course was excellent. Loved the shrimp and grits. However, coffee was barely warm and desserts average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on April 1, 2016

Overall excellent meal. Very competent wait staff. Meal preparation was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Darn, place was open only once during my stay

Dined on March 12, 2016

Made reservations was seated early by 30 min. Service/ food was outstanding. The Lamb meatloaf was delicious .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Salmon and Israeli Cous Cous was to perf ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Salmon and Israeli Cous Cous was to perfection. Celebrating our wedding anniversary with some special. Great wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Attention to Detail

Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I were supposed to celebrate our anniversary here, however he was called into work. I didn't cancel my reservation, but instead had a nice dinner with my sister. They had decorated the table for our anniversary with rose petals and tea lights. It was very nice to see. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. This is a perfect place for a nice dinner with family/friends or for a romantic night with your loved one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday dinner spot!

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband took me to Wolfgang's for my birthday dinner. It was very romantic and the food was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Service and Wine List

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner here on a Saturday night -- sat at the piano bar at Old Edwards Inn right up until the time of the reservation and took a 45 second walk across the street to dinner. Wine list was everything others say about it -- plenty of great California wines from which to choose (I didn't get past the California wines because we wanted a chardonnay with what we had decided to order on the food side). The Oysters Rockefeller was amazing (and much more substantial of serving than I would have expected). Wife had trout and I had a crab cake/shrimp New Orleans style entree that were incredible. Service was what you want --attentive but not smothering. We were an early sitting on Valentine's weekend and weren't rushed out the door for the next reservation. First time dining at Wolfgang's and if I make it back to Highlands, it won't be the last.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 of us and we all got differ ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

There were 4 of us and we all got different entrees. None of us would share! Everything was excellent, from the hostess to the server, the food, the cocktails, and the atmosphere. We are new to Highlands, and selected Wolfgang's based on the menu. We were not disappointed and we will be going back - often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

New Years Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

Upon making a reservation through Open Table, we were unaware that the New Years Eve menu was limited choice. We prefer Wolfgang's full menu during the busy season. I was a tad disappointed with the main entree I chose. My steak was prepared as ordered, but it lacked flavor. I would not recommend this entree. Others at my table chose the grouper and duck entrees, they were very pleased with their meals. Our appetizers and seafood bisque were tasty. And service was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Five Star!

Dined on December 4, 2015

Wonderful food and service...we frequent a number of the 'best' restaurants in Atlanta, and the meal and service we received at Wofgang's was five star!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food and service

Dined on November 28, 2015

The drinks were good. The meal was good and service was very prompt. The meals were very rich so might need to make sure you as about the preparations. I had Weiner Schnitzel which is a specialty it was good even though I rarely have fried food. It was my husbands birthday and they gave him some truffles which was very nice jester. The meals were very large and we could have split them and had a salad. The escargot was very tasty and came with a nice sauce over it. Would go back again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had an excellent Thanksgiving dinner there.

Dined on November 26, 2015

The main course (turkey) and sides were all delicious. They have a great and extensive wine list and the service was also excellent. Our waitress was both friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Memorable Thanksgiving Dinner

Dined on November 26, 2015

We had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner at Wolfgang's. It was very gracious, a beautifully decorated restaurant, and a completely enjoyable experience. The owner came around to welcome the diners warmly. We would definitely return and have already recommended the restaurant to friends. My husband ordered the short ribs and collard greens, totally tender and delicious. I had the traditional Thanksgiving turkey. Everything was wonderful, except, since you ask, the turkey slice was rather dry and tasteless. It must have been carved long before it was served! Overall dinner is still highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wolfgang's is always outstanding! My fa ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Wolfgang's is always outstanding! My favorite place in Highlands.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost Perfect

Dined on November 25, 2015

Made reservations a month early. They had us set up when we arrived. I always have the Beef Short Rib.....I am a big guy and the 1 rib is plenty. Wife had the Lamb and we all thought it was as good as we have had. For dessert we had the Bread Pudding. Very Tasty. Everything went well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful & we always visit m ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

Absolutely wonderful & we always visit multiple times!!!

food2
ambience2
service3

Wished for more...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Dined at Wolfgang this weekend for my husbands birthday getaway. Sadly our meal was mediocre. Luke warm soup, wedge drowning in so much blue cheese dressing I scooped a full cup of dressing off the plate in order to eat. Escargot come in a kinda weird flour sauce. Husband had short rib which was nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on November 13, 2015

Highly recommend the trout. Specialty cocktails good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food, and atmosphere.

Dined on November 12, 2015

We will be back for sure. Thanks for an awesome anniversary dinner....

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Enjoyable

Dined on November 9, 2015

We were seated in a lower area that was not quite as warm as we had hoped. However, the service was good, and we were taken care of in a timely manner even though the restaurant was pretty full. The drinks were very good - we have been in some restaurants where the drinks were very "weak" and we had to send them back for topping off. We are not alcoholics, but we like to think there is some alcohol in our drinks. The food was quite good, and arrived warm (not too hot or too cold).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Delighted with the food, the service and wine list

Dined on November 9, 2015

Very good menu and great specials. Service was excellent. A pleasant surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite in Highlands! So many differ ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

My favorite in Highlands! So many different options to pick from but the Crawfish is my favorite!

food5
ambience5
service5

We dined in the bistro which was quite c ...

Dined on November 5, 2015

We dined in the bistro which was quite cozy and friendly on a cold and rainy night. My wife had the lobster bisque for starters which she reported as "exceptional". For main courses, we had the wiener schnitzel and fresh carolina snapper, which were both very well prepared and tasty. For dessert, we had the strawberry romanoff, which we heard was a house specialty and did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and casual. All and all a very good evening, one we will definitely repeat soon.

food5
ambience4
service5

Definitely one of top three in Highlands!

Dined on November 4, 2015

It is hard to go wrong at this restaurant. Great variety in the menu, and food is top quality. I had a shrimp and grits dish. Perfection. Seasoned just right. Ambiance is quite nice but no views. Request a table near the fireplace on the porch during chilly weather. (The porch is enclosed.)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

always wonderful

Dined on October 30, 2015

We go to Highlands yearly to enjoy the beautiful fall colors, usually around Halloween and we make it a point to visit Wolfgangs. Always a fantastic dinner with charming ambience and very helpful staff. Planning on returning again and again. We always talk about Wolfgangs to fellow B&B guests while we are in town and totally recommend going there for dinner. Many great restaurants in Highlands but Wolgangs is one not to miss.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place with amazing service

Dined on October 30, 2015

We've been here many times thru the years, it never disappoints, whether it's 2, 5, or 16, always a lovely meal, great service. This time was a group of 5 women enjoying time away in the mountains. This was our dinner out, and all enjoyed it tremendously. The other 4 had never been here, and were so glad I had recommended it. We all ordered something different from salad to entrée to wine, and everyone loved what they ordered. Just wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful meal

Dined on October 23, 2015

We had a group of 10 on a busy night. Our food and main waitress were fabulous, as was the atmosphere. The filet mignon was probably one of the best steaks I've ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal!

Dined on October 22, 2015

We have eaten at Wolfgang's before and, thanks to this great meal and wonderful service, we plan to enjoy two dinners at this restaurant during our 2016 fall trip. Thank you!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5

Usually wonderful but not this time

Dined on October 18, 2015

Wolfgangs has been our favorite restaurant for years when we're visiting NC, as we have a vacation condo at Lake Toxaway. We travel 40 minutes each way just to go there. However, this last time was a disappointment. Friends were with us and we raved about the place. I made reservations ahead and requested a table in front of the fireplace. I was advised that table was taken, but we could have the one next to it, which was fine with us. However, when we got there, the hostess took us all the way to the back room, even though the restaurant was practically empty at 5:30, and tried to sit us in the middle of the room not near the fireplace. I mentioned our earlier request and she said the tables closer were not designed for 4, even though there were 4 chairs around all of them, so we told her it would work fine for us. As it was extremely cold in the room and the fireplace kept going out, we asked our server to please light it again and the hostess came into the room with an angry attitude, lit it, and walked out quickly without saying a word to us. The fireplace continued to go out, so we ate with our coats on. Our friends will probably not come back to Wolfgangs. As we were leaving, I noticed in the main dining area there was a table directly in front of the fireplace and one right off to the side. The room was cozy and WARM. I realized that was the room we were supposed to be seated. Also, the back room doesn't have a table directly in front of the fireplace, as we were told over the phone. So the hostess didn't even sit us where we had requested earlier. The hostess never smiled from the time we came into the restaurant until we left. She was very unfriendly and appeared to have a bad attitude. My friend commented maybe it was because the way we were dressed, as we were casual (jeans) from just hiking Sunset Rock and walking around town for a few hours. However, we did not look like street people and spent a good sum for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always expect and receive great dining a ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

Always expect and receive great dining and service at Wolfgang's. Spätzle was delicious!!! Thanks so much.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.