Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: (828) 526-8396

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fireplace (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food, great wine selection and awesome atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Not sure what to say. Reviews were great that's why I choose it for my husbands birthday while in Highlands. Lamb was excellent but filet was mediocre at best. Not what I expected from a Wolfgang restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal, fabulous service. We were treated by every employee like we were the most important customers in the restaurant. It made our anniversary a very special evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoyable! We dine here with frequency. Our go to place in Highlands.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My husband and I had a very fine dinner here on our visit to Highlands. The food was so good. The place is interesting, and the staff great. We would love to return the next time we are in town.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fun, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A delicious meal, outstanding service and perfect ambiance for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Seasonal, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Five if us, friends from Texas, Florida, and Pennsylvania who meet in a special location at least once a year, spent four days in Highlands, and chose to eat dinner at Wolfgang's on the third night of our stay . It was wonderful. The staff were exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable about the food, and obviously quite proud of the establishment. Did I mention the food was fresh and perfectly prepared? We were even visited at our table by the owner and chef himself.

There are a number of excellent restaurants in Highlands and the surrounding area, but Wolfgang's proved to be the highlight of our dining experience. A must for anyone !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

5 star as always. Worth the drive through the mountains. Excellent display of wine for any taste.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

have eaten at Wolfgangs several times and it is absolutely fantastic. Will eat there every time we are in the area

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wolfgang's is a great place to eat. The ambiance is delightful, the food is fantastic, and the wine list is superb. Wolfgang is always updating the menu and also bringing back favorites with a new flair and taste. A meal at Wolfgang's is a must!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Consistently good. We have eaten there many times and never gotten a mediocre meal. Outstanding beef tenderloin, veal, lavendar encrusted salmon, mountain trout, etc. all delicious!! Cannot wait to go back. Virginia

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and service. We had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

For starters we had the crab cake app and the crab and lobster bisque. Both were outstanding. We shared a fork tender veal osso bucco complemented by a red wine blend from their notable wine list.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lots of issues. First, our wedge salad was so overdressed (there was at least 1/4 cup of dressing left on the plate) we made a joke to our server that we'd take the remainder of the dressing "to go." He laughed. Then, the boneless duck had three bones in it. The server did comp. us a free dessert, but both of these issues seemed a bit much for a restaurant with the Wolfgang Puck name attached. We came during our weekend getaway. Based on this experience, I don't think I'd visit another Wolfgang restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and service, my second time at Wolfgang's, I would highly recommend this restaurant when in Highlands.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very nice to walk in and they know who you are and it's the first time we have been there. We made reservations a couple of days before. We walk in 2 min before our reserved time and the hostess say welcome Mr. (Insert last name). Straight to the table and the wine was flowing! Super nice start to a great evening! I would have been blown away and would have given all five stars if the Decor was a bit more modern! Otherwise nice!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a low key bachelorette dinner (10 women) in a private room. Wonderful atmosphere and the food was delicious! Our server was excellent - very attentive. Not one complaint - very impressed. Will be back on the next trip to Highlands!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything that comes out of the kitchen is just pretty wonderful. Wine list is insane and personally advised by Annelize, their sommelier - you're guaranteed a great selection whatever taste and budget. Patio and covered deck are great - 'bistro' has small plates and opens at 4 for post-shopping cocktail and people watching on Main Street. Wiener Schnitzel is AMAZING!!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was our third time to dine at Wolfgang's while in the Highlands. As before, the food and service was excellent and will definitely return again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wolfgang's is simply fantastic! I've eaten here a couple times now and everything about this restaurant is just amazing!!! The service cannot be beaten anywhere! I left my readers and couldn't see the menu. They brought me an assortment of readers I could use!! The trout with crab on top was just fantastic! The shrimp/crab bisque was fabulous!
You will need a reservation here or you can sometimes find a seat in the bar area. This restaurant is not to be missed if you visit Highlands!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We love to eat at the very small bar, or a bar table when it's just the 2 of us! Food is consistently good! My husband and I both always order the trout oscar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The service was excellent. Wolfgang even came out to say hello, and make sure everything was good. Great wine selections, and the Châteaubriand for two was amazing. For dessert, the crème brûlée was a great choice, and the chocolate mousse was light and delicious. From start to finish, a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This is one of our most favorite restaurants! I had received an offer for a free appetizer for my birthday but I completely forgot about it! So there it sat in my pocketbook !!
but that's OK I just love the food there and I tried something different this time and it was the duck and it was outstanding

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Nice, though off season, may not have been on full focus, we'll be back to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was mediocre. Unnecessary mac and cheese side with every dish, even the fancy French ones. Unenthusiastic staff. Lodge ambiance. Disorganized bartenders

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I take my husband for our anniversary we have a great time. Food was great my steak was so delicious , the wine selection really good, costumer service amazing love the atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great dinner with friends at Wolfgang's! The food and service was exceptional and I highly recommend this gem for a special dinner!! I enjoyed the crab cake and pecan crusted shrimp - yum!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I were in Highlands for the weekend celebrating our anniversary and we chose Wolfgang's for one of our dinners. It did not disappoint!! We were seated in the lower dining area, right next to a beautiful fireplace, and were so thankful that we could easily hear each other, as the noise level was very low. We began the evening with the Pecan-encrusted Shrimp and they were delicious! For our entrees, I had the Short Rib and my husband had the Cajun Shrimp and Asiago Grits and both were prepared perfectly! The servings were very generous...in fact, neither of us were able to finish our entire dish. We finished out the evening with a Makers Mark and Vanilla Creme Brûlée which was the perfect ending to a wonderful dining experience. Thanks, Ivan, for the great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Elegant. Classy casual. Gem. Met the chef. Beautifully prepared dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We got the sea bass and were very disappointed. It was very pricey and was not good. Enjoyed the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our late Valentines dinner! Everything was wonderful.
We made our trip to Highlands at a time we could get reservations and glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Wolfgang's, and this was opening night after the winter break. I ventured out this visit and had the venison versus my normal short rib order. Wasn't disappointed in the least and will have a difficult decision to make next visit. My wife had the veal medallions and was equally pleased. We've never had anything less than a wonderful dinner at Wolfgang's. The service, as always, was excellent, the presentation was impressive, and the overall dining experience memorable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderfully prepared food, beautifully presented. I had the lobster beggar's purse, the signature shrimp & lobster bisque, duck two ways, one plate, and cherries jubilee. It was all simply to die for. The wine list is lovely and includes good selections of half bottles and wines by the glass. Wolfgang doesn't just create a meal--he crafts a beautiful experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome as expected. Wolfgang and Mindy never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely dinner with my two daughters , service was excellent and the entrees were delicious as well ... beautiful dinning .. will return when visiting Highlands

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Wolfgang's! Chef Wolfgang and his crew always do a great job! The variety of food offered allows everyone to find something they will enjoy. Their wine list is one of the best in town! When in Highlands, make sure to dine at Wolfgang's!

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoined the Red Snapper special and Cajun shrimp with andouille scented collards and grits! Yum... We started with Fried brie and finished with Chocolate peppermint creme brulee.
We also had their House chard and Merlot.
Great place to finish out the year here in highlands.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Some confusion on part of waitress about menu offerings and slow service which was surprising considering the restaurant wasn't very busy. Trout was very good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.