About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: 828-526-8396x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (14)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Fireplace (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wife and I celebrating her birthday... w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Wife and I celebrating her birthday... was cold and raining outside... warm and cozy inside.

Food was terrific and service (Jeff) was great - very attentive...!

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service, great menu, beautiful ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service, great menu, beautiful ambience...everything was just superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From stuffed portabella mushrooms to the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

From stuffed portabella mushrooms to the melt in your mouth filet mignon and fresh mountain trout Oscar (topped with seafood in a delectable sauce) accompanied with the prefect wine selected by their sommelier. Not to mention the martini so cold it had ice crystals enjoyed before a cozy fire!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Wo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Wolfgang's. Service was excellent and the food very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for a couple's Thanksgivin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Perfect place for a couple's Thanksgiving dinner. It was great to have entree options after several pre-Thanksgiving family events with turkey. The lamb was delicious, and staff was delightful as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Wolfgang's for our special Th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed Wolfgang's for our special Thanksgiving meal. My wife selected traditional turkey with all the "fixins" and I the non-traditional shrimp and grits. Both meals were superb, topped off with bananas Foster and pumpkin pie. Excellent service by Jeff made the experience truly exceptional.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like the food and service. However, this ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Like the food and service. However, this is the second time we have been seated in your lower level room which reeks of mold and mildew, not a nice place to eat. Can't you install a moisture/mildew enclosure underneath? Most people have mold allergies. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The food was solid...I'm sure we have ne ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was solid...I'm sure we have never run into Austrian-Cajun fusion before...several dishes seemed to meld what must be Chef's passions and several were traditional versions of each cuisine on its own.

The restaurant is a little worn around the edges, especially noteable in the men's room and we were a bit cold on a chilly November night in the back dining room, but would return for the hearty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Wolfgang's is always top-notch. My husba ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wolfgang's is always top-notch. My husband and I go here very often and it never disappoints. Service is great, wine selection is one of the best in Highlands, and food is always consistent. We started with the Fried Brie with a cranberry walnut compote. It was delicious. For our second course I had the Wedge Salad, it is top with the best Bleu Cheese Dressing I have ever had. My husband had the Gorgonzola Walnut Salad it was very refreshing with the citrus pieces. For Entrees I had the Venison, it was so tender and cooked to perfection. My husband had the BBQ Shrimp and Grits it was also outstanding. The grits were perfectly creamy and the collards were excellent. For dessert we shared to Apple Strudel, the chef's family recipe, it was the perfect way to end the meal. Wolfgang's is a must go to place when in Highlands.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Started with the bisque. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great! Started with the bisque. Creamy delicious. Veal medallions were out of this world.

Only negative was the unfriendly disinterested server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went with Red Snapper with Mediterranean ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went with Red Snapper with Mediterranean Salsa and asparagus. The snapper was excellent, not overly oiled, seasoned just write, and acidity of the salsa really brightened up the meal. Overall, excellent experience. Will look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wolfgangs came highly recommended & it w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wolfgangs came highly recommended & it was not bad, just very average. Good wine list; average food. Negligent service. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lots of hype but marginal food. My lett ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lots of hype but marginal food. My lettuce seemed to still have dirt on it. Everything was blah except the wine. Waiter was very nice but the hostess was a bit rude. Portobello app was so-so. No charm or ambiance. Didn't care for all the Christmas decorations weeks before Thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

We picked this restaurant by the menu wi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We picked this restaurant by the menu within the locale we were visiting. And we sure enjoyed an excellent Bavarian style meal. The schnitzel was very tasty and authentic. And my wife was celebrating an important birthday, so the staff made it special with a wonderful mousse and sparkler without that terrible singing that seems to pervade American restaurants (yuck). I am certain that other menu items were equally well prepared and portioned. Would have loved to have a visit from owners/preparers, this always adds comfort to the dining experience. If we visit this area again, we will certainly visit again to enjoy other menu items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service was good. Was seated in ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food and service was good. Was seated in the back room which allowed for a more private and intimate dinner. Shrimp and lobster bisque was excellent. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my husband here for his birthday, a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday, and had requested a quiet table. The two of us were seated at a table for four, which gave us more room, and it was against a wall, not in the middle of the dining room, which made it a little quieter. Food and service were good, including a complimentary dessert of our choice for the birthday celebration. We've had better meals here in the past, though, perhaps because this time was "end of season" and everyone is tired. It can be very noisy, but we went at 6 p.m. and it wasn't too bad, though it was getting loud by the time we left.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We dined at 6pm. The dining room was qui ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We dined at 6pm. The dining room was quiet, food was excellent (shrimp and grits, steak, fish, etc., service was appropriately attentive; a delightful evening with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the most wonderful meal here on o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had the most wonderful meal here on our honeymoon! The shortribs were fabulous, the bisque incredible and the venison was quite good as well, but a bit overpriced. Our favorite dining experience in Highlands! M

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening eating in the in ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a lovely evening eating in the inside dining room. The service was very good and we were seated without waiting.3 of us ordered the beef rib and it was Delicious! The only thing I would change is to ask that the collards not be on top of the dish. They were very tasty,, but a little overcoming. Unfortunately , the French onion soup was a disappointment . It was lukewarm and we could not enjoy the soup because it was full of bay leaves. We'll try another choice next time.

We will go back because we enjoyed the evening at Wolfgang's!

Kathie andDennisTreado

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We arrived early and had cocktails outsi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We arrived early and had cocktails outside. Relaxed by a small fountain with great drinks. We ordered a French 75, one of their signature drinks, and it was amazing. We were seated in their "lower dining area" which was very intimate and cozy. We had Casey as our server and I was so thankful we did because she was fantastic. The food was amazing. We enjoyed the Hungarian Ghouloash, the Lobster Bisque and the Special Venison Dish. It was so tender we could cut it with a fork.

We came for my birthday and they treated me to a free dessert. We had the peanut butter pie (complete with sparklers)!

We will definitely return again.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at Wolfgan ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Wolfgang's. Great local foods and international cuisine. Authentic. Terrific service and reasonable prices. The best we've had in Highlands, North Carolina.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice place to relax and enjoy gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Really nice place to relax and enjoy great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a party of 8 and they seated us in t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had a party of 8 and they seated us in the Napa Room! Awesome room for a large party with a nice round table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The Wiener Schnitzel is ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Excellent food. The Wiener Schnitzel is as good or better than many places in Austria. I wish this restaurant was in Asheville, NC. It would be very successful there as well.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. My wife and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed and would readily recommend it to others. It is certainly worth a visit if you are in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening very much! Quiet con ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Enjoyed our evening very much! Quiet conversation in the back downstairs room. Noisy upstairs. Excellent food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing place! Do yourself a favor and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing place! Do yourself a favor and dine at this outstanding establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is I and my wife's favorite restaur ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is I and my wife's favorite restaurant we visit Highlands at least once a year and Wolfgang's is the high light of our stay I highly recommend that you order from the specials menu the food has always been amazing and the service is outstanding

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first trip and it was a great experi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our first trip and it was a great experience! We had excellent service and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and a nice atmosphere. Wines ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and a nice atmosphere. Wines were fairly priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed this find in Highlands after a d ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Enjoyed this find in Highlands after a day of shopping and walking the village. Nice covered patio, very good service and the food is tasty. Reservations a must on weekends.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place to eat, I see why they are ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Awesome place to eat, I see why they are ranked #1.. I would highly recommend this Restaurant to anyone. We will definitely be back. Great food, great service, nice atmosphere , friendly people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Bar Seating, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Private Room, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I expected much more. The dining atmosph ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I expected much more. The dining atmosphere was just okay. The food (two different trout dishes) were just okay. Service was good. There were several restaurants in the area that were much better than Wolfgangs in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

My favorite restaurant in Highlands whic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Highlands which is saying something considering the number of first class choices you have there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From the minute we walked in, the servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

From the minute we walked in, the service was spot on, we sat in the Bistro and were waited on by Jeff, outstanding service, the food was over the top and very reasonable prices. New homeowners in Highlands, will back soon

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food very much. Would hav ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. Would have been a much better experience if our server hadn't seemed so cavalier and inattentive. We are not "high maintenance" diners so feel our thoughts are valid. He simply seemed to not care and kept disappearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

WE had eaten here 3 days before and the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

WE had eaten here 3 days before and the server (Ivan) was fabulous. Then on the more recent visit, the server was very inadequate. She attempted 3 times to get the drink order right and then began to ignore our table. There were a couple of ladies who came in after we did and they had drinks and their food before our order was ever taken.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Wait 10 minutes. Waitress greets us. W ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wait 10 minutes. Waitress greets us. Wait 10 minutes. We get water. Wait 10 minutes. Order drinks. Wait 10 minutes. Get drinks. And on and on. The Bavarian platter was very good. The short ribs were good. (There were no delicious flavors. I would classify it as bland comfort food.). The apples in the apple streusel were dry and limp. Maybe this place was overhyped and my expectations were too high?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Overall a great dining experience. The o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Overall a great dining experience. The one thing that fell short was the service that was provided. It seemed that our waiter was a little put out by having to serve us. Maybe he was tired of the "tourist" trade that I am sure makes up a lot of their business. Other than the service, the rest of the night was great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My husband and I visited on a Friday nig ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I visited on a Friday night and had a wonderful meal on the patio. The food was the best we had while in Highlands and they had the most extensive wine list of any other restaurant I've visited recently. The service was great and the weather was perfect for sitting on the patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.