Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: (828) 526-8396

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fireplace (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 4 days ago

We love to eat at the very small bar, or a bar table when it's just the 2 of us! Food is consistently good! My husband and I both always order the trout oscar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent. Wolfgang even came out to say hello, and make sure everything was good. Great wine selections, and the Châteaubriand for two was amazing. For dessert, the crème brûlée was a great choice, and the chocolate mousse was light and delicious. From start to finish, a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our most favorite restaurants! I had received an offer for a free appetizer for my birthday but I completely forgot about it! So there it sat in my pocketbook !!
but that's OK I just love the food there and I tried something different this time and it was the duck and it was outstanding

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Nice, though off season, may not have been on full focus, we'll be back to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was mediocre. Unnecessary mac and cheese side with every dish, even the fancy French ones. Unenthusiastic staff. Lodge ambiance. Disorganized bartenders

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I take my husband for our anniversary we have a great time. Food was great my steak was so delicious , the wine selection really good, costumer service amazing love the atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great dinner with friends at Wolfgang's! The food and service was exceptional and I highly recommend this gem for a special dinner!! I enjoyed the crab cake and pecan crusted shrimp - yum!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband and I were in Highlands for the weekend celebrating our anniversary and we chose Wolfgang's for one of our dinners. It did not disappoint!! We were seated in the lower dining area, right next to a beautiful fireplace, and were so thankful that we could easily hear each other, as the noise level was very low. We began the evening with the Pecan-encrusted Shrimp and they were delicious! For our entrees, I had the Short Rib and my husband had the Cajun Shrimp and Asiago Grits and both were prepared perfectly! The servings were very generous...in fact, neither of us were able to finish our entire dish. We finished out the evening with a Makers Mark and Vanilla Creme Brûlée which was the perfect ending to a wonderful dining experience. Thanks, Ivan, for the great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Elegant. Classy casual. Gem. Met the chef. Beautifully prepared dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We got the sea bass and were very disappointed. It was very pricey and was not good. Enjoyed the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our late Valentines dinner! Everything was wonderful.
We made our trip to Highlands at a time we could get reservations and glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Wolfgang's, and this was opening night after the winter break. I ventured out this visit and had the venison versus my normal short rib order. Wasn't disappointed in the least and will have a difficult decision to make next visit. My wife had the veal medallions and was equally pleased. We've never had anything less than a wonderful dinner at Wolfgang's. The service, as always, was excellent, the presentation was impressive, and the overall dining experience memorable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderfully prepared food, beautifully presented. I had the lobster beggar's purse, the signature shrimp & lobster bisque, duck two ways, one plate, and cherries jubilee. It was all simply to die for. The wine list is lovely and includes good selections of half bottles and wines by the glass. Wolfgang doesn't just create a meal--he crafts a beautiful experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome as expected. Wolfgang and Mindy never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely dinner with my two daughters , service was excellent and the entrees were delicious as well ... beautiful dinning .. will return when visiting Highlands

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at Wolfgang's! Chef Wolfgang and his crew always do a great job! The variety of food offered allows everyone to find something they will enjoy. Their wine list is one of the best in town! When in Highlands, make sure to dine at Wolfgang's!

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoined the Red Snapper special and Cajun shrimp with andouille scented collards and grits! Yum... We started with Fried brie and finished with Chocolate peppermint creme brulee.
We also had their House chard and Merlot.
Great place to finish out the year here in highlands.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Some confusion on part of waitress about menu offerings and slow service which was surprising considering the restaurant wasn't very busy. Trout was very good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wife and I celebrating her birthday... was cold and raining outside... warm and cozy inside.
Food was terrific and service (Jeff) was great - very attentive...!

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic service, great menu, beautiful ambience...everything was just superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Been going here 15+ years three or four times a year
Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

From stuffed portabella mushrooms to the melt in your mouth filet mignon and fresh mountain trout Oscar (topped with seafood in a delectable sauce) accompanied with the prefect wine selected by their sommelier. Not to mention the martini so cold it had ice crystals enjoyed before a cozy fire!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Wolfgang's. Service was excellent and the food very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Perfect place for a couple's Thanksgiving dinner. It was great to have entree options after several pre-Thanksgiving family events with turkey. The lamb was delicious, and staff was delightful as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed Wolfgang's for our special Thanksgiving meal. My wife selected traditional turkey with all the "fixins" and I the non-traditional shrimp and grits. Both meals were superb, topped off with bananas Foster and pumpkin pie. Excellent service by Jeff made the experience truly exceptional.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Like the food and service. However, this is the second time we have been seated in your lower level room which reeks of mold and mildew, not a nice place to eat. Can't you install a moisture/mildew enclosure underneath? Most people have mold allergies. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was solid...I'm sure we have never run into Austrian-Cajun fusion before...several dishes seemed to meld what must be Chef's passions and several were traditional versions of each cuisine on its own.

The restaurant is a little worn around the edges, especially noteable in the men's room and we were a bit cold on a chilly November night in the back dining room, but would return for the hearty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wolfgang's is always top-notch. My husband and I go here very often and it never disappoints. Service is great, wine selection is one of the best in Highlands, and food is always consistent. We started with the Fried Brie with a cranberry walnut compote. It was delicious. For our second course I had the Wedge Salad, it is top with the best Bleu Cheese Dressing I have ever had. My husband had the Gorgonzola Walnut Salad it was very refreshing with the citrus pieces. For Entrees I had the Venison, it was so tender and cooked to perfection. My husband had the BBQ Shrimp and Grits it was also outstanding. The grits were perfectly creamy and the collards were excellent. For dessert we shared to Apple Strudel, the chef's family recipe, it was the perfect way to end the meal. Wolfgang's is a must go to place when in Highlands.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great! Started with the bisque. Creamy delicious. Veal medallions were out of this world.
Only negative was the unfriendly disinterested server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went with Red Snapper with Mediterranean Salsa and asparagus. The snapper was excellent, not overly oiled, seasoned just write, and acidity of the salsa really brightened up the meal. Overall, excellent experience. Will look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lots of hype but marginal food. My lettuce seemed to still have dirt on it. Everything was blah except the wine. Waiter was very nice but the hostess was a bit rude. Portobello app was so-so. No charm or ambiance. Didn't care for all the Christmas decorations weeks before Thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wolfgangs came highly recommended & it was not bad, just very average. Good wine list; average food. Negligent service. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We picked this restaurant by the menu within the locale we were visiting. And we sure enjoyed an excellent Bavarian style meal. The schnitzel was very tasty and authentic. And my wife was celebrating an important birthday, so the staff made it special with a wonderful mousse and sparkler without that terrible singing that seems to pervade American restaurants (yuck). I am certain that other menu items were equally well prepared and portioned. Would have loved to have a visit from owners/preparers, this always adds comfort to the dining experience. If we visit this area again, we will certainly visit again to enjoy other menu items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food and service was good. Was seated in the back room which allowed for a more private and intimate dinner. Shrimp and lobster bisque was excellent. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday, and had requested a quiet table. The two of us were seated at a table for four, which gave us more room, and it was against a wall, not in the middle of the dining room, which made it a little quieter. Food and service were good, including a complimentary dessert of our choice for the birthday celebration. We've had better meals here in the past, though, perhaps because this time was "end of season" and everyone is tired. It can be very noisy, but we went at 6 p.m. and it wasn't too bad, though it was getting loud by the time we left.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We dined at 6pm. The dining room was quiet, food was excellent (shrimp and grits, steak, fish, etc., service was appropriately attentive; a delightful evening with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had the most wonderful meal here on our honeymoon! The shortribs were fabulous, the bisque incredible and the venison was quite good as well, but a bit overpriced. Our favorite dining experience in Highlands! M

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a lovely evening eating in the inside dining room. The service was very good and we were seated without waiting.3 of us ordered the beef rib and it was Delicious! The only thing I would change is to ask that the collards not be on top of the dish. They were very tasty,, but a little overcoming. Unfortunately , the French onion soup was a disappointment . It was lukewarm and we could not enjoy the soup because it was full of bay leaves. We'll try another choice next time.
We will go back because we enjoyed the evening at Wolfgang's!
Kathie andDennisTreado

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We arrived early and had cocktails outside. Relaxed by a small fountain with great drinks. We ordered a French 75, one of their signature drinks, and it was amazing. We were seated in their "lower dining area" which was very intimate and cozy. We had Casey as our server and I was so thankful we did because she was fantastic. The food was amazing. We enjoyed the Hungarian Ghouloash, the Lobster Bisque and the Special Venison Dish. It was so tender we could cut it with a fork.
We came for my birthday and they treated me to a free dessert. We had the peanut butter pie (complete with sparklers)!
We will definitely return again.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.