Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: (828) 526-8396

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Dinner was excellent!
Staff was courteous and efficient.
Not a single complaint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We have vacationed in Cashiers for years, and walked by Wolfgangs many a time during the day saying we wanted to go there. And this time, we stayed in Highlands so we went for a pre-play dinner on Friday night and then returned on Saturday night for a nibble and drink at the bar. It was delicious. I always thought it was this little restaurant, but it is deceiving as it goes back behind the one building to a porch-like seating area, and then to another closed in dining room. Our waiter, Ivan, was super kind and helpful and attentive. Our food was delicious- we had the portobello appetizer, I had the shrimp risotto special and my husband has a meat trio plate- all were YUMMY! And our experience t the bar was absolutely delightful as well-

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Another couple visiting us in Highlands joined us at Wolfgangs for dinner last Monday evening. Though the restaurant was quite busy our server gave us the attention that made us feel as though we were the only table she had. Friendly personal service but not hovering over us is the norm for Wolfgangs. I chose the shrimp & lobster bisque which was delicious. The other couple both had the Seasonal Greens Gorgonzola Walnut Salad and my wife had the Caesar salad. You can have the Caesar's Romaine either grilled or chilled. I decided on the Short Rib for my main course and unless you haven't eaten in a week, only get one. It was wonderful and so much food it was hard to finish. My wife loved the trout. Our friends both had the crab cake with a side of shrimp. They said it was as good as those in Baltimore. Be sure to eat at least once at Wolfgangs during your visit to Highlands.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very casual, reminded us of a Mountain restaurant in decor. Menu was varied and tasty. Service was disappointing and quite a noisy environment. Location is great!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fantastic food and very accommodating for our large group.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants of all time. Best food in The Highlands.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My meal was absolutely divine in every way. We shared the crab / shrimp rolls and my entree was peking duck. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and was quite fun to talk with!
I would highly recommend Five Sixty to anyone wanting a fab dining experience along with the breathtaking views that come with it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Best restaurant in Highlands. Wolfgang's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Have been going there for 20 years and love it! One of our top favorite restaurants!
If your in highlands NC or not to far from there Wolfgangs is a must!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Best value & quality in Highlands. Will return as often as possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonderful dinner for our first anniversary, started off with drinks and escargot. We both ordered from the specials menu, wife had a wonderful red snapper and I chose the jumbo shrimp with risotto. Dessert was Wolfgang Apple Fritter a la mode. Overall experience was wonderful, enjoyed sitting outside in the great weather.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were in Highlands for the weekend and had our Mini Golden Doodle, Henry, with us, so we needed good restaurants that were pet-friendly. While there are several in HIghlands, Wolfgang's was by far the best -- excellent food, wonderful covered outdoor seating area, terrific service, great ambiance. In hindsight, we wished we had eaten there all three of the evening we were in town instead of only once. Will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a group of 7 and a baby and were sat on the back porch for a Saturday dinner. The porch was wonderful, the staff was informative and helpful and the food was delicious! We would highly recommend this place and will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We went to Highlands for our 15th anniversary, and Wolfgang's was our favorite dining experience out of seven different restaurants. Everything was fantastic - seating, ambiance, food, and the sommelier was so kind and picked the best wine. She clearly loves her job.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great restaurant in Highlands. Wonderful food and we love coming here every year

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Not sure what to say. Reviews were great that's why I choose it for my husbands birthday while in Highlands. Lamb was excellent but filet was mediocre at best. Not what I expected from a Wolfgang restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful food, great wine selection and awesome atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent meal, fabulous service. We were treated by every employee like we were the most important customers in the restaurant. It made our anniversary a very special evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always enjoyable! We dine here with frequency. Our go to place in Highlands.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My husband and I had a very fine dinner here on our visit to Highlands. The food was so good. The place is interesting, and the staff great. We would love to return the next time we are in town.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A delicious meal, outstanding service and perfect ambiance for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Five if us, friends from Texas, Florida, and Pennsylvania who meet in a special location at least once a year, spent four days in Highlands, and chose to eat dinner at Wolfgang's on the third night of our stay . It was wonderful. The staff were exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable about the food, and obviously quite proud of the establishment. Did I mention the food was fresh and perfectly prepared? We were even visited at our table by the owner and chef himself.

There are a number of excellent restaurants in Highlands and the surrounding area, but Wolfgang's proved to be the highlight of our dining experience. A must for anyone !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

5 star as always. Worth the drive through the mountains. Excellent display of wine for any taste.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

have eaten at Wolfgangs several times and it is absolutely fantastic. Will eat there every time we are in the area

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wolfgang's is a great place to eat. The ambiance is delightful, the food is fantastic, and the wine list is superb. Wolfgang is always updating the menu and also bringing back favorites with a new flair and taste. A meal at Wolfgang's is a must!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Consistently good. We have eaten there many times and never gotten a mediocre meal. Outstanding beef tenderloin, veal, lavendar encrusted salmon, mountain trout, etc. all delicious!! Cannot wait to go back. Virginia

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and service. We had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

For starters we had the crab cake app and the crab and lobster bisque. Both were outstanding. We shared a fork tender veal osso bucco complemented by a red wine blend from their notable wine list.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lots of issues. First, our wedge salad was so overdressed (there was at least 1/4 cup of dressing left on the plate) we made a joke to our server that we'd take the remainder of the dressing "to go." He laughed. Then, the boneless duck had three bones in it. The server did comp. us a free dessert, but both of these issues seemed a bit much for a restaurant with the Wolfgang Puck name attached. We came during our weekend getaway. Based on this experience, I don't think I'd visit another Wolfgang restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and service, my second time at Wolfgang's, I would highly recommend this restaurant when in Highlands.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very nice to walk in and they know who you are and it's the first time we have been there. We made reservations a couple of days before. We walk in 2 min before our reserved time and the hostess say welcome Mr. (Insert last name). Straight to the table and the wine was flowing! Super nice start to a great evening! I would have been blown away and would have given all five stars if the Decor was a bit more modern! Otherwise nice!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a low key bachelorette dinner (10 women) in a private room. Wonderful atmosphere and the food was delicious! Our server was excellent - very attentive. Not one complaint - very impressed. Will be back on the next trip to Highlands!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything that comes out of the kitchen is just pretty wonderful. Wine list is insane and personally advised by Annelize, their sommelier - you're guaranteed a great selection whatever taste and budget. Patio and covered deck are great - 'bistro' has small plates and opens at 4 for post-shopping cocktail and people watching on Main Street. Wiener Schnitzel is AMAZING!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was our third time to dine at Wolfgang's while in the Highlands. As before, the food and service was excellent and will definitely return again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wolfgang's is simply fantastic! I've eaten here a couple times now and everything about this restaurant is just amazing!!! The service cannot be beaten anywhere! I left my readers and couldn't see the menu. They brought me an assortment of readers I could use!! The trout with crab on top was just fantastic! The shrimp/crab bisque was fabulous!
You will need a reservation here or you can sometimes find a seat in the bar area. This restaurant is not to be missed if you visit Highlands!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We love to eat at the very small bar, or a bar table when it's just the 2 of us! Food is consistently good! My husband and I both always order the trout oscar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The service was excellent. Wolfgang even came out to say hello, and make sure everything was good. Great wine selections, and the Châteaubriand for two was amazing. For dessert, the crème brûlée was a great choice, and the chocolate mousse was light and delicious. From start to finish, a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This is one of our most favorite restaurants! I had received an offer for a free appetizer for my birthday but I completely forgot about it! So there it sat in my pocketbook !!
but that's OK I just love the food there and I tried something different this time and it was the duck and it was outstanding

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Nice, though off season, may not have been on full focus, we'll be back to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.