About Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro

474 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 1000 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Southern Living 2016: “Best Place for Dinner in Highlands.
”Our State” magazine named Wolfgang’s Restaurant &
Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County,.
Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine.
Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace.
Elected Member of Academy of Chefs
Certified Executive Chef
Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team
Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year
Chaine des Rotisseurs

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open:





Serving Dinner From 5:30 P.M.

Bistro Opens at 4:00 P.M. We do not take reservations for this.
Small Plates serving wine, beer and full bar.

Cross Street:
South 5th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-3807

Website:
http://www.wolfgangs.net/

Executive Chef:
Chef Wolfgang Green

Private Party Facilities:
We offer three private dining room options, seating from 10 ,20 and 40 people and up. For weddings, rehearsals and parties under 220 people the whole restaurant can be taken.
Visit Our Web Site www.wolfgangs.net or 828.526.8396

Private Party Contact:
Mindy Green, Owner: 828-526-8396x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Highlands will be doing there annual Culinary event in November. To see all the dates visit www.wolfgangs.net.

We also do all holidays except Christmas.

Wolfgang's Restaurant and Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

Special Occasion (56)
Notable Wine List (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Romantic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An exceptional restaurant. Food and ser ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

An exceptional restaurant. Food and service were superb. However noise level was high and dining room was warm. This detracted from the overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always eat Wolfgang when we are in th ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always eat Wolfgang when we are in the highlands always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every thing was great. Food, Service, co ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Every thing was great. Food, Service, cocktails were all super.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting Highlands 5 nites & had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were visiting Highlands 5 nites & had our best meal & service at Wolfgang's. Definitely a must try restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Food, Service and Atmosphere!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Perfect Food, Service and Atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible music, the food was not quality ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrible music, the food was not quality considering how much we paid for it, and our server was obviously not having a good night or just does not like his job. Also, we had the only option of a 5:45 reservation, and practically the entire restaurant was empty until 6:45.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife & I decided to go to Wolfgangs o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My wife & I decided to go to Wolfgangs our last night in Highlands. Since there were so many reservation times available we thought it would be empty on this Thursday night. We were wrong. Even though there were several large groups, we were seated within 5 minutes. It had been over a year since we had eaten here but our meals were superb. My wife had the Osso Buco, which was huge. She didn't come close to eating even half of the serving. I opted for the Snapper in a slightly spicy, tangy curry sauce, with garlic mash potatoes and grilled vegetable bundle on the side. Wonderful describes the taste of my fish. I just hope that it is again on the menu when we return in October.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Experience was only diminished by inatte ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Experience was only diminished by inattentive waiter. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

I have dined here every time in Highland ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have dined here every time in Highlands Never disappoint s We had a great rain falling on the porch tin roof I loved it!

Carolyn

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there for my wife's birthday be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We dined there for my wife's birthday because they had escargot and lamb, her favorites, on the menu. She said they were the best dishes she has ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just had a quiet dinner for two and t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We just had a quiet dinner for two and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to Wolfgang's for year ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I have been going to Wolfgang's for years, but it has changed. They used to care about customer service, but that seems to not be important anymore. The hostesses did not even smile when we walked in, and we had to speak to them first! Our waitress acted as if she didn't even want to be there. Definitely didn't feel like we were wanted, and for the prices you have to pay, we should be treated a lot better!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Both our entrees were excellent! One was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Both our entrees were excellent! One was the Salmon grilled, the other was the Mountain Trout Oscar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wolfgang's is my most favorite in Highla ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wolfgang's is my most favorite in Highlands! The Chateaubriand for 2 is melt in your mouth to die for!!! My husband and I have eaten there every year on our Anniversary for close to 19 years and will continue to go back! Great place to dress up or dress casual, you are fine either way, pleasant atmosphere, very accommodating and friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Wolfgan ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Wolfgang's --our favorite place! Annelize is great with her choice of wines. My husband's steak (seared on the outside and rare in the middle) was perfect. I ordered the lavender crusted salmon which was also outstanding,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's and my first time at Wolfgang' ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife's and my first time at Wolfgang's. Enjoyed meeting Wolfgang Green at our table. Food, and service was excellent. Was moderately crowded for an early, 6:00 p.m. dinner, but everyone appeared to be having a great time. Ambiance is perfect for the wonderful environment offered by the Highland's mountain community. We loved it all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. The trainee server was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was great. The trainee server was great. Her trainer was at best "rude".

We will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were a group of four who enjoyed our ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were a group of four who enjoyed our dinner outside. The gardens created a lovely ambience. The red snapper special served Oscar style with lobster and shrimp was wonderful.

We all liked our dinners. The brownie desert was huge and shared by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have dined at Madisons, the Bistro, V ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have dined at Madisons, the Bistro, Veranda , Wild Thyme, Canyon Kitchen, and the food at Wolfgangs was by far the best. And the cheapest price! Yes the view at Canyon Kitchen cannot be matched but we will never go to Highlands again without reservations at Wolfgangs. We are very picky and we had the best meal in 4 trips to Highlands. Christy our waitress was very friendly and was so gracious and appreciative of our compliments. Can't wait to go back and taste the next dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at 3 restaurants in Highlands & t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We ate at 3 restaurants in Highlands & this was the best!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have experienced this restaurant 2 ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have experienced this restaurant 2 times in 8-10 years. The food is delightful, however, both times we have dealt with inattentive waiters that we seemed to be bothering. The first time was several years ago when we arrived with our 6 and 8 year old budding gourmand sons for lunch and the waiter acted bothered that we had children with us-he did however perk up when we ordered steaks for them. This last experience was equally disappointing because of the attitude of our waiter who basically made no rush to check on us after we arrived and we never say again after he delivered our drinks until I had to send the water server to find him and to ask him to bring us our bill. I'm not sure if it was because we were a party of two or what but Wolgang's definitely needs to discuss customer service attitudes regardless of the size of party. I am a former waiter and I am a very generous tipper but on this night I tipped 5% which was more than was warranted! FOOD is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

Food was fair. Would not recommend. Bett ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was fair. Would not recommend. Better restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great wiener schnitzel and wine list. Pa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great wiener schnitzel and wine list. Patio dining ambience needs some improvement.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still serving great food with excellent ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Still serving great food with excellent wait staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious European cuisine and prompt kn ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Delicious European cuisine and prompt knowledgeable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious. Ser ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. Service was outstanding. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary during vacation in Highlands. Food was excellent, I had the trout and my wife the duck. The sommolier was right on target with the wine. However it was a bit noisy (likely due to the hour and the tourist season) and the service lagged badly at the end, the entree took too long to deliver after apps and salad and the waiter disappeared when it was time for the check. Otherwise a pleasant experience and I would not hesitate to recommend for visitors to Highlands NC.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were a party of 3--all getting differ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were a party of 3--all getting different dishes. Each dish was outstanding--Veal Wolfgang, beef fillet, and snapper would all melt in your mouth!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu options, the roast lamb was e ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great menu options, the roast lamb was excellent. The portabella mushroom appetizer was the best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was just disappointed. The décor in thi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was just disappointed. The décor in this restaurant doesn't seem to have been updated since we were there 10+ years ago. The cold cucumber soup, steak, and veal with crawfish, and potatoes were very good, but vegetables were overcooked (asparagus) and the ambiance left much to be desired. Dessert was not good at all. The apple streudel was bitter tasting and bananas foster had too much rum and ice cream was almost entirely melted when it was brought to the table. Our server was very loud. In retrospect, perhaps he was trying to speak so those hard-of-hearing could hear him, but still was an uncomfortable interruption to our dinner several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

One of the top 2 restaurants in Highland ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the top 2 restaurants in Highlands, NC. The sommelier knows her business!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose to eat inside to be cooler but ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We chose to eat inside to be cooler but it wasn't. Either the A/C wasn't on or wasn't working.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent excellent service. The chef ca ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent excellent service. The chef came to our table and made sure everything was good. The food and wine were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, attentive service, acceptabl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, attentive service, acceptable pricing, a great gathering place for special occasions or special friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ours sons birthday from Florida a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was ours sons birthday from Florida and we were so excited when we saw where they seated our family. We had a lovely private room and was enjoyed by all. Very special to say the least. Drinks were excellent and wine list was too. The wine our son selected was so good. The staff was very attentive We are still talking about the room, service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service would recomme ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent food and service would recommend them to everyonr

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Wolfgangs for my 2 year annive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I went to Wolfgangs for my 2 year anniversary. I got the shrimp and lobster bisque and short ribs. My boyfriend got the french onion soup and the filet. We thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The service was great and everyone was very nice. Highly recommend Wolfgangs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is just average for the price

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is just average for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Wolfgang's never disappoints! Make a re ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wolfgang's never disappoints! Make a reservation to dine in the main/formal dining rooms. Walk in's can dine in the Bistro out front or in the formal dining (assuming tables are available). Great blend of German and Cajun influenced dishes. Save room for dessert. Tremendous wine list. Let Annelize, their Somm/Wine Director, help you with your wine selection. We like to tell her a flavor profile and price range and have her surprise us. She always gets it right!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and outstanding service!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great menu and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.