About Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina - MGM Grand Detroit

1777 Third Street
Detroit, MI 48226
View Larger Map

More than just a pizzeria, the menu features rustic Italian favorites, homemade pastas and specialty pizzas. Seasonal specials also are offered nightly. The bar at Pizzeria & Cucina features a dynamic beverage list complementing the menu’s exquisite Italian flavors including domestic and international beers and a comprehensive selection of wines, many imported from Italy.

*Please note that Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina is located within the casino; guests must be 21+ to dine at Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bagley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 465-1646

Website:
http://www.mgmgranddetroit.com/restaurants/wolfgangpuckpizzeriaandcucina/default.aspx

Parking Details:
Valet & Self-Parking Available

For detailed information about parking at any MGM Resorts destination, please visit mgmresorts.com/parking

Executive Chef:
Jacob Williamson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina - MGM Grand Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Casual (3)
See All
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome as always..only little issue is what i ordered i was told they ran out of..but i was there at 5pm..pizzas are fantastic..pasta dishes are as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wish they had a more affordable wine list… I really wanted to get a nice bottle of red wine but there was nothing I liked for a decent price

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was excellent! Told our waitress we were catching a show and she made sure to speed up our meals. The singer on Saturday night was excellent! Drinks were excellent! Food tasted amazing; however was extremely disappointed in the small serving size compared to the price per dish.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was horrible! The waitress took are order and never came back. Until I asked for the bill from a different staff member. Food was ok at best for the pricing. I wouldn't go back, very disappointed in the MGM restaurants to date. Hope fully they get it together soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our experience for a New Year's Eve experience was very poor. Usually we get much better service. They rushed out us out as they brought bill while we were on our entrees. Plus our favorite appetizer steamed mussels was not available because some manager did not order enough. Plus they reported to open table that we were no show

Still I gave generous 30% tip

I think they owe us a better service next time and complimentary appetizer at least

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Upon arriving at the front desk the young man at the desk spent at least 2 minutes texting on his watch. He only looked up when someone else walked up and asked if there were any tables available. After answering the gentleman's query. He then addressed us and the other couple waiting. We both actually HAD reservations. It took about 10 minutes to be seated. 10 more minutes to be acknowledged by our waitress. Several more minutes to actually place our order and receive my wine. My husband was halfway through his drink by the time my wine came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great, except with a reservation I expected to have table NOT seated in the bar. I was hoping for a booth. A high top in the middle of a huge window felt alittle uncomfortable .

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was outstanding, on a very busy night we still received full service with a smile. A somielier was available to help pair wine with our meal. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were seated as soon as we arrived and the wait staff was excellent - very attentive, friendly, and professional. All four of our meals - from the soup and salad to the entrees - were cooked to perfection and the presentation was very appealing. Our dinners ranged from pizza to spaghetti to salmon and were flavorful and delicious. We were all very pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Husband had the spaghetti and meatballs , I the chicken piccata. Both were excellent . Portions were just right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent appetizers, entrée and service. Great dinner experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

They were running behind on our reservation, we were able to be seated about 10 minutes after our reserved time. We were seated in the front area that borders the casino, nice for people watching. Waitress was nice, received our drinks and food quickly, and then she brought us our bill without even asking if we needed dessert or anything else. I felt like I was being rushed out of there, but I then ordered dessert and another drink, both of which took longer than the original meal to receive. So that part was a little disappointing.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Open table shouldn't take reservations here - because you have to walk through a casino and you have anyone under 21, you can't get into restaurant without a security escort that takes at least 20 mins to get. If you reserve without OpenTable they tell you this - but if open table you wouldn't know. Then the SMOKE from the casino is TERRIBLE. All our clothes need dry cleaning. SERIOUS smoke. I picked it cause it was WP but disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My server Julie, made this such an amazing experience! The food was phenomenal, and did I mention the service!?! Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I had dinner Saturday night and as usual, it was delicious. Our server, Kristy, was very professional and her wine and food recommendations were spot on........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Pizza is not as good as it use to be. We were told We need to special request if you want a true Margherita pizza with fresh mozzarella. Otherwise you receive a cheese pizza with basil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Never got waited on after twenty minutes

Had to leave

I was looking forward to trying it for the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service great. Didn't have cheesecake left

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was my husbands birthday and I have eaten there several times before, I thought the food was very good. I don't know what happened Thursday my husband ordered steak and there was so much fat on it you couldn't even cut it with the knife. I had scallops, and they tasted like they were a little over done, although I didn't say anything about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great as always..prices are a value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2016

First impression walking in was of an amazing, beautifully decorated restaurant. The booth that my date and I were seated at was secluded with walls on three sides, giving us a sense of comfort and privacy. Our service was friendly and not rushed in the slightest, and we were able to chat while browsing the menus at length. Side note, if you are having drinks with dinner, be prepared to spend some time on the wine and cocktail menu as it is quite thick, though popular dinner drinks (specialty drinks and wines) are at the front of the menu. Every dish brought to our table was exquisite. Flavors were balanced, portions were just enough that the entire meal (2 courses and shared appetizer and dessert) was filling with nothing left on the plates. The atmosphere was generally relaxed and we barely noticed the other patrons around us. This may be different on the weekend when the restaurant is busier.

One major drawback is that this restaurant is inside the MGM Grand, and you do have to walk a significant part of the casino floor to get to it. This could pose a problem to anyone with smoke allergies. Also a warning, you pay for what you get. While there are more reasonably priced items on the menu, a simple two entree dinner with tip can actually run over $100. The food is worth the price, just be prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2016

My night began with the most upbeat happy and enthusiastic person I've met in a long time. My waitress was absolutely amazing. She was so knowledgeable and fun and made the date very memorable.Thanks Wolfgang for everything.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great tastes and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service. What more could you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 3rd time visiting Wolf Gang's restaurant. My husband loves the steak with the wine reduction and the mushrooms. I try a different pasta each time. So far all have tasted good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2016

its good overall but very very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We go there for the mussels! Veal Parmesan is fantastic. This time we had the scallops. Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I recommend the mussels and dessert, don't bother with the between. Steak was tough, and I mean chewy tough - it was a ribeye, my husband couldn't finish it- he NEVER doesn't finish a steak! I ordered the chicken piccata. Just too much chicken and quite boring, actually just gave up eating the food was so dull. We were given a free dessert for the TOUGH steak... Mascarpone cheesecake was delicious I have to say. Service was blah, it was like the waitress just couldn't be bothered. I won't be going back, and don't recommend it if you're even slightly interested in eating good food, or can cook yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Awesome food! Great atmosphere and service. If you are not a smoker the smoke from the Casino floor can be a bit overpowering.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Loved the staff. They were very accommodating, but the food is subpar. Among other things, we chose the soup of the day...a mushroom bisque. They were out. Saw what looked like a lobster bisque go by us. They were out of that. Ended up with a gray looking corn something soup that was certainly too old to serve. It tasted like they had found it and heated it just to serve something. Then went to salad. I can't complain here. But then, main course: chicken. Wow! I cannot speak volumes of its poor taste. Not what I expect from this restaurant. Other meals were similarly less than stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We went for New Year's eve dinner around 1700 hrs. We had a reservation but were obliged to wait in line with the "mod" for almost 15 minutes. The hostesses were quite slow. Our dinner was excellent, yet our server was very slow to return to our table to check our progress. As a result we were often "drinkless". I expect better service when dining at a fine establishment like Wolfgang Puck's. Will I return? Probably, but I may have some on site requests re: timely service when I do.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2015

My hubby and I sat by the window and could see all of the casino action BUT COULD NOT HEAR IT! Nice! Food was great! Staff was very nice. I highly recommend having dinner or lunch at Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria @ Cucina

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2015

Our dinner was a nice night out. We had friends from out of town for dinner. Great night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2015

we had gotten the pizza and lasagna. both were very high quality at a resonable price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2015

We have gone several times either before a game or concert and it is always good service and good food. No complains and we will go back and refer if you are at MGM

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 26, 2015

It was the perfect menu, perfect atmosphere and thee beat staff ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant never disappoints! Everything is always top notch here from the food to the service to the ambiance. Julie is such a friendly server and when we asked if they had a different type of bread she went out of her way to go get it for us from the other restaurant next door. It was another amazing night at one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2015

The ambiance at the Pizzeria and Cucina is laid back while still being upscale and dressy. Jeans and a nice shirt kind of place where you can get great but casual eats. The food was all amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2015

The food and service have been consistently great! We go back every time we visit Detroit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2015

How could you go wrong with Wolfgang Puck, we eat there a couple times a year and it's never disappointed! The veal scallopini is outstanding, great wine and champagne selection as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2015

The service could not have been better. We were in a bit of a hurry to make an event downtown so our waitress kept things moving. The pizza was good and the salad was even better. Lovely cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2015

You can never go wrong with a WolfgGang Puck Restaurant. The service, the menu and most important the food delicious. Last night, one of our guest a Cordon Bleu Culinary school graduate with 40 years of experience under his belt said "the meal and the wine select was perfect".

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2015

when I go to this place, they know me by name and food of choice. They know which servers section I prefer to be seated in, and the server knows my favorite bread and dipping condiments. it is like showing up at a friends house as a dinner guest. They always make my visit the best it can be. It is a great experience to be able to enjoy a meal out and feel like your at home. I truly love going here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2015

We were disappointed with our recent dining experience at Wolfgang Pucks Pizzeria and Cucina. We were seated for almost ten minutes before our server greeted us and asked for our beverage order. The restaurant did not seem overly busy but our observation was that the staff seemed to be running around in chaos. The food was okay, but nothing to rave about. We have dined at several other Wolfgang Puck establishments and didn't find this experience to be on the same level. Wouldn't recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2015

We have dined here twice for an evening meal after being in the casino. It is quiet and the food is excellent. Service is great , no need to worry about getting a refill or another drink. The waitress was friendly and welcoming as well as the hostess. Great place for food and a relaxing dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2015

We stayed at MGM Grand in a beautiful suite to celebrate Hubby's Birthday, and our Anniversary. So I made reservations through OPENTABLE for Wolfgang Puck's Pizzeria & Cucina, for 6 of us. Cocktails were delicious, bruschetta was yummy, and the chicken piccata was just as our server described...the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2015

Wow. ....... this place was really amazing from the time we entered tool we left, we felt as though we were the only people there. The customer service was great. The waiter knew everything about every dish on the menu and was beyond helpful in helping us make our decision. The drinks were perfect abs refreshing. The food was to die for. It had so much flavor, abs was so mouth watering. This place was all around perfect so cute and romantic. I can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.