About Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina - MGM Grand Detroit

1777 Third Street
Detroit, MI 48226
View Larger Map

More than just a pizzeria, the menu features rustic Italian favorites, homemade pastas and specialty pizzas. Seasonal specials also are offered nightly. The bar at Pizzeria & Cucina features a dynamic beverage list complementing the menu’s exquisite Italian flavors including domestic and international beers and a comprehensive selection of wines, many imported from Italy.

*Please note that Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina is located within the casino; guests must be 21+ to dine at Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bagley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 465-1646

Website:
http://www.mgmgranddetroit.com/restaurants/wolfgangpuckpizzeriaandcucina/default.aspx

Parking Details:
Valet & Self-Parking Available

For detailed information about parking at any MGM Resorts destination, please visit mgmresorts.com/parking

Executive Chef:
Jacob Williamson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina - MGM Grand Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (15)
fit for foodies (10)
romantic (10)
See All
good for groups (8)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service great. Didn't have chee ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food and service great. Didn't have cheesecake left

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

It was my husbands birthday and I have e ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was my husbands birthday and I have eaten there several times before, I thought the food was very good. I don't know what happened Thursday my husband ordered steak and there was so much fat on it you couldn't even cut it with the knife. I had scallops, and they tasted like they were a little over done, although I didn't say anything about them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegance for Fine Dining

Dined on June 9, 2016

First impression walking in was of an amazing, beautifully decorated restaurant. The booth that my date and I were seated at was secluded with walls on three sides, giving us a sense of comfort and privacy. Our service was friendly and not rushed in the slightest, and we were able to chat while browsing the menus at length. Side note, if you are having drinks with dinner, be prepared to spend some time on the wine and cocktail menu as it is quite thick, though popular dinner drinks (specialty drinks and wines) are at the front of the menu. Every dish brought to our table was exquisite. Flavors were balanced, portions were just enough that the entire meal (2 courses and shared appetizer and dessert) was filling with nothing left on the plates. The atmosphere was generally relaxed and we barely noticed the other patrons around us. This may be different on the weekend when the restaurant is busier. One major drawback is that this restaurant is inside the MGM Grand, and you do have to walk a significant part of the casino floor to get to it. This could pose a problem to anyone with smoke allergies. Also a warning, you pay for what you get. While there are more reasonably priced items on the menu, a simple two entree dinner with tip can actually run over $100. The food is worth the price, just be prepared.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What an amazing night!!

Dined on May 11, 2016

My night began with the most upbeat happy and enthusiastic person I've met in a long time. My waitress was absolutely amazing. She was so knowledgeable and fun and made the date very memorable.Thanks Wolfgang for everything.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service and food

food5
ambience4
service5

Great tastes and excellent service.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great tastes and excellent service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. What more could ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service. What more could you want?

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food

Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 3rd time visiting Wolf Gang's restaurant. My husband loves the steak with the wine reduction and the mushrooms. I try a different pasta each time. So far all have tasted good.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

food was good but too expensive

Dined on March 26, 2016

its good overall but very very expensive for what you get.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

We go there for the mussels! Veal Parmes ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We go there for the mussels! Veal Parmesan is fantastic. This time we had the scallops. Delicious!!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Two star food at five star prices.

Dined on February 27, 2016

I recommend the mussels and dessert, don't bother with the between. Steak was tough, and I mean chewy tough - it was a ribeye, my husband couldn't finish it- he NEVER doesn't finish a steak! I ordered the chicken piccata. Just too much chicken and quite boring, actually just gave up eating the food was so dull. We were given a free dessert for the TOUGH steak... Mascarpone cheesecake was delicious I have to say. Service was blah, it was like the waitress just couldn't be bothered. I won't be going back, and don't recommend it if you're even slightly interested in eating good food, or can cook yourself.

food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Awesome food! Great atmosphere and service. If you are not a smoker the smoke from the Casino floor can be a bit overpowering.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Just not very good...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Loved the staff. They were very accommodating, but the food is subpar. Among other things, we chose the soup of the day...a mushroom bisque. They were out. Saw what looked like a lobster bisque go by us. They were out of that. Ended up with a gray looking corn something soup that was certainly too old to serve. It tasted like they had found it and heated it just to serve something. Then went to salad. I can't complain here. But then, main course: chicken. Wow! I cannot speak volumes of its poor taste. Not what I expect from this restaurant. Other meals were similarly less than stunning.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food spot - service lacking

Dined on December 31, 2015

We went for New Year's eve dinner around 1700 hrs. We had a reservation but were obliged to wait in line with the "mod" for almost 15 minutes. The hostesses were quite slow. Our dinner was excellent, yet our server was very slow to return to our table to check our progress. As a result we were often "drinkless". I expect better service when dining at a fine establishment like Wolfgang Puck's. Will I return? Probably, but I may have some on site requests re: timely service when I do.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet dinner in a Casino!

Dined on December 30, 2015

My hubby and I sat by the window and could see all of the casino action BUT COULD NOT HEAR IT! Nice! Food was great! Staff was very nice. I highly recommend having dinner or lunch at Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria @ Cucina

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was a nice night out. We had ...

Dined on October 14, 2015

Our dinner was a nice night out. We had friends from out of town for dinner. Great night.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

great food and service

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

we had gotten the pizza and lasagna. both were very high quality at a resonable price.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent quality

Dined on September 27, 2015

We have gone several times either before a game or concert and it is always good service and good food. No complains and we will go back and refer if you are at MGM

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on September 26, 2015

It was the perfect menu, perfect atmosphere and thee beat staff ever!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another amazing night

Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant never disappoints! Everything is always top notch here from the food to the service to the ambiance. Julie is such a friendly server and when we asked if they had a different type of bread she went out of her way to go get it for us from the other restaurant next door. It was another amazing night at one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale but casual

Dined on September 20, 2015

The ambiance at the Pizzeria and Cucina is laid back while still being upscale and dressy. Jeans and a nice shirt kind of place where you can get great but casual eats. The food was all amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

Dined on September 16, 2015

The food and service have been consistently great! We go back every time we visit Detroit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night out

Dined on September 12, 2015

How could you go wrong with Wolfgang Puck, we eat there a couple times a year and it's never disappointed! The veal scallopini is outstanding, great wine and champagne selection as well.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

Dined on September 12, 2015

The service could not have been better. We were in a bit of a hurry to make an event downtown so our waitress kept things moving. The pizza was good and the salad was even better. Lovely cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Choice - Wolfgang Puck Restaurant

Dined on August 30, 2015

You can never go wrong with a WolfgGang Puck Restaurant. The service, the menu and most important the food delicious. Last night, one of our guest a Cordon Bleu Culinary school graduate with 40 years of experience under his belt said "the meal and the wine select was perfect".

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends among food and service

Dined on August 22, 2015

when I go to this place, they know me by name and food of choice. They know which servers section I prefer to be seated in, and the server knows my favorite bread and dipping condiments. it is like showing up at a friends house as a dinner guest. They always make my visit the best it can be. It is a great experience to be able to enjoy a meal out and feel like your at home. I truly love going here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

We were disappointed with our recent dining experience at Wolfgang Pucks Pizzeria and Cucina. We were seated for almost ten minutes before our server greeted us and asked for our beverage order. The restaurant did not seem overly busy but our observation was that the staff seemed to be running around in chaos. The food was okay, but nothing to rave about. We have dined at several other Wolfgang Puck establishments and didn't find this experience to be on the same level. Wouldn't recommend or return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Relax and Enjoy Great Food

Dined on August 1, 2015

We have dined here twice for an evening meal after being in the casino. It is quiet and the food is excellent. Service is great , no need to worry about getting a refill or another drink. The waitress was friendly and welcoming as well as the hostess. Great place for food and a relaxing dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Celebration dinner

Dined on July 31, 2015

We stayed at MGM Grand in a beautiful suite to celebrate Hubby's Birthday, and our Anniversary. So I made reservations through OPENTABLE for Wolfgang Puck's Pizzeria & Cucina, for 6 of us. Cocktails were delicious, bruschetta was yummy, and the chicken piccata was just as our server described...the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best in Metro Detroit

Dined on July 2, 2015

Wow. ....... this place was really amazing from the time we entered tool we left, we felt as though we were the only people there. The customer service was great. The waiter knew everything about every dish on the menu and was beyond helpful in helping us make our decision. The drinks were perfect abs refreshing. The food was to die for. It had so much flavor, abs was so mouth watering. This place was all around perfect so cute and romantic. I can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food

Dined on June 13, 2015

We were here for a weekend and made reservations to celebrate birthdays. The recommendations by the server were correct. The food was excellently prepared and wonderful. Try the scampi appetizer... Fantastic! We had pasta , spaghetti and Alfredo...couldn't ask for better!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Great Service, Good Food

Dined on May 30, 2015

My wife and I joined another couple for dinner and drinks on Saturday. Pleasant and efficient service both in the bar and eating area. Good Manhattan, great bruschetta and soup. Chicken picatta and pizza margherita were good but nothing special. About $130 a couple for several drinks per person, app, salads, entrée and dessert including tax and tip. The only real negative would be the casino smoke that you need to walk through to get to the establishment. Overall, an enjoyable evening.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

Detroit Restaurant Week 2015

Dined on May 9, 2015

Party of five of us went here and took advantage of the Detroit Restaurant Week menu. We tried several of the different entrees offered and everyone really liked their food. Our server, Virginia, was very attentive. Would highly recommend.

food4
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner, Great service!

Dined on May 9, 2015

They were nice enough to seat us an hour earlier than our reservation. Service was excellent. The Restaurant Week menu had a nice selection including steak, salmon, chicken parm and pasta. The lemon ricotta cheesecake was very nice. Great value for the money. We enjoy this restaurant and the steakhouse next door for quiet family meals during which we can visit, not have to shout to be heard and aren't rushed off the table. The server was friendly and had support from other staff in filling water glasses, bringing additional bread and such. Nice treat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always Amazing

Dined on May 7, 2015

We have been to this restaurant numerous times and it's always amazing! The service is very fast and friendly. Zubir is the best server any guest at any restaurant could ever ask for. The food is delicious and cooked to perfection. You might think since their speciality is pizza that's all they would really master but you would not be more wrong! We usually never pass up the Salmon or Steaks here because they are some of the best entrees you could ever have. This restaurant is a must whenever you're enjoying a night out at the casino!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5

pizza

Dined on April 24, 2015

the cheese slid off the dough. it had a bad taste to it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous

Dined on April 5, 2015

Great experience! Food and service were, as expected, perfect! Wonderful menu selections! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice but smokey

Dined on March 7, 2015

This is a nice restaurant but keep in mind that it's in a smokey casino, so if you are sensitive to second hand smoke then this is not the place for you to dine. We ordered an average dinner and it was a $100 bill.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Hidden gem

vip
Dined on February 28, 2015

We went for a pre-theater dinner at 5:30 PM, not our usual time. Starting from the beginning: valet parking of the MGM Hotel&Casino is very convenient. Caution: the restaurant is in the gambling zone and you have to bring ID. My wife didn't have her's and they let us go in anyway. Once we made our way through hundreds of slot machines, the noise and the cigarette smoke (!) we were greeted by the hostess, table was ready. Large dining room, Vegas style decor, great, fast service. The pizza was disappointing because of the soggy dowe. I can recommend the breaded pork chop and chicken piccata ,delicious. Pricing is, as expected on the higher end. You pay for the name and location. Too bad that Wolfgang doesn't open a second location in Midtown or even in the suburbs, I just don't enjoy the setting within a Casino, but I'm sure the gambler are happy that the restaurant is close.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3

Not so notable

Dined on February 1, 2015

Service good, food is not worth the price. The wine and free bread were the highlights. We shared the chicken piccata and a stone fire pizza. I believe you can get better level for less expensive price.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.