About Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina - MGM Grand Detroit

1777 Third Street
Detroit, MI 48226
View Larger Map

More than just a pizzeria, the menu features rustic Italian favorites, homemade pastas and specialty pizzas. Seasonal specials also are offered nightly. The bar at Pizzeria & Cucina features a dynamic beverage list complementing the menu’s exquisite Italian flavors including domestic and international beers and a comprehensive selection of wines, many imported from Italy.

*Please note that Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina is located within the casino; guests must be 21+ to dine at Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Bagley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 465-1646

Website:
http://www.mgmgranddetroit.com/restaurants/wolfgangpuckpizzeriaandcucina/default.aspx

Parking Details:
Valet & Self-Parking Available

For detailed information about parking at any MGM Resorts destination, please visit mgmresorts.com/parking

Executive Chef:
Jacob Williamson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina - MGM Grand Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
See All
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were running behind on our reservat ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

They were running behind on our reservation, we were able to be seated about 10 minutes after our reserved time. We were seated in the front area that borders the casino, nice for people watching. Waitress was nice, received our drinks and food quickly, and then she brought us our bill without even asking if we needed dessert or anything else. I felt like I was being rushed out of there, but I then ordered dessert and another drink, both of which took longer than the original meal to receive. So that part was a little disappointing.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Open table shouldn't take reservations h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Open table shouldn't take reservations here - because you have to walk through a casino and you have anyone under 21, you can't get into restaurant without a security escort that takes at least 20 mins to get. If you reserve without OpenTable they tell you this - but if open table you wouldn't know. Then the SMOKE from the casino is TERRIBLE. All our clothes need dry cleaning. SERIOUS smoke. I picked it cause it was WP but disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My server Julie, made this such an amazi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My server Julie, made this such an amazing experience! The food was phenomenal, and did I mention the service!?! Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner Saturday night ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I had dinner Saturday night and as usual, it was delicious. Our server, Kristy, was very professional and her wine and food recommendations were spot on........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pizza is not as good as it use to be. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Pizza is not as good as it use to be. We were told We need to special request if you want a true Margherita pizza with fresh mozzarella. Otherwise you receive a cheese pizza with basil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Never got waited on after twenty minute ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Never got waited on after twenty minutes

Had to leave

I was looking forward to trying it for the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Food and service great. Didn't have chee ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and service great. Didn't have cheesecake left

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my husbands birthday and I have e ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2016

It was my husbands birthday and I have eaten there several times before, I thought the food was very good. I don't know what happened Thursday my husband ordered steak and there was so much fat on it you couldn't even cut it with the knife. I had scallops, and they tasted like they were a little over done, although I didn't say anything about them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Elegance for Fine Dining

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2016

First impression walking in was of an amazing, beautifully decorated restaurant. The booth that my date and I were seated at was secluded with walls on three sides, giving us a sense of comfort and privacy. Our service was friendly and not rushed in the slightest, and we were able to chat while browsing the menus at length. Side note, if you are having drinks with dinner, be prepared to spend some time on the wine and cocktail menu as it is quite thick, though popular dinner drinks (specialty drinks and wines) are at the front of the menu. Every dish brought to our table was exquisite. Flavors were balanced, portions were just enough that the entire meal (2 courses and shared appetizer and dessert) was filling with nothing left on the plates. The atmosphere was generally relaxed and we barely noticed the other patrons around us. This may be different on the weekend when the restaurant is busier.

One major drawback is that this restaurant is inside the MGM Grand, and you do have to walk a significant part of the casino floor to get to it. This could pose a problem to anyone with smoke allergies. Also a warning, you pay for what you get. While there are more reasonably priced items on the menu, a simple two entree dinner with tip can actually run over $100. The food is worth the price, just be prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing night!!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2016

My night began with the most upbeat happy and enthusiastic person I've met in a long time. My waitress was absolutely amazing. She was so knowledgeable and fun and made the date very memorable.Thanks Wolfgang for everything.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tastes and excellent service.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great tastes and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. What more could ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and service. What more could you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 3rd time visiting Wolf Gang's restaurant. My husband loves the steak with the wine reduction and the mushrooms. I try a different pasta each time. So far all have tasted good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

food was good but too expensive

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2016

its good overall but very very expensive for what you get.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We go there for the mussels! Veal Parmes ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We go there for the mussels! Veal Parmesan is fantastic. This time we had the scallops. Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Two star food at five star prices.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I recommend the mussels and dessert, don't bother with the between. Steak was tough, and I mean chewy tough - it was a ribeye, my husband couldn't finish it- he NEVER doesn't finish a steak! I ordered the chicken piccata. Just too much chicken and quite boring, actually just gave up eating the food was so dull. We were given a free dessert for the TOUGH steak... Mascarpone cheesecake was delicious I have to say. Service was blah, it was like the waitress just couldn't be bothered. I won't be going back, and don't recommend it if you're even slightly interested in eating good food, or can cook yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great Experience

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Awesome food! Great atmosphere and service. If you are not a smoker the smoke from the Casino floor can be a bit overpowering.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Just not very good...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Loved the staff. They were very accommodating, but the food is subpar. Among other things, we chose the soup of the day...a mushroom bisque. They were out. Saw what looked like a lobster bisque go by us. They were out of that. Ended up with a gray looking corn something soup that was certainly too old to serve. It tasted like they had found it and heated it just to serve something. Then went to salad. I can't complain here. But then, main course: chicken. Wow! I cannot speak volumes of its poor taste. Not what I expect from this restaurant. Other meals were similarly less than stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food spot - service lacking

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We went for New Year's eve dinner around 1700 hrs. We had a reservation but were obliged to wait in line with the "mod" for almost 15 minutes. The hostesses were quite slow. Our dinner was excellent, yet our server was very slow to return to our table to check our progress. As a result we were often "drinkless". I expect better service when dining at a fine establishment like Wolfgang Puck's. Will I return? Probably, but I may have some on site requests re: timely service when I do.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Quiet dinner in a Casino!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2015

My hubby and I sat by the window and could see all of the casino action BUT COULD NOT HEAR IT! Nice! Food was great! Staff was very nice. I highly recommend having dinner or lunch at Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria @ Cucina

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was a nice night out. We had ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2015

Our dinner was a nice night out. We had friends from out of town for dinner. Great night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2015

we had gotten the pizza and lasagna. both were very high quality at a resonable price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistent quality

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2015

We have gone several times either before a game or concert and it is always good service and good food. No complains and we will go back and refer if you are at MGM

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 26, 2015

It was the perfect menu, perfect atmosphere and thee beat staff ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another amazing night

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant never disappoints! Everything is always top notch here from the food to the service to the ambiance. Julie is such a friendly server and when we asked if they had a different type of bread she went out of her way to go get it for us from the other restaurant next door. It was another amazing night at one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale but casual

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2015

The ambiance at the Pizzeria and Cucina is laid back while still being upscale and dressy. Jeans and a nice shirt kind of place where you can get great but casual eats. The food was all amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2015

The food and service have been consistently great! We go back every time we visit Detroit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night out

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2015

How could you go wrong with Wolfgang Puck, we eat there a couple times a year and it's never disappointed! The veal scallopini is outstanding, great wine and champagne selection as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 12, 2015

The service could not have been better. We were in a bit of a hurry to make an event downtown so our waitress kept things moving. The pizza was good and the salad was even better. Lovely cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Choice - Wolfgang Puck Restaurant

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2015

You can never go wrong with a WolfgGang Puck Restaurant. The service, the menu and most important the food delicious. Last night, one of our guest a Cordon Bleu Culinary school graduate with 40 years of experience under his belt said "the meal and the wine select was perfect".

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends among food and service

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2015

when I go to this place, they know me by name and food of choice. They know which servers section I prefer to be seated in, and the server knows my favorite bread and dipping condiments. it is like showing up at a friends house as a dinner guest. They always make my visit the best it can be. It is a great experience to be able to enjoy a meal out and feel like your at home. I truly love going here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2015

We were disappointed with our recent dining experience at Wolfgang Pucks Pizzeria and Cucina. We were seated for almost ten minutes before our server greeted us and asked for our beverage order. The restaurant did not seem overly busy but our observation was that the staff seemed to be running around in chaos. The food was okay, but nothing to rave about. We have dined at several other Wolfgang Puck establishments and didn't find this experience to be on the same level. Wouldn't recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Relax and Enjoy Great Food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2015

We have dined here twice for an evening meal after being in the casino. It is quiet and the food is excellent. Service is great , no need to worry about getting a refill or another drink. The waitress was friendly and welcoming as well as the hostess. Great place for food and a relaxing dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebration dinner

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2015

We stayed at MGM Grand in a beautiful suite to celebrate Hubby's Birthday, and our Anniversary. So I made reservations through OPENTABLE for Wolfgang Puck's Pizzeria & Cucina, for 6 of us. Cocktails were delicious, bruschetta was yummy, and the chicken piccata was just as our server described...the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best in Metro Detroit

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2015

Wow. ....... this place was really amazing from the time we entered tool we left, we felt as though we were the only people there. The customer service was great. The waiter knew everything about every dish on the menu and was beyond helpful in helping us make our decision. The drinks were perfect abs refreshing. The food was to die for. It had so much flavor, abs was so mouth watering. This place was all around perfect so cute and romantic. I can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 13, 2015

We were here for a weekend and made reservations to celebrate birthdays. The recommendations by the server were correct. The food was excellently prepared and wonderful. Try the scampi appetizer... Fantastic! We had pasta , spaghetti and Alfredo...couldn't ask for better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service, Good Food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2015

My wife and I joined another couple for dinner and drinks on Saturday. Pleasant and efficient service both in the bar and eating area. Good Manhattan, great bruschetta and soup. Chicken picatta and pizza margherita were good but nothing special. About $130 a couple for several drinks per person, app, salads, entrée and dessert including tax and tip. The only real negative would be the casino smoke that you need to walk through to get to the establishment. Overall, an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Detroit Restaurant Week 2015

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2015

Party of five of us went here and took advantage of the Detroit Restaurant Week menu. We tried several of the different entrees offered and everyone really liked their food. Our server, Virginia, was very attentive. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice dinner, Great service!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2015

They were nice enough to seat us an hour earlier than our reservation. Service was excellent. The Restaurant Week menu had a nice selection including steak, salmon, chicken parm and pasta. The lemon ricotta cheesecake was very nice. Great value for the money. We enjoy this restaurant and the steakhouse next door for quiet family meals during which we can visit, not have to shout to be heard and aren't rushed off the table. The server was friendly and had support from other staff in filling water glasses, bringing additional bread and such. Nice treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.