About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: 5305835700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • Truffle Fries - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • 5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • Duckbreast - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • Hamachi - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
  • Bone In Rib-Eye - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
Seabass - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
Truffle Fries - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
Duckbreast - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
Hamachi - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique
Bone In Rib-Eye - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
7 More
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Scenic View
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Tahoe City ›

Special Occasion (74)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Scenic View (68)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (6)
Waterfront (6)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Fun (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing.. Service was perfect! Everythin ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing.. Service was perfect! Everything came out in a nice following pace..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wolfdale's is the best restaurant in the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wolfdale's is the best restaurant in the Tahoe basin/Truckee.....inventive menu and a lake view to boot! Its worth it just to meet the chef, Douglas Dale as he has such great knowledge of foods from around the world!

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to this restaurant in the 80's and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Went to this restaurant in the 80's and it has remained a great place for creative food. You can make a meal of the small plates and appetizers but that would mean you would miss the great main courses. If you are anywhere near North Lake Tahoe - try this place.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service every time. Starts at ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Impeccable service every time. Starts at the bar with fun and great bartenders. Table service continues with the high quality attention to detail. Variety of food, from mainstays to a few changes each month to keep it fresh always keeps you coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had read about service being slow how ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had read about service being slow however that was not our experience. The taster (poke ice cream pops) appetizer (smoked trout) and salad (tomato mozzarella) were delicious! We both got the short ribs and found them to be lacking in flavor surrounded by a somewhat sweet sauce that did not complement this dish at all. The view is amazing and unbeknownst to us, as this was our first time, there is an onsite bocce ball court. Will try this place again, perhaps an early dinner with a side of bocce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Consistently the best restaurant in the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Consistently the best restaurant in the area. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The starters were ok, the sashimi was go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The starters were ok, the sashimi was good and the truffle fries outstanding. The soup was OK, but the Caesar salad dressing needed more lemon (I ask for an bowl of lemon wedges, and added more, improved the taste very much). For the main course, I had day boat scallops which were nice sized (only 3, however). I personally did not care for the asian-fusion sauce on the scallops that much. One of our friends had the Thai seafood stew, which he enjoyed. Our wives shared a grilled halibut special. The fish was very dry and overcooked. They also did not care for the sauce or the purple thai rice. The asparagus was over cooked as well.

Our friends enjoyed the peach melba and a strawberry shortcake dessert special. I did not care for the chocolate souffle torte. There is nothing "souffle" about the tort. It is a very heavy and dense (but moist) chocolate torte, which looked store-bought. I was expecting something that was closer to a chocolate souffle, lighter and more pleasing to my palate.

The bill was $220 (including tip), for two couples, three entrees, no wine, no drinks, just water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We were put in the bar area first and as ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were put in the bar area first and asked to be changed and they were very nice about it...it would have been a completely different experience...this is now one of our go-to restaurants when we are up at Tahoe..

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've enjoyed meals at WolfDales before ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We've enjoyed meals at WolfDales before and this did not disappoint. Excellent service that is friendly and low-key be extremely thoughtful and efficient. The hamachi and ahi sashimi appetizer was fabulous. My Thai seafood stew was mild and subtle, but had wonderful depth of flavor. My husband's beef filet was large, perfectly cooked and well matched with a red wine sauce, and garlic mashed potatoes. Everything was all we both hoped for and expected...a lovely meal and evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was a welcome find in Tahoe. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place was a welcome find in Tahoe. Lovely food. My husband is vegan and I'm gluten free and we have big city tastes, so we're very hard to please. It's quiet, pretty, and very accommodating. We loved it we'll be back.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Organic, Scenic View, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friday night 26 August. We arrived at 6 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Friday night 26 August. We arrived at 6:00, but did not receive any food for nearly an hour. Our dinners didn't arrive until 7:40. The excuse was that the kitchen was backed up. While the food was good and our server very pleasant, we did not appreciate how long we had to wait and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This was not our first time to visit Wol ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was not our first time to visit Wolfdale's with friends so we had an idea of what we would be receiving in the way of food. The food was divine as always. But, although we had a nice waiter, the service was S-L-O-W. That was the second time we've experienced slow service; it won't keep us from returning but it is aggravating.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We look forward to visiting Wolfdale's ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We look forward to visiting Wolfdale's anytime we are in the area. Whether we have been in a group or having dinner for 2, it has always been delicious and enjoyable. Our most recent dining experience was no exception. Our server Melanie was delightful and our dinner wonderful. I must say though, that our request to eat out doors was declined, albeit the guests to arrive at an outdoor table arrived a very short time before we were ready to leave. Instead we were seated at a table for 2 in the dinning room. While my husband looked out towards the dining area and enjoying the overall view, I had a view of the service area.

In a lovely restaurant such as Wolfdale's, I would like to think that if a guest(s) need to be seated at that particular table, a nice curtain or some kind of door covering would be much more pleasing rather than the view of cups, plates , etc. Another suggestion would be to orientate the table in a different direction. This small fix would indeed be in keeping with the ambience that your fine dinning restaurant tries to provide to it's patrons.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wolfdales is a lovely calm place for din ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wolfdales is a lovely calm place for dinner, white tablecloths, but not formal. Good was fresh, inventive and delicious. For a special dinner at Tahoe, I would recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Despite a requested deck table on a summ ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Despite a requested deck table on a summer evening, the only table offered was in front of the service counter, with. Yay traffic on 3 sides.

Service was adequate, food was not great, but good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I dined at Woldales twice last week. Bo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I dined at Woldales twice last week. Both times really enjoyed the little chicken dumplings appetizer. Perfect. The steak was delicious - perfectly prepared. The Halibut was very good, the rice with it a little subpar. The salmon special was superb. Excellent food, fabulous setting, fun bar, outstanding service. If you are in Tahoe area, be sure to get to Wolfdales.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wolfdales remains the only true fine din ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wolfdales remains the only true fine dining restaurant in North Lake Tahoe. The food, ambiance and service are a cut above all of the others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for four and we all great ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a table for four and we all greatly enjoyed our dinner and evening. The food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wolfdale's has been a "chart topper" for ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wolfdale's has been a "chart topper" for over 35 years. There's a reason.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good with the exception of the hoste ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

All good with the exception of the hostess with an " attitude". She was offended by our requests for 2 different tables. One did not fill until we were leaving. It was our second time there in a week and had a similar feeling both times. Our guests were not pleased.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have eaten at this restaurant multipl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant multiple times. Very disappointed this time and probably won't return until we hear positive feedback again. We had a party of 6. 3 meals were very good and 3 were marginal. Appetizers expensive and very small portions. Service was poor. Many other restaurants in the area we can give s better overall review of.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent choice in the 90's and still a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent choice in the 90's and still a wonderful, calm venue to celebrate a special event or just have an excellent and interesting dinner with your partner. Beautiful view of the lake, ask for a terrace seat in the summer. Some music in the bar that does not bleed in to the diningroom so you can enjoy talking with your companions without having to yell. Food is truly unique. An evening well spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Food selection and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful experience. Food selection and portion size just right. Even though waiter had two tables of 8 our party of 2 did not want for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wolfdales is in fact "unique" The locat ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wolfdales is in fact "unique" The location in just about perfect, view of the lake outstanding. Parking limited but managible. the food was indeed "unique", and delicious. Service first class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to try Wolfdale's with f ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were excited to try Wolfdale's with friends visiting from the East Coast after hearing great reviews about the food and never having been. While the food was good, I have to say we were disappointed because the service was so incredibly slow the evening we were there. For the sake of the restaurant's reputation, I'm hoping that there was something odd going on the night we were there and this is not the norm. I'd be willing to try the restaurant again because the food was good. The trout was exceptional, and those of us who ordered the Seafood Stew really enjoyed it.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Some of the best food we have had in a l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Some of the best food we have had in a long time, and we live in the wine country of California where great food is the norm. The service, however, was horrible. We must have had a poor waitress, while we were quickly seated, we sat for more than 20 minutes waiting for menus and to order drinks, and then another 10 minutes waiting for wine glasses for the wine we brought ourselves. The drinks came 10 minutes after the glasses. During this time, the waitress was "busy" chatting up other tables who had already been served both drinks and food. On the plus side, the Chef came out to meet us, and he was very impressive, attentive, and friendly, and once again, the food was fantastic! I would, and already have, recommend the place to friends, but the service needs a re-work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Clearly, Wolfdale's is the best restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Clearly, Wolfdale's is the best restaurant in Tahoe city. Each diner's meal was thoughtfully prepared and served. We sat outside, and even though there was a local Bocci game in progress, the noise and "enthusiasm" levels were within acceptable limits. It's nice to see that Wolfdale's caters to both tourists and locals.

On a related note, one side of our table had a lovely view of Lake Tahoe, while the other side faced inward. But the large mirror on the facing wall gave the less fortunately seated diners a view, too. It's details like this that make a good restaurant, great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant and are regulars ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We love this restaurant and are regulars! Diana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bob was fabulous. Ambience was beautiful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Bob was fabulous.

Ambience was beautiful.

Food was absolutely delicious.

Had been too long since we'd dine there and hope to return soon!

* Probably a notable wine list, but brought a special bottle for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was starting to get crowded and some ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was starting to get crowded and some customers were standing around another table of people they knew and crowding my husband and I on our date. The staff was fantastic and moved us to the most amazing table with a lake view as soon as it was available! Quite lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. My guests enjoyed themselves ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food. My guests enjoyed themselves. Not accommodating to any changes in the menu items. Delivered rolls when we arrived and never offered more than the first round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Staff were very attentive and accommodat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Staff were very attentive and accommodating. Food was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit this summer to Wolfdales ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My second visit this summer to Wolfdales. First visit was great. Second visit was bad. The service was very slow. Food was ok, but not worth the long wait. There must have been a staffing problem. Will give them another try, as it has been a long time favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Have driven by for years - stopped in wi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Have driven by for years - stopped in with my wife for a fabulous dinner. . Now we know why Wolfdale's has been happening for 38 years! Great service, Tahoe friendly, top-flight meal. Thanks Chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience. Ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Everything from the "teasers" to appetizer to main course and dessert was fantastic. Service was very good. View of Lake Tahoe fabulous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally my favorite restaurant in Tahoe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Normally my favorite restaurant in Tahoe, however, I was disappointed this time. I ordered the special of the evening, which was a sea bass and it was overcooked and dry. Oh well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Been going to Wolfdale's for 30 years, w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Been going to Wolfdale's for 30 years, while its one of the best spots on the lake, they need to update the menu! Also, seating back by the bar sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Met friends for dinner. Nice menu selec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Met friends for dinner. Nice menu selection. Good wine list. Service prompt, but not overpowering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wolfdale's is the best food on Lake Taho ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wolfdale's is the best food on Lake Tahoe! My wife and I have had dinner all around the Lake, but we keep coming back to Wolfdale's. The food is out of this world. The presentation is artistic and tasteful. The combination of flavors are creative and sumptuous. The service was outstanding. Attentive, but not in your way. This is some of the best food we have had anywhere in the world. And the views of Tahoe are breathtaking. Simply the Best....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for the week ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for the week and we read reviews about Wolfdale's The menu looked very interesting. The place is very upscale and well kept. They have a notable wine list and prices are reasonable. The service was top notch and the food was amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.