Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: (530) 583-5700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Scenic View (45)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Waterfront (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Casual (12)
Seasonal (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Organic (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Jo smith's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The bartender was fantastic! Very thoughtful, outgoing and made great drinks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We ordered the scallop entree which was probably the best part of the meal. The salad was fine, as was the molten chocolate cake for dessert. We both ordered the surf and turf (filet mignon with king crab legs). While the filet was cooked well, they put a horrible sauce (mushroom I think) that was bright red and tasted awful. The crab legs were shriveled up in a half shell like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for 15 minutes and was super overlooked.
The entree came with garlic mashed potatoes, which were pretty good, but the only "vegetable" was half of a portabello mushroom.
The service was good, although a little slow near the end. We were celebrating a birthday, which I mentioned when I made the reservation, but it was never acknowledged which was a little disappointing. I feel like it's part of a waiter's job to ask what brings someone into a fine dining establishment.
For the price, I definitely would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a family favorite. The hostess was gracious and our table by the window overlooking the lake was ready upon our arrival. We all enjoyed our meals, but the fisherman's stew was the real favorite. Our server was both friendly and efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Beautiful dining room and great view. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a winner! Fresh ingredients, cooked with talent, served with experience makes for. A great dinner. Fresh tomato soup had perfect balance of acidity with a touch of sweetness. King salmon was simple, served with crisply cooked corn. Mussel app had a Mediterranean sauce-perfect match. Halibut in a Thai curry sauce was very unique, packed full of flavor. Splurged with the fudge tart-perfect ending! Best restaurant in Tahoe City by far.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Not sure what all the fuss is about! We were not greeted upon arrival. We were treated like it was an imposition that we were there. We tried to get an earlier reservation but were told they were full. When we arrived 15 minutes early expecting to hang at the bar until our table was ready, the restaurant was not even half full. The staff was so pretentious and the food was mediocre. This restaurant is extremely overrated. Don't bother paying top dollar when there are so many other terrific, welcoming restaurants in Tahoe City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Presumptuous aragant waiter. He wasn't the least bit attentive. I was left with no water, I ordered a coffee it never arrived. The waiter ignored my requests he was anxious to turn the table, my bill for two people exceeded $200.00. He offered a conspicuous lack of attention. The worst service I've ever had. Go the Christy Hill they have an excellent staff and a fantastic menu. I will never dine here again as a result of the insultinly hostile service I received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I wanted to find the best restaurant in Tahoe city for a date night since we are both into food and dining out. The food here was OK but the service was not anywhere near the level we expected. The greeters at the door were distracted and disorganized. The server was enthusiastic and friendly but missed some key basics for any restaurant server. The total bill here was more reflective of a michelin star experience, but the actual experience was more like 'trying-too-hard'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Inventive cuisine with Asian influence in a lovely lakeside setting - good wine selection, including good options by the glass. We are frequent diners at this restaurant for many years (more than 20), however, this time were disappointed in the service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best restaurant in the Tahoe region. Continues to serve exceptional and creative cuisines. Service is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Did not get an outside table we requested. Waiter was almost rude and totally uninformed, food was poor and uneven. Ceaser was wilted and way overdressed. Halibut Cheecks were raw and no flavor , all were way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and evening. Wolfdales is a rare find.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Simply awesome in every way.
..........................
.........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Once again, fabulous food, wine and impeccable service. Halibut was super fresh, with an interesting concept of pairing Thai curry sauce with pesto, which worked. The other halibut preparation used the cheeks rather than the steak with a wonderful lemon/caper sauce. Corn chowder was seasonal and tasty. Peach cake dessert had flaky pastry with fresh peaches. Another great dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Every dish at Wolfdale's was a 'Best Of'! From the chef's perfectly creative menu, the beautiful ingredients, and the gorgeous lakefront location, Wolfdale's consistently delivers what the best in dining aspires to. As if that's not enough, every member of their staff shares their welcoming, attentive, engaging attitude making Wolfdale's a best of the best experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wolfdales is outstanding!!!!!! The food choices are great and the the food quality and tastes are amazing!!!! The service is excellent ... and all overlooking beautiful Lake Tahoe. A must do when looking for a great dining experience at Lake Tahoe!!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wolfdale's was over rated. The hostess was luke warm upon our arrival and couldn't even look up from her computer screen to greet us. Not a great way to welcome guests! The salads were mediocre and warm! The grilled halibut cheeks were frozen rather than fresh and served over mashed potatoes. Points to a bored chef in my mind. While our server was good, the poor meals and expensive prices put this on the lower level of eateries. I would not recommend this place nor would I dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Many gluten free options. Some dishes were very good and some just ok. A little over priced for the quality of food ... but I would go back because of the gluten free options.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was excellent and very different. A real treat.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always consistent in quality/creativity of food with impeccable service. Halibut dishes were perfectly cooked, ahi poke cones were to die for, corn chowder was so refreshing, as it was not cream based. Tortellini stew was quite unique-tomato broth, with fresh seafood and tortellini-yum! Fresh sorbets topped off a fab dinner! Classy, but casual. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent and the service impeccable. Our go to restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Terrific. Terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Outstanding experience from the food to the view and service.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

OVERPRICED! The food was good (not great), the service was ok (we had to beg for a second roll), and the prices were through the roof. I guess you pay for the view of the lake - which we didn't get since they put us inside. VERY disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Once again, a fabulous dinner at Wolfdales. It is one of the best places in the Lake Tahoe area to dine. Douglas and his incredible staff are top notch. Service is friendly and impeccable. The food is some of the freshest and well thought out that you'll find in the Tahoe area. Decor is refined and cozy. Views of the lake are a big plus! Concentration is on really fresh seafood but you can find something for everyone and chef Douglas and his staff will create a meal you won't soon forget. Craft cocktails, wine on tap, excellent wine list. If you're lucky enough to sit at the bar with "B.P." you'll be entertained by one of the friendliest bar tenders I know. Just love Wolfdales!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Dinner was somewhere between Very Good and Outstanding. Our wine (Adobe Cabernet) was outstanding and recommended by our waiter. Very good choice! We were celebrating our son's engagement, two birthdays, and joining of two/three families. Best $1000 I've spent in some time. KAD.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A place for real foodies. They accommodated my request for a view seat - front row to the lake. 25 years of excellence, worth the trip and the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We will return to this restaurant as we really enjoyed our meal, especially the gazpacho, caprese martini, truffle fries and the halibut cheeks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We've eaten at Wolfdale's many times and the food is always world class. However on this visit the service was mediocre. Our waiter was just going through the motions and not paying attention . We ordered simple cocktails and an appetizer. The appetizer was delivered and the cocktails took forever. When they did finally show up I was given a martini when I ordered bourbon neat.
The main was also delivered with the wrong items and we had to wait while that was re-prepared.
Too many mistakes for a restaurant of this caliber .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We have been here before and enjoyed our meal. Not tonight. 8:15 reservation, seated at 9pm with no apology. Waitress was not attentive. Ordered poke cones, never came and when we mentioned to waitress seemed clueless. Took water bottle away without brining a new one. Petty, maybe bit for the price expect better service and not a 45 minute wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We were a party of four for dinner and were seated indoor by the window with views of the lake. The atmosphere is warm inviting, lodge-like with a soaring ceiling and open dining area.

We had the muscles which were in a fresh and
flavorful broth - delicious. My husband had the halibut.
Our children had the salmon roulade and the barramundi - both delicious.
Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a lovely visit for my husband's birthday. We enjoyed our cocktails, wine, bay scallop appetizer, halibut, and swordfish. Beautiful presentation of the food. Our server was very professional and nice. My husband had a birthday candle and salutation on his dessert. It was our first time to Wolfdale's and we have recommended it to many friends already. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Over priced. The cuisine was unique in 1990, but not for today's standards.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always a favorite, love the creative menu. Only complaint is parking, which on weekends is tough.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We love Wolfdale's! Our family always enjoys dinner there -- all of our favorite -- ages early 20's to 50's. The food is always delicious and very unique. The service is excellent and great ambiance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We will definitely be back. Halibut curry fish was my fav.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Waiter was a bit sarcastic, unhelpful, and seemed irritated we were there. Food and beverages were EXCELLENT, and views fantastic..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Outstanding food, served at a leisurely pace with excellent service. The class of Lake Tahoe dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I have dined here for many years and have never been disappointed . Hope to return soon to enjoy the unique food.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.