About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm - Close. Dinner: 5:30 pm - Close. Closed Tuesdays, except in July and August open nightly.

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: 5305835700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
7 More
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Romantic
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Tahoe City ›

fit for foodies (29)
special occasion (28)
romantic (23)
See All
scenic view (19)
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was exceptionally friendly and mad ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Staff was exceptionally friendly and made excellent recommendations based on customer likes and questions. Very good food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Tahoe Zen Moments

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

A tranquil and picturesque setting for a creative (and tasty) dinner. Each course felt like a work of art. The poke cones and shrimp artichoke appetizers were particularly memorable. Staff is also very wine savvy. We'll be back next time we visit Tahoe

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was everything , the food was ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our waiter was everything , the food was good and reasonable noise level very quite. Usually mgmt doesn't do anything to keep things comfortable for some reason large tables were quite. Hopefully they keep the dinning area not a sorority reunion..

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting, ambitious menu-the kitchen delivers

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Looking forward to coming back soon. Everything was excellent--the bread, hamachi/tuna sashimi, filet mignon, lamb shank, hazelnut chocolate cake with salted caramel ice cream, thai seafood, scallops appetizer, Moroccan sausage. Service was very professional and competent and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, inventive cuisine. Nice plac ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Delightful, inventive cuisine. Nice place on a cozy night. Will our waiter was top notch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bob Ash rocks!

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have always loved Wolfdales and no longer live in the area but every time I come back to Tahoe it is on my list! Bob Ash is the best server they have if you are lucky enough to get him!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem in Tahoe City

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Year after year, my husband and I eat at Wolfdale's when we go skiing. The food, ambience and service continues to be outstanding. Wolfdale's is a special place that has never deceived us!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

California Asian fusion....delicious and different

Dined on February 22, 2016

This is longstanding restaurant....food ranges from gourmet hamburgers to Asian dishes to Asian risotto (seafood) dish......great unique desserts...home made ice creams....beautiful wine selection and very knowledgeable and attentive wait staff.....lots of lovely hand crafted pottery dishes to set off your meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Douglas Dale is amazing!

Dined on February 19, 2016

We celebrated our 27th Wedding Anniversary at Wolfdale's and it could not have been more perfect. We had a beautiful table, seated side-by-side, fantastic appetizers including a special treat sent over by Chef that took a simple idea, added caviar, and made it incredibly memorable. Also that lovely petite cup of fennel soup -- so creamy and multilayered in flavor and yet, NO cream! Delicious! The entrees were beatiful, creative and so tasty, we savored every bite (We ordered one of each of the specials: Lobster Risotto and Petrale Sole). Dessert was made extra special with a sweet edible banner wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The service was immpecable, yet personal, and they even had our favorite Rombauer Chardonnay on the wine list. Wolfdale's is a long time Tahoe favorite and they never fail to delight!! Thanks, Chef Douglas and staff for a wonderful anniversary celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our experience.

Dined on February 14, 2016

From the time we arrived we were well taken care of by staff. Our wait person was particularly friendly and efficient. Food was excellent. Will come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the effort to get a Sat. night reservation

Dined on February 14, 2016

Finally succeeded in getting a reservation 10 days in advance after trying since 1972. discovered why it takes weeks in advance to get a Saturday night reservation. Well worth the effort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good value for your money

Dined on February 11, 2016

Four of us and all seemed to be happy with our food. I ordered the Tempura prawns and asparagus appetizer as my entree. There were four good sized prawns. Only thing was that the prawns were a bit blend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Venue

Dined on February 4, 2016

Wolfdale's is always a treat! Great food, great service, and a great atmosphere. This is a gem in Tahoe City. Thanks for creating a great evening for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 1, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great food. New waiter who could use some more customer service training. On the expensive side, but the food and presentation were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful dining

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was great - as good or better than san Francisco. our waitress was fabulous. she knew everything and was very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very poor experience at Wolfdales this time.

Dined on January 28, 2016

Have been going to Wolfdales several times a year for 20+ years. This time was the last. Menu very limited, and now terrible service and the food was quite average. We were just getting up to leave as our food had not arrived (1 hour wait) when it arrived at the table. Food itself was good enough, but certainly not enough to warrant the wait. Also very cold inside restaurant this time, and both my husband and I had to wear our jackets inside.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Excellent food. I highly recommend this place for their innovative cuisine and fine service. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was an special dinner and was perfect. W ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Was an special dinner and was perfect. We had a 1.5 year old and they were gracious and thoughtful! Great place highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Best romantic place in Tahoe so far

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

A bit expensive but has the best ambiance in Tahoe so far that I've been to

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Night Out

Dined on January 16, 2016

Delicious dinner - we had the caviar appetizer along with the hamachi spoons and some of the bay scallops. I had the seafood stew - always a winner, and my husband had the filet - one of his favorites, with a wonderful bottle of Zinfandel. We always have great service - thank you Kathleen, Bob, Andrew, Trevor, Bob Jones and BP - we love our evenings out at Wolfdale's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

near miss

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

food short of excellent at very high prices. service could have been better.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner with good friends for birthday celebration

Dined on January 2, 2016

The service was great and the cocktails are divine. Lovely cozy atmosphere. The hamachi spoons are delicious. The sorbet was amazing as is the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Great food

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on December 31, 2015

Read good reviews about this place. Made a reservation for 5 a week in advance and was seated in the bar area, even though they have a dining area. Very noisy. Service was OK. Food was OK.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday ever!!!

Dined on December 30, 2015

We just loved everything! It was a special night. Great wine list especially if you're a big Napa Cab fan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Constantly Outstanding

Dined on December 25, 2015

Douglas never lets us down. Yet another outstanding dinner. Coconut shrimp salad, Seafood soup, Corvina Sea Bass cooked to perfection and Holiday Baked Tahoe complete with gingerbread, candy cane ice cream topped with toasted meringue! Yum. One of our top ten dinners, ever! And thanks Bob for your excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A dining experience not to be missed!

Dined on November 29, 2015

If you haven't eaten at Wolfdales, you are certainly missing out! The atmosphere, food, service and overall experience is worthy to challenge any top 10 restaurants in the World! Chef Douglas brilliantly fuses his culinary training in Japan to traditional American fare highlighted by all the original handmade plates and bowls. He and his staff could not be more nice, friendly, welcoming and attentive. There's a reason they've been open since 1983! I brought my 7 year old son along with a couple that live in Tahoe and had never experienced Wolfdales. My son devoured the Kobe Beef burger and said the fries were the best fries he ever had! (little did he know we ordered the truffle fries...). The couple, who had the beautifully seared scallops and the five-spice duck, had said that was the best dining experience they had ever had and couldn't believe they had never been. Sure to be the spot they celebrate their upcoming anniversary. Be sure to make a reservation! It was packed

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on November 29, 2015

Wolfdale's Dining experience exceeded our expectations. We are from the Bay Area and we are so happy to find them at Yelp. The head waiter gave us an excellent service and the Chef came out and introduced himself to us! We tried all the appetizers and they were all good especially the Hamachi. In my opinion, the Thai Seafood stew hit the spot, best for cold nights in Tahoe!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to anniversary spot

Dined on November 17, 2015

As always it excells. ... .... .... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... .... .... .... ... ... ....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Excellent Service

Dined on November 14, 2015

Awesome Food, wonderful waiter, and a beautiful place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fine Food, Meticulous Attention to Detail

Dined on November 8, 2015

We reserved dinner at Wolfdale's after a hiatus of many years. We enjoyed the restaurant when our children were young and our family was skiing at Alpine Meadows. It was always a first rate family evening. Now, my husband and I are older. I am a vegetarian and he is a strict vegan. It is difficult to find first rate vegan cooking. Wolfdales is the ticket. Their menu encompasses a variety of tastes from carnivore, through vegetarian and on to vegan. Everything is meticulously prepared and artfully presented. It is an excellent place for foodies, families, and couples. The atmosphere is serene and unhurried. The service is excellent while unobtrusive. The restaurant was well filled, but still quiet. We had a delightful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Good, but not stupendous

Dined on November 3, 2015

We had a 2 for 1 coupon, otherwise this would have been pricey. They charge $3.00 to split a salad. I've never encountered this before - entrees -yes, but not salads. I had what was suppose to m, 2 large pieces, but I've never had Petrale this thick. It was close to 3/4 inches thick. I don't believe it was Petrale. My husband had the cod that was good.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebration at Wolfedale's

Dined on November 2, 2015

I just found out I got a new great job that will let me stay in the Tahoe area and so we went out to celebrate at Wolfedale's. It was a fantastic evening; great ambience, fantastic service and amazing food. I would totally recommend this restaurant to everyone; it's a Tahoe gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Tahoe City, and no trip to TC wo ...

Dined on November 2, 2015

We love Tahoe City, and no trip to TC would be complete without a stop at Wolfdales. The food is amazing and the ambience is warm and friendly, like a cozy ski chalet. The service staff is great. The food sometimes takes longer than we are used to in NY, but it's worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the Best!

Dined on October 29, 2015

Wolfdale's is my go-to restaurant whenever I'm in Squaw Valley at my time share. Been going there for over 20 years, and the cuisine remains superb, as do the ambiance, service, and first-class-ness of dining experience. One Marin County friend to whom I recommended Wolfdale's called it "the best restaurant in the world." BTW, try a bottle of "Asian Persuasion," their own salad dressing/marinade.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Perhaps an off nite but apart from the w ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Perhaps an off nite but apart from the wonderful waitress and tasty appetizer Dinner was certainly not what we had expected based on our previous Summertime dining experiences Tired arugula greens with a tasteless Dressing followed by overdone dry and tough argentine petite filet and Braised flavorless elk over watery pasta were disappointing This was not their finest hour and the staff in the front knew it Sorry to say we will not be rushing back anytime soon Hopefully the ship will right itself and produce the fine dining it has Been known for

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Dinner!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Thank you Wolfdales for providing the perfect dinner spot. The appetizers were fantastic- I'd definitely go back just for the hamachi spoons and ahi cones. We had the veal and the cod of the day (Thai style) and they were both delicious. Great service and food overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Sweet birthday dinner for my favorite lady!

Dined on October 18, 2015

We had a most enjoyable evening. The hostess tipped us off to an easier drive to get to Wolfdale's when we called verify our reservation. She remembered us by name and set us up with our table even though we were a bit early. Service was precise and comfortable- not invasive. The food was excellent. The dining was unrushed and the waitstaff amiable. It was just right for the occasion, my wife's birthday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply excellent

Dined on October 18, 2015

One of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Real Gem in North Lake Tahoe

Dined on October 16, 2015

If you are looking for a fine dining experience in Lake Tahoe this is THE place to go. The room is very pleasant, with subdued lighting and wonderful paintings of local scenes. The service was exactly right, both friendly and professional. The food itself showed a deft hand in the kitchen. The dishes we ordered offered classic treatment with small fusion twists that were inventive, but not edgy or too clever. The results were uniformly delicious, from smoked trout to duck breast, from halibut to scallops.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.