About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: 5305835700x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass
  • White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms
  • Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms
  • Truffle Fries
  • 5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki
  • Duckbreast
  • Hamachi
  • Bone In Rib-Eye
Seabass
White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms
Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms
Truffle Fries
5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki
Duckbreast
Hamachi
Bone In Rib-Eye

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
8 More
Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Tahoe City ›

Fit for Foodies (64)
Special Occasion (64)
Scenic View (64)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (31)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wolfdales is a lovely calm place for din ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wolfdales is a lovely calm place for dinner, white tablecloths, but not formal. Good was fresh, inventive and delicious. For a special dinner at Tahoe, I would recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Despite a requested deck table on a summ ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Despite a requested deck table on a summer evening, the only table offered was in front of the service counter, with. Yay traffic on 3 sides.

Service was adequate, food was not great, but good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I dined at Woldales twice last week. Bo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I dined at Woldales twice last week. Both times really enjoyed the little chicken dumplings appetizer. Perfect. The steak was delicious - perfectly prepared. The Halibut was very good, the rice with it a little subpar. The salmon special was superb. Excellent food, fabulous setting, fun bar, outstanding service. If you are in Tahoe area, be sure to get to Wolfdales.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wolfdales remains the only true fine din ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wolfdales remains the only true fine dining restaurant in North Lake Tahoe. The food, ambiance and service are a cut above all of the others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for four and we all great ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a table for four and we all greatly enjoyed our dinner and evening. The food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wolfdale's has been a "chart topper" for ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wolfdale's has been a "chart topper" for over 35 years. There's a reason.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good with the exception of the hoste ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

All good with the exception of the hostess with an " attitude". She was offended by our requests for 2 different tables. One did not fill until we were leaving. It was our second time there in a week and had a similar feeling both times. Our guests were not pleased.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have eaten at this restaurant multipl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant multiple times. Very disappointed this time and probably won't return until we hear positive feedback again. We had a party of 6. 3 meals were very good and 3 were marginal. Appetizers expensive and very small portions. Service was poor. Many other restaurants in the area we can give s better overall review of.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent choice in the 90's and still a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent choice in the 90's and still a wonderful, calm venue to celebrate a special event or just have an excellent and interesting dinner with your partner. Beautiful view of the lake, ask for a terrace seat in the summer. Some music in the bar that does not bleed in to the diningroom so you can enjoy talking with your companions without having to yell. Food is truly unique. An evening well spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Food selection and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful experience. Food selection and portion size just right. Even though waiter had two tables of 8 our party of 2 did not want for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wolfdales is in fact "unique" The locat ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wolfdales is in fact "unique" The location in just about perfect, view of the lake outstanding. Parking limited but managible. the food was indeed "unique", and delicious. Service first class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to try Wolfdale's with f ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were excited to try Wolfdale's with friends visiting from the East Coast after hearing great reviews about the food and never having been. While the food was good, I have to say we were disappointed because the service was so incredibly slow the evening we were there. For the sake of the restaurant's reputation, I'm hoping that there was something odd going on the night we were there and this is not the norm. I'd be willing to try the restaurant again because the food was good. The trout was exceptional, and those of us who ordered the Seafood Stew really enjoyed it.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Some of the best food we have had in a l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Some of the best food we have had in a long time, and we live in the wine country of California where great food is the norm. The service, however, was horrible. We must have had a poor waitress, while we were quickly seated, we sat for more than 20 minutes waiting for menus and to order drinks, and then another 10 minutes waiting for wine glasses for the wine we brought ourselves. The drinks came 10 minutes after the glasses. During this time, the waitress was "busy" chatting up other tables who had already been served both drinks and food. On the plus side, the Chef came out to meet us, and he was very impressive, attentive, and friendly, and once again, the food was fantastic! I would, and already have, recommend the place to friends, but the service needs a re-work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Clearly, Wolfdale's is the best restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Clearly, Wolfdale's is the best restaurant in Tahoe city. Each diner's meal was thoughtfully prepared and served. We sat outside, and even though there was a local Bocci game in progress, the noise and "enthusiasm" levels were within acceptable limits. It's nice to see that Wolfdale's caters to both tourists and locals.

On a related note, one side of our table had a lovely view of Lake Tahoe, while the other side faced inward. But the large mirror on the facing wall gave the less fortunately seated diners a view, too. It's details like this that make a good restaurant, great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant and are regulars ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We love this restaurant and are regulars! Diana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bob was fabulous. Ambience was beautiful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Bob was fabulous.

Ambience was beautiful.

Food was absolutely delicious.

Had been too long since we'd dine there and hope to return soon!

* Probably a notable wine list, but brought a special bottle for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. My guests enjoyed themselves ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food. My guests enjoyed themselves. Not accommodating to any changes in the menu items. Delivered rolls when we arrived and never offered more than the first round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Staff were very attentive and accommodat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Staff were very attentive and accommodating. Food was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit this summer to Wolfdales ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My second visit this summer to Wolfdales. First visit was great. Second visit was bad. The service was very slow. Food was ok, but not worth the long wait. There must have been a staffing problem. Will give them another try, as it has been a long time favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Have driven by for years - stopped in wi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Have driven by for years - stopped in with my wife for a fabulous dinner. . Now we know why Wolfdale's has been happening for 38 years! Great service, Tahoe friendly, top-flight meal. Thanks Chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience. Ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Everything from the "teasers" to appetizer to main course and dessert was fantastic. Service was very good. View of Lake Tahoe fabulous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally my favorite restaurant in Tahoe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Normally my favorite restaurant in Tahoe, however, I was disappointed this time. I ordered the special of the evening, which was a sea bass and it was overcooked and dry. Oh well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Been going to Wolfdale's for 30 years, w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Been going to Wolfdale's for 30 years, while its one of the best spots on the lake, they need to update the menu! Also, seating back by the bar sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Met friends for dinner. Nice menu selec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Met friends for dinner. Nice menu selection. Good wine list. Service prompt, but not overpowering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wolfdale's is the best food on Lake Taho ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wolfdale's is the best food on Lake Tahoe! My wife and I have had dinner all around the Lake, but we keep coming back to Wolfdale's. The food is out of this world. The presentation is artistic and tasteful. The combination of flavors are creative and sumptuous. The service was outstanding. Attentive, but not in your way. This is some of the best food we have had anywhere in the world. And the views of Tahoe are breathtaking. Simply the Best....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for the week ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for the week and we read reviews about Wolfdale's The menu looked very interesting. The place is very upscale and well kept. They have a notable wine list and prices are reasonable. The service was top notch and the food was amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic, as always. Been going to Wolf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic, as always. Been going to Wolfdale's for years and still the BEST in Tahoe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was perfect here! We wer ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience was perfect here! We were celebrating our 17 year wedding anniversary and what better place to spend it then Wolfdale's in North Shore, Lake Tahoe! Our food was Awesome! I loved the crab cakes on special, ahi poke cones and I absolute loved my Thai Seafood Chippino! Great service, great view and great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy tasty meals, delightful pre ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always enjoy tasty meals, delightful presentation of foods in such a lovely setting. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a great experience at Wolf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I always have a great experience at Wolfdale's. Food is excellent, service and atmosphere outstanding, and you can't beat the Lake Tahoe view. Very enjoyable dinner to cap off a great 10 days at Lake Tahoe - I remember eating at Wolfdale's when it was on the west shore, and I hope to enjoy many more meals there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is always over the top here. Foo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service is always over the top here. Food is fun/different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent !!! Appetizers--ceviche tostad ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent !!! Appetizers--ceviche tostadas --outstanding !!!! Everything was perfect !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always love going to Wolfdale's whene ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always love going to Wolfdale's whenever we are in Tahoe City. The food is always outstanding, especially the tempura softshell crab in summer. The waitstaff is very friendly, and the wine list is very comprehensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the service. We went t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed with the service. We went there to celebrate my husbands 39th birthday and no birthday wishes with the1 desert we ordered or not even in the house after a $200 dinner for a party if 2 adults and 2 kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great place to eat and the outside dinin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great place to eat and the outside dining is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Over the 40 years I have been visiting T ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Over the 40 years I have been visiting Tahoe City, I have not dined at Wolfdales. What a shame! All the fabulous meals I have missed. John was our server and he was stellar. The food was served beautifully and was delicious. The atmosphere was lovely, even with tables in close

proximity to each other. My husband and I had a most enjoyable dinner. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 7th time over 7 years eatin ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our 7th time over 7 years eating here and the menu has not changed. The view is amazing and I want to love this place again, but it feels stuck. There are other options in Tahoe City that seem to care more about the food and experience. Disappointed but hopeful because I love the view & ambience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was delicious. It was by far t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was delicious. It was by far the best food I have ever had in the Tahoe area. The service was terrific. The scallop appetizer was unusual and delicious. The halibut was superb!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the crab cakes and the overall amb ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Loved the crab cakes and the overall ambience including the attentive service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. We sat outside ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The ambiance was great. We sat outside and had a beautiful view of Lake Tahoe. However, I'm very sorry to have to write the food was bad. We have eaten at this restaurant before and the food was great. I have no idea why on this night it was bad. Our appetizers were passable. The highlight was our cold watermelon soup however the salad was bland. The entrees were tasteless and extremely disappointing. All four of us had same experience. I am terribly sorry to have to write this review since again, previous time at restaurant was terrific and the ambiance was beautiful and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.