Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: (530) 583-5700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Scenic View (13)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (9)
Waterfront (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Our visit to Wolfdale's was probably our sixth or seventh one. Obviously, we enjoyed the previous experiences enough to dine there again. Our food was truly excellent, the best we have had in the past week+ of dining out during vacation. I am allergic to legumes and I knew going there, that there would be many things I could not eat. Although our server was not familiar with legume allergy (all peas and beans and anything made from them, e.g. soybean oil), he made the effort and quickly learned the nuances of legume allergy. He did the leg work (going back to the kitchen with questions) and was able to clear some of my choices and recommend others. For dessert, don't miss the flourless chocolate cake. For chocoholics, it is a must at Wolfdale's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This is our anniversary spot. We've enjoyed it for 40 yrs. they amazing thing to us is that it remains consistent and inventive. A jewel.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The restaurant was outstanding And the service was amazing we loved the wine the soup was outstanding pork was sweet and the pasta was perfectly made the chef was outstanding and was nice he invited us to his kitchen the lemon zest was also on the top we loved it experience this is one of the restaurante i would come back !!!!!!!!!!!🍷🍷🍾🍾🏆🏅🥇

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We hadn't dined at Wolfdale's in many years and wanted to return. We were a family of 4, 2 children, 12 & 14. In general, the service was good and the food was very tasty but the portions were extremely small. The pieces in the Poke appetizer were tiny and all of the wasabi was at the bottom of the small cone. The pea soup was quite good. My sashimi platter was great and a deal compared to my daughter's salmon dinner which was twice at much and basically the same amount of food. My son's lamb shank was a bit fatty and just too much shank and too little else.

Drinks were good and desserts were tasty and consumed rapidly.

Overall, the adults enjoyed the experience but felt that in general, the menu was far overpriced for the food. The ambiance, however, is pleasant and the location is nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 13, 2017

WOLFDALES IS UNIQUE! FOOD WAS FABULOUS - FROM THE OYSTERS TO THE TEMPURA ASPARAGUS & ONION. THE SALMON WAS DONE PERFECTLY AND THE CELERY ROOT POTATOES WERE SO GREAT. DOUGLAS DALE IS ONE OF A KIND IN THAT HE PAYS ATTENTION TO EVERY DETAIL AND LOVES HIS CUSTOMERS! TRULY THE BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Beautiful view of Lake Tahoe and some really good dishes. Pretty pricey, but with that view/location, I guess it's expected. Staff was very nice and the pea soup was really awesome. The smoked trout appetizer was, also, very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wolfdale's was superb! The atmosphere is excellent for private conversation - the food is outstanding. As excellent is the service. As you would expect in a fine cuisine restaurant. Our server was attentive, friendly but not in your face. The menu offers a great variety - unique to other Tahoe restaurants. We selected a tasting of their starters which was amazing . A+ for Wolfdale's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It had been awhile since we had eaten here and we were not disappointed. The uniqueness of the cuisine is outstanding. The hostess was so inviting upon our arrival and she made sure that we were seated in a more quite corner of the dining room since there was a large crowd of young people who were quite boisterous.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helped us to select our entrees since we liked the description of several and so it was hard to make a decision.

We won't wait so long next time to revisit Wolfdales.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love this restaurant! A must do in Tahoe City!! Love the bartender BP and waiter Jeff. This restaurant does not disappoint! Thanks Doug!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2017

1970's idea of fancy. Way overpriced meal with below average food. I live in New Orleans and the check was the same as a very good James Beard award winning restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful appetizers- very fresh fish . Unfortunately , we order the sole for dinner and felt it was very bland . I wish we would have just had more sashimi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great experience for our first group trip to Tahoe. Everyone enjoyed there meal and the service was very exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere. Would definitely come back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Consistently great! Service is always awesome, food too. Fun cocktails and excellent wine list. If you want quiet, eat in the dining room, loud, eat at the bar. Although a tiny place, always good!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had
Everything was perfect
The fish stew was incredible

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent!! As always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We had dinner there.
The service was great! The food was amazing! The atmosphere was friendly and relaxing. We enjoyed that visit very much!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The carb cake appetizer was wonderful and went well with the Thai styled seafood soup. My friend had the beef Bourgogne with scallops which was superb. The cucumber cocktail was perfect! I loved the ceramic dishes and the room was perfect for personal conversation. Excellent service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful service cozy atmosphere excellent meal and becomes more quite after 8 PM

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Waterfront, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Spectacular meal. We were a party of seven everyone throughly enjoyed their meal and the appetizers. We had the Trione cab we had 3 or 4 bottles it was delicious. The place was very cozy and the service excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Two of our party ordered the burger. It was 17 dollars and ended up being very lackluster for the price. We informed the server who got very offended and disappeared for the rest of service. We waited 30 minutes after we finished dinner, planning to order dessert, finally the hostess showed up because the other waiter didn't want to serve us and she took our order. We informed her we had been waiting a while and she didn't really acknowledge it. They ended up comping a dessert because of what happened but we never got any real apology. And then when we were leaving, we were looking for the bathroom and was sternly admonished by another server, asking us where we were going in a rude tone. We were basically treated like crap because we weren't impressed with a lackluster burger they are overcharging for. They should've taken the criticism in stride as that is part of running a restaurant. Not throwing a hissy fit. We never heard from management or anyone apologizing about the service. Most of the food and drinks itself was pretty good and the ambience was decent. It's a shame their service was so terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Tahoe City! The food is always consistent and the service is top notch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall a lovely restaurant. Nice bar (friendly Bar Tender) with interesting bar menu. Dining Room is very comfortable and quiet. Food is creative but accessible and beautifully served. Mains were very good, but the kitchen needs to work on the Panna Cotta which was rubbery and too sweet. Overall experience a B+ and a restaurant I will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Top tier in North Lake Tahoe. Fine dining at a reasonable price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 30, 2017

You can always count on Wolfdales to have excellent to the pallet and healthy food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was totally delicious and we both thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The staff are really friendly and accommodating to each customer's needs. I have eaten there for approximately 15 years. Wonderfull ambience and service. Very attractive restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious food, everything was so tasty, we had to try several different items. The waiter was super friendly and attentive, we will be back!!!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent establishment that we have not been to before but well worth the wait. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Decent, quiet, good service, high quality comfort food

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Love this place. Love the decor and beautiful artwork too. The filet was fantastic. The fish stew amazing. Ended it with chocolate port and coconut icecream. Love it !!

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were late due to a snow storm but they held our table and had very good service. Had a Santa Claus come by for pictures. Kids and adults loved it. We will return for great food, service and a good time in the near furure.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was a very positive surprise. I am not sure how we have missed Wolfdale's in the past since they have been around only some 38 years... High quality ingredients, nice presentation and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great atmosphere. Service was average to good for a high end restaurant; food arrived in a reasonable time period, but orders from the bar seemed to take longer than expected. Portion size of the entrees was great; not too large or small. Quality and taste of the food was good but not outstanding. Nothing bad to say - just didn't quite live up to the hype of other reviews.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

If you love the creative work of a master chef, Wolfdale's is an essential stop on any visit to Lake Tahoe. Wonderful recipes with distinctively delicious new flavors combined Asian elements and local ingredients with European artistry. Our group of four started with three appetizers: smoked trout, poke tuna cones, and gyoza, which we followed with butternut squash soup and a selection of seafood entrees. Every dish had a a unique flavor variation that was complex and rewarding. Different design plates were chosen in harmony with the artistic presentation of the food, so that one ate with one's eyes as well as one's fork. The only slight disappointment was a complimentary shot-glass of miso soup that tided us over between soup and the arrival of the entree; it was a tiny bit too salty. Definitely make reservations via OpenTable in advance, and be prepared for an experience you would expect at a starred restaurant in Paris, New York, or Tokyo.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding as always. We come every time we are in Tahoe. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

"Wolfdale's" has been our favorite for decades. Expert planning, creative preparation, and flawless service are its hallmarks. We have never, ever had a disappointing experience whether service or fare. "Wolfdale's" ranks among our favorites worldwide, and is hands down our favorite in the Tahoe Basin.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I thought that the salmon with purple rice lacked something. It was cold and bland. For 34.00 I was disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My husband and I shared the crab cakes for an appetizer. They were wonderful. We each had sea bass for our entree. It was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wolf Dale's has been known for consistently delicious cuisine fit for any palate. The signature ahi poke cones cannot be missed! Appetizers also a hit are dungeoness crab cakes. Our favorites for dinner were the Thai Bowl that is filled with fish and clams, mussels and shrimp, in addition to the sliced duck breast .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.