About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: 5305835700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • Truffle Fries - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • 5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • Duckbreast - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • Hamachi - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
  • Bone In Rib-Eye - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
Seabass - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
Truffle Fries - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
Duckbreast - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
Hamachi - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA
Bone In Rib-Eye - Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique, Tahoe City, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come ring in the New Year with a special 4-course dinner! Beverage, tax and tip not included. 1st seating from 5:30-7:00PM is $78 per person (12 & under menu for $45). 2nd seating from 7:30-9:30PM is $95 per person (kids are full price) includes party favors.

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
4 More
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Tahoe City ›

Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Scenic View (29)
Romantic (26)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Waterfront (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Business Meals (4)
Organic (4)
Vegan (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you love the creative work of a maste ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

If you love the creative work of a master chef, Wolfdale's is an essential stop on any visit to Lake Tahoe. Wonderful recipes with distinctively delicious new flavors combined Asian elements and local ingredients with European artistry. Our group of four started with three appetizers: smoked trout, poke tuna cones, and gyoza, which we followed with butternut squash soup and a selection of seafood entrees. Every dish had a a unique flavor variation that was complex and rewarding. Different design plates were chosen in harmony with the artistic presentation of the food, so that one ate with one's eyes as well as one's fork. The only slight disappointment was a complimentary shot-glass of miso soup that tided us over between soup and the arrival of the entree; it was a tiny bit too salty. Definitely make reservations via OpenTable in advance, and be prepared for an experience you would expect at a starred restaurant in Paris, New York, or Tokyo.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. We come every tim ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding as always. We come every time we are in Tahoe. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Wolfdale's" has been our favorite for d ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

"Wolfdale's" has been our favorite for decades. Expert planning, creative preparation, and flawless service are its hallmarks. We have never, ever had a disappointing experience whether service or fare. "Wolfdale's" ranks among our favorites worldwide, and is hands down our favorite in the Tahoe Basin.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought that the salmon with purple ri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I thought that the salmon with purple rice lacked something. It was cold and bland. For 34.00 I was disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

My husband and I shared the crab cakes f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My husband and I shared the crab cakes for an appetizer. They were wonderful. We each had sea bass for our entree. It was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wolf Dale's has been known for consisten ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wolf Dale's has been known for consistently delicious cuisine fit for any palate. The signature ahi poke cones cannot be missed! Appetizers also a hit are dungeoness crab cakes. Our favorites for dinner were the Thai Bowl that is filled with fish and clams, mussels and shrimp, in addition to the sliced duck breast .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit to Wolfdale's and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My second visit to Wolfdale's and it was as good as my first dinner there. Get the poke cones for starter. My wife had the Thai seafood stew and it was very good. I had the scallops and turkey meatloaf. Interesting combination, but it worked, very good. An outstanding cocktail was the lemon vodka with organic lemonade and mint.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious food! Great service ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Absolutely delicious food! Great service and atmosphere. Fabulous operation overall and I would definitely recommend Wolfdale's to anyone. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best meal I have ever eaten! The Foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Best meal I have ever eaten! The Food was so Fresh and Service was superior!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a lovely meal. We are enj ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Thank you for a lovely meal. We are enjoying our new cookbook - reading about the development of Wolfdales and look forward to using the recipes.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Any upscale restaurant that's been in bu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Any upscale restaurant that's been in business for 35+ yrs has to be doing something right! Right? That said, "upscale" is relative so bear in mind we're talking about ultra-relaxed Lake Tahoe...

The Mrs. and I enjoyed our dinner - Hawaiian Ahi Poke Cones, WD's Angus Cheeseburger & Fries (bought-up for Truffle Fries), Seafood Jumbalaya (the evening's special entree) - but didn't think it to be anything special or worthy of a quick return. Highlight was the Seafood Jumbalaya as the chef didn't skimp on high-quality seafood and the flavors were well balanced (I often find Jumbalaya to taste like a mouthful of salt). Low-lights were the cold Truffle Fries. Even had the temp of the fries been appropriate, I'm still trying to figure out how any restaurant can justify a $6 up-charge to simply add truffle oil without fresh truffle shavings. And yes, I know how much truffles cost but we're not talking about alba white truffles here. Service was attentive in the bar area prior to being seated and in the main dining room. Was disappointed that our water wasn't filled once - not upon being seated nor when our cup ran dry - although each table is provided a glass bottle of water for guests to do it themselves.

In summary, if our experience at Wolfdale's (or Soule Domain... Awful in SO many ways!) is anything to go by, Lake Tahoe is the furthest thing from a food worthy destination. The good thing is, nobody ever said Lake Tahoe was a food worthy destination! So go and enjoy Lake Tahoe for the reason that millions of others do, to enjoy the best of the great outdoors in all four seasons!

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A preconception of a fine dining establi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A preconception of a fine dining establishment is generally based on current market trends. Having an established reputation within the industry and missing the concept completely is a huge bane. We must have picked a bad night for the back of the house and even a worse night for the server. Nothing worked. If you do not have seasoning on the table, you better make sure the food you are serving is seasoned. Everything was bland and no salt to be found. Entrees served on a stone cold platter, literally. If you serve on stoneware, heat it up if the entree is meant to be served warm. Flatware replaced on serviettes, but a carafe of Tahoe tap?! CIA publishes a book: Remarkable Service. Worth the read if you're in the industry. For the cost, we expected so much more. It was an accumulation of small mistakes that could have easily been averted. Bummed. We wanted so much to enjoy the evening based on Wolfdale's reputation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Was pretty disappointed by the menu. The ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Was pretty disappointed by the menu. The food just was not good. Especially for the price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We were initially seated in a noisy part ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were initially seated in a noisy part of the restaurant near the bar. After some discussion with the hostess we moved to another table in the main dining room. Jeff our waiter, moved with us. From that time forward the dining experience was top notch. Food and service were superb, wine service too. All in all a fun evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time back to this res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our first time back to this restaurant in several years. We have always appreciated the Japanese influence, but something was missing tonight. It is hard to put a finger on it. Maybe we were trying to repeat previous evenings. Food was very tasty, but not as crisp in flavor. Presentations were imaginative and displayed the Japanese influence. Miso soup in sake cups to cleanse palette was creative. Service was great. But tonight we couldn't give everything an "outstanding" score.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this restaurant. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love this restaurant. Great food and service can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wolfdles continues to provide a First Cl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wolfdles continues to provide a First Class Dining experience. The service and the exceptional food created by a spectacular chef makes dining at Wolfdales a must.

We have been going out to dinner at this wonderful restaurant for many years ands it is simply special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Wolf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Wolfdales. Outstanding cuisine and exceptional service. I

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant, fresh, lovely p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We love this restaurant, fresh, lovely presentation of our meals. Great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff is very friendly, the food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The staff is very friendly, the food was unbelievable and the view is perfect looking over the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All 6 in our group enjoyed our entrees. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

All 6 in our group enjoyed our entrees. My spanish sea food stew was outstanding. Keep it on the menu and I will order it every time. And I have to admit I am a fussy eater. The reasons I did not give a 5 star rating are as follows: Drink orders were taken in reasonable time from being seated but took a long time and we had to ask to get drinks served. I was seated close to a nearby table and the waiter/busboy kept bumping into me. Although the restaurant took multiple credit cards from our table, the restaurant would not split the check for each couple.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wolfdale's never disappoints. It's been ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Wolfdale's never disappoints. It's been a favorite of ours for over 30 years. If you're looking for mundane, routine, middle-of-the-road, safe fare... this is not your spot. Every aspect of every item on the menu is thoughtfully planned and expertly prepared with attention to every detail. It's obvious that owner/chef, Douglas Dale, loves what he does. He's been creating masterpieces nightly for nearly 40 years!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing.. Service was perfect! Everythin ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Amazing.. Service was perfect! Everything came out in a nice following pace..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wolfdale's is the best restaurant in the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wolfdale's is the best restaurant in the Tahoe basin/Truckee.....inventive menu and a lake view to boot! Its worth it just to meet the chef, Douglas Dale as he has such great knowledge of foods from around the world!

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to this restaurant in the 80's and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Went to this restaurant in the 80's and it has remained a great place for creative food. You can make a meal of the small plates and appetizers but that would mean you would miss the great main courses. If you are anywhere near North Lake Tahoe - try this place.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service every time. Starts at ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Impeccable service every time. Starts at the bar with fun and great bartenders. Table service continues with the high quality attention to detail. Variety of food, from mainstays to a few changes each month to keep it fresh always keeps you coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had read about service being slow how ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had read about service being slow however that was not our experience. The taster (poke ice cream pops) appetizer (smoked trout) and salad (tomato mozzarella) were delicious! We both got the short ribs and found them to be lacking in flavor surrounded by a somewhat sweet sauce that did not complement this dish at all. The view is amazing and unbeknownst to us, as this was our first time, there is an onsite bocce ball court. Will try this place again, perhaps an early dinner with a side of bocce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Consistently the best restaurant in the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Consistently the best restaurant in the area. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The starters were ok, the sashimi was go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The starters were ok, the sashimi was good and the truffle fries outstanding. The soup was OK, but the Caesar salad dressing needed more lemon (I ask for an bowl of lemon wedges, and added more, improved the taste very much). For the main course, I had day boat scallops which were nice sized (only 3, however). I personally did not care for the asian-fusion sauce on the scallops that much. One of our friends had the Thai seafood stew, which he enjoyed. Our wives shared a grilled halibut special. The fish was very dry and overcooked. They also did not care for the sauce or the purple thai rice. The asparagus was over cooked as well.

Our friends enjoyed the peach melba and a strawberry shortcake dessert special. I did not care for the chocolate souffle torte. There is nothing "souffle" about the tort. It is a very heavy and dense (but moist) chocolate torte, which looked store-bought. I was expecting something that was closer to a chocolate souffle, lighter and more pleasing to my palate.

The bill was $220 (including tip), for two couples, three entrees, no wine, no drinks, just water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We were put in the bar area first and as ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were put in the bar area first and asked to be changed and they were very nice about it...it would have been a completely different experience...this is now one of our go-to restaurants when we are up at Tahoe..

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've enjoyed meals at WolfDales before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We've enjoyed meals at WolfDales before and this did not disappoint. Excellent service that is friendly and low-key be extremely thoughtful and efficient. The hamachi and ahi sashimi appetizer was fabulous. My Thai seafood stew was mild and subtle, but had wonderful depth of flavor. My husband's beef filet was large, perfectly cooked and well matched with a red wine sauce, and garlic mashed potatoes. Everything was all we both hoped for and expected...a lovely meal and evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was a welcome find in Tahoe. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place was a welcome find in Tahoe. Lovely food. My husband is vegan and I'm gluten free and we have big city tastes, so we're very hard to please. It's quiet, pretty, and very accommodating. We loved it we'll be back.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Organic, Scenic View, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friday night 26 August. We arrived at 6 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Friday night 26 August. We arrived at 6:00, but did not receive any food for nearly an hour. Our dinners didn't arrive until 7:40. The excuse was that the kitchen was backed up. While the food was good and our server very pleasant, we did not appreciate how long we had to wait and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This was not our first time to visit Wol ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was not our first time to visit Wolfdale's with friends so we had an idea of what we would be receiving in the way of food. The food was divine as always. But, although we had a nice waiter, the service was S-L-O-W. That was the second time we've experienced slow service; it won't keep us from returning but it is aggravating.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We look forward to visiting Wolfdale's ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We look forward to visiting Wolfdale's anytime we are in the area. Whether we have been in a group or having dinner for 2, it has always been delicious and enjoyable. Our most recent dining experience was no exception. Our server Melanie was delightful and our dinner wonderful. I must say though, that our request to eat out doors was declined, albeit the guests to arrive at an outdoor table arrived a very short time before we were ready to leave. Instead we were seated at a table for 2 in the dinning room. While my husband looked out towards the dining area and enjoying the overall view, I had a view of the service area.

In a lovely restaurant such as Wolfdale's, I would like to think that if a guest(s) need to be seated at that particular table, a nice curtain or some kind of door covering would be much more pleasing rather than the view of cups, plates , etc. Another suggestion would be to orientate the table in a different direction. This small fix would indeed be in keeping with the ambience that your fine dinning restaurant tries to provide to it's patrons.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wolfdales is a lovely calm place for din ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wolfdales is a lovely calm place for dinner, white tablecloths, but not formal. Good was fresh, inventive and delicious. For a special dinner at Tahoe, I would recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Despite a requested deck table on a summ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Despite a requested deck table on a summer evening, the only table offered was in front of the service counter, with. Yay traffic on 3 sides.

Service was adequate, food was not great, but good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I dined at Woldales twice last week. Bo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I dined at Woldales twice last week. Both times really enjoyed the little chicken dumplings appetizer. Perfect. The steak was delicious - perfectly prepared. The Halibut was very good, the rice with it a little subpar. The salmon special was superb. Excellent food, fabulous setting, fun bar, outstanding service. If you are in Tahoe area, be sure to get to Wolfdales.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wolfdales remains the only true fine din ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wolfdales remains the only true fine dining restaurant in North Lake Tahoe. The food, ambiance and service are a cut above all of the others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for four and we all great ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a table for four and we all greatly enjoyed our dinner and evening. The food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.