About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm - Close. Dinner: 5:30 pm - Close. Closed Tuesdays, except in July and August open nightly.

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: 5305835700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass
  • White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms
  • Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms
  • Truffle Fries
  • 5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki
  • Duckbreast
  • Hamachi
  • Bone In Rib-Eye
Seabass
White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms
Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms
Truffle Fries
5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki
Duckbreast
Hamachi
Bone In Rib-Eye

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
10 More
Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Tahoe City ›

fit for foodies (56)
special occasion (54)
scenic view (50)
See All
romantic (41)
great for outdoor dining (37)
notable wine list (26)
neighborhood gem (19)
good for groups (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have driven by for years - stopped in wi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have driven by for years - stopped in with my wife for a fabulous dinner. . Now we know why Wolfdale's has been happening for 38 years! Great service, Tahoe friendly, top-flight meal. Thanks Chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience. Ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Everything from the "teasers" to appetizer to main course and dessert was fantastic. Service was very good. View of Lake Tahoe fabulous. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally my favorite restaurant in Tahoe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Normally my favorite restaurant in Tahoe, however, I was disappointed this time. I ordered the special of the evening, which was a sea bass and it was overcooked and dry. Oh well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Been going to Wolfdale's for 30 years, w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Been going to Wolfdale's for 30 years, while its one of the best spots on the lake, they need to update the menu! Also, seating back by the bar sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Met friends for dinner. Nice menu selec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Met friends for dinner. Nice menu selection. Good wine list. Service prompt, but not overpowering.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for the week ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for the week and we read reviews about Wolfdale's The menu looked very interesting. The place is very upscale and well kept. They have a notable wine list and prices are reasonable. The service was top notch and the food was amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic, as always. Been going to Wolf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic, as always. Been going to Wolfdale's for years and still the BEST in Tahoe.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was perfect here! We wer ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience was perfect here! We were celebrating our 17 year wedding anniversary and what better place to spend it then Wolfdale's in North Shore, Lake Tahoe! Our food was Awesome! I loved the crab cakes on special, ahi poke cones and I absolute loved my Thai Seafood Chippino! Great service, great view and great food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy tasty meals, delightful pre ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always enjoy tasty meals, delightful presentation of foods in such a lovely setting. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a great experience at Wolf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I always have a great experience at Wolfdale's. Food is excellent, service and atmosphere outstanding, and you can't beat the Lake Tahoe view. Very enjoyable dinner to cap off a great 10 days at Lake Tahoe - I remember eating at Wolfdale's when it was on the west shore, and I hope to enjoy many more meals there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is always over the top here. Foo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service is always over the top here. Food is fun/different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We always love going to Wolfdale's whene ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always love going to Wolfdale's whenever we are in Tahoe City. The food is always outstanding, especially the tempura softshell crab in summer. The waitstaff is very friendly, and the wine list is very comprehensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with the service. We went t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed with the service. We went there to celebrate my husbands 39th birthday and no birthday wishes with the1 desert we ordered or not even in the house after a $200 dinner for a party if 2 adults and 2 kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great place to eat and the outside dinin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great place to eat and the outside dining is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Over the 40 years I have been visiting T ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Over the 40 years I have been visiting Tahoe City, I have not dined at Wolfdales. What a shame! All the fabulous meals I have missed. John was our server and he was stellar. The food was served beautifully and was delicious. The atmosphere was lovely, even with tables in close

proximity to each other. My husband and I had a most enjoyable dinner. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our 7th time over 7 years eatin ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our 7th time over 7 years eating here and the menu has not changed. The view is amazing and I want to love this place again, but it feels stuck. There are other options in Tahoe City that seem to care more about the food and experience. Disappointed but hopeful because I love the view & ambience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was delicious. It was by far t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was delicious. It was by far the best food I have ever had in the Tahoe area. The service was terrific. The scallop appetizer was unusual and delicious. The halibut was superb!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the crab cakes and the overall amb ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Loved the crab cakes and the overall ambience including the attentive service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. We sat outside ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The ambiance was great. We sat outside and had a beautiful view of Lake Tahoe. However, I'm very sorry to have to write the food was bad. We have eaten at this restaurant before and the food was great. I have no idea why on this night it was bad. Our appetizers were passable. The highlight was our cold watermelon soup however the salad was bland. The entrees were tasteless and extremely disappointing. All four of us had same experience. I am terribly sorry to have to write this review since again, previous time at restaurant was terrific and the ambiance was beautiful and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The restaurant was amazing, the view was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The restaurant was amazing, the view was amazing. The food was lovely and I would definitely come back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the fish special and the potsticke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved the fish special and the potsticker appetizer. The soft shell crab appetizer was good but nothing too exciting. The service was terrific. I would definitely go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had seafood stew, sea bass in a red c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had seafood stew, sea bass in a red curry sauce, and salmon entrees, with smoked trout as an appetizer. Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection. The smoked trout is not to be missed. It was a lovely start to the meal, which was complimented by a bottle of Navarro Gwertztraminer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since 1978, the (same) chef Dale has met ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Since 1978, the (same) chef Dale has meticulously selected the finest ingredients and provided a consistently excellent dining experience. Last week, he surprised us with a complementary dessert for being repeat customers since 1980.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Beautifully prepared f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Love this place!

Beautifully prepared food with an immaculate kitchen!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Asian/Thai seafood stew. Ther ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the Asian/Thai seafood stew. There were three halibut dinners ordered and all loved it! Service was good but the noise level was high! Wolfdale's is still one of my favorite restaurants in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely lake view dining!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lovely lake view dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite dining spot in Tahoe City. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our favorite dining spot in Tahoe City. You can always depend on a great meal. Flavors are full yet delicate. Portions are just right and the wait staff is very good about taking care of your every need without hovering.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat! The sea bass and halibut e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

What a treat! The sea bass and halibut entrees were cooked to perfection, the grilled artichoke was delicious, service was attentive but not overbearing, setting absolutely beautiful, right to the full moon rising over Lake Tahoe - couldn't ask for more, it was just lovely. The artwork throughout the restaurant is a nice personal touch. Highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Always the food,service and ambiance ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As Always the food,service and ambiance was perfect. After coming periodically for over 30 years, we are never disappointed . This time was special as a good friend from out of town came over and it felt very good to be able to confidently recommend a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All fourteen of us had wonderful appetiz ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

All fourteen of us had wonderful appetizers and meals. Wolfdales did it again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Chef Dale has a ge ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fantastic experience. Chef Dale has a gem in Tahoe. Gorgeous view. Possibly the best seafood dish I've ever had. Corvina Sea Bass over rice with a perfect curry Thai reduction. If Chef is offering don't pass it up! Also had the smoked trout and the elk sausage skillet. Both must tries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cuisine is delicious and unique. On ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The cuisine is delicious and unique. One of the better places in Tahoe. If it's warm enough to sit on the Patio there are some great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently outstanding. A great find ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Consistently outstanding. A great find in Tahoe City. Wolfdale's also has a great happy hour and many locals and others dine on small plates at the bar. A nice change when you only want an appetizer and not an entire meal. We have eaten at Wolfdale's almost every time we're in Tahoe City and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exquisite in every detail

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Each dish was mouthwatering and beautifully presented ... only wish I had saved room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in California

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been dinning here for over 30 years, since Wolfdale's started in Homewood. We recently ate there for my 83rd birthday and rented a house at Tahoe just to be able to do so. The food is an interesting and delicious blend of Japanese and European styles. there is very good seafood and even superb oysters. The sashimi is the best. There are outdoor and indoor tables with great views of the lake. It is unbeatable for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food and service! Kevin is a super ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Best food and service! Kevin is a super pro server-

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Staff was exceptionally friendly and mad ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Staff was exceptionally friendly and made excellent recommendations based on customer likes and questions. Very good food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tahoe Zen Moments

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A tranquil and picturesque setting for a creative (and tasty) dinner. Each course felt like a work of art. The poke cones and shrimp artichoke appetizers were particularly memorable. Staff is also very wine savvy. We'll be back next time we visit Tahoe

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our waiter was everything , the food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our waiter was everything , the food was good and reasonable noise level very quite. Usually mgmt doesn't do anything to keep things comfortable for some reason large tables were quite. Hopefully they keep the dinning area not a sorority reunion..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Interesting, ambitious menu-the kitchen delivers

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Looking forward to coming back soon. Everything was excellent--the bread, hamachi/tuna sashimi, filet mignon, lamb shank, hazelnut chocolate cake with salted caramel ice cream, thai seafood, scallops appetizer, Moroccan sausage. Service was very professional and competent and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.