About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm - Close. Dinner: 5:30 pm - Close. Closed Tuesdays, except in July and August open nightly.

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: 5305835700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seabass
  • White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms
  • Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms
  • Truffle Fries
  • 5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki
  • Duckbreast
  • Hamachi
  • Bone In Rib-Eye
Seabass
White Fish With Lotus Root Chips Thai Purple Rice And Mushrooms
Zen Plate: Lotus Root Spinach Tofu Mushrooms
Truffle Fries
5-Spice Pork Belly With Guacamole And Teriyaki
Duckbreast
Hamachi
Bone In Rib-Eye

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
8 More
Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Best Value
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Tahoe City ›

fit for foodies (29)
special occasion (28)
scenic view (23)
See All
romantic (17)
notable wine list (16)
great for outdoor dining (12)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite dining spot in Tahoe City. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our favorite dining spot in Tahoe City. You can always depend on a great meal. Flavors are full yet delicate. Portions are just right and the wait staff is very good about taking care of your every need without hovering.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat! The sea bass and halibut e ...

Dined 5 days ago

What a treat! The sea bass and halibut entrees were cooked to perfection, the grilled artichoke was delicious, service was attentive but not overbearing, setting absolutely beautiful, right to the full moon rising over Lake Tahoe - couldn't ask for more, it was just lovely. The artwork throughout the restaurant is a nice personal touch. Highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Always the food,service and ambiance ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

As Always the food,service and ambiance was perfect. After coming periodically for over 30 years, we are never disappointed . This time was special as a good friend from out of town came over and it felt very good to be able to confidently recommend a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All fourteen of us had wonderful appetiz ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

All fourteen of us had wonderful appetizers and meals. Wolfdales did it again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Chef Dale has a ge ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Fantastic experience. Chef Dale has a gem in Tahoe. Gorgeous view. Possibly the best seafood dish I've ever had. Corvina Sea Bass over rice with a perfect curry Thai reduction. If Chef is offering don't pass it up! Also had the smoked trout and the elk sausage skillet. Both must tries.

food5
ambience5
service5

The cuisine is delicious and unique. On ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The cuisine is delicious and unique. One of the better places in Tahoe. If it's warm enough to sit on the Patio there are some great views.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently outstanding. A great find ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Consistently outstanding. A great find in Tahoe City. Wolfdale's also has a great happy hour and many locals and others dine on small plates at the bar. A nice change when you only want an appetizer and not an entire meal. We have eaten at Wolfdale's almost every time we're in Tahoe City and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

exquisite in every detail

Dined on June 7, 2016

Each dish was mouthwatering and beautifully presented ... only wish I had saved room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Restaurant in California

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been dinning here for over 30 years, since Wolfdale's started in Homewood. We recently ate there for my 83rd birthday and rented a house at Tahoe just to be able to do so. The food is an interesting and delicious blend of Japanese and European styles. there is very good seafood and even superb oysters. The sashimi is the best. There are outdoor and indoor tables with great views of the lake. It is unbeatable for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best food and service! Kevin is a super ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Best food and service! Kevin is a super pro server-

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was exceptionally friendly and mad ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Staff was exceptionally friendly and made excellent recommendations based on customer likes and questions. Very good food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Tahoe Zen Moments

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

A tranquil and picturesque setting for a creative (and tasty) dinner. Each course felt like a work of art. The poke cones and shrimp artichoke appetizers were particularly memorable. Staff is also very wine savvy. We'll be back next time we visit Tahoe

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was everything , the food was ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our waiter was everything , the food was good and reasonable noise level very quite. Usually mgmt doesn't do anything to keep things comfortable for some reason large tables were quite. Hopefully they keep the dinning area not a sorority reunion..

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting, ambitious menu-the kitchen delivers

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Looking forward to coming back soon. Everything was excellent--the bread, hamachi/tuna sashimi, filet mignon, lamb shank, hazelnut chocolate cake with salted caramel ice cream, thai seafood, scallops appetizer, Moroccan sausage. Service was very professional and competent and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, inventive cuisine. Nice plac ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Delightful, inventive cuisine. Nice place on a cozy night. Will our waiter was top notch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bob Ash rocks!

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have always loved Wolfdales and no longer live in the area but every time I come back to Tahoe it is on my list! Bob Ash is the best server they have if you are lucky enough to get him!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gem in Tahoe City

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Year after year, my husband and I eat at Wolfdale's when we go skiing. The food, ambience and service continues to be outstanding. Wolfdale's is a special place that has never deceived us!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

California Asian fusion....delicious and different

Dined on February 22, 2016

This is longstanding restaurant....food ranges from gourmet hamburgers to Asian dishes to Asian risotto (seafood) dish......great unique desserts...home made ice creams....beautiful wine selection and very knowledgeable and attentive wait staff.....lots of lovely hand crafted pottery dishes to set off your meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Douglas Dale is amazing!

Dined on February 19, 2016

We celebrated our 27th Wedding Anniversary at Wolfdale's and it could not have been more perfect. We had a beautiful table, seated side-by-side, fantastic appetizers including a special treat sent over by Chef that took a simple idea, added caviar, and made it incredibly memorable. Also that lovely petite cup of fennel soup -- so creamy and multilayered in flavor and yet, NO cream! Delicious! The entrees were beatiful, creative and so tasty, we savored every bite (We ordered one of each of the specials: Lobster Risotto and Petrale Sole). Dessert was made extra special with a sweet edible banner wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The service was immpecable, yet personal, and they even had our favorite Rombauer Chardonnay on the wine list. Wolfdale's is a long time Tahoe favorite and they never fail to delight!! Thanks, Chef Douglas and staff for a wonderful anniversary celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our experience.

Dined on February 14, 2016

From the time we arrived we were well taken care of by staff. Our wait person was particularly friendly and efficient. Food was excellent. Will come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the effort to get a Sat. night reservation

Dined on February 14, 2016

Finally succeeded in getting a reservation 10 days in advance after trying since 1972. discovered why it takes weeks in advance to get a Saturday night reservation. Well worth the effort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good value for your money

Dined on February 11, 2016

Four of us and all seemed to be happy with our food. I ordered the Tempura prawns and asparagus appetizer as my entree. There were four good sized prawns. Only thing was that the prawns were a bit blend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Venue

Dined on February 4, 2016

Wolfdale's is always a treat! Great food, great service, and a great atmosphere. This is a gem in Tahoe City. Thanks for creating a great evening for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 1, 2016

Nice atmosphere, great food. New waiter who could use some more customer service training. On the expensive side, but the food and presentation were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

Best in Tahoe city but they need to up t ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Best in Tahoe city but they need to up their game.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful dining

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was great - as good or better than san Francisco. our waitress was fabulous. she knew everything and was very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very poor experience at Wolfdales this time.

Dined on January 28, 2016

Have been going to Wolfdales several times a year for 20+ years. This time was the last. Menu very limited, and now terrible service and the food was quite average. We were just getting up to leave as our food had not arrived (1 hour wait) when it arrived at the table. Food itself was good enough, but certainly not enough to warrant the wait. Also very cold inside restaurant this time, and both my husband and I had to wear our jackets inside.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Excellent food. I highly recommend this place for their innovative cuisine and fine service. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was an special dinner and was perfect. W ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Was an special dinner and was perfect. We had a 1.5 year old and they were gracious and thoughtful! Great place highly recommend!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Best romantic place in Tahoe so far

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

A bit expensive but has the best ambiance in Tahoe so far that I've been to

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Night Out

Dined on January 16, 2016

Delicious dinner - we had the caviar appetizer along with the hamachi spoons and some of the bay scallops. I had the seafood stew - always a winner, and my husband had the filet - one of his favorites, with a wonderful bottle of Zinfandel. We always have great service - thank you Kathleen, Bob, Andrew, Trevor, Bob Jones and BP - we love our evenings out at Wolfdale's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

near miss

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

food short of excellent at very high prices. service could have been better.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner with good friends for birthday celebration

Dined on January 2, 2016

The service was great and the cocktails are divine. Lovely cozy atmosphere. The hamachi spoons are delicious. The sorbet was amazing as is the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Great food

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on December 31, 2015

Read good reviews about this place. Made a reservation for 5 a week in advance and was seated in the bar area, even though they have a dining area. Very noisy. Service was OK. Food was OK.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday ever!!!

Dined on December 30, 2015

We just loved everything! It was a special night. Great wine list especially if you're a big Napa Cab fan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Constantly Outstanding

Dined on December 25, 2015

Douglas never lets us down. Yet another outstanding dinner. Coconut shrimp salad, Seafood soup, Corvina Sea Bass cooked to perfection and Holiday Baked Tahoe complete with gingerbread, candy cane ice cream topped with toasted meringue! Yum. One of our top ten dinners, ever! And thanks Bob for your excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A dining experience not to be missed!

Dined on November 29, 2015

If you haven't eaten at Wolfdales, you are certainly missing out! The atmosphere, food, service and overall experience is worthy to challenge any top 10 restaurants in the World! Chef Douglas brilliantly fuses his culinary training in Japan to traditional American fare highlighted by all the original handmade plates and bowls. He and his staff could not be more nice, friendly, welcoming and attentive. There's a reason they've been open since 1983! I brought my 7 year old son along with a couple that live in Tahoe and had never experienced Wolfdales. My son devoured the Kobe Beef burger and said the fries were the best fries he ever had! (little did he know we ordered the truffle fries...). The couple, who had the beautifully seared scallops and the five-spice duck, had said that was the best dining experience they had ever had and couldn't believe they had never been. Sure to be the spot they celebrate their upcoming anniversary. Be sure to make a reservation! It was packed

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on November 29, 2015

Wolfdale's Dining experience exceeded our expectations. We are from the Bay Area and we are so happy to find them at Yelp. The head waiter gave us an excellent service and the Chef came out and introduced himself to us! We tried all the appetizers and they were all good especially the Hamachi. In my opinion, the Thai Seafood stew hit the spot, best for cold nights in Tahoe!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to anniversary spot

Dined on November 17, 2015

As always it excells. ... .... .... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... .... .... .... ... ... ....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.