Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: (530) 583-5700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (38)
Scenic View (34)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Waterfront (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (10)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food, served at a leisurely pace with excellent service. The class of Lake Tahoe dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I have dined here for many years and have never been disappointed . Hope to return soon to enjoy the unique food.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Wolfdale's continues to impress with it's outstanding food, ambiance and service. From the appetizers to the salads to the entrees and finally to the desserts, this restaurant impresses and entices you to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I had an amazing experience at Wolfdales this past Saturday. At first I was concerned as the hostess was hemming and hawing when I said we had a reservation. I thought they could have overbooked or I didn't complete my reservation with Open Table. She said she wasn't sure what she was going to do. OK Panic time! Then she said she could seat us on the deck but it's side by side seating. We ended up on the deck facing the water just the two of us for nearly our entire meal. Casey was our server and he was awesome, attentive but not intrusive and knowledgeable about all of the menu items. I love dirty martinis and asked if they had blue cheese stuffed olives, Casey's response was no they did not but we can make them. It was a perfect dirty martini. We ordered the Poki cones and Crab spoons for appetizers both were delicious. My lamb was perfectly cooked and the eggplant, tomato and capers were a perfect compliment. My boyfriend ordered the Paella, all the seafood was perfectly cooked and not overpowered by the tomato base. All plates were a perfect serving size. We were amazed at how lucky we were to be seated on the deck overlooking the lake and such a beautiful evening and the food was delicious and the service impeccable. I highly recommend Wolfdales.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tapas, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoy fine dining and trying places that appear promising. Unfortunately the food did not live up to expectations of the hyped higher end cuisine. There were not a lot of appealing entree's on the menu, but I settled on the halibut in a Thai curry broth. The broth flavors overwhelmed the rather dry, but drowned halibut. The flavor combo and presentation were just unappealing and not worthy of the prices being charged . I could talk about the other courses we tried (some good, some not), but in summary, this place does not have the "wow" factor you get when dining at higher end restaurants. Just wasn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding appetizers and unique cuisine. One of our top favorites.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to dine and will drive a hour to enjoy. Everything is creative, food, table service. The staff is always friendly and experienced. Most know the wine selection and will get assist if needed. My favorite place to sit is outside on the deck.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Excellent service, delicious creative food, scenic and romantic.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've been to Wolfdale's twice this week. That pretty much says it all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Sublime restaurant... epic view, top notch service and very accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was terrific and the service was wonderful, too. They were busy, but you'd never have guessed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Douglas, the owner/chief is absolute fabulous!!!! Best dining in Tahoe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything from the cocktails, filet and venison to the chocolate lava cake and cherries jubilee was divine! We had been wanting to experience Wolfdale for some time but this is the first time we were not traveling with kids. We are not disappointed! Even if the food had been bad (which it certainly was not), the view of Lake Tahoe was magnificent!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always consistent with superb service, fresh and well-prepared food.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wolfdale's is one of our very favorites. We're there 4-5 times/year... and always for my wife's birthday and other special occasions. I made a rezzie a month or so ago for our birthday party group. We always sit at a particular table and I was told "no problem... we're looking forward to seeing you!" When I checked in I was told that someone else had reserved the table and that it was unavailable. Although the hostess was very polite with her "I'm sorry", I was irritated. After being seated at another fine table we all ordered. I ordered a Caeser salad and requested an extra anchovy. The waiter advised that there would be an extra charge. I thought he was kidding but he assured me that he wasn't. Really? I'm spending $400-$500 and he can't find an extra anchovy for me? Although Wolfdale's remains one of our very favorites, I must say that I finished our dinner feeling irritated at the reservation snafu... and then for being gouged for an extra anchovy. I admit that these issues are "small potatoes"... but sometimes it's those little things that can get in the way of an otherwise perfect evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The hostess was neither nice nor very helpful.
Then we ordered a plate with crab and were served shrimps without the waiter telling us or noticing... We had to send the plate back.
The food was OK though but quite expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a reservation and it was for my husband's birthday. We arrived on time but it took us almost 2 hours to finished the whole dinner. It wasn't because of we have many courses of dinner. It was a long wait from the beginning to the end. We end up giving up the desire to order dessert after that long wait. Compare to the next door guests, they seems to be the frequent guests to the restaurant. They arrived an hour later than us, but received their food not much later than we received ours. Interesting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant in the Tahoe/Truckee area.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We have been regular customers for twenty years. Two years ago we had very poor service and had not returned until this past week. Although still very good, something was missing. We discussed this with some of our local friends and they felt the same way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Considering we had 3 toddlers at our table of 9, the staff and Waiter were very patient and understanding. Food was delicious!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food and service! Lake view made night memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic experience - sitting on patio watching Tahoe sunset and great food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We recently had dinner on the outdoor patio, celebrating Father's Day, with my family and my boyfriend. We loved every dish we ordered, but especially the poke cones and salmon spoons! The variety of dishes are always unique and I ended up buying their Wolfdale's cook book on our way out. The owner is extremely nice and she kindly was able to change our reservation on the deck from 6pm to 6:30pm when something unexpectedly came up. The service is fantastic too! I highly recommend Wolfdale's, any day of the week, inside the beautiful dining room or outside on the patio! 5 stars!! 😊

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Terrible service. Servers were arrogant, walked away from table when we tried to ask a question. Inside if restaurant is depressing. Food was mediocre. Extremely disappointed. We'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Nice restaurant in a beautiful setting. Cuisine was creative, a fusion of California and Japanese. My only issue was the sashimi was a bit mushy and lacked the taste I normally associate with this dish. But overall it was a fine meal. I had the special cod and it was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wolfdale's provided an over the top experience! From the minute we walked in the door, throughout dinner and dessert the service from the staff is amazing. They make sure you are well taken care of. To make that even better is their delicious food. Cannot wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was over the top and the dishes were heavenly, which made our anniversary celebration perfect. It was truly Cuisine Unique that Chef Douglas Dale created.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had eaten in Wolfdale's on many occasions, but not in the past 3 years.
We returned to find it as friendly as ever. The wait staff was outstanding.
The food was incredible. The presentation was superb.
Sitting with a view of the lake and the snow on the Sierra mountains surrounding Lake Tahoe is beyond description. I had the Paella and my wife had the Halibut. Both meals were excellent with fabulous presentation. I would post photos if possible. Highly recommend this restaurant. Don't take the kids if you have any concerns about ruining other diner's experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Recommended by a local we looked forward to a great experience. All was great until the main course. When one of the main courses was really not prepared well; our guess was freshness of the halibut.
But the staff handled the problem very well. Everything else was very good especially the service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Limited outdoor, water view seating. Small, intimate setting. Excellent service, however the food was just decent, nothing to rave about. Definitively no comparison to the eclectic or outstanding flavors we have grown accustomed to living in the San Francisco Bay Area. Prices a bit high for the quality of food.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was excellent, we had the softshell crab tempura and gyoza as appetizers. For dinner we had the paella, which was fabulous, and filet mignon. Service was great, wine was good, view was outstanding. This is probably the best restaurant in the Tahoe basin, but bring your checkbook because it ain't cheap!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Another evening of great food, great service and gorgeous views of Lake Tahoe. 30 years of excellence!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had to wait for a table, even with an 8pm reservation. Steak was good but I have had better. Considering it's located in a mountain town, could have been worse. We enjoyed pizza the following night just as much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a lovely evening. Food was very good as was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing , as usual!! I love coming to Wolfdales because I know it will always be healthy, unusual, and delicious!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We go to Wolfdale's 2 or three times a year. The food is always hit or miss. The prices are always high. I just paid $52 for the worst surf and turf I have ever had. The chef needs to go back to the drawing board.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Menu varies. Seafood items always a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good meal, nice service. A very busy place, but you don't feel rushed. Accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the North Lake Tahoe area. One of our favorites.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.