Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique

North Lake Tahoe’s premiere restaurant and popular bar offers lake view dining with excellent ambiance and service. Wolfdale's Restaurant uses 'Cuisine Unique' to describe the fresh food prepared simply and aesthetically. Since opening in 1978, Chef Douglas Dale has developed the style of East-West cuisine.

640 North Lake Blvd.
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Fusion / Eclectic, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00 pm | Dinner: 5:30 pm | Closed Tuesdays

Cross Street:
Grove St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-5700

Website:
http://www.wolfdales.com/

Executive Chef:
Douglas Dale

Private Party Facilities:
The dining room and/or bar area can be partially reserved or completely bought-out for large groups throughout the year. During the summer months there is a courtyard with a bocce ball court that can also be reserved for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Douglas Dale: (530) 583-5700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

1st Seating: anytime between 5:30-7PM | special 4-course dinner (not including beverage, tax or tip) | $80 per person ($45 under 12)
2nd Seating: anytime between 7:30-9:30PM | special 4-course dinner with party favors (not including beverage, tax or tip) | $98 per person
*Cancel by December 29th 5PM

Wolfdale's Cuisine Unique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Scenic View (29)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Waterfront (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Healthy (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Once again we were not disappointed; our go too place for special occasions on the lake.
Service, cocktails, food, and overall experience is beyond compare!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

As always the food was outstanding, Casey our waiter, made the evening even more special by being attentive but not overbearing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great time here and food was great!

Great place to get together with friends or a special occasion.

Tags: Organic, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Wonderful time,great service,outstanding food!!!!Had fun with our large group!! Staff was very attentive to us. Just a good time all around!!!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner of sea bass. Wolfdale’s is the best dining experience in Tahoe. Love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

You can never go wrong with a dinner at Wolfdale’s. The food is terrific, especially the fish dishes. The scallop appetizer was fantastic and so was the smoked trout. We make a point of coming for a happy hour and a dinner here every time we visit North Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Every bite was perfect. Loved the ahi tuna cones! The duck with crispy risoti cake and mushroom broth was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Awesome apps/teasers. Loved the Thai stew. Burger was a joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Food is always excellent. Service was "just right" and ambience is great for quiet dining. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

CLASSY, welcoming, no rush, healthy, wonderful choices on the menu, servers who know the cuisine. Got to go more often. A definite gem for Truckee -Tahoe.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Truly the best restaurant in Tahoe, North and South. We ordered a third of the menu and everything was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I was very surprised by this restaurant. The food was amazing. I only wish I had found this place earlier in the week because I would have eaten there a couple times in order to try everything. We tried 3 appetizers, 3 entrees and 2 deserts and there is nothing I would not recommend. The service was great. The atmosphere lively. I hope this restaurant is still around on my next trip to North Lake Tahoe. I'll be returning for sure!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Can always count on fresh, local ingredients and good food prep here. Fun cocktails too and a nice wine list. Good variety from meat, seafood, to vegetarian. The service is over the top, with very professional servers. The chef/owner quietly checks on his guests during dinner as well. He also sent us a complimentary dessert. How sweet in more ways than one! We’ll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The bartender before dinner as very cordial and accommodating. The waiter we had was very unfriendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Waiter seemed frazzled. One Appetizer was good gyozo was over cooked. Fish stew was tasty but short on fish. Steaks were excellent. Pricy.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The technique of this kitchen is beyond good. Knows to pair different flavors really well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Wolfdales never disappoints. We go several times a year and haven’t missed an anniversary dinner there in 20+ years. This year some friends joined us and we all agreed that the dinner was as good as it gets. Where many fine restaurants have a wonderful entrée and adequate side dishes, Wolfdale’s entire plate offers a veritable symphony.... it hits on all cylinders. Attention is paid to every single last detail… And the service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Exceptional restaurant on the West Shore. Creative menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wolfdale's has always been a treat for the thirty years I've lived in Tahoe.

The attention to detail is superb, the food - really creative and always delicious. As Tahoe's quality restaurant offerings have diminished in the three decades I've lived here (meaning operators cutting corners because hey - it's Tahoe, and they know you're gonna come), it's so nice to have a place like Wolfdales - locally owned, committed to their way of doing things, and always a treat.

My partner and I are not wine drinkers, so I can't really comment on the wine selection.

If you want more intimate and quiet, go early. Things can get a little energetic once the wine starts to flow.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Every aspect of our evening was beyond compare! Food was amazing, our waiter was wonderful, the restaurant itself is a bit of perfection! Would I recommend? YESSSSSSS
A must try place at our beautiful lake!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Outstanding cuisine! Perhaps the best scallops I've ever had. Never disappoints.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

What a wonderful experience we had I came across an article on the chef and it made us want to try it out. Welcomed by the lovely hostess and sat down the waiter was very nice. Let us know the specials and after ordering we knew we made the right choices. We can't wait to come back. The food was above and beyond our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Jo smith's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

After a long absence from Lake Tahoe, we came back to Wolfdale's to find out that nothing has changed. It is still the wonderful, delicious restaurant we've always loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The bartender was fantastic! Very thoughtful, outgoing and made great drinks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We ordered the scallop entree which was probably the best part of the meal. The salad was fine, as was the molten chocolate cake for dessert. We both ordered the surf and turf (filet mignon with king crab legs). While the filet was cooked well, they put a horrible sauce (mushroom I think) that was bright red and tasted awful. The crab legs were shriveled up in a half shell like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for 15 minutes and was super overlooked.
The entree came with garlic mashed potatoes, which were pretty good, but the only "vegetable" was half of a portabello mushroom.
The service was good, although a little slow near the end. We were celebrating a birthday, which I mentioned when I made the reservation, but it was never acknowledged which was a little disappointing. I feel like it's part of a waiter's job to ask what brings someone into a fine dining establishment.
For the price, I definitely would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wolfdale's is our absolute favorite restaurant in Tahoe, and has been for years. Fantastic food and impeccable service. We visit Tahoe every September and Wolfdale's is always a must stop spot. Worth every penny. If you are looking for a nice restaurant with wonderful food and outstanding service your search has come to an end. Wolfdale's won't disappoint.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a family favorite. The hostess was gracious and our table by the window overlooking the lake was ready upon our arrival. We all enjoyed our meals, but the fisherman's stew was the real favorite. Our server was both friendly and efficient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Beautiful dining room and great view. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always a winner! Fresh ingredients, cooked with talent, served with experience makes for. A great dinner. Fresh tomato soup had perfect balance of acidity with a touch of sweetness. King salmon was simple, served with crisply cooked corn. Mussel app had a Mediterranean sauce-perfect match. Halibut in a Thai curry sauce was very unique, packed full of flavor. Splurged with the fudge tart-perfect ending! Best restaurant in Tahoe City by far.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Not sure what all the fuss is about! We were not greeted upon arrival. We were treated like it was an imposition that we were there. We tried to get an earlier reservation but were told they were full. When we arrived 15 minutes early expecting to hang at the bar until our table was ready, the restaurant was not even half full. The staff was so pretentious and the food was mediocre. This restaurant is extremely overrated. Don't bother paying top dollar when there are so many other terrific, welcoming restaurants in Tahoe City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Presumptuous aragant waiter. He wasn't the least bit attentive. I was left with no water, I ordered a coffee it never arrived. The waiter ignored my requests he was anxious to turn the table, my bill for two people exceeded $200.00. He offered a conspicuous lack of attention. The worst service I've ever had. Go the Christy Hill they have an excellent staff and a fantastic menu. I will never dine here again as a result of the insultinly hostile service I received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I wanted to find the best restaurant in Tahoe city for a date night since we are both into food and dining out. The food here was OK but the service was not anywhere near the level we expected. The greeters at the door were distracted and disorganized. The server was enthusiastic and friendly but missed some key basics for any restaurant server. The total bill here was more reflective of a michelin star experience, but the actual experience was more like 'trying-too-hard'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Inventive cuisine with Asian influence in a lovely lakeside setting - good wine selection, including good options by the glass. We are frequent diners at this restaurant for many years (more than 20), however, this time were disappointed in the service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best restaurant in the Tahoe region. Continues to serve exceptional and creative cuisines. Service is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Did not get an outside table we requested. Waiter was almost rude and totally uninformed, food was poor and uneven. Ceaser was wilted and way overdressed. Halibut Cheecks were raw and no flavor , all were way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and evening. Wolfdales is a rare find.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Simply awesome in every way.
..........................
.........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Once again, fabulous food, wine and impeccable service. Halibut was super fresh, with an interesting concept of pairing Thai curry sauce with pesto, which worked. The other halibut preparation used the cheeks rather than the steak with a wonderful lemon/caper sauce. Corn chowder was seasonal and tasty. Peach cake dessert had flaky pastry with fresh peaches. Another great dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Every dish at Wolfdale's was a 'Best Of'! From the chef's perfectly creative menu, the beautiful ingredients, and the gorgeous lakefront location, Wolfdale's consistently delivers what the best in dining aspires to. As if that's not enough, every member of their staff shares their welcoming, attentive, engaging attitude making Wolfdale's a best of the best experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.