Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

DrinkwatersDrinkwaters
Reviews Coming Soon
Contemporary Canadian | Nanaimo, Nanaimo
Reserve Now

About Wolf In The Fog

150 Fourth Street
Tofino, BC V0R 2Z0
View Larger Map

Named Air Canada’s enRoute’s Best New Restaurant in Canada 2014, Wolf in the Fog captures the true spirit of Tofino. Chef Nick Nutting’s seasonal menu features seafood in abundance from Tofino suppliers, meat and grain from Vancouver Island farmers, and wild greens and mushrooms foraged from the forests and seashores of Tofino. Bringing a wealth of international technique and talent, the team holds a passion for the natural environment of Tofino and the produce sourced there – from foraging for chanterelles or cooking whole salmon for friends; Tofino is where they have chosen to be. Wolf in the Fog is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 9am to late. www.wolfinthefog.com

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours of Operation:
Den: 9am-10am: Bakers Hour
10am - 3pm: Lunch Menu
3pm - 5pm: Happy Hour Menu (limited food options)

Upstairs: Dinner 5pm-12am

Cross Street:
Campbell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 725-9653

Website:
http://www.wolfinthefog.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Entertainment nights; please see the website and Facebook page for current events.

Parking Details:
Street Parking plus full Parking Lot behind building

Executive Chef:
Nick Nutting

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Wolf In The Fog
Wolf In The Fog

Wolf In The Fog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (97)
special occasion (57)
hot spot (51)
See All
neighborhood gem (48)
good for groups (44)
notable wine list (33)
scenic view (32)
vibrant bar scene (31)
romantic (31)
kid-friendly (20)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (8)
Sort By:
Newest
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great funky restaurant

Dined on May 29, 2016

We ate dinner on the deck under a heat lamp with an amazing view. Food was delicious and I highly recommend the potato crusted oyster which was beautifully presented. We had a lovely waitress who looked after us. We thought the restaurant quite funky with the miss mash of cutlery , crockery and glasses but it all added to the ambience. A great experience and we will definitely go back when we return to Tofino.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Tofino experience. Staff are fun. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Tofino experience. Staff are fun. Loved the kale salad and I hate kale!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything here was great!! My husband ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything here was great!! My husband and I shared the fish of the day which happened to be halibut and the most expensive dish, but DANG! I don't really eat a lot of fish but I was blown away! I will honestly say it was one of the best dishes I've ever eaten! Worth every penny! Cooked perfectly, buttery and beautiful sides of fiddle heads, asparagus, beets, carrots and scalloped potato squares! The kale salad was great as well, my husband enjoyed a fish fritter - not my flavour but he said it was great! Will definitely return next time we visit Tofino!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I went to the Wolf and the Fog as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebration. We ordered appetizers which were both amazing. We then did the share plate of Creole Sablefish with shrimp. I can truly say that is one of the best dishes I have ever had. The flavors were amazing and unlike anything I have ever tried before. The atmosphere was great, the waiter and waitress were both very knowledgeable and helpful. Voted the best New restaurant. My only wish is that it was closer to my house!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and value

Dined on April 24, 2016

Fantastic food....everything we had was absolutely wonderful. Great atmosphere. Great location. We had great service. Oh and make a reservation it's a very popular place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've had in a very long time, ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best meal I've had in a very long time, excellent service, great locations

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Heard the hype

Dined on April 11, 2016

We had read about this place and finally tried it on a family trip It was amazing! I had fois gras and duck which was close to perfect, attention to flavor and detail was obvious My husband had the salmon whichwas perfectly cooked

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special restaurant in a special place

Dined on April 9, 2016

Tofino is magical, and the magic continues inside Wolf in the Fog. The food is delicious and fun, the service is laid back but attentive, the ambiance is Tofitian. Go. Enjoy. Its the West Coast, unlike any other place on earth.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honeymoon dining

Dined on April 6, 2016

We were just on our honeymoon in Tofino and someone had recommended this restaurant. This was by far the best restaurant in Tofino. The potato encrusted oysters were to die for and the tuna absolutely amazing. This is the only restaurant we felt was worthy of going back to and we went to a lot of the places around the town, including the Pointe. Heartily recommend this place, either eating in the dining room or at the bar. Upstairs is a bit more lively and noisy than downstairs so take your pick. Can't go wrong with this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant!

Dined on April 5, 2016

This restaurant lived up to its excellent reviews. We had made dinner reservations and were seated promptly upon arrival. Our server was excellent and provided menu details which were very helpful. We ordered their freshly baked bread to have with our wine. There were three kinds of bread with whipped butter, all of which were delicious. For our entrees, we both ordered their evening feature which was fresh halibut. It was baked to perfection and served along with a variety of vegetables which were not only delicious but presented beautifully. We didn't have room for dessert! We were more than happy with Wolf in the Fog.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great experience. The food and ser ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Had a great experience. The food and service was everything we expected. We both had the salmon special and found that it was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very pleased

Dined on March 30, 2016

Looked like a very small place from the street. Has a dining room upstairs with a great view. Food was great. Looking forward to going back to Tofino. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in tofino

Dined on March 26, 2016

Fabulous ! Deep fried oyster was to die for. Reasonably priced restaurant for the amount and quality of food. Service, food, everything top notch. Wish there was a view as it is the only thing I can think they can improve upon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Wolf in the Fog!

Dined on March 23, 2016

This was my third time at WINF. The menu is always different and interesting and the food is fantastic. If you like food that is interesting, delicious and NOT what you find everywhere else, then you will love it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

friendly spot, huge portions

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

The dress code ranged from "just done with a hike" outdoor gear, to jacket & tie (with jeans). First time dining here, and didn't realize they had a large upstairs space, which was packed. Very high ceiling, large bar, good beer & wine selection, huge portions, and very family friendly (for decently-behaved kids.)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GIVE MORE BOXES TO CHECK. That place is amazing!!!

Dined on March 21, 2016

The food is incredible, it seemed a little expensive at first, until the plates showed up and we found that what we were eating was created by God's own hands.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food with attentive friendly s ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Delicious food with attentive friendly service and a great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding menu at reasonable cost. We ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Outstanding menu at reasonable cost. We had the duck to share between two people. Delicious. We had enough for lunch today and even cold the leftovers were still great. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paradise in Tofino

Dined on March 20, 2016

We went for 3 days to Tofino and a highlight was our wonderful dinner at Wolf in the Fog. They were serving the first salmon catch of the season and it was the most delicious, juicy salmon I have ever tasted. I highly recommend Wolf and the Fog to anyone visiting Tofino. It is an incredibly delicious experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

delectably crafted

Dined on March 19, 2016

my creole ling cod and shrimp was one of the best entrees that I've ever had. Fish and crustacean perfectly cooked. Complex ingredients, but not too complex. My chocolate dessert was intense, just as I like it.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food, great staff

Dined on March 18, 2016

My husband wanted to make this special and the staff went out of their way to make it a wonderful evening. A special restaurant esp away out there in Tofino.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful view

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our evening started a little on the disappointing side. After booking over a month previously, when we got there, the only table left for us was with one seat facing a glaring, setting sun. Fortunately, with the cooperation of our neighbours table, and some readjustments, we were able to generally block the glare. That was the only fault in what was a truly memorable meal and experience. Our food was exquisite, the octopus entree, was succulent and well marinated. My pork belly was totally decadent. The pork melted in my my mouth and the crisp skin was such a tasty contrast. My wife and I look forward to our next time in Tofino and another meal at this superb restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Wolf in the Fog!

Dined on March 17, 2016

This is the reason I go to Tofino. The food is fantastic and service great. The fried potatoe oyster is a must try. Best restaurant in Tofino!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner at Wolf in the Fog and we really enjoyed ourselves. Not only was our meal delicious, but everyone else's food looked great too! We had the 'block party' and the chicken was so tender. Not to mention their BBQ sauce was a yummy tangy delight! Very lively place with a great atmosphere. Surprisingly there were lots of small children but they were all well behaved and seemed to fit in (no runners or screamers lol). We would totally go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambitious menu superbly presented!

Dined on March 16, 2016

A totally great experience. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Wait staff were friendly and responsive. Will definitely return on my next trip to Tofino. Foodies in particular will love Wolf in the Fog. Definitely deserve to be in Canada's Top 100 Restaurants!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top spots in Tofino

Dined on March 15, 2016

Lively spot with friendly attentive staff. Good solid food. The foie gras was superb, particularly the fig compote.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed an incredibly scrumptious meal to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. The share plates, omg! Excellent service and ambiance, can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful find-delivered a great experience!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Being visitors, we weren't certain where to eat but had heard a couple of good comments about Wolf in the Fog. We were more than pleasantly surprised. From the street there is nothing outstanding, but upon entering the restaurant it is immediately lively, fun, loud, and obviously a local favorite. Service was professional and just the right level of cheeky. She appeared to enjoy her job. Appies, mains, drinks and dessert - all excellent. This Little Piggy and hubby are looking forward to our next Tofino visit, and our next meal at Wolf in the Fog.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant with good service.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at wolf in the fog. Service was good and everyone was quite friendly with our kids. Food was quite salty but we enjoyed our time there nonetheless.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss it.

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had lunch at WITF about a year ago, but didn't have time to go back for dinner on that trip. This time, we made a point of going for dinner, and we weren't disappointed. Not only one of the best meals we've had in a long time, but one of the best values we've ever had as well. The upstairs dining room is a beautiful venue, the servers are cheerful and helpful, and the food is top tier. Among many standouts was the incredible pasta with tomato sauce and clams - a seemingly simple dish, but with a depth of flavour to the tomato sauce that I've rarely tasted. We're looking forward to going back the next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service and suggestions that cam ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Perfect service and suggestions that came together for an unforgettable meal. I cannot wait to return to Tofino, and Wolf in the Fog is a major part of that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divine

Dined on March 11, 2016

Tofino is very lucky to have such a great restaurant in its midst. Our meal was fantastic and great value. I thought the menu was interesting and their cocktails were incredible. Can't wait to go back in May!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on March 10, 2016

Wolf in the Fog came highly recommended from friends and hotel staff alike. FULLY lived up to the hype. Heather, Ken, and Hailey provided excellent service and the food was spectacular. Great atmosphere, and an award-winning wine list. A must-do when in Tofino, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A must on your Tofino trip!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent meal.....perhaps a little too much Bok Choy on the tuna meal , but food good and would make it a definite stop on any trip to Tofino.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

Dined on March 4, 2016

This is a fine-dining, yet casual restaurant in the heart of funky Tofino. The food combinations were unique and delicious, and anything could be customized to one's tastes. Our server, Erika, was fabulous! I would highly recommend the Wolf in the Fog!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A MUST for any visit to Tofino

Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was incredible, atmosphere great and portions really large. We loved it so much went went back the next night! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening dinner 3/3/16

Dined on March 2, 2016

Visiting from Scotland this is my second time at this restaurant. As before great food and service, good vegetarian option. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Cocktails were Tasty! Would recommend a visit if in Tofino!

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, late night find, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another stellar dining experience

Dined on March 1, 2016

Our server, Germann was terrific - attentive and knowledgeable. Food was outstanding and great value. Our second time here and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Go here every time we are in Tofino. Never disappoints, from the delicious food, to the unique drinks to the young friendly, professional staff

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique Restruant

Dined on February 25, 2016

The meal was great...the service was friendly and professional. The meal portions were substantial and fresh. The interior decor is a testament to the area and the name of the establishment. In all a wonderful dining experience. The menu was varied and the prices very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.