Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Wolf In The Fog

4.6
397 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Hot Spot

About

Wolf in the Fog serves fresh seafood right from the ocean and much more. It is nestled near the coastline in Tofino. Wolf in the Fog's interior creates a rustic setting with comfortable seating and beautiful wood throughout. Patrons can feast on small plates of Moroccan-spiced octopus, potato-crusted oysters or a celery and apple salad. Tasty entrées like grilled cornish hen with cauliflower and charred squid with pork belly grace the menu.

Wolf in the Fog has a sizable bar that offers wine, beer and cocktails. The outdoor patio offers beautiful, scenic views of the ocean. This restaurant also accepts reservations and provides takeout service for patrons who would rather enjoy their meal at home.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest, Canadian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Summer Hours of Operation:
Den: 9am-10am: Bakers Hour
10am - 3pm: Lunch Menu
3pm - 5pm: Happy Hour Menu (limited food options)

Upstairs: Dinner 5pm-12am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(250) 725-9653
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nick Nutting
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Campbell Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street Parking plus full Parking Lot behind building
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Occasional Entertainment nights; please see the website and Facebook page for current events.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 397 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 21, 2016

Visited Wolf in the Fog with the intention of showing two Aussies the best food the Northwest Pacific had to offer. And Wolf in the Fog definitely did that! The potato wrapped oysters converted two non-oyster eaters into diehard fans. Our server's recommendation of the Octopus appetizer was spot on. And then the main course... the Halibut platter for two. Well, it easily fed three. The slab (yes, not a slice, a slab!) of Halibut was cooked to perfection. Crispy potato croquettes, carrots and roasted radishes complimented it perfectly. And I have to mention the cocktail. Smoked salmon infused vodka, maple, ginger and orange. It could have all gone horribly wrong, but didn't. Beautifully balanced flavours made it one of the tastiest drinks I've had in a while. The Aussies are going home now, fully understanding why I live in this part of the world.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate dinner on the deck under a heat lamp with an amazing view. Food was delicious and I highly recommend the potato crusted oyster which was beautifully presented. We had a lovely waitress who looked after us. We thought the restaurant quite funky with the miss mash of cutlery , crockery and glasses but it all added to the ambience. A great experience and we will definitely go back when we return to Tofino.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2016

Great Tofino experience. Staff are fun. Loved the kale salad and I hate kale!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2016

Everything here was great!! My husband and I shared the fish of the day which happened to be halibut and the most expensive dish, but DANG! I don't really eat a lot of fish but I was blown away! I will honestly say it was one of the best dishes I've ever eaten! Worth every penny! Cooked perfectly, buttery and beautiful sides of fiddle heads, asparagus, beets, carrots and scalloped potato squares! The kale salad was great as well, my husband enjoyed a fish fritter - not my flavour but he said it was great! Will definitely return next time we visit Tofino!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I went to the Wolf and the Fog as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebration. We ordered appetizers which were both amazing. We then did the share plate of Creole Sablefish with shrimp. I can truly say that is one of the best dishes I have ever had. The flavors were amazing and unlike anything I have ever tried before. The atmosphere was great, the waiter and waitress were both very knowledgeable and helpful.

Voted the best New restaurant. My only wish is that it was closer to my house!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2016

Fantastic food....everything we had was absolutely wonderful. Great atmosphere. Great location. We had great service. Oh and make a reservation it's a very popular place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2016

Best meal I've had in a very long time, excellent service, great locations

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2016

We had read about this place and finally tried it on a family trip
It was amazing!
I had fois gras and duck which was close to perfect, attention to flavor and detail was obvious
My husband had the salmon whichwas perfectly cooked

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Tofino is magical, and the magic continues inside Wolf in the Fog. The food is delicious and fun, the service is laid back but attentive, the ambiance is Tofitian. Go. Enjoy. Its the West Coast, unlike any other place on earth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2016

We were just on our honeymoon in Tofino and someone had recommended this restaurant. This was by far the best restaurant in Tofino. The potato encrusted oysters were to die for and the tuna absolutely amazing. This is the only restaurant we felt was worthy of going back to and we went to a lot of the places around the town, including the Pointe. Heartily recommend this place, either eating in the dining room or at the bar. Upstairs is a bit more lively and noisy than downstairs so take your pick. Can't go wrong with this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2016

This restaurant lived up to its excellent reviews. We had made dinner reservations and were seated promptly upon arrival. Our server was excellent and provided menu details which were very helpful. We ordered their freshly baked bread to have with our wine. There were three kinds of bread with whipped butter, all of which were delicious. For our entrees, we both ordered their evening feature which was fresh halibut. It was baked to perfection and served along with a variety of vegetables which were not only delicious but presented beautifully. We didn't have room for dessert! We were more than happy with Wolf in the Fog.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2016

Had a great experience. The food and service was everything we expected. We both had the salmon special and found that it was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2016

Looked like a very small place from the street. Has a dining room upstairs with a great view.
Food was great. Looking forward to going back to Tofino. Thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Fabulous ! Deep fried oyster was to die for. Reasonably priced restaurant for the amount and quality of food. Service, food, everything top notch. Wish there was a view as it is the only thing I can think they can improve upon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2016

This was my third time at WINF. The menu is always different and interesting and the food is fantastic. If you like food that is interesting, delicious and NOT what you find everywhere else, then you will love it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2016

The dress code ranged from "just done with a hike" outdoor gear, to jacket & tie (with jeans). First time dining here, and didn't realize they had a large upstairs space, which was packed. Very high ceiling, large bar, good beer & wine selection, huge portions, and very family friendly (for decently-behaved kids.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2016

The food is incredible, it seemed a little expensive at first, until the plates showed up and we found that what we were eating was created by God's own hands.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Delicious food with attentive friendly service and a great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Outstanding menu at reasonable cost. We had the duck to share between two people. Delicious. We had enough for lunch today and even cold the leftovers were still great. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

We went for 3 days to Tofino and a highlight was our wonderful dinner at Wolf in the Fog. They were serving the first salmon catch of the season and it was the most delicious, juicy salmon I have ever tasted. I highly recommend Wolf and the Fog to anyone visiting Tofino. It is an incredibly delicious experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

my creole ling cod and shrimp was one of the best entrees that I've ever had. Fish and crustacean perfectly cooked. Complex ingredients, but not too complex. My chocolate dessert was intense, just as I like it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2016

My husband wanted to make this special and the staff went out of their way to make it a wonderful evening. A special restaurant esp away out there in Tofino.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2016

Our evening started a little on the disappointing side. After booking over a month previously, when we got there, the only table left for us was with one seat facing a glaring, setting sun. Fortunately, with the cooperation of our neighbours table, and some readjustments, we were able to generally block the glare.
That was the only fault in what was a truly memorable meal and experience. Our food was exquisite, the octopus entree, was succulent and well marinated. My pork belly was totally decadent. The pork melted in my my mouth and the crisp skin was such a tasty contrast.
My wife and I look forward to our next time in Tofino and another meal at this superb restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2016

This is the reason I go to Tofino. The food is fantastic and service great. The fried potatoe oyster is a must try. Best restaurant in Tofino!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner at Wolf in the Fog and we really enjoyed ourselves. Not only was our meal delicious, but everyone else's food looked great too! We had the 'block party' and the chicken was so tender. Not to mention their BBQ sauce was a yummy tangy delight!
Very lively place with a great atmosphere. Surprisingly there were lots of small children but they were all well behaved and seemed to fit in (no runners or screamers lol). We would totally go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2016

A totally great experience. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Wait staff were friendly and responsive. Will definitely return on my next trip to Tofino. Foodies in particular will love Wolf in the Fog. Definitely deserve to be in Canada's Top 100 Restaurants!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2016

Lively spot with friendly attentive staff. Good solid food. The foie gras was superb, particularly the fig compote.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

We enjoyed an incredibly scrumptious meal to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday.
The share plates, omg!
Excellent service and ambiance, can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Being visitors, we weren't certain where to eat but had heard a couple of good comments about Wolf in the Fog.
We were more than pleasantly surprised. From the street there is nothing outstanding, but upon entering the restaurant it is immediately lively, fun, loud, and obviously a local favorite.
Service was professional and just the right level of cheeky. She appeared to enjoy her job.
Appies, mains, drinks and dessert - all excellent.
This Little Piggy and hubby are looking forward to our next Tofino visit, and our next meal at Wolf in the Fog.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at wolf in the fog. Service was good and everyone was quite friendly with our kids. Food was quite salty but we enjoyed our time there nonetheless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2016

We had lunch at WITF about a year ago, but didn't have time to go back for dinner on that trip. This time, we made a point of going for dinner, and we weren't disappointed. Not only one of the best meals we've had in a long time, but one of the best values we've ever had as well.
The upstairs dining room is a beautiful venue, the servers are cheerful and helpful, and the food is top tier. Among many standouts was the incredible pasta with tomato sauce and clams - a seemingly simple dish, but with a depth of flavour to the tomato sauce that I've rarely tasted. We're looking forward to going back the next time we're in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2016

Perfect service and suggestions that came together for an unforgettable meal. I cannot wait to return to Tofino, and Wolf in the Fog is a major part of that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2016

Tofino is very lucky to have such a great restaurant in its midst. Our meal was fantastic and great value. I thought the menu was interesting and their cocktails were incredible. Can't wait to go back in May!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2016

Wolf in the Fog came highly recommended from friends and hotel staff alike. FULLY lived up to the hype. Heather, Ken, and Hailey provided excellent service and the food was spectacular. Great atmosphere, and an award-winning wine list. A must-do when in Tofino, you will not be disappointed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2016

Excellent meal.....perhaps a little too much Bok Choy on the tuna meal , but food good and would make it a definite stop on any trip to Tofino.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Had a fantastic meal at Wolf in the Fog with a group of friends. Loved the Block Party and the Cardamom's Night Out. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2016

This is a fine-dining, yet casual restaurant in the heart of funky Tofino. The food combinations were unique and delicious, and anything could be customized to one's tastes. Our server, Erika, was fabulous! I would highly recommend the Wolf in the Fog!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was incredible, atmosphere great and portions really large. We loved it so much went went back the next night! Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2016

Visiting from Scotland this is my second time at this restaurant. As before great food and service, good vegetarian option. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Cocktails were Tasty!
Would recommend a visit if in Tofino!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 29, 2016

Our server, Germann was terrific - attentive and knowledgeable. Food was outstanding and great value. Our second time here and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10

Tweets by Wolf In The Fog