About Wink and Nod

3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, PELEKASIS by acclaimed Chef Brendan Pelley. Pelekasis, named after Pelley’s Greek family name, was inspired by his travels to Greece, childhood memories of Sunday family lamb roasts, and his deeply-rooted Greek heritage. Pelekasis showcases the bold flavors of Modern Greek cuisine with a creative mix of culinary tradition and new techniques that expand upon traditional Greek cookery.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Happy Hour Menu - Monday through Saturday from 5:00-6:00 pm
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Wednesday
- 5:00-11:00 pm Thursday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 11:00 pm-12:00 am Thursday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Patrick Enage of Akinto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (56)
vibrant bar scene (38)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
romantic (32)
special occasion (31)
hot spot (28)
late-night find (19)
good for groups (18)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Greek food was amazing. Awesome atmosph ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Greek food was amazing.

Awesome atmosphere as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Blown away by Pelekasis at Wink and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wow! Blown away by Pelekasis at Wink and Nod. Really sorry we discovered it so late into its six month residency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Wink & Nod's incubator restaur ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We ate at Wink & Nod's incubator restaurant Pelekasis. The Greek inspired cuisine was excellent from appetizer to dessert. Our waitress was attentive without being ever-present and helpful in making choices among all the tempting dishes. It is also a restaurant in which you can actually hear each other talk.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner date! Food and drinks were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great dinner date! Food and drinks were excellent, service was knowledgeable and attentive, ambiance was perfect, food was expensive but fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too much hype. A bit quieter than expect ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Too much hype. A bit quieter than expected and food was so-so especially for the price. Watermelon salad was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent cocktail options and food opti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent cocktail options and food options. Having a new chef team every 6 months is interesting. When we went it was a Greek cuisine and I enjoyed having a Greek inspired cocktail. I'm glad we went!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great hidden spot with a rotat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a great hidden spot with a rotating menu so it's always a new adventure. The cocktails are fantastic and the chefs they bring in are always top notch. This time it was Greek and even though at first we thought the portions looked small and we'd need to order another small plate, we wound of being perfectly full and very happy. The boar meatballs?!? Amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for an early dinner at 6. Very nice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for an early dinner at 6. Very nice and not noisy ambiance which allows for conversations. The food was interesting (not predictable) and delicious, the service was great. We shared 2 appetizers/smaller plates and 2 entrees for 3 people, and asked for extra pita to dip in the delicious sauces. Definitely recommend and will plan to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was okay but the food was awful, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was okay but the food was awful, the main dishes were so salty they were almost inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great service and even better ambiance! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and even better ambiance! The food and the wine list was also excellent. The complete package!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food, great ambiance

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Perfect replacement for the old Icarus that used to be here. Same calm and quiet environment and unhurried superb service. Rotating up and coming chefs on an experimental basis - the greek food we had was anything but normal greek fare - It was greek but with an incredible twist.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best new menu entries yet

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

As a regular, I always spot anything new, and there were two excellent new choices last night - a watermelon salad with feta and pickled onion and balsamic dressing, and a striped bass entrée which replaced the previous trout and was equally good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty Venue

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was an excellent find for Greek inspired food. The flavorings were complex leaving us wanting more, even though the serving sizes were more than adequate. Service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our first time here, we'll defini ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was our first time here, we'll definitely try it again with the next chef. Food was fine. Service started off great, then vanished. Nice cosy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best in Boston!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We discovered this gem when looking for excellent craft cocktails. The speakeasy vibe was apropos for the fine cocktails that are crafted at this hidden oasis. And the food was excellently prepared as well. If you are looking for something a little more elegant that the trendy roof-top bar of the week, then this is the spot...especially for the cocktail connoisseur.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every part of our dinner was superb!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Every part of our dinner was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Manhattan like ambiance, low lighti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very Manhattan like ambiance, low lighting with interesting light fixtures and beautiful back lit bar crest a young and lively bar scene while the small plate menu was delicious and diverse with a Mediterranean sensibility.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for cocktails and catching up

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Took an old friend here who was visiting to have a meal so we could just sit and catch up. She loved it! Nothing like being together for some amazing food and a couple great cocktails for a few hours, swapping stories!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great concept and as a Greek--American t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great concept and as a Greek--American the food was delicious. Great old school traditional food with a new twist. The vibe was lively and the prices were affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Loved loved loved the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing!! Loved loved loved the spanakopita and the meatballs. The fresh pita is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Desserts

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Wow things must have changed in the kitchen... What had been pretty underwhelming desserts have changed over to heavenly, light and delicious. The pannacotta and chocolate yogurt were sublime. While the savory dishes continue to delight. The service and cocktails consistent from our last visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails, interesting food concept

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I live in the neighborhood and found W&N via OpenTable. I had heard some good stuff about it, so we gave it a try. Their concept is to highlight a certain type of cuisine for 6 months, literally changing chefs / cusines every six months. Currently it is Greek tapas and the food is phenomenal. We hear they are switching to Nepalese food in June and we are just hoping it is as good as the current Greek food. We ordered 1 small plate (tzaziki and pita - excellent grilled bread and flavorful tzaziki), 3 medium plates and one entree. The trout entree was the highlight of the food but everything was excellent. Our second favorite was the spanipokita (spelling?) which was super flavorful and had a great sauce with it. It also was not too cheesy, with just the right amount of feta mixed with the spinach. The lamb meatballs were also good.

Service was excellent. We were seated on time and our waitress was there just the right amount of time - never hovering but never ignoring us either. We will be back at least once before they switch to the new cuisine in June and are hoping the next food is as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect service, loved our waiter

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Perfect service, loved our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing twist on Greek cuisine

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

My wife and I recently went to Pelekasis for a special night out after hearing wonderful things about the food currently being done here. We were not disappointed. From the house made pita to the ouzo cured gravlax, wild boar kefttdes, amazing hanger steak with a simple but delicious Greek salad and a delicious panna cotta with lemon curd and blackberries, the entire meal was bright, surprising and fun. We can't wait to go back! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dark and romantic, a little too dark. fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

dark and romantic, a little too dark. food was amazing, shared a bunch of small and middle plates, all tasty. good vibe and cool decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and drinks!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Noisy (!), but good

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Picked this restaurant for dinner because of its location in the South End close to a friend's apartment. It's a good place to go for sharing - the medium plate style portions were great for 4 to try each item. The food was really good, and the service was solid. They did not rush us, and brought out the plate choices slowly over time. Wine list was a little limiting, but the Greek wine was fun to try. But, by about 8 pm, the restaurant was full and you could hardly hear the person next to you. Unbelievably noisy. Great atmosphere though and we'd definitely go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dinner and drinks before the theater

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious dinner at Wink and Nod before a theater engagement on a recent weekend. Shared appetizers and entrees both cold and hot and tried some specialty drinks as well. The current chef gives an interesting take on Greek dishes with a mix of flavors and textures. The lamb was tender and delicious. Vegetarian options were very good. We will be going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartender Jace was awesome!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Bartender Jace was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The rooster yiouvetsi, lamb sirloin, and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The rooster yiouvetsi, lamb sirloin, and graviera cheese dishes were all amazing and quite authentic. I also sampled the octopus and loukoumades which were not nearly as good. If you are looking for loukoumades similar to what are served in Greece, these will not satisfy the craving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Awesome Experience; only thing that woul ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Awesome Experience; only thing that would've been better is a tiny bit more lighting - it was hard to see the menus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great place but tonight they closed kitchen early

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We usually like wink and nod. The bar program is great and food too. This night we had a reservation later after the theatre. While we were at the theatre, our phones shut off as they should be Wink and Nod called us, left a message confirming our reservation but then also telling us the kitchen would be closed when we got there. As we came straight from theater a five minute walk with our party of 4, since we are with friends we are not paying attention to our mobiles( strange I know), we arrive to find out they closed the kitchen early. I consider this poor communication to not inform us in a more timely manner and poor customer service by closing early when they accepted our reservation. We were really surprised, sat for 2 minutes, got up and left. You can do better than this W and N.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Date Night

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The dark lighting and ambience of Wink and Nod always makes a date feel very romantic. We were seated in a nice table towards the entryway of the resturant in nice comfortable chairs. The service was warm and thoughtful. We really enjoyed the Greek inspired dishes from chef Brendan Pelley. Of note the spanakopita and wild bore keftedes were stunning in plating and taste. Lots of small dishes made up our meal which ga e us options to try lots of things. The house made pita bread with the bone marrow was also a big stand out. Loved the food, will be recommending.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pelekasis at Wink and Nod

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We recently ate a Wink and Nod specifically to partake of it's most recent culinary pop up, Pelekasis. We were not disappointed at all. Every dish we had was amazing, and were shared by the entire table. The service was top notch as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great ambianc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Saturday evening experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

So grateful to live nearby this fantastic concept--speakeasy and culinary incubator--and that they seem to be successful in execution. Had a great dinner with friends, and cocktails and drinks continue to be flawless. Thanks for another wonderful night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun date night spot. Great drinks select ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Fun date night spot. Great drinks selection. Modern Greek fare - with delicious apps though main entrees are a bit on the heavy side. Service was very attentive. Overall, we had a blast and would recommend to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very cool concept. The food was deliciou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very cool concept. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the pop up!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We dined at the what is now pelekasis pop up of wink and nod. No dish disappoints, I was really into the side vegetable dishes that we ordered for my vegetarian friend. The carrots with Greek yogurt were so delicious. As always the cocktails are pricy but amazing and worth the cost. This is one of our go to spots in the neighborhood. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A New Favorite!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here--each dish was delicious; Greek food with a flavorful twist.

Four of us shared several small, middle, and large plates. Lamb dishes were outstanding, as was the spanakopita. Our server was delightful, offering helpful suggestions as to number of plates to order and which dishes would work well together. The timing of the food was perfect. Would definitely recommend and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.