Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Wink and Nod

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, Kaki Lima by Chef Retno Pratiwi and Managing Partner, Peter Gelling. Kaki Lima’s menu features an array of sharable delicacies drawing inspiration from the entire Indonesian archipelago. Chef Pratiwi has gone to extreme lengths to source authentic Indonesian ingredients to expose you to a taste of her homeland.



3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indonesian

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Bill Brodsky

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Cozy (23)
Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Tapas (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Spicy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food! It was hard to make a decision on what to order because I wanted everything, lol. It was my first time trying Indonesian food and I loved it. I definitely want to go back again before the new rotating restaurant comes in.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was fun and tasty, but the service was slow. The restaurant was dark and cozy. Maybe nicer on a cold winter night, than a pleasant summer evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food - during the Indonesian popup. Great drinks. Service was a real plus! It's definitely loud and dark, so go in expecting that.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My second visit to Kaki Lima, and I loved it again. Asian food done at the highest level. I hope that they open a restaurant or do more catering as I would like to be a repeat customer.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Love the concept--new up-and-coming--chef every 6 months. We had Indonesian, I hope the chef finds a brick and mortar!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We came for a date night. The food was Indonesian. We split the shrimp dumplings (small), duck special (medium), and lobster (large). All were excellent! The waitress recommended 2 smalls and 2 mediums, and we felt that small/medium/large was a good equivalent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Great Beer, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. We were seated in a circular booth that was almost like a private dining room. The service was attentive. The choices from the bar were superb. But best of all, the food from Kaki Lima was spectacular: new tastes, beautifully displayed, utterly scrumptious. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

It feels slightly like a speakeasy but is very warm and welcoming!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner and drinks at Wink & Nod. Was there pretty early (5:45 on a Saturday) and the place was nice an quite. Service was friendly and prompt. Had multiple small courses and cocktails, all of which were delicious.

Service did start to go downhill as it got busy later in the evening, but over all a good time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent find. Good atmosphere, delicious drinks, interesting desserts. Our server was super-attentive, very cool, and added a lot to the experience. Would recommend for a special occasion or just for a classier outing in general.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wink and Nod is blessed this season with the 6 months residency of chef Retno from Kaki Lima. She makes the most wonderful Indonesian dishes. Coming from the Netherlands, we miss the Indonesian kitchen here in Boston. Now that hole is (temporary) fixed. We already had dinner here once before when we had one of the best Rendang dishes. This time we came back, initially just for the desert, Lapis Legit (spekkoek). To our pleasant surprise, new dishes had been added to the menu. So in addition to the chicken sateh, we tried the Gulai Brussels Sprouts with Sliced Duck, which was a great innovative combination. But an absolute highlight was Semur Batawi, beef cooked in sweet soy sauce. We almost considered to order an extra dish, just to take it home for later in the week. The dinner was topped off with the spekkoek, which I never would imagined to be able to eat in Boston. Again a great experience and we definitely will come back a few times before Retno's residency at Wink and Nod ends.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wnk and Nod has a great bar scene and fun decor, but our meal was disappointing. We had the lobster main, which was poorly cooked and even more poorly conceived - the lobster was tasteless, the sauce made no sense as an accompaniment, and the flavor role of the rice teepee and bowl of crackers was a mystery. The rest of the meal was mediocre, lots of heat but little real flavor. Our server asked us if we had dined there before, we said no, then she walked away without explaining anything. Great spot for drinks, but we'll never eat there again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was FANTASTIC. I love the speakeasy feel and their mantra with rotating chefs to give up and coming chefs and opportunity!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The Indonesian food was very good. The Tempe Goreng was a little too sweet. The small plates were delicious. Next visit we will stick to the small plates - doing Indonesian Tapas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

During the Indonesian phase, the sauces were excellent but the eggplant was tasteless and rubbery. The duck was cooked perfectly but I expected more seasoning. The dessert with cucumber and mint accents was great.

The prices are dear. The room is fairly dark.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It was a pleasure to explore the wide variety of flavors presented by the authentic Indonesian offerings of Kaki Lima Boston. The intricate combinations of spices from the spicy coconut sauce of the charred eggplant to the braised beef dish display the artistry of Chef Pratiwi. There is much more to explore. Overall a very satisfying, enjoyable experience.

The atmosphere is too dark and a little noisy, but is nevertheless intimate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was over priced and mediocre. The cocktails were interesting but under sized and mostly ice. Overall I felt this place was not a good value. The fit and finish of the venue does not warrant the types of prices they charge. I will not repeat.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service is always exceptional. Food and drink choices always interesting. Drinks perfectly crafted and always very pleasing. Swanky atmosphere.

Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Wink and Nod early on a Thursday night. Each dish was perfectly executed and because of the small plates we were able to try a great variety. Service was excellent and craft cocktails were yummy and unique.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Indonesian format was interesting but not spectacular given the upscale prices. Bar program is cornerstone of this place. We tried several different cocktails, mostly good but uneven quality, i.e. shaken cocktails served close to room temp and a surprisingly bland French 75. Service was excellent with plates arriving at well paced intervals. I recommend sticking to nibbles and cocktails for this round at Wink and Nod.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The plate size for this menu was far better than past kitchens. Felt like a treat as opposed to a splurge. Drinks were amazing. More veg options may have been great. The eggplant dish was great but mostly because of the sauce. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was delicious but the table right by the door has bright lights and you feel like you're under a spot light. Made reservation and table was ready shortly after we arrived. Food was good but definitely not as good as prior visits with other chefs. Current menu is Indonesian inspired and definitely had a few gems and a few misses. Staff were attentive. Great atmosphere for late night drinks and small plates. Will definitely go again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Met friends before theater for cocktails and dinner. Had the eggplant and chicken small plates, the duck and brussel sprout medium plate, and the white fish large plate. Tasty spices and fun cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas, Fireplace, Historic, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

How can you go wrong in a speakeasy in the South End?

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fun and delicious
We were excited to find out we could get Indonesian food in Boston. Had to try it out. Told a good friend we were going to check it out and she was game to join us. The restaurant was able to accommodate our request when confirming reservations For the evening So we add one more to our two person reservation.
We were seated at a cozy booth. Drinks were fun. I was a little surprised there were not more cocktails from which to choose. We ordered two small appetizers, the beef rendang and the whole fish. It was all delicious, but the fish was just stand out amazing! Best meal we've had dining out in a while. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We are planning to go back with other friends we know will also enjoy the fun vibe and the food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I tried the new Indonesian dishes one month ago and I found everything amazingly delicious. I decided to bring some friends a couple of weeks ago and I made a reservation... that night I had to leave because, besides the reservation, after 45 minutes there was no way to get a table... I decided to give another try last night but it looked like there was only one waitress for the entire restaurant. She took one hour to take the order... I ordered some of the same dishes of the first time and they were disappointing: not only they looked different but they absolutely didn't taste special...
Wink&Nod... what's going on?!?

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was OK...not as good as other pop ups chefs I've had there. Drinks were outstanding as always. Good experience overall

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fantastic food and ambience - a great formula and deserving of success

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were seated at a great table for two with armchairs! We shared a few dishes and had delicious cocktails. Loved the tater tots with shrimp which had a spicy kick to them. The chicken wings were a but disappointing as they were a bit fatty and not crispy but the flavor was finger licking good. Our large plate was the panang beef which was so tender but really wanted to taste the sauce and there wasn't much of it. Enjoyed our meal but has expected a little more since I read such great reviews.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It's hard to find a restaurant that does a good job with both omnivorous and vegetarian plates. Kaki Lima @ Wink and Nod does not disappoint. My duck was tender and perfectly cooked, my brussels sprouts were nicely charred on the outside and tender-crisp on the inside. The salad with pineapple dressing was simple, but pleasant - the earthy crunch of sunflower seeds was a counterpoint to the sweetness of the grilled pineapple. (I could have used more complexity to the salad, though.) The charred eggplant was tender - and the bold flavors of the macadamia sauce were a nice contrast - but I could have done with a bit more caramelized gooiness to the eggplant. My partner's sweet-savoury tempeh was crisp, and the serving was generous. We ended up asking for some white rice to provide some texture contrast to the flavor/textures of the tempeh. Rice was a great decision! There's some string beans mixed in with the tempeh, but not enough to create a true counterpoint to all that crispy, sticky tempeh goodness. Rice + green beans vs. the (delicious) tempeh was just right. Dessert was cool, coconutty, and refreshing - one plate was just the right size to share without getting too full.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I went out for our anniversary last Wednesday and had some of the most fantastic service we've had in a really long time by Zoe. We are both industry people, and my wife is a manager in high end fine dining so our standards are pretty high to begin with. Some things I've just given up on expecting when I go out- like a satay stick casually removed from my share plate or polite suggestions/explanations offered at just the right time but she was right there with everything we needed. The food was also wonderful, and authentic, with plenty of nuanced flavors especially the beef entree dish that we shared. Thanks for a great anniversary- you guys nailed it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Water was refilled with perfect timing and holy deuces the wings are delicious

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 25, 2017

On a work trip in Boston and this was recommended to me. Was only going to come for drinks but stayed for dinner. It was really great - fantastic food (they have a different chef every 6 months, as part of their incubator program), inventive and tasty cocktails. Lovely ambience. Friendly and knowledgable service. Really great evening - everyone agreed it was the best night out of the week.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food by Kaki Lima was spectacular, a really innovative twist on classic Indonesia. Great music and great overall vibe. I'd come back for the atmosphere, but it was really the food that made it great. Hope Kaki Lima finds a permanent spot!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had really looked forward to this after good reviews about 'authentic' Indonesian food. Well, most of what we ordered was pretty greasy and all fried or deep fried, which was not apparent on the menu. For example, fried soy bean cake was tiny squares of greasy crunchy nuggets unidentifiable as tofu. Potato tots tasted like the frozen ones you ate as a kid. Some items were very good, but most choices were way too rich. Definitely not authentic Indonesian.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chris was the best!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was pleased overall with the food and the service......and in today's typical noisy experience in restaurants Wink and Nod was admirably quiet which allowed conversation without having to strain to hear .....BUT....I found the subterranean location much to dark for my liking, with an absence of light that could have accentuated the pleasant decor , and, more importantly, allowed you to read the menu without having to turn on your cell phone flashlight, which I found inconvenient and disruptive to my experience because others were doing the same thing and the bright flashlights from other tables would stream in my eyes, enough to make it unpleasant for the times when that occurred.
That aside, I enjoyed the food enough to want to go back and recommend it to others.
I HOPE THE MANAGEMENT TAKES NOTE OF MY LIGHTING COMPLAINT AND TRIES TO WORK THAT OUT.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We really liked the restaurant; it's very pleasant and comfortable. Kaki Lima is doing a residency there through Sept. 2017, and I was a little disappointed in their food, which I've been excited about trying for a long time - I love Indonesian food. It was good, but not great. I'd go back and try other things, but we ordered five or six dishes, and I don't think I would order a single one a second time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I've had Indonesian food before, but never in Boston (or Indonesia, now that I think about it). That said, the food seemed very authentic and we enjoyed everything that was recommended. I'd recommend going wth adventurous friends who like to share- but the delicious cocktails helped.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Indonesian food was not what I had in Indonesia or Amsterdam.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.