About Wink and Nod

3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, GITA by Gita Kantrow. Gita showcases the bold flavors of Nepali cuisine with a creative mix of culinary tradition and modern cooking techniques that expand beyond traditional Nepali cookery. Chef Gita Kantrow's unique Western approach aims to surprise and delight, while never losing the sensory experience of her Nepali heritage.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Nepalese

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Happy Hour Menu - Monday through Saturday from 5:00-6:00 pm
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Wednesday
- 5:00-11:00 pm Thursday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 11:00 pm-12:00 am Thursday through Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Gita Kantrow of GITA

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Groups (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible experience! Gita is one of th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible experience! Gita is one of the best chefs EVER!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our visit! Drinks and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit! Drinks and food were delicious~ Gita has a great talent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Applause to Chef Gita Kantrow! I had the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Applause to Chef Gita Kantrow! I had the pleasure of dining at Wink and Nod (Gita) and was delighted by the food and service. The butter chicken, veggie bowl, puri, and sel roti with chai are not to be missed. I look forward trying the other dishes soon!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gita Kantrow, the current chef, is offer ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Gita Kantrow, the current chef, is offering wonderful Nepalese dishes - very tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was the best dining experience I ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was the best dining experience I have had in a long time in Boston. The food was absolutely exceptional and very unique given the current Chef Gita Kantrow's spin on American/Nepalese fusion. The food was the highlight, and the atmosphere, drinks and service were also exceptional. Would recommend for anyone looking for a great meal and a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in dinner and was blown away! The s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Came in dinner and was blown away! The service and the bar was excellent and the food was completely out of this world. Still thinking about that dinner. I'll be frequenting for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences we have had in a while in Boston. The dining room is terrific. Set up like a comfortable living area. So cool. We had a terrific booth for four in the corner. Our server, Chris, was fabulous and made the dining experience just terrific. He is enthusiastic and so knowledgable about the menu and the flavors. His recommendations were spot on. The present chef came out to greet us and she was lovely. Some amazing dishes to try: Momo, Singara and Paneer, Chicken Sekuwa, and the Braised Beef Short Ribs. Each dish was just amazing. They are like nothing you have had before (And we are adventurous eaters).

For dessert we shared the Gulab Jamun which was another treat. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner - the butter chicken wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful dinner - the butter chicken was incredible! Love the rotating chef system. Even though I hadn't requested anything special, our waitress overheard me wish my dining partner a happy birthday and give her a gift - the bartender showed up at the table with celebratory glasses of champagne and our waitress put a candle in the dessert we order to share! Wonderful service and really appreciated the extra touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening - thoughtful drinks and fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great evening - thoughtful drinks and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was a GREAT find! We came he ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place was a GREAT find! We came here based on reviews but weren't sure what to expect - boy, was it worth it! We had a reservation and were shown right away (after secreting in through the unmarked door!) to a marvelous table. Our server came right over and welcomed us warmly. We ordered some wine and drinks along with some small plates. All arrived and all were wonderful! We followed that up with more drinks along with some medium plates - all equally delicious! We enjoyed it so much our server brought the chef out so we could thank her personally - what a nice touch! I love the concept and the ambiance and have already made plans to come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to invite my son for his birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wanted to invite my son for his birthday and was great

Enjoyed the Nepalese cuisine, the gluten free options, and the fun environment

Definitely recommend !

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great vibe. It's not a traditiona ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a great vibe. It's not a traditional speakeasy in that it has a full kitchen and an extensive menu, but this place is a real find. The drinks are delicious (and strong!) and the food is fantastic. It's also so much cheaper than comparable places in other cities like NY and SF.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great ambiance, lighting and atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great ambiance, lighting and atmosphere was walking and seemed like we were in an old 50's club. Hidden door and basements feels makes for a great place to come and lounge. Drinks were VERY strong, almost too strong, there is a middle ground you need to make the drinks at, and that was not met... I had to add a glass of soda water which at that point i could hardly finish it. Food was good, but prepped prior to serving, which is usually nice, but the app was cold (clearly was heated via mic maybe? ) anyways, the entree was delicious, although came out a bit quick. we were there for the atmosphere and to enjoy a relaxing meal but couldn't help to feel like we were being pushed out. whole meal, seated drinks apps dinner was 35 minutes.. I guess tell the waiter/waitress you would like to spread the meal out within a time frame if you want to enjoy the meal overall. Gluten free donuts were amazing though!!! Chai tea on the side, hello <3 Overall, Strong drinks, A LOT of different flavors throughout the meal, great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Gita, the chef for the next 6 months is ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Gita, the chef for the next 6 months is a stand out. Everything we ordered was to die for. We even got to meet her after our meal and she was a delight. She is originally from Nepal and creates a creative menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose Wink & Nod because of its Culin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We chose Wink & Nod because of its Culinary Incubator Program, which provides the opportunity to try creative cuisine from local up and coming chefs. The night we dined, Chef Gita Kantrow was in the kitchen. Her food reflected her love for traditional Nepali cooking combined with Western influences. We sampled small, medium, and large plates; everything was deliciously spicy and each had its own unique blend of flavors - Momo, Puri. coconut shrimp, pork aloo, and short ribs. The Masala fries are something special. Try out Gita's cooking while she's there this month. Kudos to Wink & Nod for promoting local talent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambience! Speak easy feel, gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Loved the ambience! Speak easy feel, great location and very calming atmosphere. The cocktails were amazing!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Third time we've come to Wink and Nod, a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Third time we've come to Wink and Nod, always fantastic drinks and good food. This time, unlike the other times, the service left just a tad to be desired, as the server wasn't particularly attentive, and we'd have to wait long times for her attention, although she was nice when interacting with us. Overall great experience as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Greek food was amazing. Awesome atmosph ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Greek food was amazing.

Awesome atmosphere as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Blown away by Pelekasis at Wink and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wow! Blown away by Pelekasis at Wink and Nod. Really sorry we discovered it so late into its six month residency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three of us had the pleasure of dining a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Three of us had the pleasure of dining at Pelakasis (at Wink and Nod) this past Saturday night. It was a memorable dining experience. Chef Brendan Pelley is World Class. His modern Greek menu was the most flavorful and interesting dinner. We shared small and medium plates such as Cucumber Tzatzili with Pita, Spanikopita (best I have ever had by far), Rooster Giouvetsi (a rooster stew with marinated Greek olives and mushrooms), and Wild Boar Meatballs. The dessert of chocolate Greek yogurt with berries and nuts was fantastic. The wine list is small but very smartly focused with naturally some Greek wines and other wines too. We had the Assyrtiko (white from Santorini) and it was a perfect match. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was like a beautiful yet casual supper club.Dress was casual. Chef Pelley came to the tables to make sure everyone was enjoying their dinner and evening. It was a pleasure to speak with him.

In summary, dinner at Pelakasis with Chef Brendan's creations was one of my top two all time dining experiences with the other being at a Michelin 3 Star Restaurant in France. I Highly Recommend Chef Pelley and Wink and Nod.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Wink & Nod's incubator restaur ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We ate at Wink & Nod's incubator restaurant Pelekasis. The Greek inspired cuisine was excellent from appetizer to dessert. Our waitress was attentive without being ever-present and helpful in making choices among all the tempting dishes. It is also a restaurant in which you can actually hear each other talk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner date! Food and drinks were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great dinner date! Food and drinks were excellent, service was knowledgeable and attentive, ambiance was perfect, food was expensive but fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too much hype. A bit quieter than expect ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Too much hype. A bit quieter than expected and food was so-so especially for the price. Watermelon salad was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent cocktail options and food opti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent cocktail options and food options. Having a new chef team every 6 months is interesting. When we went it was a Greek cuisine and I enjoyed having a Greek inspired cocktail. I'm glad we went!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great hidden spot with a rotat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a great hidden spot with a rotating menu so it's always a new adventure. The cocktails are fantastic and the chefs they bring in are always top notch. This time it was Greek and even though at first we thought the portions looked small and we'd need to order another small plate, we wound of being perfectly full and very happy. The boar meatballs?!? Amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for an early dinner at 6. Very nice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for an early dinner at 6. Very nice and not noisy ambiance which allows for conversations. The food was interesting (not predictable) and delicious, the service was great. We shared 2 appetizers/smaller plates and 2 entrees for 3 people, and asked for extra pita to dip in the delicious sauces. Definitely recommend and will plan to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was okay but the food was awful, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was okay but the food was awful, the main dishes were so salty they were almost inedible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great service and even better ambiance! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and even better ambiance! The food and the wine list was also excellent. The complete package!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food, great ambiance

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Perfect replacement for the old Icarus that used to be here. Same calm and quiet environment and unhurried superb service. Rotating up and coming chefs on an experimental basis - the greek food we had was anything but normal greek fare - It was greek but with an incredible twist.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best new menu entries yet

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

As a regular, I always spot anything new, and there were two excellent new choices last night - a watermelon salad with feta and pickled onion and balsamic dressing, and a striped bass entrée which replaced the previous trout and was equally good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty Venue

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was an excellent find for Greek inspired food. The flavorings were complex leaving us wanting more, even though the serving sizes were more than adequate. Service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our first time here, we'll defini ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was our first time here, we'll definitely try it again with the next chef. Food was fine. Service started off great, then vanished. Nice cosy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best in Boston!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We discovered this gem when looking for excellent craft cocktails. The speakeasy vibe was apropos for the fine cocktails that are crafted at this hidden oasis. And the food was excellently prepared as well. If you are looking for something a little more elegant that the trendy roof-top bar of the week, then this is the spot...especially for the cocktail connoisseur.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every part of our dinner was superb!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Every part of our dinner was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Manhattan like ambiance, low lighti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very Manhattan like ambiance, low lighting with interesting light fixtures and beautiful back lit bar crest a young and lively bar scene while the small plate menu was delicious and diverse with a Mediterranean sensibility.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for cocktails and catching up

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Took an old friend here who was visiting to have a meal so we could just sit and catch up. She loved it! Nothing like being together for some amazing food and a couple great cocktails for a few hours, swapping stories!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great concept and as a Greek--American t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great concept and as a Greek--American the food was delicious. Great old school traditional food with a new twist. The vibe was lively and the prices were affordable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!! Loved loved loved the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing!! Loved loved loved the spanakopita and the meatballs. The fresh pita is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Desserts

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Wow things must have changed in the kitchen... What had been pretty underwhelming desserts have changed over to heavenly, light and delicious. The pannacotta and chocolate yogurt were sublime. While the savory dishes continue to delight. The service and cocktails consistent from our last visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails, interesting food concept

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I live in the neighborhood and found W&N via OpenTable. I had heard some good stuff about it, so we gave it a try. Their concept is to highlight a certain type of cuisine for 6 months, literally changing chefs / cusines every six months. Currently it is Greek tapas and the food is phenomenal. We hear they are switching to Nepalese food in June and we are just hoping it is as good as the current Greek food. We ordered 1 small plate (tzaziki and pita - excellent grilled bread and flavorful tzaziki), 3 medium plates and one entree. The trout entree was the highlight of the food but everything was excellent. Our second favorite was the spanipokita (spelling?) which was super flavorful and had a great sauce with it. It also was not too cheesy, with just the right amount of feta mixed with the spinach. The lamb meatballs were also good.

Service was excellent. We were seated on time and our waitress was there just the right amount of time - never hovering but never ignoring us either. We will be back at least once before they switch to the new cuisine in June and are hoping the next food is as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.