Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Wink and Nod

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, Kaki Lima by Chef Retno Pratiwi and Managing Partner, Peter Gelling. Kaki Lima’s menu features an array of sharable delicacies drawing inspiration from the entire Indonesian archipelago. Chef Pratiwi has gone to extreme lengths to source authentic Indonesian ingredients to expose you to a taste of her homeland.



3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indonesian

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Bill Brodsky

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Romantic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Tapas (10)
Spicy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great Beer (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Found Wink and Nod after learning that their chef in residence was making Indonesian food, which I had tried for the first time recently on a trip to the Netherlands. We visited the restaurant on a Saturday night, quite early (around 5:45) and left a bit after 7pm. The place was quite empty, likely because of the protests in Boston that day. However, we are glad we made the trip into the city because the food was fantastic. As a couple we ordered 2 small plates and 2 medium plates. We ate everything put in front of us and left quite full. We had shrimp dumplings, wings, crab fried rice, and duck with brussel sprouts. The fried rice had great flavor and was the only dish I found quite spicy. Of the 4 I would say the wings were the least interesting. The sauce didn't have as much flavor as I would have wanted. The brussel sprouts were a bit under-cooked and crunchy, but the duck was cooked perfectly. The sauces for the shrimp dumplings (there were 3) were fantastic. We will definitely be back when the chef switches again - I am told Spanish tapas the next time.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful! The Indonesian dishes were astoundingly good. I can't wait until the chef finds a permanent venue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed the Indonesian dishes in the current kitchen rotation at Wink and Nod. We highly recommend the lamb kebabs and batagor and liked the speakeasy vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Amazing food and amazing ambience .. recommended if you are in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Too dark
Difficult to read menu
Other than that -
Great food
Fun venue
Great service

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Love this place! Had been once before, when it was a different chef (they rotate chefs pop-up style every 6 months or so) and the food was amazing again this time! Excellent service, really cool decor, and incredible cocktail and scotch selections!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One out of four sharing plates was spectacular - shrimp fritters with tofu; remainder were mediocre. Service was inattentive and brusque. We were anticipatorily excited to eat Indonesian food - big disappointment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We came here specifically to have an Indonesian meal which we have been enjoying many times while living in the Netherlands. We were not disappointed however food was very intensely flavored. Probably more then we could have found in similar restaurants in NL. Great atmosphere in Wink and Nod! We will certainly come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was good, but not great - service was outstanding and it's a very cool place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in a very long time. The stuffed calamari, duck roast, and crab fried rice were all incredible. The cocktails were absolutely delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We have loved this restaurant in the past and have taken many friends there. We did not love the Indonesian menu and dound it limited and unnecessarily expensive. The "large plates" were exceptionally expensive! The cocktails were, as usual, very good. We spent a LOT of money for four people to have dinner and we did not eat a lot. We are hoping that this experience was the exception and not the rule.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fell in love with Wink and Nod when Gita Kantrow was resident chef and was anticipating the same quality from Kaki Lima, but left disappointed. The small plates were very small, and the large plates (which claim to serve 2-3 people on the outdated, online menu) was only appropriately sized for one person. The Dishes were on average fair, with some better than others, but each felt overpriced. Wink and Nod has good service and a great concept so I would still recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

W&N was delicious. We had the duck and the prawns, both of which were nicely flavored and properly cooked. For drinks we both had the Far East, which was refreshing and surprisingly strong. The main attraction to this restaurant is the ambiance, which is comparable to Yvonne's and other Boston "hot" restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing Indonesian cuisine! I had a lovely time celebrating my birthday there. Great service, friendly staff too. Definitely come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome food! It was hard to make a decision on what to order because I wanted everything, lol. It was my first time trying Indonesian food and I loved it. I definitely want to go back again before the new rotating restaurant comes in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was fun and tasty, but the service was slow. The restaurant was dark and cozy. Maybe nicer on a cold winter night, than a pleasant summer evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food - during the Indonesian popup. Great drinks. Service was a real plus! It's definitely loud and dark, so go in expecting that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My second visit to Kaki Lima, and I loved it again. Asian food done at the highest level. I hope that they open a restaurant or do more catering as I would like to be a repeat customer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Love the concept--new up-and-coming--chef every 6 months. We had Indonesian, I hope the chef finds a brick and mortar!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We came for a date night. The food was Indonesian. We split the shrimp dumplings (small), duck special (medium), and lobster (large). All were excellent! The waitress recommended 2 smalls and 2 mediums, and we felt that small/medium/large was a good equivalent.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Great Beer, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. We were seated in a circular booth that was almost like a private dining room. The service was attentive. The choices from the bar were superb. But best of all, the food from Kaki Lima was spectacular: new tastes, beautifully displayed, utterly scrumptious. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It feels slightly like a speakeasy but is very warm and welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner and drinks at Wink & Nod. Was there pretty early (5:45 on a Saturday) and the place was nice an quite. Service was friendly and prompt. Had multiple small courses and cocktails, all of which were delicious.

Service did start to go downhill as it got busy later in the evening, but over all a good time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent find. Good atmosphere, delicious drinks, interesting desserts. Our server was super-attentive, very cool, and added a lot to the experience. Would recommend for a special occasion or just for a classier outing in general.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wink and Nod is blessed this season with the 6 months residency of chef Retno from Kaki Lima. She makes the most wonderful Indonesian dishes. Coming from the Netherlands, we miss the Indonesian kitchen here in Boston. Now that hole is (temporary) fixed. We already had dinner here once before when we had one of the best Rendang dishes. This time we came back, initially just for the desert, Lapis Legit (spekkoek). To our pleasant surprise, new dishes had been added to the menu. So in addition to the chicken sateh, we tried the Gulai Brussels Sprouts with Sliced Duck, which was a great innovative combination. But an absolute highlight was Semur Batawi, beef cooked in sweet soy sauce. We almost considered to order an extra dish, just to take it home for later in the week. The dinner was topped off with the spekkoek, which I never would imagined to be able to eat in Boston. Again a great experience and we definitely will come back a few times before Retno's residency at Wink and Nod ends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wnk and Nod has a great bar scene and fun decor, but our meal was disappointing. We had the lobster main, which was poorly cooked and even more poorly conceived - the lobster was tasteless, the sauce made no sense as an accompaniment, and the flavor role of the rice teepee and bowl of crackers was a mystery. The rest of the meal was mediocre, lots of heat but little real flavor. Our server asked us if we had dined there before, we said no, then she walked away without explaining anything. Great spot for drinks, but we'll never eat there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was FANTASTIC. I love the speakeasy feel and their mantra with rotating chefs to give up and coming chefs and opportunity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The Indonesian food was very good. The Tempe Goreng was a little too sweet. The small plates were delicious. Next visit we will stick to the small plates - doing Indonesian Tapas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

During the Indonesian phase, the sauces were excellent but the eggplant was tasteless and rubbery. The duck was cooked perfectly but I expected more seasoning. The dessert with cucumber and mint accents was great.

The prices are dear. The room is fairly dark.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It was a pleasure to explore the wide variety of flavors presented by the authentic Indonesian offerings of Kaki Lima Boston. The intricate combinations of spices from the spicy coconut sauce of the charred eggplant to the braised beef dish display the artistry of Chef Pratiwi. There is much more to explore. Overall a very satisfying, enjoyable experience.

The atmosphere is too dark and a little noisy, but is nevertheless intimate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was over priced and mediocre. The cocktails were interesting but under sized and mostly ice. Overall I felt this place was not a good value. The fit and finish of the venue does not warrant the types of prices they charge. I will not repeat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service is always exceptional. Food and drink choices always interesting. Drinks perfectly crafted and always very pleasing. Swanky atmosphere.

Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Wink and Nod early on a Thursday night. Each dish was perfectly executed and because of the small plates we were able to try a great variety. Service was excellent and craft cocktails were yummy and unique.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Indonesian format was interesting but not spectacular given the upscale prices. Bar program is cornerstone of this place. We tried several different cocktails, mostly good but uneven quality, i.e. shaken cocktails served close to room temp and a surprisingly bland French 75. Service was excellent with plates arriving at well paced intervals. I recommend sticking to nibbles and cocktails for this round at Wink and Nod.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The plate size for this menu was far better than past kitchens. Felt like a treat as opposed to a splurge. Drinks were amazing. More veg options may have been great. The eggplant dish was great but mostly because of the sauce. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was delicious but the table right by the door has bright lights and you feel like you're under a spot light. Made reservation and table was ready shortly after we arrived. Food was good but definitely not as good as prior visits with other chefs. Current menu is Indonesian inspired and definitely had a few gems and a few misses. Staff were attentive. Great atmosphere for late night drinks and small plates. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Met friends before theater for cocktails and dinner. Had the eggplant and chicken small plates, the duck and brussel sprout medium plate, and the white fish large plate. Tasty spices and fun cocktails.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

How can you go wrong in a speakeasy in the South End?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fun and delicious
We were excited to find out we could get Indonesian food in Boston. Had to try it out. Told a good friend we were going to check it out and she was game to join us. The restaurant was able to accommodate our request when confirming reservations For the evening So we add one more to our two person reservation.
We were seated at a cozy booth. Drinks were fun. I was a little surprised there were not more cocktails from which to choose. We ordered two small appetizers, the beef rendang and the whole fish. It was all delicious, but the fish was just stand out amazing! Best meal we've had dining out in a while. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We are planning to go back with other friends we know will also enjoy the fun vibe and the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I tried the new Indonesian dishes one month ago and I found everything amazingly delicious. I decided to bring some friends a couple of weeks ago and I made a reservation... that night I had to leave because, besides the reservation, after 45 minutes there was no way to get a table... I decided to give another try last night but it looked like there was only one waitress for the entire restaurant. She took one hour to take the order... I ordered some of the same dishes of the first time and they were disappointing: not only they looked different but they absolutely didn't taste special...
Wink&Nod... what's going on?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.