About Wink and Nod

3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, GITA by Gita Kantrow. Gita showcases the bold flavors of Nepali cuisine with a creative mix of culinary tradition and modern cooking techniques that expand beyond traditional Nepali cookery. Chef Gita Kantrow's unique Western approach aims to surprise and delight, while never losing the sensory experience of her Nepali heritage.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Nepalese

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Gita Kantrow of GITA

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Late-night Find (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Fun (11)
Tapas (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Spicy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food at this place is top-notch. I r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The food at this place is top-notch. I really like the nepali/indian fusion concept. There's a little something for everyone here. I hope this chef sticks around Boston and opens up a restaurant of her own. The food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious food and amazinggggg cocktails ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

delicious food and amazinggggg cocktails! fantastic speakeasy ambiance. what a delight!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails, e.g., New Girl in Town, w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The cocktails, e.g., New Girl in Town, were excellent. Our waitress was attentive and very nice. We asked her opinions and recommendations, which were all spot on. Each dish was wonderful - we split a small, medium and large plate and then each had dessert. It was my birthday; so the restaurant gave us complimentary glasses of champagne with our desserts to celebrate. Nicely done, Wink & Nod and Gita!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Food and Great Customer Servic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic Food and Great Customer Service in a gorgeous atmosphere! Can't wait for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting speakeasy atmosphere. Food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Interesting speakeasy atmosphere. Food was fine but not outstanding. Service was bad; waitress overburdened and non-responsive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Chef Gifa is extraordinary. Not only was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Chef Gifa is extraordinary. Not only was the food some of the greatest we've had anywhere ever (still dreaming about the coconut cream pie. Game changer.), she and the staff at Wink and Nod were models of hospitality. Highly recommend this spot and particularly recommend you go while Gita is running the kitchen.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Ambience ordinary- e ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was delicious. Ambience ordinary- expected a speak easy feel with mystique and character. Service could have been better. Waitress had to ask our order twice. Food came out too quickly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was actually very tasty but the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was actually very tasty but the music was SO loud that you couldn't hear the person next to you. I was a party of four and we told them that we were there for a special occasion. We were seated at the bar area but in the corner where it was private, but even there the music was so loud that I might as well have been a party of one because no one at the table could hear the other person. I have eaten there before but I will never go there again now for dinner. I would only recommend it for a bar scene

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

It is important to know that Wink and No ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is important to know that Wink and Nod's kitchen operates through rotating chefs -- meaning every 6 months or so there will be a different chef serving different cuisine. The cocktail menu can also change on a weekly basis. This review is specifically for Chef Gita serving modern Nepalese, which was some of the best tasting and well prepared food I've ever encountered. Everything we ordered was exceptional and unique compared both to other menu items and to other cuisines. We chose to order from the small and medium sized plates (Be aware of the dishes which are written on the wall and are not on the menu) and I would highly recommend all of them. The cocktail menu was also well crafted. It is absolutely worth going to Wink and Nod before Chef Gita's residency is complete.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not sure what happens in this restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Not sure what happens in this restaurant. Everytime we have the same U shaped service, great at the start, the waiter then disappears for the entire meal (not checking on our meals or our beverages) and is again super attentive around when the bill will be coming...

I'm supposing to get a good tip. It's not going to happen if you ignore us during the prime time when we might need you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

This was our 3rd time here. We like thi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our 3rd time here. We like this place a lot. However, there were some changes to the menu which we are not sure were an improvement. We loved the butter burger with masala fries which is no longer on the menu. There was also a coconut haddock dish that was our favorite thing on the menu, but that is now gone and the drink menu dropped our favorite drink "the Nicole", but none of the new ones appealed to us. (the menu online listed the old menu when we checked). That said, we asked about "the Nicole" and the bartender made it for us. In terms of food, we love the Singara and the lamb kofta. The coconut shrimp was very disappointing. Tasted like the kind of fried shrimp you would buy in the freezer section of trader joes, no unique flavoring, rather dry, and they were served with no sauce or anything to dip them in, just a few chunks of dry pineapple. The dipping sauce from potstickers or a sweet chutney would have helped. We tried the vegetable pot pie which was very heavy on the Rosemary (which I don't mind), but it did not really have any Nepalese flavor. The butter chicken with basmati rice was delicious, an excellent take on a classic. We will be back, but think the first menu was a bit stronger than the current one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic find over a 3 day trip to Bost ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Fantastic find over a 3 day trip to Boston. Sat night was tough without reservations so came on my last night , a Mon and was more relaxed.

The food is fusion , the chef Nepalese ( me Indian, so dishes similar) , the flavour amazing and the daal pot pie .. Genious! Only let down was the poori with 2 dips (way over fried,more like papad)

Which I sadly had last.

However the gulag jamun cheesecake dessert makes you smile in all ku do of ways . What a comeback!

Great service , strong cocktails.

If I lived in Boston , I'd be a regular. Bit pricey but you're buying the speakeasy scene. Do it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were very disappointed with the value ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were very disappointed with the value of our food, it was quite expensive for very small portions. The service was also very very slow- we were at the restaurant for close to 3 hours. The atmosphere was also very dark which made it difficult to socialize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful experience. My only complaint ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful experience. My only complaint ilia the noise level in the bar area. They started to seat us there but were very accommodating when we asked to sit in a quieter area. The food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the better meals I have had in Bo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

One of the better meals I have had in Boston. Outstanding short rib dish. Could have a broader wine selection. Highly recommend for well prepared meals.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the new menu, the apple cider donu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Loved the new menu, the apple cider donuts were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here a few times now and can't ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I've been here a few times now and can't say enough great things about the food here. The current chef is absolutely the best they've had here. I hope she'll be opening up her own place soon after.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wink and Nod was perfect! Gita prepared ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wink and Nod was perfect! Gita prepared such diverse and delicious food that our party of five shared. From paneer to salmon to cheesecake, we were impressed and satiated. We will be back before Gita leaves in January!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was fine but nothing over ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The restaurant was fine but nothing over the top. We concentrated on the small and medium sized selections , most of which turned out to be very tasty. However, several were not. I think it was more my personal choice rather than a problem with the food. I enjoy the concept of changing menus and would go again when the current chef departs

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best food in Boston! Please keep this pl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Best food in Boston! Please keep this place going, and don't change a thing!

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional place...current chef gets A+ ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Exceptional place...current chef gets A++ rating on all fronts! She needs to stay and open up in Boston....please!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great decor, Trendy mixed with classic. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great decor, Trendy mixed with classic. Dark and cozy almost a speak easy kind of vibe. Not too noisy. Very friendly staff. Nepalese food was very good, and with a rotating menu won't get boring. Great scotch list and fun cocktails.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I had dinner here before a p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here before a play. Cocktails were creative, and excellent. This was a Nepalese menu, and poori were probably the weakest part of the dinner; coconut haddock was the strongest, and it was very good. We liked it all -- the food, the drinks, the vibe -- but felt it wasn't the greatest value around. Service was okay, they got us out in time for the play, but overall it seems to be more about the scene than the service. Definitely fun, and the idea of changing chefs/menus is intriguing, we would go back... but we're not rushing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My son's 24th birthday

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My son's 24th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I expected a Speak Easy ambiance. Perha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I expected a Speak Easy ambiance. Perhaps I was misinformed. The decor was more like the 60s. We were there early, so the place was pretty empty, so no noise or competition for service. We were there for dinner, but the bar was really busy and our drinks were good. Food was good too, I'm just not a big fan of East Indian, and it also didn't seem to fit with the Speak Easy theme I was expecting. .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value4

This rotation of the kitchen is phenomen ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This rotation of the kitchen is phenomenal. The momos are spot on, and the flavors of the sherpa stew are just delightful. Only wish the "large plates" were actually larger and could feed more than one person!

The cocktail list was inspired and delightful, and the decor is gorgeous.

I recommend it to all of my guests at my bar for the next big thing in Boston, especially while Gita heads the kitchen with her Nepali food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our second time here, and we like the cr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our second time here, and we like the creativity, with a new restaurant coming in every 6 months or so. This one was Nepalese, and the food was spectacular-lots of subtle flavors, Great food, expansive menu, lots of fun

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Dimly lit underground dining area, feels ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dimly lit underground dining area, feels very secretive, like you're eating in a private room in a mansion. Vibrant bar. Seasonal rotating menu. Fantastic service. Seats are couches, which makes for an interesting atmosphere. Decent wine list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were recommended to this restaurant a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We were recommended to this restaurant and we're very excited about it. Unfortunately or server seems very off that night. She got our drink order wrong and our dinner order wrong, and there were only two of us.

The portions were small and pretty bland for Indian inspired food.

Our finished plates sat for at least 20 minutes before anyone clear them. We weren't offered anything else after our first drink. We were there less than 45 minutes drinks dinner and all. Sad...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Love the food at this place. I hope the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Love the food at this place. I hope the current chef sticks around Boston and opens her own restaurant soon. I'll be a loyal follower for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! The momo, coconut ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The food was amazing! The momo, coconut shrimp, and spicy pork-aloo were all excellent and delicious. The veggie bowl was good, a bit too oily. The gulab jamun for dessert was also excellent and a great way to end dinner. I cannot wait to go back and try the other dishes.

Their seasonal cocktails were pretty good but not on par with the food. The three we tried were unique but nothing to rave about.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic and creative dishes. Chef Gita ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fantastic and creative dishes. Chef Gita shows passion for cooking demonstrated in her dishes! So tasty!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with two friends and absolutely ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We went with two friends and absolutely LOVED the food. Gita is an amazing chef. We ordered several small plates to share and enjoyed every one. The speciality cocktail selection was also excellent. We will definiely be going back to try more things on the menu, because everything we DIDN'T try also sounded good!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and drinks. The menu is inte ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

great food and drinks. The menu is interesting and everything we tried was quite tasty and unique. Some of the items had a bit of spice (which we love), but ask your server. Portions were a decent size for small plates and I thought overall it was a good value. We loved the cocktails as well! A nice and different option in the neighborhood. We will be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The drinks have always been amazing here ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The drinks have always been amazing here. The current Nepali cuisine offering is delicious and the small plates were served quickly. We had to wait for >30 mins even though we showed up early for our 9:45 pm reservation. The host(s) informed us that our slot was pushed out due to them holding a table that was 45 minutes late. Most restaurants hold for 15-20 mins max and do not blame the OpenTable app nor unapologetically expect their guests to wait nonchalantly. Our server was great and attentive once we were seated. This was our only negative experience with the host since the restaurant started.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

it was a fun yet quiet vibe. got more b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

it was a fun yet quiet vibe. got more busy at the night went on. fun spot and id go back again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Another excellent meal at Wink and Nod ( ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Another excellent meal at Wink and Nod (Gita).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appetizers and cocktails were great. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our appetizers and cocktails were great. The singara is fantastic and the potstickers are very good. For main courses, we had the butter chicken and the popcorn shrimp. The chicken was good, but part of it was overcooked. The shrimp was dry and pretty unappealing.

The wine list is a challenge. There are few choices because it's supposed to be more of a speakeasy and the two reds we tried were not good. Our waiter was apologetic that they weren't better with wine. We ordered a white instead, which ended up being fine. It seems like it wouldn't be hard to include a few good reds on the list. The service is solid.

I'd recommend this place for cocktails and appetizers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I'd chosen this place because the mockta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I'd chosen this place because the mocktails were recommended. I was unprepared for how amazing everything else was! Gita Kantrow is the current chef-in-residence, and I loved her bold approach to Nepali cuisine. Everything we tried was delicious. Regarding the bar, Wink and Nod makes all their ginger beer, juices, and infusions from scratch. I had an excellent cocktail, but I was blown away by my friend's mocktail. Portions are reasonable--I was very full after a small and medium plate. My only complaint was the noise level, but I'll take this as a reminder not to go on a Friday. Otherwise, I wholeheartedly recommend Wink and Nod, and would gladly return.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot, lots of fun and some really ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great spot, lots of fun and some really good cocktails and food options. Current offering is Nepalese, will be through the end of the year, and will probably be back for more. Fun, lively place worth visiting. Keep in mind, under 21 are not allowed, so good for date nights not family nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.