About Wink and Nod

3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

While we await our next pop-up resident, Chef Retno Pratiwi, and her Indonesian inspired concept Kaki Lima, we are delighted to offer a preview of a newly developed Boston Nightlife Ventures concept. Little Owl Tavern weaves together regional Italian Fare with Mediterranean coastal accents. We welcome your feedback and invite you to join us in welcoming Chef Pratiwi and the Kaki Lima team beginning Monday, March 20th.




Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Bill Brodsky

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Tapas (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Spicy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fireplace (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Aaaaaaaamazing! Absolutely loved it! Grilled octopus, pork belly, lobster bolognese oh my! Peanut butter cup dessert. I highly suggest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The osso bucco was incredible. The burrata was amazing. The octopus was perfect. But the cocktails! Amazing! Super good menu but very dark inside.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great spot in Winter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Or cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wink & Nod was great! We felt welcome from the moment we descended the stairs. Great service and food and inventive cocktails; perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This restaurant was amazing! I would go back in a heartbeat - the food was excellent and the vibe was great. This is a great date spot or a spot for gathering with friends. I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was awesome. Our waitress, Jillian, was excellent in making suggestions on both food and drink. My charred octopus was fantastic (once it was beaten). The fried eggplant was to die for. The chef, Bob, was very nice and explained what he was doing. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the Nepali concept. Best food in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Never before tried Nepalese cuisine. After my experience at W&N, I will seek it out.

Outstanding plates that were artfully crafted and wonderful for sharing. Fantastic cocktails... perhaps my favorite bourbon-based concoction in Boston comes from this establishment.

Cheers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The current chef is by far my favorite. I really hope they keep this Nepali concept going. Everything is awesome! #WeDemandGita

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Long-time lover of Wink and Nod but the food didn't seem quite what it was when Chef Gita first opened her service. Food was a bit heavy on the spice and a dish was not available when we tried to order. Overall, looking forward to the next Chef

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had a business dinner here with some colleagues. Everything we ordered was delicious, and the service was especially good (friendly and responsive). One of my favorite restaurants in Boston.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was delicious, we loved the eggplant. I came with a boisterous group and our server was very gracious and attentive and she was very professional. I will definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was a last minute decision to do a fun girls night out with some friends. We wanted to have a unique and fun environment that we'd never done before. We were a little hesitant about the pop-up chef they had at the time because we weren't huge Indian food lovers. BUT that was dumb of us! The food was AMAZING! The drinks were unique and tasty too. It was exactly what we were looking for and will certainly be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious food and cocktails in a beautifully decorated restaurant. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had an amazing dining experience at Wink & Nod last night — great food and service! Chef Gita’s rotation at the restaurant ends next week and I’m so glad that we got to try her Nepalese fusion dishes at Wink & Nod. Every dish was excellent.

  • Basmati (ground beef in cabbage rolls) - the cabbage was so perfectly cooked (crispy and not over cooked) and the texture went really well with the flavor of the meat

  • Eggplant kofta - really tender & flavorful

  • Veggie pakora - this was one of my favorites - very crispy and the slightly spicy sauce went so well with the veggie fritters

  • Butter chicken - the chicken was very tender; the sauce was excellent; I didn’t know cauliflower could taste so good (“chili-mustard roasted cauliflower")

  • Braise beef short ribs - the short ribs were tender and nicely cooked, but the real big winner of this dish was the polenta — AMAZING. We were pretty full by this point, but couldn’t get enough of the polenta.

  • Strawberry shortcake (soaked in rosewater) - couldn’t leave without trying the dessert. I particularly liked the whipped cream of the cake - not too light, not too heavy, and so smooth. Absolutely delicious.

Major kudos to Chef Gita — really loved every dish last night. It’s no surprise that she made Zagat’s list of “8 Under-the-Radar Chefs to Know in Boston.” I can’t wait to see what Chef Gita does next.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The waitress was very nice. Good service. Food was very good. It was a little dark, but had a good overall vibe.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The Nepali food concept is awesome! Please don't change a thing. It's my favorite place to eat in Boston right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food changes every few months with a new selected chef - this time was Nepalese and it was outstanding! Beautiful strong flavors and excellent textures. The noise level was very high, which was the only disappontment. Warm atmosphere. Drinks were served too late compared to the food. I will definitely come back!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing space (I hadn't been there since it was Icarus) with an outstanding guest chef who was preparing Nepalese food. We tried the tasting menu which was a great value: 6 delicious courses coming out one after the other.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love the restaurant concept - different menu, different chef every 6 months. I went on a date with my boyfriend and could barely hear myself think. It was extremely noisy. This is a good spot for a good bite to eat but terrible environment for good conversation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went on a Friday night. We had read about Chef Gita Kantrow and were curious to see her takes on traditional Nepali cuisine. We ordered the 5-course tasting menu.

Course 1: Momos. This is an Indian take on Chinese dumplings. Filled with minced pork and seasoned with an Indian flair, and with the dumpling shell steamed to a bitey-chewy texture. They were served with a savory tomato achar, a spicy chutney of sorts. Rich tomato and smoky finish of the achar complemented the momos beautifully.

Course 2: Cabbage rolls. Chef Gita's take on the Polish galumpki was well done. The use of lentils in the filling and the masala-spiced tomato sauce that bathed them was a nice riff on the original. The tomato sauce was a bit dry, but otherwise flavorful.

Course 3: Coconut curry haddock. A fusion of typical South Indian fish curry with American elements - delicious and perfectly cooked and bathed in a rich coconut sauce resting atop a pillow of turmeric mashed potatoes. Accompanied by two perfectly stewed tomatoes that added a bit of an umami bite and a gentle heat to the sweetness of the curry.

Course 4: Butter chicken masala. The most recognizable contribution of Indian cuisine to the world, Chef Gita kept this one pretty close to the original. Topped with a crisp, spicy cauliflower sauté and resting on perfectly cooked basmati rice, the chicken was fork tender and moist. The sauce had a slight sweetness and a creamy richness that played well against the gentle heat from the masala.

Course 5: Gulab jamun Marscapone cheesecake. What else do I need to say there? Holy sh*t - never thought gulab jamun could get better. But there it is.

In summary, the tastes and flavors remind me of what my mother cooks at home and that is about the highest compliment I can pay Chef Gita.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve here was great. We just went for drinks. Service coverage was great and they even passed out NYE hats!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nepali concept is awesome. I'll be a regular for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A glamorous, speakeasy-type atmosphere with food and drink that live up to the sensual, flavorful name: Wink and Nod. Every bite was rich in flavor and perfectly seasoned. Portions are true as advertised. Drinks were some of the best I have had in the greater Boston area. I cannot rave enough about Wink and Nod. Truly a great experience all in all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is the second time we have dined at "Wink and Nod" and we were not disappointed!

The food is exceptional; the atmosphere is calm and elegant and inviting. We love this place!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was over spiced. I had the lamb. It was ok. My girlfriend had meatballs that she couldn't eat because they were too spicy. We ordered appetizers that were also too spicy to enjoy. We all agreed the drinks were great.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great place for drinks with friends, business etc..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I usually dine at Wonk & Nod during the rotation of their guest chef. This chef is from Nepal and the food is really tasty! Our son lives out of town now but has a high bar for food, dining out, well seasoned diner.I couldn't wait to take our son to celebrate his 24th birthday with us to guests. We had an 8 PM reservation. Our table for 4 was in the bar area this time.

The solo waitress had more than she could deal with, no return to check on the table, no mention of dishes running out- What?! We came specifically for the signature friend chicken dish which motivate us to bring our son, a fried chicken affectionato to a Wink & Nod.

Of course we stayed and enjoyed each dish, reviews from the guys were they would return and were pleasantly surprised with the flavors. The stand outs: Butter chicken, fish in coconut sauce, special nan. Another disappointment was the removed coconut cake dessert and the over laden rose water infused replacement. Why? We were told the chef was tired of making it. Sorry we were not tired of ordering it even this 3rd time dining during this rotation.

The bar was more than buzzing full as were the tables surrounding it. Noise level was hard to have conversation. I felt like I was in the company of my hard of hearing 88 year old mom at times, shouting to have someone hear at the table without having to repeat it. This was the first time I had experienced this though at Wink & Nod, but it was the holiday season after all. Bill total $205, only one beer was ordered from the bar. Our great disappointment with the signature dish running out by 8:30 pm, a misjudgement on the kitchen's part.

I called last night requesting under the circumstances a take out of the friend chicken dish that was unable to be served the other night, so that my son be fore he leaves after the weekend to could experience it, reply, NO take out. Al rules have exceptions and this should have been one under the circumstance. Poor customer service .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food from the latest pop-up kitchen hosted by Wink and Nod - my friends and I are looking forward anxiously to the newest kitchen staff. The drinks at Wink and Nod are always exactly as strong as they need to be, a great value in any situation.

Service was a little slow but no slower than would be expected in a packed bar, later in the evening. Was not an issue for my group and me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overpriced! Food amount not enough. EXTREMELY NOISY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Do not market yourself as a "sit-down" restaurant when you are merely an over-hyped bar that lets millennials rent "VIP" tables to "party" in the dining area. What a dump - won't return - will not recommend...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was a little oily / too focused on deep fried, but the flavors were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My 3rd time back here and it was my best experience yet. The brought back the haddock dish that they took off the menu briefly. It is AMAZING. Absolutely delicious. They also added some chutney to the fried shrimp which was needed. They took off some of the less Nepalese dishes and got back to the chef's strengths. We loved everything we ordered, including the butter chicken (not to be missed) and the special eggplant kofta, which worked surprisingly well. Great flavors. Don't miss the small plate with the phylo dough and minced meat, one of the highlights of the menu. Great service, good drinks, reasonable prices. It is a bit loud if that sort of thing bothers you, but we have a very positive experience and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was the best! Chef Gita was doing Nepalese food with a modern twist. It hit the right spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Loved our recent visit to Wink and Nod to try visiting Chef Gita's wonderful cuisine. Small and medium plates allowed us to try and share a bunch of different Nepalese tastes, all absolutely delicious. The vibe is upbeat, a cool bar with comfy couches nearby that attracted a younger crowd on the night we visited. We had a great waitress who was well informed and attentive without making us feel rushed at all. Our small plates were staggered so that we could enjoy each in succession, which was perfect. Chef Gita Kantrow is a GREAT addition to the neighborhood dining scene - go now before her stint at Wink and Nod runs out mid-Jan! She is a treasure....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I have to say. The current chef is outstanding. A few friends recommended the food, so I came on their recommendations. The food is excellent. It's a very complex combination of spices that work in a very subtle way. My only complaint about the resturant is that the hostess is no were to be found. I walked into the restaurant and stood there for sometime before anyone greeted me. Also, not sure what the situation with the lights is, but it was so dark I could hardly see the menu. Go for the current chef. I hope she'll be there for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was a great restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance were perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Chef Roadster and me u change he's ever so often. We had "nepal-ese" cuisine and was excellent. Great fusion creations, not too rich or heavy but very savory.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The place was hard to find but once we found it, we really enjoyed the experience. The food was very tasty, presented well, and good portion size. The bar menu was also nice. For the feel of the WinkNod, it was neat. The photos, layout, and furniture gave a nice cozy touch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.