About Wink and Nod

3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, GITA by Gita Kantrow. Gita showcases the bold flavors of Nepali cuisine with a creative mix of culinary tradition and modern cooking techniques that expand beyond traditional Nepali cookery. Chef Gita Kantrow's unique Western approach aims to surprise and delight, while never losing the sensory experience of her Nepali heritage.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Nepalese

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Gita Kantrow of GITA

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Cozy (17)
Romantic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Tapas (10)
Authentic (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Casual (8)
Spicy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitress was very nice. Good service ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

The waitress was very nice. Good service. Food was very good. It was a little dark, but had a good overall vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food changes every few months with a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food changes every few months with a new selected chef - this time was Nepalese and it was outstanding! Beautiful strong flavors and excellent textures. The noise level was very high, which was the only disappontment. Warm atmosphere. Drinks were served too late compared to the food. I will definitely come back!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing space (I hadn't been there since ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing space (I hadn't been there since it was Icarus) with an outstanding guest chef who was preparing Nepalese food. We tried the tasting menu which was a great value: 6 delicious courses coming out one after the other.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I love the restaurant concept - differen ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love the restaurant concept - different menu, different chef every 6 months. I went on a date with my boyfriend and could barely hear myself think. It was extremely noisy. This is a good spot for a good bite to eat but terrible environment for good conversation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

Went on a Friday night. We had read abou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went on a Friday night. We had read about Chef Gita Kantrow and were curious to see her takes on traditional Nepali cuisine. We ordered the 5-course tasting menu.

Course 1: Momos. This is an Indian take on Chinese dumplings. Filled with minced pork and seasoned with an Indian flair, and with the dumpling shell steamed to a bitey-chewy texture. They were served with a savory tomato achar, a spicy chutney of sorts. Rich tomato and smoky finish of the achar complemented the momos beautifully.

Course 2: Cabbage rolls. Chef Gita's take on the Polish galumpki was well done. The use of lentils in the filling and the masala-spiced tomato sauce that bathed them was a nice riff on the original. The tomato sauce was a bit dry, but otherwise flavorful.

Course 3: Coconut curry haddock. A fusion of typical South Indian fish curry with American elements - delicious and perfectly cooked and bathed in a rich coconut sauce resting atop a pillow of turmeric mashed potatoes. Accompanied by two perfectly stewed tomatoes that added a bit of an umami bite and a gentle heat to the sweetness of the curry.

Course 4: Butter chicken masala. The most recognizable contribution of Indian cuisine to the world, Chef Gita kept this one pretty close to the original. Topped with a crisp, spicy cauliflower sauté and resting on perfectly cooked basmati rice, the chicken was fork tender and moist. The sauce had a slight sweetness and a creamy richness that played well against the gentle heat from the masala.

Course 5: Gulab jamun Marscapone cheesecake. What else do I need to say there? Holy sh*t - never thought gulab jamun could get better. But there it is.

In summary, the tastes and flavors remind me of what my mother cooks at home and that is about the highest compliment I can pay Chef Gita.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A glamorous, speakeasy-type atmosphere w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A glamorous, speakeasy-type atmosphere with food and drink that live up to the sensual, flavorful name: Wink and Nod. Every bite was rich in flavor and perfectly seasoned. Portions are true as advertised. Drinks were some of the best I have had in the greater Boston area. I cannot rave enough about Wink and Nod. Truly a great experience all in all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have dined at ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is the second time we have dined at "Wink and Nod" and we were not disappointed!

The food is exceptional; the atmosphere is calm and elegant and inviting. We love this place!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was over spiced. I had the lamb ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was over spiced. I had the lamb. It was ok. My girlfriend had meatballs that she couldn't eat because they were too spicy. We ordered appetizers that were also too spicy to enjoy. We all agreed the drinks were great.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great place for drinks with frien ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always great place for drinks with friends, business etc..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I usually dine at Wonk & ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I usually dine at Wonk & Nod during the rotation of their guest chef. This chef is from Nepal and the food is really tasty! Our son lives out of town now but has a high bar for food, dining out, well seasoned diner.I couldn't wait to take our son to celebrate his 24th birthday with us to guests. We had an 8 PM reservation. Our table for 4 was in the bar area this time.

The solo waitress had more than she could deal with, no return to check on the table, no mention of dishes running out- What?! We came specifically for the signature friend chicken dish which motivate us to bring our son, a fried chicken affectionato to a Wink & Nod.

Of course we stayed and enjoyed each dish, reviews from the guys were they would return and were pleasantly surprised with the flavors. The stand outs: Butter chicken, fish in coconut sauce, special nan. Another disappointment was the removed coconut cake dessert and the over laden rose water infused replacement. Why? We were told the chef was tired of making it. Sorry we were not tired of ordering it even this 3rd time dining during this rotation.

The bar was more than buzzing full as were the tables surrounding it. Noise level was hard to have conversation. I felt like I was in the company of my hard of hearing 88 year old mom at times, shouting to have someone hear at the table without having to repeat it. This was the first time I had experienced this though at Wink & Nod, but it was the holiday season after all. Bill total $205, only one beer was ordered from the bar. Our great disappointment with the signature dish running out by 8:30 pm, a misjudgement on the kitchen's part.

I called last night requesting under the circumstances a take out of the friend chicken dish that was unable to be served the other night, so that my son be fore he leaves after the weekend to could experience it, reply, NO take out. Al rules have exceptions and this should have been one under the circumstance. Poor customer service .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food from the latest pop-up kitche ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food from the latest pop-up kitchen hosted by Wink and Nod - my friends and I are looking forward anxiously to the newest kitchen staff. The drinks at Wink and Nod are always exactly as strong as they need to be, a great value in any situation.

Service was a little slow but no slower than would be expected in a packed bar, later in the evening. Was not an issue for my group and me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Overpriced! Food amount not enough. EXTR ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overpriced! Food amount not enough. EXTREMELY NOISY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Do not market yourself as a "sit-down" r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Do not market yourself as a "sit-down" restaurant when you are merely an over-hyped bar that lets millennials rent "VIP" tables to "party" in the dining area. What a dump - won't return - will not recommend...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The food was a little oily / too focused ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was a little oily / too focused on deep fried, but the flavors were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My 3rd time back here and it was my best ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My 3rd time back here and it was my best experience yet. The brought back the haddock dish that they took off the menu briefly. It is AMAZING. Absolutely delicious. They also added some chutney to the fried shrimp which was needed. They took off some of the less Nepalese dishes and got back to the chef's strengths. We loved everything we ordered, including the butter chicken (not to be missed) and the special eggplant kofta, which worked surprisingly well. Great flavors. Don't miss the small plate with the phylo dough and minced meat, one of the highlights of the menu. Great service, good drinks, reasonable prices. It is a bit loud if that sort of thing bothers you, but we have a very positive experience and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best! Chef Gita was doing Nep ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was the best! Chef Gita was doing Nepalese food with a modern twist. It hit the right spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our recent visit to Wink and Nod t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Loved our recent visit to Wink and Nod to try visiting Chef Gita's wonderful cuisine. Small and medium plates allowed us to try and share a bunch of different Nepalese tastes, all absolutely delicious. The vibe is upbeat, a cool bar with comfy couches nearby that attracted a younger crowd on the night we visited. We had a great waitress who was well informed and attentive without making us feel rushed at all. Our small plates were staggered so that we could enjoy each in succession, which was perfect. Chef Gita Kantrow is a GREAT addition to the neighborhood dining scene - go now before her stint at Wink and Nod runs out mid-Jan! She is a treasure....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have to say. The current chef is outst ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I have to say. The current chef is outstanding. A few friends recommended the food, so I came on their recommendations. The food is excellent. It's a very complex combination of spices that work in a very subtle way. My only complaint about the resturant is that the hostess is no were to be found. I walked into the restaurant and stood there for sometime before anyone greeted me. Also, not sure what the situation with the lights is, but it was so dark I could hardly see the menu. Go for the current chef. I hope she'll be there for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great restaurant. The food, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was a great restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance were perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Roadster and me u change he's ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Chef Roadster and me u change he's ever so often. We had "nepal-ese" cuisine and was excellent. Great fusion creations, not too rich or heavy but very savory.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The place was hard to find but once we f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The place was hard to find but once we found it, we really enjoyed the experience. The food was very tasty, presented well, and good portion size. The bar menu was also nice. For the feel of the WinkNod, it was neat. The photos, layout, and furniture gave a nice cozy touch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The design of the restaurant is very nic ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The design of the restaurant is very nice. It's like a combination speak easy/living room. The staff was helpful and friendly. We got the tasting menu which was reasonably priced at $55 for 5 courses. The food was good but there was a bit too much fried food (3/5 courses). The braised short run course was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food at this place is top-notch. I r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food at this place is top-notch. I really like the nepali/indian fusion concept. There's a little something for everyone here. I hope this chef sticks around Boston and opens up a restaurant of her own. The food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious food and amazinggggg cocktails ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

delicious food and amazinggggg cocktails! fantastic speakeasy ambiance. what a delight!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails, e.g., New Girl in Town, w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The cocktails, e.g., New Girl in Town, were excellent. Our waitress was attentive and very nice. We asked her opinions and recommendations, which were all spot on. Each dish was wonderful - we split a small, medium and large plate and then each had dessert. It was my birthday; so the restaurant gave us complimentary glasses of champagne with our desserts to celebrate. Nicely done, Wink & Nod and Gita!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Food and Great Customer Servic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic Food and Great Customer Service in a gorgeous atmosphere! Can't wait for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting speakeasy atmosphere. Food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Interesting speakeasy atmosphere. Food was fine but not outstanding. Service was bad; waitress overburdened and non-responsive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Chef Gifa is extraordinary. Not only was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Chef Gifa is extraordinary. Not only was the food some of the greatest we've had anywhere ever (still dreaming about the coconut cream pie. Game changer.), she and the staff at Wink and Nod were models of hospitality. Highly recommend this spot and particularly recommend you go while Gita is running the kitchen.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Ambience ordinary- e ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was delicious. Ambience ordinary- expected a speak easy feel with mystique and character. Service could have been better. Waitress had to ask our order twice. Food came out too quickly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was actually very tasty but the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was actually very tasty but the music was SO loud that you couldn't hear the person next to you. I was a party of four and we told them that we were there for a special occasion. We were seated at the bar area but in the corner where it was private, but even there the music was so loud that I might as well have been a party of one because no one at the table could hear the other person. I have eaten there before but I will never go there again now for dinner. I would only recommend it for a bar scene

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

It is important to know that Wink and No ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is important to know that Wink and Nod's kitchen operates through rotating chefs -- meaning every 6 months or so there will be a different chef serving different cuisine. The cocktail menu can also change on a weekly basis. This review is specifically for Chef Gita serving modern Nepalese, which was some of the best tasting and well prepared food I've ever encountered. Everything we ordered was exceptional and unique compared both to other menu items and to other cuisines. We chose to order from the small and medium sized plates (Be aware of the dishes which are written on the wall and are not on the menu) and I would highly recommend all of them. The cocktail menu was also well crafted. It is absolutely worth going to Wink and Nod before Chef Gita's residency is complete.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not sure what happens in this restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Not sure what happens in this restaurant. Everytime we have the same U shaped service, great at the start, the waiter then disappears for the entire meal (not checking on our meals or our beverages) and is again super attentive around when the bill will be coming...

I'm supposing to get a good tip. It's not going to happen if you ignore us during the prime time when we might need you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

This was our 3rd time here. We like thi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our 3rd time here. We like this place a lot. However, there were some changes to the menu which we are not sure were an improvement. We loved the butter burger with masala fries which is no longer on the menu. There was also a coconut haddock dish that was our favorite thing on the menu, but that is now gone and the drink menu dropped our favorite drink "the Nicole", but none of the new ones appealed to us. (the menu online listed the old menu when we checked). That said, we asked about "the Nicole" and the bartender made it for us. In terms of food, we love the Singara and the lamb kofta. The coconut shrimp was very disappointing. Tasted like the kind of fried shrimp you would buy in the freezer section of trader joes, no unique flavoring, rather dry, and they were served with no sauce or anything to dip them in, just a few chunks of dry pineapple. The dipping sauce from potstickers or a sweet chutney would have helped. We tried the vegetable pot pie which was very heavy on the Rosemary (which I don't mind), but it did not really have any Nepalese flavor. The butter chicken with basmati rice was delicious, an excellent take on a classic. We will be back, but think the first menu was a bit stronger than the current one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic find over a 3 day trip to Bost ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Fantastic find over a 3 day trip to Boston. Sat night was tough without reservations so came on my last night , a Mon and was more relaxed.

The food is fusion , the chef Nepalese ( me Indian, so dishes similar) , the flavour amazing and the daal pot pie .. Genious! Only let down was the poori with 2 dips (way over fried,more like papad)

Which I sadly had last.

However the gulag jamun cheesecake dessert makes you smile in all ku do of ways . What a comeback!

Great service , strong cocktails.

If I lived in Boston , I'd be a regular. Bit pricey but you're buying the speakeasy scene. Do it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were very disappointed with the value ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were very disappointed with the value of our food, it was quite expensive for very small portions. The service was also very very slow- we were at the restaurant for close to 3 hours. The atmosphere was also very dark which made it difficult to socialize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful experience. My only complaint ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful experience. My only complaint ilia the noise level in the bar area. They started to seat us there but were very accommodating when we asked to sit in a quieter area. The food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the better meals I have had in Bo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

One of the better meals I have had in Boston. Outstanding short rib dish. Could have a broader wine selection. Highly recommend for well prepared meals.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the new menu, the apple cider donu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Loved the new menu, the apple cider donuts were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here a few times now and can't ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I've been here a few times now and can't say enough great things about the food here. The current chef is absolutely the best they've had here. I hope she'll be opening up her own place soon after.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wink and Nod was perfect! Gita prepared ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wink and Nod was perfect! Gita prepared such diverse and delicious food that our party of five shared. From paneer to salmon to cheesecake, we were impressed and satiated. We will be back before Gita leaves in January!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.