Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Wink and Nod

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, Kaki Lima by Chef Retno Pratiwi and Managing Partner, Peter Gelling. Kaki Lima’s menu features an array of sharable delicacies drawing inspiration from the entire Indonesian archipelago. Chef Pratiwi has gone to extreme lengths to source authentic Indonesian ingredients to expose you to a taste of her homeland.



3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indonesian

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Bill Brodsky

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
See All
Cozy (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Romantic (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Tapas (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Spicy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went out for our anniversary last Wednesday and had some of the most fantastic service we've had in a really long time by Zoe. We are both industry people, and my wife is a manager in high end fine dining so our standards are pretty high to begin with. Some things I've just given up on expecting when I go out- like a satay stick casually removed from my share plate or polite suggestions/explanations offered at just the right time but she was right there with everything we needed. The food was also wonderful, and authentic, with plenty of nuanced flavors especially the beef entree dish that we shared. Thanks for a great anniversary- you guys nailed it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was fantastic. Water was refilled with perfect timing and holy deuces the wings are delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

On a work trip in Boston and this was recommended to me. Was only going to come for drinks but stayed for dinner. It was really great - fantastic food (they have a different chef every 6 months, as part of their incubator program), inventive and tasty cocktails. Lovely ambience. Friendly and knowledgable service. Really great evening - everyone agreed it was the best night out of the week.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The food by Kaki Lima was spectacular, a really innovative twist on classic Indonesia. Great music and great overall vibe. I'd come back for the atmosphere, but it was really the food that made it great. Hope Kaki Lima finds a permanent spot!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had really looked forward to this after good reviews about 'authentic' Indonesian food. Well, most of what we ordered was pretty greasy and all fried or deep fried, which was not apparent on the menu. For example, fried soy bean cake was tiny squares of greasy crunchy nuggets unidentifiable as tofu. Potato tots tasted like the frozen ones you ate as a kid. Some items were very good, but most choices were way too rich. Definitely not authentic Indonesian.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chris was the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was pleased overall with the food and the service......and in today's typical noisy experience in restaurants Wink and Nod was admirably quiet which allowed conversation without having to strain to hear .....BUT....I found the subterranean location much to dark for my liking, with an absence of light that could have accentuated the pleasant decor , and, more importantly, allowed you to read the menu without having to turn on your cell phone flashlight, which I found inconvenient and disruptive to my experience because others were doing the same thing and the bright flashlights from other tables would stream in my eyes, enough to make it unpleasant for the times when that occurred.
That aside, I enjoyed the food enough to want to go back and recommend it to others.
I HOPE THE MANAGEMENT TAKES NOTE OF MY LIGHTING COMPLAINT AND TRIES TO WORK THAT OUT.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We really liked the restaurant; it's very pleasant and comfortable. Kaki Lima is doing a residency there through Sept. 2017, and I was a little disappointed in their food, which I've been excited about trying for a long time - I love Indonesian food. It was good, but not great. I'd go back and try other things, but we ordered five or six dishes, and I don't think I would order a single one a second time.

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I've had Indonesian food before, but never in Boston (or Indonesia, now that I think about it). That said, the food seemed very authentic and we enjoyed everything that was recommended. I'd recommend going wth adventurous friends who like to share- but the delicious cocktails helped.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Indonesian food was not what I had in Indonesia or Amsterdam.

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

A hidden gem which means a lot more knowing it was a speakeasy. Beautiful dimily lit atmosphere with wonderful informative servers. Chris guided us through the intricate cocktail list and made wonderful suggestions. My friend and I left full, having had two small plates and one medium (the Nasi is a must try) to share. We had a wonderful experience and can't wait to return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

great spot & ambience. great food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I can't say enough to describe the excellence of the food presentation, timing and taste. Thumbs up to Kaki Lima, and Wink and Nod!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was a tad slow but it was busy in the restaurant so it is understandable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We loved the food and the Chef as well as Peter were extremely accommodating in preparing a Vegetarian tasting menu for us. The food was outstanding as well as the service. Our waiter Chris was incredible and made the experience even better.
Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

You have to try this place!!! The food is unreal! The dishes are unique and executed so well! Loved loved love the food and drinks! We will be back. The only downfall is I wish they turned up the lighting just a smidge. It was dark and took a while for my eyes to adjust. Throw a few fake candles or something on the tables :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Kitchen was amazing! Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I loved this place. Fantastic from-scratch cocktails and excellent food. The speakeasy atmosphere is great and the service was excellent. I can't say enough good things about Wink and Nod. I only wished I live closer so I could go every week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food here was amazing and the cocktails complemented the menu well. The duck was the best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent and authentic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Restaurant is sooo dark. Ordered 2 things that were forgotten. Food was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Emerging Indonesian chef of Kaki Lima 6 month pop up at Wink and Nod is not to be missed. Delicious and unique dishes. Delicious fish. Crab fried rice was amazing. Tempe and perfect chicken wings were big hits. Everyone at our party of 5 loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Thank you so much. We enjoyed our dinner with you to Monday night. An amazing experience, we took our two Dutch friends and Indonesian food fanatics and they were so pleased and impressed with this high quality excellent experience. You surpassed our highest expectations. Look forward to come back to try the ice cream and the spekkoek.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wink and Nod is a unique experience. Why?

One descends the steps from the street level and enters into what feels like a hideaway speakeasy bar with dining .
It's a hip and energetic bar scene with specialized cocktails & bites
Then there's other unique attraction- the food. Wink and Nod hosts guest chefs for 6-12 month stints. We have had the fortune of attending at least 3 of them. Many chefs have been noted for great pop ups around the city-with great popularity.
This month one of our favorite young talents -Indonesian cuisine , Kaki Lima began and the exceptional chef Retno (and her husband Pete) are cooking away serving fabulous food!
Highlights: shrimp dumplings and tofu with an delicious spicy sauce, beef rendang - absolutely incredible ! Our dessert- coconut filled rice crêpes with a carmel sauce .
I encourage you to check out the Kaki Lima menu and book your reservation! We will be coming back several times during their Wink and Nod time stretch.

A general recommendation for
Wink and Nod - add new dishes each month - switch up the selection and we will be back biweekly and so will many others!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I grew up in Indonesia and eating Kaki Lima's offerings brings me right back to the sugar-cane fields, batik prints and smoldering volcanoes of my youth. But you don't have to be raised on the cuisine to enjoy it. Chef Retno's ayam bakar last night at Wink and Nod was the best chicken I've eaten in my life, and it will be yours, too. She and Pete will be there for another six months so hurry on over. You'll want to go back as many times as you can!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Delicious, authentic Indonesian cuisine from Chef Retno Pratiwi. Enak sekali! Wink & Nod's bar team is extremely talented, and the cocktails are phenomenal. We will be back soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Kaki lima prepared excellent food, much superior to other Indonesians restaurants in Boston.

Wink and Nod is a fine place, the only problem is that the noise level was too high for me and my guests.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Chris was a server, very knowledgable and gave great recommendations for food and drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a great time with my wife on her birthday and our anniversary. Food was amazing with cocktails to pair with. Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a great dinner last Friday at Kaki Lima's residency at Wink and Not. After moving to Boston from The Netherlands more than six years ago the only good Indonesian food that we can get is when we make it ourselves. Now it's tempting to visit Kaki Lima every week to enjoy their food that reminds us so much of the meals we had on our trips to Indonesia. We had the Sate lilit, Batagor, and of course the Rendang, a personal favorite. Thanks so much. We hope you will set up a permanent restaurant in Boston soon!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

An intimate underground spot with interesting cocktails and delicious small plates. Really enjoyed the Indonesian treats from the guest chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Went to for KakiLima first day of residency at Wink and Nod . I had attended a few of chef Retno Pratiwi pop up before. Never disappointed, food always fresh and authentic Indonesian cuisine. Great menu for sharing.
Also great drink menu at the bar

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Despite not being able to get the real menu since the new chef was only starting the following week, the food was from Little Owl Tavern and it was delectable to say the least! I'm a vegetarian so there were few options but whatever we ordered was so tasteful and flavorsome. The cocktails were great and can't even begin to talk about the grilled cake we had for dessert. It's a great spot for a date night or any special occasion for that matter. Make a reservation because the lines do get long.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic food, every bite was worth a "wow." Tasty drinks and super service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service in a funky speakeasy. Pricey but we didn't hold back when ordering. Started with specialty cocktails that just seemed right in the surroundings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 5, 2017

super awesome management and waitress- great food, lovely wine. speakeasy vibes, will go back for cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wink and Nod was delicious and a great place for a gathering with friends. Would recommend and will be coming back soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Aaaaaaaamazing! Absolutely loved it! Grilled octopus, pork belly, lobster bolognese oh my! Peanut butter cup dessert. I highly suggest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The osso bucco was incredible. The burrata was amazing. The octopus was perfect. But the cocktails! Amazing! Super good menu but very dark inside.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Friend's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.