Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Wink and Nod

Wink & Nod is an EXCLUSIVELY 21+ establishment (no teens, toddlers, or infants). Proper ID required.

Wink & Nod operates a rotating kitchen where every 6 months, we invite a new restaurant group to run our kitchen and experiment with dishes as bold and creative as our cocktails. With this program, Wink & Nod hopes to contribute to the development of up-and-coming Chefs by providing them with a restaurant platform in which to operate and showcase their talent.

Wink & Nod is proud to present our current residing Pop-up Kitchen, Pareja, by Chef Aaron Lhamon.
Pareja showcases the bold flavors of Spanish, Portuguese, and Basque cuisines; with a creative mix of tradition, and modern cooking techniques. Pareja’s offerings will change frequently in an effort to take advantage of the freshest locavore bounty. This menu has been created in a sharable format to embody the spirit of coming together at the table.

3 Appleton St.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
For Drinks:
Monday through Saturday, the bar is open from 5:00 pm - 2:00 am.

For Food:
Dinner - 5:00-10:00 pm Monday through Saturday
Late Night Dining - 10:00 pm-11:00 am Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0117

Website:
http://www.winkandnod.com/

Parking Details:
We strongly recommend taking public transportation or Uber as on street parking in the South End is difficult


Public Transit:
Tufts Medical - Orange Line
Back Bay Station - Orange Line

Executive Chef:
Chef Bill Brodsky

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Wink and Nod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tapas (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Spicy (7)
Great Beer (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating my daughter's birthday. The menu was a little hard to understand, so we trusted our waitress. EVERYTHING WAS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. The presentation was beautiful. Our waitress was extremely attentive without hovering. Wish we could have spent the night! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A disappointment. We've enjoyed it in the past. Food and service have become spotty. It's a premium price point so that's not acceptable. Go somewhere else unless you just want drinks at the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent, again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

first time here, still recalling my favorite Boston restaurant, Icarus, with Wink and Nod now in the same site. The cocktail list is inventive -- none I had, or my guests had, however, was to my taste -- but there is a lot to try. The essentially tapas menu of the current chef is fun and enjoyable to share with a group. Our service was attentive and friendly. I will be back to give Wink and Nod another try next week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wink and Nod blew me away with their pop-up menu choices... My favorite was the ribeye, which was perfectly crisp on the outside and cooked perfectly on the inside...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2017

A great experience!!! Nice 1920s speakeasy vibe, but somehow still laid back and casual. Food was amazing! Can't wait to go back since they change up the chef every 6 months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent food and service; overall, outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We always go to wink and nod. Love the speakeasy atmosphere and unique food options. A great place for trying and sharing plates. The service can be a little slow and it gets cold in the bar area. It’s Spanish right now and I think the menu is a little seafood heavy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great! Always nice for a special occasion or fancy drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We finally stopped in for dinner last Friday. Friends of ours recommended this place to us a while back year when Akinto was the resident kitchen . We were pleasantly surprised! The restaurant has the feel of a private club to it. Food was delicious and the service was top notch. We will be coming back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Love the place but found the new SPANISH concept to be so disappointing, particularly the insipid paella and overpriced branzino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had! I've been to Wink & Nod twice and both times was blown away.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Indonesian food was amazing, but since the restaurant is very dark it was difficult to discern what I was actually eating. Is this squid stuffed and with what, or is it perhaps something entirely different? The service was adequate, but a little slow.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

A great spot! Loved the cozy ambiance of the place, it made me feel right at home.
I went for the Indonesian pop-up which was very ffood specific but good! It included lamb, noodles, squid, fried rice, etc. all using essences such as coconut milk, lemongrass, etc. not to mention the calamansi ice cream! Would definitley recommend stopping here for a pop-up!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good drinks but the food fell flat. You can always count on good mixed drinks, and I'm not sure if it was the end of the particular guest menu or not but I wasn't hugely sold on what we had. The Shrimp Tots left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was outstanding! Truly authentic Indonesian food with delicious spices, sauces, and combinations in each dish. We loved everything we had. The drinks were great and ambiance on point.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Enjoyed a repeat visit during Kaki Lima's final weeks. The food was excellent as always-enjoyed the new items on the menu since my last visit. Still do not like the darkness of the restaurant and noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Pricey, but a good spot for special occasions. Love Wink and Nod's model of incubating a resident chef/new restaurant business. It gives new local talent a chance to showcase their foods and it keeps things fresh for regulars at Wink and Nod. The drinks are also quite unique. The ones we had were great. Service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

creative grouping and flavor mixing. Very enjoyable and fun.
love the way they support new artists in the kitchen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went to Wink and Nod this past Saturday for a night out with another couple. The food was excellent, ambiance was fun, and the beverage selection was great. Our waitress recommended the homemade ginger beer to me since I am pregnant and couldn't have an alcoholic drink, and I am so glad she did - it was delicious! Would definitely return here or recommend to a friend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We enjoyed Wink & Nod during Kaki Lima's kitchen takeover -- and were not disappointed! The food was spectacular, the cocktails inventive & delicious, the waitstaff pleasant & helpful and the restaurant itself a gem. We look forward to returning again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The setting looks more like a club then a restaurant but that for me adds to the ambiance. Had to wait far too long for service, but they were apologetic & comped us desert.

The food is always creative & interesting. That is why I like to go. Some things were better than others & the best was the duck...apparently that was why we had to wait: we were told that the chef overcooked it & had to redo the dish. Worth the wait.

The waitress seemed very disengaged & gets low marks on attentiveness. That being said I would continue to go there because I am always interested in trying food that is new or familiar but prepared in a way which is perks my imagination.

My best,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had dinner here during Kaki Lima tenancy. The food was superb... innovative, interesting and just plain delicious. Were with a group of serious and sophisticated eaters and all were happy and impressed, including the vegetarian. Wonderful cocktails from Wink and Nod. My only complaint is that it's too dark for the 60+ crowd to read the menu. (like me). Thank goodness for cell phone flash lights.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was a mixed bag. Appetizers were probably the least tasty of our courses. Dessert was the highlight . Interesting flavors overall but something is missing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Found Wink and Nod after learning that their chef in residence was making Indonesian food, which I had tried for the first time recently on a trip to the Netherlands. We visited the restaurant on a Saturday night, quite early (around 5:45) and left a bit after 7pm. The place was quite empty, likely because of the protests in Boston that day. However, we are glad we made the trip into the city because the food was fantastic. As a couple we ordered 2 small plates and 2 medium plates. We ate everything put in front of us and left quite full. We had shrimp dumplings, wings, crab fried rice, and duck with brussel sprouts. The fried rice had great flavor and was the only dish I found quite spicy. Of the 4 I would say the wings were the least interesting. The sauce didn't have as much flavor as I would have wanted. The brussel sprouts were a bit under-cooked and crunchy, but the duck was cooked perfectly. The sauces for the shrimp dumplings (there were 3) were fantastic. We will definitely be back when the chef switches again - I am told Spanish tapas the next time.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! The Indonesian dishes were astoundingly good. I can't wait until the chef finds a permanent venue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed the Indonesian dishes in the current kitchen rotation at Wink and Nod. We highly recommend the lamb kebabs and batagor and liked the speakeasy vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Amazing food and amazing ambience .. recommended if you are in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Too dark
Difficult to read menu
Other than that -
Great food
Fun venue
Great service

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Love this place! Had been once before, when it was a different chef (they rotate chefs pop-up style every 6 months or so) and the food was amazing again this time! Excellent service, really cool decor, and incredible cocktail and scotch selections!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One out of four sharing plates was spectacular - shrimp fritters with tofu; remainder were mediocre. Service was inattentive and brusque. We were anticipatorily excited to eat Indonesian food - big disappointment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We came here specifically to have an Indonesian meal which we have been enjoying many times while living in the Netherlands. We were not disappointed however food was very intensely flavored. Probably more then we could have found in similar restaurants in NL. Great atmosphere in Wink and Nod! We will certainly come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was good, but not great - service was outstanding and it's a very cool place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in a very long time. The stuffed calamari, duck roast, and crab fried rice were all incredible. The cocktails were absolutely delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We have loved this restaurant in the past and have taken many friends there. We did not love the Indonesian menu and dound it limited and unnecessarily expensive. The "large plates" were exceptionally expensive! The cocktails were, as usual, very good. We spent a LOT of money for four people to have dinner and we did not eat a lot. We are hoping that this experience was the exception and not the rule.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fell in love with Wink and Nod when Gita Kantrow was resident chef and was anticipating the same quality from Kaki Lima, but left disappointed. The small plates were very small, and the large plates (which claim to serve 2-3 people on the outdated, online menu) was only appropriately sized for one person. The Dishes were on average fair, with some better than others, but each felt overpriced. Wink and Nod has good service and a great concept so I would still recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

W&N was delicious. We had the duck and the prawns, both of which were nicely flavored and properly cooked. For drinks we both had the Far East, which was refreshing and surprisingly strong. The main attraction to this restaurant is the ambiance, which is comparable to Yvonne's and other Boston "hot" restaurants.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing Indonesian cuisine! I had a lovely time celebrating my birthday there. Great service, friendly staff too. Definitely come back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome food! It was hard to make a decision on what to order because I wanted everything, lol. It was my first time trying Indonesian food and I loved it. I definitely want to go back again before the new rotating restaurant comes in.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was fun and tasty, but the service was slow. The restaurant was dark and cozy. Maybe nicer on a cold winter night, than a pleasant summer evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.