About Wine Market Bistro

921 East Fort Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Wine Market Bistro is a unique café, wine bar and wine shop all under one roof. We proudly offer over 30 wines by the glass and a 500 bottle selection in the wine shop. Most restaurants charge 300% or more for wine--at Wine Market guests can enjoy amazing wines for a small corkage fee ($11) over the retail price! This is a great savings for any wine lover. We feature a beautiful courtyard patio in the warmer months and a sophisticated Soho Loft like dining area inside all year. Reviews- Baltimore Magazine "Best Restaurants" 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009; 2011 Baltimore Sun rated us as one of the top 10 kitchens in all of Baltimore; Style Magazine listed us as one of their- "100 Favorite Places, People and Things." See website for more details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am -4:00pm *limited menu 3:00-4:00*
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
Lawrence Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 244-6166

Website:
http://www.winemarketbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available right in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Baltimore's free bus service; the circulator banner route stops right next to our location.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We have monthly wine tastings; sign up for our newsletter via our website to receive updates and information.
www.winemarketbistro.com/events

Restaurant Photos

Quinoa Veggie Burger
Watermelon & Beet Salad
Grouper
Braised Beef Short Rib
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shrimp And Pork Dumplings
Cornmeal Fried Oysters
Macaroni and Cheese
Charcuterie plate
Lamburger
Salmon Tartare
Hazelnut Linzer Torte
Seared Rare Ahi Tuna
Seafood Risotto
Miso Glazed Black Sea Bass
Australian Blue Prawns
Broiled Pork Belly
Duck Sous Vide
Pork Loin
Flatbread Pizza
Oyster Po' Boy Sandwich
Blt Grilled Cheese
Beer Flight
Duck Tartare
Salmon
Pork Belly
Shrimp and Grits
Wine Flight
Subiyaki steak sandwich
Braised Pork Shoulder
pancakes
Cockles
Top Sirloin
Soft Shell Crab
Ocean Trout, Smoked Runner Bean Risotto
Sweet potato agnolotti
Black Bass
Viking Village Sea Scallops
Hanger Steak
Pumpkin 4 Ways
Duck Confit
Papa Weavers Pork Chop
Cf Steak
Lamb Burgers
Passionfruit Iced Tea
Slow Roasted Brisket Sandwich
Chocolate Pretzel Pavé
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Rare Sesame Seared Tuna Wrap
Ahi Tuna Salad
Marinated fluke—pickled watermelon, rind, cilantro pesto, fresno chiles, summer cucumber, red onion
Braised Lamb—fried polenta panzanella, heirloom tomatoes, pancetta vinaigrette
Watermelon And Baby Beet Salad
Fig Tarts
Crispy Chicken Skin
monkfish
Scallop Ceciche
Duck Breast
Fluke Ceviche
Pompano
Short Rib
Korean Shortribs
Murreys Farm Chicken
Trout
Ricotta Gnocchi
Deviled Egg Trio
Monk Fish
Halibut And Mussels
Scallops
Banana Trio
viking village scallops
Lamb Shank
Dessert Trio
Black Pepper Fettuccini
Braised Short Rib Grill Cheese
Beet Salad
Maryland Crab Salad
Halibut Ceviche
Maryland Rockfish With Artichokes
Scallop Ceviche
Rock Fish With Lobster Broth
32 Day Dry Aged Piedmont Ridge Ribeye
English Pea Agnolotti
Making Charcuterie
King Salmon
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
head cheese
Duck Leg
Hazelnut Glass
Pork Tenderloin
Braised Beef Cheeks
Mortadella
Maryland Crab 6 Ways
bacon wrapped pork terrine
Baby Octopus
Braised Short Ribs
Smore
Mahi
Lobster Salad
Braised Lamb Neck

Promotions

Fourth of July 2016 Prix Fixe Dinner

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

20% Off Entrées & 18 @ $18 Wine List

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $19.00

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Happy Hour @ The Bar

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Fourth of July 2016 Prix Fixe Dinner

Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Fourth of July 2016 Prix Fixe Dinner. Excludes Tax and Tip. Celebrate the 4th with us featuring an upscale picnic inspired 3 course menu!. Special valid on Monday Jul 4, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Three wine pairings available for all Three Courses @ $12. Special valid Apr 13, 2016 - Aug 13, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.
20% Off Entrées & 18 @ $18 Wine List

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
20% Off Entrées & 18 @ $18 Wine List. Excludes Tax and Tip. Neighborhood Night also features 18 wines at $18 per bottle. Special valid Apr 13, 2016 - Aug 13, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $19.00

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Details
Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $19.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We offer a FULL a la carte menu in addition to a 2 course Prix Fixe option. Special valid Apr 13, 2016 - Aug 13, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM.
Happy Hour @ The Bar

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us AT THE BAR $5 Wine $4 Beer $4 Seasonal House Sangria $5 Small Plates $13 Creekstone Farms Burger & beer or wine pairing. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available ONLY at the bar!. Special valid May 19, 2016 - Sep 19, 2016 on Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events available in unique wine tasting room. Buy out options available as well.

Wine Market Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Contemporary American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Locust Point ›

fit for foodies (50)
notable wine list (43)
neighborhood gem (41)
See All
great for outdoor dining (37)
good for groups (23)
special occasion (22)
great for brunch (21)
romantic (17)
great for lunch (14)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service3

Great ambiance. Relaxed.

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great ambiance. Relaxed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am an independent contractor who sells ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I am an independent contractor who sells wine on the side. I met up with few of the other ICs for an outing a few months ago, and I loved it. I wanted to go back so I figured my anniversary was the perfect reason! The service was outstanding and the food was amazing!! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful night spent in the courtyard ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A beautiful night spent in the courtyard enjoying a delicious dinner. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My first time here. I loved the idea tha ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My first time here. I loved the idea that you get a retail priced bottle of wine with just an $11 corkage fee. Brilliant! The food was also quite good. Inventive and fresh. We live in Federal Hill, which has mostly pubs, so finding a more upscale (but still casual) restaurant is a definite find!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always. Had the soft shell c ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome as always. Had the soft shell crab, which I've never eaten, and it was excellent. Bourbon bread pudding is fantastic, and the brussel sprouts are really good too. This is one of our favorite spots in Baltimore.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice! Haven't been here for awhile ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very nice! Haven't been here for awhile, boy I will be back.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a Great Meal

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Awesome meal and always updated menu. No dedicated gluten free menu but kitchen can work to accommodate modifications to most everything on the menu to make it GF. Very nice outdoor dining in courtyard away from busy streets. Nice wines by the glass and forgot that you can also pick out a bottle in the wine store to have with your meal. Meal portions are not overly generous but quality is always excellent so quality over quantity at the Wine Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Brunch, Reasonably Priced

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went to WMB for a wedding anniversary brunch. We both had Eggs Benedict with juicy, corn meal coated fried oysters coming on the plates. Received complimentary corn fritters as a starter which were absolutely delicious. A truly memorable meal with fine service at a reasonable price.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I made the reservation site indicat ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

When I made the reservation site indicated there were only two times slots available for that day; however, when we went there the restaurant was empty. I do not understand this.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Only three scallops,really?

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner the other evening, introducing an out of town guest to the Wine Market. Thw food was well prepared. The hanger steak with ramps was cooked to perfection. Our only complaint is , three scallops on a dinner entree is a bit skimpy, especially for $28. We will return, but probably won't be ordering the scallops.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always consistent

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party of four enjoyed a Saturday night dinner. Chicken, scallops, steak salad and grouper entrees were all very good. Only disappointment was a romaine salad which was somewhat wilted. Wine selections were all good as well. Service was prompt and polite. Noise level was manageable and we could converse comfortably. Easy, free parking is a real plus in the city. I am happy that the chef has seen fit to offer a few "standard" dishes, e.g. chicken and scallops. There was a time when we shied away from the Wine Market because the menu mostly included more adventurous items e.g. quail, venison, rabbit. Some of those selections are still offered, but at least there are entrees for the less adventurous.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Just love this great little cafe. Amazin ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Just love this great little cafe. Amazing food and great wine list. We will be back for sure

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So three of us dined at Wine Market afte ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

So three of us dined at Wine Market after being drenched by a stroll around Ft. McHenry. Nevertheless, the place was warm and inviting and we were soon seated by an attentive staff. Two of us had the Pan Seared Barramundi, Asia's version of Mediterranean sea bass, I think. It was flaky and flavorful and done to perfection. Our friend had the Strozzapreti Pasta and found it quite delightful. I started with the Cornmeal Fried Oysters and would happily have a suitably larger quantity as my entree. Our friend started with the Seasonal Flatbread and my spouse had a special salad of the day (asparagus, etc). Both were very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We last ate there on New Years. Often di ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We last ate there on New Years. Often dined there. Food quality was always top notch before. Never again, because this time, we got over-breaded, greasy fried oysters. Then we got 3 scallops for $27!! Seriously. They're ripping off the customers now. Two drinks, appetizers, entrees, desserts. $160. Ripped off.

food4
ambience4
service5

It's Locust Point hidden gem. I can't wa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It's Locust Point hidden gem. I can't wait to try its regular menu. This is our second visit. So far the pre-fixe meals we had have been beautifully served and so delicious from appetizers to dessert. Thank you for a great Mother's Day Brunch Menu. I had the bacon infused biscuit, the soft shell crab for my main course and the caramel bread pudding. I enjoyed every bite of it! And oh, excellent cappuccino to end the meal. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined there again last week. And as al ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Dined there again last week. And as always everything was just about perfect. The menu was brought enough to please even our finickiest eat. I'm always a favorite of the fish of the day special and at this meal it was again not a disappointment . Our family cannot wait until the weather improves and we can dine outside again on the patio as it is so very pleasant .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

We were a group of six in town for a meeting. The food was interesting and very well crafted. The service was attentive and the setting is lovely. Some of us can be a bit particular but this worked for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious and good portion ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was delicious and good portion sizes except the seared tuna salad entree. There was barely any tuna on the salad so that was a disappointment to not have a good serving of protein. Good selection of wines as well.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

good meeting place

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here before and really like the concept (picking wine at retail prices plus a reasonable corking fee) as well as the food. There was a noisy large party when we arrived, but once they went into the other dining room it was peaceful and we could enjoy the innovative food presentation, of course, with our chosen wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food, great service

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of the food that we tried was delici ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

All of the food that we tried was delicious. Stand outs were the cocktails, the cauliflower side dish and the oyster appetizer. We eat at the Wine Market at least once a month and are never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

UrbanGuy

Dined on April 21, 2016

I have been going to the Wine Market off and on for a number of years and even though the food, while good enough, doesn't always reflect what one should reasonably expect for the price the service is uniformly attentive and the environment is very well thought out in an industrial chic sort of "in" way. There is a good selection of wines in the front so it's great to be able to pickup a bottle on the way to the bistro and only be charged a small corkage fee. Also, after dining wine can be purchased on the way out at a 15% discount.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique for the neighborhood and a great ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Unique for the neighborhood and a great addition. The manager goes to great lengths to stock wines that aren't available in other local wine and liquor shops. Would definitely come back again for either a lunch or dinner. Love the extra benefit of being able to purchase a special wine for a discount as a benefit of having a meal there. Gives you an opportunity to explore and try something new.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine Market always delivers

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

There are two dining rooms. The larger shares space with the bar; the smaller is more intimate. Both reflect the industrial past use and are quite handsome. The food is consistently excellent. The servers are on the ball, from the host to the bussers. Prix fixe this recent dinner and a good value at that. The sheepshead fish was great, but the bread pudding was a religious experience. Go there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I loved everything about it service was ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I loved everything about it service was a lil ify seemed a little under staff due to a private function but the hostess assisted to fill the gaps

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

spectacular sides!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a great dinner with friends before heading to the Baltimore Orioles game (which was ultimately rained out). Our group shared the cornmeal fried oyster over arugula appetizer all of us thought it was delicious. Of the entrees we selected the scallops and wahoo fish special were also well prepared with thoughtful accompaniments. Only the pasta disappointed, lacked flavor and was very dry. But by far the three side dishes we ordered were the stars of the meal... truffle mac & cheese, Kung Pao cauliflower and my favorite the bacon, grape brussel sprouts!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Ok

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We were visiting Baltimore from out of town. Chose the Bistro based on the menu posted on-line. When we arrived, we were disappointed by a much smaller menu. On top of that, not all the wines were available -this at a wine market! The three of us had salads with a variety of toppings, which were good. I haggle recommend the cornmeal crusted oysters as a salad topping.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a must if you are into win ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

This place is a must if you are into wine, great kitchen and outstanding service.

food5
ambience5
service5

So great to sit outside, enjoy wonderful ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

So great to sit outside, enjoy wonderful dishes with awesome service

food4
ambience3
service2

We had an eclectic group for a birthday ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had an eclectic group for a birthday dinner. Service was incredibly slow for a half empty Thursday night. The menu had a misprint that led my husband to get his hopes up in trying a beer that they swapped for something nowhere near as yummy. Overall not a good showing. The food itself was good. Cornmeal fried oysters stole the show, as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Gem!

Dined on March 24, 2016

From the ambiance, to the food and wine selection- you will NEVER be disappointed! Wine Market Bistro is an all around, amazing restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is consistently wonderful and the portions are perfect. I was there for dinner but had 2 appetizers for my meal. Oysters and mussels. Wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Lamb burger was a bit too spicy but othe ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Lamb burger was a bit too spicy but otherwise very good. Short rib was also delicious

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cute spot

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

This was a great dining spot. I went with some friends for dinner and we all enjoyed. We split some appetizers and then has an entree. The salmon was a hit at the table as was the seared tuna salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ed really likes this

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Consistently good food that has not disappointed us in any of our visits. Recently had fried catfish special which was great. Weekdays there is a 3 course dinner for $35.00 with multiple entree/ appetizer options. The regular menu which is always available usually has something for everyone. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal at Wine Market

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a great meal. The service was spectacular, wine selection good, and we had amazing food. We had one of the app specials and one of the entrees and both were very tasty in addition to a normal menu item for the entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food very good, service less so

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We eat here several times a year and the food is always good. Lately, the menu has included at least a couple of what I would call routine entrees, e.g. chicken, steak. For awhile, a year or two ago, the chef was being too "exotic". On this night the steak and chicken entrees were terrific. Our only negative is the extremely slow service. I don't know if they were understaffed, but the couple next to us came in after we did and left 15 minutes before we did. Our food took forever and after our plates were cleared we waited forever for the check.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good place I enjoyed the night Wai ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good place I enjoyed the night Waitress was very knowledgable and friendly, perfect date night if you don't mind spending a few bucks on your date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice environment for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had a double-date with my sister and her husband at Wine Market Bistro for Valentine's Day dinner. We had an early dinner, so it was not so crowded when we arrived. However, the restaurant was packed by the time we left. Even with all of those people in the restaurant, the noise level was fine to hold a conversation. The food was nicely presented, and the flavor combinations were outstanding. I wasn't able to have any of the wine, but I will certainly be back again to try it out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had early reservations and were seated by the window. On a day other than the coldest of the year, this would have been nice. The wall and window were chilling and made dinner a little uncomfortable. The course selections and portions for the special menu were good. Our server was friendly, but no necessarily attentive, checking back mostly at the end of our meal. The expediting staff did a great job at clearing and serving .

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.