About Wine Market Bistro

921 East Fort Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Wine Market Bistro is a unique café, wine bar and wine shop all under one roof. We proudly offer over 30 wines by the glass and a 500 bottle selection in the wine shop. Most restaurants charge 300% or more for wine--at Wine Market guests can enjoy amazing wines for a small corkage fee ($11) over the retail price! This is a great savings for any wine lover. We feature a beautiful courtyard patio in the warmer months and a sophisticated Soho Loft like dining area inside all year. Reviews- Baltimore Magazine "Best Restaurants" 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009; 2011 Baltimore Sun rated us as one of the top 10 kitchens in all of Baltimore; Style Magazine listed us as one of their- "100 Favorite Places, People and Things." See website for more details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am -4:00pm *limited menu 3:00-4:00*
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
Lawrence Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 244-6166

Website:
http://www.winemarketbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available right in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Baltimore's free bus service; the circulator banner route stops right next to our location.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have monthly wine tastings; sign up for our newsletter via our website to receive updates and information.
www.winemarketbistro.com/events

Restaurant Photos

Wine Market Bistro
Grouper
Fried Green Tomatoes
Braised Beef Short Rib
Macaroni and Cheese
Shrimp And Pork Dumplings
Cornmeal Fried Oysters
Charcuterie plate
Salmon Tartare
Lamburger
Hazelnut Linzer Torte
Australian Blue Prawns
Seared Rare Ahi Tuna
Seafood Risotto
Miso Glazed Black Sea Bass
Broiled Pork Belly
Pork Loin
Duck Sous Vide
Oyster Po' Boy Sandwich
Flatbread Pizza
Blt Grilled Cheese
Beer Flight
Duck Tartare
Pork Belly
Salmon
Shrimp and Grits
Wine Flight
Subiyaki steak sandwich
Hanger Steak
Braised Pork Shoulder
Viking Village Sea Scallops
Duck Confit
Papa Weavers Pork Chop
Cf Steak
Cockles
pancakes
Black Bass
Pumpkin 4 Ways
Ocean Trout, Smoked Runner Bean Risotto
Sweet potato agnolotti
Soft Shell Crab
Top Sirloin
Lamb Burgers
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Rare Sesame Seared Tuna Wrap
Slow Roasted Brisket Sandwich
Passionfruit Iced Tea
Chocolate Pretzel Pavé
Ahi Tuna Salad
Quinoa Veggie Burger
Watermelon & Beet Salad
Marinated fluke—pickled watermelon, rind, cilantro pesto, fresno chiles, summer cucumber, red onion
Braised Lamb—fried polenta panzanella, heirloom tomatoes, pancetta vinaigrette
Scallop & Pork Belly
Mortadella
Braised Short Rib Grill Cheese
Duroc Pork Chop
head cheese
Banana Trio
Lamb Shank
Beef Tartare
32 Day Dry Aged Piedmont Ridge Ribeye
Local Leg Of Pork
Sauteed Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras
Hazelnut Glass
carpacio
Maryland Rockfish With Artichokes
Dessert Trio
Smore
Melanie's Figs In Jam
Maryland Crab
Braised Pork Cheeks
bacon wrapped pork terrine
Coho Salmon
Passion Fruit
Trout
Gunpowder Farms Bison Tartare
Rabbit
Mission Fig And Bacon Jam
Black Pepper Fettuccini
Scottish Salmon
Roast Rack Of Papa Weavers Pork
House Made Bread
Duck Leg
5 Seeds Farm Pea Tendrils
Short Rib
Piedmont Ridge Hanger Steak
Scallops
Local Figs
Rockfish Collars
Tuna Tartare
Agnolotti
Duck Breast
Rockfish Cheek
Scallop Ceviche
Magret
Mahi
Rockfish Collar
Poached Seckel Pears
Maryland Crab Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events available in unique wine tasting room. Buy out options available as well.

Wine Market Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore
Contemporary American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Locust Point ›

Fit for Foodies (29)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service! We really e ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and service! We really enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a nice time and enjoyed the food W ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

had a nice time and enjoyed the food Will go back sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappoints. Always solid food wit ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Never disappoints. Always solid food with well-paced, very kind servers. That it also has such easy parking makes it even more appealing for tha tpart of town!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was really disappointed with my recent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I was really disappointed with my recent visit to Wine Market. This is a restaurant my family used to love. This trip the dining room was loud for the majority of the meal. Our server was helpful but came off as cold. The drink I ordered (extra dirty vodka martini) tasted like ice and vodka- I did send it back. The meal itself was also disappointing. I ordered the lamb burger because it's always been my favorite. This time it was cooked really rare though I ordered it medium and it tasted like it had not been seasoned at all. I brought a few friends with me who had never been to WM before and after our experience there, I was embarrassed to have raved about this place. Unfortunately, WM has definitely lost a formerly loyal customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The scallops were only slightly warm. Ev ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The scallops were only slightly warm. Even the sauce wasn't hot. Tasted fine rih

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food, great surroundin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Consistently good food, great surroundings and we had a terrific waiter. Loved the veggie quinoa burger.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seared tuna lunch was not good at al ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The seared tuna lunch was not good at all - needed some aoli or something. Normally all the food is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great restaurant. The food an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is a great restaurant. The food and service was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect, soup to nuts + servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely perfect, soup to nuts + service + great wine. Tonight it all came together in an excellent dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We decided to go back to Wine Market Bi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We decided to go back to Wine Market Bistro for restaurant week. We hadn't been there for a long time, and the menu was appealing. We ordered the fried cream corn, which is inherently sweet, but the arugola and chipotle ranch sauce toned down the sweetness and made it very tasty. The curried watermelon salad was good, but I wish we had more curry sauce. My favorite dish of the night was the shrimp and squash risotto, which had the perfect combination of salty shrimp and sweet squash. The rainbow trout was too dry, but the bacon braised green beans were delicious. The bourbon bread pudding was quite delicious, but the berry tiramisu' was too dry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner was excellent, and, as usual, the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Dinner was excellent, and, as usual, the Restaurant Week menu was filled with many great choices. It's always a great meal here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was here with a group of 5 for restaur ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I was here with a group of 5 for restaurant week. The food was fantastic and they had some great options for restaurant week. The service was good but we did have to ask for the wine menu (a first for me at a wine restaurant).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great wine from the store and a simple m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great wine from the store and a simple menu to go with the modern ambiance. Would recommend for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to the Wine Market ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I went to the Wine Market Bistro during Baltimore summer restaurant wee. The food was imaginative and delicious. When we asked about getting a bottle of wine that was listed by the glass, it was not a problem. The wait staff was very polite and attentive. My only complaint was that the berry tiramisu was dry--in my view, tiramisu should be soaked in liquid. Since this tiramisu was made with a white cake, a fruit-flavored liqueur would be appropriate for soaking--e.g. frambroise or cassis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food, attentive service. Great o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome food, attentive service. Great outdoor patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our food! Great neighborhood spot ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved our food! Great neighborhood spot with good cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance. Relaxed.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great ambiance. Relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I am an independent contractor who sells ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I am an independent contractor who sells wine on the side. I met up with few of the other ICs for an outing a few months ago, and I loved it. I wanted to go back so I figured my anniversary was the perfect reason! The service was outstanding and the food was amazing!! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful night spent in the courtyard ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A beautiful night spent in the courtyard enjoying a delicious dinner. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time here. I loved the idea tha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My first time here. I loved the idea that you get a retail priced bottle of wine with just an $11 corkage fee. Brilliant! The food was also quite good. Inventive and fresh. We live in Federal Hill, which has mostly pubs, so finding a more upscale (but still casual) restaurant is a definite find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome as always. Had the soft shell c ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome as always. Had the soft shell crab, which I've never eaten, and it was excellent. Bourbon bread pudding is fantastic, and the brussel sprouts are really good too. This is one of our favorite spots in Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice! Haven't been here for awhile ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very nice! Haven't been here for awhile, boy I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a Great Meal

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Awesome meal and always updated menu. No dedicated gluten free menu but kitchen can work to accommodate modifications to most everything on the menu to make it GF. Very nice outdoor dining in courtyard away from busy streets. Nice wines by the glass and forgot that you can also pick out a bottle in the wine store to have with your meal. Meal portions are not overly generous but quality is always excellent so quality over quantity at the Wine Market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious Brunch, Reasonably Priced

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went to WMB for a wedding anniversary brunch. We both had Eggs Benedict with juicy, corn meal coated fried oysters coming on the plates. Received complimentary corn fritters as a starter which were absolutely delicious. A truly memorable meal with fine service at a reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I made the reservation site indicat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

When I made the reservation site indicated there were only two times slots available for that day; however, when we went there the restaurant was empty. I do not understand this.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only three scallops,really?

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner the other evening, introducing an out of town guest to the Wine Market.

Thw food was well prepared. The hanger steak with ramps was cooked to perfection.

Our only complaint is , three scallops on a dinner entree is a bit skimpy, especially for $28.

We will return, but probably won't be ordering the scallops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always consistent

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party of four enjoyed a Saturday night dinner. Chicken, scallops, steak salad and grouper entrees were all very good. Only disappointment was a romaine salad which was somewhat wilted. Wine selections were all good as well. Service was prompt and polite. Noise level was manageable and we could converse comfortably. Easy, free parking is a real plus in the city. I am happy that the chef has seen fit to offer a few "standard" dishes, e.g. chicken and scallops. There was a time when we shied away from the Wine Market because the menu mostly included more adventurous items e.g. quail, venison, rabbit. Some of those selections are still offered, but at least there are entrees for the less adventurous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just love this great little cafe. Amazin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just love this great little cafe. Amazing food and great wine list. We will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

So three of us dined at Wine Market afte ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

So three of us dined at Wine Market after being drenched by a stroll around Ft. McHenry. Nevertheless, the place was warm and inviting and we were soon seated by an attentive staff. Two of us had the Pan Seared Barramundi, Asia's version of Mediterranean sea bass, I think. It was flaky and flavorful and done to perfection. Our friend had the Strozzapreti Pasta and found it quite delightful. I started with the Cornmeal Fried Oysters and would happily have a suitably larger quantity as my entree. Our friend started with the Seasonal Flatbread and my spouse had a special salad of the day (asparagus, etc). Both were very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We last ate there on New Years. Often di ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We last ate there on New Years. Often dined there. Food quality was always top notch before. Never again, because this time, we got over-breaded, greasy fried oysters. Then we got 3 scallops for $27!! Seriously. They're ripping off the customers now. Two drinks, appetizers, entrees, desserts. $160. Ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

It's Locust Point hidden gem. I can't wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It's Locust Point hidden gem. I can't wait to try its regular menu. This is our second visit. So far the pre-fixe meals we had have been beautifully served and so delicious from appetizers to dessert. Thank you for a great Mother's Day Brunch Menu. I had the bacon infused biscuit, the soft shell crab for my main course and the caramel bread pudding. I enjoyed every bite of it! And oh, excellent cappuccino to end the meal. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dined there again last week. And as al ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Dined there again last week. And as always everything was just about perfect. The menu was brought enough to please even our finickiest eat. I'm always a favorite of the fish of the day special and at this meal it was again not a disappointment .

Our family cannot wait until the weather improves and we can dine outside again on the patio as it is so very pleasant .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were a group of six in town for a meeting. The food was interesting and very well crafted. The service was attentive and the setting is lovely. Some of us can be a bit particular but this worked for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and good portion ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was delicious and good portion sizes except the seared tuna salad entree. There was barely any tuna on the salad so that was a disappointment to not have a good serving of protein. Good selection of wines as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

good meeting place

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here before and really like the concept (picking wine at retail prices plus a reasonable corking fee) as well as the food. There was a noisy large party when we arrived, but once they went into the other dining room it was peaceful and we could enjoy the innovative food presentation, of course, with our chosen wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food that we tried was delici ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

All of the food that we tried was delicious. Stand outs were the cocktails, the cauliflower side dish and the oyster appetizer. We eat at the Wine Market at least once a month and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

UrbanGuy

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I have been going to the Wine Market off and on for a number of years and even though the food, while good enough, doesn't always reflect what one should reasonably expect for the price the service is uniformly attentive and the environment is very well thought out in an industrial chic sort of "in" way. There is a good selection of wines in the front so it's great to be able to pickup a bottle on the way to the bistro and only be charged a small corkage fee. Also, after dining wine can be purchased on the way out at a 15% discount.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unique for the neighborhood and a great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Unique for the neighborhood and a great addition. The manager goes to great lengths to stock wines that aren't available in other local wine and liquor shops. Would definitely come back again for either a lunch or dinner. Love the extra benefit of being able to purchase a special wine for a discount as a benefit of having a meal there. Gives you an opportunity to explore and try something new.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine Market always delivers

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

There are two dining rooms. The larger shares space with the bar; the smaller is more intimate. Both reflect the industrial past use and are quite handsome. The food is consistently excellent. The servers are on the ball, from the host to the bussers. Prix fixe this recent dinner and a good value at that. The sheepshead fish was great, but the bread pudding was a religious experience. Go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.